# Opposition Brief — Holloway v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0198%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 526 U.S. 1

## Text

¢

JF
’ re,

j

ORIGINAL FILED
wy) MAR 1 6 1998
No. 97-7164 ,
CLERK
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1997
FRANCOIS HOLLOWAY, PETITIONER
Vv.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT
BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION
SETH P. WAXMAN
lic
JOHN C. KEENEY
Acting Assistant Attorney General
DEBORAH WATSON
Attorney
Department of Justice
Washi -0
(202) 514-2217

e ©
QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether a jury may find that a defendant acted "with the
intent to cause death or serious bodily harm" for purposes of the
federal carjacking statute, 18 U.S.C. 2119, if it finds that the

defendant intended to cause death or serious harm if the victim

refused to comply with his demands.

(I)

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

No. 97-7164
FRANCOIS HOLLOWAY, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW
The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-23a) is
reported at 126 F.3d 62. The opinion of the district court (Pet.
App. 25a-32a) is reported at 921 F. Supp. 155.
JURISDICTION
The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on September
16, 1997. The petition for a writ of certiorari was filed on
December 12, 1997. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under
28 U.S.C. 1254(1).
STATEMENT
Following a jury trial in the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of New York, petitioner was convicted of

2

conspiracy to operate a "chop shop" in violation of 18 U.S.C. 371;
operating a chop shop, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 2322; three counts
of carjacking, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 2119; and three counts of
using a firearm during and in relation to a crime of violence, in
violation of 118 U.S.C. 924(c). He was sentenced to concurrent
prison terms of 60 months for conspiracy, 151 months for operation
of the chop shop, and 151 months for each count of carjacking; a
consecutive term of five years’ imprisonment on the first firearms
count; and two additional consecutive 20-year terms on the two
remaining firearms counts. The district court also imposed a five-
year term of supervised release. The court of appeals affirmed.
Pet. App. la-23a.

1. In September 1994, Teddy Arnold recruited his son, Vernon
Lennon, to steal cars to be taken to a Queens, New York "chop shop"
for dismantling. Lennon, in turn, recruited petitioner and David
Valentine to assist him. The three agreed that they should use a
“firearm during their thefts, and Lennon showed the others a .32-
caliber revolver for that purpose. Pet. App. 3a.

On October 14, 1994, petitioner and Lennon followed a 1992
Nissan Maxima driven by 69-year-old Stanley Metzger. When Metzger
stopped and parked across from his residence, Lennon approached,
pointed his gun at Metzger, and demanded Metzger’s car keys.
Metzger first gave Lennon his house keys, but Lennon demanded the
car keys, telling Metzger "I have a gun. I am going to shoot."
Metzger then surrendered his keys and his money, and Lennon drove

away in the Maxima. Pet. App. 3a-4a.

ae ]
3

The following day, Lennon and petitioner followed a 1991
Toyota Celica driven by Donna DiFranco. When DiFranco parked,
Lennon approached her, pointed his gun at her, and demanded her
money and car keys. After DiFranco disengaged the car alarm and
unlocked the "club" device that secured the steering wheel, Lennon
drove off in her car. Pet. App. 4a.

That same day, Lennon and petitioner followed a 1988 Mercedes-
Benz driven by Ruben Rodriguez until Rodriguez parked near his
home. As Lennon and petitioner approached him, Rodriguez retreated
to his car. Lennon produced his gun and threatened: "Get out of
the car or I’ll shoot." Rodriguez complied, and Lennon demanded
his money and car keys. When Rodriguez hesitated, petitioner
punched him in the face. Rodriguez surrendered the items and fled
on foot. Lennon drove off in the Mercedes, and petitioner followed
in another car. Pet. App. 4a.

Lennon pleaded guilty to several carjacking and robbery
charges and testified as a government witness at trial. Lennon
testified that his plan was to steal cars without harming the
victims, but that he would have used the gun if any of the victims
had resisted or given him “a hard time." Pet. App. 5a.

Petitioner was charged with a variety of offenses. See pages
1-2, Supra. With respect to carjacking, the district court in-
structed the jury that in order to find petitioner guilty it must
find that his “intent in committing the crime [was] to cause death
or serious bodily harm." Tr. 336. Over the objection of defense

counsel, the court also instructed the jury that, under a theory of

e ©
4

“conditional” intent, it could find petitioner guilty if it found
that he “intended to cause death or serious bodily harm if the
alleged victims had refused to turn over their cars." Pet. App.
6a, lla; Tr. 336-337.’ The jury convicted petitioner on all
counts.

2. The court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. la-18a. With

respect to the district court’s “conditional intent" instruction,

+ The court gave the following instructions (Tr. 336-337):

The defendant's intent in committing the crime must have
been to cause death or serious bodily harm. I remind you that
intentional conduct is done willfully, with a bad purpose to
do something the law forbids, in this case, to cause death or
serious bodily harm to the person from whom the car was taken.

It is the defendant's theory of the case that the evi-
dence fails to prove that he acted with intent to cause death
or serious bodily harm.

Evidence that the defendant intended to use a gun to
frighten the victims is not sufficient in and of itself to
prove an intent to kill or cause serious bodily harm. It is,
however, one of the facts you may consider in determining
whether the government has met its burden.

You may also consider the fact that no victim was
actually killed or seriously injured when you consider the
evidence or lack of evidence as to the defendant’s intent.

In some cases, intent is conditional. That is, a de-
fendant may intend to engage in certain conduct only if a
certain event occurs.

In this case, the government contends that the defendant
intended to cause death or serious body harm if the alleged
victims had refused to turn over their cars. If you find be-
yond a reasonable doubt that the defendant had such an intent,
the government has satisfied this element of the offense.

If you find that the co-defendant, Vernon Lennon, acted
with the intent to cause death or serious bodily injury, that
is not sufficient. You must find that the defendant shared in
poe 7 pas before you can conclude that this element has been
satis °

@ ©
5

the court first reviewed the history of 18 U.S.C. 2119. Id. at 8a-
lla. It noted that before 1994, Section 2119 required proof that
a defendant possessed a firearm in connection with a carjacking,
but imposed no explicit intent requirement. In 1994, Congress
amended the statute to authorize imposition of the death penalty if
a carjacking resulted in death, and to delete the phrase
“possessing a firearm." The court remarked that the present
language requiring “intent to cause death or serious bodily harm”
was inserted late in the legislative process, without recorded
explanation. Id. at 9a. The court nonetheless thought it “clear
from * * * the legislative history that Congress intended to
broaden the coverage of the federal carjacking statute," and it
speculated that application of the new intent requirement to cases
not involving the death of a victim “was, in all likelihood, an
unintended drafting error." Pet. App. 9a-10a. The court
“decline(d]," however, “any invitation to redraft the statute,” and
instead considered whether the new intent element could be
satisfied by proof of “conditional” intent to kill or harm a victim
only if it proved necessary to do so in order to effectuate the
carjacking. Id. at 10a.

The court rejected (Pet. App. 12a) petitioner's argument that
“conditional” intent involved “no more than a state of mind where
death is a foreseeable event.” In the court’s view, "conditional
intent requires a much more culpable mental state," because " (a)
carjacker who plans to kill or use deadly force on a victim in the

event that his victim fails to comply with his demands has engaged

6
in willful and deliberate consideration of his actions." Ibid.
Under those circumstances, the court explained, "death is more than
merely foreseeable, it is fully contemplated and planned for.”
Ibid.

The court observed that "the inclusion of a conditional intent
to harm within the definition of specific intent to harm is a well-
established principle of criminal common law" (Pet. App. 13a),
supported by state statutory and case law, academic commentary, and
the Model Penal Code (see id. at 13a-15a). “Furthermore, and most
importantly,” the court concluded that “incorporating conditional
intent within the specific intent language of the carjacking
statute comports with a reasonable interpretation of the
legislative purpose of the statute." Jd. at 15a. Rejecting an
interpretation that “would have the federal carjacking statute
covering only those carjackings in which the carjacker’s sole and
unconditional purpose at the time he committed the carjacking was
to kill or maim the victim," the court held instead that "an intent
to kill or cause serious bodily harm conditioned on whether the
victim selingsiches his or her car is sufficient to fulfill the
intent requirement set forth in the federal carjacking statute."
Id. at 15a-1l6a.’

Judge Miner dissented. Pet. App. 18a-23a. In his view, there

was "no basis in the plain language of [Section 2119] or in the

* The court also rejected petitioner’s further claims that he

had received ineffective assistance of counsel and that the trial
court had erred in imposing consecutive sentences with respect to
his firearms offenses. Pet. App. l6a-17a. Petitioner does not
renew those claims in this Court.

a al

*
legislative history for an element of conditional intent." Id. at
18a. Rather, Judge Miner concluded that "(t]he intent required is
spelled out explicitly in the statute," and that any common-law
interpretation of that requirement lay beyond the power of courts
applying federal criminal law. Jd. at 23a. He would therefore
have reversed petitioner's convictions and remanded for retrial.
ibid.
ARGUMENT

Petitioner contends (Pet. 9-16) that in order to prove
carjacking in violation of 18 U.S.C. 2119 the government must show
that the defendant acted with the "purposeful objective" (Pet. 10)
of causing death or serious bodily harm while taking the victim's
car, whether or not the victim offered any resistance. This Court
has recently denied review in two cases involving the same issue,
and there is no reason for a different result here. See Anderson
v. United States, 118 S. Ct. 123 (1997); Fraction v. United States,
118 S. Ct. 100 (1997); see also Romero v. United States, petition
for cert. pending, No. 97-6863 (filed Nov. 18, 1997).

1. Section 2119 provides for the punishment of any person who
“with the intent to cause death or serious bodily harm takes a
motor vehicle * * * from the person or presence of another by force
and violence or by intimidation.” As the court of appeals pointed
out (Pet. App. 7a-9a), Congress added the “intent” language in 1994
in place of the phrase “possessing a firearm as defined in Section

921 of this title." See also United States v. Anderson, 108 F.3d
478, 481-482, cert. denied, 118 S. Ct. 123 (1997). That change,

—

8

which accompanied the addition of authorization to impose the death
penalty in cases in which death results, was evidently intended to
broaden the statute to cover situations where the carjacker uses a
knife or other weapon rather than a firearm. See id. at 481-483;
Pet. App. 9a-10a. It would be ironic if the amendment were instead
interpreted to narrow the coverage of Section 2119 by excluding
cases in which a carjacker would prefer to proceed by intimidation,
but intends to use actual force and violence if necessary -- cases
that obviously fall within the core purpose of the statute.

The text does not require that result. The "intent" language
added in 1994 need not be read to require any more than that the
defendant intentionally undertook actions which posed a serious and
unjustifiable risk of death or serious bodily harm to the victim.
The conduct involved in most carjackings would, of course, easily
satisfy that requirement. It would be the rare crime that met
Section 2119’s other criteria, but escaped punishment under that
provision because of the extraordinary care taken by the defendant
to ensure that his victims would sustain no physical harm.

This case, however, did not require the court of appeals to go

that far in interpreting Section 2119's "intent" requirement. See

Pet. App. 12a (distinguishing "conditional intent" from criminal
reckiessness or “depraved indifference"). Nothing in the facts of
this case suggests a situation in which the defendant intended not
to use force under any circumstances, but nonetheless took actions
that presented a serious risk that injury or death would result.

The court here held only that Section 2119 covers the conduct of a

9

defendant if the jury finds that he was prepared to use deadly
force, but was spared the necessity of doing so by the victim's
acquiescence in his demands. Pet. App. 15a-1l6a; see also United
States v. Williams, 1998 WL 50,191 (8th Cir. Feb. 10, 1998); United
States v. Romero, 122 F.3d 1334, 1339 (10th Cir. 1997), petition
for cert. pending, No. 97-6863 (filed Nov. 18, 1997); Andersen, 108
F.3d at 485.

As the court of appeals explained (Pet. App. 13a-15a), that
interpretation of the meaning of "intent" as used in Section 2119
is not only well supported by the common-law understanding of
"specific" intent, but also "“comports with a reasonable interpre-
tation of the legislative purpose of the statute” (id. at 15a).’
As the court observed (jibid.), it is implausible that Congress

intended the federal carjacking prohibition to cover “only those

* There is no force to petitioner’s argument (Pet. 15-16)

that the court below violated due process by "“expand[ing) the
principles of criminal liability which exist in the federal courts"
Or attempting to create a "federal common law of crimes." The
court merely interpreted the word “intent” as Congress used it in
a federal criminal statute. The proper interpretation is, of
course, informed by the common-law background against which
Congress acted (see, e.g., United States v. Wells, 117 S. Ct. 921,
927 (1997)), but the exercise remains one of _ statutory
construction. Moreover, there is nothing "novel"(Pet. 15) about
the concept of "conditional" intent. See, e.g., United States v.
Arrellano, 812 F.2d 1209, 1211 n.2, as amended, 835 F.2d 235 (9th
Cir. 1987) ("(C)Jonditional intent is still intent. If, for
example, a defendant breaks into a woman’s house intending to rape
her if she is there, he has committed a burglary whether or not she
is in fact there"); United States v. Marks, 29 M.J. 1, 3 (C.M.A.
1989); United States v. Dworken, 855 F.2d 12, 18 (ist Cir. 1988)

(attempt and conspiracy); Shaffer v. United States, 308 F.2d 654
(Sth Cir. 1962) (conditional intent to do bodily harm in

prosecution for assault under 18 U.S.C. 113), cert. denied, 373
U.S. 939 (1963); People v. Connors, 253 Ill. 266, 272-280 (111.
1912); see also W. Lafave and A. Scott, imi

§ 3.5(d), at 312 (1986); Model Penal Code § 2.02(6).

@ ®
10

carjackings in which the carjacker’s sole and unconditional purpose
* * * was to kill or maim the victim." See also Williams, 1998 WL
50,191, at *3-*4; Romero, 122 F.3d at 1339 ("Congress did not
intend for death or serious bodily injury to be a prerequisite to
every carjacking conviction."); Anderson, 108 F.3d at 483. That is
especially evident in light of the enhanced penalties that Congress
expressly provided for crimes that do result in serious injury or
dea~h. Ibid.; see 18 .S.C. 2119 (2) and (3).

: Similarly, a rule requiring “unconditional” intent to kill or
harm would make little sense in light of Section 2119's prohibition
against taking a vehicle "by force and violence or by intimidation"
(emphasis added). That language makes clear that Congress intended
to punish crimes in which successful threats obviate any need for
the carjacker to resort to actual force; yet those crimes would lie
beyond the reach of the statute under petitioner's proposed require-
ment of “unconditional” intent to cause death or bodily harm.
Indeed, because it would be difficult to prove such an “uncondi-
tional” intent in any case in which the carjacker did not in fact
do violence to the victim, petitioner’s argument would essentially
read the phrase "or by intimidation" out of Section 2119.

2. As petitioner points out (Pet. 10-11), there is consider-
able tension between the reasoning of the decisions in this case,
Williams, Anderson and Romero and that of United States v. Ran-
dolph, 93 F.3d 656 (9th Cir. 1996). See also Pet. App. l6éa n.4.
In Randolph, the Ninth Circuit stated that a “mere Sontitianal

intent to harm a victim if she resists is simply not enough to

9 @
11
satisfy § 2119's new specific intent requirement," and that the
government must "prove that the causation of ‘death or serious
bodily harm’ was the defendant’s actual intent." 93 F.3d at 665.
Both Randolph’s reasoning and its result are incorrect.

Randolph turned, however, not only on erroneous reasoning, but
on unusual facts. As the court explained (see 93 F.3d at 658-659),
although Randolph pointed a gun at his victim, she was assured from
the outset that she would not be harmed if she did as she was told.
Randolph dropped the victim off, unharmed, some way out of town,
and he Geniad aay complicity in his accomplices’ decision to pick
her up again, drive her further away, and then beat her severely
before releasing her. Randolph "consistently denied having any
intention to kill or to harm [the victim), and insisted that the
group’s plan was merely to rob, not to harm anyone." Id. at 659.
Indeed, he specifically claimed that, while he brandished a rifle
in order to intimidate the victim, "he had no intention of actually
using the firearm, even had she resisted." Ibid.

Randolph's conviction should have been affirmed, either
because his conduct posed a sufficient (and sufficiently obvious)
risk of injury or death to satisfy the intent element of Section
2119, whatever his own hopes for how the crime would proceed, or
because the district court that convicted him was entitled to
believe, despite his protestations to the contrary, that he was
personally prepared to harm or kill his victim had she resisted his
demands. Nonetheless, the facts of the case are so unusual that a

court might have concluded that Randolph’s conduct, in contrast to
\

12
that of his accomplices, clearly demonstrated an actual intent to
avoid harm to his victim — the rare sort of case that might justify
acquittal even under a standard requiring only criminal reckless-
ness, and certainly would require acquittal under the "conditional
intent" standard applied in this case, Williams, Romero and
Anderson.

It is therefore difficult to predict, based solely on the
decision in Randolph, how the Ninth Circuit will approach other
carjacking cases with more typical facts, like those at issue here.
Compare United States v. Hicks, 103 F.3d_837, 842-844 (9th Cir.
1996) (upholding admission under pre-amendment language of evidence
concerning rape and murder during course carjacking, and stating
that new “intent” language would not change the result), cert.
denied, 117 S. Ct. 1483 (1997); United States v. Arrellano, 812
F.2d 1209, 1211 n.2, as amended, 835 F.2d 235 (9th Cir. 1987)
(although conditional intent to kill victim if she refused request
for money might support conviction for transporting firearm with
intent to commit a felony, "the jury made no finding as to intent,
so we are unable to imply any finding as to conditional intent
either"). If that court adheres to Randolph and extends its
reasoning to the logical extreme, it may be necessary for this
Court to grant review in an appropriate case to correct the error.
Review would be premature, however, until the Ninth Circuit has had
a chance to consider the relevant issues in a case with more

typical facts, and in light of the intervening decisions in this

case, Williams, Anderson and Romero.

13

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

MARCH 1998

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solic: :

JOHN C. KEENEY
Acti Ass;

DEBORAH WATSON
Attorney

APPENDIX

|

| |

. . =

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

No. 1877—August Term, 1996
(Argued June 25, 1997 Decided September 16, 1997)
Docket No. 96-1563

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Appellee,

_—V—

TEDDY ARNOLD; CHARLES ROBINSON; DARREL JONES;
DAVID VALENTINE; PAUL SCAGLIONE; and JEFFREY DRAKE,

Defendants,

FRANCOIS HOLLOWAY a/k/a ABDU ALI,
Defendant-Appellant.

Before:

MCLAUGHLIN and MINER, Circuit Judges,
and SCULLIN, District Judge.'

| The Honorable Frederick J. Scullin, Jr. of the United States District Court
for the Northern District of New York, sitting by designation.

6593

Appeal from a judgment entered in the United States Dis-
trict Court for the Eastern District of New York (Gleeson, J.)
convicting defendant, following a jury trial, of conspiracy to
operate a “chop shop,” operation of a chop shop, three counts
of carjacking, and three counts of using a firearm in the com-
mission of a crime of violence.

Affirmed.

Judge Miner dissents in a Separate opinion.

KEVIN J. KEATING, Esq., Law Office of Kevin J.
Keating, Garden City, New York, for Defen-
dant-Appellant.

DOLAN L. GARRETT, Assistant United States
Attorney, Brooklyn, New York (Zachary W.
Carter, United States Attorney, Eastern Dis-
trict of New York, Brooklyn, New York, of
counsel), for Appellee.

SCULLIN, District Judge:

Defendant-Appeilant Francois Holloway appeals from a
judgment entered in the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of New York (Gleeson, J.), following a jury
trial, convicting Holloway of numerous offenses connected
with his participation in several carjackings in Queens, New
York. Holloway was convicted of one count of conspiracy to
operate a “chop shop” in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 371 (count
one); one count of Operating a chop shop in violation of 18

6594

U.S.C. § 2322 (count two); three counts of carjacking in vio-
lation of 18 U.S.C. § 2119 (counts seven, nine, and eleven);
and three counts of using a firearm in the commission of a
crime of violence in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 924(c) (counts
eight, ten, and twelve). Holloway was sentenced to 60
months on count one; 151 months on count two, to run con-
currently with count one; 151 months on each of counts
seven, nine, and-eleven, to run concurrently with each other
and counts one and two; 5 years on count eight, to run con-
secutively; and 20 years each on count ten and count twelve,
each to run consecutively. Defendant was also sentenced to
terms of supervised release and a special assessment of $400.

On appeal, Holloway contends that: (1) the district court
erroneously charged the jury on the intent element of the car-
jacking statute; (2) his trial counsel rendered constitutionally
ineffective assistance; and (3) the trial court improperly
imposed consecutive sentences pursuant to Holloway’s
firearm convictions.

BACKGROUND

Holloway’s conviction stems from his involvement in a
“chop shop” operation located at 115th Drive in Queens, New
York. In September 1994, Teddy Arnold recruited his son,
Vernon Lennon, to begin stealing cars to be taken to the chop
shop for dismantling. Lennon, in turn, recruited two indi-
viduals, David Valentine and Holloway, to assist him in his
car thefts. The co-conspirators agreed that they should use a
firearm during their thefts, and Lennon showed both Valen-
tine and Holloway a .32 caliber revolver he intended to use

for that purpose.

The first charged carjacking involving Holloway and
Lennon occurred in October 1994. On October 14, Holloway
and Lennon followed a 1992 Nissan Maxima driven by sixty-

6595

nine year-old Stanley Metzger. When Metzger stopped and
parked across from his residence, Lennon approached
Metzger and pointed his revolver at him, demanding his car
keys. At first, Metzger gave his house keys to Lennon, who
rejected them and demanded his car keys. Metzger testified
that Lennon told him, “I have a gun. I am going to shoot.”
Thereafter, Metzger surrendered his keys and also his money,
and Lennon drove away in the Maxima.

The following day, Lennon and Holloway followed a 1991
Toyota Celica driven by Donna DiFranco. When DiFranco
parked, Lennon approached her, leveled his gun at her, and
demanded her money and her car keys. After DiFranco dis-
engaged the car alarm and unlocked her “club” securing the
steering wheel, Lennon drove off in her car.

That same day, Holloway and Lennon followed a 1988
Mercedes-Benz driven by Ruben Rodriguez until he parked
near his home at Jamaica Estates. Both Lennon and Holloway
approached the driver this time. Rodriguez, sensing some-
thing was wrong, retreated to his car. Lennon produced his
gun and threatened, “Get out of the car or I'll shoot.”
Rodriguez complied and Lennon demanded his money and
car keys. When Rodriguez hesitated, Holloway punched him
in the face. Rodriguez surrendered the items and fled on foot,
yelling for help. Lennon drove off in the Mercedes, and Hol-
loway followed in another car.

At trial, the Government also presented evidence of two
additional uncharged carjackings involving Lennon and Hol-
loway. One involved the theft of a 1987 Nissan Maxima
which was stolen from Betty Eng as she parked in her drive-
way on October 12, 1994. The other uncharged carjacking
occurred on October 19, 1994. On that day, Holloway and
Lennon attempted to steal a 1994 Nissan Sentra from Sara
Markett when she parked her car on 193rd Street in Queens.

6596

Lennon threatened Markett, telling her, “Give me your keys
or I will shoot you right now.” Thereafter, Markett surren-
dered her keys and ran screaming into a nearby hair salon.
The theft was foiled by an off-duty police officer, Adam
Lamboy, who happened to be in the hair salon at that time.
Upon seeing Lennon in Markett’s car, Lamboy yelled,
“Police, don’t move.” Lennon made a motion toward his

waist band prompting Lamboy to draw his weapon. Lennon |

then fled to a red Toyota driven by Holloway, and the two
escaped.

On November 22, 1994, two of the carjacking victims,
Ruben Rodriguez and Sara Markett, identified Holloway as
one of the carjackers in a police line-up. Following his iden-
tification, Holloway confessed to the police that he had par-
ticipated with Lennon in three carjackings involving a silver
Mercedes-Benz, a black Nissan Maxima, and a gray Nissan.
Immediately prior to trial, Lennon pled guilty to several car-
jacking charges and eight automatic teller machine (“ATM”)
robberies. Thereafter, Lennon testified at trial as a govern-
ment witness. Lennon testified as to the events set forth in
the above carjackings, as well as seven additional carjackings
in which he participated with Valentine. Lennon testified that
his plan was to steal the victims’ cars without harming the
victims; however, Lennon also testified that he would have
used the gun if one of the victims had given him “a hard
time” or had resisted.

The Government also presented testimony at trial from
Rodriguez, Metzger, DiFranco, Eng, and Lamboy. These wit-
nesses presented factually consistent testimony depicting the
various Carjackings as set forth above. With the exception of
Rodriguez, none of the victims was injured during the course

of the carjackings, and Rodriguez did not require medical
attention.

Ss ? 25 5>

The defense declined to call any witnesses. Over the objec-
tion of defense counsel, Judge Gleeson charged the jury on
the doctrine of conditional intent, as it applied to the intent
element for the carjacking offenses. Judge Gleeson instructed
the jury that an intent to cause death or serious bodily harm
conditioned on whether the victims surrendered their cars
was sufficient to satisfy the specific intent requirement of the
statute. As stated, the jury found Holloway guilty on all eight
counts charged in the indictment.

Following the verdict, Holloway moved for a new trial pur-
suant to Rule 33 of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure,
or in the alternative, for reconsideration of his unsuccessful
Rule 29 motion. See United States v. Holloway, 921 F. Supp.
155, 156 (E.D.N.Y. 1996). Holloway argued that the Court
erred in charging the jury on conditional intent in light of the
carjacking statute’s unambiguous specific intent requirement,
which requires a carjacker to have the intent to cause death
or serious bodily harm in order to be culpable.

In a decision issued on April 5, 1996, Judge Gleeson
denied Holloway’s post-trial motion. On August 16, 1996,
Holloway was sentenced, and, on August 28, 1996, judgment
of conviction was entered. This appeal followed.

DISCUSSION

Holloway raises three issues on appeal: (1) whether Judge
Gleeson erred in instructing the jury on “conditional intent”;
(2) whether the performance of Holloway’s trial counsel was
constitutionally deficient so as to require reversal and a new
trial; and (3) whether Judge Gleeson abused his discretion by
sentencing Holloway to consecutive sentences pursuant to 18
U.S.C. § 924(c).

6598

© 1 @

I. Conditional Intent Instruction

Holloway maintains that Judge Gleeson committed
reversible error by charging the jury on the doctrine of “con-
ditional intent.” Holloway contends that: (1) the federal car-
jacking statute clearly and unambiguously requires that a
defendant possess a specific intent to cause death or serious
bodily harm (hereinafter “specific intent to kill”), and (2)
conditional intent, by definition, does not satisfy this require-
ment. ;

A. 1994 Amendments to the Carjacking Statute

Holloway argues that the statute, as amended, is clear and
unambiguous on its face, thus preventing the trial court, or
this Court for that matter, from inquiring into the intent of
Congress or ascribing some alternate construction of the
statute based on any perceived error in drafting. See Rubin v.
United States, 449 U.S. 424, 430, 66 L. Ed. 2d 633, 101 S.
Ct. 698 (1981).

Prior to the 1994 Amendments, the federal carjacking
statute, 18 U.S.C. § 2119, read as follows:

Whoever, possessing a firearm as defined in section 921
of this title, takes a motor vehicle that has been trans-
ported, shipped, or received in interstate or foreign com-
merce from the person or presence of another by force
and violence or by intimidation, or attempts to do so,
shall—

(1) be fined under this title or imprisoned not more
than 15 years, or both,

(2) if serious bodily injury (as defined in section 1365
of this title, including any conduct that, if the conduct
occurred in the special maritime and territorial juris-
diction of the United States, would violate section 2241

6599

or 2242 of this title) results, be fined under this title or
imprisoned not more that 25 years, or both, and

(3) if death results, be fined under this title or impris-
oned for any number of years up to life, or both.

The Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of
1994 amended this statute in the following manner:

(14) CARJACKING. —Section 2119(3) of title 18, United
States Code, is amended by striking the period after
“both” and inserting “, or sentenced to death.”; and by
striking “, possessing a firearm as defined in section 921
of this title,” and inserting “, with the intent to cause
death or serious bodily harm”.

Pub. L. 103-322, § 60003(a)(14). With these revisions, the
statute now reads:

Whoever, with the intent to cause death or serious bod-
ily harm takes a motor vehicle that has been transported,
shipped, or received in interstate or foreign commerce
from the person or presence of another by force and vio-
lence or by intimidation, or attempts to do so, shall—

(1) be fined under this title or imprisoned not more
than 15 years, or both,

(2) if serious bodily injury (as defined in section 1365
of this title, including any conduct that, if the conduct
occurred in the special maritime and territorial juris-
diction of the United States, would violate section 2241
or 2242 of this title) results, be fined under this ttle or
imprisoned not more that 25 years, or both, and

(3) if death results, be fined under this title or impris-
oned for any number of years up to life, or both, or sen-
tenced to death.

18 U.S.C. § 2119 (1997) (emphasis added).
6600

The amendments to the carjacking statute contained in the
Violent Crime Control and Enforcement Law Act of 1994
came about as an attempt to expand the number of federal
crimes subject to the death penalty. See 140 Cong. Rec.
E857-03 (statement of Rep. Franks); 140 Cong. Rec. $12421-
O01, S$12458 (statement of Sen. Nunn); 139 Cong. Rec.
$15295-01, 15301 (statement of Sen. Lieberman). The thrust
of the various early versions of the amendments was to add
the death penalty as a sentencing option when death resulted
from a carjacking, and also, in some versions, to eliminate
the firearm requirement. See H.R. 4197, 103d Cong. § 125(h)
(1994) (removed firearm requirement and added death
penalty); H.R. 3355, 103d Cong. § 203(a)(15) (1993) (version
as of October 19, 1993 removed the firearm requirement and
added death penalty); H.R. 3355, 103d Cong. § 703(e) (1994)
(version as of April 21, 1994 added the death penalty only).
Congressional opposition to the amendments coalesced into
two camps: those who opposed the death penalty in general,
and those who opposed the expansion of federal criminal
jurisdiction. See 140 Cong. Rec. $12309-02, $12311 (state-
ment of Sen. Leahy contained in Conference Report on H.R.
3355); 140 Cong. Rec. H2322-02, H2325 (statement by Rep.
Glickman on amendment introduced by Rep. Scott to remove
the death penalty addition to the Violent Crime Control Act).

The insertion of the heightened intent requirement at issue
here occurred at a relatively late stage in the legislative pro-
cess—while the Act was under consideration in Conference
Committee in the summer of 1994. See 140 Cong. Rec.
H8772-03, H8819, H8872 (Conference Report on H.R. 3355
dated August 21, 1994). On September 13, 1994, the Act was
signed into law. There is no indication in the Congressional
Record as to the purpose of the late-added heightened intent
requirement. However, it is clear from a review of legislative
history that Congress intended to broaden the coverage of the

6601

® ~ e

federal carjacking statute by the passage of the 1994 amend-
ments, and that the application of the heightened intent
requirement to all three of the carjacking categories was, in
all likelihood, an unintended drafting error. See 139 Cong.
Rec. $15295-01, 15301 (statement of Sen. Lieberman) (“This
amendment will broaden and strengthen that law so our U.S.
attorneys have every possible tool available to them to attack
the problem.”); 140 Cong. Ret. E857-03, E858 (extension of
remarks by Rep. Franks) (“We must send a message to the
criminal that committing a violent crime will carry a severe
penalty. This legislation will make an additional 22 crimes
including carjacking and drive-by shootings, subject to the
death penalty.”).

At least two courts have speculated that Congress probably
intended the heightened intent requirement to apply only to
cases where the carjacking resulted in death, that is, those
cases falling under § 2119(3). See United States v. Anderson,
108 F.3d 478, 482-83 (3d Cir. 1997), petition for cert. filed
(U.S., June 3, 1997) (No. 96-9338); Holloway, 921 F. Supp.
at 158. But see United States v. Randolph, 93 F.3d 656, 660-
61 (9th Cir. 1996). In support of this interpretation, these
courts point to the initial wording of the 1994 amendment,
“Section 2119(3) of title 18, United States Code, is amended
by .... ,.” as limiting language for the two specific
changes set forth within. See Anderson, 108 F.3d 378-79
(quoting Pub. L. No. 103-322, § 60003(a)(14) (emphasis
added); see also Holloway, 921 F. Supp. at 158.

Regardless of the actual intent of Congress in adding this
amendment, the practical effect of adding this requirement ts
to severely limit the scope of conduct covered by the statute.
The addition of the heightened intent requirement into the
body of the carjacking statute limits federal jurisdiction over
all carjacking offenses to only those in which death or seri-
ous bodily harm was intended. Notwithstanding that such a

6602

@ 11a @

result was unintended, the Court declines any invitation to
redraft the statute—that is a task better left to the legisla-
ture.? Thus, the sole issue this Court must decide is whether
the “specific intent to kill,” as now reflected in 18 U.S.C.

§ 2119, encompasses a conditional intent, as defined by
Judge Gleeson in his instruction to the jury.

B. Judge Gleeson’s Instruction

In his instruction to the jury, Judge Gleeson charged, in
relevant part:

Evidence that the defendant intended to use a gun to
frighten the victims is not sufficient in and of itself to
prove an intent to kill or cause serious bodily harm. It is,
however, one of the facts you may consider in deter-
mining whether the government has met its burden.

You may also consider the fact that no victim was
actually killed or seriously injured when you consider

the evidence or lack of evidence as to the defendant's
intent.

In some cases, intent is conditional. That is, a defen-

dant may intend to engage in certain conduct only if a
certain event occurs.

In this case, the government contends that the defen-
dant intended to cause death or serious bodily harm if
the alleged victims had refused to turn over their cars. If
you find beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant

had such an intent, the government has satisfied this ele-
ment of the offense.

We note that since the 1994 amendments there have been several legislative
initiatives introduced in Congress that seek to remove the intent portion of the
carjacking statute. See The Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act
of 1995, S. 3, 104th Cong. § 717 (1995) (titled “Elimination of Unjustified Sci-
enter Element for Carjacking”); Omnibus Crime Control Act of 1997, S. 3,

105th Cong. § 807 (1997) (titled “Elimination of Unjustified Scienter Element
for Carjacking”).

6603

@ 12a @

If you find that the co-defendant, Vernon Lennon,
acted with the intent to cause death or serious bodily
injury, that is not sufficient. You must find that the
defendant shared in that intent before you can conclude
that this element has been satisfied.

Holloway argues that the above instruction was erroneous
because it allowed the jury to convict him based on or
mental state than is required by the carjacking statute. Hol-
loway contends that the plain meaning of “specific intent *
kill” does not include the lesser mental state of “conditiona
intent,” because a conditional intent to kill is no more ory
state of mind where death is a foreseeable event and, as suc :
is equivalent to a mental state of recklessness OF deprave ;
indifference. Holloway contends that such a lesser owe
state plainly does not satisfy the intent requirement 0 the
carjacking statute.’

The Court agrees that a conditional intent to couse estat
serious bodily harm and “reckless indifference both invo =
foreseeability; however, conditional intent requires a
more culpable mental state. A carjacker who plans to a “¢
use deadly force on a victim in the event that his mes on
to comply with his demands has engaged in willful and deli
erate consideration of his actions. Under these circumstances,
death is more than merely foreseeable, it 1s fully ee
plated and planned for. Such a mental state 1s clearly is-
tinguishable from the characterization of conditional intent
advanced by Holloway, which only has the carjacker aware
of a risk of death of which he chooses to disregard.

Court case,
Holloway further argues that the Supreme
Tison v. Arizona, 481 U.S. 137, 107 S. Ct. 1676 (1987), fore-

3 Holloway cites to Second Circuit precedent which holds that a - a
reckless or wanton state of mind cannot constitute @ specific intent to kill. See,
e.g., United States v. Kwong, 14 F.3d 189, 194-95 (2d Cir. 1994)

© 13a rd]

closes the inclusion of conditional intent within the scope of
an ordinary specific intent to kill. In Tison, co-defendants
Raymond and Ricky Tison planned an armed jail break to
free their father, Gary Tison, and another inmate from the
Arizona State Prison. Jd. at 139. After a successful escape
from prison, a flat tire in their getaway car led to the stop-
ping and theft of a family’s car in the desert outside of
Flagstaff, Arizona. See id. at 140. The defendants witnessed
their father brutally execute the family who had been in the
car. See id. at 141. The defendants were found guilty of
aggravated felony-murder and sentenced to death. See id. at
142. In the context of reviewing a collateral attack on the
imposition of the death penalty, the Supreme Court found
that under the factual circumstances presented, the defen-
dants lacked a “specific intent to kill,” and at most had a cul-
pable mental state of reckless indifference to human life. Jd

at 152. Holloway seizes on this language, characterizing con-

ditional intent as an analogous mental state to that ascribed

to the defendants in Tison. Holloway argues that, at best, the

proof shows that he and Lennon shared a conditional intent

to kill, which only meant that it was foreseeable that death
could result from their various carjackings.

The facts of Tison are plainly distinguishable from the case
at bar. In Tison some violence was foreseeable to the defen-
dants in effecting the jailbreak, however, the murders for
which the defendants were convicted were precipitated by a
completely unplanned event, the flat tire in the desert. Thus
while it may have been foreseeable to them that death would
occur in the course of the escape, the murders that flowed
from their breakdown in the desert were not the result of
willful and deliberate plan. F

Furthermore, the inclusion of a conditional intent to harm
within the definition of specific intent to harm is a well-
established principle of criminal common law. In his decision

6605

—_— ee ee -_ _--

. * =

denying Holloway’s Rule 33 motion, Judge Gleeson cited to
state criminal law authority as support for his conditional
intent charge. See Holloway, 921 F. Supp. at 159 (citing W.R.
LaFave and A.W. Scott, Jr., Handbook on Criminal Law § 28
at 200 (1972); Model Penal Code § 2.02(6) (American Law
Institute); People v. Connors, 253 Ill. 266, 97 N.E. 643
(1912); Hairston v. Mississippi, 54 Miss. 689 (1877)). Fol-
lowing his decision, the Third Circuit in United States v.
Anderson cited to Judge Gleeson’s opinion with approval,
finding that “conditional intent” was included within the spe-
cific intent required by the carjacking statute. 108 F.3d at
483, 485. The Anderson court also cited to additional author-
ity confirming this principle of criminal law, including the
incorporation of the doctrine of conditional intent into some
state penal codes. See Del. Code Ann. tit. 11 § 254 (1996)
(“The fact that a defendant's intention was conditional is
immaterial unless the condition negatives the harm or evil
sought to be prevented by the statute defining the offense.”);
18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. 18 § 302(f) (West 1997) (“Require-
ment of intent satisfied if intent is conditional—When a par-
ticular intent is an element of an offense, the element is
established although such intent is conditional, unless the
condition negatives the harm or evil sought to be prevented
by the law defining the offense.”); Haw. Rev. Stat. § 702-209
(1996) (“When a particular intent is necessary to establish an
element of an offense, it is immaterial that such intent was
conditional unless the condition negatives the harm or evil
sought to be prevented by the law prohibiting the offense.”),;
see also Shaffer v. United States, 308 F.2d 654, 654-55 (Sth
Cir. 1962); People v. Vandelinder, 481 N.W.2d 787, 788-89
(Mich. Ct. App. 1992); Commonwealth v. Richards, 293
N.E.2d 854, 860 (Mass. 1973). But see State v. Irwin, 285
S.E.2d 345, 349 (N.C. Ct. App. 1982).

® sss e

This Court also finds ample persuasive authority sup-
porting the inclusion of conditional intent within the scope of
the specific intent requirement. See People v. Thompson, 209
P.2d 819, 820 (Cal. Ct. App. 1949); People v. Henry, 190
N.E. 361, 361-62 (Ill. 1934); Johnson v. State, 605 N.E.2d
762, 765 (Ind. Ct. App. 1992); Gregory v. State, 628 P.2d
384, 386 (Okla. Crim. App. 1981); see also 40 Am. Jur. 2d
Homicide § 571 (1968) (“The question whether an assault
accompanied by a threat to kill unless a demand is complied
with is an assault with intent to kill or murder has generally
been answered in the affirmative. . . .”). Furthermore, and
most importantly, incorporating conditional intent within the
specific intent language of the carjacking statute comports
with a reasonable interpretation of the legislative purpose of
the statute. The alternative interpretation would have the fed-
eral carjacking statute covering only those carjackings in
which the carjacker’s sole and unconditional purpose at the
time he committed the carjacking was to kill or maim the vic-
tim. Such an interpretation would dramatically limit the reach
of the carjacking statute. “It is well-established that ‘in
expounding a statute, we must not be guided by a single sen-
tence or member of a sentence, but look to the provisions of
the whole law, and its object and policy.’ ” Tomka v. Seiler
Corp., 66 F.3d 1295, 1313 (2d Cir. 1995) (quoting Pilot Life
Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 51, 107 S. Ct. 1549, 1554
(1987)). A statute should not be literally applied if it results
in an interpretation clearly at odds with the intent of the
drafters. See id. While the Court cannot and should not
rewrite a poorly drafted statute, it has an obligation to inter-
pret a statute so as to give it reasonable meaning.

After reviewing the substantial body of state law address-
ing this issue, and the clear legislative purpose of 18 U.S.C.
§ 2119, the Court finds that an intent to kill or cause serious
bodily harm conditioned on whether the victim relinquishes
his or her car is sufficient to fulfill the intent requirement set

6607

® rf ®

forth in the federal carjacking statute.‘ Accord Anderson, 108
F.3d at 485. As such, we accept the well-reasoned opinion of
the court below, and hold that Judge Gleeson did not err
when he instructed the jury on conditional intent.

Il. Ineffective Assistance of Counsel

Holloway’s second ground for appeal is that he received
constitutionally ineffective assistance of counsel, requiring
the reversal of his conviction and a new trial. Holloway
argues that even though his defense counsel relied on a
legally sound argument premised on the lack of specific
intent, once Judge Gleeson rejected his argument, Holloway’s
conviction was a foregone conclusion. Holloway argues that
his trial counsel should have presented his specific intent
defense, while at the same time vigorously contesting the evi-
dence concerning all of the other elements in question.

Claims for ineffective assistance of counsel are analyzed
under the framework set forth in Strickland v. Washington,
466 U.S. 668, 686 (1984), which requires that a defendant
show “(1) that his attorney's performance fell below an
‘objective standard of reasonableness,’ and (2) that ‘there is

4 The Ninth Circuit seemingly came to the opposite conclusion in United

States v. Randolph, 93 F.3d 656, 665 (9th Cir. 1996), when it stated, “[t}he
mere conditional intent to harm a victim if she resists is simply not enough to
satisfy § 2119's new specific intent requirement.” However, in Randolph the
only evidence of intent was a threat made by one of the defendants to the vic-
tim that “ ‘she would be okay’ if she ‘(did] what was told of her.’ ” Jd. The
Ninth Circuit held that “more than a mere threat is required to establish a spe-
cific intent to kill or harm.” /d. We agree with the Ninth Circuit that without
more, a mere threat of harm 1s not sufficient to establish a specific intent to kill.
In fact, Judge Gleeson so charged in his jury instruction.

We do, however, disagree with the Ninth Circuit's dicta that equated a threat
of harm to conditional intent. See id. The court stated, “[the defendant's} threat
was tantamount to a conditional intent to harm.” /d. While a threat is certainly
evidence of a conditional intent to harm, conditional intent is not equivalem
to a threat, it is much more. Conditional intent implies some indication that the
defendant means to make good on his threat to harm. An idle threat can never
constitute an intent to kill.

6608

yd] 17a ©

a reasonable probability that, but for counsel's unprofessional
errors, the result of the proceeding would have been differ-
ent."" Kieser v. New York, 56 F.3d 16, 18 (2d Cir. 1995)
(quoting Strickland, 466 U.S. at 688, 694).

Even if Holloway could establish the first prong of the
Strickland test, he has not met his burden on the second
prong. The trial counsel's “intent” defense was appropriately
directed at the most questionable aspect of the Government's
case. Trial counsel's strategy to concede the other elements
of the offense was reasonable in light of the overwhelming
evidence in the case, i.e., Lennon's testimony that Holloway
assisted him in the carjackings, several victims’ identifica-
tion of Holloway, and Holloway’s own confession. Hol-
loway's assertion that the outcome of the trial would have
somehow been different had his trial counsel more vigorously
contested this testimony is conclusory and unpersuasive
given the record before the Court. As such, Holloway’s
appeal in this respect lacks merit.

III. /mposition of Consecutive Sentences

Finally, Holloway contests the imposition of consecutive
sentences on his firearm convictions pursuant to 18 U.S.C.
§ 924(c). Holloway concedes that this Court has already held
in United States v. Mohammed that issuing consecutive sen-
tences under the carjacking statute and the firearm statutes
based on the same carjacking is constitutionally permissible.
27 F.3d 815, 820-21 (2d Cir. 1994). However, Holloway
argues that because the trial court lowered the standard of
proof for carjacking by allowing a verdict based on condi-
tional intent, then the trial court should be precluded from
imposing Consecutive sentences based on those offenses. The
Court finds this argument to be wholly without merit.

© es @

CONCLUSION

Based on the foregoing, we affirm the judgment of the dis-
trict court.

MINER, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

Because I perceive no basis in the plain language of the
statute or in the legislative history for an element of condi-
tional intent in the crime under examination here, I respect-
fully dissent.

As originally cast, the carjacking legislation established as
a federal crime the taking or attempted taking of a motor
vehicle having some connection with interstate commerce
from the person or presence of another by force, violence or
intimidation on the part of one possessing a firearm. See 18
U.S.C. § 2119 (prior to 1994 Amendment). Enhanced penal-
ties for the infliction of serious bodily injuries or resulting
death were provided. See id. § 2119(2), (3). The statute after
amendment defines the crime as the taking or attempted tak-
ing of a motor vehicle having some connection with inter-
state commerce from the person or presence of another by
force or violence on the part of one who intends to cause
death or serious bodily harm. See id. (as amended). The
penalty if death results is further enhanced to include the
death penalty. See id. § 2119(3). The distinctions to be made
between the original and the amended statute are clear: the
firearm possession requirement is deleted; a specific intent
element is added; and the penalty provision is expanded.

Despite the foregoing, my colleagues approve the district
court’s failure to instruct the jury as the statute requires
regarding the specific intent to cause death or serious bodily
harm, and further approve the following substituted instruc-

6610

© = ©

tion, which allows for conviction on proof of conditional
intent:

In this case, the government contends that the defen-
dant intended to cause death or serious bodily harm if
the alleged victims had refused to turn over their cars. If
you find beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant
had such an intent, the government has satisfied this ele-
ment of the offense.

(Emphasis added.) What is the provenance of such an instruc-
tion? It surely is not the language of the statute itself. It is
not even the indictment, for the indictment parrots the
statute. The district court therefore was wrong in charging

the jury that the government had advanced a conditional
intent contention.

In arriving at their conclusion, my colleagues first turn to
the legislative history and properly note that the amendment
to the carjacking statute represented an effort to expand the
number of crimes subject to the death penalty, including car-
jacking where death results. There is also an indication of an
intent on the part of Congress to eliminate the firearm
requirement. Ultimately, as all agree, the heightened intent
requirement was added to the final amending legislation by
the Congressional Conference Committee. There is no dis-
cernible information on why or how this element was added.

How, then, can it be said that “it is clear from a review of
legislative history that Congress intended to broaden the cov-
erage of the federal carjacking statute by the passage of the
1994 amendments, and that the application of the heightened
intent requirement to al] three of the carjacking [penalty] cat-
egories was, in all likelihood, an unintended drafting
error{?]" Maj. Opn. at 8. No member of Congress has ever
referred to “an unintended drafting error,” and the congres-

6611

— es ausce -—— ee —

sional intent may well have been to narrow in some respects,
as well as broaden in some respects, the statute's coverage.

The scienter requirement of the amended statute has been
interpreted in different ways. While one circuit court thinks
that Congress intended the specific intent provision to apply
only where the carjacking resulted in death, see United States
y. Anderson, 108 F.3d 478, 482 (3d Cir. 1997), another circuit
court considers that the purpose of the amendment was to
convert the entire general intent offense to a specific intent
offense, see United States v. Randolph, 93 F.3d 656, 661 (9th
Cir. 1996). But we have no authority to correct an “unin-
tentional drafting error” where there is no reason to say that
there is an “error” or that the statutory provision inserted is
“unintended.” By adding a conditional intent element to cor-
rect what the court perceives to be an error, we ignore the
teaching of the Supreme Court that “(to] supply omissions
transcends the judicial function.” /selin v. United States, 270
U.S. 245, 251 (1926), quoted in West Virginia Univ. Hosps.,
Inc. v. Casey, 499 U.S. 83, 101 (1991).

We do know that since the enactment of the 1994 amend-
ment to the carjacking statute, Congress has made at least
three attempts to eliminate what was termed the “unjustified
scienter element for carjacking.” Omnibus Crime Control Act
of 1997, S. 3, 105th Cong. § 807; Violent Crime Control and
Law Enforcement Improvement Act of 1995, S. 3, 104th
Cong. § 717 (“VCCLEIA"); see Anti-Gang and Youth Vio-
lence Control Act of 1997, S. 362, 105th Cong. § 2113
(“AGYVCA”). These statutes would eliminate entirely the
requirement that the government prove that the defendant
possessed the intent to cause death or serious bodily harm.
See, e.g., VCCLEIA § 717 (“Section 21 19 of title 18, United
States Code, is amended by striking °, with the intent to
cause death or serious bodily harm’.”). It is unclear what
happened to the earlier attempts to remove the intent element

6612

) 21a @

from § 2119, but the AGYVCA, the most recent effort,

presently appears to be before the Senate Judiciary Com-
mittee.

The only discussion we have concerning the attempts to
remove the intent element comes from Senator Leahy’s com-
ments in introducing the AGYVCA. The Senator explained:

Prior to the enactment of [the Violent Crime Control
and Law Enforcement Act), the offense applied only if
the defendant possessed a firearm. Section 60003(a)(14)
of that law appropriately deleted the firearm require-
ment, as had been proposed im the Senate-passed bill, but
in conference a new scienter element was added that the
defendant must have intended to cause death or serious
bodily injury. This unique new element will inappro-
priately make carjackings difficult or impossible to pros-

—ecute in certain situations. . . . The new requirement
_ will likely be a fertile [source] of argument for
defendants in cases in which no immediate threat of
injury occurs, such as where a defendant enters an occu-
pied vehicle while it is stopped at a traffic light and
physically removes the driver. Even when a weapon is
displayed, the defendant may argue that although it was
designed to instill fear, he had no intent to harm the vic-
tim had the victim in fact declined to leave the car.

143 Cong. Rec. $1659, $ 1661-62 (Feb. 26, 1997) (statement
of Sen. Leahy).

Aside from the fact that Senator Leahy’s comments rep-
resent the views of only one member of Congress, there is
nothing in those comments to indicate that the “scienter ele-
ment,” as he calls it, was not intentionally placed in the
statute when the 1994 Amendment was enacted. He is saying
only that the element should be taken out. But, so far, his col-
leagues have not agreed that this should be done.

6613

In this regard, it is of more than passing interest that car-
jacking is essentially a state offense, and it may well be the
intent of Congress to limit the scope of the federal offense.
See generally Geraldine Szott Moohr, The Federal Interest in
Criminal Law, 47 Syracuse L. Rev. 1127 (1997). Several
states have enacted specific carjacking statutes. See, e.g., Fla.
Stat. § 812.133 (1994); Md. Code Ann., Crimes and Punish-
ments § 348A (1996); Miss. Code Ann. § 97-3-117 (1994),
Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-58.1 (Michie 1996). The common ele-
ments of each of these statutes are the taking of a motor vehi-
cle by threat ot force or violence. See, ¢.g., S.C. Code Ann.
8 16-3-1075(B) (Law Co-op. Supp. 1996) (“A person is
guilty of the felony of carjacking who takes, or attempts to
take, a motor vehicle from another person by force and vio-
lence or by intimidation while the person is operating the
vehicle or while the person is in the vehicle.”). Some states
also have enacted specific armed carjacking statutes to
address carjackings in which a dangerous weapon is used.
See, ¢.g., DC. Code Ann. § 22-2903(b)( 1) (1996).

Those states that do not have a specific carjacking statute,
such as New York, prosecute carjackings under the state's
robbery statute. See, ¢.g., Kansas v. Vincent, 908 P.2d 619,
621 (Kan. 1995) (defendant charged with felony murder, con-
spiracy to commit robbery and aggravated robbery in relation
to a carjacking resulting in death); New York v. Lee, 652
N.Y.S.2d 2, 3 (App. Div. Ist Dep't 1996) (defendant charged
with first degree robbery in the gunpoint theft of acar). As
with the specific carjacking statutes, these robbery statutes
apply to thefts involving the use of threat or force. See, €.8-.
N.Y. Penal Law § 160.10(3) (McKinney 1997) (“A person is
guilty of robbery in the second degree when he forcibly
steals property and when. . . [t}he property consists of a
motor vehicle. . . .”). Thus, even where there is no specific

6614

® 395 ®

carjacking statute, carjackings can be prosecuted adequately
under state law.

Ultimately, my colleagues seem to reject the legislative
intent approach, saying that “(nJotwithstanding that such a
result was unintended, the Court declines any invitation to
redraft the statute —that is a task better left to the ijegisla-
ture.” Maj. Opn. at 9. (But that in fact is what they have done
here.) The majority opinion goes on to find a conditional
intent implicit in the carjacking statute as amended, but there
is absolutely no basis for such a construction. The intent
required is spelled out explicitly in the statute. The other rea-
son assigned for reading conditional intent into the statute—
that “the inclusion of a conditional intent to harm within the
definition of specific intent to harm is a well-established
principle of criminal common law,” Maj. Opn. at 12—is irrel-
evant here. There is no federal common law of crimes, see
United States v. Hudson & Goodwin, 11 U.S. (7 Cranch) 32,
34 (1812), state criminal law supplies no authority for inter-
preting a federal criminal statute, and the Model Penal Code,
cited in the majority opinion, never has been adopted by
Congress. In point of fact, I can find no federal criminal
statute that provides conditional intent as an element of the
crime defined. Nor is there a general provision in the Federal
Criminal Code, as there is in some state criminal codes, that
the requirement of intent is satisfied by proof of conditional
intent. See, e.g., Haw. Rev. Stat. § 702-209 (1993) (“When a
particular intent is necessary to establish an element of an
offense, it is immaterial] that such intent was conditional
unless the condition negatives the harm or evil sought to be
prevented by the law prohibiting the offense.”)

To avoid a clear judicial usurpation of congressional
authority, I would reverse and remand for a retrial upon
instructions conforming with the foregoing analysis.

6615

@ 24a @
oN MIAN DA TE : EY BRI/n/

IS-ch- 79
GLEE Spn/
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated term of the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, held at the United States

Courthouse, Foley Square, in the City of New York, on the sixteenth day of September, one thousand nine hundred
and ninety-seven.

PRESENT: JOSEPH M. McLAUGHLIN,

= Alia
eagse COLA 5S

ROGER J. MINER, Sel,
Circuit Judges, Gy, PET NS )
FREDERICK J. SCULLIN, *( Sep 16 i997)
District Judge. *y ho _ ak
ited he Sia tier
Docket No. 96-1563 al
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Appellee,
Vv.

TEDDY ARNOLD; CHARLES ROBINSON; DARREL JONES; DAVID VALENTINE; PAUL $
and JEFFREY DRAKE, ° CAGLIONE:

Defendants,

francois holloway a/k/a ABOU ALI,
Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from a judgment of the United States District Court for the Eastern District of New York,

This matter came on to be heard on the transcript of record from the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of New York, and was argued.

Upon consideration thereof, IT IS ORDERED that the judgment be, and it hereby is, AFFIRMED.

FOR THE COURT:
GEORGE LANGE II, Clerk

Beth J. , Administrative Attorney

*The Hon. Frederick J. Scullin, Judge of the United States District Court for the Northern District of New Y
sitting by designation. ies =
1 * FAM

— ISSUED AS MANDATE ,../-</,.

.

2ND CASE of Level 1 printed in FULL format.

PAGE 15

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, - against - FRANCOIS HOLLOWAY,
also known as “Abdu Ali," Defendant.

95-CR-0078 (JG)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW
YORK

921 F. Supp. 155; 1996 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 4905

April 5, 1996, Dated
COUNSEL: (**1] APPEARANCES:

ZACHARY W. CARTER, United States Attorney, Brooklyn, New York, By: Dolan L.
Garrett, Assistant U.S. Attorney.

DANA HANNA, ESQ., Brooklyn, New York, Attorney for Defendant.
JUDGES: JOHN GLEESON, United States District Judge

OPINIONBY: JOHN GLEESON

OPINION: (#155) MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

JOHN GLEESON, United States District Judge:

Defendant Francois Holloway, also known as “Abdu Ali," was indicted on
February 2, 1995. He was charged with conspiring to operate a “chop shop," in
violation of 18 U.S.C. @ 371, operating a chop shop, in violation of 18 U.S.C. @
2322, three counts of carjacking, in violation of 18 U.S.C. @ 2119, (*156)
and three counts of using and carrying a firearm during and in relation to the
charged carjackings, in violation of 18 U.S.C. @ 924(c). A jury trial was held
in December 1995, after which Ali was found guilty of all charges.

Ali now moves for a new trial pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 33, claiming that
such relief is required in the interest of justice. In the alternative, he seeks
reconsideration of his unsuccessful motion pursuant to Fed. R. Cr. P. 29, which
he made at trial. The issue raised by the motion was also the central issue at
the trial: what must the government prove [**2) to satisfy the intent element
of the carjacking statute, 18 U.S.C. @ 2119? nl

nl Although Ali's motion purports to address all of the charges against hin,
none of his arguments addresses Counts One or Two (conspiracy to operate a chop
shop and operation of a chop shop, respectively). Even if the challenges raised
on this motion had merit, there would be no reason to set aside the jury's
verdicts on those counts.

There is no question that the conduct at issue in this case is precisely what
Congress and the general public would describe as carjacking, and that

921 F. Supp. 155, *156; 1996 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 4905, **2

PAGE 16

Congress intended to prohibit it in @ 2119. However, carelessness in the
legislative process has produced a criminal statute that says something
fundamentally different than what Congress obviously meant to say. As a result,
Ali advances a cclorable claim that his conduct here -- using a gun to terrorize
motorists into giving up their cars -- is no longer prohibited by the carjackinc
statute. Indeed, it is likely that a 1994 amendment to the statute, [**3)}
which was explicitly intended to broaden the available penalties, in fact placec
a large number of “carjackers" beyond its reach.

Ali, however, is not among them. Though colorable, his argument fails for the
reasons set forth below, and his motion is denied.

A. The Facts

Vernon Lennon's father, Teddy Arnold, operated a “chop shop" in Queens, New
York. Lennon stole cars for his father to chop. His father would tell him what
year and model cars he needed, and Lennon would locate such cars and steal then.
He did not know how to disable alarms or “hot wire" cars, so Lennon's modus
operandi was to take the cars from their owners at gunpoint. Lennon was a team
player, always taking another robber with him to help locate the target car and
steal it. Since Lennon liked to follow a targeted car, often to the driver's
home, before committing the robbery, a teammate was a virtual necessity; if the
robbery was successful, there were two cars that had to be driven away.

Lennon has known the defendant Ali (whom Lennon knows as Francois Holloway)
since they were boys. In approximately September 1994, he recruited Ali, who
would hang around the chop shop, to steal cars with him. Lennon [*#*4} told
Ali that Lennon would use a gun to steal the cars, and showed him the gun, a .3;3
caliber revolver. Ali agreed to help for a fixed fee per car stolen.

On October 14, 1994, Lennon and Ali stole a 1992 Nissan Maxima. They followec
the car to the home of its driver, 69 year-old Stanley Metzger, in Queens. As
Metzger got out of his car, Lennon and Ali got out of theirs. Lennon approached
Metzger, pointed the gun at him, and demanded the keys. Metzger was apparently
not fast enough in complying, so Lennon threatened to shoot him. Metzger handed
over the keys, and was then told to hand over his wallet. He did so, and the
robbers drove off with his car and his money.

On the next day, October 15, 1994, at approximately 8:00 p.m., Lennon and Ali
spotted Donna DiFranco driving a 1991 Toyota Celica at the Whitestone Shopping
Center in Queens. They followed her to her friend's house, and Lennon approachec
her after she exited her parked car. He pointed a gun at her and demanded her
money and her car keys. She complied, and after some fumbling with the car alarn
and an anti-theft device, Lennon and Ali took her car.

At approximately 10:00 p.m. on the same day, Lennon and Ali stole another
{**5) car, a 1988 Mercedes Benz. They followed the victim, Ruben Rodriguez, tc
his home in the Jamaica Estates section of Queens. Both robbers got out of thei)
car and approached Rodriguez, who had just stepped out of the Mercedes Benz.
Lennon asked Rodriguez if he knew (*157] the location of a particular
address. The address was, as Rodriguez put it, “way off base," and he knew
"something was up." Rodriguez got back into his car and closed the door. Lennon
pulled the gun and told him to get out of the car or he would be shot. Rodrigue:
got out of his car, and Lennon demanded his money as well as the keys. Rodrigue:
hesitated; his money was in a clutch bag on the passenger's seat, and he felt

: =e

PAGE 17
921 F. Supp. 155, *157; 1996 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 4905, **5

he might be killed if he leaned into the car to get it. Frustrated by the delay,
the defendant Ali punched Rodriguez in the face. Rodriguez reeled backwards from
the punch and used that momentum to begin running away from the robbers, who
fled with his car and his money.

On all three occasions, n2 Lennon and Ali intended to leave the victims
unharmed. Lennon never fired the gun in any of the carjackings. An experienced
criminal, he knew that if he did, he risked a lengthier prison term than he
would receive [**6) for simply robbing the car. For each robbery, the plan
was to use the firearm only to obtain possession of the car, not to shoot or
otherwise harm the victin.

n2 There was also evidence of two uncharged crimes committed by Ali with
Lennon: one other successful carjacking and an attempted one that was aborted by
the arrival of a police officer on the scene.

However, in all three of the charged carjackings, Lennon was prepared to
shoot the victims if their resistance made that necessary. In other words, he
intended to kill or seriously injure the victims, but that intent was
conditioned on their giving the robbers "a hard time." There was ample evidence
from which a rational juror could infer that the defendant Ali shared that
conditional intent.

B. The Carjacking Statute And Its 1994 Amendment

In September 1992, Paula Basu, a Maryland woman, had her car stolen from her
by two men. The men forced her from her car and drove off. Because her infant
daughter was in the car, Basu clung to it as the men ([**7) drove away, and
was dragged to her death.

This horrific offense generated a public outcry, and focused attention on
legislative efforts to make car robberies a federal crime. Those efforts
resulted in the Anti Car Theft Act of 1992, codified at 18 U.S.C. @ 2119. As
initially enacted, this new federal offense read as follows:

Whoever, possessing a firearm as defined in section 921 of this title, takes
a motor vehicle that has been transported, shipped, or received in interstate or
foreign commerce from the person or presence of another by force and violence or
by intimidation, or attempts to do so, shall -

(1) be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than 15 years, or both,

(2) if serious bodily injury (as defined in section 1365 of this title) results,
be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than 25 years, or both, and

(3) if death results, be fined under this title or imprisoned for any number of
years up to life, or both.

The subsections of the statute obviously related solely to punishment, and were
not elements of the offense. They provided for enhanced penalties of up to 25
years if serious bodily injury resulted from the offense, {**8) and up to

© <2 ®

921 F. Supp. 155, *157; 1996 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 4905, **8

PAGE 18

life in prison if it resulted in death.

During 1993, Congress was considering extensive new criminal legislation,
which included an array of new death penalties. Members of both houses proposed
amendments to the newly-minted carjacking statute. The Senate bill proposed an
amendment that would provide for the death penalty in cases where a carjacking
results in death. S. 942, 103d Cong., ist Sess. (1993). Senator Lieberman
proposed a further amendment to this death penalty provision that would
eliminate the requirement that such cases involve the use a firearm by the
carjacker. In his remarks in support of his proposed amendment, Senator
Lieberman observed:

If a carjacking occurs and a death occurs as a result of that, does it reall)
matter whether a firearm was used, whether a knife was used, whether physical
force was used, or whether a mother, as in the Basu case, was dragged to her
death because (*158) she wanted to make every effort to save the life of he:
child?

In this case, the very bill I am amending has the death penalty for
carjacking. All I am doing here is taking a small but I think significant
additional step in saying, if the death penalty is going to ([**9)} be enacted
into law for cases of carjacking where death occurs, then we ought not to
require that that death has to involve a firearm. If the person in a carjacking
is killed as a result of a knife or other weapon or just as a result of the
carjacking, then the criminal ought to be subject to death himself. That is why
I propose the amendment.

139 Cong. Rec. S$15295, S15301, S15303 (1993) (statement of Sen. Lieberman).

Thus, with respect to carjackings resulting in death, the Senate bill
eliminated the firearm requirement and provided for the death penalty. Because
such a statute could authorize the death penalty for an accomplice who neither
killed a victim nor intended to kill or harm the victim, it would have been
subject to attack under the Eighth Amendment. See Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S.
782, 73 L. Ed. 2d 1140, 102 S. Ct. 3368 (1982). Perhaps for that reason, the
conference report for the bill modified the Senate death penalty amendment for
carjacking by adding an intent requirement -- the “intent to cause death or
serious bodily harm." H.R. Rep. No. 103-694, 103d Cong., 2d Sess. (1994).

These combined efforts resulted in the following provision of the Violent
Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act [**10) of 1994:

(14) CARJACKING - Section 2119(3) of title 18, United States Code, is amended b
striking the period after “both” and inserting ", or sentenced to death."; and
by striking ", possessing a firearm as defined in section 921 of this title,"
and inserting ", with the intent to cause death or serious bodily harm."

Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994 (the "Act"), Pub L. No.
103-322, Title VI, @ 60003(a) (14), 108 Stat. 1796, 1970 (1994). The provision
was intended to affect only carjackings resulting in death. That was the sole
focus of the legislative debates. Moreover, the provision was included in Title
VI of the Act, which was entitled the “Federal Death Penalty Act of 1994." The
most powerful evidence of the limited purpose of the amendment is Congress’

921 F. Supp. 155, *158; 1996 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 4905, **10

PAGE 19

obvious belief that it was amending only a penalty enhancement provision, not
the statutory prohibition itself. Specifically, it purported to amend "@
2119(3)," the subsection of the original (and existing) statute that is solely a
penalty provision. Indeed, it is the penalty provision applicable to cases in
which death results, which cases were, as noted, the only focus of the
legislature's ([(*#*11]) attention.

However, the possession-of-a-firearm requirement that the amendment
eliminated was not, as the amendment mistakenly assumed, located in 2119(3). In
fact, it was not in any of the three penalty provisions; rather, it was an
element of the offense itself, a necessary ingredient of all carjacking
prosecutions, not just those resulting in death. Thus, in its effort to
eliminate the firearm requirement only in cases resulting in death, Congress
enacted an amendment that, on its face, eliminates it in all cases. n3

n3 It has been suggested that, notwithstanding the unequivocal language of
the amended statute, the firearm requirement has only been eliminated when the
carjacking results in death, and still must be proved in cases, like this one,
that fall within @ 2119 (a) or (b). M. Michenfelder, The Federal Carjacking
Statute: To Be Or Not To Be? An Analysis Of The Propriety Of 18 U.S.C. @ 2119,
39 St. Louis U.L.J. 1009 (1995). Perhaps because a firearm was used in this
case, however, that strained argument has not been made here, and thus its
merits need not be addressed.

{*#12)

Similarly, Congress intended to add a new intent element for cases in which
the death penalty is sought. However, notwithstanding the amendment's stated
intention to affect only the penalty provisions of @ 2119(3), it added the new
element -- “the intent to cause death or serious bodily harm" -- to the first
clause of @ 2119, and thus made it applicable to all violations of the statute.

As amended, the statute now reads as follows:

Whoever, with the intent to cause death or serious bodily harm takes a motor
vehicle that has been transported, shipped, or received [*159} in interstate
or foreign commerce from the person or presence of another by force and violence
or by intimidation, or attempts to do so, shall -

(1) be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than 15 years, or both,

(2) if serious bodily injury (as defined in section 1365 of this title) results,
be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than 25 years, or both, and

(3) if death results, be fined under this title or imprisoned for any number of
years up to life, or both, or sentenced to death.

In short, the 1994 amendment to the carjacking statute effected fundamental
changes that [(**13) Congress never intended. The elimination of the firearm
requirement for all cases federalized approximately 14,000 additional cases each
year. n4 At the same time that it inadvertently opened the door for all these
cases, Congress inadvertently closed it substantially by unintentionally

921 F. Supp. 155, *159; 1996 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 4905, **13

PAGE 20

imposing the specific intent requirement on the entire statute, not just in
death penalty cases. n5

-~_--- - -~----+- += = = = = = = = =-Pootnotes- - ---- +, + * * = = = = - =

n4 See Michenfelder, supra note 3, at 1012-13 (35,000 carjackings or
attempted carjackings were committed during each of the years 1987-92, and
firearms were used 50% of the time).

n5 The government does not contend, as it might have, that the specific
intent required by the 1994 amendment is an element only in carjacking cases
where death results and the death penalty is sought. For that reason and because
I conclude Ali had the specific intent required by the statute in any event, I
do not need to address that issue.

Cc. Discussion

Ali urges a literal construction of the amended statute, contending that it
(**14) prohibits only those carjackings in which the perpetrators
unconditionally intend to kill or seriously injure their victims. Under this
reading, the law would not prohibit the crimes committed by Ali and Lennon,
where the intent of the carjackers was not to kill or injure people, but to get
cars. Indeed, this reading would no doubt insulate from federal prosecution the
large majority of carjackings, as carjackers generally do not intend to cause
death or serious bodily injury, but in fact hope that the opposite will occur,
i.e., that the victim will peaceably give up the car and suffer no harm at all.

Thus, if accepted, Ali's construction of the carjacking statute would
drastically narrow its scope. Only those carjackers who intend not only to rob
cars, but also to murder or seriously injure another, could be prosecuted. A
person who intends to find a Mercedes Benz, shoot the owner and take the car
could be prosecuted. A person who intends to find a Mercedes Benz and shoot the
owner only if she refuses to give up her car could not, at least if the plan
succeeds and the car is taken without the need to fire.

This would be an odd result. The statute would no longer prohibit the
(**#15) very crime it was enacted to address except in those unusual
circumstances when carjackers also intended to commit another crime -- murder o)
a serious assault. Moreover, this result, if accepted, would be the ironic
product of legislation that was intended “to broaden and strengthen [the
carjacking statute) so our U.S. attorneys (sic) have every possible tool
available to them to attack the problem." 139 Cong. Rec. 815295, S15301 (1993)
(statement of Sen. Lieberman).

Ali's argument fails because his intent to aid and abet Lennon's use of the
firearm if the victims resisted is sufficient. Where a crime is defined to
require a particular intention, that element is satisfied even if the requisite
intent is conditional, unless the condition negatives the evil sought to be
prevented by the statute. W. R. Lafave and A. W. Scott, Jr., Handbook on
Criminal Law, @ 28 at 200 (1972).

Although the issue of conditional intent is not raised very often, at least
in the federal courts, it is not new. In People v. Connors, 253 Ill. 266, 97

@ 31a

921 F. Supp. 155, *159; 1996 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 4905, **15

PAGE 21

N.E. 643 (Ill. 1912), the defendants held guns to members of a rival labor union
and told them to take off their overalls or they would be shot. Although

[**16) the workers complied, and there was no shooting, the defendants were
convicted of assault with an intent to murder. 253 Ill. at 273. In upholding the
conviction, the Supreme Court of Illinois held that the crime is “complete where
it is shown that the assailant, with the (*160)} present ability to destroy
life or do great bodily harm, draws a dangerous weapon on another and threatens
to kill him unless the party assailed complies immediately with some unlawful
condition or demand. . . . The offense is complete even though commission of the
felony is averted by the submission of the assailed party to the unlawful
demands made upon him." Id. at 647-48.

Some conditions on intent may bring the conduct out of the reach of the
statute. In Hairston v. Mississippi, 54 Miss. 689 (1877), Hairston attempted to
remove the personal effects of a laborer from a plantation. When the plantation
owner grabbed Hairston's mules to prevent him from removing the property,
Hairston pointed a pistol at him and angrily threatened to “'shoot any G-d d--d
man who attempts to stop my mules.'" Id. at 692. The plantation owner released
the mules, and Hairston was convicted of assaulting him with intent to [*#*17]}
murder. The Supreme Court of Mississippi reversed the conviction. Because the
plantation owner was trespassing on Hairston's property by grabbing his mules,
the threat to shoot was conditioned on a demand Hairston had a right to make,
and thus he could not be guilty of the offense.

Here, of course, there can be no doubt that the intent to shoot the victims
was conditioned on a demand -- that they turn over their cars -- that Lennon and
Ali had no right to make.

Not all instances of conditional intent involve demands by the defendant. A
person may break into a house intending to rape its occupant if she is home, or
to steal from it only if no one is home. Section 2.02(6) of the Model Penal Code
provides as follows:

Requirement of Purpose Satisfied if Purpose Is Conditional. When a particular
purpose is an element of an offense, the element is established although such
purpose is conditional, unless the condition negatives the harm or evil sought
to be prevented by the law defining the offense.

See also United States v. Arrellano, 812 F.2d 1209, 1212 n.2 (9th Cir. 1987).

Viewed under this standard, the conditional nature of Ali's intent obviously
does not help ([(**18) him. The evil sought to be prevented by @ 2119 in not
“negatived" by the condition, it is the condition. Section 2119 is not a murder
or assault statute, it is a car robbery statute.

Ali's argument on this motion relies in part on the premise that there was
insufficient evidence from which a juror could find an intent on his part that
recalcitrant victims be shot. However, as stated above, there was ample evidence
from which a jury could infer that intent. Lennon told Ali that a gun would be
used and showed him the gun. Lennon intended to shoot uncooperative victims, and
threatened to do so in Ali's presence. Ali himself demonstrated a seriousness of
purpose by punching one of the victims in the face simply because he hesitated
in handing over his money. Ali makes much of the fact that there is no direct
evidence of his intent, but there rarely is such evidence. The jury could
readily have inferred it from the circumstances, and Ali thus cannot satisfy

PAGE 22
921 F. Supp. 155, *160; 1996 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 4905, **18

his heavy burden of establishing the insufficiency of the evidence.

Finally, Ali's reliance on the rule of lenity is misplaced. Whether
conditional intent is sufficient to establish the intent element of the
=e offense ([(**19) is not a question of statutory construction, but o;
criminal law.

The jury instructions on the element of intent in the carjacking counts
included the following:

In some cases, intent is conditional. That is, a defendant may intend to
engage in certain conduct only if a certain event occurs. In this case, the
government contends that the defendant intended to cause death or seriously
bodily harm if the alleged victims had refused to turn over their cars. If you
find beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant had such an intent, the
government has satisfied this element of the offense.

If you find that the co-defendant, Vernon Lennon, acted with the intent to
cause death or serious bodily injury, that is not sufficient. You must find tha‘
the defendant shared in that intent before you can conclude that this element
has been satisfied. {*161)} I remind you that you must consider each count
separately.

In view of the foregoing, those instructions, and the charge as a whole,
properly permitted the jury, if it accepted the government's evidence, to find
Ali guilty of carjacking.

D. Conclusion

It is likely that many incidents of what both Congress and the general publi
would [**20) call carjacking are no longer prohibited by @ 2119. Without
doubt, some car robbers threaten death or serious bodily injury, but intend to
flee the scene rather than escalate the confrontation if the demand for the car
is rebuffed. A defendant with that state of mind may not be subject to
prosecution under @ 2119, even if the threat succeeds and he robs the car.

However, because Ali had the specific intent required by the statute, albeit
conditionally, his motion to set aside the verdicts and for a new trial is
denied.

So Ordered.

JOHN GLEESON, U.S.D.J.
Dated: Brooklyn, New York

April 5, 1996

: 335
Rebuttal Summations - Garrett

person and presence of another, by force and violence and by
intimidation.

All three of these offenses, Count 7, Count 9, Count ll,
call for the government to prove each of the following elements
beyond a reasonable doubt.

First, that the defendant knowingly and willfully took
or attempted to take a motor vehicle.

Second, that the defendant at the time of the taking,
intended to cause death or serious bodily harm.

Third, that the taking of the motor vehicle was
accomplished by force and violence or by intimidation.

Fourth, that the motor vehicle taken was transported,
shipped or received in interstate commerce.

The first of these elements that the defendant knowingly
took or knowingly attempted to take a motor vehicle. As I
explained before to do something knowingly is to act purposely
and voluntarily and not because of a mistake or accident or other
innocent reason.

Now, the defendant need not have been aware of the
specific law and rule that his conduct may have violated, but he
must act with a specific intent to do whatever it is the law
forbids, here take a motor vehicle by force, violence or
intimidation.

The second element the government must prove beyond a
reasonable doubt is that the taking was committed with the intent

D.Pereira, OCR

Pie “<

® 9 @

336
Rebuttal Summations - Garrett

to cause death or serious bodily harm. This requires you to make
a determination about the defendant’s state of mind at the time
of the conduct in question. I’ve already discussed with you the
fact that a person’s intent can rarely be proved by direct
evidence. You should consider the totality of the circumstances
presented by the evidence before you. —_

The defendant’s intent in committing the crime must have
been to cause death or serious bedily harm. I remind you that
intentional conduct is done willfully, with a bad purpose to do
something the law forbids, in this case, to cause death or
serious bodily harm to the person from whom the car was taken.

It is the defendant’s theory of the case that the
evidence fails to prove that he acted with intent to cause death
or serious bodily harm.

If the government has failed to prove beyond a
reasonable doubt that the defendant acted with the intent to kill
or cause serious bodily harm to the particular victim, you must
find him not guilty of that offense.

The defendant is entitled to the presumption of
innocence with regard to all of the elements of the offense
including this element. That is, you must presume that the
defendant did not possess the intent to kill or cause serious
bodily harm and you must continue to give the benefit of that
presumption to the defendant unless and until it is proven beyond
a reasonable doubt that the defendant intended to cause death or

D.Pereira, OCR

337
Rebuttal Summations - Garrett

serious bodily harm at the time of the events you are

considering.

Evidence that the defendant intended to use a gun to
frighten the victims is not sufficient in and of itself to prove
an intent to kill or cause serious bodily harm. It is, however,
one of the facts you may consider in determining whether the
government has met its burden.

You may also consider the fact that no victim was
actually killed or seriously injured when you consider the
evidence or lack of evidence as to the defendant’s intent.

In some cases, intent is conditional. That is, a
defendant may intend to engage in certain conduct only if a
certain event occurs.

In this case, the government contends that the defendant
intended to cause death or serious body harm if the alleged
victims had refused to turn over their euse. If you find beyond
a reasonable doubt that the defendant had such an intent, the
government has satisfied this element of the offense.

If you find that the co-defendant, Vernon Lennon, acted
with the intent to cause death or serious bodily injury, that is
not sufficient. You must find that the defendant shared in that
intent before you can conclude that this element has been
satisfied.

Let me also remind you, you must consider each count

separately.

D.Pereira, OCR

338
Rebuttal Summations - Garrett

Serious bodily harm is defined to be “bodily injury”
which involves substantial risk of death, extreme physical pain,
protracted and obvious disfigurement, or protracted loss or
impairment of a bodily member, organ, or mental faculty.

This is to be distinguished from “bodily harm" which
means cut, abrasion, bruise, burn, or disfigurement, physical
pain or any other injury to the body, no matter how temporary.

Proof of intent to cause bodily harm as opposed to
serious bodily harm is insufficient.

The third element the government must prove is that the
taking of the motor vehicles were accomplished by force or
violence or by intimidation.

The government can meet its burden on this element by
proving beyond a reasonable doubt either that the defendant used
force or violence or that the defendant acted in an intimidating
manner, it need not prove both. The phrase “intimidating manner”
means that the defendant said or did something that would make an
ordinary person fear bodily harm or for the purpose of causing
another person to fear bodily harm.

However, it is not necessary for the government to prove
that the victim was actually frightened in order to establish
that the defendant acted in an intimidating manner. Your focus
should be on the defendant’s behavior. Although the government
does not have to show that the defendant’s behavior caused or

could have caused terror, the government does have to show that

D.Pereira, OCR

r 37a ®

356

written form, part of the charge.

I understood you to object to sending them the whole
charge. That’s why I am proceeding the way I intend to do
now. I am afraid by sending, in written form, just part of
it, I will undercut the bedrock principle that they should
view all my instructions as a whole.

MR. HANNA: We would respectfully object to this,
request that you send in the charge.

THE COURT: All right. Your request is denied.

Bring in the jury.

THE CLERK: All rise.

(11:30 - jury entered the courtroom).

THE COURT: Please be seated, everyone. Good

morning, ladies and gentlemen. Everybody made it in okay

eventually.
All right. At the end of the day yesterday, I
received from you what’s been marked as Jury Note 1: “Need a

copy of the law as stated by the Judge on intent.”

What I will do now is read to you the portions of the
charge I gave you yesterday that relate to intent. There are
two segments of the charge that respond to your note.

Let me remind you at the outset that although I
intend to do that, let me remind you not to single out any one
instruction, these ones included relating to intent, as alone

stating the law. Rather, you should consider my instructions

D.Pereira, OCR

357

a whole when you deliberate.

Now I instructed you regarding intent in two
respects. First, regarding knowledge, and intent generally as
opposed to in the context of the particular counts. Let me
reread to you my instructions regarding knowledge and intent
generally.

As a general rule, the law holds persons accountable
only for conduct they intentionally engage in. Thus, in
describing the various crimes that have been charged to you, I
have on occasion explained, before you can find the defendant
guilty you must be satisfied that he was acting knowingly and
intentionally.

Let me explain what these terms mean under the law.

A person acts knowingly if he acts purposely and
voluntarily and not because of a mistake or accident or some
other innocent reason. A person acts intentionally if he acts
willfully with the specific intent to do something the law
forbids.

Now the person need not be aware of the specific law
or rule that his conduct may be violating, but he must act
with a specific intent do whatever it is the law forbids.

These issues of knowledge and intent require you to
make a determination about a defendant’s state of mind,
something that can rarely be proved directly. A wise and

careful consideration of all the circumstances, including the

D.Pereira, OCR

6 ns ®

358

defendant’s actions and omissions, may permit you to make a
determination as to a defendant’s state of mind. Indeed, in
your everyday affairs, you are frequently called upon to
determine a person’s state of mind from his words and actions
and unique circumstances. You are asked to do the same thing
here.

Now, I also charged you regarding intent in
connection with the specific crimes charged in 7, 9, and 1l.
Those are the offenses charging the taking of a motor vehicle
by force, violence, or intimidation.

Just to give you a little bit context, I instructed
that there were four elements that must be proved by the
government beyond a reasonable doubt before you may find the
defendant guilty of any of those crimes.

Those elements are as follows.

First, that the defendant knowingly and willfully
took or attempted to take a motor vehicle.

Second, that the defendant, at the time of the
taking, intended to cause death or serious bodily harm.

Third, that the taking of the motor vehicle was
accomplished by force and violence or by intimidation.

And lastly, that the motor vehicle taken was
transported, shipped, or received in interstate commerce.

Now, it strikes us responsive to your note regarding

intent are the instructions regarding the second element,

D.Pereira, OCR

® - ®

359

element of intent. I will reread those to you now.

The second element the government must prove beyond a
reasonable doubt is that the taking of a motor vehicle was
committed with the intent to cause death or serious bodily
harm. This requires you to make a determination about the
defendant’s state of mind at the time of the conduct in
question.

I’ve already discussed with you the fact that a
person’s intent can rarely be proved by direct evidence. You
should consider the totality of the circumstances presented by
the evidence before you. The defendant’s intent in committing
the crime must have been to cause death or serious bodily
harm. I remind you that intentional conduct is done wilfully
with the purpose to do something the law forbids. In this
case, to cause death or serious bodily harm to the person from
whom the car was taken.

It is the defendant’s theory in the case that the
evidence fails to prove that he acted with indent to cause
death or serious bodily harm. If the government has failed to
prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant acted with
the intent to kill or cause serious bodily harm to the
particular victim, you must find him not guilty of that
offense.

The defendant is entitled to the presumption of

innocence with regard to all elements of the offense,

D.Pereira, OCR

© 41a e

360

including this element of intent. That is, you must presume
that the defendant did not possess the intent to kill or cause
serious bodily harm and you must continue to give the benefit
of that presumption to the defendant unless and until it is
proven beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant intended
to cause death or serious bodily harm at the time of the
offense you are considering.

Evidence that the defendant intended to use a gun to
frighten the victims is not sufficient in and of itself to
prove an intent to kill or cause serious bodily harm. It is,
however, one of the facts you may consider in determining
whether the government has met its burden. You may also
consider the fact that no victim was actually killed or
seriously injured when you consider the evidence or the lack
of evidence on the defendant’s intent.

In some cases, intent is conditional. That is, a
defendant may intend to engage in certain conduct only if a
certain event occurs.

In this case, the government contends that the
defendant intended to cause death or serious bodily harm if
the alleged victims had refused to turn over their cars. If
you find beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant had such
an intent, the government has satisfied this element of the
offense. If you find that the co-defendant, Vernon Lennon,

acted with the intent to cause death or serious body injury

D.Pereira, OCR

® 2 e

x

361

that is not sufficient. You must find that the defendant
shared in that intent before you can conclude that this
element has been satisfied.

I remind you must consider each count separately.

Serious bodily harm is defined to be bodily injury
which involves substantial risk of death, extreme physical
pain, protracted and obvious disfigurement or protracted loss
or tnesioonnt of a bodily member, organ, or mental faculty.
This is to be distinguished from mere bodily harm, which |
means, cut, abrasion, bruise, burn, disfigurement or physical
pain or any other injury to the body no matter how temporary.
Proof of intent to cause bodily harm is insufficient.

Those are my instructions to you regarding intent.
Hopefully, that answers your question.

Let me ask you to return to the jury room and resume
your deliberations.

THE CLERK: All rise.

(10:45 a.m. - Jury deliberations resume. )

THE COURT: Please be seated.

(Court in recess awaiting the verdict of the jury.)

D.Pereira, OCR

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0198%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
