# Respondents Brief — Shaw v. Murphy

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0362%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 532 U.S. 223

## Text

—_—--- —

Supreme t mrt, Us
DEC [5 2000 FILED
No. 99-16 DEC 9S onan
In The CLERK
Supreme Court of the United States—
e

ROBERT SHAW, LARRY BEARLEY, MICHAEL
MAHONEY, MYRON BEESON, and RICHARD S. DAY,

Petitioners,

KEVIN MURPHY,
Respondent.

¢

On Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

*

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT

e

Pror. JerFReEY T. Renz
Counsel of Record

Pror. CYNTHIA Forp
Criminal Defense Clinic
School of Law
University of Montana
Missoula, Montana 59812
(406) 243-4823

Counsel for Respondent

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

May state prison officials, consistent with the First
Amendment, punish an inmate for the contents of a letter
he writes to another inmate who has been charged with
assaulting a corrections officer, where-(a) the letter offers
information and advice relating to the defense of the
assault charge, (b) the prison has no rule that~forbids
prisoners from writing letters to one another, and (c) the
punishment is imposed because the information and
advice criticizes the corrections officer?

ii

PARTIES

All parties are listed in the caption.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED................200eeeeeees i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .............-.000000e00: ii
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-
ELEN EPE STP PeT eee Te TT TTTTTTTTTTLT TTT Tee 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE..............-0000005. 1
E, Statement Of Pacts......cccccccccccccccsvcces 1
Il. Proceedings Below .............6.20eeeeeeeee 9
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT ................. 12
IEEE Sebdeesococccocesccesccccceccccccccces 16

I. THE PRISON HAD NO LEGITIMATE INTER-
EST IN CENSORING INFORMATION COM-
MUNICATED FOR USE IN A PENDING
CRIMINAL CASE.................0-eeeeeeee 16

A. Inmates Retain Various First Amendment
Rights Including the Right to Communi-
cate Information and Advice About a
Pending Criminal Proceeding ........... 16

B. The Prison Had No Legitimate Penologi-
cal Interest in Punishing Respondent's

Pe ccccccccccccccccccsccccccccccces 17

Il. THE PRISON’S PUNISHMENT OF MURPHY
WAS NOT REASONABLY RELATED TO THE
PENOLOGICAL INTERESTS IT ARTICU-

B. There is No Logical Connection Between
the Prison’s Punishment of Murphy and
the Interests it Asserts.................. 23

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

1. The Prison had no interest in security
and order in this case...............

2. The Prison did not demonstrate a con-
nection between Murphy’s punish-
ment and its interest in regulating
speech directed to its staff ..........

3. The Prison did not demonstrate a con-
nection between Murphy’s punish-
ment and its interest in ensuring the
integrity of its due process
REED covccoscoseonccouencceseeten

4. Because the Sixth Amendment and
due process rights of other prisoners
are implicated, any evidence the
Prison might proffer to demonstrate a
connection between its legitimate
interests and Murphy’s punishment
would have to be very probative....

If a Prison Punishes Content of Commu-
nications, Then Inmates Have No Other
Avenues by Which to Communicate Criti-
Oe Be i niénddecddbcnsuse cud

Accommodating the Right to Communi-
cate Advice and Information About a
Defense in a Criminal Case Has No
Legally Recognizable Impact Upon Staff,
Other Inmates, or Prison Resources .....

Ready Alternatives Satisfy the Prison’s
RED 0 ccccccncccccccccccecccecessases

24

27

IV.

A.

v

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

PERMITTING PRISONS AND JAILS TO PUN-
ISH INMATES FOR STATEMENTS CRITICAL
OF THEIR STAFF AFFECTS OTHER PUBLIC

The Public’s Interests in Information
About its Jails and Prisons and in the
Legitimacy of Criminal Trials Outweighs
the Prison’s Interest in Suppressing State-
SE Be Ss EE bbkbeKkeedeesndnnese

An Accused’s Interest in Obtaining
Timely Exculpatory Facts Is Greater Now
than it Was When Brady Was Decided...

THIS CASE DOES NOT IMPLICATE THE
OTHER INTERESTS AND CONCERNS

“ARTICULATED BY PETITIONER AND THE

The Prison Conflates This As-Applied
Challenge With a Facial Challenge to Its
PRERTEOMS. «oc ccccccccccccccccccecceces

Many Matters to Which the Prison and Its
Amici Point Are Not at Issue............

1. The Prison may inspect and read
inmate-to-inmate mail ...............

2. The Prison may prohibit inmates from
holding the position of legal clerks
and may prohibit inmates from acting
as formal or informal writ-writers ...

3. The Prison may prohibit inmates from
conducting investigations............

37

37

38

vi

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

4. The Prison may read inmate-to-inmate
mail regarding legal matters....... .. 40

5. A holding that the Prison may not
censor pieeaiien and advice does
not create a right to meet and counsel
with another inmate................. 40

a i 41

V. THE IMPOSITION OF DISCIPLINE AGAINST
INMATE LEGAL CLERKS FOR THE CON-
TENT OF THEIR ADVICE DEPRIVES
OTHERS OF ACCESS TO THE COURTS..... 41

A. Punishing Inmate Legal Clerks for the
Content of Their Advice Constitutes a
. Deprivation of the Recipient’s Right of

Access to the Courts.................... 41
B. Murphy Had Standing to Raise the Right

i a ae a id ae a 43
EE EE Ee TE 46

VI. THE PRISON AND THE AMICI INVITE THIS
COURT TO RULE ON THE RIGHT TO COR-
RESPOND REGARDING LEGAL MATTERS;
WERE THIS ISSUE PRESENT IT WOULD BE
RESOLVED IN FAVOR OF SUCH A RIGHT. 46

A. The Right to Correspond Has Not Been
Put at Issue by the Facts in this Case... 46

B. Turner Did Not Address the Application
of Rules Prohibiting Correspondence
Regarding Legal Matters................ 47

NED ecnncscendevenauséasscsedcccccenions 48

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Adams v. James, 784 F.2d 1077 (CA 11 1986)......... 21
Bounds v. Smith, 430 U.S. 817 (1977)........... 2, 20, 41
Bradley v. Hall, 64 F.3d 1276 (CA 9 1995)............ 32
Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963)......... 18, 28, 36
Brooks v. Andolina, 826 F.2d 1266 (CA 3 1987) ....... 32
Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Virginia State
Bar, 377 U.S. 1 (1964). ... 2... cece cece eee e eee eeees 17
Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976)............----00 16
Buise v. Hudkins, 584 F.2d 223 (CA 7 1978).......... 44
Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296 (1940).......... 26
Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568 (1942) .... 26
City of Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451 (1987) .......... 25
Cochran v. Kansas, 316 U.S. 255 (1942)...........44.. 20
Cruz v. Beto, 405 U.S. 319 (1972) ........--- eee eee eee 42
Edenfield v. Fane, 507 U.S. 761 (1993) ...........-.... 24
Edwards v. Balisok, 520 U.S. 641 (1997)............... 10
Ex parte Hull, 312 U.S. 546 (1941) .............0ee ees 20
First National Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765
PIPED oc cccccccccccccccccccecsscuceseescesosescees 24

Gentile v. State Bar of Nevada, 501 U.S. 1030 (1991) .... 19
Gibbs v. Hopkins, 10 F.3d 373 (CA 6 1993) ........... 43

Viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Gilmore v. Lynch, 319 F. Supp. 105 (N.D. Cal. 1970) .... 42
Goff v. Dailey, 991 F.2d 1437 (CA 8 1993)............ 32
Heck v. Humphrey, 512 U.S. 477 (1994)............... 10
Houchins v. KQED, Inc., 438 U.S. 1 (1978) ........... 34
In re McNair, 189 Mont. 321, 615 P.2d 916 (1980) .... 36
In re Oliver, 333 U.S. 257 (1948)........... eeeneeend 35
In re Primus, 436 U.S. 412 (1978)................. 16, 17
Johnson v. Avery, 393 U.S. 483 (1969) ......... 39, 43, 46
Jones v. North Carolina Prisoners’ Union, Inc., 433
Se CY CI ot cnccnccnsdnsweadeaddecedcsencceus 40
Laird v. Tatum, 408 U.S. 1 (1972) ..............00085. 45
Leonard v. Nix, 55 F.3d 370 (CA 8 1995)............. 32
Lewis v. Casey, 518 U.S. 343 (1996) ....... 20, 41, 42, 45
Lewis v. City of New Orleans, 415 U.S. 130 (1974) .... 25
Loggins v. Delo, 999 F.2d 364 (CA 8 1993) ........... 32
McNamara v. Moody, 606 F.2d 621 (CA 5 1979)....... 32
Meachum v. Fano, 427 U.S. 215 (1976)................ 16
Mooney v. Holohan, 294 U.S. 103 (1935) ........... 18, 28

Murphy v. Shaw, 195 F.3d 1121 (CA 9 1999) ..10, 11, 31
NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963)............... 17
New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964) .... 24

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Nolan v. Scafati, 430 F.2d 548 (CA 1 1970)........... 21
Pell v. Procunier, 417 U.S. 817 (1974) ............- 16, 34
Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400 (1965) ............0005- 18
Procunier v. Martinez, 416 U.S. 396 (1974)....18, 28, 41, 43
Pyle v. Kansas, 317 U.S. 213 (1942) ........00000e: 18, 28
Richmond Newspapers, Inc. v. Virginia, 448 U.S. 555
CRGGED ... ccccccccccccccccccccccsccceseceeccecees 35, 36
Rizzo v. Dawson, 778 F.2d 527 (CA 9 1985) .......... 11
Sandin v. Conner, 515 U.S. 472 (1995)..........+-. 10, 31
Saxbe v. Washington Post Co., 417 U.S. 843 (1974) .... 34
Singleton v. Wolff, 428 U.S. 106 (1976) ..........-. 44, 45
Smith v. Maschner, 899 F.2d 940 (CA 10 1990)........ 44
protinansnienicsineccnivaniwieniisiiie’
Taylor v. Illinois, 484 U.S. 400 (1988)..........--0+55. 18
Thornburgh v. Abbott, 490 U.S. 401 (1989) ....17, 18, 23, 30
Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987) ..........5555 passim
United Transportation Union v. Michigan Bar, 401
U.S. S76 (1971)... ccccccccsccccccccccccccccceceees 24
Vaughn v. Trotter, 516 F. Supp. 886 (M.D. Tenn.
BID. ccccccccccccccccvesscccesccccccccccvccceees 45
Virginia State Board of Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens
onsumer Council, 425 U.S. 748 (1976)............. 18
Younger v. Gilmore, 404 U.S. 15 (1971) .......-++++++: 42

Zemel v. Rusk, 381 U.S. 1 (1965). ..........0 cece eee 40

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
STATUTES AND RULES
et Rnb cksceedkdnedccdacncccdeenswenes 48
SD UBL. | TAGGED CIGD. oc cccccccccccccesccccss 37
28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(1)(c) (1999). .........cccccccccees 37
See Cs 0 Se I nteecotccsccccccctcemime 36
ee a Oe I I bho ee dvcdceddkdsdeadadeneeas 36
ep ge ae ee ED $00 0knncescexetéckscincdes 37
28 U.S.C. § 2263(b)(3)(B) (1999) .................008, 37
Se Ws Oe Scab vedckdccdebadessdentdadancdscacs 10
Mont. Code Ann. § 45-5-202(2)(c) (1993).............. 2
Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-502(1) (1993)............... 2
Mont. Code Ann. § 46-21-102(1) (1999).............. 36
Mont. R. Evid., Rule 404(a)(2).................00005- 28
Rule 104, Fed. R. Evid. .............ccccsecccccceces 36
Se Se I Sie inn ackdaccsdicccccddscwscsecte 28
Rules 404(a)(2), Mont. R. Evid................0...0005 2

§ 3, Uniform Post-conviction Procedure Act (1966) .... 36

MISCELLANEOUS
11A Uniform Laws Annotated 334 (1995)............ 36

VI J. Wigmore, Evidence § 1834 (J. Chadbourne
SA Ce ho endedscnnevecacsccedcesscdéonénceoecs 35

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The First Amendment to the United States Constitu-
tion provides:

“Congress shall make no law respecting an establish-
ment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof;
or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the
right of the people peaceably to assemble; and to petition
the Government for a redress of grievances.”

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States
Constitution provides, in relevant part:

“Section 1. . . . No State shall make or enforce any
law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of
citizens of the United States; nor shall any State deprive
any person of life, liberty, or property, without due pro-
cess of law: nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction
the equal protection of the laws.”

e

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
I. Statement of Facts.

This case arose when the Petitioners (hereinafter “the
Prison”) punished a Montana State Prison inmate,
Respondent Kevin Murphy, after he wrote a letter to
another inmate, Pat Tracy. The letter contained informa-
tion relevant to Tracy’s defense to a criminal charge of
assault on a prison guard. He also offered Tracy advice
about the criminal charge. Murphy was punished because
he made comments that criticized the prison guard, even
though they were material to Tracy’s defense.

The State of Montana admits evidence of the charac-
ter of the alleged victim to support a claim of self
defense. See Rules 404(a)(2); 405, Mont. R. Evid. (party
may offer testimony about reputation of, and about speci-
fic instances of conduct by, alleged victim); State v. Shad-
well, 22 Mont. 559, 572, 57 Pac. 281, 286 (1899) (holding
evidence of prior threats and violent acts by deceased
relevant to prove self defense). In the case at bar, the State
of Montana charged Montana State Prison inmate, Pat
Tracy, with assault on a prison guard, Glen Galle, in 1994.
J.A. 84, ¥ 4.

Assault on a peace officer was and is a felony in
Montana. Mont. Code Ann. § 45-5-202(2)(c) (1993).
Because Tracy was serving a sentence for a prior felony,
he faced up to 100 years confinement under Montana’s
“two strikes” statute. Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-502(1)
(1993); Tracy Aff., J.A. 84, | 12.

Montana State Prison is divided into Minimum,
High, and Maximum security “sides.” Following the
alleged assault, in accordance with Prison policy, the
Prison moved Tracy from the High Security side to seg-
regation in the Prison’s Maximum Security unit. J.A. 78,

{ 3.

Kevin Murphy was an inmate legal clerk on the High
Security side of Montana State Prison, where Tracy had
been housed. J.A. 78. Murphy had been appointed by the
Prison and trained under the Prison’s legal clerk pro-
gram. The Prison adopted that program to satisfy its
duties to provide means of access to the courts then
required by Bounds v. Smith, 430 U.S. 817 (1977). C.R. 38,
exhibit 4 at 1.

Initially, the Inmate Legal Clerk program provided
that the Prison Librarian would assign cases to inmate
legal clerks depending upon the clerk’s case load. C.R. 38,
Ex. 3. It is undisputed that, as the program evolved, the
process of providing assistance became less formal.
Sometimes legal clerks provided assistance on a first-
come, first-serve, walk-in basis. The librarian also
assigned legal clerks to inmates who sent written
requests (called “kites.”) At other times, inmate legal
clerks provided assistance in response to requests sent
directly to them. Murphy Aff. { 5, J.A. 87.

The same rules applied if a requesting inmate was
housed in the Prison’s Maximum Security unit. Murphy
Aff. { 3, J.A. 87. Although the Prison decided that, for
security reasons, High Security side legal clerks could no
longer visit the Maximum Security unit (Max), it is undis-
puted that High Security legal clerks were not forbidden
from providing assistance altogether and were still per-
mitted to correspond with Max inmates. Murphy Aff.,
{1 3-4, J.A. 87. Other inmates who were not legal clerks
were also permitted to correspond with Max inmates. J.A.
34, 36.

Tracy requested help from Murphy, who had pro-
vided Tracy with legal help on many occasions in the
past. J.A. 87, { 6. Tracy asked for Murphy’s help on his
case through several channels, including a request to the
Prison’s librarian. J.A. 84, { 7. The librarian, who was in
charge of the legal clerk program, told Tracy that High
Security inmates were no longer allowed to visit the
Maximum Security unit. Tracy Aff., { 10, J.A. 84. He
arranged for a Low Security side law clerk to see Tracy.

Id. That law clerk had a reputation for breaching confi-
dences and Tracy therefore refused to speak with him. Id.

Tracy’s requests and the charges against Tracy came
to Murphy’s attention. Murphy Aff. { 3, J.A. 78. Although
he was not permitted to visit Tracy, Murphy could look
into reports that officer Galle had made sexual advances
to inmates. Murphy Aff. { 8, J.A. 88. Murphy learned that
a number of inmates had circulated a petition complain-
ing of Galle’s wrongful conduct in other matters. Id.

According to the Prison’s policy and his job descrip-
tion, Murphy’s job was to “counsel with complaining
inmates,” to “define issues in matters to be addressed
through legal channels,” to instruct inmates in document
preparation and legal research, and to instruct inmates on
procedures in civil rights and post-conviction matters
“and other forms of asserting claims.” Inmate Legal Clerk
Program 1; Law Clerk Job Description 1, C.R. 38, Ex. 3.
The requirements for his position included “[b]asic
understanding of criminal and civil procedure,” the abil-
ity to perform research, experience in pleadings and
forms, an ability to communicate well and to maintain a
high level of professional confidentiality. Id.

Acting within the scope of those duties, on February
16, 1995, Murphy wrote to Tracy and summarized what
he had learned. Murphy Aff., { 9, J.A. 88, 50. Murphy
wrote,

Dear Pat:

How ya doing? Sorry I haven’t wrote before
now. I been busy fighting my charges.’ Finally
got everything taken care of. I can’t come up to
max anymore. [T]he lowside clerks go up there
now. [T]hat’s why I haven't called you out like I
used to. I do want to help you with your case
against Galle. It wasn’t your fault and I know he
provoked whatever happened! Don’t plead
guilty because we can get at least 100 witnesses
to testify Galle is an over zealous guard who has
a personal agenda to punish and harass inmates.
He has made homo-sexual advances towards
certain inmates and that can be brought up into
the record. There are petitions against him and I
have tried to get the Unit Manager to do some-
thing about what he does in Close II, but all that
happened is that I received two writeups from
him myseif as retaliation. So we must pursue
this out of the prison system. I am filing a suit
with everyone in Close I and II named against
him. So you can use that too!

Another point is that he grabbed you from
behind. You tell your lawyer to get a hold of me
on this. Don’t take a plea bargain unless it’s for
no more time.

I seen Damie for a little while when I was
out. I never came over to Butte much. Lenny is
living in lower D still and I don’t speak to him
much. His sister did something to Ted from
what I heard. I don’t know what. Well I will

1 Murphy had been out of prison for a short time. Murphy
Aff. ¥ 7, J.A. 88.

write again when I get this thing against Galle
finished.

Later. . .
Murph
J.A. 50.

The Prison’s Correspondence Policy (hereinafter the
Mail Policy) permitted inmate-to-inmate correspondence,
regardless of where the inmates were housed. Mahoney
Aff. { 14, J.A. 97. The Policy also permitted Prison offi-
cials to read those letters and its supervisory officers
regularly did so. Id., {¥ 14-16, J.A. 97. The Prison could
also read Privileged Correspondence (letters to attorneys,
judges, and other officials), “if there are reasonable
grounds to believe that the mail is being sent contrary to
this policy. .. . ” Mail Policy VII. A, J.A. 43. Murphy thus
knew that his letter would be read by prison officials
before being delivered to Tracy. Murphy Aff. { 10, J.A. 88.
He did not believe that Officer Galle would see his letter,
id., J.A. 88, and it appears that Galle did not see the letter.

Petitioner Robert Shaw, the Correctional Supervisor
in Murphy’s housing unit, read Murphy’s letter and
began disciplinary proceedings against him.

Tracy never learned of the information in Murphy’s
letter. He did not see the letter until it was brought to his
attention by Murphy’s attorneys nearly 18 months later.
Tracy Aff. { 11, J.A. 94. By then he had pled guilty to
felony assault in order to avoid being sentenced as a
persistent felony offender. Id., { 12, J.A. 84.

After reading Murphy’s letter, Shaw charged Murphy
with violating Prison Disciplinary Rule 009 (Insolence),

Rule 022 (Interference with Due Process Hearings), and
Rule 025 (Conduct which Disrupts or Interferes with the
Security or Orderly Operation of the Institution). J.A. 52,
54, 57. Murphy requested a hearing on all three charges.
The hearing officer, Petitioner Larry Bearley, concluded
that Murphy did not violate Rule 025 (Conduct Which
Disrupts or Interferes with the Security or Orderly Opera-
tion of the Institution), but did violate Rule 009 (Inso-
lence) and Rule 022 (Interference with Due Process
Hearings). Br. for Pet. 11; Pet. for Writ of Cert. 6. His
findings were based on the content of Murphy’s letter.

Insolence is defined in Montana State Prison Policy
No. 15-001, Rule 009, as “Words, actions or other behavior
which is intended to harass or cause alarm in an
employee.” The Policy includes examples that explain its
scope: “Cursing; abusive language, writing or gestures
directed to an employee.” J.A. 10.

Shaw’s Insolence charge against Murphy alleged:

While routinely monitoring Institutional mail, I
(CS Shaw) noticed statements in a letter from
Inmate Murphy to Inmate Tracy. In this letter,
Inmate Murphy accused CO Galle of being an
overzealous guard who punishes and harasses
inmates for a personal pleasure. Inmate Murphy
also accused CO Galle of making homo-sexual
advances towards inmates. Inmate Murphy
stated that CO Galle retaliated against Murphy
by writing him up on two rule infractions.

J.A. 52.

i“ At Murphy’s hearing, hearing officer Bearley con-

cluded, with respect to the Insolence charge, “evidence
states c/o Galle retaliated against inmate Murphy by

issuing Inmate Murphy a class II infraction. That state-
ment indicates unprofessional actions which tend to
intimidate the employee.” J.A. 60.

*.

Rule 022, “Interference with Due Process Hearings”
is not defined in Policy No. 15-001. J.A. 14. Instead the
Policy offers the following examples of what would con-
stitute a violation of the rule:

Intimidating or tampering with an informant or
a witness, tampering with or destroying evi-
dence; interfering with an employee in the pro-
cess of writing a conduct report; making a false
statement of misconduct against another inmate
or staff that could result in a disciplinary action.
(This violation should not be charged for as a
[sic] retaliation for the writing of a grievance.)

Id.

Shaw’s charge of “Interference with Due Process Hear-
ings” alleged:

While routinely monitoring institutional mail I
(CS Shaw) noticed comments in a letter from
Inmate Murphy to Inmate Tracy concerning an
incident that had occurred with an assault on
CO Galle. In this letter, Murphy tries to per-
suade Inmate Tracy to pursue certain actions
that may disrupt a court hearing in which
{nmate Murphy is no part of. Inmate Murphy
states he tried to “do something” about CO
Galle, but He (Murphy) was retaliated against.
There is no evidence of any of the statements in
this letter to be fact.

J.A. 54.

As to the Interference with Due Process charge, hearing
officer Bearley concluded, “The statement referring to
C/O Galle making homosexual advances to another
inmate would result in disciplinary action against stated
employees of the D.O.C.” J.A. 62.

Murphy appealed both decisions to Warden Michael
Mahoney, who denied the appeals. Murphy was sen-
tenced to five days detention, which sentence was sus-
pended. J.A. 59.

Neither Shaw nor any other Prison official charged or
punished Murphy for violating any rule that governed
his legal clerk duties. Further, no Prison official claimed
that Murphy had violated the Prison Mail Policy.

II. Proceedings Below.

On October 24, 1995, Murphy filed a complaint
against Petitioners in the United States District Court for
the District of Montana alleging that they punished him
for the content of his letter to Tracy. J.A. 63. Murphy
alleged that Prison officials deprived him of his rights to
free speech and of access to the courts. He brought his
action “on his own behalf, as an inmate law clerk” and
also brought “this action on his own behalf, as an inmate,
subject to the disciplinary policies of the Department of
Corrections. ...” J.A. 65, {JF 10, 11.

Murphy’s First through Third Claims for Relief were
premised on his role as an inmate legal clerk. J.A. 66-67.
The Fourth and Fifth Claims for Relief were premised
upon Murphy’s status as an inmate. J.A. 67. Among other
things, Murphy sought a declaration that Disciplinary

10

Rules 009 and 022 were both vague and overbroad as
applied to him. Complaint, {{ 20-21, Prayer for Relief
{1 1-2, J.A. 67. Murphy sought only prospective declara-
tory and injunctive relief pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983.
].A. 67-68. (Contrary to the Prison’s suggestion, Br. for
Pet. 14 n.4, Murphy did not seek expungement of his
record. See J.A. 67-68; see also Edwards v. Balisok, 520 U.S.
641 (1997); Heck v. Humphrey, 512 U.S. 477 (1994).)

Murphy accepts the Prison’s description of the pro-
ceedings in the United States District Court. The District
Court granted summary judgment for the Defendants.
(Note, however, that the District Court also found that
Murphy did not satisfy the Sandin v. Conner, 515 U.S. 472
(1995), requirement that he demonstrate that his restraint
exceeded the expected conditions of his sentence. P.A. 24.
Because Murphy did not allege a denial of procedural
due process to which Sandin would apply, the District
Court’s Sandin holding is superfluous.)

The United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit reversed the District Court and directed entry of
summary judgment for Murphy. Murphy v. Shaw, 195 F.3d
1121 (CA 9 1999), P.A. 1, 15. The Prison timely petitioned
this Court for review.?

The Ninth Circuit’s decision is premised upon two
First Amendment grounds. First, “the letter itself consti-
tutes speech that, outside of the prison context, would

2 At the time of the Ninth Circuit’s consideration of this
case, Murphy was confined at a regional prison in Great Falls,
Montana. He is currently confined at a state prison in Shelby,
Montana. The Petitioner’s belief that he is housed at Montana
State Prison in Deer Lodge, Pet. Br., 14 n.4, is mistaken.

11

doubtless enjoy the protection of the First Amendment.”
Murphy, 195 F.3d at 1125, P.A. 8-9. Second, “the provision
of legal assistance . . . is an activity protected by the First
Amendment.” Id., 195 F.3d at 1126, P.A. 9. The lower
court’s second conclusion is grounded in context: the
Prison had appointed Murphy as an inmate legal clerk
and had authorized his legal clerk activity.

The court below cited its earlier decision in Rizzo v.
Dawson, 778 F.2d 527, 531 (CA 9 1985), in support of its
second proposition. Rizzo held that, in order to state a
claim of retaliation for writ-writing, the prisoner “must
also allege that the prison authorities’ retaliatory action
did not advance legitimate goals of the correctional insti-
tution or was not tailored narrowly enough to achieve
such goals.” Rizzo, 778 F.2d at 532.

Thus, the Ninth Circuit’s holding is premised upon
two First Amendment rights: the right to communicate
facts and advice about another’s case, regardless of
whether the inmate is a legal clerk and, when assistance
is permitted by a prison, the right to assist without impo-
sition of sanctions that are addressed to the content of
that assistance. Because the Prison neither prohibited
inmate-to-inmate correspondence nor ‘prohibited legal
clerk assistance to inmates in its Maximum Security Unit,
the Ninth Circuit engaged in a straightforward analysis
under this Court’s holding in Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78
(1987). The Court of Appeals concluded that the Prison’s
punishment of Murphy failed to satisfy the Turner test.

¢

12

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Montana State Prison inmate Kevin Murphy wrote a
letter to inmate Pat Tracy to give him information and
advice regarding a defense in Tracy’s criminal case. This
information disparaged a prison guard, and the Prison
punished Murphy for that reason. The question presented
is whether a prison may do so.

Whatever we may say about the reasoning of the
lower court in resolving this question, its judgment was
correct. Murphy should not have been punished for the
content of his letter.

1. The right to convey information and advice
regarding pending criminal litigation is a “core” First
Amendment right. As such, and because it is not lost as a
result of conviction of a crime, a prisoner does not lose
that right as an incident to confinement.

While a prison has legitimate penological interests
that it may assert, regulation of the content of speech that
communicates information and advice about pending
criminal proceedings and intended for use in those pro-
ceedings is not one of those interests. Evaluation of
speech communicating facts and advice material to a
criminal defense is exclusively a province of the judicial
branch and its judges, attorneys, and jurors. A prison has
no business preventing the communication of that infor-
mation merely because it believes it to be false or because
it dislikes what it says.

2. The Prison’s punishment of Petitioner Murphy
fails the Turner/ Abbott test. Evidence in the record fails to
demonstrate any logical connection between the Prison’s

13

articulated interests of preventing inmate-staff confronta-
tion and of ensuring the integrity of its due process
proceedings. Murphy was not punished for words spoken
to a staff member, but for words written about a staff
member and intended to be communicated to an outside
attorney.

The Prison’s punishment of Murphy for what he said
also failed to satisfy the second part of the Turner test.
The Prison claims that Murphy had other avenues for his
speech - that he could have written directly to Tracy’s
attorney. The Prison, however, punished Murphy for the
content of his letter. It did not matter to whom the letter
was addressed.

Requiring prisons to refrain from punishing inmates
when their letters contain information and advice about
legal proceedings outside the prison imposes no burden
on prison resources. The Prison claims that it would have
to distinguish “legal mail” from non-legal mail and that
this would be an impossible task. The Prison raises this
claim for the first time in this Court. The Prison fails to
point out the obvious. Because it already punishes pro-
hibited inmate speech, and may do so legitimately, its
officers engage in the day-to-day function of distinguish-
ing protected from unprotected speech. A holding that
protects speech communicating information and advice
gives guidance to those officers.

Finally, ready alternatives satisfy the Prison’s articu-
lated interests. The Prison claimed that Murphy could
have written to Tracy’s attorney. If this is true, the corol-
lary must be true. Instead of punishing Murphy for the

14

content of his letter, “he Prison could either have for-
warded it to Tracy’s attorney or returned it to Murphy
with instructions to send it to counsel.

3. If Prisons were permitted to punish prisoners for
speech critical of staff, other public interests would be
adversely affected. This Court many times has justified
prison restrictions on the press and other persons outside
the prison because of the relatively unfettered right of
correspondence between prisoners and outsiders. More-
over, when the prison regulates or prohibits speech criti-
cal of staff that is intended for a courtroom, it harms the
integrity of the judicial process. Ironically, the Prison here
interfered with a due process hearing when it prevented
Tracy from learning information material to his defense
to his criminal charges.

4. This case does not affect the other interests artic-
ulated by the Prison and the amici. Prisons may inspect
and read prisoner mail, including “legal mail.” Prisons
may prohibit inmates from acting as legal clerks. Prisons
may prohibit inmates from conducting investigations and
engaging in other associative activities that they feel will
affect the order and security of the institution. A holding
that a prison may not punish for the content of advice
and information regarding a pending criminal case does
not create a right of one inmate to meet and counsel with
another.

5. Punishing an inmate law clerk for his advice to
another inmate implicates the second inmate’s right of
access to the courts. The right of access consists of two
prongs. Under the first, the prison has a duty of non-
interference with a prisoner’s right to defend against

Cae

15

criminal charges. Under the second, a prison has a duty
to ensure that a prisoner may bring post-conviction peti-
tions and challenges to the prisoner’s conditions of con-
finement, matters that are not the subject of Sixth
Amendment protection.

Saying that the right of access is satisfied by the
appointment of counsel in a criminal case is not the same
as saying tue prison did not violate its duty of non-
interference. A prison may interfere with a prisoner’s
criminal defense, even if the prisoner has an attorney.
That is what occurred in the case at bar.

Murphy, as an inmate legal clerk, has standing to
raise this issue. Because Murphy was punished, Tracy did
not learn of information material to his defense. Their
interests are inte:*wined and Murphy is in as good, if not
a better position, to articulate the right of access. Both
suffered injuries but only Murphy was in a position to
bring the clairn to redress Tracy’s.

6. The Prison and the amici invite this Court to rule
on the question of whether inmate “legal mail” has the
protection of the First Amendment. This question is not at
issue in this case, because the Prison permitted corre-
spondence between inmates, whether the correspondence
addressed legal matters or not. Contrary to the Prison’s
claim, Turner did not address the question.

If the question were to be addressed in this case, it
should be resolved in favor of protecting the communica-
tion. This Court may hold simply that a prison must
ensure that information material to a criminal defense can
reach the accused inmate or her attorney.

16

Because the Prison had no interest in punishing an
inmate for communicating information material to
another inmate’s criminal defense, this Court should
affirm the judgment of the Court of Appeals.

¢

ARGUMENT

I. THE PRISON HAD NO LEGITIMATE INTEREST
IN CENSORING INFORMATION COMMUNI-
CATED FOR USE IN A PENDING CRIMINAL
CASE.

A. Inmates Retain Various First Amendment
Rights Including the Right to Communicate
Information and Advice About a Pending Crim-
inal Proceeding.

Prisoners do not lose all protection of the Constitu-
tion when they enter the prison gate. Turner, 482 U.S., at
84. A convicted felon “retains a variety of important
rights that the courts must be alert to protect.” Meachum
v. Fano, 427 U.S. 215, 225 (1976). These include “those first
amendment rights that are not inconsistent with his sta-
tus as a prisoner or with legitimate penological objectives
of the corrections system.” Pell v. Procunier, 417 U.S. 817,
822 (1974).

This Court has called the communication of informa-
tion or advice about pending litigation one of the “ ‘core
First Amendment rights’... .” In re Primus, 436 U.S. 412,
432 (1978) (quoting Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1(1976).) This
Court has repeatedly held that giving advice or imparting
information relevant to possible or ongoing litigation is
speech, as well as association, protected by the First

17

Amendment to the United States Constitution. Brother-
hood of Railroad Trainmen v. Virginia State Bar, 377 U.S. 1,
5-6 (1964); NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963). The
Trainmen, for example, routinely sent a Lodge secretary
to injured railroad workers or their survivors to “recom-
mend that the claim not be settled without first seeing a
lawyer” and to refer them to a favored lawyer. As to
these practices, this Court said, “It cannot be seriously
doubted that the First Amendment’s guarantees of free
speech, petition and assembly give railroad workers the
right to gather together for the lawful purpose of helping
and advising one another in asserting the rights Congress
gave them... .” Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen, 377 US.,
at 5. The right to communicate such information and
advice is protected.

B. The Prison Had No Legitimate Penological
Interest in Punishing Respondent’s Speech.

The Primus line of cases addressed non-prisoner
speech. Those cases require the State to show both a
compelling interest in speech regulation and to demon-
strate that the means chosen to advance that interest are
narrowly drawn.

The standards for prisoner speech are different: in
prison, when it conflicts with legitimate penological
interests, some speech may be prohibited and other
speech regulated. Nevertheless, prisoners retain cogniza-
ble speech rights. The State must demonstrate that its
prohibition or regulation of prisoner speech satisfies the
standards of Thornburgh v. Abbott, 490 U.S. 401, 414
(1989), and Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78, 89 (1987). These

18

cases ask if a prison has any legitimate penological inter-
ests to be served by its rules, practices, or actions. Id.

In the case at bar the Prison lacked a legitimate
penological interest in punishing Murphy for his words.
Information and advice relevant to a defense in a criminal
case is speech of the highest order. The state has no
legitimate interest in suppressing such information. In
fact, the opposite is true. More than merely protecting
such communication, this Court has, as an incident to due
process, compelled it. See Mooney v. Holohan, 294 U.S. 103
(1935) (per curiam); Pyle v. Kansas, 317 U.S. 213, 215-216
(1942); Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83, 87 (1963) (holding
that state suppression of evidence favorable to the
accused deprives the accused of due process of law and
that the prosecution, when asked, must communicate mit-
igating and exculpatory information to the accused). Sim-
ilarly, the Sixth Amendment ensures that the accused has
the opportunity to present evidence in his defense.
Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400 (1965); Taylor v. Illinois, 484
U.S. 400 (1988). That opportunity is denied when the state
interferes with the communication of that information.
This Court has thus held that prison regulations or prac-
tices that impose substantial burdens on defense counsel
“unjustifiably obstruct the availability of professional
representation or other aspects of the right of access to
the courts. . . . ” Procunier v. Martinez, 416 U.S. 396,
419-420 (1974), overruled on other grounds, Thornburgh v.
Abbott, 490 U.S. 401 (1989).

If receipt of information and advice relevant to a
criminal defense is a constitutional right of the highest
order, then giving the same information and advice must
be a constitutional right of equal magnitude. Cf., Virginia

19

State Board of Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens Consumer Coun-
cil, 425 U.S. 748, 756-757 (1976) (“where a speaker exis-
ts... the protection afforded is to the communication, to
its source and to its recipients both”). The communication
of such information is protected even if it is critical of
state officials. Speech critical of the exercise of the State’s
power “lies at the very center of the First Amendment.”
Gentile v. State Bar of Nevada, 501 U.S. 1030, 1034-35 (1991).

What was the value of the speech in Murphy’s letter?
Murphy told Tracy that he, Murphy, had also been the
victim of Galle’s retaliation (“all that happened is that I
received two writeups from him myself as retaliation”), a
fact which, if proven at trial, would have been relevant to
the question of Galle’s bias. Murphy also recounted infor-
mation that he had learned from others in the Prison.
(“Galle is an overzealous guard” who “has an agenda to
punish and harass inmates”; Galle has made “homosex-
ual advances.”) Finally, he imparted some legal advice:
“Another point is that he grabbed you from behind. You
tell your lawyer to get a hold of me on this. Don’t take a
plea bargain unless it’s for no more time.” This is advice
akin to “You ought to sue,” or, “Your case is worth a lot of
money. You ought to get a lawyer.”

The Prison punished Murphy for statements critical
of a staff member but made to aid in preparation for a
criminal trial that would take place outside the prison.
The undisputed evidence demonstrated that Murphy did
not intend or expect officer Galle, the subject of his
report, to see his letter. Murphy’s letter was not directed
to Galle. Nothing in the record hints that Galle ever saw
it or heard of it. If Galle was to be confronted with

-Murphy’s statements, it wouid be by Tracy’s attorney in

20

the courtroom. The Prison had no legitimate interest in
controlling that process.

When the communication is directed to a courtroom,
this Court has ensured that it reaches it without state
interference. In Ex parte Hull, 312 U.S. 546 (1941), the
Prison refused to mail a habeas petition pursuant to its
regulation that provided for review of “all legal docu-
ments, briefs, petitions, motions, habeas corpus proceed-
ings and appeals” to determine if they were “properly
drawn.” Ex parte Hull, 312 U.S., at 548-549. This Court
was blunt in its evaluation of the regulation. “Whether a
petition for writ of habeas corpus addressed to a federal
court is properly drawn and what allegations it must
contain are questions for that court alone to determine.”
Id., at 549; see Bounds v. Smith, 430 U.S. 817, 834 (1976)
(Burger, C.J., dissenting) (stating that the state “may not
act in such a manner as to interfere with the individual
exercise of . . . federal rights”); id., 430 U.S. at 838 (Rehn-
quist, J., dissenting) (observing that Hull and other
“access” cases generally stand for the proposition that the
State may not erect a barrier between the prisoner and
the courts); Lewis v. Casey, 518 U.S. 343, 368 (1996)
(Thomas, J., concurring) (pointing out that Bounds’ prede-
cessors comprise two lines of authority, one of which
prohibited “prison regulations that restricted or effec-
tively prohibited inmates from filing habeas corpus peti-
tions or civil rights lawsuits”); cf., Cochran v. Kansas, 316
U.S. 255, 257-258 (1942) (holding that prison could not
legitimately frustrate efforts to appeal).

The proposition that the Prison had no legitimate
interest holds even if we assume that Murphy’s state-
ments were false. Determining the truthfulness of the

21

information proffered by Murphy for use in a court pro-
ceeding was a judicial, not a penological, function. Nev-
ertheless, Murphy was punished because (as the charge
alleged), “Murphy trie[d] to persuade Inmate Tracy to
pursue certain actions that may disrupt a court hearing in
which Inmate Murphy is no part of.” J.A. 54. Those
“certain actions” would have been the introduction of
evidence material to Tracy’s defense.

Just as this Court ensures that a prisoner’s words
addressed to a court may be heard, the Courts of Appeals
have vigorously asserted the judicial branch’s power to
determine questions of frivolousness and truthfulness.
See Adams v. James, 784 F.2d 1077, 1083 (CA 11 1986)
(Clark, J., concurring in part) (noting that frivolousness
and good faith are concerns of the courts and not the
prison administration); Nolan v. Scafati, 430 F.2d 548, 551
& n.4 (CA 1 1970) (holding that prison could not refuse to
mail an inmate’s letter to the Civil Liberties Union
because prison believed it contained “lies”).

The merit of Murphy’s claims would have first been
measured by Tracy’s defense counsel. Had he found them
wanting, that would have been the end of the matter. Had
defense counsel found Murphy’s claims credible, they
would then have been tested by the prosecutor under
cross examination and in rebuttal. Finally, the fact-finder
in Tracy’s case, whether judge or jury, would have made
the final determination about the veracity and credibility
of Murphy’s claims.

If the prosecutor believed any inmate’s testimony to
be false, the state could bring a perjury charge, again to
be resolved by a court of law and not by the Prison. The

22

court also had the power to impose contempt sanctions
on a witness. These are all functions of the judicial
branch. The Prison, however, would arrogate these
powers to itself.

By stretching its Disciplinary Rules to fit Murphy’s
letter, Montana State Prison extended its authority into
the court room where it has no interest in order and
discipline. The Prison conferred upon itself the authority
to determine if evidence offered for use at a criminal trial
is “true.” If the Prison’s regulations are given this
breadth, prison officials could punish most prisoners’
offers to testify on behalf of an inmate and against a staff
member. Under its application of Rule 022 (Interference
with Due Process Hearings), the Prison may threaten any
inmate who volunteers to offer testimony on behalf of
another prisoner when that evidence alleges employee
misconduct, J.A. 14, 62, or whenever the Prison believes,
“There is no evidence of any of the statements in this
letter to be fact.” J.A. 54, 62. Under its application of Rule
009 (Insolence), the Prison may threaten to punish an
inmate for tendering evidence any time it feels the evi-
dence may “intimidate the employee” or “harass or cause
alarm in an employee.” J.A. 10, 60.

The interests triggered by Murphy’s letter were judi-
cial and evidential. The Prison therefore lacked a legiti-
mate interest in punishing Murphy.

The Prison, however, articulates various other inter-
ests that are legitimate in the abstract. These should be
tested against the facts of this case under a standard
Turner analysis.

23

Il. THE PRISON’S PUNISHMENT OF MURPHY WAS
NOT REASONABLY RELATED TO THE
PENOLOGICAL INTERESTS IT ARTICULATES.

A. The Turner Test.

When the state articulates legitimate penological
interests, Turner sets forth the factors that are relevant in
determining the reasonableness of its actions. “First,
there must be a ‘valid rational connection’ between the
[prison’s actions] and the legitimate governmental inter-
est put forward to justify it.” Turner, 482 U.S., at 89.
Second, we ask if “there are alternative means of exercis-
ing the right that remain open to prison inmates.” Turner,
482 U.S., at 90. Third, the courts must consider “the
impact accommodation of the asserted constitutional
right will have on guards and other inmates and on the
allocation of prison resources generally.” Id. “Finally, the
absence of ready alternatives [that accomplish the
prison’s stated goal] is evidence of the reasonableness of
a prison regulation. [citation omitted.] By the same token,
the existence of obvious, easy alternatives may be evi-
dence that the regulation is not reasonable, but is an
‘exaggerated response’ to prison concerns.” Id.

B. There is No Logical Connection Between the
Prison’s Punishment of Murphy and the Inter-
ests it Asserts.

Any “valid, rational connection” between the
prison’s actions and its asserted penological interest must
be supported by competent evidence in the record.
Abbott, 490 U.S., at 414 n.12; Turner, 482 U.S., at 98 (strik-
ing down inmate marriage ban, observing, “petitioners

24

have pointed to nothing in the record suggesting that the
marriage regulation was viewed as preventing [violent
love triangles]”); cf., Edenfield v. Fane, 507 U.S. 761,
770-771 (1993) (even though state’s asserted interests in
regulating CPAs were “substantial,” it had failed to show
a connection between those interests and its proposed
regulation of CPAs’ commercial speech); First National
Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765, 789-790 (1978)
(assertions that corporate speech would drown out other
points of view not shown by the record); United Transpor-
tation Union v. Michigan Bar, 401 U.S. 576, 580-581 (1971)
(record was “devoid of evidence” that supported order
enjoining Union's “legal advice” to injured workers); New
York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 285 (1964) (“This
Court's duty is not limited to the elaboration of constitu-
tional principles; we must also in proper cases review the
evidence to make certain that those principles have been
constitutionally applied”).

In this case the Prison did not offer in the lower
courts and has not offered in this Court any evidence that
demonstrates a connection between its legitimate
penological interests and its punishment of Murphy.

1. The Prison had no interest in security and
order in this case.

The Prison’s interests in security and order were not
at issue. Although charged, Murphy was found not guilty
of a violation of Disciplinary Rule 025, “Conduct which
Disrupts or Interferes with the Security or Orderly Opera-
tion of the Institution.” Pet. Br. 11.

25

This case does not present the question of whether a
prison may impose disciplinary punishment based on
evidence found in a prisoner’s correspondence. Without
question, had Murphy outlined an escape plan, had he
described a plan to attack another, or had he notified
Tracy of the time and place when contraband would be
brought in, that kind of statement could be used as evi-
dence to invoke punishment. In that instance Murphy
would not have been punished for what he said. He
would have been punished for actions that his written
words revealed. In this case Murphy was punished for
what he said, when those words were not evidence of
criminal or other wrongdoing.

2. The Prison did not demonstrate a connec-
tion between Murphy’s punishment and its
interest in regulating speech directed to its
staff.

Murphy was charged with and found guilty of violat-
ing Rule 009, “Insolence,” and Rule 022, “Interference
with Due Process Hearings.” We consider those offenses
in order. :

If the Prison’s application of Rule 009, “Insolence,” is
to pass muster, then evidence must demonstrate a logical
connection between its application to Murphy’s words
and the legitimate penological interest invoked to justify
it. Turner, 482 U.S., at 89-90. The record shows no connec-
tion.

This Court has recognized a right to confront and
criticize law enforcement officers outside the prison con-
text. Lewis v. City of New Orleans, 415 U.S. 130 (1974); City

26

of Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451 (1987). Murphy recognizes
that an inmate’s exercise of that right inside a prison in
many circumstances would intrude upon the Prison’s
legitimate interests in order and rehabilitation. As part of
its interest in order and rehabilitation, the Prison has a
legitimate interest in reducing staff-inmate confronta-
tions. Rules that prohibit insulting or profane remarks
directed to a staff member, even if the words may be less
offensive than the “fighting words” of Chaplinsky v. New
Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568 (1942), are permissible in the
prison setting. If Murphy had addressed his words
directly to Galle, had he shouted them in the Prison yard,
then they would have come within the province of the
Prison to regulate or punish. Cf., Cantwell v. Connecticut,
310 U.S. 296, 309 (1940) (noting that even religious speech
could incite disorder and thereby constitute a breach of
the peace).

The Prison may not, however, make the same claim
in the case at bar.

__In this case Murphy’s words were not directed to a
Prison employee. They were words about a Prison
employee. Even the Prison’s Disciplinary Rules (under
which Murphy was charged) distinguish words
addressed to a Prison employee from words about a
Prison employee. Rule 009 notes that “Insolence” applies
to “language, writing or gestures directed to an
employee.” Rule 009; J.A. 10 (emphasis supplied). Rule
022 exempts statements critical of employees when they
are included in a grievance addressed to Prison adminis-
trators. Rule 022, J.A. 14.

27

Put differently, in the context of this case, the Prison
exempts criticism about an employee when it is
addressed to Prison administrators, but punishes the
same criticism about an employee when it is intended to
be addressed to a court. The Prison offered no evidence
to explain why one should be exempted and the other
punished.

It is undisputed that Murphy did not believe that
officer Galle would see his letter. Murphy Aff. { 10, J.A.
88. The Prison offered no evidence that the officer ever
saw it. Prison officials have never submitted evidence
demonstrating a connection between its penological
interest in reducing staff-inmate confrontations and an
inmate’s communicating information and advice relevant
to another prisoner’s criminal defense for use in a court-
room, when that information disparages a prison
employee.

3. The Prison did not demonstrate a connec-
tion between Murphy’s punishment and its
interest in ensuring the integrity of its due
process hearings.

The Prison has an interest in ensuring that its due
process hearings are orderly and that the testimony and
other evidence submitted in those hearings is accurate.
See Mahoney Aff., { 4.c, J.A.96 (stating that inspection of
mail furthers the Prison’s interest in preventing plots to
have inmates lie in due process hearings). The Prison,
however, has not demonstrated how a letter conveying

28

information for use in a court proceeding and recom-
mending that an inmate’s attorney first review the infor-
mation affects the Prison’s interest in its own pro-
ceedings.

4. Because the Sixth Amendment and due pro-
cess rights of other prisoners are implicated,
any evidence the Prison might proffer to
demonstrate a connection between its legiti-
mate interests and Murphy’s punishment
would have to be very probative.

Even if the Prison had proffered the necessary evi-
dence, it would have to be closely related to an articu-
lated interest, for the Prison would be regulating not only
the speaking prisoner’s First Amendment rights, but also
the receiving prisoner’s due process rights. Brady v. Mary-
land; Pyle v. Kansas; Mooney v. Holohan, supra; cf., Martinez,
416 U.S., at 408 (both parties to correspondence have free
speech interests). This is so because the essence of Mur-
phy’s communication was, “don’t plead guilty, I have
learned and know personally facts about the guard’s
reputation for treatment of other inmates.” This was good
advice because, as Murphy pointed out above, Montana
admits evidence of the character of the alleged victim to
support a claim of self defense. Rules 404(a)(2); 405
Mont. R. Evid.; Shadwell, above (prior threats and reputa-
tion for violence were admissible).

Had Murphy said, “I think you have a defense under
Shadwell,” that surely would not have been punishable.
But Murphy wrote about the traits themselves. If Mur-
phy had paraphrased Shadwell (i.e. “Galle has made
threats and has a reputation for violence to inmates”),

29

that should not make his statement punishable. The state-
ments are fundamentally the same, but the Prison pun-
ishes references to character traits under Rule 009.
Whether Murphy describes the traits or used the short-
hand, “a defense under Shadwell,” the uttering of either
statement would be subject to sanction by the Prison.

C. If a Prison Punishes Content of Communica-
tions, Then Inmates Have No Other Avenues by
Which to Communicate Criticism of Prison
Staff.

If the inmate has “alternative means of exercising the
right” after the avenue complained of is foreclosed, then
the prison’s actions are not seen as exaggerated. Turner,
482 U.S., at 90. Murphy, however, was punished for what
he said, not for how he communicated his message. Pun-
ishing Murphy for the content of his message cut off all
avenues of communication.

A prisoner has only two means of notifying a defen-
dant or his attorney that the prisoner knows facts rele-
vant to the defendant's case. He may speak or he may
write. Because the Prison punishes an inmate for the
content of the communication, it does not matter how
many avenues of communication may be available.
Regardless of the avenue, the content of the communica-
tion is punished by the Prison.

The Prison contends that the court below applied this
Turner standard incorrectly when it concluded that noth-
ing in the record showed that Murphy had access to the
name and address of Tracy’s lawyer. The Prison contends
that Murphy could have written to Tracy’s lawyer, and

30

that such a letter would have been permitted. This begs
two questions.

First, it does not matter whether Murphy had access
to Tracy’s attorney or not. Murphy was punished for the
content of his letter, without regard to the nature of his
addressee. (The letter would not necessarily have been
privileged from inspection. See Mail Policy { 1.B.2, J.A.
35; { VIIA, J.A. 43.) Second, if writing to Tracy’s lawyer
was the preferred avenue, as the Prison contends, then
we must ask two questions. Why did the Prison punish
Murphy instead of sending his letter to Tracy’s attorney?
If that were too great a burden, then why punish instead
of returning Murphy’s letter to him with instructions to
send it to Tracy’s attorney? Both methods address the
Prison’s articulated interests. That the Prison punished
Murphy instead of redirecting his letter demonstrates the
Prison’s “exaggerated response.” Turner, 482 U.S., at 90.

D. Accommodating the Right to Communicate
Advice and Information About a Defense in a
Criminal Case Has No Legally Recognizable
Impact Upon Staff, Other Inmates, or Prison
Resources.

Turner considers the impact of accommodating the
inmate’s right upon staff, other prisoners, and prison
resources. Turner, 482 U.S., at 90; Abbott, 490 U.S., at 418.
Here the Prison contends for the first time that requiring
it to distinguish “legal mail” from non-legal mail would

31

impose “an intolerable burden.”> The claim is empty
because the Prison already engages in that kind of func-
tion on a regular basis.

The Prison punishes insolent speech. Rule 009, J.A.
10. It must therefore distinguish between insolent speech
and speech that is not insolent (protected speech) as a
matter of course. (Anything else would constitute arbi-
trary punishment, which would violate the due process
clauses. Cf., Sandin v. Conner, 515 U.S. 472, 487 n.11 (1995)
(noting that prisoners retain protection from arbitrary
punishment).) The Prison punishes threatening speech.
Rule 004, J.A. 9. Inevitably, its hearing officers are called
upon to distinguish threatening from non-threatening,
protected, speech. The Prison punishes speech that incites
a riot or strike, Rule 011, J.A. 11, and presumably does
not punish speech that does not incite. It punishes speech
that interferes with due process hearings but would not
punish speech that does not. More important, prison
officials are routinely called upon to distinguish speech
that is intended to be a grievance. Rule 022, J.A. 14.

Holding that the Prison may not punish the commu-
nication of information and advice material to an
inmate’s criminal case does not impose a burden. Instead
it provides guidance to the prison officials in their day-to-
day function of distinguishing permissible speech from
impermissible speech.

3 This claim was not raised in the courts below. Br. of
Appellee 12, Murphy v. Shaw, 195 F.3d 1121 (CA 9 1999); Def.’s
Resp. to Pl.’s Mot. for Summ. Jmt. and Br. in Supp. of Mot. for
Summ. Jmt. 6, Murphy v. Shaw, No. CV 95-62-H-CCL (D. Mont.
July 8, 1996); C.R. 25.

32

E. Ready Alternatives Satisfy the Prison’s Inter-
ests.

As Murphy noted above, the Prison’s interest in dis-
ciplining “Insolence” appears to be prevention of inmate-
staff confrontations. The Prison also has a legitimate
interest in rehabilitating inmates. Teaching civility would
appear to be related to an interest in furthering rehabilita-
tion.

The alternatives available to the Prison appear in its
policies. It punishes words directed to instead of about
staff. See Rule 009, J.A. 10 (punishing “abusive lan-
guage . . . directed to an employee”); Rule 022, J.A. 14
(exempting statements about an employee contained in a
grievance). Nothing compels the Prison to show letters
like Murphy’s to the subjects of those letters. As the court
below concluded, the Prison may readily prevent con-
frontations by shielding its staff from communications
about them.‘

With respect to its interest in rehabilitation, the
Prison may impose rules with an eye to ensuring that
inmates use acceptable means of resolving grievances and
disputes. Bradley, 64 F.3d, at 1280. In this case, the

4 Compare Bradley v. Hall, 64 F.3d 1276, 1281 (CA 9 1995)
(distinguishing disparaging remarks about staff from
disparaging remarks to staff and finding the former protected);
Loggins v. Delo, 999 F.2d 364, 376 (CA 8 1993) (same); Brooks v.
Andolina, 826 F.2d 1266, 1268 (CA 3 1987) (same); McNamara v.
Moody, 606 F.2d 621, 624 (CA 5 1979) (same), with, Leonard v. Nix,
55 F.3d 370, 374 (CA 8 1995) (distinguishing disparaging
remarks about staff from disparaging remarks to staff and
finding the latter unprotected); Goff v. Dailey, 991 F.2d 1437 (CA
8 1993) (same). ;

33

Prison’s discipline of Murphy runs counter to this inter-
est. Participation in the judicial process is an acceptable
means of resolving disputes. Officer Galle’s character was
better addressed in the courtroom than in the prison
yard.

The Prison’s “Interference with Due Process Rule”
furthers a legitimate interest in ensuring the integrity of
its due process proceedings. See Mahoney Aff., ]4.c., J.A.
96. This interest is not hindered by protecting speech that
communicates information and advice about a proceed-
ing taking place outside the Prison’s jurisdiction. Protect-
ing that speech acommodates the Prison’s interest.
Ironically, the Prison’s enforcement of this rule did inter-
fere with a due process hearing. Tracy was denied the
opportunity to pursue and present a defense to his
charges.

F. Conclusion.

Application of the four Turner factors demonstrates
that the Prison’s punishment of Murphy was not reason-
ably related to any of the legitimate penological interests
that it articulates. The Prison failed to demonstrate a
connection between its interest in preventing staff-inmate
confrontations and its interest in the integrity of its due
process hearings. Punishment of the content of Murphy’s
speech cut off all avenues of communication. Permitting
Murphy’s words to pass would have little or no effect on
the Prison’s staff and other inmates. Ready alternatives,
including the redirection of Murphy’s letter, demon-
strated that the Prison’s reaction was exaggerated.

34

Ill. PERMITTING PRISONS AND JAILS TO PUNISH
INMATES FOR STATEMENTS CRITICAL OF THEIR
STAFF AFFECTS OTHER PUBLIC INTERESTS.

A. The Public’s Interests in Information About its
Jails and Prisons and in the Legitimacy of Crimi-
nal Trials Outweighs the Prison’s Interest in
Suppressing Statements about its Staff.

This Court has repeatedly noted the important func-
tion that inmate communications play in the public over-
sight of jails and prisons. In several cases, this Court
recognized the importance of the right of inmates to
correspond with the press and relied upon that right to
justify limitations on other First Amendment rights.
Houchins ». KQED, Inc., 438 U.S. 1, 15 (1978) (upholding
prohibition on inspection of jail, stating, “Respondents
have a First Amendment right to receive letters from
inmates criticizing jail officials and reporting on condi-
tions”); Pell v. Procunier, 417 U.S. 817, 824, 826 (1974)
(upholding prison’s limits on face-to-face interviews in
light of other alternatives and noting, “One such alterna-
tive available to California prison inmates is communica-
tion by mail”); Saxbe v. Washington Post Co., 417 U.S. 843,
847 (1974) (same, noting, “newsmen and inmates are per-
mitted virtually unlimited written correspondence with
each other”).

In the case at bar the Prison punished Murphy for the
content of his statements. Had Murphy included the same
statements in a letter to the press, he would have been
subject to the same sanctions. The Prison’s view — that it
may sanction Murphy for statements that disparage staff
- is inconsistent with the Pell line of jurisprudence. The
Prison would close the most important source that the

7 a ie

35

public has to learn about conditions in its jails and
prisons and the practices of their guards.

This Court has also noted the role of free speech in
the public education and petition functions of criminal
trials. The primary purpose of a trial is to achieve justice.
The trial also educates the public about the issues of the
trial. A public trial serves to act as a check against abuse.
Richmond Newspapers, Inc. v. Virginia, 448 U.S. 555, 568-569
& n.7 (1980). The public nature of the trial ensures that
there is not only fairness but the perception of fairness.
Richmond Newspapers, 448 U.S., at 570; In re Oliver, 333
U.S. 257, 270 (1948). The role of the witness thus goes
beyond fair trial guarantees. It carries a free speech com-
ponent as well.

The right to participate in the trial, a right that goes
beyond the accused’s right to a fair trial, is an ancient
one. “ ‘There is an invitation, to all persons who can
inform the Court concerning the matter to be tried, to
come into the court, and they shall be heard.’” VI J.
Wigmore, Evidence § 1834, p. 437 (J. Chadbourne Rev.
1976) (quoting Cornish’s Trial, 11 How. St. Tr. 460 (1690).)
This is, as this Court has said, “unbroken, uncontradicted
history.” Richmond Newspapers, 448 U.S., at 573.

The First Amendment, in conjunction with the
Fourteenth . . . share a common core purpose of
assuring freedom of communication on matters
relating to the function of government. Plainly it
would be difficult to single out any aspect of
government of higher concern and importance
to the people than the manner in which criminal

36

trials are conducted; as we have shown, recogni-
tion of this pervades the centuries-old history of
open trials and the opinions of this Court.

Richmond Newspapers, 448 U.S., at 575.

That is not to say that every witness, much less every
inmate-witness, has an unvarnished right to appear at a
trial and testify. The trial itself is subject to regulation by
the presiding judge. The calling of witnesses and the
eliciting of their testimony - and therefore the witness's
right to give testimony - is likewise subject to regulation
by the court. See Rule 104, Fed. R. Evid. And that is the
point. The witness's interest in giving testimony should
be regulated by the court, not by the Prison through its
imposition of punishment.

B. An Accused’s Interest in Obtaining Timely
Exculpatory Facts Is Greater Now than it Was
When Brady Was Decided.

In 1963, when Brady v. Maryland was decided, a
defendant's opportunities to obtain post-conviction relief
from a Brady violation were less restricted than they are
today. No fixed time limit was placed on federal habeas
or federal post-conviction petitions, see 28 U.S.C. §§ 2254;
2255 (1995), or on most state post-conviction petitions. See
§ 3, Uniform Post-conviction Procedure Act (1966), in 11A
Uniform Laws Annotated 334 (1995); Im re McNair, 189
Mont. 321, 615 P.2d 916 (1980).

Times have changed. Both state and federal statutes
and court decisions have severely limited the time in
which to seek post-conviction relief - even when the state
has suppressed exculpatory evidence. See Mont. Code

37

Ann. § 46-21-102(1) (1999) (establishing a one-year statute
of limitations); 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(1) (1999) (one year); 28
U.S.C. § 2263 (1999) (180 days for capital cases in qualify-
ing states); but see 28 U.S.C. § 2244(d)(1)(C) (extending the
period for information that could not reasonably have
been discovered); 28 U.S.C. § 2263(b)(3)(B) (extending the
deadline in capital cases for an additional 30 days for
“good cause”). This case illustrates the impact: Tracy’s
claim that the Prison suppressed facts relevant to his
defense is time-barred.

IV. THIS CASE DOES NOT IMPLICATE THE OTHER
INTERESTS AND CONCERNS ARTICULATED BY
PETITIONER AND THE AMICI.

A. The Prison Conflates This As-Applied Chal-

lenge With a Facial Challenge to Its Regula-
tions.

The analysis of the issue in this case should not be
undertaken with reference to the power to prohibit corre-
spondence, which this Court ratified in Turner, but with
reference to Turner's four-part test and its requirement
that evidence demonstrate a relationship between the
Prison’s articulated interest and its punishment of Mur-
phy for the content of his writing. The Prison’s analysis is
appropriate to a facial challenge to its Rules, but not to a
claim that those Rules have been applied to suppress
speech. The question is not, “Are the Prison’s Rules
facially neutral?” Murphy did not challenge the Rules on
their face. Instead the question is whether facially-neutral
rules have been applied in an unconstitutional manner.

38

The record shows that the Prison expressly punished
Murphy for the content of his letter. Under these facts,
the application of these rules must satisfy Turner’s stan-
dards.

B. Many Matters to Which the Prison and Its
Amici Point Are Not at Issue.

1. The Prison may inspect and read inmate-to-
inmate mail.

Montana State Prison’s Mail Policy has never been at
issue in this case. The Policy permitted inmate-to-inmate
correspondence and authorized Prison officials to inspect
those letters. The Prison’s power to inspect letters,
whether for escape plans, contraband, or the like, has
never been questioned in this case.

The Prison may also sanction immates when the let-
ters contain such things as contraband or escape plans. In
such cases, the Prison is not punishing an inmate for the
content of the letter, but for conduct that the content
reveals. Murphy did not discuss prohibited conduct; his
letter contained no contraband.

2. The Prison may prohibit inmates from hold-
ing the position of legal clerks and may
prohibit inmates from acting as formal or
informal writ-writers.

A rule that protects a prisoner from being punished
for the content of his letter when he communicates infor-
mation material to another inmate’s criminal case does
not affect the Prison’s power to regulate the practice of

39

“writ-writing” or its power to establish, regulate, or abol-
ish the formal position of inmate legal clerk. See Johnson v.
Avery, 393 U.S. 483, 489-490 (1969). The Prison is free to
tell Murphy that he no longer may assist inmates in the
writing of writs: it may abolish the legal clerk position. It
did not in this case. To the contrary, it employed Murphy
as an inmate legal clerk.

The Prison and the United States accuse the court
below of creating a “special right to assist.” Their accusa-
tion is belied by the facts and the holding of the lower
court. The Prison had assigned Murphy the duties of an
inmate legal clerk. The Prison did not ban his activity and
no ban on his activity was ever at issue. The Prison did
not prohibit inmate legal clerks from assisting repre-
sented inmates. It did not prohibit Murphy from giving
advice to Tracy. Neither was he prohibited from writing
to Tracy. The holding of the lower court recognized this.
P.A. 7-8.

3. The Prison may prohibit inmates from con-
ducting inwestigations.

The Prison and its amici imagine inmates as roving
paralegals. They exaggerate. Holding that the Prison may
not punish an inmate for the content of his letter, when
that content is advice and information material to another
prisoner’s defense in a criminal case, is far different from
saying that the first inmate has a right to go forth and
investigate. Murphy did look into the charges against
Tracy, but the Prison neither prohibited his actions nor
sanctioned him for them.

40

In the future the Prison may reasonably prohibit its
inmates from actively looking into charges against
another inmate. See Zemel v. Rusk, 381 U.S. 1 (1965). The
Prison may regulate and prohibit prisoners’ efforts to
organize, whether for litigation or to act im concert for
other purposes. Jones v. North Carolina Prisoners’ Union,
Inc., 433 U.S. 119 (1977). It may not, however, prohibit
them from reporting to an accused inmate’s attorney
information that they learned in the lunch line.

4. The Prison may read inmate-to-inmate mail
regarding legal matters.

Murphy has never claimed that his letter to Tracy
was privileged from inspection. He knew that inmate-to-
immate mail was inspected and read by Prison officials
pursuant to the Prison’s Mail Policy. Murphy Aff. { 10,
J.A. 88. He did not and does not challenge the Prison’s
power either to inspect or to read his letters to inmates.
This case and the holding of the court below do not raise
that issue. Prisons may read inmate-to-inmate mail and
they may read mail between inmates and inmate law
clerks. This case does not change that proposition.

5. A holding that the Prison may not censor
information and advice does not create a
right to meet and counsel with another
inmate.

The Prison and its amici call forth the spectre of
inmate legal clerks asserting rights to meet with the

_-- -—-

eae ae ee Re eT

41

inmates they assist. The absence of this issue is dramati-
cally set forth by the facts. The Prison did prohibit Mur-
phy from visiting Tracy. He obeyed that rule. He did not
challenge that rule. As it could before the lower court's
decision, the Prison remains free to regulate the means by
which information material to another inmate’s criminal
defense reaches that inmate. The Prison may not, how-
ever, suppress the message by punishing the messenger.

6. Conclusion.

A holding that a prison may not sanction a prisoner
when he offers information and advice regarding another
prisoner’s criminal case, does not trigger the hypothetical
outcomes proffered by the Prison and the amici.

Vv. THE IMPOSITION OF DISCIPLINE AGAINST
INMATE LEGAL CLERKS FOR THE CONTENT OF
THEIR ADVICE DEPRIVES OTHERS OF ACCESS
TO THE COURTS.

A. Punishing Inmate Legal Clerks for the Content
of Their Advice Constitutes a Deprivation of
the Recipient’s Right of Accese to the Courts.

“Right of access to the courts” is shorthand for two
unrelated sets of circumstances. A prison creates the first
circumstance when its regulations or practices
“unjustifiably obstruct . . . access to the courts... . ”
Martinez, 416 U.S., at 419-420; see Bounds, 430 U.S., at 834
(Burger, C.J., dissenting). When that happens, “It is
for the courts to remedy past or imminent official inter-
ference with individual inmates’ presentation of
claims. . . . ” Lewis, 518 U.S., at 349.

42

The second circumstance arises coincident to confine-
ment. “[Pjersons in prison, like other individuals, have
the right to petition the Government for redress of griev-
ances which, of course, includes ‘access of prisoners to
the courts for the purpose of presenting their complaints.’ ”
Cruz v. Beto, 405 U.S. 319, 321 (1972) (per curiam). This
Court’s decisions hold that the right to petition for
redress is not fully deprived as an incident to confine-
ment. Although prisoners may not be the “litigating
engines” that they might be outside the prison wall, they
must be given some means by which to seek court review
of their convictions or the conditions of their confine-
ment. Lewis, 518 U.S., at 315. This second circumstance
applies expressly to those litigating activities to which the
Sixth Amendment right does not attach: seeking of post-
conviction relief and filing of civil rights claims. In the
case at bar, however, the Sixth Amendment right did
attach to Tracy’s defense of criminal charges in the trial
court.

The Prison ignores the first circumstance and
addresses only the second. It contends that Tracy’s right
of access was fully satisfied by the state’s appointment of
counsel to represent him. Saying Tracy had an attorney,
however, is not the same as saying the Prison did not
interfere.

A prisoner’s fundamental right of access to the courts
“encompasses all the means a defendant or petitioner
might require to get a fair hearing from the judiciary on
all charges brought against him or grievances alleged by
him.” Gilmore v. Lynch, 319 F. Supp. 105, 110 (N.D. Cal.
1970) (three judge court), aff'd sub nom., Younger v. Gilm-
ore, 404 U.S. 15 (1971). By its very terms and by the fact

43

that the “right of access” is premised on more than the
right to petition, the right of access overlaps both due
process and Sixth Amendment rights.

Although Tracy had an attorney, this did not dimin-
ish the Prison’s duty not to interfere with his defense. Yet
it applied its rules to Murphy and thereby interfered with
Tracy’s ability to present an arguably meritorious defense
to the charge made against him. This is a far greater
burden than causing defense counsel to be less efficient,
which was found to interfere with the right of access in
Martinez. Martinez, 416 U.S., at 420.

Murphy was the source of information material to
Tracy’s defense. That the prison trained him to be an
inmate legal clerk does not change the analysis. If any-
thing, it enhances the right, for the inmate legal clerk is
more likely to recognize the significance of the facts.

B. Murphy Had Standing to Raise the Right of
Access.

While Murphy’s role of inmate legal clerk is not
critical to the resolution of the free speech issue, it is
necessary to the access to the courts issue. This Court and
Courts of Appeals, when squarely presented with the
question, have split on the question of whether an inmate
legal clerk has standing to assert the right of access of the
prisoner he would assist. Some have held or tacitly con-
cluded that an inmate legal clerk has standing to assert
the right of access to the courts. See Johnson v. Avery, 393
U.S. 483 (1969) (inmate law clerk asserted the access to
court right of the inmates whom he assisted); Gibbs v.
Hopkins, 10 F.3d 373, 378-79 (CA 6 1993) (holding inmate

44

law clerk may amend his complaint to allege denial of
access to the courts by reason of his punishment); Buise v.
Hudkins, 584 F.2d 223, 227 (CA 7 1978) (holding that
Johnson “establishes that [the inmate law clerk] can raise
the claims of the other inmates because in Johnson only
the jailhouse lawyer was a party and the decision rested
on the denial of access to the courts for his fellow
inmates”). Others reach a different conclusion. See Smith
v. Maschner, 899 F.2d 940, 950 (CA 10 1990) (recognizing
controversy over law clerk’s right to assert inmate’s right
of access).

The question of standing is governed by this Court's
reasoning in Singleton v. Wolff, 428 U.S. 106, 114-16 (1976):
“{T]he relationship between the litigant and the third
party may be such that the former is fully, or very nearly,
as effective a proponent of the right as the latter.” Single-
ton, 428 U.S., at 115. Nevertheless,

Even where the relationship is close, the reasons
for requiring persons to assert their own rights
will generally apply. If there is some genuine
obstacle to such assertion, however, the third
party’s absence from court loses its tendency to
suggest that his right is not truly at stake, or
truly important to him, and the party who is in
court becomes by default the right’s best avail-
able proponent.

Id., 428 U.S., at 116.

The relationship between Murphy and the inmates he
assists is such that he is fully or nearly as effective a
proponent of the right of access. When the prison disci-
plines an inmate legal clerk ina way that burdens the
assisted inmate’s right of access, the rights of both the

45

clerk and the person he assists are inextricably inter-
twined. When the prison disciplines a legal clerk for the
content of his advice, it ultimately threatens, both directly
and indirectly, those for whom the rule of mutual assis-
tance was primarily intended. Vaughn v. Trotter, 516
F. Supp. 886, 893 (M.D. Tenn. 1980). If inmate legal clerks
cannot raise access claims under these circumstances,
prison officials would be free to prevent inmate access by
the simple expediency of punishment and harassment of
inmate legal clerks. This would erect a genuine obstacle
to the inmate’s ability to assert his right of access. Under
such conditions, Murphy has standing to assert the right
of access of the inmates he assists.

Unlike the abstract notions of access to the courts
considered in Lewis v. Casey, the Prison officials here
engaged in the active practice of punishing an inmate
legal clerk because they did not like or because they
disagreed with his statements. Murphy was disciplined
and Tracy pled guilty without the benefit of Murphy’s
advice and information. When Prison officials hold out
the promise of punishment for communicating certain
things to an inmate who an inmate legal clerk is assisting,
they ensure, as the Prison observes, Pet. Br. 14 n.4, that
those communications will not occur, notwithstanding
their importance to a claim to be made by the assisted
inmate. This is an actual injury. Laird v. Tatum, 408 U.S. 1,
11-13 (1972). Neither Murphy’s nor Tracy’s injuries were
theoretical. Under Singleton’s test, Murphy should have
standing to assert a right of access to the courts.

C. Conclusion.

Murphy has established a violation of Tracy’s right of
access to the courts. Murphy, acting in his capacity as an
inmate law clerk, attempted to bring a potential defense
to Tracy’s attention. Murphy’s recommendation never
reached Tracy, who was then prevented from investigat-
ing or raising the defense, and ultimately pled guilty to
assault. Tracy Aff. { 12, J.A. 84. Tracy’s claim never made
it into court. And Murphy, like the inmate in Johnson v.
Avery, was disciplined for assisting. Murphy Aff., 1] 5-6,
J.A. 78.

VI. THE PRISON AND THE AMICI INVITE THIS
COURT TO RULE ON THE RIGHT TO CORRE-
SPOND REGARDING LEGAL MATTERS; WERE
THIS ISSUE PRESENT IT WOULD BE RESOLVED
IN FAVOR OF SUCH A RIGHT.

A. The Right to Correspond Has Not Been Put at
Issue by the Facts in this Case.

Because the Prison permitted inmates to correspond
with other inmates in its Maximum Security unit (and at
other prisons), see Mail Policy, { II.B.2, J.A. 36, the ques-
tion of whether the Prison could properly prohibit letters
that communicated facts and advice material to an
inmate’s criminal defense was not at issue. The Prison
and amici, however, argue strenuously for such a prohibi-
tion. This Court need not reach that issue, for to do so
would be to offer an advisory opinion. Nevertheless, if it
is considered, the issue should be resolved in favor of a
right to communicate facts material to a defense.

47

B. Turner Did Not Address the Application of
Rules Prohibiting Correspondence Regarding
Legal Matters.

The Prison goes to great lengths in a failed a‘ ._...pt to
demonstrate that this Court, in Turner, approved the
application of rules so as to prohibit inmate correspon-
dence on legal matters. Pet. Br. 28-30. As the United
States has pointed out in its amicus brief, Br. of U.S. 25,
this Court upheld “the facial validity of the correspon-
dence regulation,” Turner, 482 U.S., at 99, which permit-
ted inmate-to-inmate correspondence on legal matters, id.
at 81, “read petitioner’s additional challenge to the Dis-
trict Court’s findings to be a claim that the District Court
erred in holding that the correspondence regulation had
been applied in an arbitrary and capricious manner,” and
remanded that question to the Court of Appeals. Id. at
100.

Permitting direct correspondence with another
inmate is but one means of ensuring that facts material to
a defense come to the attention of the accused and her
attorney. Inmates may, as the Prison has pointed out,
correspond directly with the accused’s attorney. But this
is true only if the inmate knows who and where the

- attorney is. Otherwise the facts that prove the accused's

innocence may never see the inside of the courtroom.
This Court should hold then, that when Prison officials
act in such a way to prevent communication of material
facts to an accused or her attorney, they violate the First
and Sixth Amendments and the right of access.

This would call for nothing out of the ordinary. The
Federal Bureau of Prisons currently permits inmates to

48

correspond with each other when they are witnesses or
parties in the same legal action. 28 C.F.R. § 540.17. Mur-
phy’s letter to Tracy would have satisfied those stan-
dards. Articulating a rule that requires prisons and jails
to ensure that material facts reach either the inmate or his
attorney would do nothing more than carry out Turner's
“other avenue” factor. Turner, 482 U.S., at 90.

e

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the
United States Court of Appeals should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

Pror. Jerrrey T. Renz
Counsel of Record

Pror. CYNTHIA ForpD
CRIMINAL Derense CLINIC
ScHOOL oF Law
UNIVERSITY OF MONTANA
Missoula, Montana 59812
(406) 243-4823

Counsel for Respondent

December 2000

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0362%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
