# Amicus Curiae Brief — Apprendi v. New Jersey

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0338%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 530 U.S. 466

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S,
w,
No. 99-0478
In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

CHARLES APPRENDI, JR..,
Petitioner,

Vv.

THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of New Jersey

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE RUTHERFORD
INSTITUTE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

John W. Whitehead

Steven H. Aden

THE RUTHERFORD INSTITUTE
1445 East Rio Road
Charlottesville, Virginia
22901

(804) 978-3888

soomaey 13, 2000

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

to notice by

44-3e, unconstitutionally provides
increasing the

law, N.J.S.A. 2C
and trial by jury.

Whether this Court should decline the invitation of the
New Jersey Supreme Court to decide whether New Jersey’s
al

crime
for an extended term of

possible penalty by ten years, based on proof by a
preponderance of the evidence, rather than proof beyond a
reasonable doubt, and denies the defendant ri

hate

OF RT PRE Fy LEE PO, ~

¥

-iii-
TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW.....0.........cccc00s ii
CR ee FT COIS 6 Caer ccenccensesccssssnsnsnstasssessennnesssnnsneees iv
l. STATEMENT OF AMICUS CURIAE INTEREST AND
PU OUI ey CU tececacescsssssnsanesersszececnesenssssesnenemansssumentonanens 2
Il. SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT... ccccccccsesseeeseesneeneneees 3
Bae CEES ceccezessnessnpensncerenecsnenecenevecesnecensnnsnsusevemenipiett 3

1. The New Jersey Hate Crime Law, N.J.S.A. § 2C:44-3e,
Contravenes Federal Constitutional Due Process Under the
Fifth and Sixth Amendments by Permitting Courts to Effectively
Double Applicable Terms of Imprisonment Upon a Finding that
the Defendant “More Likely than Not” Possessed the Requisite
NN NUE cnncticnnsenscntennmnnnenitennnnerninmannninaned 4

2. The New Jersey Hate Crime Law, N.J.S.A. § 2C:44-3e,
Contravenes Federal Constitutional Due Process Under the
Fifth and Sixth Amendments by Depriving Defendants of the
Benefit of a Jury of Peers and Proof Beyond a Reasonable
Doubt of Criminal Intent that is Subject to the Severest Possible
Societal Stigma and Disapprobation........................ccseeeseeeeeee 9

Cee Gee rezscnensensnsescsmnnssepercicerenseussennstemnemenssssemnenatints 12

-iv-
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Case

Almendarez-Torres v. United States, 523 U.S. 224 (1998)

nnn dnedeedtadss ke cecbbnaesantuuiee 3, 6,9, 10, 11
Arkansas Educational Television Comm'n. v. Forbes, §23 U.S.
SP OEED ndvcee Cuvekeckedemtinnd iets 2
Davis v. United States, 160 U.S. 469 (1895)

ve nbochikwod ends be hbbee bus keen bbleds cate teanel 7
District of Columbia v. Clawans, 300 U.S. 617 (1937)
posecesbenceéebeds &bkub auee bee eobaae 10
Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145 (1968)

chegehéndneae dene odvunceanhse caeeeauilie toe 6, 10
Frazee v. Dept. of Employment Sec., 489 U.S. 829 (1989)
TTT eT Te ee ee PEt me. ee 2
Frontiero v. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677 (1973)
$Sedendecevetienaheberenwtebens edees cé ce Sis 10
Hamling v. United States, 418 U.S. 87 (1974)
peduucesatées bbb nae nebeeeuabl LaeLe’ bts ceuiuc a 6
Haupt v. United States, 330 U.S. 631 (1947)

906 ceneccesepddevnen waned ukecab seeds aecuas 11

Iilinois v. Wardlow, 119 S.Ct. 1573 (cert. granted), Sup. Ct.
No. 98-1036 (January 12, 2000)

-V-

In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970)

Peers eT ee TTT TTT Tes CTT TTT eee 5, 6, 8,9, 12
Jones v. United States, 526 U.S. 227, 119 S.Ct. 1215 (1999)
Senwndks baeeenChdeedheeneeeceedseset 3,7
Leary v. United States, 395 U.S. 6 (1969)
hehe chase eeet keee bees cvtdeccens 6
Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. | (1967)
(pica aewetdaces dungesoucseas 10
MeMillan v. Pennsylvania, 477 U.S. 79 (1986)
spadded wash beeen beetnenteckasngcoesendus 7,9, 10
Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. 684 (1975)
vivewh babs ae ebbeGe buthae Oneseadeds sees 5, 6, 7, 8,9
Patterson v. New York, 432 U.S. 197 (1977)
Send cbidede cobs ceeles tet anbhevedéecso scons 6, 7, 12
Pickett v. Brown, 462 U.S. 1 (1983)
10

EEUU cocdobecesvcucecceeesccestececcdeseeses 10

Slack v. McDaniel, 119 $.Ct. 1025 (cert. granted), Sup.Ct. No.
98-6322 (October Term 1998)

*_*-.
eeeeseseeeeeeseeenvweeese7eeeseseeseee5neeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

-Vi-

Spencer v. Texas, 385 U.S. 554 (1967)

606s odnddede babes vhs cbse neteasintsaanetieesi 11
St. Louis S.W.R. Co. v. Arkansas, 235 U.S. 350 (1914)

in dedbceneseseetdnstutenatieteetescceuenerel 6
Wisconsin v. Mitchell, 508 U.S. 476 (1993)

Sandee 6000060040000604 0s 6066s eaeeticnscdi 4,5, 11
Wyoming v. Houghton, 526 U.S. 295 (1999)

Vanetveneesed dedsdhabecdénnn obese enhsssanels 2
Rules & Statute

New Jersey Hate Crime Law, N.J.S.A. § 2C:44-3e

90 gbsdebs ae odewandsbauneese uk ddeueebecawn 3,4, 5,9
Rule 403 of the Federal Rules of Evidence

nine din th de bee wes ake aed 0 ane cedtewtecsae ll
Rule 404 (b) of the Federal Rules of Evidence
enbdemedecthecdeeddthere déstatreseebdnseda 11

Other Sources

Anti-Defamation League, HATE CRIME STATUTES: A 1991
SOR GE PO TIOED 6 ccc cccscccveneesecestin 9

Crimes Motivated by Hatred: The Constitutionality and Impact
of Hate Crime Legislation in the United States, | Syracuse J.
GEO Ge Se ES US oc bc dubuccdnanudenevess +

Andrew E. Taslitz, Condemning the Racist Personality: Why
the Critics of Hate Crimes Legislation are Wrong, 40 Boston

-vil-
Coll. Law Rev. 739 (May 1999) .......-.05eeeeeenes 4

“Are Hate Crime Laws Necessary?”, New York L.J.,
November 1, 1999, p.1 .. 0.0... cece eee eee eee eeee A

What if Wisconsin v. Mitchell Had Involved Martin Luther
King, Jr.? The Constitutional Flaws of Hate Crime
Enhancement Statutes, 65 Geo.Wash.Law Rev. 1014 (1997)

No. 99-0478

a
In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

CHARLES APPRENDI, JR..,
Petitioner,

Vv.

THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of New Jersey

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE RUTHERFORD
INSTITUTE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

TO THE HONORABLE CHIEF JUSTICE AND
ASSOCIATE JUSTICES OF THE SUPREME COURT OF
THE UNITED STATES:

-™

Il. STATEMENT OF AMICUS CURIAE
INTEREST AND INTRODUCTION'

The Rutherford Institute is an international, non-profit civil
liberties organization with offices in Charlottesville, Virginia and
internationally. The Institute, founded in 1982 by its President,
John W. Whitehead, educates and litigates on behalf of
constitutional and civil liberties. Attorneys affiliated with the
Institute have filed petitions for writ of certiorari in the United
States Supreme Court in more than two dozen cases, and
certiorari has been accepted in two seminal First Amendment
cases, Frazee v. Dept. of Employment Sec., 489 U.S. 829
(1989) and Arkansas Educational Television Comm'n. v.
Forbes, 523 U.S. 666 (1998). Institute attorneys have filed
over three dozen amicus curiae briefs in the United States
Supreme Court, including recent criminal justice cases Wyoming
v. Houghton, 526 U.S. 295 (1999), Slack v. McDaniel, 119
S.Ct. 1025 (cert. granted), Sup.Ct. No. 98-6322 (October
Term 1998), and //linois v. Wardlow, 119 S.Ct. 1573 (cert.
granted), Sup. Ct. No. 98-1036 (January 12, 2000), as well as
a multitude of amicus curiae briets in the federal and state
courts of appeals. Institute attorneys currently handle several
hundred cases nationally, including numerous fourth
Amendment cases. The Institute has published educational
materials and taught continuing legal education classes in this
area as well.

| Amicus curiae The Rutherford Institute files this brief with the consent
of counsel for both parties. Counsel for The Rutherford Institute authored
this brief in its entirety. No person or entity, other than the Institute, is
supporters, or is counsel, made a monetary contribution to the preparation
or submission of this brief.

fi.
Il. SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The New Jersey Hate Crime Law, N.J.S.A. § 2C:44-3e,
fails to comport with federal due process requirements pursuant
to the Fifth and Sixth Amendments. The statute allows the
State’s criminal courts to substantially enhance, and in many
cases to double, the applicable term of imprisonment imposed
upon a defendant upon a finding by a preponderance of the
evidence that the defendant possessed the requisite mens rea.
Further, the statute deprives defendants of the basic due process
safeguards of a jury of their peers and proof of the
discriminatory motive beyond a reasonable doubt, despite that
the criminal intent the statute seeks to redress is (quite
appropriately) the subject of the severest societal stigma and
disapprobation. Accordingly, the Supreme Court of New Jersey
should be reversed, and the case remanded for a retrial
consistent with the Petitioner’s constitutional protections.

il. ARGUMENT

Petitioner's appeal invites the Court to address
constitutional due process issues left unresoived in the Court’s
recent decisions in Almendarez-Torres v. United States, 523
U.S. 224 (1998), and Jones v. United States, 526 U.S. 227
(1999). Unlike the questions addressed in A/mendarez-Torres
and Jones, which related to statutory construction of federal
penal statutes, Petitioner’s case involves a state criminal statute
that has been interpreted by the highest court of that state and
found to be consistent with the mandates of federal
constitutional due process. Thus, the Court is confronted with
a clear and urgent constitutional issue, presented in the equally
important context of increasing state criminalization of “hate
crimes”: Whether a penal statute that permits a court to
effectively double the maximum penalty upon conviction of a

-4-

crime upon proof by a preponderance of the evidence that the
defendant possessed discriminatory intent, without benefit of
notice in the charging instrument or trial by jury, offends the
Fifth and Sixth Amendments of the United States Constitution.
Amicus The Rutherford Institute respectfully submits that in the
particular context of state “hate crime” legislation, which
depends upon a demonstration of a discriminatory motive on the
part of the defendant to establish the requisite mens rea for the
penalty enhancement, due process mandates that such a
determination be made by a jury of the defendant’s peers,
subject to the “reasonable doubt” standard of proof.’

1. The New Jersey Hate Crime Law, N.J.S.A. §
2C:44-3e, Contravenes Federal Constitutional

> The Court’s amicus notes that the question presented in this case
does not address the constitutionality of state “hate crime” statutes
under the Fifth and Sixth Amendments per se. While the Court
declined to find such statutes unconstitutional under the First
Amendment to the United States Constitution in Wisconsin v.
Mitchell, 508 U.S. 476 (1993), that decision did not address prima
facie challenges to hate crimes statutes arising under the due process
provisions of the Constitution. The position of the Court’s amicus
expressed herein should not be construed to express an opinion on this
issue, which it believes remains an open question. Cf Crimes
Motivated by Hatred: The Constitutionality and Impact of Hate
Crime Legislation in the United States, | Syracuse J. of Leg. & Pol.
29 (1995);Andrew E. Taslitz, Condemning the Racist Personality:
Why the Critics of Hate Crimes Legislation are Wrong, 40 Boston
Coll. Law Rev. 739 (May 1999); “Are Hate Crime Laws Necessary?”
New York L.J., November 1, 1999, p.1; What if Wisconsin v.
Mitchell Had Involved Martin Luther King, Jr.? The Constitutional
Flaws of Hate Crime Enhancement Statutes, 65 Geo.Wash.Law Rev.
1014 (1997).

Se i ae ae
= Ge viel

dis

Due Process Under the Fifth and Sixth
Amendments by Permitting Courts to
Effectively Double Applicable Terms of
Imprisonment Upon a Finding that the
Defendant “More Likely than Not” Possessed
the Requisite Discriminatory Mens Rea.

The New Jersey Hate Crime Law at issue herein, N.J.S.A.
§ 2C:44-3, is similar in structure and intent to the hate crime
statute reviewed by the Supreme Court in Wisconsin v.
Mitchell, 508 U.S. 476 (1993). See id. at 508 U.S. at 482, n.4.
On its face, it is a mandatory penalty enhancement statute,
providing that a court “shall,” upon application of the
prosecutor, sentence a person who has been convicted of a
crime to an extended term of imprisonment if it finds by a
preponderance of the evidence that “[t]he defendant in
committing the crime acted with a purpose to intimidate an
individual or group of individuals because of race, color,
gender, handicap, religion, sexual orientation or ethnicity.”
N.J.S.A. § 2C:44-3e.

It is a virtual truism that “the primary responsibility for
fixing criminal penalties lies with the legislature.” Wisconsin v.
Mitchell, 508 U.S. at 486. On the other hand, the Court has
made it equally clear in /n re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970) and
subsequent cases that a legislature may not define criminal
statutory elements and penalty enhancements in its own absolute
discretion, and that Winship mandates inquiry into “substance
rather than ... formalism” in determining whether the statute
comports with due process. Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. 684,
699 (1975). “The rationale of [Winship] requires an analysis
that looks to the ‘operation and effect of the law as applied and
enforced by the State ... and to the interests of both the State
and the defendant as affected by the allocation of the burden of

-6-

proof,” the Court has cautioned. /d., quoting St. Louis S.W.R.
Co. v. Arkansas, 235 U.S. 350, 362 (1914). Consequently, the
Court’s task herein is to assess whether New Jersey has
“undermine|[d] ... the interests that | Winship] sought to protect”
by “redefin[ing] the elements that constitute different crimes,”
Mullaney, 421 U.S. at 698, in order to characterize as an
aggravating factor a mens rea requirement that is actually an
element of the crime subject to notice via complaint or
indictment, Patterson v. New York, 432 U.S. 197, 210 (1977),
and the right to a jury trial. Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S.
145, 149(1968); Almendarez-Torres, supra; Hamling v. United
States, 418 U.S. 87, 117 (1974).

Where the standard of the state’s proof is a “preponderance
of the evidence,” the defendant has essentially the same burden
of proof as the state does: whether it is “more likely than not,”
or in the case of the defendant’s burden, less likely than not,
that he possessed discriminatory intent. The determination that
the defendant committed a reprehensible “hate crime” is thus
almost equibly poised between establishing hate and absolving
the defendant of animus. The Supreme Court has found
sentencing schemes violative of due process where they impose
an undue burden upon a defendant to negate a state of mind to
avoid culpability. See, e.g., Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. 684
(state could not impose burden on murder defendant to establish
that he acted in the “heat of passion on sudden provocation” to
reduce homicide to manslaughter); Leary v. United States, 395
U.S. 6 (1969) (due process prohibited penal provision
authorizing jury to infer from defendant’s possession of
marijuana that he knew of the illegal importation).’ Further,

' Patterson v. New York is not contrary to this view.

Patterson upheld a state murder statute that required an accused
to raise an affirmative defense that he “acted under the influence

.%

“although intent is typically considered a fact peculiarly within
the knowledge of the defendant, this does not, as the Court has
long recognized, justify shifting the burden to him.” Mullaney,
421 U.S. at 702; cf Davis v. United Siates, 160 U.S. 469
(1895) (reversing murder conviction because trial judge
instructed jury is was their duty to convict if the evidence was
equally balanced regarding the sanity of the accused).
Particularly where, as here, the defendant’s failure to overcome
the equivocal quantum of proof required by the preponderance
standard subjects him to a substantially longer prison term, “due
process demands more exacting standards.” Mullaney, 421
U.S. at 702, n.31. Jones v. United States, supra, 526 U.S. at
__, 119 S.Ct. 1215, 1219 (“It is at best questionable whether
the specification of facts sufficient to increase a penalty range by
two-thirds, let alone from 15 years to life, was meant to carry
none of the process safeguards that elements of an offense bring
with them for a defendant’s benefit.”) The standard of proof

of extreme emotional disturbance for which there was a
reasonable explanation or excuse.” 432 U.S. at 198. The Court
merely refused to require as a matter of due process that the
prosecution negate all circumstances that may constitute
affirmative defenses, relying particularly on the fact that the
defendant generally has access to the evidence tending to
establish such defenses. 432 U.S. at 211. Thus, Patterson
turned on the difficulty of proving factors extrinsic to the
defendant’s state of mind, and does not stand for the general
proposition that a defendant may be required to prove his state
of mind to avoid liability. Cf McMillan v. Pennsylvania, 477
U.S. 79 (1986) (“visible possession of a firearm” not an element
of the crime charged; characterizing Patterson as rejecting the
claim that reasonable doubt standard required whenever a state
links the severity of punishment to “the presence or absence of
an identified fact” [emphasis added].)

-8-

mandated for pr of of an offense represents an attempt to
instruct the factfinder concerning the degree of confidence
society believes he or she should have in the correctness of
factual conclusions. Winship, 397 U.S. at 370 (Harlan, J.,
concurring). The longer the loss of liberty potentially imposed
on the defendant, and the higher the degree of stigmatization
resulting to the defendant from conviction, the clearer the
adjudication must be. Mullaney, 421 U.S. at 699-700; Winship,
397 U.S. at 363, 364 (“use of the reasonable doubt standard is
indispensable to command the respect and confidence of the
community in applications of the criminal law. It is critical that
the moral force of the criminal law not be diluted by a standard
of proof that leaves people in doubt whether innocent men are
being condemned.”)

The Court in Winship rejected the suggestion that there is
“only a tenuous difference” between the reasonable-doubt and
preponderance standards, finding that “the preponderance test
is susceptible to the misinterpretation that it calls on the trier of
fact merely to perform an abstract weighing of the evidence in
order to determine which side has produced the greater
quantum, without regard to its effect in convincing his mind of
the truth of the proposition asserted.” 397 U.S. at 367-68.
Likewise, in striking down Maine’s penalty statute in Mullaney,
the Court observed:

Under [the preponderance of the evidence] burden of proof
a defendant can be given a life sentence when the evidence
indicates that it is as likely as not that he deserves a
significantly lesser sentence. This is an intolerable result in
a society where, to paraphrase Mr. Justice Harlan, it is far
worse to sentence one guilty of manslaughter as a murderer
than to sentence a murderer for the lesser crime of
manslaughter.

-9.

421 U.S. at 703-04 (emphasis in original), citing Winship, 397
U.S. at 372 (concurring opinion). The Court’s amicus submits
that where a defendant is “as likely as not” to be branded with
the stigma of being the perpetrator of a hate crime and
subjected to a potentially doubled term of imprisonment, it is
“far worse” to risk sentencing him as such than to impose a
lesser, non-enhanced sentence for the substantive offense. Such
a criminal justice regime “systematically ... work{s] to the
disadvantage of a criminal defendants,” and consequently
offends due process. Almendarez-Torres, 523 U.S. at 244-45.

2. The New Jersey Hate Crime Law, N.J.S.A. §
2C:44-3e, Contravenes Federal Constitutional
Due Process Under the Fifth and Sixth
Amendments by Depriving Defendants of the
Benefit of a Jury of Peers and Proof Beyond a
Reasonable Doubt of Criminal Intent that is
Subject to the Severest Possible Societal Stigma
and Disapprobation.

Hate crime statutes are modern statutory creatures that are
not analogous to any aggravating factors recognized at common
law. See Anti-Defamation League, HATE CRIME STATUTES: A
1991 STATUS REPORT 2-5 (1991) (describing Anti-Defamation
League’s model hate crime statute and noting that over one-half
of state statutes based on model statute). While ordinarily the
Court will look to the extent to which a factor in criminal
prosecution “has historically been treated ‘in the Anglo-
American legal tradition’ as requiring proof beyond a reasonable
doubt,” Almendarez-Torres, 523 U.S. at 255, (Scalia, J.,
dissenting), quoting McMillan, 477 U.S. at 87-88, this analysis
is unavailable to the Court in the case of hate crimes legislation.
Nonetheless, the Court’s construction of hate crime sentencing
acts may be informed by its rich history of civil rights

-10-

jurisprudence, insofar as hate crime laws are an amalgam of
Fourteenth Amendment equal protection jurisprudence and the

criminal law. The fundamental principles this Court has derived

from the Fourteenth Amendment include heightened standards

of proof imposed to justify class-based legislative distinctions.

For example, in striking down Virginia’s miscegenation statute,

the Court declared that “the Equal Protection Clause demands

that racial classifications, especially suspect in criminal statutes,

be subjected to the ‘most rigid scrutiny.” Loving v. Virginia,

388 U.S. 1, 11 (1967) (emphasis supplied). See also Regents

of the University of California v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265 (1978);

Frontiero v. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677 (1973) (heightened
scrutiny required for gender-based statutory distinctions);

Pickett v. Brown, 462 U.S. 1 (1983) (heightened scrutiny

required for distinctions based on illegitimacy). Because “the
penalty authorized by the law of the locality may be taken ‘as a
gauge of its social and ethical judgments,” Duncan v.

Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145, 160 (1968), quoting District of
Columbia v. Clawans, 300 U.S. 617, 628 (1937), that societal
judgment should be subjected to the highest standard of
protection for an accused perpetrator of a hate crime, not only
to protect the innocent accused, but to preclude a “rush to
judgment” in circumstances which have the potential to inflame
community sensibilities.

Further, discriminatory animus is an issue that is bound up
in the actual commission of the offense, not a predicate
circumstance such as the recidivism aggravator reviewed in
Almendarez-Torres, supra, or similar “identified facts,” such as
the visible possession of firearm aggravator upheld in
McMillan, supra. The statute requires proof of discriminatory
animus as a substantial factor in the commission of the offense;
in other words, it mandates the establishment of a degree of
causation in fact. The result in many instances may be a retrial

of the circumstances of the offense to establish the defendant's
motivation, a practice the Court has found to implicate due
process concerns. See, e.g., Specht v. Patterson, 389 U.S. 605,
608 (1967) (defendant convicted for sex crime could not be
sentenced under a different statute dealing with sex offenders,
since sentencing statute “makes one conviction the basis for
commencing another proceeding under another Act ... That is
a new finding of fact that was not an ingredient of the offence
charged.”)

Nor does the concern for inflammation of the jury by proof
of discriminatory animus, expressed by the majority in the court
below, require placing the decision on the application of the
hate crime statute in the court’s hands. “Evidence of a
defendant’s previous declarations or statements is commonly
admitted in criminal trials subject to evidentiary rules dealing
with relevancy, reliability, and the like.” Wisconsin v. Mitchell,
508 U.S. at 489; Haupt v. United States, 330 U.S. 631 (1947).
Although Rule 404 (b) of the Federal Rules of Evidence allows
discretionary introduction of evidence of prior acts where
probative of, inter alia, motive and intent, the prophylactic
provisions of Rule 403 of the Federal Rules of Evidence serve
to exclude such evidence if it tends to unfairly prejudice the
jury. See Almendarez-Torres, 523 U.S. at 268-69 (Scalia, J.,
dissenting); Spencer v. Texas, 385 U.S. 554, 561 (1967) (“The
defendant's interests [in keeping prejudicial prior convictions
from the jury] are protected by limiting instructions and by the
discretion residing with the trial judge to limit or forbid the
admission of particularly prejudicial evidence even though
admissible under an accepted rule of evidence.”)

12.
IV. CONCLUSION

The Court’s amicus respectfully suggests that while
considerable deference should ordinarily be accorded to the
policy choices expressed by state legislatures through their
penal statutory schemes, an affirmance of the Supreme Court of
New Jersey ’s decision upholding that state’s hate crime statute
would, “in the name of preserving legislative flexibility ... drain{ ]
In re Winship of much of its vitality.” Patterson v. New York,
432 U.S. at 216 (Brennan, J., dissenting). Federal due process
extends to require that statutory factors that are structured and
phrased as sentencing enhancements, yet go directly to the
defendant's discriminatory state of mind in perpetrating the
charged crime, be construed as elements of the offense, subject
to the constitutional safeguards of notice and proof to a jury
beyond a reasonable doubt. The decision of the Supreme Court
of New Jersey should accordingly be reversed, and the case
remanded for a retrial consistent with the Petitioner's

constitutional rights of due process.
Respectfully submitted,
Pa ;
(2) John W. Whitehead
Steven H. Aden
THE RUTHERFORD INSTITUTE

1445 East Rio Road
Charlottesville, Virginia 22901
(804) 978-3888

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0338%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
