# Amicus Curiae Brief — Sims v. Apfel

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0311%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 530 U.S. 103

## Text

No. 98-9537

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

JUATASSA SIMS,
Petitioner,
v.

KENNETH S. APFEL,
Commissioner of Social Security,
Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF AARP;
NOSSCR; ET AL.;
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER
(Additional Amici continued on inside cover)

ROBERT E. RAINS ROCHELLE BOBROFF*

PROFESSOR OF LAW AARP FOUNDATION

THE DICKINSON SCHOOL LITIGATION

of LAW

THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE MICHAEL SCHUSTER

UNIVERSITY AARP

150 South College Street 601 E Street, NW

Carlisle, PA 17013 Washington, DC 20049

(717) 240-5241 (202) 434-2060
*Counsel of Record

Counsel for Amici Curiae

(Additional Amici)

National Organization of Social Security
Claimaints’ Representatives (NOSSCR);
American Network of Community Options and
Resources (ANCOR);

The Arc of the United States;

Family Voices-New Jersey;

Iowa Protection and Advocacy Systems (NAPAS);
National Association of Protection and Advocacy
Systems (NAPAS);

National Senior Citizens Law Center (NSCLC);
Statewide Parent Advocacy Network of New Jersey

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF ALTER EMD ccc cccccccccccccccccces ill
INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE .... 2.6.66 cc cc ceeeee l
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT ................. 2
SEED Soc coccccnncecoececscecssceoeseceses 5

I. BECAUSE OF ITS LIMITED RESOURCES,
SSA’S APPEALS COUNCIL PROVIDES
NO MORE THAN A CURSORY
REVIEW TO THE VAST MAJORITY
OF CASES THAT COME BEFORE IT ... 4

Il. AN ISSUE EXHAUSTION REQUIRE-
MENT IS OFTEN FUTILE, SINCE SSA
REFUSES TO ALLOW ITS ADMINISTRA-
TIVE APPEALS JUDGES TO APPLY
CONTROLLING CASE LAW .......... 8

Ill. SOCIAL SECURITY AND SSI
CLAIMANTS HAVE NOT RECEIVED
PROPER NOTICE PURSUANT TO THE
DUE PROCESS CLAUSE REGARDING
ISSUE EXHAUSTION ............... 14

IV. DISABLED CLAIMANTS ARE LIKELY TO
SUFFER HARM IF COURTS REFUSE TO
CONSIDER MERITORIOUS ISSUES THAT

HAVE NOT BEEN RAISED AT
THE APPEALS COUNCIL ............ 22
GEE Snechedcnncunesecedcsdessukioben 25
APPENDIX
Interests of Amici Curiae ................... Al

a oe

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Armstrong v. Manzo,
PPD cbccncdkbenescencssccens 21

Bowen v. City of New York,
SED ctnckécdsaccnceens 4, 23, 25

Harwood v. Apfel,
186 F.3d 1039 (8th Cir. 1999) ............... 20

Johnson v. Apfel,
189 F.3d 561 (7th Cir. 1999) ............. 20, 21

Lopez v. Heckler,
713 F.3d 1432 (9th Cix. 1983), vacated,

CP ee SEE eecnccccscceccccceccces 24

Meanel v. Apfel,
172 F.3d 1111 (9th Cir. 1999) ............0.8. 20

Memphis Light, Gas and Water Division v. Craft,
I ct i ae cnet eeduennkens 3,15

Mullane v. Central Hanover Trust Co.,
ee ee desea duawed 14

Paul v. Shalala,
29 F.3d 208 (Sth Cir. 1994) ............... 18, 19

iv

Polaski v. Heckler,
751 F.2d 943 (8th Cir. 1984), vacated,

Se SEE wcducousdedsonccecvedes 24
Richardson v. Perales,

Se cecaceecessese 15, 16, 20, 21
Schaudeck v. Commissioner of SSA,

181 F.3d 429 (3rd Cir. 1999) ............. 13,14
Schweiker v. Chilicky,

ES ends ccc euuebonwuned 23
Sims v. Apfel,

No. 98-60126 (Sth Cir. Nov. 6, 1998) .......... 19
Sullivan v. Zebley,

Be eee 10

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

Social Security Act (1999)

SEED ¢idcgcesncseseeeeecucnes 4

MN I ern 9,18

SEE cedsnunvenencedacteseseurete y

ee ee ET 9.64.04 cdicdeucsvedeons 4
Social Security Regulations (1999)

i ea deua x

ES cca tcccdedeasaseadcandades 8

BP Es occu cdccecececsccesoce 16

66 inked néndedveseseedes 16

A 040g eccnedendbedeuedenus 15

SP ET codbocscscctesececees 3, 16

es EE bvb. cbbkseececcccscast 3, 16

Vv
el 16
a couanied 16
EET 16
aa 17
TGP, BOOAIIG .. oo 5 ccc cccnccccccossces 16
co uccceseeaacs 17
ee 9,12
a caedeveds 21
nc cceueeutes 20
20 C.F.R. § Part 404, Subpart P, App.1,
ac a 13
I nics cw cnsecccesses 21
TEE 16
TOGO, BURBIOND ...o oon ccccccccccssccces 16
eR RE TES tae 15
TENE SS S TREAT 3, 16
Sa 3, 16
TOGCUM. BOOEBOED .... once cccccccccccecs: 16
TOCPM. BARGIED ....o ccc cccccccsccccscs 16
be 16
ee eee 17
ee ne 16
SR eee 17
ee eee 9,12
SR EE a 20
I i ce seccdeues 6,17
52 Fed. Reg. 49141 (1987)
(codified at 1 C.F.R. § 305.87-7) ............... 5
58 Fed. Reg. 28596 (May 14, 1993) ................. 16

61 Fed. Reg. 34470 (July 2, 1996) ..............000. 11

vi
64 Fed. Reg. 57687 (October 26, 1999)... ............ 12

MISCELLANEOUS

Acquiescence, Hearing before the House Judiciary
Committee, Subcommittee on Commercial and
Administrative Law (Oct. 27, 1999) ............ ll

Hearing on H.R. 1294 Before the Subcommittee on
Commercial and Administrative Law of the House
Committee on the Judiciary (Sept. 16, 1999) .... 12

Carolyn Kubitschek, Social Security Administration
Nonacquiescence: The Need for Legislative Curbs
on Agency Discretion, 50 U. Pitt L. Rev. 399
GE ... . . 17

Jon C. Dubin, Torquemada Meets Kafka: The Misapplication
of the Issue Exhaustion Doctrine to Inquisitional
Administrative Proceedings, 97 Columbia L. Rev.

CP EUIDUD Scccdseaveccddicccknoviwes 7, 8, 20

> ore eer" —

Vii

OFFICE OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS, SOCIAL SECURITY
ADMINISTRATION, KEY WORKLOAD INDICATORS
HEARINGS - APPEALS - CIVIL ACTIONS - ATTORNEY

FEES (1999) ...

pSeececocvececoseceseces 5, 6, 7

Matthew Diller & Nancy Morawetz, /ntracircuit
Nonacquiescence and the Breakdown of the Rule of
Law: A Response to Estreicher and Reversz,
GP TD Eads Bie CRUSE ce cccvcdccccccscccces 22

Memorandum from Social Security Administration, Office
of the General Counsel, Legal Foundations of the
Duty of Impartiality in the Hearing Process and its
Applicability to Administrative Law Judges 5-6 (Jan.

28, 1997) .....

Richard Posner, THE FEDERAL COURTS, CRISIS AND

REFORM (1985)

—_——— - ms

SSS es. et roe

No. 98-9537

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

JUATASSA SIMS,
Petitioner,
v.

KENNETH S. APFEL,
Commissioner of Social Security,
Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF AARP;
NOSSCR; ET AL.;
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE”

This amici curiae brief is submitted on behalf of
AARP, the National Organization of Social Security
Claimants’ Representatives (NOSSCR), the American

” This brief has been authored in its entirety by undersigned
counsel for the amici. No person or entity, other than the named
amici and their counsel, made any monetary contribution to the
preparation or submission of this brief.

2

Network of Community Options and Resources (ANCOR),
The Arc, Family Voices-New Jersey, lowa Protection and
Advocacy, Inc., the National Association of Protection and
Advocacy Systems (NAPAS), the National Senior Citizens
Law Center (NSCLC), and the Statewide Parent Advocacy
Network of New Jersey. The statement of interests of amici
is included in the appendix to this brief.

By written consent of the parties, amici curiae submit
this brief in support of Petitioner.”

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

In order to exhaust administrative remedies and seek
judicial review of a denial of Social Security or Supplemental
Security Income (SSI) benefits, a claimant must request
review from the Social Security Administration (SSA)
Appeals Council. The Appeals Council utilizes up to 55
adjudicators to handle over 100,000 cases per year. These
adjudicators usually devote no more than fifteen minutes to an
individual case, while claimants typically wait over a year to
receive a decision from the Appeals Council either denying or
granting a request for review.

Unless specifically authorized, the Appeals Council is
precluded by SSA regulations and policy from considering or
citing judicial authority, including circuit court precedent
within each circuit. The Appeals Council is required to
follow SSA’s interpretation of the Social Security Act and
regulations even when that interpretation has been undercut or
rejected by judicial precedent. Therefore, it is futile for

” Letters of consent from all parties have been filed separately with
the Clerk of the Court.

3

attorneys to bring rules of law or interpretations from relevant
case law to the attention of the Appeals Council.

The Due Process Clause of the United States
Constitution requires the government to inform affected
parties of the procedures to be followed for participation in
administrative proceedings. Memphis Light, Gas and Water
Division v. Craft, 436 U.S. 1, 14 (1978). SSA regulations
provide that claimants are required only to “request” Appeals
Council review and do not require the filing of briefs, a listing
of issues, or detailed legal statements before the Appeals
Council. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.967, 404.968, 416.1467,
416.1468 (1999). Neither the regulations nor SSA’s own
form for requesting Appeals Council review inform claimants
that a failure to raise issues before the Appeals Council will
result in a waiver of those issues in court. Moreover, since
it is unlikely that a detailed legal statement would be read by
legal staff at the Appeals Council, it is unfair to impose issue
exhaustion on claimants who do not raise every legal issue
before the Appeals Council. If courts refuse to hear
meritorious legal claims regarding errors in denying benefits
because of the failure to raise these issues at the Appeals
Council, then individuals who are truly disabled (or otherwise
entitled to Social Security benefits) are likely to suffer
extreme hardship.

4
ARGUMENT

I. BECAUSE OF ITS’_ LIMITED
RESOURCES, SSA’S APPEALS COUNCIL
PROVIDES NO MORE THAN A
CURSORY REVIEW TO THE VAST
MAJORITY OF CASES THAT COME
BEFORE IT.

Congress has established two separate but interrelated
programs providing benefits to individuals who are disabled:
Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) under Title II of
the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 401-433 (1999), and
Supplemental Security Income (SSI) under Title XVI of the
Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 1381-1383f (1999). The
administrative appeals process is identical for these two
programs.

SSA’s Appeals Council is the fourth and final
administrative step for claimants seeking disability benefits
under the Social Security Act.” Claims are considered first
on an initial application. A claimant denied benefits may seek
reconsideration. If denied again, a claimant may obtain a de
novo hearing before an SSA administrative law judge (ALJ).
If denied again, a claimant may request review of the hearing
decision by SSA’s Appeals Council as a prerequisite for
seeking judicial review in federal district court. Additionally,
the Appeals Council may perform “own motion” review of an
ALJ decision which is favorable to a claimant.

» See generally Bowen v. City of New York, 476 U.S. 467, 472
(1986).

5

Because it lacks sufficient resources, the Appeals
Council is often not able to provide meaningful review of the
denial of benefits. Over a decade ago, an exhaustive study
performed under the auspices of the Administrative
Conference of the United States (ACUS) resulted in the
conclusion that the Appeals Council was deeply flawed and
not performing to anyone’s satisfaction because the size of the
then current caseload defied effective management.* At the
time of that study, by Fiscal Year (FY) 1988, the Appeals
Council was receiving annually approximately 81,500 requests
for review.2 By FY 1999, that figure had swelled to over
115,000.°

In 1987, the ACUS review suggested that in a typical
case, members of the Appeals Council examine the paper
record for less than 15 minutes.” But even this admittedly

* See Charles H. Koch, Jr. & David A. Koplow, The Fourth Bite
of The Apple: A Study of the Operation and Utility of The Social
Security Administration’s Appeal Council, 17 FLA. ST. U. L. REV.
199, 202 n.1, 318-319 (1990).

¥ Id. at 242 n.233.

* OFFICE OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS, SOCIAL SECURITY
ADMINISTRATION, KEY WORKLOAD INDICATORS HEARINGS -
APPEALS - CIVIL ACTIONS - ATTORNEY FEES ("KEY WORKLOAD
INDICATORS") 19 (1999).

” See Administrative Conference of the United States, A New Role
for the Social Security Appeals Council, 52 Fed. Reg. 49141,
49143 (1987) (codified at 1 C.F.R. § 305.87-7). Even though the
Appeals Council considers every request for review, it only awards
benefits in appreximately 2% of cases and remands approximately

(continued...)

6

cursory handling of cases by the Appeals Council in 1987
was better than the current situation, as requests for review
climbed by well over 50% between FY 1993 and FY 1999.®

The figures reveal the inevitable reality of the scarce
amount of time devoted to an individual case at the Appeals
Council level. In FY 1998, the Appeals Council disposed of
approximately 100,000 cases.” The legal staffing at the
Appeals Council consists of positions for 30 Administrative
Appeals Judges (AAJs) and 25 Appeals Officers (AOs).
Thus even when all of these positions are filled, there are only
55 adjudicators, who if they act singly each decides over
1,800 cases per year. Although the AAJs and AOs also have
staff analysts to assist them, staff analysts are not required to
be attorneys.

As the time spent by adjudicators at the Appeal
Council per case has diminished, the overall processing time

? (...continued)

18% of cases. When a request for review is denied, it is extremely
unlikely that the Appeals Council will have carefully considered
legal objections raised by claimants. Richard Posner, THE
FEDERAL COURTS, CRISIS AND REFORM 161 (1985). It is normal
practice for the Appeals Council not to provide any explanation
when it denies review.

® KEY WORKLOAD INDICATORS, supra note 6, at 19.
2 Id.

1’ The AOs have authority, on their own, only to deny requests for
review, not to grant them. 20 C.F.R. § 422.205(c) (1999). A
minimum of two AAJs are required to review a case when a request
for review has been granted. 20 C.F.R. § 422.205(b) (1999).

7

has skyrocketed. In FY 1994, the average processing time in
the Appeals Council was 126 days. By FY 1998, that figure
was 417 days, and incomplete data for FY 1999 showed an
average wait of 441 days.’ Commissioner Apfel recently
testified that claimants now must “wait more than a year for
an Appeals Council decision....””

Meanwhile, during the period of FY 1993 to FY 1998,
as receipts of requests for review rose and time spent per case
fell, the percentage of cases in which the Appeals Council
reversed the denial of benefits dropped from 3.3% to 2.1%.”

Given the low number of legal staff, the most likely
persons to read legal arguments filed at the Appeals Council
are the analysts, who generally are not lawyers. The analysts
are responsible for reviewing hearing tapes and medical
records of more than 100,000 claimants per year.

Moreover, the Appeals Council generally does not
respond to claimants’ arguments when a request for review is
denied.“ Instead, typical denial notices consist of boilerplate

4’ KEY WORKLOAD INDICATORS, supra note 6, at 23.

Disability Oversight, Committee on Ways and Means,
Subcommittees on Social Security and Human Resources 7 (Oct.
21, 1999)(statement of Kenneth S. Apfel).

’ KEY WORKLOAD INDICATORS, supra note 6, at 23. During the
same period, Appeals Council remands dropped from 27% to
18.3%. Id.

# Jon C. Dubin, Torquemada Meets Kafka: The Misapplication of
the Issue Exhaustion Doctrine to Inquisitional Administrative
(continued...)

language that does not inform the claimant or the reviewing
court of the Appeals Council’s reasoning but only states that
the request has been denied. For the vast majority of cases
reaching the courts, the ALJ decision from over a year earlier
provides the only explanation of the agency’s rationale. The
first opportunity for meaningful review of legal challenges to
the ALJ’s reasoning arises in court, although judicial review
may not be obtained until the Appeals Council has denied the
claimant’s request for review.

Il. AN ISSUE EXHAUSTION REQUIRE-
MENT IS OFTEN FUTILE, SINCE SSA
REFUSES TO ALLOW ITS
ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS JUDGES
TO APPLY CONTROLLING CASE LAW.

Because SSA will not allow its judges and appeals
officers to apply federal court decisions directly, the Appeals
Council generally will not consider legal arguments based on
case law. At the administrative level, Social Security law is
comprised of detailed SSA regulations promulgated in the
Federal Register and annually codified in Title 20 C.F.R.
Parts 400-499, as well as less generally known sub-regulatory
authority such as Social Security Rulings (SSRs), the

(.. continued)

Proceedings, 97 COLUMBIA L. REV. 1289, 1329 (1997) (citing
letter from William C. Taylor, Executive Director, Office of
Council, to Nancy Shor, Executive Director, National Organization
of Social Security Claimants’ Representatives 1 (July 28, 1995)(on
file with the Columbia Law Review)).

& See 20 C.F.R. § 402.35(b) (1999).

‘
— Ste eopw ied

9

Hearings, Appeals and Litigation Law (Lex) (HALLEX)
Manual, and the Program Operations Manual System
(POMS). At the level of federal court review, it is comprised
of an enormous body of case law. West’s United States Code
Annotated lists 1,626 headings for annotations to 42 U.S.C.
§ 405, “Evidence, procedure and certification for payments,”
as well as 428 headings for annotations to 42 U.S.C. § 423,
“Disability insurance benefit payments.”

SSA instructs its administrative judges to adhere to the
regulations and Social Security rulings but not to apply
judicial holdings to cases before them. SSA’s Office of the
General Counsel has advised ALJs that they are “bound to
follow Agency Policy even if, in the ALJ’s opinion, the policy
is contrary to law.”

Instead of permitting its administrative judges to apply
case law, SSA reviews decisions of the Courts of Appeals. If
SSA determines that a decision conflicts with SSA’s
interpretation of the Social Security Act or regulations, and if
it chooses not to seek further judicial review of the decision,
then SSA will issue an “Acquiescence Ruling.” The
Acquiescence Ruling explains how SSA and its personne! will
apply the judicial decision. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.985(a), (b),
416.1485(a), (b) (1999).

Such Acquiescence Rulings are issued as Social
Security Rulings which are binding on all components of SSA,

1’ Memorandum from Social Security Administration, Office
of the General Counsel, Legal Foundations of the Duty of
Impartiality in the Hearing Process and its Applicability to
Administrative Law Judges 5-6 (Jan. 28, 1997).

including the AAJs and AOs of the Appeals Council.” policy when adjudicating other claims

Therefore, SSA personnel are allowed to cite the within that district court’s jurisdiction
Acquiescence Ruling (if there is one), not to apply the case. unless the court directs otherwise .12

Indeed, Social Security Ruling (SSR) 96-1p explicitly states

SSA's purposes as follows: The General Counsel of SSA recently defended this

Purpose: To clarify longstanding policy
that, unless and until a Social Security
Acquiescence Ruling (AR) is issued
determining that a final circuit court
holding conflicts with the Agency’s
interpretation of the Social Security Act
or regulations and explaining how SSA
will apply such a holding, SSA
decisionmakers continue to be bound
by SSA’s nationwide policy, rather
than the court’s holding, in
adjudicating other claims within that
circuit court’s jurisdiction. This
Ruling does not in any way modify
SSA’s acquiescence policy to which the
Agency continues to remain firmly
committed, but instead serves to
emphasize consistent adjudication in
the programs SSA administers. This
Ruling is also issued to clarify
longstanding Agency policy that,
despite a district court decision which
may conflict with SSA’s interpretation
of the Social Security Act or
regulations, SSA Adjudicators will

continue to apply SSA’s nationwide

“’ Id. See Sullivan v. Zebley, 493 U.S. 521, 530 n.9 (1990).

policy in testimony in opposition to a bill to require SSA
adjudicators to follow circuit court precedent, stating:

By requiring each of the more than 32,000
individuals who rule on SSA claims (including,
but not limited to, ALJs) to individually apply
their own interpretation of Court of Appeals
decisions without guidance from _ the
Commissioner, would greatly undermine the
fairness and consistency in our decisionmaking
process.

If each of SSA’s thousands of decisionmakers
were responsible for interpreting circuit court
holdings, it could result in conflicting decisions
by different decisionmakers, even within the
same office.”

SSA’s regulation explicitly states that it “will release
an Acquiescence Ruling for publication in the Federal Register
for any precedential circuit court decision that we determine
contains a holding that conflicts with our interpretation of a

18 61 Fed. Reg 34470 (July 2, 1996).

12 See generally Acquiescence, Hearing before the House Judiciary
Committee, Subcommittee on Commercial and Administrative Law
(Oct. 27, 1999)(statement of Arthur J. Fried, Office of General
Counsel, Social Security Administration).

12

provision of the Social Security Act or regulation no later
than 120 days from receipt of the court’s decision.” 20 C.F.R.
§$§ 404.985(b)(1), 416. 1485(b)(1) (1999)(emphasis supplied).
Interestingly, in his testimony, SSA’s General Counsel
repeatedly referred to this provision as setting a goal of
publishing Acquiescence Rulings within 120 days, and he
claimed that SSA is complying with this goal.”

SSA has been justly criticized both for taking a very
limited view of when circuit court rulings conflict with its
own interpretation and for failing to issue Acquiescence
Rulings in a timely fashion.’ There are significant practical
ramifications resulting from SSA’s limited policy of
acquiescence. If an attorney believes that a federal court
precedent compels the overturning of an ALJ decision denying
a Client benefits, it is futile for the attorney to raise that
precedent to the Appeals Council which is forbidden to apply
it.

® Id.

2 Indeed, on October 26, 1999, the day before SSA’s General
Counsel testified that SSA is meeting its “goal” of issuing
Acquiescence Rulings within 120 days, the agency issued
Acquiescence Ruling 99-4(11), acquiescing in a circuit court
decision handed down sixteen and a half years earlier, in April
1983. 64 Fed. Reg. 57687-57689 (Oct. 26, 1999). See generally
Hearing on H.R. 1294 Before the Subcommittee on Commercial
and Administrative Law of the House Committee on the Judiciary
(Sept. 16, 1999)(statement of the Hon. Walter K. Stapleton of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit, on behalf of
the Judicial Conference of the United States, and statement of John
H. Pickering, on behalf of the American Bar Assoc.).

13

Moreover, issue exhaustion only makes sense when the
administrative and judicial forums are applying the same leyal
standard. Yet, SSA forbids the Appeals Council from
applying cases which have not been addressed in an
Acquiescence Ruling, while district courts within a circuit are
required to follow their circuit court’s decisions as soon as
they are issued. When the administrative proceeding is
actually applying different legal standards than the reviewing
court, counsel may seek to frame the case quite differently in
the two forums. The claimant should not be precluded from
reformulating the relevant issues when the case reaches the
district court.

The practical problems caused by SSA’s limited
acquiescence in circuit court rulings are best illustrated
through an example. Under SSA’s regulations, a person who
is terminally ill with Hodgkin’s disease will be entitled to
benefits if he can show that the disease is “not controlled by
prescribed therapy.” On June 25, 1999, the United States
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit decided a case in which
SSA had denied benefits to a claimant with Hodgkin’s disease
because a nontreating doctor had reported that the claimant
was “responding to” chemotherapy. SSA argued to the circuit
court that when a person who suffers from Hodgkin’s disease
is “responding to” chemotherapy, the illness is “controlled by
the prescribed treatment.” The Third Circuit expressly
rejected that interpretation: “We hold that ‘control,’ as used
here, means that the treatment has been so successful that the
disease can be considered effectively neutralized.” Schaudeck
v. Commissioner of SSA, 181 F.3d 429, 432 (3rd Cir. 1999).
Now, 209 days later, SSA has neither issued an Acquiescence
Ruling regarding Schaudeck, nor sought review of Schaudeck

2 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, App.1, Listing 13.06A (1999).

14

in this Court, despite the fact that the Third Circuit clearly
rejected SSA’s interpretation of its own regulation.

If counsel for a claimant residing within the Third
Circuit cited Schaudeck to any adjudicator at any level within
SSA, including the Appeals Council, that adjudicator would
be compelled by SSR 96-lp to ignore this clear precedent.
Indeed, Social Security Ruling 96-1p specifically prohibits any
adjudicator, including any AAJ, from applying the court’s
holding even if the claimant lives within the circuit. Since the
Appeals Council is precluded by SSA from following
Schaudeck, it would be unfair to bar judicial consideration of
this issue based on the claimant’s failure to raise the issue in
a request for Appeals Council review.

Ill. SOCIAL SECURITY AND _ SSI
CLAIMANTS HAVE NOT RECEIVED
PROPER NOTICE PURSUANT TO THE
DUE PROCESS CLAUSE REGARDING
ISSUE EXHAUSTION.

The Court has repeatedly held that when the
government conducts proceedings affecting the interests of
citizens, the government must inform affected parties of the
procedures to be followed for participation in these
proceedings. In Mullane v. Central Hanover Trust Co., 339
U.S. 306 (1950), the Court stated:

Anelementary and fundamental requirement of
due process in any proceeding which is to be
accorded finality is notice reasonably
calculated, under all the circumstances, to
apprise interested parties of the pendency of

15

the action and afford them an opportunity to
present their objections.

Id. at 314. Similarly, in Memphis Light, Gas and Water
Division v. Craft, 436 U.S. 1, 14 (1978), the Court stated that
the “purpose of notice under the Due Process Clause is to
apprise the affected individual of, and permit adequate
preparation for, an impending hearing.”

The Court has previously analyzed the Social Security
statute and regulations and concluded that:

there emerges an emphasis upon the informal
rather than the formal. This, we think, is as it
should be, for this administrative procedure,
and these hearings, should be understandable
to the layman claimant, should not necessarily
be stiff and comfortable only for the trained
attorney, and should be liberal and not strict in
tone and operation. This is the obvious intent
of Congress so long as the procedures are
fundamentally fair.

Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S. 389, 400-401 (1971).

The Social Security regulations do not preclude the
claimant from raising new issues at any stage of the
administrative proceedings. The regulations provide that “any
party may raise a new issue” at a hearing before an ALJ,
“even though [the issue] arose after the request for a hearing
and even though it has not been considered in an initial or
reconsidered determination.” 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.946(b),
416.1446(b) (1999). Similarly, the Appeals Council may
review any “error of law” and “abuse of discretion by the

16

administrative law judge,” without consideration of whether
the claimant identified these issues during the initial,
reconsideration, and ALJ determinations. 20 C.F.R.
§§ 404.970(a), 416.1470(a) (1999).

The Social Security regulations provide that a
“request” is the only prerequisite to obtaining Appeals
Council review. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.967, 404.968, 416.1467,
416.1468 (1999). The regulations further indicate that the
Appeals Council may review cases in which the claimant did
not request review and that the Appeals Council may identify
or limit issues to be addressed in its review. 20 C.F.R. §§
404.969, 404.973, 404.976(a), 416.1469, 416.1473,
416.1476(a) (1999). The regulations do not place any burden
on the claimant to conduct an exhaustive presentation of all
legal issues before the Appeals Council. Indeed, SSA
envisions that a request for review by the claimant will take
10 minutes to prepare. 58 Fed. Reg. 28596 (May 14, 1993).
Since a “request” is the only legal requirement to obtain
Appeals Council review, the regulations do not inform the
claimant that the failure to raise issues before the Appeals
Council will result in the waiver of those issues in court.

SSA's regulations explicitly provide that the Appeals
Council will "conduct the administrative review process in an
informal, non-adversarial manner." While the regulations
permit claimants to file a brief with the Appeals Council, 20

= The one exception is the requirement in the regulations for the
claimant to notify the ALJ if the claimant believes that the ALJ is
biased. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.940, 416.1440 (1999).

20 C.F.R. §§ 404.900(b); 416.1400(b) (1999). See also,
Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S. at 400.

17

C.F.R. §§ 404.975, 416.1475 (1999), the regulations do not
require claimants to do so. Instead, the regulations provide
that claimants may use Form HA-520 in order to request
Appeals Council review. 20 C.F.R. § 422.205 (1999).
This form provides three single spaced lines for the statement
of the issues and grounds for appeal. Like SSA regulations,
this form does not notify the claimant that issues which are not
raised before the Appeals Council will be waived.

The regulations provide that if the Appeals Council
denies review, the decision of the ALJ, not the Appeals
Council, is binding on the claimant. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.981,
416.1481 (1999). Far from informing the claimant of issue
exhaustion, this regulation suggests that proceedings before
the Appeals Council, including any legal arguments presented,
are irrelevant when the Appeals Council denies review. The
regulations permit the filing of “an action in a Federal district
court within 60 days after the date [claimants] receive notice
of the Appeals Council action.” Jd. Thus, exhaustion only
requires that the claimants have requested review of the ALJ
hearing decision by the Appeals Council and have obtained a
notice from the Appeals Council that the requests were
denied.

The Social Security Act states:

The findings and decision of the
Commissioner of Social
Security after a hearing shall be
binding upon all individuals

®’ A copy of Form HA-520 may be found at Social Security online
(last modified Jan. 18, 2000) .

18

who were parties to such
hearing. No findings of fact or
decision of the Commissioner
of Social Security shall be
reviewed by any person,
tribunal, or governmental
agency except as_ herein
provided.

42 U.S.C. § 405(h) (1999). The Social Security Act does not
require any additional administrative review of the ALJ
hearing decision. Pursuant to the Commissioner’s power to
promulgate regulations, 42 U.S.C. § 405(a) (1999), he created
the Appeals Council. The role of the Appeals Council is
defined exclusively by regulation, not by statute. Therefore,
claimants should be able to rely upon the regulatory
instructions for presenting cases to the Appeals Council.

SSA admits that neither the Social Security Act nor the
implementing regulations require claimants to “raise an issue
before the agency in order to preserve the issue for judicial
review.” Brief for the Respondent in Opposition to the
Petition for Certiorari, (“Resp. Opp. Cert.”), Sims v. Apfel,
(No. 98-9537) at 6-7. SSA contends that Due Process was
Satisfied in this case, because it was “well-settled” by the
Fifth Circuit in cases such as Paul v. Shalala, 29 F.3d 208
(Sth Cir. 1994), that claimants were required to present their
contentions to the Appeals Council in order to preserve issues
for judicial review. Resp. Opp. Cert. at 9.

19

The Fifth Circuit held in Paul v. Shalala as well as in
the instant case’ that the court lacked jurisdiction to review
issues which had not been raised at the Appeals Council.
However, in this case and in other cases concerning issue
exhaustion in the Social Security context, SSA concedes that
courts do have jurisdiction to review legal issues which were
not raised before the Appeals Council. Resp. Opp. Cert. at
5, n.3. As explained by Chief Judge Posner of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, the
Commissioner conceded that when a claimant failed to brief
a particular issue before the Appeals Council, the claimant
nevertheless “did not fail to exhaust his administrative
remedies.” Johnson v. Apfel, 189 F.3d 561, 563 (7th Cir.
1999).

There is no dispute that the legal reasoning of the Fifth
Circuit was incorrect. Claimants who sought review by the
Appeals Council but did not raise specific legal issues have
nevertheless succeeded in exhausting their administrative
remedies. Therefore, courts have jurisdiction to review all
legal issues raised by claimants in federal court. Since the
opinions of the Fifth Circuit were based upon erroneous legal
reasoning, these decisions cannot provide constitutionally
adequate notice to claimants of the procedures to be followed
to preserve judicial review of legal issues.

SSA further asserts that petitioner’s attorney was
notified of the “judicial practice” of imposing issue exhaustion
by published case law in Courts of Appeals other than the
Fifth Circuit. Resp. Opp. Cert. at 5-9. However, SSA
concedes that there is a conflict among the Courts of Appeals

2% Sims v. Apfel, No. 98-60126, slip op. at 2 (5" Cir. Nov. 6,
1998).

20

regarding whether issue exhaustion applies in the context of
Social Security hearings. /d. at 10-11. Indeed, Chief Judge
Posner reversed previous Seventh Circuit decisions in ruling
that issue exhaustion is incompatible with the procedures of
the Appeals Council which he considered “more like a
complaint bureau than an appellate court.” Johnson v. Apfel,
189 F.3d at 563. See also, Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S.
at 400 (SSA appeals procedures are informal). Far from
being “well-settled,” the judicial imposition of issue
exhaustion in the Social Security context has now been
rejected in two circuits. Johnson v. Apfel, 189 F.3d at 563;
Harwood v. Apfel, 186 F.3d 1039 (8th Cir. 1999).

Moreover, a substantial number of claimants are not
represented by attorneys~”’ and therefore cannot be expected
to sort through the maze of contradictory court opinions. SSA
now asserts that it will raise issue exhaustion only when
claimants have been represented by counsel or a lay
representative,’ and the Ninth Circuit seeks to apply issue
exhaustion only when claimants are represented by counsel.
Meanel v. Apfel, 172 F.3d 1111, 1115 (9th Cir. 1999). Amici
submit that such a trifurcated rule would undermine the
uniformity of a national benefits program and could even
serve to discourage attorneys from representing claimants
before the Appeals Council.

Since the Appeals Council operates informally, it is
unfair to apply issue exhaustion to any Social Security or SSI

2’ Dubin, supra note 14, at-1294 n.29.

® Resp. Opp. Cert. at 9. Claimants may be (and often are)
represented by non-attorneys during the administrative process. 20
C.F.R. §§ 404.1705, 416.1505 (1999).

21

claimant, regardless of whether the claimant is represented by
counsel or has been constructively “notified” of the judicial
doctrine. The Court has previously stated in a case involving
an application for Social Security disability benefits that
“procedural due process is applicable to the adjudicative
administrative proceeding involving the differing rules of fair
play, which through the years, have become associated with
differing types of proceedings.” Richardson v. Perales, 402
U.S. at 401 (citations omitted). The Fifth Circuit’s judicial

that claimants, including unrepresented
claimants,” supply detailed legal positions at the Appeals
Council, when these legal papers are unlikely to be read by an
attorney and are not required by the regulations, violates the
“rules of fair play.”

“The fundamental requirement of due process is the
opportunity to be heard ‘at a meaningful time and in a
meaningful manner.’” Armstrong v. Manzo, 380 U.S. 545,
552 (1965). Because the Appeals Council affords cases only
a cursory review by an attorney and a brief review by a non-
attorney analyst, the Appeals Council often does not provide
a meaningful review of legal issues. The failure of reviewing
courts to consider meritorious legal issues offends the Due
Process Clause. If legal errors which led to the improper
denial of benefits are not corrected, then disabled claimants
will be deprived of benefits which are designed by Congress
to provide them the necessities of life.

2 Unrepresented claimants would be expected to know that they
are unable to work but could not possibly be expected to be able to

identify procedural errors, such as the incorrect application of the
sequential evaluation process. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520, 416.920.

22

IV. DISABLED CLAIMANTS ARE LIKELY
TO SUFFER HARM IF COURTS REFUSE
TO CONSIDER MERITORIOUS ISSUES
THAT HAVE NOT BEEN RAISED AT
THE APPEALS COUNCIL.

Judicial imposition of issue exhaustion can result in the
denial of benefits to disabled individuals who meet all the
requirements in the Social Security Act and regulations for
obtaining benefits. These people have disabling conditions
that have persisted through the many years needed to complete
four levels of administrative review and satisfy the
prerequisites for judicial review. Because of their
disabilities, they are unable to obtain gainful employment
which would provide them with the necessities of life.
“[MJany disabled persons are forced to subsist on state public
assistance programs. Others are left with no means of
subsistence. "2!

deaths of people from illnesses
that SSA said they did not have,

* Others may be in dire need of benefits as dependents, survivors,
or retirees.

*/ Matthew Diller & Nancy Morawetz, Intracircuit Non-
acquiescence and the Breakdown of the Rule of Law: A Response
to Estreicher and Reversz, 99 Yale LJ. 801, 815-816
(1990)(footnotes omitted).

23

from the exertion of returning
to work after losing benefits, or
from suicide. Many of the
survivors join the ranks of the
homeless or the
forced to forego medical
treatment that would improve
their health

The Court has recognized that Social Security
disability benefits and SSI provide “the very necessities of
life,” and that the wrongful denial of these benefits imposes
“trauma” which is “beyond what anyone of normal
sensibilities would wish to see imposed on innocent disabled
citizens.” Schweiker v. Chilicky, 487 U.S. 412, 428-29
(1988). The Court has stated that the harm from wrongful
denials of Social Security disability benefits can be
“irreparable.” Bowen v. City of New York, 476 U.S. 467,
483-484 (1986).

The Ninth Circuit similarly stated:

Our society as a whole suffers
when we neglect the poor, the
hungry, the disabled, or when
we deprive them of their rights
or privileges. Society’s interest
lies on the side of affording fair

Discretion, 50 U. Prtt L. REV. 399, 410 (1989) (footnotes
omitted)

24

procedures to all persons, even
though the expenditure of
governmental funds is required.
It would be tragic, not only
from the standpoint of the
individuals involved but also
from the standpoint of society,
were poor, elderly, disabled
people to be wrongfully
deprived of essential benefits
for any period of time.

Lopez v. Heckler, 713 F.3d 1432, 1437 (9th Cir. 1983),
vacated on other grounds, 469 U.S. 1082 (1984). The Eighth
Circuit also explained the plight of the individuals denied
Social Security disability benefits.

Claimants who lose or are
denied benefits face foreclosure
on their homes, suffer utility
cutoffs and find it difficult to
purchase food. They go
care; they lose their medical
insurance. They become
increasingly anxious,
depressed, despairing—all of

Polaski v. Heckler, 751 F.2d 943, 951 (8th Cir. 1984)
(quoting Polaski v. Heckler, 585 F. Supp. 1004, 1013 (D.
Minn. 1984)), vacated on other grounds, 476 U.S. 1167
(1986).

~ ee es

25

The Social Security Act was “designed” by Congress
“to be ‘unusually protective of claimants.’” Bowen v. City of
New York, 476 U.S. at 480 (quoting Heckler v. Day, 467 U.S.
104, 106 (1984)). Judicial imposition of issue exhaustion is
inconsistent with the goals of both the Social Security Act and
the informal nature of the SSA appeals process. The Act
relies upon the courts to remedy erroneous denials of benefits
by the Commissioner. Meritorious issues should be heard by
the courts to prevent the tragedy of the wrongful denial of the
necessities of life to disabled people.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, amici urge the Court to

reverse the decision below and to remand this case to the

Fifth Circuit for consideration of all legal issues raised by
petitioner in district court.

Robert E. Rains

Professor of Law

The Dickinson School
of Law

The Pennsylvania State
University

150 South College Street

Carlisle, PA 17013

(717) 240-5241

26

Respectfully Submitted,

*Rochelle Bobroff
AARP Foundation Litigation

Michael Schuster

AARP

601 E Street, NW
Washington, DC 20049
(202) 434-2060

Attorneys for Amici Curiae
*Counsel of Record

Dated: January 20, 2000

APPENDIX

APPENDIX
INTERESTS OF AMICI CURIAE

AARP is a nonprofit membership organization of more
than 33 million persons age fifty and older dedicated to
addressing the needs and interests of older Americans. Over
2.8 million people between the ages of fifty and sixty-five
receive Social Security Disability Insurance. Approximately
1.25 million older Americans receive Supplemental Security
Income as disabled individuals. Americans over 65 years of
age who receive or claim Social Security retirement benefits
will also be affected by this decision. Through education,
advocacy, and service, and by promoting independence,
dignity, and purpose, AARP seeks to enhance the quality of
life for individuals of all ages. AARP has filed numerous
briefs before this Court in cases involving people with
disabilities, including most recently, Cleveland v. Policy
Management Systems Corp, 526 U.S. 795 (1999); American
Manufacturers Mutual Insurance Co. v. Sullivan, 526 U.S. 40
(1999); and Kimel, et. al. v. Florida Board of Regents, Nos.
98-791, 98-796, 2000 WL 14012 (Jan. 11, 2000).

The National Organization of Social Security
Claimants’ Representatives (NOSSCR) is a non-profit
corporation. While most NOSSCR members are attorneys in
private practice, others work in programs which provide free
legal services to the poor. NOSSCR members regularly
represent people claiming benefits (usually, but not always,
disability benefits) in administrative proceedings before the
Social Security Administration (SSA). NOSSCR members
also file actions in federal court against the Commissioner of
SSA (currently Kenneth S. Apfel) appealing the final
administrative denial of clients’ claims for such benefits.

Al

These disability benefits have been provided by the Congress
through two separate but interrelated programs: Social
Security Disability Insurance Benefits (SSDI) under Title II of
the Social Security Act and Supplemental Security Income
(SSD under Title XVI of the Social Security Act. This case
will have profound implications for the meaningfulness of
federal court review, provided by Congress, of denial of
claims under both programs. This brief is filed by NOSSCR
in a representational capacity on behalf of Social Security and
SSI claimants who, by reason of their disabilities, both
physical and mental, as well as in many instances their limited
education, often cannot protect their own interests through the
labyrinthine administrative process, much less judicial review.

The American Network of Community Options and
Resources (ANCOR) is a nationwide association of more than
650 private, non-profit, for-profit and family care agencies
that together provide support and services to more than
150,000 people with mental retardation and other severe
disabilities. ANCOR has thirty vears of proven leadership
representing private providers at the federal level. The
membership serves persons of all ages, income levels, sexes
and races in urban, rural and suburban areas-supporting
people wherever they live and work. The majority of people
to whom ANCOR members provide supports and services are
adults with very low incomes who benefit from Social
Security disability programs.

The Arc of the United States (The Arc), through its
more than 1,000 state and local chapters, is the largest
national voluntary organization in the United States devoted
solely to the welfare of the more than seven million children
and adults with mental retardation and their families. Since
its founding in 1950, The Arc has participated actively in the

A2

formulation of public policy with respect to the rights of, and
services for, citizens with mental retardation. The Arc
(formerly the Association for Retarded Citizens) has
participated as amicus curiae in numerous cases before this
Court that involve the rights of people with disabilities.

Family Voices-New Jersey is a statewide organization
dedicated to ensuring quality health care for families of
children with disabilities and special health care needs.
Family Voices-New Jersey provides information, training,
technical assistance and support to families of children with
special health care needs to assist them to make positive
healthcare decisions for their children, work effectively as
partners with healthcare professionals, and secure health
coverage that meets their children’s special needs. Family
Voices-New Jersey is an active participant in the New Jersey
SSI Alliance; Mainstreaming Medical Care/Arc of New
Jersey; Eastern Paralyzed Veterans’ Association Managed
Care workgroup, and the Community Health Law Project’s
Managed Care Advisory Group.

Iowa Protection & Advocacy, Inc. is the state-designated
entity charged with the federally mandated function of
advocating for the rights of individuals with disabilities in the
state of lowa.

The National Association of Protection and Advocacy
Systems (NAPAS) is a membership organization for the
nationwide system of protection and advocacy (P&A)
agencies. P&As are mandated under various federal statutes
to provide legal representation and related advocacy services
on behalf of all persons with disabilities in a variety of
settings. NAPAS facilitates coordination of P&A activities
and provides training and technical assistance to the P&A

A3

network. It has participated as amicus curiae in a number of
cases before this Court that involve the rights of persons with
disabilities, including Cleveland vy. Policy Management
Systems Corp., 526 U.S. 795 (1999).

The National Senior Citizens Law Center (NSCLC)
advocates nationwide to promote the independence and well-
being of low-income elderly individuals, as well as persons
with disabilities, with particular emphasis on women and
racial and ethnic minorities. Much of NSCLC's work focuses
on federal benefit programs, including Social Security and
Supplemental Security Income. To achieve its goals, NSCLC
engages in various advocacy efforts, including litigation,
policy analysis, and administrative and legislative advocacy.
Established in 1972, NSCLC maintains offices in Washington,
DC, and Los Angeles, CA.

The Statewide Parent Advocacy Network of New Jersey
(SPAN) is New Jersey’s Goals 2000 Parent Information and
Resource Center and special education Parent Training and
Information Center. SPAN provides information, training,
technical assistance, support, and public policy advocacy for
families and professionals concerned with quality education
and the healthy development of New Jersey’s children.
SPAN’s special focus is on those children at greatest risk due
to poverty, disability, special physical or mental health care
needs, or other special needs. SPAN sponsors Family
Voices-New Jersey; New Jersey Statewide Parent to Parent;
the Welfare and Human Rights Monitoring Project; and other
projects working to enhance the capacity of families to
advocate for their children. SPAN is affiliated with the
National Parent Network on Disabilities and the National
Coalition of Advocates for Students.

——E

Y C&S
ey ss

\

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0311%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
