# Amicus Curiae Brief — Alden v. Maine

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0232%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 527 U.S. 706

## Text

No. 98-436 Supreme Court, U.S.
FFE ED
JAN 7 1999
IN THE
- CLERK
Supreme Court of the Hnited States“

OCTOBER TERM, 1998
—< > —

JOHN H. ALDEN, et al.,
Petitioners,

—VvV.—

STATE OF MAINE,
Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT
FOR THE STATE OF MAINE

BRIEF FOR THE ASSOCIATION OF AMERICAN
PUBLISHERS, INC., THE AMERICAN SOCIETY
OF JOURNALISTS AND AUTHORS, INC.,
THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF MEDIA
PHOTOGRAPHERS, INC., THE ASSOCIATION
OF AMERICAN UNIVERSITY PRESSES, INC.,
THE AUTHORS GUILD, INC., COPYRIGHT
CLEARANCE CENTER, INC., NATIONAL MUSIC
PUBLISHERS ASSOCIATION, INC., AND THE
SOFTWARE PUBLISHERS ASSOCIATION AS
AMICI CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

CHARLES S. SIMS

Counsel of Record
BRUCE F. BOYDEN
PROSKAUER ROSE LLP
1585 Broadway
New York, New York 10036
(212) 969-3950

are"

A A tee mnegreye tangy ed

- Se A A A ETN ae a ah ly ——

QUESTION PRESENTED

Where Congress creates a cause of action pursuant to its
Article I powers and entrusts its enforcement to state courts,
may states defending against such actions in state courts
interpose a defense of sovereign immunity, notwithstanding the
Supremacy Clause of the United States Constitution?

Page
TABLE OF CONTENTS
IED oc 0 5 bic css bb edbioveseneed sins i
ee so oe bebe edecadecsed oud iv
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE .. 0. cc ccccccccceceeees l
ee... . oa. eeaneedeksoed 6eue 3
ae Oe ee a eeeee 4
THE SUPREMACY CLAUSE MAKES THE FLSA
FULLY ENFORCEABLE IN MAINE’S COURTS,
ASSERTIONS OF SOVEREIGN IMMUNITY
Ss wwe anes 4
A. Hilton v. South Carolina governs the
0 PERLE FP Ot LPO 5
B. Hilton is consistent with the text of the
Constitution and with this Court’s
MENG. bs'nccdddabsevnrecceccesoes 6

THE ELEVENTH AMENDMENT DOES NOT APPLY
TO SuITs AGAINST STATES IN STATE CourTs. ... 13

A. The Eleventh Amendment restricts only
federal judicial power. ............55-. 14

Il.

B. Seminole did not hold the Eleventh
Amendment effective in state courts or
superior to the Supremacy Clause. ...... . 17

BECAUSE MAINE’S REFUSAL TO AWARD IN

STATE COURT THE WAGES CONCEDEDLY

REQUIRED BY FEDERAL LAW WOULD VIOLATE

THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE, CONGRESS

MAY CONSTITUTIONALLY SUBJECT MAINE TO

SUIT IN STATE COURT FOR THOSE WAGES FREE

OF ANY SOVEREIGN IMMUNITY DEFENSE. ....... 18

iv

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

Aaron v. Kansas,

115 F.3d 813 (10th Cir. 1997) ... 2... 6. cece eee 16
Alden v. State,

of’ 5.. 1 |. Ferrer Peo 13,14
Atascadero State Hosp. v. Scanlon,

EEE cach acbdssnbsatwacnaseaedas 16
Brown v. Gerdes,

Rg I oe a ee pee ere )
California & State Lands Comm'n v.

Deep Sea Research,

__ US. _, 118 S. Ct. 1464 (1998) .............. 16
Chavez v. Arte Publico Press,

ESS FA 8 be sk esr kee 1, 2,3, 19
City of Boerne v. Flores,

TRG Gee bivdccdvcveks tess WARK 17, 20
Claflin v. Houseman,

SUE TSO 6 d\n Hie CSN EEA UR 11
Felder v. Casey,

GE Gs BO LEOOEE 0 cecvccusehccéecnedsudencs 11

Page

First English Evangelical Lutheran Church

v. Los Angeles,

PEED cadcasdecctich@ecetasadice 19
Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer,

PIED oo ckadbovénédacetebacavses 16
Florida Dep't of State v. Treasure Salvors, Inc.,

SERS SE ae ep a na rs eae 19
Garcia v. San Antonio Metro. Transit Auth.,

at 6 Che ee cet 6 ok haces os 2,4
Hans v. Louisiana,

Se wis cdncwescive vahddchwcul 14, 16
Hess v. Port Auth. Trans-Hudson Corp.,

PD io wd deo ca dudddhe \idvadeeed s 15
Hilton v. South Carolina Pub. Rys. Comm'n,

hE cies cc dbh bbe sik adele passim
Howlett v. Rose,

CED + cétn0cethathbvst aden passim
Katzenbach v. Morgan,

oS ey nse ee re 20
Maine v. Thiboutot,

Pe RATE bb cutdcdeaGeWeewhhs cb dacdue 15

vi
Page

Marbury v. Madison,

5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137 (1803) .........0-e eee eeee 3
Martin v. Hunter's Lessee,

14 U.S. (1 Wheat.) 304 (1816) .... 2... 6... eee eens 7
Martinez v. California,

Lit ®- 7). errs te tr 12
McCulloch v. Maryland,

17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) 316 (1819) .........-02 eee eee 6
McKesson Corp. v. Division of Alcoholic

Beverages & Tobacco,

GOES. TECTED oc cccccnscteesbssedoaceess 18
Mills v. Maine,

118 F.3d 37 (ist Cir. 1997) ........000eeeeeee 6, 12
Mondou v. New York, New Haven & Hartford R.R.,

BD UG. 8 AID bi cdin cc o.6cb eb bob beicdtadch 7,12
Nevada v. Hall,

SE aren or ree er passim
New York v. United States,

— fi RS are ea rr rr 8,13
Palmore v. United States,

lal & 7. Se er ee ae 7

vii
Page

Parden v. Terminal Ry. of Ala.,

PE EE ac ob oboe oa odeckdes eekeh 2, 16
Printz v. United States,

Rs SEE Os oe BE CRED (onda Vena’ 8, 13
Reich v. Collins,

ROI as i et 18, 19
Seminole Tribe v. Florida,

i passim
Testa v. Katt,

I a. ak 7
Ward v. Board of County Comm'rs,

a a 18
Welch v. Texas Dep't of Highways & Pub. Transp.,

el os cask boca eek oeks geeced
Will v. Michigan Dep't of State Police,

ES Te rer 8,9, 11,15
Wilson-Jones v. Caviness,

SE ET ba kG ou ddd cccoueueee 16

Statutes and Other Authorities

viii
Page

UG. Camst, G0, VEGF. 2. cc dceewe csc ctiverees passim
UB; Come GORGE. BE occ ckcccccccsevburesusns passim
U.S. Const. amend. XIV ...........0055. 2, 4, 17, 18, 20
GRUBG. OURS Civic ec eciccccccdes neces caverns Gen 8,9
Copyright Remedies Clarification Act,

Pub. L. 101-553, 104 Stat. 2749 (1990) ............ 2
Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA),

i Fa S| A eere errs ss passim
Federal Employers’ Liability Act (FELA),

4S USL, O65 SIGD 6 55 Fis iicd WN ci os ieee 5
The Federalist No. 84 (Alexander Hamilton)

(Clinton Rossiter ed.) . 2... 0... cee eee eee ees 6

AMICI CURIAE BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE'

Amici, who file this brief with the consent of the parties,
represent or license thousands of authors, publishers, and
consumers of books, software, educational materials, and
musical compositions who would have no meaningful protec-
tion from infringement by states and state entities if the claims
of some states to sovereign immunity from suits under federal
law in both federal and state courts were upheld.

Because of the extensive use state governments make
of copyrighted materials — in state colleges and universities, in
elementary and high school public education, in purchasing
educational materials (software, books, sheet music) in some
jurisdictions, in operating state university presses, in admin-
istering all the unpaid functions, programs and activities of a
modern welfare and regulatory state — it is of vital importance
to the creative community that copyright be fully protected
against government infringement. Amici submit this brief, in
a case involving no apparent copyright issue, because of their
vital interest in ensuring that Congress may, if the need should
arise, provide for effective copyright damage remedies against
state infringement in state courts. Reversing the decision be-
low appears essential to preserving Congress’s power to do so.

In a recent decision, Chavez v. Arte Publico Press, 157
F.3d 282 (1998), vacated and rehearing en banc granted
(10/1/1998), a Fifth Circuit panel held that despite Congress’s

' No counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in
part, and no person or entity other than the amici
curiae, their members, or their counsel, made a
monetary contribution to the preparation or submission
of this brief.

2

clear intent to abrogate state immunity from suit in federal
court for copyright infringement, as reflected in the Copyright
Remedies Clarification Act, Pub. L. 101-553, 104 Stat. 2749
(1990), that law exceeded congressional power. To minimize
the impact of its holding and seemingly as a basis for its deci-
sion, the Chavez panel specifically noted that Congress could
confer jurisdiction on state courts to hear copyright
infringement suits. 157 F.3d at 291. Alden v. Maine calls that
assumption into direct question.

Amici here have filed a friend-of-the-court brief in
Chavez before the Fifth Circuit en banc, arguing (along with
the United States and other amici curiae) that subjecting states
to copyright infringement suits in federal court does not violate
the Eleventh Amendment, first, because legislation doing so is
within Congress’ power to enforce the Due Process Clause
under Section 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment, and second,
because the state’s own repeated use of the benefits afforded by
copyright law results in a waiver of Eleventh Amendment
immunity under the doctrine of Parden v. Terminal Railway of
Alabama, 377 U.S. 184 (1964). However, if the Fifth Circuit
ultimately holds that Congress has no power to subject states to
copyright infringement suits in federal courts, and if this Court
were to affirm that decision, then amici and other copyright
owners would have no remedy from unfettered state
infringement of copyright — unless Congress has the power to
subject states to infringement remedies in state courts.

The basic presuppositions of the rule of law would be
threatened if the Eleventh Amendment blocked Congress from
providing for infringement suits against state infringers in both
state and federal courts: notwithstanding Congress’s undoubted
power to subject states to the copyright law as a formal matter,
see Garcia v. San Antonio Metro. Transit Auth., 469 U.S. 528
(1985), overruling National League of Cities v. Usery, 426 US.

3

833 (1976), the courts would have deprived Congress of any
power to enforce compliance with it and to vindicate the rights
of those whose property states take by infringement. As this
Court noted in Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. 137 (1803), “[t}he
very essence of civil liberty certainly consists in the right of
every individual to claim the protection of the laws, whenever
he receives an injury,” and it is “[o]ne of the first duties of
government” to afford such protection. /d. at 163.

The same interests that have led the amici to argue for
preservation of federal court jurisdiction over copyright suits in
the Fifth Circuit in Chavez therefore lead them, anticipatorily
but urgently, to support petitioners’ position here. If a textually
unmoored Eleventh Amendment jurisprudence were to strike
down Congress’s effort to provide for damage suits against
state infringers in federal court, then amici would urge
Congress to abandon its 200-year historic policy of granting
federal courts exclusive jurisdiction over copyright cases and
to entrust such cases to state courts. Their interest here is in
leaving Congress with the power, granted by the Supremacy
Clause, effectively to do so.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Supremacy Clause and this Court’s decision in
Hilton v. South Carolina Public Railways Commission, 502
U.S. 197 (1991), control the result in this case. Under Hilton,
where Congress intends to abrogate state sovereign immunity
in a federal statute, the Supremacy Clause requires a state court
to apply the statute against the state regardless of whether such
immunity is asserted. Hilton is consistent with both the struc-
ture of our federal system and with this Court’s precedents. On
its face and as interpreted by this Court, the Supremacy Clause
mandates that federal laws take precedence over state laws,
including state doctrines of sovereign immunity.

4

The Eleventh Amendment does not override the
Supremacy Clause with respect to sovereign immunity in state
courts. The Amendment restricts only federal court jurisdic-
tion, and says nothing about state courts. It did not adopt a
general principle of universally effective sovereign immunity,
as this Court’s prior decisions demonstrate. Nothing in this
Court’s recent decision in Seminole Tribe v. Florida, 517 U.S.
44 (1996), altered the scope of this Court’s prior Eleventh
Amendment jurisprudence in this regard.

In any event, Maine’s assertion of sovereign immunity
in the petitioners’ suit would result in the deprivation of
petitioners’ property (the compensation guaranteed by supreme
substantive federal law) without due process of law. Accord-
ingly, far from being beyond congressional power under the
emanations or presuppositions of the Eleventh Amendment, the
challenged provision of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA),
29 U.S.C. §§ 201-19, creating a cause of action in state court
free of a sovereign immunity defense, is within not only
Congress’s power under the Commerce and Supremacy
Clauses, but also its power under Section 5 of the Fourteenth
Amendment to enforce the guarantee that no state shall deprive

any person of property without due process of law.
ARGUMENT

L. THE SUPREMACY CLAUSE MAKES THE FLSA FULLY
ENFORCEABLE IN MAINE’S COURTS, ASSERTIONS OF
SOVEREIGN IMMUNITY NOTWITHSTANDING.

There is no doubt in this case that Congress has the
authority to subject states to liability for violating the overtime
provisions of the FLSA. See Garcia v. San Antonio Metro.
Transit Auth., 469 U.S. 528, 554 (1985). The only question is
whether state courts are required to hear such suits: that is,
given that the State of Maine has been held immune from such

5

a suit in federal court, may Congress provide for the state court
adjudication of a claim Congress has the power to create?

A. Hilton v. South Carolina governs the result in this
case.

This Court’s decision in Hilton v. South Carolina
Public Railways Commission, 502 U.S. 197 (1991), is directly
applicable and controlling in this case. In Hilton, a South
Carolina state employee sued a state-owned railroad in South
Carolina court under the Federal Employers’ Liability Act
(FELA), 45 U.S.C. §§ 51-60. The trial court dismissed the suit
for lack of a clear statement in FELA of Congress’s intent to
abrogate South Carolina’s sovereign immunity. The South
Carolina Supreme Court upheld the dismissal, citing this
Court’s recent decision in Welch v. Texas Department of
Highways & Public Transportation, 483 U.S. 468 (1987), that
the remedial scheme used in FELA did not abrogate states’
Eleventh Amendment immunity in federal court. This Court
reversed the decision of the South Carolina Supreme Court,
holding, first, that the Eleventh Amendment did not apply to
state court suits, see Hilton, 502 U.S. at 204-05; second, that
under the applicable rules of statutory construction (including
stare decisis), Congress intended to subject states to suit under
FELA; and third, that the Supremacy Clause therefore made
FELA “fully enforceable in state court,” id at 207.

Hilton is directly applicable to the case at bar. Maine,
like South Carolina before it, has asserted that the FLSA does
not override its sovereign immunity in state court; that defense
is no more valid here than in Hilton. The Eleventh
Amendment, as the Hilton Court held, does not apply to state
courts. Furthermore, whereas the Hilton Court relied in part on
the principle of stare decisis in holding that Congress has
expressly sought to subject states to suit, here Congress’s intent
to subject the states to suit under the FLSA is unquestionable.

6

See Mills v. Maine, 118 F.3d 37, 42 (1st Cir. 1997) (citing
cases). Therefore, under Hilton, the FLSA, like FELA, is “fully
enforceable in state court,” assertions of state sovereign
immunity notwithstanding. Hilton, 502 U.S. at 207.

B. Hilton is consistent with the text of the Constitution
and with this Court’s precedents.

Hilton was not an anomalous decision, but rather was
deeply rooted in both the Constitutional framework of
federalism and in this Court’s prior decisions.

In our federal system both the states and the national
government retain some elements of sovereignty. The ultimate
sovereignty, however, is held not by the states or the national
government, but by the people. See U.S. Const. preamble (“We
the People . . . do ordain and establish this Constitution for the
United States of America.”); McCulloch v. Maryland, 17 U.S.
(4 Wheat.) 316, 403 (1819) (“The government proceeds directly
from the people . . . .”); The Federalist No. 84, at 513
(Alexander Hamilton) (Clinton Rossiter ed.) (“Here, in
strictness, the people surrender nothing . . . .”). The people
have delegated some powers to the national government and
some powers to their state governments. McCulloch, 17 U.S.
(4 Wheat.) at 410. While the people have decreed through the
Eleventh Amendment that, in some circumstances, states are
not subject to suit in federal courts, they have also decreed that
the Constitution and all laws passed pursuant to it are “the
supreme Law of the Land .. . , any Thing in the Constitution or
Laws of any State to the Contrary notwithstanding.” U.S.
Const. art. VI, cl. 2.°

The Supremacy Clause reads: “This Constitution, and the
Laws of the United States which shall be made in
Pursuance thereof . . . , shall be the supreme Law of the

7

This Court’s decision in Nevada v. Hall, 440 U.S. 410
(1979), demonstrates the limits of state sovereign immunity.
Given the fact that “[i)n this Nation each sovereign governs
only with the consent of the governed,” id. at 426, a state’s
desire to immunize itself from suit may be restricted by the
decisions of the people of other jurisdictions. The Hall Court
held that there was no constitutional bar based on Nevada’s
sovereign immunity that would prevent California’s subjecting
Nevada to a tort suit in California’s courts. “The people of
Nevada have consented to a system in which their State is
subject only to limited liability in tort. But the people of
California, who have had no voice in Nevada’s decision, have
adopted a different system. Each of these decisions is equally
entitled to our respect.” Jd The people of the United States
have adopted a different system with respect to the FLSA than
the people of Maine. And here, unlike in Hall, the decisions
are not equally entitled to the Court’s respect. The Supremacy
Clause demands that the decision of the people of the United
States takes precedence over that of the people of Maine.
Neither Maine, nor any other state, can reject the decision of
supreme federal law.

Since Maine’s courts must apply federal law, they must
subject the state to suit under the FLSA as that law requires. It
is beyond cavil that state courts have the power to decide
questions under federal law generally. See Palmore v. United
States, 411 U.S. 389, 402 (1973); Testa v. Katt, 330 U.S. 386,
390-91 (1947); Mondou v. New York, New Haven & Hartford
RR, 223 US. 1, 56 (1912); Martin v. Hunter’s Lessee, 14 U.S.
(1 Wheat.) 304, 342 (1816). Indeed, state courts have the

Land; and the Judges in every State shall be bound
thereby, any Thing in the Constitution or Laws of any
State to the Contrary notwithstanding.” (Emphasis added.)

obligation to enforce federal law. See Howlett v. Rose, 496
U.S. 356, 370 (1990) (“[O]ur cases confirm that state courts
have the coordinate authority and consequent responsibility to
enforce the Supreme Law of the Land.”). And Congress has the
authority to create federal causes of action that the states will
enforce. See New York v. United States, 505 U.S. 144, 178
(1992) (referring to “the well established power of Congress to
pass laws enforceable in state courts.”). Anything less would
be inconsistent with the Supremacy Clause. See Printz v.
United States, __ U.S. __, 117 S. Ct. 2365, 2381 (1997);
New York, 505 U.S. at 178.

Under Howlett v. Rose, Maine’s courts cannot refuse to
apply the FLSA against the state, even if Maine does not
consent to suit. In Howlett, a Florida student sued his local
school board under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 for violating his civil
rights during a search of his car on school premises. This Court
held that although the state itself was not subject to suit under
§ 1983, due to a lack of proof of Congressional intent to that
effect, see Will v. Michigan Dep't of State Police, 491 U.S. 58
(1989), Florida could not immunize state agencies such as
school boards from such suits in state court. Howlett detailed
three corollaries of the Supremacy Clause that govern when a
state court must apply federal law against a state. First, “[a]
state court may not deny a federal right, when the parties and
controversy are properly before it, in the absence of a ‘valid
excuse.”” Howlett, 496 U.S. at 369 (quoting Douglas v. New
York, New Haven & Hartford R.R., 279 U.S. 377, 387-88
(1929)).

Second, “[a]n excuse that is inconsistent with or violates
federal law is not a valid excuse: the Supremacy Clause forbids
state courts to dissociate themselves from federal law because
of . . . a refusal to recognize the superior authority of its
source.” Jd. at 371. The refusal of the Maine Supreme Judicial

9

Court to apply the FLSA against the state was just such a
refusal to recognize the national government's superior
authority, since its decision was clearly inconsistent with the
FLSA’s provision that an employer includes any “public
agency.” See 29 U.S.C. § 203(d).

The third corollary from Howlett is that the Court must
proceed with caution when a state court refuses jurisdiction
“because of a neutral state rule regarding the administration of
the courts.” /d. at 371. To be sure, Congress cannot require a
state to “create a court competent to hear the case in which the
federal claim is presented.” /d ; see also Brown v. Gerdes, 321
U.S. 178, 190 (1944) (Frankfurter, J., concurring) (“Congress
may avail itself of state courts for the enforcement of federal
rights, but it must take the state courts as it finds them .. . .”).
But the mere fact that a state restriction on state courts is
termed “jurisdictional” does not make it a legitimate excuse not
to enforce federal law. Howlett, 496 U.S. at 381; see also id
at 382 (“The force of the Supremacy Clause is not so weak that
it can be evaded by mere mention of the word ‘jurisdiction.’”)
At the very least, states cannot refuse to hear an action solely
because it is based on federal law.’ Here, as in Howlett, Maine

> Howlett in fact went further, holding that a state court
could not add immunities or defenses beyond those
provided by the federal law. As noted above, the only
reason that a state can escape liability in state court from
§ 1983 actions is because this Court has held that states
were not intended by Congress to be sued under the
statute. See Will, 491 U.S. at 64. “If the [Florida] District
Court of Appeal meant to hold that governmental entities
subject to [federal law] liability enjoy an immunity over
and above those already provided in [the federal law], that
holding directly violates federal law.” Howlett, 496 U.S.

10

defendants for the withholding of just compensation. Maine’s
refusal, therefore, to allow federal law actions under the FLSA
against state defendants is, as was the similar refusal in
Howlett, a “violat[ion of] the Supremacy Clause.” /d at 375.
State courts must apply federal law to the states unless a consti-
tutional or other legitimate doctrine bars such enforcement.

This Court’s decisions in Hilton, Hall, and Howlett thus
decisively reject the notion that, as the court below held, state
sovereign immunity has been incorporated into the
Constitution, either in the Eleventh Amendment or elsewhere,
in such a way as to bar suits against states under federal laws in
their own courts. The idea emerging instead from this Court’s
precedents and from the structure of the federal system is that
state sovereign immunity is a creation of state law, enforceable
only as permitted by the Supremacy Clause, and not a timeless
command that trumps federal substantive law or prevents its
enforcement. See Hail, 440 U.S. at 426 (finding that no federal
rule implicit in the Constitution requires adherence to state sov-
ereign immunity doctrine as it existed when the Constitution
was adopted); Howlett, 496 U.S. at 383 (“[I}ndividual States
may not exempt . . . persons from federal liability by relying on
their own common law heritage. . .. States would then be free
to nullify for their own people the legislative decisions that
Congress has made on behalf of all the People.”).

Under the Supremacy Clause, no state law can override
a federal statute passed pursuant to the Constitution. Neither
a state statute, nor the common law, nor even the state’s

at 375; see also id. at 379-80 (Florida court cannot reject
§ 1983 claim when it adjudicates other claims against state
entities, even if “for substantive policy reasons” it does not
hear all such claims).

Il

constitution can have such an effect. It does not matter how
important the inconsistent law in question might be to the state.
“(T]he relative importance to the State of its own law is not
material when there is a conflict with a valid federal law,’ for
‘any state law, however clearly within a State’s acknowledged
power, which interferes with or is contrary to federal law, must
yield."” Felder v. Casey, 487 U.S. 131, 138 (1988) (quoting
Free v. Bland, 369 U.S. 663, 666 (1962)).

States may, of course, waive their sovereign immunity
and consent, via statute or other legal device, to be sued in Weir
own courts. See Seminole, 517 U.S. at 65 (citing Parden v.
Terminal Ry. of Ala., 377 U.S. 184 (1964)). And since under
the Supremacy Clause a federal statute has the same effect in
State court as state law (including state constitutional law),
there is no reason why such a statute could not abrogate a
state’s power to assert immunity in its own courts just as a state
statute or constitutional amendment might. “Federal law is
enforceable in state courts because the Federal Constitution and
laws passed pursuant to it are as much laws in the states as are
laws passed by the state legislature.” Howlett, 496 U.S. at 367
(emphasis added) “The two together form one system of
jurisprudence, which constitutes the law of the land for the
State ...." Claflin v. Houseman, 93 U.S. 130, 137 (1876).
Obviously, given that the national and state governments are
distinct, there is the potential for inconsistencies in such a
system. That is what the Supremacy Clause resolves. Federal
law is supreme over inconsistent state law, including state laws

Of course, to ensure that Congress truly intended to
subject states to suit, such a statute must contain the necessary
“clear statement” of Congress's intent to do so. See Will, 491
U.S. at 65 (holding that whenever Congress “intends to alter the
‘usual constitutional balance between the States and the Federal

12

Government,’ it must make its intention to do so ‘unmistakably
clear in the language of the statute’”). But as noted above,
there is no doubt here that Congress made the necessary clear
statement. Mills, 118 F.3d at 42. Because Congress clearly
intended to subject states to suit under the FLSA, the FLSA is
just as much a part of state law as any state statute or
constitution, and it abrogates state sovereign immunity in
Maine’s courts just as would a Maine statute passed to the same
effect.

It matters not that Maine may object to being sued
under a federal statute. A state cannot resist enforcing federal
law in its courts simply because the law “is not in harmony
with the policy of the State.” Mondou, 223 U.S. at 57. This is
true whether the perceived conflict is over the substantive law
or over what the appropriate forum for a certain right is. See
Howlett, 496 U.S. at 375; see also Martinez v. California, 444
U.S. 277, 284 n.8 (1980) (quoting McLaughlin v. Tilendis, 398
F.2d 287, 290 (7th Cir. 1968)) (“A construction of the federal
statute which permitted a state immunity defense to have
controlling effect would transmute a basic guarantee into an
illusory promise; and the supremacy clause of the Constitution
insures that the proper construction may be enforced.”). As
long as Congress has the authority to subject states to liability
in a certain area, and makes its intent to do so clear in the
language of the statute, “the Supremacy Clause makes that
Statute the law in every State, fully enforceable in state court.”
Hilton, 502 U.S. at 207.

Finally, Hilton and Howlett are not inconsistent with
decisions holding that Congress cannot command state
legislatures or executive officers to enforce a federal regulatory
scheme. This Court has specifically limited its holdings in
such cases to lawmakers and executive officers, noting that
state judges are bound by the Supremacy Clause to apply

13

federal law. See Printz, 117 S. Ct. at 2371 (“It is understand-
able why courts should have been viewed distinctively in this
regard; unlike legislatures and executives, they applied the law
of other sovereigns all the time”); New York v. United States,
505 U.S. 144, 178 (1992) (“Federal statutes enforceable in state
courts do, in a sense, direct state judges to enforce them, but
this sort of federal ‘direction’ of state judges is mandated by the
text of the Supremacy Clause”); see also Printz, 117 S. Ct. at
2381 (noting that Federal Energy Regulatory Commission v.
Mississippi, 456 U.S. 742 (1982), “required state administrative
agencies to apply federal law while acting in a judicial
capacity”).

This Court should therefore hold that Maine cannot
assert a defense of sovereign immunity to enforcement of the
FLSA.

Il. THE ELEVENTH AMENDMENT Does NOT APPLY TO
SurTs AGAINST STATES IN STATE COURTS.

The court below failed to even consider the Supremacy
Clause, see Alden v. State, 715 A.2d 172, 177 (Me. 1998)
(Dana, J., dissenting), basing its decision instead entirely on the
Eleventh Amendment. As even that court admitted, however,
“the Eleventh Amendment is not directly applicable to state
courts.” /d. at 174 (quoting Moody v. Commissioner, Dep't of
Human Servs., 661 A.2d 156, 158 n.3 (Me. 1995)). The
holding below that the Eleventh Amendment reflects a broad
principle of reserved states’ rights that leaves Congress as
powerless to abrogate state sovereign immunity in state courts
as in federal courts, and the conclusion that to hold otherwise
would “effectively vitiate the Eleventh Amendment,” id. at 174-
75, are insupporiable.

14

A. The Eleventh Amendment restricts only federal
judicial power.

This Court has repeatedly held that the Eleventh
Amendment has no application to state courts, and has never
adopted the principle of symmetry between state sovereign
immunity in federal and state courts that the court below
viewed as controlling. The Eleventh Amendment restricts
only federal court jurisdiction under Article III, not state court
jurisdiction. “The Judicial power of the United States shall not
be construed to extend to any suit in law or equity, commenced
or prosecuted against one of the United States by Citizens of
another State, or by Citizens or Subjects of any Foreign State.”

Of course, it is true that this Court has stated that the
Eleventh Amendment embodies a broader principle than its
mere textual provisions. The Court has thus “understood the
Eleventh Amendment to stand not so much for what it says, but
for the presupposition . . . which it confirms.” Seminole Tribe
v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44, 54 (1996) (quoting Blatchford v.
Native Village of Noatak, 501 U.S. 775, 779 (1991)). Applying
this logic, the Court has held (without textual warrant) that
suits by citizens of a state against their own state under federal
question jurisdiction in a federal court have been held to be
barred under the Amendment. See Hans v. Louisiana, 134 U.S.
1, 13 (1890). But while there have been broad statements in
dicta to the effect that the Amendment stands for the principle
that “[ijt is inherent in the nature of sovereignty not to be
amenable to the suit of an individual without its consent,” id,

* See Alden, 715 A.2d at 174. Hilton explicitly rejected
such a theory. Although “not . . . inconsequential,” the rule
favoring symmetry can be overcome. Hilton, 502 U.S. at
206.

15

none of these statements control the result here or invalidate
Hilton or purport to overwhelm the Supremacy Clause.’

As this Court noted in Nevada v. Hall, cases such as
Hans, while “emphasiz[ing] the widespread acceptance of the
view that a sovereign State is never amenable to suit without its
consent,” all concerned the limits of federal court jurisdiction,
and do not answer questions relating to sovereign immunity in
state courts. See Hall, 440 U.S. at 420-21. Instead, this Court
has uniformly denied that the Eleventh Amendment provides
any guidance on the question of whether a state can assert
immunity from a federal action in state courts. “[A]s we have
stated on many occasions, ‘the Eleventh Amendment does not
apply in state courts.” Hilton, 502 U.S. 204-05; see also Will
v. Michigan Dep't of State Police, 491 U.S. 58, 63-64 (1989)
(“[T]Jhe Eleventh Amendment does not apply in state courts.”);
Maine v. Thiboutot, 448 U.S. 1, 9 n.7 (1980) (“No Eleventh
Amendment question is present, of course, where an action is
brought in a state court since the Amendment, by its terms,
restrains only ‘[t}he Judicial power of the United States.’”);
Hall, 440 U.S. at 420-21. The only issue posed by the Eleventh
Amendment is “the susceptibility of the States to suit before
federal tribunals”; the Amendment does not provide for “the
general immunity of the States from private suit.” Alascadero

* Respondent’s best argument based on this Court’s prior
opinions are based on four words in Hess v. Port Auth.
Trans-Hudson Corp., 513 U.S. 30, 39 (1994): “The
Eleventh Amendment largely shields States from suit in
federal court without their consent, leaving parties with
claims against a State to present them, if the State permits,
in the State’s own tribunals.” (Emphasis added.) These
four words of dicta are far too anorectic a basis to hold that
Hilton and Howlett have been implicitly overruled.

16

State Hosp. v. Scanlon, 473 U.S. 234, 240 n.2 (1985) (quoting
Employees v. Missouri Dep't of Pub. Health & Welfare, 411
U.S. 279, 293-94 (1983) (Marshall, J., concurring)). Consistent
with this view, the federal courts have assumed, in the case of
the FLSA, that a litigant barred by the Eleventh Amendment in
federal court could nevertheless sue in state court. See Aaron
v. Kansas, 115 F.3d 813, 817 (10th Cir. 1997); Wilson-Jones v.
Caviness, 99 F.3d 203, 211 (6th Cir. 1996). Indeed, this point
is so obvious that this Court has stated that “[i]t denigrates the
judges who serve on the state courts” to suggest that they will
fail to grasp it. Atascadero, 473 U.S. at 240 n.2.

Not every statement in a judicial opinion is a measured
demarcation of constitutional limits. For example, this Court
declared in Hans that “[i]t may be accepted as a point of
departure unquestioned . . . . that neither a State nor the United
States can be sued as defendant in any court in this country
without their consent” except under the Supreme Court’s
original jurisdiction. 134 U.S. at 17 (quoting Cunningham v.
Macon & Brunswick R.R., 109 U.S. 446, 451 (1883)). Yet this
Court has several times since allowed unwilling states to be
sued in various tribunals, all without overruling Hans. See,
e.g., California & State Lands Comm'n v. Deep Sea Research,
__ U.S. __, 118 S. Ct. 1464 (1998) (in rem admiralty case);
Hilton, 502 U.S. 197 (allowing suit under federal law in state
court); Hall, 440 U.S. 410 (allowing suit in another state’s
courts); Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 427 U.S. 445 (1976) (immunity
abrogated under Fourteenth Amendment); Parden v. Terminal
Ry. of Ala., 377 U.S. 184 (1964) (constructive waiver). And
while it may generally be true that, as this Court recently stated,
the Eleventh Amendment “serves to avoid ‘the indignity of
subjecting a State to the coercive process of judicial tribunals
at the instance of private parties,” Seminole, 517 U.S. at 58
(quoting Puerto Rico Aqueduct & Sewer Auth. v. Metcalf &
Eddy, Inc., 506 U.S. 139, 146 (1993)), the numerous cases

17

subjecting states to suit indicate that indignity avoidance is not
the paramount concern of our federal system.

If statements such as those cited above were given
literal effect, similar statements that the Fourteenth
Amendment “operated to alter the pre-existing balance between
state and federal power achieved by Article III and the Eleventh
Amendment,” Seminole, 517 U.S. at 65-66, could be interpreted
as granting unlimited power to the federal government. In fact,
neither principle is without limits, as this Court has consistently
recognized. See City of Boerne v. Flores, 521 U.S. 507 (1997).
The limits of state sovereign immunity lie in the text of the
Supremacy Clause and in this Court’s actual holdings, such as
those in Hilton, Howlett, and Hail, not in the dicta used in those
or other cases.

B. Seminole did not hold the Eleventh Amendment
effective in state courts or superior to the
Supremacy Clause.

Nothing in Seminole overruled this Court’s prior
holding in Hilton subjecting states “fully” to suit in state court
under federal law. Although this Court stated in Seminole, in
dicta, that the Eleventh Amendment derived from the
“background principle” of state sovereign immunity, Seminole,
517 U.S. at 72, Seminole’s holding was consistently limited to
“prohibit[ing] Congress from making the State of Florida
capable of being sued in federal court.” Jd. at 76; see also id.
at 54 (“For over a century we have reaffirmed that federal
jurisdiction over suits against unconsenting States “was not
contemplated by the Constitution when establishing the judicial
power of the United States.’”) (citing Hans, 134 U.S. at 15); id.
at 63 (“It [is] well established . . . that the Eleventh Amendment
[stands] for the constitutional principle that state sovereign
immunity limit[s} the federal courts’ jurisdiction under Article
III.”); id. at 64 (“The Eleventh Amendment restricts the judicial

18

power under Article III, and Article I cannot be used to
circumvent the constitutional limitations placed upon federal
jurisdiction.”); id. at 72 (referring to statements of Framers “the
most natural reading of which would preclude all federal
jurisdiction over an unconsenting State”).

Ill. BECAUSE MAINE’S REFUSAL TO AWARD IN STATE
COURT THE WAGES CONCEDEDLY REQUIRED BY
FEDERAL LAW WOULD VIOLATE THE DUE PROCESS
CLAUSE, CONGRESS MAY CONSTITUTIONALLY
SUBJECT MAINE TO SUIT IN STATE COURT FOR THOSE
WAGES FREE OF ANY SOVEREIGN IMMUNITY
DEFENSE.

Maine’s assertion of sovereign immunity as a defense
to Alden’s FLSA claim has resulted in a deprivation of Alden’s
property without due process of law, in violation of the
Fourteenth Amendment.

This Court has long held that where a state deprives an
individual of property in violation of federal law, and then fails
to offer a sufficient state court remedy, such a deprivation
violates the guarantees of the Fourteenth Amendment. For ex-
ample, “‘a denial by a state court of a recovery of taxes exacted
in violation of the laws or Constitution of the United States by
compulsion is . . . itself in contravention of the Fourteenth
Amendment,’ the sovereign immunity States traditionally enjoy
in their own courts notwithstanding.” Reich v. Collins, 513
U.S. 106, 109-10 (1994) (quoting Carpenter v. Shaw, 280 U.S.
363, 369 (1930)); see also McKesson Corp. v. Division of
Alcoholic Beverages & Tobacco, 496 U.S. 18, 31 (1990)
(collection of tax without state law remedy is violation of
Fourteenth Amendment); Ward v. Board of County Comm'rs,
253 U.S. 17, 24 (1920) (same).

19

Reich v. Collins involved a taxpayer who sought
recovery of income taxes collected by the State of Georgia in
violation of federal law. In Reich, as here (and as would be the
case if Congress were eventually forced by adverse decision in
Chavez to grant state courts jurisdiction over copyright
infringement actions against state infringers), the claimant was
barred from federal court because of the state’s Eleventh
Amendment defense. See Reich, 513 U.S. at 110. This Court
unanimously reversed the decision of the Georgia Supreme
Court and remanded the case for “meaningful” retrospective
relief, notwithstanding any assertion of state sovereign
immunity. See id. at 109-10, 114. Sovereign immunity is
likewise no bar to an action for compensation for a taking
under the Fifth Amendment. See First English Evangelical
Lutheran Church v. County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304, 316
n.9 (1987).

Maine’s refusal to pay for overtime required by federal
law is not distinguishable from Georgia’s refusal to pay a tax
refund required by federal law. In either case, a state has
wrongfully deprived a plaintiff of property without remedy, and
therefore without due process. Depriving persons of any
effective remedy whatever for undoubted violations of law is
the most serious kind of violation of the rule of law, as the
Court’s unanimous ruling in Reich v. Collins makes clear. See
also Florida Dep't of State v. Treasure Salvors, Inc., 458 U.S.
670, 697 (1982) (“If the Constitution provided no protection
against such unbridled authority, all property rights would exist
only at the whim of the sovereign”).

While Reich and First English Evangelical Lutheran
Church appear to provide authority for insisting that Maine’s
courts create for Alden and those similarly situated a cause of
action and a remedy, none is needed here. Under the
circumstances, the evident due process violation created by

“

20

recognition of state sovereign immunity in state court from the
petitioners’ suit for recovery of their withheld overtime
payments makes plain that the remedy chosen by Congress is
within Congress’s power under section 5 of the Fourteenth
Amendment (the “Enforcement Clause”), which gives Congress
the power to enforce, by “appropriate legislation,” the
prohibition against state deprivation of property without due
process of law. Where, as in the FLSA, such legislation does
not attempt to expand the scope of any substantive
constitutional rule or otherwise encroach on state authority, but
only ensures the very judicial remedy, in the state’s own courts,
that the Constitution requires (namely restoration of the
property interest of which the state has wrongfully and without
due process deprived the plaintiff), it is “appropriate” and well
within congressional power. See, e.g., City of Boerne v. Flores,
521 U.S. 507 (1997); Katzenbach v. Morgan, 384 U.S. 641
(1966).

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Maine Supreme Judicial Court
should be reversed.

Respectfully Submitted.

Charles S. Sims
Counsel of Record

Bruce E. Boyden
Proskauer Rose LLP

1585 Broadway
New York, NY 10036
(212) 969-3950

ay ee

PETE SPE ese ee Dt

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0232%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
