# Amicus Curiae Brief — Atwater v. Lago Vista

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0356%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 532 U.S. 318

## Text

if Supreme Court, U.S.
No. 99-1408 FILED
teat SEP 11 200

Supreme Court of the United States-

i iar ca ae nese

eS ere ee

>
GAIL ATWATER, et ai., on
Petitioners,
—_—_VvV.— ~
CITY OF LAGO VISTA, et ail.,
Respondents.
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES
UNION, THE ACLU OF TEXAS, THE MEXICAN-AMERICAN
LEGAL DEFENSE AND EDUCATIONAL FUND, AND THE
NATIONAL POLICE ACCOUNTABILITY PROJECT OF THE
NATIONAL LAWYERS GUILD, IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

Joseph P. Berra Susan N. Herman

Mexican Legal Defense and (Counsel of Record)
Educational Fund 250 Joralemon Street

140 East Houston Street, Suite 300 Brooklyn, New York 11201

San Antonio, Texas 78205 (718) 780-7945

(210) 224-5476
Steven R. Shapiro

William C. Harrell American Civil Liberties Union
ACLU of Texas Foundation

P.O. Box 3629 125 Broad Street

Austin, Texas 78764 New York, New York 10004
(512) 441-0077 (212) 549-2500

Ut.00

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ................... ii
INTEREST OF AMICI ............0-0000000. 0 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE................. 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .................. 3
RGRIITID o.oo ci ons sdasassé eee
CUSTODIAL ARREST FOR A FINE-ONLY
OFFENSE, IN THE ABSENCE OF EXIGENT
CIRCUMSTANCES, IS AN UNREASONA-
BLE SEIZURE WITHIN THE MEANING OF
THE FOURTH AMENDMENT ............. 6

A. The History And Core Principles Of The
Fourth Amendment Support Limitations
On Custodial Arrest For Minor Offenses .... 6

B. The Reasonableness Of Custodial Arrests
For Minor Offenses Must Be Judged
Under The Court's Fourth Amendment
I TEE 0 .ocn0 0-0-6005

C. The Intrusiveness Of A Custodial Arrest
Outweighs The State’s Interests In Con-
ducting Such Arrests For Fine-Only

D. Common Law Tradition Supports Prohibi-
tion Of Custodial Arrest For Fine-Only

E. Prohibiting Arrest For Fine-Only Offenses
Is Consistent With General Principles Of

Constitutional Interpretation

CONCLUSION

ie — Ho — - fos of ee ke ee &€ ee €e& e@ 2 e

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Almeida-Sanchez v. United States,
413 U.S. 266 (1973) .. 0... eee 7
Argersinger v. Hamlin,
ss eee eeeeeeeceeneseees 5, 27
Austin v. United States,
509 U.S. 602 (1993)... 2 ee 28
Baldwin v. New York,
PEE CPENEEED cecccccccecccececoeeeces 5, 27
Barnett v. United States,
525 A.2d 197 (D.C.Ct.App. 1987) ............... 8
Camara v. Municipal Court,
Ch MCD occ vccccesceccceceeseeees 7
Carroll v. United States,
Us PED cc cceccoscsceresseoesseces 18
City of Milwaukee v. Nelson,
439 N.W.2d 562 (Wis. 1989)... 0.0020. ee ee, 13
Colorado v. Bertine,
479 U.S. 367 (1987)... 02 eee 23
County of Riverside v. McLaughlin,
i . + see eceaneeeoansteeeenen 15
Delaware v. Prouse,
i a aad ieee neues ene seeds 7, 12
Diaz v. City of Fitchburg,
176 F.3d 560 (Ist Cir. 1999) ...............055. 24
Dunaway v. New York,
a se i die sep hetebsoeeneeeet 1]

Page
Farm Labor Organizing Committee v.
Ohio State Highway Patrol,
95 F.Supp.2d 723 (N.D. Ohio 2000) .............. 10
Fisher v. Washington Met.
Area Transit Auth.,
690 F.2d 1133 (4th Cir. 1982) ...........2..... 8, 13
Florida v. Wells,
eee es OE “eh ves bus oeaddeccu eee 23
Gerstein v. Pugh,
Bee ees SE oa bak baotccecaneuoese. 14
Gramenos v. Jewel Companies, Inc.,
797 F.2d 432 (7th Cir. 1986) ................... 28

Gustafson v. Florida,
Se ee ED «0's a coe acewade ee enue 12, 15

Harmelin v. Michigan,

ee ee Se SE 6 oid Ws be dvideseeesaueaeds 17
Higbee v. City of San Diego,

DUe Fae S70 Coe Gees BOOED oc cc cccccccccccecda 13
Illinois v. Wardlow,

528 U.S. _,

Ss ED 6a a 6G sk be oe oe oes 4,9
Kennedy v. Mendoza-Martinez,

Peer ee CED 6.0 6 vane eenen tvavsanineutas 28
Knowles v. lowa,

See es SEE 6 0005040 beneuweeksn en 11,14
Martinez v. Village of Mount Prospect,

92 F.Supp.2d 780 (N.D. Ill. 2000) ............... )

iV

Maryland v. Macon,
ft 2 Fo PPPPTTeTrerrrrri err 12

National Congress of Puerto Rican
Rights v. City of New York,

OOS DUD Se Gee Ue COUUD ccccccccccceveces we)
New York v. Belton,

ee CED .. ¢.odin ave enas eae seeeeeee Se 15
Paul v. Davis,

ee, SD 6 ca nlecceee cu weeeeseaeueus 16
Payton v. New York,

GO Se, Ge ED cc cece eereeesasceses 7, 11, 14

Ricci v. Village of Arlington Heights,
116 F.3d 288 (7th Cir. 1997),
cert. dism'd as improvidently granted,

i rh, CE ow 06 6656600 eb N eee en eae 8, 13

Richards v. Wisconsin,

ee Se ho wee bewe eens enaeatiaees 12

Robbins v. California,

CEs i'n weeaee csebensaesh wens 12

Rodriguez v. California Highway Patrol,

89 F.Supp.2d 1131 (N.D. Cal. 2000) .............. 9

Scott v. Illinois,

GEE, Bee GUNS Ee 6 bh ce cebasesewenvecsetees 27

South Dakota v. Opperman,

GG, PEED onc week eeuctetvecedeoeun 23

Steagald v. United States,

i ee, DEE « sé eviabe cd ewebs inne tween 12
Vv

Page
Tate v. Short.
rE I og ee ee nee 15
Tennessee v. Garner,
REE Ea pei eng My A mene nP enn AUD A 4, 12
Thomas v. Florida,
614 So.2d 468 (Fla. 1993) ................... 8, 24
United States v. Hensley.
I I os ta CCN ie eRe ee 12
United States v. Herring,
35 F.Supp.2d 1253 (D. Or. 1999) _............... s
United States v. Martinez-Fuerte.
ER ERE OR Be ae erie 7, 12
United States v. Place.
Ne a eh in Le Og 12

United States v. Robinson.
RR ee ee ee eee: = 6, 15

United States v. State of New Jersey,

No. 99-5970 (D.N.J.),

available at ................ 9

United States v. Watson,
EE Ee eh Oe Sues een 19

Welsh v. Wisconsin,
466 U.S. 740 (1984)

(eres ewer es avewneenees passim
Whren v. United States,

517 eS hbchdnghues weaken eh oe passim
Wilson v. Arkansas.

PE 2S cms SL A EY eh Bee J ee 12

vi

Page

Winston v. Lee,

Se Ss ED ge ct aees be60e4e86s ces 12
Wyoming v. Houghton,
i Pn «ous es 6 os tke ee ee N's Ob oeeN 19

Statutes and Regulations

Ala. Code §15-10-3(a)(1) (1999) .. 0.2... 0.000044. 21
Alaska Stat. §11.81.900(b)(9) (Michie 1999) ........ 24
Alaska Stat. §11.81.900(b)(58) (Michie 1999) ........ 24
Alaska Stat. §12.25.030(a)(1) (1999)... 2... ...0..2... 24
Alaska Stat. §12.25.030(b)((2)(A) (Michie 1999) ...... 22
Alaska Stat. §§12.25.030(1) (Michie 1999) .......... 24
Re, Se GOOD 6 ce pe ncceenseseess 24
rr Cran 6 5 sek ncecatvecesuns 24
Ark. Code Ann. §16-81-106(b)(2) (Michie 1999) ..... 21
Cal. Penal Code §836(a)(1) (West 2000) ........... 21
D.C. Code Ann. §23-581(a)(1)(C) (1996)... 2.222... 23
D.C. Code Ann. §23-581(2) (1996) ............... 23
Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, §233(c) (1999) ............ 24
Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, §1904(a) (1999) ........... 24
Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, §1904(a)(1) (1999)... ....... 24
Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, §1904(a)(2) (1999)... ....... 23
Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, §§1904(a)(4)-(6) (1999) ...... 22
Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, §4207 (1999) ............. 24
Del. Code Ann. tit. 21, §4802(g)(1) (1999) ......... 24
Fla. Stat. Ann. §316.614(5) (West 1999) ........... 24
Fla. Stat. Ann. §316.614(8) (West 1999) ........... 24
Fla. Stat. Ann. §318.13(3) (West 1999) ............ 24
Fla. Stat. Ann. §318.14(1) (West 1999) ............ 24
Vil

Page
Fla. Stat. Ann. §§775.08(2)-(3) (West 1999) ........., 24
Fla. Stat. Ann. §901.15(1) (West 1999) ............ 24
Fla. Stat. Ann. §§901.15(6)-(9) (West 1999) ......... 22
Ga. Code Ann. §17-4-20(a) (1999) ............, 22, 24
Ga. Code Ann. §40-8-76.1(b) (1999)... 2.0.0.0... 24
Ga. Code Ann. §40-8-76.1(e)(1) (1999) ............ 24
Idaho Code §19-603(1) (1999) .................. 21
625 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann. 5/12-603(d) (West 2000) .... 24
725 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann. 5/102-15 (West 2000) ...... 24
725 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann. 5/107-2 (West 2000) ....... 24
Ind. Code Ann. §9-19-10-2 (West 2000) ........... 24
Ind. Code Ann. §33-1-12-1 (West 2000) ........... 24
Ind. Code Ann. §35-33-1-1(a)(3) (Michie 2000) ...... 22
Ind. Code Ann. §35-33-1-1(a)(4) (West 2000) ....... 24
Ind. Code Ann. §35-33-1-1(a)(5) (Michie 2000) ...... 22
lowa Code Ann. §804.7(1) (West 1999)............ 21
Kan. Stat. Ann. §22-2401(c)(2)(C) (West 1999) ...... 22
Kan. Stat. Ann. §§22-2401(c)(2)(A)-(C) (West 1999)... 23
Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §189.125(6) (Michie 1998) ...... 24
Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §431.005(d) (Michie 1998) ...... 24
Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §431.005(1)(d) (Michie 1998) .... 24
Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §431.005(1)(e) (Michie 1998) .... 22
Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §431.005(2)(a) (Michie 1998) .... 22
Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §431.060(2) (Michie 1998) ...... 24
Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §431.060(3) (Michie 1998) ...... 24
La. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 213 (1) (West 1999) ... 24
La. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 933(1) (West 1999)... . 24
La. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 933(4) (West 1999)... . 24
La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §14.2(6) (West 1999) .......... 24

Vill

La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §14.7 (West 1999) ............ 24
La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §32:295.1(A)(1) (West 1999) ..... 24
Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 276, §28 (West 1999) ..... 24
Mass. Ann. Laws ch. 276, §28 (West 1999) ......... 22
Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 90, §13A (West 1999) ..... 25
Md. Ann. Code art. 27 §594B(a) (1999) ........... 24
Md. Code Ann. art. 27 §594B(e) (1996) ........... 23
Md. Code Ann. art. 27 §594B(f) (1996) ............ 23
Md. Code Ann., Transp. §22-412.3(b) (1999) ........ 24
Md. Code Ann., Transp. §27-101(a)(2) (1999) ....... 24
Md. Code Ann., Transp. §27-106(b) (1999) ......... 24
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 17-A §4-B(1)-(3)

‘2, PEEREREREEEESERESERE LEER EE 24
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 17-A §4-B(3) (West 1999) .... 24
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 17-A §15(1)(a)(5)-(8)

2... RAPPER EOCREETECEEL OLE EA EE TEE 23

Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 17-A §15(1)(A) (West 1999) .. 22
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 17-A §15(1)(A)(2)

‘6 ee eee a 24
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 17-A §15(1)(B) (West 1999)... 24
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 29-A §2081 (3-A)

SE GOED oct ces Se aretha whee svecnctes 24
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 29-A §2081 (D) (West 1999) .. 24
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 29-A §101(85) (West 1999) ... 24

Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §257.6a, (West 1999) ....... 25
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §257.710e(3) West 1999) ... . 25
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §257.710e(7) (West 1999) ... 25
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §257.907(2) (West 1999) .... 25

Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §764.15(1)(a) (West 1999) .. . 25
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §§764.15(1)(h)-(i)
CN EE cece ce sbeceee es wewecsesocese 22

iX

Page
Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §764.15(1)(m) (West 2000) . . . 22
Minn. Stat. Ann. §629.34(1)(c)(1) (West 1999) ....... 21
Miss. Code Ann. §99-3-7(1) (1999)... ....0........ 21
Mont. Code Ann. §45-2-101(48) (1999) ............ 25
Mont. Code Ann. §46-1-202(14) (1999)... 0.0.0.2... 25
Mont. Code Ann. §46-6-311(1) (1999) ......... 23, 25
Mont. Code Ann. §61-13-103(1) (1999)... ......... 25
Mont. Code Ann. §61-13-104(1) (1999)... ......... 25
N.C. Gen. Stat. §14-3.1(a) (2000) ................ 25
N.C. Gen. Stat. §§15A-401(b)(1)-(2)(b) (2000) ... 2... 25
N.C. Gen. Stat. §15A-401(b)(2)(b) (2000) .......... 23
N.C. Gen. Stat. §15A-401(b)(2)(d) (2000) ..........22
N.C. Gen. Stat. §20-135.2A(e) (2000) ............. 25
N.D. Cent. Code §29-06-15(1)(a) (1999) ........... 21
N.D. Cent. Code §29-06-15(1)(f) (1999) ...........22
N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §594.10(1)(b) (1999) .. 2.2.00... 22
N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §594.10(1)(c) (1999) .......... 23
N.J. Stat. Ann. §39:5-25 (West 2000) ............. 22
N.M. Stat. Ann. §31-1-7(A) (Michie 2000) ......... 22
N.Y. Crim. Proc. Law §140.10(1)(b)
A a ae ee ee 22
Neb. Rev. Stat. §29-404.02(2) (1999) .......... 23, 25
Neb. Rev. Stat. §29-404.02(3) (1999) ............. 22
Neb. Rev. Stat. §60-60,272 (1999) ............... 25
Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. §29-404.02(2) (1999) ......... 25
Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. §60-6,270(1) (1999) .......... 25
Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. §171.124(1)(a) (Michie 1999) ... . 2]
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §2935.03(B)(1)
I col a ole 2 id tI ae 22

Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 22, §196(1) (West. 1999) ....... 21
Or. Rev. Stat. §§133.310(1)(a)-(d) (1999) .......... 25
Or. Rev. Stat. §133.310(1)(b) (1999)... 2... 2.0.0... 24
Or. Rev. Stat. §133.310(1)(d) (1999) .............. 24
Or. Rev. Stat. §§133.310(1)(d)-(g) (1999) .......... 22
Or. Rev. Stat. §133.310(6)(a) (1999) .............. 22
ek oe tee eee eewenn 25
eR KR ee ee 24
Ge. Rev. Bam. 161.5465 (ISPP) . www cee: 24, 25
Or. Rev. Stat. §811.210(1)(a) (1999)... 2... 2.0.0... 25
Or. Rev. Stat. §811.210(2)(b) (1999) 2... 2.222, 25
me me kt 25
18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. §106(b)(8) (West 1999) ...... 24
Pa. R. Crim. P. 101(2)(a) (West 1999) ......... 24,25
Pa. R. Crim. P. 101(2)(c) (West 1999) ............ 24
18 Pa. Stat. Ann. §§106(b)(1)-(9) ............0... 25
75 Pa. Stat. Ann. §4581(2) (2000) ............... 25
75 Pa. Stat. Ann. §4581(3)(b) (2000) ...........2.. 25
R.I. Gen. Laws §11-1-2 (1999) ................ 24,25
R.I. Gen. Laws §12-7-3 (1999) ............ 23, 24, 25
R.I. Gen. Laws §31-22-22(g) (1999) .............. 25
R.I. Gen. Laws §31-22-22()) (1999) ............-.. 25
S.C. Code Ann. §56-5-6520 (Law. Co-Op. 1999) ..... 25
S.C. Code Ann. §56-5-6540 (Law. Co-Op. 1999) ..... 25
S.D. Codified Laws §22-6-7 (Michie 2000) ......... 24

S.D. Codified Laws §23A-3-2(1)

Ee 21, 24, 25
S.B. Codified Laws §32-38-1 (Michie 2000) ........ 21
S.D. Codified Laws §32-38-5 (Michie 2000) ........ 25
Tenn. Code Ann. §40-7-103(a)(1) (1999) .. 0. ....... 21
Tenn. Code Ann. §55-—9-603 (1999) .............. 25

Xl

Page

Tex. Crim. P. Code. Ann. §§14.01(a)-(b)

Es 64 6.0 dS S OOO Rane eee ee 6, 22
Tex. Crim. P. Code. Ann. §§14.03(2)-(4)

lL ee er ee eae 6, 22
Tex. Transp. Code Ann. §543.001

I Eg te Sel he oe a. te 2, 6, 17, 25
Texas Transp. Code Ann. §543.005

EE os a Gb a e's as “ae an ee 2, 6, 18
Texas Transp. Code Ann. §545.413(d) (West 1999) .. 2, 17
Utah Code Ann. §41-6-182(2) (1999) ............. 25
Utah Code Ann. §76-1-601(6) (1999) ............. 25
Utah Code Ann. §77-7-2(1) (1999) .......0000.... 21
Utah Code Ann. §77-7-2(3) (1999) .. 0... 000000... 23
Utah Code Ann. §41-6-185(1) (1999) ......0000..., 25
Va. Code Ann. §18.2-8 (Michie 2000) ............. 25
Va. Code Ann. §19.2-81(7) (Michie 2000) ....... 22. 25
Va. Code Ann. §46.2-113 (Michie 2000) ........... 25
Va. Code Ann. §46.2-1094(A) (Michie 2000) ........ 25
Va. Code Ann. §46.2-1094(G) (Michie 2000) ........ 25
Vt. R. Crim. P. 3(a)(2)(C) (2000)... 2.2. 2D
Vt. R. Crim. P. 3(a)(3)-(4) (2000)... 23
W. Va. Code §62-10-6 (2000) ..............2..., 21
Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §9A.04.040(1) (1999)... 20... 25
Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §10.21.100 (1999) .........., 25

Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §§10.31.100(1)-(2) (West 1999) . 22
Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §§10.31.100(3)-(4) (West 1999) . 22

Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §46.61.688(3) (1999) ........ 25
Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §46.61.688(5) (1999) ........ 25
Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §46.63.110(1) (1999) ........ 25
Wyo. Stat. Ann. §7-2-102(b)(iii) (Michie 2000) ...... 23

Other Authorities

ALI Model Code of Pre-Arraignment
ee tg Oe 16, 23

Blackstone, William,
4 COMMENTARIES *289 ........... Pat ee ae anal 19

Bohlen. Francis H., “Arrest With
and Without a Warrant,”
gc och eee se eed wen 21

Chitty, Joseph, 1 A PRACTICAL
TREATISE ON THE CRIMINAL LAW
(1816)(Garland Publishing, Inc. 1978) ............. 19

Cole, David, "Race, Policing, and
the Future of Criminal Law,”
26 Hum.Rts. (Summer 1999) ...........---0505- 10

Cole, David, No EQUAL JUSTICE:
RACE AND CLASS IN THE AMERICAN
CRIMINAL JUSTICE SYSTEM (1999) .............-. i)

Davies, Thomas Y., "Recovering
the Original Fourth Amendment,"
|) Na OS ee ee 20

Doernberg, Donald L. & Zeigler,

Donald H., "Due Process, Versus

Data Processing: An Analysis

of Computerized Criminal History
Information Systems,"

Re R OM) Yer re ee eee 16
Feeley, Malcolm M., THE PROCESS

is THE PUNISHMENT (1979) .. 0.0... cee ccc ewes 28
Feeney, Floyd, THE POLICE AND

PRETRIAL RELEASE (Lexington 1982) ............. 20
Fisher, Edward C.,

we Fog 3, eee es 19, 20

Page

Folk, Thomas R. "The Case for

Constitutional Constraints

Upon the Power to Make Full

Custody Arrests,"

48 U.Cin.L.Rev. 321 (1979) .................... 18

Goebel, Jr., Julius, & Naughton,

T. Raymond, LAW ENFORCEMENT

IN COLONIAL NEW YorRK (1944)
(Patterson Smith Reprint Series, 1970)

Hale, Matthew, PLEAS OF THE CROWN:
METHODICAL SUMMARY 92 (1678)
(P. R. Glazebrook ed., Professional
Books Ltd. 1972)

Harris, David A., "The Stories,

The Statistics, and the Law:

Why ‘Driving While Black Matters."
84 Minn.L.Rev. 265 (1999)

Kennedy, Randall, RACE, CRIME,
AND THE LAw (1997)

LaFave, Wayne R., "‘Case-by-Case
Adjudication’ Versus ‘Standardized
Procedures’: The Robinson Dilemma,"
1974 Sup.Ct.Rev. 127

LaFave, Wayne R..,
ARREST: THE DECISION TO TAKE
A SUSPECT INTO CuSsTODY (1965) ............... 20

LaFave, Wayne R..,
SEARCH AND SEIZURE (3d ed. 1996)

Landynski, Jacob, SEARCH AND SEIZURE
AND THE SUPREME CourT (1966)................ 6

XIV

Page

Lasson, Nelson B., THE HISTORY AND

DEVELOPMENT OF THE FOURTH AMEND-

MENT TO THE UNITED STATES CON-

oo a ese 4,7

O'Neill, Timothy,
No Stops for Seat Belts,
. -. SS & & BPeeeveverer ty tr 25

Roberts, Dorothy E., "Foreword:

Race, Vagueness, and the Social

Meaning of Order-Maintenance Policing,"

89 J.Crim.L. & Criminology (1999) .............. 10

Salken, Barbara C., "The General

Warrant of the Twentieth Century?

A Fourth Amendment Solution to

Unchecked Discretion to Arrest

for Traffic Offenses,"

62 Temple L.Rev. 221 (1989) ............... 16, 19

Schroeder, William A., "Warrantless
Misdemeanor Arrests and the

Fourth Amendment,"
. f 0 mee, fares foes 20

Stephen, James F.. 1 A HISTORY OF
THE CRIMINAL LAW OF ENGLAND
(London, MacMillian 1883) ............... 5, 19, 20

Warner, Sam B., "Uniform Arrest Act,"
_ - RS S| eee eee 20

Wilgus, Horace L., "Arrest
Without a Warrant,"
22 Mich.L.Rev. 541 (1923-24) ............206- 5, 20

XV

INTEREST OF AMICI '

The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) is a
nationwide, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization with nearly
300,000 members dedicated to the principles of liberty and
equality embodied in the Constitution. In support of these
principles, the ACLU has appeared before this Court in
numerous Fourth Amendment cases, both as direct counsel
and as amicus curiae. The ACLU of Texas is one of its
statewide affiliates. Because this case addresses an impor-
tant Fourth Amendment question, its proper resolution is a
matter of substantial concern to the ACLU and its members.

For over 35 years the Mexican American Legal Defense
and Educational Fund (MALDEF) has fought to promote
and protect the rights of Latinos in the United States.
MALDEF’s interest in Fourth Amendment issues stems
from our Immigrant Rights and Access to Justice program
areas, which currently monitor police conduct for compli-
ance with the Fourth Amendment, and seek to address issues
of racial/ethnic profiling by law enforcement agencies.
MALDEF has a substantial interest in the proper resolution
of this case, to ensure full protection of the rights of
members of the Latino community.

The National Police Accountability Project of the Na-
tional Lawyers Guild is dedicated to protecting all persons
from the unlawful or unconstitutional use of police power.
The Project provides information and resources necessary
for police misconduct litigation and support for legislative
efforts to strengthen remedies for victims of police abuse.

' Letters of consent to the filing of this brief have been lodged with the
Clerk of the Court pursuant to Rule 37.3. Pursuant to Rule 37.6,
counsel for amici states that no counsel for a party authored this brief in
whole or in part and no person, other than amici, its members, or its
counsel, made a monetary contribution to the preparation or submission
of this brief.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Gail Atwater was driving her two children home from
soccer practice one afternoon, at a speed of fifteen miles per
hour through a residential neighborhood in Lago Vista,
Texas. None of the three was wearing a seat belt. Atwater
was stopped by City of Lago Vista Police Officer Bart
Turek, who screamed at her that they had met before (sever-
al months previously Turek had stopped Atwater, apparently
suspecting that her son was riding in the car without a seat
belt, which turned out not to be the case) and that this time
she was going to jail. Atwater v. City of Lago Vista, 165
F.3d 380, 382 (Sth Cir. 1999).

Texas law provides that failure to wear a seat belt is a
misdemeanor, subject to a maximum punishment of $50.
Texas Transp. Code Ann. §545.413(d) (West 1999). Texas
law allowed Officer Turek the discretion to issue a citation
for this offense, id. §543.005, or to make a custodial arrest,
id. §543.001. Neither the statute nor Lago Vista police
department policy provides any guidelines or criteria for of-
ficers on how to decide between a citation and an arrest in
such circumstances. 165 F.3d at 383.

Officer Turek chose to arrest Atwater for the seat belt
offense. After what was described by witnesses as a "ti-
rade" on his part, Turek took Atwater into custody, hand-
cuffing her behind her back, and refusing her request that
she be allowed to take her six-year-old daughter and four-
year-old son to a neighbor's house two houses away from
where they were standing, rather than have them accompany
her to jail. /d. at 382.° Atwater was taken to the police

* When Turek demanded Atwater’s driver's license and proof of in-
surance card, Atwater replied that those documents were in a purse
stolen several days previously. Turek subsequently added charges of

(continued...)

to

station in Turek’s squad car, where she was required to
empty her pockets, remove her shoes and glasses, and have
her picture taken. She then spent about an hour in a jail
cell before being taken to a magistrate who released her
when she posted bond. Her children were spared the trip to
the station house when a neighbor happened on the scene.

Atwater pleaded no contest to the seat belt charge.
Because this incident caused Atwater and her children ex-
treme emotional distress, requiring medication and coun-
seling, they brought an action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §1983,
alleging, inter alia, that Turek’s arrest was an unreasonable
seizure under the Fourth Amendment. The VU. S. District
Court for the Western District of Texas granted the defen-
dants summary judgment, a panel of the Fifth Circuit re-
versed, 165 F.3d 380, and the Fifth Circuit en banc reversed
the panel, holding that the arrest was not unconstitutional
under current law. 195 F.3d 242 (1999).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Fourth Amendment prohibits custodial arrest for
fine-only misdemeanors, at least in the absence of exigent
circumstances. The Texas statute authorizing custodial ar-
rest for any violation of its traffic code resembles the gener-
al warrants that were one of the principal motivating factors

* (...continued)

driving without a license and insurance card to the original seat belt
charge against Atwater, but these charges were dismissed on the same
day they were filed. 195 F.3d 242, 252 (Sth Cir. 1999)(en banc)
(Dennis, J., dissenting). Under Texas law, driving without proof of
insurance is neither a crime nor an offense, see id., and failure to carry
or exhibit a driver's license as a first offense is a fine-only misdemean-
or, see id., so even if the after-the-fact additional charges were deemed
to have been legitimate, Ms. Atwater’s arrest was still, at most, for a
fine-only misdemeanor.

behind the American Revolution and the drafting of the
Fourth Amendment. See Nelson B. Lasson, THE HISTORY
AND DEVELOPMENT OF THE FOURTH AMENDMENT TO THE
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION at 13-78 (1937).

The Fourth Amendment axiom that excessive police dis-
cretion can lead to arbitrary enforcement is demonstrated by
Atwater’s case; the potential for racially discriminatory en-
forcement, see Illinois v. Wardlow, 528 U.S. __, 120 S.Ct.
673, 677, 682 nn.9-10 (2000)(Stevens, J., dissenting), is
even more alarming.

In Whren v. United States, 517 U.S. 806 (1996), the
Court declined to question whether stops for traffic offenses
are in fact pretexts to investigate suspected drug offenders.
If there are no objective limitations on the more intrusive
power to arrest, other than probable cause, states may, as
some already have, authorize arrest for a vast array of of-
fenses -- not only the entire traffic code, as in Texas, but
littering, jaywalking and perhaps even parking violations.
Law enforcement officers then have license to select anyone
at all, wait for them to commit any one of thousands of pos-
sible infractions, and then place their target under arrest in
order to conduct a search incident to arrest of the designated
person and vehicle. Arrests would, in truth, become inci-
dent to the desired searches.

What is a "reasonable" seizure under the Fourth Amend-
ment must be determined under the Court’s usual balancing
test, weighing the relative intrusion on individual interests
against the state’s legitimate needs. Tennessee v. Garner,
471 U.S. 1 (1985). The Fifth Circuit is incorrect in as-
serting that there is no need to apply the balancing test in
this case, mischaracterizing dicta in Whren, 517 U.S. at 817,
as assuming the result of a balance of interests not yet con-
ducted. Presuming that the legislature may authorize offi-
cers to arrest for any trivial infraction, in addition to beg-
ging the question posed in this case, flies in the face of the

4

balance struck at common law, which authorized arrest only
for fairly serious "misdemeanors" involving a breach of the
peace, see 1 James F. Stephen, A HISTORY OF THE CRIM-
INAL LAW OF ENGLAND 193 (London, MacMillian 1883);
Horace L. Wilgus, “Arrest Without a Warrant," 22 Mich.L.
Rev. 541, 572-77 (1923-24). Current "misdemeanors" or
minor offenses which have actually led to custodial arrests,
like eating on the subway, failure to have a bell or gong on
one’s bicycle, littering, and "walking as to create a hazard,"
radically expand the arrest authority granted at common law.

Custodial arrest is highly intrusive. It carries with it not
only the automatic right to search an arrestee and his or her
vehicle incident to the arrest, but also the right to use some
degree of necessary force to effect the arrest, to transport
the person to the police station, to handcuff, book and fin-
gerprint the person, to detain the person for a period of time
(presumably up to 48 hours) before presentation to a magis-
trate, and to maintain a record of the arrest.

On the other side of the balance, the state ordinarily has
no real need to take an individual into custody for a fine-
only offense. In a case like Atwater’s, there was no breach
of the peace, no reason to fear that Atwater would abscond,
and no need whatever to arrest rather than issue a summons.

The legislature's choice not to impose any jail time for
a code violation is the best indication of the state’s level of
interest in taking custody of individuals who violate such
prohibitions. Welsh v. Wisconsin, 466 U.S. 740 (1984). In
other areas of constitutional interpretation, the Court has de-
ferred to the legislature’s classification of offenses as fine-
only or not, predicating the existence of rights like the right
to counsel or right to jury trial on whether or not an offense
leads to incarceration. See Argersinger v. Hamlin, 407 US.
25 (1972); Baldwin v. New York, 399 U.S. 66 (1970). Pro-
hibiting custodial arrest for fine-only offenses in the absence
of exigent circumstances would provide a clear and conven-

5

ient bright-line rule for courts and police to follow, re-
specting a line created by the legislature rather than sub-
jecting every arrest to after-the-fact scrutiny by the courts.

Arrest may not be used as a summary punishment, im-
posing jail time that no legislature has authorized.

ARGUMENT

CUSTODIAL ARREST FOR A FINE-ONLY
OFFENSE, IN THE ABSENCE OF EXIGENT
CIRCUMSTANCES, IS AN UNREASONABLE
SEIZURE WITHIN THE MEANING OF THE
FOURTH AMENDMENT

A. The History And Core Principles Of
The Fourth Amendment Support Limi-
tations On Custodial Arrest For Minor
Offenses

Texas law delegates to every peace officer the power to
arrest, and therefore to search incident to that arrest, see
United States v. Robinson, 414 U.S. 218, 221-22 (1973),
any person who has committed any infraction of its traffic
code, Tex. Transp. Code Ann. §543.001 (West 1999), or
any one of a broad array of other offenses. See Tex. Crim.
P. Code Ann. §§14.01(a)-(b), 14.03 (2)-(4) (West 1998).
No arrest warrant is required; no guidelines are provided.

This extravagant grant of discretionary authority is
reminiscent of the general warrants the framers of the
Fourth Amendment found so offensive. In fact, it was
exactly such excessive delegations of the power to search
and seize (like the statutes authorizing writs of assistance)
that the Fourth Amendment was intended to prevent. See
Jacob Landynski, SEARCH AND SEIZURE AND THE SUPREME
COURT 30-42 (1966). It is by now familiar history that the
framers’ dismay at statutes granting such general preroga-

6

tives was one of the principal motivating factors, both for
the Revolution and the creation of the Fourth Amendment
itself. See Lasson, supra, at 13-78 (events during the thirty
years preceding the drafting of the Fourth Amendment in-
spired the framers to elevate the principle of "reasonable-
ness" to one of constitutional significance). The decisions
of this Court consistently identify excessive police discretion
as the central concern of the Fourth Amendment. See Pay-
ton v. New York, 445 U.S. 573, 583-85 (1980). "The essen-
tial purpose of the proscriptions in the Fourth Amendment is
to impose a standard of ‘reasonableness’ upon the exercise
of discretion by government officials, in order to safeguard
the privacy and security of individuals against arbitrary in-
vasions.". Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648, 653-54
(1979). See also Almeida-Sanchez v. United States, 413
U.S. 266, 270 (1973): United States v. Martinez-Fuerte, 428
U.S. 543, 559 (1976); Camara vy. Municipal Court, 387 U.S.
527, 532-33 (1967).

Recent history underscores the need to respect the
Fourth Amendment’s traditional concerns by imposing ap-
propriate limitations on the discretion to arrest. In Whren vy.
United States, 517 U.S. 806, the Court declined to examine
whether stops for traffic offenses were in fact pretexts to
investigate suspected drug offenders, believing that it would
be inappropriate as part of Fourth Amendment analysis to
explore the subjective motivation of individual officers. If
the Fourth Amendment is also construed as not imposing
any objective limitations on the arrest power, other than
probable cause, any state or municipal legislature may au-
thorize custodial arrest for any “offense” at all, no matter
how trivial, and the potential for abuse of discretion and
selective enforcement is magnified exponentially.

This is more than a hypothetical concern. Infractions
today’s legislatures have already constituted as arrestable
offenses, and which have actually led to full custodial ar-

rests, include, in addition to the Texas seat belt offense,
eating on the subway, see Fisher v. Washington Met. Area
Transit Auth., 690 F.2d 1133 (4th Cir. 1982); failure to have
a bell or gong on one’s bicycle, see Thomas v. Florida, 614
So.2d 468 (Fla. 1993); failure to obtain a license for a
telemarketing business, see Ricci v. Village of Arlington
Heights, 116 F.3d 288 (7th Cir. 1997), cert. dism'd as im-
providently granted, 523 U.S. 613 (1998); littering, see
United States v. Herring, 35 F.Supp.2d 1253 (D. Or. 1999);
and "walking as to create a hazard," see Barnett v. United
States, 525 A.2d 197, 198 (D.C.Ct.App. 1987).

For some overzealous officers, the temptation to use
this blanket authority to trawl for drug offenders could be
overwhelming. Officers in permissive jurisdictions could
target anyone at all, watch their target until she or he
committed some infraction, even if only littering or jay-
walking, and then claim the right to perform a search inci-
dent to a strategic arrest of the individual, and in cases of
traffic offenses, search the individual’s vehicle as well. If
the opportunity to declare virtually anyone to be under arrest
is too readily available, the search incident to arrest doctrine
is effectively turned on its head, with arrests becoming
incident to the real goal of suspicionless searches.

The facts of Thomas v. Florida, 614 So.2d 468, are in-
structive and alarming. Carl Thomas was riding his bicycle
through a predominantly black neighborhood in Orlando
known for drug activity. A local officer, apparently having
no objective reason to stop Thomas on suspicion of any
other criminal activity, arrested him for the offense of riding
a bicycle not equipped with a bell or gong (under a city or-
dinance whose dubious validity under Florida jaw had not
yet been litigated, apparently because it was so rarely
enforced). Conducting a search incident to this ingenious
arrest, the officer found a handgun in Thomas's pocket. /d.
at 469. Whren instructs us not to inquire into the officer's

reason for suddenly deciding to enforce this vestigial
ordinance.

While Atwater’s case proves the conventional Fourth
Amendment wisdom that excessive delegations of arrest au-
thority can lead to arbitrary enforcement, or enforcement out
of personal vendetta.’ Thomas’s case raises the specter of
the rampant discriminatory enforcement that can take place
in the absence of objective limits on legislative grants of
arrest power, with its concomitant search power. Sadly, the
fear that excessive grants of discretion will lead to racially
discriminatory law enforcement is more than hypothetical.
See Illinois v. Wardlow, 120 S.Ct. at 682 nn.9-10 (Stevens,
J., dissenting). Historical prejudices against minorities, as
well as more recent cultural prejudices against immigrants,
find expression in unbridled discretion. Courts across the
country are increasingly recognizing claims based on the
practice of racial profiling, as that issue moves to the fore-
front of national consciousness.* It is not only in border

* Judge Garza took judicial notice on the basis of his sixty years as a
Texas lawyer that the usual procedure in Texas traffic stops is for the
officer to issue a citation, 195 F.3d at 246 (Garza, R., J., dissenting),
and concluded that Atwater was singled out for improper reasons.

* See Martinez v. Village of Mount Prospect, 92 F.Supp.2d 780 (N.D.
if}. 2000\approving settlement agreement including enactment of policy
banning racial profiling); United States v. State of New Jersey, No. 99-
$970 (D.N.J.), available at (consent decree resolving U.S. Department of Justice
racial profiling claim against New Jersey State Police); Rodriguez v.
Catifornia Highway Patrol, 89 F.Supp.2d 1131 (N.D. Cal. 2000)(target-
ing of African-American and Latino drivers); National Congress of
Puerto Rican Rights v. City of New York, 191 F.R.D. 52 (S.D.N.Y.
1999) Terry stops targeting African-American and Latino individuals on
the basis of race and national origin). See generally David Cole, NO
BevAL JusTice: RACE AND CLASS IN THE AMERICAN CRIMINAL
Justice SYSTEM (1999); Randall Kennedy, RACE, CRIME, AND THE LAW

(continued...)

states like Texas that local police, frequently responding to
community prejudices, single out people of Mexican appear-
ance in order to check their immigration status. See, e.g.,
Farm Labor Organizing Committee v. Ohio State Highway
Patrol, 95 F.Supp.2d 723, 737 (N.D. Ohio 2000). Custodial
arrest, as a manner of seizure and as a means of initiating
and subjecting individuals to process, must be subject to a
reasonableness inquiry that balances governmental interests
with an individual’s Fourth Amendment interests, see
Atwater v. City of Lago Vista, 195 F.3d at 247 (Garza, R..
J., dissenting), 246-47 (Wiener, J., dissenting), 254 (Dennis,
J., dissenting), if the courts are not to abdicate the responsi-
bility of ensuring reasonably evenhanded law enforcement.°

The fear that legislatures will condone and encourage
suspicionless searches is also more than hypothetical. The
lowa legislature, for example, in a candid attempt to spare
individuals the burden of custodial arrest in circumstances
where what the legislature really wanted was to allow other-
wise impermissible searches of cars, tried to confer the
power to search on all officers who stop people for traffic
offenses, regardless of whether or not they conduct an ar-

* (...continued)

(1997); David A. Harris, "The Stories, The Statistics, and the Law:
Why ‘Driving While Black Matters," 84 Minn.L.Rev. 265 (1999); David
Cole, “Race, Policing, and the Future of Criminal Law," 26 Hum.Rts. 2
(Summer 1999); Dorothy E. Roberts, "Foreword: Race, Vagueness, and
the Social Meaning of Order-Maintenance Policing,” 89 J.Crim.L. &
Criminology 775 (1999).

* The Whren Court suggested that any problem with discriminatory en-
forcement could be addressed through litigation under the Equal Protec-
tion Clause. /d. at 813. For an explanation of why equal protection
claims are not an adequate substitute for control over excessive police
discretion, see Brief Amicus Curiae of the American Civil Liberties
Union in Support of Petitioners at 10-11 n.4, Whren v. United States,
517 U.S. 806 (1996)(No. 95-5841).

10

rest. Now that the Court has invalidated that effort to sever
the arrest and its incident search, Knowles v. lowa, 525 U.S.
113 (1998), state or municipal legislatures sharing the lowa
legislature’s goal of permitting searches not based on proba-
ble cause must authorize, and insist on, custodial arrests
rather than traffic citations. State or local jurisdictions will
be encouraged to emulate Texas by permitting arrest for
traffic offenses, perhaps even for parking violations, as a
predicate for allowing their officers to conduct otherwise
unjustifiable searches.

The searches and arrests in such cases must be deemed
unreasonable within the meaning of the Fourth Amendment,
both because of the excessive, unreasonable delegation of
discretion, and because, on balance, the state's interest in
enforcing minor offenses does not reasonably outweigh the
individual’s interest in liberty, privacy, and dignity.

B. The Reasonableness Of Custodial Ar-
rests For Minor Offenses Must Be
Judged Under The Court’s Fourth
Amendment Balancing Test

When Gail Atwater was transported to the police sta-
tion, she was subjected to a full custodial arrest. See Duna-
way v. New York, 442 U.S. 200, 213-14 (1979). Because
this Court has always recognized that custodial arrest is the
gravest intrusion on an individual’s liberty and privacy, it
has strictly observed the requirement that any arrest must be
based on probable cause. /d. at 208. The Court has also
found arrests to be unreasonable, even when based on prob-
able cause, in a variety of cases, sometimes requiring arrest
warrants as a precondition to a valid arrest, see Payton v.
New York, 445 U.S. at 585 ("a warrantless arrest of a person
is a species of seizure required by the Amendment to be
reasonable"); Welsh v. Wisconsin, 466 U.S. 740 (warrantless
home arrest for misdemeanor requires particularly exigent

1]

.

circumstances); see also Steagald v. United States, 451 U.S.
204 (1981)(search warrant required for arrest in another’s
home), and sometimes imposing limitations on the method
of arrest, see Tennessee v. Garner, 471 U.S. 1 (limitation on
use of deadly force in arrest); Wilson v. Arkansas, 514 U.S.
927 (1995)(knock-and-announce limitation on execution of
warrants); Richards v. Wisconsin, 520 U.S. 385 (1997)
(same).

As the Court has explained on many occasions, whether
Or not an arrest is reasonable must be determined by “bal-
anc[ing] the nature and quality of the intrusion on the
individual's Fourth Amendment interests against the impor-
tance of the governmental interests alleged to justify the
intrusion." Tennessee v. Garner, 471 U.S. at 8. See also
United States v. Place, 462 U.S. 696, 703 (1983); Winston
v. Lee, 470 U.S. 753, 760 (1982); United States v. Hensley,
469 U.S. 221, 228 (1985): Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. at
654;. United States v. Martinez-Fuerte, 428 U.S. at 556-62.

While the Court has not yet addressed the question of
what limitations the Fourth Amendment imposes on the
power to arrest for minor offenses, a number of Justices
have expressed concern about the need to limit the power to
arrest under such circumstances. See Gustafson v. Florida,
414 U.S. 260, 266-67 (1973)(Stewart, J., concurring)("a per-
suasive claim might have been made .. . that the custodial
arrest of the petitioner for a minor traffic offense violated
his rights under the Fourth and Fourteenth Amendments");
Robbins v. California, 453 U.S. 420, 450 n.11 (1981)
(Stevens, J., dissenting); cf. Maryland v. Macon, 472 U.S.
463, 471 (1985)("[w]e leave to another day the question
whether the Fourth Amendment prohibits a warrantless ar-
rest for the state law misdemeanor of distribution of obscene
materials" )(opinion of the Court by O’Connor, J.); Welsh v.
Wisconsin, 466 U.S. at 749 n.11 (leaving open the question
of whether warrantless arrest in the home for a nonjailable

12

offense is ever reasonable, even if exigent circumstances
exist)(opinion of the Court by Brennan, J.). Three Terms
ago, the Court granted certiorari in Ricci v. Village of Ar-
lington Heights, 116 F.3d 288, to consider the question of
whether petitioner's arrest for violation of a fine-only
municipal ordinance by operating a telemarketing business
without a license was an unreasonable seizure, but subse-
quently dismissed certiorari as improvidently granted, 523
U.S. 613 (1998)(No. 97-501).°

The en banc majority below took as dispositive of the
certiorari question in this case, and in Ricci, dicta from the
Court’s decision in Whren v. United States, 517 U.S. at 817,
commenting that if an arrest is based on probable cause,
"with rare exceptions . . . the result of that balancing is not
in doubt." See 195 F.3d at 243. While it is understandable
that lower federal and state courts have been reluctant to
venture into territory not previously charted by this Court,
the dicta in Whren cannot be read as obviating the need to
balance the state and individual interests in this case. First,
what Whren found to be constitutionally reasonable was
only a stop based on probable cause that a traffic offense
was being committed, not an arrest. Whren was not placed
under arrest until the officers observed illegal drugs in plain

° The Court has left this question open for so long that some observers
have assumed that the Court’s inaction is an implicit rejection of the
argument that the Fourth Amendment imposes limitations on the arrest
power beyond probable cause. See, e.g., Wayne R. LaFave, SEARCH
AND SEIZURE §5.1(c) at 23 (3d ed. 1996); Higbee v. City of San Diego,
911 F.2d 377, 379 n.2 (9th Cir. 1990). Even if they do not simply
assume the Fourth Amendment to be so limited, some state and lower
federal courts have announced that they prefer to await the Supreme
Court’s lead rather than engaging in independent analysis of what
common law requirements the Fourth Amendment incorporates with re-
spect to arrest. See, eg. Fisher, 690 F.3d at 1139 n.6; City of
Milwaukee v. Nelson, 439 N.W.2d 562, 570 (Wis. 1989).

13

view during the traffic stop. 517 U.S. at 809. Second, al-
though the Court remarked that the balancing analysis has
been reserved for "extraordinary" or "extreme intrusions, id.
at 818, the Court went on to list cases in which various lim-
itations, usually gleaned from common law, were added to
what had previously been assumed by the Court to be rea-
sonable arrests.’ Overreading the Whren dicta simply begs
the question posed herein by assuming the result of a bal-
ancing not yet conducted.

The offenses for which custodial arrest was permitted at
common law -- typically serious offenses involving breach
of the peace, see infra, at pp.19-20 -- could indeed be pre-
sumed, on balance, to be reasonable occasions for custodial
arrests. The state's interest in restoring the peace after a
disruptive infraction could reasonably be viewed as presump-
tively outweighing the individual’s interest in remaining
free. Whether the state is entitled to the same presumption
where an arrest is for failing to wear a seat belt or operating
a business without a license is a question that has never
been considered by this Court. It is because the world of
regulatory offenses has proliferated in a manner the common
law could not have imagined that it has become necessary
for the courts to decide whether arrests for petty offenses
are reasonable, instead of assuming that they are simply be-
cause a legislature or city council has granted the preroga-
tive to arrest. Legislatures are not the final arbiter of what
constitutes a reasonable arrest practice. See Knowles v.
lowa, 525 U.S. 113.

” Before Payton v. New York was decided, for example, the Court de-
clared that it had never “invalidated an arrest based on probable cause
because the officers failed to secure a warrant,” see, e.g., Gerstein v

Pugh, 395 U.S. 103, 113 (1975), and that probable cause was thus the
only requirement for a valid arrest.

14

C. The Intrusiveness Of A Custodial Arrest
Outweighs The State’s Interests In Con-
ducting Such Arrests For Fine-Only
Offenses

Every arrest is a serious intrusion on individual liberty,
privacy, and dignity. Incident to any lawful arrest, as de-
scribed above, police may, with no additional showing, con-
duct a full search of the individual being arrested, including
containers on their person, United States v. Robinson, 414
U.S. at 221-22, even for minor offenses and where there is
no evidentiary purpose, Gustafson v. Florida, 414 U.S. 260
(driving without a license), and may search the passenger
compartment, including containers, of an arrestee’s vehicle,
see New York v. Belton, 453 U.S. 454 (1981).

An arrestee, like Gail Atwater, may be publicly humili-
ated by being led away by the police, in handcuffs, in front
of neighbors or strangers, and then frightened by being
transported to the station house, where he or she may be
booked and fingerprinted, and then detained without seeing
a magistrate for up to 48 hours, and possibly even longer.
See County of Riverside v. McLaughlin, 500 U.S. 44 (1991).
Petitioner Atwater was held for only one hour; others less
fortunate could be held for a substantially longer period of
time, particularly if they are unable to secure bail or post a
demanded bond.* Like Atwater, an arrestee may also have
dependent children who might be forced to share their par-
ent’s humiliating and traumatic experience, or left without
adequate care.”

* This practice would have severe and potentially unconstitutional
consequences for poor people. See Tate v. Short, 401 U.S. 395 (1971).

* There is little question in this case as to whether probable cause for the
arrest actually existed -- Atwater admitted that she and her children were
not wearing seatbelts, as the officer had personally observed. Permitting

(continued...)

15

In addition to the serious intrusion on the arrestee’s
liberty and dignity, an arrest can continue to compromise
privacy interests. Even in cases resulting in acquittal or
dismissal, arrest records may be maintained and dissemi-
nated, further damaging the individual’s reputation. See
Paul v. Davis, 424 U.S. 693 (1976); Donald L. Doernberg
& Donald H. Zeigler, "Due Process, Versus Data Proc-
essing: An Analysis of Computerized Criminal History
Information Systems," 55 N.Y.U.L.Rev. 110, 114 (1980).

No legitimate interest of the state or city, on the other
hand, was served by Atwater’s arrest that would not have
been as well served by issuance of a citation. Atwater did
not create or threaten to create a breach of the peace. She
did not refuse to identify herself or attempt to evade Officer
Turek. She did not refuse to fasten her own and her chil-
dren's seat belts when apprehended by Officer Turek; the
officer did not request that she do so because he decided so
precipitously to place her under arrest. The state’s interest
in assuring a defendant's presence for further proceedings
can be satisfied in fine-only cases by issuing a summons for
a code violation." The less serious the offense, the less
likely a defendant is to abscond. See Welsh, 466 U.S. at
759 (White, J., dissenting). In light of Atwater’s unim-
peachable roots in her community and the nature of her of-
fense, it can scarcely be argued that the state had an interest
in preventing her from absconding in order to avoid a $50

* (...continued)

custodial arrest to be authorized for a vast array of minor infractions,
however, would also allow arrests and two-day detentions even in cases
where the existence of probable cause is highly questionable.

© See ALI Model Code of Pre-Arraignment Procedures §120.2 (1975);
Barbara C. Salken, “The General Warrant of the Twentieth Century? A
Fourth Amendment Solution to Unchecked Discretion to Arrest for
Traffic Offenses,” 62 Temple L.Rev. 221, 266-69 (1989).

16

fine. There was simply no legitimate need for the arrest.

The fact that this offense was deemed by the state legis-
lature not to warrant any sentence of incarceration is an im-
portant factor affecting the balance of interests and render-
ing the arrest unreasonable. In Welsh v. Wisconsin, 466
U.S. at 750-53, the Court held that the gravity of an offense
is a factor to be weighed in determining whether sufficient
exigent circumstances exist to allow a warrantless arrest in
the home. The fact that Welsh was being arrested for a
nonjailable traffic offense, see id. at 742, was found to out-
weigh the state’s interest in promptly entering his home in
order to preserve evidence of his offense (driving while in-
toxicated). In fact, the Court left open the question of
whether the Fourth Amendment should be interpreted to
pose an absolute ban on warrantless home arrests for certain
minor offenses, id. at 749 n.11, regardless of the existence
of exigent circumstances. Rather than engage in the judicial
evaluation of the severity of offenses that the dissenters in
Welsh found objectionable, id at 756, the Court can accept
the legislature's own ranking of the severity of the offense
and include that assessment in the balance. The state has
defined the level of its own interest through its penalty de-
cision. See pp.27-29, infra.

Respondents cannot argue that the purpose of this arrest
was to attempt to deter Atwater from committing future vio-
lations by punishing her with a taste of custody, because de-
cisions about what is an appropriate punishment must be
made by a representative, politically accountable body. C7.
Harmelin v. Michigan, 501 U.S. 957, 962 (1991)(on legisla-
tive prerogative to decide punishment levels). In this case
the legislature decided not to make any form of incarcera-
tion available as a sanction for seat belt violations, see Tex.
Code §545.413(d), but then nevertheless delegated to its
peace officers the power to single out individuals to be sent
to jail rather than given a summons, id at §§543.001,

17

543.005. Judge Wiener, dissenting from the en banc deci-
sion below, remarked that Officer Turek had acted as "a
one-person cop cum judge cum jury cum executioner." 195
F.3d at 250. He could aptly have added "cum legislature."

An exigent circumstances exception to the rule that cus-
todial arrest is not generally permitted for fine-only offenses
would be more than sufficient to deal with those cases
where a state does have a legitimate reason to arrest an indi-
vidual for such an offense, perhaps because the individual is
threatening a breach of the peace, or refuses to identify
herself.'' See Thomas R. Folk, "The Case for Constitu-
tional Constraints Upon the Power to Make Full Custody
Arrests," 48 U.Cin.L.Rev. 321 (1979)(arguing that custodial
arrest for minor offenses should be confined to limited situa-
tions like these). What exigent circumstances would justify a
custodial arrest for a fine-only offense is not a question that
arises in this case, however, because there was no claim of
exigency with respect to petitioner Atwater’s arrest and no
basis for any such claim.

D. Common Law Tradition Supports Pro-
hibition Of Custodial Arrest For Fine-
Only Offenses

This Court has often said that the "Fourth Amendment
is to be construed in the light of what was deemed an unrea-
sonable search and seizure when it was adopted, and in a
manner which will conserve public interests as well as the
interests and rights of individual citizens." Carroll v. United

‘' In many cases where an individual's conduct threatens a breach of the
peace or defies an officer's authority, that individual might be subject to
arrest for a separate offense like disorderly conduct, obstruction of jus-
tice, or refusal to identify oneself, depending on the legislature's treat-
ment of those offenses.

18

States, 267 U.S. 132, 149 (1925). Wyoming v. Houghton,
526 U.S. 295, 299 (1999). This is not a case where logic
must defer to history, see United States v. Watson, 423 U.S.
411, 429 (1976)(Powell, J., concurring), for logic is sup-
ported by history.

At common law, a summons procedure rather than cus-
todial arrest was customarily used for minor offenses not
constituting a breach of the peace. See Julius Goebel, Jr. &
T. Raymond Naughton, LAW ENFORCEMENT IN COLONIAL
New York 417 (1944)(Patterson Smith Reprint Series,
1970); Salken, supra, at 258-59 and authorities cited therein.
Warrantless custodial arrest'? was authorized for "“misde-
meanors" only if they constituted a breach of the peace and
occurred in the officer’s presence. See Stephen, supra, at
193 ("The common law did not authorise the arrest of per-
sons guilty or suspected of misdemeanours, except in cases
of an actual breach of the peace either by an affray or by
violence to an individual"); 1 Joseph Chitty, A PRACTICAL
TREATISE ON THE CRIMINAL LAW 15 (1816)(Garland Pub-
lishing, Inc. 1978)("no person can, in general, be taken into
custody without warrant, for a mere misdemeanour unat-
tended with violence, as perjury or libel"); 4 William Black-
stone, COMMENTARIES *289; Matthew Hale, PLEAS OF THE
CROWN: A METHODICAL SUMMARY 92 (1678)(P. R. Glaze-
brook ed., Professional Books Ltd. 1972)("in case of any
other breach of the peace, the Constable may imprison the
party in the Stocks, in the Goal [sic], or in his House, till he
can bring him before a Justice of the Peace"); Edward C.

'2 This case does not raise the question of whether obtaining an arrest
warrant would permit an officer to conduct a custodial arrest for a fine-
only misdemeanor, or for an offense not constituting a breach of the
peace. The en banc court below, in fact, found that Atwater had proce-
durally defaulted any claim of a right to an arrest warrant. 195 F.3d at
245 n.3.

19

Fisher, LAWS OF ARREST 125 (1967); Wayne R. LaFave,
ARREST: THE DECISION TO TAKE A SUSPECT INTO CUSTODY
17 (1965); William A. Schroeder, "Warrantless Misde-
meanor Arrests and the Fourth Amendment," 58 Mo.L.Rev.
771, 774-75 (1993). Arrest for minor offenses (those triable
by a magistrate alone and not by a jury) was not sanctioned
for the purpose of apprehending suspects, but rather to
restore the peace. Stephen, supra, at 193. According to
_other sources, so great was the American colonists’
antipathy to unnecessary custodial arrests that even
magistrates were required, in cases involving only such
minor offenses, to proceed by summons rather than by
issuing an arrest warrant. Floyd Feeney, THE POLICE AND
PRETRIAL RELEASE 12 (Lexington 1982); Goebel &
Naughton, supra. As one recent history concluded, the
framers of the Fourth Amendment would have perceived
peace officers as possessing little "significant ex officio
discretionary arrest or search authority." Thomas Y. Davies,
"Recovering the Original Fourth Amendment," 98 Mich.L.
Rev. 547, 640 (1999).

The "misdemeanors" for which common law allowed
custodial arrest were generally serious offenses, including
assaults and other dangerous and disruptive acts, or public
disturbances. See Wilgus, supra, at 572-77 (listing offenses
covered); Davies, supra, at 630 & n.220. As new offenses
were created and the domain of the criminal law expanded,
some statutes eroded the common law and extended the
arrest authority to what Wilgus termed "public torts," 22
Mich.L.Rev. at 576-77, and even to traffic violations like
petitioner's. See Fisher, supra, at 128; Schroeder, supra, at
775; Sam B. Warner, "Uniform Arrest Act," 28 Va.L.Rev.
315, 331-36 (1942). It is these new regulatory and quasi-
civil offenses, mostly unknown to the common law, that are
likely to be punishable only by fine, like petitioner’s
infraction. Use of the arrest power for such offenses, even

20

if authorized by state legislatures, constitutes a dramatic
expansion of common law arrest authority.’ The framers
of the Fourth Amendment, offended by undue grants of
discretion to search and arrest for common law offenses, did
not have occasion to consider whether they would have been
equally offended by random or politically motivated arrests
for a wide variety of trivial matters, because such arrests
were not within their experience. It seems likely that they
would have found such practices as least as objectionable.

A number of contemporary statutes share at least some
of the approach of the common law, seeking to limit custo-
dial arrest for nonfelonies to instances where there is an
actual need to arrest. Some states have explicitly codified
the common law requirement that warrantless arrests may
only be conducted for misdemeanors occurring in the pres-
ence of the officer if they are breaches of the peace."
Many other states retain the common law rule permitting
warrantless arrests for misdemeanors only if they are com-
mitted within the arresting officer's presence, without ex-
plicitly mentioning the common law’s bieach of the peace

'> See Francis H. Bohlen, “Arrest With and Without a Warrant,” 75 U.
Pa.L.Rev. 485, 491 (1927)(finding “appalling” the notion that the
traditional common law power to arrest for breaches of the peace might
be expanded to municipal ordinance violations).

'* See Miss. Code Ann. §99-3-7(1) (1999); W. Va. Code §62-10-6
(2000)equivalent limitation on constables, not sheriffs). Some statutes
limit the right to arrest to “public offenses" committed within the offi-
cer’s presence, see Ala. Code §15-10-3(a)(1) (1999)("public offense” or
"breach of the peace"); Ark. Code Ann. §16-81-106(b)(2) (Michie
1999); Cal. Penal Code §836(a)(1) (West 2000); Idaho Code §19-603(1)
(1999); lowa Code Ann. §804.7(1) (West 1999); Minn. Stat. Ann.
§629.34(1)(ch1) (West 1999); Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. §171.124(1)(a)
(Michie 1999); N.D. Cent. Code §29-06-15(1)(a) (1999), Okla. Stat.
Ann. tit. 22, §196(1) (West. 1999); S.D. Codified Laws §23A-3-2(1)
(Michie 2000); Tenn. Code Ann. §40-7-103(a)(1) (1999)("public of-
fense" or “breach of the peace”); Utah Code Ain. §77-7-2(1) (1999).

21

requirement, but incorporate some of the spirit of that limi-
tation by allowing arrest for misdemeanors committed out-
side an officer's presence only for designated offenses,
usually more serious misdemeanors entailing violence or a
threat of violence.'’ See LaFave, SEARCH & SEIZURE,
supra, §5.1(b) at 13-14.

Beyond breach of the peace and presence requirements,
some state statutes prescribe generalized criteria to guide
officers in determining whether an immediate arrest is nec-

' See Alaska Stat. §12.25.030(b)((2)(A) (Michie 1999): Del. Code Ann.
tit. 11, §§1904(a)(4)-(6) (1999); Fla. Stat. Ann. §§901.15(6)-(9) (West
1999); Ga. Code Ann. §17-4-20(a) (1999); Ind. Code Ann. §§35-33-1-
1(aX(3), (5) (Michie 2000); Kan. Stat. Ann. §22-2401(cM2\C) (West
1999), Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. §431.005(1)(e),. (2)(a) (Michie 1998); Me.
Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 17-A, §15(1)(A) (West 1999): Mass. Ann. Laws ch.
276, §28 (West 1999); Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §764.15(1)(m) (West
2000); Neb. Rev. Stat. §29-404.02(3) (1999); N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§$594.10(1)(b) (1999); N.M. Stat. Ann. §31-1-7(A) (Michie 2000); N.Y.
Crim. Proc. Law §140.10(1)(b) (McKinney 2000) (misdemeanors, not
offenses); N.C. Gen. Stat. §15A-401(b)(2)(d) (2000); Ohio Rev. Code
Ann. §2935.03(B\(1) (Anderson 2000); Or. Rev. Stat. §133.310(6)(a)
(1999), Tex. Crim. P. Code. Ann. §§14.01(a)-(b), 14.03(2)-(4) (West
1998), Vt. R. Crim. P. 3(a)(2(C) (2000); Va. Code Ann. §19.2-81(7)
(Michie 2000); Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §10.31.100(1)-(2) (West. 1999),
or for dangerous traffic violations, like driving while intoxicated or
reckless driving, see Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §764.15(1)(h)-(i) (West
2000), N.J. Stat. Ann. §39:5-25 (West 2000); N.D. Cent. Code §29-06-
IS(1f) (1999); Or. Rev. Stat. §133.310(1)(d)-(g) (1999); Wash. Rev.
Code Ann. §10.31.100(3)-(4) (West 1999).

When the issue, as in many of these state statutory schemes, is
whether or not to require an arrest warrant before a custodial arrest. the
presence requirement provides a fair measure of alternative protection to
the breach of the peace requirement. When the question, as in this case,
however, is not just whether an arrest warrant is necessary, but whether
an arrest is, on balance, reasonable in the enforcement of petty regula-
tory offenses unknown to the common law, the presence requirement by
itself is inadequate to protect against overuse of the arrest power.

22

——— _— — <a

essary, thus addressing the problem of undue delegation of
discretion. Swh statutes may require a reasonable belief
that the suspect (1) will not be apprehended unless immedi-
ately arrested, (2) may cause personal injury or property
damage, (3) will destroy evidence, or (4) will persist in re-
fusing to identify himself or herself and therefore cannot be
issued a summons.'® While these statutes do impose some
control on police discretion to arrest, they nevertheless
vastly expand the authority conferred by common law, be-
cause the "offenses" or "misdemeanors" now included cover
a kaleidoscopic array of new quasi-civil matters.'’

'© See, e.g., Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, §1904(a)(2) (1999); Kan. Stat. Ann.
§22-2401(c2A)-(C) (West 1999), Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 17-A
§15(1)(ay(S)-(8) (West 1999), Mont. Code Ann. §46-6-311(1) (1999);
Neb. Rev. Stat. §29-404.02(2) (1999); N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§594.10(1)(c) (1999); N.C. Gen. Stat. §1SA-401(b)(2)(b) (2000); R.1.
Gen. Laws §12-7-3 (1999); Utah Code Ann §77-7-2(3) (1999); Vt. R.
Crim. P. 3(a)(3)-(4) (2000); Wyo. Stat. Ann. §7-2-102(b)(iii) (Michie
2000); see ALI Model Code of Pre-Arraignment Procedures §120.1
(1975). Some statutes require both particularly dangerous offenses and
risk of flight, injury, etc., see D.C. Code Ann. §23-581(a(1(C), (2)
(1996); Md. Code Ann. art. 27 §594B(e), (f) (1996).

'’ This Court has held in cases concerning inventory searches of im-
pounded automobiles that the Fourth Amendment’s concern about undue
delegation of discretion may be satisfied by requiring the states to pro-
vide criteria for the police to follow in deciding whether to conduct such
searches. See Florida v. Wells, 495 U.S. 1 (1990); Colorado v. Bertine,
479 U.S. 367, 375 (1987); South Dakota v. Opperman, 428 U.S. 364,
369, 372, 379 (1976). A similar rule concerning the power of custodial
arrest, requiring the states to create their own criteria or guidelines for
arresting officers, would partially address the problem of arbitrary and
discriminatory law enforcement. Such a rule would not be adequate,
however, to prevent state statutes from authorizing arrests that are not,
on balance, reasonable. The courts must decide what exigencies will
permit appropriate exceptions to the rule disfavoring arrests for fine-only
offenses. Legislatures, having shown themselves willing to authorize
discretionary arrests for minor matters, might well posit that exigent cir-

(continued...)

23

At least eight states’ statutory schemes appear to have
addressed this problem head-on, categorically prohibiting
custodial arrests for fine-only offenses.'* The legislatures
of about half the states, unlike Texas, du not authorize cus-
todial arrest for a fine-only seat belt offense.'®

” (..comtinued)

cumstances exist any time arrest would further the purpose of the statute
or ordinance in question, see Diaz v. City of Fitchburg, 176 F.3d 560,
563 (Ist Cir. 1999). Such circular reasoning would evade the question
of whether an arrest performed solely in order to further the purposes of
an ordinance prohibiting obstruction of a passageway, jaywalking, or
littering is reasonable.

'* See Alaska Stat. §§12.25.030(1), 11.81.900(b)(9), (b)(58) (Michie
1999): Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, §§1904(a), 233(c), 4207 (1999); Ky. Rev.
Stat. Ann. §§431.005(d), 431.060(2)-(3) (Michie 1998); Me. Rev. Stat.
Ann. tit. 17-A, §15(1)(B) (West 1999), & Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 17-A,
§4-B(3) (West 1999); Or. Rev. Stat. §§133.310(1)(b), (d), 161.515(1),
161.545 (1999); Pa. R. Crim. P. 101(2)(a), (c) (West 1999), 18 Pa.
Cons. Stat. Ann. §106(b)(8) (West 1999); R.I. Gen. Laws §§12-7-3, 11-
1-2 (1999). S.D. Codified Laws §§23A-3-2(1), 22-6-7 (Michie 2000).
In many states, it is impossible to determine from published state stat-
utes whether custodial arrest is permitted for fine-only offenses.

See Alaska Stat. §§12.25.030(a)(1), 11.81.900(b)(9), 28.05.095,
28.05.99 (1999): Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, §1904(a)(1), 233(c) (1999),
Del. Code Ann. tit. 21, §4802(g)(1) (1999); Fla. Stat. Ann. §§901.15(1),
775.08(2)-(3), 316.614(5), (8), 318.13(3), 318.14(1) (West 1999): see
also Thomas v. Florida, 614 So.2d at 471; Ga. Code Ann. §§17-4-20(a),
40-8-76.1(b), (e)(1) (1999); 725 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann. 5/107-2, 625 Ill.
Comp. Stat. Ann, 5/12-603(d), 725 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann. 5/102-15 (West
2000); Ind. Code Ann. §§35-33-1-1(a)(4), 33-1-12-1, 9-19-10-2 (West
2000); Ky Rev. Stat. Ann. §§431.005(1)(d), 431.060(3), 189.125(6)
(Michie 1998); La. Code Crim. Proc. Ann. art. 213 (1), art. 933(1), (4)
(West 1999), La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §14.2(6), 14.7, 32:295.1(A)(1) (West
1999), Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 17-A, §15(1)(A)(2), §4-B(1)-(3) (West
1999), Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 29-A §2081 (3-A), (D), §101(85) (West
1999); Md. Ann. Code art. 27, §594B(a) (1999), Md. Code Ann.,
Transp. §§22-412.3(b), 27-101(a)(2), 27-106(b) (1999); Mass. Gen.

(continued...)

24

The legislative attempts to circumscribe the arrest power
with respect to minor offenses, although not consistently as

'® (continued)

Laws Ann. ch. 276, §28, Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 90, §13A (West
1999); Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §§764.15(1)(a), 257.710e(3), (7),
257.6a, 257.907(2) (West 1999); Mont. Code Ann. §§46-6-311(1), 46-1-
202(14), 45-2-101(48), 61-13-103(1), 61-13-104(1) (1999); Neb. Rev.
Stat. Ann. §29-404.02(2) (1999), Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. §60-6,270(1)
(1999), Neb. Rev. Stat. §60-60,272 (1999); N.C. Gen. Stat. §§15A-
401(b)(1)-(2)(b), 20-135.2A(e), 14-3.1(a) (2000); Or. Rev. Stat.
§§133.310(1)(a)-(d), 161.515, 161.545, 811.210(1)(a), (2b), (3) (1999),
Pa. R. Crim. P. 101(2)(a), 18 Pa. Stat. Ann. §106(b)(1)-(9) (a
misdemeanor must carry the possibility of a minimum term of
imprisonment to constitute arrestable offense), 75 Pa. Stat. Ann.
§§4581(2), (3)(b) (2000); R.I. Gen. Laws §§12-7-3, 1 1-1-2, 31-22-22(g),
(j) (1999); S.C. Code Ann. §§56-5-6520, 56-5-6540 (Law. Co-Op.
1999\("no custodial arrest for a violation of [the seat belt laws] may be
made"); S.D. Codified Laws §§23A-3-2(1), 32-38-1, 32-38-5 (Michie
2000); Tenn. Code Ann. §55-9-603 (1999)("a law enforcement officer
observing a violation [of the seat belt laws] shall issue a citation to the
violator, but shall not arrest or take into custody any person solely for a
violation of [the seat belt laws]"); Utah Code Ann. §§77-7-2(1), 76-1-
601(6), 41-6-182(2), 41-6-185(1) (1999); Va. Code Ann. §§19.2-81(7),
46.2-1094(A), (G), 46.2-113, 18.2-8 (Michie 2000); Wash. Rev. Code
Ann. §§10.21.100, 9A.04.040(1), 46.61.688(3), (5), 46.63.110(1) (1999).
According to one source, although seat belts were required in 49 states,
36 states prohibited their officers from stopping drivers for a seat belt
violation, allowing enforcement of seat belt laws only if motorists were
stopped on suspicion of some more serious offense. See Timothy
O'Neill, No Stops for Seat Belts, Chi. Trib., Mar. 28, 1999, at 20.

While a number of states do seem to permit custodial arrests for a
violation of a fine-only seat belt law, it is difficult to provide an exact
count, as the statutes of other states (Hawaii, Nevada, New York, North
Dakota and Vermont) are unclear. Texas is unusually explicit in pro-
viding officers with blanket authority to arrest an individual for any
traffic infraction in its code. See Tex. Transp. Code Ann. §543.001
(West 1999)("any peace officer may arrest without warrant a person
found committing a violation of this subtitle [Rules of the Road").

25

vigilant as the common law, bolster the conclusion that it is
not reasonable within the meaning of the Fourth Amend-
ment for a state to give vast and unchecked power to the
police to arrest for minor regulatory offenses. However, the
more permissive statutes, like those in Texas, which radical-
ly expand common law authority, demonstrate that the
courts cannot optimistically defer to all legislative judgments
about when arrest is reasonable.

Requiring the police, in the absence of exigent circum-
stances, to issue citations for minor, regulatory offenses
rather than allowing them the power to arrest and search
every traffic offender, jaywalker, or litterer, would obviate
unreasonable arrests and would prevent widespread and in-
evitable problems of arbitrary and discriminatory enforce-
ment from developing. Wayne R. LaFave, "*Case-by-Case
Adjudication’ Versus ‘Standardized Procedures’: The Rob-
inson Dilemma," 1974 Sup.Ct.Rev. 127, 158, 162 (the most
straightforward and most efficient control "in an area with a
high potential for abuse" is to limit the circumstances under
which an arrest is permissible).

E. Prohibiting Arrest For Fine-Only Of-
fenses Is Consistent With General Prin-
ciples Of Constitutional Interpretation

The courts could satisfy their responsibility to ensure
that there are meaningful limits on police discretion to arrest
by simply ruling that custodial arrest for minor offenses is
allowed whenever the individual arrest is reasonable in light
of all the facts -- a case-by-case approach that would weigh
the nature of the intrusion (including such facts as how
many hours the suspect was actually held, whether hand-
cuffs or shackles were used, whether the suspect was given
food, etc.), against the state’s interests, including an
evaluation of the seriousness of the offense. Atwater’s ar-
rest, as described above, would have to be deemed unrea-

26

sonable under such an approach. On the other hand, ruling

that it is generally unreasonable to arrest for a fine-only
offense would provide a clear and consistent rule, would al-
low the courts to avoid the unnecessary burden of evaluating
each misdemeanor arrest individually (unless there were a
claim of actual exigency), and would honor the state’s own
assessment of the severity of the offense.

A state’s decision about how an offense is to be pun-
ished is the "best indication of the state’s interest in precipi-
tating an arrest, and is one that can be easily identified.”
Welsh v. Wisconsin, 466 U.S. at 754. See generally LaFave,
"Case-by-Case Adjudication," supra. Using the legislature's
own decision about the range of permissible punishment as
the basis for circumscribing the arrest power respects the
legislature’s authority in an appropriate manner. In inter-
preting other provisions of the Bill of Rights, the Court has
declined to create its own taxonomy of the seriousness of
offenses, relying instead on legislative decisions that an of-
fense should be punished only by a fine as dispositive of
whether certain constitutional protections attach during the
prosecution of that offense. The Court has held, for exam-
ple, that an individual has a right to counsel under the Sixth
and Fourteenth Amendments only in connection with of-
fenses that subject that individual to incarceration, see
Argersinger v. Hamlin, 407 U.S. 25; Scott v. Illinois, 440
U.S. 367 (1979). The individual does not gain a right to
counsel even if subjected to enormous fines, or other serious
consequences not involving incarceration. See Argersinger,
407 U.S. at 44 (Powell, J., concurring). Similarly, the right
to a jury trial under the Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments
is contingent on the legislature's determination of the level
of punishment appropriate upon conviction of an offense,
Baldwin v. New York, 399 U.S. 66 (defendant has the right
to a trial by jury if the offense to be tried is punishable by
at least six months incarceration), not on what offenses the
courts consider to be "serious," and not on whether the legis-

27

lature describes its offenses as "felonies" or "misdemeanors."

The Court adopted this approach recognizing that it
would be difficult to predicate the existence of constitutional
rights on whether particular offenses are labeled as "felo-
nies" or "misdemeanors," because definitions of these terms
vary greatly among the states. Welsh v. Wisconsin, 466
U.S. at 761 (White, J., dissenting). Likewise, what is a
"misdemeanor" in one state is a "petty offense" or "viola-
tion" in another. What is a "crime" in one state is a civil
matter in others.”” In the context of evaluating the reason-
ableness of arrests, as elsewhere, it would not be feasible to
adopt a constitutional rule based on legislative labeling of
the category, status, or nature of an offense. The level of
punishment attached to an offense is the only consistent,
easily ascertained indicator of the weight of the state’s
interest.

The fine-only distinction also serves the important func-
tion of preventing unauthorized and disproportionate punish-
ment for an offense. Once a legislature has decided not to
allow any possibility of incarceration upon conviction of an
offense, it should be impermissible for an individual who is
only suspected of committing that offense to be locked up,
even for 48 hours or less, at least in the absence of truly
exigent circumstances. As Judge Easterbrook has remarked,
"[m]ost reports of misdemeanors will not produce a sentence
of custody . . . so a custodial arrest becomes a substantial
part of the punishment." Gramenos v. Jewel Companies,
Inc., 797 F.2d 432, 441 (7th Cir. 1986). See Malcolm M.

*® This Court has previously held in several contexts that a state legisla-
ture’s own description of its statutes as being "criminal" or "civil" is not
dispositive, see Austin v. United States, 509 U.S. 602 (1993); Kennedy v.
Mendoza-Martinez, 372 U.S. 144 (1963), so attempting to define arrest
authority on the basis of whether a state denominates an offense as
"criminal" would also be unavailing.

28

Feeley, THE Process Is THE PUNISHMENT 46-47 (1979).
Decisions about the appropriate punishments for offenses
must be made by legislators who, unlike individual police
officers, are politically accountable.

Respecting legislative judgments about the seriousness
of an offense does not, of course, entitle the states to evade
the Fourth Amendment requirement of reasonableness by the
simple expedient of amending every ordinance in their
arsenal to include a possibility of jail time, no matter how
theoretical. If legislatures authorize incarceration and there-
fore arrest for truly trivial matiers, the Court might then
have to consider whether to interpret the Fourth Amendment
as also incorporating the common law rule that arrests for
minor offenses are impermissible in the absence of a breach
of the peace, see pp.19-20, supra, or some other constraint
on police discretion. While legislatures’ evaluations of their
own goals in criminal law enforcement are properly con-
sulted in locating the baseline for what is reasonable, the
Fourth Amendment, like its counterparts in the Bill of
Rights, must sometimes be countermajoritarian.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the judgment of the
court of appeals should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

Susan N. Herman

(Counsel of Record)
250 Joralemon Street
Brooklyn, New York 11201
(718) 780-7945

Steven R. Shapiro

American Civil Liberties Union
Foundation

125 Broad Street

New York, New York 10004

(212) 549-2500

William C. Harrell
ACLU of Texas

P.O. Box 3629
Austin, Texas 78764
(512) 441-0077

Joseph P. Berra

Mexican Legal Defense and
Educational Fund

140 East Houston Street, Suite 300

San Antonio, Texas 78205

(210) 224-5476

Dated: September 11, 2000

30

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0356%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
