# Amicus Curiae Brief — Amoco Production Co. v. Southern Ute Tribe

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0245%3A21

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 526 U.S. 865

## Text

No. 98-830
CLERK

es ae

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1998

¢

AMOCO PRODUCTION COMPANY,
on behalf of itself and the class it represents,

Petitioners,
Vv.

SOUTHERN UTE INDIAN TRIBE,
Respondent.

¢

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Tenth Circuit

«

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
CAMPBELL COUNTY, WYOMING
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS
AMOCO PRODUCTION COMPANY, ET AL.

+
Micuaet D. Futier S. THoMaAs THRONE
Campbell County Attorney Counsel of Record
500 S. Gillette Ave. 2 North Main, Suite 402
Suite 112 Sheridan, Wyoming 82801
Gillette, Wyoming 82717 307-672-5858

307-682-4310

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

18

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
INTRODUCTION

CONGRESS COULD NOT AND DID NOT
INTEND TO RESERVE COALBED METHANE
WHEN IT RESERVED COAL UNDER 1909
AND 1910 COAL LANDS ACTS

A REVIEW OF HISTORY OF THE UNITED
STATES AND THE WEST CLEARLY INDI-
CATES THAT CONGRESS COULD NOT
HAVE INTENDED TO RESERVE COALBED
METHANE IN 1909 AND 1910. CURRENT
TREATMENT OF COALBED METHANE
CONFIRMS THE HISTORICAL INTENTIONS

MINERAL OWNERS AND OIL AND GAS
EXPLORATION COMPANIES HAVE RELIED
UPON THE HISTORICAL TREATMENT
THAT COALBED METHANE IS GAS AND
THEREFORE IS INCLUDED IN THE GRANT
TO THE PATENTEES

THE DECISION WILL HAVE SEVERE
ADVERSE IMPACT ON CAMPBELL

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Consumer Safety Comm‘n v. GTE Sylvania, Inc., 447

U.S. 102 (1900) .. ...icccccesdbuawh wea ae 5, 7
Leo Sheep Co. v. United States, 440 U.S. 668 (1979) ..5, 12
Perrin v. United States, 444 U.S. 37 (1979)........ S & 7
Pioneer Inv. Serv. v. Brunswick Assocs., 507 U.S. 380

(1993) . ccc -ccccveacns ect cule nn 5, 6, 7
Southern Ute Indian Tribe v. Amoco Production Com-

pany, 151 F.3d 1251 (10th Cir. 1998)................ 1
Southern Ute Indian Tribe v. Amoco Production Com-

pany, 119 F.3d 816 (10th Cir. 1997)................ 11
United States v. Labonte, 520 U.S. 751, 177 S.Ct.

1673 (1997)...ccccccsvecedeveuns Osensseee 5
United States v. Ron Pair Enter., Inc., 489 U.S. 235

(1969)... cccncccccecesvused e's biee iain nnn 5
United States v. Smith, 508 U.S. 223 (1993)............ 5
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS
Act of March 3, 1909, 35 Stat. 844 (30 U.S.C.

G G1)... ccc cccacccdeced uke n abe piatneeenn anna passim
Act of June 22, 1910, 36 Stat. 583 (30 U.S.C. § 85) . .passim
Public Law 105-367, 112 Stat. 3313................. 3, 4
Wyo. Stat. § 30-5-101 et seq. (1977) ................. 10
RuLes
Supreme Court Rule 374 ..... «snceethsns meee 1

ee

-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
OrHer AUTHORITIES
1997 and 1998 Wyoming Property Taxation....... 14, 15
Buffalo, Wyoming Resource Office of the BLM....... 2
Gerald A. Danzer, J. Jorge Klor de Alva, Louis E.
Wilson, Nancy Woloch, The Americans (1998) ....... s
James West Davidson, Michael B. Stoff, American
EEE eh dic aed coe Ghd he bueeses seccsccees 8
Roy A. Jordan and S. Scott DeBoer, Wyoming, a
Shs etl vc ec enadéaebesseess 9, 13
T.A. Larson, Wyoming, a History (1984) ............... 9
The Century Dictionary and Cyclopedia 1067
Ne oe al oa waccenwescees 6

The Shorter Oxford English Dictionary 330 (1936) ..... 6
The Universal Encyclopedic Dictionary 945 (1905) ..... 6
U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of Land

Management, Public Land Statistics, 1993 .......... 3
Herman J. Viola, Why We Remember, United States

History, Civil War to the Present (1998).............. 8
Webster's New International Dictionary 892 (1916) ..... 7
Webster's New International Dictionary 511 (2d

CR MMULUGLE, SECU This ede diver iccdcccceccce 6
Webster’s New International Dictionary of the

English Language 424 (1916)..................6005. 6
Webster’s Third New International Dictionary 432

SRE UR eet i ieh side ob bbs seececcesccccccces 7
Wyoming Oil and Gas Conservation Commission

Website: http/www.wogcc.state.wy.us ...... 10, 11, 14

ooo

INTRODUCTION

Campbell County, Wyoming, a governmental entity,
by and through the undersigned Counsel files this amicus
curiae brief in support of the defendant class’ appeal filed
by Amoco Production Company.' The Tenth Circuit's
holding in Southern Ute Indian Tribe v. Amoco Production
Company, 151 F.3d 1251 (10th Cir. 1998), is of grave con-
cern to Campbell County, Wyoming because it changes
ownership rights in approximately 400,000 acres of land
in the county which are owned by residents of the county.
Failure to reverse the decision of the Tenth circuit holding
that the United States reserved coalbed methane, as well
as coal in the 1909 and 1910 Coal Lands Acts, will have a
devastating economic impact on the local institutions and
on the individual residents of Campbell County, Wyo-
ming. Campbell County, Wyoming therefore respectfully
requests that the United States Supreme Court reverse the
Tenth Circuit’s decision regarding the ownership of
coalbed methane.

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Campbell County, Wyoming is located in the center
of the Powder River Basin in northeastern Wyoming and
borders Montana. Gillette is the county seat and largest
town in the county. Mineral development has been, and

' Campbell County, Wyoming is a county and files this
brief pursuant to Rule 37.4 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of
the United States. None of the parties authored this brief. The
brief was authored by counsel of record.

is, of vital importance to Campbell County. According to
the BLM records, there are approximately 400,000 acres in
Campbell County patented under the 1909 and 1910 Coal
Lands Acts and approximately 1.4 million acres in Camp-
bell, Sheridan and Johnson Counties.2 Campbell County
is located in the coal and petroleum rich Powder River
Basin. A large portion of the economic activity in Camp-
bell County involves natural resources development.
Wyoming is the largest coal producing state in the United
States and Campbell County is the largest coal producing
county in Wyoming. Because the Powder River Basin in
Campbell County is a mature basin for oil and gas explo-
ration, coalbed methane exploration and development is
vital to the future of the local economy.

The decision of the Tenth Circuit is of extraordinary
concern to the county because in one decision, the Tenth
Circuit changed ownership rights in coalbed methane gas
in 400,000 acres of land in Campbell County alone. The
Tenth Circuit ruled that coalbed gas “was reserved to the
United States” when Congress reserved “coal” under the
1909 and 1910 Acts.* This ruling is not confined to the coal
owned by the Southern Ute Indian Tribe; followed to its
logical conclusion, the decision affects the ownership of

2 Information regarding the amount of acreage obtained
from the Buffalo, Wyoming Resource Office of the BLM.
Campbell, Sheridan and Johnson Counties comprise most of the
Powder River Basin in which coalbed methane production
exists and is anticipated in the future.

> Act of March 3, 1909, 35 Stat. 844 (30 U.S.C. § 81) (“the
1909 Act”); Act of June 22, 1910, 36 Stat. 583 (30 U.S.C. § 85)
(“The 1910 Act”), (collectively known as the “Acts” or “Coal
Lands Acts”).

coalbed gas in 16 million acres of land patented under the
1909 and 1910 Acts across the West.4 According to the
decision, mineral owners who own all oil and gas in lands
as successors-in-interest to the patentees under the 1909
and 1910 Coal Lands Acts do not own the coalbed gas.

For over eighty years, the patentees and their suc-
cessors have conducted business believing gas was gas
and not included as part of the coal. Because of Public
Law 105-367, the mineral owners who were fortunate
enough to have obtained production or executed leases,
prior to October 21, 1998, have some relief. However, for
those who do not have production, but have executed a
lease, the protection expires when the lease expires under
the current state of the law. Mineral owners who were not
fortunate to have their lands under lease on October 21,
1998, lost their rights to any coalbed methane production.

If the Supreme Court does not reverse the Tenth
Circuit Court of Appeals decision, the residents of Camp-
bell County will be stunned by the taking of their mineral
interests by the Federal Government without notice and
without compensation.

+

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The plain meaning of the terms of the Acts should be
used in determining the intention of Congress when it
enacted the Coal Lands Acts of 1909 and 1910. The mean-
ing of “coal” in 1909 and 1910 is the same as it is now, a

* U.S. Dept. of Interior, Bureau of Land Management,
Public Land Statistics, 1993, p. 16.

solid black substance to be recovered as a solid and not a
gas. Coal was reserved by the United States in 1909 and
1910 because coal was valuable to the United States.
Coalbed methane was a waste by-product which Con-
gress could not have intended to reserve.

The history of the United States and the West sup-
ports the conclusion that Congress did not intend to
reserve coalbed methane when it reserved coal under the
1909 and 1910 Coal Lands Acts. The availability and use
of the solid coal was significant in establishing the route
of the Union Pacific Railroad across southern Wyoming.
The mining of the coal provided fuel for the steam
engines and freight for the trains. Coalbed methane, on
the other hand, caused mine explosions which resulted in
the worst coal mining disasters in Wyoming in 1903 and
1908. Congress knew coalbed methane was dangerous,
therefore, Congress could not have intended to reserve
coalbed methane with the coal in 1909 and 1910.

Campbell County, Wyoming and its residents will
suffer economic impact if the Tenth Circuit decision is not
reversed. The discovery and development of coalbed
methane was undertaken with the understanding that
coalbed methane belonged to the patentee and that devel-
opment should be honored. Any protection offered by
Public Law 105-367, 112 Stat. 3313 (1998) will be short-
lived upon the expiration of contracts and leases existing
as of October 21, 1998.

Campbell County requests that the Supreme Court of
the United States reverse the decision of the Tenth Circuit
Court of Appeals regarding the ownership of coalbed

methane for lands patented under the 1909 and 1910 Coal
Lands Acts.

ARGUMENT

I. CONGRESS COULD NOT AND DID NOT INTEND
TO RESERVE COALBED METHANE WHEN IT
RESERVED COAL UNDER 1909 AND 1910 COAL
LANDS ACTS.

The controlling intent is the intent of the Congress
that actually passed a particular statute being interpreted.
“[T}he pertinent inquiry in the case is the intent of Con-
gress when it granted land to Union Pacific in 1862”. Leo
Sheep Co. v. United States, 440 U.S. 668, 681 (1979). When
looking at the language of the statute, a court must
“assume” that congressional intent is reflected by the
ordinary meaning of the words used, United States v.
Labonte, 520 U.S. 751, 177 S.Ct. 1673, 1677 (1997). The
Supreme Court has ruled that when Congress does not
define a term in a statute, that term is to be construed in
accordance with the ordinary meaning. United States v.
Smith, 508 U.S. 223, 228 (1993).

In statutory interpretation, the court “look[s} to the
plain language of the statute and give[s] effect to its
meaning”, United States v. Ron Pair Enter., Inc., 489 U.S.
235, 241 (1989). “Courts properly assume, absent suffi-
cient indication to the contrary, that Congress intends the
words in its enactments to carry ‘their ordinary, contem-
porary, common meaning.” Pioneer Inv. Servs. v.
Brunswick Assocs., 507 U.S. 380, 388 (1993) (quoting Perrin
v. United States, 444 U.S. 37, 42 (1979)); accord Consumer

EEE Eo

Products Safety Comm'n v. GTE Sylvania, Inc., 447 U.S. 102,
108 (1980). The “ordinary meaning” of an undefined stat-
utory term is the meaning in existence when Congress
enacted the statute. Perrin, 444 U.S. at 42.

Applying these principles to the Acts, Congress
expressed its intent to reserve “coal” in patents issued
under the Acts. Because Congress did not define the
word “coal,” it must be construed in accord with its
“ordinary, contemporary, common meaning” at the time
Congress passed the Acts. Pioneer Invs. Servs., 507 U.S. at
388; Perrin, 444 U.S. at 42. The ordinary and common
meaning of “coal” when Congress passed the Acts was “a
black, or brownish black, solid, combustible mineral sub-
stance.” Webster's New International Dictionary of the
English Language 424 (1916) (emphasis added). Other
sources of the day define “coal” as a black or brownish
black solid combustible mineral substance. See also The
Century Dictionary and Cyclopedia 1067 (1906) (“A solid and
more or less distinctly stratified mineral, varying in color
from dark-brown to black, brittle, combustible, and used
as a fuel.”) (emphasis added); The Universal Encyclopedic
Dictionary 945 (1905) (“A carbonaceous mineral sub-
stance, black, shiny or dull, easily broken, often splintery,
inflammable, and used for fuel.”).

The popular and common understanding of “coal” as
a black or brownish black solid combustible mineral sub-
stance has been consistent from the time of the Acts to the
present. See, e.g., The Shorter Oxford English Dictionary 330
(1936) (“A mineral, solid, hard, opaque, black or blackish,
found in seams in the earth, and largely used as a fuel.”)
(emphasis added); Webster's New International Dictionary
511 (2d ed. 1958) (“A black, or brownish-black, solid,

- —-

=

combustible substance formed by the partial decomposi-
tion of vegetable matter without free access of air.”)
(emphasis added); Webster’s Third New International Dic-
tionary 432 (1986) (“A black or brownish black solid com-
bustible mineral substance.”) (emphasis added).

Turning to the issue before the Court, Congress’
unqualified use of the word “coal” means that Congress
reserved the black or brownish black solid combustible
mineral substance commonly known as “coal” in patents
issued under the Acts. See Pioneer Invs. Servs., 507 U.S. at
388; Perrin, 444 U.S. at 42. Coalbed gas is neither black or
brownish black nor is it a solid. The word coal thus does
not include coalbed gas. No one has identified a defini-
tion of “coal” that includes coalbed gas. Coalbed gas
instead falls within the ordinary and popular definition
of “gas” as “an aeriform fluid, having neither indepen-
dent shape nor volume, but tending to expand indefi-
nitely.” Webster's New International Dictionary 892 (1916).

In 1909 and 1910, Congress expressed its intent in
unambiguous terms. Patents issued under the Acts
reserved to the United States the black or brownish black
solid combustible mineral substance commonly known as
“coal.” Congress conveyed coalbed gas and all other min-
erals that do not fall within the ordinary and popular
meaning of “coal” to the patentees. The word “coal” in
the Acts thus unambiguously excludes coalbed gas. That
language is conclusive on the issue before the Court. E.¢.,
Consumer Product Safety Comm'n, 447 U.S. at 108. Con-
gress did not reserve coalbed methane gas.

Il. A REVIEW OF HISTORY OF THE UNITED
STATES AND THE WEST CLEARLY INDICATES
THAT CONGRESS COULD NOT HAVE
INTENDED TO RESERVE COALBED METHANE
IN 1909 AND 1910. CURRENT TREATMENT OF
COALBED METHANE CONFIRMS THE HISTORI-
CAL INTENTIONS.

In 1909 and 1910, the United States reserved coal
because it was a necessary and useful source of energy
for the development of the country. American History
texts and sourcebooks taught in our public schools
emphasize that coal and steel were the foundations of
American Industry. In discussing the growth in the
United States following the civil war, a Smithsonian his-
torian wrote, “Coal deposits provided fuel for steam
engines and furnaces of the iron industry”, Herman J.
Viola, Why We Remember, United States History, Civil War
to the Present, at page 262. Another historian wrote for our
school children, “the industrial age would not have been
possible without abundant deposits of coal and iron
which could be turned into steel”. Gerald A. Danzer, et
al., The Americans, at page 411. In the chapter discussing
“The Rise of Industry”, the authors stated “large deposits
of coal fueled the nations steel mills”. James West David-
son, Michael B. Stoff, American Nation, at page 543. Con-
gress clearly considered the nation’s best interests when
it decided in 1909 and 1910 to reserve the solid coal that
was critical to the economic development of the nation at
the beginning of this century.

At the time the Coal Lands Acts were enacted, the
solid coal was a valuable resource to the country and to
Wyoming in particular. Coal was produced in Wyoming

before the Wyoming territory was established in 1869.
The easy access to coal reserves heavily influenced the
Union Pacific decision in the 1860's to build its railroad
through Wyoming. Roy A. Jordan and S. Scott DeBoer,
Wyoming a source book at page 169, T.A. Larson, Wyoming,
a History, at 144. The solid coal was valuable and conse-
quently Congress reserved the coal when passing the
1909 and 1910 Acts.

Coalbed mcthane gas, on the other hand, was neither
useful nor desired when the United States reserved coal.
Many Wyoming underground coal mines in the nine-
teenth century had fires burning “out of control” in them
for years. Most of these fires were ignited by spontaneous
combustion of gas that had collected in the mines. Jordan,
et al., supra at page 198. In two separate explosions, one
on June 30, 1903 and one on March 28, 1908, a total of 228
miners died in Hanna Mine #1 in southern Wyoming. The
1903 explosion was the worst mine disaster in Wyoming's
history. Jordan, et al., supra at page 167. Because of the
hazards of the methane in the coal in Wyoming at the
time the Coal Lands Acts were enacted, as evidenced by
the two accidents, Congress would not have intended to
reserve the coalbed methane when it reserved coal in
1909 and 1910. Congress could not have intended to
reserve a harmful by-product when it reserved the valu-
able coal in 1909 and 1910. Taken from another perspec-
tive, Congress clearly knew that coalbed methane existed
because of these disasters, yet, they did not specifically
express an intention to reserve the coalbed methane gas.
Because Congress knew the existence of coalbed methane
gas and did not mention it in the reservation, Congress
clearly did not intend to reserve the coalbed methane gas.

Se

10

For as long as there has been mineral activity in the
Powder River Basin, all mineral owners, including
owners of coal rights, have transacted business using the
clear and obvious definitions set forth above. Simply put,
coal is coal and gas is gas and the coalbed gas industry
has developed in Campbell County and elsewhere on the
basis of this distinction. As a gas, coalbed gas has always
been widely viewed as a part of the oil and gas estate that
may be leased by the gas estate owner in a standard oil
and gas lease. The Wyoming Oil and Gas Conservation
Commission (WOGCC), the administrative agency which
regulates oil and gas exploration in Wyoming,> issues
permits to drill for coalbed methane wells. The WOGCC
has held hearings regarding the best spacing density for
the development of coalbed methane wells. The mineral
owners, the coalbed producers as well as the administra-
tive agency, treat coalbed methane as a natural gas
belonging to the patentee, and not part of the coal owned
by the United States. Coalbed gas has not been treated in
Campbell County as part of the coal estate because by
definition it is not coal; nor, have coal owners purported
to lease the right to develop coalbed gas in coal leases.
This practice fits with the reality of coalbed gas develop-
ment: it is drilled for, produced, and transported to mar-
ket in pipelines just like any other gas. From wellhead to

burnertip, coalbed gas is gas.

> See Wyoming Stat. § 30-5-101 et seq. (1977).

6 See Wyoming Oil and Gas Conservation Commission
Website — http/ /www.wogcc.state.wy.us.

11

Ill. MINERAL OWNERS AND OIL AND GAS EXPLO-
RATION COMPANIES HAVE RELIED UPON THE
HISTORICAL TREATMENT THAT COALBED
METHANE IS GAS AND THEREFOKE IS
INCLUDED IN THE GRANT TO THE PAT-
ENTEES.

Campbell County’s coalbed gas resources are enor-
mous. Over the last six years, coalbed gas leasing, explo-
ration, drilling, and production in Campbell County has
grown from virtually nothing into a major economic
activity. The activity has been undertaken under the
belief that coalbed methane gas belonged to the patentee
or its successors under the 1909 and 1910 Coal Lands
Acts. Coalbed methane development is the most active
exploration activity currently underway in Campbell
County. For example, between July 1996 and June 1997,
when all parties were operating under the commonly
held belief, 672 applications for permits to drill coalbed
gas wells were filed for drilling on federal, private, and
state lands in Campbell County.” ® During this same
period, Campbell County ranked as the top county in the
Rocky Mountain Region for coalbed gas permitting and
drilling activities.

Approximately 400,000 acres of land in Campbell
County were patented under the 1909 and 1910 Acts
construed by the court in the Tenth Circuit decision. The
mineral owners in Campbell County are ordinary people

7 See Wyoming Oil and Gas Conservation Commission
Website — http/ /www.wogcc.state.wy.us.

8 Southern Ute Indian Tribe v. Amoco Production Co., 119 F.3d
816 (10th Cir. 1997). This decision was issued in July 1997.

OP 62 1 ip Sk RI, NE ra RSID Rg UR IR IER INERT ae RE

12

and make up a diverse group — ranchers, working people,
public employees, large landowners, small landowners,
widows, and retired people. Many mineral owners are
descendants of the original patentees. Because Congress
reserved only the solid mineral coal under the 1909 and
1910 Acts and conveyed all other minerals to the pat-
entees, Campbell County landowners who own lands
patented under the 1909 and 1910 Acts own all oil, gas
and other minerals, except coal in their lands.

From the beginning of the coalbed gas exploration
and development boom in Campbell County, everyone -
petroleum companies, mineral owners, landowners, coal
mining companies, and the state and federal governments
- has treated coalbed gas as owned by the oil and gas
estate owner. The original development of coalbed meth-
ane occurred because of oil and gas leases from mineral
owners who received their interest under the 1909 and
1910 Coal Lands Acts. This Court has traditionally recog-
nized the special need for certainty and predictability
where land titles are concerned. Leo Sheep Co. at 688. The
entire coalbed gas industry rests on the basic foundation
that coalbed methane is a part of the oil and gas estate
and naturally passed on to the patentees. Until the Tenth
Circuit decision, Campbell County residents relied upon
this basic understanding of property law. The growth of
the coalbed gas industry has greatly affected and
impacted Campbell County mineral owners who own the
oil and gas estate in their lands, including those who own
some of the 400,000 acres patented under the 1909 and
1910 Acts.

13

Campbc"' County and its residents see the resolution
of this issue as straightforward and uncomplicated. Wyo-
ming mines more coal than any other state, producing
20% of the nations total coal output. In 1993, Campbell
County mines produced 181.9 million tons of the 209.9
million tons mined in Wyoming. Jordan, supra at 165. All
of the coal mined in Campbell County is mined using
open pit surface mines. Virtually all the residents of
Campbell County are familiar with coal. Coal is the solid
black substance shoveled by a dragline into trucks that
haul the coal from the pit to be loaded on to trains which
then transport the solid coal to a distant power plant. No
one concludes that the black solid substance is a “gas”.

IV. THE DECISION WILL HAVE SEVERE ADVERSE
IMPACT ON CAMPBELL COUNTY TAX REVE-
NUES.

The adverse impact on the tax revenues of Campbell
County resulting from the Tenth Circuit Court of
Appeals’ decision is enormous.

Mineral owners execute oil and gas leases to explora-
tion companies, granting the right to explore for oil and
gas to the exploration companies. The mineral owner
reserves a portion of the revenue free of cost in exchange
for the right to explore for oil, gas or other minerals. The
amount reserved by the mineral owner is commonly
referred to as the “royalty” interest. If the mineral rights
are owned by the patentee or its successors, the royalty is
paid to the fee mineral owners. If the mineral rights are
owned by the United States, the federal government
receives the royalty payment.

EE ee

14

Campbell County receives an ad valorem (property
tax) revenue in the amount of 5.97% of the value of
production on royalty paid to fee mineral owners.”
Campbell County does not and cannot receive tax reve-
nue for Ad Valorem Tax on royalties paid to the United
States. The tax revenue lost if the royalty payments are
made to the United States rather than to the patentees is
significant. Assuming 50% of the acreage subject to the
1909 and 1910 Acts is productive, and assuming that 50%
of the productive acreage is unleased, there are 100,000
acres still subject to the Southern Ute Indian decision in
Campbell County alone. (400,000 x .5 = 200,000; 200,000 x
5 = 100,000). Currently, one well is being drilled on each
40 acre tract in Campbell County, Wyoming. Therefore,
there are 2,500 potential drill sites on unleased acreage.
The average daily production rate of a coalbed methane
(“CBM”) well in the Powder River Basin on every 40 acre
tract is 200 mcf (200 thousand cubic feet) per well per
day.’° Based upon an examination of the records in the
Campbell County Clerk and Recorders Office,'' the aver-
age royalty reserved on leases from fee mineral owners is
15% of the value of the production. The average price for
coalbed methane for 1998 has been $1.80/ mcf. Therefore,
the Southern Ute decision will cost Campbell County tax
revenue of $2,941,717/year [(200/mcf/day x $1.80 (price/

* See portions of the 1998 Wyoming Property Taxation
prepared by the Wyoming Taxpayers Association lodged with
the Clerk of the United States Supreme Court

© See Wyoming Oil and Gas Conservation Commission
Website — http/ /www.wogcec.state.wy.us.

!! Examination made by counsel of record for Campbell
County, Wyoming

15

mcf) x .15 (royalty rate) x .0597 (tax rate) x 365 (days per
year) x 2500 (number of wells)].!?

With oil prices and coal prices falling, production of
coalbed methane is necessary to maintain Campbell
County's tax revenues. In 1997, 18.22% of Campbell
County’s tax revenue was from ad valorem taxes on oil
and 58.06% of the tax revenue was from ad valorem tax
on coal production. The value of these commodities is
decreasing and consequently, the tax revenues to the
County are decreasing. The valuation on coal decreased
$61,464,820 or 6.5% from 1997 to 1998 and the valuation
of oil decreased $48,333,619 or 15% from 1997 to 1998.
Valuations are based on prior year prices. With current
prices declining, next year’s valuations will be even
lower for oil and coal. In the same time frame, natural gas
valuation rose from $29,135,435 in 1997 to $42,761,158 in
1998, an increase of $13,625,723 or 46.7%." Almost all of
this increase in natural gas valuations is due to new
coalbed methane production. With the value of the other
commodities declining, increased tax revenue from
coalbed methane development is critical to Campbell
County government functions.

'2 Using the same formula for the approximate 1.4 million
acres subject to the decision in Campbell, Sheridan and Johnson
County, will cost the counties a combined total of $10,347,750 in
lost tax revenue [1,400,000 x 5 = 700,000; 700,000 x .5' 350,000
350,000 + 40 = 8,750 wells, 200 mcf/day x $1.80 x .15 x .06 x 365 x
8,750 = $10,347,750]

3 See portions of the 1997 and 1998 Wyoming Property
Taxation prepared by the Wyoming Taxpayers Association
lodged with the Clerk of the United States Supreme Court. All
revenue data was obtained from these publications.

ee

-
v ~
-- >
oa -
--
+
~
~
—s
fj =
~ bane
-
= +
—
—
/ >
_
~
> »
+
"
J
> ~
. ~
—
_~
’
’

CONCLUSION

ene
.
~~
= -
.
.
— -
=
_ ,
*
n" re
+
~—~

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0245%3A21. Public record. Not legal advice.
