# Amicus Curiae Brief — Kolstad v. American Dental Assn.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0217%3A17

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 527 U.S. 526

## Text

No. 98-208

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1998

CAROLE KOLSTAD,
Petitioner,

Vv.

AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION,
Respondent. _

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
SOCIETY FOR HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

D. GREGORY VALENZA
Counsel of Record
ROGER S. KAPLAN
MICHAEL J. LOTITO
NANCY L. O’ NEILL
JACKSON, LEWIS,
SCHNITZLER & KRUPMAN
525 Market St. Ste. 3400
San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 394-9400
Counsel for Amicus

No. 98-208

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1998

CAROLE KOLSTAD.
Petitioner,

AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION,
Respondent

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
lO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT
BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
SOCIETY FOR HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

D. GREGORY VALENZA
Counsel of Record
ROGER S. KAPLAN
MICHAEL J. LOTITO
NANCY L. O'NEILL
JACKSON, LEWIS,
SCHNITZLER & KRUPMAN
525 Market St. Ste. 3400
San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 394-9400
Counsel for Amicus

TABLE OF CONTENTS

pe Gs ys ee ili
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ..............0..00055 l
SUMEMARY GP ARGUMENT 20... ccc ccc cc cc cecccccces 2
POLL. ch abuebaehedudducvccccccescccaccece 4

A. FOR THE REASONS STATED BY RESPONDENT,
THE COURT OF APPEALS’S STANDARD FOR
IMPOSING PUNITIVE DAMAGES UNDER 42 U.S.C.
§ 1981a IS CONSISTENT WITH THE STATUTORY
LANGUAGE AND CONGRESS’S STATUTORY
SE CUS SO EU USE SK 65d Coda dee siccwccccccecs 4

B. THE LOW THRESHOLD FOR IMPOSITION OF
PUNITIVE DAMAGES ADVOCATED BY
PETITIONER AND HER AMIC/ WILL PROMOTE
THE FILING OF MERITLESS OR AVOIDABLE
EMPLOYMENT DISCRIMINATION LITIGATION IN
Cy oueviobccksscsccvescsedecvctes 5

l. The Number of Employment Discrimination
Claims Filed in Federal Court and Before the
EEOC Has Increased Dramatically Since
Congress Passed 42 U.S.C. § 1981a As Part of the
occ aeecadgncsees 5

2. The Low Standard Courts Apply to Deny
Employers’ Motions for Summary Judgment in
Title VII Cases Provides a Further Basis for
Affirming the Court of Appeals. ............ 7

C. EMPLOYERS ACTING REASONABLY AND IN
GOOD FAITH TO PREVENT AND REMEDY
DISCRIMINATION WITHOUT COURT
INTERVENTION SHOULD BE INSULATED FROM

LIABILITY FOR PUNITi¥:: DAMAGES. ........ 11
l. The “Safe Harbor” Is Consistent with Title VII

am G3 UB. O TRED cc cccccccccsccsices 12
2. A “Safe Harbor” Is Consistent with

Other Laws Imposing Penalties on

Employers and Companies ................ 15

3. Employers May Choose from a Wide Variety of
Resources and Options for Making Reasonable
Efforts to Discharge Their Obligations
Under Title VII to Prevent Employment

NS on hd estes howe 17
ee FC ene ee eee ee 20
BE oo ce cnctnccedeesceduiiadiia shales A

CASES

U.S. Supreme Court

Burlington Indus. v. Ellerth,
___US.__, 118 S. Ct. 2257(1998)........... 15, 16

City of Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc.,
DS OG bind dcdeccccecccccescctus 4

Faragher v. City of Boca Raton,
moe: ese OB eee passim

Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc.,
I oe te ee aT 4

Meritor Savings Bank v. Vinson,
See es ena dwcccdovanbecnees ebnbhon 12

Oncale v. Sundowner Offshore Sves., Inc.,
ED ILL NTL OTE 10

St. Mary’s Honor Ctr. v. Hicks,
ES bike en oun dks US bbeecanencet 7

Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Thurston,
LENS i at ae ne eo 13

United Air Lines v. Evans,
Co ee ee 6

U.S.C ¢ Appeals and District C

Aka v. Washington Hosp. Ctr.,
156 F.3d 1284 (D.C. Cir. 1998) (en banc) ........... x

iv
Barbous v. Merrill,
48 F.3d 1270 (D.C. Cir. 1995)... 2.0... ee eee eee 10
Beaird v. Seagate Technology, Inc.,
145 F.3d 1159 (10th Cir.),
cert.denied, US. ,119S.Ct.617(1998)...... &

Combs v. Plantation Patterns,
106 F.3d 1519 (1 1th Cir. 1997),
cert.denied, US. ,118S. Ct. 685(1998)...... &

Fisher v. Vassar College,
114 F.3d 1332 (2d Cir. 1997) (en banc),
cert.denied, US. _,118S. Ct. 1341 (1998)..... 8

Kolstad v. American Dental Ass'n,
139 F.3d 958 (D.C. Cir. 1998) (en banc),
cert. granted, US. _,119S. Ct. 401 (1998) .... 10

Kolstad v. American Dental Ass’n,
912 F. Supp. 13 (D.D.C. 1996),
aff'd in part and rev'd in part, 108 F.3d 1431 (D.C. Cir.
1997), rev'd, 139 F.3d 958 (D.C. Cir. 1998) (en banc),
cert. granted, US. .119S. Ct. 401(1998) .... 10

P. Gioioso & Sons, Inc. v. Secretary of Labor,
OEd Fe a BEE wc rcdenactiesenete ven 17

Rhodes v. Guiberson Tools,
75 F.3d 989 (Sth Cir. 1996) (en banc) .............. s

Sheridan v. E.1. DuPont de Nemour & Co.,
100 F.3d 1061 (3d Cir. 1996) (en banc),
cert.denied, US. ,117S. Ct. 2532 (1997) s

v

Weisbrot v. Medical College of Wisconsin,
i A | ol oe, yey 8

Woods v. Friction Materials, Inc.,
pee Teer rrr Ty rT s

STATUTES, REGULATIONS, AND RULES

Civil Rig! £1964 led
42 U.S.C. § 20006¢ et seq. (1994)... 2.0... cece eee passim
Es ene de dk se ndecidhumaieddial 6
I I cs tenses kknrcdietavecenanes 8
a oo cccemndabdihskekwane tel 6
-ivil Rights Act of 199!

EE oe TE kv ban ns} dice dad cinpeeies passim
Occupational Safety & Health Act
I an donne wes tcapscdssaceses 16
le i te a el a 16
Federal Sentencing Guidelines Manual (1998) ......... 15, 16
Supreme Court Rule 37.3(a) .......... 06. -0eceeeeeeeees I
i i EN IES Ne aE a 2
LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

137 Cong. Rec. H9536 (daily ed. Nov. 7, 1991) (statement of
Rep. Sensenbrenner)

vi

137 Cong. Rec. $15479 (daily ed. Oct. 20, 1991) (statement of
Sen. Bumpers)

IREATISES, ARTICLES AND OTHER PUBLICATIONS
| R. Ben Hogan, et al., Occupational Safety and Health Act,
ee ee 4 ee SO rey rrr yrs 17

Administrative Office of the Courts, Judicial Business of the
Se OD 0 0 6.0:d be ece odbhbea a celedbehn ad kas 5

Edward S. Rapier, Jr., Corporations: The Federal Sentencing
Guidelines for Organizations: How They Affect A Civil Practice,
GRA Bids A SUED povns bdc0 dks rhe deeecee 16

Stephanie Reynolds, Managing Conflict Through a Team
Intervention and Training Strategy, Employee Relations Today,
WN GE Sedncvecécdds bus essen deed bedesebieedkes 9

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Comm'n, Charge Statistics
FY 1991 Through FY 1997 (visited Jan. 10, 1999)
ettp//www 20S. Gowleatal> nn ccc ccc cccccccceceseces 6

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Comm'n, Task Force
Report on “Best” Equal Employment Opportunity Policies,
Programs, and Practices in the Private Sector (1998) ....... 18

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Comm'n, Enforcement
Guidance: Compensatory and Punitive Damages Available Under
§ 102 of the Civil Rights Act of 1991 (1992) ............. 14

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1998

CAROLE KOLSTAD,
Petitioner,

v.

AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION,
Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
SOCIETY FOR HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE
The Society for Human Resource Management (“SHRM”)
submits this brief in support of Respondent American Dental
Association.” Beginning 1999 with 113,000 professional members,

L Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.3(a), amicus
files this brief with the consent of the parties. Evidence of consent
is filed concurrently with this brief. Amicus discloses pursuant to

x %

from all 50 states and 80 other countries, SHRM is the leading
voice of the human resource profession. SHRM’s mission is to lead,
represent, guide, and inform human resource practitioners and
others interested in human resource issues regarding matters of
critical and strategic importance to the workplace.

SHRM’s members, on a daily basis, apply the myriad
employment laws governing the workplace. However this Court
ultimately decides the issue presented here, SHRM members,
probably more than any other association of professionals, will be
responsible for assessing its impact and designing and
implementing whatever human resource programs and policies are
appropriate as a result.

SHRM presented testimony before the Senate during the
legislative debates on the Civil Rights Act of 1991. SHRM
regularly provides the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
with formal comment on regulatory issues as well as informal
advice and assistance when requested.

SHRM welcomes the opportunity to file this brief to assist
the Court’s understanding of the enormous practical effect its
decision will have on the workplace. SHRM hopes this Court will
adopt a rule of law that will encourage employers to initiate and
maintain positive and fair employment practices, furthering the
purposes underlying Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The decision of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of
Columbia Circuit should be affirmed. The imposition of punitive

Supreme Court Rule 37.6 that no counsel for a party authored any
part of this brief, nor did any person or entity other than amicus
curiae, its members, or its counsel make a monetary contribution to
the preparation or submission of this brief.

wTiey eee

-3-

damages should be limited to cases in which the employer must be
punished for egregious conduct. As the court of appeals correctly
recognized, a finding that an employment decision more likely than
not was based on an illegal criterion, without more, is an
insufficient basis for imposing a substantial fine upon an employer.
As Respondent argues, the court of appeals’s view is consistent
with the punitive damages statute, Congress’s intent, and decisions
of other courts.

SHRM urges this Court to fashion a rule regarding punitive
damages consistent with its recent, practical decisions in Title VII
cases. Last Term, this Court recognized that the statutory policy of
Title VII is best served if employers are recognized for their efforts
to discharge their obligations under the statute. In the Faragher v.
City of Boca Raton and Burlington Industries v. Ellerth decisions,
the Court created a “safe harbor” from liability in sexual
harassment claims for employers that act responsibly to fulfill their
obligations under Title VII.

This Court should extend to this case the approach to Title
VII taken in Faragher and Ellerth, by providing employers a safe
harbor from liability for punitive damages. When an employer
demonstrates its reasonable and good faith commitment to
preventing discrimination, and to remedying discrimination should
it occur, the employer should not be held liable for punitive
damages as a matter of law, even if a jury concludes a particular
decision was based on an illegal criterion. Such a rule is consistent
with the letter and spirit of the law, as an employer that takes such
measures cannot be charged with “egregious conduct,” “malice,” or
“reckless indifference” to federally protected rights. This rule also
will encourage employers to prevent employment discrimination
and foster early, informal dispute resolution without the need for
the courts’ involvement.

A. FOR THE REASONS STATED BY RESPONDENT,
THE COURT OF APPEALS’S STANDARD FOR
IMPOSING PUNITIVE DAMAGES UNDER 42 U.S.C.
§ 1981a IS CONSISTENT WITH THE STATUTORY
LANGUAGE AND CONGRESS’S STATUTORY
INTENT

SHRM will not burden this Court with duplicative analysis
already supplied by Respondent and other amici supporting
affirmance. SHRM strongly believes Congress did not intend to
subject employers to liability for punitive damages in every case
where intentional discrimination is established. This result would
obtain if Petitioner’s position were adopted.

This Court’s jurisprudence is clear and consistent: punitive
damages are “private fines levied by civil juries to punish
reprehensible conduct and to deter its future occurrence.” Gertz v.
Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323, 350 (1974) (emphasis added);
see also City of Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. 247, 266-
67 (1981) (punitive damages are “intended to punish the tortfeasor
whose wrongful action was intentional or malicious, and to deter
him and others from similar extreme conduct”) (emphasis added).
Respondent’s argument is consistent with this Court’s sound views
regarding the extraordinary remedy of punitive damages. Therefore,
SHRM endorses the arguments advanced by Respondent in favor
of affirming the court of appeals.

ian Lee

a. +

B. THE LOW THRESHOLD FOR IMPOSITION OF
PUNITIVE DAMAGES ADVOCATED_ BY
PETITIONER AND HER AMICI WILL PROMOTE
THE FILING OF MERITLESS OR AVOIDABLE
EMPLOYMENT DISCRIMINATION LITIGATION
IN FEDERAL COURT

1. The Number of Employment Discrimination
Claims Filed in Federal Court and Before the
EEOC Has Increased Dramatically Since
Congress Passed 42 U.S.C. § 1981a As Part of the
Civil Rights Act of 1991

Members of the House and Senators who were critical of the
compensatory and punitive damages provisions in the Civil Rights
Act of 1991 * feared Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 +
would be turned into a general workplace tort law, resulting in a
“bonanza” for attorneys. See, e.g., 137 Cong. Rec. H9536 (daily ed.
Nov. 7, 1991) (statement of Rep. Sensenbrenner). Their nightmares
unfortunately have come true.

Employment discrimination claims are the most common
type of case filed in federal courts, with the exception of criminal
and prisoner-related cases. See Administrative Office of the Courts,
Judicial Business of the U.S. Courts, tbl. C-2A (1998). The number
of employment discrimination claims filed in federal court has
exploded since the passage of CRA 1991. Thus, for the 12-month
period ending September 30, 1993, there were 12,962 employment
discrimination cases filed. For the same period ending in 1997, the

- Civil Rights Act of 1991, Pub. L. No. 102-1066, 105
Stat. 1072 (codified as amended in scattered sections of 42 U.S.C.)
(hereinafter “CRA 1991").

4 Civil Rights Act of 1964, tit. VII, 78 Stat. 253, as
amended, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e et seq. (1994 & Supp. Il 1996)
(hereinafter “Title VII”).

-6- =
number had soared to 23,796. See id.

There is no sign that the number of employment
discrimination filings will be abated in the foreseeable future. The
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission reports the number of
administrative charges filed under Title VII increased from 49,584
in fiscal year 1991 to 58,615 in fiscal year 1997. In addition,
charges filed under the Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C.
§ 12101 ef seg. (1994), the vast majority of which allege disparate
treatment rather than failure to accommodate, increased from
15,274 in fiscal year 1993 to 18,108 in fiscal year 1997. See U.S
Equal Employment Opportunity Comm'n, Charge Statistics FY
1991 Through FY 1997 (visited Jan. 10, 1999)
. These filings are a harbinger of a
continued increase in employment discrimination lawsuits. *

If, as urged by Petitioner and her amici, this Court holds
punitive damages may be assessed in a jury's discretion upon any
intentional * violation of Title VII, the number of filings is sure to
continue increasing. The resulting increase in litigation not only
will further burden the federal courts’ dockets, but also the
countless small and medium-sized employers that are subject to
Title VII jurisdiction. *

Put simply, employers of limited resources, facing exposure
1o punitive damages, will pay money out of fear to settle meritless

- The filing of an administrative complaint or
“charge” with the EEOC is a condition precedent to filing a civil
action under Title VII. See 42 U.S.C.§ 2000e-5(f)(1) (1994);
United Air Lines v. Evans, 431 U.S. 553, 555 n.4 (1977).

‘ See infra, n.7.

& Employers of more than fifleen employees are
covered “employers” under Title VII. See 42 U.S.C. § 2000e(b)
(1994).

-7-

cases. As Senator Dale Bumpers, a Democrat who negotiated the
passage of CRA 1991, explained candidly:

I confess that as a country lawyer, | filed lawsuits
that did not have an awful lot of merit but that |
knew had settlement value. Any honest trial lawyer
worth his salt will tell you he has done that. . . . And
I can only tell you that as a small businessman . . . a
lawsuit againsts [sic] me for $50,000 in punitive
damages would have made me go ballistic because
I did not have $50,000 nor any place to lay my
hands on such a sum.

137 Cong. Rec. $15479 (daily ed. Oct. 20, 1991) (statement of Sen.
Bumpers).

Senator Bumpers supported passage of CRA 1991 because
he understood plaintiffs would have to sustain “a heavy burden” to
obtain punitive damages. /d. If Petitioner’s argument carries the
day, this Court will have considerably lightened the plaintiffs’
burden by increasing their leverage.

2. The Low Standard Courts Apply to Deny
Employers’ Motions for Summary Judgment in
Title VII Cases Provides a Further Basis for
Affirming the Court of Appeals

In tandem with the minimal standard several of the circuit
courts apply to motions for summary judgment, the rule advocated
by Petitioner wili result in substantial hardship to employers. As
discussed below, employees easily can evade summary judgment
regarding both liability and punitive damages even in the absence
of proof of unlawful intent to discriminate in violation of Title VII.

The plaintiff in a Title VU lawsuit ultimately must prove
intentional discrimination. See St. Mary's Honor Ctr. v. Hicks, 509

U.S. 502, 507 (1993). ” At present, however, it is possible for an
employee to defeat an employer’s motion for summary judgment
without raising a triable issue of fact regarding intent to unlawfully
discriminate. Rather, to defeat the motion, the plaintiff simply must
establish: (1) he or she was part of a protected class (2) there was
an adverse employment decision (3) he or she was otherwise
qualified (4) the position was filled by a person not in a protected
class (the prima facie case of discrimination), plus (5) the
employer's articulated legitimate reason for making the decision
was unworthy of belief. #

+ It should be noted that establishing “intentional”
discrimination itself does not impose a heavy burden upon
plaintiffs. Employment decisions such as termination of
employment or failure to hire inherently are “intentional.” To prove
intentional discrimination the employee must show a discriminatory
motive merely was a “motivating factor” behind the employment
decision, “even though other factors motivated the decision.” 42
U.S.C. § 2000e-2(m) (1994). Thus, unlawful motivation need not
be the only reason for the decision, nor must the employee prove
the decision would not have occurred “but for” the protected
classification. See id.

& See Aka v. Washington Hosp. Ctr., 156 F.3d 1284,
1289-90 (D.C. Cir. 1998); Beaird v. Seagate Tech., Inc., 145 F.3d
1159 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, U.S.__, 119 S. Ct. 617 (1998).
Combs v. Plantation Patterns, 106 F.3d 1519, 1532 (11th Cir,
1997), cert. denied, _U.S.__, 118 S. Ct. 685 (1998); Sheridan
v. E.l DuPont de Nemour & Co., 100 F.3d 1061, 1067 (3d Cir,
1996) (en banc), cert. denied, U.S. ___, 117 S. Ct. 2532 (1997).
Weisbrot v. Medical College of Wisconsin, 79 F.3d 677, 682 n.5
(7th Cir. 1996). But see Fisher v. Vassar Comege. 114 F.3d 1332
(2d Cir. 1997) (en banc), cert. denied, U.S. - , 1188. Ct. 134]
(1998); Rhodes v. Guiberson Tools, 75 F.3d 989 (5 Cth Cir. 1996) (en
banc), Woods v. Friction Materials, Inc., 30 ¥ 3d 255 (ist Cir.
1994).

-9-

Put another way, if an employer does not provide the full
and complete reason for employment action taken against an
employee or applicant, its motion for summary judgment likely will
be denied. Thus, a plaintiff may defeat a motion for summary
judgment even in the absence of proof that the real reason for the
decision was intentional unlawful discrimination.

In a perfect world, it certainly could be argued that
employers always should provide applicants and employees with
complete reasons for their employment decisions. But an employer
may not have been completely candid with an employee or
applicant for a host of reasons having nothing to do with Title VII,
e.g., to avoid hurting the applicant’s or employee’s feelings or to
avoid an unpleasant conflict.” Yet, under Petitioner’s construction
of 42 U.S.C § 1981a (1994), the employer that tries to avoid, for
example, arguments over the employee's performance not only will
lose a motion for summary judgment on liability for unlawful
discrimination, but also the jury will be permitted to consider
awarding punitive damages.

Seer ene peareae an cemenple ef Ga Cove coemane.
The district court stated:

While the evidence may have been sufficient to
have convinced the jury that Kolstad’s candidacy for
the position [at issue] was treated cavalierly, and
[the male] given a preference from the start, it is
insufficient to prove to the Court’s satisfaction that
her sex or his more likely than not had anything to
do with her rejection.

2 “Managers, like most U.S. workers, are extremely
averse to conflict and will avoid addressing it until it reaches the
point of a crisis.” Stephanie Reynolds, Managing Conflict Through
a Team Intervention and Training Strategy, Employee Rel. Today,
Winter 1998, at 57.

-10-

Kolstad v. American Dental Ass'n, 912 F. Supp. 13, 15 (D.D.C.
1996), aff'd in part and rev'd in part, 108 F.3d 1431 (D.C. Cir.
1997), rev'd, 139 F.3d 958 (D.C. Cir. 1998) (en banc), cert.
granted, US. _, 1198S. Ct. 401 (1998). The district court
would have granted a motion for a directed verdict had it not
considered itself bound by Barbous v. Merrill, 48 F.3d 1270, 1277
(D.C. Cir. 1995) (permitting the jury to infer unlawful
discrimination solely from the rejection of an employer's legitimate
business reason as pretextual).

Thus, Petitioner seeks punitive damages for what the district
court perceived amounted to, at most, arbitrary (but lawful)
conduct, rather than unlawful discrimination. As a practical matter,
the “reckless indifference” standard advocated by Petitioner
imposes on plaintiffs no burden other than proving an employment
decision was based on intentional discrimination.

As the dissent below candidly recognized, Title VII and its
“prohibition against discrimination are well known to employers.”
Kolstad v. American Dental Ass'n, 139 F.3d 958, 973 (D.C. Cir.
1998) (en banc) (Tatel, J., dissenting). The EEOC recognizes, “[i}n
many cases, the evidence that establishes liability will also establish
malice or reckless indifference.” (Brief of Amicus Curiae EEOC at
10 0.5.)

, If punitive damages liability may attach to every decision

that has negative consequences for an employee in a protected class,
sound employer decisionmaking will be significantly inhibited.
Every employee is in a classification protected by Title VII As
stated, every promotion, layoff, and termination decision is an

ie For example, all parties and amici likely would
stipulate every employee is of the male or female sex and, therefore,
is protected under Title VII from discrimination based on sex. See
Oncale v. Sundowner Offshore Sves., Inc.,523 U.S. 75, 118 S. Ct
998, 1002-03 (1998).

intentional decision that can give rise to liability for punitive
damages. “ The mere fact that the offending decision is made by a
person generally aware of laws against discrimination should not be
sufficient to provide plaintiff lawyers with the ultimate litigation
weapon: settlement leverage in the form of this argument: “You
never kmiww what a jury will do with the puniti.e damages claim.”
As stated, a jury most likely will never consider the merits of the
dispute, as employers will be bullied into settlement of all but the
most frivolous claims.

Cc. EMPLOYERS ACTING REASONABLY AND IN
GOOD FAITH TO PREVENT AND REMEDY
DISCRIMINATION WITHOUT COURT
INTERVENTION SHOULD BE INSULATED FROM
LIABILITY FOR PUNITIVE DAMAGES

Last Term, this Court observed in Faragher v. City of Boca
Raton, _U.S. __, 118 S. Ct. 2275 (1998):

It would . . . implement clear statutory policy and
complement the Government’s Title VII

enforcement efforts to recognize the employer's
affirmative obligation to prevent violations [of Title
VII] and give credit here to employers who make
reasonable efforts to discharge their duty.

118 S. Ct. at 2292. See also Burlington Indus. v. Ellerth, __
U.S. , 118 S. Ct. 2257, 2270 (1998).

SHRM urges this Court to hold in the instant case that
employers may avoid liability for punitive damages if they take
reasonable steps to prevent discrimination and provide avenues for

u See supra, 0.7.

-12-

redress of perceived wrongs. “ Such employers plainly do not act
with “malice” or with “reckless indifference” to federally protected
rights, even if a jury concludes that a particular decision was based
on a criterion illegal under Title VII.

A “safe harbor” in which employers may take refuge from
punitive damages liability is consistent with Title VII and 42 U.S.C.
§ 1981a, regardless of whether this Court affirms or reverses the
decision of the court below. Giving employers credit for their good
faith efforts to comply with the law, by reducing the penalties that
may be assessed, also is consistent with other federal laws

punishing employers and corporations.
1. The “Safe Harbor” Is Consistent with Title VII

and 42 U.S.C. § 1981a

Title VII is a “statute meant to influence primary conduct.”
Faragher, __U.S. at___, 118 S. Ct. at 2292. It is intended to
“avoid harm,” and not “to provide redress” to plaintiffs. /d. See also
Ellerth, _U.S. at___, 118 S. Ct. at 2270 (noting Congress's
intention “to promote conciliation rather than litigation in the Title
VII context”). SHRM’s proposal is consistent with Title VII's goal
to avoid harm. The best way to avoid discriminaiion is io prevent

Le While Faragher was a case involving sexual

harassment under Title VII, sexual harassment is “but a form of

employment discrimination.” Ellerth, US.at_— ,118S.Ct at
2275 (Thomas, J., dissenting). See Meritor Savings Bank v. Vinson,
477 U.S. 57, 64-66 (1986). There is no reason to treat harassment
based on sex differently from other forms of prohibited
discrimination in the terms and conditions of employment.

-13-

its occurrence. The safe harbor rewards employers that take
preventive measures. “

The safe harbor proposal also is consistent with 42 U.S.C.
§ 198la. An employer with a policy against discrimination and
proof that it is enforced is diligently respectful of Title VII, not
“recklessly indifferent,” much less guilty of “malice” or “egregious
conduct.” The dissent below agrees with this point of view:

An employer could thus argue that even though it
had been found liable for the discriminatory acts of
an employee and ordered to pay compensatory
damages to the victim, it should not have to pay
punitive damages, because it had undertaken good
faith efforts to comply with Title Vil—for example,
by hiring staff and managers sensitive to Title VII
responsibilities, by requiring effective EEO training,
or by developing and using objective hiring and
promotion standards—thereby demonstrating that it
never acted in reckless disregard of federally
protected rights.

Kolstad, 139 F.3d at 974 (Tatel, J., dissenting).

Petitioner and some of her amici (including the EEOC)
recognize the employer’s good faith is relevant to the punitive
damages inquiry. Arguing this Court’s decision in Trans World
Airlines, Inc. v. Thurston, 469 U.S. 111, 130 (1985), supplies the
correct analysis of the punitive damages standard, Petitioner states
the employer in Thurston was not guilty of “reckless disregard”

a While, as Petitioner and her amici argue, the
prospect of punitive damages also may provide an incentive for
employers to take the same preventive measures, they also provide
incentive for employees and their attorneys to pursue frivolous
claims.

-|4-

because it “had consulted with counsel about its legal obligations
and, at worst, had simply overlooked the challenged aspect of its
practices.” (Pet. Brief at 19.) The employer's good faith
conduct—obtaining legal advice—insulated it from liability.

Interpreting 42 U.S.C. § 198la, the EEOC stated the
following issues are relevant to whether punitive damages should
be imposed in Title VII cases: whether the conduct suggests an
official policy of discrimination as opposed to the work of a
renegade supervisor, evidence that the employer tolerated or
condoned the discriminatory conduct over time; and the employer's
conduct after it was informed of discrimination. See U.S. Equal
Employment Opportunity Commission, Enforcement Guidance:
Compensatory and Punitive Damages Available Under § 102 of the
Civil Rights Act of 1991 53-54 (1992). The converse also should be
true. If the evidence shows a supervisor's isolated decision rather
than an official policy is responsible for discrimination, or if the
evidence shows the employer does not have a history of tolerating
or condoning discrimination, or if the employer responds promptly
and meaningfully to complaints of raisconduct, the employer should
not be held liable for punitive damages—even if the supervisor's
intentional employment decision ultimately is found to be

discriminatory.

The brief of amici curiae Lawyers’ Committee for Civil
Rights Under Law, et al. is consistent with this approach. It states
“a good faith effort to abide by Title VII does not reflect the
reckless indifference necessary for an award of punitive damages.”
(Brief of Amici Curiae Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under

Law et al. at 25.)

While SHRM disagrees with the low standard for liability
advocated by Petitioner and her amici, SHRM _ certainly
acknowledges the force of Congress's command: employers who
“persist in intentional discrimination in the face of well-established
federal prohibitions” (Brief of Amicus Curiae EEOC at 31) are
deserving of punishment in the form of punitive damages. SI IRM

-15-

firmly believes, however, that, consistent wi
ver, with this command,
employers that recognize well-established law and make sincere
good faith efforts to avoid intentional discrimination should be
given * credit,” see Faragher, 118 S. Ct. at 2293, for their efforts.
This credit should take the form of insulation from Punitive
despite employers’ reasonable efforts to prevent it. Such a rule will
bine amine

ore arrive on the federal dock
furthering the goals of Title VII. ci yes

In contrast, the rule proposed by Petitioner and her amici i
r amici is
inconsistent with Faragher’s interpretation of the policy underlying
Title VII. For Petitioner would impose punitive damages liability
against the employer based on an individual decisionmaker’s state
of mind alone, without considering the employer's efforts to
— or cure discrimination and whether the plaintiff availed
pete es _— If of the employer’s anti-discrimination policies and

2. A “Safe Harbor” Is Consistent with Other Laws

Companies

Punitive damages are analogous to criminal penalties. A
sate harbor against imposition of punitive damages is consistent
with federal y~- pees law. The Federal Sentencing Guidelines for
—_ izations provides corporations with “credit” for good faith
efforts to comply with our nation’s varied and complex criminal
cor The sentencing rules expressly provide for a substantial

uction in a fine if the organization has an effective “compliance

it

ase. ederal Sentencing Guidelines Manual § 8 ef seg.

-16-

program.” 4 In addition, the Department of Justice will consider
a corporation’s compliance program’s effectiveness as one of the
relevant factors in deciding whether to prosecute a corporation.

An employer’s good faith conduct also is a defense to
financial liability under other employment laws. For example, the
Occupational Safety and Health Act, 29 U.S.C. § 651 ef seg.
(1994), provides for substantial monetary penalties against
employers that fail to adhere to safety standards. See id. § 666. Just
as Title VII requires employers to prevent discrimination, the
OSHA statute

requires that an employer do everything reasonable
in its power to ensure that its personnel do not
violate safety standards. But if an employer lives up
to that billing and an employee nonetheless fails to
use proper equipment or otherwise ignores firmly
established safety measures, it seems unfair to hold
the employer liable. To address this dilemma . . . the
courts have recognized the availability of the
{unpreventable employee misconduct] defense. . . .
({JTo reach safe harbor, an employer must
demonstrate that it (1) established a work rule to
prevent the reckless behavior and/or unsafe
condition from occurring, (2) adequately
communicated the rule to its employees, (3) took

a Id. § 8C2.5(f). An effective compliance program
includes, inter alia, development of compliance standards and
effective communication thereof, reasonable steps to assure
compliance with the standards, and consistent enforcement of the
standards and efforts to prevent future occurrences if violations
occur. See generally Edward S. Rapier, Jr., Corporations: The
Federal Sentencing Guidelines for Organizations: How They Affect
A Civil Practice, 46 La. B.J., Jun. 1998, at 20.

lo See Rapier, supra, at 22.

At.

steps to discover incidents of noncompliance and
(4) effectively enforced the rule whenever
employees transgressed it.

“ Givioso & Sons, Inc. v. Secretary of Labor, 115 F.3d 100 109
2 st Cir. 1997). See generally | R. Ben Hogan, et al., Occupational
Safety and Health Act, § 4.03[6] at 4-73 et seg. (1998).

In sum, a “safe harbor” ti in Ti
cases is completely saiehaannaae mae ee =
imposition of monetary penalties. It ensures a blameless a is
= punished unjustly and promotes salutary conduct designed to
urther the purposes of the legislation at issue. On the other hand
wrongdoers that cannot satisfy the safe harbor requirements :
exposed to such exemplary or other damages as may be 9 ce a

3. Employers May Choose from a Wide Variety of
Resources and Options for Making Reasonable
Efforts to Discharge Their Obligations Under
Title VII to Prevent Employment Discrimination

Faragher provides emplo
yers with some i
—— how to avoid liability for unlawful Scieliaceanaeee,
a L This Court held employers, to avail themselves of the
irmative defense to certain sexual harassment claims, must show:

(a) that the employer exercised reasonable care to

prevent and correct promptly an harassi
behavior, and ti sr wy

(b) that the plaintiff employee unreasonably failed

rs take 5am es any preventive or corrective
unities provided by the empl i
— a y ployer or to avoid

Faragher U.S. at 118S.C
er, ___ U.S. at, . Ct. at 2293. ee
be applied to claims for punitive damages. sae en ey

Employers may obtain from many sources assistance with
their efforts to “exercise reasonable care” in preventing illegal
discrimination. For example, the EEOC recently issued a
comprehensive report on employer “best practices” in an effort to
“achieve equal employment opportunity in the workplace.”

The report 4# is the product of an extensive survey of private
sector employers. The report defined a “best practice” as one that

- complies with the law;

- promotes equal employment opportunity ;

- manifests management commitment and accountability;
- ensures management and employee communication,

- promotes noteworthy results, and

- does not cause or result in unfairness.

See Best Practices at 25.

Applying these parameters, the report provides numerous
examples of “best practices” for a variety of human resource
responsibilities, including recruitment and hiring, promotion and
career advancement, terms and conditions of employment,
termination of employment, alternative dispute resolution, and
management commitment and accountability. See Best Practices

at 6.

It would unduly burden this Court to list or discuss at length
all of the practices compiled by the EEOC. Taking the report as a

Lb Letter from Hon. Reginald Jones, Commissioner,
Equa! Employment Opportunity Commission to Society for Human
Resource Management (Apr. 7, 1997) (on file with SHRM).

ub Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, Tusk
Force Report on “Best” Equal Employment Opportunity Policies,
Programs, and Practices in the Private Sector (1998) (hereinafter
“Best Practices”).

-19-

whole, an employer's commi opport
: tment to equal it
therefore to compliance with Title VII may be aan fe

considering whether the
actions such as: employer has undertaken one or more

p .
a a zero tolerance policy against discrimination
been appropriately communicated to employees;

= Adopted an effective complaint
issues as they arise: resolution system to address

Ss Investigated complai a
and, where samme 0g promply, fairly, and objectively;

~ Corrected mistakes that have occurred.

The above is not meant to be ive li
all employers be required to Setenicene onan op
— discussed. Indeed, employers differ widely in their
capabilities to take every conceivable step imaginable

prevent discrimination from occurring. Rather than the mamta
application of a checklist of factors, the critical issue should be
pana the employer, based on all the facts and circumstances, has
erry commitment to a discrimination-free workplace. Thus
pte iployer conduct demonstrating the employer is undeservi

punitive damages could include any of the following: ah

7 > ge evaluated in part on their human resource
ills, including their
mie ng commitment to equal employment

The employer's history of resolvi
he ver’ ing complaints internal]
within the company and the action taken against those sr

-20-
violate equal employment opportunity standards; and

- Managemen s_ consultation with human resource
professionals or, as in Thurston, employment counsel,
before making the challenged employment decision.

The salutary effect of these efforts is beyond cavil. An
employer taking such comprehensive measures to comply with Title
VII logically could not be called “recklessly indifferent” to Title VII
or malicious, even if the employer “intentionally” made a
challenged employment decision.

Ironically, the employer’s efforts to comply with Title VII
actually could assist a plaintiff seeking punitive damages, if
Petitioner’s argument carries the day. Thus, Petitioner argues,
punitive damages are “authorized where a defendant knew or
should reasonably have realized that its conduct was probably
unlawful.” (Pet. Brief at 14 (footnotes omitted).) (See also Brief of
Amicus Curiae Association of Trial Lawyers of America at 2-3
(stating “punitive damages should be available in cases where the
defendant knew or should have known that its conduct was
unlawful”.) The employer’s dissemination of an equal opportunity
policy and provision of anti-discrimination training surely would
foreclose the employer’s argument that the decisionmaker was
ignorant of the law. In sum, this Court should not countenance
Petitioner’s construction of 42 U.S.C. § 1981a, as it would lead to
this unfair and absurd result.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, amicus curiae Society for Human
Resource Management respectfully requests this Court to affirm the

-2]-

ae of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia
it.

January 18, 1999 Respectfully submitted,

D. GREGORY VALENZA
Counsel of Record
ROGER S. KAPLAN
MICHAEL J. LotiTo
NANCY L. O'NEILL
JACKSON, LEWIS,
SCHNITZLER & KRUPMAN
525 Market St. Ste. 3400
San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 394-9400
Counsel for Amicus
SOCIETY FOR HUMAN
RESOURCE MANAGEMENT.

42 U.S.C. § 2000¢(b)

The term "employer" means a person engaged in an industry
affecting commerce who has fifteen or more employees for each
working day in each of twenty or more calendar weeks in the
current or preceding calendar year, and any agent of such a

42 U.S.C, § 2000¢-2(m)

Except as otherwise provided in this subchapter, an
unlawful employment practice is established when the complaining
party demonstrates that race, color, religion, sex, or national origin
was a motivating factor for any employment practice, even though
other factors also motivated the practice.

42 ULS.C. § 2000¢-5/f)

(1) * * * Ifa charge filed with the Commission pursuant to
subsection (b) of this section is dismissed by the Commission, or if
within one hundred and eighty days from the filing of such charge
or the expiration of any period of reference under subsection (c) or
(d) of this section, whichever is later, the Commission has not filed
a civil action under this section or the Attorney General has not
filed a civil action in a case involving a government, governmental
agency, or political subdivision, or the Commission has not entered
into a conciliation agreement to which the person aggrieved is a
party, the Commission, or the Attorney General in a case involving
a government, governmental agency, or political subdivision, shall
so notify the person aggrieved and within ninety days after the
giving of such notice a civil action may be brought against the
respondent named in the charge (A) by the person claiming to be
aggrieved or (B) if such charge was filed by a member of the
Commission, by any person whom the charge alleges was aggrieved
by the alleged unlawful employment practice. . . .

-B-

sated Sesspacinn Commiatatias Ccbdlioes Mesa

§ 8C2.5. CULPABILITY SCORE

(a) Start with 5 points and apply subsections (b) through (g)
below.

(f) Effective Program to Prevent and Detect Violations of
Law

If the offense occurred despite an effective program to
prevent and detect violations of law, subtract 3 points. . . .

. ‘onal Saf | Heald
29 ULS.C. § 666

(a) Willful or repeated violation

loyer who willfully or repeatedly violates the
outa pe 654 of this title, any standard, rule, or order
promulgated pursuant to section 655 of this title, or regulations
prescribed pursuant to this chapter, may be assessed a civil penalty
of not more than $70,000 for each violation, but not less than
$5,000 for each willful violation.

(b) Citation for serious violation

Any employer who has received a citation for a serious
violation of the requirements of section 654 of this title, of any
standard, rule, or order promulgated pursuant to section 655 of this
title, or of any regulations prescribed pursuant to this chapter, shall
be assessed a civil penalty of up to $7,000 for each such violation.

(c) Citation for violation determined not serious

C.

Any employer who has received a citation for a violation of
the requirements of section 654 of this title, of any standard, rule,
or order promulgated pursuant to section 655 of this title, or of
regulations prescribed pursuant to this chapter, and such violation
is specifically determined not to be of a serious nature, may be
assessed a civil penalty of up to $7,000 for each such violation.

(d) Failure to correct violation

Any employer who fails to correct a violation for which a
citation has been issued under section 658(a) of this title within the
period permitted for its correction (which period shall not begin to
run until the date of the final order of the Commission in the case
of any review proceeding under section 659 of this title initiated by
the employer in good faith and not solely for delay or avoidance of
penalties), may be assessed a civil penalty of not more than $7,000
for each day during which such failure or violation continues.

(e) Willful violation causing death to employee

Any employer who willfully violates any standard, rule, or
order promulgated pursuant to section 655 of this title, or of any
regulations prescribed pursuant to this chapter, and that violation
caused death to any employee, shall, upon conviction, be punished
by a fine of not more than $10,000 or by imprisonment for not more
than six months, or by both; except that if the conviction is for a
violation committed after a first conviction of such person,
punishment shall be by a fine of not more than $20,000 or by
imprisonment for not more than one year, or by both.

(f) Giving advance notice of inspection

Any person who gives advance notice of any inspection to
be conducted under this chapter, without authority from the
Secretary or his designees, shall, upon conviction, be punished by
a fine of not more than $1,000 or by imprisonment for not more
than six months, or by both.

-D-
(g) False statements, representations or certification

Whoever knowingly makes any false statement,
representation, or certification in any application, record, report,
vlan, or other document filed or required to be maintained pursuant
_ this chapter shall, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not
more than $10,000, or by imprisonment for not more than six
months, or by both.

(h) Omitted
(i) Violation of posting requirements

Any employer who violates any of the posting requirements,
as prescribed under the provisions of this chapter, shall be assessed
a civil penalty of up to $7,000 for each violation.

(j) Authority of Commission to assess civil penalties

The Commission shall have authority to assess all civil
penalties provided in this section, giving due consideration to the
appropriateness of the penalty with respect to the size of the
business of the employer being charged, the gravity of the violation,
the good faith of the employer, and the history of previous
violations. mF

(k) Determination of serious violation

For purposes of this section, a serious violation shall be
deemed to exist in a place of employment if there is a substantial
probability that death or serious physical harm could result from a
condition which exists, or from one or more practices, means,
methods, operations, or processes which have been adopted or are
in use, in such place of employment unless the employer did not,
and could not with the exercise of reasonable diligence, know of the
presence of the violation.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0217%3A17. Public record. Not legal advice.
