# Amicus Curiae Brief — United States v. Weatherhead

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0280%3A14

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 527 U.S. 1063

## Text

| Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

10 1999
No. 98-1904 NOV 19

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED
OCTOBER TERM, 1999

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA; UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF
JUSTICE; AND UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF STATE,

Petitioners,
Vv.

LESLIE R. WEATHERHEAD,
Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF CENTER FOR NATIONAL
SECURITY STUDIES, THE NATIONAL SECURITY
ARCHIVE, THE FEDERATION OF AMERICAN
SCIENTISTS, AND THE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES
UNION AS AMICI CURIAE SUPPORTING RESPONDENT

Mark H. Lynch
Counsel of Record

Kate Martin Jay T. Smith
CENTER FOR NATIONAL Elizabeth A. Snodgrass
SECURITY STUDIES Gregory M. Williams
National Security Archive Gerald J. Russello
2130 H Street, N.W., Suite 701 COVINGTON & BURLING
Washington D.C. 20037 1201 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
(202) 944-7060 P.O. Box 7566

| Washington, D.C. 20044-7566
(202) 662-5544

Counsel for Amici Curiae

| Additional Counsel
November 19, 1999 Listed Inside Cover

Louis M. Bograd

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
FOUNDATION

1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20009

(202) 234-1817

Steven R. Shapiro

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
FOUNDATION

125 Broad Street

New York, New York 10004

(212) 549-2500

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
ee ED scncisteicratsrusttensincmatesreenesensveninete ill
SIE GEE TRUE ARIE - cinotccnensecncocdutanténseenacsatonseeseniooses
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. ..........:..ccsccsccsssssscessesscneeseseees

1. THE COURT SHOULD DECLINE THE
GOVERNMENT’S INVITATION TO
ADDRESS CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES
NOT CLEARLY PRESENTED ................:0cccssseesee0s

Il THE GOVERNMENT'S PROPOSED
“UTMOST DEFERENCE” STANDARD
CONTRADICTS THE LANGUAGE AND
LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF FOIA ...............0000

Il. ©THE CONSTITUTION DOES NOT
MANDATE “UTMOST DEFERENCE”
TO AN AGENCY’S INVOCATION OF

ETS Te ae
A. Congress Has The Constitutional
Authority To Subject Agency
Determinations Under FOIA
Exemption | To De Novo Review .................

l. Congress And The President
Share Responsibility For Foreign
REESE SS aD

2. Congress Has Repeatedly
Exercised Its Constitutional
Authority Over The Management
And Disclosure Of National

B. The Constitution Does Not Mandate
That The Judiciary Afford “Utmost
Deference” To Executive Branch
Classification Decisions ...............cc.c..+000000 16

MEANINGFUL JUDICIAL REVIEW DOES

NOT THREATEN UNITED STATES

FOREIGN POLICY AND IS ESSENTIAL

TO PROTECT OTHER VALUEG.............cccccccssseees 22

CEFIUG ARES ercnincnsmscncscscsinisnesidestetstichtenimsioaiamaidsianbiiicai 26

!

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Cases
A. Michael's Piano, Incr vy. FTC,

18 F.3d 138 (2d Cir. 1994) 002s 7, 8,22
American Foreign Service Association

v. Garfinkel, 490 U.S. 153 (1989) ................. 4,15
Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962) ........c.cccccccceeseeee 18
Barenbiatt v. United States, 360 U.S.

I tidinitlicieccdinesibigtencilipiemiaiiimapiaienetuns 12
Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976) ......cccccccccceceesees 13
Central Intelligence Agency v. Sims,

ok 11,12
Chicago & Southern Air Lines v.

Waterman S.S. Corp, 333 U.S.

SE I clntnicccansaptiiblidstndiiiniodsbaaenti 13, 18, 19
Clinton v. Jones, 520 U.S. 681 (1997) .......cccccccccceeee 22
Conroy v. Aniskoff, 507 U.S. 511 (1993) ..........c..00000+ 6
Department of Navy v. Egan, 484 U.S.

Fel GND ccssichiniiicinsattsiesitnibiniariaditicmaieiceetichipuabianitity 13
EPA v. Mink, 410 U.S. 73 (1973)...........ccceseseeeee 4,12
Goldwater v. Carter, 444 U.S. 996 (1979)............... 18
Haig v. Agee, 453 U.S. 280 (1981) ........cccccccceeeeenees 12
Halpern v. FBI, 181 F.3d 279 (2d Cir. 1999)............. 7
Immigration & Naturalization Service

v. Chadha, 462 U.S. 919 (1983) .......ccccccccceeeeees 13
Japan Whaling Association v. American

Cetacean Society, 478 U.S. 221 (1986).............. 17
Little v. Barreme, 6 U.S. (2 Cranch)

FFP Ce cibssdbcerestinesenensicntieastiniilinsntentinepmsenens 14
McDonnell v. United States, 4 F.3d 1227

BEE EE TE 8
McGrain v. Daugherty, 273 U.S. 135 (1927)........... 12

- iii -

Morrison v. Olson, 487 U.S. 654 (1988)............ 11,14
New York Times v. United States,

SED TRG Fad Gr cet eccietetntorieeniteinltiobinans 24
Nixon v. Administrator of General

Services, 433 U.S. 425 (1977) ...........ccccceeeeee 12,14
Ray v. Turner, 587 F.2d 1187

GS, Le ciattiindihntacncinainnintlitaiaasetainatensiiiai 6, 7,21
United States v. Curtiss-Wright Export

Carp... 299 U.S. 306 (1G86) .xcieservsnssccsssvsercnsecsesnees 9
United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683 (1974) ........... 12
United States v. Reynolds, 345 U.S. 1 (1993).......... 20
United States v. United States District Court,

gk! fi ee 20, 21
Weinberger v. Catholic Action, 454 U.S. 139

SOE D accicenentitihedliitiiniabeinenciinntsinesteniiecnneacensisiies 8
Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer,

ED Te, Fee tcrteinncnttdiatieaitinciivie 9,10

Statutes and Constitutional Provisions

i: Gs F 4&4) eee een 11
oe Bg) Re ne eee 11
8 BW > REE EE re ees 11
TE > SE a Tee weer 18
Continuing Resolution for Fiscal Year

& 5 & . sonra ener a 15
Nazi War Crimes Disclosure Act,

Ss Se aicinteldlit cai adaincsinnnsimperintcniimvaticindaiin 16
Omnibus Consolidated Appropriations

Act 1997, 110 Stat. 3009 02. cccecceeceeeeeeenees 15
President John F. Kennedy Assassination

Records Collection Act of 1992,

De Ns Se aichcinhiceanis ceieiiiiniadidaitgmcunictnnnaniane 16
DT We eR icteesschinitincenblbniaieanieitinndicizndiidinaes 2, 4,5
FE lee OS eecidtpchkineneichihpiadiipentnitiianageliintie 16
Els et wi itiiccrititnctditedtinintsicannietpiciigiciellibiniatii 15

-iv-

Legislative & Executive Materials & Rules
Civil and Political Rights in the United
States, Initial Report of the United
States of America to the United
Nations Human Rights Committee under
the International Covenant on Civil and

Political Rights, July 1994 200000... cccceeeeeeeee 25
120 Cong. Rec. 17028 (1974) .............cccccesceeseceeeeees 21
Exec. Order 12,356, 3 C.F.R. 169 (1983) ................ 23
Exec. Order No. 12,958, 3 C.F.R. 333

(RENEE ATR RE SCR. AS MCE AP ne i Se Or 3, 23
H.R. Doc. No. 93-383, 93d Cong.,

I I 5
ee RIT Ree ES I CRT a 15

Senate Committee on the Judiciary and
House Committee on Government

Operations, Freedom of Information

Act and Amendments of 1974

(P.L. 93-502): Source Book (1975) ........... 5, 7,24
8 EE RC Tee 23
ANN ME ialischnetbiticdinpidinnnestcdgnabsosiapesnicataniiitedin 6
as EE ERAN: cnceniaibacehesietsipnasachintianiabbeniioely 15
8 2 REE EE eee ee 1
ts PU nhittinisatiecaiestgatsiianivbaithaiasibliapesecatinitinn l

Miscellaneous

Raoul Berger, Executive Privilege:

A Constitutional Myth (1974) ..0.......cccccceeeeeeeeee 14
The Federalist No. 80 (Alexander Hamilton)

(Clinton Rossiter ed., 1961) ...........cccccccceeeeeeeeees 18
Erwin N. Griswold, Secrets Not Worth

Keeping, Wash. Post, Feb. 15,

NPA MEE ctididitldsahinisancnsberiensinnpeemaiessoncmnptoconicens 24
Louis Henkin, Foreign Affairs and the

United States Constitution (2d ed. 1996) ........... 18

Dana Priest, The Battle Inside Headquarters:

-V-

Tension Grew With Divide Over Strategy,

Wash. Post., Sept. 21, 1999, at Al .............00.

Dana Priest, Bombing By Committee:
France Balked At NATO Targets,

Wash. Post., Sept. 20, 1999, at Al 0000.00.00...

Stephen W. Stathis, Executive Cooperation:
Presidential Recognition of the
Investigative Authority of Congress and the

Courts, 3 J. L. & Pol. 183 (1986)...

10 Works of Thomas Jefferson

een, Ce

The Writings of James Madison (G. Hunt

INTEREST OF THE AMICI

The Center for National Security Studies is a
nongovernmental, nonprofit civil liberties organization that
works to ensure that government actions undertaken in
genuine pursuit of national security interests do not have the
effect of violating the rights of individuals or undermining
constitutional government. Since 1975, the Center has
worked to secure the public’s right to know about foreign
policy and national defense matters.’

The National Security Archive is an independent research
institute and library located at the George Washington
University. The Archive collects and publishes declassified
documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act
concerning United States foreign policy and national security
matters. Through litigation and public advocacy, it also
works to defend and expand public access to government
information.

The Federation of American Scientists (FAS), which was
founded in 1945 by Manhattan Project scientists to promote
nuclear arms control, is a national organization of 2,000
scientists and engineers including 57 Nobel laureates. FAS
today conducts policy research and advocacy on a range of
national security policy issues. In the course of its activities,
FAS depends upon reliable access to government information
and routinely utilizes the Freedom of Information Act.

' Letters of consent to the filing of this brief have been lodged
with the Clerk of the Court pursuant to Rule 37.3. Pursuant to
Rule 37.6, counsel for amici states that no counsel for a party
authored this brief in whole or in part and no person, other than
amici, their members, or their counsel made a
contribution to the preparation or submission of this brief.

a

The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) is a
nationwide, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization with nearly
300,000 members dedicated to the principles embodied in the
Bill of Rights. The ACLU has been deeply involved, since
its founding in 1920, in the clash between government claims
of national security and the people’s right to know what their
government is doing. At times, that clash takes the form of
direct government restraints on speech; in other cases, it
centers on government efforts to restrict access to
information that is presumptively public. The ACLU has
appeared before this Court on numerous occasions to help
resolve that conflict.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

As demonstrated in Respondent’s brief, the showing
made by the government to justify its withholding of
information under Exemption 1 to the Freedom of
Information Act (“FOIA”), 5 U.S.C. §552, was in
contravention of the plain terms of a controlling Executive
Order. Because this ground is sufficient for affirmance of the
court of appeals’ decision, there is no reason for the Court to
address either the proper standard of review in Exemption |
cases or the government’s sweeping claims concerning
separation of powers in the realm of foreign affairs.

If the Court nevertheless chooses to address these issues,
it should reject the government’s claim ihat Congress
intended to adopt an “utmost Geicicuce” standard of review
under Exemption | of FOIA. The language of FOIA
expressly requires “de novo” review and the legislative
history of FOIA makes clear that Congress intended this
review to be searching and independent.

FOIA’s provision for de novo review creates no
separation of powers problem. Congress’ concurrent power
over national security and foreign affairs information is well
established and contradicts the government’s sweeping claim

s*.

that the executive has plenary and exclusive control in this
area. The Constitution also imposes no general disability on
the judiciary in cases affecting the Nation’s foreign relations.
Rather, in such cases, courts retain their authority and
responsibility independently to review the executive’s
“foreign affairs” and “national security” claims.

Finally, the Court should not overlook the fact that
Congress in enacting FOIA and the President in issuing the
current Executive Order set a standard of openness for the
United States government. This standard exemplifies this
Nation’s most basic values and traditions and allows the
United States to be a model of openness for the rest of the
world. The position taken by the government in this case
threatens both.

ARGUMENT

I. THE COURT SHOULD DECLINE THE
GOVERNMENT?’S INVITATION TO ADDRESS
CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES NOT CLEARLY
PRESENTED.

Although the government devotes the majority of its brief
to constitutional argument over the separation of powers, the
court of appeals’ decision simply does not pose a
constitutional problem. As Respondent demonstrates in his
brief, the showing made by the agency in this case was
inadequate under the plain terms of the Executive Order
issued by President Clinton, Exec. Order No. 12,958, 3
C.F.R. 333 (1996), Pet. App. 66a-llla (“Clinton Order”).
Accordingly, there is no occasion for the Court to consider
whether government affidavits are entitled to “utmost
deference” under FOIA or to explore the constitutional
implications of de novo review. The government’s attempt to
use the Constitution as a tool to twist the meaning of FOIA is
directly contrary to this Court’s policy of not “pronounc[ing]
upon the relative constitutional authority of Congress and the

.

Executive Branch unless it finds it imperative to do so.”

American Foreign Service Ass'n v. Garfinkel, 490 U.S. 153,
161 (1989).

Indeed, as detailed in Part III.A below, any decision in
this case addressing the separation of powers between
Congress and the President in the area of foreign affairs will
potentially affect a wide variety of congressional enactments
that currently strike a balance between the political branches
in the management of national security information. Rather
than enter this thicket unnecessarily, the Court should decline
to address the government’s constitutional claims.

II. THE GOVERNMENT’S PROPOSED “UTMOST
DEFERENCE” STANDARD CONTRADICTS

THE LANGUAGE AND _ LEGISLATIVE
HISTORY OF FOIA.

The government argues that when Congress amended the
Freedom of Information Act in 1974, it adopted President
Ford’s position that courts should uphold a classification
decision if there is any “reasonable basis to support it.” Pet.
Br. 46. This argument, unsupported by the text and
legislative background to the amendments, is nothing less
than an attempt to rewrite history.

The plain language of FOIA states that when reviewing
an agency’s non-disclosure determination, “the court shall
determine the matter de novo” and “the burden is on the
agency to sustain its action.” 5 U.S.C. § 552(a)(4)(B). In
EPA v. Mink, 410 U.S. 73 (1973), this Court interpreted
Exemption | (as originally enacted) narrowly, ruling that
FOIA did not permit in camera inspection of documents
containing national security information and thus did not
authorize the review of classified documents to separate non-
secret material for disclosure. Congress reacted promptly,
specifically amending FOIA to override the Mink decision.
In addition to providing for in camera inspection, Congress

aie

also amended the statute to specify that materials may be
withheld only if they “are in fact properly classified pursuant
to [an] Executive Order.” 5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(1 (B).

In vetoing the 1974 FOIA amendments, President Ford
wrote that under those amendments, if a judge found both the
government’s and the plaintiff's positions to be reasonable,
the government would not have met its burden. His veto
message proposed that Congress instead provide that an
agency decision be upheld if there is any “reasonable basis to
support it.” Message from the President Vetoing H.R.
12,471, H.R. Doc. No. 93-383, 93d Cong., 2d Sess., at (II)
(1974). Congress responded by overriding the President's
veto by a supermajority vote. There is no way to characterize
this legislative override as Congress accepting the President's
proposed standard.”

As the government has noted, the House and Senate
conferees on the 1974 FOIA amendments stated their
expectation that courts would in practice accord “substantial
weight” to an agency affidavit explaining why disclosure ofa
document might damage national security. On this snippet of
legislative history rests the government’s argument that

; vernment’s out-of-context quotation from Representative
Mowed does redpranions their iden: Pet. Br. 45. It is clear
from the full quote that Representative Moorhead was responding
to the President’s statement that “the courts would consider all
attendant evidence” in assessing the classification, and was not
addressing the substantive standard the President ey House
Action and Vote on Presidential Veto, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974),
reprinted in Senate Committee on the Judiciary and House
Committee on Government Operations, Freedom of Information
Act and Amendments of 1974 (P.L. 93-502): Source Book 405
(1975) (“ Book”) (“{IJn the procedural handling of [FOIA]
cases . . . this is exactly the way the courts would conduct their
proceedings.”) (Rep. Moorhead).

af

Congress required that judges accord “utmost deference” to
the government in Exemption 1 cases. °

The conferees’ expectation, however, was not a
requirement, and no change was made to the standard of de
novo review. It is fundamental that such legislative history
cannot override the plain language of a statute.’ The
conferees were simply stating their belief that courts would
give substantial weight, not deference, to detailed
government affidavits in the same way that any finder of fact
may give substantial weight to evidence that it finds
persuasive from knowledgeable or expert witnesses. The
proponents of de novo review in Congress stressed “the need
for an objective, independent judicial determination, and
insisted that judges could be trusted to approach the national
security determinations with common sense, and without
jeopardy to national security.” Ray v. Turner, 587 F.2d 1187,

* With regard to Exemption | in particular, the Conference Report
expressly stated that the 1974 Amendments were intended to
override Mink by allowing in camera inspection of documents by

the court “as part of their de novo determination.” S. Rep. No.
1200, at 12. It then stated that:

[T]he conferees recognize that the Executive departments
responsible for national defense and foreign policy matters
have unique insights into what adverse affects might occur
as a result of public disclosure of a particular classified
record. Accordingly, the conferees expect that Federal
courts, in making de novo determinations in section
552(b)(1) cases under the Freedom of Information law,
will accord substantial weight to an agency’s affidavit
concerning the details of the classified status of the
disputed record.

Id.

* See, e.g., Conroy v. Aniskoff, 507 U.S. 511, 518 (1993) (Scalia,
J., concurring) (“The greatest defect of legislative history is its
illegitimacy. We are governed by laws, not by the intentions of
legislators.”).

ow

1194 nn.18-19 (D.C. Cir. 1978) (per curiam) {citing
statements by Senators Muskie, Ervin, and Chiles). The
conference committee, by stating its expectation regarding
substantial weight, “countered th[e] image [of judges making
reckless disclosures] by registering its anticipation that
rational judges conducting de novo reviews would naturally
be impressed by any special knowledge, experience, and
reasoning demonstrated by agencies with expertise and
responsibility in matters of defense and foreign policy.” Jd.
at 1213 (Wright, C.J., concurring). Congress therefore
“soundly rejected” the contention that judges were
unqualified to review classifications and “refused to create a
presumption in favor of agency classifications or to retreat
from full de novo review.” Id. at 1210 (Wnght, C.J.,
concurring).

The courts of appeals have repeatedly noted the
importance of the de novo standard in properly applying the
FOIA exemptions, including Exemption 1. “De novo review
was deemed essential to prevent courts reviewing agency
action from issuing a meaningless judicial imprimatur . . 7
A. Michael's Piano, Inc. v. FTC, 18 F.3d 138, 141 (2d Cir.
1994); see also Halpern v. FBI, 181 F.3d 279, 288 (2d Cir.

5 Indeed, Senator Muskie, in successfully arguing against the
President’s “reasonableness standard,” stated that “by giving
classified material a status unlike that of any other claimed
Government secret, we foster the outworn myth that only those in
possession of military and diplomatic confidences can
ise to decide with and when to share their
knowledge.” Source Book at 305. Similarly, in the House debate,
tive Moss, the primary author of the
Th, ek Gh Ss See ee ee ee ae
classified document met th orc
were “intelligence, sensitivity, commonsense and an appreciation
for the right of the le to know what their Government is doing
and why.” /d. at 257. He was fully confident that the judiciary
had these qualities, and could make those assessments. /d.

ms A

1999) (rejecting, in Exemption 1 context, more deferential
standard and applying de novo review as more consistent
with FOIA). The judicial role in reviewing the government’s
Classification decision is crucial in Exemption 1 cases, in
which the adversary process is necessarily diminished
because the plaintiff lacks access to the classified materials at
issue and often lacks the information necessary to challenge
the government’s decision. See id. at 290; McDonnell y.
United States, 4 F.3d 1227, 1241 (3d Cir. 1993). Given the
inherent limitations on advocacy in Exemption 1 cases,
adopting the “utmost deference” standard would reduce

judicial proceedings to little more than a formality, and thus
contravene the clear intent of Congress.

lil. THE CONSTITUTION DOES NOT MANDATE
“UTMOST DEFERENCE” TO AN AGENCY’S
INVOCATION OF EXEMPTION 1.

A. Congress Has The Constitutional Authority
To Subject Agency Determinations Under
FOIA Exemption 1 To De Novo Review.

In Exemption | and in FOIA more generally, Congress
sought “to balance the public’s needs for access to official
information with the Government’s need for confidentiality.”
Weinberger v. Catholic Action, 454 U.S. 139, 144 (1981). In
striking that balance, Congress placed only modest restraints
on the executive’s management of national security
information. FOIA Exemption 1 permits the President to
determine in an Executive Order what criteria govern the
classification and release of such information and requires
only that executive agencies abide by that order.
Nevertheless, the government seeks to undo even these
limited measures by arguing that the President’s
constitutional authority over foreign affairs requires a
standard of “utmost deference” that would, in effect, prevent
a court from ever ordering the release of information that the

x

executive asserts should be withheld under Exemption 1."
Although the government warns of the constitutional
implications of enforcing Exemption | as wnitten, a holding
that the executive branch is not bound by even the slight
restrictions contained in Exemption 1 would present far
graver constitutional difficulties.

1. Congress And The President Share
Responsibility For Foreign Affairs.

The government grounds its theory of “plenary and
exclusive” executive control over foreign affairs principally
on Justice Sutherland’s opinion in United States v. Curtiss-
Wright Export Corp., 299 U.S. 304 (1936). Despite Curtiss-
Wright's sweeping rhetoric, that case did not hold that
Congress was ousted from the realm of foreign policy. As
Justice Jackson observed, Curtiss- Wright “intimated that the
President might act in external affairs without congressional
authority, but not that he might act contrary to an Act of
Congress.” Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343
U.S. 579, 636 n.2 (1952) (Jackson, J. concurring) (“Steel
Seizure Case”). Indeed, that case focused not on the
President’s foreign affairs powers, but on an unsuccessful
challenge to the delegation by Congress of some of its
foreign affairs powers to the executive. “Much of [Justice
Sutherland’s opinion] is dictum.” Id.

It is well settled that the President does not possess
exclusive authority over matters touching on the Nation’s
foreign relations. Rather, this power is shared with

: . 37 ing the “inappropriateness of courts
cmanaiien oo gdh ny = Be judgments about the need to
preserve the confidentiality of communications bearing on national
security”); id. at 38 (adverting to “President's singular authority to
maintain secrecy”) (emphasis added).

ae

Congress. As Justice Jackson’s much-quoted concurrence in
the Steel Seizure Case instructs, the President’s foreign
affairs powers “are not fixed but fluctuate, depending upon
their disjunction or conjunction with those of Congress.” /d.
at 635 (Jackson, J., concurring). In a famous passage, Justice
Jackson described the interplay of executive and legislative
power in this field:

When the President takes measures inco ™p uible with
the expressed or implied will of Congress, his power
is at its lowest ebb, for then he can rely only upon his
own constitutional powers minus any constitutional
powers of Congress over the matter. Courts can
sustain exclusive Presidential control in such a case
only by disabling the Congress from acting upon the
subject. Presidential claim to a power at once so
conclusive and preclusive must be scrutinized with
caution, for what is at stake is the equilibnum
established by our constitutional system.

Id. at 637-38 (footnote omitted) (Jackson, J., concurring).
Justice Jackson concluded that President Truman’s attempt to
seize the steel mills was, in fact, incompatible with the
congressional will and that neither the constitutional clause
vesting the executive power in the President nor the clause
making him Commander-in-Chief conferred on the President

the authority to defeat this expression of congressional
policy. /d. at 655 (Jackson, J., concurring).

The government’s assertion that the courts must accord
the President’s classification decisions “utmost deference”
despite FOLA’s clear command to the contrary urges action
that is undoubtedly “incompatible with the expressed or
implied will of Congress.” Jd. at 637. The government’s
position therefore cannot be sustained unless (1) Congress is
constitutionally disabled from acting in this important field,
or (2) Exemption 1 “‘impermissibly undermine{s]’ the
powers of the Executive Branch, . . . or “disrupts the proper

-10-

balance between the coordinate branches [by] prevent[ing]
the Executive Branch from accomplishing its constitutionally
assigned functions.”” Morrison v. Olson, 487 U.S. 654, 695
(1988) (citations omitted; alterations in Morrison).’ Neither
proposition is true.

Although the Constitution does not expressly allocate
control over information pertaining to foreign affairs or
national security to either the executive or legislative branch,
it is clear that Congress possesses significant authority in this
area. First, the Senate plays a key foreign policy role in
advising on and consenting to treaties and in confirming the
appointment of ambassadors. U.S. Const. art. II, § 2, cl. 2.
Second, the Framers enumerated multiple powers that
Congress enjoys in the realm of foreign relations, including
broad authority to “regulate Commerce with foreign nations”
(cl. 3) and the power “to make Rules for the Government and
Regulation of the land and naval forces” (cl. 14), a grant
broad enough to include authority to regulate the
government's sensitive national security information. U.S.
Const. art. I, § 8.° Third, Congress is the repository of all the
federal government’s legislative powers, including the power
to “make all Laws” that are “necessary and proper” to carry

of Bavemment devotes several pages to the potential disclosure
of sources and methods, Congress has
3. Se Contal hase fom dco
i 471 US.
159, 181 01985) a

* Article I, section 8 of the Constitution also vests with
to “provide for the common Defence” (cl. 1), “ and
punish and Felonies committed on the high Seas, and

Offences against the Law of Nations” (cl. 10), “declare War” (cl.

11), “raise and ol cl. 12), and “provide and

maintain a Navy” (cl. power, id. art.

I, § 9, cl. de dankuhannd, in the area of foreign
icy.

oth

out not only congressional Powers but the powers of the
United States government generally. °

Finally, the Court in Mink expressly recognized that
Congress shares power over foreign affairs information when
it stated that “Congress could certainly have provided that the
Executive Branch adopt new procedures or it could have
established its own procedures [governing the disclosure of
national security information under FOIA Exemption 1] -
subject only to whatever limitations the Executive privilege
may be held to impose upon such congressional ordering.”
410 U.S. at 83; see also Nixon v. Administrator of General
Services, 433 U.S. 425, 443 (1977) (“{T]he regulation and
mandatory disclosure of documents in the possession of the
Executive Branch. . . . has never been considered invalid as
an invasion of [executive] authority.”).'°

This Court has never held that the executive has plenary
power over information pertaining to foreign affairs. In each
of the cases on which the government relies, the executive
peatagh prostrate ai go wepaihy or in the
absence of, congressional legislation.'' The decisions neither

cits Court has long recognized thet én indiapenssble adjunct to
Congress’ power to legislate is its power to investigate. See
Barenbiatt v. United States, 360 U.S. 109, 111 (1959); McGrain v.
Daugherty, 273 US. 135, 175 (1927). The government’s
argument that the executive has control over national
security information would, if accepted, eviscerate
power of investigation in a constitutionally-recognized area of vital

legislative concern.

7 Executive privi extends only to “high-level communi-
cations” between the and “close advisors.” United States
v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683, 703, 706 (1974).

'' See Sims, 471 U.S. at 168-70 (“Congress intended to give the
Director of Central Intelligence broad power to protect the s

secrecy
and integrity of the intelligence process.”); Haig v. Agee, 453 U.S.
280, 289, 306 (1981) (“The principal question before us is whether

- 32.

eS, ag se ta 2

hold nor intimate that the President can refuse to disclose
foreign affairs information in the face of a contrary
expression of congressional will. Typical in this regard is
Department of Navy v. Egan, 484 U.S. 518 (1988), which
held that the Merit Systems Protection Board, in reviewing
the termination of a Navy employee, did not have the
statutory authority to review an agency’s revocation of a
security clearance. Thus, not only was the conflict in Egan
within the executive branch (between the Navy and the
Board), the question was one of statutory interpretation
rather than Executive prerogative.

The government relies on dicta in Egan for the “utmost
deference” standard it now urges on the Court. See Pet. Br.
16. However, in language not quoted in the government’s
brief, the Court explicitly acknowledged that judicial
deference gives way when Congress “specifically provides
otherwise.” Egan, 484 U.S. at 530. That is precisely what
Congress did in Exemption 1.

This Court has never struck down on separation of
powers grounds an Act of Congress that did not violate a
specific provision of the Constitution. '2 The constitutional
test in the absence of such an explicit textual commitment of
authority to the executive is whether Congress has

[the Passport Act] authorizes” the Secretary of State to revoke a
citizen’s passport on national security grounds; concluding
Congress had approved the Secretary’s authority to do so);
Chicago & Southern Air Lines v. Waterman SS. , 333 US.
103 (1948) (Congress did not intend to judicial review of
orders of the Civil Aeronautics Board citizen carriers’
splcaionso engage overseas and foreign a Wansprtabon)

Fo ay gration & Naturalization Serv. v. Chadha, 462
US. 91 946-59 SO (1983) (violating bicameralism and
presentment); Buckley v. Valeo, 424 US. 1, 143 (1976)
(appointments clause).

$13

impermissibly intruded on the President’s authority or
prevented him from accomplishing his constitutionally
assigned duties. The government cannot reasonably claim
that Exemption | does either. Although Congress has broad
authority to legislate requirements concerning national
security information, the limitations it has placed on
executive discretion in FOIA Exemption | are quite modest.
Congress requires only that the President adhere to his own
Executive Order. Put simply, Exemption 1’s de novo
standard of review falls well within the constitutional powers
of Congress."

2. Congress Has Repeatedly Exercised
Its Constitutional Authority Over
The Management And Disclosure Of
National Security Information.

The government further argues that Congress has
“acquiesced” in the President’s exercise of plenary control
over national security information. Pet. Br. 20-21. Contrary
to the government’s flawed historical account and as
constitutional scholars have detailed, Congress has
vigorously resisted the President’s efforts to withhold
information pertaining to foreign affairs since the very
founding of the Nation.'* The government’s claim is most

"See Morrison, 487 U.S. 654 (upholding independent counsel
statute because it was a modest restriction on executive authority);

Administrator of General Services, 433 U.S. at 443; Little v.
Barreme, 6 U.S. (2 Cranch) 170 (1804) (Marshall, J.) (holding
executive action subject to congressional regulation even during
undeclared war).

'* See generally Raoul Berger, Executive Privilege: A
Constitutional Myth 163-208 (1974); Stephen W. Stathis,
Executive Cooperation: Presidential Recognition of the
op og Authority of Congress and the Courts, 3 J. L. & Pol.
183 (1986).

-14-

clearly rebutted by the 1974 Amendments to FOIA
themselves, which were passed by a supermajority over
President Ford’s veto.

Far from being unique, Exemption | is but one of many
instances in which Congress has required the executive
branch to disclose national security information to either the
legislature or the public. Congress has, for example, created
an elaborate statutory structure for the oversight of
intelligence agencies, a central element of which is the
requirement that the President and the Director of Central
Latelligence keep Congress, through its Intelligence
Committees, fully and currently informed of all intelligence
activities. See Intelligence Oversight Act, 50 U.S.C. § 413
(1991). Congress, moreover, has adopted rules whereby each
House may, even over the President’s objection, declassify
and publicly release classified information originating in the
executive branch. S. Res. 400, 94th Cong.; House Rule
XLVIII, 106th Cong. Congress has passed several statutes
limiting the restraints the executive branch may impose on
employees granted access to national security information. '°
Congress also has legislated explicit declassification
standards for certain categories of information narrower than
those specified in the governing Executive Order.'®

'S See Continuing Resolution for Fiscal Year 1988, § 630, 101
ay Cory egrimente taut futid. emplayere

executive employee secrecy

from revealing “classifiable” information) (considered in

access to classified information state on their that the
agreements do not supersede or alter the right of employees to
furnish information to Congress).

‘© President John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection
Act of 1992, 106 Stat. 3443 (1992) (“[L]egislation is necessary

mT

In short, far from acquiescing in presidential control of
national security information, Congress has asserted its
constitutional authority in this area on countless occasions
and in numerous ways. Acceptance of the government’s
view of exclusive executive authority would cast a long
shadow over myriad congressional enactments and would
severely disrupt the equilibrium between the political
branches.

B. The Constitution Does Not Mandate That
The Judiciary Afford “Utmost Deference”
To Executive Branch Classification
Decisions.

Lacking any textual basis in the Constitution for its
“utmost deference” standard, the government resorts instead
to arguments regarding institutional competence. Pet. Br. 21-
27. Because judges are not “expert” in foreign affairs and
because the field is complex, the government contends that,
in “foreign affairs” cases, the courts’ statutory and
constitutional jurisdiction is trumped by executive power.
Although the government concedes that the judiciary is not
so incompetent as to be excluded from hearing Exemption 1

because the Freedom of Information Act, as implemented by the
executive branch, has prevented the timely public disclosure of
records relating to the assassination of President Jobn F.
Kennedy”); see also Nazi War Crimes Disclosure Act, 112 Stat.
1859 (1998) (requiring release of Nazi war criminal records
subject to statutorily prescribed exceptions); Foreign Relations of
the United States Historical Series Act, 22 U.S.C. § 4351 (Supp.
1999) (requiring that “all records needed to provide a
comprehensive documentation of the major foreign policy
decisions and actions of United States Government” be
declassified for inclusion in the State Department’s public
“Foreign Relations” series subject to statutorily prescribed
exceptions).

oe

cases entirely, id. 12, 46, it nevertheless advocates a standard
that would, in practice, render judicial proceedings little more
than a rubber stamp. As elaborated below, the Constitution
permits — and indeed requires — that courts take on a much
more meaningful role.

In Japan Whaling Association v. American Cetacean
Society, 478 U.S. 221 (1986), the petitioners urged that
certain decisions by the Secretary of Commerce deserved
utmost deference — and indeed were “unsuitable for judicial
review” — simply “because they involve(d] foreign relations.”
Id. at 229. The Court’s holding rejecting this argument bears
quoting at length:

As Baker {v. Carr] plainly held, . . . the courts
have the authority to construe treaties and executive
agreements, and it goes without saying that
interpreting congressional legislation is a recurring
and accepted task for the federal courts.... We are
cognizant of the interplay between these Amendments
and the conduct of this Nation's foreign relations, and
we recognize the premier role which both Congress
and the Executive play in this field. But under the
Constitution, one of the Judiciary’s characteristic
roles is to interpret statutes, and we cannot shirk this
responsibility merely because our decision may have
significant political overtones.

Id. at 230 (emphasis added). Japan Whaling makes it clear
that the mere fact that a case arises in the foreign affairs
context does not change the court’s basic chore or diminish
its basic competence.

Courts routinely enterjain cases that have far-reaching
implications for the Nat foreign relations without
“transgress[ing] . . . the proper boundaries of judicial

a

review,” Pet. Br. 29.'’ Indeed, the Constitution explicitly
commits to the federal courts several categories of cases that
inevitably have foreign affairs ramifications: “Cases .. .
arising under . . . Treaties”; “all Cases affecting
Ambassadors, other public Ministers and Consuls”; “all
Cases of admiralty and maritime Jurisdiction”; and
“Controversies . . . between a State, or the Citizens thereof,
and foreign States, Citizens or Subjects.” U.S. Const. art. III,
§ 2, cl. 1.’® As the Court has emphasized, despite “sweeping
statements” in the case law about the courts’ competence to
address “questions touching foreign relations,” “it is error to
suppose that every case or controversy which touches foreign
relations lies beyond judicial cognizance.” Baker v. Carr,
369 U.S. 186, 211 (1962); accord Goldwater v. Carter, 444
U.S. 996, 999-1000 (1979) (Powell, J., concurring).

In arguing to the contrary, the government principally
relies on dicta from Chicago & Southern Air Lines, Inc. v.
Waterman S.S. Corp., 333 U.S. 103 (1948). See Pet. Br. 21-
22. That case did not test the constitutional bounds of the
judiciary’s role in foreign affairs. Rather Waterman turned

'’ Even routine cases may implicate foreign relations. “{I]n our

‘one world’ in trade, finance and communication; in an age where
every occurrence may be known elsewhere, instantly — any case in
any court in the United States might become grist for transnational
mills and become of interest to U.S. foreign relations.” Louis
Henkin, Foreign Affairs and the United States Constitution 133
(2d ed. 1996).

'® Indeed, the Framers committed these cases to the jurisdiction of
the federal courts in large part because these cases had the
potential to affect the United States’ external relations. See The
Federalist No. 80, at 476 (Alexander Hamilton) (Clinton Rossiter
ed., 1961) (“As the denial or perversion of justice by the sentences
of courts, as well as in any other manner, is with reason classed
among the just causes of war, it will follow that the federal
judiciary ought to have cognizance of all causes in which the
citizens of other countries are concerned.”).

- 18.

on the proper construction of the Civil Aeronautics Act. In
that statute, Congress explicitly excepted from judicial
review “any order in respect of any foreign air carrier subject
to the approval of the President as provided in section 801 of
this Act.” Waterman, 333 U.S. at 106 (emphasis added).
The statute also required presidential approval of orders
relating to domestic air carriers engaged in “overseas or
foreign air transportation,” id., but said nothing specific
about judicial review of such orders. The Court found that
Congress nevertheless intended to preclude judicial review
for both types of orders primarily because the administrative
process under the statute included no mechanism for the
President to explain the reasons for his actions regarding
either category of order. Jd. at 110-11. It was in this context
that the Court observed the practical, not necessarily
constitutional, limits that underlay Congress’ decision to
preclude review.

FOIA could not present a more distinct case. First, there
is absolutely no ambiguity in FOIA’s judicial review
provisions. Second, the Waterman Court worried that the
judiciary would be asked to act on orders subject to
presidential approval “without the relevant information,” i.e.,
without any expression of the President’s rationale. Jd. at
111. FOIA allows for — and indeed requires — full
communication between the executive and the court
considering an Exemption | claim. Third, under the statute
at issue in Waterman courts could not “sit in camera in order
to be taken into executive confidences.” Jd. The 1974
Amendments to FOIA make such proceedings possible.
Thus, the broad dicta in Waterman does not suggest that any
problem of constitutional dimensions is present in this case.

The Court’s approach to an analogous situation involving
“foreign affairs” and “national security” claims is instructive.
In considering executive claims of an evidentiary privilege
for “national security” or “diplomatic” materials, the Court
has refused to give the executive carte blanche. Rather, the

-19-

court has affirmed the competence and responsibility of the
judiciary to scrutinize claims of a threatened national security
harm — and if necessary to review the “secret” documents. In
so holding, the Court has stressed that this review should be
an independent judicial function. In the leading case
regarding the state secrets privilege, this Court stressed that
“(t]he [district] court itself must determine whether the
circumstances are appropriate for the claim of privilege,”
“[{jJudicial control over the evidence in a case cannot be
abdicated to the caprice of executive officers” even when that
evidence relates to foreign affairs. United States v. Reynolds,
345 U.S. 1, 8-10 (1993) (emphasis added).

Nor has the Court accepted the government’s contention
that courts are somehow constitutionally or inherently
incapable of grasping the executive’s “foreign affairs” and
“national security” positions. See Pet. Br. 24-25, 27. In
United States v. United States District Court (Keith), 407
U.S. 297 (1972), the Court confronted the issue of whether
the government was required to obtain a warrant to perform
so-called “national security” surveillance. In urging that a
warrant was not required, the government, as in this case,
“ynsist{ed] that courts ‘as a practical matter would have
neither the knowledge nor the techniques necessary . . . to
protect national security." These security problems, the
Government contend[ed], involve ‘a large number of
complex and subtle factors’ beyond the competence of courts
to evaluate.” Jd. at 319 (quoting Reply Brief for the United
States). The Court, however, pointedly rejected “the
Government’s argument that internal security matters are too
subtle and complex for judicial evaluation.” Jd. at 320. As
Justice Powell explained, “Courts regularly deal with the
most difficult issues of our society. There is no reason to
believe that federal judges will be insensitive to or
uncomprehending of the issues involved in [these] cases.”
Id. In fact, the Court has recognized that review of the
executive’s claims by “a ‘neutral and detached magistrate’”

.

is particularly important in contexts implicating national
security. Jd. at 316 (citation omitted).

Congress evidently shares both Justice Powell’s
confidence in the competence of the courts to evaluate
“foreign affairs” and “national security” evidence under
FOIA and his recognition of the importance of neutral
judicial review of the executive’s decisions in these fields.
Supporters of the 1974 FOIA Amendments “stressed the
need for an objective, independent judicial determination,
and insisted that judges could be trusted to approach the
national security determinations with common sense, and
without jeopardy to national security.” Ray, 587 F.2d at
1194. Senator Chiles agreed, emphasizing not only the
courts’ competence, but their independence:

We say that four-star generals or admirals will be
reasonable but a Federal district judge is going to be
unreasonable. I cannot buy that argument, especially
when I see that general or that admiral has
participated in covering up a mistake, and the Federal
judge sits there without a bias one way or another. |
want him to be able to decide without blinders or
having to go in one direction.

120 Cong. Rec. 17028 (1974) (Sen. Chiles), cited in Ray, 587
F.2d at 1194.

These authorities illustrate that, far from challenging the
Constitution’s separation of powers, the Court’s insistence on
judicial competence to decide cases even if they touch on
foreign affairs or national security reflects and upholds a key
aspect of that system — the independence of courts from
domination by the executive. See 10 Works of Thomas
Jefferson 404, n. (P. Ford ed., 1905) (letter of June 20, 1807,
from President Thomas Jefferson to United States Attorney
George Hay) (“The leading principle of our Constitution is
the independence of the Legislature, executive and judiciary
of each other, and none are more jealous of this than the

ne

judiciary.”), quoted in Clinton v. Jones, 520 U.S. 681, 716
(1997). Reading FOIA and the Constitution to require the
courts to afford “utmost deference” to whatever “foreign
affairs” justification the executive branch offers constitutes
an assault on that independence in its most basic form, one
that the court below properly resisted by seeking more from
the executive than a “one-size-fits-all” justification for its
action in this case. In requiring the State Department to
identify and describe damage to the national security as
defined in the Clinton Order, the court of appeals was
properly cognizant of the executive branch’s foreign policy
assessments. But the court could not, consistent with its own
constitutional responsibilities, allow the government to turn
FOIA’s judicial review process into “a meaningless judicial
imprimatur” for the government’s foreign affairs decisions.
A. Michael’s Piano, Inc., 18 F.3d at 141.

IV. MEANINGFUL JUDICIAL REVIEW DOES
NOT THREATEN UNITED STATES FOREIGN
POLICY AND IS ESSENTIAL TO PROTECT
OTHER VALUES.

The government argues that the judiciary cannot be
trusted to review agency classifications de novo because
foreign governments believe that government secrecy in the
United States is ironclad, and the mere possibility of a court
disclosing information deemed secret by the executive will
seriously undermine foreign policy. This argument strains
credibility on two levels. Our society places a premium on
government openness, so _ foreign governments
communicating with the Umted States cannot reasonably
expect total secrecy. Moreover, government openness
facilitated by meaningful judicial review both checks
executive abuses of power and fosters an informed citizenry
at home and has been an important U.S. foreign policy
objective in its own right.

2.

The notion that foreign governments realistically expect

the executive branch to provide absolute secrecy for all inter-

governmental communications is untenable. Since Congress
amended FOIA in 1974, foreign governments have been on
notice that United States courts might order the release of
such information. Moreover, the Clinton Order makes clear
that no presumption of secrecy attaches to foreign
government communications, even when confidentiality is
expected. Compare Clinton Order, §§ 1.2(a)(4), 1.5(b), with
Exec. Order 12,356, 3 C.F.R. § 1.3(a)(3) (1983).

Foreign governments are also surely aware of the
frequent leaks, both authorized and unauthorized, of foreign
affairs information by executive branch officials. See
Secrecy, Report of the Commission on Protecting and
Reducing Government Secrecy, S. Rep. No. 103-105-2 at A-
3. (1977) (“Classified documents are routinely passed out to
support an administration; weaken an administration,
advance a policy; undermine a policy.”). Recent newspaper
articles, for example, discuss in detail] communications
between President Clinton and Prime Méinister Blair
concerning the targeting of specific sites and military
campaigns in Kosovo.'? When national newspapers already
have access to such high-level communications regarding
military secrets, it is entirely unrealistic to suggest that

" See, e.g, Dana Priest, Bombing by Committee: France Balked
at NATO Targets, Wash. Post, Sept. 20, 1999 at Al (detailing the
contents of a target selection document from the air campaign in
Kosovo circulated to President Clinton, Prime Minister Tony Blair
of Great Britain, and President Jacques Chirac of France; the
article also reports the contents of long conversations between the
three leaders over target selection); Dana Priest, The Battle Inside
H ers: Tension Grew with Divide over Strategy, Wash.
Post, . 21, 1999 at Al (analyzing the conversations conducted
over top-secret video-conference by the military leaders in the
Kosovo war, including General Wesley Clark, chief of NATO
forces).

2.

foreign governments have any expectation of confidentiality
that will be seriously undermined by the mere possibility of
judicially-ordered disclosures of government-to-government

In support of its claim that dire consequences will result
from court-ordered disclosure, the government relies
principally on a 1971 statement by then-Secretary of State
William Rogers regarding comments by certain foreign
diplomats with respect to publication of the Pentagon Papers
at issue in New York Times v. United States, 403 U.S. 713
(1971). The example of the Pentagon Papers, however,
demonstrates how unrealistic are the government’s claims.
Secretary Rogers’ concerns were not borne out. The
Solicitor General who argued that very case, with the benefit
of nearly twenty years’ hindsight, concluded those concerns
were unjustified: “I have never seen any trace of a threat to
the national security from the publication. I have never even
seen it suggested that there was such an actual threat.” Erwin
N. Gnswold, Secrets Not Worth Keeping, Wash. Post,
Feb. 15, 1989, at A25.

The government’s brief pays scant attention to the values
furthered by promoting freedom of information.”’ Indeed,
the government’s suggestion that under the Clinton Order
disclosure of government-to-government communications
should generally be limited to “routine scheduling
information or congratulatory/condolence messages from
certain governments,” Pet. Br. 34, stands in stark contrast to
the government’s recognition before other audiences that

*® The Senate Report on the 1974 Amendments stated: “Since the
First Amendment protects not only the right of citizens to speak
and publish, but also the receive information, freedom of
information legislation can be seen as an affirmative

effort to give meaningful content to constitutional freedom of
expression.” Source Book at 154.

3.

FOIA implements a basic human night. In a 1994 report to
the United Nations on the state of human nghts and freedoms
in this country required under the International Covenant on
Civil and Political Rights, the U.S. Department of State
reported that “Freedom of speech [Jencompasses certain
rights to seek and receive information .... This
constitutional right has been supplemented by a number of
laws promoting access to government, such as the Freedom
of Information Act.””"

The United States has long recognized the value of
openness in government. As James Madison famously
pronounced, “A popular Government, without popular
information, or the means of acquiring it, is but a Prologue to
a Farce or a Tragedy; or perhaps both. ... And a people who
mean to be their own Governors must arm themselves with
the power which knowledge gives.” The Writings of James
Madison 103 (G. Hunt ed, 1910). Although
accommodations to the concerns of foreign countries are no
doubt appropriate in many instances — and the executive will
have the opportunity to explain the reasons for such
accommodation in any future FOIA case — there is no legal
justification for presuming that United States information
policy must automatically fall to the level of any country
with which it deals.

*! Civil and Political Rights in the United States, Initial Report of
the United States of America to the United Nations Human Rights
Committee under the International Covenant on Civil and Political
Rights, July 1994, at 157.

23

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be affirmed.

Kate Martin

CENTER FOR NATIONAL
SECURITY STUDIES
National Security Archive
2130 H Street, N.W., Suite 701

Washington D.C. 20037
(202) 944-7060

Louis M. Bograd

AMERICAN CIVIL

LIBERTIES UNION
FOUNDATION

1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20009
(202) 234-1817

November 19, 1999

Mark H. Lynch

Counsel of Record
Jay T. Smith
Elizabeth A. Snodgrass
Gregory M. Williams
Gerald J. Russello
COVINGTON & BURLING
1201 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
P.O. Box 7566
Washington, D.C. 20044-7566
(202) 662-5544

Steven R. Shapiro
AMERICAN CIVIL

LIBERTIES UNION
FOUNDATION

125 Broad Street

New York, New York 10004

(212) 549-2500

Counsel for Amici Curiae

oh.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0280%3A14. Public record. Not legal advice.
