# Amicus Curiae Brief — TrafFix Devices, Inc. v. Marketing Displays, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0361%3A15

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 532 U.S. 23

## Text

a

No. 99-1571 OCT - 6 2000

In The
Sipreme Court of the United States

—_ a —
TRAFFIX DEVICES, INCORPORATED,

Petitioner,

MARKETING DISPLAYS, INCORPORATED,
Respondent.

-——--——_ - ——._—_- — @ —__- —_ --— --

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Sixth Circuit

———__-—___——__ @ —___ -—__-- — —

BRIEF OF THOMAS & BETTS CORPORATION
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

— oo — a

Sipnry Davip*

Roy H. Werner

Lerner, Davip, LITTENBERG,
KrumMHo.z & Mentriik, LLP

600 South Avenue West

Westfield, NJ 07090-1497

82 E. Allendale Road eeu “ails pcg ord

Saddle River, NJ 07458 nets

Tel: (201) 934-9800 Counsel for Amicus Curiae

Fax: (201) 934-8681 Thomas & Betts Corporation

*Counsel of Record

On the Brief:
James D. Hay
Lewis & McKenna

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO). (800) 225-494
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 42-2831

SBEST AVAILABLE COPY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .............ccccseeeeees ii
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE ............. 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT...............000e eee 3
SDE Ae inedbatndadcedcdsvecesescvedeccicese 5

I. THE PURPORTED RIGHT TO COPY
APPEARS NOWHERE IN THE CONSTITU-
TION OR ANY PATENT STATUTE ......... 5

Il. THE ARGUMENTS OF PETITIONER AND ITS
AMICI ARE PREMISED ON AN OUTDATED
AND/OR INCORRECT VIEW OF THE PAT-

BEES ROE cece resccenconcccuvecvccesesences 7
III. PREEMPTION DECISIONS BY THIS COURT
ARE FAR FROM DISPOSITIVE .............. 12

IV. PETITIONER PROVIDES NO REASON TO
DESTROY ONLY THE LANHAM ACT TRADE
DRESS RIGHTS OF FORMER PATENT
PED coc beccsccncesccencvessevessccesees 15

V. THE EXTREME VIEWS ESPOUSED BY PETI-
TIONER AND ITS SUPPORTERS ARE UNSUP-
PORTED AND UNWISE.................0005. 19

VI. CONCERNS REGARDING THE PURPORTED
EASE OF ESTABLISHING SECONDARY
MEANING ARE UNFOUNDED.............. 24

VII. THIS CASE DOES NOT INVOLVE DESIGN
PATENTS, BUT IF IT DID, THE ARGUMENTS
IN FAVOR OF A SEPARATE DEFENSE
WOULD BE EVEN WEAKER................ 25

GPU NEINE cvcccscccccecsncecocsccccsecevesesses 28

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

Cases
Bonito Boats, Inc. v. Thunder Craft Boats, Inc., 489

US. 060 (IGGED oc ccccvccccssonsessceses 12, 14, 17, 22

Compco Corp. v. Day-Brite Lighting, Inc., 376 U.S.

254 (19GE) .... -cccccccecvevesvsccccsessecues 12, 13, 14

Eli Lilly & Co. v. Medtronic, Inc., 496 U.S. 661 (1990) ....

Ferrari S.P.A. Esercizio v. Roberts, 944 F.2d 1235 (6th
Che. BODE) .cccccccccveccscossedueuesenenueaenee

Gorham Mfg. Co. v. White, 81 U.S. (14 Wall.) 511
oy SPP

Heinle, In re, 342 F.2d 1001 (C.C.P.A. 1965).......
Honeywell, In re, 497 F.2d 1344 (C.C.P.A. 1974)....

Kellogg Co. v. National Biscuit Co., 305 U.S. 111
(IGGED oo ccccccccccceseccccesescecseseuneeneenen

King Instruments Corp. v. Perego, 65 F.3d 941 (Fed.
Ss. Pe ttstst‘=‘SOCS:S—‘C:S:

Krueger Int'l, Inc. v. Nightingale Inc., 915 F. Supp.
595 (S.D.N.Y. 1996) oc cccccccccvcvescccccseces

Leatherman Tool Group, Inc. v. Cooper Indus., Inc.,
131 F.3d 1011 (Fed. Cir. 1997)...............45.

Midwest Indus., Inc. v. Karavan Trailers, Inc., 175
F.3d 1356 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 120 S. Ct. 527
tic, ee ee

Mogen David Wine Corp., In re, 328 F.2d 925
GORA. WED... cccccsessvestuvsesseuunenee 11,

Mogen David Wine Corp., In re, 372 F.2d 539
COPA. WEF) oo cccccccvcccoccsecvccavsvssenwen

10

so oe

26, 27

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Qualitex Co. v. Jacobson Prod. Co., 514 U.S. 159
PRPC UEEREERbebebecesecccoceeccceesce 14, 17

Regional Rail Reorg. Act Cases, 419 U.S. 102 (1974) ..... 7
R.M. Smith, Inc., In re, 734 F.2d 1482 (Fed. Cir.

DP PUECRSRRGGEOESEDS6eS eee cccccocesccooceece 28
Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986 (1984)...... 7
Scott Paper Co. v. Marcalus Mfg. Co., 326 U.S. 249

DEES ELISE EE IESE EES OOTP ET TEST TT TTT 12
Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Stiffel Co., 376 U.S. 225

PU MUCPERSGRRESGEC eS e60ees ccc cceeess 12, 13, 14, 18

Singer Mfg. Co. v. June Mfg. Co., 163 U.S. 169 (1896) .... 12

Studiengesellschaft Kohle mbH v. Northern
Petrochemical Co., 784 F.2d 351 (Fed. Cir. 1986) .... 11

Thomas & Betts Corp. v. Panduit Corp., 34
U.S.P.Q.2d (BNA) 1607 (7th Cir. 1994)............. 22

Thomas & Betts Corp. v. Panduit Corp., 138 F.3d 277
(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 929 (1998)..... passim

Two Pesos, Inc. v. Taco Cabana, Inc., 505 U.S. 763
CN sce eeececccces 17

Vornado Air Circ. Sys., Inc. v. Duracraft Corp., 58
F.3d 1498 (10th Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S.

en cc cc sc ccccecocescs 19, 21
W.T. Rogers Co. v. Keene, 778 F.2d 334 (7th Cir.

ee oo es ceeds cecccesecececees 26
Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. v. Samara Bros., Inc., 120 S. Ct.

EEL EEE 6, 24

Zip Dee, Inc. v. Dometic Corp., 931 F. Supp. 602
EERSTE PCM PT TTTTTTEETTTT EY 21, 24

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Statutes, Rutes & OTHer AUTHORITIES
U.S. Constitution, art. I, § 8, cl. 8..... 6.6.6 eee eee eee 6
15 UG.C. © 112Sa) .....ccccccccccccccsccccccees passim
35 U.S.C. § 40 (1946) ...... cc ccccccccccccceccccccees 9
BB UBL. @ BBR. ccccccccccccccccccccccccccosccccese 16
SB UGC. © 1B6..ccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccces 6
TB UGC. © BFE. cccccccccccccccccccccccccccsccceces 25
J. THomas McCartuy, McCartHy On TRADEMARKS
Anp Unrair Competition (4th ed. 2000)......... 21, 22

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

Thomas & Betts Corporation (“T&B”) respectfully
submits this brief as amicus curiae in support of respon-
dent Marketing Displays, Inc.’

T&B is a manufacturer of electrical components,
including cable ties used for wrapping electrical wires. In
1962, T&B introduced a cable tie having a metal barb
which allowed the long strap of the tie to be easily
inserted into (but not pulled out of) the “head,” thus
holding the wires together tightly. The exterior of the
head of T&B’s cable tie had an oval shape.

T&B has continuously sold its cable tie with the oval-
shaped head since 1962. In 1965, T&B obtained a utility
patent on its cable tie having claims directed to the metal
barb locking device but which nowhere mentioned the
oval-shaped head. However, the oval-shaped head
appeared in the specification. In 1966, T&B obtained a
design patent which disclosed the metal barb, as well as
the overall shape of T&B’s cable tie, including the oval-
shaped head.

While both of T&B’s patents expired by 1982, T&B
continued to sell its barbed cable tie with the oval-shaped
head. In 1994, 32 years after T&B had introduced its cable
tie and 12 years after T&B no longer had any patent
protection, Panduit introduced a cable tie which not only

1 T&B has obtained the written consent of both parties
which have been filed with this brief. This brief was not
authored in whole or in part by counsel for either party, and no
person or entity other than T&B has made a monetary
contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.

employed the metal barb locking device (which had been
claimed in T&B’s expired utility patent and which had
been shown as part of the overall appearance in T&B’s
design patent), but which also copied the oval-shaped
head.

T&B sued Panduit in the United States District Court
for the Northern District of Illinois, alleging trade dress
infringement under § 43(a) of the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C.
§ 1125(a). In 1998, the Seventh Circuit rejected Panduit’s
argument that T&B’s expired utility patent provided a
complete and separate defense, and joined other courts in
ruling that a utility patent may constitute nondispositive
evidence of functionality. See Thomas & Betts Corp. v.
Panduit Corp., 138 F.3d 277 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 525 U.S.
929 (1998) (“T&B”). The Seventh Circuit's decision in T&B
has been repeatedly cited by the Sixth Circuit in the
present case (Pet. App. 18a) and in substantially every
prior brief before this Court, including an amicus brief
filed by Panduit itself.

Panduit has continued to argue that T&B’s expired
utility and design patents constitute a separate and com-
plete defense. T&B, as the owner of what it considers to
be valid and valuable trade dress rights, is of course
interested in having this Court adopt the views advo-
cated by T&B and accepted by the Seventh Circuit in
T&B, and in receiving from this Court a clarification of
the law on this issue where the courts of appeal are in
substantial agreement as to broad principles but may
require “fine tuning” for which this case presents an
appropriate vehicle.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

As enunciated by the Seventh Circuit in T&B and by
most other courts which have considered this issue, util-
ity patents should constitute nondispositive evidence of
functionality. The contention that a “right to copy” cre-
ates a separate and complete nonstatutory defense any
time a claimed trade dress feature appears in any context
in any expired patent, finds no support in the Constitu-
tion or in any statute. (See Part I.) Petitioner’s argument
for a “right to copy” arises out of fundamental miscon-
ceptions as to the nature of patent rights: patentees obtain
only a negative right to exclude, and no affirmative right
to use which can “enure” to the public. (See Part II.)
While Petitioner and its supporters rely on broadly
worded dicta from prior decisions of this Court, the more
recent of those decisions all involved federal preemption
of claims under state law, a doctrine having no relevance

to trade dress claims under the federal Lanham Act. (See
Part III.)

Petitioner's position is also illogical and inconsistent.
Given Petitioner’s view that anything in the “public
domain” is precluded from protection under the Lanham
Act, there is no basis to erect a special defense to Lanham
Act claims only where the trade dress claimant owned the
expired patent. Taking Petitioner's “public domain”
views to their logical conclusion would destroy trade

? The older decisions of this Court are even less pertinent:
they issued before the Lanham Act was even enacted, and are
not inconsistent in result with the majority view of the courts of
appeal. See, e.g., T&B, 138 F.3d at 285-87 (International
Trademark Association (“INTA”) Br. at 10.)

dress protection (i) where any patent owned by any com-
pany or person showed the feature in question in any
context, and (ii) where the feature, although never pat-
ented, could still be found in other “public domain”
materials. Allowing this proposed special defense only
where the trade dress claimant owns the expired patent
would simply punish patent owners for disclosing their
technological contributions in detail, and thereby frus-
trate the objectives of the patent laws. (See Part IV.)

The positions urged on behalf of Petitioner also fail
to distinguish properly between (i) trade dress features
which constitute all or part of the invention claimed in a
utility patent (which may raise questions of func-
tionality); (ii) nonfunctional features which are only dis-
closed in a utility patent (where the patent should be at
most nondispositive evidence of functionality and should
not bar protection where the disclosure is merely inciden-
tal) (see Part V.1); (iii) features which are neither disclosed
nor claimed in an expired patent, but which were used by
the patentee on its commercial product during the term of
the patent (as to which the patent should be totally irrele-
vant) (see Part V.2); and (iv) features which appear only in
design patents granted for ornamental inventions (in
which the patent may properly be viewed as evidence of
nonfunctionality) (see Part VII).

Petitioner’s extreme positions cannot be justified by
fears that owners of numerous expired patents will
oppress their competitors by claiming trade dress rights
immediately after their patents expire. Petitioner ignores
the heavy burden placed upon any party which is claim-
ing trade dress protection in a product feature, irrespec-
tive of whether an expired patent is in the picture. For

LB _

example, this Court just recently confirmed that those
claiming trade dress rights in unregistered product
designs must always prove secondary meaning. Further-
more, the Seventh Circuit has held that secondary mean-
ing must not primarily stem from the exclusivity created
by a patent. (See Part VI.) These requirements, coupled
with the claimant’s burden of proving a likelihood of
confusion and the recent enactment of 15 U.S.C.
§ 1125(a)(3), which places the burden on the claimant to
prove nonfunctionality, will discourage baseless suits,
increase the number of suits dismissed on summary judg-
ment, and will assure that few claimants will be able to
successfully enforce trade dress rights in product designs.

This Court should thus decline to create the sweep-
ing new nonstatutory defense to Lanham Act claims
urged on behalf of Petitioner, i.e., that any appearance of
a trade dress feature in an expired patent or on a for-
merly patented product constitutes a complete and sepa-
rate defense to a Lanham Act claim.

¢

ARGUMENT

I. THE PURPORTED RIGHT TO COPY APPEARS
NOWHERE IN THE CONSTITUTION OR ANY
PATENT STATUTE

Petitioner repeatedly suggests that the purported
“right to copy” has a basis in the Constitution, or at least
in some patent statute. For example, Petitioner argues
that trademark law is a product of Congress’s power
under the Commerce Clause which “does not authorize

Congress to override other provisions of the Constitu-
tion” (Pet. Br. at 11; see also id. at 10) (“Congress has
expressed no intent to repeal, or even just curtail, the
public’s right to copy from expired patents”). But neither
Petitioner nor its supporters can point to anything in the
“Writings and Discoveries” clause of the Constitution,
art. I, § 8, cl. 8, or any other provision of the Constitution
or any federal statute, which creates any affirmative right
to use an invention upon expiration of a patent.

The closest one comes to teasing such a right out of
the Constitution or any statute is the reference to “limited
times” in the “Writings and Discoveries” clause of the
Constitution, and the limited term set forth in 35 U.S.C.
§ 154. But those provisions can be read far more readily
as simply establishing the right of Congress to create a
scheme in which what is sometimes characterized as “the
public’s natural right not to be excluded” (M. Pollack Br.
at 16-17) is restricted by inventors who are being given
the right to exclude others from their inventions for “lim-
ited times,” and the exercise of that constitutional author-
ity by Congress. In contrast, the right to prevent
confusion in the marketplace is set forth expressly in the
Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1125(a), and this Court recently
confirmed that the Lanham Act includes claims for trade
dress in the form of product design. See Wal-Mart Stores,
Inc. v. Samara Bros., Inc., 120 S. Ct. 1339 (2000).

Even if one views this issue as a conflict between the
Commerce and the Writings and Discoveries clauses of
the Constitution, Petitioner and its supporters cite no
authority for the proposition that either clause is of such
transcendent importance as to require the other to give
way. And even if a “right to copy” is determined to be

-_

embraced (albeit unstated) in the Patent Code, when con-
fronted with apparently conflicting statutes which are
“capable of coexistence, it is the duty of the courts, absent
a clearly expressed Congressional intention to the con-
trary, to regard each as effective.” T&B, 138 F.3d at 285,
quoting Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986, 1018
(1984), quoting Regional Rail Reorg. Act Cases, 419 U.S. 102,
133-34 (1974).

Petitioner and its supporters cite no such expression
of Congressional intent. On the contrary, the recent statu-
tory recognition of the common law functionality defense
in Lanham Act cases, see 15 U.S.C. § 1125(a)(3), demon-
strates that Congress chose the functionality doctrine as
the vehicle for preventing the Lanham Act from restrict-
ing the right to use utilitarian features of the type which
might be patented.

Il. THE ARGUMENTS OF PETITIONER AND ITS
AMICI ARE PREMISED ON AN OUTDATED
AND/OR INCORRECT VIEW OF THE PATENT
LAWS

A central premise of Petitioner’s position, as echoed
by certain of the amici, is that a patentee enjoys the
“exclusive right to practice” his or her invention during
the term of the patent, but once the patent expires, that
right to practice “enures” to the public. For example:

To encourage innovation, the inventor of a new
and useful advance is given “the exclusive right
to practice the invention for a period of years.”
[Bonito Boats, Inc. v. Thunder Craft Boats, Inc., 489
U.S. 141 (1989)] at 151. In exchange, the inventor
must disclose how to make the invention, 35

U.S.C. 112, so that, after the patent expires, “the
knowledge of the invention enures to the peo-
ple, who are thus enabled without restriction to
practice it and profit by its use.” United States v.
Dubilier Condenser Corp., 289 U.S. 178, 187 (1933).

(U.S. Department of Justice (“DOJ”) Br. at 1; see also id. at
7-8 and Pet. Br. at 2-2.)

The problem with this argument, which is cobbled
together from broad statements of general principles in
cases having nothing to do with the subtle balancing that
is needed where two equally important federal statutory
schemes are in ostensible conflict, is that the fundamental
premise is incorrect. A patentee does not receive through
the patent any right to practice an invention, let alone an
exclusive right, for a limited period of time or for any
period of time. While the law on this point was arguably
confusing for many years, it is now indisputable that the
only right received through a patent is the negative right
to exclude others from making, using, and selling the
invention defined by the patent’s claims. Indeed, the
owner of an expired patent may be prevented from prac-
ticing his or her own invention by other federal rights
owned by others (including other unexpired patents) as
well as other federal and state regulations.

Since a patent never gives its owner the right to
practice the invention during the patent term, this nonex-
istent right cannot “enure” to the public upon expiration.
All that occurs when a patent expires is that the patent
itself ceases to be an impediment to the public’s practice
of the invention — that is, to the extent the public would
have the right to practice the invention in the absence of
the patent, the expiration of the patent removes that
obstacle.

aE

bettie

1. Prior to 1952, the Patent Act confusingly defined
the rights given by a patent to the patentee as “the
exclusive right to make, use, and vend the invention or
discovery.” 35 U.S.C. § 40 (1946). As explained in King
Instruments Corp. v. Perego, 65 F.3d 941 (Fed. Cir. 1995):

Before the 1952 Act, the Patent Act defined the
bundle of rights in terms of “the exclusive right
to make, use, and vend the invention or discov-
ery.” 35 U.S.C. § 40 (1946). This wording - defin-
ing the grant in terms of the right to make the
invention, rather than the right to exclude
others from making the invention - caused con-
fusion.

The 1952 Act, § 154, clarified that a patent
empowered its owner “to exclude others from
making, using, or selling” the invention. 35
U.S.C. § 154 (1952) (emphasis added)... .
Inventors possess the natural right to exploit
their inventions (subject to the patent rights of
others in a dominant patent) apart from any
Government grant. . . . Thus, the 1952 Act clari-
fied that a patent confers the right to exclude
others from exploiting an invention. It does not
confer the right to exploit the invention already
possessed by the inventor.

Id. at 949.

These principles were reaffirmed in Leatherman Tool
Group, Inc. v. Cooper Indus., Inc., 131 F.3d 1011 (Fed. Cir.
1997):

[T]he federal patent laws do not create any affir-
mative right to make, use, or sell anything. As
the Supreme Court has stated, “[t]he franchise
which the patent grants, consists altogether in
the right to exclude every one from making,

10

using, or vending the thing patented, without
the permission of the patentee.” Bloomer v.
McQuewan, 55 U.S. 539, 548, 14 How. 539, 14
L.Ed. 532 (1852). . . . Therefore, the Supreme
Court made clear that the patent laws provide a
limited right to exclude others from making,
using, or selling a claimed invention for a lim-
ited period of time, but afford no affirmative
right to make, use, and sell a patented inven-
tion.

Id. at 1015.

The ability of a patentee to exploit a patented inven-
tion during its term may be prevented by other private
rights, such as adversely held dominant patents. Like-
wise, legislation may create regulatory and other nonpa-
tent impediments to the exploitation of a patented
invention, e.g., the inventor of a patent on a gun or a drug
may be restricted or prohibited from its use. See, e.g., Eli
Lilly & Co. v. Medtronic, Inc., 496 U.S. 661, 669-70 (1990)
(owner of patent on drug may be unable to exploit the
patent for want of FDA approval).

2. Since a patent does not provide the owner with
an affirmative right to use the invention during its term,
it necessarily follows that the expiration of such patent
does not vest in that owner - or in anyone else —- the
affirmative right to use the invention. “The expiration of
a patent right is not a guarantee of a right to use. The
right to make, use, or vend any given thing may be, and
often is, subservient to several patents expiring at differ-
ent times.” In re Heinle, 342 F.2d 1001, 1005 (C.C.P.A.
1965). For example, when a product patent expires, the
particular use of the product may still be prohibited by a

11

later patent. Studiengesellschaft Kohle mbH v. Northern
Petrochemical Co., 784 F.2d 351, 357 (Fed. Cir. 1986).

Thus, just as a patentee is not assured of the right to
practice a patented invention during the patent term, a
patentee likewise enjoys no guarantee that he or she will
be able to practice the patented invention without restric-
tion upon expiration. Accordingly, and notwithstanding
dicta in this Court’s opinions whose origins date back to
an era when the nature of patent rights was sometimes
mischaracterized as providing an affirmative right to
make or use an invention (see supra), it is simply not true
that an inventor obtains any right to practice a patented
invention during the term of the patent. Consequently,
that nonexistent right cannot “enure” to the public upon
expiration of that patent.

3. “Patent expiration is nothing more than the ces-
sation of the patentee’s right to exclude held under the
patent law.” Midwest Indus., Inc. v. Karavan Trailers, Inc.,
175 F.3d 1356, 1362 (Fed. Cir.) (quoting In re Mogen David
Wine Corp., 328 F.2d 925, 930 (C.C.P.A. 1964)), cert. denied,
120 S. Ct. 527 (1999). Thus, for example, during the exis-
tence of the utility patent at issue in T&B, T&B had the
right to exclude others from using a metal barb locking
device in the head of a plastic cable tie. However, T&B’s
utility patent did not give T&B the right to prevent the
use of an oval-shaped head in cable ties, unless that cable
tie had the metal barb and other features claimed in the
utility patent.

Upon expiration of T&B’s utility patent, T&B lost the
right to prevent others from using the metal barb locking
device in the head of a plastic cable tie. But because

12

T&B’s utility patent never gave T&B the right to exclude
others from using oval-shaped heads per se on cable ties
(a feature which was not part of the claimed invention in
the patent, but merely happened to be disclosed inciden-
tally in the specification of T&B’s expired patent), the
expiration of T&B’s patent was a nonevent with respect to
the oval-shaped head. To the extent T&B now has the
right to prevent others from selling cable ties having
oval-shaped heads causing confusion in the marketplace,
that right arises under the Lanham Act (not the patent
laws) as a result of decades of sales and advertising; and
that right was not extinguished by the expiration of
T&B’s patent.

III. PREEMPTION DECISIONS BY THIS COURT ARE
FAR FROM DISPOSITIVE

Aside from cases which predate the Lanham Act -
Singer Mfg. Co. v. June Mfg. Co., 163 U.S. 169 (1896),
Kellogg Co. v. National Biscuit Co., 305 U.S. 111 (1938), and
Scott Paper Co. v. Marcalus Mfg. Co., 326 U.S. 249 (1945) -
and thus do not and could not address the present situa-
tion where another federal right is involved, and which in
large measure relied om what we would today call func-
tionality (DOJ Br. at 11; INTA Br. at 10), Petitioner and
some of its amici draw much of their arguments from
three post-Lanham Act decisions of this Court: Sears,
Roebuck & Co. v. Stiffel Co., 376 U.S. 225 (1964), Compco
Corp. v. Day-Brite Lighting, Inc., 376 U.S. 234 (1964), and
Bonito Boats, Inc. v. Thunder Craft Boats, Inc., 489 U.S. 141
(1989). But Sears, Compco, and Bonito Boats were all
attempts to restrict the sale of utilitarian products

—— ie ae

13

through rights arising under state law. And in each case,
this Court invalidated such claims based upon federal
preemption under the Supremacy clause.

Petitioner and some of its supporters trivialize that
significant fact and even ridicule it (see, e.g., Holmes
Group Br. at 3, 20). In doing so, they denigrate one of the
most fundamental aspects of the federal system as a
whole. Even the DOJ trivializes concerns relating to fed-
eral preemption to buttress its arguments. (DOJ Br. at 18.)
While the DOJ concedes that Sears and Compco involved
state unfair competition laws, the DOJ simply concludes,
with nothing more than conjecture, that this Court would
not have held a state prohibition on copying to be pre-
empted by a federal law, if a federal statute - i.e., the
Lanham Act - could have been invoked to prohibit copy-
ing. (Id.)

First, while the Lanham Act has existed since 1946,
Petitioner itself acknowledges that the scope of § 43(a) of
the Lanham Act was not appreciated as encompassing the
design of a product until much later. (Pet. Br. at 3, 26,
noting that federal trade dress protection for product
designs evolved well after Sears and Compco were
decided.) Moreover, speculating as to whether the plain-
tiffs in Sears and Compco, under their particular facts and
circumstances, might have asserted a claim under the
Lanham Act is useless because the fact is they did not.
Thus, this Court was obligated to deal with the situations
as presented, in which the plaintiffs were only seeking
relief under state law. Nor is the present Petitioner's
decision to sue under the Lanham Act rather than under
state law “wholly extraneous” to Sears and Compco
(Holmes Group Br. at 21) or “happenstance” (id. at 9),

14

given the fact that federal law can preempt state law
claims, but cannot preempt claims arising under another
federal law.

Ironically, while Petitioner and some of its amici
argue that Sears, Compco, and Bonito Boats should be
applied to federal claims under the Lanham Act, nobody
has an adequate response to this Court’s statement in
Compco that a right to copy may be restricted by “other
federal statutory protection. . . . ” Compco, 376 U.S. at 238.
At least two courts of appeal have expressly held that the
Lanham Act is included under the rubric of “other federal
statutory protection,” Ferrari S.P.A. Esercizio v. Roberts,
944 F.2d 1235, 1241 (6th Cir. 1991), and T&B, 138 F.3d at
287, while none have held to the contrary.

In fact, only the DOJ attempts to address Compco’s
“other federal statutory protection” language, arguing
that the functionality doctrine prevents unpatented “util-
itarian conceptions” from receiving trade dress protec-
tion. (DOJ Br. at 19 n.7.) But the DOJ bases its position
primarily on the federal preemption cases, which beg the
question of competing federal rights. Moreover, the func-
tionality doctrine to which the DOJ refers never sug-
gested that all “utilitarian conceptions” be excised from
the scope of the Lanham Act. On the contrary, this Court
has recognized that the only “utilitarian conceptions” so
barred are features which are “essential to the use or
purpose of the article” or which affect the cost or quality
of the article, whereby exclusive use of the feature would
put competitors at a significant nonreputation-related
disadvantage. Qualitex Co. v. Jacobson Prod. Co., 514 U.S.
159, 165 (1995). In fact, the DOJ itself acknowledges that

15

not all details disclosed in a patent are eliminated from
Lanham Act protection. (See infra Part V.)

IV. PETITIONER PROVIDES NO REASON TO
DESTROY ONLY THE LANHAM ACT TRADE
DRESS RIGHTS OF FORMER PATENT OWNERS

Petitioner and some of its amici argue that trade dress
rights under the Lanham Act should be denied only to
former owners of patents, without considering other sce-
narios. But if Petitioner is correct in asserting that all
material disclosed in expired patents must become avail-
able to the public, that should also be true if the feature is
found in an expired patent owned by a third party. More-
over, Petitioner’s view that materials which enter the
public domain must be available to all without restriction
would necessarily apply to subject matter which was
never patented for whatever reason. Taken to its logical
conclusion, Petitioner’s position would effectively
engraft onto the already onerous requirements needed to
obtain trade dress protection (secondary meaning, non-
functionality, and likelihood of confusion) a requirement
of novelty which exists only in the patent laws.

1. This case, like many others, follows a typical
model (Hypothetical 1): Company A obtains a utility
patent containing claims to a specific combination of
elements; Company A sells a commercial product covered
by the patent claims; Company A’s patent expires; Com-
pany B copies Company A’s commercial product; and
Company A asserts trade dress rights against Company B
for a product feature in Company A’s commercial prod-
uct which was at least disclosed (and, in some cases,

16

claimed) in the patent, and which (by this time) has
acquired secondary meaning.

Suppose instead (Hypothetical 2) Company A obtains
a utility patent which later expires; Company C sells a
commercial product and develops trade dress rights in a
feature which happens to have been disclosed in Com-
pany A’s patent; Company B copies Company C’s com-
mercial product; and Company C sues for trade dress
infringement. In both hypotheticals, if Petitioner is cor-
rect, the expiration of Company A’s patent purportedly
vested Company B with an absolute right to exploit what-
ever is disclosed in Company A’s expired patent, a right
which cannot be questioned by Company A in Hypotheti-
cal 1 or by Company C in Hypothetical 2.

If indeed there can be no trade dress rights in a
product feature disclosed in an expired patent belonging
to the trade dress owner or anyone else, trade dress litiga-
tion is likely to degenerate into disputes in which the
“prior art” is scoured by the copier in search of any
patent, belonging to anyone, no matter how old, which
happens to disclose the trade dress feature in order to
establish a defense. In full effect, to prevail in a trade
dress claim under the Lanham Act, a claimant would not
only have to prove all existing elements of a claim, but
also that the trade dress feature is novel. In a very real
sense, a patentability statute, 35 U.S.C. § 102, would be
imported into trade dress law. Few if any trade dress
features would survive such an analysis. And each time
this “novelty” defense prevailed, the public would lose
the ability to distinguish between competing products in
the marketplace by virtue of distinctive, nonfunctional
trade dress features.

17

2. The only possible basis for limiting the special
“expired patent” defense urged by Petitioner to owners
of expired patents is the notion that the former patentee
(Company A in both Hypotheticals 1 and 2 above), as
contrasted with an interloper (e.g., Company C in Hypo-
thetical 2 above), was a party to the “carefully crafted
bargain” whereby the patentee received the benefit of the
right to exclude others for a limited period of time. (Pet.
Br. at 2-3, citing Bonito Boats, 489 U.S. at 150-51.) How-
ever, given this Court’s stated aversion to discriminating
against certain categories of trademarks with “special
legal rules,” Qualitex, 514 U.S. at 174, or “superfluous”
requirements, Two Pesos, Inc. v. Taco Cabana, Inc., 505 U.S.
763, 773-74 (1992), limiting this “expired patent” defense
to patents which were owned by the trade dress claimant
would constitute illogical and counterproductive discrim-
ination against patentees based solely on their having
enriched the art by disclosing an invention in unnecess-
ary detail.

The effect of such discrimination on the patent sys-
tem could be very harmful. For example, if this Court
were to hold that every feature “found” in a patent is
barred from trade dress protection even if it is not part of
the claimed invention (Panduit Br. at 7-10), a view
rejected by the DOJ (see infra Part V), this would prompt
patent applicants to hold back on disclosing incidental
details in their patent application. Even worse, the risk of
possible loss of trade dress rights might convince certain
innovators to forgo patent protection altogether.

3. But even forgoing patent protection might not be
enough to escape from Petitioner’s arguments carried to

18

their logical conclusion. If Petitioner is correct in assert-
ing that material in the “public domain” is ineligible for
protection under the Lanham Act, there would seem to be
no reasoned basis for limiting this rule to only materials
that enter the public domain by way of an expired patent.

Suppose a product feature appeared in Popular
Mechanics, but the person who created the feature never
obtained a patent. If one accepts the arguments of Peti-
tioner that Lanham Act trade dress rights cannot obstruct
access to materials in the public domain, why should
there be a distinction between product features which
entered the public domain upon expiration of a patent
and those which entered the public domain through other
channels such as textbooks, foreign patents, and the like?
Indeed, one of this Court’s decisions relied on heavily by
Petitioner suggests that no such distinction is legitimate.
“An unpatentable article, like an article on which the
patent has expired, is in the public domain and may be
made and sold by whoever chooses to do so.” Sears, 376
U.S. at 231.

Here again, the only conceivable basis for this dis-
tinction is the argument that the patentee received the
benefit of the “carefully crafted bargain” which was dis-
cussed above and shown to be wanting. The effect of
distinguishing between features shown in expired patents
and features appearing elsewhere in the public domain is
unnecessary and harmful discrimination against innova-
tors who played by the rules of the patent system and
made valuable public disclosures of technology.

19

V. THE EXTREME VIEWS ESPOUSED BY PETI-
TIONER AND ITS SUPPORTERS ARE UNSUP-
PORTED AND UNWISE

There is no basis to erect any special absolute
“expired patent” defense in Lanham Act trade dress
cases, because the functionality doctrine - properly
applied — should satisfy the concerns raised by Petitioner.
This view is endorsed by the DOJ, which supports Peti-
tioner because it disagrees with the Sixth Circuit’s func-
tionality analysis in this case (DOJ Br. at 12-26), and by
the International Trademark Association (“INTA”), which
supports neither side (INTA Br. at 15-22). Still, at least
one circuit has arguably created such a special defense,
see Vornado Air Circulation Sys., Inc. v. Duracraft Corp., 58
F.3d 1498 (10th Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 1067
(1996), although a proper functionality analysis in that
case would likely have yielded the same result.

Even if this Court agrees that existing defenses are
inadequate, it should nevertheless resist Petitioner's
extreme arguments urging that (i) every single feature
which happens to be disclosed in a patent - even if not
claimed — becomes ineligible for Lanham Act protection,
even if it is nonfunctional and has acquired secondary
meaning; and (ii) even features which are not disclosed at
all in a patent are disqualified from protection if they
were used by a patentee on its patented commercial
product.

1. An extreme rule whereby features which are only
incidentally disclosed in a patent are disqualified from
protection would be wrong for the reasons already given,
and also because recognizing Lanham Act rights in only

20

distinctive and nonfunctional features will impose only a
miniscule limitation on the otherwise broad right of the
public to practice the subject matter of an expired patent.

Suppose the ABC Chair Co. had a patent on the
original chair; that, for whatever reason, the illustrative
embodiment in the specification of that patent depicted a
purple bow wrapped around one of the legs; that the
patentee always sold its chairs with such a purple bow,
both during and long after the term of the patent; and
that as a result of years of use and advertising, the purple
bow had developed a secondary meaning in the mar-
ketplace, uniquely associating the purple bow with the
patentee. If a competitor then wished to make and sell
chairs after the patent expired (and assuming that there
were no other unexpired patents or other laws restricting
the right to make certain chairs), the competitor could
freely produce countless chairs which would have previ-
ously come within the scope of the claims of the now-
expired patent. The one and only thing the competitor
could not do is sell a chair with a purple bow wrapped
around a leg.

In such a situation, the public’s right to exploit and
enjoy the invention which was previously disclosed in
the expired patent is restricted, but only to the most
minimal degree. The legitimate competitor surely does
not need to sell its chairs with a purple bow to compete
effectively; on the contrary, assuming there is secondary
meaning in the purple bow (identifying to the public that
the chairs come from the ABC Chair Co.), the only con-
ceivable reason for the competitor to do so is to create
confusion in the marketplace as to the source of the
chairs.

21

Perhaps for this reason, the DOJ, which for fact-
specific reasons supports Petitioner, concedes that “the
expiration of a patent affords the public a virtually unre-
stricted right to copy the invention.” (DOJ Br. at 8
(emphasis added).) The DOJ agrees that mere mention of
a feature in a patent does not necessarily establish func-
tionality (and thus a denial of trade dress protection),
since nonfunctional shapes and configurations may be
described or pictured as an “incidental detail” in utility
patents. (Id. at 14, quoting 1 J. THomas McCartny, McCar-
THY ON TRADEMARKS AND UNFaIR COMPETITION § 7:89, 7-227
(4th ed. 2000).) And the DOJ also cautions against a broad
rule sweeping away Lanham Act protection on “every jot
and tittle of the patentee’s product design,” including
“wholly arbitrary elements that serve no purpose other
than to indicate the product’s origin.” (DOJ Br. at 19.)

The DOJ is correct. To date, not one court of appeals
has adopted the extreme view urged by Petitioner and
certain amici. Even in the one reported appellate decision
in which an arguably separate “expired patent” defense
was recognized, the court required that the feature not
only be claimed but that it must also be a “significant
inventive aspect” of the invention. See Vornado, 58 F.3d at
1510.%

a

® The words of that legal test appear to abandon the well-
established concept of fwhctionality, with which the federal
courts have lotvg been familiar, see Zip Dee, Inc. v. Dometic Corp.,
931 F. Supp. 602, 611 (N.D. Ill. £996), in favor of a “significant
inventive aspect” test which, in actual practice, might collapse
into the functionality doctrine. T&B submits that the result in
Vornado would have been reached with a more exacting
functionality analysis.

22

No other court has even gone so ‘far as to erect a
separate “expired patent” defense, let alone a defense
which applies to incidental features disclosed in a patent.
Early in the T&B litigation, the Seventh Circuit stated:

Panduit’s theory is that when the patent expired
the entire product fell into the public domain
and became freely copyable. That considerably
overstates matters. The patented portion of the
product entered the public domain, but “the
product” did not. Panduit does not contend, for
example, that it could copy the cable tie to the
last detail, including the Thomas & Betts logo
and similar identifying marks. Non-functional
elements of the product’s design can serve a role
similar to logos and therefore may be protected
as trademarks.

Thomas & Betts Corp. v. Panduit Corp., 34 U.S.P.Q.2d (BNA)
1607, 1608 (7th Cir. 1994).4 The same court subsequently
held that a utility patent must be examined in detail to
determine whether the feature is primarily functional or
just incidentally appears in the disclosure of the patent.
T&B, 138 F.3d at 300 (citing McCartny, § 6:10). The Sev-
enth Circuit thus correctly concluded that the right to
copy established in the cases now relied upon by Peti-
tioner “is far from absolute.” T&B, 138 F.3d at 287.

2. Petitioner and certain amici go so far as to urge
that a feature be disqualified from Lanham Act protection
whenever it was used by the patentee on its commercial
product sold under the patent (M. Pollack Br. at 2 (“the

4 The DOJ similarly cautions against an “absolutist”
approach to this issue. (DOJ Br. at 19-20, citing Bonito Boats, 489
U.S. at 154.)

23

public obtains a property right not to be excluded from
full commercial exploitation of the activity formerly prac-
ticed under the patent. . ..” (emphasis added)); Panduit Br.
at 6-7 (urging right to make “the thing formerly covered
by the patents. .. . ”) They assert these rights to exist even
if the feature is neither claimed nor even disclosed in a patent,
if the patentee chose to employ the feature on its patented
commercial product. In the ABC Chair Co. hypothetical
discussed above, they would urge that the purple bow
could not be protected even if it was never disclosed in
the patent as long as the ABC Chair Co. (or perhaps even
a licensee) merely used the feature on its patesited chair
(continuously? often? once? — no one says).

This position fails for all the reasons already given,
plus the fact that, in this scenario, the “carefully crafted
bargain” said to support the patent system has nothing to
do with the feature at issue, which enjoyed no protection
whatsoever under the patent. In full effect, according to
those amici who take this extreme view, the very use of
the feature in commerce which creates trade dress rights
under the Lanham Act would simultaneously destroy
those rights.

3. Contrary to Petitioner’s contentions, no great
advance will be achieved by making draconian changes.
If this Court agrees with the DOJ that trade dress features
which were claimed in expired patents are often so
clearly functional that they should not survive a sum-
mary judgment motion (DOJ Br. at 20), many weak claims
will be dismissed under the current legal framework
employed by the circuits. Changing the law in a quest for
incremental simplicity will defeat legitimate claims, while

24

the need for a whole new set of rules to address a whole
new set of problems will in fact make the desired sim-
plicity illusory.

VI. CONCERNS REGARDING THE PURPORTED
EASE OF ESTABLISHING SECONDARY MEAN-
ING ARE UNFOUNDED

This Court in Wal-Mart recently confirmed that sec-
ondary meaning must always be shown with product
designs. Still, the DOJ expresses concern that the require-
ment of secondary meaning for product configuration
trade dress is “not an effective barrier” against trade
dress which is undeserving of protection (DOJ Br. at 21
n.9) (citing a district court decision which noted that it is
“no great trick to build up secondary meaning in a prod-
uct configuration if [competitors] are kept from utilizing
that configuration for 17 years by the sword and shield of
patent protection.”). Id. at 16 (citing Zip Dee, Inc. v. Dome-
tic Corp., 931 F. Supp. 602, 615 (N.D. Ill. 1996).)

But as another amicus has pointed out (INTA Br. at 12
n.4), any concern that secondary meaning is too easily
proven can be addressed by the Seventh Circuit’s rule
that “evidence establishing secondary meaning must also
show that any connection between the trade dress of the
product and its producer does not primarily stem from
the expired patent.” T&B, 138 F.3d at 294. Such an
approach would assure that products going “off patent”
will not readily be asserted to have qualified for trade
dress protection without a strong showing of secondary
meaning - a showing that can be difficult to make. (See
infra note 5.)

25

VII. THIS CASE DOES NOT INVOLVE DESIGN PAT-
ENTS, BUT IF IT DID, THE ARGUMENTS IN
FAVOR OF A SEPARATE DEFENSE WOULD BE
EVEN WEAKER

The questions presented by the Petitioner and the
Respondent in this case were both expressly limited to
the impact of expired utility patents on trade dress rights
under the Lanham Act. However, at least two amici sup-
porting Petitioner have urged this Court to declare trade
dress features unprotectable if claimed in an “expired
patent” (Panduit Br. at 11; M. Pollock Br. at 2, 21) - any
type of expired patent, utility or design. Should the Court
choose to address the impact of design patents them-
selves on trade dress rights, the Court should conclude
that design patents in and of themselves present no basis
at all for destroying trade dress rights, because design
patents are awarded for designs which are “ornamental,”
not functional. 35 U.S.C. § 171. As this Court explained
long ago in Gorham Mfg. Co. v. White, 81 U.S. (14 Wall.)
511 (1872):

The acts of Congress which authorize the grant-
ing of patents for designs were plainly intended
to give encouragement to the decorative arts.
They contemplate not so much utility as appearance,
and that, not an abstract impression, or picture, but
an aspect given to those objects mentioned in the
acts... . And the thing invented or produced, for
which a patent is given, is that which gives a
peculiar or distinctive appearance to the manufac-
turer, or article to which it may be applied, or to
which it gives form.

Id. at 524-25 (emphasis added).

26

In In re Mogen David Wine Corp., 328 F.2d 925
(C.C.P.A. 1964), the Federal Circuit’s predecessor rejected
the argument that a design patent precluded issuance of a
trademark registration:

In our opinion, trademark rights, or rights
under the law of unfair competition, which hap-
pen to continue beyond the expiration of a
design patent, do not “extend” the patent
monopoly. They exist independently of it, under
different law and for different reasons. The ter-
mination of either has no legal effect on the
continuance of the other. When the patent
monopoly ends, it ends. The trademark rights
do not extend it. We know of no provision of
patent law, statutory or otherwise, that guaran-
tees to anyone an absolute right to copy the
subject matter of any expired patent. Patent
expiration is nothing more than the cessation of
the patentee’s right to exclude held under the
patent law. Conversely, trademarks conceivably
could end through non use during the life of a
patent. We doubt it would be argued that the
patent rights should also expire so as not to
“extend” them [i.e., the trademark rights].

Id. at 930.5 See also W.T. Rogers Co. v. Keene, 778 F.2d 334,
337 (7th Cir. 1985) (35 U.S.C. § 171 “does not prevent the

5 The court in Mogen David remanded for a determination
of whether the decanter had acquired secondary meaning. 328
F.2d at 932. In a subsequent appeal which illustrates the
difficulty which already exists in establishing secondary
meaning even where a patent was present, the court reaffirmed
its foregoing holding, In re Mogen David Wine Corp., 372 F.2d 539,
540 (C.C.P.A. 1967), but concluded on the merits that the
decanter had not acquired secondary meaning. /d. at 541-42.

27

enforcement of a common law trademark in a design
feature”).

In In re Honeywell, 497 F.2d 1344 (C.C.P.A. 1974), the
Patent and Trademark Office (“PTO”) had refused to
register as a trademark the configuration of a thermostat,
features of which appeared in an expired design patent.
The Federal Circuit’s predecessor noted that earlier deci-
sions involving utility patents turned on whether the
subject matter was functional, with the utility patents
providing some evidence of possible functionality. How-
ever, the court rejected the PTO’s argument that the same
principles which apply to utility patents should apply
when federal trademark rights are sought for nonfunc-
tional subject matter disclosed in design patents. Id. at
1348. It reaffirmed Mogen David's clear distinction
between federal trademark and design patent laws, and
concluded that the public interest in protecting against
confusion must prevail over any argument that trade-
mark rights are an “extension” of design patent rights, so
long as the trademark is nonfunctional and serves as a
means to distinguish the owner’s goods from those of
others. Id.

Thus, contrary to what certain amici would have this
Court hold, if a design patent is to have any impact on a
Lanham Act trade dress claim, it should (as with utility
patents) constitute evidence relating to possible func-
tionality; but often the existence of the design patent will
favor the claimant, rather than the accused infringer. As
noted in Krueger Int'l, Inc. v. Nightingale Inc., 915 F. Supp.
595, 605 (S.D.N.Y. 1996), “The existence of a design pat-
ent .. . is relevant to the functionality defense. Because a
design patent is granted only for non-functional designs,

28

it can serve as evidence that a plaintiff's trade dress is not
functional.” See also In re R.M. Smith, Inc., 734 F.2d 1482,
1485 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (“The existence of a design patent
may be some evidence of non-functionality.”).

¢

CONCLUSION

Accordingly, this Court should affirm the judgment

of the court of appeals.

On the Brief:

James D. Hay

Lewis & McKenna

82 E. Allendale Road
Saddle River, NJ 07458
Tel: (201) 934-9800
Fax: (201) 934-8681

Respectfully submitted,

Srpney Davip*

Roy H. Wepner

Lerner, Davip, LITTENBERG,
KruMHOoLz & Mentux, L

600 South Avenue West

Westfield, NJ 07090-1497

Tel: (908) 654-5000

Fax: (908) 654-7866

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
Thomas & Betts Corporation

"Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0361%3A15. Public record. Not legal advice.
