# Amicus Curiae Brief — Murphy v. United Parcel Service, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0185%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 527 U.S. 516

## Text

— oo

upeme Court, U.S.

FILED
es 22 1999

No. 97-1992

a
In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1998

VAUGHN L. MURPHY, PETITIONER

UNITED PARCEL SERVICE, INC.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AND THE EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY
COMMISSION AS AMICUS CURIAE
SUPPORTING PETITIONER

C. GREGORY STEWART
General Counsel

PHILIP B. SKLOVER
Associate Genera! Counsel

CAROLYN L. WHEELER
Assistant General Counsel

PAULA R. BRUNER
Attorney
Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission

Washington, D.C. 20507

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
BILL LANN LEE
Acting Assistant Attorney
General
BARBARA D. UNDERWOOD
Deputy Solicitor General

JAMES A. FELDMAN
Assistant to the Solicitor
General
JESSICA DUNSAY SILVER
SETH M. GALANTER
Attorneys
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

— PEELE! — ——— E ä

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the determination if petitioner’s se-
vere, Stage IV hypertension is a “disability” under the
Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. 12102(2)(A),
should be made without consideration of mitigating
measures such as medication.

2. Whether there are genuine issues of disputed,
material fact concerning whether respondent “re-
garded” petitioner as “disabled” when respondent fired
him because of his high blood pressure.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Interest of the United States
Statement
Summary of argument
Argument
I. Mitigating measures should not be considered
in determining whether a person has a “dis-
ability” under the Americans with Disabilities
Act

our

A. Congress intended that the existence of

an actual disability should be assessed

without taking into account mitigating

measures 9
B. The agencies charged with enforcing the

ADA have determined that mitigating

measures should not be taken into account,

and that determination is entitled to

deference 16

C. The court of appeals erred in ruling that
petitioner is not disabled 20
II. Respondent could be found to have regarded
petitioner as disabled because it viewed him
as substantially limited in the major life
activity of working 21
Conclusion 30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Arnold v. United Parcel Serv., Inc., 136 F.3d
854 (Ist Cir. 1998) 11,13
Auer v. Robbins, 519 U.S. 452 (1997) 18

Bartlett v. New York State Bd. of Law Examiners,
156 F.3d 321 (2d Cir. 1998) 12

(IID)

IV

Cases—Continued:

Bowles v. Seminole Rock & Sand Co., 325 US.
410 (1945)

Bragdon v. Abbott, 524 U.S. 624 (1998)

Brotherhood of Locomotive Engers v. Atchison,

Topeka & Santa Fe R.R., 516 U.S. 152 (1996)

Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense
Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984)
Daugherty v. City of El Paso, 56 F. 3d 695 (5th

Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 1172 (1996) ..............

Doane v. City of Omaha, 115 F.3d 624 (8th Cir.
1997), cert. denied, 522 U.S. 1048 (1998)

17, 18, 19

jesese 29

12

EEOC v. Arabian Am. Oil Co., 499 U.S. 244
(1991)

EEOC v. Commercial Office Prods. Co., 486 U.S.
107 (1988)

Ford Motor Credit Co. v. Milhollin, 444 U.S. 555
(1980)

Harris v. H&M Contracting Co., 102 F.3d 516
(11th Cir. 1996)

Longoria v. Harris, 554 F. Supp. 102 (S. D. Tex.
1982)

Matczak v. Frankford Candy & Chocolate Co.,
136 F gd 933 (3d Cir. 1997)

17

National Muffler Dealers Ass'n v. United States,

440 U.S. 472 (1979)

Regions Hosp. v. Shalala, 118 S. Ct. 909 (1998

Reynolds v. Brock, 815 F.2d 571 (9th Cir.
1987)

— 17

School Bd. v. Arline, 480 U.S. 273 (1987)
Strathie v. Department of Transp., 716 F 2d 227
(3d Cir. 1983)

Sutton v. United Air Lines, Inc., 130 F.3d 898
(10th Cir. 1997), cert. granted, No. 97-1943 (Jan. 8,

1999)

4,5, 20

Cases—Continued: Page
Thomas Jefferson Univ. v. Shalala, 512 U.S.

504 (1994) 18
United States v. Moore, 95 U.S. 760 (1877) 20
United States v. Sheffield Bd. of Comm vs,

435 U.S. 110 (1978) 20
Washington v. HCA Health Servs., 152 F 3d

464 (5th Cir. 1996) 17
Zuber v. Allen, 396 U.S. 168 (1969) 20

Statutes, regulations and rule:
Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C.
12101 et seq. passim

42 U.S.C. 12102(2) 3
42 U.S.C. 12102(2)(A) 8, 21
42 U.S.C. 121020) 21
42 U.S.C. 12111(8) 8, 14, 27
42 U.S.C. 12112(a) 7-8, 15, 26, 29
42 U.S.C. 121 1b. NA) 13, 14
42 U.S.C. 121184 29
42 U.S.C. 12113(b) 15, 28, 29
42 U.S.C. 12116 17
42 U.S.C. 12149 19
42 U.S.C. 12164 19

Rehabilitation Act § 503(b), 29 U.S.C. 793(b) 12

28 C. F. R.:
Pt. 35 App. A § 35.104 19
Pt. 36 App. A § 36.104 19

29 C. F. R. Pt. 1630:
Section 1630. 20h (01) 90
Section 1630.2 20
Section 1630.2(j)(1) 21-22
Section 1630.2(j)(1 (ii) 20-21
Section 1630.2(j2) 22
Section 1630.2(j)(3) 4
Section 1630.2(j)(3)(i) 22, 25
Section 1630.15(e) 15, 29

§ 1630.2(r)
41 C. F. R. Pt. 60-741 (1990):
Section 60-741.2
App. A
49 C. F. R.
Pt. 37:
Section 37.3
Pt. 390:
Section 390.3(a)
Pt. 391:
Section 391.41(b)(6)
Section 391.41(b\(7)
Section 391.43(f)
Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c)
Miscellaneous:
134 Cong. Rec.:
p. H 2894 (daily ed. May 3, 1988)
p. 85108 (daily ed. Apr. 28, 1988)
135 Cong. Rec. (daily ed. Sept. 7, 1989):
p. 84985
p. 84987
p. $10,711
136 Cong. Rec. H2428 (daily ed. May 17, 1990)
EEOC, A Technical Assistance Manual on the
Employment Provisions (Title I of the Americans
with Disabilities Act (1992)
2 EEOC, Compliance Manual (1995)
41 Fed. Reg. 16,149 (1976)
42 Fed. Reg. 22,685 (1977)

16, 19

VII
Miscellaneous Continued: Page
56 Fed. Reg. (1991):
pp. 35,727-35,728 18
p. 45,584 19
p. 45,585 19

Medical Advisory Criteria for Evaluation Under 49
CFR Part 391.41 (last modified Apr. 8, 1998) http://
/medical.htm

mcregis.fhwa.dot.gov. 23-24
H.R. Rep. No. 485, 101st Cong., 2d Sess. (1990):
pt. 2 6, 10, 11, 12
pt. 3 6, 10
S. Rep. No. 116, 101st Cong., Ist Sess. (1989) 6, 9,
10, 11, 12
US. Dep't of Justice:
The Americans with Disabilities Act: Title II
Technical Assistance Manual (1992) 19
The Americans with Disabilities Act: Title III
Technical Assistance Manual (1992) 19

In the Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1998

No. 97-1992

VAUGHN L. MURPHY, PETITIONER
2.
UNITED PARCEL SERVICE, INC.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AND THE EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY
COMMISSION AS AMICUS CURIAE
SUPPORTING PETITIONER

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

This case concerns the definition of “disability” in the
Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA), 42
U.S.C. 12101 et seg. Congress delegated to the Equal
Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) and
Department of Justice authority to promulgate regula-
tions and to enforce the provisions of the ADA. Both
agencies have issued extensive regulations and inter-
pretive guidance concerning the definition of the term
“disability.” The EEOC participated as amicus curiae
in this case in the court of appeals. In response to the
Court’s invitation, the United States and the EEOC
filed a brief as amicus curiae at the petition stage in
this case.

(1)

2
STATEMENT

Petitioner brought this case under Title I of the
Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA), 42
U.S.C. 12101 et seq., after he was dismissed from his job
because he had high blood pressure. The district court
granted summary judgment to respondent on peti-
tioner’s claim under the ADA. The court of appeals
affirmed.

1. Petitioner has had high blood pressure (hyperten-
sion) since he was ten years old. For 22 years, peti-
tioner worked as a mechanic. Pet. App. 13a. Despite
the fact that his blood pressure was very high (approxi-
mately 250/160, see id. at 9a), it was controlled by
medication. His own physician and respondent’s physi-
cian both testified that, with medication, petitioner’s
“hypertension does not significantly restrict his activi-
ties and that in general he can function normally and
can engage in activities that other persons normally
do.” Id. at 13a.

In August 1994, respondent hired petitioner as a
mechanic, a position that required him to drive com-
mercial motor vehicles on “road tests” and “road calls,”
and which therefore required satisfaction of Depart-
ment of Transportation requirements. Pet. App. 13a-
14a. Among those requirements is that the driver of a
commercial motor vehicle in interstate commerce h las
no current clinical diagnosis of high blood pressure
likely to interfere with his/her ability to operate a com-
mercial motor vehicle safely.“ 49 C. F. R. 391.41(b)(7).
The district court construed a subsequent DOT publi-
cation to provide that “in order to be physically quali-
fied to drive a commercial motor vehicle * * *, an
individual must maintain blood pressure less than or
equal to 160/90.” Pet. App. 16a. See note 10, infra.

3

At the time he was hired, petitioner’s blood pressure
was measured as 186/124. Pet. App. 16a. In September
1994, when respondent realized that petitioner’s blood
pressure exceeded 160/90, petitioner was retested; his
blood pressure was approximately 160/104. See Pet. 2.
Petitioner’s treating physician “testified that [peti-
tioner] is unable to use medication to reduce his blood
pressure below 160/100 without suffering severe side
effects.” Pet. App. 16a. On October 5, 1994, respondent
fired petitioner. Jd. at 17a.

2. The district court granted summary judgment to
respondent, ruling that petitioner had failed to show
that there were disputed issues of material fact as to
whether he had a “disability.” Under the ADA:

The term “disability” means, with respect to an
individual —

(A) a physical or mental impairment that sub-
stantially limits one or more of the major life
activities of such individual;

(B) arecord of such an impairment; or

(C) being regarded as having such an impair-
ment.

42 U.S.C. 12102(2).

The district court held that, for purposes of deter-
mining whether petitioner had shown that he had a
disability, his “impairment should be evaluated in its
medicated state.” Pet. App. 29a. The court noted that
“(t]he only limitation specifically set by [petitioner’s]
treating physician” was a restriction on repetitive lift-
ing of items weighing 200 pounds or more. Id. at 31a;
see also id. at 13a (“[Petitioner’s] own physician and
UPS’ medical expert each testified that [petitioner’s]
hypertension does not significantly restrict his activi-
ties and that in general he can function normally and

4

can engage in activities that other persons normally
do.”). Analyzing whether petitioner was substantially
limited in his major life activity of working, the court
stated that such a limitation “is not of such a nature as
to significantly restrict him in his ability to perform
either a class of jobs or a broad range of jobs in various
classes as compared to the average person having com-
parable training, skills and abilities,” and that therefore
petitioner’s “high blood pressure and its concomitant
effects do not constitute a disability under the ADA.”
Id. at 31a."

Addressing the “regarded as” prong of the statutory
definition of “disability,” the district court concluded
that “[respondent] did not regard [petitioner] as dis-
abled, only that he was not certifiable under DOT
regulations.” Pet. App. 32a. The court added that
petitioner was not qualified for the job, id. at 33a-35a,
that in any event respondent’s purported compliance
with DOT regulations was a complete defense to
petitioner’s ADA claim, id. at 35a-37a, and that any
accommodation by respondent to petitioner’s condition
“would have been an undue hardship on [respondent],”
id. at 37a.

3. The court of appeals affirmed in an unpublished
opinion. Pet. App. la-6a. The court noted that peti-
tioner’s own doctor had testified that “when his high
blood pressure is medicated, he ‘functions normally
doing everyday activity that an everyday person
does.“ Id. at 4a. Relying on its holding in Sutton v.
United Air Lines, Inc., 130 F.3d 893, 902 (1997), cert.
granted, No. 97-1943 (Jan. 8, 1999), that the “substantial

| Cf. 29 C. F. R. 1630.2(jX8) (“With respect to the major life
activity of working[,] [t]he term substantially limits means
significantly restricted in the ability to perform either a class of
jobs or a broad range of jobs in various classes.”).

5

limitation” inquiry should assess the individual after
mitigating or corrective measures are taken, the court
held that petitioner’s high blood pressure is therefore
not a disability. bid.

The court of appeals also affirmed the district court’s
ruling that respondent did not regard petitioner as
having an impairment that limits a major life activity.
The court stated that “[respondent] did not base its
termination of [petitioner] on an unsubstantiated fear
that he would suffer a heart attack or stroke,” but
dismissed petitioner “because his blood pressure ex-
ceeded the DOT’s requirements for drivers of com-
mercial vehicles.” Pet. App. 5a. In the court’s view, it
followed that respondent “in its termination decision,
did not regard [petitioner] as having an impairment
that substantially limits a major life activity.” Ibid.
The court expressly declined to reach the questions
whether petitioner was otherwise “qualified” for the
job under the ADA, ibid., and whether the DOT
regulations would provide a defense to petitioner’s
ADA claim. Id. at 5a-6a.

4. On January 8, 1999, this Court granted review
limited to the first and fourth questions presented in
the petition for certiorari.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. The court of appeals’ conclusion that petitioner
had not shown an actual disability was wrong. There
appears to be no dispute that petitioner has hyperten-
sion so severe that, if left unmedicated, it substantially
limits all or most of his major life activities. Therefore,
he has an actual disability. The fact that petitioner
takes medication to relieve his condition may be rele-
vant to a number of inquiries under the ADA, such as
whether a requested accommodation by the employer is
reasonable, whether the medication is sufficiently effec-

6

tive to render him qualified to perform his job, whether
petitioner can satisfy federal safety standards, and
whether he poses a direct threat to the health or safety
of others. But the fact that he takes mitigating mea-
sures is of no relevance in the threshold inquiry as to
whether he is disabled.

Although the ADA does not in terms address
whether mitigating measures are to be taken into
account in assessing the existence of a disability, Con-
gress’s intent on the question is clear. The relevant
committee reports each stated with unusual clarity that
“{wJhether a person has a disability should be assessed
without regard to the availability of mitigating mea-
sures, such as reasonable accommodations or auxiliary
aids.” S. Rep. No. 116, 101st Cong., Ist Sess. 23 (1989);
H.R. Rep. No. 485, 101st Cong., 2d Sess., pt. 2, at 52
(1990); see also id., pt. 3, at 28. Moreover, assessing the
existence of a disability without regard to mitigating
measures is most consistent with the ADA’s basic pur-
pose to eliminate the exclusion of individuals from the
workplace because of outdated stereotypes and myths
about those individuals’ abilities.

Assessing the existence of a disability without regard
to mitigating measures is also most consonant with the
structure of the statute, which, as noted above,
provides for addressing issues arising out of the use of
mitigating measures at stages of the analysis beyond
the threshold determination of whether a disability
exists. And it would inject uncertainty and instability
into the system, because individuals could gain and lose
status as “disabled” depending on the changing effec-
tiveness of their regimen of mitigating measures and
their changing decisions regarding whether those mea-
sures are warranted in light of their unwanted side
effects.

7

The agencies entrusted with issuing regulations to
carry out the ADA have consistently taken the position
that the existence of a disability should be assessed
without regard to mitigating measures. The EEOC has
taken that position in interpretive guidelines that
were subject to notice and comment at the same time
as—and together with—the formal ADA regulations.
Because the EEOC’s guidelines state its interpretation
of its own ADA regulations, they are entitled to con-
trolling weight, and they therefore establish that
mitigating measures should not be taken into account in
assessing the existence of a disability.

II. The court of appeals also erred in holding that
petitioner was not “regarded as” disabled under the
third prong of the statutory definition of “disability.”
Respondent asserted that it dismissed petitioner be-
cause petitioner’s blood pressure was too high to satisfy
a federal requirement for driving a commercial motor
vehicle in interstate commerce. If respondent were
correct, that would establish that petitioner, because
of his impairment (hypertension), was substantially
limited in the major life activity of working, i.e., he was
severely restricted in a broad class of jobs for which his
training and skills otherwise qualified him. At this
threshold stage of the inquiry, it would be of no signifi-
cance whether or not respondent bore any animus
toward petitioner and whether or not respondent were
correct in its view that petitioner could not satisfy the
federal requirement. So long as respondent regarded
petitioner as substantially limited in the major life
activity of working, petitioner satisfied the statutory
definition of being “regarded as” disabled.

To accept the court of appeals’ theory would permit
employers to circumvent the ADA’s “qualification” in-
quiry in any “regarded as” case. The ADA prohibits
discrimination only against a “qualified individual with

8

a disability.” 42 U.S.C. 12112(a) (emphasis added).
Accordingly, if respondent indeed regarded petitioner
as unqualified under DOT medical standards, that may
be relevant to whether petitioner is “qualified” for the
job, though issues would remain regarding whether
respondent’s views of petitioner were correct and
whether driving a truck is an “essential function” of
the job, see 42 U.S.C. 12111(8). But respondent’s
views concerning petitioner’s qualifications do not
establish—or even support—respondent’s contention
that it did not regard petitioner as “disabled.”

ARGUMENT

I. MITIGATING MEASURES SHOULD NOT BE
CONSIDERED IN DETERMINING WHETHER A
PERSON HAS A “DISABILITY” UNDER THE
AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT

The term “disability” within the meaning of the
Americans with Disabilities Act is defined in terms of
three separate, alternative criteria. Under the first
criterion—actual disability—a disability is “a physical
or mental impairment that substantially limits one or
more of the major life activities of [an] individual.” 42
U.S.C. 12102(2)(A). Parsing that definition in Bragdon
v. Abbott, 118 S. Ct. 2196 (1998), this Court explained
that its application requires first the identification of
the relevant impairment(s) and major life activities and
then, “tying the two statutory phrases together, we ask
whether the impairment substantially limited the major
life activity.” Id. at 2202.

Petitioner’s high blood pressure is a “physical * * *
impairment.” As this Court explained in Bragdon,
Congress’s “repetition” in the ADA of that “well-estab-
lished term carries the implication that Congress
intended the term to be construed in accordance with
pre-existing regulatory interpretations.” 118 S. Ct. at

9

2202. Under those interpretations, codified without
relevant change in the EEOC’s regulations implement-
ing the ADA, see 29 C.F.R. 1630.2(h)(1), a “physical
* * * impairment” is Jalny physiological disorder, or
condition * * * affecting” a number of named body
systems, including the cardiovascular system. Ibid.
Petitioner’s hypertension is a “physiological disorder”
and it affects his cardiovascular system. Accordingly,
he has a “physical impairment” within the meaning of
the Act.

In determining whether petitioner is disabled within
the meaning of the “actual disability” prong of the
ADA, the remaining question is whether petitioner’s
impairment “substantially limits” any of petitioner’s
major life activities. The answer to that question turns
on whether petitioner’s impairment is viewed in its
mitigated or unmitigated state.

A. Congress Intended That The Existence Of An Actual

Disability Should Be Assessed Without Taking Into
Account Mitigating Measures

The text of the ADA itself does not define “sub-
stantially limits” and therefore does not answer the
question whether the inquiry into substantial limitation
of a major life activity is to be undertaken with or
without taking into account mitigating measures. The
legislative history of the statute and its structure, how-
ever, indicate that Congress intended that the exis-
tence of an actual disability is to be analyzed without
regard to mitige ung or ameliorative measures.

1. Both the Senate and House Committee Reports
on the ADA state in plain and direct terms that
“[wJhether a person has a disability should be assessed
without regard to the availability of mitigating mea-
sures, such as reasonable accommodations or auxiliary
aids.” S. Rep. No. 116, 101st Cong., Ist Sess. 23 (1989)

10

(Senate Rep.); H.R. Rep. No. 485, 101st Cong., 2d Sess.,
pt. 2, at 52 (1990) (House Labor Rep.): see also id., pt. 3,
at 28 (1990) (House Judiciary Rep.) (“The impairment
should be assessed without considering whether miti-
gating measures, such as auxiliary aids or reasonable
accommodations, would result in a less-than-substantial
limitation.”). That expression of Congress’s under-
standing, repeated in the three reJevant committee
reports on the ADA, is unusually ele Aid unequivocal,
and it makes Congress’s intent unmistakable.

The House Reports on the ADA reinforced the point
by reciting specific examples of individuals who are
disabled notwithstanding their use of mitigating mea-
sures that control their impairment:

[A] person who is hard of hearing is substantially
limited in the major life activity of hearing, even
though the loss may be corrected through the use of
a hearing aid. Likewise, persons with impairments,
such as epilepsy or diabetes, which substantially
limit a major life activity are covered under the first
prong of the definition of disability, even if the
effects of the impairment are controlled by
medication.

House Labor Rep. at 52; accord House Judiciary Rep.

at 28-29."

2 In discussing the third (“regarded as”) prong of the disability
definition, the Senate Report also states that an
important goal of the third prong of the [disability] definition is
to ensure that persons with medical conditions that are under
control, and that therefore do not currently limit major life
activities, are not discriminated against on the basis of their
medical conditions. For example, individuals with controlled
diabetes or epilepsy are often denied jobs for which they are
qualified. Such denials are the result of negative attitudes and
‘inf ;

11

2. This specific evidence of congressional intent on
the question presented in this case is consistent with
the overall structure and purpose of the statute. See
Brotherhood of Locomotive Engers v. Atchison, Topeka
& Santa Fe R. R., 516 U.S. 152, 157 (1996) ([The statu-
tory classification must be understood in accord with
that objective.”). Congress determined that “not work-
ing is perhaps the truest definition of what it means to
be disabled in America.” Senate Rep. at 9; House
Labor Rep. at 32.“ In defining the scope of those
covered by the ADA, Congress clearly intended to
include those who could function in the workplace, but
were excluded by the “discrimination by employers
[that] remains an inexcusable barrier to increased
employment of disabled people.” Senate Rep. at 9;
House Labor Rep. at 33; see also id. at 43-46. To
read the statute to exclude from its protections indivi-
duals who have mitigated their impairments (through
either assistive devices or medicines, or self-adapta-

Senate Rep. at 24. An individual may fall within more than one of
the three prongs of the Act’s definition of disability, and some
impairments may present borderline cases with respect to one
prong but not another. Accordingly, the Senate Committee’s
comment that the “regarded as” prong “ensure[{s]” protection of an
individual with “controlled diabetes or epilepsy” under the Act is
not inconsistent with the clear and unequivocal statements in the
Senate Report and the two House Reports that such individuals
would be covered under the “actual disability” prong as well. See
Arnold v. United Parcel Serv., Inc., 136 F.3d 854, 860 (Ist Cir.
1998). |

See also 136 Cong. Rec. H2428 (daily ed. May 17, 1990) (Rep.
Owens); 135 Cong. Rec. $10,711 (daily ed. Sept. 7, 1989) (Sen.
Harkin); id. at $4985, S4987 (daily ed. May 9, 1989) (Sen. Harkin);
134 Cong. Rec. H2894 (daily ed. May 3, 1988) (Rep. Owens); id. at
$5108 (daily ed. Apr. 28, 1988) (Sen. Weicker).

12
tions*) would negate one of the “critical goal{s] of this
legislation—to allow individuals with disabilities to be
part of the economic mainstream of our society.” Senate
Rep. at 10; House Labor Rep. at 34.°

See Bartlett v. New York State Bd. of Law Examiners, 156
F.3d 321, 329 (2d Cir. 1998); Doane v. City of Omaha, 115 F.3d 624,
627-628 (8th Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 522 U.S. 1048 (1998).

In Bragdon, this Court relied in part on the consistent
judicial precedent under the Rehabilitation Act to construe the
ADA. See 118 S. Ct. at 2208. Although no court squarely ad-
dressed the mitigating measures issue under the Rehabilitation
Act, courts routinely treated persons who had mitigated the
effects of their impairment as protected by the statute. See, ¢.g.,
Reynolds v. Brock, 815 F.2d 571, 574 (9th Cir. 1987) (“Reynolds’s
epilepsy substantially limits her ability to work. Even though
medication controls her seizures, federal and state regulations and
policies restrict the types of jobs available to her.”); Strathie v.
Department of Transp., 716 F.2d 227, 230 (3d Cir. 1983) (“un-
disputed” that applicant whose hearing aid corrected for hearing
impairment “is a handicapped person”); Longoria v. Harris, 554 F.
Supp. 102, 103-104 (S.D. Tex. 1982) (individual with right leg
amputated below the knee who “was in no way restricted in
mobility by his artificial leg” was handicapped individual). The
Rehabilitation Act regulations are of little additional assistance,
because they do not expressly address the question whether miti-
gating measures are to be taken into account. The Department of
Health, Education, and Welfare declined to define the term
“substantially limits” in the Rehabilitation Act because it did “not
believe that a definition of this term is possible at this time.” 42
Fed. Reg. 22,685 (1977). The Department of Labor, the agency
charged with enforcing federal contractors’ duty to take affirma-
tive action to employ individuals with disabilities under Section
503(b) of the Rehabilitation Act, 29 U.S.C. 793(b), defined “sub-
stantially limited” to mean “likely to experience difficulty in secur-
ing, retaining or advancing in employment because of a handicap.”
41 Fed. Reg. 16,149 (1976); see also 41 C.F.R. 60-741.2 (1990)
(codification of above definition at time ADA was enacted); 41

C. F. R. Pt. 60-741 App. A (1990) (interpretive guidance).

13

3. The structure of the ADA provides strong sup-
port for the proposition that mitigating measures
should not be taken into account in determining the
existence of a disability at the initial stage of the
inquiry. Mitigating measures and reasonable accom-
modations are both types of “adjustments” that may
have to be made on account of a disabling condition.
Congress consistently provided in the ADA that the
effectiveness of such adjustments should be considered
after the initial determination of disability, and not as a
part of that threshold inquiry.

An employer must make “reasonable accommoda-
tions to the known physical or mental limitations of an
otherwise qualified individual with a disability.” 42
U.S.C. 12112(b)(5)(A). Accommodations provided by an
employer are similar to mitigating measures taken by
an employee in that they are both types of adjustments
that make it possible for a disabled person to work.
Under the court of appeals’ construction of the ADA, an
impairment that requires mitigating measures is not a
protected disability, while an impairment that requires
employer accommodations is. “It is hard to imagine
that Congress wished to provide protection to workers
who leave it to their employer to accommodate their
impairments but to deny protection to workers who act
independently to overcome their disabilities, thereby
creating a disincentive to self-help.” Arnold v. United
Parcel Serv., Inc., 136 F.3d 854, 863 n.7 (Ist Cir. 1998).

Indeed, the two types of adjustment are often in-
extricably intertwined. Mitigating measures taken by
an employee will often require some accommodation by
the employer. For example, an employee may develop
a serious and chronic medical condition that can be
effectively controlled only by taking oral medication
several times a day. In many employment situations,
giving the employee a brief break so that the employee

14

could take the medication would be a reasonable accom-
modation. Yet, under the court of appeals’ theory here,
the employer could refuse that accommodation, because
the employee—by virtue of his medication—ceases to
be disabled and is therefore not entitled to the protec-
tions of the ADA.

The example can be generalized. Instead of requiring
reasonable changes to the work environment (as when a
reasonable accommodation is requested), an employee
with a disability for which mitigating measures are
taken simply requests the employer reasonably to
accommodate the employee’s condition by not penaliz-
ing the employee for taking the mitigating measure.
Ironically, however, under the court of appeals’ theory,
in cases in which the mitigating measure is most
effective and imposes the least burden on the employer,
the employer would be most free to refuse it. Thus, an
employee who requires a modification of his work
duties because it is necessary to accommodate his un-
controllable high blood pressure may well be entitled to
it (so long as it does not impose an undue hardship on
the employer, see 42 U.S.C. 12112(b)(5)(A), or alter the
essential functions of the job, see 42 U.S.C. 12111(8); 29
C. F. R. Pt. 1630 App. § 1630.2(0)). And an employee
whose high blood pressure can be somewhat controlled
by medication but who still must observe substantial
limitations on his activities would also be entitled to
reasonable accommodations from the employer. But
the employee who takes medication that effectively
controls the employee’s high blood pressure would not
be entitled to any accommodation from the employer—
not even the simple permission from the employer to
take the medication without losing his job or suffering
other discrimination on the basis of impairment.

The effectiveness of the adjustment, whether in the
form of mitigating measures or reasonable accommoda-

15

tions, is properly addressed by other ADA provisions,
not as part of the threshold determination of liability.
For example, the basic anti-discrimination mandate
under the ADA does not come into play unless the
employee is not only disabled but also “qualified” for
the position in question. 42 U.S.C. 12112(a). If there is
a question whether particular mitigating measures
render the employee able to do the job, the ADA pro-
vides for addressing that issue through the inquiry into
whether the employee is “qualified,” not the initial
inquiry into disability. If there is a question whether
the mitigating measures enable the employee to per-
form the job safely or to be in compliance with federal
safety regulations, the ADA permits the employer to
take adverse action if the employee is “a direct threat
to the health or safety of other individuals in the
workplace.” 42 U.S.C. 12113(b). See also 29 C.F.R.
1630.15(e) (“It may be a defense to a charge of
discrimination * that a challenged action is
required or necessitated by another Federal law or
reguiation.”). The provisions in the Act addressing all
of these “adjustment” questions at later stages of the
analysis suggest that they should not be imported into
the threshold disability determination—as the court of
appeals’ interpretation would require.

4. Finally, the court of appeals’ theory would lead
to a strange instability in the definition of disability.
Determining whether an impairment substantially
limits a major life activity is relatively straightforward,
because it does not require difficult distinctions to be
drawn among impairments based on the extent to
which they can be ameliorated with medications or
assistive devices and the extent to which the medica-
tions or devices impose new limitations or uncertainty
themselves. Indeed, many forms of medication and
other mitigating measures vary in their effectiveness

16

over time and may be accompanied by unwanted side
effects. Under the court of appeals’ theory that miti-
gating measures must be taken into account, an
individual with an impairment that would be disabling
if unmedicated would gradually become disabled if the
medication loses its effectiveness, until new effective
medication is obtained and the cycle would begin again.
Or an individual’s status would alternate between dis-
abled and non-disabled as the individual altered his
assessment of the desirability of taking an available
medication. Although the EEOC has stated that
“temporary, non-chronic impairments of short duration,
with little or no long term or permanent impact,
are usually not disabilities,” 29 C.F.R. Pt. 1630 App.
§ 1630.2(j), that regulation provides little guidance in
addressing the moving target of disability under the
court of appeals’ theory in these kinds of cases. The
result of requiring that mitigating measures should be
taken into account, therefore, would be to inject con-
siderable uncertainty into what should be a relatively
straightforward threshold determination of the exis-
tence of a disability.

B. The Agencies Charged With Enforcing The ADA Have
Determined That Mitigating Measures Should Not Be
Taken Into Account, And That Determination Is
Entitled To Deference

This Court in Bragdon reserved the question
whether the substantiality of a limitation on a major life
activity was to be assessed without regard to available
mitigating measures. 118 S. Ct. at 2206. As the Court
noted (ibid.), however, the EEOC and the Department
of Justice have taken the consistent position that miti-
gating measures are not to be considered in making the
“substantial limitation” determination. That view con-
stitutes the reasonable position of the agencies charged

17

with the enforcement of the statute and should be
followed in the instant case.

In resolving a question regarding the interpretation
of a statute, this Court “ask[s] first whether ‘the intent
of Congress is clear’ as to ‘the precise question at
issue. Regions Hosp. v. Shalala, 118 S. Ct. 909, 915
(1998) (quoting Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Re-
sources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 842 (1984)).
The ADA itself does not directly specify whether the
existence or substantiality of the limitation should be
measured with or without mitigating or ameliorative
measures that the individual could take to improve his
or her functioning.’ Since the ADA “is silent or am-
biguous with respect to the specific issue, the question
for the court is whether the agency’s answer is based
on a permissible construction of the statute.” Id. at 915
(quoting Chevron, 467 U.S. at 843).

Congress required the EEOC to “issue regulations
* * to carry out [Title I of the ADA].“ 42 U.S.C.
12116. “As the agency directed by Congress to issue
implementing regulations, to render technical assis-
tance explaining the responsibilities of covered in-
dividuals and institutions, and to enforce Title [I] in
court, the [EEOC]’s views are entitled to deference.”
Bragdon, 118 S. Ct. at 2209 (statutory citations omitted;
citing Chevron, 467 U.S. at 844). “Such legislative
regulations are given controlling weight unless they are

See Washington v. HCA Health Servs., 152 F.3d 464, 467
(5th Cir. 1998) (“the text of the ADA is not unambiguously clear on
this matter”); Matezał v. Frankford Candy & Chocolate Co., 136
F.3d 933, 937 (3d Cir. 1997) (the ADA itself does not say
whether mitigating measures should be considered”); Harris v. H
& W Contracting Co., 102 F.3d 516, 521 (11th Cir. 1996) (“nothing
in the language of the statute itself * * * rules out” determining
“the existence of a substantial limitation without regard to
mitigating measures”).

18

arbitrary, capricious, or manifestly contrary to the
statute.” Chevron, 467 U.S. at 844." In determining the
meaning of such regulations, similarly, “the ultimate
criterion is the administrative interpretation, which
becomes of controlling weight unless it is plainly
erroneous or inconsistent with the regulation.” Bowles
v. Seminole Rock & Sand Co., 325 U.S. 410, 414 (1945);
see Auer v. Robbins, 519 U.S. 452, 461 (1997); Thomas
Jefferson Univ. v. Shalala, 512 U.S. 504, 512 (1994).
Although the EEOC’s regulation regarding the
meaning of the term “substantially limits” does not
itself expressly address the issue of whether mitigating
measures should be taken into account, the EEOC has
consistently interpreted its regulation to mean that
mitigating measures are not to be considered in making
the “substantial limitation” determination. First, to
“respond to comments [to its proposed regulations]
from disability rights groups, which were concerned
that the discussion could be misconstrued to exclude
from ADA coverage individuals with disabilities who
function well because of assistive devices or other
mitigating measures,” the EEOC explained that “the
determination of whether an impairment substantially
limits one or more major life activities is to be made
without regard to the availability of medicines, assistive
devices, or other mitigating measures.” 56 Fed. Reg.
35,727-35,728 (1991). Second, at the same time as it pro-
mulgated the regulations, the EEOC issued an “Inter-

7 Because Congress expressly delegated the authority to issue
binding regulations to the EEOC, these “legislative” regulations
are entitled to deference, as opposed to the mere “power to per-
suade” value sometimes accorded the EEOC’s interpretations of
Title VII published in the Code of Fes eral Regulations. Compare
EEOC v. Arabian Am. Oil Co., 499 U. 244, 257 (1991), with id. at
260 (Scalia, J., concurring), and EEG v. Commercial Office
Prods. Co., 486 U.S. 107, 115 (1988).

19

pretive Guidance” that had been subject to the same
notice and comment as the regulations. Cf. Bragdon,
118 S. Ct. at 2209 (according Chevron deference to,
inter alia, administrative guidance interpreting the
ADA). The Guidance expressly provides that “(t]he
determination of whether an individual is substantially
limited in a major life activity must be made on a case
by case basis, without regard to mitigating measures
such as medicines, or assistive or prosthetic devices.”
29 C.F.R. Pt. 1630 App. § 1630.2(j); accord 2 EEOC,
Compliance Manual § 902.5 (1995); EEOC, A Techni-
cal Assistance Manual on the Employment Provisions
(Title I) of the Americans with Disabilities Act, I1-2
(1992).

The Department of Justice, which is charged with
promulgating regulations under Titles II and III of the
ADA, has reached the same conclusion. See 28 C.F.R.
Pt. 35 App. A § 35.104 (“[tJhe question of whether a
person has a disability should be assessed without
regard to the availability of mitigating measures, such
as reasonable modification or auxiliary aids and serv-
ices.”); 28 C.F.R. Pt. 36 App. A § 36.104, at 583 (same);
U.S. Dep’t of Justice, The Americans with Disabilities
Act: Title II Technical Assistance Manual, II-2. 4000
(1992) (same); U.S. Dep’t of Justice, The Americans
with Disabilities Act: Title III Technical Assistance
Manual, III- 2.4000 (1992) (same).

Deference to administrative agency views is espe-
cially appropriate here, as the EEOC and Department
of Justice “played a pivotal role in ‘setting [the
statutory] machinery in motion.’” Ford Motor Credit

8 The Department of Transportation, which also has authority
to issue regulations under the ADA, 42 U.S.C. 12149, 12164,
adopted the Department of Justice’s definition of “disability.” See
49 C.F.R. 37.3; 56 Fed. Reg. 45,584, 45,585 (1991).

20

Co. v. Milhollin, 444 U.S. 555, 566 (1980). When
agencies promulgate their regulations virtually con-
temporaneously with a statute’s enactment, utilizing
the insights they derived from their participation in the
legislative process, the rationale for granting deference
is heightened. See National Muffler Dealers Ass’n v.
United States, 440 U.S. 472, 477 (1979); United States v.
Sheffield Bd. of Comm’rs, 435 U.S. 110, 131 (1978);
Zuber v. Allen, 396 U.S. 168, 192 (1969); United States
v. Moore, 95 U.S. 760, 763 (1877).

C. The Court Of Appeals Erred In Ruling That Peti-
tioner Is Not Disabled

In this case, neither the district court nor the court of
appeals assessed petitioner’s impairment in its unmiti-
gated state. Petitioner has asserted that the record
shows that in an unmitigated state his severe hyperten-
sion would damage his kidneys, heart, and eyes, and
would lead to almost immediate hospitalization, Pet. 7;
Pet. C.A. Br. 18-19, which would substantially limit him
in the major life activities of “caring for oneself, per-
forming manual tasks, walking, seeing, * and
working.” 29 C.F.R. 1630.2(i) (defining “major life
activities”); Bragdon, 118 S. Ct. at 2205 (approving
identical regulatory definition of “major life activities”).
If petitioner can prove those facts, he is disabled under
the ADA.

We note, as we explain in our amicus brief (at 11-12)
in Sutton v. United Air Lines, No. 97-1943, that it is not
enough to simply place into evidence that an individual
has a diagnosable disorder or would be worse off
without the mitigating measure. A plaintiff may not
prevail under the “actual disability” prong of the defini-
tion unless the evidence shows that the unmitigated
impairment restricts the “condition, manner or duration
under which an individual can perform a particular

21

major life activity” compared to “the average person.”
29 C. F. R. 1630.2(j)(1)\(ii). If, as petitioner contends, he
would have to be hospitalized, then he would of course
meet that requirement, as he would be substantially
limited in many life activities; unlike the “average
person,” an individual hospitalized for high blood
pressure could not, for example, care for him or herself
or work regularly. Thus, respondent was not entitled
to summary judgment on the ground that petitioner did
not have a “disability” under Section 12102(2)(A).

Il. RESPONDENT COULD BE FOUND TO HAVE
REGARDED PETITIONER AS DISABLED BE-
CAUSE IT VIEWED HIM AS SUBSTANTIALLY
LIMITED IN THE MAJOR LIFE ACTIVITY OF
WORKING

An individual is “disabled” under the ADA not only if
the individual has an impairment “that substantially
limits one or more of the major life activities of such
individual,” 42 U.S.C. 12102(2)(A), but also if the
individual is “regarded as having such an impairment,”
42 U.S.C. 12102(2)(C). The record in this case demon-
strated that respondent regarded petitioner as having
an impairment (his high blood pressure, whether
viewed in the mitigated or unmitigated state) that sub-
stantially limited petitioner in the major life activity of
working. The Tenth Circuit erred in ruling to the
contrary.

As noted above, the EEOC regulations generally
provide that an individual is substantially limited in a
major life activity if the individual is “[uJnable to per-
form a major life activity that the average person in the
general population can perform” or is “(significantly
restricted as to the condition, manner or duration under
which” the individual can perform the activity as
compared to the “average person in the general popula-

22

tion.” 29 C.F.R. 1630.2(j)(1).’ The regulations provide
special guidance, however, for determining the sub-
stantiality of a limitation on the major life activity of
working. In that context, the regulations provide that
At he term substantially limits means significantly re-
stricted in the ability to perform either a class of jobs or
a broad range of jobs in various classes as compared to
the average person having comparable training, skills
and abilities.” 29 C. F. R. 1630.2(j)(3)@). The regulations
add that “(t]he inability to perform a single, particular
job does not constitute a substantial limitation in the
major life activity of working.” bid.

1. There is no dispute in this case that respondent
was aware of petitioner’s high blood pressure and of its
levels in both the mitigated and unmitigated state, and
there appears similarly to be no dispute that high blood
pressure is a “disorder” of petitioner’s cardiovascular
system. Accordingly, respondent regarded petitioner
as having a physical impairment within the meaning of
the ADA. In determining whether petitioner is dis-
abled under the “regarded as” prong of the definition,
therefore, the sole remaining question is whether
respondent viewed petitioner’s high blood pressure as
substantially limiting one of his major life activities. In
this case, petitioner alleges that the relevant major life
activity is working. If respondent regarded petitioner’s
high blood pressure as substantially limiting that
activity (or if there was at least a genuine issue of
material fact in this regard, see Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c)),

The regulations also provide that At he following factors
should be considered in determining whether an individual is
substantially limited in a major life activity: (i) The nature and
severity of the impairment; (ii) The duration or expected duration
of the impairment; and (iii) The permanent or long term impact, or
the expected permanent or long term impact of or resulting from
the impairment.” 29 C. F. R. 1630.2(j)(2).

then the grant of summary judgment to respondent was
erroneous.

2. Viewed in the light most favorable to petitioner,
the record demonstrates that respondent viewed peti-
tioner as substantially limited in the major life activity
of working. That evidence consisted of respondent’s
consistent explanation that it dismissed petitioner
because it believed “that he was not certifiable under
DOT regulations.” Pet. App. 32a; see also id. at 5a
(“[Respondent] terminated [petitioner] because his
blood pressure exceeded the DOT’s requirements for
drivers of commercial vehicles.“).“ Respondent clearly

In our brief at the petition stage of this case (at 17 n.5), we
noted that the courts below erred in construing the DOT standards
to preclude someone with blood pressure higher than 160/90 from
operating a commercial motor vehicle in interstate commerce. The
reason for that error has become clear.

The basic regulation at issue prohibits the operation of com-
mercial motor vehicles by individuals who have a “current clinical
diagnosis of high blood pressure likely to interfere with his/her
ability to operate a commercial motor vehicle safely.” 49 C.F.R.
391.41(b)(6) (emphasis added). The regulations further provide
that, when an individual is tested under that standard, if the
blood pressure is consistently above 160/90 mm. Hg., further tests
may be necessary to determine whether the driver is qualified
to operate a commercial motor vehicle.” 49 C.F.R. 391.43(f)
(emphasis added). Thus, although the general rule prohibits
individuals whose high blood pressure would interfere with vehicle
operation from operating commercial vehicles, blood pressure
above 160/90 does not necessarily or categorically trigger that

prohibition.

The district court referred (Pet. App. 15a-16a) to a document
that is now entitled “Medical Advisory Criteria for Evaluation
Under 49 CFR Part 391.41.“ That document addresses various
medical criteria for commercial driver’s licenses, including high
blood pressure. In its current version (available at http://mcregis.
fhwa.dot.gov/medical.htm (last modified Apr. 8, 1998)), that docu-

ment begins:

24

Unlike regulations which are codified and have a statutory
base, the recommendations in this advisory are simply gui-
dance established to help the medical examiner determine a
driver’s medical qualifications pursuant to Section 391.41 of the
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs). The
Office of Motor Carrier Research and Standards routinely
sends copies of these guidelines to medical examiners to assist
them in making an evaluation. The medical examiner may, but
is not required to, accept the recommendations. Section
390.3(d) of the FMCSRs allows employers to have more
stringent medical requirements.
Printed versions of this document are divided into specific sub-
documents that address specific medical criteria, and the sub-
documents do not include the above-quoted language. But we are
informed that DOT has typically sent out printed versions of this
document or its subdocuments with a cover letter that includes the
above-quoted language or its close equivalent.

With respect to blood pressure, the medical regulatory criteria
recommends that no driver with blood pressure over 181/105
should be qualified to operate a commercial motor vehicle and that
drivers with blood pressure between 160/90 and 181/105 may drive
for three months and then may be retested to determine whether
their blood pressure has been reduced to 160/90 or below. But, as
the above quoted language makes clear, the fact that petitioner’s
blood pressure is above 160/90 does not absolutely preclude him
from driving a commercial motor vehicle in interstate commerce.

The record in this case appears to contain only a 1988 printed
version of the subdocument regarding medical criteria for high
blood pressure. See C.A. App. 85-87. The medical substance of
that document has not changed in relevant respects since 1988.
Because the general statements regarding the advisory nature of
the document, however, were typically included only in a cover
letter—and not in the subdocuments themselves—the version of
the blood pressure criteria subdocument in the record does not
include the information regarding the nonbinding, advisory status
of its recommendations. The courts below accordingly were ap-
parently unaware that the document did not state a
DOT policy regarding qualifications of individuals with blood
pressure above 160/90. We believe it to be important, however, to
clarify that DOT currently and at the time of the events in this

25

understood—indeed, relied upon—the fact that DOT
certification is required for “all employers, employees,
and commercial motor vehicles, which transport
property or passengers in interstate commerce.” 49
C.F.R. 390.3(a). Under any reasonable view of what is
a substantial limitation of the major life activity of
working, that describes either a “class of jobs or a
broad range of jobs in various classes.” 29 C. F. R.
1630.2(j(3)i)." Petitioner's inability to perform all
such jobs would accordingly be a “substantial limita-
tion” on his major life activity of working. Therefore,
by regarding petitioner as unable to satisfy the DOT
certification requirements, respondent regarded peti-
tioner as substantially limited in his major life activity
of working.

3. The court of appeals rejected petitioner’s argu-
ment that respondent regarded him as substantially
limited in the major life activity of working, on the
ground that “[respondent] did not base its termination
of [petitioner] on an unsubstantiated fear that he would
suffer a heart attack or stroke,” but rather on respon-
dent’s belief that “his blood pressure exceeded the
DOT’s requirements for drivers of commercial ve-
hicles.” Pet. App. 5a. The court’s reasoning is mis-
taken; if respondent regarded petitioner’s impairmert
(his high blood pressure) as exceeding DOT’s require-
ments, it thereby regarded him as sabstantially limited
in the major life activity of working.

case has viewed the medical advisory criteria documents as
nonbinding recommendations for medical examiners. By contrast,
the regulations state DOT’s official policy regarding the medical
qualifications for driving a commercial motor vehicle in interstate
commerce.

1 DOT has informed us that by 1994, when the events at issue
in this case occurred, at least 7.1 million commercial drivers

26

The court of appeals’ reasoning appears to be based
on an unstated premise that an individual’s status as
disabled under the “regarded as” prong depends on
proof that the employer acted with animus toward that
individual or his impairment or with a misperception of
the nature or consequences of that impairment. The
definition of “disability” in the ADA, however, does not
turn on whether an individual has been subject to
invidious discrimination; it simply turns on whether the
individual is, or is regarded as, substantially limited in a
major life activity. Thus, it may be accepted tat
respondent did not have an “unsubstantiated fear”
concerning the health consequences of petitioner’s high
blood pressure, and it may be accepted (although it
appears that the record is not sufficient to support
summary judgment on this point) that respondent be-
lieved that petitioner was perfectly able to drive its
vehicles and perform all the duties of his job as a
mechanic for respondent, but was limited in so doing by
DOT regulations. Nonetheless, even if respondent
harbored no animus toward petitioner, it still regarded
him as disabled under the “regarded as” definition, be-
cause it regarded his impairment as substantially
limiting his ability to obtain or keep a “class of jobs.”

4. To accept the court of appeals’ contrary theory
would permit employers to circumvent the ADA’s
“qualification” inquiry in any “regarded as” case. As
noted above, the basic prohibition of Title I of the ADA
does not forbid an employer to act adversely against an
individual with a disability; rather, the employer may
not discriminate against “a qualified individual with a
disability.” 42 U.S.C. 12112(a) (emphasis added). The
inquiry into whether the employee is “qualified” is
separate from the inquiry into whether the individual
has a “disability.” Indeed, it is essential to the ADA’s
purpose of eliminating discrimination based on “pre-

27

judice, stereotypes, or unfounded fear,” School Bd. v.
Arline, 480 U.S. 273, 287 (1987), that the inquiry into
whether the individual is qualified turns on the
individual’s actual qualifications—not the way in which
the employer regards him. Moreover, the question
whether an individual is “qualified” under the ADA
turns on whether the individual “can perform the
essential functions of the employment position,” 42
U.S.C. 12111(8) (emphasis added), not whether the in-
dividual satisfies every criterion that the employer has
in fact used as a job qualification in the past. That
“essential function” inquiry is also crucial to achieve-
ment of the ADA’s goals.

Under the court of appeals’ theory, both of these
crucial elements of the “qualification” inquiry—the -
need to show actual qualification and the inquiry into
“essential functions” of the job—would simply be
eliminated in cases involving a “regarded as” dis-
ability. That is because the court of appeals’ reasoning
essentially reduces to the proposition that, because
respondent regarded petitioner as unable to satisfy a
job qualification (DOT certification), respondent there-
fore did not regard petitioner as substantially limited in

” The need for the inquiry into actual (as opposed to per-
ceived) qualification can be illustrated by this very case. As noted
above, see note 10, supra, respondent (and both courts below)
erred in concluding that DOT regulations precluded petitioner
from operating a commercial motor vehicle in interstate commerce.
Because this job qualification was mistakenly addressed under the
“regarded as” prong of the disability definition, however, it re-
quired proof only as to what respondent regarded DOT regulations
to require, not what those regulations actually require. Under the
“regarded as disabled” inquiry, respondent’s mistake would have
little to do with its liability under the ADA. Had the issue been
addressed properly under the “qualification” inquiry, however,
petitioner's actual qualification to drive a commercial motor vehicle
could be a dispositive issue in this case.

28

the major life activity of working. In most (or perhaps
every) “regarded as” case, however, the employer could
make a similar assertion: it could claim that it did not
regard the employee as substantially limited in a major
life activity, but rather as unable to satisfy what it (the
employer) believed to be a job qualification. Under the
court of appeals’ reasoning, that assertion, if true,
would result in a determination that the employee was
not “regarded as” disabled, and it would insulate the
employer from all obligations under the ADA.

Nor would the problem be limited to the “qualifica-
tion” inquiry under the ADA. Presumably, the court of
appeals would adopt the same reasoning if, for example,
an employer in a “regarded as” case asserted that the
employer had dismissed an employee not because the
employer regarded the employee as disabled, but
because the employer regarded the employee as having
an impairment that posed a “direct threat to the health
or safety of other individuals in the workplace.” 42
U.S.C. 12113(b). The ADA contemplates that an
employer would have a defense to liability if the
employee actually posed such a “direct threat” and no
“reasonable accommodation * * * would either
eliminate the risk or reduce it to an acceptable level.”
See 29 C. F. R. Pt. 1630 App. S 1630.2(r). But that de-
fense arises after a determination that the employer
regarded the employee as disabled; it is a justification
for the employer’s view, not a denial of it.

Under the court of appeals’ reasoning, the employer
in a “regarded as” case could pretermit the statutory
inquiry into whether the employee actually posed a
direct threat and whether a reasonable accommodation
could eliminate or acceptably reduce that threat.
Instead, the employer could simply claim that the
employee was dismissed not because the employee was
regarded as substantially limited in the major life

29

activity of working, but because the employer regarded
the employee as posing a direct threat to other in-
dividuals in the workplace. So long as the employer
actually did regard the employee as posing a direct
threat to other individuals in the workplace, the em-
ployee would not be “regarded as” disabled, and the
employer’s ADA obligations would cease. The fact that
the employee did not actually pose a direct threat or
that a reasonable accommodation would have eliminat-
ed that threat would be irrelevant. Once again, import-
ing these other statutory standards and defenses into
what should be a relatively straightforward threshold
inquiry into “disability” would threaten to unravel the
statutory scheme that Congress enacted.

5. In short, although an ostensible failure to satisfy
DOT standards may well assist respondent in showing
that petitioner was not qualified for the job, see 42
U.S.C. 12112(a), that he would “pose a direct threat to
the health or safety of other individuals in the work-
place,” 42 U.S.C. 12113(b), or that he failed a “qualifi-
cation standard[]” that “has been shown to be job-
related and consistent with business necessity,” 42
U.S.C. 12113(a), it does not establish that petitioner
was not regarded as having a physical impairment that
substantially limited his major life activity of working.
See 29 C.F.R. 1630.15(e) (recognizing defense “that a
challenged action is required or necessitated by another
Federal law or regulation”); Daugherty v. City of El
Paso, 56 F.3d 695, 697 (5th Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 516
U.S. 1172 (1996).

30

CONCLUSION
The judgment of the court of appeals should be
reversed.
Respectfully submitted.
SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General
BILL LANN LEE
f Acting Assistant Attorney
C. GREGORY STEWART n
General Counsel BARBARA D. UNDERWOOD
PHILIP B. SKLOVER Deputy Solicitor General
Associate General Counsel JAMES A. FELDMAN
CAROLYN L. WHEELER Assistant to the Solicitor
Assistant General Counsel General
PAULA R. BRUNER JESSICA DUNSAY SILVER
Attorney SETH M. GALANTER
Equal Employment Attorneys

Opportunity Commission

FEBRUARY 1999

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0185%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
