# Opposition Brief — Sims v. Apfel

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0311%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2000
- **Citation:** 530 U.S. 103

## Text

ie ORIGINAL Fre

) OCT 15 1999
) No. 98-9537 ,

CLERK

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

JUATASSA SIMS, PETITIONER
Vv.

KENNETH S. APFEL, COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record

DAVID W. OGDEN
Acting Assistant Attorney
General

WILLIAM KANTER
ROBERT D. KAMENSHINE

Attorneys
| RECEIVED RIDAEERODS..06_e Soe ;
AFTER HOURS 7
(202) 514-2217
OCT 15 1999
OFFse—-OF-THE—Geenk
SUPREME COURT,_U_S.

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the court of appeals properly declined to consider

issues that petitioner failed to raise before the Social Security

Administration.

(I)

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 98-9537
JUATASSA SIMS, PETITIONER
Vv.

KENNETH S. APFEL, COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW
The opinions of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1-2) and of
the district court (Pet. App. 3) are unreported.
JURISDICTION
The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on November
6, 1998. A petition for rehearing was denied on February 18, 1999
(Pet. App. 36). The petition for a writ of certiorari was filed on

May 19, 1999. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. 1254(1).

2

STATEMENT

ae Title II of the Social Security Act provides for the
payment of monthly benefits to disabled persons who have contribut-
ed to the program. 42 U.S.C. 401-433.* The initial disability
determination is made by a state agency, acting under the authority
of the Commissioner of Social Security. 42 U.S.C. 421(a). If the
State agency has denied the disability claim after an initial
decision and a de novo reconsideration, the claimant is entitled to
a hearing before an administrative law judge (ALJ). 42 U.S.C.
405(b); 20 C.F.R. 404.944-404.961. The claimant may appeal an
adverse decision by an ALJ to the Appeals Council within the Social
Security Administration (SSA). 20 C.F.R. 404.967-404.982. After
a claimant has exhausted those administrative procedures, he may
seek judicial review in federal court. 42 U.S.C. 405(g) and (h).
See Bowen v. Yuckert, 482 U.S. 137, 142 (1987); Bowen v. City of
New York, 476 U.S. 467, 482 (1986); Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S.
319, 330 (1976); Weinberger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749, 765 (1975).

2. Petitioner is a claimant who was denied Social Security
disability benefits. After the state agency denied her claim,

petitioner requested a hearing before an ALJ, who determined that

1

Title XVI of the Act provides for the payment of disability
benefits to certain indigent persons under the Supplemental
Security Income Program. 42 U.S.C. 1382.

3

petitioner was not disabled under the Act. Pet. App. 26. The
Appeals Council found that there was no basis for review of the
ALJ's decision. Id. at 34. Petitioner was represented by counsel
before the ALJ and the Appeals Council. Id. at 17, 35.

3. The district court affirmed, adopting as its opinion the
report and recommendation of the United States Magistrate. Pet.
App. 5-6. The court found that the ALJ properly declined to credit
the report of petitioner's psychologist, Dr. Morris, because his
findings were “controverted by other evidence." Id. at 10. The
court then addressed and rejected several other arguments that
petitioner failed to present to the ALJ. Ibid.’

4. The court of appeals affirmed in an unpublished per curiam
opinion. Pet. App. 1-2. The court found petitioner's contention
that the ALJ failed to accord proper weight to Dr. Morris' opinion
“without merit because the ALJ is entitled and expected to
determine the credibility of medical experts and to weigh their
opinions accordingly." Id. at 2. The court further found that it

"lack [ed] jurisdiction" to review petitioner's remaining

2 The court rejected petitioner's contentions that the ALJ
selectively ignored the evidence (Pet. App. 10); that the ALJ
improperly failed to order a consultative examination under 20
C.F.R. 404.1519 (Pet. App. 11); and that the ALJ erred in not
asking the vocational expert a hypothetical question as to the type
of jobs petitioner could perforn in light of the impairments found
by the ALJ (Pet. App. 12).

4

contentions because "they were not raised before the Appeals
Council.” Ibid. The court therefore did not consider petitioner's
contentions that the ALJ improperly excluded certain of her
impairments in assessing her residual function capacity and that
the ALJ should have ordered a consultative examination to assess
her mental impairment. Ibid.

ARGUMENT

Petitioner argues (Pet. 7-16) that the court of appeals'
refusal to consider the contentions that petitioner failed to raise
before the Appeals Council conflicts with the Social Security Act
and the informal nature of disability determinations. That
contention, however, is incorrect and does not warrant this Court's
review.

1. It is well-settled that a party's failure to raise an
issue that he or she had an opportunity to present to an
administrative agency ordinarily bars the party from raising the
issue for the first time upon appeal of the administrative
Gecision. See, ¢.g., Unemployment Compensation Comm'n v. Aragon,
329 U.S. 143, 155 (1946). Sound reasons support the principle that
a party must raise an issue in an administrative proceeding in
order to preserve the issue on judicial review. "[(0) rderly
procedure and good administration require that objections to the

proceedings of an administrative agency be made while it has the

5

opportunity for correction in order to raise issues reviewable by
the courts." United States v. L.A. Tucker Truck Lines, Inc., 344
U.S. 33, 37 (1952); accord Aragon, 329 U.S. at 155 ("A reviewing
court usurps the agency's function when it sets aside the
administrative determination upon a ground not theretofore
presented and deprives the [agency] of an opportunity to consider
the matter, make its ruling, and state the reasons for its
action.").’

Petitioner argues (Pet. 8, 11-14) that the above principle is
inconsistent with the informal and nonadversarial nature of a
disability determination by the SSA. However, "(t]he same
principles which guiie [other cases involving judicial review of
administrative action] — agency autonomy and expertise, efficient
judicial review and promoting judicial economy - apply to social
security administration appeals." Fernandez v. Apfel, No. 97 Civ.
6936 1998 WL 603151, at *16 (S.D. N.Y. Sept. 11, 1998); see also

James v. Chater, 96 F.3d 1341, 1344 (10th Cir. 1996) ("[T]his kind

* Although the court of appeals (Pet. App. 2) stated that it
lacked “jurisdiction” to review issues not raised before the
agency, the doctrine is one of judicial practice and does not
involve a matter of appellate jurisdiction in the technical sense.
See Hormel v. Helvering, 312 U.S. 552, 557 (1941) ("There may
always be exceptional cases or particular circumstances which will
prompt a reviewing or appellate court, where injustice might
otherwise result, to consider questions of law which were neither
pressed nor passed upon by the * * * administrative agency
below.").

6

of request for administrative review, which does not identify the
issues with any particularity, effectively sandbags the Appeals
Council" and "thereby deprive([s] [the court] of its informed views
on those issues"). The court of appeals therefore correctly
declined to review the contentions that petitioner failed to raise
before the Appeals Council. Pet. App. 1-2.

2. Petitioner contend: (Pet. 7, 14-15) that the decision
below conflicts with this Court's decision in Darby v. Cisneros,
509 U.S. 137 (1993). That is not correct. The Court in Darby held
that a claimant seeking judicial review under Section 10 of
Administrative Procedure Act (APA), 5 U.S.C. 702 et geg., must
first exhaust his administrative remedies only when “mandated
either by statute or by agency rule." 509 U.S. at 147. Here, the
Social Security Act explicitly requires the exhaustion of
administrative remedies. 42 U.S.C. 405(g) and (h); see Bowen v.
Yuckert, 482 U.S. 137, 142 (1987); Bowen v. City of New York, 476
U.S. 467, 482 (1986); Califano v. Sanders, 430 U.S. 99, 103 n.3
(1977); Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 330 (1976); Weinberger
v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749, 765 (1975).

Petitioner asserts (Pet. 9-11, 15) that neither the Social
Security Act nor the Commissioner's implementing regulations
require a claimant to raise an issue before the agency in order to

preserve the issue for judicial review. Specifically, petitioner

-

argues that because the Act and regulations require a claimant to
raise an issue before the agency in certain instances, see 42
U.S.C. 405(g) (limiting judicial review when claimant fails to
“submit proof in conformity" with a regulation) and 20 C.F.R.
404.940 (requiring claimant to notify ALJ of an objection to
particular ALJ on grounds of bias "at your earliest opportunity"),
the claimant is not required to preserve an issue before the agency
in any other instance. Nothing in Section 405(g) or the
regulations, however, suggests that a court should depart from the
usual practice in administrative law by considering a matter not
presented to the agency in the first instance. Cf. Darby, 509 U.S.
at 153-154 ("the exhaustion doctrine continues to apply as a matter
of judicial discretion in cases not governed by the APA").

The prudential requirement that a litigant must have raised a
matter before the Appeals Council in order to raise it in court is
similar to than this Court's general practice of not reviewing an
issue not raised in or passed upon by the lower courts. See, e.g.,
Youakim v. Miller, 425 U.S. 231, 234 (1976). It is entirely
consistent with that requirement for the Appeals Council itself to
consider any issue it deems relevant to the matter before it,
whether or not the matter was raised by a party. See Kolstad v.
American Dental Ass'n, 119 S. Ct. 2118, 2127 (1999) ("The Court has

not always confined itself to the set of issues addressed by the

EE

8

parties."). Accordingly. the fact that the Appeals Council, if it
reviews a case, may decide to consider issues not raised by the
Claimant, does not suggest that a court may do so. Specification
of issues to the Appeals Council facilitates the performance of its
role in the administrative process by enabling it to identify cases
of possible error, and therefore to correct those errors before the
case goes to court. See Weinberger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749, 765-766
(1975). If a claimant fails to raise an issue with the Appeals
Council, but then presents it for the first time in court, that
purpose of the exhaustion requirement is undermined.

3. Petitioner also argues (Pet. 8-9, 13) that a rule
requiring claimants to present their contentions to the Appeals
Council raises due process concerns, especially in cases where the
claimant is not represented by an attorney or is not advised of the
rule by the agency. This case, however, does not raise any such
issue, because petitioner was represented by counsel before the ALJ
and the Appeals Council. See Meanel v. Apfel, 172 F.3d 1111, 1115
(9th Cir. 1999) (claimant's "fairness argument might be more
persuasive if [claimant] had not been represented by counsel").
Indeed, petitioner's counsel submitted to the Appeals Council a 12
page single-spaced letter specifying petitioner's objections to the

ALJ's decision. Admin. Rec. 164-176.

9

Moreover, at the time petitioner, through counsel, appealed
her disability determination to the ALJ and the Appeals Council,
the rule requiring claimants to present their contentions to the
agency in order to preserve them for judicial review was well-
settled in the Fifth Circuit as well as other courts of appeals.
Pet. App. 2 n.1; see also p. 10, infra. Petitioner therefore
cannot credibly contend that her due process rights were violated
because she lacked notice of the rule -- even if we assume,
arguendo, that some sort of notice were required in those
circumstances, especially where the claimant is represented by
counsel.

Apart from lack of any unfairness in this case, this Court's
review of petitioner's due process contentions is not warranted for
another reason as well. We have been informed by the SSA that, in
any case in which the claimant was not represented during the
administrative process, SSA as a matter of policy ordinarily does
not argue that the claimant is barred from making arguments on
judicial review that he failed to preserve in support of the claim
that he presented in the administrative proceedings. See Supp.
Pet. App. C2. Thus, the instances in which a court will find that
an unrepresented claimant has waived legal issues not raised before

the agency is not likely to occur with any significant frequency.

a

10

4. At the time the court of appeals issued its decision in
this case, the other courts of appeals that had considered the
question had also concluded that a claimant may forfeit the right
to raise issues on appeal if he did not raise them before the
Appeals Council. See, e.g., Krafsur v. Secretary of Health & Human
Services, 757 F.2d 446, 447 (list Cir. 1985); Krysztoforski v.
Chater, 55 F.3d 857, 860 (3d Cir. 1995); Harper v. Secretary of

Huma rvi , 978 F.2d 260, 265 (6th Cir. 1992); Pope v.
Shalala, 998 F.2d 473, 480 n.6 (7th Cir. 1993); Johnson v. Chater,
108 F.3d 942, 945-946 (8th Cir. 1997); Meanel v. Apfel, 172 F.3d
1111, 1115 (9th Cir. 1999); James v. Chater, 96 F.3d at 1343-1344.‘

After the decision below was rendered, however, two courts of
appeals issued decisions concluding that a claimant will not be
held to have waived issues that were not presented to the Appeals
Council. Harwood v. Apfel, 1999 WL 608649, at *2-*3 (8th Cir.
1999); Johnson v. Apfel, 1999 WL 675368 (7th Cir. 1999); see Supp.
Pet. 1-3 and Supp. Pet. App. A and B. The Eighth Circuit in
Harwood reasoned that the Appeals Council “routinely considers
arguments not specifically raised by claimants before it" and that

claimants are given "no advance notice that issues not specifically

: The Fourth Circuit has reached the same result in

unpublished dispositions. See, e.g., Cline v. Chater, No. 95-2076,
1996 WL 189021, at **4 (April 19, 1996); Clagg v. Chater, No.94-
2302, 1995 WL 679841, at **1 (Nov. 16, 1995).

raised will be forfeited." 1999 WL 608649 at *2.° The Eighth
Circuit explained that the SSA form through which claimants appeal
an adverse ALJ decision "provides a three-line space for claimants
to articulate the grounds for appeal -- and no warning of the
waiver rule." Ibid. Similarly, the Seventh Circuit in Johnson
overruled its prior precedent (see, e.g. Pope v. Shalala, supra)
and held that a claimant need not raise all contested issues before
the agency, because the Secretary's regulations and forms do not
require the claimant to present contested issues to the Appeals
Council. 1999 WL 675368, at *2.

Although the decisions in Harwood and Johnson are in conflict
with the decision below and the decisions of other courts of
appeals, there is no occasion at this time for the Court to
consider the question whether a claimant seeking social security
benefits must raise an issue at the administrative level in order
to preserve the issue for appeal. The SSA has informed us that it
intends to amend the form that claimants and their representatives
must file with the SSA in order for the agency to recognize someone
other than the claimant as acting on the claimant's behalf in

matters before the agency. See 20 C.F.R. 404.1707, 410.684, and

* As we have explained above, the fact that the Appeals

Council, under existing regulations, may chose to consider issues
not raised by a claimant does not mean that a court may do so.

12

416.1507. That form in the future will advise the claimant's
representative that the failure to present an issue to the Appeals
Council may preclude the claimant from raising the issue upon
judicial review of the agency's decision. That notice not only
responds to the concerns expressed by the Seventh and Eighth
Circuits about lack of notice, but also reflects SSA's judgment,
contrary to the Seventh Circuit's speculation in Johnson, 1999 WL
675368 at *2, that application of the waiver rule adopted by the
court below and a number of other courts of appeals is consistent
with the orderly administration of the Social Security program
where the claimant is represented in the review process.

The Seventh and Eighth Circuit have had no occasion to
consider the Commissioner's new procedures, and those courts
therefore have not decided whether a claimant whose representative
is actually notified of an obligation to present all contested
issues to the Appeals Council may nonetheless raise on judicial
review an issue not presented to the agency. It therefore would be
premature for this Court to consider that question until the courts
of appeals have considered the question presented in light of the
change in SSA's procedures.

S. This case is not ripe for this Court's review for another
reason as well. Quite aside from the revision of notices to

claimant's representatives, the extent to which a claimant must

13

present an issue to the Appeals Council is a matter that may be
conclusively resolved by regulation. See 42 U.S.C. 405(a). In
1994, the Commissioner of Social Security released a study and
proposal for a major restructuring of the administrative process
for reviewing disability claims. Social Security Admin., U.S.

Dept' of Health and Human Services, Pub. No. 01-005, Plan for a New

Disability Claim Process (1994), reprinted at 59 Fed. Reg. 47,887
(Sept. 18, 1994). We have been informed by the Social Security

Administration that, in April 1997, it began testing models that
include several changes to its disability determination procedures.
See, e.g., 20 C.F.R. 404.906, 404.943, 416.1406, 416.1443. One
change currently being tested is the elimination altogether of
requests for review by the Appeals Council. 20 C.F.R. 404.966,
416.1466. Selection of cases for those tests in eleven States
began in April 1997, and adjudication under the modified process
continues. Because the question presented in this case can be
conclusively resolved by regulation, and because the Social
Security Administration has the matter under review, we do not

believe that review by this Court is warranted at the present time.

Cf. Braxton v. United States, 500 U.S. 344, 348-349 (1991);
Richardson v. Wright, 405 U.S. 208, 209 (1972) (per curiam).

We have similarly relied on ongoing evaluation of possible

changes in the Appeals Council's role or procedures in opposing

14

certiorari in other cases in which a circuit conflict had arisen on

a different legal issue, and the Court has denied certiorari. See

Falge v. Apfel, 119 S. Ct. 907 (1999); Roark v. Chater, 519 S. Ct.
1094 (1997); Sullins v. Shalala, 513 U.S. 1076 (1995). The Court

should do the same here, especially since SSA in any event has
undertaken to address the question in its revised notice in cases
involving represented claimants.

NaTOT Us TON

a a Ne et ~ wes

The petition itor a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General

DAVID W. OGDEN
Acting Assistant Attorney General

WILLIAM KANTER
ROBERT D. KAMENSHINE
Attorneys

OCTOBER 1999

a RECEIve
No ~JPPEpe D
98-9537 POLS Oe URT, U.S
“SE DEPARTMENT
tect Nan
“+! 19 1999
JUATASSA ao
SA SIMs
+ PETITIONER 7181920,11,12; 119.5 4 Me
KENN v. Bitte,
E eo
TH S. APPEL, COMM (We
ISSIONER or SOCIAL
SECURITY
ate

FOR THE

; UN
1rst class ma een STATES

il, POStage

Counsel of Rosset S
ober 15, 1999

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0311%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
