# Amicus Curiae Brief — California Public Employees' Retirement System v. Felzen

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0175%3A14

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 524 U.S. 980

## Text

FILED

NOV 10 95

OCTOBER TERM, 1998

CALIFORNIA PUBLIC EMPLOYEES’ RETIREMENT
SYSTEM, ET AL., PETITIONERS

v.
PAUL FELZEN, ET AL.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AND
THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
AS AMICI CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

SETH P. WAXMAN

. : Solicitor General
HARVEY J. GOLDSCHMID Counsel of Record

General Counsel

DWIN S. KN
DAVID M. BECKER E EEDLER

Deputy Solicitor General

Deputy General Counsel 7 ;
PAUL GONSON — abe - 3 '
Seide ssistant to the Solicitor
General
JACOB H. STILLMAN | Department of Justice
Associate General Counsel Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
ERIC SUMMERGRAD (202) 514-2217
Principal Assistant General
Counsel
HOPE HALL AUGUSTINI
Special Counsel ;
Securities and Exchange nt

Commission
Washington, D.C. 20549

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a shareholder who is not a named plaintiff but
who submits an objection to a proposed settlement in a de-
rivative action in district court, in response to notice pro-
vided under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23.1, may
appeal the approval of the settlement without formally inter-

vening as a party.

Objecting shareholders may appeal an order
approving a settlement in a shareholder derivative
suit

A. The right of objecting shareholders to appeal

is longstanding and grounded in this Court’s

cases involving quasi parties 5
B. Upholding the rights of objecting share-

holders to appeal district court decisions

approving settlements furthers the

purposes underlying the rule 19
C. The court of appeals’ contrary reasoning

is unpersuasive

8 &

Conclusion

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Alla Medical Servs., 855

F.2d 1470 (9th Cir. 1988) 27
Alleghany Corp. v. Kirby, 333 F.2d 327 (2d Cir.

1964), cert. dismissed, 384 U.S. 983 (1965) 23
American Pipe & Constr. Co. v. Utah, 414 US.

588 (1974) 25
Baldwin v. Hale, 68 U.S. (1 Wall.) 223 (188 15
Bateman Eichler, Hill Richards, Inc. v. Berner,

472 U.S. 299 (1985) 1
Bayard v. Lombard, 50 U.S. (9 How.) 580

(1850) 11,27
Bell Atlantic Corp. v. Bolger, 2 F.3d 1804 (3d

Cir. 1993) 5, 21, 28, 24, 28

(IID

Cases—Continued: Page

Bernstein v. Mediobanca Banca di Credito
Finanziario-Societa Per Azioni, 78 F.R.D.1

(S.D.N.Y. 1978) 21
Blake v. District Court, 59 F.2d 78 (9th Cir.

1932) 8
Blossom v. The Milwaukee Railroad, 68 U.S.

655 (1 Wall.) (1863) 4, 8, 9, 10, 11, 17
Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421

US. 723 (1975) 1
Boggess v. Hogan, 410 F. Supp. 438 (N. D. IIL.

1976) 21

Brand Name Prescription Drugs Antitrust Litiga-
tion, Imre, 115 F.3d 456 (7th Cir. 1997), cert.

denied, 118 S. Ct. 1178 (1998) 4
Bryant v. Yellin, 447 U.S. 352 (1980) 29
Christian v. R. Hoe & Co., 68 F.2d 218 (Ad Cir.

1933) 8
Cockcroft, Ex parte, 104 U.S. 578 (1881) 11
Cohen v. Beneficial Indus. Loan Corp., 337 US.

541 (1949) 13, 14
Cohen v. Young, 127 F.2d 721 (6th Cir. 1942 5, 6, 7,

12, 23, 24

Collier v. Marshall, Dennehey, Warner, Coleman &
Goggin, 977 F.2d 98 (3d Cir. 1992), cert. denied,

510 U.S. 977 (1993) 18, 27
Cutting, Ex parte, 94 U.S. 14 (1876) 12
Daily Income Fund, Inc. v. Fox, 464 U.S. 523

(1984) 13
Davis v. Mercantile Trust Co., 152 U.S. 590

(1894) 17
DeLuca v. Long Island Lighting Co., 862 F 2d 427

(2d Cir. 1988) 27
Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417 U.S. 156

(1974) 15
Ford v. Douglas, 46 U.S. 148 (1847) 12

Cases—Continued: Page

FTC v. Amy Travel Serv., Inc., 875 F.2d 564

(7th Cir. 1989) 27
General Tire & Rubber Co. Securities Litig., In re,

726 F.2d 1075 (6th Cir. 1984)
Glicken v. Bradford, 35 F.R.D. 144 (S. D. N. V.

1964) 21
Granada Invs., Inc. v. DVG Corp., 962 F.2d 1208

(6th Cir. 1992) 22
Greenspun v. Bogan, 492 F. 2d 375 (Ist. Cir.

1974) 21,22

Guthrie v. Evans, 815 F.2d 626 (11th Cir. 1987 25
Hawes v. City of Oakland, 104 U.S. 450 (18817 13
Hinckley v. Gilman, Clinton & Springfield R. R.,

94 U.S. 467 (1876) 8-9, 10
Hovey v. McDonald, 109 U.S. 150 (1888) 10
Indiana S. R.R. Liverpool, London & Globe Ins. Co.,

109 U.S. 168 (1883) 11
JI Case Co. v. Borak, 377 U.S. 426 (1964) 1
Jiffy Lube Securities Litig., In re, 927 F.2d

155 (4th Cir. 1991) 22
Johnson v. Manhattan Ry., 289 U.S. 479 (1983 7,8
Jones v. Nuclear Pharmacy, Inc., 741 F.2d

(10th Cir. 1984) 15, 22
Kneeland v. American Loan & Trust Co., 136

US. 89 (1890) 8, 16
Litchfield v. Goodnow, 123 U.S. 549 (1887) 11

Maher v. Zapata, 714 F 2d 436 (5th Cir. 19888) 14, 15, 21
Marino v. Ortiz, 484 U.S. 301 (1988) 8, 5, 12, 25, 26, 27
Martin v. Wilks, 490 U.S. 755 (1989) 26
Massachusetts School of Law at Andover, Inc. v.

United States, 118 F.3d 776 (D.C. Cir. 1997 18
Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Epstein, 516 U.S.

367 (1996) 14-15
Miltier v. Downes, 985 F 2d 660 (4th Cir. 199172 27
Minnesota Co. v. St. Paul Co., 69 U.S. (2 Wall.)

609 (1864) 10, 11

VI VII

Cases Continued: Page Cases Continued: Page
Mitchell v. Lay, 48 F.2d 79 (9th Cir. 1930) 8 Walker v. City of Mesquite, 858 F.2d 1071 (5th
Mork iber v. Cohn, 788 F.2d 26 (2d Cir. 1986) 27-28 Cir. 1988) 25
Mylett v. Jeane, 879 F.2d 1272 (5th Cir. 19899 22 Webster Coal & Coke Co. v. Cassatt, 207 U.S. 181
National Student Marketing Litig., In re, 68 F. R. D. (1907) 19
151 (D.D.C. 1974) 21 West v. Radio-Keith-Orpheum Corp., 70 F 2d 621
Pacific Enterprises Sec. Litig., In re, 47 F 3d 378 (2d Cir. 1984) 8
(9th Cir. 1995) 28 West v. Randall, 29 F. Cas. 718 (C. C. D. R. I. 1820)
Pianta v. H. M. Reich Co., 77 F.2d 888 (2d Cir. (No. 17,424) 11
1935) 7 White v. Auerbach, 500 F. 2d 822 (2d Cir. 1974 21
Papilsky v. Berndt, 466 F. 2d 251 (2d Cir.), cert. Williams v. Morgan, 111 U.S. 684 (1884). 4, 8, 10, 17
denied, 409 U.S. 1077 (1972) 23
Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797 Statutes, regulation, and rules:
(1985) 15 Antitrust Penalties and Procedure Act, 15 U.S.C.
Reynolds v. National Football League, 584 F 2d 16(b)-(h) 18
280 (8th Cir. 1978) Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation
Sage v. Railroad Co., 96 U.S. 712 (1877) 10, 17 and Liability Act of 1980, 42 U.S.C. 9601 et seq.:
Saylor v. Lindsley, 456 F 2d 896 (2d Cir. 19727 21 42 U.S. C. 9613(i) 19
Shelton v. Pargo, Inc., 582 F.2d 1298 (4th Cir. 42 U.S. C. 9622(d)(2) 19
1978) Solid Waste Disposal Act, 42 U.S.C. 3251 et seq.:
Stacy v. Thrasher, 47 U.S. 44 (1848) 12 42 U.S. C. 6972(b)(1) 19
Trustees v. Greenough, 105 U.S. 527 (1881) 10, 17 42 U.S. C. 6972(b)(2\(E) 19
Tryforos v. Icarian Development Co., 518 F.2d 42 U.S. C. 6973(d) 19
1258 (7th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1091 15 US.C.4 18
(1976) 5 15 U.S. C. 15 18
United Airlines, Inc. v. McDonald, 42 U.S. 385 15 US.C. 1605008) 18
(1977) 27 15 U.S.C. 25 18
United States v. LTV Corp., 746 F.2d 51 (D.C. 15 U.S.C. 26 18
Cir. 1984) 18 42 U.S.C. 2000e 26
United States v. Seigel, 168 F 2d 148 (D.C. Cir. 42 U.S.C. 2000e-2(a) 26
1948) 9 28 C.F.R. 50.7 19
United States ex rel. Louisiana v. Jack, 244 US. Fed. R. App. P.:
897 (1917) 26,27 Rule 3c) 8, 5, 27, 28
Rule 3(c)(3) 28
Fed. R. Civ. P.:
Rule © 4,7, 19, 20, 21

Rule 23(c) 21

VIII

Rules—Continued:
Rule 23.1

Rule 23.1(1)
Rule 24

Miscellaneous:
Manual for Complex Litigation 3d (1995)

F. Calvert, A Treatise Upon The Law Respecting
Parties To Suits In Equity (1847)

J. Coffee, The Unfaithful Champion: The Plaintiff
as Monitor in Shareholder Litigation, Law &
Contemp. Probs., Summer 1985

J. Coffee, Rescuing the Private Attorney General: Why
the Model of the Lawyer as Bounty Hunter is not
Working, 42 Md. L. Rev. 215 (1983)

W. Haudek, The Settlement and Dismissal of Share-
holders’ Actions—Part II: The Settlement, 23 SW.
LJ. 765 (1969)

C. McLaughlin, Capacity of Plaintiff-Stockholder to
Terminate a Stockholder’s Suit, 46 Yale L.J. 421

(1937)
J. Moore & M. Cohn, Federal Class Actions—Jurisdic-

tion and Effect of Judgment, 32 Ill. L. Rev. 555

(1938)

J. Moore & E. Levi, Federal Intervention, Part I:

The Right to Intervene and Reorganization, 45 Yale
LJ. 565 (1936)

8B J. Moore, Moore’s Federal Practice (2d ed.
1996)

J. Story, Commentaries on Equity Pleadings (9th
ed. 1879)

5 Moore’s Federal Practice (D. Coquillette et al.
eds., 3d ed. 1997)

7C C. Wright et al., Federal Practice & Procedure:
Cwil (2d ed. 1986)
15A C. Wright 2d ed., Federal Practice and Pro-
cedure Jurisdiction (2d ed. 1992)

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1998

No. 97-1732

CALIFORNIA PUBLIC EMPLOYEES’ RETIREMENT
SYSTEM, ET AL., PETITIONERS

V.
PAUL FELZEN, ET AL.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AND
THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
AS AMICI CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF THE AMICI

This case presents an issue of importance to the man-
agement and disposition of shareholder derivative actions,
which may involve claims under the federal securities laws
and issues of corporate governance of critical importance to
shareholders. The Securities and Exchange Commission
(SEC) has long taken the view that private actions under the
federal securities laws serve important functions, in compen-
sating investors who have been harmed by securities law
violations and providing “‘a most effective weapon in the
enforcement’ of the securities laws, and are ‘a necessary
supplement to [SEC] action.“ Bateman Eichler, Hill Rich-
ards, Inc. v. Berner, 472 U.S. 299, 310 (1985) (quoting J.J.
Case Co. v. Borak, 377 U.S. 426, 432 (1964)); see also Blue
Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421 U.S. 723, 730 (1975).

(1)

2

The SEC also has an interest in protecting investors through
effective corporate governance. The federal government
more generally has a substantial interest in the procedural
rules that apply in class action suits in a variety of contexts.

STATEMENT

1. On October 15, 1996, Archer Daniels Midland Cor-
poration (ADM) pleaded guilty to federal criminal antitrust
violations involving charges that company officers had
conspired to fix the price of citric acid. The company paid a
$100 million fine and subsequently settled civil antitrust
lawsuits filed by competitors for $90 million. Pet. 4.

In the wake of the criminal investigation, ADM share-
holders filed several derivative actions on behalf of ADM
against directors of the corporation. Those actions were
consolidated in United States District Court for the Central
District of Illinois. The suits alleged that the directors had
breached their fiduciary duties by failing to supervise com-
pany employees properly and sought recovery of the $190
million paid out in the criminal and private cases. Pet. 4-5.

On May 29, 1997, the parties in the consolidated cases
announced a proposed settlement pursuant to which the
shareholders would release the defendants from all claims in
exchange for a settlement fund of $8 million (Felzen Br. in
Opp. App. 2) and the adoption of corporate governance
reforms (ADM Br. in Opp. App. 13a-15a) designed to prevent
similar violations in the future. Of the $8 million amount,
$3.92 million, plus interest, was to be paid to plaintiffs’
counsel (Pet. App. 17a), with the remaining amount desig-
nated for legal fees incurred by ADM in adopting agreed-
upon reforms (Pet. 6). Neither the corporation nor its share-
holders would receive any monetary recovery from the
settlement.

2. The district court tentatively approved the settlement
on May 30, 1997. Pet. 7. Pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil
Procedure 23.1, the court ordered that notice be given to all

3

ADM shareholders to show cause why the settlement should
not be approved. The court ordered that all objections were
to be filed by July 3, 1997, and scheduled a final hearing on
the settlement for July 7, 1997. Pet. 7. Petitioners California
Public Employees’ Retirement System and the Florida
Board State Board of Administrtion—which hold, respec-
tively, 2.8 million and 1.7 million shares of ADM stock—filed
written objections with the district court and appeared at
the July 7 hearing. ADM Br. in Opp. App. 4a; Pet. 7. They
argued that the settlement disproportionately benefited the
plaintiffs’ lawyers and that the corporate governance
reforms agreed to were not materially better than reforms
adopted by ADM a year earlier. ADM Br. in Opp. App. 15a.
The district court approved the settlement over petitioners’
objections. Felzen Br. in Opp. App. 1-7.

3. The court of appeals dismissed petitioners’ appeal,
reasoning that, since petitioners had not moved to intervene
for purposes of taking an appeal, they were not parties to the
case. Pet. App. 3a. The court of appeals held tl.at, under
this Court’s decision in Marino v. Ortiz, 484 U.S. 301, 304
(1988), only parties may take an appeal. Pet. App. la-2a.
The court read Marino (a class action rather than a de-
rivative suit) to hold “that a person adversely affected b) the
settlement of a class action may appeal from the consent
decree based on that settlement only if he has intervened as
a party.” Jd. at 2a. The court also noted that Federal Rule of
Appellate Procedure 3(c) specifies that “[a] notice of appeal
must specify the party or parties taking the appeal by
naming each appellant in either the caption or the body of
the notice of appeal.” Ibid.

The court observed that prior to Marino it had “permitted
class members and stockholders to appeal, whether or not
they had intervened, provided they had informed the district
court of their objections to the decision that disadvantaged
them.” Pet. App. 2a. But it further noted that since Marino
it had “held that a class member in an action under Fed. R.

4

Civ. P. 23 who has not become a party may not appeal from
an order granting summary judgment to the defendant.”
Ibid. (citing In re Brand Name Prescription Drugs Anti-
trust Litigation, 115 F.3d 456 (7th Cir. 1997)). The court rea-
soned that the same rule should apply to shareholders in a
derivative suit challenging a settlement, because share-
holders “have no more right to speak for the firm or control
its litigation decisions than bondholders or banks or land-
lords, all of whom have contractual interests that may be
affected by litigation.” Pet. App. 3a. Although the court
recognized that Rule 23.1 requires that shareholders be
given notice of the settlement, it read the purpose of that re-
quirement to be “so that other investors may contest the
faithfulness or honesty of the self-appointed plaintiffs; we do
not doubt that this monitoring is often useful and that inter-
vention to facilitate an appeal could be justified.” Pet. App.
6a.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Until the decision below, courts had uniformly held that
objecting shareholders in a derivative action had the limited
right to appeal the district court’s entry of a settlement
decree without formally intervening in the suit. That rule
finds support in this Court’s cases involving certain persons
deemed to be “quasi parties,” who have been summoned to
court or to whom notice of proceedings has been directed,
who appear in court to protect particular interests, and
whose rights are affected by claim preclusion principles by
the court’s judgment. See, eg., Williams v. Morgan, 111
U.S. 684 (1884); Blossom v. The Milwaukee R.R., 68 U.S. (1
Wall.) 655 (1863). That line of cases, coupled with the pro-
cedures of and the purposes behind Federal Rule of Civil
Procedure 23.1, support the limited right of objecting share-
holders to appeal the court’s decree overruling their objec-
tions and approving the settlement. Rule 23.1 requires
directed notice to all shareholders so that any objector to a

a ny

5

settlement may show cause why the settlement should not
be approved. The court’s entry of a seitlement decree has
claim preclusive effect, extinguishing the right of the cor-
poration and the shareholders thereafter to bring the same
claim.

The decision below erred in its reliance on Marino v.
Ortiz, 484 U.S. 301 (1988), which involved an attempt to
appeal in a class action suit by non-parties who were not
members of the class. In Marino, the appellants were
strangers to the litigation and were not precluded by the
judgment from subsequently litigating their claims. The
court also erred in relying on Federal Rule of Appellate
Procedure 3(c), which defines the contents of the notice of

appeal and does not specify that the “party or parties”

taking the appeal must be limited to the party or parties who
were formally named in the district court proceedings.

ARGUMENT

OBJECTING SHAREHOLDERS MAY APPEAL AN
ORDER APPROVING A SETTLEMENT IN A DERIVA-
TIVE SUIT

A. The Right Of Objecting Shareholders To Ap-
peal Is Longstanding And Grounded In This
Court’s Cases Involving Quasi Parties

In overruling one of its prior decisions, the Seventh
Circuit departed from a uniform rule in derivative actions
that had long been applied in the courts of appeals per-
mitting an objecting shareholder to appeal without formal
intervention if the district court overruled the shareholder's
objections in entering a settlement decree. See Bell Atlantic
Corp. v. Bolger, 2 F.3d 1304, 1308 n.6 (3d Cir. 1993); Tryforos
v. Icarian Development Co., 518 F.2d 1258, 1263 n.22 (7th
Cir. 1975) (Stevens, J.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1091 (1976),
overruled by Pet. App. 7a; Cohen v. Young, 127 F.2d 721 (6th
Cir. 1942). That rule had been reported by influential

6

commentators without any question as to its validity. See,
eg., 70 C. Wright et al., Federal Practice & Procedure
§ 1839, at 182 (2d ed. 1986) (Han objector to the settlement
may appeal the court’s approval of the compromise”); 3B J.
Moore, 5 Moore’s Federal Practice J 23.1 2413] (2d ed. 1996)
(same). Indeed, one commentator wrote in 1969 that “[i}f the
court approves the compromise [between plaintiff-share-
holders and defendants], the objector has an absolute right
to appeal.” W. Haudek, The Settlement and Dismissal of
Shareholders’ Actions—Part II: The Settlement, 23 SW. LJ.
765, 803 (1969). Although the rule was widely accepted, its
origins and underlying legal basis appear to have been
forgotten.

1. The modern application of the rule that objecting
shareholders may appeal an order approving a settlement to
which they object stems from the Sixth Circuit’s decision in
Cohen v. Young, supra. That case, which was decided
shortly after promulgation of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure, involved a shareholder in a derivative action who
brought forward evidence in support of his objection to a
proposed settlement, along with a motion to intervene as a
party. The district court denied the objector’s intervention
motion and refused to consider the evidence proffered in
support of the objection. The objecting shareholder did not
appeal the denial of his motion to intervene, but rather
appealed from the district court’s entry of a final decree
approving the settlement. On appeal, the plaintiff share-
holder moved to dismiss on “the ground that appellant is not
a party to this cause and hence has no standing in this court.”
127 F.2d at 724. The court of appeals deemed “not decisive”
the fact that the objecting shareholder had been denied the
right to intervene. “Appellant appeared in court in answer
to the court’s notice to show cause why the settlement
should not be approved. This being the case, he was ‘like a
defendant who is summoned by process of court and after an
adverse ruling has the right to appeal. bid. In reaching

7

that conclusion, the court noted that “[tjhis ruling was spe-
cifically approved in Johnson v. Manhattan Ry. Co., 289 U.S.
479, 495. Appellant is entitled as of right to prosecute the
appeal.” Ibid. (parallel citations omitted).

The Cohen court thus reasoned that because Federal Rule
of Civil Procedure 23 created a specific mechanism for
directed notice to all shareholders that they could appear in
the district court proceedings for the limited purpose of
showing cause why the proposed settlement should not be
approved, the objecting shareholder became a “party” for
that limited purpose. 127 F.2d at 724. The requirement of
formal intervention under Rule 24 did not speak te- the
question raised by the shareholder’s objection, which was
“whether the compromise recommended did in fact protect
the interest of the corporation and of the stockholders.” Id.
at 725. See also J. Moore & E. Levi, Federal Intervention,
Part I: The Right to Intervene and Reorganization, 45 Yale
L.J. 565, 592 (1936) (noting that a stockholder typically can-
not intervene in a lawsuit because litigation decisions are
controlled by the directors and officers of the corporation).

2. The Cohen court appropriately drew from this Court’s
analogous decision in Johnson. In that case, the Court
addressed whether a separate shareholder derivative suit
could be brought by a minority shareholder on behalf of a
company that, in a prior non-derivative suit, had been the
subject ofan order appointing a temporary receiver. The
object of the minority shareholder’s subsequent suit was also
the appointment of a receiver. In ruling that the minority
shareholder and another plaintiff could not bring that suit,

Cohen also cited Pianta v. H. M. Reich Co., 77 F 2d 888, 890 (2d Cir.
1935), in which the court found “no merit in appellees’ contention that the
appellant has no standing to appeal because it was not an original party to
the suit and has not sought to intervene. The appellant, having appeared
in opposition to the order to show cause, is ‘like a defendant who is
summoned by process of court and after an adverse ruling has the right to

appeal.’”

8

the Court noted that both had been ordered in the prior
proceeding to show cause “why the temporary receivership
should not be continued.” 289 U.S. at 495. They could have
objected on a variety of grounds, “and had the receivership
been continued without giving effect to these objections they
would have been entitled to appeal.” Jbid. Although the
Court cited as support for that conclusion a number of court
of appeals decisions, see ibid. n.4, it could as easily have
relied upon numerous of its own prior decisions that the
courts of appeals had cited, which permitted limited appeals
in discrete circumstances by certain “quasi parties” to the
underlying lawsuit.“

2 In particular, see Christian v. R. Hoe & Co., 68 F.2d 218, 218 (2d
Cir. 1983) (upholding appeal of a “class A stockholder who appeared on the
return day of the order to show cause why the receivership of the
defendant should not be made permanent. He opposed the application
unsuccessfully and appeals. He is rightfully here, like a defendant who is
summoned by process of court and after an adverse ruling has the right to
appeal.”); Mitchell v. Lay, 48 F.2d 79, 84-85 (9th Cir. 1980) (“It is true that
the appellant is not a party to the original action, but when he was brought
into court by the process of the court at the instigation of the parties to
the action or of the receiver he became a party to the ancillary pro-
ceedings and entitled to appeal from the judgment rendered against him.
The judgment therein rendered was as to him final and appealable as
such.”); see also Blake v. District Court, 59 F.2d 78, 79 (9th Cir. 1932)
(holding that a person aggrieved by appointment of receiver should file
objections in the district court and then appeal an adverse decision rather
than petition for an original writ in the court of appeals).

Although the phrase “quasi parties” typically was not utilized by
mid-twentieth century courts in the shareholder and receiver contexts,
the holdings of the later courts relied on this Court’s decisions from the
nineteenth and early twentieth centuries establishing rights of appeal for
persons termed “quasi parties” in particular actions analogous to share-
holder derivative suits. See, e. g., West v. Radio-Keith-Orpheum Corp., 70
F.2d 621, 623-624 (2d Cir. 1934) (L. Hand, J.) (citing Blossom v. The
Milwaukee R. R., 68 U.S. (1 Wall.) 655 (1863); Williams v. Morgan, 111
U.S. 684 (1884); Kneeland v. American Loan & Trust Co., 186 U.S. 89
(1890)); Christian, 63 F.2d at 218 (citing Hinckley v. Gilman, Clinton &

In Blossom v. The Milwaukee Railroad, 68 U.S. (1 Wall.)
655 (1863), for example, the Court addressed the issue, “Is
the appellant so far a party to the original suit that he can
appeal?” Jd. at 655. In that case Blossom had made a bid for
property in response to a decree foreclosing a mortgage and
ordering a sale. The sale was suspended and Blossom sought
to have the sale completed and confirmed. After the district
court refused his request, he appealed. The railroad moved
to dismiss the appeal on the ground that Blossom was not a
party to the suit in the district court and therefore not
entitled to prosecute an appeal. This Court rejected the
railroad’s argument and upheld Blossom’s appeal. In a
passage that would be much quoted and cited in later
decisions, the Court explained:

It is certainly true that Blossom] cannot appeal from
the original decree of foreclosure, nor from any other
order or decree of the court made prior to his bid. It,
however, seems to be well settled, that after a decree
adjudicating certain rights between the parties to a suit,
other persons having no previous interest in the liti-
gation may become connected with the case, in the
course of subsequent proceedings, in such a manner as to
subject them to the jurisdiction of the court, and render
them liable to its orders; and that they may in like man-
ner acquire rights in regard to the subject-matter of the
litigation, which the court is bound to protect. Sureties,
signing appeal bonds, stay bonds, delivery bonds, and
receipters under writs of attachment, become quasi par-
ties to the proceedings, and subject themselves to the
jurisdiction of the court, so that summary judgments

Springfield R.R., 94 U.S. 467 (1876)). See also United States v. Seigel, 168
F.2d 143, 145-146 (D.C. Cir. 1948) (distinguishing Supreme Court quasi
party cases because appellant had not participated in distiict court
proceedings and thus had no basis for appealing without formally inter-

vening as a party).

10

may be rendered on their bonds or recognizances. So in
the case of a creditor’s bill, or other suit, by which a fund
is to be distributed to parties, some of whom are not
before the court; these are at liberty to come before the
master after the decree, and establish their claims to
share in the distribution.

Id. at 655-656.

Blossom was not an anomalous decision. In Williams v.
Morgan, 111 U.S. 684 (1884), the Court held that objectors to
trustee charges were “quasi parties” entitled to appeal an
adverse decision without formally intervening through the
filing of a complaint: “Williams and Thomson had such an
interest [in the trustee charges], and were so situated in the
cause, that they had a right, by leave of the court, to except
and object to the charges and allowances presented by the
trustees and receivers, and that they had a right to appeal
from the decree of the Circuit Court to this court.” 111 U.S.
at 700. As support for that holding, the Court drew on a line
of cases starting with Blossom that had upheld the right of
quasi parties “to come into this court, or to be brought here
on appeal, when a final decision of their t or claim has
been made by the court below.” Id. at 699." The Court also

See Blossom, 68 U.S. (1 Wall.) at 656 (purchaser of property subject
to foreclosure decree permitted to appeal as a quasi party), Minnesota Co.
v. St. Paul Co., 69 U.S. (2 Wall.) 609, 633-634 (1864) (holding that “nominal
parties” could not evade appellate review of an order decreed in their
favor on the ground that they were not formal parties in the district
court), Hinckley, 94 U.S. at 469 (receiver allowed to appeal from a decree
against him to pay a sum of money in the cause to which he was appointed
receiver but was not a party); Sage v. Railroad Co., 96 U.S. 712, 714 (1877)
(quasi parties interested in order confirming a sale permitted to appeal);
Trustees v. Greenough, 105 U.S. 527, 531 (1881) (allowing appeal by trus-
tees from an order awarding costs and expenses to a complainant suing on
behalf of a trust fund); Hovey v. McDonald, 109 U.S. 150, 155-156 (1883)

(pern..tting appeal to be brought against a receiver from an order made in

11

relied upon prineiples of equity that recognized the rights
and interests of quasi parties to partieipate in trial pro-
ceedings without formal intervention and to appeal decisions
that would bind their subsequent rights.’ Decades earlier,
Justice Story had recognized the rights of class members in
representative suits to appear in court “as quasi parties to
the record, at least for the purpose of taking the benefit of
the decree, and of entitling themselves to other equitable
relief, if their rights are jeoparded.” West v. Randall, 29 F.
Cas. 718, 722-723 (C. C. D. R. I. 1820) (No. 17,424). See also J.
Story, Commentaries on Equity Pleadings § 409, at 353 (9th
ed. 1879) (noting that “other persons in interest” who are not
parties may bring a bill of review “as far as their own
interests are concerned”). Thus, as the doctrine of quasi
parties developed, it included only a narrow range of appel-
lants, but it did include objecting members in a class suit.
During the same era in which the Court was developing
the narrow right of quasi parties to appeal in limited cir-
cumstances, it was also considering numerous cases in-

volving the “well settled maxim of the law, that ‘no person

can bring a writ of error to reverse a judgment who is not a
party or privy to the record. Bayard v. Lombard, 50 U.S.
(9 How.) 529, 551 (1850). Rather than calling into question

his favor notwithstanding receivers contention that he was not a “party”
to the underlying law suit).

5 See, ., F. Calvert, A Treatise Upon The Law Respecting Parties
To Suits In Equity 55-66 (1847). See also Minnesota Co., 69 U.S. (2 Wall.)
at 634 n. f (citing Calvert’s treatise); Blossom, 68 U.S. (1 Wall.) at 656 n.
(same).

See, ¢.g, Litchfield v. Goodnow, 128 U.S. 549, 551-552 (1887)
(holding that administrator of lands distinct from those at issue in
underlying suit was “in law a stranger to the proceedings, and in no way
bound thereby,” and thus was not a party or in privity to afford a right of
appeal); Indiana S. R. R. v. Liverpool, London & Globe Ins. Co., 109 US.
168, 173 (1883) (where leave to join suit as a party is denied, person cannot
appeal from final decree); Ex parte Cockcroft, 104 U.S. 578, 579 (1881)

12

the general principle that only a party or a privy to the
record may appeal, the doctrine of quasi parties com-
plemented—indeed exemplified—that rule. In more recent
years, the Court has invoked the general principle that only
parties may appeal without mentioning (and, presumably,
without intending to cast doubt on) its quasi party cases.
See, eg., Marino v. Ortiz, 484 U.S. 301, 304 (1988) (per
curiam).

3. In the shareholder context, Cohen and similar cases
suggest that adoption of the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-
cedure was not intended to affect adversely the rights of
objecting shareholders as quasi parties to appeal approval of
a settlement of a derivative action over their objections. As
the owners of the corporation for whose benefit the de-
rivative action is brought, shareholders are not strangers to
the action.’ Indeed, the relationship of the shareholder to
the court’s decision to approve a settlement is characteristic
of a quasi party, as that phrase was used in this Court’s
cases.

When a particular shareholder brings a derivative action
on behalf of the corporation, that shareholder becomes the

(creditor heard in district court as a matter of favor not permitted to
appeal where he was not a party and never asked to be one); Ex parte
Cutting, 94 U.S. 14, 21-22 (1876) (stockholders could not appeal as parties
where they had been denied leave to intervene and where the appeal
sought a discretionary writ of mandamus); Stacy v. Thrasher, 47 U.S. (6
How.) 44, 49-50 (1848) (person not in privity can neither be bound by
judgment nor appeal from it); Ford v. Douglas, 46 U.S. (6 How.) 148, 160
(1847) (same).

In taking a contrary view, the court below opined that, since a
derivative action is actually an action brought on behalf of the corporation,
the decision to compromise the corporation's claim is not the share-
holders’, who “have no more right to speak for the firm or control its
litigation decisions than bondholders or banks or landlords, all of whom
have contractual interests that may be affected by litigation.” Pet. App.
3a. The court also likened a corporation's shareholders to its “employees,
vendors, and lawyers.” /bid.

13

representative of the corporation and all its shareholders in
vindicating the rights of the corporation. Hawes v. Oakland,
104 U.S. 450, 460 (1881). See also Cohen v. Beneficial Indus.
Loan Corp., 387 U.S. 541, 548 (1949). Although the named
plaintiff in a derivative action sues on behalf of the cor-
poration, the shareholders necessarily benefit from whatever
recovery the corporation may realize on its claims by the
resulting enhancement of the value of their property. See 5
Moores Federal Practice § 23. 1. 0213 Hh (D. Coquillette et
al., eds., 3d ed. 1997) (“As an owner of securities in the
corporation, the suing shareholder, along with all other
shareholders, is harmed by an injury to the corporation.”).
That principle is reflected in three provisions in Federal
Rule of Civil Procedure 23.1. First, Rule 23.1(1) contains a
“contemporaneous ownership” requirement that only a per-
son who was a shareholder when the injury occurred may
bring a derivative action. That requirement ensures that
only a shareholder who has suffered an injury (by reason of
stock ownership at the time the alleged injury occurred) may
press the elaim, and establishes a necessary pre-condition

of the shareholders generally. See 5 Moore’s Federal Prac-
tice, supra, at § 23.1.02[3}[b]. Ownership of the corporation’s
stock, therefore, gives both the objecting shareholder and
the plaintiff shareholder a shared interest in the outcome of
the case.

Second, Rule 23.1 provides that a “derivative action may
not be maintained if it appears that the plaintiff does not
fairly and adequately represent the interests of the
shareholders * * * similarly situated in enforcing the right
of the corporation.” That provision recognizes that the
named plaintiff in a derivative action may only assert the

8 See, %., Daily Income Fund, Inc. v. Fox, 464 U.S. 523, 581 n.6
(1984); 70 C. Wright et al., 7C Federal Practice & Procedure: Civil § 1828
at 60 (2d ed. 1986).

14

corporation’s claim for the sole benefit of the shareholders,
the owners of the corporation. See Cohen v. Beneficial
Indus. Loan Corp., 887 U.S. at 549 (A stockholder sues in a
derivative action, “not for himself alone, but as repre-
sentative of a class comprising all who are similarly
situated.”).

Most critically, Rule 23.1 provides that a shareholder
derivative action “shall not be dismissed or compromised
without the approval of the court, and notice of the proposed
dismissal or compromise shall be given to shareholders or
members in such manner as the court directs.” The
requirements are complementary. By ensuring that notice is
given to all shareholders before a proposed dismissal or
compromise settlement is entered by the court, Rule 23.1
sets in motion a process by which all shareholders must
either formally participate in the proceedings or be bound by
the decree without having given the court the benefit of
their views on whether the court should enter the settle-
ment.

The Rule requires fair notice to shareholders so that they
may object in court to the proposed settlement. See, g.,
Maher v. Zapata Corp., 714 F 2d 436, 451 (6th Cir. 1983). By
longstanding practice, objecting shareholders “must be
allowed to have meaningful participation at a settlement
hearing,” including “certain rights to discovery and cross-
examination on issues pertaining to the settlement.” 5
Moores Federal Practice, supra, at § 23.1. 10[ r Hel. The
requirements of notice and an opportunity to object arise
from the recognition that individual shareholders have a per-
sonal stake in the presentation of the claim on the
corporation’s behalf, and that settlement of the case will
foreclose both the corporation and its shareholders from
later pursuing the corporate claim, since entry of a
settlement decree will have a preclusive effect on both the
corporation and the shareholders with respect to that claim.
See, e.g., Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Epstein, 516 U.S.

—

15

367, 379 (1996).’ The settlement hearing constitutes the only
opportunity for a corporation’s owners to exercise any
measure of control over a corporate claim that, by definition,
is not directed by the corporation’s shareholder-elected man-
agers. Rule 23.1 accordingly prevents a corporation’s claim
from being compromised without an opportunity for the
corporation’s owners to participate in the decision. Thus,
because their underlying claim is the same as the named
plaintiff-shareholders, notice is directed to them to show
cause why the settlement shouid not be approved, under
pain of losing their right to object at all yet being bound by
the judgment. Once the Rule 23.1 notice is given, the
judgment of the court approving the settlement has claim-
preclusive effect on the objecting shareholders. In light of
the foregoing specific factors, objecting shareholders may

properly be regarded as quasi parties to the district court
proceedings.

4. Although this Court’s decisions recognize the rights of
quasi parties to appeal, in only limited circumstances may a
person who is not formally a named party to a case be
regarded as a quasi party. In our view, in light of the

Notice also protects against due process concerns. See, ¢.g., Jones
v. Nuclear Pharmacy, Inc., 741 F.2d 322, 325 (10th Cir. 1984) (citing
Baldwin v. Hale, 68 U.S. (1 Wall.) 223, 233 (1863)) (“Parties whose rights
are to be affected are cntitled to be heard; and in order that they may
enjoy that right they must first be notified.”); Maher, 714 F.2d at 451
(holding that the “essential purpose of the notice [under Rule 23.1], with
regard to the shareholders’ due process rights, * is to] fairly apprise
the prospective members of the class of the terms of the proposed
settlement and of the options that are open to them”). Cf. Phillips
Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797, 811-812 (1985) (holding that to bind
an absent plaintiff in class action, State must provide “minimal procedural
due process protection” including “notice plus an opportunity to be heard
and participate in the litigation”); Risen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417 U.S.
156, 178 (1974) (notice to class members under Rule 23 “is designed to

fulfil) requirements of due process to which the class action procedure is of
course subject”).

16

importance of the regularity and certainty provided by the
Federal Rules of Civil and Appellate Procedure and the
potential for uncertain application of this Court’s quasi party
cases in other contexts, recognition of quasi party status in
situations not covered in the federal rules of procedure
should be sparing indeed.” Nonetheless, the Court’s quasi
party precedents do furnish significant support for the right
of appeal in the objecting shareholder settlement context,
because: Rule 23.1 specifically recognizes the shareholder’s
personal rights; this Court’s cases arising prior to adoption
of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure involved similar
types of interests, objections, and proceedings; and, until the
decision below, the consistent practice since the adoption of
the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure has been that objecting
shareholders in a derivative action need not intervene before
appealing the district court’s decision to overrule their
objections to the settlement.

Furthermore, persons recognized as being quasi parties
for a particular purpose (here, objecting to a settlement) do
not have unlimited rights of participation and appeal without
formal intervention. First, under this Court’s quasi party
cases generally, the subject of the appeal may encompass
only that aspect of the ancillary litigation over which the
quasi party had a specific and recognized interest and as to
which he actually participated in the district court. Thus, in
Kneeland v. American Loan & Trust Co., 136 U.S. 89, 94
(1890), the Court limited the scope of the “right of appeal *
* * to all matters adjudicated after [the quasi party’s] bid
which affect the terms of that bid, or the burdens which he
assumes thereby, and which are not withdrawn from his
challenge by the terms of the decree under which he

10 In a class action, for example, a question may arise whether an
objector has standing as a class member to participate in the process. The

parties presumably would have an opportunity to test that standing, just
as they do when a motion to intervene is filed.

17

purchases.” See also Sage v. Railroad Co., 96 U.S. 712, 714
(1877); J. Story, swpra, at 353. In the Rule 23.1 context, an
objecting shareholder would have the right to appeal the
district court’s judgment only to the extent it overruled the
objections and entered the settlement decree as a result. An
objecting shareholder wishing to participate more expan-
sively in the litigation would have to intervene formally as a
party.

Second, the quasi party must have been the subject of an
order or directed notice to appear in the district court proc-
eedings and must have asserted a personal right that was
merged into the court’s ruling. See, e.g., Blossom, 68 U.S. (1
Wall.) at 656. That assertion need not involve a formal
intervention motion,“ but it must be personal to the quasi
party and be grounded in a cognizable legal interest.” Here,
the objecting shareholder has a personal stake in the

1! It is clear from this Court’s cases concerning participation by
persons deemed to be quasi parties that the Court often used the term
“intervene” in the sense of participation in the district court proceedings,
and not formal intervention through the filing of a complaint. See, e. g.,
Davis v. Mercantile Trust Co., 152 U.S. 590, 593 (1894) (describing how
quasi party “was not a party to the record, either plaintiff or defendant;
was never substituted for either; filed no bill, cross-bill, or answer, but
was simply permitted to intervene, with liberty to be heard upon any and
all proceedings for the protection of his interests as bondholder and
stockholder”); Williams v. Morgan, 111 U.S. at 698-699 (describing how
quasi parties “incidentally interested in some branch of a cause have been
allowed to intervene for the purpose of protecting their interest”);
Trustees v. Greenough, 105 U.S. 527, 586 (1881) (describing how, in the
“vast amount of litigation which has arisen in this country upon railroad
mortgages, where various parties have intervened for the protection of
their rights, * * * it has been the common practice * * * to make fair
and just allowances for expenses and counsel fees to the trustees” and to
allow quasi parties to object to such awards).

12 Thus, for example, a party’s attorney sanctioned by a district court
is a quasi party entitled to appeal that order without formal intervention,
see, ¢.g., Collier v. Marshall, Dennehey, Warner, Coleman & Goggin, 977
F.2d 98, 94-95 (3d Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 977 (1998).

18

outcome of a derivative action settlement, is notified to show
cause why the settlement should not be approved, and is
entitled by law to object to settlement. He therefore may
appeal without intervening. By contrast, a citizen who
objects to entry of a government-sponsored settlement de-
cree may not. And a quasi party may not appeal an order

1 See, e.g., Antitrust Penalties and Procedure Act, 15 U.S.C. 160
(Tunney Act). Tunney Act proceedings afford an opportunity to the public
to comment on settlements, and differ significantly from shareholder
derivative suits. First, derivative suits are prosecuted on behalf of the
corporation by a shareholder who otherwise stands on equal footing with
. allether-shareholders, whereas the antitrust laws give the United States
special status as champion of the public interest. Compare 15 U.S.C. 4, 25
(duty of government to institute proceedings to restrain antitrust viola-
tions) with 15 U.S.C. 15 (damage suits by persons injured in their business
or property by antitrust violations), 26 (injunctive relief for persons
threatened with toss-or damage from antitrust violations). Moreover, a
court’s review of the Attorney General’s exercise of discretion in reaching
a settlement in such a case is necessarily deferential, in part to avoid
constitutional questions that might otherwise arise. Massachusetts School
of Law at Andover, Inc. v. United States, 118 F.3d 776, 783 (D.C. Cir.
1997). And unlike absent shareholders in derivative actions, those who are
not formal parties to a government antitrust decree are not bound by it.
See id. at 781; United States v. LTV Corp., 746 F.2d 51, 58-54 & nn. 5 & 6
(D.C. Cir. 1984) (per curiam) (concept of “privy to the record” includes
absent shareholders in a derivative action who are bound by judgment;
distinguishing non-parties in Tunney Act proceedings). Finally, non-
parties who participate in Tunney Act proceedings without intervening do
so pursuant to specific statutory authorization providing for such
participation. Sve 15 U.S.C. 160008). Intervention would be required as a
prerequsite to a Tunney Act appeal. See, eg, LTV Corp,, 746 F.2d at 54
(“those who object to the entry of a consent judgment must seek to
intervene in the proceedings * * * as a condition of taking an appeal”).

Like the antitrust enforcement settlement process, many environ-
mental suits involving the government represent the public interest at
large (as opposed to a corporation’s financial interest), and thus courts
afford deference to settlements reached between the government and a

private party. Such cases routinely provide notice and an opportunity for
public comment to the government before entry of a settlement by a court,

19

that does not have a binding effect on its actions or
otherwise is not a final order. See, e., Webster Coal & Coke
Co. v. Cassatt, 207 U.S. 181, 187 (1907) (noting that It here
was here no attachment for contempt, no judgment on
default, and no independent and collateral proceeding, the
order disposing of which could be considered as a final

decree”).
B. Upholding The Rights Of Objecting Shareholders
To Appeal District Court Decisions Approving

Settlements Furthers The Purposes Under
Rule 23.1 :

Rule 23.1 protects absent shareholders from settlements
that unfairly compromise their interests by providing them
with notice of and an opportunity to object to settlements
and by requiring court approval of settlements. Affording
objecting shareholders the narrow right to appeal the
overruling of their objections furthers that important pur-
pose.
1. Prior to the adoption of Rule 23 in 1938 (in which the
notice and court-approval requirements were first provided),

but would not afford persons who comment quasi party status. See, e. g.,
Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability
Act of 1980 (CERCLA), 42 U.S.C. 9622(d\(2); Solid Waste Disposal Act
(SWDA), 42 U.S.C. 6973(d); see also 28 C. F. R. 50.7 (Department of Justice
policy providing for public notice and comment on settlements of environ-
mental claims seeking to abate the discharge of pollutants). Those
situations are quite different from the derivative suit settlement at issue
here. In environmental settlements, members of the general public are
given an opportunity to make their views known but are not the subjects
of a show cause order or a directed notice and thus are not given a direct
right to participate as litigants without first intervening to become a
party; the general rule is that one must intervene in order to litigate
(including appeal). Indeed, the federal statutes involved generally contain
provisions concerning intervention. See CERCLA, 42 U.S.C. 9613(i);
SWDA, 42 U.S.C. 6972(b\1) & 6972(bX2\E); see also 28 C. F. R. 50.7 (DOJ
policy reserves right to oppose intervention).

20

some courts allowed the named stockholder unilaterally to
dismiss or compromise the derivative action without notify-
ing the other stockholders and without approval of the court.
See C. McLaughlin, Capacity of Plaintiff-Stockholder to
Terminate a Stockholder’s Suit, 46 Yale L.J. 421, 430-432
(1937)."* Equity Rule 27 then in effect did not require notice
to stockholders or court approval in the event of a dismissal
or compromise. McLaughlin recommended that to protect
the absent stockholders, the court should be required to
approve the settlement. Id. at 433-35.

The 1938 drafters of Rule 23 agreed with McLaughlin,
citing his article in support of the new requirement of notice
to absent shareholders and court approval of any proposed
dismissal or compromise of a stockholder derivative action.
See Rule 23 Advisory Committee Notes, note to subdivision
(c) (1937). As Professor Moore stated in explaining the pur-
pose of Rule 23(c), “notice will tend to lessen strike suits by
shareholders, since a shareholder and his counsel will not be
able to sue and settle in the dark; and it will prevent un-
righteous compromise of a just shareholders’ action.” J.
Moore & M. Cohn, Federal Class Actions—Jurisdiction and
Effect of Judgment, 32 Ill. L. Rev. 555, 556 (1938). The 1966
amendments to Rule 23, which separated out derivative
actions for treatment in a new Rule 23.1, did not make any
change to the notice and approval process in shareholder
derivative actions.

14 As McLaughlin explained, It jo allow a single stockholder or group
of stockholders the power to make a private compromise of the corporate
cause of action places a heavy reliance upon their judgment,” which raises
the problem that the corporation's claim is “at the mercy of individuals
who have no hope of personal recovery even if the suit is prosecuted
successfully, and who stand to suffer considerable losses in costs if
unsuccessful; obviously a wide door is opened to strike suits and collusive
payments to stockholders which may rarely, if ever, be recovered by the
corporation.” 46 Yale LJ. at 430.

21

Rule 23.1 thus embodies the historical recognition that,
although plaintiffs and their counsel ordinarily strive to act
conscientiously in the best interests of the shareholders, self-
designated shareholder plaintiffs and their counsel do not
invariably further those interests. A derivative plaintiff may
misapprehend the strength of the case or the value of the
settlement; plaintiffs’ counsel may lack the strength of will to
see a case to conclusion; and in rare instances a settlement
may even involve faithlessness, dishonesty, or collusion
among the parties. “There can be no blinking at the fact that
the interests of the plaintiff in a stockholder’s derivative suit
and of his attorney are by no means congruent.” Saylor v.
Lindsley, 456 F. 2d 896, 900 (2d Cir. 1972) (Friendly, J.). See
also Bell Atlantic Corp., 2 F.3d at 1309 (“Courts and
commentators have long recognized the ‘agency costs’ in-
herent in class and derivative actions where the client, as
principal, is neither well-situated nor adequately motivated
to closely monitor and control the attorney, his agent.”)
(footnotes omitted).

2. Notice directed to shareholders informs them of a
proposed settlement so that they may assess its adequacy
and affords them an opportunity to object to a settlement
that does not protect their interest. The requirement of

10 The notice informs shareholders of the substantive terms of the
proposed settlement and orders them to show cause why the settlement
should not be approved as fair, reasonable and adequate to the
corporation. The notice specifies that shareholders may object (usually in
writing), informs them of the time and place for a hearing on whether the
settlement should be approved, and warns the shareholders that approval
of the settlement will bar all future claims. See, ¢.g., Maher v. Zapata
Corp., 714 F.2d 436, 450-453 (5th Cir. 1983); White v. Auerbach, 500 F.2d
822, 823 (2d Cir. 1974); Greenspun v. Bogan, 492 F.2d 375, 378 (Ist Cir.
1974); Bernstein v. Mediobanca Banca di Credito Finanzario-Societa Per
Azioni, 78 F. R. D. 1, 3 (S. D. N. V. 1978); Boggess v. Hogan, 410 F. Supp.
433, 442-443 (N. D. Ill. 1975); In re National Student Marketing Litig., 68
F.R.D. 151, 152 (D.D.C. 1974); Glicken v. Bradford, 35 F.R.D. 144, 148
(S. D. N. V. 1964). See also Manual for Complex Litigation 3d §$§ 30.41,

22

court approval of any settlement is intended to protect
further the interests of absent shareholders. “It is well
established that a court should not merely rubber stamp
whatever settlement is proposed by the parties to a
shareholder derivative action. A court must, instead, exer-
cise judgment sufficiently independent and objective to
safeguard the interests of shareholders not directly involved
in the action.” Greenspun v. Bogan, 492 F.2d 375, 378 (Ist
Cir. 1974). Cf. In re Jiffy Lube Securities Litig., 927 F.2d
155, 158 (4th Cir. 1991) (“The primary concern addressed by
Rule 23(e) is the protection of class members whose rights
may not have been given adequate consideration during the
settlement negotiations.”). The court may not approve a
settlement without finding it to be “fair, reasonable and
adequate.” Jones v. Nuclear Pharmacy, Inc., 741 F.2d 322,
324 (10th Cir. 1984); see also Granada Investments, Inc. v.
DWG Corp., 962 F 2d 1208, 1205 (6th Cir. 1992)."°

The objecting shareholders play a pivotal role in the
settlement approval process, since they alone have the
incentive to attempt to stop a process that builds momentum
from the moment a deal is struck between the derivative

83.36 (“Objections may be raised not only by class members but also by
parties seeking to intervene under Fed. R. Civ. P. 24.”). The order in this
case conformed to those general types, providing that “[aJny shareholder
of record of ADM as of May 29, 1997, may appear and show cause * * *
why the proposed settlement of the derivative claims embodied in the
Stipulation should or should not be approved as fair, reasonable and
adequate.” Order, No. 95-C V-2279 (C.D. Ill. May 30, 1997).

16 The Seventh Cireuit's statement that the only purpose of notice
under Rule 23.1 is so “that other investors may contest the faithfulness or
honesty of the self-appointed plaintiff” is belied by the established focus of
a district court’s inquiry in determining whether the substantive terms of
settlement are fair to shareholders and the corporation. The proper scope
of the inquiry at the settlement hearing also is demonstrated by what is
set forth in the notice under Rule 23.1, which does not restrict objectors to

contesting the good faith of the representative. See supra note 15.

plaintiff and the defendant."’ Once the derivative plaintiff
and the defendant have come to terms, they are advocates
for their settlement, a development that deprives the court
of the benefit of an adversarial presentation on the question
Rule 23.1 directs the court to decide: whether the settlement
is in the best interests of all shareholders, named and absent
alike. When the once-adversaries, now prospective settling
parties, present an agreement to the court, “[aljll the
dynamics conduce to judicial approval of such settlements.”
Alleghany Corp. v. Kirby, 383 F.2d 327, 347 (2d Cir. 1964)
(Friendly, J., dissenting), aff'd en bane by equally divided
court, 340 F.2d 311 (2d Cir. 1965), cert. dismissed, 384 U.S.
28 (1966). Objecting shareholders, therefore, serve a critical
function because they alone have the incentive to inform the
court that a proposed settlement is deficient, disadvanta-
geous, or unfair to all shareholders.”

3. The opportunity to challenge settlements of those
private disputes in the district court without the cor-
responding right to appeal is not sufficient when there is a
natural tendency among trial courts to favor approving
settlements to which the named parties have agreed. In that
sense, “[j)udicial approval of the settlement is an imperfect
safeguard.” J. Coffee, Jr., The Unfaithful Champion: The
Plaintiff as Monitor in Shareholder Litigation, Law &
Contemp. Probs., Summer 1985, 5, 31.

7 By contrast, such concerns are significantly less pronounced under
statutory regimes that provide for settlement of actions brought by the
government to enforce various laws because of the broader public interest
the government is entrusted to protect. See supra note 13.

8 See Bell Atlantic Corp., 2 F.3d at 1310 (objectors give court access
to information on the settlement’s merits); Papilsky v. Berndt, 466 F. 2d
251, 258 (2d Cir. 1972) (notice is essential to ensure resolution in best
interest of corporation and absent shareholders); Cohen, 127 F.2d at 724-
725 (court benefits from broader view of the settlement provided by

objectors).

24

An unfettered, though narrowly tailored, right to appeal
the district court’s decision to approve the settlement will
further the purposes underlying Rule 23.1 by ensuring the
opportunity for appellate scrutiny of what otherwise would
be largely unreviewable proceedings. In that sense, normal
intervention may not be a viable alternative for the share-
holder whose objections are overruled. The district court
may be too readily disposed to find that an objecting
shareholder was adequately represented within the meaning
of Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 24, and thus deny
intervention, if it also concludes that the settlement was fair,
reasonable and adequate within the meaning of Rule 23.1.
Moreover, the standards for objecting under Rule 23.1 are
different from intervention under Rule 24, and it was
precisely that point that the Cohen court recognized in
ruling that an objecting shareholder had a limited right to
appeal without demonstrating that the standards for
intervention had been satisfied. See 127 F.2d at 724-725; see
also Bell Atlantic Corp., 2 F.3d at 1310 (cautioning against
the erection of “obstacles to challenging derivative action
settlement agreements”).

C. The Court Of Appeals’ Contrary Reasoning Is
Unpersuasive

The court of appeals concluded that if the objecting
shareholders wished to appeal, they must first intervene as
parties. As a practical matter, that conclusion imposes an
unnecessary requirement. By appealing the district court’s
approval of the settlement, the objecting shareholders are
merely seeking to persuade the court of appeals that the
district court erred in rejecting the arguments they were
required to make if they hoped to avert the imposition of a
binding judgment adverse to their interests. Requiring
intervention as a party for the purpose of making an
appearance in the court of appeals threatens to interpose an
unwarranted obstacle to what historically has been an

essentially automatic right that comparably situated quasi
parties have had to pursue their appeals.”

As a matter of law and precedent, the court of appeals’
reliance on this Court’s decision in Marino v. Ortiz, 484 U.S.
301 (1988), is misplaced. In Marino, a class action had been

brought by groups representing minority police officers who

challenged promotion practices by the New York City Police
Department. The lawsuit was settled by consent decree.

The decree was appealed, not by minority officers who were
members of the class, but by a group of white officers, who
had objected to the decree in district court but had not
sought to intervene as parties in the case. This Court held
that they could not appeal the consent decree without
intervening. Observing that It he rule that only parties to a
lawsuit, or those that properly become parties, may appeal
an adverse judgment,” the Court explained that “because
petitioners were not parties to the underlying lawsuit, and
because they failed to intervene for purposes of appeal, they

1% We are particularly concerned about the Seventh Cireuit's
suggestion that absent shareholders must demonstrate that the named
representative has been dishonest or unfaithful in order to intervene for
purposes of appeal. If that view were correct, even if the shareholders
were interested only in objecting to the fairness of a settlement, they
nonetheless would have to meet the heavier burden of proving bad faith
by the class representative before being permitted to appeal. The fairness
of a settlement does not turn simply on the good faith of the
representative. Other courts, moreover, have held that a represented
party must intervene prior to the settlement process. See Walker v. City
of Mesquite, 858 F.2d 1071, 1074 (Sth Cir. 1988) (describing motion to
intervene after entry of consent decree as “untimely”); Guthrie v. Evans,
815 F.2d 626, 628 (11th Cir. 1987) (class member may intervene as a
matter of right “in the course of the class action” to monitor repre-
sentation of his rights). We disagree with such a requirement because
judicial administration is ill-served by requiring absent class members or
shareholders to submit formal intervention motions simply to preserve
their right to appeal a settlement that has yet to be proposed or accepted.
See American Pipe & Constr. Co. v. Utah, 414 U.S. 538, 560-561 (1974).

may not appeal from the consent decree approving that
lawsuit’s settlement.” Marino, 484 U.S. at 304.

Marino is distinguishable from this case. Although the
interests of the white police officers were affected in some
sense by the consent decree in Marino, the action did not
involve any legal claim on their behalf; they were otherwise
strangers to the lawsuit; and they were not precluded by the
judgment from subsequently litigating any claims they
might have. See Martin v. Wilks, 490 U.S. 755, 763 (1989).
Thus, the non-party police officers in Marino were quite
different from the quasi-party objecting shareholders in this
case.” Here, the shareholders’ personal interests in their
corporation’s claim have been asserted on the shareholders’
behalf by the named plaintiff; the appealing shareholders
have appeared in district court in response to a show cause
notice to litigate the propriety of the settlement; and the
appealing shareholders will be foreclosed by the judgment
from pursuing those claims henceforth.”

2 Congress, of course, can limit challenges to a consent decree by
individuals whose claims were not asserted in the original action but
whose rights, nevertheless, are affected by the decree. For example, after
Martin v. Wilks, in 1991 Congress amended Title VII, 42 U.S.C. 2000e et
seq., to provide that any person who is given actual notice of a proposed
decree and who might be affected by it must state his or her objections to
the court reviewing the settlement at that time and may not file a later
challenge to the decree. See 42 U.S.C. 2000e-2(n). Thus, in a situation like
that presented in Marino, white officers with notice of a decree that might
affect their rights would have to appear in that court to file their
objections. Section 2000e-2(n) does not purport to change the rule in
Marino that such a person must intervene in order to appeal. The pre-
chasive effect of the judgment, however, may give substantia] support to a
motion to intervene.

21 In neither Marino itself nor the sole decision cited on the issue,
United States ex rel. Lowisiana v. Jack, 244 U.S. 397 (1917), did the Court
call into question the many prior cases in which it had upheld the rights of
quasi parties to appeal. Rather, the Court simply invoked the long-
standing general rule that only a party or a privy to the record may

27

The court of appeals also based its holding on Federal
Rule of Appellate Procedure 3(c), which provides: “A notice
of appeal must specify the party or parties taking the appeal
by naming each appellant in either the caption or the body of
the notice of appeal.” See Pet. App. 2a (emphasis added by
Seventh Circuit decision). That rule, however, addresses the
contents of the notice and does not limit the “parties” on
appeal to only those persons who were formally made
“parties” in the district court proceedings. The court of
appeals appears to have read “party or parties” to mean only
those listed in the district court’s caption. Such a reading
conflicts with well-settled case law allowing appellants who
were not parties below to be listed in the notice of appeal
and to prosecute their appeal. See, e.g., United Airlines, Inc.
v. McDonald, 432 U.S. 385 (1977) (permitting non-party to
appeal denial of a motion for leave to intervene); Collier v.
Marshall, Dennehey, Warner, Coleman & Goggin, 977 F.2d
93, 94-95 (3d Cir. 1992) (attorney appealing order in which he
is sanctioned must be listed in notice of appeal); Mylett v.
Jeane, 879 F.2d 1272, 1275 (5th Cir. 1989) (per curiam)
(same); FTC V. Amy Travel Serv., Inc., 875 F.2d 564 (7th
Cir. 1989) (same); De Lucu v. Long Island Lighting Co., 862
F. 2d 427, 429-430 (2d Cir. 1988) (same). See also Miltier v.
Downes, 935 F 2d 660, 662-663 & n.1 (4th Cir. 1991) (same);
Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Alla Medical Servs., 855 F.2d 1470,
1473 (9th Cir. 1988) (allowing counsel to appeal sanction
order even though not a party below and not explicitly listed
as a party to the appeal). See generally 15A C. Wright et ul.,
Federal Practice and Procedure Jurisdiction § 3902.1 (2d ed.
1992). Plainly, then, “the party or parties taking the appeal”
cannot be limited to the named parties below. The far more
natural reading of Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure
3(c)—consistent with its notice-serving function—is that a

appeal. See Marino, 484 U.S. at 587; Jack, 244 U.S. at 402 (quoting
Bayard v. Lombard, 50 U.S (9 How.) 530, 551 (1850)).

“notice of appeal must specify [who is] taking the appeal.”
And that reading offers no support for the Seventh Circuit’s
position.”

Finally, the court of appeals also based its decision on the
conclusion that allowing shareholder objectors to appeal the
settlement without intervention would “fragment the
control” of the action. Pet. App. 4a. That reasoning dis-
regards Rule 23.1’s recognition that other shareholders are
entitled to participate in the district court to object to a
settlement proposed by the named-plaintiff shareholder.
The Federal Rules plainly do not evince a concern that that
limited degree of participation by persons other than the
named plaintiff will unduly disrupt the litigation or render it
unmanageable. In any event, an appeal by a quasi-party
objecting shareholder would not raise those issues, since the
appeal would be confined to the discrete legal issue whether
the district court abused its discretion in approving the
settlement. See In re Pacific Enterprises Sec. Litig., 47 F.3d
373, srt (9th Cir. 1995); Bell Atlantic Corp., 2 F.3d at 1305-
1306.

#2 On December 1, 1998, the new Federal Rules of Appellate
Procedure will take effect. The new Rule & e) is similar to the old rule in
that it does not specify that a “party” must be a named party in the
district court. New Rule 3(c)(3), however, does contain a new provision
for class actions, providing that “the notice of appeal is sufficient if it
names one person qualified to bring the appeal as representative of the
class.”

If, contrary to our submission, the Court were to conclude that the
historical practice concerning quasi parties and the explicit confirmation of
individual shareholder interests in Rule 23.1 are insufficient, absent
intervention, to allow an objecting shareholder to take an appeal of a
district court judgment approving a settlement, the Court should make
clear that Rule 24 should be interpreted and applied in this special setting
in a way that ensures that intervention will be routinely granted so as to
effectuate fully the purposes of Rule 23.1 (and the quasi party cases) of

facilitating objections in the district court in matters directly affecting
shareholders’ interests and appeal of district court judgments that reject

CONCLUSION
The judgment of the court of appeals should be reversed.
Respectfully submitted.
SETH P. WAXMAN
HARVEY J. GOLDSCHMID Solicitor General
General Counsel EDWIN S. KNEEDLER
DAVID M. BECKER Deputy Solicitor General
Deputy General Counsel DAVID C. FREDERICK
PAUL GONSON Assistant to the Solicitor
Solicitor General
JacoB H. STILLMAN
Associate General Counsel
ERIC SUMMERGRAD
Principal Assistant General
Counsel
Hope HALL AUGUSTINI
Special Counsel
Securities and Exchange
Commission

NOVEMBER 1998

those objections. See Bryant v. Yellin, 447 U.S. 352, 366 (1980) (con-
cluding that intervention after judgment by affected residents was
permissible for the purpose of taking appeal where government suing on
behalf of public interest decided to forgo appeal). In the alternative, the
Federal Rules of Civil and Appellate Procedure could be amended to

address the problem.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0175%3A14. Public record. Not legal advice.
