# Amicus Curiae Brief — Cook v. Gralike

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0349%3A15

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2001
- **Citation:** 531 U.S. 510

## Text

up

|
|

~—-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

REBECCA MCDOWELL COOK,
Petitioner.
Vv.

DONALD J. GRALIKE AND MIKE HARMAN,
Respondents

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE LEAGUE OF WOMEN
VOTERS OF THE UNITED STATES AND
LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS OF MISSOURI
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

LOUIS R. COHEN

Counsel of Record
JONATHAN J. FRANKEL
ANNE HARKAVY
WILMER, CUTLER & PICKERING
2445 M Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20037
(202) 663-6000

Counsel for Amici Curiae
League of Women Voters of the United States and
League of Women Voters of Missouri

Fituk

AUG 11 2000
we

No. 99-929 \ OFFICE Ob SHR

ie BEST AVAILABLE COPY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ..................cccccccccssssessereeceeseess lil
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE ..................0ccccccceeeeeeeeeeeees l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT 0.000.000... o.oo ooccccceecccccceeeeeees 2
GIT scaineviviststeninsitenneiessnmieaimiadaaiaaaia laa 4

1. THE MISSOURI PROVISION IS AN
UNCONSTITUTIONAL USE OF STATE
POWER TO AFFECT THE OUTCOMES
OF ELECTIONS TO CONGRESS. ..................... 4

A. A State’s Authority To Prescribe the
“Times, Places and Manner” of Fed-
eral Elections May Not Be Used To
Favor Some Candidates or Policy Po-
GEREIIID GOVE TIT, sev ccevscccccecorccncesesessessencess 5

B. The Missouri Provision Is an Attempt
To Use the State-Controlled Mechan-
ics of Federal Elections in a Nonneu-
tral Manner To Bring About the Elec-
tion of Members of Congress Who Fa-
vor a Specific State Policy. ................00..00... 9

Il. HISTORY DOES NOT SUPPORT THE
CONSTITUTIONALITY OF THE MIS-
SOURI PROVISION. .0000..0........cccccccceceeteeeeteees 16

A. Petitioner’s and Her Amici’s Historical
Examples Do Not Speak to the Consti-
tutionality of the Missouri Provision
Because None Involved Placing a
Message Setting Forth State Policy on
a Federal Election Ballot. ..................0.0...0.... 16

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page
B. Petitioner and Her Amici Ignore the
Consistent Opposition to Instructing
Representatives and Misconstrue the
Framers’ Rejection of a Constitutional
A 22
a sensoasetsinaseeovececonn 30

iil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES
Page
Advisory Opinion to the Attorney General re Term

Limits Pledge, 718 So. 2d 798 (Fla. 1998) ................. 11
AFL-CIO v. March Fong Eu, 686 P.2d 609 (Cal.

EE RS ER SER ora son eon he ee 17
Anderson v. Celebrezze, 460 U.S. 780 (1983) ............... 8, 10
Anderson v. Martin, 375 U.S. 399 (1964) 0000000000000... 9,14
Barker v. Hazeltine, 3 F. Supp. 2d 1088 (D.S.D.

a lc 11
Burdick v. Takushi, 504 U.S. 428 (1992) .00...0....00004.. 7, 10
Burson v. Freeman, 504 U.S. 191 (1992) 2.000.000.0000... 7,14
California Democratic Party v. Jones, 120 §. Ct.

TT sieiiadanahielinichideannnideeaaatnamnai eel 5,7
City of Eastlake v. Forest City Enterprises, 426 U.S.

I sicnaceniieaiitsicasialiciti itd iiae inltieasiaidanieeeainiad 5, 15
Clements v. Fashing, 457 U.S. 957 (1982) ..............00.00. 8
Donovan v. Priest, 931 S.\W.2d 119 (Ark. 1996) ............... 10
FERC v. Mississippi, 456 U.S. 742 (1982) 0.0........60000 19
eg BB Er 6
Georges v. Carney, 691 F.2d 297 (7th Cir. 1982) .............. 14
Gralike v. Cook, 191 F.3d 911 (8th Cir. 1999) 2000. 11
‘Graves v. McElderry, 946 F. Supp. 1569 (W.D.

SA TTT ttt isicritre ieeesa ade daeeaimiadinenaiiidiaianesinbantians 14
Hunter v. Erickson, 393 U.S. 385 (1969) .......00.00000....... 5,15
In re Opinion of the Justices, 148 So. 107 (Ala.

I iach daiinha tambien alan 20
League of Women Voters v. Gwadosky, 966 F. Supp.

I realli alii 2, 11
Lucas v. Colorado General Assembly, 377 U.S. 713

EE ene eae een ne 5, 15
Miller v. Moore, 169 F.3d 1119 (8th Cir. 1999) 0000000000... 11
Powell v. McCormack, 395 U.S. 486 (1969) 0.000.000.0000... 8
Rosen v. Brown, 970 F.2d 169 (6th Cir. 1992) .00000000000000... 14
Smiley v. Holm, 285 U.S. 355 (1932) .............ccccccccceeceeeeeees 6

IV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
State ex rel. Harper v. Waltermire, 691 P.2d 826
I STII cclesticiisiisiidtenailites ieee gieiebalatacenanaia at 17
State ex rel. McCue v. Blaisdell, 118 N.W. 141
Re EE ae ee 21
Tashjian v. Republican Party, 479 U.S. 208 (1986) ...... 8,15
Thorsted v. Gregoire, 841 F. Supp. 1068 (W.D.
Wash. 1994), aff'd, 75 F.3d 454 (9th Cir. 1996) .......... 2
Timmons v. Twin Cities Area New Party, 520 U.S.
ED ceniciiisndsinniiahiiaderttaiiadsliah tibia haart etal 14
U.S. Term Limits, Inc. v. Thornton, 514 U.S. 779
SITET secinigemnesietanenntiatabtatininnniinndseiediinnatieatbaiiatittitasias passim
Ward v. Rock Against Racism, 49\ U.S. 781 (1989) ........... 6
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
ee RE Be. © eset 1,2, 4,5
STATUTORY PROVISIONS
Idaho Session Law, House Bill No. 16, § 41 (1909) .......... 21
Mo. Const. art. VIII, §§ 15-22 22000000... occccccceceeeee, 2, 10, 12
SN is Ss SO enna als 14
MI SII pica iicinitesccintctetciiaatesiciliianeiliediiass 21

BOOKS, ARTICLES, AND TREATISES

Akhil Reed Amar, Philadelphia Revisited: Amend-

ing the Constitution Outside Article V, 55 U.

Chi. L. Rev. 1043 (1988) .200.o... eee 24, 26, 28
Vikram David Amar, The People Made Me Do It:

Can the People of the States Instruct and Co-

erce Their State Legislatures in the Article V

Constitutional Amendment Process?, 41 Wm &

ris SI CN ial 26
Richard B. Bernstein with Jerome Agel, Amending

America: If We Love the Constitution So Much,

Why Do We Keep Trying to Change It? (1993) .......... 28

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
Page
The Complete Bill of Rights: The Drafts, Debates,
Sources, and Origins (Neil H. Cogan ed., 1997)... 22, 27
Thomas E. Cronin, Direct Democracy: The Politics

of Initiative, Referendum, and Recall (1989) .............. 26
Debates on the Federal Constitution (Jonathan E|I-

liot ed., 2d ed., 1836) (1941) 00.0.0... 8, 19
George H. Haynes, The Senate of the United States:

Its History and Practice (1938) ..................... 20. 21, 29

David Hess, Gingrich Pledges To Fight Term Limits

of Less Than 12 Years, Phila. Inquirer, Jan. 12,

EER EASE ara eee ee 12
Robert Luce, Legislative Principles: The History

and Theory of Lawmaking by Representative

RR Ne 23, 26, 29, 30
Matthew Vita, Political Appeal of Term Limits Ap-

pears to Wane, Wash. Post, July 17, 2000, at

| UAERERBEERER RUS eer Ane Oe OI ao 12
Noah Webster, Government. The Practice of In-

structing Representatives Absurd and Contrary

to the True Principles of Liberty, | American

Magazine 206 (1787-88) 200.0... cocccccccteeeteeeees 24, 25
Gordon S. Wood, The Creation of the American Re-

public 1776-1787 (1969) 20.0.....eccccecceeeee 18, 22, 24, 25

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Annals of Congress (Joseph E. Gale ed., 1789) .......... passim
I ia tnimennsmbnlillt 30
Articles of Confederation, art. Vo .................0...ccccccceeceees 19
Ca aerate’ 23
ET Nene ene 23
Official Manual, State of Missouri 1997-1998 (Jim

ETT eae aR SES 11

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE

Amici respectfully submit this brief to make two points.
First, the power of the States to prescribe the “Times, Places
and Manner of holding Elections for Senators and Represen-
tatives,” U.S. Const. art. I, § 4, cl. 1, does not include the
power to disfavor a particular candidate for federal office by
placing a notation on the ballot criticizing the candidate for
failure to endorse or obey the State’s substantive views on a
federal issue. Second, the history of constituent instructions
in this country provides no support for the constitutionality of
such substantive intrusion by States into federal elections.

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE'

The League of Women Voters of the United States is a
nonpartisan, community-based political organization that en-
courages the informed and active participation of citizens in
government and influences public policy through education
and advocacy. The League is organized in more than one
thousand communities and in every state, with more than
125,000 members and supporters nationwide. One of its in-
dependent state Leagues is amicus curiae League of Women
Voters of Missouri. The League of Women Voters of the
United States and the League of Women Voters of Missouri
(jointly, the “League”) were organized in 1919 as an out-
growth of the 72-year struggle to win voting rights for
women in the United States.

One of the League’s primary goals is to promote an open
governmental system that is representative, accountable, and
responsive; that protects individual liberties established by
the Constitution; and that assures opportunities for citizen
participation in government decisionmaking. To further this
goal, the League has participated as a party or amicus in this

' This brief was authored in its entirety by undersigned counsel for
amici curiae. No person or entity, other than the named amici curiae and
their counsel and members, made any monetary contribution to the prepa-
ration or submission of this brief. Letters consenting to the filing of this
brief are on file with the Clerk of this Court.

2

Court and other courts, addressing campaign finance, term
limits, and other issues relating to the electoral process.

The League has a strong interest in this case. The
League opposes term limits because they violate the most
fundamental of all rights in a democracy — the right of citi-
zens to vote for the governmental representatives of their
choice. The Missouri constitutional provision at issue here,
however, not only infringes on this right, but also is at war
with the core values that the League has protected and pro-
moted for the last eighty years. If upheld, the law would cor-
rupt the electoral process itself. It would allow the State to
use its power under the Elections Clause to manipulate the
machinery of congressional elections to inject its own views
on substantive federal issues into the electoral process at the

most critical moment and in the most crucial space — on the
ballot.

Amici submit this brief to explain the threat that Mis-
souri’s unconstitutional action presents to the integrity of the
federal electoral process.’

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Constitution assigns responsibility for conducting
the elections of United States Senators and Representatives to
the States, and it directs them to prescribe the “Times, Places
and Manner” of these elections through neutral, even-handed
regulations. U.S. Const. art. I, § 4, cl. 1. Invoking this au-
thority, the State of Missouri has adopted a ballot-branding
mechanism, Mo. Const. art. VIII, §§ 15-22 (hereinafter,
“Missouri Provision” or “Provision”), that is anything but
neutral. Under the Missouri Provision, a partisan official of

2 One of the state Leagues has successfully challenged a nearly iden-
tical law in another state. See League of Women Voters v. Gwadosky, 966
F. Supp. 52 (D. Me. 1997). Moreover, the Arkansas League was a win-
ning party in the leading term limits case, U.S. Term Limits, Inc. v.
Thornton, 514 U.S. 779 (1995); the League of Women Voters of Wash-
ington was a victorious party in Thorsted v. Gregoire, 841 F. Supp. 1068
(W.D. Wash. 1994), aff'd, 75 F.3d 454 (9th Cir. 1996), one of the prede-
cessors to Thornton, and the LWVUS filed an amicus brief in Thornton.

3

the State audits candidates for United States Congress for
their obedience (or pledged obedience) to the State’s official
policy on federal term limits, then labels candidates who
have not supported the State’s policy on the ballot as having
“DISREGARDED VOTERS’ INSTRUCTIONS ON TERM
LIMITS” or “DECLINED TO PLEDGE TO SUPPORT
TERM LIMITS.” /d. §§ 17, 18. Although these ballot labels
are framed as if they are conveying the current sentiments of
the electorate, the Missouri Provision in fact tests candidates
against a particular term limits policy enshrined in state law
back in 1996, and it makes no effort to ascertain or accurately
reflect the current wishes of a federal candidate’s constitu-
ents. Candidates are given no opportunity on the ballot to
respond to or explain these highly misleading labels; indeed,
under Missouri law, they are not even permitted within
twenty-five feet of the polling place.

The Constitution does not permit the State of Missouri to
abandon its impartiality and participate in congressional elec-
tions as an interested advocate. A State’s delegated authority
to regulate the “Times, Places and Manner” of such elections
— a phrase that has always referred to substantively neutral
procedural regulations — does not include the power to ma-
nipulate the electoral mechanism so as to encourage the na-
tional government representatives elected from that State to
embrace the State’s view of proper federal policy. Mis-
souri’s suggestion that the Provision is merely a voter educa-
tion mechanism is belied by the fact that the Provision does
not even attempt to convey an accurate message about the
candidates’ adherence to the current sentiments of their con-
stituents, let alone do so in fact.

Petitioner and her amici argue that the Missouri Provi-
sion is constitutional because it is merely a modern-day ver-
sion of the historical practice of constituent instructions to
legislators. This argument fails both because the Missouri
Provision differs in significant respects from the historical
examples Petitioner and her amici cite, and because the his-
tory of instructions shows that the practice has always been

4

sharply criticized, including, for example, by the Framers,
who rejected placing a right to instruct in the First Amend-
ment. Because none of the historical examples involved fed-
eral elections, they have no bearing on the meaning of the
Elections Clause. In addition, most of the historical exam-
ples relied solely on the informal expectation that officehold-
ers would follow constituent sentiment; the Missouri Provi-
sion, by contrast, involves direct state intrusion into the rela-
tionship the Constitution creates and protects between federal
representatives and their constituents.

ARGUMENT

I. THE MISSOURI PROVISION IS AN UNCONSTI-
TUTIONAL USE OF STATE POWER TO AFFECT
THE OUTCOMES OF ELECTIONS TO CON-
GRESS.

The Constitution’s Elections Clause assigns the States
the responsibility of establishing the “Times, Places and
Manner of holding Elections for Senators and Representa-
tives.” U.S. Const. art. I, § 4, cl. 1. The State of Missouri
claims no other constitutional source of power to impose bal-
lot labels on candidates for Congress, (Pet. Br. 28, 38), and
there can be no other. But the Elections Clause grants the
power to establish neutral procedural regulations for federal
elections, not the power to audit the candidates and place
substantive (and, in this instance, highly misleading) com-
ments on the ballot about their adherence to official state
policies on matters of federal law.

Under the Missouri Provision, the State ceases to be a
neutral referee of federal elections and becomes an advocate
for those candidates who favor the State’s official view of
proper federal policy in a particular area (in this instance,
constitutional limits on terms of service in Congress). A par-
tisan state official audits candidates’ public statements and
voting records, then places on the ballot itself an expression
of the State’s disagreement with any candidate who has not
supported the position adopted by the State in 1996 on that

5

issue. While the ballot labels Missouri imposes suggest that
the branded candidates are ignoring the wishes of the “VOT-
ERS,” the Missouri Provision has little or nothing to do with
the actual current sentiments of a candidate’s constituents.
Missouri is testing candidates against a State policy estab-
lished in 1996 and branding those who have not supported
the State’s position. The Constitution does not permit the
States to police candidates for the United States Congress in
this fashion.’

A. A State’s Authority To Prescribe the “Times,
Places and Manner” of Federal Elections May
ixut Be Used To Favor Some Candidates or Pol-
icy Positions Over Others.

The Elections Clause, U.S. Const. art. I, § 4, cl. 1, directs
state legislatures to adopt “Regulations” prescribing the
“Times, Places and Manner” of elections to Congress. This
power is subject (with an irrelevant exception) to the power
of Congress to “make or alter such Regulations.” Jd. This
Court has made clear that the only powers States have with
respect to elections of Members of Congress are those dele-
gated by this Clause, see U.S. Term Limits, Inc. v. Thornton,

3

The Missouri Provision was adopted by popular referendum rather
than by the State Legislature. This makes no constitutional difference:
the issue is whether a State can establish — by whatever method of pass-
ing legislation — an official viewpoint with respect to some federal issue,
then use the electoral mechanism to brand candidates for Congress who
do not support and obey the State’s favored position. On this point, an
action taken by referendum is no more valid than the same action if taken
by the State Legislature. See City of Eastlake v. Forest City Enters., 426
U.S. 668, 676 (1976); Hunter v. Erickson, 393 U.S. 385, 392 (1969); Lu-
cas v. Colorado Gen. Assembly, 377 U.S. 713, 736-37 (1964).

Action by referendum does, however, pose a technical problem in
this instance. The Elections Clause says regulations may be adopted by
“each State by the Legislature thereof.” U.S. Const. art. I, § 4, cl. 1 (em-
phasis added). It is unclear whether States may adopt regulations govern-
ing federal elections by means other than actions of their legislatures. See
California Democratic Party v. Jones, 120 S. Ct. 2402, 2422-23 (2000)
(Stevens, J., dissenting).

6

514 U.S. 779, 804-05 (1995), and Missouri claims no other
constitutional source of power here.‘

This Court has made clear that the States’ power under
the Elections Clause is to prescribe neutral regulations gov-
erning the “mechanics” of federal elections. Foster v. Love,
522 U.S. 67, 69 (1997). The Clause is not a license to the
States to use the mechanics of federal elections to promote or
oppose federal policies favored or disfavored by the State.

First, the very terms “Times, Places and Manner” sug-
gest that the Framers expected the States to carry out elec-
tions to federal office as impartial rule makers and neutral
referees, not as partisans with their own interest in the out-
come. The Court has itself always used those words to refer
to substantive neutrality; indeed, it borrowed the phrase to
describe content-neutral regulation of speech.* As the Court
has said, “the Framers understood the Elections Clause as a
grant of authority to issue procedural regulations, and not as
a source of power to dictate electoral outcomes [or] to favor
or disfavor a class of candidates.” Thornton, 514 U.S. at
833-34. See also Smiley v. Holm, 285 U.S. 355, 366 (1932)
(Elections Clause grants States authority “to enact the nu-
merous requirements as to procedure and safeguards which
experience shows are necessary in order to enforce the fun-
damental [voting] right involved.”).

In addition, the role given to Congress under the Elec-
tions Clause strongly reinforces the conclusion that “Times,
Places and Manner” regulations must be substantively neu-

4

The State’s claimed power could not be “reserved” to the States by
the Tenth Amendment: the power to regulate elections to Congress did
not exist until the Federal Government was created by the Constitution.
The Constitution delegated regulatory power over congressional elections
to the States, subject to the power of Congress to “make or alter” state
regulations. See Thornton, 514 U.S. at 804.

> See, e.g., Ward v. Rock Against Racism, 491 U.S. 781, 791 (1989)
(describing “time, place, or manner” regulation of expressive activity as
“justified without reference to the content of the regulated speech”) (in-
ternal quotation marks and citation omitted).

7

tral. The words “Times, Places and Manner” must mean the
same thing as to both Congress and the States. If Congress
could use its power to “make . . . such Regulations” to inject
substantive matters into the election machinery, then instead
of following the policies that voters want on term limits (or
gun control, or farm subsidies, or any other issue), Congress
could manipulate congressional elections to produce future
representatives who favor a given position on these issues; by
analogy to what Missouri has done here, it could simply
adopt a “Regulation” branding the candidates opposed to that
position on the ballot. Even if it were possible to imagine the
Framers giving the States the power to inject their substan-
tive positions into congressional elections, it is inconceivable
that they meant to allow Congress itself to do so. See Thorn-
ton, 514 U.S. at 832 (finding it “unfathomable” that the
Framers would have permitted Congress to set its own quali-
fications, as that “would inevitably lead to congressional self-
aggrandizement”); California Democratic Party, 120 S. Ct.
at 2416 (Kennedy, J., concurring) (“In a free society the State
is directed by political doctrine, not the other way around.”).

More generally, in principle, the obligation to conduct an
election in a democracy inherently includes the obligation to
conduct it impartially. The Court has made clear in numer-
ous contexts — state and federal races, general elections and
primaries — that all State regulation of the electoral process
must be “nondiscriminatory,” “generally applicable,” and
“evenhanded,” Anderson v. Celebrezze, 460 U.S. 780, 788 &
n.9 (1983), as well as “politically neutral.” Burdick v. Taku-
shi, 504 U.S. 428, 438 (1992). The State’s role in an election
is to “protect the integrity and reliability of the electoral
process,” not to skew it, and to “protect{] voters from . . . un-
due influence,” not to persuade them. Burson v. Freeman,
504 U.S. 191, 199 (1992) (plurality opinion). The State may
not jigger the electoral process to “producfe] elected officials
who,” in its view, “better represent the electorate” or “stand
closer to the median policy positions of their districts,” see
California Democratic Party v. Jones, 120 §. Ct. at 2412,

8

and it seems equally clear that the State cannot jigger the
process to produce officials who better represent the State’s
own views. See Tashjian v. Republican Party, 479 U.S. 208,
220 (1986) (invalidating closed primary statute designed to
“ensur[e] that voters are not misled by a ‘Republican’ candi-
date who professes something other than what the State re-
gards as true Republican principles”). “[I]t is especially dif-
ficult for the State to justify a restriction that limits political
participation by an identifiable political group whose mem-
bers share a certain viewpoint,” or that “unfairly or unneces-
sarily burdens ‘the availability of political opportunity’” for
proponents of the singled-out position. Anderson v. Cele-
brezze, 460 U.S. at 793 (citations omitted). See also
Clements v. Fashing, 457 U.S. 957, 965 (1982) (plurality
opinion) (upholding resign-to-run rules that “in no way de-
pend upon political affiliation or political viewpoint”); id. at
973 (Stevens, J., concurring) (regulations must be “even-
handed”; upholding rule where “there is no suggestion . . .
that the State’s classification . . . operates to promote a cer-
tain viewpoint at the expense of another”).°

Finally, the State’s obligation of strict neutrality in elec-
tions to Congress reflects the “fundamental principle” that
“‘the people should choose whom they please to govern
them’” in the Congress of the United States. Powell v.
McCormack, 395 U.S. 486, 547 (1969) (quoting 2 Debates
on the Federal Constitution 257 (Jonathan Elliot ed., 2d ed.,
1836 (1941) (hereinafter “Elliot’s Debates”) (Alexander
Hamilton)). “The people are the best judges of who ought to
represent them” in the national government, and “‘to tell
them whom they shall not elect, is to abridge their natural
rights.” Jd. at 541 (quoting 2 Elliot’s Debates 292-93

® The dissenters in Thornton, although they argued that States may
prescribe additional qualifications for Members of Congress, clearly re-
jected any idea “that States have unbridled power to handicap particular
classes of candidates” and agreed that any new qualifications added
would be subject to scrutiny under the First and Fourteenth Amendments.
Thornton, 514 U.S. at 925 (Thomas, J., dissenting); see also id. at 870.

9

(Robert Livingston)). The Court has recently affirmed “that
the right to choose representatives belongs not to the States,
but to the peuple,” Thornton, 514 U.S. at 820-21, and state
efforts to disfavor candidates for Congress who disagree
with, or fail to obey, state policy would threaten to “sever the
direct link that the Framers found so critical between the Na-
tional Government and the people of the United States.” /d.
at 822. See also id. at 842 (Kennedy, J., concurring) (“Noth-
ing in the Constitution or The Federalist Papers . . . supports
the idea of state interference with the most basic relation be-
tween the National Government and its citizens, the selection
of legislative representatives.”). The State may not decide as
a State that it prefers its residents’ representatives in the
United States Congress to hold a certain set of views, then
enforce that preference by branding any disobedient candi-
date with a negative notation on the ballot the State makes
available pursuant to the Elections Clause.

B. The Missouri Provision Is an Attempt To Use the
State-Controlled Mechanics of Federal Elections
in a Non-neutral Manner To Bring About the
Election of Members of Congress Who Favor a
Specific State Policy.

Contrary to the Petitioner’s argument in this Court, the
Missouri Provision is not a means of conveying voter senti-
ments to candidates for Congress, or of reporting candidates’
views and actions to voters. The Missouri Provision brands
candidates, on the ballot, for not following a state policy
adopted back in 1996 and made a permanent part of the
State’s law. The application of the State’s brand does not
depend on the sentiments of any set of actual voters in any
election after 1996. Far from providing any opportunity for
real communication between candidates and voters, the Mis-
souri Provision is a blunt instrument applied “at the most
crucial stage in the electoral process — the instant before the
vote is cast,” Anderson v. Martin, 375 U.S. 399, 402 (1964),
to punish any candidate who does not pledge to follow, and

10

then actually follow, the State’s policy in every detail. The
State of Missouri has simply decided as a State that it would
prefer its residents’ representatives in Congress to hold cer-
tain views and act in a certain way, and has used its delegated
authority over the conduct of federal elections to punish can-
didates who do not obey.

With the Missouri Provision, the State has stepped out of
its constitutional role as neutral election referee and has be-
come a partisan in each congressional election. It has
adopted a statute setting forth a determination that it wants
every person elected to Congress from Missouri to support
and advance a very specific amendment to the United States
Constitution, and it has prescribed the particular legislative
actions such persons must take, as a matter of state law, in
every parliamentary situation the State could think of. The
State has further announced that it will enforce these direc-
tives through the electoral process itself: an official of the
State (herself chosen in a partisan election) will audit candi-
dates’ fidelity to the State’s policy and instructions, and if
that official finds that a candidate has mot complied (or
pledged to comply) with the State’s instructions, a message
from the State of Missouri will appear next to the candidate’s
name on the official election ballot, accusing her of “DIS-
REGARDJING]” her constituents’ preferences or “DE-
CLIN[ING] TO PLEDGE” to carry out their wishes. Mo.
Const. art. VIII, §§ 17, 18.

The Missouri Provision is, to say the least, not “even-
handed,” Anderson v. Celebrezze, 460 U.S. at 788 n.9, or
“politically neutral.” Burdick v. Takushi, 504 U.S. at 438.
As virtually every court to consider one of these ballot brand-
ing laws has ruled, the brand is nothing less than “an offi-
cially sanctioned recommendation by the State . . . not to vote
for such candidates because they disregarded the instructions
and wishes of their voters.” Donovan v. Priest, 931 S.W.2d

11

119, 128 (Ark. 1996).’ The State responds by suggesting that
its label may not actually convince any voters to change their
votes (see Pet. Br. at 21), but this misses the point: regardless
of the practical impact of the State of Missouri’s official
message, it is clear that the State is violating its duty to con-
duct federal elections impartially and is entering these cam-
paigns as an advocate with an obvious point of view.

The State argues that the Provision is an effort by “the
people[]” of Missouri “to inform each other regarding their
congressional delegation’s compliance” with their wishes.
(Pet. Br. 7.) But the only “people of Missouri” who took any
action at all were the 32% of the electorate who, in 1996,
voted in favor of the Provision.* The label “DISRE-
GARDED VOTERS’ INSTRUCTIONS ON TERM LIM-
ITS,” applied in 2000 (or 2020) to every disobedient Member
of Congress, will commonly be very misleading and often
entirely false:

Constituents. In 1996, a majority of the voters in a par-
ticular congressional district may mot have voted in favor of
the Provision. (As Petitioner acknowledges, voters in 28
Missouri counties did not favor the Provision. (See Pet. Br.
21.)) A candidate for Congress who fails to obey Missouri’s

7

See also Gralike v. Cook, 191 F.3d 911, 918-19 (8th Cir. 1999)
(“Thus, the labels appear to be an official denunciation of certain candi-
dates who are singled out by the state for their failure to speak in favor of
term limits or take all action that § 17 requires.”); Miller v. Moore, 169
F.3d 1119, 1125 (8th Cir. 1999) (“[the] ballot labels effectively place the
state’s official stamp of disapproval on . . . candidates . . . whom the state
disfavors because of their views on a single political issue”); Barker v.
Hazeltine, 3 F. Supp. 2d 1088, 1094 (D.S.D. 1998); League of Women
Voters v. Gwadosky, 966 F. Supp. 52, 61 (D. Me. 1997); Advisory Op. to
the Att'y Gen. re Term Limits Pledge, 718 So. 2d 798, 803 n.3 (Fla. 1998)
(label is “obviously intended to be, and would be, a negative comment on
the candidate at issue”).

* The Missouri Provision received 1,075,215 votes in-its favor in the
November 1996 election. There were 3,342,849 registered voters in Mis-
souri at that time. See Official Manual, State of Missouri, 1997-1998, at
547, 591 (Jim Grebing ed.).

12

term limits instructions therefore may be following the
wishes of a majority of the voters in her district. But the bal-
lot will not say she OBEYED THE WISHES OF VOTERS
IN HER DISTRICT. The Secretary of State will brand her as
having “DISREGARDED VOTERS’ INSTRUCTIONS,”
and she will have no equivalent opportunity to respond that
she is in fact doing what her own constituents favored.

Passage of time. The Missouri Provision became part of
Missouri law in 1996. It will continue to brand disobedient
candidates in subsequent elections forever, until the precise
term limits proposal called for becomes part of the United
States Constitution. But there is no reason to assume that
voter sentiments will remain unchanged. See, e.g., Matthew
Vita, Political Appeal of Term Limits Appears to Wane,
Wash. Post, July 17, 2000, at Al. Even the State concedes
that “[t]he voters in subsequent years may have a different
view.” (Pet. Br. 21.) This mismatch, too, illustrates that the
Missouri Provision is not intended to convey any accurate
message to voters as to where candidates stand, but rather to
skew elections against candidates who do not follow the
State’s policy on a federal term limits amendment.

Alternative term limits proposals. The Missouri Provi-
sion directs Members of Congress to vote for a specific term
limits proposal and against all competing proposals, includ-
ing proposals that would allow longer, but still limited,
terms. Mo. Const. art. VIII, § 17. It is the product of a
struggle within the term limits movement over shorter versus
longer terms, each anathema to supporters of the other.’ But

° At the time the Missouri Provision was adopted, there was an active
debate within the term limits movement as to the appropriate limits for
incumbents to serve. Many proponents of term limits did (and still do)
support longer limits than those contained in the Missouri Provision. See,
e.g., David Hess, Gingrich Pledges To Fight Term Limits of Less Than 12
Years, Phila. Inquirer, Jan. 12, 1995, at A9, Matthew Vita, Political Ap-
peal of Term Limits Appears to Wane, Wash. Post, July 17, 2000, at AS
(chart showing the different term limits proposals that have been adopted
in the various states).

13

there is no reason to assume that all Missouri VOTERS who
favored the particular proposal set forth in the 1996 referen-
dum would have opposed, and wanted their Member of Con-
gress to vote against, competing term limits proposals: the
referendum did not give VOTERS alternative choices. Nev-
ertheless, a Member who fails to vote against a measure that
Missouri voters might well in fact have favored is also
branded as having “DISREGARDED VOTERS’ INSTRUC-
TIONS.”"°

Term limits measures attached to larger bills. A Mem-
ber of Congress may vote against a bill that contains the Mis-
souri-prescribed term limits measure but also contains other
provisions that the Member’s constituents oppose. She will
be branded as having “DISREGARDED VOTERS’ IN-
STRUCTIONS” with no opportunity to rebut the ballot label
with an explanation of the offsetting considerations.

In sum, when the Missouri Secretary of State tells a can-
didate’s constituents that the candidate has “DISRE-
GARDED VOTERS’ INSTRUCTIONS,” the VOTERS in
question are not the voters in her own district; they may have
changed their minds in the lengthening years since 1996;
they may have equally favored a different term limits meas-
ure that the candidate got branded for not rejecting; and they
might in fact agree with the candidate in rejecting a term lim-
its measure coupled with unacceptable other provisions. But
the point is not merely that the ballot brand is highly mislead-
ing. The Missouri Provision is simply not a serious effort to
convey current voter sentiments to candidates, or to disclose
candidate performance to voters. It is an attempt to impose a
policy adopted by the State in 1996 by using the State’s con-
trol over the contents of the ballot to skew elections against
candidates who do not follow that policy to the letter.

10

Similarly, a candidate who declares her support for a competing
term limits proposal will still be branded as having “DECLINED TO
PLEDGE TO SUPPORT TERM LIMITS.”

14

It is particularly offensive that the State has chosen to
impose its 1996 policy choice by placing its message in the
most sacred of secular places: on the ballot. As this Court
recognized in Anderson v. Martin, 375 U.S. 399 (1964), mes-
sages from the State on the official election ballot carry a
disproportionate weight precisely because they bring the ap-
parent “power of the State” to bear at “the most crucial stage
in the electoral process — the instant before the vote is cast.”
Id. at 402. By branding candidates on the ballots used to
elect them, the State of Missouri “direct[s] the citizen’s atten-
tion to the single consideration of” a candidate’s position on
the State’s favored issue, and signals that the candidate’s po-
sition should be “an important — perhaps paramount — con-
sideration in the citizen’s choice.” /d.''

The Court has also held that the moment when the voter
casts his ballot is sufficiently sensitive that it may be “neces-
sary” for a State to ban all electioneering around the polling
place to protect the voter from “undue influence.” Burson v.
Freeman, 504 U.S. at 199, 206. For this very reason, in fact,
the State of Missouri has made it unlawful to conduct any
campaign activities in a polling place or within twenty-five
feet of the outside door. See Mo. Rev. Stat. § 115.637(18)."”

'! For this reason, several federal courts have ruled that government
entities may not manipulate the content of ballots (or even the arrange-
ment of information on a ballot) to favor one candidate or position over
another. See, e.g., Rosen v. Brown, 970 F.2d 169 (6th Cir. 1992) (invali-
dating statute that permitted party candidates to use party labels on the
ballot, but barred non-party candidates from labeling themselves “Inde-
pendents”), Georges v. Carney, 691 F.2d 297, 301 (7th Cir. 1982) (up-
holding statute that neutrally prevented any advisory referenda from ap-
pearing on ballot, “case would be different” if government entity could
get its own referenda on the ballot, particularly if entity “was taking
sides” on matters of public debate); Graves v. McElderry, 946 F. Supp.
1569 (W.D. Okla. 1996) (invalidating State’s practice of always placing
Democratic candidates at top of ballot).

'2 Moreover, even if the State of Missouri did permit candidates to
speak at polling places, they would still have no right of access to the
ballot itself in order to answer or explain the State’s disparaging brand.
See Timmons v. Twin Cities Area New Party, 520 U.S. 351 (1997).

ev cate Sal Swanger

15

A particular irony of this case is that, while the State of Mis-
souri has deemed the moment of voting so sacrosanct (and
the risk of undue influence so great) that the candidate can-
not be within twenty-five feet of the building, the State may
approach the voter in the voting booth itself and tell her how
to cast her vote.

Finally, the fact that the Missouri Provision was itself
adopted by public referendum does not render it constitu-
tional. (Cf Pet. Br. 6-7.) A State cannot do by referendum
what it could not do through its legislature. “The sovereignty
of the people itself is subject to those constitutional limita-
tions which have been duly adopted and remain unrepealed.”
Hunter v. Erickson, 393 U.S. 385, 392 (1969). See also City
of Eastlake v. Forest City Enters., 426 U.S. 668, 676 (1976);
Lucas v. Colorado Gen. Assembly, 377 U.S. 713, 736-37
(1964). And the method by which the Provision became a
part of state law does not alter its legal force or its require-
ment that elected State officials audit candidates in federal
elections and pronounce judgment on them to the voters in
the name of the State itself.'® See Thornton, 514 U.S. at 822
n.32 (invalidating term limits amendment to Arkansas Con-
stitution adopted by referendum and holding method of adop-
tion to be irrelevant). The State cannot step out of its consti-
tutional role as the impartial arbiter of federal elections,

'? It is this aspect of auditing and pronouncing judgment on candi-
dates, as well as the intended normative content of the labels, that distin-
guishes the Missouri Provision’s brand from the political party labels
cited by the Petitioner and the incumbency labels cited by her amici. (See
Pet. Br. 21-22; Mo. Term Limits Br. 24-28.) Petitioner is correct that
party labels may be taken by voters as revealing something substantive
about a candidate, but the candidate herself determines with which politi-
cal party she will affiliate, and (as this Court has held) the State may not
audit her campaign platform to make sure that she in fact stands for the
principles that the State believes a candidate with that party label should
uphold. See Tashjian v. Republican Party, 479 U.S. at 220. Similarly,
incumbency labels carry no intentional message from the State (let alone
a message about the State’s favored view on any particular policy issue),
and they are applied neutrally.

16

whether the drive for abandoning neutrality comes from the
legislature or a public referendum.

Il. HISTORY DOES NOT SUPPORT THE CONSTI-
TUTIONALITY OF THE MISSOURI PROVISION.

Petitioner and her amici seek to defend the constitution-
ality of the Missouri Provision with historical examples of
instructions issued to officeholders. The defense fails for two
reasons. First, all of the examples differ in critical respects
from the Missouri Provision. None of these examples in-
volved federal elections or the State’s powers under the Elec-
tions Clause. None involved a state brand on the ballot de-
signed to discourage voting for candidates for federal office
who disobey a state policy. Most were simply expressions of
voter views backed only by the threat that voters would turn
away from a candidate who disagreed. Second, Petitioner’s
and her amici’s portrait of the practice of instructions is very
misleading. Instructions were never a generally accepted po-
litical practice. On the contrary, the Framers expressly re-
jected adding a “right to instruct” national representatives to
the First Amendment. Having observed the adverse conse-
quences of binding instructions under the Articles of Confed-
eration and in pre-1789 state legislatures, the Framers sought
to avoid the strangling of legislative deliberation and the pre-
dominance of local over general interests that they believed
instructions breed.

A. Petitioner’s and Her Amici’s Historical Examples
Do Not Speak to the Constitutionality of the Mis-
souri Provision Because None Involved Placing a
Message Setting Forth State Policy on a Federal
Election Ballot.

The historical examples proffered by Petitioner and her
amici lack the features that render the Missouri Provision un-
constitutional. None of the historical examples involved a
State placing a brand on a federal election ballot as a means
to influence the election of federal legislators who favor a

17

particular state policy. In fact, none of the examples in-
volved federal elections conducted pursuant to the Elections
Clause at all.

Petitioner says that “[f]rom the earliest days of our coun-
try, the people have exercised their right to influence the
form of their government.” (Pet. Br. 11.) But that unobjec-
tionable statement is wholly unenlightening as to the consti-
tutionality of the Missouri Provision. Of course citizens may
communicate their views to their representatives and vote
against those who disagree. It does not follow that States
may require Members of Congress to follow state policies in
their legislative activities and then take formal action penaliz-
ing those who do not. Cf AFL-CIO v. March Fong Eu, 686
P.2d 609 (Cal. 1984) (finding unconstitutional a state initia-
tive that required state legislators to petition for a constitu-
tional convention on pain of losing their pay); State ex rel.
Harper v. Waltermire, 691 P.2d 826, 829 (Mont. 1984) (find-
ing unconstitutional an initiative that would have required
state legislators to petition Congress for a balanced budget
amendment under threat of confinement in session and no
pay).

The question in this case is whether a State may use its
Elections Clause power over the ballot to brand candidates
for federal office for disagreeing with the State’s official pol-
icy on matters of federal law. Petitioner’s and her amici’s
examples do not help to answer this question. None of the
examples, from any time period, involved instructions given,
received, or interpreted in conjunction with a federal election.
Accordingly, they do not implicate the State’s power under
the Elections Clause. Most of the pre-twentieth century ex-
amples of instruction do not centrally involve state enforce-
ment at all. The twentieth century examples, some of which
do involve state-sponsored pledges and ballot notations in
elections, deal only with state elections, not the Elections

Clause, nor the relationship between Members of Congress
and their constituents.

18

Pre-twentieth century examples. None of the pre-
twentieth century examples of constituent instructions in-
volved any form of government enforcement.'* Representa-
tives who flouted the wishes of their constituents had only
the wrath of the voters to fear. As Petitioner concedes, any
coercive effect of such instructions was a product of the po-
litical culture of the time; representatives who disagreed with
constituent instructions generally felt compelled either to
obey anyway or to resign. (See Pet. Br. 14 n.13); see also
Gordon S. Wood, The Creation of the American Republic
1776-1787, at 191 (1969). Kobach also concedes that “no
formal legal mechanism compelled the representative to obey
his instructions” in the colonial era. (Kobach Br. 5.)

But the constitutional question is whether the State can
use its powers to conduct federal elections to inject its own
view into the voters’ choice of Members of Congress. The
answer is no: “It was the genius of [the Framers’] idea that
our citizens would have two political capacities, one state and
one federal, each protected from incursion by the other” and
that each layer of government would have “its own direct re-
lationship, its own privity, its own set of mutual rights and
obligation to the people who sustain it and are governed by
it.” Thornton, 514 U.S. at 838-39 (Kennedy, J., concurring).
When citizens vote for their federal legislators, “they act in a
federal capacity and exercise a federal right,” protected from
State interference. Jd. at 842 (Kennedy, J., concurring). The
Missouri Provision interferes with the “direct link” that the

'* See Pet. Br. 11-14 (recounting instructions issued to delegates to the

Second Continental Congress who crafted the Declaration of Independ-
ence; to the Framer. of the Constitution, and to Members of the First
Congress regarding the Bill of Rights); Kobach Br. 4-19 (discussing in-
structions to delegates to the First and Second Continental Congresses; to
state delegates who were framing state constitutions; to States’ delegates
to the Congress of the Articles of Confederation; to delegates to the Con-
stitutional Convention; to delegates to state ratifying conventions, and to
Members of Congress from state ratifying conventions in order to secure
the Bill of Rights).

19

Constitution created between the people and their national
representatives by forcing citizens to view the candidate, at
the very moment of voting, through a State-imposed lens. Jd.
at 803 (citing FERC v. Mississippi, 456 U.S. 742, 791 (1982)
(O’Connor, J., concurring in judgment in part and dissenting
in part)).

Petitioner’s and her amici’s heavy reliance on pre-
Constitutional examples of constituent instructions also ig-
nores the establishment of a “National Government [in
which] representatives owe primary allegiance not to the
people of a State, but to the people of the Nation.” Thornton,
514 U.S. at 803. Making national representatives account-
able to the State was perhaps not inconsistent with the Arti-
cles of Confederation, where national legislators were
charged with representing “‘the States, not the people of the
States,”” FERC v. Mississippi, 456 U.S. at 791 (O’Connor, J.,
concurring in the judgment in part and dissenting in part)
(quoting 1 The Records of the Federal Convention of 1787, at
133 (M. Farrand ed. 1911)), and the State retained the right to
“recall its delegates .. . at any time” and “send others in
their stead,” Art. of Conf., art. V. But the Framers rejected
this system in adopting the Constitution. They jettisoned
State recall power over federal legislators precisely because
they intended federal elections themselves to be the means
for holding federal representatives accountable to their con-
stituents. See Thornton, 514 U.S. at 810 n.20; id at 889-90
(Thomas, J., dissenting); see also 2 Elliot’s Debates 320
(Alexander Hamilton) (“Is [a Senator] simply the agent of the
State? No. He is an agent for the Union and he is bound to
perform services necessary to the good of the whole. . . .”).

Twentieth century examples. The twentieth century ex-
amples of measures attempting to bind legislators are no
more persuasive.'* Around the turn of the last century, sup-

'S See Pet. Br. 14-17 (discussing pledges taken by state legislators to

spur passage of the Seventeenth and Twenty-First Amendments); Kobach
Br. 17-19 (discussing instructions to delegates to state conventions re-

20

porters of the direct election of United States Senators suc-
cessfully pressed several states to alter the elections process
for state legislators in order to ensure the election of state
legislators who would, in turn, choose Senators who favored
adoption of what became the Seventeenth Amendment. See
1 George H. Haynes, The Senate of the United States: Its
History and Practice 100-04 (1938) (describing the systems
in Oregon, Nebraska, and North Dakota). Oregon, for exam-
ple, conducted non-binding popular elections in which voters
could express their preference for United States Senator, and
permitted candidates for state legislative office to adopt a
pledge (or not) either to vote for the people’s choice for
Senator or to “consider” the people’s choice; these candidates
could also compose a one hundred word statement to file
with their nominating petitions and a twelve word statement
to appear next to their names on the ballot. See id. at 100-01.
Nebraska added a step by providing for a ballot notation for
candidates who chose either of the two pledges and no nota-
tion for candidates who chose not to adopt a pledge at all.
See id. at 103. Other states, including Idaho and North Da-
kota, also adopted similar provisions.

Although these early twentieth century measures in-
volved States printing ballot notations (or other election-
related statements), any similarity to the Missouri Provision
ends there. Most notably, none of these measures provided
for State involvement in federal elections, and thus none
raised any question under the Elections Clause.'° But other

garding adoption of the Twenty-First Amendment), Mo. Term Limits Br.
14-21 (discussing pledges and ballot notations for state legislators de-
signed to spur passage of the Seventeenth Amendment and instructions
and pledges for delegates to state conventions considering ratification of
the Twenty-First Amendment); Neb. Br. 15-20 (same).

'6 The measures States adopted to press for repeal of the Eighteenth
Amendment and ratification of the Twenty-First Amendment also did not
apply to elections for federal office. The measure that the Alabama Su-
preme Court determined was constitutional in Jn re Opinion of the Jus-
tices, 148 So. 107 (Ala. 1933), for example, required candidates for dele-
gate to a state convention to pledge to follow the popular sentiment ex-

21

distinctions abound. Under Nebraska’s early twentieth cen-
tury measure, a candidate could avoid a ballot notation alto-
gether by choosing not to adopt either pledge, while under
the Missouri Provision a disobedient candidate cannot escape
the State’s punishment on the ballot.'’ See 1909 Neb. Laws,
ch. 51, § 2, at 253. The Oregon provision did not include
State-approved ballot language at all; the candidate himself
crafted the twelve-word statement that could appear on the
ballot. See 1 Haynes, supra, at 101. Contrary to Petitioner’s
assertion that Oregon “required” candidates to sign one of the
two offered pledges, neither Nebraska nor Oregon made
mandatory the adoption of a pledge on the nominating peti-
tion. See id. at 101-03. In fact, when North Dakota did re-
quire candidates to pledge to vote for the people’s choice for
Senator, the North Dakota Supreme Court struck down that
portion of the law as unconstitutional. See State ex rel.
McCue v. Blaisdell, 118 N.W. 141 (N.D. 1908). The real
“teeth” to the Oregon system lay not in the law but in “effec-
tive popular agitation.” 1 Haynes, supra, at 102. Like Odys-
seus binding himself to the mast to resist the song of the Si-
rens, the voters of Oregon circulated petitions among them-
selves, pledging not to sign a petition or vote for the nomina-
tion of any candidate who did not promise to vote for the
people’s choice for Senator.

Finally, the existence of these examples of course does
not speak to their constitutionality. “One may properly ques-
tion the extent to which the States’ own practice is a reliable
indicator of the contours of restrictions that the Constitution
imposed on States.” Thornton, 514 U.S. at 823.

pressed in a referendum on the repeal of Prohibition. This provision in-
volved purely internal state processes and did not intrude into the rela-
tionship between the federal representative and his constituents.

“ Similarly, an Idaho law provided for pledge notation on the ballot
only if the candidate promised to support the people’s choice for Senator.
See Idaho Session Law, House Bill No. 16, § 41 (1909). The law did not

impose a mark of shame for choosing not to precommit (or not to reveal
one’s choice at all).

22

B. Petitioner and Her Amici Ignore the Consistent
Opposition to Instructing Representatives and
Misconstrue the Framers’ Rejection of a Consti-
tutional Right to Instruct.

Petitioner’s and her amici’s tale of legislative instruction
in America omits an important chapter: the longstanding,
principled opposition to constituent instructions. Contrary to
their portrayal of constituent instructions as an integral aspect
of American representative government, the Framers con-
sciously chose, after a “long debate” on the merits of the
practice, not to include a right to instruct representatives in
the First Amendment’s catalog of political rights that they
deemed essential to the operation of the new representative
government. The Complete Bill of Rights: The Drafts, De-
bates, Sources, & Origins 162 (Neil H. Cogan ed., 1997).

Before the adoption of the Constitution, there was no
consensus about the desirability of instructions, either to state
or national legislators. In fact, when the Framers debated
adding to the First Amendment a right to instruct representa-
tives, Representative Hartley of Pennsylvania observed that
Americans “differed exceedingly” about instruction. 1 An-
nals of Cong. 761 (Joseph E. Gales ed., 1789). Opponents of
binding instructions often framed their opposition in terms of
foundational principles of representation. They explained
that although the people were the source of all political
power, they could only exercise that power through the me-
dium of periodic elections, not by continuously instructing
their representatives. See, e.g., Wood, supra, at 370-71 (de-
scribing Judge Alexander Hanson’s argument against instruc-
tions to state legislators in Maryland in the late eighteenth
century). In the post-Revolutionary War period, “Americans
in almost all the states mounted increasing attacks on the ten-
dencies of the American representational system, [including]
excessive localism, [and] binding instructions .. . . The ideal
of an independent and deliberative legislature, attending to
the common interests of the whole state, would not die.” /d.
at 195-96.

23

Prominent political thinkers, including Alexander Ham-

- ilton, embraced this ideal. See The Federalist No. 71 (“When

ve the interests of the people are at variance with their incli-
nations, it is the duty of the person whom they have ap-
pointed to be the guardians of those interests, to withstand
the temporary delusion, in order to give them time and
opportunity for more cool and sedate reflection.”). Our first
President was among those who “stood for the independence
of the representative” from binding instructions. Robert
Luce, Legislative Principles: The History and Theory of
Lawmaking by Representative Government 462 (1930).
George Washington was not “‘friendly to positive instruc-
tions from electors’” because he believed that representatives
“should be left to act according to the judgment [they] shall
form, after being enlightened by the arguments and collected
wisdom of a deliberative assembly.”” Jd. (quoting 1 Life of
Washington, Writings of Washington, 491). Contrary to the
suggestion that “[James] Madison plainly regarded constitu-
ent instructions as an intrinsic part of Congress’s operations,”
(Kobach Br. 9), Madison staunchly opposed instructions as
incompatible with the essence of representation. He lauded
representative government for its ability to:
refine and enlarge the public views, by passing them
through the medium of a chosen body of citizens
whose wisdom may best discern the true interest of
their country, and whose patriotism and love of jus-
tice will be least likely to sacrifice it to temporary or
partial considerations. Under such a regulation, it
may well happen, that the public voice, pronounced
by the representatives of the people, will be more
consonant to the public good than if pronounced by
the people themselves, convened for the purpose.

The Federalist No. 10.'* Binding instructions undermine the
function of the representative, as understood by Madison, by

In the last footnote of his brief, Kobach attempts to co-opt this oft-
quoted language of Madison to buttress the ballot-label law. First, Ko-

24

preventing him from “refin{ing] and enlarg{ing] the public
views” because the citizens have issued inflexible edicts.
Noah Webster summarized the problem of instructions suc-
cinctly: “They make the opinions of a small part of the state
a rule for the whole — they imply a decision of a question,
before it is heard — they reduce a Representative to a mere
machine, by restraining the exercise of his reason — they
subvert the very principles of republican government.” Noah
Webster, Government. The Practice of Instructing Represen-
tatives Absurd and Contrary to the True Principles of Liberty
1 American Magazine 206 (1787-88).

The Framers’ and others’ opposition to the practice of
instruction stemmed not only from political theory, but also
from first-hand observation of the “bad consequences” of the
practice of binding instruction, which was followed in states
under the Articles of Confederation. 1 Annals of Cong. at
761 (statement of Rep. Hartley). In their view, constituent
instructions caused an unhealthy emphasis on local interests,
to the exclusion of more general interests, because state legis-
lators were treated as ambassadors of quasi-independent
townships and counties. See Wood, supra, at 192-96. By
1788, as the state legislatures were passing a flurry of ill-
considered laws, see id.; id. at 368-69, James Madison con-
cluded that “a spirit of locality” permeated state politics such

bach misconstrues Madison’s central meaning, this text is generally un-
derstood to be an anti-instruction screed. See Akhil Reed Amar, Phila-
delphia Revisited: Amending the Constitution Outside Article V, 55 U.
Chi. L. Rev. 1043, 1059 (1988) (citing Garry Wills, Explaining America
216-30 (1981)); Luce, supra, at 456. Second, the operation of the Mis-
souri Provision is inconsistent with this description of representation.
The Provision leaves no room for federal representatives to do anything
with the “public view” that it encapsulates other than to follow it to the
letter; any deviation is rewarded with a pejorative ballot notation. Inter-
pretation is penalized, not encouraged. The Provision recorded a “voice”
of the people on Election Day in 1996, and instead of allowing the repre-
sentatives to listen to, understand, interpret, and then speak in that voice,
as Madison exhorted, it permits them only to play the recording in the
Capitol.

Oe ee oe

25

that state legislators were “‘everywhere observed to lose
sight of the aggregate interests of the Community, and even
to sacrifice them to the interests or prejudices of their respec-
tive constituents.””'” See Wood, supra, at 195 (quoting
Madison’s Observations on Jefferson’s Draft of a Constitu-
tion for Virginia (1788), Julian P. Boyd ed., 6 The Papers of
Thomas Jefferson 308-09 (1950)). Through binding instruc-
tions, the people sapped the ability of state legislators to “re-
fine” their views in light of information gleaned during legis-
lative debate or to compromise in the interest of the public
good. In short, the people seemed to be supplanting the leg-
islative function of the state legislatures. See Wood, supra,
at 368. Madison was clearly disturbed by this trend, believ-
ing that “the invasion of private rights is chiefly to be appre-
hended, not from acts of Government contrary to the sense of
its constituents, but from acts in which the Government is the
mere instrument of the major number of the constituents.”
Id. at 410. In fact, it was not only the inadequate federal
structure of the Articles of Confederation, but — perhaps
more importantly — the “popular despotism” of the 1780s,
id. at 411, to which the practice of instruction was integral,
that led to the call for a Constitutional Convention. See id. at
467 (citing Madison’s recognition of this phenomenon).

It is thus no surprise that the Members of the First Con-
gress rejected an attempt by Representative Thomas Tucker
of South Carolina to include a “right to instruct” federal rep-
resentatives alongside the rights of speech, press, assembly,
and petition in the First Amendment. 1 Annals of Cong. at
761. Petitioner and her amici basically ignore the substance
of the Representatives’ arguments that instructions are in-
compatible with the principles of republican government en-

19

Noah Webster observed that in the post-Independence period, “most
of the destructive measures which have been pursued by the states [had]
onginated in towns and counties, and been carried out by positive instruc-
tions from constituents to Re »resentatives.” Noah Webster, Government.
The Practice of Instructing Xepresentatives Absurd and Contrary to the
True Principles of Liberty | American Magazine 206 (1787-88).

26

shrined in the Constitution.” In fact, the rejection of the
“right to instruct” was an acknowledgement that the practice
of attempting to bind federal legislators through instructions
was incompatible with the conceptions of representation and
federalism that underlie the Constitution. See Thomas E.
Cronin, Direct Democracy: The Politics of Initiative, Refer-
endum, and Recall 25 (1989), Amar, Philadelphia Revisited,
at 1059-60. The Framers and the Members of the First Con-
gress recognized that the problems faced by the state legisla-
tures in the 1780s would be more severe, both in degree and
in kind, in a national legislature. Even John Adams, a
staunch defender of the right of state citizens to instruct their
state representatives, recognized that instruction from States
to federal legislators was a different and dangerous idea.
Adams wrote that he saw:
‘no right in our [state] Senate and House to dictate,
nor to advise, nor to request our Representatives in
Congress. Congress must be ‘the cloud by day and
the pillar of fire by night’ to conduct this nation, and
if their eyes are to be diverted by wandring light,
accidentally springing up in every direction, we
shall never get through the wilderness. ’

Luce, supra, at 454 (quoting John Adams to J.B. Varnum,
Dec. 26, 1808, Works, IX, 605). See also Vikram David
Amar, The People Made Me Do It: Can the People of the
States Instruct and Coerce Their State Legislatures in the
Article V Constitutional Amendment Process?, 41 Wm. &
Mary L. Rev. 1037, 1090 (2000) (noting that the analysis of
coercive measures applied to state legislators is “quite differ-
ent with regard to federal legislators” because “Congress is
not an agent of people of the states for any purpose” and
“[t]he people of a state cannot displace Congress or preempt
it”).

20 The Brief of the Respondents sets forth this debate in detail, which
we will not repeat here.

27

The context in which the Framers repudiated Represen-
tative Tucker’s proposal makes it clear that their decision
was based on their opposition to instructions, rather than “an
acknowledgement of the fact that such clause would be un-
necessary,” as Kobach asserts. (Kobach Br. 19.) Directly
before debating the merits of the “right to instruct” proposal,
the House took up a proposal to strike out reference to the
right to “assemble” on the grounds that such a right was al-
ready logically encompassed by the right to speak. Cogan,
supra, at 129-31, 143-44. The determination to retain the
right to assemble refutes Kobach’s conclusion that the “right
to instruct” was rejected as redundant.

Opponents of the “right to instruct” generally cited two
reasons for their opposition: (1) fear that such a right would
lead to a predominance of local interests, contravening the
national spirit of Congress and the “direct link” between con-
stituents and their federal representatives and (2) concern
about stifling legislative deliberation. Several who spoke
against the “right to instruct” explained that instruction leads
to parochial interests trumping communal interests. See 1
Annals of Cong. at 761 (statement of Rep. Hartley) (“[C]an it
be supposed that the inhabitants of a single district in a State,
are better informed with respect to the general interests of the
Union, than a select body assembled from every part?”); id.
at 764 (statemen: of Rep. Jackson) (fearing that instructions
would “drive the house into a number of factions”); id. at 767
(statement of Rep. Madison) (“I do not believe the inhabi-
tants of any district can speak the voice of the people; so far
from it, their ideas may contradict the sense of the whole
people.”). Legislators acting under instructions are guided
only by the narrower perspective of their electors, rather than
the broader sense of the public good. But “Members of Con-
gress are chosen by separate constituencies . . . they become,
when elected, servants of the people of the United States.
They are not merely delegates appointed by separate, sover-
eign States; they occupy offices that are integral and essential
components of a single National Government.” Thornton,

28

514 US. at 837-38. That is, in essence, why Madison con-
cluded that binding instructions are “of a doubtful, if not of a
dangerous nature.” 1 Annals of Cong. at 767.

Opponents of instruction also recognized that it deters -
even renders unnecessary — legislative deliberation. This
“displace[ment of] everyday deliberation in ordinary gov-
ernment entities . . . threatens to swallow up Madison’s
scheme of representative government.” Amar, Philadelphia
Revisited at 1059. The Framers understood that legislators
who have no choice but to follow the dictates of their con-
stituents can derive no benefit from the exchange of views
and information that a legislative assembly provides. Several
Representatives who disapproved of the addition of a “right
to instruct” raised the specter of a national legislature that
had no function but to tally predetermined votes. See | An-
nals of Cong. at 763 (statement of Rep. Clymer) (asserting
that instruction “is a most dangerous principle, utterly de-
structive of all ideas of an independent and deliberative body,
which are essential requisites in the legislatures of free gov-
ernments”); id. at 763-64 (statement of Rep. Sherman) (argu-
ing that instructions give people the false impression that
they can “control the debates of the legislature,” which
would, in turn, “destroy the object of their meeting”); id. at
770 (statement of Rep. Livermore) (denying the binding
force of instructions because “it might be expedient, nay ab-
solutely necessary, to sacrifice [various measures] in mutual
concessions” as part of the lawmaking process). Accord-
ingly, the rejection of the “right to instruct” federal represen-
tatives was an affirmation that the Constitution values — in-
deed, demands — that federal representatives not be bound
by instructions that will inevitably eviscerate the national
spirit and deliberative character of our Congress.

Given the long and consistent history of strong opposi-
tion to the general practice of instructions, as well as the re-
jection of a constitutional right to instruct by the First Con-
gress, it is not surprising that the practice died out in the mid-
nineteenth century. See Richard B. Bernstein with Jerome

cae tet oP

29

Agel, Amending America: If We Love the Constitution So
Much, Why Do We Keep Trying to Change It? 123 (1993).
Petitioner’s unsupported assertion that the practice “contin-
ued unabated” after the adoption of the Constitution is simply
wrong. (Pet. Br. 13.) In addition, the vestigial examples of
instructions that remained after the Framing were instructions
from state legislatures to the United States Senators they ap-
pointed directly, a practice which was mooted by the adop-
tion of the Seventeenth Amendment. See 2 George H.
Haynes, The Senate of the United States: Its History and
Practice 1027 (1938). Accordingly, these instructions are
irrelevant to the constitutionality of the Missouri Provision.
Moreover, when instructions did crop up after the Fram-
ing, their desirability remained contested. For example, in
citing the Twelfth Amendment as an example of the use of
instructions to attempt to amend the Constitution, (see Ko-
bach Br. 17), Kobach neglects to mention that Senators who
opposed the practice vehemently criticized it in that instance.
See Luce, supra, at 462-63 (quoting Senator William Plumer,
who explained that four or five state legislatures had at-
tempted to bind their federal representatives to favor the
amendment but that “‘the Legislatures throughout the Union
will be told that they must adopt them because Congress, in
its wisdom, has seen fit to propose them. We, because they
have done it; they, because we have; with no independent
action in either case. If such instructions are obligatory, we
are mere machines.””). Similarly, on the hotly debated issue
of the re-charter of the Bank of the United States in 1811,
Senator Timothy Pickering criticized instructions as incom-
patible with the Constitution’s conception of representation:

If State Legislatures undertake to dictate, by their
instructions, or by requests which are intended to
operate equally with instructions, what votes shall
be given by their Representatives in Congress, they
so far assume the powers vested by the Constitution
exclusively in Congress. And if their instructions or

30

requests are obeyed, then the State Legislatures, and
not Congress, enact laws for the United States.

Luce, supra, at 464 (citation omitted in original). Finally,
echoing the sentiments of the Framers who had rejected a
constitutional right to instruct, Representative Calhoun criti-
cized the practice when it appeared after the adoption of the
Constitution: “The ear of this House on this subject, said he,
is sealed against truth and reason. What has produced this
magic spell? Instructions! Well, then, has it come to this?
Have the people of this country snatched the power of delib-
eration from this body?” 30 Annals of Cong. 576 (1817). In
light of this steady pattern of opposition, and the Framers’
considered decision to reject a constitutional right to instruct,
Petitioner’s and her amici’s smattering of post-Framing and
pre-Seventeenth Amendment examples of instructions to
Members of Congress do not form any consistent or durable
pattern of practice that deserves deference.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court should affirm the
decision of the Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Louis R. COHEN

Counse! of Record
JONATHAN J. FRANKEL
ANNE HARKAVY
WILMER, CUTLER & PICKERING
2445 M Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20037
(202) 663-6000

Counsel for Amici Curiae
League of Women Voters of the United States and
League of Women Voters of Missouri

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0349%3A15. Public record. Not legal advice.
