# Opposition Brief — Lawson v. Murray

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0177%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 525 U.S. 955

## Text

Susseme Court, US

hme * +)
JUN 4 1998
No. 97-1790
TTP RK |
In The

Suprene Court of the United States

6

October Term, 1997

MICHAEL LAWSON and EDIE TUCKER,

Petitioners,
Vs.

ELRICK MURRAY and BELINDA MURRAY,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

PAMELA MANDEL
Attorney for Respondents
The Common-Suite 206
225 Millburn Avenue
Millburn, New Jersey 07041
(973) 376-3888

” utz
146718 (800) 274-3321 * (800) 359-6859 L tate

A DIVISION OF COUNSEL PRESS ervices, inc

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Statement of the Case
Reasons for Denying the Writ

I. The Injunction At Issue In This Case Is Not A
Prior Restraint.

The Petitioners Engaged In Targeted Picketing
And, Thus, The Injunction Entered Was Proper
To Protect The Respondents’ Residential Privacy.

Ill. The Terms Of The Permanent Injunction Do Not
Burden More Speech Than Is Necessary. ..... 17

Conclusion

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited:

City of Prairie Village v. Hogan, 855 P.2d 949 (Kan.

City of San Jose v. Superior Court of Santa Clara County,
38 Cal. Rptr. 2d 205-212 (Ca. Ct. App. 6th Dist. 1995)

City of Seven Hills v. Aryan Nations, 667 N.E. 2d 942
(Ohio 1996)

ii
Contents
Page
Copper v. City of Fargo, 905 F. Supp. 680 (D.N.D. 1994)
Pi ee ke teh eeekh bike bodes ibens 13
Cox v. New Hampshire, 312 U.S. 569 (1941) ....... 18

Douglas v. Brownell, 88 F.3d 1511 (8th Cir. 1996)... 12, 13

Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. 474 (1988) .......... 6, 8, 11, 12
Hanzo v. deParrie, 152 Or. App. 525 (1998) ........ 11
Kirkeby v. Furness, 92 F.3d 655 (8th Cir. 1996) ..... 12
Lucero v. Trosch, 121 F.3d 591 (11th Cir. 1997) ..... ll

Madsen v. Women’s Health Center, Inc., 114 S. Ct. 2516
SE woutobenwunes ¢ 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17

Operation Rescue v. Planned Parenthood, 937 S.W. 2d.
60 (Tex. App. - Houston [14th Dist.] 1996), Rehearing

SY EE BOSE cence cvccnnevuseccer 15
People v. Holman, 630 N.E. 2d 154 (Ill. App. Ct. 1994)

ee den eek Wh wed weeded WEG bbeONd ORC CA ewes x
Planned Parenthood Ass'n v. Operation Rescue, 50 Cal.

App. 4th 290, 57 Cal. Rptr. 2d 736 (1996) ....... 13

Rosen v. Port of Portland, 641 F.2d 1243 (9th Cir. 1981)

TT

Contents
Page
State of Arizona v. Baldwin, 908 P.2d 483 (Ct. of App.
SED -n win bch achviiev ehh badass cece teen 7,8
Tompkins v. Cyr, 1998 W.L. 21650 (N.D. Tex., January
i ED. . dM ed cua eee teks eran dats onal ce 15, 16
Vittitow v. City of Upper Arlington, 43 F.3d 1100 (6th
DL MD sheodhcevatedeeenvuctiwacbeebecet 9, 10, 11
United States Constitution Cited:
Pe nn ocnevctdehennetevedysdehen dueac 18

l
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The procedural history of this matter through this Court's
denial of certiorari, 515 U.S. 1110 (1995) is set forth in
petitioners’ submission. In June, 1995, Dr. & Mrs. Murray
moved from Westfield, New Jersey, to 11 Thistle Lane, Warren,
New Jersey. They attempted to make this move without alerting
the picketers. No signs were placed on the house in Westfield
and it was listed in the wife’s maiden name. The plaintiffs told
neither their neighbors in Westfield, nor the Westfield Police
where they were moving. Despite their best efforts to keep the
location of their new residence private, Dr. Murray was certain
that his vehicle was followed home from his private office in
Plainfield late on a Monday night at the end of October. Two
weeks after that incident, the picketers did arrive at the Murrays’
new home in Warren.

Prior to being followed from his Plainfield office and
subsequent to the Westfield litigation, posters with Dr. Murray's
picture were placed on telephone poles in towns throughout
New Jersey and postcards were sent anonymously to neighbors
with Dr. Murray’s face, his addresses and words identifying
him as an “abortionist”. The poster resembled a “wanted” poster.
These incidents caused Dr. Murray concern about his safety
and the safety of his family. Petitioner Lawson acknowledged
that he ordered and sent the postcards and ordered and placed

the posters.

On Sunday, November 19, 1995, the respondents and their
family were at an auction when Dr. Murray received a call
through his beeper to contact the Warren Police. It was in that
setting that respondent was informed that the picketers were
going to be picketing at his new home in Warren. Dr. Murray
was confident that the Injunction entered in Westfield was
applicable to his present residence as well. The respondents left

: 2
the auction immediately to return home, but did not arrive until
the picketers were leaving.

According to Officer Kingsland, the Supervisor on duty
on November 19, 1995, he received a telephone call at around
noon from Michael Lawson, who advised that he was coming
to Warren to picket at Dr. Murray's house. Mr. Lawson did not
know Dr. Murray's precise address when questioned by Officer
Kingsland. The Department had been alerted to the fact that Dr.
Murray had moved to town and that he had experienced
problems with picketers in Westfield. Therefore, Officer
Kingsland contacted the Westfield Police Department and
received a fax of the Injunction. Officer Kingsland confirmed
that he also reached out to notify Dr. Murray of the impending
picketing activity. Officer Kingsland communicated with
Assistant Prosecutor Cirichella regarding the Injunction who
advised that, at least for the day, the Injunction would be
enforced. Officer Kingsland met petitioner Lawson as he arrived
on the scene of Thistle and Rockage and informed him of this
enforcement decision. While petitioner Lawson indicated his
disagreement with the position, he agreed to comply with the
100 foot buffer zone. Officer Kingsland overlooked the fact
that there were between 15 and 20 picketers present on that
date.

The picketers next appeared on December 17. The
respondents were surprised by their presence. The family had
just returned from church and they were going to Harlem to
attend a play when they first saw the picketers. The family drove
to Broadway, the street behind Thistle Lane, to observe the
picketing activity. Mrs. Murray was anxious for the children to
leave when they observed the picketers but the family did not
continue into New York, the picketing “... messed up our
plans”.

On January 28, 1996, the picketers reappeared. The Murrays
had been informed of the impending picketing and Mrs. Murray

~S.

\

3

and the children left the home while Dr. Murray remained
behind. Mrs. Murray explained that the stress associated with
the picketing has increased since the initial picketing in 1991.
Starting on Fridays, she is anxious waiting to see if there will
be a call that the picketers are going to come on Sunday. In
addition, given the continued activities of defendant Lawson,
she worries that he is unstable and feels that he is a threat to the
safety of her husband and her children. There is almost some
relief when they do come because then she knows she has almost
two weeks before she begins to worry about their appearing
again. The larger the number of picketers the greater the impact
according to Mrs. Murray but it is defendant Lawson that causes
her the most stress, “But you know if just Michael Lawson was
out in front of our home, it would be the same as if 10 or 15
were there. Because I just feel threatened by him being there.”
Dr. Murray is also concerned about the number of picketers
and their proximity to his home. “I think one defendant is
sufficiently threatening and then you multiply it by 15. I think
we have good reason to be concerned.” He would be fearful for
his children, ages 11 and 15, who continue to live at home, to
be in their front yard when the picketers are there, “We are
afraid for our children ... I think anyone physically at my
home uninvited is a threat.”

Michael Lawson, age 34, resides in Freehold, NJ, at the
home of Edie Tucker. He has resided that for 11 years. For the
last six years, he has been employed at A&P on the night crew
stocking shelves. Petitioner Lawson has been involved in anti-
abortion activities for the last 6 years. While Mr. Lawson claimed
to have picketed at clinics other than the one in Howell and at
doctors’ residences other than that of Dr. Murray, he
acknowledged that in the last year, he has not appeared at any
other clinic and that within the last year, he has not appeared
more than 2 or 3 times at any other doctor’s residence. Lawson
also admitted that he personally arranged to have the postcards

4

printed with Dr. Murray's face, addresses and description as an
abortionist and that he alone addressed the postcards. He further
acknowledged that he never had postcards prepared for any of
the other doctors whose homes he had picketed. He
acknowledged that he arranged to have the posters in neon
bright pink printed with Dr. Murray’s picture and he further
admitted that he alone put up the posters and that he did not
have posters prepared with any other doctor's picture.

Lawson explained that when learning that the Murrays no
longer lived in Westfield, he stopped picketing there and
undertook efforts to discover where Dr. Murray lived. It was
after discovering his new address that he organized the
demonstration for his new residential neighborhood in Warren.

At the hearing, the petitioners indicated that if an injunction
had not been issued, they would be able to bring many more
picketers since the neighborhood can accommodate large
numbers of people. The trial judge found that the only reasons
the respondents were not under siege in Warren was due to an
injunction being in place. Pa at 19a-20a. The trial judge
conducted an extensive comparative analysis of the Murrays’
residence in Westfield, NJ, with their new residence in Warren
Township. Pa at 21a-23a. Based upon that comparison and an
analysis of the New Jersey Supreme Court decision in Murray
v. Lawson, the trial judge crafted restrictions that burden no
more speech than is necessary to protect the Murrays’ residential
privacy interests. Those restrictions varied from the Westfield
restrictions in terms of the buffer zone itself and the number of
picketers permitted. In Westfield, there was a buffer zone
extending 100 feet from the boundary of the Murray property.
In the instant case, picketers were prohibited from picketing
within a buffer zone coterminous with the sidelines of the
Murray residence. In Westfield, the number of picketers was
limited to ten; in the instant case the number was expanded to
fifteen.

ee es :

5
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

Contrary to petitioners’ histrionics and hyperbole, the New
Jersey court decisions do not conflict with decisions of lower
federal courts or of this Court. The decision below faithfully
applies this Court’s decision in Madsen v. Women's Health
Center, Inc., 114 S. Ct. 2516 (1994), to facts set forth in a
comprehensive record developed by the trial court. It carefully
adjusted the free speech rights of petitioners, and the state's and
respondents’ interests in residential privacy, so as to “burden
no more speech than necessary” to protect those interests. The
writ, therefore, should be denied.

THE INJUNCTION AT ISSUE IN THIS CASE IS NOT
A PRIOR RESTRAINT.

Petitioners argue, as they have in previous petitions to this
Court, that the injunction at issue here is unconstitutional as a
“prior restraint”. This Court’s decision in Madsen, however,
categorically rejected this argument.

In reviewing the propriety of an injunction creating a 36-
foot no-picketing “buffer zone” around a Florida abortion clinic,
this Court said the injunction was not a prior restraint for two
reasons, both of which apply here. First, unlike valid time, place
and manner regulations, prior restraints absolutely ban a message
in advance of publication. In contrast, the “petitioners [in
Madsen) are not prevented from expressing their message in
any one of several ways; they are simply prohibited from
expressing it within the 36-foot buffer zone.” Madsen, 114 S.
Ct. at 2524 n.2. Similarly, here petitioners are simply prohibited
from expressing their message within a buffer zone coterminous
with the sidelines of the respondents’ residence. Outside that

6

zone, they are free to display any message they please. Moreover,
under the terms of the present injunction, that message is in full
sight of all who care to view it, even the Murrays, should they
look out their window or step outside their home.

Second, this Court said in Madsen that “the injunction was
issued not because of the content of petitioners’ expression . . .
but because of their prior unlawful conduct.” Jd. The same
analysis applies here. The New Jersey Chancery Court issued
the injunction, not to quash respondents’ message, but to prevent
a method of expression that this Court has acknowledged

“inherently and offensively” intrudes on residential privacy.
Frisby, 487 U.S. at 486.

Petitioners misconstrue this last statement from Madsen to
mean that a finding of prior unlawful conduct is a precondition
to a finding that an injunction aimed at picketing is not a prior
restraint. The New Jersey Supreme Court correctly rejected this
argument. The correct constitutional inquiry, as stated in
Madsen, is whether the restraint can be justified other than by
reference to the content of the message. Nothing in Madsen or
any other case suggests that prevention of unlawful conduct is
the only non-content-based rationale that takes an injunction
out of the category of prior restraints. Indeed, in Madsen, this
Court did not find the trial court's injunction a prior restraint,
despite the fact that no crime or tort had been committed by the
demonstrators in relation to that activity.

7

THE PETITIONERS ENGAGED IN TARGETED
PICKETING AND, THUS, THE INJUNCTION ENTERED
WAS PROPER TO PROTECT THE RESPONDENTS’
RESIDENTIAL PRIVACY.

Petitioners present the novel argument that the picketing
in the instant case was not “targeted picketing” and that the trial
judge erred in designating the picketing as targeted based upon
plaintiff's identity on the signs. To suggest that the injunction
is content-based, as petitioner does in paragraph III of their
petition because the “content” of the sign is relied upon to
designate that the picketing is targeted, is absurd. Moreover,
respondents did not rely exclusively on the signs as evidence
of targeted picketing. The trial judge considered the prior
conduct of the petitioners as well 2s the conduct in Warren before
determining that the petitioners engaged in targeted picketing.
Petitioner Lawson testified that upon learning that the Murrays
no longer lived in Westfield, he stopped picketing there and he
investigated property records to discover where they had moved.
He notified the Warren police that he was coming to picket in
Warren at Dr. Murray's residence. Within the year prior to the
trial, petitioner Lawson's anti-abortion activities have been
consumed with Dr. Murray.

Petitioners would have the Court operate under the fiction
that this case began on November 19, 1995 and ignore the
history between the parties. It is entirely appropriate and, in
fact, necessary that the Court consider the history between the
parties commencing on January 20, 1991. PA at 18a. With that
background, any suggestion that the petitioners did not intend
to engage in targeted picketing with the Murrays being the target
belies logic and must be rejected. This specious position offered
by petitioners has been rejected in State of Arizona v. Baldwin,

8

908 P.2d 483 (Ct. of App. Arizona 1995). In that case, the
court upheld a residential picketing statute in the conviction of
an abortion protester despite the defendant's claim that he was
not engaged in “targeting picketing”. Despite the protester’s
claim that he was not targeting the doctor because he walked
the entire length of the street, the court found targeting on the
basis of the protester’s statement to the doctor that he “was going
to hell for killing babies”. Also of note in that court's decision
is the discussion of the captive nature of the residential listener
when faced with even an unobtrusive lone picketer. /d. at 488.

People v. Holman, 630 N.E. 2d 154 (Ill. App. Ct. 1994)
does not compel a different result. In this Illinois case, defendant
was arrested for violating the statute prohibiting residential
picketing. The issue on appeal was whether evidence of prior
picketing should be admitted at trial. The ruling that this
evidence should be precluded as being extremely prejudicial in
a criminal case does not support petitioners’ argument that they
were not engaged in targeted picketing in the context of this
case.

Petitioners’ feeble attempt to limit targeted picketing to
focused picketing taking place solely in front of a particular
residence is not supported by the caselaw despite their desperate
reliance on Justice Scalia’s dissent at 115 S. Ct. 264-65. Both
the Madsen Court and the Murray Court rejected the narrow
reading of Frizby espoused by petitioners herein which would
permit a prohibition on picketing which occurred only directly
in front of the target’s residence. In Madsen, this Court ruled
that while the record before it did not justify a 300 foot picket-
free zone around the homes of staff members of a Florida health
clinic, “It appear{ed] that a limitation on the time, duration of
picketing, and a number of pickets outside a smaller zone could
have accomplished the desired result.” Madsen, 114 S. Ct. at
2530 (emphasis added). This Court plainly contemplates small

_—" —

ea cc el a ct el alle lll, Sa TL ET I Ali ty, te NO

9

picket-free zones as permissible means of serving the state
interest in residential privacy. The New Jersey courts did not
err in creating such a zone. Madsen did not establish how large
the smaller zones should be, leaving that task to trial judges to
determine, based on the facts of the individual case, keeping in
mind the new standard that the injunction should burden no
more speech than necessary to serve the state's significant
interests.

Despite petitioners’ assertion that New Jersey is the only
court that has not limited its definition of targeted picketing to
maintaining a physical presence directly in front of a specific
residence and nowhere else, the cases cited by petitioner are
either consistent with the within ruling or distinguishable from
it in a factual context.

The dissenting opinion of Judge Boyce F. Martin, Jr. in
Vittitow v. City of Upper Arlington, 43 F.3d 1100 (6th Cir.
1995) provides a persuasive discussion of this issue.

Thus, I believe that the picketers may be prevented
from engaging in targeted picketing, even when their
method of targeting includes slow marching, if their
method of picketing continues to infringe on the
privacy interests mentioned above, when, for
example, the picketers create a situation where the
target of the picket is a captive audience or whose
residence is under siege. Merely because the plaintiffs
chose to march slowly by other residences, as well
as the targeted residence, does not insulate their
activity from regulation. The targeted homeowner
is as much a captive audience when picketers
repeatedly march in front of a home as when they
are standing still. The psychological injury and

10

disturbance to the tranquility of the home are not
reduced because the picketers are marching slowly.

Id. at 1111.

In Vittitow, anti-abortion picketers filed suit claiming a town
ordinance that prohibited picketing “before or about” any
residence was unconstitutional. The trial court issued an
injunction that attempted to narrow the scope of the ordinance
to the area in front of a targeted residence or “the two homes on
either side” of the targeted residence. The Sixth Circuit stated
that the narrowing injunction was unconstitutional because it
created a no-picketing zone beyond the area “solely in front of
a particular residence.” 43 F.3d at 1105 (citing Madsen, 114
S. Ct. at 2530). Appellants claim this holding conflicts with the
decision of the New Jersey Supreme Court creating a no-
picketing buffer zone of 100 feet on either side of the Murrays’
residence.

The Vittitow injunction, however, interprets a statute of
general applicability, unlike the injunction in this case, which
adjusts the rights of private parties based on the facts of an
individual case. As the Sixth Circuit recognized,

This is not a case where the target of the picketing
has come to court seeking an injunction. In such a
case, the trial judge rightfully undertakes to define
the rights of the parties in an appropriately worded
injunction, if au injunction is called for. Here,
however, an ordinance was at issue.

43 F.3d at 1107. An injunction interpreting an ordinance to
place demonstrators two houses away from their target
throughout an entire town will have varying effects on speech
depending on the neighborhood where the picketing is taking

ee ae

a ae ee ee ee oe

a

11

place. Such an injunction may well therefore burden more speech
than necessary to serve the interests of residential privacy. It is
such a “one-size-fits-all” injunction that the Sixth Circuit held
to be beyond the scope of this Court’s decisions in Frisby v.
Schultz, 487 U.S. 474 (1988), and in Madsen. Vittitow, 43 F.3d
at 1107.

In contrast, in this case “the target of the picketing has
come to court seeking an injunction” and the court has “define[d]
the rights of the parties in an appropriately worded injunction.”
43 F.3d at 1107. That injunction, pursuant to the dictates of
Madsen, has been crafted to burden no more speech than
necessary, in light of the facts of the case, to serve the state’s
interest in residential —rivacy.

It is respectfully submitted that if Vittitow does interpret
Madsen to forbid no-picketing zones larger than the frontage
of a residence when private parties seek relief in a particular
case, Vittitow is wrong.' The Supreme Court in Madsen struck
an injunction providing a 300 foot no-picketing zone because
it was “much larger” than the zone provided for in the ordinance
approved in Frisby and it appeared that a smaller zone could
have accomplished the desired result. 114 S. Ct. at 2530.

1. In like manner, to the extent that Hanzo v. deParrie, 152 Or. App.
§25 (1998) and Lucero v. Trosch, 121 F.3d 591 (11th Cir. 1997) stand for
this narrow interpretation, they are also inconsistent with Madsen. The factual
settings in these two cases also distinguish them from the case under review.
In Hanzo, the court was dealing with an anti-abortion appeal of a permanent
civil Stalking Protection Order, SPO, obtained by an abortion provider. The
court found that the “contacts” were insufficient to support the SPO. In
Lucero, the court was faced with a blanket 200-foot buffer zone injunction
that protected the residences of all the clinics’ staff members. The ruling that
this injunction was too broad has little relevance to the within injunction
which protects one individual who has been the target of anti-abortion activity
since 1992.

12

In like manner, the petitioners’ reliance on Kirkeby v.
Furness, 92 F.3d 655 (8th Cir. 1996) is misplaced. The court
in Kirkeby recognized that its decision was fact sensitive and
cautioned against extending the ruling to other factual settings
as it referred approvingly to Douglas v. Brownell, 88 F.3d 1511
(8th Cir. 1996) where it upheld a three house zone in a
residential picketing case. Douglas involves a challenge by anti-
abortion picketers to two ordinances enacted by the City of
Clive, lowa. The decision is particularly noteworthy in the
instant review since the court grapples with the same cases that
must determine the outcome of this case.

The Douglas court rejected the proposition that Frisby and
Madsen allow an absolute ban on picketing only in the area
directly in front of the targeted residence.

We do not read Frisby as establishing a bright-line
rule authorizing a limit on picketing only in the area
directly in front of the targeted residence. The
Court's concern in Frisby was not so much the size
of the prohibited zone, but the impact the ban had
on protected activity. The Court stressed that the
ordinance applied to picketing “focused on” and
“directed at” a particular residence. /d. at 482-83,
108 S. Ct. at 2501-02. The Court found residential
picketing different from other forms of
communicative activities, such as door-to-door
solicitation and the distribution of handbills, because
the targeted resident cannot avoid the picketers. The
Court emphasized: “[t)]here simply is no right to
force speech into the home of an unwilling listener.”
Id. at 485, 108 S. Ct. at 2503. Although the Court
in Madsen repeated the language that Frisby
prohibited only “focused picketing taking place
solely in front of a particular residence,” the Court

ee hE et a le

13

considered an injunction, not an ordinance, and a
300-foot buffer zone, not an area covering the
particular residence and the two adjacent houses .. .

Obviously, there is a direct relationship between the
size of the prohibited zone and the impact on
protected speech. Nevertheless, we do not read
Frisby as requiring us to strike down the ordinance
as not narrowly tailored simply because the ordinance
extends beyond the area solely in fro.at of the targeted
residence.

Id. at 1519-1520.

The Eighth Circuit upheld the ordinance recognizing that
it preserved ample alternative channels of communication for
the picketers.

it would appear that Copper v. City of Fargo, 905 F. Supp.
680 (D.N.D. 1994) is overruled by Douglas to the extent that
it holds that an ordinance will only pass constitutional muster
if it is construed to prohibit only focused picketing taking place
solely in front of a particular residence. Therefore, appellants’
reliance on that case herein is misdirected.

In like manner, the factual setting of Planned Parenthood
Ass'n v. Operation Rescue, 50 Cal. App. 4th 290, 57 Cal. Rptr.
2d 736 (1996) differs so from the instant case that its holding
has little relevance herein. The expectation of privacy when
residing in an apartment building cannot be compared to the
tranquility sought by the Murrays when they moved to Warren,
NJ. It is noteworthy, however, that in referring the matter back
to the trial court to determine what is appropriate, the Court of
Appeals suggested limitations regarding the number of picketers,
the time of picketing and the days of picketing and also

14

Suggested an advance notice requirement citing approvingly
Murray v. Lawson. Id. at 743.

In similar fashion, petitioners’ reliance on City of Seven
Hills v. Aryan Nations, 667 N.E. 2d 942 (Ohio 1996) is
misguided in view of the striking dissimilarities between the
cases. That case involved an injunction against simultaneous
picketing by a Jewish group engaged in residential picketing in
front of the target whose conviction for Nazi war crimes had
been reversed by the Israeli Supreme Court and by members of
the KKK. The single issue addressed by the court was whether
a permanent injunction prohibiting simultaneous picketing by
groups with opposing viewpoints violated the Constitution. The
findings in this content-based permanent injunction case are
simply inapplicable to the case under review.

In City of San Jose v. Superior Court of Santa Clara
County, 38 Cal. Rptr. 2d 205-212 (Ca. Ct. App. 6th Dist. 1995),
the Court in a post-Madsen case approved a legislative judgment
that

... Picketers assembled at or near to the borders of
a home create virtually the same invasion of
residential privacy for its occupants and instill
identical feelings of captivity, fear and intimidation
.. . a8 do picketers directly in front of the residence.

Petitioners’ reliance on City of Prairie Village v. Hogan,
855 P.2d 949 (Kan. 1993) is understandable, but superficial.
Defendant in that case was prosecuted under an ordinance that
bans picketing “before or about a Church”. Defendant carried
anti-abortion signs on a three block route that included the
Village Presbyterian Church. He chose that area to picket because
of the probability of a high concentration of “Christians”. The
Supreme Court of Kansas narrowly interpreted the ordinance

15

to prohibit only focused picketing taking place solely in front
of a particular Church. The court pointed out that the defendant
was not protesting the Church, its teaching or its members and,
therefore, concluded that he was not picketing a Church within
the meaning of the ordinance. It is respectfully submitted that it
does not follow by analogy that the petitioners herein are not
engaged in focused picketing because they choose to walk
beyond the Murray residence. In City of Prairie Village, the
Church was not the target of the picketing while in the instant
case, the Murrays’ residence is the target of the picketing.

A post-Madsen case decided by the Texas Appellate Court
is relevant and instructive as to the issues considered herein. In
that matter, Operation Rescue v. Planned Parenthood, 937 S.W.
2d. 60 (Tex. App. - Houston [14th Dist.] 1996), Rehearing
Overruled January 23, 1997, an action was brought by doctors
who perform abortions and ten women’s clinics. The trial judge
initially entered a temporary restraining order establishing a 1 00-
foot buffer zone of clinics and homes. The Texas Supreme Court
ruled that this was not the “least restrictive” means to protect
significant governmental interests and the matter was referred
back to the trial court. Following a six week jury trial, a
Judgment was entered awarding damages and permanently
enjoining anti-abortion picket groups from demonstrating within
a specific zone for each clinic ranging from 15 to 32 feet and,
more importantly for our purposes, a 13-foot buffer zone was
established from the property line of each physicians’ residence.
This residential buffer zone was discussed and upheld by the
Appellate Court. /d. at 81 and 82. It is respectfully submitted
that in similar fashion, the well-reasoned decision of Judge
Diana, which erected a less restrictive zone of privacy than the
Texas Court, should be upheld.

Petitioners’ reliance on Tompkins v. Cyr, 1998 W.L. 21650
(N.D. Tex., January 7, 1998) is misguided. While the case did

16

involve an injunction against anti-abortion picketers, the decision
is substantially devoted to an analysis of the 8.5 million dollar
jury verdict against 11 abortion protesters on the basis of tort
liability. What is significant for our purposes is the fact that the
court held that focussed residential picketing is outrageous per
se. at 15. In addition, the Tompkins court interpreted Madsen
to approve the creation of a smaller “buffer zone” in a residential
picketing case, at 22, as did the New Jersey Supreme Court in
the original Murray v. Lawson and the lower courts in the
Murray case presently under review. While it is true that the
Tompkins court found that two of the picketers did not engage
in “targeted picketing”, it must be emphasized that the finding
was made in the context of assessing tort liability, not an
injunction. In addition, the finding was based on the absence
of facts to establish targeted picketing as to those two individuals.
In the instant case, the petitioners never attempted to establish
separate defenses to a finding of targeted picketing. Moreover,
the record established both individual and group conduct to
warrant the finding.

Finally, while it is true that no buffer zone was erected by
the Tompkins court, that ruling was based on the peculiar factual
setting of the case wherein the plaintiff and his family had moved
from the house where the picketing took place and they did not
offer any evidence regarding the location or parameters of their
current residence. at 22. In the instant case, the location and
parameters of the Murray residence in Warren were carefully
examined and a buffer zone was tailored so as to burden no
more speech than is necessary to serve the Murrays’ residential
privacy, a significant government interest.’

Despite petitioners’ colorful, barbed attacks on the
restrictions crafted by the trial judge, it is quite apparent that

2. Itis noteworthy that petitioners failed to address the fact that the
Tompkins court limited the number of picketers, the duration of the picketing
and the ume of day of the demonstrations. See Pont III below.

17

Judge Diana carefully reviewed this Court's analysis in Madsen
and the New Jersey Supreme Court ruling in Murray v. Lawson
which interprets that decision, and after careful consideration
of the differences in the properties, crafted a new set of
restrictions. In view of the greater setback in Warren, the Judge
restricted the petitioners from picketing within the property line
of the respondents. While this may place the picketers the same
distance from the Murray home as the Westfield injunction, it
deprives the respondents of the use of their front yard to a greater
extent than the Westfield injunction. This specific tailoring of
the buffer zone is yet further evidence that the injunction burdens
no more speech than necessary to protect the Murrays’ privacy
and it should be upheld.

Finally, petitioners’ provocative, yet unsupported statement
that New Jersey courts discriminate against pro-life picketers
must be addressed. Petitioners contrived this theory after a
permanent injunction was entered and in reliance upon
unpublished interim court proceedings in unrelated factual
settings. Petitioners’ effort to sully the impeccable record below
is spurious and claims of discrimination against pro-life picketers
should be rejected.

II.

THE TERMS OF THE PERMANENT INJUNCTION
DO NOT BURDEN MORE SPEECH THAN IS
NECESSARY.

Petitioners grossly exaggerate the impact of the limited
buffer zone established by the trial judge in this case. In
comparing the respondents’ previous residence and
neighborhood with the present setting, the trial judge reduced
the buffer zone from an area within 100 feet of the property
line of the Murrays’ residence to an area coterminous with the

sidelines of the Murrays’ residence.’ Petitioners’ concern that the
Murray house cuts this lane in two and, thus, prevents picketing
on both sides of the Murray residence can easily be cured by simply
having half of the picketers on one side of the residence and half
on the other side. As an alternative, one half of the time can be
spent with all of the picketers on one side of the residence and one
half of the time can be spent with all of the picketers on the other
side. The minimal time spent driving around the block is not
significant since petitioners admitted in testimony that they do not
remain in the area for the entire designated hour.

Petitioners also argue that the requirement that they notify the
- police twenty-four hours in advance of a demonstration violates
the First Amendment. This argument ignores the Supreme Court's
holdings that even requirements for parade permits are permissible
when the official’s decisions on whether to grant or deny the permit
are based on “narrow and definite” criteria that do not allow
discriminatory administration because the official disagrees with
the content of the speech. Cox v. New Hampshire, 312 U.S. 569
(1941). Such a permit system “giv(es] . . . public authorities notice
in advance so as to afford opportunity for proper policing.” /d. at
576. Here, of course, only notice is required; the police have no
authority to prevent petitioners from picketing.*

Despite petitioners’ reliance on Rosen v. Port of Portland, 641
F.2d 1243 (9th Cir. 1981), that case does not compel a different
result herein. Rosen involved an ordinance that was enforced against

3. Itis noteworthy that in Petitioners’ prior petition to this Court, they
stated, “Respondents’ privacy interests are limited to the borders of their
own property.” Pet. Brf. at 28. It is fascinating how that espoused position
changed once that precise position was adopted in a new setting.

4. Ironically, appellants have voluntarily notified the police prior to
their demonstrations both before the New Jersey Supreme Court's ruling
and in other residential picketing incidents.

19

an individual seeking to distribute literature at an airport as a
member of “Jews for Jesus”. While holding that the ordinance
swept too wide in its regulation of the individual, the court
distinguished this case from one it had earlier decided where an
advance notice requirement was upheld in an injunction where
the need for notice was demonstrated. Fooinote 9 /d. at 1248.

In the instant case, Officer Kingsland explained in a
convincing manner that it was necessary for the police
department to be forewarned of the picketing activity so as to
assure proper staffing. The trial judge found that testimony to
be convincing and held,

According to the testimony of Officer Kingsland,
in order to ensure that there is adequate staffing
available, the Warren Police needs proper notification
of the demonstration. Therefore, the twenty-four
hour requirement is necessary to protect public
safety.

Relying on the New Jersey Supreme Court decision and
the testimony presented, Judge Diana concluded,

With regard to the limitation as to time and hours,
again quoting from Murray, 138 N.J. at 235,

(further, the picketing every two weeks
limitation allows defendants to
demonstrate often enough to communicate
their message without subjecting the
Murrays to a constant barrage of picketing
[, and] the duration limitation gives
defendants plenty of time in which to
convey their message each time they
picket.

20

It is respectfully submitted that the reasonable limitation as
to number, time and hours together with the advance notice
requirement permit petitioners a strong enough showing,
consistent with the residential nature of the neighborhood and
the Murrays’ privacy, that their message does not seem
marginalized. It is noteworthy that the trial judge in this action
expanded the number of picketers that the New Jersey Supreme
Court permitted in Murray v. Lawson from ten to fifteen in
consideration of the differences in the neighborhoods. In short,
the trial judge’s careful consideration of the neighborhood and
his tailoring of the time, place and manner restrictions should
serve to completely thwart petitioners’ attempts to revisit the
restrictions imposed.

CONCLUSION

The New Jersey courts faithfully applied this Court's
precedents to craft an injunction that burdens no more speech
than necessary to serve the state’s significant interest in protecting
residential privacy. The petition for certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

PAMELA MANDEL
Attorney for Respondents
The Common-Suite 206
225 Millburn Avenue
Millburn, New Jersey 07041
(973) 376-3888

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0177%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
