# Opposition Brief — California Democratic Party v. Jones

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0335%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 530 U.S. 567

## Text

a Supreme Court, EL
A '
No. 99-401 Pies
NOV 31999
wun OFFICE OF THE QLERM .
Supreme Court of the Unite
°

CALIFORNIA DEMOCRATIC PARTY,
CALIFORNIA REPUBLICAN PARTY,
LIBERTARIAN PARTY OF CALIFORNIA
and PEACE AND FREEDOM PARTY, et al.,

_ Petitioners,

BILL JONES, SECRETARY OF STATE OF CALIFORNIA
and CALIFORNIANS FOR AN OPEN PRIMARY, et al.,

Respondents.

S

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
¢

James P. CLARK

Gipson, DUNN & CRUTCHER
2029 Century Park East
Suite 4000

Los Angeles, CA 90067
Telephone: (213) 229-7000

Attorneys for Intervenor
Defendant/Respondent
Californians for An Open
Primary

Bit Lockyer

Attorney General

Manuet M. Meveiros

Senior Assistant Attorney
General

ANDREA LYNN HocH

Supervising Deputy
Attorney General

ALLEN SUMNER

Senior Assistant Attorney
General

Counsel of Record
1300 I St., Suite 125
P.O. Box 944255
Sacramento, CA

94244-2550

Telephone:
(916) 324-5463

Counsel for Respondent Bill
Jones, Secretary of State
of California

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Respondents agree with petitioners’ characteriza-
tion of the basic issue presented: Whether California’s
Open Primary Act, which allows all voters, including
independents, to vote for any candidate for any office
regardless of the voter’s or the candidate’s party of
registration, violates the First and Fourteenth Amend-
ments to the United States Constitution.

Petitioners assert that this case presents a second
question: “Whether the associational rights of political
parties are afforded less protection under the First
Amendment than the associational rights of other private
associations.” It does not.

Political parties perform roles different from truly
private organizations — functions which the courts below
aptly characterized as “governmental” in nature. For
example, qualified political parties in California are
accorded automatic ballot access unavailable to private
organizations wishing to place candidates on the ballot.
As a condition of accepting automatic ballot access, polit-
ical parties are required to conduct their nominations
through a primary process open to all voters. However, if
a political party in California genuinely desires to be
treated the same as other “private” associations, it is free
to forego automatic ballot access via the open primary
and instead place its candidates on the ballot by circulat-
ing nominating petitions.

Thus, characterizing the question as to whether the

associational rights of political parties are afforded “less

QUESTIONS PRESENTED - Continued

protection” than other private associations is misleading.
The Ninth Circuit more accurately described petitioners’
position: “The parties contend that their interest in limit-
ing candidate selection to their own members is so great
that no matter what the State’s interest and no matter
how [the Open Primary Act] will work in practice, the
blanket primary must be unconstitutional on its face.”

LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioners are the California Democratic Party, the
California Republican Party, the Libertarian Party of Cali-
fornia, the Peace and Freedom Party, Art Torres, Kathy
Bowler, Paul Jorjorian, Gail Lightfoot, and C.T. Weber.

Respondents are Bill Jones, Secretary of State of Cali-
fornia, and Californians for An Open Primary.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CEES GEST ccnccccccnccsconccescosesscene 1
CONSTITUTIONS, STATUTES OR REGULATIONS... 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE...............2-00005: 2
BR, FI occ ccccccccesésccvccscccavesseus 2
i FUCCUOEIND GUI occ ccccccccccccsccccescess 3

REED bbb bi cdvecdeccbcecccsccesssccocncesens 5

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY
FOUND THAT CALIFORNIA’S OPEN PRI-
MARY ACT DOES NOT VIOLATE PETI-
TIONERS’ FIRST AMENDMENT RIGHTS..... 5

A. Proposition 198 Poses No First Amendment
Issue Because The Party Membership
RMBBTOEE D ooo ccccccccdvesvecscescoccess 5

B. The Open Primary Act Does Not Imper-
missibly Burden The Parties’ Associational
ES ond cc ddcdcccdsceséceecencutéeedete 7

C. The Asserted Harms To Parties Are Insub-
stantial Or Hypothetical.................. 10

D. Washington's Experience Refutes Peti-
EE Gee ceccessccccsccscdvesdés 11

E. The Parties May Avoid The Associational
ED Ce GE cs wwscevecescosoncodence 12

F. The Blanket Primary Advances Compelling
Bee TEED Secescccccsvccecececessesses 13

-

v

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

1. The Blanket Primary Will Produce Offi-
cials Who Better Represent The Electo-
Ge avec vececccccvccsoscccesesaccencas 13

2. The Blanket Primary Provides An Effec-
tive Vote To Disenfranchised Voters ... 15

3. The Blanket Primary Will Increase Voter
PUMEEIED ccccccsccccecnccccuceceens 16

Il. THE BLANKET PRIMARY IMPOSES NO PAR- .
TICULAR HARM TO MINOR PARTIES ....... 16

Ill. THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS
DOES NOT CONFLICT WITH DECISIONS OF
THE SUPREME COURT, ANOTHER UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS OR A STATE
CP GO GOED CUED cc cc eccccccscevccses 18

A. The Decision of The Court of Appeals Does
Not Conflict With Decisions of This Court .. 18

B. The Decision of The Court of Appeals Does
Not Conflict With Decisions of Other United
States Courts of Appeals.................. 20

C. The Decision of The Court of Appeals Does
Not Conflict With Decisions of State Courts

4,0 ol aa eo 21
a i i a a el ll 21
la eater ad ik ll ae lee ole App. 1

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Anderson v. Millikin, 186 Wash. 602, 59 P.2d 295
SD 9 6'060s086s00sebbensesboendeseedesoonences

Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976)........ 6.66005.
Burdick v. Takushi, 504 U.S. 428 (1992)............

California Democratic Party v. Jones, 169 F.3d 646
GEE GR, BERG. cc cccccccccccccccsccescccccceses

California Democratic Party v. Jones, 984 F.Supp.
BARD GED. Cab. BOOT) occ cccscccccccscvccscccces

Colorado Republican Campaign Committee v. FEC,
FD Wk Be GS vce cccccccccccvcccevesoosees

Davis v. Bsandemer, 478 U.S. 109 (1986)...........

Democratic Party v. Wisconsin ex rel. LaFollette, 450
Se CY GE ov acccccdcccsccestcecescovessess

Duke v. Smith, 13 F.3d 388 (11th Cir. 1994) .......

Eu v. San Francisco Democratic Central Committee,
Ge Se, Se Co so vdnndecadaceecsecsaseused

Flagg Brothers, Inc. v. Brooks, 436 U.S. 149 (1978)...

Green Party v. Jones, 31 Cal.App.4th 747, 37
CABO SS GES CRGGED occ cccccccccsccccnscseses

Heavey v. Chapman, 93 Wash. 2d 700, 611 P.2d 1256

GRE oo ccccbcccncccscescccccéscedeccesséesdsvns
Illinois State Board of Elections, 440 U.S. 173 (1979)....

Lightfoot v. Eu, 964 F.2d 865 (9th Cir. 1992), cert.

es a Ge Se Sccceccdccccestacaséda

Vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page
Morse v. Republican Party, 517 U.S. 186 (1996) ..8, 9, 12

Munro v. Socialist Workers Party, 479 U.S. 189
SEED co voseetucccsncnccccoseusbencscececsescecsces 9

NAACP v. Alabama, 357 U.S. 449 (1957) .............. 7
O'Callaghan v. State, 914 P.2d 1250 (Alaska 1996) .... 11
O'Callaghan v. Alaska, 914 P.2d 1250 (Alaska 1996),

cert. denied, 520 U.S. 1209 (1997) ................4.. 21
Rosario v. Rockefeller, 410 U.S. 752 (1973) ............ 13
Smith v. Allwright, 321 U.S. 649 (1944). ............... 9

Socialist Workers Party v. Secretary of State, 765 F.2d
1417 (9th. Cir. 1985) rev'd on other grounds,
Munro v. Socialist Workers Party, 479 U.S. 189
Sh SEs UE GE Don ceececcecéensewnsesecs 17

State ex rel. LaFollette v. Democratic Party, 287
N.W.2d 519 (Wis. Jan. 19, 1980), 450 U.S. 107

SPEED oc censenescesecesetoccescscescevesscesecseas 11
Storer v. Brown, 415 U.S. 724 (1974) ............... 9, 13
Tashjian v. Republican Party of Connecticut, 479 U.S.

208 (U.S. Conn. Dec. 10, 1986)......... 11, 18, 19, 20
Terry v. Adams, 345 U.S. 461 (1953).............00055 10
Timmons v. Twin Cities Area New Party, 117 S.Ct.

Se Se cbereccudesccesstccecedenvencsceses 4, 13

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
United States Constitution First Amendment....1, 3, 9, 21

United States Constitution Fourteenth Amend-

Viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

STATUTES
Cal. Elec. Code
Ps 64 0nbeese wes bénuesacescsasdtsceneseesouserenen 2
SS GERD GF GBM, cccccccccsvcecceccesccssccesccescesses 12
i ED 6. ub obeoevsdnsyntcevenséeceenesbbpasensnacune 20
SD GDh ass nvesnssecdveessevnsedeouceseneeeanndeneeees 2
OrHeR AUTHORITIES
Hill, Democracy in the Fifty States (Univ. Neb. Press

Pee 0 6060400000 b0nensneeebenréns ceseuseeedenesss 11

ore

ee ee

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondents respectfully file this brief in opposition
to the petition for writ of certiorari to review the unani-
mows judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Ninth Circuit.

JUDGMENT BELOW

The Ninth Circuit’s opinion, reported at California
Democratic Party v. Jones, 169 F.3d 646 (9th Cir. 1999), is
included at Appendix A hereto. The District Court’s opin-
ion is reported at California Democratic Party v. Jones, 984
F.Supp. 1288 (E.D. Cal. 1997).

e

CONSTITUTIONS, STATUTES OR REGULATIONS

This case involves the First Amendment to the
United States Constitution, as made applicable to the
states by the Fourteenth Amendment, and California’s
Open Primary Act, an initiative measure (Proposition
198) adopted by California’s voters on March 26, 1996.
The Open Primary Act provides in relevant part:

All persons entitled to vote, including those not
affiliated with any political party, shall have the
right to vote, except as otherwise provided by
law, at any election in which they are qualified

2

to vote, for any candidate regardless of the can-
didate’s political affiliation. Cal. Elec. Code
§ 2001.!

The text of the Open Primary Act is provided at Appen-
dix D to the petition for writ of certiorari.

S

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Introduction

In 1996 the citizens of California concluded that the
closed primary then used to select candidates for public
office effectively disenfranchised millions of voters and
produced government officials unrepresentative of the
electorate at large. The voters overwhelmingly adopted
the Open Primary Act to enhance the democratic nature
of the State’s election process and the representativeness
of its elected officials.?

Petitioners, political parties and officials, assert that
the blanket primary is unconstitutional on its face. This
must come as a surprise to Washington and Alaska,

! All statutory references are to the California Elections
Code.

2 California utilizes what political scientists call a “blanket”
primary, which allows all voters, including independents, to
vote for any candidate for any office regardless of the
candidate's affiliation. § 2001. The top vote-getter of each party
goes on to the general election. § 15451. Washington and Alaska
are the only other states which also employ the blanket primary;
Louisiana uses a variant.

By comparison, in an “open” primary any voter may
request the ballot for any party, but may only vote in one
party’s primary election. App. at 11-12.

which have used the blanket primary for over 60 years.
No court has even intimated that the blanket primary is
unconstitutional per se. Indeed, every court which has
addressed the issue has concluded that the blanket pri-
mary does not violate the First Amendment associational
rights of political parties. There is thus no conflict in
decisions on the issue.

The courts below carefully assessed the potential
burden posed to petitioners and then balanced the inter-
ests of California’s voters. Both the District Court and
Ninth Circuit correctly decided that the blanket primary
does not violate petitioners’ First Amendment associa-
tional rights. Accordingly, the petition for writ of cer-
tiorari should be denied.

B. Proceedings Below

The District Court rejected petitioners’ assertion that
allowing non-party members to vote in a party’s primary
renders the blanket primary facially unconstitutional.
App. at 20 and 25. The court noted that twenty-one states
utilize open primaries allowing participation by non-
party members. /d. at 11. Under petitioners’ theory, these
primary schemes would also be unconstitutional per se.
Rather, the court concluded that, in order to assess peti-
tioners’ challenge, it must look instead to how voters will
actually behave under California’s blanket primary. Id. at
25.

The District Court received extensive testimony and
documentary evidence from party officials, political sci-
entists, campaign consultants and elections officials
regarding the expected operation of California’s blanket

primary. This was based, in part, on experience in the
states of Washington and Alaska, which have utilized
blanket primaries since 1935 and 1947, respectively.

The court correctly applied the “flexible” balancing
test articulated by this Court in Timmons v. Twin Cities
Area New Party, 520 U.S. 351, 358 (1997), for assessing the
potential impact of the blanket primary upon petitioners.
App. at 17-18.%

Petitioners assert that the blanket primary will have a
“destructive effect” on California’s political parties, with
crossover voting and raiding affecting the selection and
behavior of nominees and party officials, weakening
party discipline, increasing the cost of primary elections,
party discipline, increasing the cost of primary elections,
dampening the morale of party activists and disrupting
internal party governance. Id. at 26-27.

The court termed petitioners’ characterization “over-
drawn.” Id. at 27. The court found that California’s blan-
ket primary is a non-discriminatory measure, adopted by
the overwhelming majority of voters, which will not
diminish the efficacy or strength of political parties in
California by “any substantial degree.” Id. at 35. The

3 “In evaluating the constitutionality of Proposition 198,
the court therefore must first determine the character and
magnitude of the burdens imposed by the blanket primary on
the associational rights of the political parties. The court then
must consider the State’s interests and weigh the strength of
those interests against the particular burdens placed on the
parties’ associational rights. The greater the intrusion on the
parties’ associational rights, the greater must be the State’s
interests and the more narrowly tailored must be the
Proposition to advance those interests.” App. at 18.

Open Primary Act was intended to,enhance the demo-
cratic nature of California’s election process and the rep-
resentativeness of its elected officials. Id. at 39. These
state interests are compelling and outweigh the interest
which parties have in controlling who votes in their
primary. Id. at 42 and 44.

The Ninth Circuit reviewed de novo the constitu-
tionality of the blanket primary and the District Court's
determinations on questions of law and mixed questions
of law and fact. Id. at 4. After considering the record and
briefs, the Ninth Circuit affirmed and adopted the “care-
ful, detailed and eloquent” opinion of the District Court
as its own. Ibid.

Petitioners’ petition for rehearing en banc was
denied, with no judge on the Ninth Circuit requesting a
vote on the petition.

¢

ARGUMENT
I.

THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY FOUND
THAT CALIFORNIA’S OPEN PRIMARY ACT DOES
NOT VIOLATE PETITIONERS’ FIRST AMENDMENT
RIGHTS

A. Proposition 198 Poses No First Amendment
Issue Because It Was Approved By The Party
Membership

The Open Primary Act was adopted by California’s
voters in March of 1996 by a vote of 59.51 percent to 40.49

percent. It received a majority in every demographic sub-
group: sex, age, race, education, political ideology,
income, religion, and, most tellingly, party identification.
App. at 9-10. In particular, 69 percent of Independents, 61
percent of Democrats and 57 percent of Republicans car-
ried the initiative. bid. Given the ballot arguments for
and against the measure, the court found that the voters
were not misled or inadequately advised as to its purpose
and effect. Id. at 9, fn. 6.

It is not surprising that such large majorities of party
members voted against petitioner party leaders in adopt-
ing the blanket primary. Rank-and-file members have
different interests than party leaders. Here, the members
simply reached a different conclusion in balancing what
was best for their party, for themselves as voters, and for
California.

For example, the blanket primary gives every voter,
including party members, more choices on the ballot.
From a voter’s perspective, more choice is better. The
blanket primary also empowers party members who
belong to minority parties in districts safely held by
another party. Approximately one-quarter of all of Cali-
fornia’s voters fall into this category, effectively disen-
franchised by having no say in the election of their
governmental officials. App. at 39. To these party mem-
bers, the blanket primary allows a meaningful say in who
represents them without forcing them to abandon their
political affiliation.

Despite the party rank-and-file’s strong support for
the blanket primary, petitioner party leaders now ask this
Court to overturn it. In the words of petitioners’ expert,

“sovereignty” belongs to the party as organization, not to
its members. RT at 392.4

Petitioners’ attempt to impose their will upon their
own party members is fundamentally at odds with the
First Amendment. As this Court has made clear, collec-
tive entities, like political parties, enjoy associational
rights in order to more effectively promote the interests
of their members. “The [organization] is but the medium
through which its individual members seek to make more
effective the expression of their views.” NAACP v. Ala-
bama, 357 U.S. 449, 459 (1957); see also, Buckley v. Valeo, 424
U.S. 1, 22 (1976) (per curiam). The members’ interests are
primary. Since political parties exist to advance their
members’ shared political beliefs, Colorado Republican
Campaign Committee v. FEC, 518 U.S. 604, 029 (1996) (Ken-
nedy, J., concurring in the judgment and dissenting in
part), their associational rights cannot be asserted to
defeat their members’ will.

Petitioners’ challenge thus fails at the outset.

B. The Open Primary Act Does Not Impermissibly
Burden The Parties’ Associational Interests

Petitioners’ challenge presents a simple issue: What
are primaries for? App. at 15. Respondents contend the
primary is the first, critical step in the electoral process.
Its function is to choose people to run government, and it
is often the most important step in the electoral process.
“As a practical matter, the ultimate choice of the mass of

4 “RT” refers to the Reporter’s Transcript filed in the Court
of Appeals.

voters is predetermined when the nominations [by the
political parties] have been made.” Morse v. Republican
Party, 517 U.S. 186, 205 (1986) (opinion by Stevens, J.).

The parties’ challenge rests on the sweeping proposi-
tion that, as a matter of law, a critical step in the electoral
process must be run however they want. Petitioners
assert that parties have “allowed” nomination by primary
vote, but can “rescind” that decision and nominate by
caucus or convention if they desire. RT at 392.

The logic of this claim is troubling in many ways. It
would invalidate not just blanket primaries, but open
primaries and, indeed primaries altogether if the parties
so desire.®

5 The Court of Appeals thought this reason enough to reject
the parties’ challenge.

The parties contend that their interest in limiting
candidate selection to their own members is so great
that no matter what the State’s interest and no matter
how Proposition 198 will work in practice, the blanket
primary must be unconstitutional on its face. . . . If
this were true, then open primaries would also be
unconstitutional upon any party’s objection: an open
primary, every bit as much as a blanket primary,
permits voters who are not registered in a party to
vote in that party’s primary. But many of the States
have some version of an open primary and to
invalidate them all on this theoretical ground would
be an extraordinary intrusion into the complex and
changing election laws of the States and would
remove from the American political system a method
for candidate selection that many States consider
beneficial and which in the uncertain future could
take on new appeal and importance.

App. at 21.

No court has held that the First Amendment stretches
so far, and for good reason. Recognizing the absolute
primacy of a political party’s rules over conflicting state
law would allow parties to overthrow almost any State
regulation of primary elections, even rules requiring
them to nominate by direct primary, to accept votes from
party members that the parties may want to exclude, and
to count only registered voters.

It is too late in the day to argue that political parties
are purely private entities with a right to so control
primary elections. As this Court has recognized, “(t]he
primary election . . . in California . . . is ‘an integral part
of the entire election process . . . [that] functions to
winnow out and finally reject all but the chosen candi-
dates.’ ” Munro v. Socialist Workers Party, 479 U.S. 189, 196
(1986) (quoting Storer v. Brown, 415 U.S. 724, 735 (1974));
Burdick v. Takushi, 504 U.S. 428, 439 (1992). Because of the
role the State confers upon political parties in the elec-
toral process, they are not simply private actors. Only
parties get automatic ballot placement for their candi-
dates, and only parties seek, as their ultimate goal, to
obtain control of the levers of government.

Courts have thus already rejected petitioners’ basic
argument. Lightfoot v. Eu, 964 F.2d 865 (9th Cir. 1992), cert.
denied, 507 U.S. 919 (1993) (upholding direct primary over
party’s objection); Smith v. Allwright, 321 U.S. at 649
(striking down party’s exclusion of blacks from primary).
When they nominate candidates, established political
parties are subject to a wide range of State regulation, see,
Morse v. Republican Party, 517 U.S. at 218; Flagg Brothers,
Inc. v. Brooks, 436 U.S. 149, 157-58 (1978), and do not have

10

unfettered control over who can participate in their activ-
ities. See, Terry v. Adams, 345 U.S. 461 (1953); Duke v.
Smith, 13 F.3d 388 (11th Cir. 1994).

C. The Asserted Harms To Parties Are Insubstan-
tial Or Hypothetical

The parties assert that the blanket primary will result
in a parade of horribles. The District Court, however,
found that the blanket primary is not likely to prove
“severe or debilitating” to California’s political parties.
App. at 35.

Much attention was given to crossover voting. The
court found the parties’ characterization of the likely
amount or effects of crossover voting due to a blanket
primary to be “overdrawn.” Id. at 27. Indeed, petitioners’
expert acknowledged that crossover voting generally
does not change the outcome of elections; it merely accen-
tuates the margin of victory. RT at 488.° So too, the court
found “almost unanimity” among the experts that there is
little evidence raiding will be a factor in California’s

6 Petitioners cited only three races in the past 60 years
under the Alaska and Washington blanket primaries which
arguably were determined by crossover voting: Washington
Governor Clarence Martin in 1936, Alaska Governor J.
Hammond in 1974, and Washington Governor Dixie Lee Ray in
1976. In each instance, the nominee went on to win the general
election, giving the voters their candidate of choice. RT at 517
and 543-544. The First Amendment certainly does not prohibit a
majority of voters from coalescing to nominate and elect their
most preferred candidate.

11

blanket primary. App. at 28.7 In short, the court con-
cluded, “The parties do not show that the blanket pri-
mary is significantly different theoretically or practically
from the open primary.” App. at 35-36.

D. Washington’s Experience Refutes Petitioners’
Challenge

By every indication, the blanket primary has worked
well in the State of Washington for over 60 years. As this
Court observed, the blanket primary has resulted in nei-
ther the “destruction of the integrity of the election pro-
cess,” nor “the decay of responsible party government.”
Tashjian v. Republican Party, 479 U.S. 208, 223, fn. 12 (1986)

Petitioners’ experts acknowledged that Washington
enjoys a healthy, two-party democracy. RT at 490. Indeed,
to the extent that political systems can be rated, Washing-
ton’s has been ranked as “more democratic” than Califor-
nia’s. See, e.g., Hill, Democracy in the Fifty States (Univ.
Neb. Press 1994). App. at 35.

? This finding confirms the conclusion reached by other
courts which have addressed the issue. Tashjian v. Republican
Party, 479 U.S. 208, 219, fn. 9 (1986); Democratic Party v.
Wisconsin ex rel. LaFollette, 450 U.S. 107, 122, fm. 23 (1981);
O'Callaghan v. State, 919 P.2d 1250, 1261 (Alaska 1996)
(upholding Alaska’s blanket primary); State ex rel. LaFollette v.
Democratic Party, 287 N.W.2d 519, 533 (Wis. 1980), rev'd on other
grounds, Democratic Party of the United States v. Wisconsin ex rel.
LaFollette, 450 U.S. 107 (1981).

Petitioners’ experts acknowledged that the vast majority of
voters who cross over do so simply to vote for the candidate
they most prefer. RT at 486.

12

E. The Parties May Avoid The Associational Bur-
dens They Fear

California state courts have recognized that a politi-
cal party can avoid the primary process by declining to
seek qualified party status. If it does not do so, it is free to
support and nominate candidates through the indepen-
dent candidate approach, using a private primary, con-
vention, caucus or any other mechanism. Green Party v.
Jones, 31 Cal.App.4th 747, 755, fn. 9, 37 Cal.Rptr.2d at 411,
fn. 9 (1995). So long as the group satisfies the State's
nominating petition requirements, its candidate will
reach the general election. See, § 8400 et seq.

Petitioners do not want to pursue this option because
they reap great advantages from their status as qualified
parties, particularly automatic ballot access for their can-
didates. But petitioners cannot have it both ways. So long
as the State is pursuing legitimate objectives and not
discriminating among groups, parties participating in the
primary must accept reasonable regulation of the elec-
toral process. See, Morse v. Republican Party, 517 U.S. at
198 (opinion of Stevens, J.) (“If the Party chooses to avail
itself of [automatic ballot access], it necessarily become
subject to . . . regulation.”); Id. at 238 (opinion of Breyer,
J.) (party choice “to avail itself of special state-law prefer-
ences, in terms of ballot access and position|,]” among
other factors, subjects party nomination process to state
regulation).

13

F. The Blanket Primary Advances Compelling
State Interests

Given petitioners’ failure to establish that the blanket
primary severely burdens party interests, the State need
only show that it advances important regulatory inter-
ests. Timmons, 520 U.S. at 358; Burdick, 504 U.S. at 434.
Here, the record established that the blanket primary
advances several important interests enhancing the dem-
ocratic nature of California’s election process.

1. The Blanket Primary Will Produce Officials
Who Better Represent The Electorate

First, the blanket primary advances one of the most
important goals of any election process - ensuring the
representativeness of elected officials. App. at 40-41. This
Court has long recognized that the State may regulate the
election process to ensure elections effectively translate
the will of the electorate. Storer, 415 U.S. at 732.

Enhanced representativeness helps maintain the sta-
bility of the political system, Storer, 415 U.S. at 736, and
the State also has a valid interest in preserving the integ-
rity of the electoral process. Rosario v. Rockefeller, 410 U.S.
752, 761 (1973). But an electoral process can hardly be
said to have integrity if it does not assure that the offi-
cials elected are representative of the people to be gov-
erned. The Court of Appeals explained:

The voters’ belief in the fairness of the election
process is also a substantial state interest; it is
apparent that the voters of California believe

14

that the system is fairer when all voters, includ-
ing independents and regardless of party affilia-
tion, may participate in framing the choice of
candidates at the general election. App. at 43.

By affording all voters the opportunity to consider all
of the participating candidates, the blanket primary gen-
erates election outcomes that are more closely aligned
with true voter preferences. See, Illinois State Board of
Elections, 440 U.S. 173, 185 (1979) (observing that expand-
ing choices in an election fosters the voter’s ability to
express political preferences). The record demonstrates
that officials elected under blanket primaries stand closer
to the median policy positions of their districts than do
those elected under closed primaries. App. at 41, fn. 34.
As the court found: “(T]he people of California agree that
a blanket primary system will lead to the election of more
representative ‘problem solvers’ who are less beholden to
party officials and ‘special groups.’” App. at 41.

Petitioners do not dispute that the blanket primary
tends to produce candidates who are more reflective of
the total electorate. Instead, they twist that virtue and
mischaracterize the State’s goal as restructuring its elec-
toral process to favor candidates of a particular philoso-

phy.

The blanket primary aims not to produce more mode-
rate candidates, but rather candidates who are more rep-
resentative of the electorate. Since most of the electorate
lies near the center of the ideological spectrum, the more
representative candidate will often appear the more
“moderate.” However, “reflective” and “moderate” are
not synonymous. Petitioners’ own experts pointed to

15

numerous candidates who benefitted from crossover vot-
ing who are not “moderates:” George Wallace, Eugene
McCarthy, Gary Hart, Ronald Reagan, and Jerry Brown.
ER Vol. II, No. 17, at 482-4838; RT at 292-294.

2. The Blanket Primary Provides An Effective
Vote To Disenfranchised Voters

The blanket primary will give millions of citizens a
more effective vote. California’s closed primary disen-
franchised one-quarter of the State’s registered voters by
denying them effective participation in a critical step of
the election process. App. at 39-40.

These voters were either registered as independents
(approximately 11% of California’s electorate), or lived in
districts “safe” for another party. Ibid. In California, a
majority of congressional, state senate and assembly dis-
tricts are considered safe for one party. RT at 851-852.
Such voters could not vote in the primary in any way that
mattered in deciding who would eventually represent
them. This Court has noted the political disadvantages
suffered by such voters in safe districts. Davis v. Bsan-
demer, 478 U.S. 109, 170 (1986) (Powell, J., concurring and
dissenting).

Petitioners’ experts acknowledged thai the blanket
primary opens up a determinative stage of the electoral
process to these voters who previously had no real say in
the choice of their representative. Some 3.5 to 4.4 million

8 “ER” refers to the Excerpts of Record filed in the Court of
Appeals.

16

California voters can now participate fully in the selec-
tion of the person who will represent them in govern-
ment. RT at 239-241.

3. The Blanket Primary Will Increase Voter
Participation

Finally, the blanket primary will increase voter turn-
out. During the past thirty years, California has wit-
nessed a 15-20 percent decline in voter participation in
both primary and general elections. RT at 658, 661-662. As
petitioners concede, allowing 1.5 million independent
voters in the blanket primary will boost participation. RT
at 372. So too, increasing the number of candidates and
the competitiveness of elections will increase voter turn-
out. App. at 42.

The court correctly found the State’s interests here
are “compelling,” and outweigh the acknowledged sub-
stantial interest which parties have in controlling who
votes in the primary. App. at 42. Accordingly, the deci-
sion below correctly rejected petitioners’ First Amend-
ment challenge on the merits. The petition for writ of
certiorari should thus be denied.

THE BLANKET PRIMARY IMPOSES NO PARTICU-
LAR HARM ON MINOR PARTIES

Petitioners contend that the blanket primary will par-
ticularly harm minor parties. This, too, is without founda-
tion. The District Court found that nothing suggests

17

crossover voting in minor party primaries will be wide-
spread, much less negatively impact these parties or their
candidates. App. at 31, fn. 26.

First, minor parties seldom have contested primaries.
In the approximately 2,000 partisan primary races in Cali-
fornia in which minor parties have fielded candidates
since 1968, only 102, approximately 5 percent, have been
contested. RT at 618, 630-631. Id.° If there is only one
candidate in the race, crossover voting obviously will not
change the outcome.

Furthermore, minor parties in California field candi-
dates in partisan elections primarily to recruit members
and spread the party’s message. RT at 615-616 and 632.
This is not to say that minor parties have any lesser rights
than major parties, but only that there is very little likeli-
hood of harm by crossover voting or raiding. RT at 427.

° As. this Court noted in discussing Washington’s blanket
primary, the focus of the primary is on contested races between
candidates for the nomination of the major parties, not on minor
party races. Socialist Workers Party v. Secretary of State, 765 F.2d
1417, 1421 (9th. Cir. 1985), »2v’d on other grounds, Munro v.
Socialist Workers Party, 479 U.S. 189 (1996).

18

THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS DOES
NOT CONFLICT WITH DECISIONS OF THIS COURT,
ANOTHER UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS,
OR A STATE COURT OF LAST RESORT

A. The Decision of The Court of Appeals Does
Not Conflict With Decisions of This Court

This Court has never directly addressed the constitu-
tionality of the blanket primary.'° Petitioners nevertheless
allege that the holding below “cannot be squared” with
two decisions of this Court. Petitioners’ argument is mis-
placed.

Petitioners first cite this Court’s decision in Tashjian
v. Republican Party, 479 U.S. 208 (1986), as supporting
their position. It does not.

In Tashjian, Connecticut State Democratic
officeholders blocked Republican attempts to allow inde-
pendent voters to participate in the Republican primary.
Tashjian, 479 U.S. at 212-213, fn. 4. Considering whether
Democrats could act through the State to bar Republicans
from expanding their electoral base, this Court carefully
defined the associational interest at stake. The Republican
Party’s interest lay not in generally determining who
ceuld participate in the selection of its candidates, but
more specifically in not having that group of voters
“limit[ed.]” Tashjian, 479 U.S. at 215-216.

‘0 However, this Court has noted that the open primary
may well serve compelling State interests. Democratic Party v.
Wisconsin ex rel. LaFolette, 450 U.S. at 120-121.

19

Recently this Court reiterated the narrow scope of
Tashjian when it rejected a challenge to Minnesota’s anti-
fusion statute:

[I]n Tashjian, we held that Connecticut's closed-
primary statute, which required voters in a
party primary to be registered party members,
interfered with a party’s associational rights by
limiting “the group of registered voters whom
the Party may invite to participate in the basic
function of selecting the Party’s candidates.”

Timmons, 520 U.S. at 360 (emphasis added) (quoting Tash-
jian, 479 U.S. at 215-216).

Tashjian, then, hardly identifies the parties’ associa-
tional interest as a sweeping right to control who may
vote in primaries. Rather Tashjian and Timmons identify
the interest more specifically as one against having the
party’s electoral base restricted against its wishes. As
Tashjian notes, limiting those to whom the party may
appeal for support impairs the party’s “appeal to com-
mon principle [which] may be translated into concerted
action, and hence to political power in the community.”
Tashjian, 479 U.S. at 216. The interest runs not to the
party’s right to control who can participate in a critical
step of the electoral process, but rather to the ultimate
competitiveness of the party’s candidates in the general
election. The State simply does not have a right - over a
party’s objection — to limit the range of voters a primary
candidate can appeal to. By opening up the primary,
however, the blanket primary promotes, not impairs, this
interest.

Petitioners next cite this Court’s decision in Eu v. San
Francisco County Democratic Central Committee, 489 U.S.

20

214 (1989), as barring the blanket primary. But in Eu, this
Court struck down a statute prohibiting parties from
endorsing candidates in primaries and dictating the orga-
nization and composition of party governing bodies. The
case did not involve who could vote in primaries, only
whether parties could speak to their members and
whether parties could manage their internal organization
as they thought best — areas the Open Primary Act care-
fully avoids.'! Indeed, this Court noted that a party’s
interest in controlling its internal organization was much
different from and stronger than the party interests at
stake in the primary election in Tashjian. Eu, 489 U.S. at
230.

B. The Decision of The Court of Appeals Does Not
Conflict With Decisions of Other United States
Courts of Appeals

No United States Court of Appeals, other than the
Ninth Circuit in the instart case, has addressed the con-
stitutionality of the blanket primary. There is thus no
conflict between circuits. Nor is it likely that there will
be, because the only other states which use a blanket
primary such as California’s are Alaska and Washington.
App. at 12. Both of these states are within the Ninth
Circuit.

'! Under the Open Primary Act, election of party central
committees remains limited to party members. § 13300.

21

C. The Decision of The Court of Appeals Does Not
Conflict With Decisions of State Courts of Last
Resort

The state supreme courts of Washington and Alaska
have examined the constitutionality of the blanket pri-
mary and both have upheld this system as constitutional,
rejecting similar First Amendment challenges brought by
political parties in those states. See O'Callaghan v. Alaska,
914 P.2d 1250 (Alaska 1996), cert. denied, 520 U.S. 1209
(1997); Heavey v. Chapman, 93 Wash. 2d 700, 611 P.2d 1256
(1980); Anderson v. Millikin, 186 Wash. 602, 59 P.2d 295
(1936).

With no conflict between the decision of the Court of
Appeals below and any decision of this Court, another
United States Court of Appeals or any state court of last
resort, the Petition for writ of certiorari should be denied.

+

CONCLUSION

The District Court considered extensive evidence
from experts including party leaders, political scientists,
politicians and political consultants as to the likely effects
of California’s blanket primary. The District Court and
Court of Appeals, de novo, found that California’s Open
Primary Act, adopted by a majority of voters from all
major parties, does not severely burden petitioners’ asso-
ciational rights and advances compelling state interests in
enhancing the democratic nature of California’s election
process. The courts below correctly concluded that Cali-
fornia’s Open Primary Act withstands petitioners’ First
Amendment challenge.

22 App. 1

This decision confirms prior holdings by the Alaska APPENDIX A
and Washington State Supreme Courts reviewing blanket
primaries used in those states since 1935, and does not aeaidihae PARTY.
conflict with any decision by this Court or any United ART TORRES: KATHY 97-17442
States Court of Appeals. BOWLER; PAUL

D.C. No.

JORJORIAN; PEACE CV-96-02038-DFL

Accordingly, the petition for writ of certiorari shoul AND FREEDOM PARTY:

be denied. C.T. WEBER:
Dated: November 3, 1999. LIBERTARIAN PARTY
OF CALIFORNIA;

Respectfully submitted, GAIL LIGHTFOOT,

But Lockyer Plaintiffs,

Attorney General

Manuet M. Mepeiros and

Senior Assistant Attorney General

ANbREA LYNN HocH CALIFORNIA

Supervising Deputy Attorney REPUBLICAN PARTY,
General MICHAEL SCHROEDER;

ey ee SHAWN STEEL; DONNA

Senior Assistant Attorney General SHALANSKY,

Counsel of Record Plaintiffs-Intervenors-

Counsel for Respondent Bill Jones Appellants,
Secretary of State of California v

James P. CLark BILL JONES,

Gipson, DUNN & CRUTCHER SECRETARY OF THE

Counsel for Intervenor- STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Defendant/Respondent Californians

For An Open Primary Defendant-Appellee.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of California
David F. Levi, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted
October 7, 1998-San Francisco, California

Filed March 4, 1999

—S ee eee aa2.2.2.Qg ae

App. 2

Before: Proctor Hug, Jr., Chief Judge, Betty B. Fletcher
and Stephen S. Trott, Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge B. Fletcher

APPENDIX A

CALIFORNIA DEMOCRATIC PARTY; Art Torres;
Kathy Bowler; Paul Jorjorian; Peace And Freedom
Party; C.T. Weber; Libertarian Party Of California; Gail

| Lightfoot,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,
and
California Republican Party, Michael Schroeder; Shawn
Steel; Donna Shalansky,
Plaintiffs-Intervenors,
v.
Bill JONES, Secretary of the State of California,
Defendant-Appellee,
v.
Californians For An Open Primary, Defendant-
Intervenor-Appellee.

California Democratic Party; Art Torres; Kathy Bowler;
Paul Jorjorian; Peace And Freedom Party; C.T. Weber;
Libertarian Party Of California; Gail Lightfoot,
Plaintiffs,
and
California Republican Party, Michael Schroeder; Shawn
Steel; Donna Shalansky,
Plaintiffs-Intervenors-Appellants,

v.

Bill Jones, Secretary of the State of California,
Defendant-Appellee.

Nos. 97-17440, 97-17442,

United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Circuit.

Argued and Submitted Oct. 7, 1998.

Decided March 4, 1999.

App. 3

Action was brought challenging constitutionality of
California proposition which converted the State’s pri-
mary election from a closed to a blanket primary in which
voters may vote for any candidate regardless of the
voter's or candidate’s party affiliation.

Proposition was upheld by the United States District
Court for the Eastern District of California, David F. Levi,
J., 984 FSupp. 1288, and plaintiffs appealed. The Court of
Appeals, Fletcher, Circuit Judge, adopting the opinion of
the District Court, held that the proposition is not uncon-
stitutional as violating the First Amendment right of
association.

Affirmed.

George Waters, Olson, Hagel, Leidigh, Waters & Fish-
burn, Sacramento, California, for plaintiffs-appellants.

Cyrus J. Rickards, Deputy Attorney General, Sacra-
mento, California, for defendant-appellee.

John E. Mueller, Nielsen, Merksamer, Parrinello,
Mueller & Naylor, Mill Valley, California, for intervenors-
plaintiffs-appellants.

James P. Clark, Gibson, Dunn, & Crutcher, Los
Angeles, California, for intervenor-defendant-appellee.

James L. Baldwin, Assistant Attorney General, for
Amicus, State of Alaska.

Jeffrey T. Even, Assistant Attorney General, for
Amicus, State of Washington.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of California; David F. Levi, District
Judge, Presiding.

App. 4

D.C. No. CV-96-02038-DFL.

Before: HUG, Chief Judge, FLETCHER and TROTT,
Circuit Judges.

FLETCHER, Circuit Judge:

in 1996 California voters passed Proposition 198,
which converted the State’s primary election from a
closed to a blanket primary in which voters may vote for
any candidate regardless of the voter’s or candidate's
party affiliation. Appellants, the California Democratic,
Republican, Libertarian, and Peace and Freedom Parties,
together with other individuals, opponents of Proposition
198, seek reversal of the district court's judgment uphold-
ing its constitutionality. California Democratic Party v.
Jones, 984 F.Supp. 1288 (E.D.Cal.1997). We have jurisdic-
tion under 28 U.S.C. § 1291, and we affirm.

STANDARD OF REVIEW

We review the constitutionality of a statute de novo.
Crawford v. Lungren, 96 F.3d 380, 384 (9th Cir.1996), cert.
denied, 520 U.S. 1117, 117 S.Ct. 1249, 137 L.Ed.2d 330
(1997). A district court’s determinations on questions of
law and on mixed questions of law and fact that implicate
constitutional rights are also reviewed de novo. Neal v.
Shimoda, 131 F.3d 818, 823 (9th Cir.1997); Jacobsen v. United
States Postal Serv., 993 F.2d 649, 653 (9th Cir.1992). We
have undertaken that review.

CONCLUSION

We have reviewed the briefs to this court, the record
made before the district court, and the careful, detailed,

App. 5

and eloquent opinion of the district court. Because we

concur in it in every respect, we have elected to adopt it
as the opinion of our court.

We attach it as an appendix. It also may be found at
984 F.Supp. 1288 (E.D.Cal.1997) sub nom. California Demo-

cratic Party v. Jones. The judgment of the district court is
AFFIRMED.

ATTACHMENT
APPENDIX

CALIFORNIA DEMOCRATIC PARTY, Art Torres,
Kathy Bowler, Paul Jorjorian, Peace and Freedom Party,
C.T. Weber, Libertarian Party of California and Gail
Lightfoot, Plaintiffs,

Vv.

Bill JONES, Secretary of State of the State of Califor-
nia, Defendant.

California Republican Party, Michael Schroeder,
Shawn Steel and Donna Shalansky, Intervenors/ Plaintiffs,
Californians for an Open Primary, Intervenor/Defendant.

No. CIV. S-96-2038 DFL.

United States District Court,
E.D. California.
Nov. 17, 1997.
As Corrected Nov. 24, 1997.
MEMORANDUM OF OPINION AND FINDINGS
OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

LEVI, District Judge.

In March of 1996, the people of the State of Califor-
nia, by a wide margin, adopted Proposition 198, an

App. 6

initiative statute known as the Open Primary Act. Propo-
sition 198 converts the State’s primary election from a
closed to an open or blanket primary in which voters may
vote for any candidate regardless of the candidate’s or
the voter's party a’ ation. In a blanket primary under
Proposition 198, one ballot will be prepared at the pri-
mary election for all voters just as in the general election.
Because a blanket primary permits voters to vote in the
primary election of a party without being registered in
that party, the political parties and party officials who
bring this action contend that Proposition 198 violates
their right of association guaranteed by the First Amend-
ment of the Constitution.

The court concludes that Proposition 198 withstands

this constitutional challenge.

Under Proposition 198 “All persons entitled to vote,
including those not affiliated with any political party,
shall have the right to vote . . . at any election in which
they are qualified to vote, for any candidate regardless of
the candidate's political affiliation.”' By this language
and the conforming amendments to the State Election
Code, Proposition 198 changed the California primary

' Proposition 198 added to the Election Code the language
quoted in text as a new § 2001. The Proposition also made
conforming amendments to §§ 2151, 13102, 13203, 13206, 13230,
13300, 13301, and 13302. See Dets.’ Ex. A.

eS

App. 7

from a closed to an open or blanket system.? As the
Legislative Analyst explained in the ballot pamphlet dis-
tributed to voters before the election, under the closed
system “[iJn order to vote in primary elections for parti-
san offices, a voter must have identified a political party
affiliation when registering to vote and can vote only for
candidates of that party.” Defs.’ Ex. A at 5. Thus, for
example, in the closed primary a registered Democratic
Party voter receives a ballot that includes only candidates
competing for the Democratic Party nomination. Only
registered Democrats could vote for these candidates,
and the winner of the primary would be the Democratic
Party’s candidate at the general election.* By contrast, the
Legislative Analyst explained, in the blanket primary
instituted by Proposition 198:

[A]ll persons who are entitled to vote in primary
elections, including those not affiliated with a political
party [are allowed to] vote for any candidate regardless
of the candidate’s political party affiliation. Thus, voters

? California has had a closed primary since 1909 when the
Siate substituted direct nomination of candidates by primary
elections in place of nominating conventions held by the
political parties. In 1900 California briefly experimented with a
blanket primary, but the California Supreme Court held it
unconstitutional under the State Constitution. See Britton v.
Board of Election Comm'rs, 129 Cal. 337, 346-47, 61 P. 1115 (1900).
No claim is made under the State Constitution in the present
case.

* Cal. Elec.Code § 15451 provides: “The person who
receives the highest number of votes at a primary election as the
candidate of a political party for nomination to an office is the
nominee of that party at the ensuing general election.”

App. 8

———in- primary elections would be allowed to vote for candi-

dates across political party lines. Furthermore, the initia-
tive provides that county elections officials prepare only
one ballot for all voters. The candidates for an office

would be listed randomly on the ballot and not grouped -

by political party affiliation. The candidate of each politi-
cal party who receives the most votes for a state elective
office becomes the nominee of that party at the next
general election. Defs.’ Ex. A at 5. Therefore, in the blan-
ket primary after Proposition 198, a registered Demo-
cratic Party voter, for example, could vote for a
Republican Party candidate for Governor and a Demo-
cratic Party candidate for Assembly, and so on down the
ballot.

An independent voter could do the same.* Through
such cross-over voting, it is possible under the blanket
primary for independent voters and voters registered in
one party to participate in the primary election of another

party.

In the statement of support included in the ballot
pamphlet, proponents of Proposition 198 argued that the
closed primary “favors the election of party hard-liners,
contributes to legislative gridlock, and stacks the deck
against more moderate problem-solvers.” The open pri-
mary would permit voters to vote “for the best candidate
for each office, regardless of party affiliation” thereby
giving voters greater choice. In addition, according to
proponents, the blanket primary would increase voter

+ The election of political party committee members is not
affected by Proposition 198. As to these party offices, voters
may only vote for candidates of their own party registration.

App. 9

ee

~ participation in the primary election, restore healthy com-

petition particularly in “safe” legislative districts in
which one party clearly dominates, make elected officials
more responsive to voters as opposed to party officials,
reduce the power of special interest groups, and
strengthen the political parties by assuring the nomina-
tion of candidates with broader bases of support. Oppo-
nents of Proposition 198 contended that it would work an
unconstitutional interference with the right of the parties
to choose their nominees:

“Allowing members of one party a large voice in
choosing another party’s nominee — which Prop-
osition 198 would do = is like letting UCLA‘s
football team choose USC’s head coach!”5

According to the opponents, the existing closed pri-
mary provided a “real choice” among candidates of dif-
ferent parties while a blanket primary would be “an
invitation to political mischief” by special interests and
political consultants. Defs.’ Ex. A at 6-7.°

At the election, Proposition 198 was adopted by a
convincing margin of those voting - 59.51 percent

5° “Should Democrats be allowed to nominate Republican
candidates for office? No! Should Republicans be allowed to
nominate Democratic candidates for office? No!” Defs.’ Ex. A at
7.

© In light of the arguments for and against presented in the
ballot pamphlet, it cannot fairly be argued that the voters were
misled or inadequately advised as to the effects and purposes of
Proposition 198. Compare Jones v. Bates, 127 F.3d 839 (9th
Cir.1997), reh’g granted, 129 F.3d 494 (1997) (majority of panel
concludes that voters were not adequately advised as to effect of
Proposition 140, the term limit initiative).

~ (3,340,642 votes) to 40.49 percent (2,273,064 votes).
According to reliable exit polls, Proposition 198 was sup-
ported by 61 percent of Democrats, 57 percent of Republi-
cans, and 69 percent of Independents. The measure was
supported by a majority of every demographic subgroup,
including groupings by sex, age, race, education, political
ideology, income, religion and party identification. Defs.’
Exs. B & D. Proposition 198 commanded majorities in
every county in California and in 75 of the 80 Assembly
districts. Defs.’ Ex. I. Although the turnout by Califor-
nia’s six minor parties was too small to sample, given the
broad public support for Proposition 198 among all
groups of every sort, it is likely that a majority of the
members of these parties also favored the initiative. R.T.
at 847 (Testimony of Thomas Quinn). Moreover, the vote
on Proposition 198 reflects the long-standing support for
an open primary among California voters. According to
Mervin Field, an eminent California political polling
experi, Californians have favored an open primary by
wide margins since at least 1983. See Defs.’ Exs. L-2 &
L-5.” .

By passing Proposition 198, California joined a small
group of states, consisting of Alaska, Louisiana, and
Washington, who also have blanket or nonpartisan pri-
mary elections. The other states have either a closed or an

7 Mervin Field testified at the trial to his conclusion that as
_ to Proposition 198 “there was remarkable consistency over a 13-
year period, and that when the vote on Prop 198 was in,
comparing that with the study that we did then 13 years prior, it
showed that this concept, as it’s posed here, and as it was posed
in 198, struck a deep-seated chord with the voting public.” R.T.
at 645.

ee ie

————— — —_

open primary, or some variant of the closed or open

primary.* In the classic closed primary, such as California
had prior to Proposition 198, participation in a party's
primary election is limited to voters who have registered
as members of that party a specified period of time prior
to the primary election. Fifteen states have closed pri-
maries of this kind. See Defs.’ Ex. E, Gerber Report, at 2-4.
Eight additional states have a “semi-closed” primary:
participation in a party’s primary is limited to those who
have registered as party members and independents. Id.
Participation of registered members of other parties is not
permitted.

In an open primary, a registered voter may request,
on election day, the ballot for any party’s primary in
which the voter intends to vote, whether or not the voter
previously has registered as a member of that party;
however, the voter may only vote in one party’s primary
election. Twenty-one states have an open primary in this
sense of the term. /d.° Finally, four states have blanket or

* “The distinctions between open and closed primaries are
easy to exaggerate. Too simple a distinction ignores the range of
nuances and varieties within the closed primary states.” F.
Sorauf, Party Politics in America 206 (4th ed.1980), quoted in
Democratic Party of United States v. Wisconsin ex rel. LaFollette, 450
U.S. 107, 133 n. 8, 101 S.Ct. 1010, 1025 n. 8, 67 L.Ed.2d 82 (1981)
(Powell, J., dissenting). Similarly, there are many variations
within the open and blanket primary states.

* The open primary is sometimes defined more narrowly to
include only those primaries in which the “ ‘voter is not
required to declare publicly a party preference or to have that
preference publicly recorded.’ ” Democratic Party of United States
v. Wisconsin ex rel. LaFollette, 450 U.S. 107, 112 n. 4, 101 S.Ct.
1010, 1014 n. 4, 67 L.Ed.2d 82 (1981) (citation omitted).

App. 12

nonpartisan primaries. The blanket primary is a version
of the open primary in which the voter is not limited to
the ballot-of any single party. All voters receive the same
ballot, and a voter is not limited to the candidates of any
single party but may vote, as to each office contested, for
any candidate regardless of party affiliation. This is the
primary system in Washington and Alaska, and is the
system adopted by Proposition 198. Alaska first adopted
a blanket primary in 1947 and has had a blanket primary
since that time with the exception of the period from 1960
to 1966 when it adopted a traditional open primary.

Washington has had a blanket primary continuously
since 1935. Finally, Louisiana has a version of a blanket
primary, a nonpartisan primary open to all registered
voters. Similar to the blanket primary in the sense that a
voter can vote for any candidate without regard to party
affiliation and is not limited to one party’s nominees, the
nonpartisan primary differs because “[t]he two top vote
receivers, regardless of party, meet in a subsequent (run-
off or general) election.” Id. at 3.

“The relative merits of closed and open pri-
maries have been the subject of substantial
debate since the beginning of this century and
no consensus has as yet emerged.” Tashjian v.

Approximately ten states have this kind of open primary. See
Pls.’ Ex. 7, Costantini Report at 3; Tashjian v. Republican Party of
Conn., 479 U.S. 208, 222 n. 11, 107 S.Ct. 544, 552 n. 11, 93 L.Ed.2d
514 (1986). The other states follow practices that are sometimes
classified as “semi-open” or “semi-closed.” In these states the
voter is permitted to request any party’s ballot the day of the
primary, but some record of the request is made or a public
statement of party affiliation is made prior to voting.

moe

ee ee ey oe ee ———

ation

a ww"

App. 13

Republican Party of Conn., 479 U.S. 208, 222, 107
S.Ct. 544, 552, 93 L.Ed.2d 514 (1986). It is appar-
ent from this very case that the States continue
to debate the question and to try new
approaches. !°

All of the four political party plaintiffs in this case
have bylaws that prohibit persons who are not registered
in their parties from voting in their parties’ primary.
Article X, § 8 of the By-Laws & Rules of the California
Democratic Party states that “No person shall be entitled
to vote for a Democratic candidate at a partisan primary
election unless he or she is a registered Democrat.” Pls.’
Ex. 1 at 36. The Republican Party also disputes the legit-
imacy of an open or blanket primary: “The [State Central]
Committee shall recognize only those partisan nomina-
tion processes under California law that limit the electo-
rate for partisan nomination elections to registered
Republican voters, and which do not impose upon the
Committee, without its express concurrence, a nomina-
tion process open to voters registered in other parties or

10 When the Supreme Court decided Tashjian in 1986 it
found that 21 states provided for the classic closed primary.
According to Professor Gerber, as of 1990 the number of closed
primaries had fallen to sixteen, including California. See Defs.’
Ex. E., Gerber Report, at 2. Because it is not easy to classify the
differing systems and because analysts use somewhat different
definitions of the “closed” and “open” primaries, this change in
numbers may be more the product of differing classification
systems than changes in the states’ election laws. The Tashjian
Court also found that four states, including Virginia, had
blanket primaries. The inclusion of Virginia as a blanket state
appears to have been in error. See Va.Code § 24.1-182 (“No
person shall vote for the candidates of more than one party.”).

App. 14

as decline to state.” Defs.’ Ex. § at 2. The Peace & Free-
dom Party Sta*e Central Committee By-Laws and the
Libertarian Party of California Bylaws have similar provi-
sions. See Pls.’ Ex. 3 at 6, and Ex. 4 at 13."!

The California Democratic Party, the Peace and Free-
dom Party, and the Libertarian Party of California and
certain of their officers brought this action against the
Secretary of State of the State of California seeking a
declaration that Proposition 198 is unconstitutional and
requesting an injunction against its implementation. !2
The California Republic Party and certain of its officers
intervened as plaintiffs. Californians For An Open Pri-
mary intervened as a defendant.‘* The court heard testi-
mony over four days and has received numerous exhibits,
including the reports of various experts.

'! The Democratic National Committee's charter requires
that state party delegates to the national convention be chosen
through “processes which... restrict participation to Democrats
only.” Pls.’ Ex. 2 at 2 (Art. 2, § 4(e)). See also Pls.’ Ex. 9 at 4 (Rules
2.A. and 2.B. of the Delegate Selection Rules). The Rules of the
Republican Party have a similar rule against blanket and open
primaries. See Defs.’ Ex. T at 25 (Rule No. 34(f)).

'2 It appears that the political parties did not mount a
campaign against Proposition 198 with the voters at the time of
the election. See R.T. at 230; Nader v. Schaffer, 417 F.Supp. 837, 850
(D.Conn.1976), aff'd. without opinion, 429 U.S. 989, 97 S.Ct. 516,
50 L.Ed.2d 602 (1976) (criticizing plaintiffs for “seeking a change
in the law by judicial fiat” rather than by political activity).

'S For ease of reference, throughout this opinion the terms
“plaintiffs” and “defendants” shall include the intervenors, and
when the political “parties” are referred to as taking a position
in this action, the term shall include the individual officers who
are also plaintiffs.

App. 15

This case presents two competing views as to the
function of the direct primary and, to some extent, as to
the function of the political parties. From the parties’
perspective, the parties are autonomous organizations
and the primary is their opportunity to select their
leaders and to define their positions on political ques-
tions. From the defendants’ perspective, the primaries are
the first step by which the electorate as a whole, regard-
less of party affiliation, chooses its leaders, and the politi-
cal parties, as they operate to frame the choice of

candidates, are a part of a highly regulated governmental
activity - the election process. Both positions find sup-
port in the Constitution and the relevant case law. The
“freedom of association protected by the First and Four-
teenth Amendments includes partisan political organiza-
tion.” Tashjian v. Republican Party of Connecticut, 479 U.S.
208, 214, 107 S.Ct. 544, 548, 93 L.Ed.2d 514 (1986). “As a
result, political parties’ government, structure, and activ-
ities enjoy constitutional protection.” Timmons v. Twin
Cities Area New Party, 520 U.S. 351, 357, 117 S.Ct. 1364,
1369, 137 L.Ed.2d 589 (1997). However, the States also
have a strong interest in the conduct of elections. “[T]he
Constitution grants to the States a broad power to pre-
scribe the ‘Times, Places and Manner of holding Elections
for Senators and Representatives,’ Art. I, § 4, cl. 1, which
power is matched by state control over the election pro-
cess for state offices.” Tashjian, 479 U.S. at 217, 107 S.Ct. at
549.

It is the clash of these two constitutionally rooted
interests that must be resolved in this case.

App. 16

The Supreme Court has never directly considered the
constitutionality of a blanket or open primary. In Demo-
cratic Party of United States v. Wisconsin ex rel. LaFollette,
450 U.S. 107, 101 S.Ct. 1010, 67 L.Ed.2d 82 (1981), the
Court had the opportunity to decide the constitutionality
of Wisconsin's open primary but decided the case on a
different basis, merely noting that the State Supreme
Court had concluded that the “open primary serves [a]
compelling state interest” and that “[u]pon this issue, the
Wisconsin Supreme Court may well be correct.” Jd. at 121,
101 S.Ct. at 1018.'* Perhaps the closest case is Tashjian v.
Republican Party of Connecticut, 479 U.S. 208, 107 S.Ct. 544,
93 L.Ed.2d 514 (1986), but in Tashjian the Court addressed
the reverse of the situation presented here; in Tashjian the
state election law provided for a closed primary and the
political party desired to open its primary to independent
voters.'° Thus, the Court had no occasion to address

'* The Court viewed the issue as “whether the State may
compel the National Party to seat a delegation chosen in a way
that violates the rules of the Party.” 450 U.S. at 121, 101 S.Ct. at
1018. Justice Powell in dissent would have held that the open
primary was supported by compelling interests that
outweighed the burden on the National Party. /d. at 126, 101
S.Ct. at 1020.

Justice Powell's dissent, like Justice Abrahamson’s opinion
for the Wisconsin Supreme Court, discusses many of the issues
relevant to this case.

'S The Court expressly cautioned that its holding was
limited to the particular set of circumstances before it. Id. at 224
n. 13, 107 S.Ct. at 554 n. 13 (“Our holding today does not
establish that state regulation of primary voting qualifications
may never withstand challenge by a political party or its
membership.”). Nader v. Schaffer, 417 F.Supp. 837 (D.Conn.),
aff'd. without opinion, 429 U.S. 989, 97 S.Ct. 516, 50 L.Ed.2d 602
(1976), also addressed the constitutionality of a closed primary.

App. 17

either the State's interests in an open or blanket primary
or the burdens imposed on a political party by such a
primary system. Two State Supreme Courts - the
Supreme Courts of Alaska and Washington - have exam-
ined the constitutionality of the blanket primary and both
have concluded that a blanket primary withstands a
party's First Amendment challenge. See O'Callaghan v.
Alaska, 914 P.2d 1250 (Alaska 1996), cert. denied, 520 U.S.
1209, 117 S.Ct. 1690, 137 L.Ed.2d 818 (1997); Heavey v.
Chapman, 93 Wash.2d 700, 611 P.2d 1256 (1980); Anderson
v. Millikin, 186 Wash. 602, 59 P.2d 295 (1936). As noted
above, the Supreme Court of Wisconsin came to the same
conclusion concerning the Wisconsin open primary in the
face of the Democratic Party’s claim that by permitting
non-party members to vote in its primary, including
Republicans and adherents of other parties, the State's
open primary violated the Party’s associational rights. See
Wisconsin ex rel. La Follette v. Democratic Party, 93 Wis.2d
473, 287 N.W.2d 519 (1980).

The court held that the State’s closed primary was
constitutional in the face of a challenge from two voters
who wanted to vote in the primary elections without
registering with a party. The court concluded that the
closed primary was reasonably related to the legitimate

goal of protecting the associational rights of party mem-
bers.

The Supreme Court recently has explained the stan-
dard and manner of review that should be applied when
a state election law is challenged by a political party on
the basis of the First Amendment:

App. 18

When deciding whether a state election law vio-
lated First and Fourteenth Amendment associa-
tional rights, we weigh the ‘character and
magnitude’ of the burden the State's rule
imposes on those rights against the interests the
State contends justify that burden, and consider
the extent to which the State’s concerns make
the burden necessary. Regulations imposing
severe burdens on plaintiffs’ rights must be nar-
rowly tailored and advance a compelling state
interest. Lesser burdens, however, trigger less-
exacting review, and a State’s “important regu-
latory interests” will usually be enough to jus-
tify “reasonable nondiscriminatory restrictions.”
No bright line separates permissible election-
related regulation from unconstitutional
infringements on First Amendment freedoms.

Timmons v. Twin Cities Area New Party, 520 U.S. 351,
358, 117 S.Ct. 1364 1370, 137 L.Ed.2d 589 (1997) (citations
omitted). In describing the “flexible” balancing test now
used by the Court, the Ninth Circuit has cautioned that
even when “strict scrutiny,” the highest standard of
review, has been invoked, “its invocation in election law
cases has not preordained their outcome.” Lightfoot v. Eu,
964 F.2d 865, 869 (9th Cir.1992). Moreover, the Court does
not require “elaborate, empirical verification of the
weightiness of the State’s asserted justifications.” Tim-
mons, 520 U.S. at 363, 117 S.Ct. at 1372.

In evaluating the constitutionality of Proposition 198,
the court therefore must first determine the character and
magnitude of the burdens imposed by the blanket pri-
mary on the associational rights of the political parties.
The court then must consider the State’s interests and

App. 19

weigh the strength of those interests against the particu-
lar burdens placed on the parties’ associational rights.
The greater the intrusion on the parties’ associational
rights, the greater must be the State’s interests and the
more narrowly tailored must be the Proposition to
advance those interests.'®

It is only by inference that it can be concluded that
minor party members also supported Proposition 198.
Moreover, and second, even if the polls are accurate, this
is not the way in which decisions customarily are made in
our democracy. In no other context do we accept the
results of polling for the act of voting. Finally, the parties
have selected certain procedures for the modification of
their rules. These procedures require deliberation and
decisionmaking by the parties’ respective central commit-
tees. Other deliberative bodies have similar procedural
rules. Such rules may affect the nature of the debate -
indeed, may cause there to be debate - and may affect the
outcome of the decision. We would not accept a poll of
legislators as the equivalent of a legislative vote. For
much the same reason, a poll of voters is not the equiva-
lent of a decision by a party according to the procedural

‘© Defendants stress an argument that must be addressed at
the outset. Defendants argue that because a majority of the
members of the Democratic and Republican parties, and
presumably of the minor parties, voted for Proposition 198, the
membership of the parties have consented to Proposition 198
and therefore there is no issue for the court to resolve. There are
three problems with this argument. First, even though the polls
appear to be accurate, those polls do not report the votes of
minor party members.

App. 20

rules of the party. The court therefore rejects the argu-
ment that the “parties,” defined as the electorate, have
agreed to Proposition 198 and that this lawsuit is merely
an attempt by dissidents to carry on intra-party disputes
that they previously lost at the ballot box. For an interest-
ing discussion of “who gets to speak for ‘the party’,” see
Daniel H. Lowenstein, Associational Rights of Major Political
Parties: A Skeptical Inquiry, 71 Tex. L.Rev. 1741, 1777
(1993).

The parties’ main argument is that a blanket primary
permits voters who are not members of a particular party
- who may indeed be hostile to that party’s electoral
interests - to vote in that party’s primary and thus to
participate in the process by which the party defines its
positions on a variety of issues and by which it chooses
its standard bearers. In Tashjian the Supreme Court recog-
nized the importance of these interests in invalidating a
Connecticut statute that forbade the parties from permit-
ting non-members from voting in their primaries:

[T]he freedom to join together in furtherance of
common political beliefs ‘necessarily presup-
poses the freedom to identify the people who
constitute the association.’ . . . The statute here
places limits upon the group of registered voters
whom the Party may invite to participate in the
basic function’ of selecting the Party’s candi-
dates. The State thus limits the Party’s associa-
tional opportunities at the crucial juncture at
which the appeal to common principles may be
translated into concerted action, and hence to
political power in the community.

App. 21

Tashjian, 479 U.S. at 215-16, 107 S.Ct. at 548-49 (citations
omitted). Accord Timmons v. Twin Cities Area New Party,
520 U.S. 351, 359, 117 S.Ct. 1364, 1370, 137 L.Ed.2d 589
(1997) (“the New Party, and not someone else, has the
right to select the New Party’s standard bearer’ ”).

A.

The parties contend that their interest in limiting
candidate selection to their own members is so great that
no matter what the State’s interest and no matter how
Proposition 198 will work in practice, the blanket primary
must be unconstitutional on its face. Yet while the interest
in determining who will vote in a party’s primary is one
protected by the First Amendment, and is undoubtedly
an important interest, this is not the end of the inquiry. If
it were, then open primaries would also be unconstitu-
tional upon any party’s objection: an open primary, every
bit as much as a blanket primary, permits voters who are
not registered in a party to vote in that party’s primary.
But many of the States have some version of an open
primary and to invalidate them all on this theoretical
ground would be an extraordinary intrusion into the
complex and changing election laws of the States and
would remove from the American political system a
method for candidate selection that many States consider
beneficial and which in the uncertain future could take on
new appeal and importance.'”

17 The expert witnesses in this c* « differ as to how many of
the States have open primaries «. some feature of an open
primary. Part of this dispute depends on how to classify those
States that treat a voter’s request for a ballot as tantamount to a

App. 22

Similarly, were the parties’ power to determine mem-
bership and to select their nominees unfettered, then the
States would also lack power to prescribe candidate selec-
tion through a primary election or to require that all
voters who have met a State’s registration requirements
be permitted to vote in the parties’ primaries notwith-
standing any other membership requirement that a party
might impose.'* However, the States have considerable

declaration of party affiliation. Even if this patent fiction were
accepted, close to half of the States permit voters who are not
members of a particular party, and who may be independent or,
in some States, members of other parties, to vote in that party’s
primary election. Moreover, as Justice Powell noted, when a
voter may register immediately before voting at the primary,
“the difference between open and closed primaries loses its
practical significance.” Democratic Party, 450 U.S. at 132, 101
S.Ct. at 1024 (Powell, J., dissenting).

18 The most dramatic example of government control of a
political party’s membership requirements are the White
Primary Cases in which the Supreme Court held that the
Democratic Party of Texas could not exclude black voters from
its primary. See Smith v. Allwright, 321 U.S. 649, 64 S.Ct. 757, 88
L.Ed. 987 (1944). An interesting example of how a party’s desire
to limit its membership could conflict with state law is
suggested by the testimony of plaintiff Gail Lightfoot, a member
of the State Executive Committee of the Libertarian Party: “You
become a member of the Libertarian Party by joining, by asking.
It’s a request to become a member. And you pay dues and signa
pledge [of nonviolence]. In California, because of state law, state
law says that all registered voters that take the name Libertarian
are members of the party. But we consider pledge-signing
individuals who have paid their dues and signed the pledge to
be the true members of our party.” R.T. at 153-54; see also R.T. at
179 (Peace and Freedom Party confers party membership on
persons who are “deprived of the right vote by the State of
California because of age, citizenship, or prior social behavior”).

App. 23

regulatory authority over the process of candidate selec-
tion and may require that the parties select their candi-
dates by a primary election open to registered voters. See
Lightfoot v. Eu, 964 F.2d 865, 871 (9th Cir.1992) (“political
parties’ rights to nominate whomever they want, how-
ever they want, is not sacred”); Timmons v. Twin Cities
Area New Party, 520 U.S. 351, 117 S.Ct. 1364, 137 L.Ed.2d
589 (1997) (State can prohibit fusion candidacies). The
States’ authority over the political parties stems in part
from the Constitution, Art. I, 4, cl. 1, and in part from the
public function that the political parties perform in the
candidate nominating and political processes.

Moreover, the analogy on which the parties rely so
heavily, the analogy between the political parties and the
myriad of private political, charitable, recreational, edu-
cational or religious associations at the center of Ameri-
can life, is imperfect at best. The political scientists who
testified in this case agree that a political party cannot be
described simply as a private club or association; instead,
a political party has three distinct aspects — the party in
the electorate, the party organization, and the party in
government.'? Unlike other private associations, at least

19 See Pls.’ Ex. 6, Cain Report, at 15 (“Since the seminal
work of the scholar V.O. Key, parties are thought to consist of
three components: the party in government, the party in the
constituency and the party as organization.”); Lowenstein, supra,
71 Tex. L.Rev. at 1760 (1993) (“Although there have been a great
many typologies of the varying ‘locations’ and functions of
parties, probably the most common identifies three: the party in
the electorate, the party organization, and the party in or
running for public office ... The very fact that references to ‘the
Democrats’ and ‘the Republicans’ are more common in ordinary ‘
conversation than references to the Democratic party’ and ‘the

App. 24

in one of their avatars - the party in government - the
political parties are very like the government itself. See
Lowenstein, supra, at 1757 (“unlike any other private
groups, political parties routinely, pervasively, and legit-
imately exercise their influence from within the govern-
ment”). And the parties perform functions that are fairly
characterized as governmental in nature, such as the
nomination of candidates.

Furthermore, at least the major political parties lack
the unity of purpose and cohesive membership charac-
teristic of most private organizations. The major political
parties in this country ” ‘have been characterized by a
fluidity and overlap of philosophy and membership.’ It
can hardly be denied that [the parties] generally [have]
been composed of various elements reflecting most of the
American political spectrum.” Democratic Party, 450 U.S.
at 133, 101 S.Ct. at 1024 (Powell, J., dissenting) (citations
omitted).

And, as discussed above, the term “party member”
as applied to registered voters is something of a mis-
nomer. The States determine who will vote at primary
elections - registered voters. See Cal. Elections Code
§§ 2151, 7164, 7362, 7804, 8001. These voters have not
allied themselves to a political party in the customary
way that one normally becomes a member of a private
association; they have not paid dues, taken an oath,
expressed agreement with certain ideals or goals,
attended meetings, accepted any obligations, or attended

Republican party’ testifies to the loose and manifold nature of
our concept of ‘party.’ ”).

App. 25

upon any other rite of initiation. The parties do not and
could not insist upon more than mere registration as the
price of voting in the primary elections.2° Thus, to con-
tend that Proposition 198 permits non-party members to
vote in a party’s primary, while accurate, covers over
much of the imprecision in the political reality.

In short, it is necessary to look beyond the parties’
claim that their constitutional interest in limiting candi-
date selection to their respective members necessarily
prevails over any State interest and without regard to
how the voters may behave under a blanket primary.

20 “(T]he essence of the legal definitions of party
membership in the United States wili surely continue to be self-
designation. The fact remains that today even in Illinois, New
York, or any other closed-primary state you are a Democrat if
you say you are; no one can effectively say you are not; and you
can become a Republican any time the spirit moves you simply
by saying that you have become one. You accept no obligations
by such a declaration; you receive only a privilege, the privilege
of taking an equal part in the making of the party’s most
important decision, the nomination of its candidates for public
office. The only remaining restriction is that in some states, such
as California, you may have to let the registrar of voters know
that you have changed parties, and you may have to do so
severs| weeks or even months before your new party’s next
primary. But in many closed-primary states you do not even
have to do that, and in Wisconsin and the other open-primary
states you are not allowed to make an official declaration of
your party membership. One can only conclude that the so-
called ‘closed’ primaries are just a hair more closed than the so-
called ‘open’ primaries.” A. Ranney, Curing the Mischiefs of
Faction 166-67 (1975), quoted in Wisconsin ex rel. LaFollette v.
Democratic Party, 93 Wis.2d 473, 287 N.W.2d 519, 535 (1980).

App. 26

Turning to the more practical implications of a blan-
ket primary, the parties contend that a blanket primary
process in California will have a destructive effect on all
political parties both major and minor. The parties predict
that there will be widespread cross-over voting, whether
benevolent or malicious, and that the consequences of
this large cross-over vote will be many and adverse to the
parties. The parties contend that the cross-over vote, and
the prospect of a large cross-over vote, will affect the
selection and behavior of party nominees and elected
officials; weaken party discipline; increase the costs of
primary elections by causing candidates to compete as if
it were a general election; dampen the morale of party
activists; and disrupt internal party structure and gover-
nance. Much of the testimony at trial was directed to the
question of whether voters in blanket primary states tend
to cross over in sufficient numbers to influence the out-
come of elections and whether they cross over for benev-
olent or malevolent reasons. A cross-over voter is one
who votes for a candidate of a party in which the voter is
not registered. Thus, the cross-over voter could be an
independent voter or one who is registered to a compet-
ing political party.2! A cross-over voter may be actuated
by three different purposes. First, the voter’s purpose
may be to vote for the voter’s most preferred choice to
win in the general election; this kind of cross-over voter
is sometimes referred to as engaging in “sincere” voting.
Second, the voter may be engaged in “strategic” voting,

21 Some of the experts exclude independents from their
definition of cross-over voters.

App. 27

designed to obtain the best possible outcorne, by voting
for the voter’s second choice in a setting where the
voter’s first choice, within the voter’s own party, either
has no apparent chance of victory at the general election
or is so certain to win the party’s nomination that the
voter perceives that his or her vote is best spent influenc-
ing another party’s primary and thus the choice at the
general election. Finally, the voter may be a raider, cross-
ing over to vote for a candidate who is perceived as the
“weakest” of an opposing party’s candidates in the hopes
that this candidate will win the primary only to be
trounced at the general election.??

The parties contend that a blanket primary will
unleash a torrent of cross-over voting even by compari-
son to open primaries. The parties reason that unlike an
open primary, a blanket primary permits a voter to cross
over as to particular contested elections without losing
the ability to vote in the remainder of the contests in the
voter’s own party. The evidence at trial suggests that the
parties are correct that cross-over voting will be more
prevalent after Proposition 198. Indeed, defendants can
hardly dispute this point while maintaining that the
State’s interests are furthered by a blanket primary pre-
cisely because it facilitates cross-over voting. Nonethe-
less, the parties’ characterization of the likely amount or
effects of cross-over voting due to a blanket primary is
overdrawn.

22 A sophisticated raider will vote for the weakest among
those candidates who have a realistic chance of prevailing at the
primary.

App. 28

To begin with, there is little evidence that raiding will
be a factor under the blanket primary. On this point there
is almost unanimity among the political scientists who
were called as experts by the plaintiffs and defendants.
Professor Costantini, for plaintiffs, gave his opinion that
[sJurvey evidence tends not to support any fear that
raiding (sometimes characterized as “mischievous vot-
ing”) will be a common phenomenon under Proposition
198. At least in open presidential primaries (the focus of
almost all the relevant studies), it appears that the great
majority of crossover voters — from 90% to 95% or more -
invade a party’s primary to vote for a preferred candidate
and not to vote for a candidate who they will oppose in
the general election and who they believe will be easier to
defeat in that election. Pls.’ Ex. 7, Costantini Report, at 7;
R.T. at 485-86. Professor Donald Olson of the University
of Washington-Seattle, reflecting on the over half century
of experience with a blanket primary in Washington,
explained that the conditions for successful raiding rarely
exist:

The potential for raiding under the blanket pri-
mary generates wide media attention and
spawns electioneering lore that is simply unwar-
ranted by actual experience. Technically
defined, raiding would occur where partisan
voters of party X cross-over in sufficient
numbers to help select the weakest or most vul-
nerable candidate in party Y. The requirements
for this form of electoral subterfuge are: (1) the
absence of a meaningful primary contest in
party X; (2) provision of sufficient information
to identify the weaker and most vulnerable
potential opponent in party Y; (3) concerted
action by a large enough bloc of voters in party

App. 29

X to influence the outcome in the primary of
party Y; and (4) the abandonment of traditional
party loyalties by partisan voters to enter the
opponent's primary. In the experience of Wash-
ington state, these requirements are simply too
demanding and have not been fulfilled in actual
practice. Defs.’ Ex. G, Olson Report, at 6. See
Pls.’ Ex. 6, Cain Report, at 6-7; R.T. at 355.

Given that the purpose of raiding is to weaken a
competitive party’s advantage at the general election,
raiding is not a concern for minor parties because their
candidates rarely have a chance of prevailing at the gen-
eral election. Indeed, no conclusive instance of raiding in
such numbers as to affect the outcome of any primary
was offered by plaintiffs.

As to benevolent cross-over voting, the evidence sug-
gests that there will be particular elections in which there
will be a substantial amount of cross-over voting - per-
haps as high as 25% of the vote for that office —- although
the cross-over vote will rarely change the outcome of any
election and in the typical contest will not be at signifi-
cantly higher levels than in open primary states. There
will be a small number of elections in which the cross-
over vote proves decisive, and there will be other elec-
tions in which the possible importance of the cross-over

2 Professor Cain suggests that the 1974 Alaska
Gubernatorial Republican primary may be an example of
raiding in which Democrats and Independents “raided” to
support liberal Republican Jay Hammond over former
Governor Walter Hickel. However, as Professor Cain notes, the
cross-over voters may have been “liberal shoppers” as opposed
to saboteurs. See Pls.’ Ex. 6, Cain Report, at 7.

App. 30

vote will be an influence on the conduct of the primary
campaign and the conduct of elected officials.

The experience in Washington suggests that as to the
election for any particular office, approximately 10% of
the voters are cross-over voters, excluding independents,
while in some exceptional cases this figure may rise as
high as 20-25%. R.T. at 511.74

Typically the cross-over vote in Washington does not
change the result of an election but only the margin of
victory. R.T. at 513. Moreover, the amount of cross-over
voting is greater in a blanket primary than an open
primary but not dramatically so. According to Professor
Nagler, who co-authored the most comprehensive study
of patterns of cross-over voting presented at the trial, the
average cross-over rate, excluding independents, is some-
thing on the order of 5% of voters in closed primary
states,25 10% of voters in open primary states, and 11-15%
in blanket primary states. R.T. at 780, 788; Defs.’ Ex. H,
Alvarez and Nagler Report, at 11-12. The study concludes
that “crossover voting in blanket primaries is not dramat-
ically higher than in other types of open primary sys-
tems” and that “there is very little crossover voting in

24 According to Professor Olson, approximately 25-33% of
voters vote for candidates of only one party throughout the
ballot, voting a straight ticket. The remainder of the voters cross
over at least once.

25 In a closed primary state, a cross-over voter is one who
identifies with one party but decides to register in another party
for the purpose of voting in the primary of that other party.

App. 31

general in primary elections in the United States.” Id. at
35-36.76

Although cross-over voting typically does not change
the outcome of a primary and may not be much greater in
a blanket than in an open primary, it is probable over
time that there will be some elections under Proposition
198 that will be decided by the cross-over vote. Cross-
over voting is most likely to occur when one party's
primary is competitive while the other party’s primary is
not. When this condition of “asymmetric competition”
occurs, voters of the party with the noncompetitive pri-
mary may cross over to the other primary to influence the
choice. The incentive to cross over will be particularly
high if the winner of the other party’s primary is almost
certain to win at the general election. See Pls.’ Ex. 6, Cain
Report, at 8. Every two years in California there are 80

6 Plaintiffs fail to present substantial or convincing
evidence that the minor political parties will be affected by
cross-over voting to any significant degree. A strategic voter
would not cross-over to vote in a minor party's primary because
the victor of the minor party primary will not likely be the
winner in the general election. Moreover, the minor parties
rarely have contested primaries. R.T. at 167, 618, 630-31. Finally,
the minor parties make much of their small turn-out at the
primary election compared to the much larger numbers of
voters who select their candidates at the general election. From
this disparity, the minor parties argue that they will be
swamped at the primary election by the same nonparty
members who vote for their candidates at the general election.
This conclusion does not follow. Those non-party members who
vote for minor party candidates at the general election are most
likely voters whose preferred candidates were not selected in

the primary of a major party. R.T. at 193.

App. 32

Assembly races, 20 State Senate races, and 52 Congres-
sional races. Examining the 1996 Assembly primaries,
Professor Cain identified ten races in which there were
asymmetric competitive conditions. In some of these
races, a cross-over rate of 5% could have changed the
outcome of the election had all of the cross-over voters
voted for the same candidate. Given that in Washington,
cross-over rates occasionally reach levels as high as
20-25%, and that the cross-over rate in California could
be higher than Washington,’ it is likely that in the full-
ness of time some California primary races will be
decided by cross-over voters, even if the number of such
occasions is not large. Depending on the circumstances,
the swing of even one seat could give a legislative major-
ity to one party.

Furthermore, the possibility of a decisive cross-over
vote - whether or not that vote materializes - could well
affect the conduct of elections and elected officials. Under
a blanket or open primary, the primary election becomes
similar to the general election. Candidates will perceive a
need or opportunity to attract support from the entire
electorate, not simply from members of their respective
parties. This will affect not only the cost of the primary -
which is likely to increase, see R.T. at 270 — but may affect
the positions that candidates take on political issues as
they seek to attract cross-over voters. Moreover, once
elected, candidates may perceive that the cross-over vote
makes them less vulnerable at the primary to the wrath of

27 See R.T. at 574. Whether cross-over rates in California
will be similar to those in the other blanket primary states is
necessarily a matter of conjecture.

App. 33

the party organization or party regulars for acts of apos-
tasy. A blanket or open primary weakens the “disciplin-
ing effect” of the primary challenge in requiring “the
officeholder [to] carry out the party philosophy and“sup-
port the majority position of the party caucus.” R.T. at
214. The corollary to this loss of discipline is a loss of
power to party activists such that the ardor of party
volunteers and activists may be dampened in a system
that permits nonparty members to exert influence over
the party’s selection of a candidate. This has been the
experience in Washington and is likely to occur in Cali-
fornia. See R.T. at 558; R.T. at 18; R.T. at 989-990.

Finally, the parties argue that their internal gover-
nance will be disrupted by the blanket primary and the
cross-over vote. Although Proposition 198 specifically
exempts party committee positions from the blanket pri-
mary, both the Republican and Democratic Parties permit
officeholders and nominees to appoint members of their
governing bodies, the Democratic State Central Commit-
tee and the Republican State Central Committee. Because
nominees may have been selected by non-party members,
and because the nominees in turn choose members of the
Central Committees, the parties contend that their gov-
erning body may be adulterated.

Further, the parties warn that their respective
national organizations may not accept the results of the
California presidential primary, if that primary is a blan-
ket primary, with the result that the parties may be forced
to hold a nominating convention or caucus. Neither of
these contentions is particularly forceful, however. As to
membership on the Central Committee, the parties are

App. 34

free to change their selection process if they wish. More-
over, both parties already give more positions on the
Central Committee to successful candidates; yet these
successful candidates are precisely those who have
appealed more broadly across party lines. R.T. at 9, 224.
As to the national nominating conventions, the California
parties may be forced to adopt a different procedure for
delegate selection other than the presidential primary or
they may receive a waiver from their national organiza-
tions such as Wisconsin eventually received from the
Democratic Party. R.T. at 123, 145. This is a choice for the
parties to make, and they can do so as they please with-
out interference from the State.

c.

The magnitude of the burdens imposed on the parties
by Proposition 198 are not fairly characterized either as
“severe” or as “negligible,” the two labels most often
applied in the caselaw at this juncture of the analysis. The
burdens are not negligible. State law requires each party
to select its candidate through a primary, and the winner
of the primary will be the party’s nominee.

The blanket primary wrests a measure of control of
the primary process from the party and its members. This
is its purpose. The party may still endorse a ~andidate
and may throw financial support to a particular candi-
date. And, in the typical election, the cross-over vote will
not be decisive. Yet by permitting non-party members to
vote in a party’s primary — even granting the uncertainty
of the label “party member” - Proposition 198 is an
intrusion on a party’s traditional right to select its own

App. 35

candidate. In this respect, the blanket primary is no dif-
ferent from an open primary although the practical effect
of a blanket primary on the selection process may be
somewhat greater than an open primary. In addition, a
blanket primary, like an open primary, may depress the
vigor and morale of party activists and may affect the
ability of the party to discipline errant legislators.

On the other hand, the burdens on the parties due to
Proposition 198 are not likely to prove severe or debilitat-
ing. The Washington experience, as well as that of the
many open primary states, suggests that Proposition 198
will not diminish the efficacy or strength of the political
parties in California by any substantial degree.?* Indeed,
a study of the political parties in the 1970’s and 1980's in
13 western states, including Washington and California,
concluded that the political parties in Washington were
the most competitive with one another of all 13 states.
R.T. at 524; see Tashjian, 479 U.S. at 223 n. 12, 107 S.Ct. at
553 n. 12 (“dire” predictions as to decay of parties not
borne out by the 29 States that have open primary fea-
tures). Both the Democratic and Republican Parties con-
tinue to be strong political parties in Washington, and can
be expected to operate with little diminution in their
effectiveness in California.?? The parties do not show that

_28 Professor Cain would not expect a blanket primary to be
so debilitating to the parties that it should be removed as an
option altogether even if the parties were in favor of it. R.T. at
457. Professor Cain’s greatest concern is to protect party
autonomy.

2? According to Professor Olson the Washington
Republican Party has been ranked as among the strongest
Republican parties in the nation. Professor Olson states that the

App. 36

the blanket primary is significantly different theoretically
or practically from the open primary. Nor do they show
or even contend that Proposition 198 has any discrimina-
tory purpose or effect. Thus, the burden imposed by a
blanket primary falls evenly on all of the parties what-
ever their size or ideology. Finally, Proposition 198 leaves
untouched the wide field of party endeavor that is not
directed specifically to the primary, activities such as
developing the party platform, registering new voters,
and getting out the vote on election day. Defs.’ Ex. I,
Quinn Report at 18.

In light of all of these considerations, the court finds
that the parties have succeeded in showing that the blan-
ket primary imposes a significant but not severe burden
on their associational rights. To survive the challenge
mounted by plaintiffs, Proposition 198 must be supported
by interests that are sufficient to outweigh the burdens
identified above. Those interests need not be compelling,
given that the burdens are not crushing, but they must be
important.

Washington Republican Party “is alive, it is healthy, it is well, it
is vigorous. It is the single most important institution for
recruiting candidates to run for office. It’s the single most
important institution for endorsing candidates. It is the most
important fundraising institution in the conduct of elections.”
R.T. at 527. According to Professor Olson although the
Washington Democratic Party is not so dynamic as its
competitor, it is still of above average organizational strength as
compared to the Democratic parties of the 50 states. R.T. at 528.

App. 37

IV.

The States have broad regulatory authority over the
conduct of elections including primaries. The primary
election is the critical first stage in the electoral process:
“The direct primary in California is not merely an exer-
cise or warm-up for the general election but an integral
part of the entire election process, the initial stage in a
two-stage process by which the people choose their pub-
lic officers.” Storer v. Brown, 415 U.S. 724, 735, 94 S.Ct.
1274, 1281, 39 L.Ed.2d 714 (1974). “As a practical matter,
the ultimate choice of the mass of voters is predetermined
when the nominations [by the political parties] have been
made.” Morse v. Republican Party, 517 U.S. 186, 205-06, 116
S.Ct. 1186, 1199, 134 L.Ed.2d 347 (1996) (citation omitted).

Proposition 198 is the latest development in a history
of political reform measures that began in the Progressive
Era. “The Progressives believed democracy should be
something greater than competition between political
parties.” Lightfoot v. Eu, 964 F.2d at 872. The Progressives
sought to diminish the importance of the parties and

30 “[T]here must be a substantial regulation of elections if
they are to be fair and honest and if some sort of order, rather
than chaos, is to accompany the democratic processes. In any
event, the States have evolved comprehensive and in many
respects complex, election codes regulating in most substantial
ways, with respect to both federal and state elections, the time,
place, and manner of holding primary and general elections, the
registration and qualifications of voters, and the selection and
qualification of candidates.” Storer v. Brown, 415 U.S. 724,
729-30, 94 S.Ct. 1274, 1278-79, 39 L.Ed.2d 714 (1974).

App. 38

“party bosses” by establishing nonpartisan local elec-
tions, a comprehensive civil service system, direct legisla-
tion through the initiative and referendum, and the cross-
filing system by which members of one party could run
in the primary of the other party. See Defs.’ Ex. I, Quinn
Report, at 7 (quoting J. Owens and E. Costantini, Califor-
nia Politics and Parties (1970)).3! The cross-filing system
is of particular note because in practice it bore some
resemblance to a blanket or nonpartisan primary sys-
tem.3?

, a“

31 Lowenstein contrasts the Progressives’ “vision of a
democracy purged of corruption by placing widely dispersed
power in the hands of common men and women” with the
views of “party renewal advocates” who believe in
autonomous, strong, cohesive political parties who engage in
“responsible party government” much on the European
parliamentary model. See Lowenstein, supra, 71 Tex. L.Rev. at
1761-71, 1791. The debate in this case has been framed by the
experts in similar terms.

32 Under the cross-filing system, “[a] candidate registered
in one party may seek the nomination of all parties at the
primary. If he fails to secure the nomination of his own party, he
cannot be the candidate of any party at the general election.”
Jones v. McCollister, 159 Cal.App.2d 708, 324 P.2d 639 (1958).
Under the cross-filing system voters registered to different
parties had the opportunity to vote for the same candidates.
According to Dr. Quinn, as the system worked in California, the
winner of one party’s primary tended to be the winner of the
other party’s primary as well:

The cross filing system existed in California from 1911
to 1959. Under this system, a legislator or member of
congress could file to run in both the Democratic and
Republican primaries, and so long as he or she won
their own party nomination, they would win the
nomination of the other party as well. . . . On the
general election ballot, the winners, usually

App. 39

Defendants advance a number of State interests fur-
thered by Proposition 198. All of the various interests,
however, reduce to one fundamental contention: accord-
ing to defendants, Proposition 198, like other Progressive
Era reforms, enhances the democratic nature of the elec-
tion process and the representativeness of elected offi-
cials.

Defendants stress that a blanket primary opens up
the candidate selection process to two types of arguably
“disenfranchised” voters - independents and minority
party voters in safe districts. In a blanket primary, inde-
pendent voters will be able to participate in framing the
choice that they will ultimately have to make in the
general election. Approximately 11% of the electorate in
California are registered as independents, and the pro-
portion of independent voters is growing rapidly. R.T. at
940. Moreover, many California voters reside in “safe
districts,” districts in which one party is dominant.
Voters in these districts who belong to the minority party
have no influence or voice because the general election is
decided as a practical matter in the primary of the domi-
nant party. Of 15.6 million registered voters in California,
approximately one quarter are “disenfranchised” in this

incumbents, are shown as the nominees of both
parties. Defs.’ Ex. I, Quinn Report, at 7.

33 According to Dr. Quinn, “A district could be considered
safe if it had not been contested between the parties since it was
created in the 1991 reapportionment; the area covered had been
historically one party in its voting . . . ; there was no significant
money spent in the election between the two parties in ‘94 and
‘96... ; and if the incumbent received more than 55 percent of
all of the votes cast in the election.” R.T. at 847-48.

App. 40

way. R.T. at 854. Defendants suggest that the inability of
these voters to influence the outcome of the election in
their districts leads to the election of representatives who
see no need to represent these voters or to pay heed to
their interests. Of course, such voters could register in the
majority party, but this would require them to give up
their current party or independent registration.

Apart from the exclusion of independents and minor-
ity voters in safe districts, defendants contend that the
closed primary gives undue power to party members and
loyalists, including incumbent elected officials, such that
the voters in the general election are presented with
candidates who are more partisan and who take positions
on the policy issues of the day that are not representative
of the majority of the electorate. See R.T. at 243, 269, 299,
857. Defendants note that turnout is low at primary elec-
tions, and thus that a minority of more partisan party
members, influenced by the endorsements of party
leaders, determine the choice for the much larger group
of all voters at the coming general election. Defendants
suggest that this skewing of the process toward partisan
candidates leads to legislative impasse and thus aliena-
tion of the electorate from the political system. Defen-
dants contend that candidates who would command
majorities at the general election are unable to prevail at
the primary such that the voters at the general election
are forced to pick among candidates none of whom is the
first choice of the majority of voters. R.T. at 255-256.
Although these assertions are not readily susceptible of

App. 41

proof, many are not contested,** or are supported by
persuasive opinion evidence from defendants’ experts.
See, e.g., R.T. at 954-963, 974-975. Furthermore, these
contentions are clearly stated in the ballot pamphlet, and
it is a fair inference from the margin of support that the
people of California agree that a blanket primary system
will lead to the election of more representative “problem-
solvers” who are less beholden to party officials and
“special interest groups.” While political scientists may
disagree on the question of whether the political system
is benefitted when parties are more or less distinct or
polarized, it is apparent that the voters have sided with
less partisanship in adopting Proposition 198.55

34 There is some evidence that elected officials from blanket
primary states are closer to the views of the electorate as a
whole than officials from closed primary states. See Defs.’ Ex. E,
Gerber Report, at 11. Some of plaintiffs’ experts apparently
would agree that candidates selected in a blanket primary are
likely to take less partisan or extreme positions than those
selected in a closed primary. They do not concede that this is
healthy, however, because they believe that the system is
benefitted by greater partisanship and greater distance between
the parties.

35 There is some suggestion in defendants’ brief that the
blanket primary will also make the parties more representative
and therefore will benefit and strengthen the political parties.
Defs.’ Post-Trial Brief at 45. The Supreme Court has given little
weight, however, to State interests couched in terms of what is
good for the parties. The Court has found that it is for the
parties to decide what is in their interest. See Tashjian, 479 U.S. at
222-24, 107 S.Ct. at 552-53; Eu v. San Francisco County Democratic
Cent. Comm., 489 U.S. 214, 227-28, 109 S.Ct. 1013, 1022-23, 103
L.Ed.2d 271 (1989).

App. 42

Defendants also argue that representativeness and
democratic participation are benefitted by the higher
voter participation expected in a blanket primary elec-
tion. Voter participation in primary and general elections
in California has declined markedly over the past two
decades. R.T. at 658. Turnout rates in blanket primary
states have been higher than in California, and there is
reason to expect that by providing more choice, the blan-
ket primary may encourage more voters to participate at
the primary election. Similarly, defendants contend that
elections will be more competitive under the blanket
primary, again leading to an increase in voter interest and
participation. Although the empirical case for the asser-
tion that blanket primaries are more competitive than
other primaries is not conclusive, there is reason to expect
some increase in the number of candidates, the closeness
of elections, and, therefore, voter turnout.

Finally, defendants point to one interest - voter pri-
vacy — that does not fit neatly under the representative-
ness or participation headings, although it is possible that
greater privacy could lead to greater participation. Defen-
dants note that a blanket primary protects voter privacy
by permitting voters to participate in the primary election
without publicly declaring a party affiliation as is the
case in closed primary states and in some open primary
states.

V.

Taken as a whole the State’s interests that suppor: the
blanket primary are substantial, indeed compelling.

App. 43

There is a “substantial state interest in encouraging com-
promise and political stability, in attempting to ensure
that the election winner will represent a majority of the
community.” Storer v. Brown, 415 U.S. 724, 729, 94 S.Ct.
1274, 1278, 39 L.Ed.2d 714 (1974). In attempting to reduce
partisan strife, Proposition 198 is similar to other mea-
sures adopted by the States to deal with the problem of
factionalism, a problem that deeply troubled the framers
of the Constitution. See The Federalist No. 10 (Madison).
A State’s interest in ameliorating “unrestrained factional-
ism” is a compelling one. Increasing the representative-
ness of elected officials, giving voters greater choice, and
increasing voter turnout and participation in the primary
process are all interests of the first order. See Lightfoot v.
Eu, 964 F.2d 865, 872 (9th Cir.1992) (State’s interest in a
direct primary is compelling). The voters’ belief in the
fairness of the electoral process is also a substantial state
interest; it is apparent that the voters of California believe
that the system is fairer when all voters, including inde-
pendents and regardless of party affiliation, may partici-
pate in framing the choice of candidates at the general
election. And while the parties argue that there are other
ways to increase voter turnout, the fundamental goal of
enhancing representativeness by providing all voters
with a choice that is not predetermined by party mem-
bers alone can only be advanced by the blanket primary.
Unlike Tashjian in which the Democratic Party controlled
the legislature and attempted to tell the Republican party
who could vote in its primary, and where the State’s
purported interest in a closed primary was to protect the
parties from disruption from without, Proposition 198 is a
non-discriminatory measure that was adopted by a clear

App. 44

majority of voters, with a convincing margin from both
major parties, and which advances interests that are
uniquely those of the State and its electorate as opposed
to the parties. These interests outweigh the also substan-
tial interest that the political parties have in controlling
who votes in the primary

In reaching this conclusion, the court does not decide
whether a blanket primary is a good idea; it may prove to
be a bad idea, in which case the people of the State
presumably will act to reform the system in the future as
they have in the past. Nor does the court decide whether
the voters were correct in concluding that a more repre-
sentative and participatory system is desirable at this
time in the State’s history or whether it is wise to weaken
the parties by some degree to further the goals of repre-
sentativeness and participation. These important ques-
tions are for the people of the State to decide.

Each of the States has its own experiment in demo-
cratic government. The history of election law is one of
change and adaptation as the States have responded to
the play of different political forces and circumstances.
There is little reason to expect that the future will be any
different. The court concludes that a bianket primary
serves sufficiently weighty interests that the State of Cali-
fornia should not be precluded from ever trying such a
procedure.

Judgment is awarded to defendants.
IT IS SO ORDERED.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0335%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
