# Amicus Curiae Brief — Boy Scouts of America v. Dale

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0345%3A30

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 530 U.S. 640

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

Feb % aw €4) FEB 2 8 200)
No. 99 |

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

¢

BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA AND
MONMOUTH COUNCIL, BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA,

Petitioners,

JAMES DALE,

Respondent.
>

On Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of New Jersey
>

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE,
THE INDIVIDUAL RIGHTS FOUNDATION,
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS
¢

Paut A. HoFrFMAN

Counsel of Record
Dracup & PATTERSON
505 N. Tustin Avenue, Suite 282
Santa Ana, California 92705
(714) 542-3500

One Bunker Hill Building
601 W. 5th Street, 8th Floor
Los Angeles, California 90071

os for Amicus Curiae
ividual Rights Foundation

TABLE OF CONTENTS

: Page
4 INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE............20000000:
Ng STATEMENT OF THE CASE................000000:
. : I aii okeas cok ccadcnnsecsccces

Ruling of Appellate Courts Below ...............
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT..............0.0000005

Bie aes 4 I. THE NJSC’S JUDGMENT MUST BE
cou 3 REVERSED BECAUSE IT FAILS TO PRO-
We Se ake en 4 TECT THE BOY SCOUTS’ FIRST AMEND-
; yp eey : MENT RIGHT OF SPEAKER’S AUTONOMY

pie | : AND ERRONEOUSLY CONCLUDES THAT

BOY SCOUTS’ IDEOLOGICALLY-RELATED

ph ee ST eae, REJECTION OF RESPONDENT DALE
ager ran eh? | : BASED ON DALE’S PUBLIC SELF-IDENTI-
ee FYING SPEECH WAS MERE DISCRIMINA-

TORY CONDUCT BASED ON DALE’S

REET gee | II. BOY SCOUTS’ UNIQUE EMPHASIS ON
gc Ok Na ae Baa TEACHING BY EXAMPLE AND BY ROLE
SF anh cea = MODELING IS ITSELF A FORM OF SYMBOLIC
SOE i aa : | _ SPEECH OR EXPRESSIVE CONDUCT PRO-
See Re rd TECTED BY THE FIRST AMENDMENT. ......

| III. THE NJSC’S JUDGMENT MUST BE
| i REVERSED BECAUSE IT ASSUMES THAT
s : ” THE RIGHT OF EXPRESSIVE ASSOCIATION
pare ae ie ) : ONLY APPLIES TO VIEWPOINTS WHICH

: xs ARE SHARED UNIVERSALLY BY THE

; ASSOCIATION’S MEMBERS AND IT FAILS

or | : TO RECOGNIZE THAT THE RIGHT OF
SPEAKER’S AUTONOMY IS NOT LIMITED
TO CONSISTENT, DISTINCT OR ARTICU-

Lae wos

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

IV. THIS COURT SHOULD RESIST THE TEMPTA-
TION TO RESTRICT RIGHTS OF SPEECH OR
EXPRESSIVE ASSOCIATION IN THIS CASE
BECAUSE SUCH RESTRICTIONS WILL ULTI-
MATELY WEAKEN THE RIGHT OF ALL PER-
SONS TO SPEAK OR ASSOCIATE FOR
EXPRESSIVE PURPOSES, ESPECIALLY THE
RIGHTS OF GAY AND LESBIAN GROUPS
AND INDIVIDUALS. ............200eeeeeeees 20

V. THIS COURT SHOULD ENSURE THAT THE
SCOPE OF EXPRESSIVE ASSOCIATION
RIGHTS ARE NOT INTERPRETED TOO NAR-
ROWLY SO THAT STATE AND LOCAL LAW-
MAKERS ARE NOT DISCOURAGED FROM
PASSING NEEDED LEGISLATION TO PRO-
TECT MINORITIES SUCH AS GAYS AND

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Board of Directors of Rotary International v. Rotary
Club of Duarte, 481 U.S. 537 (1987)............. 27-29

Chambers v. Omaha Girls Club, Inc., 834 F.2d 697
EE 17

Dale v. Boy Scouts of America and Monmouth Coun-
cil, Boy Scouts of America, 160 N.J. 562, 734 A.2d
i Par Srcseseceseecccccccceccces 4, 6, 9, 10, 18

Gay Students Organization of the University of New
Hampshire v. Bonner, 509 F.2d 652 (CA1 1974) ..... 24

Fricke v. Lynch, 491 F.Supp. 381 (D.R.I. 1980) ..... 17, 23
Harvey v. YWCA, 533 F.Supp. 949 (W.D.N.C. 1982) .... 17
High Tech Gays v. Defense Ind. Sec. Clearance Office,

ED . « « dalle un caccceeeesckeses 6
Hurley v. Irish-American Gay, Lesbian and Bisexual
Group of Boston, 515 U.S. 557 (1995)........... passim
Miami Herald Publishing Co. v. Tornillo, 418 U.S. 241
tiie peck eehebesedadencecoesescccescece 15
Riley . National Federation of the Blind of North
Carolina, Inc., 487 U.S. 781 (1988) ................. 15
Roberts v. United States Jaycees, 468 U.S. 609 (1984) . . .26-29
Spence v. Washington, 418 U.S. 405 (1974)............ 12
Texas v. Johnson, 491 U.S. 397 (1989)........... 11-16, 28
United States v. O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367 (1968) ......... 14

STATUTES AND Rutes or Court:

New Jersey Law Against Discrimination, N.J.S.A.
BE Oc ccccccesececccccccccscccccccsccccccce 3

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

OrTHER AUTHORITIES:

Jack M. Battaglia, Religion, Sexual Orientation, and
Self-Realization: First Amendment Principles and
Anti-Discrimination Laws, 76 U. Det. Mercy
See TEP GEGOe ce cccccosccscousscosebassauebenses

David E. Bernstein, Sex Discrimination Laws Versus

Civil Liberties, 1999 Univ. Chi. Legal Forum 133. ..26, 30

Andrew J. Breuner, Expression By Association:
Towards Defining An Expressive Association
Defense In Unruh-Based Sexual Orientation Dis-
crimination Actions, 33 Santa Clara L.Rev. 467
GUSEED oc cccccsceconcccssentstotenespeacbooneseecass

William David Cole & William N. Eskridge, From
Hand-Holding to Sodomy: First Amendment Protec-
tion of Homosexual (Expressive) Conduct, 29 Harv.

CRGB. E.R. FED CITED. cc ccccccccveccceseves 7, 25

Comment, Civil Rights - Public Accommodation
Statutes —- New Jersey Supreme Court Holds That
Boy Scouts May Not Deny Membership To Homo-
sexuals — Dale v. Boy Scouts of America, 734 A.2d
1196 (N.J. 1999), Petition for Cert. Filed, 68
U.S.L.W. 1083 (U.S. Oct. 25, 1999) (No. 99-699),

Bap See, Gas Gee Gnancccdateccenccceces ca 26

William N. Eskridge, Gaylegal Narratives, 46 Stan.
Se GSP GEESE vecvccnccecccecepscnesstcencsessac

Jose Gomez, The Public Expression of Lesbian/Gay
Personhood As Protected Speech, 1 Law & Ineq. J.
GRE GIFU « cn ccccsccvesscccéccecsecceeseseesocseses

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued .
age

Nan D. Hunter, et al., The Rights of Lesbians and

Gay Men: The Basic ACLU Guide to a Gay Person's
Rights (3d ed. 1992) .......-- 6. cece cence eee eenees 6-7

William B. Rubenstein, Since When Is the Fourteenth

Amendment Our Route To Equality? Some Reflec-
tions on the Construction of the ‘Hate-Speech’
Debate from a Lesbian/Gay Perspective, in Speaking
of Race, Speaking of Sex: Hate Speech, Civil Rights,
And Civil Liberties (1994)............-.---005: 6, 21-23

The Guide to Gifts and ~~ 1995-1997: A Direc-

tory of Philanthropically Supported Institutions
GIDE cc cccccccccccccccccesesccccocccccoscoccccces 19

Evan Wolfson & Robert S. Mower, When the Police

Are In Our Bedrooms, Shouldn't The Courts Go In
After Them?: An Update On The Fight Against
“Sodomy” Laws, 21 Fordham Urb.L.J. 997 (1994) ..... 7

1
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Petitioners Boy Scouts of America and Monmouth
Council, Boy Scouts of America (“Petitioners” or “Boy
Scouts”) and Respondent James Dale (“Respondent” or
“Dale”) have each consented to the filing of this amicus
curiae brief! by the Individual Rights Foundation (“IRF”).

The IRF was founded in 1993 and is dedicated to
educating the public about the importance of the First
Amendment's free speech and associational guarantees.
To further its educational goals, the IRF conducts semi-
nars and other public events, publishes newsletters, and
files amicus curiae briefs in appellate cases involving
First Amendment speech and associational rights issues.
The IRF seeks to resist attempts from anywhere along the
political spectrum to limit public expression because such
attempts pose a serious threat both to cultural diversity
and to our free form of government.

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This amicus adopts the Statement of the Case set
forth in Petitioners’ Brief on the Merits (“Petitioner's
Brief”).2, Nonetheless, the IRF wishes to highlight a few
points in the record below.

1 Counsel of record, Paul A. Hoffman, authored this amicus
curiae brief in its entirety. No person or entity, outside of amicus
curiae, The Individual Rights Foundation, its members or its
counsel of record, has made a monetary contribution to the
preparation or submission of the present amicus curiae brief.
The written consents of Petitioners and Respondent have been
filed with the Clerk of the Court.

2 Numbers preceded by “JA” refer to the Joint Appendix
being filed with the Petitioners’ Brief on the Merits; numbers
followed by “a” refer to pages in the Appendix submitted with
the Petition for Writ of Certiorari; numbers preceded by “R.”
refer to pages in the record before the New Jersey Supreme

The Record Below

It is important at the outset to focus on what is not
contained in the record below. There is no evidence that
Boy Scouts bar anyone based on mere status, unan-
nounced and unbroadcasted, as homosexuals. The record
below reveals that Boy Scouts are not interested in the
private sexual status of any of their adult leaders, but only
in their public expressions regarding sexuality, which may
affect their ability to effectively teach or role model Scout-
ing’s beliefs regarding traditional morality. (JA 460) This
is shown by Dale’s own admission that he is “aware of
other homosexuals active in-Scouting against whom no
adverse action has been taken because they have not
‘gone public’ with their sexual orientation.” (160a) This
finding is consistent with Boy Scouts’ position that “Boy
Scouting makes no effort to investigate the sexual orien-
tation of members or leaders.” (P.4 n.2) Nor is there any
evidence in the record below that Boy Scouts ever asked
Dale or any other applicant about his or her private
sexual life.

What the record below does show is that Boy Scouts’
membership policies are concerned with public expression.
Boy Scouts’ policy excludes only “avowed homosexuals.”
(JA 138) Boy Scouts were interested in Dale’s public state-
ments and conduct only because of the obvious impact
such behavior would have on his ability to serve as a role
model for Scouting’s preferred values. (207a; 223a)

Citing an extensive review of material, the Superior
Court of New Jersey, Chancery Division (“Chancery Divi-
sion”), expréssly found that “from its inception Scouting
has excluded from membership and adult leadership any
person who openly declares himself a homosexual and that
such policy has continued unchanged, to the present. . . .
It is the firm position of BSA that [homosexual] conduct

Court; numbers preceded by “P.” refer to the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari.

3

is not ‘morally straight’ under the Scout Oath nor is it
‘clean’ under the Scout Law.” (192a (emphasis added))

There is no evidence in the record that anyone in Boy
Scouts knew of Dale’s homosexuality, or would likely
ever have known, but for Dale’s extraordinary efforts to
publicly broadcast his views as a homosexual advocate toa
reporter for The Newark Star-Ledger, who identified Dale
as Co-President of the Rutgers University Lesbian/Gay
Alliance. (JA 517) Boy Scouts became aware of Dale’s
homosexuality solely as a result of his voluntary news-
paper interview. (JA 753) Thus, had Dale not taken efforts
to publicize his views as a homosexual, his membership in
Boy Scouts would not have been revoked. Based thereon,
the Chancery Division ruled that Boy Scouts could revoke
his membership.

Ruling Of Appellate Courts Below

The Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Divi-
sion, reversed in a split decision (Landau, J., dissenting),
concluding, among other things, that: (1) Boy Scouts of
America is a place of public accommodation within the

- meaning of the New Jersey Law Against Discrimination

(“LAD”) (124a); (2) enforcement of the LAD is unrelated
to the suppression of ideas because it will not signifi-
cantly affect Boy Scouts’ ability to carry out expressive
purposes (136a); and (3) Boy Scouts failed to show that
the policy of excluding avowed homosexuals was a col-
lective viewpoint that brought members together.
(143a-144a)

The New Jersey Supreme Court (“NJSC”) affirmed,
by ruling, among other things, as follows:

We find that the LAD does not violate Boy

Scouts’ freedom of expressive association

because the statute dues not have a significant

impact on Boy Scout members’ ability to associ-

ate with one another in pursuit of shared views.

The organization’s ability to disseminate its

message is not significantly affected by Dale’s

4

inclusion because: Boy Scouts members do not
associate for the purpose of disseminating the belief
that homosexuality is immoral; Boy Scouts dis-
courages its leaders from disseminating any
views on sexual issues; and Boy Scouts include
sponsors and members who subscribe to different
views in respect of homosexuality.

Dale v. Boy Scouts of America, 160 N.J. 562, 612, 734 A.2d
1196 (1999) (emphasis added).

¢

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Your amicus respectfully submits that several consti-
tutional errors by the NJSC require reversal by this Court
in order to avoid serious erosion of the freedoms of
speech and expressive association:

(1) The NJSC’s decision below erroneously concluded
that discrimination based on self-identifying speech is the
same as discrimination based on status. However, under
this Court’s First Amendment jurisprudence, the fact that
homosexual “coming out” speech is “self-identifying
speech” does not grant the State of New Jersey a greater
right to regulate the content of private speech or diminish
the right of expressive associations to exclude those
whose self-identifying speech is contrary to their expres-
sive purposes.

(2) Scout leader role modeling constitutes symbolic
speech and expressive conduct under Texas v. Johnson, 491
U.S. 397 (1989) because the record below shows that Boy
Scouting intends to and does effectively convey specific
messages and values (i.e., the principles embodied in the
Boy Scout Oath and Law) by means of role modeling. Boy
Scouts’ role modeling is founded on the belief that a
Scout leader’s example is more effective than the spoken
word in transmitting moral values to young Scouts.

5

Therefore, requiring the appointment of someone whose
public example runs counter to the organization’s values
alters both the form and content of Boy Scouts’ intended
speech and constitutes state suppression of free expression.

(3) The NJSC mistakenly held that only those mes-
sages in which an expressive association shares a “single
view” which functions as “a unifying associational goal
of the organization” can justify exclusion of those repre-
senting contrary viewpoints. Limiting the right of expres-
sive association to only those few viewpoints that bring
the entire membership together would not only eviscerate
this Court’s opinion in Hurley v. Irish-American Gay, Les-
bian & Bisexual Group of Boston, Inc., 515 U.S. 557 (1995),
but would all but destroy the right of expressive associa-
tion for large associations, including political parties,
which cannot meet this test.

(4) A narrow interpretation of the rights of speech
and expressive association in this case will adversely
affect the right of all Americans, including gays and
lesbians, to engage in expressive activities and will actu-
ally discourage legislators from expanding civil rights
laws for fear of negatively impacting the expressive inter-
ests of a whole host of social and cultural associations.

+

ARGUMENT

I. THE NJSC’S JUDGMENT MUST BE REVERSED
BECAUSE IT FAILS TO PROTECT THE BOY
SCOUTS’ FIRST AMENDMENT RIGHT OF
SPEAKER’S AUTONOMY AND ERRONEOUSLY
CONCLUDES THAT BOY SCOUTS’ IDEOLOGI-
CALLY-RELATED REJECTION OF RESPONDENT
DALE BASED ON DALE’S PUBLIC SELF-IDENTI-
FYING SPEECH WAS MERE DISCRIMINATORY
CONDUCT BASED ON DALE’S STATUS

The NJSC’s opinion attempts to distinguish the facts
presented in this case from this Court’s ruling in Hurley v.

6

Irish-American Gay, Lesbian & Bisexual Group of Boston, Inc.,
515 U.S. 557 (1995), by stating that “Dale’s status as a
scout leader is not equivalent to a group marching in a
parade” and that Boy Scout leadership is not a “form of
‘pure speech’ akin to a parade.” Dale, supra, 160 N.J. at
623. However, the applicability of the speech principles
announced in Hurley cannot be so easily dismissed.*

Since homosexuality is generally a latent characteris-
tic, unlike race and gender*, homosexuals who wish to
openly proclaim their homosexuality must, by definition,
send a message to others. Such a message constitutes
speech and is inherently expressive. See, e.g., Nan D.
Hunter, et al., The Rights of Lesbians and Gay Men: The

3 The NJSC’s opinion tries to distinguish Hurley because
“Dale does not come to Boy Scout meetings ‘carrying a banner.’ ”
Dale, supra, 160 N.J. at 623. The NJSC’s cramped reading of
Hurley leads to a strange anomaly: Only if Boy Scouts obtain a
permit and march in a parade may they lawfully exclude leaders,
like Dale, who may want to wear a sign in such a parade stating
“I am a gay Scoutmaster,” but Boy Scouts may not lawfully
exclude those same individuals at any other Scouting event,
such as a Scout-O-Rama, a Boy Scout Jamboree, or a Scout
meeting, who may stand and announce that “I am a gay
Scoutmaster.” These examples suggest that the speech
principles announced in Hurley are broad and cannot be limited
to just one narrow category of speech (i.e., parades).

. “Homosexuality is . . . behavioral and hence is
fundamentally different from traits such as race, gender, or
alienage. ... ” High Tech Gays v. Defense Ind. Sec. Clearance Office,
895 F.2d 563, 573 (CA9 1990). See also William B. Rubenstein,
Since When Is the Fourteenth Amendment Our Route to Equality?
Some Reflections on the Construction of the ‘Hate-Speech’ Debate
from a Lesbian/Gay Perspective, in Speaking of Race, Speaking of Sex:
Hate Speech, Civil Rights, And Civil Liberties 283 (1994) (“sexual
orientation is not, like race or gender, visually identifiable:
individuals must take on a lesbian/gay identity through some
speech or speech act known as ‘coming out’ ”).

7

Basic ACLU Guide to a Gay Person's Rights 9 (3d ed. 1992)
(“coming out speech ought to be recognized by the courts as
political expression”) (emphasis added); Jack M. Battaglia,
Religion, Sexual Orientation, and Self-Realization: First
Amendment Principles and Anti-Discrimination Laws, 76 U.
Det. Mercy L.Rev. 189, 326-27 (1999) (“ ‘Coming out’ is
profoundly personal and highly political.”) (emphasis
added); William David Cole & William N. Eskridge, From
Hand-Holding to Sodomy: First Amendment Protection of
Homosexual (Expressive) Conduct, 29 Harv. C.R.-C.L. L.Rev.
319, 325 (1993) (“An admission of sexual identity is expres-
sive in the strictest sense of the word.”) (emphasis added);
Jose Gomez, The Public Expression of Lesbian/Gay Person-
hood As Protected Speech, 1 Law & Ineq. J. 121 (1983).5

A variety of messages arise from “coming or *”
speech, from social defiance to the viewpoint that the
homosexual lifestyle is normal and acceptable. See, e.g.,
Andrew J. Breuner, Expression By Association: Towards
Defining An Expressive Association Defense In Unruh-Based
Sexual Orientation Discrimination Actions, 33 Santa Clara
L.Rev. 467, 510 (1993) (“it seems that an individual’s
decision to publicly express his or her sexuality is a
personal affirmation that such conduct is legitimate or accept-
able”) (emphasis added); William N. Eskridge, Gaylegal
Narratives, 46 Stan. L.Rev. 607, 635-36 (1994) (“decision to
come out is not merely an individual assertion of identity,
but also a risky act of social defiance”) (emphasis added).

The issue of whether a direct burden would be
placed on Boy Scouts’ First Amendment rights by forcing

5 Dale’s counsel of record, Evan Wolfson, even admits that
there are “inherently political dimensions to being openly gay or
lesbian.” (Evan Wolfson & Robert S. Mower, When the Police Are
In Our Bedrooms, Shouldn't The Courts Go In After Them?: An
Update On The Fight Against “Sodomy” Laws, 21 Fordham Urb.
L.J. 997, 1025 n.100 (1994) (emphasis added).)

8

them to accept Dale’s speech, not just his status, is most
clearly raised in Hurley. The parade organizers in Hurley
represented that they reflected “traditional religious and
social values” and wished to exclude “groups with sexual
themes.” Hurley, 515 U.S. at 562. Although participation
by the Irish-American Gay, Lesbian & Bisexual Group of
Boston (“GLIB”) was also expressive in character, id. at
570, the only public message manifested at the parade by
GLIB was its own self-identifying speech, when it “marched
behind a shamrock-strewn banner with the. simple
inscription ‘Irish American Gay, Lesbian and Bisexual
Group of Boston.’” Id. Based on these facts, this Court
concluded that GLIB had sought to “communicate its
ideas as part of the existing parade.” Id. This alone was
enough to find an implied message that conflicted with
the wishes of the parade organizers. The same conflict is
inherent in the present case.

Openly gay persons who apply to be Scoutmasters
when they know that Boy Scouts take a position against
alternative sexual lifestyles® are, in essence, requesting that
Boy Scouts accept their political message or speech, not just
their sexual orientation status. When public accommoda-
tion statutes, however well intentioned, are used to
require acceptance, the state is clearly compelling accep-
tance of private political speech, directly contrary to this
Court’s holding in Hurley. As stated by Judge Landau in
his dissent below in the Superior Court, Appellate Divi-
sion: “This principle is not changed merely because the
altered message is implicitly, but no less strongly, con-
veyed by example rather than by verbal articulation or by

© For example, it is hardly disputable that Boy Scouts have
the right to reject other messages or speakers who seek to use
Scouting as a vehicle to “legitimize” other sexual lifestyles, such
as prostitution, polygamy, adultery or unmarried heterosexual
cohabitation.

9

signs.” (153a) Accordingly, the present case plainly raises
the issue of whether the rule of “speaker’s autonomy”
established by this Court in Hurley is being threatened by
misapplication of state public accommodation laws.

Moreover, the seriousness of the threat to private
speech rights in this case is not abated by the counter-
argument that, since homosexuals are known almost
exclusively by their self-identifying speech, or because
homosexual status cannot be separated from homosexual
speech, therefore, a homosexual person cannot be
excluded based on his or her “coming out” speech. See,
e.g., Dale, supra, 160 N.J. at 641 (concurring opinion of

_Justice Handler).”? This argument only begs the very ques-

tion at issue in this case: whether Dale’s self-identifying
speech is interfering with Boy Scouts’ free speech and
association rights.

Speech is speech, whether it is self-identifying speech
or some other type of speech. Accordingly, if homosexual
status really cannot be separated from homosexual self-
identifying speech, then forcing expressive associations
opposed to the homosexual lifestyle to accept openly
homosexual persons is also, a priori, forcing them to
accept such persons’ speech, thereby violating the asso-
ciation’s right of speaker’s autonomy. Unless this Court is
willing to carve out a new exception to First Amendment
jurisprudence for self-identifying speech, it seems self-
evident that homosexuals do not have a special right
above other Americans to compel private expressive
associations to accept their speech.

7 This counter-argument clearly fails if carried to its logical
conclusion. For example, most Catholics also cannot be
identified other than by their self-identifying speech. However,
this fact does not give them a right to join a Protestant or Jewish
fraternal organization.

10

By the same token, if homosexual status truly cannot
be separated from homosexual speech, then an expressive
association’s rejection of an openly homosexual person is
not necessarily based on a rejection of such person’s
status. It may be legitimately based on rejection of the
message of such person’s “coming out” speech. Accord-
ingly, one of the basic assumptions on which rests much
of the reasoning of the NJSC’s ruling, that Boy Scouts
revoked Dale’s membership “solely because of his status
as a homosexual” (160 N.J. at 624), is very doubtful.

Moreover, the risk that Dale’s speech interferes with
Boy Scouts’ right of speaker’s autonomy is especially
grave in this case because of the NJSC’s conclusion that
“Boy Scouts expresses a belief in moral values and uses
its activities to encourage the moral development of its
members.” (160 N.J. at 613.) Thus, it is undisputed that
the NJSC found that Boy Scouts are at least expressive
with respect to “moral values” and the “moral develop-
ment of its members.”

Since the issue of the morality of homosexual behav-
ior is highly controversial, the likelihood of interference
with Boy Scouts’ expressive purposes arising from Dale’s
public self-identifying speech is extremely high in this
case. That likelihood is further increased in this case
because of the fact that Dale has actively promoted his
message in the media, announcing that he is a “gay
activist” and “very active in gay politics” as co-president
of the Rutgers University Lesbian and Gay Alliance. (JA
468-469, 511, 513, 515-518) Dale is also openly critical of
Boy Scouts’ role modeling policy: “I owe it to the organi-
zation to point out to them how bad and wrong this policy
is....” (JA 513) (Emphasis added.)

Accordingly, this Court should exercise its obligation
to independently review the record and reverse the judg-
ment of the NJSC based upon the Court’s finding that

11

Boy Scouts’ rejection of Dale was not simply an act of
prohibited discrimination based on status but is logically
related to exclusion of ideological speech which may
inherently subvert Boy Scouts’ own expression in favor of
the moral values they prefer.

II. BOY SCOUTS’ UNIQUE EMPHASIS ON TEACH-
ING BY EXAMPLE AND BY ROLE MODELING IS
ITSELF A FORM OF SYMBOLIC SPEECH OR
EXPRESSIVE CONDUCT PROTECTED BY THE
FIRST AMENDMENT

In addition to violating the Boy Scouts’ right of
speaker’s autonomy by requiring Boy Scouts’ acceptance
of Dale’s self-identifying speech, the NJSC’s judgment
also alters or limits Boy Scouts’ own affirmative speech
communicated through the medium of role modeling.

In Hurley, supra, this Court stated that “the Constitu-
tion looks beyond written or spoken words as mediums
of expression.” 515 U.S. at 569. For example, parading is
expressive because it is not simply movement from one
place to another but is a form of “making some sort of
collective point, not just to each other but to bystanders
along the way.” Id. at 568.

Because expressive conduct, and not just words, con-
vey a message which constitutes speech, the First
Amendment protects expressive associations which limit
the content of their speech by their choice of role models.
Common examples of such expressive activity include
appointment of church ministers and youth counselors,
who often teach more by their example than by their
preaching.

In Texas v. Johnson, 491 U.S. 397, 403-405 (1989), this
Court reiterated its two-part test for determining whether
a state regulation, as applied to conduct alleged to be
expressive, violates the First Amendment: (1) whether the

12

conduct itself is expressive, as shown by an intent to
convey a particularized message which is likely to be
understood by those viewing it, and (2) if so, whether the
state’s interest in regulating such conduct is “related to
the suppression of free expression.”

With respect to the first prong of Texas v. Johnson, the
record below reveals a strong case for finding expressive
conduct because there can be little doubt that Boy Scout-
ing intends to convey a particularized message (i.e., the princi-
ples embodied in the Boy Scout Oath and Law) through its
choice of role models and that “the likelihood was great that
the message would be understood by those who viewed
it.” Id. at 404 (citing Spence v. Washington, 418 U.S. 405,
410-411 (1974)). The communicative intent of Boy Scouts
is clearly stated in their Mission Statement: “It is the
mission of Boy Scouts . . . to instill values in young
people. . . . The values we strive to instill are based on
those found in the Scout Oath and Law.” (JA 184
(emphasis added))

Boy Scouts control the messages and values instilled
in young Scouts, in part, by excluding individuals who
would express views or model behavior contrary to Scouting’s
views. The Chancery Division below expressly found that
“Scoutmasters are teachers and role models of ‘what a man
should be like’ in all aspects of male adulthood.” (207a
(emphasis added)) It further found that “[t]o be an adult
ieader of Scouting one must agree to be bound not only
by the Scout Oath or Promise but also by the Declaration
of Religious Principles.” (206a) Such a leader “must pos-
sess the moral, educational, and emotional qualities
deemed necessary by BSA for leadership before he will be
commissioned.” (222a) The Chancery Division concluded
that requiring Dale to be admitted as a Scout leader
“would be devastating to the essential nature of scout-
ing” partly because a role model’s example is “critical” to

13

Scouting’s mission of conveying the values of the Scout
Oath and Law. (223a) These facts clearly show that there
is an intent by Boy Scouts to communicate a specific mes-
sage through role modeling.

The record below also shows a great likelihood that
those viewing the conduct would understand the mes-
sage. Boy Scout literature is replete with statements that
boys best understand the message of Scouting through
role modeling. The Official Scoutmaster Handbook,
which Dale had when he registered as a Scout leader,
stated:

In his quest for manhood, every boy needs
contact with men he can copy. Living, breathing
men provide models of what manhood is like.
Boys copy whatever models are available to them. . . .

You are providing a good example of what a man

should be like. What you do and what you are

may be worth a thousand lectures and sermons.

(JA 543) (Emphasis added.) The Handbook further stated:
“What you are speaks louder than what you say.” (Id.)
(Emphasis added.) The Scoutmaster Handbook also
advises Scout leaders: “When you're on a Scout campout,
remember that boys will look up to you as a role model —
someone they want to respect and copy.” (R.2685) (emphasis
added). “Boys learn from the example set by their adult
leaders.” (JA 244) (emphasis added).

Recognizing the power of example on young Scouts,
Dale himself admitted that it was his responsibility “to
set an example of living by the Scout oath and law... .”
(R.3333) He also admitted that, in order to effectively
instill Scouting values in youth, it is important for a Scout
leader “never to do or say anything inconsistent with the
values embodied in the Scout Oath or the Scout Law.” (JA
120) (emphasis added).

Evidence in the record indicated the drastic effect
that admission of known or avowed homosexuals would

14

have on the communicative aspects of role modeling and
on young Scouts’ understanding of what it means to be
morally straight and clean. (JA 447-449) Professor Slav-
ings described the various mechanisms by which adult
leaders’ role modeling contributes to value transmission
and showed how each method would be weakened and
disrupted if someone like Dale were placed in the posi-
tion of adult leader. (Id.) These facts show that young
Scouts understand the messages® of Scouting’s role
models.

Since the record below shows that Boy Scouts’ role
modeling is clearly expressive in character, the second
prong of Texas v. Johnson requires a determination
“whether the State’s regulation is related to the suppres-
sion of free expression.” 491 U.S. at 403. If the state’s
interest is related to suppression of ideas, then strict
scrutiny is the standard of review. United States v. O’Brien,
391 U.S. 367, 377 (1968). Even a regulation which is
intended to vindicate a compelling state interest must be
shown to be “unrelated to the suppression of free expres-
sion” and “the incidental restriction on alleged First
Amendment freedoms [must be] no greater than is essen-
tial to the furtherance of that interest.” Id.

§ Evidence of the fact that Boy Scouts’ role modeling sends
a message that is understood by those receiving it is virtually
admitted in writings posted on the website of Dale’s own legal
representative, Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund
(“Lambda”). In an article entitled “Ford Foundation Adds to
Support for Gay Youth,” dated October 1, 1999, Lambda’s
Executive Director, Kevin Cathcart, states with specific
reference to this case: “The outrage of the Boy Scout policy is not
just that it bars openly gay people from scouting, but also that it
sends a message to all youth. . . . [Mjany young people absorb that
message. .. . [W]Je must keep fighting to stop these messages.
That is Lambda’s job.” See http:/ /www.lambdalegal.org/cgi-
bin/pages/documents/record?record=492 (emphasis added).

15

The NJSC’s ruling results in the suppression of
expression because Dale’s forced admission to Boy Scouts
would alter both the form and content of Boy Scouts’
expressive role modeling. In Riley v. National Federation of
the Blind of North Carolina, Inc., 487 U.S. 781 (1988), this
Court stated that “[mJjandating speech that a speaker
would not otherwise make necessarily alters the content of
the speech.” 487 U.S. at 795 (emphasis added). Instead,
“(t]he First Amendment mandates that we presume that
speakers, not the government, know best both what they
want to say and how to say it. . . . To this end, the
government, even with the purest of motives, may not
substitute its judgment as to how best to speak. . . .” Id. at
790-791 (emphasis added). Moreover, “[gjovernmental
restraint on [speech] need not fall into familiar or tradi-
tional patterns to be subject to constitutional limitations
on governmental powers.” Miami Herald Publishing Co. v.
Tornillo, 418 U.S. 241, 256 (1974).

In Texas v. Johnson, this Court, while recognizing the
special place of the flag in our tradition and history,
expressly declined to create an exception under the First
Amendment that would allow the government to restrict
expressive conduct to orthodox viewpoints. 491 U.S. at
418. The Court also suggested that “other concepts vir-
tually sacred to our Nation as a whole,” such as the
state’s interest in preventing discrimination, may be
questioned “in the marketplace of ideas” and cannot be
used to override the supremacy of the First Amendment.
Id.

The present case raises serious issues of state-manda-
ted censorship precisely because of the controversial
nature of Boy Scouts’ definition of what is “morally
straight.” “If there is a bedrock principle underlying the
First Amendment, it is that the government may not
prohibit the expression of an idea simply because society

16

finds the idea itself offensive or disagreeable.” Id. at 414.
“[T)hat the government may not prohibit expression sim-
ply because it disagrees with its message, is not dependent
on the particular mode in which one chooses to express an
idea.” Id. at 416 (emphasis added). Accordingly, the gov-
ernment may not “ensure that a symbol be used to
express only one view of that symbol or its referents.” Id.
at 417.

The role of Scoutmaster is clearly symbolic in large
measure. Hence, to deny the symbolic nature of Boy
Scouts’ role modeling arguably limits the number of mes-
sages that can be conveyed through Scoutmaster role
modeling and amounts to a limitation on speech. “To
conclude that the government may permit designated
symbols to be used to communicate only a limited set of
messages would be to enter territory having no discern-
ible or defensible boundaries.” Id.

Boy Scouts clearly seek to control the messages they
send to youth and the public through their unique
emphasis on role modeling. Choosing a role model in
such a context is just as vital to Boy Scouts’ expressive
purposes as choosing their speakers or their speech at a
Court of Honor. Thus, when the state seeks, as in this
case, to dictate who may occupy role modeling positions,
there is a great danger that it may be substantially alter-
ing both the form and the content of such expression.

It is precisely in the area of governmental regulation
of expressive conduct through public accommodation
statutes that the danger of ideological constraint is high,
especially if the nexus between the expressive nature of
the activity and the interest being regulated is not well
understood. Since Boy Scouts seek to teach their mes-
sages and values by quiet role modeling and not by bois-
terous debate, there is a great danger that outsiders
(including the state) may interpret such'a position as no

17

position at all, as the NJSC has done in this case. How-
ever, this does not mean that such quiet advocacy is not
worthy of protection under the First Amendment.

In related contexts involving similar expressive asso-
ciations, role modeling has already been recognized as a
defense to application of state and federal antidiscrimina-
tion laws where private youth clubs have terminated
adult employees who seek to model alternative sexual
lifestyles. See, e.g., Chambers v. Omaha Girls Club, Inc., 834
F.2d 697, 701-702 (CA8 1987) (“to permit single pregnant
staff members to work with the girls would convey the
impression that the Girls Club condoned pregnancy for
the girls in the age group it serves”); Harvey v. YWCA, 533
F.Supp. 949, 952 (W.D.N.C. 1982) (rejecting a pregnancy
discrimination claim of employee who was fired because
she wished to offer herself as role model of the “alterna-
tive lifestyle” of unwed pregnancy to young women,
which was “contrary to the [YWCA’s] purpose”). Cf.
Fricke v. Lynch, 491 F.Supp. 381 (D.R.I. 1980) (holding that
role modeling example by gay male who merely attended
high school prom with male date was “political state-
ment” which constituted “protected speech”).

The danger of state-mandated orthodoxy is especially
high in this case because there remains a strong likeli-
hood that requiring admission of openly gay Scoutmas-
ters will confuse both the Scouts and the community as to
what message Boy Scouts are really sending. For exam-
ple, even if openly gay persons promised to teach only
Boy Scouts’ viewpoint on sexual morality, their contradic-
tory example could lead to a logical conclusion in the minds
of young Scouts and other observers of “do as I say, not as I
do.” Such a message would completely undermine the
pedagogical value of role modeling as well as destroy the
moral teaching against homosexual conduct. Therefore,
the state’s attempt to dictate appropriate role models in

18

this case is little different than, for instance, a state regu-
lation requiring non-celibates to be admitted as Catholic
priests.

Based on the foregoing, there is a great likelihood
that the NJSC’s ruling, if left intact, will be disruptive of
core First Amendment expression.

Ill. THE NJSC’S JUDGMENT MUST BE REVERSED
BECAUSE IT ASSUMES THAT THE RIGHT OF
EXPRESSIVE ASSOCIATION ONLY APPLIES TO
VIEWPOINTS WHICH ARE SHARED UNIVER-
SALLY BY THE ASSOCIATION’S MEMBERS
AND IT FAILS TO RECOGNIZE THAT THE
RIGHT OF SPEAKER’S AUTONOMY IS NOT
LIMITED TO CONSISTENT, DISTINCT OR
ARTICULATE MESSAGES

The NJSC’s decision below also demands review
because it denigrates the principle established in Hurley
that the right of speaker’s autonomy is not limited to
consistent, distinct or articulate messages. The NJSC
appears to have mistakenly assumed that members of
Boy Scouts must universally have as a “shared goal” the
“view that homosexuality is immoral” in order for that
viewpoint to achieve any constitutional protection. Dale,
supra, 160 N.J. at 613. The NJSC concluded that “Boy
Scouts’ religious sponsors differ in their views about
homosexuality” and, therefore, “it appears that no single
view on this subject functions as a unifying associational goal
of the organization.” Id. at 615 (emphasis added). The
NJSC’s limited view of the rights of speech and expres-
sive association in this regard were clearly rejected in
Hurley.

Notwithstanding the fact that the Hurley parade had
“multifarious” and “conflicting” voices, this Court ruled
that it was, nevertheless, still an expressive association
entitled to First Amendment protection. Hurley, 515 U.S.

te ee eee 2

19

at 562, 569. Unlike Boy Scorits, the parade organizers
“had no written criteria and employed no particular pro-
cedures for admission, voted on new applications in
batches, had occasionally admitted groups who simply
showed up at the parade without having submitted an
application, and did ‘not generally inquire into the speci-
fic messages or views of each applicant.” Id. at 562
(citations omitted). These facts did not diminish their
First Amendment right to exclude from the parade indi-
viduals bearing an undesirable message. Since the record
in this case discloses that Boy Scouts are much more
selective and have a clearer sense of expressive purposes,
the protection from government interference should be
even greater here.

Furthermore, there are important policy reasons why
the right of expressive association should not be limited
to viewpoints in which the members of an association
universally agree. As a practical matter, such a limitation
would so limit the right of expressive association as to
make it meaningless to any large organization. There are
many large private groups in this country which lack
“genuine selectivity” and contain many members whose
“messages” contradict each other.? For example, only two

9 For example, the American Bible Society, American
Mizrachi Women, Inc., Baptist World Alliance, Catholic Relief
Services, Christian Records Services, Inc., Ecumenical
Association For Housing, Episcopal Community Services, Girl
Scouts of the U.S.A., Graduate Theological Union, Jewish
Community Centers Association of North America, The
Jerusalem Fund of Aish HaTorah, Jewish Vocational and Career
Counseling Service, Lutheran World Relief, Inc., Masonic
Lodges, The Salvation Army, The Society For The Propagation
Of The Faith, Union of American Hebrew Congregations, Union
Rescue Mission, and Young Women’s Christian Association. See
The Guide to Gifts and Bequests, 1995-1997: A Directory of
Philanthropically Supported Institutions (1995) at 23-239.

20

generations ago, the Democratic Party had some mem-
bers who wanted to enact extensive civil rights legislation
(such as Senators Hubert Humphrey and Paul Douglas)
and other members who believed with equal fervor in
segregation (such as Senator Richard Russell). The Demo-
cratic Party also did not have (and still does not have) a
consistent way of selecting its members. Merely because
the Democratic Party included members who believed in
segregation as well as those who wanted extensive civil
rights laws enacted does not mean that the First Amend-
ment right of expressive association does not apply to the
Democratic Party and its chosen platform. This Court in
Hurley clearly rejected the view limiting expressive asso-
ciation rights to small homogeneous groups with narrow
viewpoints or rigid rules of selection. Thus, the NJSC’s
decision below directly conflicts with this Court’s opinion
in Hurley regarding the applicability of expressive asso-
ciation rights to large and diverse private associations.

IV. THIS COURT SHOULD RESIST THE TEMPTA-
TION TO RESTRICT RIGHTS OF SPEECH OR
EXPRESSIVE ASSOCIATION IN THIS CASE
BECAUSE SUCH RESTRICTIONS WILL ULTI-
MATELY WEAKEN THE RIGHT OF ALL PER-
SONS TO SPEAK OR ASSOCIATE FOR
EXPRESSIVE PURPOSES, ESPECIALLY THE
RIGHTS OF GAY AND LESBIAN GROUPS AND
INDIVIDUALS |

This amicus respectfully submits that this Court
should resist efforts from either side of the political spec-
trum to compel ideological orthodoxy, especially when it
is directed against expressive associations. Far from vin-
dicating the rights of homosexuals, a ruling which under-
mines the concept of expressive activity and association
in this case may lay the groundwork for denial of First

21

Amendment rights of gays and lesbians in other cases
where such a doctrine works in their favor.

For example, there is a strong argument to be made
for the contention that the First Amendment has long
been the strong ally of gays and lesbians. William B.
Rubenstein, the director of the ACLU’s Lesbian and Gay
Rights Project, has written:

“ ...([I]}n the immediate aftermath of Stone-
wall, a series of First Amendment cases challenged
government restrictions on lesbian and gay orga-
nizations. For example, there is a whole line of
cases that traces the formation of lesbian and
gay student groups on college campuses and
these groups’ fights for university recognition.
Without exception, the final decisions in each of
these cases vindicated the rights of the lesbian
and gay litigants... .

“These cases are mirrored by similar cases
outside the university that also uphold the asso-
ciation of lesbians and gay men on First Amend-
ment grounds and ranged from First Amendment
protections for gay bars to the protection of a
gay high school student to bring a male date to
his high school prom. Similarly, the First Amend-
ment has been used to prohibit governmental
publications from denying the existence of les-
bian and gay groups and events.

“This is not to say that the First Amendment
has always worked perfectly for lesbians and
gay men. There are a number of serious internal
and external limitations on its applicability.
First, the First Amendment is triggered only where
‘state action’ exists, although anti-gay silencing is
not so limited. Instances of private censorship — an
encyclopedia’s failure to include an entry on gay
life, for example — are not actionable . . .

22

“ ... [T]he First Amendment has been the only
consistent friend of lesbian and gay rights litigators
since Stonewall. With rare exceptions, when a
case is properly framed as a First Amendment
case, lesbian and gay plaintiffs prevail. . . . The
First Amendment is premised upon an ideal -
currently absent from Fourteenth Amendment
jurisprudence — that the judiciary should protect
those ideas it finds deplorable. It finds ours
deplorable, but has, in a series of important
cases, protected us nonetheless.”

William B. Rubenstein, Since When Is the Fourteenth
Amendment Our Route to Equality? Some Reflections on the
Construction of the ‘Hate-Speech’ Debate from a Lesbian/Gay
Perspective in Speaking of Race, Speaking of Sex: Hate Speech,
Civil Rights, and Civil Liberties 286-88 (1994) (emphasis
added) (footnotes omitted).

Since the First Amendment has been the faithful ally
of gays and lesbians, there exists a great danger in cutting
back its protections, even if it is being used as a defense
against a gay plaintiff. Mr. Rubenstein articulately
describes this danger:

“I am cautious, first, because allowing limitations
on free speech might well limit our ability to speak
freely, and in this instance, therefore, particularly
limit our ability to come out, to undertake the very
act of self-identification central to overcoming les-
bian/gay oppression. Second, I am also cautious
because I worry that allowing limitations on the
primary instrument of gay equality may well
limit the equality itself.

“In sum, my experience litigating on behalf of
lesbians and gay men makes me reluctant to be a
party to placing limitations on the First Amendment
- and this is my main point. I hesitate to be a

23

party to limitations on the First Amend-

ment . . . because the First Amendment is our

instrument, at present our strongest tool, of consti-
tutional equality. It's what we've got and I believe

we should guard it carefully.” Id. at pp. 291-92

(emphasis added) (footnote omitted).

Interestingly, in a footnote, Mr. Rubenstein concedes
the fact that the Boy Scouts are exercising First Amendment
rights when they exclude gays from troop leadership
positions. Id. at 287, 297 n.26. He appears not to be
troubled by such a concession because of his overall
theme that strengthening First Amendment rights in gen-
eral will ultimately assist gay and lesbian rights.

This is partly because a ruling in favor of the Boy
Scouts will not lead to a general undermining of legal
protections for gays and lesbians. Hotels, restaurants, and
other commercial establishments rarely, if ever, exist for
an expressive purpose. Unlike the Boy Scouts, the pur-
pose of most commercial establishments is to make a
profit, not a moral point. It simply strains credibility to
suggest that most, or even many, businesses exist to teach
their customers, clients, or membership the virtues of
traditional fatherhood and family values. Therefore, their
conduct can be constitutionally regulated in conformity
with the civil rights laws. Furthermore, even if some
expressive businesses do exist, the small limitation on
antidiscrimination laws made necessary to guard First
Amendment expression will only advance the civil liber-
ties of all citizens.

By contrast, a ruling against the Boy Scouts in this
case would seriously weaken gay and lesbian rights in
other cases. For example, the case of Fricke v. Lynch, 491
F.Supp. 381 (D.R.I. 1980), is a compelling example of how
cutting back on the right of expressive role modeling in
this case may unwittingly reduce gays’ and lesbians’ First
Amendment rights in other cases. In Fricke, the federal

24

district court ruled that a gay teenager was engaging in
protected expressive activity when he attended his public
high school prom with a male date. The unwillingness of
the Court in this case to recognize the expressive nature
of the Boy Scouts’ role modeling may thus, ironically,
strengthen arguments that gays and lesbians who attend
proms with same-sex partners are likewise not engaging
in protected expressive activity.

Mandating the acceptance of openly gay Scoutmas-
ters in this case might also adversely affect the ability of
activist gay organizations to refuse the membership
applications of “born again” Christian fundamentalists
who are opposed to the founding purposes of the gay
club and who wish to use their membership to “reform”
the gay club from within. Allowing such intrusions actu-
ally implements a false notion of societal “equality” by
attempting to internally “diversify” expressive associa-
tions in a way which dilutes or alters both the content
and impact of the association’s message.

The affected First Amendment rights would not nec-
essarily stop at prom dates and associational rights. In
Gay Students Organization of the University of New Hamp-
shire v. Bonner, 509 F.2d 652 (CA1 1974), the issue was
whether a state university could bar a gay student organi-
zation from sponsoring “social events,” such as dances
and parties. The court ruled in favor of the homosexual
student association on First Amendment grounds: “Con-
sidering the important role that social events can play in
individuals’ efforts to associate to further their common
beliefs, the prohibition of all social events must be taken
to be a substantial abridgement of associational rights,
even if assumed to be an indirect one.” Id. at 659-60. The
court emphasized the importance of the exchange of
ideas occurring “in an informal atmosphere.” Id. at 660.
Thus, in Bonner, an expansive view of First Amendment

25

“associational rights” which includes “conduct” and
“activities” such as parties and dances resulted in more,
not less, protection of a gay association from capricious
state regulations.

One legal commentator eloquently described the
importance to the gay rights movement of not limiting
what is defined as expression:

“Homosexual conduct, from public hand-holding

and kissing by same-sex couples to private sex-

ual conduct, fosters the diverse polity that the First

Amendment envisions. Public expression of same-

sex intimacy is as important a critique of gender

assumptions and gender roles in American soci-

ety as any published treatise. It is therefore not

only individually expressive, but also socially

valuable under the robust pluralism endorsed in

Sullivan. The fact that gestures like kissing and

hand-holding are symbolic of ideas and attitudes

rather than literal statements of position in a

debate does not diminish their importance. The

public debate has never been limited to books,
articles, letters to the editor, speeches, and signs;

it has always included symbolic gestures such as

dancing, visual art, advertising imagery, public

demonstrations, clothing, and physical con-

duct.” (William David Cole & William N.

Eskridge, From Hand-Holding to Sodomy: First

Amendment Protection of Homosexual (Expressive)

Conduct, 29 Harv. C.R.-C.L. L.Rev. 319, 328-29

(1993) (emphasis added).)

If the public debate has always included such expres-
sive conduct as dancing, imagery, and physical conduct,
then there is no reason to exclude expressive role model-
ing from the categories of protected expression. However,
if the Court takes the rigid position advocated by Dale
that role modeling is mere conduct that may be regulated
so long as no “oral expression” or “advocacy” is

26

involved, then gay plaintiffs who seek to rely on the First |

Amendment based primarily on their expressive behavior
will encounter an extremely difficult legal battle and may
find their own expressive activities being restricted
unless such constitutional rights are clearly protected.
Thus, if Dale prevails in this case, it may prove to be a
Pyrrhic victory indeed for homosexuals everywhere and
may actually blunt their best weapon in the fight for civil
rights — the First Amendment.

V. THIS COURT SHOULD ENSURE THAT THE
SCOPE OF EXPRESSIVE ASSOCIATION RIGHTS
ARE NOT INTERPRETED TOO NARROWLY SO
THAT STATE AND LOCAL LAWMAKERS ARE
NOT DISCOURAGED FROM PASSING NEEDED
LEGISLATION TO PROTECT MINORITIES SUCH
AS GAYS AND LESBIANS

Several recent commentators have criticized this
Court’s opinion in Roberts v. United States Jaycees, 468 U.S.
609 (1984) as unduly restrictive of the right of expressive
association. See, e.g., Comment, Civil Rights — Public
Accommodation Statutes - New Jersey Supreme Court Holds
That Boy Scouts May Not Deny Membership To Homosexuals
- Dale v. Boy Scouts of America, 734 A.2d 1196 (N.J. 1999),
Petition for Cert. Filed, 68 U.S.L.W. 1083 (U.S. Oct. 25, 1999)
(No. 99-699), 113 Harv. L.Rev. 621 (1999) (“the Supreme
Court should revisit Roberts to develop a broader and
more accurate association test”); David E. Bernstein, Sex
Discrimination Laws Versus Civil Liberties, 1999 Univ. Chi.
Legal Forum 133, 166 (“ever since Roberts was decided,
litigants and courts have cited it for the proposition that
antidiscrimination laws, no matter how trivial, should
trump federal constitutional rights”).

Some suggested resolutions include creating a “com-
merciality test” which would recognize that “businesses
and facilities have attenuated intimate and expressive

27

interests because they promote professional, not personal,
relationships and do not ordinarily advocate social poli-
cies.” (Comment, supra, 113 Harv. L. Rev. at 625.) While
the commerciality test may come closer to protecting the
broad spectrum of cultural interests that are not ade-
quately protected under the Roberts test, it may still be
inadequate because the line between commercial associa-
tions and ideological organizations is not always easily
drawn (e.g., kosher food processing companies). The com-
merciality test, by itself, is suspect because it appears to
merely constitutionalize public accommodations analysis.

Even if this Court decides not to revisit the Roberts
test, the present case is still quite distinguishable from the
facts in Roberts. A close reading of this Court’s opinion in
Roberts and in Board of Directors of Rotary International v.
Rotary Club of Duarte, 481 U.S. 537 (1987), shows that
requiring full membership privileges for women in those
cases did not significantly affect the ideological or philo-
sophical character of the Rotary Club or the Jaycees. In
Rotary Club, this Court specifically found that the Rotary
Club- allowed women to attend their meetings and to
participate in many of their activities. 481 U.S. at 549 n.8.
In Roberts, the court found that the Jaycees allowed
women to be “associate members.” 468 U.S. at 613.

By allowing women to openly participate in their
meetings or to occupy second class membership status,
the Rotary Club and the Jaycees showed that they did not
consider women, as a group, to be “individuals with
ideologies or philosophies different from those of its exis-
ting members.” Id. at 627. Requiring these clubs to allow
women full participation or membership status equal to
men therefore did not significantly interfere with or
impede the right of expressive association because these
clubs already allowed women to participate in a significant
way and because symbolic inclusion of women, as a group,

28

did not significantly alter the form or content of the expressive
interests of these clubs.'°

By contrast, the basis for refusing Dale’s application
in this case is clearly ideological. The Boy Scouts’ selec-
tion criteria is restrictive and ideologically-oriented. All
members, both youth and adult leaders, must outwardly
subscribe to the Scout Oath and Scout Law, which require
the members to be “morally straight” and “clean,” a
requirement which the record shows has been consis-
tently interpreted by the Boy Scouts for over 80 years as
meaning that a scout leader must not outwardly practice
or advocate homosexuality. (JA 457-459.)

Unlike the merely second-class treatment of women
participants in the Rotary Club and Jaycees cases, above,
the Boy Scouts do not in any way encourage openly
homosexual persons to participate in their meetings and
functions. Thus, openly gay persons are not merely made
second-class members by Scouting. Such a total exclusion
is consistent with an ideological exclusion.

Furthermore, the trial court concluded that “[t]}he
consequences of restoring Dale to a position of adult
leadership would be devastating to the essential nature of
scouting.” (223a.) The record in this case shows that
introduction of homosexual role models would likely
impact Scouting’s ideological foundations and support,
leading to possible withdrawal of sponsorship by at least
some religious organizations (see, e.g., JA 712-713), unlike

10 There is no indication in either the Roberts or the Rotary
Club opinions that the Jaycees or the Rotary Club were engaging
in expressive role modeling or that their rules reserving full
membership privileges only to males were intended to
communicate a message. Thus, the male-only aspects of both these
clubs would fail the “intent to convey a particularized message”
prong required to show expressive activity, as laid down in
Texas v. Johnson, supra, 491 U.S. 397, 404.

29

the mere promotion of women to full membership status
in Rotary Club and Roberts, which had no such impact.

The NJSC’s judgment in this case goes far beyond the
original intent of most public accommodations laws
which merely require equal access to public accommoda-
tions when arbitrary exclusion of minorities is unrelated
to constitutionally-protected expression. The ruling
below is in direct contradiction to a long constitutional
tradition which seeks to preserve “political and cultural
diversity” by strengthening, not weakening, the exclu-
sionary rights of expressive associations. See Roberts,
supra, 468 U.S. at 622 (citing numerous cases).

Accordingly, a narrow interpretation of expressive
association rights in this case may actually discourage
state legislators, who might be inclined otherwise, from
expanding public accommodations protections for fear of
negatively impacting social and cultural associations with
expressive interests. Therefore, by interpreting expressive
association rights expansively in this case, the Court will
actually be fostering cultural diversity and encouraging
the expansion of public accommodations protections for
minority groups such as gays and lesbians.

S

CONCLUSION

This amicus respectfully submits that this Court
should overturn efforts from any part of the political
spectrum to compel ideological orthodoxy, especially
when it is directed against expressive associations. Far
from vindicating the rights of homosexuals, a ruling
which undermines the right of expressive association in
this case may substantially chill the First Amendment
rights of all citizens, including those of homosexuals, and
“will permit the government to acquire ever more power
for itself at the expense of individual autonomy and civil

30

society.” David E. Bernstein, supra, 1999 Univ. Chi. Legal
Forum at 196.

Respectfully submitted,

Pau A. HorrMan

Counsel of Record
Dracup & PATTERSON
505 N. Tustin Avenue, Suite 282
Santa Ana, California 92705
(714) 542-3500

Manus S. KLAUSNER

Patrick J. MANSHARDT

One Bunker Hill Building
601 W. 5th Street, 8th Floor
Los Angeles, California 90071

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
The Individual Rights Foundation

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0345%3A30. Public record. Not legal advice.
