# Amicus Curiae Brief — Department of Interior v. Klamath Water Users Protective Assn.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0375%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 532 U.S. 1

## Text

YY | :
No. 99-18 nu 2 7 OAAN

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

S

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR
AND BUREAU OF INDIAN AFFAIRS,

Petitioners,

KLAMATH WATER USERS
PROTECTIVE ASSOCIATION,

Respondent.

o

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF THE UTE INDIAN TRIBE,
BLACKFEET INDIAN TRIBE, SHOSHONE-PAIUTE
INDIAN TRIBES AND SAN JUAN SOUTHERN
PAIUTE TRIBE-IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS
¢

JEANNE S. WHitTeING* Rosert S. THompson, III
*Counsel of Record Office of General Counsel
Top J. SmrrH Ute Indian Tribe
Wurreinc & SMITH P.O. Box 190

1136 Pearl Street, Suite 203 Fort Duchesne, Utah 84026
Boulder, Colorado 80302 (435) 722-5161

(303) 444-2549 Troy WoopwarpD

Blackfeet Legal Department
P.O. Box 849

Browning, Montana 91745
(406) 338-7777

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

| ea "

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .........ccccccccccccsees ii
IDENTITY AND INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE ... 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE...............sceeeees 3
i PREP POLIT TITTT TTT TTT TT Te Tre 3
B. Nature and Disposition of the Proceedings Below
PE CE eee re eee Eee PET TTT TT CTT TTT ELT 5
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT................+-5005: 7
REASONS FOR ISSUING THE WRIT............... 7

A. The Ninth Circuit “Direct Interest” Test Conflicts
With the “Functional” Test Most Recently
Applied by the D.C. Circuit in Public Citizen... 7

1. The relationship between former Presidents
and the Archivist in Public Citizen is virtually
indistinguishable from the relationship
between the Klamath Basin Tribes and the
Department in Klamath..................+. 8

2. The Ninth Circuit’s determination that the
Tribes’ interest in the matters under consider-
ation by the Department negates their capacity
to consult directly conflicts with the determina-
tion of that issue in Public Citizen ........... 11

3. This Court must resolve the two conflicting
standards for determining when to apply
Exemption 5 to FOIA’s disclosure require-
GREED ccc cccvccccccesccccscscesesecocsceces 17

B. The Klamath Decision Has Broad Ramifications
Throughout the Nation For Indian Tribes and For
Those In Proceedings Involving or Affecting
EE ED ocncccccnccsceveneccnseesennesss 17

GES ccc cccndcdteveuessivccetescnvesecocs 20

li

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Arizona v. California, 373 U.S. 546 (1963), decree
entered, 376 U.S. 340 (1964) ...........cceeceeeceees )
Arizona v. San Carlos Apache Tribe, 463 U.S. 545
t.. BPP ee 9
Brockway v. Department of Air Force, 518 F.2d 1184
ae SS , Pee. TC 7
CNA Financial Corp. v. Donovan, 830 F.2d 1132
CL. Cle. GERM P. ov cccsccvevcseccccecsssneunas 7,9, 11
County of Madison v. United States Department of
Justice, 641 F.2d 1036 (1st Cir. 1981). te eeeeeeees 15, 16
Dow Jones & Co., Inc. v. Department of Justice, 917
P28 SVE GAC. Cie, BOGE. oc cccccscccsseseses 7, 10, 11
Formaldehyde Institute v. Dep’t of Health and Human
Services, 889 F.2d 1118 (D.C. Cir. 1989)...... 7, 11, 16

General Electric Company v. United States Environ-
mental Protection Agency, 18 F.Supp. 138
CEADENGD. BOG oo cccvcccvccececeeseseeuuiesieeeeaan 11

In re Rights to Use Water In Big Horn River, 753 P.2d
76 (Wyo. 1988), aff'd by an equally divided court,
Wyoming v. United States, 492 U.S. 406 (1989)...... 19

Klamath Water Users Protective Association v.
Department of the Interior, 189 F.3d 1034 (9th Cir.

MITT hh passim
Morton v. Mancari, 417 U.S. 535 (1974) .............. 12
Nevada v. United States, 463 U.S. 110 (1983)........... 9

Oklahoma Tax Comm‘n v. Citizen Band Potawatomi
Indian Tribe, 498 U.S. 505 (1991)...............006- 12

er ee rm -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page -

Public Citizen, Inc. v. Department of Justice, 111 F.3d

a +++» passim

Ryan v. Department of Justice, 617 F.2d 781 (D.C.

St PE EAUAUEREE cen ecéoccootcdoccecceces 7, 12, 13
Santa Clara Pueblo v. Martinez, 436 U.S. 49 (1978) .... 12
Seminole Nation v. United States, 316 U.S. 286 (1942) ..... 3
Shoshone Tribe v. United States, 299 U.S. 476 (1937) ..... 3
Soucie v. David, 448 F.2d 1067 (D.C. Cir. 1971)........ 7
United States v. Cherokee Nation, 480 U.S. 700 (1987) . .3, 10
United States v. Mitchell, 463 U.S. 206 (1983).......... 3
United States v. Oregon, 44 F.3d 758 (9th Cir. 1994),

cert. denied, 516 U.S. 943 (1995) ................05.. 4
United States v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty

oo occ ccccccccceccocceces 13
United States v. White Mountain Apache Tribe, 784

eee ta acces cccccecocees 4
Winters v. United States, 207 U.S. 564 (1908).......... 4
Worcester v. Georgia, 31 U.S. 515 (1832).............. 12
Wu v. National Endowment for Humanities, 460 F.2d

EEE re 8
STATUTES
Freedom of Information Act, Exemption 5, 5

et coc eceseceescoeccseece ss 1,5
Indian Self-Determination and Education Assis-

tance Act, 25 U.S.C. §§ 450a-450n................. 12

ie

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page

Executive OrpERS AND MANUALS

Department of the Interior, Department Manual:
Part 512 American Indian and Native Alaskan
Programs, Departmental Responsibilities for
Indian Trust Resources § 2.4.B (1995) .............. 3

Exec. Order No. 13084, 63 Fed. Reg. 27655 (1998) ..3, 10

—- =

IDENTITY AND INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE!

The United States’ Petition for Writ of Certiorari seeks
this Court’s review of the decision in Klamath Water Users
Protective Association v. Department of the Interior, 189 F.3d
1034 (9th Cir. 1999) (“Klamath”).2 Therein, the Court of
Appeals for the Ninth Circuit held that documents
exchanged between the Klamath Basin Tribes and the
United States acting as the Tribes’ trustee are not pro-
tected from disclosure under Exemption 5 to the Freedom
of Information Act (“FOIA”), 5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(5).

Amici include four Indian tribes, each of which is
involved, together with the United States, in the negotia-
tion or litigation of their water right claims. The Ute
Indian Tribe of the Uintah and Ouray Reservation holds
water rights in the Green River Basin, a sub-basin of the
Colorado River. The Blackfeet Indian Tribe of the Black-
feet Reservation is located in Montana on the U.S.-Cana-
dian border. It holds water rights in the Missouri River
Basin and in the Hudson River Basin. The Shoshone
Paiute Tribes of the Duck Valley Reservation have water
rights in Nevada and Idaho from the Owyhee River
within the Snake River Basin. The San Juan Southern

1 The parties’ have written consent to the filing of this brief.
Counsel for a party did not author this brief in whole or in part.
No person or entity, other than the Amici Curiae, their members,
or their counsel made a monetary contribution to the
preparation and submission of this brief.

2 The decision is included in the Petitioner’s Appendix at
la-30a. The unreported decision of the district court is found at
Pet. App. at 3la-32a, and the magistrate’s findings and
recommendations are at Pet. App. at 33a-71a.

Paiute Tribe claims water rights in the Little Colorado
River Basin within Arizona.

The water rights of each Tribe are subject tp a pend-
ing basin-wide, state general stream adjudications. Each
is currently negotiating with the respective States within
the context of the adjudications to resolve the complex
issues surrounding the nature and extent of the Tribes’
water rights. In the course of negotiations, the United
States, through the Bureau of Indian Affairs (“BIA”), has
participated and worked with the Tribes in negotiations
and in preparation for potential litigation. The BIA has
requested and received from the Tribes extensive infor-
mation including tribal views on the nature, extent and
legal grounds in support of their water right claims,
information similar to that provided by the Klamath
Basin Tribes in their correspondence that was the subject
of the Klamath case. The Tribes’ documents were provided
to the BIA with the understanding that the documents
were confidential and privileged and would not be sub-
ject to public disclosure, especially to parties who oppose
or seek to limit the extent of the Tribes’ water rights. The
Tribes maintain a significant interest in ensuring that the
information exchanged between themselves and the fed-
eral agency acting as their trustee concerning a broad
array of issues involved in the negotiation, litigation and
settlement of their water right claims remains out of the
reach of adversaries, except within traditional litigation
discovery rules. As a result of Klamath, amici’s previously
exchanged confidential communications with their trustee
regarding their water rights, as well as other natural
resource issues, may now be subject to public disclosure.
Moreover, any future exchange of information will be

strictly limited because of the very real threat of dis-
closure. The result will be a substantial chilling effect on
the progress of negotiated settlements and coordination
of litigation efforts.

e

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Background

The United States holds Indian lands and their
resources in trust, and is bound by an explicit duty to
assist tribes in the protection, management and use of
their lands and resources. See United States v. Cherokee
Nation, 480 U.S. 700, 707 (1987); United States v. Mitchell,
463 U.S. 206, 225 (1983). The trust relationship requires the
federal government to act in accordance with “the most
exacting fiduciary standards” where any tribal interest is
implicated. See Seminole Nation v. United States, 316 U.S.
286, 296-297 (1942); Shoshone Tribe v. United States, 299 U.S.
476, 497-498 (1937). To properly carry out its legally man-
dated trust responsibility, federal policy requires agencies
to “establish regular and meaningful consultation and col-
laboration with Indian tribal governments in the develop-
ment of regulatory practices on Federal matters that
significantly or uniquely affect their communities,” Exec.
Order No. 13084, 63 Fed. Reg. 27655 (1998), and to keep
the consultations confidential, see Department of the Inte-
rior, Department Manual: Part 512 American Indian and
Native Alaskan Programs, Departmental Responsibilities
for Indian Trust Resources § 2.4.B (1995).

The Department of the Interior (“Department”),
through the Bureau of Reclamation, administers the
Klamath Project. The Project irrigates lands in the

Klamath River Basin in Oregon and California. Four
Klamath Basin Tribes, the Klamath Tribe in Oregon, and
the Yurok, Hoopa Valley, and Karuk Tribes in California
have water rights in the Basin. Klamath, 189 F.3d at 1035.
In 1995, the Department announced it would develop a
long-term plan for the operation of the Project (the
“KPOP”). Id. To assist in fulfilling its trust obligation, and
in development of the KPOP, the Department entered into
a Memorandum of Agreement with the Klamath Basin
Tribes formalizing the Tribes’ roles as consultants to the
Department. Id. at 1036. In accordance with the MOA, the
BIA requested documents from the Tribes which were
utilized to assure that as the Department deliberated and
developed the KPOP, the Klamath Basin Tribes’ rights
and interests would be understood and protected, and
that positions taken in the KPOP process were consistent
with positions taken on behalf of the Klamath Tribe in the
water right adjudication established by the State of Ore-
gon. Id. at 1035-36. The KPOP will be finally developed
and implemented by the Bureau of Reclamation following
input, comment and review not only from the BIA and
Tribes, but from other federal agencies, water users and
other affected parties. Id. at 1047 (Hawkins, J., dissent-

ing).

As noted above, the Department, as trustee, through
a different agency, the BIA, also is required to assert the
water right claims of the Klamath Tribe in a general
stream adjudication proceeding before the Oregon
Department of Water Resources. Id. at 1036. See United
States v. Oregon,-44 F3d 758 (9th Cir. 1994), cert. denied,
516 U.S. 943 (1995). See also United States v. White Moun-
tain Apache Tribe, 784 F.2d 917, 920 (9th Cir. 1986). To
fulfill its legal obligations, the BIA requested and

received documents prepared by the Tribe detailing the
Klamath’s claims to water in the Basin and possible legal
theories to be used in the Oregon adjudication. Klamath,
189 F.3d at 1036. The information received from the Tribe
was used by the BIA as it analyzed the facts and circum-
stances and ultimately determined what water right
claims it would file in Oregon on behalf of the Tribe. Id. at
1041-42 (Hawkins, J. dissenting).

B. Nature and Disposition of the Proceedings Below

In 1996, the Klamath Water Users Protective Associa-
tion (“Association”) filed a broadly stated FOIA request
to the BIA “for documents provided to or received from
the Klamath Basin Tribes pertaining to water resource
issues in the Klamath River Basin.” Id. at 1036. In
response, the Association was provided with numerous
documents, and only seven were withheld by the BIA
pursuant to FOIA’s Exemption 5. Id. That exemption pro-
tects from disclosure documents that are “inter-agency or
intra-agency memorandums or letters which would not
be available by law to a party other than an agency in
litigation with the agency ... .” 5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(5). Six of
the seven documents were provided by the Tribes in
response to requests by the government. They included
documents detailing the Klamath Tribe’s position on its
water right claims in the ongoing Oregon general stream

* The Association is a group of water users who are
supplied with water from the Klamath Project and were
involved in the public meetings regarding the KPOP. It had
substantial disagreements with the positions taken by the
Klamath Basin Tribes in the KPOP deliberative process. See
Klamath, 189 F.3d at 1035.

adjudication, correspondence to the BIA from tribal attor-
neys for each of the Tribes expressing legal opinions on
tribal resources and the extent of tribal water rights, and
a memo to the BIA from a tribal biologist. See Klamath,
189 F.3d at 1041-42 (Hawkins, J., dissenting) (for a
detailed description of the seven documents).

The Association brought suit in federal district court
insisting it was entitled to view all seven of the withheld
documents. The Ninth Circuit, in a 2-1 decision over a
strong dissenting opinion by Justice Hawkins, reversed
the district court and ordered disclosure of the seven
documents. Klamath, 189 F.3d at 1039. The court refused
to consider how the documents were employed in the
agency decision making process, rejecting what it
described as the District of Columbia Circuit’s “expansive
interpretation” of Exemption 5. Id. at 1038. Instead, the
Ninth Circuit adopted a “direct interest” test which pre-
cludes application of Exemption 5 because the Klamath
Basin Tribes provided advice (at the Department's
request) on matters in which “the Tribes had their own
interest and the communication presumptively served
that interest.” Id. As noted by the dissent, the result of
this cursory test is, ipso facto, that the fiduciary relation-
ship between Indian tribes and the United States is “a
barrier to the application of the exemption .. . .” Id. at
1046. The result directly conflicts with the decision in
Public Citizen, Inc. v. Department of Justice, 111 F.3d 168
(D.C. Cir. 1997), in which the court unequivocally rejected
any notion that an outside consultant’s interest in the
subject matter before an agency automatically precludes
application of Exemption 5.

¢

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Ninth Circuit decision in Klamath, 189 F.3d 1034,
directly conflicts with the test for applying Exemption 5
developed primarily by the Court of Appeals for the
District of Columbia and most recently applied in Public
Citizen v. DOJ, 111 F.3d 168. The Ninth Circuit decision, if
not reviewed and reversed, will quash the vital exchange
of confidential information between Indian tribes and the
federal agencies entrusted with the responsibility to pro-
tect and represent their interests. Therefore, the Court
should grant the United States’ request and issue a Writ
of Certiorari to review the Klamath decision.

S

REASONS FOR ISSUING THE WRIT

A. The Ninth Circuit “Direct Interest” Test Conflicts
With the “Functional” Test Most Recently Applied
by the D.C. Circuit in Public Citizen.

~ Public Citizen is the most recent in a long line of
federal court decisions in which Exemption 5 has been
applied to communications between outside consultants
and federal agencies if “created for the purpose of aiding
the agency’s deliberative process.” Dow Jones & Co., Inc. v.
Department of Justice, 917 F.2d 571 (D.C. Cir. 1990). Accord
Formaldehyde Institute v. Dep’t of Health and Human Ser-
vices, 889 F.2d 1118 (D.C. Cir. 1989); CNA Financial Corp. v.
Donovan, 830 F.2d 1132 (D.C. Cir. 1987); Ryan v. Depart-
ment of Justice, 617 F.2d 781 (D.C. Cir. 1979); Soucie v.
David, 448 F.2d 1067 (D.C. Cir. 1971). See also Brockway v.
Department of Air Force, 518 F.2d 1184 (8th Cir. 1975);

Wu v. National Endowment for Humanities, 460 F.2d 1030
(5th Cir. 1972). Exemption 5 was applied in Public Citizen
to a FOIA request for correspondence between former
Presidents and the Federal Archives, 111 F.3d 168, not-
withstanding the fact that the former Presidents had a
direct interest in the Archivist’s ultimate determinations
which made them potential adversaries. Id. at 171-72.
Contrary to the majority view in Klamath, 189 F.3d at
1038, the facts in Public Citizen present precisely the same
issues presented to the Klamath court, and that court's
abandonment of the “functional” test in favor of a “direct
interest” test directly conflicts with Public Citizen.

1. The relationship between former Presidents and
the Archivist in Public Citizen is virtually indis-
tinguishable from the relationship between the
Klamath Basin Tribes and the Department in
Klamath.

In Public Citizen, the court considered a FOIA request
for correspondence submitted by former Presidents
Reagan and Bush to the Federal Archives regarding
restrictions upon the release of certain electronic commu-
nications produced during each Presidents’ administra-
tion. 111 F.3d at 169-70. The Archivist must consult with a
former President when considering allowing access to
records which the President has designated restricted.
The Archivist must ensure that he meets the duty to
publically disclose the records as quickly and completely
as possible, while protecting the interests of the Presi-
dent. Id. at 170. The court held that the communications

=

~

between the former Presidents and the Archivist regard-
ing the release of restricted presidential communications
were

precisely the type that Exemption 5 was
designed to protect. If it is to effectively deliber-
ate, an agency may need or want to ‘enlist the
\_ help of outside experts skilled at unraveling
_ [the] knotty complexities’ of ‘problems outside
their ken.’ CNA Financial Corp., 830 F.2d at 1162.
The former President clearly qualifies as an
expert on the implications of disclosure of Presi-
dential records from his administration.

Id. at 171.

This Court is only too familiar with the “knotty com-
plexities” of Indian water right claims, see, e.g., Winters v.
United States, 207 U.S. 564 (1908); Arizona v. California, 373
U.S. 546 (1963), decree entered, 376 U.S. 340 (1964); Arizona
v. San Carlos Apache Tribe, 463 U.S. 545 (1983); Nevada v.
United States, 463 U.S. 110 (1983). Indian tribes like the
Klamath Basin Tribes possess a unique expertise regard-
ing their water rights and other natural resources that is
essential to the Department’s deliberations any time
those resources are affected or at issue. The Department
must consult with affected tribes to enable it to effectively
“unravel” the “knotty complexities” involved in allocat-
ing water and assuring both the protection of tribal inter-
ests and reconciliation of those interests with other
parties’ interests.

Much as the Klamath Basin Tribes have natural
resource rights which the Bureau and Depart-
ment have a duty to reconcile with other parties’
claims to water, the ex-President has “rights and
privileges” in records that the Archivist has to

10

reconcile with duties to the public to make
records available. The mandated consideration
that the Bureau and Department have to give to
the Klamath Basin Tribes’ claims virtually
requires that they consult the Tribes, much as
the Archivist consulted the ex-President, to seek
their particular expertise concerning their
rights, and how they wish to assert them in the
KPOP and Oregon adjudication.

Klamath, 189 F.3d at 1045 (Hawkins, J., dissenting). The
Klamath Basin Tribes, as did the ex-Presidents in Public
Citizen, clearly qualify as outside experts with whom the
Department is expected (indeed is legally required pur-
suant both to federal law and policy)* to consult and
whose function as a consultant is an essential component
of the agency’s deliberative process protected under
Exemption 5. To hold otherwise is directly contrary to the
purposes of the Exemption and the test applied in Public
Citizen.

* The Department was explicitly bound to consult with the
Klamath Basin Tribes pursuant to federal policy, see Exec. Order
No. 13084, 63 Fed. Reg. 27655; DM Part 512 § 2.2, and
agreement, see Memorandum of Agreement for the
Government-to-Government Relationship in the Development
of the Klamath Project Operations Plan (cited at Klamath, 111
F.3d at 1041). Moreover, the Department is legally obligated to
consult with the Indian tribes pursuant to its responsibilities as
a trustee. See, e.g., U.S. v. Cherokee Nation, 480 U.S. at 707. See
also Dow Jones, 917 F.2d at 575 (recognizing implicit consultative
relationships).

a

11

2. The Ninth Circuit’s determination that the
Tribes’ interest in the matters under consider-
ation by the Department negates their capacity
to consult directly conflicts with the determina-
tion of that issue in Public Citizen.

In support of its conclusion that the Presidents’ con-
sultations were precisely the type to be protected by
Exemption 5, the Public Citizen court focused on the role
the disputed documents played in the agency’s delibera-
tive process, not the identity and interests of the docu-
ment’s author.

While Public Citizen is doubtless right that a
former President is not an agency under FOIA,
[5 U.S.C.] §§ 551 (1), 552 (f), records of commu-
nications between an agency and outside con-
sultants qualify as “intra-agency” for purposes
of Exemption 5 if they have been “created for
the purpose of aiding the agency’s deliberative
process.” Dow Jones & Co., Inc. v. Department
of Justice, 917 F.2d 571, 575 (D.C. Cir. 1990)
(emphasis in original); CNA Financial Corp. v.
Donovan, 830 F.2d 1132, 1161 (D.C. Cir. 1987). It
is “irrelevant” whether the author of the docu-
ments is a “regular agency employee or a tem- _
porary consultant.” Formaldehyde Institute v. °
Dept. of Health and Human Svcs., 889 F.2d 118,
1122 (D.C. Cir. 1989) (citations omitted).

Public Citizen v. DOJ, 111 F.3d at 170. See also General
Electric Company v. United States Environmental Protection
Agency, 18 F.Supp. 138 (D.Mass. 1998) (state agency quali-
fied as outside consultant for purposes of Exemption 5).
While FOIA’s “dominant objective” may be “disclosure,
not secrecy,” Klamath, 189 F.3d 1037 (citations omitted),

4

12

efficient government operations require open
discussions among all government policy-
makers and advisors, whether those giving
advice are officially part of the agency or are
solicited to give advice only for specific projects.

Ryan v. DOJ, 617 F.2d at 790 (emphasis added). Exemption
5 seeks to assure federal agency access to complete, accu-
rate and candid information regardless of its source.

In reaching its determination that the correspondence
from the ex-Presidents was aiding the Archivist’s deliber-
ative process and, therefore, protected from disclosure
under Exemption 5, the court considered and rejected
several challenges,> including the claim that the former
Presidents’ “distinct and independent interest” in deter-
mining the time frame and restrictions on the public
disclosure of certain presidential records made them
adversaries rather than consultants, thereby removing the
documents from Exemption 5’s purview. Id. at 171.6 While

> The court described these challenges as “false
dichotomies.” Id. at 171.

6 The court in Public Citizen noted that “the former
President in this context can hardly be viewed as an ordinary
private citizen,” acknowledging his continuing power to assert
executive privilege. 111 F.3d at 170. Although not abie to avail
themselves of executive privilege, Indian tribes have never been
viewed as ordinary private citizens. Their unique political
status has long been recognized by the judiciary, see, e.g.,
Worcester v. Georgia, 31 U.S. 515 (1832); Morton v. Mancari, 417
U.S. 535 (1974), and Congress, see, e.g., 25 U.S.C. §§ 450a-450n
(The Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act).
Moreover, their status as sovereigns further distinguishes
Indian tribes from ordinary citizens or organizations. See, e.g.,
Oklahoma Tax Comm'n v. Citizen Band Potawatomi Indian Tribe, 498
U.S. 505, 509-10 (1991); Santa Clara Pueblo v. Martinez, 436 U.S.

3 -

the former Presidents clearly advocated their positions
regarding the release of documents which they had previ-
ously restricted, the Public Citizen court rejected any
notion that “the consultative relationship is . . . mutually
exclusive with any” other relationship, including that of
advocate. Id. Moreover, the court concluded, “[t]he poten-
tial for an adversary relationship” between the ex-Presi-
dents and the Archivist, “is not enough to negate one of
consultation.” Id. The Presidents’ independent and direct
interest in protecting certain communications from dis-
closure, in the court's view, did not preclude the Archiv-
ist from seeking their expertise in resolving issues related
to those same communications. Id.” See also Ryan v. DOJ,
617 F.2d 781 (senators, who have a direct interest in
selecting federal court judges, treated as outside consul-
tants in responding to Justice Department questionnaire
inquiring about procedures for selecting and recommend-
ing potential federal judge nominees).

The Klamath court turns the Public Citizen analysis on
its head. The court refused to even consider whether the
documents at issue aided the BIA or Department in their
deliberations regarding the impact of the KPOP, and the
basis and extent of water right claims to be filed on behalf
of the Klamath Tribe in Oregon. See Klamath, 189 F.3d at
1045 (Hawkins, J., dissenting). Instead, it limited its
inquiry solely to determining whether the Tribes had an
interest in the matters about which the Department

49, 58 (1978); United States v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty
Co., 309 U.S. 506, 511-12 (1940). -

7 In fact, the Public Citizen court expressly relied upon the
Archive’s explanation of its need to consult with the former
Presidents. Id.

14

sought advice. Id. at 1038. Contrary to Public Citizen, the
Ninth Circuit found that any interest in the matter under
agency consideration establishes a “direct interest” which
is mutually exclusive, and cannot coincide with the role
of consultant.

While it is true that the Department requested
the advice of the Tribes, the matters with respect
to which it sought advice were matters in which
the Tribes had their own interest and the com-
munications presumptively served that interest,
even if they incidentally benefitted the Depart-
ment. Thus, we conclude . . . these documents
do not qualify for exemption.

Id. In stark contrast to the D.C. Circuit's rejection of
exclusivity, 111 F.3d at 171, the Klamath court concluded
that a party’s interest in the matters before an agency
precludes its acting as a consultant to the agency.

To bolster its refusal to follow Public Citizen and its
predecessors, the Klamath court highlighted what it
claims is a distinguishing factor:

[T}his case differs from Public Citizen v. Depart-
ment of Justice, on which the Department relies,
in that it presents not simply ‘the potential for
an adversary relationship’ but a clear and pre-
sent conflict with respect to the subject matter of
the documents, which is for the Department to
resolve.

189 F.3d at 1038. Once again, the court misreads Public
Citizen, wherein the potential adversarial relationship
was between the former Presidents and the agency itself.
111 F.3d at 171, accord Klamath, 189 F.3d at 1044 (Hawkins,

15

J., dissenting). In Klamath, a potential adversarial relation-
ship existed between the Tribes and another party inter-
ested in the outcome of the KPOP and Oregon’s general
stream adjudication, the Association. 189 F.3d at 1038. In
fact, the relationship between the Tribes and the Depart-
ment was by no means adversarial; it was cooperative.
Had the majority followed the analysis utilized in Public
Citizen, it would have looked to the Department's expla-
nation of its need to consult with the Tribes and recog-
nized that rather than being adversaries, the Tribes were
“sharing proposed strategies” with the Department and
assisting BIA employees in “understand[ing] the Tribes’
natural resource rights and formulat[ing] policy accord-
ingly.” Klamath, 189 F.3d at 1045 (Hawkins, J., dissenting).
While the Klamath court also appears to recognize a
potential for an adversarial relationship between the
Tribes and Department within the KPOP process, see
Klamath, 189 F.3d at 139, that potential was no greater
than the potential in Public Citizen that the Presidents’
relationship with Archivist would become adversarial.
Such “potential” without “any movement in that direc-
tion”, Public Citizen v. DOJ, 111 F.3d at 171, was insuffi-
cient to overcome the Klamath Basin Tribes’ role as a
consultant regarding their rights and interests in the
Klamath River Basin.®

® The Klamath court's reliance on County of Madison v.
United States Department of Justice, 641 F.2d 1036 (1st Cir. 1981), is
equally misplaced. There, the crucial factor in the decision not
to apply Exemption 5 was that the documents involved related
to litigation between the Oneida Nation and the United States,
where they were “past and potential adversaries, not coopted
colleagues.” Id. at 1040 (the Nation had sued the United States
in the Claims Court and was seeking to determine how a

16

The result of the Ninth Circuit's “direct interest” test

undermines any ability of Indian tribes to confidentially _

share information regarding their natural resources with
any federal agency. Nothing prepared by an Indian tribe
for consideration by a federal agency can fall within the
protective sphere of Exemption 5 because Indian tribes
always have a “direct interest” in their natural resources and
federal agency actions affecting those resources. The “direct
interest” test abandons any consideration of the function
the documents play within the agencies’ deliberative pro-
cess, see Klamath, 189 F.3d at 1044 (Hawkins, J., dissent-
ing). It cripples the ability of Indian tribes to effectively
consult with their trustee in a confidential forum. It
undermines the ability of all federal agencies, particularly
the BIA, to fulfill their legally mandated trust respon-
~ sibilities. And, it impacts every party to any proceeding
in which a federal agency is required to protect or assert
tribal interests and is unable to confidentially communi-
cate with the affected Indian tribe.

As pointed out by the dissent in Klamath: “[I)n an
effort which marginally advances the cause of open gov-
ernment, [the majority] winds up punishing entities the

settlement of that litigation might affect its land claim).
Importantly, the documents were not provided at the request of
the United States, but were initiated by the Nation in an effort to
procure its own advantage. Id. at 1041-42 (“[T]he Oneidas
approached the government with their own interests in mind.”).
The County of Madison court found this factor a “crucial”
difference between its case and others (like Klamath) where the
government requests information from outside consultants to
aid in policy deliberations. Id. But see Formaldehyde Institute, 889
F.2d at 1124 (rejecting as “shortsighted” a claim that “there can
be no Exemption 5 coverage because the outside reviews were
not solicited by” the agency.).

a

17

government has a fiduciary duty to protect.” 189 F.3d at
1039. Such a gross departure from the pufposes of
Exemption 5 and the underpinnings of the trust relation-
ship demands issuance of the Writ of Certiorari and this
Court’s review.

3. This Court must resolve the two conflicting
standards for determining when to apply
Exemption 5 to FOIA’s disclosure requirements.

Klamath and Public Citizen present two conflicting
standards for evaluating the application of Exemption 5
which cannot be reconciled. Public Citizen's well-reasoned
and consistently applied test developed over the past 25
or more years correctly focuses the inquiry on the pur-
poses for which Exemption 5 was included in FOIA,
while the result in Klamath stands as a barrier to an
agency’s need to make decisions with as much informa-
tion as possible provided in a candid manner. By paying
no heed to the purpose for which the document is
required by the agency, the “direct interest” test conflicts
with the purposes for which Exemption 5 was crafted.
The Court should issue the Writ of Certiorari to resolve
the conflicting standards for evaluating the applicability
of Exemption 5, and to assure the continuing ability of
federal agencies to confidentially consult with and fulfill
their legal responsibilities to Indian tribes.

B. The Klamath Decision Has Broad Ramifications
Throughout the Nation For Indian Tribes and For
Those In Proceedings Involving or Affecting Tribal
Interests.

As a consequence of its role as trustee, the BIA cur-
rently represents the interests of many Indian tribes in

18

numerous judicial and administrative proceedings, both
formal and informal. These proceedings involve not only
tribal water rights, but tribal rights in land, minerals,
timber, fish and wildlife, and other resources. The BIA
regularly seeks tribal expertise as it attempts to under-
stand the rights and interests of the tribes it répresents.
Tribes are intimately familiar with their lands and
resources that are held in trust for them by the United
States. Federal agencies are often located hundreds of
miles from tribal lands, and important decisions regard-
ing them are often made by people without firsthand
knowledge of the resources they have a duty to protect.
Tribal input and expert advice are crucial when federal
policy affects tribal resources.

Within the specific context of water rights, the
Klamath decision will have a disastrous effect, and its
impacts will be felt throughout almost every western
state. Currently there are 18 ongoing proceedings in
which the water rights of various Indian tribes are at
issue. They involve most of the western states, including
Arizona, California, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mex-
ico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming, as well as
many of the Nations’ most important river systems
including the Colorado, Missouri, Snake and Columbia
Rivers. As in Klamath, the BIA prepares and submits
claims for tribal water rights, and, perhaps most impor-
tantly, negotiates with and on behalf of tribes in settle-
ment discussions.

The need for the BIA to communicate confidentially
with those it represents cannot be overstated, and the
impact of exposing these communications extends well
beyond the agency decision making process. Without an
exchange of complete and accurate information between

Oe ee Be ae ee eo ee + a et ee

—- ememeree

19

Indian tribes and their trustee, the likelihood of settling
tribal claims and avoiding years upon years of costly
litigation, see, e.g., In re Rights to Use Water In Big Horn
River, 753 P.2d 76 (Wyo. 1988), aff'd by an equally divided
court, Wyoming v. United States, 492 U.S. 406 (1989),
becomes more remote. The fact that parties who oppose
tribal claims or maintain opposing interests will have
access to any documents exchanged between an Indian
tribe and a federal agency will inevitably force tribes to
stop sharing information to the detriment not only of
Indian tribes and the United States, but ultimately to all
those involved in any litigation, negotiations or settle-
ment discussions involving tribal claims or interests.

Finally, the impact of the Klamath decision is not lim-
ited to water rights proceedings or to the western United
States. Any exchange of documents between an Indian
tribe and a federal agency regarding a tribe’s resources,
whether it be water, minerals, timber, fish and wildlife, or
land will be subject to disclosure. Tribes throughout the
country are affected. For example, in the east, most
recently in New York, the United States represented the
Seneca Nation and the Cayuga Indian Nation in land
claims asserted against state and counties. In these land
claim cases, the United States and Tribes, as they do in
water right proceedings, worked together in a cooperative
relationship to identify, prepare and pursue tribal aborigi-
nal claims to land taken in violation of federal law, often
hundreds of years ago. These claims are steeped in a
complex historic and legal web that requires confidential -
communication and consultation between the United
States and the affected tribes as they prepare and pursue
their claims and strategy. Obviously, the Tribes have a very
direct interest in the outcome of the land claim cases, and

20

the Ninth Circuit’s “direct interest” test, if applied, would
render cooperation between Indian tribes and their federal
representatives virtually impossible.

S

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, this Court should grant
the petition for writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

JEANNE S. WHiITEING*
*Counsel of Record
Top J. SmrtrH
Wuiteinc & SMITH
1136 Pearl Street, Suite 203

Boulder, Colorado 80302

(303) 444-2549

Rosert S. THompson, III
Office of General Counsel |
Ute Indian Tribe

P.O. Box 190
Fort Duchesne, Utah 84026 '
(435) 722-5161

Troy WoopwarD

Blackfeet Legal Department
P.O. Box 849

Browning, Montana 91745
(406) 338-7777

Counsel for Amici Curiae
Ute Indian Tribe of the Uintah
and Ouray Reservation, Blackfeet
Indian Tribe of the Blackfeet
Reservation, Shoshone-Paiute
Indian Tribes of the Duck Valley
Reservation, San Juan Southern
Paiute Tribe

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0375%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
