# Reply Brief — Alden v. Maine

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0232%3A04

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 527 U.S. 706

## Text

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE REME COURT, U.S.

Supreme Court of the Wn

OCTOBER TERM, 1998

JouHN H. ALDEN, et al.,

” Petitioners,

STATE OF MAINE,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Maine Supreme Judicial Court

REPLY BRIEF FOR PETITIONERS

JONATHAN P. HIATT
LARRY ENGELSTEIN

816 16th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

DONALD F.. FONTAINE
482 Congress Street
Portland, Maine 04112

TImMoTHY L. BELCHER

65 State Street
Of Counsel: Augusta, Maine 04332
DAVID L. SHAPIRO LAURENCE GOLD *
1575 Massachusetts Ave. 1900 Connecticut Ave., N.W.
Cambridge, MA 03138 Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 833-9340
* Counsel of Record

WILSON - Eres PRINTING Co.,. INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

@ “EIT

EAA SA aks >

fa®.*
ee

REPLY BRIEF FOR PETITIONERS

2

that issue is squarely and directly presented by the con-
flicting decisions of the Maine Court and the Arkansas
Court. There is simply nothing to be gained in the in-
terest of informed and reasoned decisionmaking in this
Court that justifies a period of additional litigation in the
state courts without any authoritative guidance.

2. As we noted in our petition, these jurisdictional
papers do not present the proper occasion for a full-dress
consideration of the questions presented here on the merits
—that occasion is the briefs on the merits and the oral
argument. Given respondent’s presentation, however, we
do think it appropriate to meet the brief in opposition
on three of its points.

a. The brief in opposition (at pp. 6-10) attempts to
create the impression that the Eleventh Amendment, and
this Court’s Eleventh Amendment cases upholding state
sovereign immunity in the federal courts, govern here.
But this Court has affirmed, and reaffirmed, that the Elev-
enth Amendment does not apply to state court proceed-
ings and thus does not provide the State an immunity
from suit in the state courts. See Pet. 6, 8-11 (collecting
cases).

b. The brief in opposition (at p. 7 n.3) marshalls a
set of quotations from the Court’s Eleventh Amendment
cases in order to suggest that the Court has recognized
a general state immunity in private-party state-court fed-
eral-law cases absent the State’s consent. Those quota-
tions—each of which is taken out of context—do not
support that broad proposition. Indeed, the square con-
trary holding of Nevada v. Hall, 440 U.S. 410 (1979),
belies respondent’s submission in this regard.

c. The brief in opposition’s reliance (at pp. 15-17) on
Printz v. United States, 117 S. Ct. 2365 (1997) and its
predecessor “commandeering” Tenth Amendment cases is
wholly misplaced. In Printz, and in its predecessors, this

gards, id., thereby giving added weight to our submission that this
matter is ripe for review.

3

Court was at pains to distinguish between the situations
there at hand and the special role and responsibility of
the state courts under the Supremacy Clause in the en-
forcement of federal law. See, e.g., 117 S. Ct. at 2370-
2371, 2381.

IL

Respondent’s argument (Br. in Opp. 19-22) that the
certiorari petition’s second question presented—whether
Maine can close its courts to employee federal statutory
wage claims against the State where analogous state statu-
tory claims are justiciable—was not considered by the
Maine Supreme Judicial Court flies in the face of the
record and the Maine Court’s decision.

The discrimination argument was fully presented; in-
deed one of the “issues presented for review” to the Maine
Court was whether “the Supremacy Clause of the United
States Constitution [is] violated when a state court bars
a federal FLSA action against the state for overtime pay
while simultaneously permitting similar suits based on
state law.” Appellants Br. at 3. And, a full seven pages
of our principal brief to the Maine Court was in support
of the contention that “the state may not discriminate
against federal causes of action.” Appellants Br. at 14-21.
Eight pages of our’reply brief, in turn, were in support of
the argument that “the Supremacy Clause prohibits dis-
crimination by a state court against federal causes of
action that are analogous to justiciable state cases.” Ap-
pellants Reply Br. at 4-13.

The Maine Court, moreover, never even suggested that
the discrimination argument was not properly presented.
To the contrary, the court below confronted the argu-
ment directly (though choosing to misphrase our discrim-
ination contention as one of “waiver”) and in so doing,
rejected our position on the merits (and not on any of
the procedural grounds tendered by the State of Maine).
The Maine Court's ruling, set out in the last section of
its opinion (dealing with our “alternative” argument),
was that Maine state law does not create a cause of action
against the State on the particular matter in controversy

4

(overtime pay) and thus that there was no “waiver” (viz.,

no discrimination ). See Pet. App. 6a-7a.
Contrary to respondent (Br. in Opp. 22), this ques-

tion—what constitutes discrimination against a federal

as a matter of federal law,
iner

owing—is in itself a federal issue.

The brief in opposition’s attempt (at p. 23 n.11) to
push Howlett v. Rose to one side is misleading. Howlett
is devoted in substantial part to a detailed elaboration of
the State’s discrimination against federal (as opposed to
state) claims in its courts. 496 U.S. at 378-380. And,

this Court from Mondou v. New York, 223 US. 1

(1912), through Testa v. Katt, 330 U.S. 386 (1947),
and on to Howlett.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated in the certiorari petition and in
this reply brief the petition should be granted.

*)

Of Counsel:

DAVID L. SHAPIRO

1575 Massachusetts Ave.
Cambridge, MA 03138

5
Respectfully submitted,

JONATHAN P. HIATT
LARRY ENGELSTEIN

816 16th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

DONALD F. FONTAINE
482 Congress Street
Portland, Maine 04112

TrmorTuy L. BELCHER

65 State Street

Augusta, Maine 04332
LAURENCE GOLD *

1000 Connecticut Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 833-9340

* Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0232%3A04. Public record. Not legal advice.
