# Opposition Brief — South Central Bell Telephone Co. v. Alabama

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0188%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 526 U.S. 160

## Text

FILED
JUL 1 4 1996
No. 97-2045
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
In The SUPREME COURT. U.S.

eae

Supreme Court of the United States ~~

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

SOUTH CENTRAL BELL TELEPHONE COMPANY. et al.
Petitioners.

VS.

STATE OF ALABAMA AND
STATE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Alabama

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

BILL PRYOR

Attorney General, State of Alabama
“RON BOWDEN, Counsel

Department of Revenue and Assistant
Attorney General, State of Alabama
DAN E. SCHMAELING, Assistant Counsel
Department of Revenue and Assistant
Attorney General, State of Alabama
P. O. Box 320001

Montgomery, AL 36132-0001

(334) 242-9690

“Counsel of Record for Respondents

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Alabama Supreme Court's
application of state law res judicata principles to bar
the Petitioners’ federal constitutional challenge to a
state tax is, under the circumstances, so extreme as to
amount to a violation of Petitioners’ rights to due
process of law.

2. Whether Alabama's franchise tax
impermissibly discriminates against interstate
commerce by taxing Alabama corporations on the par
or stated value of their stock while taxing the
Petitioners (out-of-state corporations) on the value of
their capital employed in Alabama.

3. Whether this Court should refrain from ruling
on the appropriate remedy to apply to this case, which
involves a constitutional challenge to a state tax
statute and a request for a refund of taxes, when the
court below did not have an opportunity to rule on the

issue because it found no constitutional violation.

TABLE OF CONTENTS
PAGE
er are
Te OF ND 8 aoc ai dae Hoke tas ii
Teta Oe DO gg cov a Viren ntonveesenee itl
re mnt i a 1
1. The Proceedings Below............. 1
2. The Statutory Scheme. ............. 2
i — I Pr ee in. 4
Reasons for Denying the Writ ............--- 5
| The Alabama Supreme Court
correctly applied its valid principles
of res judicata to bar this litigation. .... 5
ll. The Alabama franchise tax on
foreign corporations does not
violate the Commerce Clause of
the United States Constitution. ....... Gq
Hl. This Court should refrain from
ruling on the remedy to be applied
(should Alabama's tax be struck
down) to allow the Alabama
Supreme Court an opportunity to
decide this issue in the first
SPP PE SL ere: 16
Cee Ss cikca oes ae tentakteas 17

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE

Armco, inc. v. Hardesty,

Ge EE Soba a lt tie: 15
Bacchus Imports, Ltd. v. Dias,

468 U.S. 263, 270 (1984) .............. 10
Bedingfield v. Jefferson County,

Se ME Ws eee ee nel re 7
Best and Co. v. Maxwell,

ee CE ee oueics cen uete 10

Camps Newfound/Owatonna, inc. v. Town of
Harrison,

Fee es OE ove oh OUR ha tacdbieccwes )
Chemical Waste Management v. Hunt,

112 S.Ct. 2009, 2015 (1992) .......... 13
Dairyland ins. Co. v. Jackson,

566 So.2d 723 (Ala. 1990) ............. 5
Fulton Corporation v. Faulkner,

re A CE on eG vacs'deerccce at a
Green v. Wedowee Hospital,

584 So.2d 1309 (Ala. 1991) ............ 6
Harper v. Virginia Department of Taxation,

RE a COE, cade eecces 16
Henneford v. Silas Mason Co.,

is oan o-hilS'w'n we ee a 15
Martin v. Wilks,

490 U.S. 755, 109 S.Ct. 2180,

106 6.30 G5 (1008)... www. 6

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE
v. Louisiana,
461 U.S. 7a (1GB1) ww we cee wees 15
NAACP v. Hunt,
891 F.2d 1555 C.A. 11 (Ala. 1990) ....... 6
New Energy Company of Indiana v. Limbach,
108 S.Ct. 1803 (1988), ............... 12

Oregon Waste Systems v. Department of
Environmental Quality, 511 U.S. 93, 114 S.Ct.
1345, 128 L.Ed.2d 13 (1994) ......... 9, 14

Reynolds Metals Company v. White, —
558 So.2d 373 (Ala. 1989), cert. denied |
r fil fee passim

Richards v. Jefferson County,
517 U.S. 793. 116 S.Ct. 1761 (1996) .. 5,6,7

Whisman v. Alabama Power Company,

512 So.2d 78 (Ala. 1987) .............-. 5
Code of Alabama 1975
eet fs sity kkied ws ys 2.4
OS Oe ee TT 1
§40-14-41(a), (b), (c) and (d) ........... 2,3
OO gored ee a aere 4

iv

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. The Proceedings Below

The Taxpayers, foreign corporations doing
business in Alabama, challenge the franchise tax
levied against foreign corporations by §40-14-41, Code
of Ala. 1975, for the years 1982 through 1991. They

stayed pending the final outcome of Reynolds Metals
Company v. White, 558 So.2d 373 (Ala. 1989), cert.
denied 496 U.S. 912 (1990). (R. 26)

The Complaints filed prior to 1991 allege that the
foreign corporation franchise tax violates the

Constitution, and the corresponding sections of the
Alabama Constitution of 1901. They later included
counts alleging violations of 42 U.S.C. §§1983 and
1988 (since abandoned), and §§44, 212 and 232,
Constitution of Alabama 1901.

The Alabama Department of Revenue denied all
claims and asserted that the Alabama foreign
provision and is valid in all respects. The Department
also countered that even if the foreign corporation
franchise tax is held to be unconstitutional, such

1

finding should be given prospective application only.
The Department also pleaded that these actions are
barred by the doctrine of res judicata, citing Reynolds,
which upheld the constitutionality of Alabama's
franchise tax regime against a similar attack.

The trial court held that the Taxpayers’ claims are
barred by res judicata. Because of the public
importance of the issues presented, however, the trial
court addressed the merits of the action, and stated its
ruling on each of the issues raised by the parties. The
court stated that it would rule in favor of the
Department on all issues except the one alleging a
violation of the Commerce Clause.

The Taxpayers appealed, the Supreme Court of
Alabama affirmed without opinion, and this petition

ensued.

2. The Statutory Scheme

The Taxpayers are classified as foreign
corporations for the purpose of paying Alabama
franchise tax pursuant to Code of Ala. 1975, §40-14-
41(a). For purposes of the Alabama franchise tax, a
foreign corporation is any corporation organized under
the laws of any state other than Alabama. §40-14-
41(a). A domestic corporation for purposes of the
Alabama franchise tax is any corporation organized
under the laws of Alabama. §40-14-40. (Stip. p.1-2)'

‘The stipulated facts were admitted into evidence as
Piaintifts’ exhibit 3. See Pet. App. 48a.

2

(Stip. p. 3)

Section 232, Constitution of Alabama 1901, provides
for and authorizes the levy of a franchise tax on

the tax base set forth in §40-14-41(d). The portion of
the total capital that is employed in Alabama is
allocated to the state pursuant to §40-14-41(c).

stock of corporations with par value capital stock, and
to the amount of the stated value of the capita! stock

of corporations with no par capital stock.

in addition to the franchise tax, domestic
corporations in Alabama pay a corporate shares tax.
which is levied on the value of the shares of their
stock. Ala. Code §40-14-70.

than they would be required to pay were they domestic

the years 1988 through 1991 are substantially
applicable to the years 1982 through 1987. (Stip.

applied by the Supreme Court Alabama in an
attempt to create a question that merits this Court's
attention. Supreme Court of Alabama not

A prior judgment on the merits; rendered by a
court of competent jurisdiction; with substantial

_ Ins. Co. v. Jackson, 566 So.2d 723 (Ala.

The party identity criterion of res judicata does
not require complete identity, but only that the party
against whom res judicata is asserted was either a
party or in privity with a party to the prior action, or
that the nonparty’s interests were adequately
represented by the parties in the prior suit, and that
the relationship between the party and the nonparty is
not so attenuated as to violate due process. Whisman
v. Alabama Power Company, 512 So.2d 78 (Ala.
1987). For res judicata purposes, privity exists where
the nonparty’s interests were represented adequately
by the party in the original suit or where a party to the
original suit is so closely aligned to a nonparty’s
interest as to be his virtual representative. NAACP v.
Hunt 891 F.2d 1555 C.A. 11 (Ala. 1990). Judgments
can bind persons not party (or privy) to the litigation in
question where the nonparty’s interests were
represented adequately by the party in the original
Suit. Green v. Wedowee Hospital, 584 So.2d
1309 (Ala. 1991).

Richards v. Jefferson County, 517 U.S. 793, 116
S.Ct. 1761 (1996), recognized an exception to the
general rule that only parties to a lawsuit are bound by
it "when it can be said that there is ‘privity’ between a
party to the second case and a party who is bound by
an earlier judgment.” As this Court explained in Martin
v. Wilks, 490 U.S. 755, 109 S.Ct. 2180, 104 L.Ed.2d
835 (1989):

We have recognized an exception to the general
rule when, in certain limited circumstances, a

person, although not a party, has its interests
adequately represented by someone with the
same interests who is a party.

Thus, it can be seen that this court has adopted
essentially the same standard as has the Supreme
Court of Alabama with regard to the party identity
criterion of res judicata. Because of the unique facts
of their situation, the standard was applied correctly to
the Taxpayers to preclude their challenge to
Alabama’s franchise tax. The Taxpayers’ unique
problem in this case is too insubstantial an issue to
justify this Court's further review.

Richards essentially held that Birmingtam’s
acting finance director and the city itself, which had
challenged the same tax in Bedingfield v. Jefferson
County, 527 So.2d 1270, did not adequately represent,
or were not in privity with, the two privately employed
taxpayers who sought to represent a class of all
nonfederal employees subject to the county’s tax. An
obvious reason for the holding in Richards is that
Birmingham's acting finance director and the city itself
are not members of the class that the privately
employed taxpayers in Richards sought to represent.
The facts of the present case are distinguishable from
Richards and support a different conclusion.

Both of the taxpayers in Aeynolds Metals
Company v. White, 558 So.2d 273 (Ala. 1989), cert.
denied 496 U.S. 912 (1990), can be said to be
members of the same class as the taxpayers in this
case. The Taxpayers’ interests were adequately
represented by the taxpayers in Reynolds.

Reynolds is a major manufacturer with extensive
plants located in the State of Alabama. Its franchis2
tax liability is substantial, so that it had every reason to
protect its interest in this area. Furthermore, Reynolds

7

and its co-plaintiffs, General Motors Corporation,
GMAC Leasing Corporation, and General Motors
Acceptance Corporation, possess the resources to
vigorously pursue their own best legal interests, and
they did so. They were represented in the prior
litigation by some of the top law firms in the State of
Alabama, which rendered to them more than
competent representation.

Both the Reynoids plaintiffs and the taxpayers In
the present cases are foreign corporations doing
business in Alabama subject to the Alabama franchise
tax. Their interests with respect to the Alabama
franchise tax parallel one another in that they both
have a substantial financial interest in seeing to it that
their franchise tax liability is minimized to the greatest
extent possible.

Furthermore, one of the taxpayers in these cases
filed a complaint during the pendency of the Reynolds
case but allowed Reynolds to go forward while its suit
remained dormant in anticipation that Reynolds would
decide the issues that they seek to have resolved.
These taxpayers filed petitions for refund with the
Department during the pendency of the Reynolds
case, and allowed those petitions to languish pending
a decision in Reynolds.

The Taxpayers are substantially identical to the
Reynolds plaintiffs in that they all constitute major
foreign corporations doing business in Alabama

*See letter to Judge Gordon from Byars dated January 19,
1990, R. 26; Pet. App. 65a.

subject to the franchise tax with identical interests with
regards to the validity of the franchise tax. In a sense
they have substantial identity or privity with the
Reynolds plaintiffs. At the very least, they constitute
nonparties to Aeynolds whose interests were
adequately represented in that case and under
Alabama law are deemed to be substantially identical
parties to the Reynolds plaintiffs.

ll. The Alabama franchise tax on foreign
corporations does not violate the Commerce
Clause of the United States Constitution

The Taxpayers argue that the Alabama franchise
tax Statute facially discriminates against interstate
commerce and thereby violates the “virtually per se
rule of invalidity” that this Court applies to
facially discriminatory taxes, and cites Camps
Newfound/Owatonna, Inc. v. Town of Harrison, 117
S.Ct. 1590 (1997); Fulton Corporation v. Faulkner, 516
U.S. 325 1996; and Oregon Waste Systems, Inc. v.
Department of Environmental Quality, 511 U.S. 93
(1994), as authority for this proposition.

The pertinent Alabama statutes do not support
the Taxpayers’ allegation. Instead, they reveal that the
measure of the franchise tax on foreign corporations is
$3.00 per $1,000.00 of capital employed by the
corporation in the State of Alabama. The measure of
the tax levied on domestic corporations is $10.00 per
$1,000.00 of capital stock of the corporation. Because
the measure of the two taxes admittedly has different
rates and bases, it cannot be determined from reading
them whether any discrimination exists. If it can be

9

said that there is any facial discrimination in these
statutes, however, it is against domestic corporations--
not foreign ones--since the domestic corporations are
taxed on all of their capital stock, whereas foreign
corporations are taxed on only the capital that they
employ within the State of Alabama; and since the rate
applied against the domestic base is $10.00 per one
thousand, while the rate applied against the foreign
base is only $3.00 per one thousand.

The Taxpayers assert that Alabama's franchise
tax "in its practical operation works discrimination
against interstate commerce.” Best and Co. v.
Maxwell, 311 U.S. 454-456 (1940), and therefore
violates the commerce clause prohibition against state
taxes that have a "discriminatory effect,” Bacchus
Imports, Lid. v. Dias, 468 U.S. 263, 270 (1984).
Reynolds held otherwise, and the evidence in this
case continues to support its holding.

The evidence shows that had the twelve named
Plaintiffs in the present case paid franchise and shares
tax to Alabama as domestic corporations rather than
as foreign corporations, their taxes in most instances
would have been increased many times over. The
increases, which are detailed in a study prepared by
the Department (attached as Appendix A to this brief),
are no less than startling in amount.* After noting that
a similar situation existed with respect to the taxes that
one of the Reynolds Plaintiffs would have paid had it
been taxed as a domestic corporation, the Reynolds
Court stated "Thus, Alabama’s taxation of domestic

‘Expanded upon at R. 88-96.
10

and foreign corporations does not violate the
Commerce Clause.”

The Taxpayers argue that they submitted
evidence in the trial court that was lacking in Reynolds
Metals that “demonstrates that the franchise tax on
foreign corporations discriminates against them for no
other reason than the state of their incorporation.”
Their evidence consists of a study prepared by
Dr. Richards (Taxpayers’ Exhibit 1) comparing the
amount of taxes actually paid by randomly selected
domestic corporations with the amount they would
-have paid had they been taxed as foreign
corporations. The results purport to prove that the tax
discriminates against foreign corporations.

The Reynolds plaintiffs likewise based their
contention that the tax discriminates against foreign
corporations on data compiled from randomly selected
corporations, which purported to show that foreign
corporations on average paid more taxes than did their
domestic counterparts. The evidence in neither case
overcomes the fact that the taxes for any particular
corporate taxpayer may be higher or lower depending
on its corporate structure and operations when taxed
as either a foreign or a domestic corporation.

The fact that one of the taxpayers in Reynolds
paid significantly less taxes as a foreign than it would
have as a domestic and that most of the Taxpayers in
the present case would pay more taxes as domestic
corporations than they in fact paid as foreign
corporations proves this. The evidence produced in
the present case is very similar to the evidence
produced in Reynolds. It warrants the same result.

11

The Taxpayers emphasize that domestic
corporations can reduce their franchise tax liability by
manipulating the amount of their outstanding shares of
stock, as if foreign corporations do not also minimize
their tax liability by manipulating their tax bases.
However, one of the Taxpayers’ witnesses, Mr.
Richard G. Bacon, testified that although some
corporations have the ability to manipulate the tax that
they would pay by limiting the number of shares that
they issue, very large public corporations do not have
the ability, and that there may be business reasons for
not manipulating the tax base. (R. p. 125-162.) The
Department offers that to the extent that business
considerations allow them to do _ so, _ foreign
corporations can reduce their tax liability by reducing
the capital they employ in Alabama, just as domestic
corporations can reduce their tax liability by reducing
the value of their shares of stock.

Reynolds held that the Alabama franchise tax
does not discriminate against foreign corporations as
applied. However, even if this court finds that the
Taxpayers have proved discrimination, they are not
entitled to prevail in their attack on the constitutionality
of Alabama's franchise tax.

A tax may discriminate against interstate
commerce and still not violate the Commerce Clause.
In order for such a discriminatory tax to be upheld the
State must “show that it advances a legitimate local
purpose that cannot be adequately served by
reasonable, nondiscriminatory alternatives, New
Energy Company of Indiana v. Limbach, 108 S.Ct.
1803, 1810 (1988); or show that the “discrimination is
demonstrably justified by a valid factor unrelated to

12

economic protectionism, Chemical Waste Management
v. Hunt, 112 S.Ct. 2009, 2015 (1992).

The Alabama Supreme Court applied
substantially the above standards in Aeynoids to
uphold the constitutionality of the foreign corporation
franchise tax. The Court stated at page 388:

Even assuming that the lack of uniformity in
the taxes on domestic and foreign
corporations rose to a level of discrimination
that would invoke equal protection or
commerce clause analysis, we would hold that
§40-14-41 does not violate those provisions,
for the following reasons.

The Court went on at pages 388 and 389 to articulate
several legitimate purposes for those statutory
distinctions between foreign and domestic
corporations, which include the mandate of the
Alabama Constitution, ease of regulation and
enforcement, differences in the utilization of State
natural resources between foreign and domestic
corporations, differences in the employment of State
residents and the utilization of State services between
foreign and domestic corporations, and an original
purpose not tu discriminate. Thus even if the present
Taxpayers had proved that Alabama's franchise tax
regime discriminates against foreign corporations, such
discrimination would not violate the Commerce Clause.

The Taxpayers imply that the standard for
determining whether a tax is “compensatory” has been
substantially narrowed since Aeynolds Metals was
decided in 1989. They assert that the holding in that

13

necessary for a valid compensatory
Oregon Waste Systems v. Department
Environmental Quality, 511 U.S. 93, 114 S.Ct. 1345.
128 L.Ed.2d 13 (1994):

2. The tax on interstate commerce must
be shown roughly to approximate--but
not to exceed--the amount of the tax on
intrastate commerce.

3. The events on which the interstate and
intrastate taxes are imposed must be
“substantially equivalent”.

The Taxpayers argue that Alabama cannot satisfy
the second and third criteria of the tax
doctrine. They argue with regard to the second

16

Court adhered closely to the decisions of this Court.
Therefore, there exists no sound reason to issue a writ
certiorari. o
Respectfully submitted

BILL PRYOR

“RON BOWDEN, Counsel
Department of Revenue and Assistant
Attorney Genera!, State of Alabama

DAN E. SCHMAELING, Assistant Counsel
Department of Revenue and Assistant
Attorney General, State of Alabama

P.O. Box 320001
Montgomery, AL 36132-0001
(334) 242-9690

“Counsel of Record for Respondents
July 14, 1998

17

APPENDIX

November 10, 1994

MEMORANDUM

To: Ron Bowden, Chief Counsel
Legal Division

From: Peter M. Petrillo, Jr.
Franchise Tax Division

RE: Modality for ‘As If Domestic’ Analysis

This memorandum is to recap the modality used to
compute the "As If Domestic” analysis (see attachment)
prepared fur counsel in anticipation of the South
Central Bell litigation. The goal of the analysis was to
determine, for the foreign franchise tax years 1986
through 1992, the probable total Alabama domestic
franchise tax and domestic shares tax which would
have been paid had the subject legal entities been
domestic corporations rather than foreign corporations.

FACTS

The legal entities and data from foreign franchise tax
years analyzed were as follows:

1. BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc.
1991 - 1992

Ron J. Bowden, Chief Counsel
November 10, 1994
Page 2

2. BellSouth Corporation
1986 - 1992
3. South Central Bell Telephone Company
1986 - 1992
4. BellSouth Services, Inc.
1986 - 1992
5. BellSouth Financial Services Corporation
1986 - 1992
6. BellSouth Advertising & Publishing Corporation
1986 - 1992
7. BellSouth Resources, Inc.
1989 - 1992
8. BellSouth Products, Inc.
1991 - 1992
9. Alabama Cellular Services, Inc.
1986 - 1992
10. Sunlink Corporation
1986 - 1992
11. TechSouth, Inc.
1986 - 1992
12. CSX Transportation, Inc.
1986 - 1992

The following financial data for each year was taken
from each legal entity's Foreign Franchise Tax Return
as filed.

I. The capital stock (par value) from liability side of
Schedule A - Book Balance Sheet or balance sheet
attached to the return in lieu of completing
Schedule A.

Ron J. Bowden, Chief Counsel
November 10, 1994

Page 3

Il. The total value of all shares of stock (total equity)
from liability side of Schedule A - Book Balance
Sheet or balance sheet attached to the return in
lieu of completing Schedule A.

Ill. The book value of real and tangible personal
property (total capital assets) from asset side of
Schedule A - Book Balance Sheet or balance sheet
attached to the return in lieu of completing
Schedule A.

IV. The book value of goods, wares and merchandise
held for sale (inventories) from asset side of from
Schedule A - Book Balance Sheet or balance sheet
attached to the return in lieu of completing
Schedule A.

V. The cost of capital stock owned in domestic
corporations by the legal entity from Schedule E -
Franchise Tax and Permit Fee Computation (see
exclusion for foreign corporations paying a
franchise tax).

VI. The book value of Alabama real and tangible
property from Schedule B - Alabama Capital Asset
Data.

ASSUMPTIONS

For each legal entity and all franchise tax years, the
following assumptions were made:

A Only the legal entities, BellSouth
Telecommunications, Inc.; South Central Bell
Telephone Company; and CSX Transportation,

Ron J. Bowden, Chief Counsel
November 10, 1994
Page 4

amo ©

Inc., were assumed to be public utilities not
required by Sec. 40-21-29, Code of Alabama 1975,
to list their shares of stock for taxation or to pay ad
valorem taxes on said shares computed pursuant to
Sec. 40-14-70, Code of Alabama 1975.
The Alabama shares tax computations are shown
by the foreign franchise tax year's data used to
compute the tax rather then by the year for which
the amount would be paid. Please note that the
Alabama shares tax for 1990 is based on an ending
balance sheet which occurs prior to October 1, 1989
(e.g., for calendar year accounting periods, the
balance sheet for the year ending December 31,
1988 is used).
The foreign franchise tax liability was assumed to
be the amount as filed.
The domestic franchise tax rate was $10 for each
$1,000 of capital stock.
The minimum domestic franchise tax was $50.
The home or principal office of each legal entity
was assumed for each year to be in Birmingham,
Jefferson County, Alabama, which was the
principal place of business in Alabama listed on
the foreign franchise tax returns.
The total domestic shares millage rate was
determined to be 69.5 mills (6.95%).
1. The state millage rate for Alabama was 6.5
mills (.65%).
2. The county, assumed to be Jefferson County,
millage rate was 35.6 mills (3.56%) reduced by

Ron J. Bowden, Chief Counsel
November 10, 1994

Page 5

a special school tax in Birmingham of 1.1 mills
(.11%).

3. The city, assumed to be Birmingham,
Alabama, millage rate was 28.5 mills (2.85%).

H. Shares of stock are considered to be Class I

I.

personal property and are assessed at 20%.

All legal entities paying an Alabama foreign
franchise tax were assumed to be Alabama
domestic corporations for purposes of the deduction
for costs of domestic capital stock owned by the
legal entity noted in Fact V, above.

The ‘book value of real and tangible personal
property in other states’ was assumed to be the
total ‘book value of real and tangible personal
property’ (see Fact III, above) owned less the ‘book
value of Alabama real and tangible property’ (see
Fact VI, above).

The county assessment was assumed to be 20% of
the ‘book value of Alabama real and tangible
personal property’ (see Fact VI, above).

Some information is not disclosed on the foreign
franchise tax return regarding possible deductions
to the total value of all shares of stock, e.g.,
investment in U.S. government obligations; book
value of air pollution equipment; and book value of
motor vehicles otherwise assessed. These were
assumed to be either zero or already included in
other deductions made in the calculation.

See each attached financial detail schedules for
specific assumptions made for each legal entity.

Ron J. Bowden, Chief Counsel
November 10, 1994

Page 6

Domestic Franchise Tax: The domestic franchise
tax was calculated by multiplying the legal entity's
capital stock by the domestic franchise tax rate ($10
per $1,000 of capital stock), but could not be less than

CALCULATIONS

the minimum tax of $50.

Domestic Shares Tax: The domestic shares tax for
the legal entity was computed by multiplying the
‘residue of total value of stock for assessment’ by the
‘total domestic shares tax millage rate’ (69.5 mills).

i

The ‘total value of all shares of
stock' (see Fact Il, above) was
reduced by deductions for the
‘book value of real and tangible
personal property in other states’
(see Assumption J, above), the
‘book value of goods, wares and
merchandise held for sale’ (see
Fact IV, above), and the ‘cost of
capital stock owned in domestic
corporations’ (see Fact V, above).
The ‘total value of all shares of
stock remaining for assessment’,
was multiplied by the 20% state
assessment rate.

This state assessment amount
was then reduced by the county
assessments to produce the

Ron J Bowden, Chief Counsel
November 10, 1994
Page 7

‘residue of total value of stock for
assessment’.
Attachment

cc: Ernest J. Broadhead, Chief
Louis R. Mills, Assistant Chief

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.

BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc. (Q:
11-12-91)
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax
Shares Tax
~ Total Domestic Corporation Tax 0

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 0

BellSouth Corporation
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 25
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 3,097,780
Shares Tax 5,307,201
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 8,404,981

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 8.404 956

South Central Bell Telephone Company

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As

Paid) 4,952,697
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Franchise Tax 29,334, 107
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 29,334,107

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 24 381.410

Page 1 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.

1987
BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc. (Q:
11-12-91)
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax
Shares Tax
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 0
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 0
BellSouth Corporation
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 25
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 3,224,910
Shares Tax 19, 255.869
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 22, 480.779

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 22.480. 754

South Central Bell Telephone Company

(M: 12-31-91)
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 4,995,844
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 29,489,203
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 29, 489.203

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 24 493 359

Page 2 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.
1988
BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc. (Q:
11-12-91)
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax
Shares Tax
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 0
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 0
BellSouth tion
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 25
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 4,858,780
Shares Tax 105,638,936
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 110,497,716
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 110,497,691
South Centra] Bell Telephone Company

(M: 12-31-91)
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 4,927,214
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 29,661,305
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 29,661,305

Page 3 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As Summary of Tax Differences in the "As

If Domestic” An red
f alysis prepared for If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.
a Central Bell case.
ears 1990
Be Telecomm Inc. a
South Te reget ne. (Q BellSouth er am Inc. (Q:
| 1 | eS 1-12-91
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) Paid)
suse amin Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax
Franchise Tax
Shares Tax Shares Tax
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 2 Total Domestic Corporation Tax 0
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 0 Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 0
BellSouth tion ;
: — 7 BellSouth Corporation
a Corporation: Franchise Tax (As 9s Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
| | Paid) | 545
Domestic Corporation (As If) Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 4,859,900
Franchise Tax 4,862,290
Shares Tax 101,254,602 Shares Tax 116,976,429
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 106,114,502 Total Domestic Corporation Tax 121,838,719
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax = _106.114.477, Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 121,838,174
South Central mylene ayy Company South Central Bell Telephone Company
Foret Seapets Pranab Wor Ue AM
an” 5.910.566 Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
| | ald, Paid) 5,334,015
Domestic Corporation (As If) Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 29,846,305
Franchise Tax 30,243,520
Shares Tax 0 Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax — 29,846,305 Total Domestic Corporation Tax 30,243,520
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 24,626,759 Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 24,909,505

Page 4 of 32 Page 5 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.

BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc. (Q:
11-12-91)

1992

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)

Franchise Tax

Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

BellSouth Corporation

6,371,607

73, 189,591
0

73, 189,591

If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.
1991
BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc. (Q:
11-12-91)
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 25
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 42,946,058
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 42,946,058
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 42 946,033
BellSouth Corporation
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 25
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 4,866,470
Sheres Tax 110,064,056
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 114,930,526
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 114,930,501
South Central Bell Telephone Company

(M: 12-31-91)
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 5,210,339
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 30,243,523
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 30,243,523
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 25.033. 184

Page 6 of 32

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)

Franchise Tax

Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

South Central Bell Telephone Company
(M: 12-31-91)

66,817,984

5,311

4,482,870
24,314,649

29,197,519

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)

Franchise Tax

Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

Page 7 of 32

29,192,208

se

% |[Slo8

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.

Total

BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc. (Q:
11-12-91)

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As

Paid) 6,371,632
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Franchise Tax 116, 135,649
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 116,135,649

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 109,764,017

BellSouth Corporation
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 5,981
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 30,653,000
Shares Tax 482,811,742
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 513,464,742

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 513,458,761

South Central Bell Telephone Company

(M: 12-31-91)
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 30,639,680
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 178,818,013
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 178,818,013

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 148 178,333

Page 8 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.

1986

BellSouth Services, Inc. (M:
12-31-91)

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As

Paid) 30,950
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 340,524
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 340,574

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 309.624

BellSouth Financial Services Corporation

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As

Paid) 25
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 25

BellSouth Advertising & Publishing

Corporation

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 60,038
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 1,825,840
Shares Tax 2,400,780
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 4,226.620

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 4, 166,582

Page 9 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South

Central Bell case.
1987
BellSouth Services, Inc. (M:
12-31-91)

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 108,774
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -108,724
BellSouth Financial Services Corporation
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 25
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 25

BellSouth Advertising & Publishing

Corporation

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 59,922
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 2,386,777
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 2,386,827
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 2 326.905

Page 10 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for

counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.
1988
BellSouth Services, Inc. (M:
12-31-91)
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 139,893
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax - 139,843
BellSouth Financial Services Corporation

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 25
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 25

BellSouth Advertising & Publishing

Corporation
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 55,586
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 2,395,401
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 2,395,451
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 2,339,865
——

Page 11 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South

Central Bell case.
1989
BellSouth Services, Inc. (M:
12-31-91)

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 135,610
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -135,560
BellSouth Financial Services Corporation
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 130,334
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax - 130.284

BellSouth Advertising & Publishing

Corporation

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 56,659
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 2,775,518
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 2,775,568
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 2.718.909

Page 12 of 32

Page 13 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.
1990
BellSouth Services, Inc. (M:
12-31-91)
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 205,525
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -205,475
BellSouth Financial Services Corporation
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 16,908
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 39,657
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 39,707
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 22.799
BellSouth Advertising & Publishing
Corporation

Foreign Corporation: Franc. ise Tax (As
Paid) 71,861
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 3,542,548
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 3,542 598
Domestic

Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 3, 470, 737

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.

1991

BellSouth Services, Inc. (M:
12-31-91)
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 206, 333
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 0
50
283

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -206,

BellSouth Financial Services Corporation
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As

Paid) 28,539
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 139,737
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 139,787

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 111,248

BellSouth Advertising & Publishing
tion

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 75,421
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 143,354
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 4,143,404

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 4,067,983

Page 14 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.

1992

BellSouth Services, Inc. (M:
12-31-91)
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax
Shares Tax
Total Domestic Corporation Tax

25

50

0

50

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 25
et

BellSouth Financial Services Corporation

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As

Paid) 17,172
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 155,221
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 155,271

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 138,099

BellSouth Advertising & Publishing
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 65,829
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 4,557,719
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 4,557,769

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 4,491,940

Page 15 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As

If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Beli case.
Total
BellSouth Services, Inc. (M:
12-31-91)
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 827.110
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 350
Shares Tax 340,524
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 340,874
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -486, 236
BellSouth Financial Services Corporation
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Pia 193,028
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 350
Shares Tax 615
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 334,965
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 141,937
BellSouth Advertising & Publishing
Corporation
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 445,316
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 1,826, 140
Shares Tax 22,202,097
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 24,028, 237
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 23,582,921

Page 16 of 32

BellSouth Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax
Shares Tax
Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

BellSouth Products. Inc.

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As

Paid) ‘
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax

Shares Tax

1986

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

Alabama Cellular Services. Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax
Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

Page 17 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.

BellSouth Resources, Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax
Shares Tax
Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

BellSouth Products. Inc.

1987

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)

Franchise Tax

Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

Alabama Cellular ices, Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax

Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

Page 18 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As

If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.

1988

Foreign Corn resources. Ine
F tion: Franchise Tax (As

Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax

Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

BellSouth Products. Inc.

0
oe |

ag Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Franchise Tax

Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax
Alabama Cellular Services. Inc.

Oo

oO

—_—_abama Cellular Services. |
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As

Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax

Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

Page 19 of 32

43,602

|
i}

:

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.

BellSouth Resources, Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax

Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

BellSouth Products. Inc.

1989

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)

Franchise Tax

Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

Alabama Cellular Serv: Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax

Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

Page 20 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.

BellSouth Resources. Inc.
a Corporation: Franchise Tax (As

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

BellSouth Products, Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax
Shares Tax

1990

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

_Alabama Cellular Services. Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax
Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

Page 21 of 32

—_—_-—___ -—____ —-

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As

If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.

1991
BellSouth Resources, Inc.

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As

Paid) 2.720
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 30,177
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 30,227
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 27,507

BellSouth Products, Inc.

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As

Paid) 5,147
Domestic Corporation (As If) ne

Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -3,097

Alabama Cellular Services, Inc.

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As

Paid) 64,880
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 105,710
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 105,760
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 40,880

Page 22 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As

If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.

BellSouth Inc.
naa Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Franchise Tax
Shares Tax
Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

BellSouth Products. Inc.

1992

a Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
aid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)

Franchise Tax

Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax

Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

Page 23 of 32

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As

If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.
Total
BellSouth Resources, Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 7,608
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 200
Shares Tax 86,688
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 86,888
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 79,280
BellSouth Products, Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 3,172
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 100
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 100
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -3,072
Alabama Cellular Services, Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 304,268
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 350
Shares Tax 264,678
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 265,028
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -39,240

Page 24 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.
1986
Sunlink Corporation
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 10,939
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 113,670
Shares Tax | 12.176
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 125.846
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 114,907
TechSouth, Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 4,242
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 1,025
Shares Tax 22, 367
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 23,392
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 19,150
555,951
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 2,292,208
Shares Tax sin 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 2,292,208
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 1,736,257

Total Domestic Tax over (under)
Foreign Tax

Page 25 of 32

39,117,756

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As

If Domestic” Analysis prepared for

counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.
1987
Sunlink Corporation
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 6,776
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 33,541
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 33,591
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 26.815
TechSouth, Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) | 4,756
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 1,015
Shares Tax 15,689
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 16,704
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 11,948
557,066
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 2,172,208
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 2,172,208
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 1.615, 142
Total Domestic Tax over (under)
Foreign Tax een 0,834,052,
Page 26 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.
1988
i tion
Foreign Toes Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 5.840
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -5,790
a TechSouth, Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 4,835
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 1,015
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 1,015
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -3,820
Sse Trepepcrtation, ine.

Paid) 570,472
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 2,452,208
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 2,452,208
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 1,881,736

Total Domestic Tax over (under)

Foreign Tax ew 39,285,955,

Page 27 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As

If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.
1989
Sunlink tion
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 7,769
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -7,719
TechSouth, Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 2.753
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 1,015
Shares Tax 3,597
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 4612
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 1,859
——SSSSSSS
Paid) 574,252
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 1,845,540
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 1,845,540
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 1,271,288
Total Domestic Tax over (under)
Foreign Tax nt 4, 460,504
Page 28 of 32 ~

Foreign Tax

Page 29 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.
1990
Sunlink Corporation
Paid) 37,952
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 50
Shares Tax 9.480
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 9,530
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 28,422
TechSouth. Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) | 3.610
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 980
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 980
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -2,630
a eee
Paid) 573,792
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax 1,812,208
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 1,812,208
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 416
Total Domestic Tax over (under)
951

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.

1991

Sunhnk tion
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax
Shares Tax

24,108

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

TechSouth, Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax
Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -Liis

CSX Treneportanon, Ing.

Paid) 571,327
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Franchise Tax 1,812,208
Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 1,812,208

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

Total Domestic Tax over (under)
Foreign Tax

Page 30 of 32

1,240,881

188, 163,006

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As
If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South
Central Bell case.

Sunhnk Corporation _

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax

Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

TechSouth. Inc.

15,199

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax

Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

hs Trepeportation, ine.

Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax

Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Zio S &

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 1244 262

Total Domestic Tax over (under)
Foreign Tax

Page 31 of 32

Summary of Tax Differences in the "As

If Domestic” Analysis prepared for
counsel in anticipation of South

Central Bell case.

Total
Sunlink tion

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As

Paid) 108,583
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Franchise Tax 113,970
Shares Tax 55,197
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 169, 167
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 60,584

TechSouth, Inc.

Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As

Paid) 22,974
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Franchise Tax 6,080
Shares Tax 41,653
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 47,733
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 24 759

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Franchise Tax

Shares Tax

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

Total Domestic Tax over (under)
Foreign Tax

Page 32 of 32

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

1986

BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc.
(Q: 11-12-91)
‘Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax Gs
Paid)
Domestic Corporation (As If)

api
D 1: Franchise T,

Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states

Book value of merchandise held for sale
Cost of domestic capital stock owned

Total deductions
Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment

State assessment (not less than zero)

County assessments
Residue of total value of stock for

0
0
_————————_____—____—__ ___4
0
0
assessment (not < 0) 0
N/A Domestic Shares Tax NiO |
. . SSSS==
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 0
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 0
——————

Page 1 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case. of South Central Bell case.
1987 1988
BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc. BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc.
(Q: 11-12-91) (Q: 11-12-91)
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As ‘Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Domestic Corporation (As If) Domestic Corporation (As If) BRC we
Capital Stock ——— Capital Stock
Domestic Franchise Tax CEN | Domestic Franchise Tax PCRGINAENE |
Domestic Shares Tax: Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock Total value of all shares of stock
Deductions: Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal Book value of real & tangible personal
property property
Book value of Alabama real & tangible Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property personal property
Book value of real & tangible personal Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 9 property in other states 0
Book value of merchandise held for sale Book value of merchandise held for sale
Cost of domestic capital stock owned Cost of domestic capital stock owned
Total deductions v Total deductions 0
Total value of all shares of stock Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment iil ta remaining for assessment 0
State assessment (not less than zero) 0 State assessment (not less than zero) 0
County assessments 0 County assessments 0
Residue of total value of stock for Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) Sa assessment (not < 0) 0
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0 N/A Domestic Shares Tax CRE |
, o ’ ° T. 0 Ti l D . » ‘ Ti FEE
————————————
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax _ =F. Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 0

Page 2 of 88 Page 3 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations Financial Data and Calculations

used in "As If Domestic” Analysis used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case. of South Central Bell case.
1989 1990

BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc. BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc.

(Q: 11-12-91) (Q: 11-12-91)
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As ‘Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) saineitieniaiittiaaaiiaiaiiate Paid) tae

Domestic Corporation (As If) Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock Capital Stock
P ° eve ycaes | . ‘ SS

Domestic Shares Tax: Domestic Shares Tax: sete i a os ral
Total value of all shares of stock Total value of all aii of stock
Deductions: Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal Book value of real & tangible personal
property property
Book value of Alabama real & tangible Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property al
Book value of real & tangible personal bate Nagge ai & tangible personal
property in other states 0 property in other states 0
Book value of merchandise held for sale Book value of merchandise held for sale
Cost of domestic capital stock owned Cost of domestic capital stock owned
Total deductions 0 Total deductions 0
Total value of all shares of stock Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment ees | remaining for assessment 0
State assessment (not less than zero) 0 State assessment (not less than zero) 0
County assessments 0
Residue of total value of stock for ale roll of stock for °
assessment (not < 0) 0 assessment (not < 0) 0
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0 N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0

. - T PrIREE ON: | ‘ ‘ eae ae
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax See | Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 0

Page 4 of 88 Page 5 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

1991
BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc.
(Q: 11-12-91)
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 25
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock 4,294,605,803
Domestic Franchise Tax 42,946,058

Domestic Shares Tax:

Total value of all shares of stock 6,604,398,291
Deductions:

Book value of real & tangible personal

property 20,216,506,645
Book value of Alabama real & tangible

personal property 0
Book value of real & tangible personal

property in other states 20,216,506,645
Book value of merchandise held for sale 152,915,582
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 89,710,333
Total deductions 20,459, 132,560
Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment -13,854,734,269
State assessment (not less than zero) 0
County assessments 0
Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0) 0
N/A Domestic Shares Tax Manes |
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 42,946,058
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 42,946.033

Page 6 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

1992
BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc.
(Q: 11-12-91)
‘Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 6,371,607
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Capital Stock 7,318,959, 147

Domestic Franchise Tax 73,189,591
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 11,653,592,076
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 37.213,279,384
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -3,760,348,233
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 33,452,931,151

Book value of merchandise held for sale
Cost of domestic capital stock owned

Total deductions .
Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment

State assessment (not less than zero)

County assessments
Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0)
N/A Domestic Shares Tax
Total D iC ‘on T

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax
Page 7 of 88

0
0
33,452,931,151

-21,799,339.075
0
-752,069,647

-752,069,647
0
73,189,591

66,817,984

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation

of South Central Bell case.
1986
BellSouth corpora

oreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As

Paid) 25
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock 309,778,000
Domestic Franchise Tax 3,097,780
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 10, 198,051,000
Deductions:

Book value of real & tangible personal
property 6,650,000

Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property 0

Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 6,650,000
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 9,809,588,000
Total deductions 9,816,238,000

Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 381,813,000
State assessment (not less than zero) 76,362,600
County assessments 0
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 76,362,600
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 5,307,201
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 8,404,981
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 8,404,956
Page 8 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations

used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.
1987
———— ——
oreign ration: Franc ax
Paid) 25
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Tapital Stock 322,491,000

Domestic Franchise Tax ee 224,910
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 11,264,638,000
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 10,250,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property 0
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 10,250,000
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 9,869,073,672
Total deductions 9.879,323,672
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 1,385,.314,328
State assessment (not less than zero) 277,062,866
County assessments 0
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 277,062,866
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 19,255,869
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 22, 480.779
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 22 480.754

Page 9 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation

of South Central Bell case.
1988
oreign Corporation: ax (/
Paid) 25
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Tapital Stock 485,878,000
Domestic Franchise Tax 4,858,780
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 11,978,413,000
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 9,733,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property 0
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 9,733,000
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 4,368,756,571
Total deductions 4.378, 489.571
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 7,599,923,429
State assessment (not less than zero) 1,519,984,686
County assessments 0
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 1,519,984 .686
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 105,638,936

— ===
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 110,497,716

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 110,497,691

Page 10 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.
1989
ee
oreign Corporation: ax
Paid) 25
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Capital Stock = 485,990,000

Domestic Franchise Tax 4.859.900
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 11,840,689,000
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 22,458,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property 0
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 22,458,000
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 4,533,727,252
Total deductions 4.556, 185,252
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 7,284,503,748
State assessment (not less than zero) 1,456,900,750
County assessments 0
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 1.456 900,750
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 101,254,602

Total Domestic Corporation Tax 106,114,502

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 106,114,477
eee

Page 11 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in “As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

1990

——eeEee

oreign Corporation: Fran ax

Paid) 545
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Tapital Stock 486, 229.000
Domestic Franchise Tax 862.290

Domestic Shares Tax:

Total value of all shares of stock 13, 103,506,000
Deductions:

Book value of real & tangible personal

property 18,058,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible

personal property -23,804
Book value of real & tangible personal

property in other states 18,034, 196
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 4,669,877 587
Total deductions 4.687,911,783
Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment 8.415.594,217
State assessment (not less than zero) 1,683, 118,843
County assessments -4,761
Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0) 1,683, 114,082
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 116,976,429

———_—__ —___ __ ~_ ______4
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 121,838,719

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 121 838, 174

Page 12 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in “As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

1991

BellSouth Corporation
Foreign Corporation. oer Tax (As

Paid) 25
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Capital Stock 486 647,037

Domestic Franchise Tax __ 4,866,470

Domestic Shares Tax:

Total value of all shares of stock 12,671,762,633
Deductions:

Book value of real & tangible personal

property 17,194,131
Book value of Alabama real & tangible

personal property -20,339
Book value of real & tangible personal

property in other states 17,173,792
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 4.736,291,092
Total deductions 4.753,464,884
Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment 7,918,297,749
State assessment (not less than zero) 1,583,659,550
County assessments -4,068
Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0) 1.583.655 482
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 110,064,056

Total Domestic Corporation Tax 114,930,526

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 114,930,501

Page 13 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations

used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.
1992
oreign Corporation: ise lax
Paid) 5,311
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Tapital Stock | 488,286,956
Domestic Franchise Tax 4,882,870
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 13,115,856,792
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 15,707,665
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -31,606
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 15,676,059
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 11,350,893,834
Total deductions 11,366,569,893
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 1,749,286, 899
State assessment (not less than zero) 349,857,380
County assessments -6,321
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 349,851,059
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 24,314,649
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 29,197,519
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 29,192,208
Page 14 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations

used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.
1986
South Central Bell Telephone

hee

oreign Corporation: ax
Paid) 4.952 697

Domestic Corporation (As If)

ee ee

ap! . 2.933 410.688

Domestic Franchise Tax 29,334,107

Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 4,657,099,274
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 11,896,494,229
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -2,572,569,291
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 9,323,924,938
Book value of merchandise held for sale 104,949,072
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 26,798,466
Total deductions 9.455,672,.476
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment -4.798, 573.202
State assessment (not less than zero) 0
County assessments -514,513,858
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 0
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 29,334,107

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 24,381,410
(sect

Page 15 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation

of South Central Bell case.
1987
South Central Bell Telephone
Com (M: 12-31-91)
Foreign Coneraton Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 4.995, 844
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Tapital Stock 2,948,920, 303

Domestic Franchise Tax 29, 489 203

Domestic Shares Tay:

Total value of all shares of stock 4,666,716,143

Deductions:

Book value of real & tangible personal

property 12,661,318,891

Book value of Alabama real & tangible

personal property -2,765,244,707

Book value of real & tangible personal

property in other states 9,896,074, 184

Book value of merchandise held for sale 103,779,963

Cost of domestic capital stock owned 42,840,118

Total deductions 10,042,694,265

Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment -5.375,978,122

State assessment (not less than zero) 0

County assessments -553,048,941

Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0) 0

N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0

Total Domestic Corporation Tax 29, 489.203
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 24 493,359

Page 16 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation

of South Central Bell case.
1988
South Central Bell Telephone

eee

oreign Corporation: Franc ax (As
Paid) 4,927,214

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock 2,966, 130,486
Domestic Franchise Tax 29,661,305,

Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 4,650,522,281
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 13,314,381,056
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -2,947,644, 193
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 10,366,736,863
Book value of merchandise held for sale 54,476,399
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 80,263,546
Total deductions 10,501,476,808
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment -5,850,954,527
State assessment (not less than zero) 0
County assessments -589,528,839
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 0
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 29,661,305

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 24 734,091

Page 17 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation

of South Central Bell case.
1989
South Central Bell Telephone
Company (M: 12-31-91)
Foreign Conraton Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 5,219,546
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock 2,984,630,486
Domestic Franchise Tax 29,846,305

Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 4,989,517,462
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 14,040, 125,535
Book value of Alabama real! & tangible
personal property -3,149,410,759
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 10,890,7 14,776
Book value of merchandise held for sale 58,557,238
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 118,059, 135
Total deductions 11,067,331,149
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment -6,077,813,687
State assessment (not less than zero) 0
County assessments -629,882,152
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 0
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 29,846,305

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 24,626,759

Page 18 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation

of South Central Bell case.
1990
South Central Bell Telephone

TORIgT CoS rahe

oreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 5,334,015

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock 3,024, 352,000
Domestic Franchise Tax 30,243,520

Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 6,349,956,000
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 9,345,291,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -2,132,.931,837
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 7,212,359, 163
Book value of merchandise held for sale 83,962,678
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 122,495,930
Total deductions 7,418,817,771
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment -1,068,861,771
State assessment (not less than zero) 0
County assessments -426 586,367
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 0
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 30,243,520

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 24 909.505

Page 19 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

1991
South Central Bell Telephone
Company (M: 12-31-91)
oreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 5,210,339
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock 3,024, 352,334

D - Franchise T;
Domestic Shares Tax:

Total value of all shares of stock
Deductions:

Book value of real & tangible personal
property

Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property

Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states

Book value of merchandise held for sale
Cost of domestic capital stock owned

Total deductions
Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment

State assessment (not less than zero)

County assessments
Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0)
N/A Domestic Shares Tax
Total D cC ration T.

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

Page 20 of 88

30,243,523

4,808,691,276

9,379,448,000

-2,158, 146,454

7,221,301,546

80,193,000
89.709,883

7,391,204,429

-2,582,513,153

0
-431,629,291

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

1992

South Central Bell Telephone

Company (M: 12-31-91)
Foreign eOSATIIEE Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 25
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock 0
D - Franchise T;
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
persona! property
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states

Book value of merchandise held for sale
Cost of domestic capital stock owned

Total deductions
Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment

State assessment (not less than zero)

County assessments
Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0)
N/A Domestic Shares Tax
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 25

Page 21 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

1986
BellSouth Services, Inc.
(M: 12-31-91)
oreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (:
Paid) 30,950
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock 500
D -- Franchise T a

Domestic Shares Tax:

Total value of all shares of stock 29,938,327
Deductions:

Book value of real & tangible personal

property 5,440,206
Book value of Alabama real & tangible

personal property -41,279
Book value of real & tangible personal

property in other states 5,398,927
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 5,398,927
Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment 24 539,400
State assessment (not less than zero) 4,907,880
County assessments -8,256
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < Q) 4,899,624
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 340,524
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 340,574
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 309.624

Page 22 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

1987

BellSouth Services, Inc.

x 12-31-91)
oreign Corporation: ax (

Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Tapital Stock

D - Franchise T,

Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal

property
Book value of Alabama real & tangible

personal property

Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states

Book value of merchandise held for sale
Cost of domestic capital stock owned

Total deductions

80.009 466

Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment

-38, 706,966

State assessment (not less than zero) 0
County assessments -2,215,307
Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0) 0
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -108,724

Page 23 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations

Financial Data and Calculations
used in “As If Domestic” Analysis

prepared for counsel in anticipation

of South Central Bell case.

used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.
1988
BellSouth Services, Inc.
(M: 12-31-91)
oreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (:
Paid) 139,893
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Tapital Stock 500

D oF hise T a
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 93,070,387
Dedwetions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 98,435,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property - 18,632,301
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 79,802,699
Book value of merchandise held for sale 101,448,000
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 181,250,699
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment -88, 180,312
State assessment (not less than zero) 0
County assessments 3,726,460
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 0
N/A Domestic Shares Tax RON TEREST |
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -139,843

Page 24 of 88

1989

BellSouth Services, Inc.

tt 12-31-91)
oreign Corporation: ax

Paid) 135,610
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Capital Stock = — 500
Domestic Franchise Tax 50

Domestic Shares Tax:

Total value of all shares of stock 93,845,376

Deductions:

Book value of real & tangible personal

property 112,985,469

Book value of Alabama real & tangible

personal property -27,859,885

Book value of real & tangible personal

property in other states 85,125,584

Book value of merchandise held for sale 116,440,379

Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0

Total deductions 201,565,963

Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment - 107,720,587

State assessment (not less than zero) 0

County assessments -5,571,977

Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0) 0

N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0

Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -135,560

Page 25 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in “As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation

of South Central Bell case.
1990
BellSouth Services, Inc.
(M: 12-31-91)
oreign Corporation: ax
Paid) 205,525
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Tapital Stock 500
Domestic Franchise Tax 50

Domestic Shares Tax:

Total value of all shares of stock 199, 464,259
Deductions:

Book value of real & tangible personal

property 120,346,979
Book value of Alabama real & tangible

personal property -19,490,253
Book value of real & tangible personal

property in other states 100,856,726
Book value of merchandise held for sale 128,430,648
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 3,519,888
Total deductions 232,807 262
Total value of all shares of stock

reinaining for assessment -33.343,003
State assessment (not less than zero) 0
County assessments -3,898,051
Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0) 0
N/A Domestic Shares Tax TET |
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -205.475

Page 26 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations

used in "As If Domestic” Analysis

prepared for counsel in anticipation

of South Central Bell case.

1991
BellSouth Services, Inc.
Sar AS
oreign Corporation: ax
Paid) 206,333
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Tapital Stock 500
Domestic Franchise Tax 50

Domestic Shares Tax:

Total value of all shares of stock 179,420,666
Deductions:

Book value of real & tangible personal

property 116,095,920
Book value of Alabama real & tangible

personal property -27,283,729
Book value of real & tangible personal

property in other states 88,812,191
Book value of merchandise held for sale 89,704,570
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 11,762,377
Total deductions 190,279,138
Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment -10,858 472
State assessment (not less than zero) 0
County assessments -5,456,746
Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0) 0
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0
Total D eC ion T =
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -206,283

Page 27 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in “As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

1992

BellSouth Services, Inc.
(M: 12-31-91)
oreign Corporation: Franchise Tax
Paid) 2
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock
D oF hise T
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states

or

©

Book value of merchandise held for sale
Cost of domestic capital stock owned

Total deductions
Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment

State assessment (not less than zero)

County assessments
Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0)
N/A Domestic Shares Tax
Total D °C ion T.

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

| | —) (— i — nn — ee | — ee °

Page 28 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations

used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.
1986
BellSouth Financial Services
eee
oreign Corporation: ise Tax
Paid) 25
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock 1,000
Domestic Franchise Tax eC US
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock -299.000
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 2,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property 0
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 2,000
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 2,000
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment -301.000
State assessment (not less than zero) 0
County assessments 0
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 0
N/A Domestic Shares Tax ee a
Total D iC on T. =
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 25

Page 29 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations Financial Data and Calculations

used in "As If Domestic” Analysis used in "As If Domestic” An“?- sis
prepared for counsel in anticipation prepared for counsel in anti .1tion
of South Central Bell case. of South Central Bell case.
1987 1988
BellSouth Financial Services BellSouth Financial Services
Corporation Corporation
Forsigs Useporation Franchise Tax Us Foreign Corporation Frenchine Ter
Domestic Corporation (As If) Domestic Co ]
rporation (As If)

Capital Stock 1,000 Capital Stock 1,000

Domestic Franchise Tax dae Domestic Franchise Tax peaeN |
Domestic S‘aares Tax: Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 613,000 Total value of all shares of stock -139,000
Deductions: Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal Book value of real & tangible personal
property 160.000 property 688,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property 0 rsonal rt 0
Book value of real & tangible personal mse 25 tt & tangible personal
property in other states 160.000 property in other states 688,000
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0 Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0 Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 160,000 T uctio
Total value of all shares of stock fend se oe of all shares of stock =
remaining for assessment -973,000 remaining for assessment -827,000
State assessment (not less than zero) 0 State assessment (not less than zero) 0
County assessments 0
Residue of total value of stock for ee ee rear par l of stock for -
assessment (not < 0) | assessment (not < 0) 0
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0 N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50 Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 25 Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 25

Page 30 of 88 Page 31 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel ir anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

1989
BellSouth Financial Services
a
oreign Corporation: Franc ax
Paid) 130,334
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock 1,000
D ti F } . T. Pena: amen
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 4,803,000
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 4,947,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -664,382
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 4,282,618
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 4.282.618
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 520,382
State assessment (not less than zero) 104,07
County assessments -132,87
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 0
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -130.284
Page 32 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation

of South Central Bell case.

BellSouth Financial Services

1990

Corporation
Foreign Conor Franchise Tax (As

Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)

S

16,

Capital Stock

D ‘c Franchise T

Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock
Deductions:

Book value of real & tangible personal

property

Book value of Alabama real & tangible

personal

Book value of real & tangible personal

property

Book value of merchandise held for sale
Cost of domestic capital stock owned

property

in other states

Total deductions
Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment

State assessment (not less than zero)

County assessments

Residue

of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0)
N/A Domestic Shares Tax
Total D iC on T

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

Page 33 of 88

|

7,904,000

5,051,000

-676,329

4,374,671

oOo ©

4,374,671

3,529,329

705,866
-135,266

570,600
39,657
39,707

22.799

Financial Data and Caiculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

1991
BellSouth Financial Services
Corporation
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 28.539
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock 500

D . F } . T. ee ee ae

Domestic Shares Tax:

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation

Total value of all shares of stock 10,489,000

Deductions:

Book value of real & tangible personal

property 436,000

Book value of Alabama real & tangible

personal property -60,386

Book value of real & tangible personal

property in other states 375,614

Book value of merchandise held for sale 0

Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0

Total deductions 375,614

Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment 10,113,386

State assessment (not less than zero) 2,022,677

County assessments -12,077

Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0) 2,010,600

N/A Domestic Shares Tax 139,737

Total Domestic Corporation Tax 139,787

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 111,248
Page 34 of 88

of South Central Bell case.
1992
BellSouth Financial Services
Corporation
Paid) 17,172
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Capital Stock 500

D . Fr. } . T PARES Sims
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 11,492,000
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 325,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -41,919
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 283.081
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 283.081
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 11,208,919
State assessment (not less than zero) 2,241,784
County assessments -8,384
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 2,233,400
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 155,221
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 155,271

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 138,099

Page 35 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

1986
BellSouth Advertising & Publishing
Sb
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax
Paid) 60,038
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Capital Stock 182,584,000

Domestic Franchise Tax 1,825,840
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 182,907,000
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 10,189,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -1,227,114
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 8,961,886
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 8,961,886
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 173.945.114

County assessments
Residue of total value of stock for

oS
State assessment (not less than zero) 34,789,023
245,423

34

assessment (not < 0) 543.600
. noe

N/A Domestic Shares Tax 2,400,780
e ~ ————_—_K——E

Total Domestic Corporation Tax eee 8s226,620
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 4,166,582
eae

Page 36 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations

used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.
1987
BellSouth Advertising & Publishing
Corporation
Foreign Corporaton: Franchise Tax Cis
Paid) 59.922
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock ~~— 500
Domestic Franchise Tax 50
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 181,263,587
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 9,553,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -786,038
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 8,766,962
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 8,766,962
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 172,496,625
State assessment (not less than zero) 34,499,325
County assessments -157,208
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 34,342.117
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 2,386,777
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 2, 386,827
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 2.326.905

Page 37 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations

used in “As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.
1988
BellSouth Advertising & Publishing
Sa
oreign Corporation: Franc ax
Paid) 55,586
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Tapital Stock 500

D —— a
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 181,265,000
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 8,934,000
Book value of Alabama rea! & tangible
personal property - 1,084,247
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 7,849,753
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 7,849,753
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 173.415.247
State assessment (not less than zero) 34,683,049
County assessments -216,849
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 34-466 200
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 2,395,401

Total Domestic Corporation Tax

oe
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 2.339.865
oe

Page 38 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations

used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.
1989
BellSouth Advertising & Publishing
eet
oreign Corporation: ax
Paid) 56,659
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock 500
D - Franchise T emene |
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 211,263,587
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 11,586,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -606,940
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 10,979,060
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 10,979,060
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 200,284,527
State assessment (not less than zero) 40,056,905
County assessments -121,388
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 39,935,517
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 2,775,518
Total Domestic Corporation Tax ee 2s 15,568
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 2.718.909
Page 39 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations

used in “As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.
1990
BellSouth Advertising & Publishing
Corporation
Foreign Useporstion: Franck Tax Ue
Paid) 71,861
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Capital Stock 500

D = Pranchiee T a
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 266,568,534
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 11,709,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -445,794
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 11,263,206
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 11,263,206
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 255.305 328
State assessment (not less than zero) 51,061,066
County assessments -89,159
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 50.971,907
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 3,542,548
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 542,598
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 3,470,737

Page 40 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations

used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.
1991
BellSouth Advertising & Publishing

ae

oreign Corporation: ax (As
Paid) 75,421

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Tapital Stock 500
D i Franchise T, 7

Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 313,851,000
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 15,768,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -1,432,586
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 14,335,414
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 14,335,414
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 299,515,586
State assessment (not less than zero) 59,903,117
County assessments -286,517
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 59.616,600
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 4,143,354
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 4.143.404
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 4.067.983

Page 41 of 88

Financial Data and Caiculations Financial Data and Calculations

ane ero pe » used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
Phan ee — yay sey for ceny s in anticipation
7) Centra case.
1992 1986
BellSouth Advertising & Publishing BellSouth R iad:
a ration Foreign Corporation. ae Tax (As
oreign Corporation: ax Paid)
Paid) 65,829
: ;
Domestic Corporation (As If) ——S Domestic Corporation (As If)
Tapital Stock 500 - ; : meen |
Domestic Franchise Tax 50 an
: anne Domestic Shares Tax:
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 342,978,437 ar 1 ~o cnan agama
Deductions: , '
Book value of real & tangible personal . me of real & tangible personal
property 15,085,000 '
Book value of Alabama real & tangible ea real & tangible
personal property -773,064 a
Book value of real & tangible personal Book a a ae le personal P
property in other states 14,311,936 papary
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0 oe agen p — ™
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0 Total deducti _ 7
Total deductions 14,511,996 Total value of all shares of stock
Total value of all shares of stock sumataina ton om °
ST ena ee State assessment (not less than zero) 0
State assessment (not less than zero) 65,733,300 County ts 0
County assessments -154,613 Residue of total value of stock fer
Residue of total value of stock for nt (not <0) °
assessment (not < 0) 65,578,687 ‘ eee
, SS = N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 4,557,719 Total D 7; on T eee |
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 4,557,769 ee
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 4.491.940 etic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax a |

Page 42 of 88 Page 43 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

1987

BellSouth Resources, Inc.
Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock

D -- Franchise T,

Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states

Book value of merchandise held for sale
Cost of domestic capital stock owned

Total deductions
Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment

State assessment (not less than zero)

County assessments
Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0)
N/A Domestic Shares Tax
Total D T on T

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

ill o | o =

Page 44 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in “As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

BellSouth Resources, Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Pomche Tax (As
Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock

Domestic Franchise Tax
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states

1988

Book value of merchandise held for sale
Cost of domestic capital stock owned

Total deductions
Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment

State assessment (not less than zero)

County assessments
Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0)
N/A Domestic Shares Tax
Total D eC. ration T.

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

ill —) | ° —

Page 45 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation

of South Central Bell case.
1989
— entree en
oreign Corporation: Franchise Tax
Paid) 25
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Capital Stock 500

Domestic Franchise Tax 50
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 500
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 0
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property 0
Book value of real & tangible personal :
property in other states 0
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 0
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 500
State assessment (not less than zero) 100
County assessments 0
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 100
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 7
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 57
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 32

Page 46 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation

of South Central Bell case.
1990
a
oreign Corporation: Franchise Tax
Paid) 4.576
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Capital Stock 500

Domestic Franchise Tax 50
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 4,434,000
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 369,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -193,408
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 175,592
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 175,592
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 4 258,408
State assessment (not less than zero) 851,682
County assessments -38,682
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 813,000
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 56,504
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 56,554
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 51,978

Page 47 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations Financial Data and Calculations

used in "As If Domestic” Analysis : z
prepared for counsel in anticipation used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
of South Central Bell case. prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.
me 1992
BellSouth Resources, Inc.
Foreign Corporation: a ax BellSouth Resou Inc.
Paid) 2 720 Foreign Corporation. Pane Tax (As
;, , Paid) 287
Ca — ——— eal nnn EL 500 Domestic Corporation (As If)
: Domestic Franchise Tax 50 Capital Stock 500
;
Domestic Shares Tax: Pirie. ox amare — SOT |
ace ee cei Total value of all shares of stock -15,000
Deductions:
pa gy er ee 447.000 Book value of real & tangible personal
1 | property 7,000
ee veal & tangible 199.872 Book value of Alabama real & tangible
Book value of real & tangible personal as yg stip need ieee area 0
property in other states 247,128 Vere SF oe e pe
property in other states 7,000
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0 Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Total deductions 247.128 Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total value of all shares of stock Total deductions 7,000
fey Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 2,370,872 bir coy eres ve
State assessment (not less than zero) 474,174 mabiities -22.
County assessments 39.974 State assessment (not less than zero) 0
Residue of total value of stock for County assessments 0
assessment (not < 0) 434.200 Residue of total value of stock for
N/A Domestic Shares Tax | assessment (not < 0) 0
Ti ; See N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax ;
as Total Domestic Corporation Tax 50
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 27,507 hicciiasnie: Can ster Giiliak ieaten tun i

Page 48 of 88 Page 49 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations Financial Data and Calculations

used in "As If Domestic” Analysis used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation ared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case. pe sect Central Bell case
BellSouth Products, Inc -_ nae
e ,
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As ot ape a
Paid) me Paid) :
Domestic Corporation (As If) ——<—————
5 OTHE t ration (As I,
so ee - Domestic Corporation (As If)
Domestic Franchise Tax Rerceeane Domestic Franchise Tax era
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock raat por tga 5 coll of stock
Deductions: Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal Book value of real & tangible personal
property
Book value of Alabama real & tangible oe nll of Alabama real & tangible
personal property :
Book value of real & tangible personal eae & tangible personal
property in other states 0 property in other states 0
Book value of merchandise held for sale Book value of merchandise held for sale
Cost of domestic capital stock owned Cost of domestic capital stock owned
Total deductions 0 Total deductions 0
Total value of all shares of stock Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 0 remaining for assessment 0
State assessment (not less than zero) 0 State assessment (not less than zero) 0
County assessments 0
Residue of total value of stock for ee oo, of stock for °
assessment (not < 0) 0 assessment (not < 0) 0
. a = eee
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0 N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0
Total Domestic Corporation Tax ES | Total Domestic Corporation Tax seat al
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 0 Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 0

Page 50 of 88 Page 51 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in “As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

BellSouth Produ Inc.
Foreign Corporation. + Tax (As
Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock

D oF hise T;
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property
Book value of Alabama real & tangible

personal property
Book value of real & tangible personal

property in other states

1988

Book value of merchandise held for sale
Cost of domestic capital stock owned

Total deductions
Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment

State assessment (not less than zero)

County assessments
Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0)
N/A Domestic Shares Tax
Total D <C on T

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

ill ° | ° °

Page 52 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in “As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

BellSouth Produ Inc.
—————eSE

Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock

D ic Franchise T.

Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal

property
Book value of Alabama real & tangible

personal property
Book value of real & tangible personal

property in other states

1989

Book value of merchandise held for sale
Cost of domestic capital stock owned

Total deductions
Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment

State assessment (not less than zero)

County assessments
Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0)
N/A Domestic Shares Tax
Total D iC ion T

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

Page 53 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in “As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

1990

BellSouth Produ Inc.
Foreign Corporation. Sa Tax (As
Paid)

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock

D a hise T
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states

Book value of merchandise held for sale
Cost of domestic capital stock owned

Total deductions
Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment

State assessment (not less than zero)

County assessments
Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0)
N/A Domestic Shares Tax
Total D <C on T

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

Page 54 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in “As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

BellSouth Produ Inc.
oreign : ax

Paid)
Domestic Corporation (As If)

api
D cB hise T

Domestic Shares Tax:

Total value of all shares of stock

Deductions:

Book value of real & tangible personal

property
Book value of Alabama real & tangible

personal property
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states

Book value of merchandise held for sale
Cost of domestic capital stock owned

Total deductions
Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment

State assessment (not less than zero)

County assessments
Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0)
N/A Domestic Shares Tax
Total D iC ion T.

Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax

Page 55 of 88

o

0

0

0

a)

0

Financial Data and Calculations Financial Data and Calculations

used in "As If Domestic” Analysis used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case. of South Central Bell case.
1992 1986
BellSouth Produ Inc. Alabama Cellular Se Inc.
Foretga Corporations Franchise Tox Us Forsign Conporation Frases Tate
Paid) ———— | Paid) een 205. 205
Domestic Corporation (As If) Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock 500 Tapital Stock oe
Domestic Franchise Tax a | Domestic Franchise Tax 50
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock “806,987 Tour “cece » ol of stock 4,201,816
Deductions: Deductions: |
Book value of real & tangible personal Book value of real & tangible personal
property °
Book value of Alabama real & tangible is te ge of Alabama real & tangible TT
personal property 0 rsonal rt -4,486,696
Book value of real & tangible persona! a8 nett sa & tangible personal posi
property in other states 0 property in other states 0
Book value of merchandise held for sale 2,523,042 ,
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0 ae Pn babrepas 5° peat / ~
Total deductions 2,523,042 Total deductions 0
Total value of all shares of stock Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 23: 330,029 specie:
aining for assessment 4,201,816
State assessment (not less than zero) 0 State assessment (not less than zero) 840,363
County assessments 0 County assessments -897.339
Residue of total value of stock for actin Atel wiles af ttedh fe
assessment (not < 0) = | assessment (not < 0) vest |
N/A Domestic Shares Tax oe | N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 25 ;
— Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax een 15,155

Page 56 of 88 Page 57 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations Financial Data and Calculations

used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation cad ae ae in dastdieaiten
of South Central Bell case. of South Central Bell case.
1987 1988
Alabama Cellular Services, Inc.
Toe Conon Fae Alabama Cellular Services, Inc.
ee ee Foreign Corporation. Franchise To (As
Paid) 13,819 Paid) 43,602
Domestic Corporation (As If) Domestic Corporation (As If) ,
Tapital Stock Tapital Stock
‘ “ " aaa
Domestic Sh T . ; =
mestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 4,552,064 ae sedate 9 a, of stock 10.894.149
Deductions: Deductions: ents
Book value of real & tangible personal : Book value of real & tangible personal
property . 4,437,203 property 9 055,894
Bock vee of Alsbams seat © tangitte Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -4,437 203 personal property -9,055,894
Book value of real & tangible personal Book value of real & tangible personal |
property in other states 0 property in other states 0
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0 Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned : Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 0 Total deducti 0
Total value of all shares of stock Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessmeat pe Se remaining for assessment 10,894,149
State assessment (not less than zero) 910,413 State assessment (not less than zero) 7 178,830
ol assessments £87,441 County assessments -1,811,179
sidue of total value of stock for Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 22.972 assessment (not < 0) 367,651
N/A ! | 1,597 N/A Domestic Shares Tax 25,552
fatal Domestic Corporation Tax ee Ud Total Domestic Corporation Tax 25,602
a ee
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -12,172 Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 18,000
——————— —

Page 58 of 88 Page 59 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations Financial Data and Calculations

used in "As If Domestic” Analysis — used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case. of South Central Bell case.
1989 1990
Alabama Cellular Services: Inc. Alabama Cellular Services. Inc.

oreign Corporation: Franc ax U Foreign Corporation: Franchise To (As

Paid) 40,402 Paid) 45.069
Domestic Corporation (As If) Domestic Co
rporation (As If)

Domestic Franchise Tax 50 Domestic Franchise Tax 50
Domestic Shares Tax: Domestic Sharee Tax: ee
Total value of all shares of stock 13,389,444 Total value of all shares of stock 15,014,123
Deductions: Deductions:

Book value of real & tangible personal Book value of real & tangible personal
Book value of Alabama real & tangible Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -10,432,979 personal property -12,504,179
Book value of real & tangible personal Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 0 property in other states 0
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0 Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0 Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 0 Total deducti 0
Total value of all shares of stock Teta) value . ail shares of stock
remaining for assessment 13,389,444 remaining for assessment 15,014,123
State assessment (not less than zero) 2,677,889 State assessment (not less than zero) 3,002,825
County assessments -2,086,596 Co ts 2
Residue of total \ alue of stock for err ae se te of stock for aeee
assessment (not < 0) 591,293 assessment (not < 0) 501,989
‘ ——S eee
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 41,095 N/A Domestic Shares Tax 34,888
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 41,145 Total Domestic Corporation Tax pean
od
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 743 Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -10,131

Page 60 of 88 Page 61 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation

of South Central Bell case.
1991
oreign Corporation: Franchise lax (
Paid) 64,880
Domestic Corporation (As If)

Capital Stock : 0

Domestic Franchise Tax - 50
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 21,578,000
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 13,973,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -13,973,000
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 0
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 0
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 21,578,000
State assessment (not less than zero) 4,315,600
County assessments -2,794,600
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 1,521,000
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 105,710
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 105,760
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 40,880

Page 62 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation

of South Central Bell case.
1992
Alabama Cellular Services, Inc.
Foreign Corporation: Franchise Tax Gs
Paid) 81,291
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock 0
Domestic Franchise Tax 50
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 27,097,000
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 23,080,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -23,080,000
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 0
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 0
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 27,097,000
State assessment (not less than zero) 5,419,400
County assessments -4,616,000
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 803,400
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 55,836
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 55,886
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -25,405

Page 63 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

1986

a Corporatio. -

oreign Corporation: Franchise Tax (As
Paid) 10,939

Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock 11,367,000
Domestic Franchise Tax 113,670

Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 11,366,000
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 10,490,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -2,819.961
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 7,670,039
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 7,670,039
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 3,695,961
State assessment (not less than zero) 739,192
County assessments -563,992
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 175,200
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 12,176
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 125,846
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 114,907

Page 64 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in "As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.

1987

SEE
oreign Corporation: ax
Paid) 6,776
Domestic Corporation (As If) ea
Capital Stock 1,000
Domestic Franchise Tax 50
Domestic Shares Tax:

Total value of all shares of stock 11,360,000
Deductions:

Book value of real & tangible personal

property 8,947,000
Book value of Alabama rea! & tangible

personal property -2.764, 195
Book value of real & tangible personal

property in other states 6, 182,805
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 6, 182,805
Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment 5,177,195
State assessment (not less than zero) 1,035,439
County assessments -552,839
Residue of total value of stock for

assessment (not < 0) 482.600
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 33,541
Total Domestic Corporation Tax 33,591
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax 26.815

Page 65 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations

used in “As If Domesiic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.
1988
oreign Corporation: Franc ax
Paid) 5,840
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock 1,000
D cK hise T a
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 11,368,000
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 11,780,000
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -2.695,756
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 9,084,244
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 9,084,244
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 2,283 756
State assessment (not less than zero) 456,751
County assessments -539,151
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 0
N/A Domestic Shares Tax PS ET |
T D ‘ . . T et
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -5.790
Page 66 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in “As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation
of South Central Bell case.
1989
Se
oreign : ax
Paid) 7,769
Domestic Corporation (As If)
apl 1,000
D :- Pranchiee T come |
Domestic Shares Tax:
Total value of all shares of stock 11,355,000
Deductions:
Book value of real & tangible personal
property 18,249,600
Book value of Alabama real & tangible
personal property -2,356,241
Book value of real & tangible personal
property in other states 15,892,759
Book value of merchandise held for sale 0
Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0
Total deductions 15,892,759
Total value of all shares of stock
remaining for assessment 4.537.759
State assessment (not less than zero) 0
County assessments 471,248
Residue of total value of stock for
assessment (not < 0) 0
N/A Domestic Shares Tax 0
r | D . 5 ‘ 7 WME |
Domestic Tax over (under) Foreign Tax -7,.719

Page 67 of 88

Financial Data and Calculations
used in “As If Domestic” Analysis
prepared for counsel in anticipation

of South Central Bell case.
1990
Sunlink Corporation
Foreign Corporation. eee Tax (As
Paid) 37,952
Domestic Corporation (As If)
Capital Stock 500

Domestic Franchise Tax 50
Domestic Shares Tax:

Total value of all shares of stock 24,751,000

Deductions:

Book value of real & tangible personal

property 24,069,000

Book value of Alabama real & tangible

personal property -7,590,075

Book value of real & tangible personal

property in other states 16,478,925

Book value of merchandise held for sale 0

Cost of domestic capital stock owned 0

Total deductions 16,478,925

Total value of all shares of stock

remaining for assessment 8.27

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0188%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
