# Amicus Curiae Brief — Troxel v. Granville

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0324%3A18

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 530 U.S. 57

## Text

Supreme Court of the United States

°

JENIFER TROXEL, et vir.,

Petitioners,

TOMMIE GRANVILLE,
Respondent.
>

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
Supreme Court Of The State Of Washington

e

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF CHRISTIAN LEGAL
SOCIETY AND THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
EVANGELICALS IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

«

KimMBERLEE Woop Co sy RicHarp W. GARNETT

Counsel of Record Norre Dame Law SCHOOL

a Notre Dame, Indiana‘46556

Cart H. Esseck (219) 631-6981

CHRISTIAN LEGAL SOCIETY MIcHAEL STOKES PAULSEN

Center for Law and UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA
Religious Freedom Law SCHOOL

4208 Evergreen Lane 229 19th Avenue S.

Suite 222 Minneapolis, Minnesota

Annandale, Virginia 22003 55455
(703) 642-1070 ext. 3500 (612) 625-0018

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
ee i
pe Pe iii
STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE.... 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE....................... 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT....................... 6
IE 60064 os 065s evaw idee dadediibasde dnc. 9

I. PARENTS ENJOY THE FUNDAMENTAL RIGHT
TO DIRECT THEIR CHILDREN’S EDUCATION
AND UPBRINGING, AND TO DECIDE WHO
AND WHAT WILL INFLUENCE AND SHAPE
THEIR CHILDREN DURING THEIR FORMA-
TIVE YEARS, WITHOUT JUDICIAL APPROVAL
OR SECOND-GUESSING BY THE STATE ...... 9

A. Our Nation’s History and Tradition, Not the
Policy Preferences of Judges or Popular
Majorities and Not Novel Sociological Theo-
ries, Inform and Constrain This Court's
Interpretation and Exposition of the Due
PO IIE uc vhede cncobedevenbdeewinie 9

B. This Court has Held, and Should Reaffirm, That
Parents Enjoy the Fundamental, Constitu-
tionally Protected Right to Direct the Upbring-
ing and Education of Their Children......... 11

C. Washington’s Sweeping Third-Party Visita-
tion Statutes Infringe Parents’ Rights and
Must Therefore Be Put to Strict Scrutiny... 16

I.

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

D. Washington’s Expansive Third-Party Visitation
Statutes Cannot Survive Strict Scrutiny. ......

E. The Washington Statutes are Unconstitu-
tional on Their Face, and This Court Should
Resist Petitioners’ Efforts to Distract Its
Attention from the Intrusiveness of the
Washington Statutes to the Standard of
TSE el ROR AS ry Ee epee

PARENTS’ RIGHT TO DECIDE WHO AND
WHAT ARE APPROPRIATE INFLUENCES ON
THEIR CHILDREN’S DEVELOPMENT, EDUCA-
TION, AND CHARACTER IS EXPRESSIVE
ACTIVITY PROTECTED BY THE FIRST
PTIITTIIIIIET ccc cccccccvcccccccccccccsccccces

A. The First Amendment Protects Expressive
Association from Co-option and Censorship
Roy thre Stmbe. 0. ccc cccccccccccccsecccceces

B. The First Amendment's Protection of Expres-
sive Association Extends to Family Autonomy
and to Parents’ Choices about the Education
and Upbringing of Their Children...........

ES ES a
en heabiisnuseianes: App. 1

20

21

24

24

ili
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Cases

Brown v. Hot, Sexy, and Safer Prod., Inc., 68 F.3d 525
(1st Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 1159 (1996).... 18

Clonlara, Inc. v. Runkel, 722 F. Supp. 1442 (E.D.
PE MER tubaseseedotesecconcsecudcccecesesenes 18

Collins v. Harker Heights, 503 U.S. 115 (1992) ..... 10, 11

Democratic Party of United States v. Wisconsin ex rel.

LaFollette, 450 U.S. 107 (1981)..................... 24
Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374 (1994).......... 17
Farrington v. Tokushige, 273 U.S. 284 (1927) .......... 28
Hanson v. Cushman, 490 F. Supp. 109 (W.D. Mich.

Sa Sdnecadedestecdesdocessbiosdeuasccseccoscees 18
Henne v. Wright, 904 F.2d 1208 (8th Cir. 1990), cert.

denied, 498 U.S. 1032 (1991)...........0 0. cee ee ee, 19

Herndon v. Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Bd. of Educ., 89
F.3d 174 (4th Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 519 US.
Meth dasebGNGEbsWheseedecceceecenccecuces 18

Hurley v. Irish-American Gay, Lesbian & Bisexual
Group of Boston, Inc., 515 U.S. 557 (1995)....... 25, 29

Immediato v. Rye Neck Sch. Dist., 73 F.3d 454 (2d
Cir.), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 813 (1996).............. 18

In re Care and Protection of Charles, 399 Mass. 324,
Be SE BOE GUND occcccccceccccccesesdccceces 18

In re Visitation of Troxel, 87 Wash. App. 131, 940
P.2d 698 (Wash. Ct. App. 1997) ...............05. 3, 9

Jordan v. Jackson, 15 F.3d 333 (4th Cir. 1994)...... 13, 19

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923)........ 19, 20, 27
Michael H. v. Gerald D., 491 U.S. 110 (1989) ....... 9, 10
Moore v. City of East Cleveland, Ohio, 431 U.S. 494
UNTO se cbavcsdccoedestbisessnedatiecenebad 10, 13, 27
NAACP v. Alabama ex rel. Patterson, 357 U.S. 449
GEOUEE 6 ccndctennnsdséucenctsaintenenecdbetieddaan 24
Ohio Ass'n of Indep. Sch. v. Goff, 92 F.3d 419 (6th
Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 520 U.S. 1104 (1997) ....... 18
Parham v. J.R., 442 U.S. 584 (1979) ............... 12, 15
Peterson v. Minidoka City Sch. Dist., 118 F.3d 1351
(9th Cir. 1997), amended, 132 F.3d 1258 (1997) ..... 18
Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925)... 18, 19, 27
Planned Parenthood v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833 (1992) ..... 22
Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158 (1944)....... 11, 15
Reno v. Flores, 507 U.S. 292 (1993)................ 16, 20
Roberts v. United States Jaycees, 468 U.S. 609
GED we nnccdncvengtbeewdbnancéeensinenekt 24, 25, 28
Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 745 (1982) ............. 20
Schleifer v. City of Charlottesville, 159 F.3d 843 (4th
Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 119 S.Ct. 1252 (1999)....... 19
Smith v. Org. of Foster Families for Equality and
Reform, 431 U.S. 816 (1977) ................ 13, 14, 28
Snyder v. Massachusetts, 291 U.S. 97 (1934)........... 10
Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972)................ 15
State v. Whisner, 47 Ohio St. 2d 181, 351 N.E.2d 750
GREE 60 dovebocces én dikecdentiaéetsishiaaeaie 19

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

United States v. Salerno, 481 U.S. 739 (1987).........- 22

; , 521 U.S. 702 (1997)
Washington v. Glucksberg 7,9, 10, 11, 16, 19

Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972)......-.. 12, 20, 26

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
First Amendment, Const. Amend. |......------. passim

Fourteenth Amendment, Const. Amend. XIV .... passim

STATUTES

Revised Code of Washington § 26.10.160(3)...-....--. 3
Revised Code of Washington § 26.09.240...........-. 3
OTHER MATERIALS

Peter BERGER AND RicHarRD JOHN Neunaus, To
Empower Peopte: THE Rove of Mepiatinc Struc-
tures IN Pusuic Pouicy (1977) ......----- ee eee rece 25

Avexis De Tocquevitte, Democracy IN AMERICA ™
(1969 ED.) 2... cece cece cece eee eee eee eeeeeneeneeees

illes, Stephen G., On Educating Children: A Parental-
Not Manifesto, 63 Univ. Chi. L. Rev. 937 (1996)..... 14, 15

J. Kent, COMMENTARIES ON AMERICAN ie. . ceeseaecenee 12

osepH P. Viteritm, CHoosinc Equatity: SCHOOL
, Cuoice, THE CONsTITUTION, AND Civ Society

1
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE!

Amicus curiae Christian Legal Society is a nonprofit
interdenominational association of over 4,000 Christian
attorneys, law students, judges, and law professors.
Amicus curiae National Association of Evangelicals is a
nonprofit association of Christian denominations,
churches, organizations, institutions and individuals that
includes more than 50,000 churches from 74 denomina-
tions and serves a constituency of approximately 20 mil-
lion people.

Both amici have worked for over two decades to
protect citizens’ right to religious belief and practice. The
protection of the right of parents to direct the upbringing
of their children without State interference - the core
issue in this case — is a vital component of the protection
of individual liberty (including, but not limited to, reli-
gious liberty) for all citizens.

A more detailed statement of interest of the amici is
set forth in the Appendix to this brief. Letters from the
parties consenting to the filing of this brief have been
filed with the Clerk of the Court pursuant to Rule 37.3.

*

? Counsel for a party did not author this brief, in whole or
in part. No one, other than the amici curiae, their members, or
their counsel, made a monetary contribution to the preparation
or submission of the brief. See S. Ct. Rule 37.6. Amicus Christian
Legal Society received a grant from the Alliance Defense Fund
to cover its expenses in producing the brief. The Alliance
Defense Fund is a 501(c)(3) organization headquartered at 7819
East Greenway Road, Suite 8, Scottsdale, Arizona 85260. The
Alliance Defense Fund exercised no control over the content of
the brief.

2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The most important fact about this case is that it is
not about “grandparents’ rights”? or about the constitu-
tionality of grandparent-visitation statutes in general.
Instead, this case is about one State’s extraordinarily
broad third-party visitation laws, laws which, as inter-
preted -by that State’s highest court, seriously undermine
family autonomy and parents’ fundamental rights. Thus,
the policy and prudential arguments that the Petitioners
and their amici have advanced in favor of grandparent-
visitation statutes (see Pet. Br. 8-18), do nothing to call into
question the correctness of the decision below or to reha-
bilitate the unconstitutionally invasive nature of the spe-
cific statutes at issue.

Washington law purports to permit “any person” -
not just grandparents or other family members — to ask a
court “at any time” for the right to visit - and therefore to
influence — someone else’s child. Visitation rights may be
granted to “any person” — presumably over the child’s
parents’ objection — so long as the court believes visita-
tion is in the “best interests” of the child. No prior
finding of parental neglect, abuse, or incompetence, nor
any showing of harm to the child, is required. The person
seeking visitation need not establish any substantial rela-
tionship with the child. The court is not required to
consider the parents’ reasons for their decision to limit or

2 The Petitioners now concede as much. See, e.g., Brief for
Petitioners (hereinafter “Pet. Br.”), at 18 (“The petitioners are
not advancing an argument that grandparents have a
constitutional right to visit their grandchildren.”).

3

deny access to their children.? In short, any person simply
may ask a court to second-guess parents’ decisions - and
thereby impose on parents the cost of defending those
decisions — about what influences are in the “best inter-
ests” of their children. See Revised Code of Washington
§ 26.10.160(3), § 26.09.240 (amended 1996); see also Pet.
App. 5a-12a, 21a-22a (describing and analyzing the stat-
utes).

The reach and intrusiveness of these statutes is so
striking that the Washington Court of Appeals believed
the laws could not possibly mean what they say. See In re
Visitation of Troxel, 87 Wash. App. 131, 940 P.2d 698 (Wash.
Ct. App. 1997). After observing that the statutes purport
to confer on “any person” the right to petition for visita-
tion, the Court of Appeals insisted that:

A literal reading of this statute could lead to the

sort of absurd result that our canons of statutory

construction forbid. Does “any person” have

standing to petition “at any time” for visitation
with a child? For example, could a member of

the state Legislature who has displeased a con-

stituent find herself faced with the considerable

expenditure of time, money, and emotional
energy to oppose a wholly frivolous petition by
that constituent? Should this occur without any
showing that the parent was unfit or that the
family was unstable or that the child was other-
wise facing any threat to its well-being? Our

3 Washington law does provide courts with a list of factors
they “may” consider in determining whether third-party
visitation is in the child’s “best interests,” but these factors do
not, of course, preclude “any person” from seeking visitation
and imposing the burdens of litigation on parents. See Appendix
to the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari (hereinafter “Pet. App.”),
at 27a (reprinting RCW § 26.09.240 (as amended 1996)).

4

Legislature could not have intended such an
absurd and potentially pernicious result from so
broad a reading of the statute.

Pet. App. 58a. The Petitioners, in similar fashion, attempt
to assure this Court that the Washington statutes do not
really mean what they say* and wholly ignore their atypi-
cal overbreadth.

But these statutes - “absurd” or not — do mean what
they say, the Supreme Court of Washington held, after
reviewing their text and history in detail. Pet. App.
6a-13a. That court insisted that “[w]hile the statute as
written may have potentially troubling consequences for
stable families, this does not justify [the] Court of
Appeals rewriting of the statute” (Pet. App. 12a), and that
“we will not read qualifications into the statute which are
not there.” Pet. App. 11a.

This Court should likewise reject the Petitioners’
efforts to frame this case as a referendum on the “consti-
tutionality of grandparent visitation statutes” (see Petition
for a Writ of Certiorari (hereinafter “Pet.”), at 11) and to
distract this Court’s attention from the ambitious reach of
the laws actually at issue. As it happens, the Petitioners
in this case are grandparents.> We are aware of no reason

* See Pet. Br. 10 (“In some instances, . . . the states simply
provided that any person could make such a request.
Legislation framed in this manner was not intended to
authorize visitation suits by total strangers; so far as we have
been able to ascertain, total strangers have not been awarded, or
even requested, visitation under these laws.”)

5 Jenifer and Gary Troxel’s son Brad was Natalie and
Isabelle’s father. He committed suicide in 1993. The children’s
mother — respondent Tommie Granville - decided to limit the
Troxels’ access to the children soon after Brad’s death. Ms.

5

to question Jenifer and Gary Troxel’s love for their grand-
children, Natalie and Isabelle, nor does the decision
below contain any facts suggesting that contact with the
Troxels would or would not be detrimental to their
grandchildren. But that is not the point. The children’s
mother decided not to permit such conduct and “as
between [parents and judges], the parents should be the
ones to choose whether to expose their children to certain
people or ideas.” Pet. App. 22a.

The Supreme Court of Washington’s decision that
these statutes are unconstitutional “as written” (Pet. App.
la) rests on three basic points - all of which are conso-
nant with, and indeed are compelled by, this Court’s
precedents. First, parents have a fundamental right under
the Fourteenth Amendment to “autonomy in child rear-
ing decisions.” Pet. App. 12a. Second, state interference
with parents’ rights is forbidden unless the “state can
show that it has a compelling interest [in interfering] and
such interference is narrowly drawn to meet only the
compelling state interest involved.” Pet. App. 15a. Third,
“[s]hort of preventing harm to the child, the standard of
‘best interest of the child’ is insufficient to serve as a
compelling state interest overruling a parent’s fundamen-
tal rights.” Pet. App. 21a-22a.

Alleging conflicts with decisions interpreting other
States’ far more narrow and carefully drafted “grand-
parents’ rights” statutes (Pet. 6-11), the Petitioners
invited this Court to engage in social engineering, asking
it to recognize that “it may be time to pay more attention
to our children’s state of mind than a parent's rights” and

Granville later married Mr. Kelly Wynn, who adopted the
children in February 1996. Pet. App. 2a-3a.

6

stating that the “issue before this Court is whether there
is also an equal penumbra of responsibilities by parents
to sustain loving and nurturing relationships between
their children and third parties.” Id. at 15. The Petitioners
claim that the court below - a “conservative judiciary” —
mistakenly “idealized the ‘basic family unit’ ” which,
they opine, is a “recent phenomenon of modern civiliza-
tion.” Id. at 11-12. They state, “there has been a dramatic
erosion of [this] ‘stable basic family unit,’” and ask,
“[a]re the courts and our society equipped to deal with
modern life using the traditional view of the family?” Id.
at 12-13. This Court granted certiorari. Troxel v. Granville,
__ US. __, 120 S.Ct. 11 (Sept. 28, 1999) (No. 99-138).

¢

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Our argument that the decision below should be
affirmed rests on a few basic points, none of which neces-
sarily prejudices the case for a grandparent-visitation
statute that is narrowly tailored to serve a compelling state
interest.” First, the statutes at issue are not grandparent-

© Here and elsewhere, the Petitioners confuse the obvious
fact that family structure has changed (although the “basic
stable family unit” that the Petitioners deride has proved to be
an inspiringly durable center-point around which these changes
occur) with the entirely different point that, however organized,
the family in general and parents in particular have been
protected against unjustified state intrusion by the Constitution.
The fact that families take many forms tells us nothing about
whether the family should be subject to increased government
oversight or third-party second-guessing.

7 See, e.g., Brief of the Amicus Curiae American Academy of
Matrimonial Lawyers, at 7-9 (“[W]e urge this Court to declare

7

visitation statutes. Even if they were, the Petitioners and
their amici have not pointed to any other visitation stat-
utes that share the objectionable and unconstitutional
features of Washington’s particular statutes.®

Second, the Fourteenth Amendment’s Due Process
Clause — narrowly construed in light of history and tradi-
tion — protects the integrity and autonomy of the family
from intrusive intervention by the State at third parties’
request. Any State’s law that, on its face, requires parents,
at “any person’s” request, to submit their decisions about
who should have contact with and influence upon their
children for judicial approval tramples on the “liberty”
protected by the Fourteenth Amendment and is therefore,

on its face, unconstitutional.

Third, because the Washington statutes infringe “fun-
damental rights” protected by the Due Process Clause,
they must survive strict scrutiny. We urge this Court to
once again? reject the “sliding scale” mode of substantive-
due-process analysis proposed by the Petitioners (see Pet.
Br. 22-24) and also to repudiate the suggestion that par-
ents’ rights to control and direct the upbringing of their
children are somehow “second class” rights, rights less

the Washington third-party access statute unconstitutionally
overbroad but preserve the question for a future case whether a
carefully drawn third-party access statute would be
constitutional.”).

8 It is, therefore, not true that “affirmance of the decision
below would invalidate virtually all grandparent visitation
statutes nationwide.” Brief Amicus Curiae of AARP and
Generations United In Support of Petitioners, at 17.

9 See, e.g., Washington v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702, 720-722
(1997) (reaffirming traditional mode of due-process analysis
and rejecting sliding-scale approach).

8

worthy of enthusiastic protection by the federal courts
than other - perhaps more fashionable - freedoms, or
rights that must ride piggy-back on some other constitu-
tional claim in order to be vindicated. See generally, Pet.
Br. 22-35.

Finally, we suggest an additional, complementary
constitutional basis for affirming the decision below. In
our view, not only do the broad statutes at issue uncon-
stitutionally intrude on parents’ rights and family auton-
omy, they unconstitutionally limit, censor, and co-opt the
values that families communicate through their expres-
sive association. Of course, the family is different in kind,
and not merely in degree, from other voluntary associa-
tions. Still, parents communicate their values, to their
children and to the world, through their child-rearing
decisions —- indeed, for many parents, this message is
their most lasting and important statement - and this
“speech,” this “expressive association,” is protected by
the First Amendment.

+ * *

This is no time to disregard or downgrade well estab-
lished constitutional rights, nor is it the time to wade into
the various controversies about the changing structure of
the family. We respectfully urge the Court to affirm the
decision below, to endorse its reasoning, and to reject the
Petitioners’ invitation to bring “up to date” fundamental
constitutional rights through the statist imposition of new
and sweeping “penumbra[l]” responsibilities. See Pet.
15-18.

9

ARGUMENT
I.

Parents Enjoy the Fundamental Right to Direct Their
Children’s Education and Upbringing, and to Decide
Who and What Will Influence and Shape Their Chil-
dren During Their Formative Years, Without Judicial
Approval or Second-Guessing By the State.

It is a fundamental principle of constitutional law that,
as the court below concluded, “[i]t is not within the
province of the state to make significant decisions con-
cerning the custody of children merely because it could
make a ‘better’ decision.” Pet. App. 22a. The statist impli-
cations of the contrary view are staggeringly dangerous
to the autonomy of the family and to democratic values.
Accord, In re Visitation of Troxel, supra (Pet. App. 58a). The
Petitioners argue that after centuries at a central place in
Anglo-American legal tradition, the right of non-abusive
parents to raise their own children as they see fit should
yield to ad hoc judicial intervention at third parties’
request. We disagree.

A. Our Nation’s History and Tradition, Not the Policy
Preferences of Judges or Popular Majorities and
Not Novel Sociological Theories, Inform and Con-
strain This Court’s Interpretation and Exposition of
the Due Process Clause.

It is now settled that “[t]he Due Process Clause guar-
antees more than fair process, and the ‘liberty’ it protects
includes more than the absence of physical restraint. . . .
The Clause also provides heightened protection against
government interference with certain fundamental rights
and liberty interests[.]” Washington v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S.
702, 719-720 (1997); see also Michael H. v. Gerald D., 491

10

U.S. 110, 121 (1989) (“It is an established part of our
constitutional jurisprudence that the term ‘liberty’ in the
Due Process Clause extends beyond freedom from physi-
cal restraint.”). These “fundamental” rights are limited to
those that are deeply rooted and firmly anchored in our
Nation’s history, tradition, and practice. Glucksberg, 521
U.S. at 710; see also Snyder v. Massachusetts, 291 U.S. 97,
105 (1934) (The Due Process Clause protects only those
rights that are “so rooted in the traditions and conscience
of our people as to be ranked as fundamental.”); Moore v.
City of East Cleveland, Ohio, 431 U.S. 494, 503 (1977) (plu-
rality op.) (The fundamental rights protected by the Four-
teenth Amendment are those that are “deeply rooted in
this Nation’s history and tradition.”).

This Court has often warned, however, of the danger
that protecting fundamental rights not specifically men-
tioned in the Constitution might tempt judges to substi-
tute their own subjective commitments or the prevailing
preferences of vocal interest groups for clearly estab-
lished traditions. See, e.g., Collins v. Harker Heights, 503
U.S. 115, 125 (1992) (The Court “has always been reluc-
tant to expand the concept of substantive due process
because guideposts for responsible decisionmaking in
this unchartered area are scarce and open-ended.”).
Given this danger, “[o]ur Nation’s history, legal tradi-
tions, and practices . . . provide the crucial ‘guideposts
for responsible decisionmaking,’ [Collins, 503 U.S. at 125],
that direct and restrain [the Court’s] exposition of the
Due Process Clause.” Glucksberg, 521 U.S. at 721.

The Supreme Court of Washington’s decision was
consistent with, and is an instructive example of, the
careful analysis that this Court requires in “substantive
due process” cases. See Pet. App. 12a-15a. It did not

11

create any novel or previously unappreciated fundamen-
tal constitutional rights, nor did it purport to “update”
our society’s morality or family policies. Similarly, we do
not ask this Court to expand the boundaries of Four-
teenth Amendment “liberty” or to evaluate, endorse, or
reject societal and demographic trends. We are mindful of
this Court’s warning that “(t]he doctrine of judicial self-
restraint requires [this Court] to exercise the utmost care
whenever [it is] asked to break new ground in this field.”
Collins, 503 U.S. at 125. We believe both that this Court
should continue to adhere to the restrained mode of
analysis outlined in Glucksberg, supra, and that this Court
should affirm the decision and reasoning of the decision
below, specifically, the controlling principle that the Four-
teenth Amendment protects parents’ fundamental right
to control and direct the upbringing of their children.

B. This Court Has Held, and Should Reaffirm, That
Parents Enjoy the Fundamental, Constitutionally
Protected Right to Direct the Upbringing and Edu-
cation of Their Children.

The family is the building block of civil society and
the seed-bed of good citizenship. Our constitutional tra-
dition has therefore respected its autonomy and integrity.
See Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158, 166 (1944) (“It is
cardinal with [this Court] that the custody, care and nur-
ture of the child reside first in the parents, whose primary
function and freedom include preparation for obligations
the state can neither supply nor hinder. . . . And it is in
recognition of this that . . . decisions have respected the
private realm of family life which the state cannot
enter.”). A long line of this Court’s decisions confirm that

12

parents’ rights sit at the very heart of the “liberty” pro-
tected by the Fourteenth Amendment.’® As this Court
observed in Parham v. ].R., 442 U.S. 584, 602 (1979) (cita-
tions omitted):
Our jurisprudence historically has reflected
Western civilization concepts of the family as a
unit with broad parental authority over minor
children. Our cases have consistently followed
that course; our constitutional system long ago
rejected any notion that a child is “the mere
creature of the State” and, on the contrary,
asserted that parents generally “have the right,
coupled with the high duty, to recognize and
prepare [their children] for additional obliga-
tions”. . . . The law’s concept of the family rests
on a presumption that parents possess what a
child lacks in maturity, experience, and capacity
for judgment required for making life’s difficult
decisions. More important, historically it has
recognized that natural bonds of affection lead
parents to act in the best interests of their chil-
dren. 1 W. Biacxstone, Commentaries 447; 2 J.
Kent, COMMENTARIES ON AMERICAN Law 190.

These rights are not recent innovations, but instead
reflect protections deeply rooted in our history and tradi-
tion. As the Court stated in Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S.
205, 232 (1972):

The history and culture of Western civilization

reflect a strong tradition of parental concern for
the nurture and upbringing of children. This

10 The Petitioners’ observation that the Supreme Court of
Washington erred because “[t}here is no well established legal
tradition of refusing such visitation” (Pet. Br. 7) reverses the
burden. There is a well established tradition of leaving the
decisions about visitation and other child-rearing matters to
parents.

ee _ ee

13

primary role of the parents in the upbringing of
their children is now established beyond debate
as an enduring American tradition.

Parents’ rights and family autonomy do not depend on or
derive from positive law, but rather are “intrinsic human
rights, as they have been understood in this Nation's
history and tradition,” Smith v. Org. of Foster Families for
Equality and Reform, 431 U.S. 816, 845 (1977). This Court
has protected the “sanctity of the family precisely because
the institution of the family is deeply rooted in this
Nation’s history and tradition.” Moore, 431 U.S. at 503
(emphasis added). As one Court of Appeals stated
recently:
To say that the institution of the family is deeply
rooted in this Nation’s history and tradi-
tion . . . as the Supreme Court often has said
. . » borders on understatement. The unitary
family is the foundation of society. Through the
intimate relationships of the family, our children
are nurtured, tutored in the values and beliefs of
society, and prepared for life. . . . Through these
relationships, our children — indeed, we, as par-
ents — are strengthened, fulfilled and sustained.
The bonds between parent and child are, in a
word, sacrosanct, and the relationship between
parent and child inviolable except for the most
compelling reasons.

Jordan v. Jackson, 15 F.3d 333, 342 (4th Cir. 1994) (Virginia’s
emergency-removal statute did not violate parents’ due-
process rights) (citations and quotation marks omitted).

Contrary to the Petitioners’ suggestion, parents’
rights are not anachronistic relics, nor is the protection of

14

family autonomy somehow “conservative”™ or back-
ward-looking. That the parents play the primary role in
childrearing and educating is true not just as a matter of
Anglo-American tradition and constitutional law. There is
universal recognition of the fact that “parents seem natu-
rally inclined to love and care for their children.” Stephen
G. Gilles, On Educating Children: A Parentalist Manifesto,
63 Univ. Chi. L. Rev. 937, 953 (1996);!2 see also Parham, 442
U.S. at 602 (The concept of the “family as a unit with
broad parental authority over minor children” is rooted
in the recognition that the “natural bonds of affection
lead parents to act in the best interests of their children”);
Smith, 431 U.S. at 844 (right to family integrity reflects
“the emotional attachments that derive from the intimacy
of daily association”). Moreover, it simply cannot be dis-
puted that, as a general matter, “parents are more likely
to pursue the[ir] child’s best interests as they define it
than is the state to pursue the child’s best interest as the

1! See Pet. 11-12, 13 (“A conservative judiciary has defined
the traditional concept of a family. . . . The conservative judicial
view of the ‘basic stable family unit’ . . . may even be
unintentionally racial or socioeconomically based.”). Relatedly,
it is worth noting that the Petitioners appear to have abandoned
their earlier suggestion that the place of the “basic stable family
unit” in our legal and social traditions is somehow racist. See
Petition for Certiorari, at 13. Although the charge is untenable,
it should be said that, in fact, poor families and ethnic minorities
would seem particularly vulnerable to the intrusive meddling
and governmental second-guessing, the unarticulated biases of
upper-middle-class decisionmakers, and the burdensome costs
of litigation that are authorized and invited by the statutes at
issue.

2 Prof. Gilles cites John Locke and “countless other
observers” for this unremarkable yet fundamental premise. See
Gilles, 63 U. Chi. L. Rev. at 953 n.59.

15

state defines it.” Gilles, supra, at 940. Here, then, there is a
happy consonance between universally observed facts
and constitutional law.

Of course, no constitutional right - not even a “fun-
damental” liberty right — is absolute. See, e.g., Prince, 321
U.S. at 166 (“[T]he family itself is not beyond regulation
in the public interest. . . . [The] rights of parenthood are
[not] beyond limitation.”). The Petitioners make much of
this point, but they are tilting windmills. There are, obvi-
ously, situations where the States may and should inter-
vene in family life to protect children and promote the
common good. Parents, like everyone else, are subject to
the host of general laws that States may enact pursuant to
their police powers. See Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645,
649 (1972) (“The State’s right - indeed, duty — to protect
minor children through a judicial determination of their
interests in a neglect proceeding is not challenged here.”).
Vindication of the right at issue here need not invite -
notwithstanding the Petitioners’ “parade of horribles”
(Pet. Br. 28-30) — an avalanche of nullification of reason-
able health and welfare legislation.

While parents’ rights are not absolute, it does not
follow that they are meaningless, just as the fact that
some parents’ misuse their authority and neglect their
responsibilities does not negate the existence and impor-
tance of rights or justify their abrogation. As this Court
emphasized in Parham:

That some parents may at times be acting

against the interests of their children . . . creates

a basis for caution, but is hardly a reason to

discard wholesale those pages of human experi-

ence that teach that parents generally do act in
the child’s best interests. . . . The statist notion

16

that governmental power should supersede par-
ental authority in all cases because some parents
abuse and neglect children is repugnant to
American tradition.

442 U.S. at 602-603 (citations and quotation marks omit-
ted).

In short, the Washington statutes at issue are uncon-
stitutional on their face not merely because they regulate
parents’ decisionmaking, but because they are a blunder-
buss assault on family integrity and are not crafted with
the precision required of laws that interfere with or
infringe upon fundamental “liberty” rights.

C. Washington’s Sweeping Third-Party Visitation Stat-
utes Infringe Parents’ Rights and Must Therefore
Be Put to Strict Scrutiny.

Laws that infringe or intrude upon’? fundamental
liberties must survive strict scrutiny. Glucksberg, 521 U.S.
at 721 (“[T]he Fourteenth Amendment ‘forbids the gov-
ernment to infringe . . . “fundamental” liberty interests at
all, no matter what process is provided, unless the
infringement is narrowly tailored to serve a compelling
state interest.’ ” (quoting Reno v. Flores, 507 U.S. 292, 302

13 The Petitioners’ discussion of cases where this Court did
not apply strict scrutiny because the law in question did not
“ ‘directly and substantially’ ” interfere with or “ ‘heavily
burden’ the fundamental rights of the family involved” (Pet. Br.
23-24) is inapposite because, as we discuss in more detail below,
the Washington statutes authorize “any person” “at any time”
to require a parent to litigate and justify his or her decisions
limiting or denying visitation. The intrusive impact of the
Washington laws is more than sufficient to trigger the strict
scrutiny generally required in fundamental-rights cases.

17

(1993)). The court below was correct in proceeding from
this premise. See Pet. App. 15a.

Still, the Petitioners and some of their amici’ insist
that strict and searching review of these intrusive stat-
utes’ effect on parents’ rights is not required.'5 They in
effect ask this Court to “downgrade” parents’ rights -
rights which have, again, been repeatedly recognized by
this Court as “fundamental” — to a lesser breed of right, a
“poor relation”’® which must ride piggy-back on some
other right in order to enjoy meaningful constitutional
protection. See, e.g., Brief of the National Conference of
State Legislatures, et al., as Amici Curiae in Support of
Petitioners, at 8-12 (“Although the Court has recognized a
parental liberty interest in bringing up children, the scope

14 Incredibly, some of the amici claim, as did the Petitioners
below (see Pet. App. 17a), that the Washington third-party-
visitation laws actually pass strict scrutiny.

15 It is not clear whether the Petitioners and their amici
believe this Court should employ a kind of balancing test or
“undue burden” test in this case (see Pet. Br. 22-23); a hybrid-
rights analysis, which would require parents’ rights to be
asserted in conjunction with other, supposedly more important,
rights (see Pet. Br. 24-27); or the mere rational-basis review that
is appropriate for social and economic legislation. See Pet. Br.
30-32; see also Brief of the National Conference of State
Legislatures, et al., as Amici Curiae in Support cf Petitioners, at
16-18; Brief Amici Curiae of AARP and Generations United in
Support of Petitioners, at 28-29 (urging reversal because “the
protection of the welfare of children through grandparent
visitation statutes is a rational means of addressing societal
problems”).

16 Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374, 392 (1994) (“We see
no reason why the Takings Clause of the Fifth Amendment, as
much a part of the Bill of Rights as the First Amendment or
Fourth Amendment, should be relegated to the status of a poor
relation in these comparable circumstances.” ).

18

of protection granted that interest depends upon the
degree to which the State is impinging on some other
constitutional right.”). On this view, Washington’s lews
need only have a “reasonable relation to some purpose
within the competency of the State.” Id., at 12 (citations
and internal quotation marks omitted).

Alarmingly, many courts have in recent years
embraced the “poor relation” theory of parents’ rights
and have de-commissioned them as “fundamental”
rights.'7 In denigrating the constitutional pedigree of the

17 See, e.g., Immediato v. Rye Neck Sch. Dist., 73 F.3d 454, 462
(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 813 (1996) (“[W]here, as here,
parents seek for secular reasons to exempt their child from an
educational requirement and the basis is a claimed right to
direct the ‘upbringing’ of their child, rational basis review
applies.”); Ohio Ass’n of Indep. Sch. v. Goff, 92 F.3d 419, 423 (6th
Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 520 U.S. 1104 (1997) (stating that “rational
basis review, not strict scrutiny,” governs “wholly secular
limitations on private school education”); Herndon v. Chapel
Hill-Carrboro City Bd. Of Educ., 89 F.3d 174, 179 (4th Cir. 1996),
cert. denied, 519 U.S. 1111 (1997) (concluding that because
parents’ “interest is not religious, . . . we must reject their
position if the [challenged regulation] bear[s] some rational
relationship to legitimate state purposes”); Brown v. Hot, Sexy
and Safer Prod., Inc., 68 F.3d 525, 533 (1st Cir. 1995), cert. denied,
516 U.S. 1159 (1996) (“We need not decide here whether the
right to rear one’s children is fundamental[.]”); Clonlara, Inc. v.
Runkel, 722 F. Supp. 1442, 1456 (E.D. Mich. 1989) (rights
recognized in Pierce and Meyer are not fundamental and do not
require strict scrutiny); Hanson v. Cushman, 490 F. Supp. 109,
113-114 (W.D. Mich. 1980) (same); but see Peterson v. Minidoka
City Sch. Dist., 118 F.3d 1351, 1357-58 (9th Cir. 1997) (opinion of
Noonan, J.) (applying heightened scrutiny to Pierce claim),
amended, 132 F.3d 1258 (1997); In re Care and Protection of Charles,
399 Mass. 324, 334, 504 N.E.2d 592, 598 (1987) (Pierce makes it
“clear that the liberty interests protected by the Fourteenth
Amendment extend to activities involving child rearing and

oo =< os

=~

19

“liberty” rights vindicated below, however, the Peti-
tioners and their amici fly in the face of this Court’s recent
decision in Glucksberg, as well as the line of cases on
which Glucksberg rests. See Glucksberg, 521 U.S. at 720 (“In
a long line of cases, we have held that, in addition to the
specific freedoms protected by the Bill of Rights, the
‘liberty’ specially protected by the Due Process Clause
includes the right[] . . . to direct the education and
upbringing of one’s children, Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S.
390 (1923); Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510
(1925)[.]”).

This Court has rejected the notion of family integrity
as a second-class right. Instead, the right to “raise one’s
children [has] been deemed ‘essential,’ . . . [one of the]
‘basic civil rights of man,’ . . . and [a right] ‘far more
precious than property rights|[,].’” Stanley v. Illinois, 405

education” and that parents “possess a basic right in directing
the education of their children”); State v. Whisner, 47 Ohio St. 2d
181, 351 N.E.2d 750, 769 (1976) (“[T]he right of a parent to direct
the education, religious or secular, of his or her children [is a]
fundamental right guaranteed by the due process clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment.”); Henne v. Wright, 904 F.2d 1208, 1213
(8th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 1032 (1991) (Pierce and Meyer
rights are “fundamental,” but not implicated in case involving
state statute that restricted surnames); Schleifer v. City of
Charlottesville, 159 F.3d 843, 852 (4th Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 119
S.Ct. 1252 (1999) (“We are mindful that the Supreme Court has
suggested in other contexts that parents may possess a
fundamental right against undue, adverse interference by the
state.”); Jordan v. Jackson, 15 F.3d 333, 342-343 (4th Cir. 1994)
(observing that “to say that the institution of the family is rooted
in this Nation’s history and tradition . . . borders on
understatement[,]” that “the relationship between parent and
child [is] inviolable except for the most compelling reasons,”
and that Pierce and Meyer rights are “essential” and
“fundamental”).

20

U.S. at 651 (internal citations omitted), and has been
recognized as a “fundamental liberty interest protected
by the Fourteenth Amendment.” Santosky v. Kramer, 455
U.S. 745, 753 (1982); see also Meyer, 262 U.S. at 401 (“That
the state may do much, go very far, indeed, in order to
improve the quality of its citizens, physically, mentally,
and morally, is clear; but the individual has certain funda-
mental rights which must be respected.”) (emphasis added).
This is not the language of mere rational-basis review

D. Washington’s Expansive Third-Party Visitation
Statutes Cannot Survive Strict Scrutiny.

Whatever important public interests might theo-
retically be served by other States’ grandparent-visitation
laws, the particular laws at issue here cannot fairly be
described as “narrowly tailored to serve [a] compelling
state interest,” Reno, 507 U.S. at 302, and therefore cannot
survive strict scrutiny. The court below was correct to
reject the breathtakingly intrusive argument that “a judi-
cially determined finding that visitation is in the best
interests of the child is a sufficiently compelling justifica-
tion to override a parent’s opposition, regardless of the
fact that the parent’s fitness is not challenged or that
there has been no showing of harm or threatened harm to
the child.” Pet. App. 17a. Instead, “the state may interfere
only ‘if it appears that parental decisions will jeopardize
the health or safety of the child, or have a potential for
significant social burdens.’ ” Pet. App. 17a (quoting Yoder,
406 U.S. at 234). As the court below emphasized, “(t]he
statutes at issue do not contemplate any . . . harm or
potential harm to the child which must be prevented by
third party visitation rights” (Pet. 20a); they “lack other
safeguards to prevent stable families from defending in

21

court against frivolous petitions for visitation” (Pet. App.
22a); they “do not require the petitioner to establish that
he or she has a substantial relationship with the child”
(ibid.); and they “do not require the court to take into
consideration such factors as the parents’ reasons for
restricting visitation[.]” Ibid.

We emphasize that the Washington statutes fail strict
scrutiny not simply because they employ a “best inter-
ests” standard and not simply because they authorize
third-party visitation to which the parents object. The
problem here is that no threshold finding is required before
competent, fit, non-abusive parents are required to take
on the burdens, costs, and insult of litigating and defend-
ing in court their child-rearing and visitation decisions at
“any time” and at the behest of “any person” who dis-
agrees with them.

E. The Washington Statutes Are Unconstitutional on
Their Face, and This Court Should Resist Peti-
tioners’ Efforts to Distract Its Attention from the
Intrusiveness of the Washington Statutes to the
Standard of Review.

In their Petition for Certiorari, the Petitioners insis-
ted that this Court’s review was necessary to “address| |
the welfare of our children and preserv(e] the family in
the future” (Pet. 11); to reject the “conservative” view of
the “stable family unit” (id. at 13); to recognize a new set
of “penumbra[l]” constitutional “responsibilities” of par-
ents to “sustain loving and nurturing relationships
between their children and third parties” (notwithstand-
ing the parents’ different view about the “nurturing”
character of those relationships) (id. at 15); and to

22

Ld

“replace[ ]” “parental authority” with “parental respon-
sibility in recognition that children’s views and wishes
should be taken into account.” Id. at 17.

The Petitioners now purport to advocate a more nar-
row and measured course. They take pains to assure the
Court that they are not asking for the creation of any new
or novel rights (Pet. Br. 7, 18) (“We do not contend that
grandparents have a constitutional right to visitation
orders.”) and they concede that granting third-party visi-
tation over parents’ objections could violate parents’
rights (id. at 33, 39). The Petitioners’ new, “far less cate-
gorical” approach (id. at 20) is to observe that the court
below “did not rely on, and respondent did not there
advance, any circumstance-specific constitutional objec-
tion to the application of the [statute] to this particular
case” and that “[t]he court below properly dealt with this
case as presenting only a facial challenge to the constitu-
tionality of the Washington statute.” (Id. at 19). However,
the Petitioners assert, “[a]bsent a showing of the general
invalidity required by [United States v. Salerno, 481 U.S.
739 (1987)] or [Planned Parenthood v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833
(1992)], . . . there would be no occasion to consider the
constitutionality of [the statute] in circumstances other
than those of the instant case.” Pet. Br. 21.

Although we welcome the Petitioners’ newfound
commitment to judicial restraint, we reject their argument
and the purported modesty of their positions. The Wash-
ington statutes at issue are unconstitutional on their face — or,
as the court below put it, “as written” (Pet. App. la) -
and not simply “as applied” to this or any other particu-
lar case. The Respondent can establish, and did establish
to the satisfaction of the court below, that almost all
applications of the Washington law are unconstitutional.

meme ee ———E _

23

The particular visitation order at issue in this case, as
well as every application of the Washington third-party
visitation laws, is unconstitutional because the statutes
permit, in every case, “any person” to drag a parent into
court “at any time” and for any reason to justify their
decisions about third-party visitation to a court. That is,
the Washington statute — in every case — fails to provide
the constitutionally required respect and protection for
competent, non-abusive parents’ decisions about third-
party visitation. It does not matter that some of the visita-
tion orders issued under the Washington laws might also —
have issued under a constitutional standard or statute. It
is the fact that, on its face and in every case, the Washington
laws subject competent, fit, non-abusive parents’ deci-
sions to judicial second-guessing (outside the context of
custody or like proceedings) on the whim of “any per-
son,” that dooms these particular, extraordinarily broad,
visitation statutes.

» * *

This Court has held - and we believe it should re-
affirm — that parents’ rights and family autonomy are
“fundamental” aspects of the “liberty” protected by the
Due Process Clause and therefore that “strict scrutiny”
must be directed toward any State’s law that infringes on
those rights. These basic principles are perfectly consis-
tent with the responsible, measured use of the States’
police and parens patriae powers to protect children from
harm, abuse, and neglect, but they preclude the kind of
unjustified and intrusive second-guessing of parents’
decisions about third-parties’ contact with and influence
upon their children that the Washington visitation stat-
utes encourage.

24
Il.

Parents’ Right to Decide Who and What Are Appropri-
ate Influences on Their Children’s Development, Educa-
tion, and Character Is Expressive Activity Protected by
the First Amendment.

An alternate, but closely related, constitutional basis
for affirming the judgment below is that the Washington
statutes curtail parents’ expressive-association rights pro-
tected by the First Amendment.

A. The First Amendment Protects Expressive Associa-
tion from Co-option and Censorship by the State.

In affirming the decision below, this Court should be
guided not only by its substantive-due-process line of
parental-rights cases, but also by its expressive-associa-
tion precedents. It is “beyond debate” that “freedom to
engage in association for the advancement of beliefs and
ideas” is not only part of the “liberty” protected by the
Fourteenth Amendment but is also inextricably linked
with the freedoms of speech and expression guaranteed
by the First Amendment. See, e.g., NAACP v. Alabama ex
rel. Patterson, 357 U.S. 449, 460 (1958).

Just as governmental attempts to control, shape, or
co-opt the content of our expression are subject to strict-
est judicial scrutiny, so too are any state efforts to insinu-
ate itself, its priorities, and its ideas into private
associations and the messages they communicate, both
internally and to the world. See, e.g., Roberts v. United
States Jaycees, 468 U.S. 609, 623 (1984) (“There can be no
clearer example of an intrusion into the internal structure
or affairs of an association than a regulation that forces
the group to accept members it does not desire.”); Demo-
cratic Party of United States v. Wisconsin ex rel. LaFollette,

25

450 U.S. 107, 122 (1981) (First Amendment rights “neces-
sarily presuppose| | the freedom to identify the people
who constitute the association, and to limit the associa-
tion to those people only.”); Hurley v. Irish-American Gay,
Lesbian & Bisexual Group of Boston, Inc., 515 U.S. 557, 573
(1995) (Upholding “fundamental rule of protection under
the First Amendment, that a speaker has the autonomy to
choose the content of his own message,” which includes
the right to decide “what not to say”).

It is often observed that one of the theoretical bases
for our First Amendment freedoms is their crucial role in
nurturing and creating citizens who are well prepared to
exercise the responsibilities that necessarily attend partic-
ipation in a democratic republic. The same is true of the
various “mediating institutions,” “intermediate associa-
tions,” and “little platoons” of democracy that make up
what political scientists and philosophers call “civil soci-
ety” — the public realm between the person and the state!®
- which is one reason why this Court has taken care to
protect expressive association as well as individual
speech-acts. See Roberts, 468 U.S. at 622 (“According pro-
tection to collective effort on behalf of shared goals is
especially important in preserving political and cultural
diversity and in shieiding dissident expression from sup-
pression by the majority.”); id. at 618-619 (“[CJertain
kinds of personal bonds have played a critical role in the
culture and traditions of the Nation by cultivating and
transmitting shared ideals and beliefs; they thereby foster

18 See generally, e.g., Avexis De Tocquevitte, Democracy IN
America 513-524 (1969 ed.); Perer L. Bercer & RicHarp JOHN
Neunaus, To Empower Peorte: THe Rove of MepiaTING STRUCTURES
iN Pusuic Pouicy (1977).

26

diversity and act as critical buffers between the individ-
ual and the power of the State.”).

B. The First Amendment's Protection of Expressive
Association Extends to Family Autonomy and to
Parents’ Choices about the Education and Upbring-
ing of Their Children.

What this Court has said about the membership and
message of parade organizations and benevolent organi-
zations, and about the importance of mediating institu-
tions, translates easily to the first among all expressive
associations - the family. Of all the mediating, values-
inculcating institutions - which deserve protection both
for their own sake and for the sake of the democratic
values that require them —- surely the family is primary,
both in time and in importance. Just as groups must be
able to control their message to the world, free from
unjustified government intrusion into their membership,
rituals, and commitments, so must the decisions of par-
ents to control and shape their family’s character forma-
tion by determining who and what shall have access to
their child be unfettered by intrusive and unwarranted
judicial “proof-reading.”

As some of this Court's decisions illustrate, the fun-
damental “liberty” rights of parents to direct and control
their children’s upbringing will in many cases comple-
ment religious-freedom rights protected by the Free Exer-
cise Clause. See, e.g., Wisconsin v. Yoder, supra.’? Indeed,
courts and commentators sometimes fail to remember

19 As we discussed above, however, it does not follow from
this complementarity that family integrity must ride in tandem
with First Amendment rights in order to be deemed and
protected as “fundamental.”

27

that, given the historical context out of which cases like
Meyer and Pierce arose — a context of nativist hostility to
the culture, language, and religion of many immigrants?° -
those cases are reminders of the need to safeguard the
rights of religious and ethnic minorities as well as clear
statements of parents’ rights to build a family culture, to
communicate values to their children and shape their
character, and thereby to express their commitments and
priorities to society.

In a similar way, the Fourteenth Amendment's prom-
ise of “liberty” to parents and autonomy to families mir-
rors the First Amendment's safeguards for expressive
association. This notion that decisions about childrearing,
third-party access, and education - decisions that under
the Fourteenth Amendment, are, except in unusual cases,
entrusted to the realm of family integrity and parental
direction -— are expressive and communicative decisions is
not a novel or expansive idea. See, e.g., Moore, 431 U.S. at
503-504 (“It is through the family that we inculcate and
pass down many of our most cherished values, moral and
cultural.”). Indeed, the Washington Supreme Court itself
observed, in striking down Washington’s laws, that “par-
ents should be the ones to choose whether to expose their
children to certain people or ideas.” Pet. App. 22a.

The law does not tell parents — at least not yet - who
are deciding what school would be best for their child, or
which friends’ influences are likely to be beneficial, or
whether their child is ready for contact football, or for a
PG-13 movie, or for a date with the class president, “do

20 See generally, e.g., JoserpH P. Vrrerrrn, CHoosinc Equatity.
ScuHoot CHorce, THe CONsTITUTION, AND Crivi. Socrety 151-156
(1999).

28

whatever you choose, so long as it is what I would choose
also,” Pet. App. 21a (citation and internal quotation
marks omitted). This is because, when making these and
other decisions, parents are not merely setting rules, they
are expressing and communicating their values to their
child and also to the community. See, e.g., Smith v. Org. of
Foster Families for Equality and Reform, 431 U.S. 816, 844
(1977) (noting important role of the family in “pro-
mot[ing] a way of life through the instruction of chil-
dren”). By keeping a watchful eye on the forces and
influences that shape a child —- for whose character and
conduct society will rightly hold them accountable - par-
ents are, in a very real sense, speaking to their children
and to the community about what is important. Under
our Constitution, the State may not, in the usual course of
things, co-opt these messages. See, e.g., Farrington v.
Tokushige, 273 U.S. 284, 298 (1927) (noting that the law at
issue would “deprive parents of a fair opportunity to
procure for their children instruction which they think
important and we cannot say is harmful”); compare
Roberts, 468 U.S. at 633 (O’Connor, J., concurring) (“Pro-
tection of the association's right to define its membership
derives from the recognition that the formation of an
expressive association is the creation of a voice, and the
selection of members is the definition of that voice.”).
Washington's third-party visitation laws — which, at the
request of “any person,” subject every parental decision
about third-party access to a judicial determination about
a child’s “best interests” could preclude many low-
income parents — who lack the resources to defend their
decisions in court - from enjoying the fulfillment and
satisfaction such expression brings.

29

That the content of parents’ message is sometimes
diffuse does not lessen its claim to constitutional protec-
tion. See Hurley, 515 U.S. at 569 (“a narrow, succinctly
articulable message is not a condition of constitutional
protection.”). Nor should it matter that, in the opinion of
outsiders - of the “any person” whom the Washington
statutes empowered to seek a judicial veto of parents’
decisions - the content of the family’s message, of par-
ents’ communication to their children, of parents’ deci-
sions about who and what messages should be permitted
access to their child, could be improved. Hurley, 515 U.S.
at 581 (“Disapproval of a private speaker’s statement
does not legitimize use of the [government’s] power to
compel the speaker to alter the message by including one
more acceptable to others.”). In the words of the court
below, “It is not within the province of the state to make
significant decisions concerning the custody of children
merely because it could make a ‘better’ decision” (Pet.
App. 21la-22a) anymore than the State has the power to
revise the content of a political candidate’s message or a
minister’s sermon because it thinks it could communicate
a “better” message.

30

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, we urge the Court to
affirm the decision and judgment of the court below.

Kimpertee Woop Co sy
Counsel of Record

Grecory S. BayLor

Cart H. Esseck

CHRISTIAN LeGcat Society

Center for Law and
Religious Freedom

4208 Evergreen Lane

Suite 222

Annandale, Virginia 22003

(703) 642-1070 ext. 3500

December 13, 1999

Respectfully submitted,

RicHarp W. GARNETT

Norre Dame Law SCHOOL
Notre Dame, Indiana 46556
(219) 631-6981

MICHAEL Stokes PAULSEN

UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA
Law SCHOOL

229 19th Avenue S.

Minneapolis, Minnesota
55455

(612) 625-0018

App. 1

APPENDIX
STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI

The Christian Legal Society, founded in 1961, is a
nonprofit interdenominational association of over 4,000
Christian attorneys, law students, judges, and law pro-
fessors with chapters in nearly every state and at over 140
accredited law schools. Since 1975, the Society’s legal
advocacy and information division, the Center for Law
and Religious Freedom, has worked for the protection of
religious belief and practice, as well as for the autonomy
from the government of religion and religious organiza-
tions, in the Supreme Court of the United States and in
state and federal courts throughout this nation.

The Center labors to preserve religious liberty in
order that men and women might be free to do God’s
will. Using a network of volunteer attorneys and law
professors, the Center provides accurate information to
the public and political branches concerning the interac-
tion of law and religion. Since 1980, the Center has filed
briefs amicus curiae in defense of many individuals, Chris-
tian and non-Christian, and on behalf of many religious
organizations in virtually every case before the Supreme
Court involving church/state relations.

This nation’s Declaration of Independence “instituted
anew government” by announcing that it was “laying its
foundations on [immutable] principles.” One of these
“self-evident truths” was that all persons are divinely
endowed with rights that no government may abridge
nor any citizen divest. Among such inalienable rights are
those enumerated in - but not conferred by - the First
Amendment, the foremost of which is religious freedom.

App. 2

The right to freely exercise religious conscience inheres in
all persons by virtue of its endowment by the Creator. It
is also a “constitutional right,” but in the sense that it is
recognized in rather than created by the United States
Constitution. Because the source of religious liberty, as
acknowledged in the Declaration, is the Creator, not a
constitutional amendment, statute, or executive order, it
is not merely one of many policy interests to be weighed
against others by any of the several branches of federal,
state, or local government. This nation has no higher duty
than to protect inviolate its full and free enjoyment.
Hence, the unequivocal and non-negotiable prohibition
attached to this our First Freedom is “Congress shall
make no law... . ”

The protection of the right of parents to direct the
upbringing of their children without State interference
absent a compelling state interest — the core issue in this
case — is a vital component of the protection of individual
liberty (including, but not limited to, religious liberty) for
all citizens. The fundamental “liberty” rights of parents to
direct and control their children’s upbringing will in
many cases complement religious-freedom rights pro-
tected by the Free Exercise Clause. See, e.g., Wisconsin v.
Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972). Given the historical context out
of which they arose - a context of nativist hostility to the
culture, language, and religion of many immigrants - the
leading parental rights cases, Meyer and Pierce, are
reminders of the need to safeguard the rights of religious
and ethnic minorities as well as clear statements of par-
ents’ rights to build a family culture, to communicate
values to their children and shape their character, and
thereby to express their commitments and priorities to

.
ay ew

———

App. 3

society. See Meyer v. Nebraska, 22 U.S. 390 (1923), and
Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925).

The Christian Legal Society’s national membership,
25 years of experience, and professional resources enable
it to speak with authority upon religious liberty matters
before this Court.

The National Association of Evangelicals (NAE) is a
non-profit association of evangelical Christian denomina-
tions, churches, organizations, institutions and individ-
uals that includes more than 50,000 churches from 74
denominations and serves a constituency of approxi-
mately 20 million people. NAE is committed to defending
religious freedom as a precious gift of God and a vital
component of the American heritage.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0324%3A18. Public record. Not legal advice.
