# Amicus Curiae Brief — Egelhoff v. Egelhoff

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0359%3A15

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 532 U.S. 141

## Text

No. 99-1529 SEP | 8 2000

In The
SUPREME Court OF THE UNITED STATES

DONNA RAE EGELHOFF,
Petitioner,
Vv.
SAMANTHA EGELHOFF, A MINOR, BY AND THROUGH
HFR NATURAL PARENT KATE BRENINER,
AND DAVID EGELHOFF,
Respondents.

On WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF WASHINGTON

BRIEF OF THE STATES OF WASHINGTON, ARKANSAS,
COLORADO, MASSACHUSETTS, MONTANA, OKLAHOMA,
UTAH, VERMONT, AND WEST VIRGINIA,

AS AMICI CURKIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

- CHRISTINE O. GREGOIRE
Atiorney General of Washington
JAY D. GECK*
Assisiant Attorney General

WILLIAM BERGGREN COLLINS
Sr. Assistant Attorney General

1125 WASHINGTON STREET SE
OLYMPIA, WA 98504-0100
(360) 753-6200

Counsel of Record for the Amici Curiae

Additional Counsel Listed Inside

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

MARK PRYOR
ATTORNEY GENERAL
STATE OF ARKANSAS

KEN SALAZAR
ATTORNEY GENERAL
STATE OF COLORADO

THOMAS F REILLY
ATTORNEY GENERAL
STATE OF MASSACHUSETTS

JOSEPH P MAZUREK
ATTORNEY GENERAL
STATE OF MONTANA

W A DREW EDMONDSON
ATTORNEY GENERAL
STATE OF OKLAHOMA

JAN GRAHAM
ATTORNEY GENERAL
STATE OF UTAH

WILLIAM H SORRELL
ATTORNEY GENERAL
STATE OF VERMONT

DARRELL V McGRAW JR
ATTORNEY GENERAL
STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE .............cccssscesceseeseseeeenees I
PPE GID PRDUIPEINEIEDT © ccceccccrccecescrscosssvssseserocsscosecssovess 2
SIT alsin inteeneneeniaaddasteeptedesnse cesssesecessseesccossccssceesoes 4

I. CONGRESSIONAL INTENT TO PRE-EMPT
STATE LAW SHOULD BE LIMITED TO
FIELD PRE-EMPTION DEFINED BY THE
PROVISIONS AND OBJECTIVES OF ERISA .............0... +

A. Recent Decisions Properly Implement The
Strong Presumption Against Pre-emption
Of State Law By Focusing On The
Provisions And Purposes Of ERISA.....0:.........c:cccccee0ee 5

B. ERISA Pre-emption Should Preserve The
ae 9

Il. ERISA DOES NOT EVIDENCE
CONGRESSIONAL INTENT TO ELIMINATE
STATE POWER TO DETERMINE VALIDITY
OF BENEFICIARIES TAKING PROPERTY
a ene 1]

Ill. THE SAVINGS CLAUSE FOR STATE
REGULATION OF INSURANCE SHOWS
THAT CONGRESS HAS NOT PRE-EMPTED
APPLICATION OF STATE LAW TO
SPPIEPUED DUPED cccccrcccccscecessscoscsscsscscosessosscscssoseres 15

EET Nn eee 16

il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

Alden v. Maine

ge Ee nr 9
Boddie v. Connecticut

Se Cs re re ee scirrciscetiticiaciiniitiadaiittiadpaaaiainii nastics 10
Boggs v. Boggs

ey es a cicerisintaittsiinenaicdiiinieniial tits dase cainimemiiea hana )

California Div. of Labor Standards
Enforcement v. Dillingham Constr., Inc.
FT es ee iciesiscetietnanniicaiansininasesciaininiinasitiiininiliamaiies 8,9

DeBuono v. NYSAA-ILA Med. &
Clinical Serv. Fund
a scicrcciaearesicnisiitadeianeiitanateitaiticilenideideiieiiieitaiaaidiaie 7

Emard v. Hughes Aircraft Co.
153 F.3d 949 (9th Cir. 1998),
cert. denied, 525 U.S. 1122 (1999)..............eee biniisnemineninia 14

Florida Prepaid Postsecondary Educ.
Expense Bd. v. College Savings Bank
Eee cs Gay Ce rccansnsersceninesnnnenrenseenmmennnsaninsietanenton 10

Geier v. American Honda Motor Co.
ee els a, ee ee hcnccccncccsncennitnnniieisitensinninenebiguminiaiianes 10

Head v. New Mexico Bd. of Examiners

in Optometry
a TD 15
In re Marriage of Chavez,
~ 80 Wash. App. 432, 909 P.2d 314 (1996)... cece. 12

Kimel v. Florida Bd. of Regents
Se italiani taal 10

Labine v. Vincent
OU a aia iia italia ai alialile 10

Loving v. Commonwealth of Virginia
ey Oe ee acacesrnmnichinnintnisaneicititeiicies litinniiilitebiaieinanstitenie 10

Mager v. Grima
iia lc a 10

Medtronic, Inc. v. Lohr ;
I 6

New State Ice Co. v. Liebmann
eT REN SR te Rec r e Re e 10, 11

New York State Conf. of Blue Cross &
Blue Shield Plans v. Travelers Ins. Co.
I CR elena ial 6,7

New York v. United States
SE are eres Oe cee anes ee eT oe 10

Printz v. United States
ee iittala tate ee 10

Seminole Tribe of Florida v. Florida

gk SS nee amen ee 10
Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc.
ee ee en 6
United States v. Morrison
I 5
Statutes _

15 U.S.C. §§ 1011-1015

eT 15
Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA).............. l
ERISA § 514(a)
EEL TP TIT iiciisictentciinnenncnnedaendiniidiinns 6, 7, 8, 11
ERISA 514(b)
as Oe I accicncseniniineanicntntantatientetieddeninnis 15
een 12
Ss RIEL Cy Shs Ain GPU TIIIIT nnsiniininsrcnietnsitseidinmmimenndnaeaniionn 12
Tex. Fam. Code Ann. § 3.632 (West 1997) .............cccccceeeeeeees 12
RE ee 13
Wash. Rev. Code § 11.07.010................::ccceceeeeeees 11, 12, 14, 15
Wash. Rev. Code § 11.07.010(2)(D)(i) ............ccccecceeeeeeeeeteeeeee 14
ey et Ge ee acreccnccscnnsnstesensnseenectemmmmnmneteninens 13

es See, Goat re 2a ccrrrenrennnsscntennennnsnmmennmmveveneennnte 12

Other Authorities

Jeffrey G. Sherman,
Mercy Killing And The Right To Inherit,

61 U. Cin. L. Rev. 803, 876 n.12 (1993) ooo. ccccceeeeeeees 14
Kenneth Weber,

19 Washington Practice — Family And

Community Property Law § 32.4 .....ccccccccccccseeeeeesseeeeeeeeseeees 12

l
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

The State of Washington, together with the other amicus
curiae, respectfully submit this brief in support of Respondents.
The amici states have two vital interests to present to the Court.

First, amici states have a strong interest that the Court
apply traditional principles of pre-emption to the Employee
Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA). Under traditional
principles, ERISA pre-emption reflects the narrow scope of
federal interests necessary to the purposes of ERISA, without
unnecessarily pre-empting state laws that might superficially
relate to an ERISA plan. In other areas of federal regulation, the
Court continually emphasizes the presumptions that favor state
law, except where there is a clear showing that Congress
intended to preclude states from a particular field. This Court’s
initial decisions interpreting ERISA, however, strayed from these
principles and announced an analysis that examined whether
state law “relates to” a ERISA benefit plan. This approach
effectively eliminated the normal presumption in favor of state
law. Recent ERISA decisions, in contrast, have properly relied
upon the normal presumptions against pre-emption by redirecting
the pre-emption analysis to the provisions of ERISA. The amici
states have a strong interest in this narrower approach to ERISA
pre-emption, which is consistent with federalism values that
presume the states will define the property rights arising out of
marriage, divorce, and the transfer of property upon death.

Second, amici states are concerned with preserving
application of the state laws that determine validity of a
beneficiary designation, and the effect of marriage, divorce, and
other actions on that designation. The amici states submit this
brief to describe to the Court how state laws regarding
beneficiaries protect the interests of state citizens during
marriage, divorce, and after death. The interest of the states in
this area is particularly high, because pension and welfare

2

benefits are often the largest financial asset earned during a
marriage or a lifetime of employment. State laws that address
beneficiary designation ensure fairness and mutuality during
marriage, divorce, and when property is transferred after death.
Washington’s statute, for example, reflects the common
understanding and the legal reality that divorce distributes all of
the property held by two ex-spouses. This serves a presumed
intention to cease designating an ex-spouse as a beneficiary after
divorce has fully addressed the rights of the ex-spouse and
eliminated his or her rights in a pension or as an insurance
beneficiary. Other states have analogous laws that determine the
validity of a beneficiary designation in a variety of related
circumstances.

ERISA does not regulate the domestic matters
addressed by these various state laws. The amici states,
therefore, are vitally concerned that ERISA’s regulation of
pension and welfare plans not be interpreted as congressional
intent to pre-empt state laws that address validity of beneficiary
designations, which are vital to ensuring fair legal relationships
during marriage, divorce, and in other circumstances. States
are interested in allowing their citizens to continue relying on
state marriage and probate laws to define their legal rights and
expectations, without having inconsistent results for a
beneficiary designation in a benefit plan regulated under
ERISA.

Amici states therefore ask the Court to affirm that ERISA
did not pre-empt application of Washington law to determine that
the beneficiary of the pension plan and insurance plan had been
revoked as a matter of law after divorce.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In recent decisions, the Court has shifted away from
determining pre-emption of any state law that “relates to” an
ERISA benefit plan. Instead, the Court has discerned Congress’

3

intent to pre-empt state laws by looking to the provisions and
purposes of ERISA. With these recent cases, the Court has
provided a meaningful application of the strong presumptions
against pre-emption of state powers over subjects like domestic
relations, property ownership, and the transfer of property upon
death. State powers should not be pre-empted where no
particular provision of ERISA speaks to the subject, because
Congress presumably did not intend to displace those traditional
state powers.

This Court should now clarify that ERISA involves
traditional field pre-emption principles, where the field that is
pre-empted is defined by the procedural and _ substantive
provisions of ERISA. With this field pre-emption approach to
ERISA, the Court preserves the federalism relationship between
the states and the federal government, ensuring that state laws
continue to govern local civil matters, except where Congress
pre-empts states from a field.

When these recent pre-emption decisions are applied to a
state law that determines whether an ex-spouse is a surviving
beneficiary to an insurance policy or pension benefit, the Court
should start by recognizing that this type of state law serves the
state’s interest in defining marital property and in ensuring a fair
and complete distribution of property during divorce. Marriage,
divorce, and probate laws are historically the province of the
states. State laws that address beneficiaries reflect other state
laws that require an employee to name a spouse as a beneficiary,
which protects community property rights. Invalidating an
ex-spouse as beneficiary merely reflects the expectations of the
former spouse, that the divorce eliminates the marital property
relationship that caused the designation in the first place.

Moreover, the Court should recognize that state law
already affects the validity of beneficiaries named in ERISA
plans. Plans must deal with issues such as whether there is a
valid marriage, who is a lawful child, or who has survived in

4

circumstances involving simultaneous death of an employee and
beneficiary. If state law were not applicable, then other state
objectives would be frustrated, such as the application of the
common state slayer laws that prevent a murderer from being the
beneficiary of a victim’s pension or life insurance.

State laws provide the details that fulfill the expectations
of people in their domestic relationships. ERISA, in contrast,
does not speak to these domestic and local issues. Its provisions
do not show congressional intent to pre-empt state laws in this
field. Rather, the preservation of state law in this case is
consistent with Congress’ overarching purpose of protecting
employees who rely on these laws to order their affairs and
ERISA plan benefits for distribution of their property after death.

In addition, the Court should consider the broad
preservation of state authority as it applies to insurance. Under
ERISA’s savings clause for state insurance laws, it creates no
field of pre-emption that precludes application of state laws in
the context of determining lawful beneficiaries to an insurance

policy.
ARGUMENT

I. CONGRESSIONAL INTENT TO PRE-EMPT
STATE LAW SHOULD BE LIMITED TO FIELD
PRE-EMPTION DEFINED BY THE PROVISIONS
AND OBJECTIVES OF ERISA

Every state has laws that defines ownership of property,
marital relations, and matters of inheritance. These state laws
ensure the fairness and mutuality of marriage by defining the
rules of marital property, divorce, and inheritance. The citizens
of the states rely on those rules, living their lives and developing
significant expectations based upon them. It would most likely
exceed the constitutional limits on federal power if Congress
tried to do what the states have accomplished in protecting the

5

expectations and understandings of citizens with regard to
marriage, divorce, and death. '

ERISA, however, regulates pension plans, life insurance,
and other benefits that arise within the backdrop of state
laws governing marriage, divorce, and inheritance. ERISA
pre-emption should recognize that these traditional areas of state
laws existed before ERISA. By starting with the presumption
that these state laws are to be preserved, pre-emption is limited to
fields defined by the provisions and purposes of ERISA. This
approach to pre-emption accomplishes the intentions of Congress
as expressed in the provisions of ERISA, while assuring
employees that ERISA benefit plans will not frustrate normal
expectations rooted in the state laws governing marriage, divorce,
and inheritance.

A. Recent Decisions Properly Implement The
Strong Presumption Against Pre-emption Of
State Law By Focusing On The Provisions
And Purposes Of ERISA

1. “In all pre-emption cases, and particularly in those in
which Congress has ‘legislated in a field which the States have
traditionally occupied,’ we ‘start with the assumption that the
historic police powers of the States were not to be superseded by
the Federal Act unless that is the clear and manifest purpose of

' In United States v. Morrison, 120 S. Ct. 1740 (2000), this Court
ruled that the Commerce Clause did not provide Congress with authority to
adopt a provision of the Violence Against Women Act. According to the
Court: “The Constitution requires a distinction between what is truly
national and what is truly local.” Morrison, 120 S. Ct. at 1754. The Court
rejected the argument that commerce was implicated owing to the impact of
violence against women on the national economy. The Court rejected this
reasoning because it could also justify federal regulation of “family law
and other areas of traditional state regulation since the aggregate effect of
marriage, divorce, and childrearing on the national economy is undoubtedly
significant”. /d. at 1753.

6

Congress.’” Medtronic, Inc. v. Lohr, 518 U.S. 470, 485 (1996)
(quoting Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230
(1947)). As explained further in the next sections, the text of
29 U.S.C. § 1144(a) (ERISA § 514(a)) reflects congressional
intent that pre-emption arise from the “provisions” of ERISA.
This approach is like this Court’s traditional approach to field
pre-emption, and ensures that the scope of pre-emption does not
undermine or eliminate the presumption against pre-emption of
traditional state power.

2. The first two decades of ERISA pre-emption decisions
do not provide a meaningful application of the normal
presumptions that ERISA does not pre-empt state law. The
Court’s initial ERISA decisions fail because they try to find
congressional intent in the statement of § 514(a), that the
“provisions” of ERISA “shall supercede any and all State laws
insofar as they may now or hereafter relate to any employee
benefit plan”. 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a) (emphasis added); see Shaw
v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85 (1983). Because ERISA
benefits arise at the intersection of a number of traditional areas
of state law, it is not surprising that a number of state laws seem
to “relate to” ERISA benefit plans. These original pre-emption
rulings placed a cloud over state authority, enabling arguments
that anything provided as an ERISA plan was immune from state
regulation.

3. In recent rulings, the Court has properly rejected the
literal application of the broad words of § 514(a), holding that
congressional intent cannot be reliably discerned from the words
“relate to”:

“If ‘relate to’ were taken to extend to the furthest stretch
of its indeterminacy, then for all practical purposes
pre-emption would never run its course, for ‘really,
universally, relations stop nowhere.’ But that, of course,
would be . . . to read the presumption against
pre-emption out of the law whenever Congress speaks to

7

the matter with generality.” New York State Conf. of Blue
Cross & Blue Shield Plans v. Travelers Ins. C 0., 514 US.
645, 655 (1995) (citation omitted).

Instead, the intent of Congress is best determined by evaluating
the “objectives of the ERISA statute as a guide to the scope of
the state law that Congress understood would survive”.
Id. at656. The New York surcharge in that case had “an
indirect economic influence” on ERISA plans, but did “not
bind plan administrators to any particular choice and thus
function as a regulation of an ERISA plan itself”. /d. at 659.

Travelers Insurance thus adopted a better approach to
determining congressional intent by focusing ERISA
pre-emption on whether state law was “regulating the plan itself”
or interfering with the “objectives” of the ERISA statute. This
properly implements the text of § 514(a), providing that
pre-emption arises from “the provisions of this chapter and
subchapter III of this chapter”. 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a). This is no
different than the Court’s traditional approach to field pre-
emption, where congressional intent to pre-empt is discerned
from the nature and scope of the federal law. The express
language of § 514(a) is congressional confirmation that the fields
defined by provisions of ERISA shall pre-empt state laws that
might purport to supplement or duplicate these provisions.

The approach in Travelers was continued in DeBuono vy.
NYSAA-ILA Medical & Clinical Services Fund, 520 U.S. 806,
813 (1997). The DeBuono opinion explains that one must go
beyond the “unhelpful text” of § 514(a), with its expansive
reference to state laws that “relate to” an ERISA plan. To
overcome the “normal presumption against pre-emption,” the
Court again turns to the provisions of the ERISA statute to
indicate “the scope of state law that Congress understood would
survive”. /d. at 813-14. Accordingly, the regulation and
taxation of health care facilities is a “field that has been
traditionally occupied by the States.” Jd. at 814. The Court

8

required the opponents of that state law to show that Congress
intended that ERISA would pre-empt that type of state law.

California Division of Labor Standards Enforcement vy.
Dillingham Construction, Inc., 519 U.S. 316 (1997), also
illustrates again why the various methods for analyzing the words
“relates to a plan” in § 514(a) do not reflect congressional intent
to pre-empt state law. Dillingham Construction involved a
California law requiring contractors on public works to pay
prevailing wages. California applied its law to an apprenticeship
program that was itself an ERISA benefit. Dillingham
Construction recognized that nothing in ERISA overcame the
presumptions that protected this area of traditional state
regulation.

“(The] substantive standards to be applied to
apprenticeship training programs are, however, quite
remote from the areas with which ERISA is
expressly concerned — reporting, disclosure, fiduciary
responsibility, and the like... . A reading of § 514(a)
resulting in the pre-emption of traditional state-regulated
substantive law in those areas where ERISA has nothing
to say would be unsettling.” Dillingham Constr., 519
U.S. at 330 (citation omitted) (internal punctuation
omitted).

This ruling in Dillingham Construction finds pre-emption by
examining the provisions and objectives of ERISA itself, asking
whether ERISA has anything to say about the subject.

4. No matter how this case is decided, the Court should
confirm that the scope of ERISA pre-emption is not
“expansive” and not to be derived from the breadth of the
words “relate to”. The focus on “relates to” is an illusory test
“since, aS many a curbstone philosopher has observed,
everything is related to everything else”. Dillingham Constr.,
519 U.S. at 335 (Scalia, J., concurring).

Instead of focusing on the words “relates to”, the Court
should adopt the approach suggested by Justices Scalia and
Ginsburg in Dillingham Construction. Under this approach, the
phrase “relates to” “is meant, not to set forth a test for pre-
emption, but rather to identify the field in which ordinary field
pre-emption applies—namely, the field of laws regulating
‘employee benefit plans described in section 1003(a) of this title
and not exempt under section 1003(b) of this title,” 29 U.S.C.
§ 1144(a)”. Dillingham Constr., 519 U.S. at 336. The Court
should “apply ordinary field pre-emption, and, of course,
ordinary conflict pre-emption” to ERISA. /d.

Under this pre-emption approach, the states retain full
authority to legislate over matters of property ownership,
inheritance, and marriage so long as state law does not enter a
filed where federal regulation is exclusive or conflict with
implementation of ERISA. See Boggs v. Boggs, 520 U.S. 833
(1997) (applying conflict pre-emption to void a testamentary
transfer). This approach to pre-emption preserves the traditional
state laws that form the context in which individual employees
understand their pensions, life insurance policies, and other
benefits regulated by ERISA.

B. ERISA Pre-emption Should Preserve The
Balance Of Federalism

1. Applying traditional field and conflict pre-emption
analysis to ERISA is consistent with important principles of
federalism. The Court’s federalism jurisprudence “requires
that Congress treat the States in a manner consistent with their
status as residuary sovereigns and joint participants in the
governance of the Nation.” Alden v. Maine, 527 U.S. 2240,
2263 (1999). This Court has been vigilant in enforcing the
structural limits in the Tenth and Eleventh Amendments on the
power of Congress to commandeer state government or waive

10

state sovereign immunity.’ The principles of federalism behind
these decisions apply equally in an ERISA pre-emption case.
This is because a pre-emption case “is a case about federalism,
that is, about respect for the constitutional role of the States as
sovereign entitles”. Geier v. American Honda Motor Co., 120
S. Ct. 1913, 1928 (2000) (Stevens J., dissenting) (citation
omitted) (internal punctuation omitted).

2. A significant value of our Constitutional federalism
is that it allows for local variation in the law to reflect local
differences in the values and expectations of the citizens of
each state. Civil laws concerning marriage, divorce, and
inheritance emerge from the fabric of society where state laws
predominate. This Court has long upheld the presumptive
power of the states in these areas, subject only to Constitutional
restrictions.”

Preservation of state authority enables different
approaches to the solution of the societal problems.

“To stay experimentation in things social and
economic is a grave responsibility. Denial of the right
to experiment may be fraught with serious

? See New York v. United States, 505 U.S. 144 (1992); Printz v.
United States, 521 U.S. 898 (1997); Seminole Tribe of Florida v. Florida,
517 U.S. 44 (1996); Florida Prepaid Postsecondary Educ. Expense Bd. v.
College Savings Bank, 527 U.S. 627 (1999); Kimel v. Florida Bd of
Regents, 120 S. Ct. 631 (2000).

> Mager v. Grima, 8 How. 490, 493 (1850) (every state has
power to regulate the manner and term upon which property within its
dominion may be transmitted by will or inheritance); Labine v. Vincent, 401
U.S. 532, 537 (1971) (states make laws concerning intestate succession);
Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371, 385 (1971) (Douglas, J., concurring)
(power of state over marriage and divorce is complete, except as limited by
constitutional provisions); Loving v. Commonwealth of Virginia, 388
U.S. 1, 7 (1967) (marriage is a “social relation subject to the State's
police power”).

11

consequences to the Nation. It is one of the happy
incidents of the federal system that a single courageous
state may, if its citizens choose, serve as a laboratory;
and try novel social and economic experiments without
risk to the rest of the country.” New State Ice Co. vy.
Liebmann, 285 U.S. 262, 311 (1932) (Brandeis, J.,
dissenting).

Congress, of course, had no intention to federalize marriage,
divorce, or inheritance as a byproduct of ERISA regulations of
pension plans or insurance plans.

3. When pre-emption is consistent with federalism, it
ensures that state laws implement commonly held expectations
about property, marriage, divorce, and death. For example, a
person with one private life insurance policy and a second life
insurance plan provided by an employer would expect state law
to apply to both policies. If ERISA pre-empts, it frustrates his
expectation that both policies will reflect his marital status or his
divorce in the same way.

II. ERISA DOES NOT EVIDENCE CONGRES-
SIONAL INTENT TO ELIMINATE STATE
POWER TO DETERMINE VALIDITY OF BENE-
FICIARIES TAKING PROPERTY AFTER DEATH

To show that ERISA § 514(a) pre-empts application of
Wash. Rev. Code § 11.07.010, petitioners must overcome a
strong presumption that Congress intended to preserve state law.
Pre-emption requires a showing by petitioners that the provisions
of ERISA were intended to create a field of ERISA regulation
that pre-empts states from determining the validity of
beneficiaries after divorce. Amici states show in the following
sections that the state laws before the Court reflect local interests
and understandings regarding marital property, and that ERISA
does not address these matters. _

12

1. Washington law recognizes that a spouse is typically
the designated beneficiary to pension and life insurance benefits
simply because of the status as a spouse. The Washington statute
- that revokes beneficiary designation after divorce serves as an
understanding regarding the effect of divorce. A person who
divorces in Washington expects, under state law, that there will
be a complete distribution of all property and debts including,
community property, separate property, as well as other factors.
See Wash. Rev. Code § 26.09.080, App. at la. All properties,
including future interests, are accounted for and virtually all
properties are divided or assigned to one of the spouses during
the dissolution of marriage. See Kenneth Weber, 19 Washington
Practice — Family And Community Property Law § 32.4.
Retirement benefits are an asset earned during the marriage and
divisible upon divorce. E.g., Jn re Marriage of Chavez, 80 Wash.
App. 432, 909 P.2d 314 (1996).

When a Washington citizen undergoes a dissolution of
marriage and division of property, he or she reasonably believes
that the divorce proceeding extinguishes the rights of the former
spouse. Wash. Rev. Code § 11.07.010 implements this
expectation. It ensures complete division of marital property by
applying a rule of law to all non-probate properties where a
former spouse might have been named as a beneficiary. This
rule enables divorced spouses to start new lives or to remarry
with such beneficiary designations deemed revoked. Put simply,
the ex-spouse has ceased to survive as a spouse and, as a matter
of law, is not a surviving beneficiary. Numerous other states
have laws that implement similar expectations regarding

property.

* Examples of analogous state laws include: Tex. Fam. Code Ann.
§ 3.632 (West 1997) (requiring redesignation of ex-spouse after divorce);
Okla. Stat. tit. 15, § 178 (1981) (ex-spouse deemed to predecease unless
redesignated); Mich. Comp. Laws § 552.191(2) (requiring divorce decrees
to determine or extinguish rights of spouses in each of their life insurance,
endowments, or annuities).

13

2. As noted above, ERISA regulates benefits that exist in
a context of detailed state laws governing property, marriage,
divorce, and inheritance. The following three examples illustrate

analogous state laws that may affect beneficiary designations in
ERISA plans.

First, the pension plan in this case recognizes that federal
law requires consent of a spouse for designation of a non-spouse
as a beneficiary. JA at 39-40. The determination of the validity
of a beneficiary, therefore, requires reference to the state laws
that determine whether or not a participant employee is lawfully
married or divorced.

Second, ERISA does not explain how to determine
whether a designated beneficiary “survives”.° A variety of
state laws exist to determine who survives as a matter of law in
a number of situations where it would affect inheritance,
ownership of property, or rights to life insurance proceeds.
E.g., Wash. Rev. Code § 11.05.040, App. at 3a (Uniform
Simultaneous Death Act provisions for paying proceeds of life
insurance when there is simultaneous death of insured and
beneficiary). In a situation involving questions of survival, the
ERISA plan should look to state law in order to determine the
beneficiary.

Third is the slayer statute. Slayer statutes prevent a
murderer from inheriting his victim’s property, often invoking
the legal fiction that the murderer has, as a matter of law, failed
to survive the victim. E£.g., Wash. Rev. Code § 11.84.030,
App. at 5a; see generally Emard v. Hughes Aircraft Co., 153

_ * The Plan in this case provided that if an employee failed to
designate, “or if you have an invalid beneficiary designation, or your
beneficiary is no longer living, benefits will be paid in the following
sequence: |. To your surviving spouse. 2. If there is no surviving spouse,
to your children in equal shares”. JA at 40 (emphasis added).

14

F.3d 949, 960 n.11 (9th Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 1122
(1999) (discussing slayer statutes). The state policy behind
slayer statutes is to protect a property owner by eliminating profit
to a person who wrongfully causes his or her death. In 1993, 44
states and the District of Columbia has slayer statutes, four states
had a common law bar. See Jeffrey G. Sherman, Mercy Killing
And The Right To Inherit, 61 U. Cin. L. Rev. 803, 876 n.12
(1993). In states with slayer statutes there is the expectation that
one spouse will not benefit from the murder of the other spouse.
However, under petitioner’s theory, ERISA requires the payment
of pension and insurance benefits to a beneficiary wife who
murdered her husband, overriding state law.

3. It is beyond the scope of this amicus brief to address
fully why application of state law to determine validity of
beneficiaries does not interfere with the provisions of ERISA.
The amici states, however, observe that the state law in this case
is not significantly different from a slayer statute or the Uniform
Simultaneous Death Act. If there was a dispute regarding the
validity of petitioner’s marriage, if petitioner had been a slayer or
if she had died in the car accident with the decedent, state law
provides for a basis for determining whether she was a valid
beneficiary to nonprobate property. Wash. Rev. Code
§ 11.07.010 occupies the same field as the slayer laws and death
acts. It provides circumstances when ex-spouses do not, as a
matter of law, survive as a beneficiary.°

® Indeed, the Washington statute in questions places no real
burden on ERISA plans at all because, under Wash. Rev. Code
§ 11.07.010(2)(b)(i), the plans may include a plain statement that statutes
which otherwise would operate to revoke or disclaim a beneficiary
designation upon divorce do not apply and will not override a beneficiary
designation.

15

lil. THE SAVINGS CLAUSE FOR STATE REGU-
LATION OF INSURANCE SHOWS THAT
CONGRESS HAS NOT PRE-EMPTED APPLI-
CATION OF STATE LAW TO INSURANCE
POLICIES

In 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b) (ERISA § 514(b)), Congress
preserved normal state powers to regulate insurance. As part
of such regulation, states can impose the type of revocation

requirement and non-survivorship rule of Wash. Rev. Code
§ 11.07.010.

“In areas of the law not inherently requiring national
uniformity . . . state statutes, otherwise valid, must be
upheld unless there is found such actual conflict
between the two schemes of regulation that both cannot
stand in the same area, or evidence of a congressional
design to preempt the field.” Head v. New Mexico Bd
of Examiners in Optometry, 374 U.S. 424, 430 (1963)
(quoting Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc. vy.
Paul, 373 U.S. 132, 141 (1963)) (footnote omitted)
(internal punctuation omitted).

There is no uniformity regarding the nature and
regulation of the life insurance policies purchased by ERISA
plans. Accordingly, even if state law is not applicable to the
pension plan, the Court should consider separately the
application of Wash. Rev. Code § 11.07.010 to the insurance
proceeds. See also McCarran-Ferguson Act, 15 U.S.C.
§§ 1011-1015 (saving insurance regulation for states). This
broad preservation of state authority confirms that application
of state law is not pre-empted in the context of the insurance
policies. Analysis of pre-emption in this case should, if
necessary, take into account Congress’ preservation of state
power in the field of insurance benefits.

16

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the amici states respectfully
request that the decision of the Washington State Supreme Court
be affirmed.

Respectfully Submitted,

CHRISTINE O. GREGOIRE
Attorney General of Washington

JAY D. GECK*
Assistant Attorney General

WILLIAM BERGGREN COLLINS
Senior Assistant Attorney General

1125 WASHINGTON STREET SE
OLYMPIA, WA 98504-0100
(360) 753-6200

September 18,2000 *Counsel of Record

APPENDIX

la

26.09.080 Disposition of property and liabilities—
Factors. In a proceeding for dissolution of the marriage,
legal separation, declaration of invalidity, or in a proceeding
for disposition of property following dissolution of the
marriage by a court which lacked personal jurisdiction over
the absent spouse or lacked jurisdiction to dispose of the
property, the court shall, without regard to marital miscon-
duct, make such disposition of the property and the liabilities
of the parties, either community or separate, as shall appear
just and equitable after considering all relevant factors
including, but not limited to:

(1) The nature and extent of the community property;

(2) The nature and extent of the separate property;

(3) The duration of the marriage; and

(4) The economic circumstances of each spouse at the
time the division of property is to become effective, includ-
ing the desirability of awarding the family home or the nght
to live therein for reasonable periods to a spouse with whom
the children reside the majority of the time. [1989 c 375 §
5; 1973 Ist ex.s. c 157 § 8.)

2a

(this page intentionally left blank)

3a

11.05.040 Distribution of insurance policy when
insured and beneficiary die simultaneously. Where the
insured and the beneficiary in a policy of life or accident
insurance have died and there is no sufficient evidence that
they have died otherwise than simultaneously the proceeds
of the policy shall be distributed as if the insured had
survived the beneficiary. [1965 c 145 § 11.05.040. Prior:
1943 c 113 § 4; Rem. Supp. 1943 § 1370-4. Formerly RCW
11.04.210.]

Reviser’s note: The subject matter of this section and RCW
11.05.050 relating to insurance also appears in RCW 48.18 390

4a

(this page intentionally left blank)

Sa

11.84.6030 Slayer deemed to predecease decedent.
The slayer shall be deemed to have predeceased the decedent
as to property which would have passed from the decedent
or his estate to the slayer under the statutes of descent and
distribution or have been acquired by statutory right as
surviving spouse or under any agreement made with the
decedent under the provisions of RCW 26.16.120 as it now
exists or is hereafter amended. [1965 c 145 § 11.84.030.
Prior: 1955 ¢ 141 § 3.)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0359%3A15. Public record. Not legal advice.
