# Amicus Curiae Brief — Murphy v. United Parcel Service, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0185%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 527 U.S. 516

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S,
x FILED
FEB 23 1999
NO. 97-1992 a Me CLERK
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1998

VAUGHN MURPHY,
Petitioner,
V.
UNITED PARCEL SERVICE, INC.,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF
THE PETITIONER

THOMAS F. REILLY
Attorney General
of Massachusetts

CATHERINE C. ZIEHL*

Assistant Attorney General
One Ashburton Place, Room 1915
Boston, Massachusetts 02108
(617) 727-2200, ext. 2918
*Counsel of Record

Additional Counsel Listed on Inside Cover

\08

DARRELL V. McGRAW
Attorney General of
West Virginia

MARY C. BUCHMELTER

Deputy Attorney General
P.O. Box 1789
Charleston, West Virginia 25236-1789

JANET NAPOLITANO
Attorney General of Arizona

BILL LOCKYER
Attorney General of California

M. JANE BRADY
Attorney General of Delaware

ALAN G. LANCE

Attorney General of Idaho
JAMES E. RYAN

Attorney General of Illinois

CARLA J. STOVALL
Attorney General of Kansas

JOSEPH P. MAZUREK
Attorney General of Montana

PATRICIA A. MADRID
Attorney General of New Mexico

EEL iv
STATEMENT OF AMICUS INTEREST ......................... l
Ee 2
nT IE Yin cu Uiuvnccccvsccccccecececcceecs 2
ERE ESS ES Se 2
ERS Se a 2
ll. APPLYING THE EEOC’S “NO MITIGATING MEASURES”

IV.

INTERPRETIVE GUIDANCE FOR DETERMINING WHETHER AN
EMPLOYEE SUFFERS FROM A DISABILITY RESULTS IN
CONSISTENT APPLICATION OF THE ADA, AS A THRESHOLD
MATTER, TO EMPLOYEES WITH SIMILAR UNDERLYING
MEDICAL CONDITIONS AND ALSO PROMOTES SOUND PUBLIC

THE TENTH CIRCUIT'S DECISION CREATES A CONUNDRUM
FOR EMPLOYEES WHO ARE BARRED FROM JOBS BECAUSE OF
THEIR UNDERLYING IMPAIRMENT, EVALUATED WITHOUT
REFERENCE TO MITIGATING MEASURES, AND YET ARE
UNABLE TO CHALLENGE THE LEGAL BASIS OF THE
DISQUALIFICATION BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT DEEMED
DISABLED UNDER THE ADA.............................. 9

PROTECTION UNDER THE ADA IS ESSENTIAL FOR EMPLOYEES
WITH UNDERLYING IMPAIRMENTS, EVEN WHEN THE
IMPAIRMENT IS PARTLY OR FULLY CONTROLLED BY
MITIGATING MEASURES, SO THAT SUCH EMPLOYEES ARE
ENTITLED TO A REASONABLE ACCOMMODATION SHOULD

Table of Authorities.

Arnold v. United Parcel Service, Inc.,

B56 F368 S56 (hat Cir. IGPED .. 0 2c ccc cnn: passim
Bartlett v. New York State Bd. of Law Examiners,

RSS FOG Tae Gone Cie. BOGE. oo c ccc ccccccces a
Bragdon v. Abbott,

ee tes Ce ae SEU ENEUED pcr cocpece cs 8

Doane v. City of Omaha,
115 F.3d 624 (8th Cir. 1997), cert. denied
___ U.S. __ ,118 S.Ct. 693, 139 L.Ed.2d 638

56 6.e ew 6 kee ble’ empiaiaretlé abe ces ccc. 4

Fallacaro v. Richardson,

ee ee, Oe a, BOOP ccc ccc cceses 8
Gilday v. Mecosta County,

124 F.3d 760 (6th Cir. 1997) .............. passim
Harris v. H&W Contracting Co.,

102 F.3d 516 (11th Cir. 1996) ........... 4, 14, 15
Holihan v. Lucky Stores, Inc.,

87 F.3d 362 (9th Cir. 1996), cert. denied

__ US. _, 117 S.Ct. 1349, 137 L.Ed.2d 506....... 4
Latch v. Southeastern Pennsylvania Transp. Auth.,

964 F.Supp. 317 (E.D.Pa. 1997) .............. 5

Matczak v. Frankford Candy & Chocolate Co.,
UI ME os acs cu seve cs 4

Penny v. United Parcel Serv.,
128 F.3d 408 (6th Cir.1997) ..........52520e- 8

Roth v. Lutheran Gen. Hosp.,
57 F.3d 1446 (7th Cir. 1995)... ... 2.22. ee ees 4

Sutton v. United AirLines, Inc.,
130 F.3d 893 (10th Cir. 1997) cert. granted

MOUS. | cis iiie sd onkekakis cnn 4
Woods v. Friction Material, Inc.,

TS J: te | errr rr Ty ee 5

Statutes, Regulations & Court Rules.

4B UBL. 0 BIGRIEDD «onc kWens «dc be Vb ows conve teses 9
4B UBL. 8 CRURRGIIAD 2 ccc cccccccsedeesocssseses 3, 15
UBL: BUBB. . cc cccncscvcedecbesdsec des 6tcbbun 12
BGUSL. 0 MIE. ..cccccccvsstevenbepann es eseeess es 12
29 C.F.R. Part 1630, App. §§ 1630.2(h) and 1630.2) ........... 3

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1998
No. 97-1992

VAUGHN MURPHY, Petitioner

UNITED PARCEL SERVICE, INC., Respondent.

STATEMENT OF AMICUS INTEREST

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts, the State of West
Virginia and the undersigned _ amici states have a direct interest
in the resolution of this case. First, the states seek to assure that
Americans with Disabilities Act (“ADA”). Second, many of the
amici states follow federal law in deciding employment-related
disability issues under their state law and would likely be
impacted by the decision in this case. Finally, the States have a
strong public policy interest in this case because of their interest
in: (1) promoting self-help of disabled persons without putting at
risk their protection under the ADA, including their right to a
reasonable accommodation; (2) assuring consistent coverage
under the ADA, as a threshold matter, for persons with similar
disabilities under state and federal law; and (3) providing a forum

for challenging automatic job disqualifications based on
underlying medical conditions.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts, the State of West
Virginia and the undersigned adopt the statement of facts set forth
in the Petitioners’ Briefs in Murphy v. United Parcel Service, Inc.
No. 97-1992.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Tenth Circuit’s decision, if affirmed, would have the
deleterious effect of disadvantaging people with underlying
impairments who engage in self-help, by denying them protection
under the ADA, if their mitigating measures are successful. Such
employees who have mitigated theii impairments and would not
be considered disabled under the ADA, therefore, would lose
their right (1) to a legal forum to challenge job exclusions which
are, in fact, based on the underlying impairment and (2) to request
a reasonable accommodation under the Act.

ARGUMENT

I. INTRODUCTION

The Amici states are submitting this brief on the first issue
before the Court which concerns the standard by which a

2

determination of “disability” is made under the first prong of its
statutory definition. See 42 U.S.C. §12102(2)(A) ( a disability is
“ a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or
more of the major life activities of [an] individual”). Specifically,
the question is whether the “impairment” should be evaluated
without considering the ameliorative effects of medication,
prosthetic devices or other forms of assistance as required under
an Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (“EEOC”)
Interpretive Guidance. See 29 C.F.R. Part 1630, App. §§1630.2(h)
and 1630.2(j) (whether an individual has an “impairment” and
whether that impairment “substantially limits a major life
activity” should be made “on a case by case basis, without regard
to mitigating measures such as medicines, or assistive or
prosthetic devices”). Or alternatively, as the Tenth Circuit has
held in this case, that ameliorative measures should be considered
when making the threshold determination of whether a person
suffers from a disability.’

' The amici states believe that the First Circuit conducted
a particularly thorough and persuasive analysis of this issue in
Arnold v. United Parcel Service, Inc., 136 F.3d 854, 857 (ist
Cir. 1998), when it held that the EEOC Interpretive Guidance
setting forth the “no mitigation measures” rule was a reasonable
interpretationof the ADA. The court determined, first, that “the
plain language of the ADA is not so clear and unambiguous” on
the subject. Therefore, it looked to the legislative history of the
Act, from which it concluded that it was “abundantly clear that
Congress intended the analysis . . . to be made on the basis of
the underlying (physical or mental) condition, without
considering the ameliorative effects of medication, prostheses,
or other mitigating measures.” Jd. 136 F.3d at 859. The court

3

It is the view of the Amici that the EEOC’s “no mitigating
measures” Interpretive Guidance embodies the correct position.
The use of mitigating measures does not eliminate the underlying
disability, although it may reduce or control its effects in the short
or long term. It is illogical and contrary to the public policy the
states seek to promote to disadvantage employees who engage in
successful self-help, by denying them the protection of the ADA,
while at the same time providing ADA protection for similarly
situated employees who do not ameliorate their underlying
medical conditions.

For this reason, and others articulated below, this Brief of
Amici is submitted.’

also took into consideration what it concluded were the broad
remedial goals of Congress in enacting the Act. /d., 136 F.3d
at 861.

The majority of circuit courts that have considered this issue
have reached the same result. See Bartlett v. New York State Bd.
of Law Examiners, 156 F.3d 321 (2nd Cir. 1998); Matczak v.
Frankford Candy & Chocolate Co., 136 F.3d 933 (3d Cir.
1997); Doane v. City of Omaha, 115 F.3d 624, 627-28 (8th Cir.
1997); Harris v. H&W Contracting Co., 102 F.3d 516, 520-21
(11th Cir. 1996); Holihan v. Lucky Stores, Inc., 87 F.3d 362,
366 (9th Cir. 1996); Roth v. Lutheran Gen. Hosp., 57 F.3d
1446, 1454 (7th Cir. 1995). But see Sutton v. United AirLines,
130 F.3d 893 (10th Cir. 1997); Gilday v. Mecosta County, 124
F.3d 760 (6th Cir. 1997) (Kennedy, J., concurring in part and
dissenting in part).

2 Many states interpret provisions of their state disability
statutes by looking to federal court interpretations under the
ADA. See, e.g., Arnold 136 F.3d at n.2 (the First Circuit, when

4

Se

Il. APPLYING THE EEOC’S “NO MITIGATING
MEASURES” INTERPRETIVE GUIDANCE FOR
DETERMINING WHETHER AN EMPLOYEE
SUFFERS FROM A DISABILITY RESULTS IN
CONSISTENT APPLICATION OF THE ADA, AS A
THRESHOLD MATTER, TO EMPLOYEES WITH
SIMILAR UNDERLYING MEDICAL CONDITIONS
AND ALSO PROMOTES SOUND PUBLIC POLICY.

Under the Tenth Circuit’s decision, which requires that the
threshold question of disability be determined only after
ameliorative measures are taken into consideration, people with
disabilities are penalized for their diligent efforts to reduce the
impact of their impairments on major life activities because they
lose the protection of the ADA. The fundamental unfairness and
deleterious impact of such a rule is demonstrated in Gilday v.
Mecosta County, 124 F.3d 760 (6th Cir. 1997).

In that case, the plaintiff suffered from non-insulin dependent

interpreting the Maine Human Rights Act, concluded that
because “the ADA has ‘provided guidance to Maine courts in
interpreting the state statute ,’” [citations omitted], determination
of ADA claim also resolves state claim); Latch v. Southeastern
Pennsylvania Trans. Auth.., 984 F. Supp. 317 (E.D.Pa. 1997)
(Pennsylvania courts look to the ADA in interpreting state's
anti-discrimination statutes). See also Woods v. Friction
Material, Inc., 30 F.3d 255, 263 (ist Cir. 1994)
(Massachusetts’ highest court “may look to the interpretations
of analogous federal statutes,” [citation omitted], in interpreting
state anti-discrimination statutes).

5

diabetes which, once it was diagnosed, he was able to control
through a strict regimen of oral medication, rigorous monitoring
of blood sugar levels, diet, exercise and proper rest. Jd. at 761.
In the absence of these mitigating measures, the plaintiff
employee testified that his blood sugar level “fluctuated widely,”
resulting in a personality change that substantially limited his
ability to work. /d.

The court in Gilday, with one judge dissenting, rejected the
EEOC Interpretive Guidance. It concluded that while the plaintiff
was “impaired” under the ADA, the question of whether the
impairment amounted to a disability within the meaning of the
ADA must be determined by taking into consideration any
mitigating measures the plaintiff undertook to control his
impairment. Since the plaintiff, through the strict regimen
discussed above, could control his condition, he was not found to
be “substantially limited” in the major life activity of working
and, therefore, was not disabled under the ADA.

As a result of this ruling, an individual with the same general
“impairment” as the plaintiff in Gilday -- non-insulin dependent
diabetes which results in a personality change that affects the
major life activity of working -- who does not adopt self-help
measures, would likely be covered by the ADA even though he
has been “unable to muster the self-discipline to follow his
regimen.” Gilday, 124 F.3d at 764 n.5 (Moore, J., dissenting).
Whereas, the plaintiff in Gilday, who independently took the
initiative and successfully brought his diabetes under control,
would be denied such coverage. Such an approach not only
discourages self-help, but also results in inconsistent application
of the ADA -- as a threshold coverage matter -- to employees with
similar underlying medical conditions.

6

Thus, in the case before this Court, the Tenth Circuit ruling
would render contrary findings of ADA coverage for a plaintiff
like Murphy who takes his hypertension medication and has
controlled his underlying impairment and a plaintiff who suffers
from the same underlying medical condition as Murphy but does
not take his medications (either because he refuses or cannot
afford them) or does not take them regularly as medically
required. While the latter would be protected under the ADA, the
former would not.

The First Circuit noted the illogic of this result in another
diabetes case, Arnold, 136 F.3d at 863 n.7. In that case, the
plaintiff suffered from type I insulin-dependent diabetes mellitus
which required that he monitor his blood glucose levels
throughout the day and give himself injections of insulin two to
four times a day, keep constant attention to possible signs of
hypoglycemia, and follow a strict diet and exercise regimen to
control the disease. By these mitigating measures, the plaintiff
was able to control the disease. /d. The First Circuit commented
as follows:

That a person with a disability is able to use medical
knowledge or technology to overcome many of the effects
of his illness (in Arnold’s case, by a continuing regimen
of medicine, proper eating habits, and rest) may mean that
he will, in practice, rarely require any sort of
accommodation from his employer; but his achievement
should not leave him subject to discrimination based on
his underlying disability. He should not be denied the
protections of the ADA because he has independently
taken the initiative and successfully brought his diabetes

7

under control. It is hard to imagine that Congress wished
to provide protection to workers who leave it to their
employer to accommodate their impairments but to deny
protection to-workers who act independently to overcome
their disabilities, thereby creating a disincentive to self-
help.

Id. See also Bragdon v. Abbott, 524 U.S. _, 118 S. Ct. 2196,
2206 (1998) (“[T]he disability definition does not turn on
personal choice. When significant limitations result from the
impairment, the definition is met even if the difficulties are not
insurmountable”); Fallacaro v. Richardson, 965.F. Supp. 87, 93
(D.D.C. 1997) (“Individuals who need wheelchairs, artificial
limbs, hearing aids and other prosthetic devices clearly have
impairments that may substantially limit their major life
activities. Neither as a matter of law nor of common sense would
we say that they are not impaired or disabled because their
prosthetic device happens to be exceptionally good.”).

Also, under the Tenth Circuit’s decision, an employee without
insurance, who cannot afford treatment for an underlying medical
condition, would be protected in the hiring process under the
ADA. Once he was hired, however, and was insured under a
company’s health plan and able to obtain treatment, he would no
longer be considered “disabled” and would lose the protections of
the ADA. Therefore, he could be fired on the basis of his
disability without the ability to resort to the protections of the
ADA. This interpretation of the ADA “would be inconsistent
with the Act’s broad remedial purposes.” Arnold, 136 F.3d at
862. See also Penny v. United Parcel Serv., 128 F.3d 408, 414
(6th Cir. 1997).

The concern that applying the EEOC Interpretive Guidance
(which requires that the threshold question of “disability” be
determined without regard to mitigating measures) would result
in coverage under the ADA of a larger number of Americans, is
unpersuasive in light of clear Congressional intent. As the First
Circuit noted, that is what Congress intended:

The very first finding Congress listed in the preamble to the
Act is that “some 43,000,000 million Americans have one or
more physical or mental disabilities, and this number is
increasing as the population as a whole is growing older.” 42
U.S.C. §12101(a)(1). It thus appears that Congress not only
considered but actually intended that the ADA’s protections
sweep broadly, covering a significant portion of the American
populace.

Arnold, 136 F.3d. at 862.

Il. THE TENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION CREATES A
CONUNDRUM FOR EMPLOYEES WHO ARE
BARRED FROM JOBS BECAUSE OF THEIR
UNDERLYING IMPAIRMENT, EVALUATED
WITHOUT REFERENCE TO MITIGATING
MEASURES, AND YET ARE UNABLE TO
CHALLENGE THE LEGAL BASIS OF THE
DISQUALIFICATION BECAUSE THEY ARE
NOT DEEMED DISABLED UNDER THE ADA.

The decision of the Tenth Circuit in Murphy highlights the
dilemma faced by employees whose disabilities are evaluated in

9

a mitigated state. The petitioner job applicant in Murphy was
automatically disqualified from the position of mechanic at
United Parcel Service, Inc. (“UPS”) because he suffered from
severe hypertension and failed to meet a Department of
Transportation (“DOT”) blood pressure standard. Therefore, he
could not be qualified to operate a commercial motor vehicle. He
was disqualified despite the fact that he had worked as a
mechanic for Ryder Truck Rental for the past 22 years and was
able to perform the job adequately.

Thus, the job applicant was barred by a DOT standard from
the mechanic’s job because of his underlying impairment of
severe hypertension, which is evaluated in its unmitigated state.
However, the Tenth Circuit concluded that Murphy was not
“disabled” under the ADA -- a determination it made after
considering the mitigating measures Murphy undertook, which
effectively controlled the underlying impairment. As a disabled
person, Murphy would have been able to litigate the legality of
the DOT standard under the ADA (and whether it was properly
interpreted and applied by his employer).’ Since he is not
considered disabled, however, his employer's decision is
insulated from review.

This is precisely the predicament the First Circuit in Arnold,
136 F.3d at 862, sought to avoid by applying the EEOC’s

> Apparently, there is some question as to whether the
DOT regulation mandated disqualification of applicants with
blood pressure in excess of 160/90 (since this standard is based
in a DOT publication) or whether UPS’s reliance on this
regulation was misplaced and the company was in fact imposing
its Own requirement on applicants.

10

Interpretive Guidance to the threshold question of disability. The
First Circuit stated:

Arnold’s diabetes makes him just the type of person the
ADA was designed to protect. He would have been hired
by UPS but for his inability to get a commercial vehicle
license, which was prevented only because he had
diabetes (the underlying medical condition, without
taking into account ameliorative treatments). But Arnold
alleges that, with treatment, he can perform the job
despite his impairment if UPS will reasonably
accommodate him. This would ordinarily be a factual
question on the merits for the court to determine. Yet,
under UPS’ and the district court’s interpretation of the
ADA, a person in this archetypical situation is not
protected from discrimination by the ADA because he is
not disabled and hence not even a proper plaintiff under
the Act. According to UPS, in such circumstances, the
trier of fact never gets to the merits of the alleged
discrimination, or the “qualified individual” requirement,
or of reasonable accommodation.

Id. at 862.

Under the Tenth Circuit’s decision, employees who are
barred from jobs for failure to meet impairment-based company
policies, guiuances or regulations have no legal recourse for
challenging the basis of those policies, guidances or regulations.
Permitting employees the opportunity to challenge the
consistent with Congrecs’s broad remedial goals in enacting the

11

ADA. Arnold, 136 F.3d at 861.*

* The two plaintiff job applicants in the Sutton case, No.
97-1943, which is also before this Court, were automatically
disqualified from positions as pilots for a major global air
carrier because of a company policy that required applicants to
have uncorrected vision of 20/100 or better—despite the fact that
the Federal Aviation Agency had awarded both applicants first
class medical certificates under which they had long been
employees as commercial pilots for commuter airlines. As in
Murphy, their underlying impairment was evaluated without
reference to mitigating measures and their legal blindness
automatically disqualified them under a company policy from

While vision cases may present a different standard of
analysis since vision is easily correctable with eyeglasses or
contacts lenses, see Arnold, 136 F.3d at 866 n.10, including
such plaintiffs within the scope of the ADA, by evaluating the
vision impairment in an unmitigated state, will at least permit an
employee the opportunity to test the legitimacy of the company
policy under the ADA. If the Suttons were deemed disabled in
their unmitigated state, their employer could still assert that: (1)
they are unable to perform an essential function of the job with
or without a reasonable accommodation; (2) any accommodation
requested would create an undue hardship; or (3) public safety
justified the blanket disqualification. 42 U.S.C.§§12111 and
12113. See also Arnold, 136 F.3d at 861.

12

IV. PROTECTION UNDER THE ADA _ IS
ESSENTIAL FOR EMPLOYEES WITH
UNDERLYING IMPAIRMENTS, EVEN
WHEN THE IMPAIRMENT IS PARTLY OR
FULLY CONTROLLED BY MITIGATING
MEASURES, SO THAT SUCH EMPLOYEES
ARE ENTITLED TO A REASONABLE
ACCOMMODATION SHOULD THE NEED
ARISE.

Another anomalous result that flows from the Tenth Circuit
decision is that people who would otherwise be covered by the
ADA for an underlying impairment, but for their amieliorative
efforts, are not entitled to even the most minor accommodation.
The dissent in Gilday, 124 F.3d at 764 (Moore, J. dissenting),
provided an example which highlights this problem. It noted that
a person with a heart condition who ameliorates the condition by
obtaining a pacemaker will be refused protection under the ADA
because the mitigation measure successfully controlled the
underlying condition. That person, therefore, will not be entitled
to any reasonable accommodation -- even one as simple as
moving 0 Cock anny Sem a microwave oven to avoid Clavupting
the medical device.

There are countless examples of the kinds of
accommodations that people with a “controlled” impairment
might need. First, “ameliorating” the impairment itself may
require absences from work -- for example, to attend doctor’s
appointments, physical therapy, or to obtain testing. Additionally,
the mitigating measures may take up work time where, for

13

example, an employee must take medications on a prescribed
schedule or undergo self-testing of the underlying condition.

Also, a controlled condition may not remain permanently
controlled. The Harris case demonstrates the dilemma an
employee can face in this circumstance. In that case, the plaintiff
employee suffered from Graves’ disease, an endocrine disorder
which affected the thyroid gland. She had been diagnosed with
the disease twenty years previously and prescribed medication
which controlled the condition -- with one exception. In her third
year of employment as a comptroller with the defendant
company, Harris experienced a “panic attack” due to an overdose
in her medication. The overdose occurred because of a change in
the manufacturer of the drug. She was hospitalized for eight days
in a psychiatric ward and out on sick leave for approximately two
months. Harris, 102 F.3d at 518.

While Harris was on sick leave, her employer hired another
individual to become comptroller. When she returned to work,
Harris was informed that she would need to seek other
employment. /d. According to papers submitted on summary
judgment, the plaintiff's employer stated that he “felt that the
company was put in jeopardy, at a disadvantage due to her type
[of] illness.” Id., 102 F.3d at 523 (italics in original).

The employee filed an ADA claim against her employer
which was dismissed by the district court on summary judgment.
The district court held that the employee’s impairment did not
rise to the level of a disability. /Jd., 102 F.3d at 519. It reached this
decision by taking mitigating measures into consideration and
concluded that, except for this one instance, the employee’s
impairment was controlled. Thus, under this approach (which is
the same as the Tenth Circuit’s), Harris would be barred from

14

challenging her employer’s actions under the ADA, even though
they were clearly based on her medical condition. Moreover, the
plaintiff would not be allowed to assert that her two month sick
leave was a reasonable accommodation of her disability.

The Eleventh Circuit reversed the decision of the district court
after applying the EEOC Interpretive Guidance and concluded
that Graves’ disease (which in its unmedicated state would lead
to coma and death) was a disability within the meaning of ihe
ADA, and the employee’s legal action could go forward. Jd., 102
F.3d at 521.
medications, or when the existing medications cease to be as
effective as in the past, and can readily result in inconsistent
control of the impairment. “[T]Jhe manifested symptoms of an
‘underlying disability may be episodic or temporary in nature
while the impairment itself is both chronic and permanent.’”
Harris v. H&W Contracting, Company, 102 F.3d at 520. For this
reason, an employee who has an underlying impairment which in
its unmitigated state “substantially limit{s] one or more of the
major life activities” of that individual; 42 U.S.C. §12102(2)(A);
should be covered as a disabled person under the ADA.°

° An employee is entitled to a reasonable accommodation
only if deemed to be disabled under the first prong of the ADA
definition. See Gilday, 124 F.3d at 764 n. 4. (Moore, J.
prong (“regarded as” disabled) for employees who control their
underlying impairments through mitigating measures would be
inadequate. An employee who is deemed “regarded as” disabled
is not entitled to an accommodation. Jd.

15

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the amici states respectfully
request that the Court reverse the Tenth Circuit decision in this
case.

THOMAS F. REILLY
Attorney General
of Massachusetts

CATHERINE C. ZIEHL*
Assistant Attorneys General
One Ashburton Place

Boston, Massachusetts 02108
(617) 727-2200

DARRELL V. MCGRAW
Attorney General
of West Virginia

MARY C. BUCHMELTER
Deputy Attorney General
P.O. Box 1789

Charleston, WV 25326-1789

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0185%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
