# Amicus Curiae Brief — California Public Employees' Retirement System v. Felzen

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0175%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 524 U.S. 980

## Text

©)

No. 97-1732

* FILED
NOV 10 1998

CALIFORNIA PUBLIC EMPLOYEES’ RETIREMENT SYSTEM
AND FLORIDA STATE BOARD OF ADMINISTRATION,
Petitioners,
V.

PAUL FELZEN, et al,
Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
COUNCIL OF INSTITUTIONAL INVESTORS
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

CARTER G. PHILLIPS

BRADFORD A. BERENSON*

PAUL J. ZIDLICKY

DAVID W. JONES

BRIAN C. KALT
SIDLEY & AUSTIN
1722 Eye Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 736-8000

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
November 10, 1998 *Counsel of Record

\ fy

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a shareholder who, pursuant to Federal Rule of
Civil Procedure 23.1, appears in federal district court and
presents objections to a proposed dismissal or settlement of a
derivative action, must also intervene pursuant to Federal Rule
of Civil Procedure 24 to appeal an adverse decision.

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
TABLE OF AUTHIORIGIGS .. i56 Ws ev eaavaree iv
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ...............55: l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ..................... 2
ARISUMEENT ... o.oo scene es hae pelee cede pe 4
I OBJECTING SHAREHOLDERS PLAY A

Il

VALUABLE ROLE IN ENSURING THE
FAIRNESS AND INTEGRITY OF SETTLEMENTS
IN SHAREHOLDER DERIVATIVE LITIGATION .

A. The Settlement of Shareholder Derivative Actions
Is Fraught With Potential for Conflict of Interest
and Unive .. ... sc a bheetineeeiee

B. Objecting Shareholders Are Essential to Ensuring
Fairness in Derivative Settlements ...........

REQUIRING SHAREHOLDER OBJECTORS TO
INTERVENE TO OBTAIN APPELLATE REVIEW
WOULD HINDER EFFECTIVE MONITORING OF
DERIVATIVE SUIT SETTLEMENTS ..........

A Appellate Review of Shareholders’ Objections Is
Essential to the Effective Monitoring of
Derivative Suit Settlements ................

B. Requiring Intervention to Secure the Right to
Appeal Would Cut Off Appellate Review of
Some Derivative Settlements and Erect Unfair
and Unnecessary Barriers to Effective Policing of

1. An Intervention Requirement Would Unduly
Limit and Increase the Costs of Appeals by
Shareholder Objectors.... ssi‘ (a

2. An Intervention Requirement Would Provide
No Corresponding Benefit _ . )

CONCLUSION .............

21

26

. 29

IV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

Alleghany Corp. v. Kirby,
333 F.2d 327 (2d Cir. 1964), aff'd
en banc by an equally divided court,

340 F.2d 311 (2d Cir 1965) ............

Bell Atlantic Corp. v. Bolger,
2 F.3d 1304 (3d Cir 1993) ..........

Braun v. Fleming-Hall Tobacco Co.,

92 A.2d 302 (Del. Ch. 1952) .......... ,

Burks v. Lasker,
441 US. 471 (1979)

In re Chambers Dev. Sec. Litig.,
912 F. Supp. 822 (W_D. Pa. 1995) .

City of Detroit v. Grinnell Corp.,
495 F.2d 448 (2d Cir. 1974)

Cohen v. Beneficial Indus. Loan Corp..,
337 US 541 (1949) ....

Cohen v. Young,
127 F.2d 721 (6th Cir. 1942)

Daily Income Fund, Inc. v. Fox,
464 US. 523 (1984)

15,20

. 20

. 4,5,6,7

13

1]

Vv

Dietrich Corp. v. King Resources Co.,
596 F.2d 422 (10th Cir 1979) ........... 1. Siae

Ficalora v. Lockheed Cal. Co..,
751 F.2d 995 (9th Cir. 1985) .................. 20

In re General Motors Corp. Engine Interchange e'
594 F 2d 1106 (7th Cir 1979) ............ .. 20

In re General Motors Corp. Pick-Up Truck
Fuel Tank Prods. Liab. Litig.,

55 F.3d 768 (3d Cir 1995) ............... eae
In re General Tire & Rubber Co. Sec. Litig.,

726 F.2d 1075 (6th Cir 1984) ....... eae
Girsh vy. Jepson,

sae F.26 133 G6 Cer. 1975) ... 2.20 i... 11,13,19
Gluck v. Cellstar Corp.,

976 F. Supp. 542 (N.D. Tex. 1997) __. in oe
Greenfield vy. Villager Indus., Inc.,

483 F.2d 824 (3d Cir 1973) ........ Fs Oh 7
Greenspun v. Bogan,

492 F.2d 375 (ist Cir 1974) ...... nA 13
Kamen v. Kemper Finan. Servs.,

S00U.S.90(1991) ......... a 5
Lipscomb v. Wise,

643 F.2d 319(SthCir 1981)... .. 27,28

vi

Malchman v. Davis,

706 F.2d 426 (2d Cir 1983) .............0.4.. 20
In re Oracle Sec. Litig.,

829 F. Supp. 1176 (N.D. Cal. 1993) ............ 12
In re Pacific Enters. Sec. Litig.,

47 F.3d 373 (Sth Cir. 1995) ............... 15,20
In re Pittsburgh & Lake Erie R.R. Co. Sec.

& Antitrust Litig.,

543 F.2d 1058 (3d Cir. 1976) ............ 18,19,27
Ragsdale v. Turnock,

Pe fot lt ee eee ee ee 23
Rosenbaum v. MacAllister,

64 F.3d 1439 (10th Cir 1995) .......... _. . passim
Saylor v. Bastedo,

oe 8 BM TF 8 me ee Oe . 22
Saylor v. Lindsley,

456 F.2d 896 (2d Cir. 1972) ............... 8,9,10
Seigal v. Merrick,

619 F.2d 160 (2d Cir 1980) ...... oF Mee @, €: 16

Strawbridge v. Curtis,
7 US. (3 Cranch) 267 (1806) ee aes Uys ae

Stromberg Metal Works v. Comfort Control, Inc.,
77 F.3d 928 (7th Cir. 1996) a OPES wack Ut 22

Thompson v. Freeman,
648 F.2d 1144 (8thCir 1981) .................

Tryforos v. Icarian Dev. Co.,
vue F260 1298 (7 Cer. 1975)... 2... cee.

Turner/Ozanne v. Hyman/Power,
pe Be te Le ee

United States Catholic Conference v. Abortion
Rights Mobilization, Inc.,
ee th en ee

In re Urcarco Sec. Litig.,
148 F.R.D. 561 (N_D. Tex. 1993) ..............

In re Warner Communications Sec. Litig.,
618 F. Supp. 735 (S.D.N_Y. 1985), aff'd,
798 F.2d 23 (2d Cir. 1986) ............

In re Wells Fargo Sec. Litig.,
991 F. Supp. 1193 (N.D. Cal 1998) ......

Zimmerman v. Bell,
800 F.2d 386 (4th Cir 1986) .. .s«ddd..
STATUTES & RULES

Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995, Pub.
L. No. 104-67, 109 Stat. 737(1995) .......

eT ae Bote ai Ras

woe see

13

_ 1S

25

22

28

vill
, ¥ ©: 3 2S errr ee sy 4,11,21,23,24
BU. iatinccaSeaccdbecebhadennak eee 23
BR ik eo LE PANE CEES: 23
TOO vie ROA 2 RCT 24
LEGISLATIVE HISTORY
Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995,
HR. 104-98 at 32, reprinted in 1995
BPOCC ATG F580 eR A TAT 10
H. Conf. Rep. No. 369, 104th Cong,
Ist Sess. 34 (1995), reprinted in
OTE USER Fee Fe eek ee CM 25
OTHER AUTHORITIES
ABA Committee on Standards of Judicial
Administration, Standards “gE 2 lo yo TENG
Cmte... CR SIRI 17
Administrative Office of the United States Courts,
Judicial Business of The United States Courts
Re n> s ae Geau hve becuase: ipa

William L. Cary & Melvin A. Eisenberg, Corporations
PEPE COD SESE Fi BESS IN SIN 05 8 6 15

John C. Coffee, Jr., Class Wars: The Dilemma of the
Mass Tort Class Action, 95 Colum. L. Rev. 1343
is Mato NG: 2. eS). 408

John C. Coffee, Jr., Understanding the Plaintiff's
Attorney: The Implications of Economic Theory
for Private Enforcement of Law Through Class
and Derivative Actions, 86 Colum. L. Rev. 669
SOP UDI PETE COTO

John C. Coffee, Jr., The Unfaithful Champion: The
Plaintiff as Monitor in Shareholder Litigation,
48 Law & Contemp. Probs.5(1985) _.......

Deborah A. Demott, Shareholder Derivative Actions:
Law @ Prectiee (1994)... ees

Timothy A. Duffy, Comment, Zhe Appealability of

Class Action Settlements by Unnamed Parties, 60
U. Chi. L. Rev. 933 (1993) ...............

W.J. Dunn, /ntervention by Other Stockholders in
Stockholders Derivative Action, 69 A.L.R.2d 562
REG ae FIT 5 aa) a Ty a ee OD

Federal Judicial Center, Empirical Study of Class
Actions in Four Federal District Courts: Final
Report to the Advisory Committee on Civil Rules
PRR a a eee eee ota ot

Ralph C. Ferrara et al., Shareholder Derivative
Litigation: Besieging the Board (1995) _.. .

10,14,15

. 6,15,22

x

Daniel R. Fischel & Michael Bradley, Zhe Role of
Liability Rules and the Derivative Suit in
Corporate Law: A Theoretical and Empirical
Analysis, 71 Cornell L. Rev. 261 (1986) .........

13 William Meade Fletcher, Cyclopedia Corporations
CROCE 25. gaa Ss 6 cd OER VGA

Joseph A. Grundfest & Michael A. Perino, Joint
Written Testimony Before the Subcommittee on
Securities of the Senate Committee on Banking,
Housing, and Urban Affairs (July 24,1997) ......

Robert Leflar, /nternal Operating Procedures of

MOC SD BSS OS 17,18

Jonathan R. Macey & Geoffrey P. Miller, 7he
Plaintiffs’ Attorney's Role in Class Action and
Derivative Litigation: Economic Analysis and
Recommendations for Reform, 58 U. Chi. L. Rev.
FOE. DFS a. BIAS acca

Geoffrey P. Miller, Some Agency Problems in
Settlement, 16 J. Legal Stud. 189 (1987) ........

5 Moore's Federal Practice § 23.1.10{2}[a] (1998) ....

Jon O. Newman, A Study of Appellate Reversals, 58
— FX Ff erererrr fear

Bert S. Prunty, 7he Shareholders’ Derivative Suit:
Notes on Its Derivation, 32 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 980
(1957) See None ida ee tan ates

xi

Deborah L. Rhode, Class Conflicts in Class Actions,
34 Stan. L. Rev. 1183 (1982) ................... 8

Steven Shavell, Zhe Appeals Process as a Means of
Error Correction, 24 J. Legal Stud. 379 (1995) .... 17

Elliot J. Weiss & John S. Beckerman, Let the Money
Do the Monitoring: How Institutional Investors
Can Reduce Agency Costs in Securities Class
Actions, 104 Yale L.J. 2053 (1995) .......... 12,13

Ralph K. Winter, Paying Lawyers, Empowering
Prosecutors, and Protecting Managers: Raising
the Cost of Capital in America, 42 Duke L.J. 945

RIESE Ge Fly pei ay go Ua Ee 9
7C Charles Alan Wright et al., Federal Practice &

i a Sab area iia 6,7,9,13

Es Lule Oat Gwar Gbe te whe kak ae bd we Oks 23
DURE aa te cee Ove els yi aise 27

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1998

CALIFORNIA PUBLIC EMPLOYEES’ RETIREMENT SYSTEM
AND FLORIDA STATE BOARD OF ADMINISTRATION,
Petitioners,
v.
PAUL FELZEN, ef al,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
COUNCIL OF INSTITUTIONAL INVESTORS
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE’

The Council of Institutional Investors (the “Council’”) is an
organization of public, Taft-Hartley and corporate pension
funds that seeks to address investment issues that affect the
security of pension plan assets by encouraging institutional
investors to take an active role in protecting those assets. The
Council was founded in 1985 in response to controversial
takeover activities that threatened the financial interests of

' Pursuant to Rule 37.6 of the Rules of this Court, amicus states that no
counsel for a party authored this bref in whole or in part, and no person or
enuty other than amicus and their counsel made any monetary contnbution to
the preparation or submission of this bnef. Pursuant to Rule 37.3, amicus
states that petitioners and respondents have granted consent to file this bnef.

2

pension fund beneficiaries. Since that time, the Council has
grown to over 100 members who control pension assets in
excess of $1 trillion and represent millions of plan beneficiaries
and participants. The Council is recognized as a significant
voice for investors on issues of corporate governance, executive
compensation, and corporate accountability to shareholders,
see, e.g., In re Wells Fargo Sec. Litig., 991 F. Supp. 1193,
1198 (N_D. Cal. 1998), and consistently has been a proponent
of meaningful shareholder participation in major decisions that
affect corporate viability.

The interests of the Council are directly implicated by this
case. Consistent with its view that participation by shareholders
in corporate decision making generally provides substantial
benefits, the Council believes that such participation is essential
to judicial assessment of the fairness of voluntary settlements in
shareholder derivative actions. The Council believes that the
decision below, if affirmed, would erect a substantial and
unnecessary barrier to full participation by objecting
shareholders in the review of proposed settlements in cases
where such participation is most needed.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Shareholder objectors who appear before district courts to
voice concerns regarding proposed settlements in shareholder
derivative actions under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23.1
(“Rule 23.1”) play an important role in policing the fairness of
such settlements and should not be required to intervene as
named plaintiffs to secure a right to appeal the rejection of their
objections. Rule 23.1, settled precedent, and substantial legal
commentary confirm that shareholder der. vative actions are
subject to unusual conflicts of interest that frequently undermine
confidence that a proposed voluntary compromise is in the best
interests of the corporation. The requirement of mandatory

3

“notice” to shareholders of a proposed settlement and their
subsequent participation in the settlement process provides an
important check against collusive or otherwise improper
settlements. Indeed, when objecting shareholders’ views have
been given studied consideration, they have resulted in
substantial modifications of settlement proposals that provided
tangible benefits to the corporation. All too often, however,
valid shareholder objections may be ignored or improperly
rejected by district courts that are denied a full adversarial
presentation by the named parties and operating under a strong
incentive to approve quick. settlements.

Under these circumstances, appellate review is an essential
component of effective shareholder participation. It provides a
direct avenue for correcting district court errors and a strong
incentive for district courts to consider shareholder objections
fully and fairly in the first instance. In contrast, denying or
discouraging appeals by objecting shareholders would insulate
erroneous decisions from review and would strengthen the
incentive of district courts to disregard shareholder objections.
A requirement of intervention under Federal Rule of Civil
Procedure 24 would produce precisely these untoward effects.
If such a requirement were imposed, some shareholder
objectors would be unable to intervene and would therefore be
shut off from appellate review. The remainder would be
saddled with substantial additional costs and burdens that create
no corresponding benefit to the litigation. Imposition of such
a@ requirement would thus limit participation by shareholder
objectors and thereby undermine the fairness of these
settlements.

4

ARGUMENT

I. OBJECTING SHAREHOLDERS PLAY A
VALUABLE ROLE IN ENSURING THE FAIRNESS
AND INTEGRITY OF SETTLEMENTS IN
SHAREHOLDER DERIVATIVE LITIGATION.

Rule 23.1 governs the conduct of derivative actions by
shareholders in federal courts and provides, in pertinent part:

The derivative action may not be maintained if it
appears that the plaintiff does not fairly and
adequately represent the interests of the shareholders
or members similarly situated in enforcing the right
of the corporation or association. The action shall
not be dismissed without the approval of the court,
and notice of the proposed dismissal or compromise
shall be given to shareholders or members in such
manner as the court directs.

Id. (emphasis added). As the language of Rule 23.1 confirms,
its drafters were aware that shareholder derivative actions are
susceptible to conflicting and divergent interests arising between
the named plaintiff (or plaintiff s counsel) and the corporation
(or similarly situated shareholders) on whose behalf the named
plaintiff purports to act. These concerns are amplified in the
context of voluntary settlements. When derivative claims are
compromised, the suing stockholder may face strong financial
incentives to “sell out” the interests of the corporation in return
for “payments from corporate assets” to plaintiff's counsel, who
often act as the controlling force in derivative litigation. Cohen
v. Beneficial Indus. Loan Corp., 337 U.S. 541, 548 (1949). To
police that potential for abuse, Rule 23.1 requires district court
approval of any such settlement and provides that notice of a
proposed compromise “shall” be provided to shareholders

5

before the district court considers the merits of the settlement
proposal. The notice requirement is designed to ensure that
settlements will not be approved without giving shareholders an
Opportunity to object. Such objections provide an important
corrective to the often considerable momentum behind
proposed derivative settlements and frequently result in
substantial enhancements to the fairness and value of such
settlements.

A. The Settlement of Shareholder Derivative
Actions Is Fraught With Pctential for Conflict
of Interest and Unfairness.

From the time of its earliest recognition in the United
States, both the relative merits and the potential abuses of
shareholder derivative litigation have been the subject of
discussion by courts, legislatures, and legal commentators. As
this Court explained nearly a half century ago, the shareholder
derivative suit arose at a time when “[cJorporate laws were lax
and were not self-enforcing, and stockholders, in face of gravest
abuses, were singularly impotent in obtaining redress of abuses
of trust.” Cohen, 337 U.S. at 547-48. Responding to this void
in legal remedies, “[e]quity came to the relief of the stockholder,
who had no standing to bring civil action at law against faithless
directors and managers,” id at 548, by allowing individual
shareholders “to bring suit to enforce a corporate cause of
action against officers, directors, and third parties,” Kamen v.
Kemper Fin. Servs., 500 U.S. 90, 95 (1991) (internal quotation
marks omitted). By placing litigation authority in the hands of
the individual shareholder, the derivative action became “the
chief regulator of corporate management and has afforded no

6

small incentive to avoid at least grosser forms of betrayal of
stockholders’ interests.” Cohen, 337 U.S. at 548.’

As the Cohen Court also noted, however, “the remedy
itself provided opportunity for abuse, which was not neglected.”
Id. Enabling individual shareholders to “represent” and act on
behalf of the corporation and other shareholders created the risk
that the interests of the named plaintiff shareholders would
diverge from the interests of the corporation and the other (de
facto party) shareholders. In some cases, the individual plaintiff
could “becomfe] faint hearted prior to the litigation’s
completion and would be willing to settle the action even
though it might not be in the best interests of all concerned.”
7C Charles Alan Wright et al, Federal Practice & Procedure
§ 1839, at 177 (1986) (citing Webster Eisenlohr, Inc. v.
Kalodner, 145 F.2d 316, 320 (3d Cir. 1944)).

In the worst cases, the shareholder plaintiff might enter into
“secret settlements in which any wrongs to the general body of
share owners were compounded by the suing stockholder, who

? See also 13 William Meade Fletcher, Cyclopedia Corporations § 5940, at
26 (1995) (“The derivative proceeding developed as an equitable device to
enable shareholders to enforce a corporate nght against faithless officers and
directors __ that the corporation had either failed or refused to assert on its
own”), Ralph C. Ferrara et al, Shareholder Derivative Liugation § 1.03, at 1-
14 (1995) (“Equity came to the relief of the stockholder, [and] . . . allowed him
to step into the corporation’s shoes and seek, on behalf of the corporation, the
restitution he could not demand on his own”), Bert S. Prunty, The
Shareholders’ Derivative Suit: Notes on Its Derivation, 32 N.Y.U. L. Rev
980, 980 (1957) (“The story of the derivative suit in its infancy and
adolescence 1s that of the lawmakers’ response to recogmized misuse of
economic organizations viewed against popularly accepted standards of
business conduct. The shareholders’ nght to command a judicial forum comes
in answer to a demonstration of need.”)

7

was mollified by payments from corporate assets.” Cohen, 337
U.S. at 548. As Judge Friendly explained:

accept a settlement that runs into high six figures or
more regardless of how strong the claims for much
larger amounts may be . . . . [A] juicy bird in the hand
is worth more than the vision of a much larger one in
the bush, attainable only after years of effort not
currently compensated and possibly a mirage.

Alleghany Corp. v. Kirby, 333 F.2d 327, 347 (2d Cir. 1964)
(Friendly, J., dissenting), aff'd en banc by an equally divided
court, 340 F.2d 311 (2d Cir. 1965). Given these dynamics,
special care is warranted in the conduct and oversight of
fellow shareholders. Burks v. Lasker, 441 U.S. 471, 485 n.16
(1979).

The potential for collusion, conflict of interest or agency
problems is especially acute in derivative litigation because of
the unusual degree to which plaintiff s counsel, rather than the
Greenfield v. Villager Indus., Inc., 483 F.2d 824, 832 n.8 (3d
Cir. 1973) (“[C]Jounsel for the class representative and not the

* See also 7C Charles Alan Wright et al, Federal Practice & Procedure
§ 1839, at 177 (1986) (“Special caution is warranted in the context of
derivative suits masmuch as plaintff is affecting a nght that belongs to the
corporation.”), 13 William Meade Fletcher, Cyclopedia Corporations § 6020,
at 303 (1995) (“The requirement of court approval is intended to protect the
interests of other shareholders . . . by prohibiting derivative plainuffs.._. from
settling with defendants for their own personal interests.”’).

named parties .. . direct and manage these actions”).‘ Indeed,
“fo}ne of the risks flowing from shareholders’ difficulty in
monitoring derivative litigation is that plaintiffs’ counsel and the
defendants will structure a settlement such that the plaintiffs’
attorneys’ fees are disproportionate to any relief obtained for
the corporation” and thereby “settle in a manner adverse to the
interests of the plaintiffs by exchanging a low settlement for
high fees.” Bell Atlantic Corp. v. Bolger, 2 F.3d 1304, 1310
(3d Cir. 1993). Moreover, in a derivative action, “both sides
have a right to be reimbursed their legal expenses when there is
a settlement, but not when there is an adverse judgment. These
rules obviously create strong pressure for settlement and explain
why even a plainly frivolous action may sometimes be settled.”
John C. Coffee, Jr., The Unfaithful Champion: The Plaintiff as
Monitor in Shareholder Litigation, 48 Law & Contemp. Probs.
5, 24 (1985).°

Commentators agree that such conflicts of interest create
the “risk that the representative plaintiff will collude with the
defendant to forgo the derivative claims in exchange for a
settlement that is only favorable to the representative plaintiff

* See Damel R. Fischel & Michael Bradley, The Role of Liability Rules and
the Derivative Suit in Corporate Law, 71 Cornell L. Rev. 261, 271 & n.26
(1986) (noting that the “real party in interest is the attorney”), cf Deborah L.
Rhode, Class Conflicts in Class Actions, 34 Stan. L. Rev. 1183, 1203 (1982)
(“{A]s a practical matter, once a class is certified, named plaintiffs generally
are neither highly motivated nor well situated to monitor the congruence
between counsel's conduct and class preferences.”).

* See also Saylor v. Lindsley, 456 F.2d 896, 900 (2d Cir. 1972) (notng fact
that “{a) relatively small settlement may well produce an allowance bearing a
tugher ratio to the cost of the work than a much larger recovery obtained only
after extensive discovery, a long tnal and an appeal,” thereby creating the
danger that a plaintiffs’ attorney will settle a derivative claim for less than its
expected value in return for this proportionately higher fee “allowance”)

9

and his or her attorneys.” 5 Moore's Federal Practice
§ 23.1.10[2}{a], at 23.1-58 (1998); see also 7C Charles Alan
Wright et al., Federal Practice & Procedure § 1839, at 191
(“[{T]he Court should be on the lookout for signs of bad faith or
collusion among the parties to the proposed settlement.”). As
one commentator described the problem:

[E}ffective control is almost entirely in the hands of
the attorney. The most obvious examples of attorney
suits, in which the named plaintiff figures only in a

boli hoon eatin tiltintheenin at
brought by entrepreneurial lawyers in hopes of
obtaining an award of attorney’s fees. The attorney
including the decision whether to settle.

Geoffrey P. Miller, Some Agency Problems in Settlement, 16 J
Legal Stud 189, 213-14 (1987); see also Ralph K. Winter,
Paying Lawyers, Empowering Prosecutors, and Protecting
Managers: Raising the Cost of Capital in America, 42 Duke
L.J. 945, 948 (1993) (“[P]laintiffs [in derivative and class
actions] are generally figureheads __ because the real incentive
for bringing such actions is the quest for attorney’s fees.”).

Assumption of control over the litigation by plaintiffs’
attorneys creates an additional risk in the context of settlement
of a shareholder derivative suit because “[t]here can be no
blinking at the fact that the interests of the plaintiff in a
stockholder’s derivative suit and of his attorney are by no means
congruent.” Saylor v. Lindsley, 456 F.3d 896, 900 (2d Cir
1972). The risks faced by plaintiff and his attorney in
proceeding to trial vary substantially because “[flor the plaintiff,
a defendant’s judgment may mean simply the defeat of an
expectation, often of relatively small amount, for his lawyer it

10

can mean the loss of years of costly effort by himself and his
staff” Jd. at 900-01. Commentators and scholars uniformly
acknowledge this substantial danger of conflicting interests
between shareholder plaintiffs and their counsel in the
settlement context.

The danger that a proposed settlement will not be in the
best interests of the corporation, or even of the named plaintiffs,
is further threatened because, as federal legislators have
recognized, such cases increasingly are dominated by a small
cartel of law firms that recruit “[p]rofessional plaintiffs who
own a nominal number of shares in a wide array of public
companies” and have no real interest in monitoring their
Reform Act of 1995, H.R. 104-98, at 32, reprinted in 1995
US.C.C._AN. 679, 731; see also Jn re Urcarco Sec. Litig., 148
F.RD. 561, 563 (N_D. Tex. 1993) (noting that plaintiffs “have
among their ranks one of the unluckiest and most victimized
investors in the history of the securities business”), Deborah A.
Demott, Shareholder Derivative Actions § \ 05, at 1-13 (“A
striking feature of derivative litigation in the post-Depression
era is the frequency with which the same plaintiffs make their

appearance.”’).

For these reasons, the settlement of shareholder derivative
actions must be closely monitored to ensure that the terms of

* See Deborah A. Demott, Shareholder Derivative Actions § 7.05, at 7-27
(1994) (“The potential divergence in interests between the plaintiff and the
plaintiff’ s attorney is most likely to matenalize in the setiiement context ”),
John C. Coffee, Jr, Understanding The Plaintiff's Auorney: The Implications
of Economic Theory for Private Enforcement of Law Through Class and
Derivative Actions, 86 Colum. L. Rev. 669, 677-78 (1986) (arguing that the
chent in a denvative suit “generally has only a nomunal stake in the outcome
of litigation” and cannot closely monitor and control his attorney's conduct)

the proposed settlements are fair and meaningful, and not the
product of improper collusion or conflicts of interests.

B. Objecting Shareholders Are Essential to
Ensuring Fairness in Derivative Settlements.

Rule 23.1 provides two institutional safeguards designed to
protect shareholders’ interests from the acute potential for
abuse inherent in derivative settlements (1) district court
approval of settlements, and (2) the opportunity for
shareholders to raise objections to the proposed settlement ’
Although the requirement of district court approval stands as a
bulwark against improper settlement of derivative actions, Rule
23.1 recognizes that the district court’s judgment should be
informed by the views of shareholders who have a concrete
stake in the resolution of the derivative action. As this Court
has recognized, the dual requirements of district court approval
and notice to shareholders are “intended to prevent plaintiffs
from selling out their fellow shareholders,” Burks, 441 US. at
485 n.16, and to prevent circumstances “where the action
would disserve the legitimate interests of the company or its
shareholders,” Daily Income Fund, Inc. v. Fox, 464 U.S. 523,
532 n.7 (1984).

Thus, under Rule 23.1, the district court has a duty to
dc «mine whether the proposed compromise reasonably
protects the interests of the corporation and its shareholders.
See, e.g., Girsh v. Jepson, $21 F.2d 153, 157 (3d Cir. 1975)
(holding that the district court has a responsibility to assess the
interests of the corporation when reviewing a proposed

” See Fed. R. Civ P. 23.1 (“The action shall not be dismissed without the
approval of the court, and notice cf the proposed dismissal or compromise
shall be given to shareholders or members in such manner as the court
lirects.”)

12

compromise). There are institutional reasons, however, why a
district court may be poorly situated to fulfill this duty on its
own.

First, the parties to the proposed settlement are unlikely to
present “an unbiased portrayal of the merits of the derivative
claims.” Jn re Oracle Sec. Litig., 829 F. Supp. 1176, 1185
(N.D. Cal. 1993). Indeed, “[t}he effort to obtain court approval
entails the suspension, if not the termination, of hostilities’
thereby depriving the district court of “the full benefit of the
adversarial process.” Bolger, 2 F.3d at 1310. The
“presentation of plaintiffs’ counsel [may be] biased because the
settlement offers them a substantial fee, regardless of the benefit
conferred on the corporation and its shareholders,” while the
“presentation on behalf of the [defendants may be] similarly
biased in favor of settlement, because the settlement absolves
them of liability without requiring them to part with any return
consideration.” Oracle, 829 F. Supp. at 1185. As a result,
rather than providing to the district court a full and fair airing of
issues occasioned by the settlement, “plaintiffs’ attorneys’ and
defendants’ interests coalesce and mutual interest may result in
mutual indulgence” whereby the parties “spotlight the
proposal’s strengths and slight its defects.” Bolger, 2 F.3d at
1310.

Second, in considering a settlement proposal, a district
court may have relatively limited knowledge of the underlying

* “Once a settlement is agreed, the attorneys for the plaintiff stockholders link
arms with their former adversaries to defend their joint handiwork.”
Alleghany Corp., 333 F 2d at 346-48 (Friendly, J., dissenting), see a/so Elhot
J. Weiss & John S. Beckerman, Let the Money Do the Monitoring: How
Institutional Investors Can Reduce Agency Costs in Securities Class Actions,
104 Yale L.J. 2053, 2066 (1995) (arguing that district court “settlement
hearings typically are not adversanal in character”).

es

13

action, derived solely from the pleadings and the few briefs that
may have been filed prior to settlement discussions. This lack
of information makes it difficult for the district court to assess
whether the proposed settlement is in the best interests of the
corporation. Accordingly, settled precedent prohibits a district
court from approving a settlement based “solely on the advice
of the attorneys before it.” 7C Charles Alan Wright ef ai.,
Federal Practice & Procedure § 1839, at 186; see also
Greenspun v. Bogan, 492 F.2d 375, 378 (1st Cir. 1974) (“It is
well established that a court should not merely rubber stamp
whatever settlement is proposed by the parties to a shareholder
derivative action.”); Cohen v. Young, 127 F.2d 721, 725 (6th
Cir. 1942) (“The rule provides for notice to shareholders __. in
order that the court may have the benefit of that broader
information.”’).

Third, there is a strong institutional bias in favor of
settlement. Many courts proceed “from the familiar axiom that
a bad settlement is almost always better than a good trial,” and
therefore may pay inadequate attention to shareholder
objectors. /n re Warner Communications Sec. Litig., 618 F.
Supp. 735, 740 (S.D.N.Y. 1985), aff'd, 798 F.2d 25 (2d Cir.
1986). Because “judges generally feel pressured to move their
dockets,” they have an interest in approving settlements that is
at odds with their duty to carefully consider objections and
closely scrutinize the fairness of a settlement. Elliot J. Weiss &
John S. Beckerman, Let the Money Do the Monitoring: How
Institutional Investors Can Reduce Agency Costs in Securities
Class Actions, 104 Yale LJ. 2053, 2067 (1995); see Girsh, 521
F.2d at 157 (reversing district court where objector denied the
ability to develop and present her objections to the settlement
proposal). Empirical studies reflect that the median lengths of
fairness hearings in the two districts for which data were
available were, respectively, 38 and 40 minutes. John C
Coffee, Jr., Class Wars: The Dilemma of the Mass Tort Class

14

Action, 95 Colum. L. Rev. 1343, 1348 & n.14 (1995) (arguing
that empirical evidence suggests that “courts have little ability
or incentive to resist [proposed] settlements”). The typical
brevity of these hearings “seems inconsistent with careful
judicial scrutiny of the settlement’s fairness,” id. at 1348 n.14,
or of the often complex issues raised by objections.

The choices and incentives faced by the district court are
straightforward:

Judges’ calendars are crowded with cases, and despite
various reform efforts, the workload only seems to
increase. If the judge approves the settlement, the
result will be to remove a potentially complex and
time-consuming case from the judge’s calendar; if she
rejects it she faces a substantial probability of further

litigation.

Jonathan R. Macey & Geoffrey P. Miller, The Plaintiffs’
Attorney's Role in Class Action & Derivative Litigation:
Economic Analysis and Recommendations for Reform, 58 U.
Chi. L. Rev. 1, 45-46 (1991). As a result, for some district
courts, “settlement hearings are typically pep rallies jointly
orchestrated by plaintiffs’ counsel and defense counsel” where
the district courts “engage in paeans of praise for counsel or
lambaste anyone rash enough to object to the settlement.” /d.
at 46-47.

These problems explain why shareholder objectors “play an
important role by giving courts access to information on the
settlement’s merits,” and help to compensate for the
institutional weaknesses that can blind the district court to an
unfair settlement. Bolger, 2 F.3d at 1310; see also Deborah A.
Demott, Shareholder Derivative Actions § 7:01, at 7-4
(“{O]bjectors to the settlement . . . may call the court’s attention

15

to deficiencies that are not likely to be highlighted by the
settlement’s proponents.”); cf Federal Judicial Center,
Empirical Study of Class Actions in Four Federal District
Courts: Final Revort to the Advisory Committee on Civil Rules
58 (1996) (“Objections represent an outside source of
information about the substance of the settlement and its impact
on class members. The settling parties at this stage have little
Or no incentive to present negative information about the
settlement, so objections from class members and others may be
a crucial source of information about defects in the
settlement.”). Indeed, even where there is little or no response
by shareholder objectors, that inaction itself provides the court
with additional information regarding the settlement’s fairness.
See Jn re Chambers Dev. Sec. Litig., 912 F. Supp. 822, 841
(W.D. Pa. 1995) (“The mild response of the class is a factor in
favor of settlement on the terms proposed.”).°

Thus, it is not surprising that the efforts of non-party
shareholder objectors in a wide variety of cases have resulted
“in significant improvement of the settlement.” William L. Cary
& Melvin A. Eisenberg, Corporations 1057 (1988). For
example, in /n re Pacific Enters. Sec. Litig., 47 F.3d 373 (9th
Cir. 1995), shareholders joined an objection to a proposed
settlement with the result that the district court “ultimately
lowered the attorneys’ fee award fram $8 million to $4 million.”
Id. at 375, 377. Similarly, in Alleghany Corp., 333 F.2d at 331-
32, an objecting shareholder brought critical information and
arguments to the district court’s attention, resulting in an
increase of the settlement amount from $1 million to $3 million.
And, in Rosenbaum v. MacAllister, 64 F.3d 1439 (10th Cir.

* Accord Bolger, 2 F.3d at 1313-14; Zimmerman v. Bell, 800 F.2d 386, 391
(4th Cir. 1986), Deborah A. Demott, Shareholder Derivative Actions § 7.02,
at 7-7; Ralph C. Ferrara et al., Shareholder Derivative Litigation § 14.05{2],
at 14-23.

16

1995), a shareholder objector was successful in obtaining the
reversal of an attorneys’ fee award “equal to more than $900
per hour for every attorney, paralegal, and law clerk who
worked on the case.” /d at 1447-48. These and other
representative cases reflect that shareholder objectors make
tangible and important contributions to the fairness of derivative
settlements when their views are given proper consideration by
the district court."°

Il. REQUIRING SHAREHOLDER OBJECTORS TO
INTERVENE TO OBTAIN APPELLATE REVIEW
WOULD HINDER EFFECTIVE MONITORING OF
DERIVATIVE SUIT SETTLEMENTS.

Appellate participation by shareholder objectors is critical
to ensuring that derivative settlements are in the best interests
of the corporation. Appellate review provides an avenue for
correcting errors and creates a powerful incentive for district
courts to ensure that shareholder objections are given full and
fair consideration during the settlement process. By contrast,
a broad ruling that shareholder objectors must intervene to
secure the night to appeal a derivative settlement would erect an
unnecessary and costly barrier to shareholder participation and
undermine the fairness and integrity of derivative settlements
without providing any offsetting benefit. -

'© See also Bolger, 2 F.3d at 1310 (noting case where “objectors’ ardent(]
resistance to the settlement persuaded [the] court to look more closely at the
proposal than would normally be the case” and caused the court to reject the
proposal) (internal quotat-on marks omitted; alteration in onginal), Seiga/ v
Merrick, 619 F.2d 160, 162-63 (2d Cir. 1980) (highlighting role of objectors
in modifying settlement by providing information regarding proper valuation
method)

17

A. Appellate Review of Shareholders’ Objections
Is Essential to the Effective Monitoring of
Derivative Suit Settlements.

The right to appeal an adverse judgment stands as “a
fundamental element of procedural fairness as generally
understood in this country.” ABA Comm. on Standards of
Judicial Admin., Standards Reiating to Appellate Courts § 3.10
comment. at 18 (1994). Thus, although the right to an appeal
is not mandated by the Constitution, “[i]t is almost axiomatic
that every losing litigant in a one-judge court ought to have a
right of appeal to a multijudge court.” See Robert Leflar,
Internal Operating Procedures of Appellate Courts 4 (1976)
(Leflar, Appellate Courts). The principal function of
intermediate appellate courts is the development of the law
through the correction of error. See id. at 3 (“[T]he task of the
appellate court is to determine if prejudicial errors were
committed at the trial level and to correct them.”). Indeed, the
general rate of reversible error by district courts is significant,
and, according to the most recent statistics, the federal courts
of appeals remand or reverse in approximately 15% of non-
prisoner, private civil appeals. See Administrative Office of the
United States Courts, Judicial Business of the United States
Courts 100-03, Table B-5 (1997)."'

Apart from reversal, the possibility of appellate review itself
provides a powerful incentive for the district court to render
more careful findings of fact and to develop a better record,
producing more accurate results in the district court ex ante.
See Steven Shavell, Zhe Appeals Process as a Means of Error
Correction, 24 J. Legal Stud. 379, 408-11, 425-26 (1995)

'* See also Jon O. Newman, A Study of Appellate Reversals, 58 Brook. L
Rev. 629, 633 (1992) (reporting rate of 27% in civil cases in the Second
Circuit)

18

(demonstrating that the appeals process “induc[es] trial court
judges to make fewer errors because of their fear of reversal”).
Thus, direct review not only permits appellate courts to correct
errors that have already occurred, it helps to prevent future
errors from occurring, and thereby ensures uniform and proper
application of the law. See Leflar, Appellate Courts, at 4
(“[G]rowth and development in the law cannot be achieved if
some courts move ahead while others hold back.”’).

The important functions of appellate review apply with
special force in the context of settlement of shareholder
derivative actions. As described in Part I, shareholder
derivative suits are fraught with the potential for collusion and
conflicts of interest. Once a proposed settlement has been
reached, the district court no longer has the benefit of an
adversarial presentation by the parties regarding the benefits and
burdens of the settlement proposal. And, laboring under an
ever-expanding caseload, the district court may have a natural
incentive to favor quick approval of a settlement that will
remove a complex case from its docket at the expense of full
and careful consideration of objections. These factors work
together to enhance the risk of error by the district court in
fairness hearings and to reduce the likely influence of
shareholder objectors at the district court level. In light of these
systemic obstacles to accurate assessment of proposed
_ settlements, appellate review is critical to ensuring the fairness
of shareholder derivative settlements.

For instance, in /n re Pittsburgh & Lake Erie R.R. Co. Sec.
& Antitrust Litig., 543 F.2d 1058 (3d Cir. 1976), plaintiff
stockholders sued on behalf of a company charging that a third
party (which owned 93% of the stock) had raided the
company’s assets. /d. at 1061. Prior to trial, the parties
reached a settlement providing that the company would pay
$2.1 million into a settlement fund, which would have gone to

19

plaintiffs and their lawyers. /d Irving Trust Company, an
objector who was a pledgee of 22.5% of the company’s stock,
complained that the settlement was unfair because it would
transfer value from the company to the plaintiffs and their
attorneys. /d. at 1063. The district court rejected the objections
and approved the settlement. Jd. The Second Circuit reversed,
holding that Irving Trust’s objections should have been
sustained because the settlement provided the COmpany with, at
best, “a minimal if non-existent benefit,” in exchange for its
substantial $2.1 million payment. /d. at 1070."

The availability of appeal also causes trial courts to
consider the objections of shareholders more carefully in the
first instance. For example, in Girsh v. Jepson, 521 F.2d 153
(3d Cir. 1975), the Third Circuit reviewed a trial court’s
dismissal of objections interposed by a shareholder to a
proposed compromise of a class and derivative action. /d at
157. At the district court ievel, the shareholder informed the
district court of her “intention to object” and asked for an
extension of time “to file papers in support of her objections.”
Id. at 156. The district court dismissed her objections and
approved the settlement agreement. /d The Third Circuit
reversed, holding that the “district court did not live up to its
fiduciary responsibilities” because it denied the objecting
shareholder “meaningful participation” in the hearing. /d. at
158. The Girsh Court also set forth the proper procedures
district courts should follow when reviewing a proposed
settlement. /d. at 156-57.

" See also Rosenbaum, 64 F 3d at 1447 (reversing award of attorneys’ fees
based on arguments of non-intervening shareholder objector), /n re General
Motors Corp. Pick-Up Truck Fuel Tank Prods. Liab. Litig., 55 F 3d 768,
809-10, 812-13 (3d Cir. 1995) (reversing class action settlement where the
court was too dismissive of the objectors and too willing to accept the parties’
optumistic valuation of the settlement)

20

Since Girsh, other district courts have followed the factors
outlined in that case (including the requirement to consider the
reaction of shareholders) to guide their assessment of proposed
shareholder derivative settlements. See, e.g., Jn re Chambers
Dev. Litig., 912 F. Supp. at 836 (stating that the factors
enunciated in Girsh are the “Rand-McNally” of “settlement
review”). Other circuit courts have adopted similar standards
through appellate decisions that guide and bind their lower
courts and ensure careful consideration of and a “reasoned
response” to shareholder objections. /n re Pacific Enters. Sec.
Litig., 47 F.3d at 377 (stating that “conclusory” rejection of an
objection is inadequate because the district court must
“explain{] why the derivative settlement is fair”). It is only
through regular appellate review of derivative settlements that
such beneficial rules can be articulated and refined, and
compliance with them enforced.’

Thus, appellate review of derivative settlements serves to
correct errors that have occurred and to guide the actions of
trial courts and thereby reduce the chances that errors will occur
in the first place.

" See also Ficalora v. Lockheed Cal. Co., 751 F.2d 995, 997 (9th Cir. 1985)
(remanding for “reasoned judgment” that the settlement “1s not the product of
fraud or overreaching by, or collusion among, the negotiating partes”), City
of Detroit v. Grinnell Corp., 495 F.2d 448, 463 (2d Cir. 1974) (settung forth
factors relevant to the review of a proposed settlement), cf Malchman v
Davis, 706 F.2d 426, 432, 434 (2d Cir 1983) (reversing approval of
settlement because distnct court failed to consider objections fully), /n re
General Motors Corp. Engine Interchange Litig., 594 F.2d 1106, 1131 (7th
Cur. 1979) (“[W]e hold that the trial court abused its discretion by failing to
undertake a careful examination of the conduct of the settlement negotations
and by preven_ng the plaintuff-objectors from showing that the negotiations
prejudiced the best interests of the class.”)

rr

21

B. Requiring Intervention to Secure the Right to
Appeal Would Cut Off Appellate Review of
Some Derivative Settlements and Erect Unfair
and Unnecessary Barriers to Effective Policing
of Others.

Requiring objecting shareholders to intervene formally to
secure the nght to appeal the rejection of their objections to a
by some objectors and increase the costs for others. Moreover,
while increasing the costs of objecting to derivative suit
settlements, the added burden of intervention would produce no
corresponding benefit to the litigation.

1. An Intervention Requirement Would
Unduly Limit and Increase the Costs of
Appeals by Shareholder Objectors.

In the decision below, the Seventh Circuit acknowledged
that monitoring by shareholder investors “is often useful” and
that objectors’ participation on appeal may “be justified.” Pet
Cert. 6a. However, the court of appeals concluded that such
shareholder objectors “must intervene as parties in order to
appeal from adverse decisions.” /d at 2a. That view should be
rejected.

As an initial matter, requiring intervention would prevent
an entire category of objections from being considered on
appeal because some shareholder objectors could not, as a
matter of law, intervene in the action Specifically, the
“contemporaneous ownership” rule requires the representative
plaintiff in a shareholder derivative action to have been “a
shareholder __ . at the time of the transaction of which the
plaintiff complains.” Fed R. Civ. P. 23.1; see also Rosenbaum
v. MacAllister, 64 F 3d 1439, 1443 n.2 (10th Cir 1995). To

22

object to a proposed compromise, however, a person “need
only own stock in the corporation at the time of the settlement
hearing, and appear at the settlement hearing to raise his or her
objections.” Jd; see also Ralph C. Ferrara et al., Shareholder
Derivative Litigation § 14.04, at 14-10 (noting that “the ALI’s
Principles of Corporate Governance and other courts have
suggested that all shareholders of record at the time of the
settlement hearing have standing to object”). As a result, the
entire category of objectors who obtained their stock after the
transaction at issue in the case — shareholder objectors who
have every bit as concrete and material an interest in the district
court’s resolution of the proposed settlement as shareholders
who satisfy the contemporaneous ownership requirement —
would “be held ineligible for intervenor status” and therefore
could not raise any objections on appeal. Rosenbaum, 64 F 3d
at 1443 n.2; see Saylor v. Bastedo, 78 F R.D. 150, 152-53
(S.D.N_Y. 1978).

In addition, another class of objectors would be unable to
intervene because their intervention would destroy diversity
jurisdiction over their claims. See Strawbridge v. Curtis, 7 U.S.
__(3 Cranch) 267, 267 (1806) (requiring complete diversity).
Federal law limits the ability of such non-diverse shareholder
objectors to intervene in these cases. See 28 U.S.C. § 1367(b)
(barring jurisdiction over non-diverse intervenors). As the
Seventh Circuit recently noted, the plain language of § 1367(b)
requires that “[p)laintiffs . . . intervening under Fed. R. Civ. P
24 must satisfy the requirements of [complete diversity].”
Stromberg Metal Works v. Comfort Control, Inc., 77 F.3d 928,
932 (7th Cir. 1996) (Easterbrook, J), see also 7urner/Ozanne
v. Hyman/Power, 111 F.3d 1312, 1319 (7th Cir. 1997)
(“Section 1367 precludes intervention by parties seeking to
‘intervene as plaintiffs under Rule 24 . . . when exercising
supplemental jurisdiction over such claims would [destroy

complete diversity].”).

23

Moreover, even for shareholders who are diverse and have
standing under Rule 23.1 to intervene as plaintiffs, the right to
intervene would not be assured. In contrast to the mandatory
requirements in Rule 23.1, which guarantee a shareholder
objector the right to receive notice and to participate at the
district court level, there is no comparable guarantee that a
shareholder objector who first learns of a suit through notice of
a proposed (and impending) settlement will be entitled to
become a formal party. Indeed, a district court’s grant of
intervention would be predicated on its determination that the
intervening parties’ interests were not adequately protected,
Fed. R. Civ. P. 24(a), a determination inconsistent with the
requirement that the shareholder plaintiffs “adequately represent
the interests of the shareholders” from the outset. Fed. R. Civ.
P. 23.1; see also 7C Charles Alan Wright ef al, Federal
Practice & Procedure § 1909, at 313. Further, Rule 24’s
requirement of a “timely application” prejudices would-be
intervenors to a derivative suit, since Rule 23.1 requires notice
only upon a settlement, which is so late in the litigation process
that intervention is disfavored. See, e.g., Ragsdale v. Turnock,
941 F.2d 501, 504 (7th Cir. 1991) (“Once parties have invested
time and effort into settling a case it would be prejudicial to
allow intervention.”). Thus, it is not surprising that motions to
intervene often are denied in shareholder derivative cases. See
generally W.J. Dunn, /ntervention by Other Stockholders in
Stockholder's Derivative Action, 69 A.L.R.2d 562, at § 2a
(1960).

Finally, the costs of intervention are substantial. To
intervene, a motion and supporting papers must be prepared.
See Fed. R. Civ. P. 24(c). Upon intervention, an objector must
file a pleading based upon reasonable investigation stating the
claims or defenses that he will advance, see id, and provide
initial discovery disclosures pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil
Procedure 26(a)(1). Thereafter, the intervenor is subject to

24

broad discovery from both plaintiff and defendants. See Fed. R.
Civ. P. 26(b). In particular, intervenors may be required to
produce detailed information relating to their ability to represent
the corporation adequately.

Given the risk of collusion and conflict of interest in
shareholder derivative suits, these costs are likely to be greatest
in those cases where the right to appeal is most important.'*
Because shareholder objectors pose a threat to potentially unfair
and collusive settlements, the parties to these suits have a strong
incentive to obstruct any vigorous objection to the settlement at
both the district court and appellate levels.

Indeed, the additional costs associated with intervention
stand in marked contrast to the efficient procedures expressly
mandated by Rule 23.1, which permit shareholders to air their
objections in court without assuming the burdens associated
with formal intervention. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 23.1. The
drafters of Rule 23.1 plainly intended to entitle shareholders to
present their concerns regarding a proposed settlement to the
district court, free from strategic behavior or sharp litigation
tactics designed to increase the cost of objection. It was
precisely to avoid the risks associated with imposing additional
obstacles to challenging proposed derivative settlements that the
Third Circuit ruled that intervention was not required to ensure
appellate rights on appeal. See Bolger, 2 F.3d at 1310.

‘* Even small increases in costs imposed on the monitoring function will have
a substanual effect on the incentive and ability of shareholders to restrain
unfair settlements. Plaintiffs and their attorneys typically have a large stake in
the settlement and can afford to litigate aggressively. By contrast, because of
collective acuon problems endemuc to derivative suits, Bolger, 2 F.3d at 1310,
objectors act to protect only their own individual interests. Therefore, it takes
only a marginal increase in lugating costs to dissuade potential objectors from
participating. Cf id. at 1309 (“[T}he costs of policing typically outweigh any
pro rata benefits to the shareholder ”’)

25

Evidence from a related context confirms the operation of
the incentives described above. Responding to similar abuses
inherent in securities class actions, Congress passed the Private
Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995, Pub. L. No. 104-67,
109 Stat. 737 (1995), which had as one of its purposes the goal
of increasing the role of institutional investors as lead plaintiffs
in class actions. See H. Conf. Rep. No. 369, 104th Cong, Ist
Sess. 34 (1995), reprinted in 1995 U.S.C.C_AN. 730, 733
(“Institutional investors and other class members with large
amounts at stake will represent the interests of the plaintiff class
more effectively than class members with small amounts at
stake.”). Faced with the threat of institutional investor
participation, the plaintiffs’ bar responded by attempting to
drive up the litigation costs for institutional investors. As a
result of these efforts, “[i}nstitutional investors are only rarely
stepping forward to become lead plaintiffs. They are often
vigorously attacked by traditional plaintiffs’ counsel when they
do.” Joseph A. Grundfest & Michael A. Perino, Joint Written
Testimony Before the Subcommittee on Securities of the Senate
Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs (July 24,
1997), see also Gluck v. Cellstar Corp., 976 F. Supp. 542, 547-
48 (N.D. Tex. 1997) (detailing one such struggle).

As a final note, even if respondents were correct in their
suggestion that intervention would be “unhesitatingly granted”
for the limited purpose of appeal, Resp. Opp. to Cert. 16, that
fact would counsel against imposing an additional intervention
requirement. Put simply, if every objecting shareholder were
permitted to intervene to secure the right to advance his
objections on appeal, then the intervention process would be an
empty formality that imposes additional costs but provides no
benefits to the district court or court of appeals.

26

2. An Intervention Requirement Would
Provide No Corresponding Benefit.

The substantial costs of intervention would create an
additional barrier to effective shareholder policing of derivative
settlements without any corresponding benefit, either to the
efficiency or to the fairness of the litigation process.

First, an intervention requirement would add nothing to the
character or substance of the appeals brought by objecting
shareholders. As owners of the corporation, shareholder
objectors suffer a concrete injury when an unfair settlement
diminishes the value of their investment; indeed, Rule 23.1
expressly solicits the views of these shareholders as a means of
policing the potential abuses endemic to shareholder derivative
litigation. The challengés they raise on appeal would be the
same challenges raised and rejected by the district court. See
Bolger, 2 F.3d at 1310 (holding that participation as an objector
before the trial court is sufficient to permit “the same objections
he now raises... . on appeal”). There is simply no basis for
concluding that shareholder objectors, who are recognized as
adding value to the analysis of a settlement proposal at the
district court level, are not equally well-positioned to provide
guidance and insight at the appellate level.

Second, historical experience makes clear that the
imposition of an intervention requirement will provide little or
no benefit to appellate courts. For many years, numerous state
courts and federal circuit courts have routinely allowed
shareholder objectors to appeal adverse rulings without any
intervention requirement. See, e.g., Rosenbaum v. MacAlister,
64 F.3d 1439, 1443 (10th Cir. 1995); Bolger, 2 F.3d at 1307-
10; Jn re General Tire & Rubber Co. Sec. Litig., 726 F.2d
1075, 1087 (6th Cir. 1984) (affirming denial of intervention but
addressing shareholder’s objections on appeal), /n re Pittsburgh

27

& Lake Erie R.R. Co. Sec. & Antitrust Litig., 543 F.2d 1058,
1064 (3d Cir. 1976) (holding that objector has standing to
appeal); 7ryforos v. Icarian Dev. Co., 518 F.2d 1258, 1263
n.22 (7th Cir. 1975) (Stevens, J.) (stating that the “law is clear”
that non-party objectors may appeal); Braun v. Fleming-Hall
Tobacco Co., 92 A.2d 302, 308 (Del. Ch. 1952) (reviewing
appeal of non-intervening objector). There is no evidence in

_ these jurisdictions of a proliferation of meritless appeals or

“unwieldy” appellate litigation of settlement objections. Indeed,
requiring intervention would create an extra layer of largely
wasteful appeals from the denial of intervention.

Third, cases from other contexts have acknowledged the
appellate rights of non-parties whose interests have been
concretely and adversely affected by the decision of the district
court. There is a long pedigree of cases that “clearly establish
that nonparties can achieve standing to appeal.” 15A Charles
Alan Wright et al., Federal Practice & Procedure § 3902.1 at
132; see also Timothy A. Duffy, Comment, 7he Appealability
of Class Action Settlements by Unnamed Parties, 60 U. Chi. L.
Rev. 933, 940-41 (1993) (describing deep-rooted common-law
origins of right of unnamed class members to appeal). The
readiest example is that of an appellant, not a party, who has
nevertheless been enjoined, held in contempt, or otherwise
directly affected by an order of the district court. See, e.g.,
United States Catholic Conference vy. Abortion Rights
Mobilization, Inc., 487 U.S. 72, 76 (1988) (“The right of a
nonparty to appeal an adjudication of contempt cannot be
questioned.”); 7hompson v. Freeman, 648 F.2d 1144, 1447 n.5
(8th Cir. 1981) (holding that non-party may bring “appeal to
contest the district court’s jurisdiction to bind it to the terms of
the court’s injunction”). Similarly, when a party is denied
statutory attorney fees by the district court, that party’s attorney
has standing to appeal. See, e.g., Lipscomb v. Wise, 643 F.2d
319, 320 (Sth Cir. 1981); Dietrich Corp. v. King Resources

28

Co., 596 F.2d 422, 424 (10th Cir. 1979). In Dietrich, the court
noted that intervention wes irrelevant to appellate rights; the
controlling factor was that denying the attorney the right to
appeal would render the district court’s determination
unreviewable. See id In Lipscomb, the fees were sought
pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1973/(e), and the court of appeals
concluded that if the statutory provision of fees were to have
any meaning, the non-party whose interest was implicated must
be able to seek appellate review. Lipscomb, 643 F.2d at 320-
21.

The same is true here: If objecting non-party shareholders
are not entitled to appeal after their objections lodged under
Rule 23.1 have been rejected, then the concrete and important
interests they represent will never receive an appellate hearing.
The consequence of such a requirement would be more
collusive and unfair derivative settlements. As Congress and the
drafters of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure were plainly of
the view that objecting shareholders could make valuable
contributions to district court review of such settlements, there
is no sound reason in law or policy to bar or discourage them
from playing a similar role on appeal.

29

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

CARTER G. PHILLIPS

BRADFORD A. BERENSON*

PAUL J. ZIDLICKY

DAVID W. JONES

BRIAN C. KALT
SIDLEY & AUSTIN
1722 Eye Street, NW
Washington, DC 20006
(202) 736-8000

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
Council of Institutional Investors

November 10, 1998 *Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0175%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
