# Amicus Curiae Brief — Bank of America Nat. Trust and Sav. Assn. v. 203 North LaSalle Street Partnership

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0167%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 526 U.S. 434

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S
7 FILED

) JUN 26 1998

No. 97-1418 | raat us Lie CLERK
In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

BANK OF AMERICA NATIONAL TRUST AND
SAVINGS ASSOCIATION, PETITIONER

v.

203 NORTH LASALLE STREET PARTNERSHIP

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONER

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
FRANK W. HUNGER
Assistant Attorney General
LAWRENCE G. WALLACE
Deputy Solicitor General
PATRICIA A. MILLETT
Assistant to the Solicitor
General
WILLIAM KANTER
BRUCE G. FORREST
Attorneys
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

SETS LE LE

ee

QUESTION PRESENTED

Under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code of 1978, 11
U.S.C. 1101 et seq., a debtor’s plan of reorganization can be
imposed over the dissent of some creditors if the plan
meets certain criteria. One such requirement is the
“absolute priority rule,” which provides that, unless and
until unsecured creditors are paid in full, “the holder of
any claim or interest that is junior to the claims of such
class [of unsecured creditors] will not receive or retain
under the plan on account of such junior claim or interest
any property.” 11 U.S.C. 1129(b)(2)(B)(ii). The question
presented in this case is:

Whether a plan of reorganization that grants the
debtor’s equity owners an exclusive opportunity to retain
or purchase an ownership interest in the reorganized
debtor, without first paying a senior, objecting class of
unsecured creditors in full, violates the absolute priority
rule.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Interest of the United States ...............ccccccceececsseeeeeeeeeees l
SII tedtitetierinsrtcrinaretnennnetsetconasescoseepsovensetenecennctecees 2
SEITE MEUNIIIIEING cxccnssnevecnsseseteuyenssesesenescosestescessees 7

Argument:
Section 1129(b) of the Bankruptcy Code bars confir-
mation of a reorganization plan that permits the
debtor’s equity owners to retain or acquire property
over the objection of a senior, unpaid creditor

IE eelieetntesitieeneticemnnnscneonansnncceencacscesnsnsneecsccccesestecocoss 9

A. The plain language of the absolute priority rule
admits of no new value exception ................00 10

B. The legislative history recognizes no new value
exception to the absolute priority rule ............. 16

C. Rejection of a new value exception is consistent
with pre-Code practice ............cccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeeees 23
SITTIN Antnteseutradenencetentesustapenseccenssseenenoneccccenccenenececees 30
III, siislurtitidictindtaeiciasinamiapieenathidannnanentpacteeaseesenssceuseses la

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:
A.V.B.1., Inc., In re, 143 B.R. 738 (Bankr. C.D. Cal.
Alicia eaditicinesdriceneaicemainmnerhnnnenenseunennsessees 11, 29
Bonner Mall Partnership, In re, 2 F.3d 899 (9th Cir.
1993), cert. dismissed, 513 U.S. 18 (1994) .......... 10, 12-13,
15, 21
Bryson Properties, XVIII, In re, 961 F.2d 496 (4th
Cir.), cert. denie’ 506 U.S. 866 (1992) ..............00. 10
Case v. Los Angeies Lumber Prods. Co., 308 U.S.
en 6, 17, 23, 24, 26
Cohen v. De La Cruz, 118 8. Ct. 1212 (1998) .......... 11, 14
Coltex Loop Central Three Partners, In re, 138 F.3d
I I irrietinisadennnnsangnuscanenmnebueserecccenee 10, 25
Consolidated Rock Prods. Co. v. Du Bois, 312 U.S.
IEE a ee ee 24

(IIT)

IV
Cases—Continued: Page

Dewsnup v. Timm, 502 U.S. 410 (1992) ........... 23, 24, 28
Gozlon-Peretz v. United States, 498 U.S. 395

| eee 11
Greystone III Joint Venture, In re, 995 F.2d 1274

vacated in part, 995 F.2d 1284 (5th Cir. 1991), cert.

denied, 506 U.S. 821 (1992) ........ccccccce + cereeeees 10, 13, 25
Gulf Oil Corp. v. Copp Paving Co., 419 U 5. 186

ee 21
INS v. Cardoza-Fonseca, 480 U.S. 421 (1987) ........ 21
John Hancock Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Harris Trust

& Sav. Bank, 510 U.S. 86 (1998) ..........ccccceceeeeeeeeees 22
Kansas City Terminal Ry. v. Central Union Trust

Co., 271 U.S. 445 (1926) .....ccccccccccrrsrrrererereereneeees 22, 23
Kawaauhau v. Geiger, 118 S. Ct. 974 (1998) ............ 13
Kelly v. Robinson, 479 U.S. 36 (1986) ...............c00000 24
Kham & Nate’s Shoes No. 2, Inc. vy. First Bank,

908 F.2d 1351 (7th Cir. 1990) ..........ccccccceeeeeee 4, 10, 27, 28
Kroh Bros. Development Co., In re, 100 B.R. 487

(Bankr. W.D. Mo.), appeal denied, 101 B.R. 1000

CUB. Tie. GBD ccccccccscscenssevsccsssccesnccersenssteveuitecncsoces 29
Louisville Trust Co. v. Louisville N.A. & C. Ry.,

BUS TEA, GEG CD cececencecnscscstntnstnesersensesnetnntassmensces 16
Marine Harbor Properties v. Manufacturer's Trust

Car, SEF UD, TE CIBED ccccescesscscccsescvescosssssoctansescesess 24
Mason v. Paradise Irrigation Dist., 326 U.S. 536

eae 24, 25, 26

NLRB vy. Bildisco & Bildisco, 465 U.S. 513 (1984) .. 2
Northern Pacific Ry. v. Boyd, 228 U.S. 482

CIBBD ccccsnessertsnsccesncccestcccnsssnvsenessesentevinessinseetineanpeses 16
Norwest Bank Worthington v. Ahlers, 485 U.S.

BOT CRBBED nccoccececcssscesescscsecesocerscassense 2, 4, 10, 16, 24, 27, 29
Phillips v. Martin Marietta Corp., 400 U.S. 542

) | 14
Phillips v. Washington Legal Found., No. 96-1578

Beane 26, IBGE) ...ccccesccccesccssecosccccssesesecesenessesessenseseoss 10

Cases—Continued: Page
Railroad Co. v. Howard, 74 U.S. (7 Wall.) 392

GERD cecteactiinscitinivsigenisnnsenncinictinctepinessentiimaniduninnstaseenads 16
Shannon v. United States, 512 U.S. 573 (1994) ....... 11
Smiley v. Citibank (South Dakota), N.A., 517 US.

Pe ED acineccacsppinictesnnvenesadetasenematcipemaeningenaenessesss 14
Smith v. United States, 508 U.S. 223 (1993) ..... 13, 14, 15
Spallone v. United States, 493 U.S. 265 (1990) ....... 12
Toibb v. Radloff, 501 U.S. 157 (1991) ..........cccccceeeees 12
Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. v. FCC, 512

ee 12
Union Bank v. Wolas, 502 U.S. 151 (1991) ..... 16, 26, 28
United Savings Ass'n v. Timbers of Inwood Forest

Assoc., 484 U.S. 365 (1988) .................00sesssesseeeees 25, 26
United States v. Ron Pair Enterprises, Inc., 489

8 ae ees 2, 10, 15, 23, 25, 26
U.S. Bancorp Mortgage Co. v. Bonner Mall Part-

nerehip, 513 U.S. 18 (1994) ............ccececcosersrecesceeeseee 2, 24
U.S. Truck Co., In re, 300 F 2d 581 (6th Cir. 1986) .. 10

Statutes:
Bankruptcy Act of 1898, ch. 204, § 77(b), 47 Stat. 1475,

pS oe Ld 17, 25, 29
Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. (1970):

Ch. VITE, 11 U.S.C. 206 (1970) ...........cccccccccercesereseeee 16
eR 16
Ch. X, 11 U.S.C. 501-676 (1970) .............. 16, 17, 25, 26, 29
ey ee ee CIEE cdhtreeneepcatnceneminesnenennsene 16
Ch. XI, 11 U.S.C. 701-799 (1970) ................000.0000000 16, 25

Ch. XII, 11 U.S.C. 801-926 (1970) .........ccccceeceeecereeees 16

Code of 1978, Pub. L. No. 95-598, 92 Stat.
2549, 11 U.S.C. 101 et seg.:

28 ee 5
Ch. 5, 11 U.S.C, 501 et seq.:
ee Re ED cinenchdnaienteninnspaiediodinennbeuters 3, 5
Be Pes ED eevensorcnntsprsevencinssensessnscmnnsees 11
A yy 12
Oe Weel EOD cptrecinnpesemensenesepietiommpseteis ll

Statutes—Continued: Page

Ue 12

en 3

Ch. 11, 11 U.S.C. 1101 et seq. ...............cccceeeeees passim

BR CA BD erateintncersvcnmocmncscaneepesnnserstann 5

Rt \ ee 12

BS Ss RIED stetnienspnccecnsneneunipcesegserinmnensnnts 3

SR WS SIE pterasecccsdnnsasassenniccssentansanseesetes 3

BB Gees CIEE cbveianccncrepnsnccsngpentutesinnitionnoedia 3

RD le BD setnnettsennsccsccccesassesnnsismanmantniaition 3

SS Ge SD eptrecpensessernsetcepeniibiiiints 3, 6, 26

a 3, 7, 11, 14, 15, 17, 26, la

BE We BERD ceterccesnscccsscunessssnvsscsssins 3, 4, 26, la

ee 3, 2a

11 U.S.C. 1120 aX TAD) «.............0eceeereenees 12, 2a

12 U.S.C. LIZA TAB) ...........ccccssrrsseroveseeses 12, 2a

11 U.S.C. LIZBANB) ...............0cceecereeeees 3, 4, 26, 2a

RR 12, 3a

11 U.S.C. LIZHaNONC) ............cccrrrcrrcroveseeees 12, 3a

11 U.S.C. LIZA IO) ..............ccccccrercrcereeees 3, 6, 4a

By Wats SEED etenccncassscecsesevenissnicessudneenns 4, 7, 4a

ee 4, 26-27, 4a

Ue 4, 5a

11 U.S.C. LA29( DM 2KAMDD) .....eeeecceeeeeeeees 12, 5a

11 U.S.C. LIZADMANB) ..............cccrsrrerseeseseenees 4, 5a

11 U.S.C. LIZKOMZSABMi) ................000000e00 4, 12, 5a

11 U.S.C. 1129%b)\2)B)ii) ................... 4, 9, 12, 6a

RB ee 12, 6a

31 UB.C. DIZBENCNED) ...22...20..ccccccceceececesees 12, 6a

OO Ue 11

BD Fe SD ethatentsescnveevccasemcesnsentsscmeineepins 11

Uae 3, 11

FD Tle SERED cscnpescnnnecnsensdnmenmmininin 11

Miscellaneous:

The American Heritage Dictionary (1980) ................. 11
J. Ayer, Rethinking Absolute Priority after

Ahlers, 87 Mich. L. Rev. 963 (1989) .................. 16, 18, 25

D. Baird, The Elements of Bankruptcy (The
Foundation Press, Inc., 1993) .............c.-0ccserecserseeees 10

Vil

Miscellaneous—Continued: Page

B. Basil, The New Value Exception to Absolute
Priority in Bankruptcy, 101 Com. LJ. 290 (1996).... 29
Collier on Bankruptcy (15th ed. rev. 1998):

Wana: 0 euxtipinnsediabitasineniadthnnsttesteirienienidnimeataniitiateteentins 25, 26

aii Gi . cinaestinsidenertitasinnnittnsinnsctintabiitnbuenchdetipitityeatnbstittingsie 19
124 Cong. Rec. (1978):

i GUE steeneddienctubeinienetenedenninaniiimibetdameaiacseiedeeiens 20, 22

i TIEN cccncstsnpinniscinpesetapciatnninmensinaneuiminstinnsepteonsses 21
S. Jensen-Conklin, Do Confirmed Chapter 11

Plans Consummate?, 97 Com. L.J. 297 (1992) ......... 29

J. Franks & W. Torous, An Empirical
Investigation of U.S. Firms in Reorganization,

ab Es WEF CE ecncndcrptntiohbicneiemnatdtctidnetsesimarstene 27
H.R. 6, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. (1977) .........cccccccceeeeeeeeees 20
H.R. 31, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. (1975) .0............cccceeeeeees 19
H.R. 32, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. (1975) ...........cccccceeeeeeees 19

H.R. 31 and H.R. 32: Bankruptcy Act Revision:
Hearings Before the House Subcomm. on Civil and
Constitutional Rights of the Comm. on the Judi-

ciary, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. Pts. 1-4 (1976) ................ 19-20
H.R. 7330, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. (1977) ............c.cc000000 20
H.R. 8200, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. (1977) ..............00000000 20
H.R. 10792, 93d Cong., Ist Sess. (1973) ..............ccc00e- 19
H.R. 16643, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974) .0..........ccccceceeee 19
H.R. Doc. No. 137, 93d Cong., Ist Sess. (1973) ........... 19
H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. (1977) ....... 16, 17,

18, 19, 20, 22, 27, 28
L. LoPucki & W. Whitford, Bargaining over
Equity’s Share in the Bankruptcy Reorganization
of Large, Publicly Held Companies, 139 U. Pa. L.
Bs PIED conkosncutcinsiniaansinittemepeapepensinainmieses 27
B. Markell, Owners, Auctions, and Absolute
Priority in Bankruptcy Reorganizations, 44 Stan.

ar OI TECTED nenicicncrihisihinitandennetnaianebibbcitiomnsteines 25
The Random House Dict. of the English Language (2d

GE TENE canctsnninsdpticnsrenpieviibiitiadiinsrmesnisnntigusitimatenanions 11
S. 235, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. (1975) .............cccceeeeeeeeeees 19
S. 236, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. (1975) .........cccccccececeeeeeeees 19

Vill

Miscellaneous—Continued: Page

S. 235 and S. 236: The Bankruptcy Reform Act:
Hearings Before the Senate Subcomm. on Improve-
ments in Judicial Machinery of the Comm. on the

Judiciary, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. Pt. 2 (1975) .........++. 20
S. 2565, 93d Cong., Ist Sess. (1973) ........ccccceeeeeeeeerees 19
S. 2266, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. (1977) .......cccecceeeeeeeeeeenes 20
S. 4046, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974) ........c:cccsseeeeeeeeeerees 19

S. Rep. No. 989, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. (1978) ... 17, 18, 20, 22
Webster's Third New International Dictionary
CROWS). .occcscesccescscnsscnschesniesossssescocnesesussngatasesnsonneneees 11,12

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

No. 97-1418

BANK OF AMERICA NATIONAL TRUST AND
SAVINGS ASSOCIATION, PETITIONER

Vv.
203 NORTH LASALLE STREET PARTNERSHIP

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONER

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

The United States appears as a creditor in approxi-
mately 12,000 to 15,000 bankruptcy reorganization pro-
ceedings a year. A number of federal agencies—including
the Department of Housing and Urban Development, the
Rural Utility Service, the Maritime Administration, and
the Commerce Department’s Economic Development Ad-
ministration—frequently appear as the major creditor in
single-asset bankruptcy reorganizations analogous to the
case at hand. The Internal Revenue Service appears in
approximately 10,000 Chapter 11 cases annually, enforcing
governmental claims averaging $1.75 billion in aggregated
value. Other federal agencies, such as the Small Business
Administration, the Department of Agriculture’s Farm
Service Agency and Rural Housing Service, and the Fed-
eral Deposit Insurance Corporation, also often participate
as creditors in bankruptcy proceedings.

(1)

2

This case presents the question whether a Chapter 11
reorganization plan can grant the debtor’s equity owners
an exclusive opportunity to acquire or retain property in
the reorganized debtor before senior, unsecured creditors
are paid in full. Such plans of reorganization, by allowing
equity holders to acquire or retain property interests
while the claims of the United States go unpaid, would im-
pose an unwarranted burden on the public fise and could
adversely affect the operation of important governmental
programs, such as the provision of low-income housing. In
addition, the perpetuation or extension of loan relation-
ships that such plans frequently entail would require
taxpayers, in effect, to subsidize reorganization plans that
the federal government has concluded are not in the public
interest. Accordingly, the United States has an important
stake in the resolution of this case. '

STATEMENT

1. The Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978, Pub. L. No. 95-
598, 92 Stat. 2549, comprehensively revised bankruptcy
law. See United States v. Ron Pair Enterprises, Inc., 489
U.S. 235, 238 (1989). As part of this effort, Congress en-
acted Chapter 11 “with the intention that business reor-
ganizations should be quicker and more efficient and
provide greater protection to the debtor, creditors, and the
public interest.” NLRB v. Bildisco & Bildisco, 465 U.S.
513, 517 n.1 (1984). The objective of a Chapter 11 proceed-
ing is judicial confirmation of a plan of reorganization that
restructures and reschedules the debtor’s obligations so
that the once-insolvent debtor may emerge as an ongoing
concern. See id. at 528.°

! We also participated in the two cases that previously presented
this issue to the Court. U.S. Amic. Br., Norwest Bank Worthington v.
Ahlers, 485 U.S. 197 (1988) (No. 86-958), and U.S. Bancorp Mortgage Co.
v. Bonner Mall Partnership, 513 U.S. 18 (1994) (No. 93-714).

2 Individuals, as well as businesses, can pursue reorganization un-

der Chapter 11. Toibb v. Radloff, 501 U.S. 157, 160-166 (1991). Individ-

3

During the first 120 days after a Chapter 11 petition is
filed, only the debtor may file a plan. 11 U.S.C. 1121(b).
This period of exclusivity may be extended “for cause.” 11
U.S.C. 1121(d). The debtor’s plan will generally group
creditors into classes based on the substantial similarity
of their claims. 11 U.S.C. 1122(a). A single creditor may
have more than one claim, thus placing it in more than one
class. For example, under 11 U.S.C. 506(a), a federal
agency that has a loan secured by property may have its
claim bifurcated into a secured claim for the appraised
value of the property and an unsecured, deficiency claim
for the difference remaining between the appraised value
and the balance of the loan.

Section 1129 of Chapter 11 sets forth two alternative
paths for judicial confirmation of a reorganization plan.*
First, Section 1129(a) details thirteen requirements for
confirmation of a plan based on the consent of the creditor
classes. A class of creditors is deemed to have accepted a
plan if their claims are unimpaired—that is, they retain all
of their pre-petition legal, equitable, and contractual
rights against the debtor. See 11 U.S.C. 1124, 1129(a)(8).
Alternatively, a class of creditors accepts a plan if a major-
ity of the creditors and two-thirds of the total dollar
amount of the claims within that class vote to approve the
plan. 11 U.S.C. 1126(c), 1129%a)(8). Such consent plans
must be approved by at least one class whose claims are
impaired. 11 U.S.C. 1129(a)(10). In addition, each individ-
ual creditor who opposes the plan must receive compensa-
tion in an amount that is at least equivalent to what
would be received in a Chapter 7 liquidation. 11 U.S.C.
1129(a)(7)(A).

ual Chapter 11 petitions are uncommon, however. Individuals gener-
ally prefer Chapter 13’s simplified proceedings for rescheduling con-
sumer debt. 11 U.S.C. 1301 et seq.

% The text of 11 U.S.C. 1129 is reproduced as an appendix to this
brief.

4

The second route to confirmation is commonly known as
a “cramdown,” because it imposes the plan over the dissent
of an impaired creditor class. See Kham & Nate’s Shoes
No. 2, Inc. v. First Bank, 908 F.2d 1351, 1359 (7th Cir.
1990). As long as all of the requirements of Section 1129(a)
— except, of course, Section 1129(a)(8)’s consent criterion
— are satisfied, the objection of an impaired creditor class
can be overridden if “the plan does not discriminate un-
fairly, and is fair and equitable, with respect to each class
of claims or interests that is impaired under, and has not
accepted, the plan.” 11 U.S.C. 1129(b)(1).

Paragraph (2) of Section 1129(b) sets forth the minimum
requirements for a proposed plan of reorganization to be
deemed “fair and equitable.” Subparagraph (B) provides
that, with respect to unsecured claims, a plan is “fair and
equitable” only if the allowed value of the claim is paid in
full, 11 U.S.C. 1129(b)(2)(B)G), or if

the holder of any claim or interest that is junior to the
claims of such [impaired, unsecured] class will not
receive or retain under the plan on account of such
junior claim or interest any property.

11 U.S.C. 1129(b)(2)(B)Gi). The latter requirement is
known as the “absolute priority rule.” See, e.g., Norwest
Bank Worthington v. Ahlers, 485 U.S. 197, 202 (1988).*

2. Respondent is an Illinois limited partnership that
owns 15 floors of office space in a building in Chicago’s
central business district. Pet. App. 2a. Petitioner holds a
non-recourse mortgage on the office property as security
for a $93 million loan. Jbid. Respondent defaulted in
January 1995. Shortly thereafter, petitioner’s predecessor
began foreclosure proceedings in state court. Jbid. Re-
spondent promptly filed a voluntary petition for reorgani-

4 Even if a plan satisfies all of paragraph 2’s minimum require-
ments, the court still must independently determine that the plan is
“fair and equitable.” 11 U.S.C. 1129(b)(1) and (2).

5

zation under Chapter 11, which automatically stayed the
foreclosure proceeding. Jbid.; 11 U.S.C. 362.

Petitioner is the major creditor in the bankruptcy pro-
ceeding. The only other outside creditors were a state
claim for real estate taxes and $90,000 in trade debt. Pet.
App. 3a, 103a. Respondent’s available assets were the
property and a cash account of approximately $8 million.
Id. at 103a. The bankruptcy court valued the office space
at $54.5 million. The court thus allowed petitioner a se-
cured claim in the amount of $54.5 million and an unse-
cured claim of $38.5 million, which reflected the deficiency
between the actual property value and the remaining debt
owed by respondent. See 11 U.S.C. 506(a), 1111(b).

It is undisputed that respondent’s primary motivation
for seeking reorganization was to retain ownership of the
property so that its partners could avoid approximately
$20 million in personal tax liabilities that would come due
upon a sale of the real estate. Pet. App. 3a, 59a. Accord-
ingly, respondent proposed a plan under which its partners
would contribute $6.125 million over the course of five
years and, in exchange, would retain an ownership inter-
est in the reorganized debtor. The trade creditors and
state tax claim would be paid in full. Petitioner’s secured
claim would be paid, but under new terms: prompt cash
payment of $1,149,500 plus a secured, 7-year note (ex-
tendable to 10 years at the debtor’s option). In addition,
petitioner would receive a “commitment fee” and a 50%
“participation interest” in the value of the Property at the
end of the note period. Id. at 4a-5a, 57a-59a.

® The plan proposed a fee between $266,975 and $545,000; the court
set the fee at $266,975. Pet. App. 127a n.4.

6 From the remaining value of the property at the time of sale or
refinance, payments would occur in the following order: “(a) on peti-
tioner’s unsecured deficiency claim, payment in full, without interest;
(b) for the new capital contributions, payment in full, with interest at
varying rates; (c) on the second mortgage held by the general partner,

6

Petitioner opposed the plan, but the class of trade credi-
tors voted to accept it." The bankruptcy court approved
the plan over petitioner’s objection that it violated the
absolute priority rule. Pet. App. 135a-140a. Th» district
court affirmed. /d. at 79a-82a.

3. Adivided panel of the Seventh Circuit affirmed. Pet.
App. la-47a. The majority ruled that this Court’s decision
in Case v. Los Angeles Lumber Prods. Co., 308 U.S. 106
(1939), established a new value exception to the absolute
priority rule. Pet. App. 14a. The majority acknowledged
that, “[aJs a matter of abstract logic, and certainly of se-
mantics,” respondent’s partners were “receiving or re-
taining” property under the plan “on account of” their “old
equity interest” in the debtor, within the meaning of the
absolute priority rule. Jd. at 17a. The court determined,
however, that Congress “might well have intended” to
require “a more direct causation.” Jbid. Under this read-
ing, the partners were “allowed to participate in the reor-
ganized entity ‘on account of’ a new, substantial, neces-
sary and fair infusion of capital,” rather than on account of
their interest in the debtor. /bid.

Judge Kanne dissented. Pet. App. 32a-46a. He concluded
that the new value exception crafted by the majority “be-
littles the straightforward language of § 1129(b)(2)(B)(ii)”
and overlooks that the debtor’s partners were permitted to
infuse new value into the debtor solely “‘on account of’

full payment with 10% simple interest; and (d) to the debtor’s partners
in proportion to their contribution of new capital.” Pet. App. 58a.

* Because the plan classed petitioner’s unsecured claim separately
from the trade creditors’ unsecured claims, petitioner’s opposition did
not suffice to halt the plan. See 11 U.S.C. 1126(c), 1129%a)(10). The
bankruptcy court rejected petitioner’s contention that the classifications
were gerrymandered to obtain the requisite approval by a single class.
Pet. App. 147a-152a. Petitioner did not seek this Court’s review of that
issue. Petitioner raised a number of other objections to the plan (id. at
114a-135a, 141la-154a), but it did not seek this Court’s review of those
questions either.

7

their unique status as prior equity holders.” Jd. at 34a.
Judge Kanne further noted that, in the immediately pre-
ceding subsection of Section 1129, the phrase “‘on account
of such claim’ takes a simple, ordinary ‘but for’ or ‘because
of’ meaning,” and urged that the identical words in the two
subsections should be given the identical meaning. /d. at
37a. In addition, the dissent challenged the majority’s
assumption that Congress implicitly incorporated the new
value exception into the 1978 Bankruptcy Code. /d. at 41la-
42a. Finally, the dissent pointed out that the new value
exception “creates an anachronism by cutting and pasting
pre-Code practice into a fundamentally different bank-
ruptcy context.” Jd. at 46a.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

As evidenced by the plain language, structure, and
legislative history of the Bankruptcy Code, Congress in-
tended the absolute priority rule to be absolute. Respon-
dent’s attempt to engraft a new value exception onto
Section 1129(b) rests upon an unnatural and artificial con-
struction of the statutory text and relies upon 40-year-old
dicta and policy arguments that have little modern cur-
rency due to Congress’s fundamental restructuring of
bankruptcy law in 1978. If Congress had wanted to craft
an exception for new value or to permit debtors to retain
property interests in advance of creditors, it would have
said so explicitly, as it has in other chapters of the
Bankruptcy Code.

1. The absolute priority rule prohibits confirmation of
any plan under which the owners of a failed business retain
or receive property “on account of” their interest in the
debtor while objecting senior creditors go unpaid. As it
does throughout Chapter 11, “on account of” means “for”
or “because of.” The phrase thus refers to the basis on
which the holder of a claim or interest has some
entitlement to the debtor’s property.

The office space retained by and the equity interests ac-
quired by the debtor’s owners in this case were “on

8

account of” their prior equity claims. The owners’ claim
or interest in the debtor was the defining criterion for
acquiring property under the plan. Money alone was
insufficient. The court of appeals, in effect, read the
absolute priority rule to prohibit junior interests from
acquiring property ahead of senior unpaid claimants only
when that property is obtained “entirely on account of” or
“solely on account of” a prior, junior interest, and not
where new money is also contributed. Such words of
limitation, however, make no appearance in the statutory
text, and judicial imposition of such a construction would
be inconsistent with the phrase’s meaning elsewhere in
Chapter 11.

2. Resort to legislative history is unnecessary because
the statutory text forecloses the new value exception. In
any event, the history of the Bankruptcy Reform Act of
1978 confirms the inappropriateness of reading such an
exception into the absolute priority rule. The exception
makes no appearance in the House or Senate Report, and
the categorical terms in which the House Report speaks
counsel against such a substantial deviation from the stat-
ute’s text. Congress, moreover, considered and rejected
proposed bills that explicitly contained a new value excep-
tion. Congress chose, instead, to allow voting by classes of
claimants and the economic interests of creditors to deter-
mine whether a debtor’s plan to infuse capital is workable
and in the creditors’ best interests. Allowing the debtor
and the bankruptcy court to impose a new value plan over
the objection of a major creditor, as occurred here, would
frustrate Congress’s carefully calibrated scheme and fun-
damentally skew the balance between debtors and credi-
tors struck by Chapter 11.

3. Modification of the statutory text cannot be justified
on the ground that Congress implicitly incorporated the
new value exception into the Bankruptcy Code. At the
time the Code was enacted, the new value exception lived
only in infrequent dicta. Neither this Court nor any other

9

decisions of which we are aware had upheld imposition of a
new value plan over the objection of a dissenting creditor.
A rule of statutory construction that places on Congress
the burden of expressly disavowing every bankruptcy op-
tion mentioned in dicta would be both inappropriate and
unworkable.

The bankruptcy world in which the new value dicta were
uttered, moreover, bears little resemblance to that gov-
erned by the 1978 Bankruptcy Code. Under prior law, a
single, minority creditor could derail a reorganization
plan over the consent of all creditor classes. The provision
for class-based consent to plans in the 1978 Bankruptcy
Code eliminates that problem. Thus, new value plans
under the modern Bankruptcy Code would serve, not to
circumvent the gadfly creditor, but to impose a plan over
the objection of the debtor’s largest creditor. There is no
adequate basis to believe that Congress’s plainly worded
absolute priority rule was intended to permit—as occurred
here—schemes that leave property in the hands of the
very owners who presided over the business’s insolvency
solely to perpetuate their tax shelter, while the property’s
major creditor goes unpaid.

ARGUMENT

SECTION 1129(b) OF THE BANKRUPTCY CODE
BARS CONFIRMATION OF A REORGANIZATION
PLAN THAT PERMITS THE DEBTOR'S EQUITY
OWNERS TO RETAIN OR ACQUIRE PROPERTY
OVER THE OBJECTION OF A SENIOR, UNPAID
CREDITOR CLASS

The “absolute priority rule” provides that the “holder of
any claim or interest that is junior to the claims of” an
unsecured and unpaid creditor class “will not receive or
retain under the plan on account of such junior claim or
interest any property.” 11 U.S.C. 112%b)(2)B)(ii). Here,
the equity interests of respondent’s owners are unques-
tionably junior to petitioner’s unsecured deficiency claim.

10

Nor is there any doubt that the plan permitted the junior
equity interests both to retain and receive “property.”
The owners retained possession of the office space and
received the exclusive option to purchase ownership
interests in the reorganized debtor.” The only question is
whether that property was received and retained “on
account of” the owners’ equity interest in the debtor. The
language, structure, and legislative history of Chapter 11
leave no doubt that it was.’

A. The Plain Language Of The Absolute Priority Rule

Admits Of No New Value Exception

1. The task of determining whether an unwritten new
value exception exists “begins where all such inquiries
must begin: with the language of the statute itself.”
United States v. Ron Pair Enterprises, Inc., 489 U.S. 235,
241 (1989). Nothing in the text of Chapter 11 recognizes or
supports the existence of a new value exception. To the
contrary, the absolute priority rule is (true to its name)

* See Norwest Bank Worthington v. Ahlers, 485 U.S. 197, 207-208
(1988); see also Phillips v. Washington Legal Found., No. 96-1578 (June
15, 1998), slip op. 12; In re Coltex Loop Central Three Partners , 138 F 3d
39, 43 (2d Cir. 1998); In re Bryson Properties, XVIII, 961 F.2d 496, 504
(4th Cir.), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 866 (1992); Kham & Nate's Shoes No. 2,
Inc. v. First Bank, 908 F.2d 1351, 1360 (7th Cir. 1990); D. Baird, The
Elements of Bankruptcy 261 (1993) (“The right to get an equity interest
for its fair market value is ‘property’ as the word is ordinarily used.
Options to aequire an interest in a firm, even at its market value, trade
for a positive price. They are bought and sold every day.”).

% The courts of appeals have split on this question. Compare Coltez,
138 F.3d at 42-45 (no new value exception); Jn re Greystone Ill Joint
Venture, 995 F.2d 1274, 1282-1284 (same), vacated in part, 995 F.2d 1284
(5th Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 821 (1992), with Pet. App. la-3la
(new value exception exists); Jn re Bonner Mall Partnership, 2 F.3d
899, 906-917 (9th Cir. 1993) (same), cert. dismissed, 513 U.S. 18 (1994);
see also Bryson , 961 F.2d at 503-505 (new value exception is question-
able) (dicta); In re U.S. Truck Co., 800 F.2d 581, 588 (6th Cir. 1986)
(assuming that new value exception exists).

11

absolute in its terms. The new value exception relied upon
by the court of appeals thus “has no statutory reference
point.” Shannon v. United States, 512 U.S. 573, 583 (1994).

By contrast, when Congress wishes to carve out excep-
tions to its general rules based on the payment of “new
value,” it does so explicitly. See 11 U.S.C. 547(a\(2) and (c)
(exception to power of trustee to avoid certain pre-petition
transfers). Similarly, where Congress intends to permit
debtors to retain some property before creditors are paid
in full — as in Chapters 12 and 13 of the Bankruptcy Code
— it omits the absolute priority rule from the criteria for
confirmation of a plan. 11 U.S.C. 1225, 1325; see also In re
A.V.B.1., Inc., 143 B.R. 738, 747 (Bankr. C.D. Cal. 1992).
“(Wjhere Congress includes particular language in one
section of a statute but omits it in another section of the
same Act,” courts must “presume[] that Congress acts in-
tentionally and purposely in the disparate inclusion or
exclusion.” Gozlon-Peretz v. United States, 498 U.S. 395,
404 (1991).

2. The statutory language, moreover, is unambiguous
in prohibiting new value plans. According to the absolute
priority rule, until senior creditors are paid in full, junior
claimants may not obtain any property “on account of”
their junior interest in the debtor. The common under-
standing of the phrase “on account of,” both now and at the
time the Bankruptcy Code was enacted, is “for,” “because
of,” and “by reason of.”” Throughout Chapter 11, and Sec-
tion 1129 in particular, the phrase “on account of” appears
in a context that confirms that ordinary meaning because
it describes the basis on which a claimant: may receive

” See, e.g., The Random House Dict. of the English Language 13
(2d ed. 1987); Webster's Third New Int! Dictionary 13 (1976); The
American Heritage Dictionary 9 (1980), cf. Cohen v. De La Cruz, 118 8.
Ct. 1212, 1217 (1998) (under Bankruptcy Code, debt “for” means debt “on
account of”).

12

property of the debtor." In other words, in bankruptcy
proceedings, creditors receive property distributions
“for,” “because of,” and “on account of” their respective
claims and interests in the debtor.”

Even outside the bankruptcy context, “on account of” is
generally accorded a similar connotation. See, e..,
Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. v. FCC, 512 U.S. 622,
641 (1994) (discussing government action “that stifles
speech on account of its message”); Spallone v. United
States, 493 U.S. 265, 268 (1990) (discussing housing dis-
crimination “on account of race or national origin”).

The plan explicitly provided for the debtor’s owners to
retain and receive property “because of” and “by reason
of” their equity interests in the debtor. The plan gave the
partners the exclusive right to contribute new capital and
receive, in exchange, ownership shares in the reorganized
debtor. J.A. 37-39. No other creditor, participant in the
bankruptcy proceeding, or outsider was eligible to receive
that property. The owners’ “junior claim or interest” in
the debtor, 11 U.S.C. 1129(b)(2)(B)\(ii), thus defined their
eligibility both to retain possession of the office space and
to obtain shares in the reorganized debtor. It would
therefore blink reality to say that the owners did not ob-
tain property “because of” or “on account of” their equity
holdings in the debtor.” .

MN See, e.g., 11 U.S.C. 1111(b) 1A); 11: U.S.C. 112%aX 7 AMii) and
(B), (aX9M A) and (C); 11 U.S.C. 112%b)2(AKDCUD, (2B), (20CKi)
and (ii).

Other provisions of the Bankruptcy Code employ the phrase in a
similar manner. See, e.g., 11 U.S.C. 547(b)(2), 547(cX 4B). Webster's
also adds “for the sake of” to its definition of “on account of.” Webster's
Third , supra, at 13. That definition is unhelpful to respondent and is an
unnatural connotation for the phrase as it appears in other sections of
the Code.

% Itis sometimes suggested that such exclusivity simply reflects
the fact that no one other than the debtor's owners would want to
acquire interests in an insolvent business. E.g., Bonner Mall, 2 F.3d at

13

3. While both courts of appeals that have recognized a
new value exception invoked the alleged ambiguity of Con-
gress’s language to justify resort to non-textual interpre-
tation, neither court, in fact, had difficulty understanding
the absolute priority rule’s ordinary meaning. The Sev-
enth Circuit candidly acknowledged that “[aJs a matter of
abstract logic, and certainly of semantics,” the owners’
acquisition and retention of property was “on account of”
their equity interests in the debtor. Pet. App. 17a. Like-
wise, the Ninth Circuit in Jn re Bonner Mall Partner-
ship, 2 F.3d 899 (1993), cert. dismissed, 513 U.S. 18 (1994),
“recognize[d] that in some larger sense the reason that
former owners receive new equity interests in reorgan-
ized ventures is that they are former owners.” /d. at 909.
Both courts nevertheless concluded that Congress in-
tended a “more direct causation,” and thus ruled that the
property interests were obtained “on account of” the infu-
sion of new capital. Pet. App. 17a; see also Bonner Mall, 2
F.3d at 909. There are three flaws in that reasoning.

First, that construction rests on an artificial single-
ness of causality. The court of appeals effectively inserted
“solely” or “entirely” in front of the phrase “on account
of,” insisting that the junior claim or interest be the ex-
clusive cause for the property acquisition. “Had Congress
intended the narrow construction” that the court of
appeals adopted, “it could have so indicated. It did not, and
{this Court should] decline to introduce that additional
requirement on [its] own.” Smith v. United States, 508
U.S. 223, 229 (1993); see also Kawaauhau v. Geiger, 118 S.
Ct. 974, 977 (1998) (declining to adopt interpretation of

911. Even if accurate, that observation would not change the plain
language of the statute its signification. Furthermore, major
creditors may well be inte ed in acquiring shares in the reorganized
debtor so that they can ob_.in a controlling interest in the business and
thus dictate its future operation or dissolution. See Greystone, 995 F 2d
at 1283.

14

Bankruptcy Code where, if Congress so intended, “Con-
gress might have selected an additional word or words”).

Such a straitened reading, moreover, does not comport
with ordinary usage. Indeed, under most plans, a claimant
is not paid solely or entirely because of its claim, but also
because the debtor believes that the manner in which pay-
ment is allotted will increase the prospects for business
revitalization or for plan confirmation. That the phrase
“on account of” is sufficiently capacious to embrace more
than one causative factor at a time does not justify alter-
ing or limiting its core meaning.“

In addition, “on account of” does not appear in contra-
distinction to any words or phrases that warrant accord-
ing it such a narrow reading. See Smith, 508 U.S. at 229;
Smiley v. Citibank (South Dakota), N.A., 517 U.S. 735,
746-747 (1996). Nor, given the proliferation of the phrase
“on account of” throughout Section 1129, would there have
been any reason for Congress to impose such a cramped
construction in those other contexts. See Cohen, 118 S.
Ct. at 1217 (“equivalent words have equivalent meaning
when repeated in the same statute”).

Second, the court of appeals’ reasoning overlooks that
the plan afforded the equity holders an option to purchase
shares before they contributed any capital at all. The
acquisition of that property interest — the option to pur-
chase new shares — was entirely and exclusively attribut-
able to the partner’s junior equity interest in the debtor.
The plan did not offer any creditor, or anyone else for that
matter, an equivalent opportunity to purchase interests in
the reorganized debtor.

Third, the court of appeals’ ruling fails its own direct
causation test. The contribution of new money alone could

4 Cf. Smith, 508 U.S. at 228-237 (“use” of a firearm includes both
use as a firearm and for barter); Phillips v. Martin Marietta Corp. , 400
U.S. 542, 544 (1971) (employment discrimination against women with
pre-school-age children constitutes discrimination on account of sex)
(per curiam).

15

not entitle a person to equity interests under the plan.
Otherwise, petitioner or another creditor could have pur-
chased a controlling interest in respondent. While the
willingness to pay money was a necessary condition of the
purchase, it was not sufficient. Status as the holder of an
existing equity interest was the indispensable prerequi-
site to participation in the sale.”

4. Holding that the owners acquired property “on
account of” or because of their equity interests would not,
as some have suggested, render the phrase surplusage.
See Bonner Mall, 2 F.3d at 909. The “on account of”
language identifies for which claim persons are receiving
property under a plan. The phrase, in other words, makes
clear that the absolute priority rule is claim specific,
rather than creditor specific. Bankruptcy creditors can,
and often do, have more than one type of claim. “On ac-
count of” ensures that, while those creditors cannot re-
ceive property because of their equity interests ahead of
an unsecured creditor, payments on account of their
separate secured and non-junior unsecured claims will not
run afoul of the absolute priority rule.

5. Just as the task of construing Section 1129 begins
with its plain text, “{iJn this case it is also where the in-
quiry should end, for where, as here, the statute’s lan-
guage is plain, the sole function of the courts is to enforce
it according to its terms.” Ron Pair, 489 U.S. at 241
(internal quotation marks omitted). Given the precision
with which Congress has spoken, “reference to legislative
history and to pre-Code practice is hardly necessary.”
Ibid. Policy arguments and (alleged) historical practice
alone cannot justify the creation of “an extra-statutory
doctrine,” Bonner Mall, 2 F.3d at 910 n.25. In any event,

The court of ay als erred in finding the statutory text ambigu-
ous merely because sume courts and law professors disagree about its
construction. See, e.g., Smith, 508 U.S. at 227-237 (ordinary meaning of
“use” discerned entirely from statutory text; despite inter-circuit con-
flict and dissent of three Justices).

16

neither the legislative history nor pre-Code practice
supports the court of appeals’ decision.

B. The Legislative History Recognizes No New Value
Exception To The Absolute Priority Rule

“Given the clarity of the statutory text, respondent’s
burden of persuading [the Court] that Congress intended
to create or to preserve a special rule” for new value plans
“is exceptionally heavy.” Union Bank v. Wolas, 502 U.S.
151, 155-156 (1991). The legislative history of the Bank-
ruptey Reform Act provides respondent no assistance in
that task.

1. The predecessor to the 1978 Bankruptcy Code con-
tained four separate reorganization chapters: Chapter
VIII, 11 U.S.C. 205 (1970), governed railroad reorganiza-
tions; Chapter X, 11 U.S.C. 501-676 (1970), covered corpo-
rate reorganizations; Chapter XI, 11 U.S.C. 701-799 (1970),
regulated arrangements and compositions for corpora-
tions, partnerships, and individuals; and Chapter XII, 11
U.S.C. 801-926 (1970), established reorganization proce-
dures for non-corporate entities engaged in real estate.
H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. 221 (1977). Of the
four, only Chapters VIII and X predicated confirmation of
a reorganization plan on a finding by the court that the
plan was “fair and equitable.” See 11 U.S.C. 205(e), 621
(1970). Those sections, however, offered no definition of
“fair and equitable.” It was in the course of defining the
“fair and equitable” standard that courts adopted the abso-
lute priority rule to limit insider collusion. Ahlers, 485
U.S. at 202."

© See also Northern Pacific Ry. v. Boyd, 228 U.S. 482, 504-508
(1913) (absolute priority rule prevents senior creditors and stockholders
from colluding to impair the interests of intermediate creditors); Louis-
ville Trust Co. v. Louisville N.A. & C. Ry., 174 U.S. 674, 684 (1899);
Railroad Co. v. Howard, 74 U.S. (7 Wall.) 392, 409-411 (1869); J. Ayer,
Rethinking Absolute Priority after Ahlers, 87 Mich. L. Rev. 963, 1022
(1989).

17

By the time of Case v. Los Angeles Lumber Prods. Co.,
308 U.S. 106 (1939), the absolute priority rule had become a
“fixed principle” for the determination of whether reor-
ganization plans satisfied the “fair and equitable” stan-
dard. Jd. at 116. In Los Angeles Lumber, this Court re-
fused to confirm a reorganization plan under Section 77(b)
of the Bankruptcy Act of 1898, ch. 204, 47 Stat. 1475, 11
U.S.C. 205(e) (1934) (Chapter X’s predecessor), because it
violated the absolute priority rule. 308 U.S. at 122-132.
The Court ruled that the stockholders’ pledge of their
“financial standing and influence in the community” and
the “continuity of management” constituted too “ephem-
eral” a contribution to justify retention of ownership in-
terests in the reorganized enterprise at the expense of
unpaid senior creditors. Jd. at 122-125. The Court stated
in dicta, however, that “there are circumstances under
which stockholders may participate in a plan of reor-
ganization of an insolvent debtor.” Jd. at 121. Where the
old stockholders’ participation is a “necessity” and they
“make a fresh contribution and receive in return a partici-
pation reasonably equivalent to their contribution,” the
Court explained, “the creditor cannot complain that he is
not. accorded his full right of priority against the corpo-
rate assets.” /d. at 121-122 (internal quotation marks
omitted). Nothing in the legislative history suggests that
Congress intended to incorporate those new value dicta
into the absolute priority rule it codified in Section 1129.

2. Neither the House nor the Senate Report mentions,
let alone supports, the existence of the new value excep-
tion discussed in Los Angeles Lumber. See H.R. Rep. No.
595, supra; S. Rep. No. 989, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. (1978).
The House Report does note the Los Angeles Lumber
decision. H.R. Rep. No. 595, supra, at 222n.8. The citation
only indicated, however, that the absolute priority rule
applied to Chapter X reorganizations. That statement
could hardly be characterized as an endorsement of the
new value dicta.

18

Indeed, the House Report’s discussion of the absolute
priority rule is emphatic and unconditional -in its breadth.
“Simply put, the bill requires that the plan pay any
dissenting class in full before any class junior to the
dissenter may be paid at all.” H.R. Rep. No. 595, supra, at
224 (emphasis added). Under the absolute priority rule,
the Report reiterated, if an impaired class is paid less than
in full, “then no class junior [to it] may receive anything
under the plan.” Jd. at 413 (emphasis added)."
Furthermore, the House Report acknowledged that its
codification of the absolute priority rule did not entail a
wholesale importation of the judicially created rule. Id. at
224 (“The rule is a partial application of the absolute
priority rule now applied under chapter X.”); id. at 414.
Because Congress explicitly modified the scope of the
judicial rule it incorporated, this Court should be
especially reluctant to superimpose additional judicial
glosses on the statutory text.

3.a. The evolution of the bankruptcy reform legislation
also evidences Congress’s intention not to codify a new
value exception to the absolute priority rule. In this
regard, “it is crucial here to grasp not only what Congress
did, but what it chose not to do.” J. Ayer, Rethinking
Absolute Priority after Ahlers, 87 Mich. L. Rev. 963, 978
(1989).

The revision process began in 1970 with the creation of
the Commission on the Bankruptcy Laws of the United

17 See also H.R. Rep. No. 595, supra, at 416 (cramdown plan can be
confirmed if “junior classes will receive nothing under the plan”)
(emphasis added), 417 (the Bill “allows confirmation if junior interests
are not compensated”), 225 (discussing absolute priority rule without
hinting at new value exception). The Senate Report offered little
discussion of the absolute priority rule and contained no mention of the
new value exception. S. Rep. No. 989, supra, at 126-128. Because the
version of Chapter 11 that was ultimately enacted derived
predominantly from the House bill, the statements in the House Report
are more relevant to the statutory inquiry presented in this case.

19

States “to study and recommend changes in the bank-
ruptcy laws.” H.R. Rep. No. 595, supra, at 2 (footnote
omitted). The Commission filed a report with Congress in
1973 in which it proposed the explicit adoption of a new
value exception. H.R. Doc. No. 137, 93d Cong., Ist Sess.
(1973), reprinted at Vol. B Collier on Bankruptcy App. Pt.
4-518 to 4-519, 4-815 (15th ed. rev. 1998). The Commission
also suggested expanding the new value exception to allow
non-monetary contributions that are “important to the
operation of the reorganized debtor.” Jd. at App. Pt. 4-815.

The recommended new value language was included in
four proposed bills submitted to the 98d Congress." While
the proposed bills contained provisions requiring as a
condition of confirmation that a plan be “fair and equit-
able,” none of the proposed bills contained language
explicitly codifying the absolute priority rule. The “fair
and equitable” standard, moreover, was expressly limited
by the proposed new value provision.” No further action
was taken on the bills. However, each of those bills, with
the new value language and the concomitant limitation on
the “fair and equitable” standard retained, was reintro-
duced in the next session of Congress.” Extensive hear-
ings were held, during which critics targeted various
facets of the proposed new value rule.”

H.R. 10792, 93d “ong., Ist Sess. § 7-303 (1973); H.R. 16643, 93d
Cong., 2d Sess. § 7-301(4) (1974); S. 4046, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. § 7-301(4)
(1974); S. 2565, 93d Cong., Ist Sess. § 7-303(4) (1973).

H.R. 10792, supra, § 7-310(d)(2)B); H.R. 16643, supra,
§ 7-308(d)(2)B); S. 4046, supra, § 7-308(d)2)B); S. 2565, supra, § 7-
310(d)(2)(B).

» H.R. 31, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. §§ 7-303(4), 7-310(d)(2)(B) (1975);
H.R. 32, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. §§ 7-301(4), 7-308(d)(2)(B) (1975); S. 235,
94th Cong., Ist Sess. §§ 7-301(4), 7-308(d)2B) (1975); S. 236, 94th
Cong., Ist Sess. §§ 7-303(4), 7-310(d)(2)(B) (1975).

21 See H.R. 31 and H.R. 32: Bankruptcy Act Revision: Hearings
Before the House Subcomm. cn Civil and Constitutional Rights of the
Comm. on the Judiciary, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. Pt. 4, at 2160, 2180-2182,

20

b. In light_ of the hearings, substantially revised bills
emerged from both the House and Senate. The House bill
eliminated the language authorizing new value plans and
reiterated the “fair and equitable” condition for plan con-
firmation. The bill did not, however, propose to codify the
absolute priority rule. See H.R. 6, 95th Cong., Ist Sess.
§§ 1123, 1129(b) (1977). After Congress received further
comments from judges, practitioners, and academics, a
lengthy mark-up session produced H.R. 8200, 95th Cong.,
Ist Sess. (1977), the bill that would eventually become law.
See H.R. Rep. No. 595, supra, at 3; see also H.R. 7330, 95th
Cong., Ist Sess. (1977). In the Senate, a bill analogous to
H.R. 8200, S. 2266, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. (1977), was
introduced. See S. Rep. No. 989, supra, at 2.

As in H.R. 6, the new value language was absent from
both the House and Senate bills. H.R. 8200, supra, §§ 1123,
1129; S. 2266, supra, §§ 1123, 1130; see also H.R. 7330,
supra, §§ 1123, 1129. Unlike the predecessor bills, how-
ever, the House and Senate bills now also included a strict
codification of the absolute priority rule. See H.R. 8200,
supra, § 1129(b)(2)(B)(iv) (“the holders of claims or inter-
ests of any class of claims or interests, as the case may be,
that is junior to such class will not receive or retain under
the plan on account of such junior claims or interests any
property”); S. 2266, supra, § 1130(c)(2)(B)(iv) (same); H.R.
7330, supra, § 1129(b)(2)(B\(iv). With slight modifications,
H.R. 8200's elimination of new value language and explicit
codification of the absolute priority rule became law on
November 6, 1978.”

2470, 2636 (1976); S. 235 and S. 236: The Bankruptcy Reform Act:
Hearings Before the Senate Subcomm. on Improvements in Judicial
Machinery of the Comm. on the Judiciary, 94chn Cong., Ist Sess. Pt. 2,
at 382, 557, 624, 710, 716-717, 733, 1044 (1975).

2 Floor statements by the managers of the legislation confirmed
the categorical operation of the absolute priority rule. See 124 Cong.
Rec. 32,408 (1978) (statement of Rep. Edwards) (cramdown plan can be
confirmed “as long as no class junior to the dissenting class receives

21

ce. The foregoing history of the legislation refutes any
contention that Congress meant to retain the very new
value language it eliminated and meant to weaken the
strictly worded absolute priority rule it enacted. “Few
principles of statutory construction are more compelling
than the proposition that Congress does not intend sub
silentio to enact statutory language that it has earlier
discarded.” INS v. Cardoza-Fonseca, 480 U.S. 421, 442-443
(1987); see also Gulf Oil Corp. v. Copp Paving Co., 419
U.S. 186, 200 (1974) (Court will not assume “that Congress
intended a result that it expressly declined to enact”).

Significantly, earlier drafts containing the new value
language also felt it necessary to qualify the “fair and
equitable” standard for plan confirmation by making it
expressly subject to the proposed new value exception.
This suggests an understanding that, unless specifically
qualified, ordinary operation of the fair and equitable
standard—and its component absolute priority rule—
would preclude the confirmation of anew value plan. Thus,
the fact that the legislation Congress enacted not only
deleted the new value provision, but also restored the fair
and equitable standard free of such restrictions and
separately codified the absolute priority rule in broadly
worded terms forecloses any argument that Chapter 11
implicitly carried forward the new value exception.

For similar reasons, the suggestion (e.g., Pet. App. 20a;
Bonner Mall, 2 F.3d at 913) that Congress’s rejection of
the new value proposal signified only opposition to the
bills’ broad definition of value misses the mark. Had
Congress desired a narrower version of the new value ex-
ception, it presumably would have revised the proposed
new value language rather than erased it entirely and
codified instead an unconditional absolute priority rule. In
construing the Bankruptcy Code, this Court should be

anything at all”); 124 Cong. Ree. 34,007 (1978) (statement of Sen.
DeConcini) (same).

22

“directed by [the statute’s] words, and not by the discarded
draft[{s].” John Hancock Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Harris
Trust & Sav. Bank, 510 U.S. 86, 101 (1993).

4. Congress’s rejection of analogous “give-up” plans
further undercuts any argument that new value plans are
permissible. Under a give-up plan, senior claim holders
consent to have some of the property that is owed to them
allocated instead to junior classes, even though intermedi-
ate classes are not paid in full. See, eg., Kansas City
Terminal Ry. v. Central Union Trust Co., 271 U.S. 445
(1926) (bondholders’ surrender of value in favor of
stockholders). As reported out of committee, the Senate
bill would have permitted “a senior creditor to adjust his
participation for the benefit of stockholders.” S. Rep. No.
989, supra, at 127. The Report explained that “junior
creditors, who have not been satisfied in full, may not
object if, absent the ‘give-up’, they are receiving all that a
fair and equitable plan would give them.” Jbid. The House
Report, by contrast, stated that the absolute priority rule
contained in H.R. 8200, supra, § 1129(b)(2)(B\iv) would
foreclose give-up plans. H.R. Rep. No. 595, supra, at 416
(the absolute priority rule “is designed to prevent a senior
class from giving up consideration to a junior class unless
every intermediate class consents, is paid in full, or is
unimpaired”). The House’s language choice prevailed, and
the floor statements that were made in lieu of a conference
report confirm that the absolute priority rule bars give-up
plans.

Of course, if “on account of” bore the narrow meaning
ascribed by the court of appeals, then give-up plans would

2 See 124 Cong. Rec. 32,408 (1978) (statement of Rep. Edwards)
(“{T]he House report remains an accurate description of confirmation of
section 112%b). Contrary to the example contained in the Senate re
port, a senior class will not be able to give up value to a junior class
over the dissent of an intervening class unless the intervening class
receives the full amount, as opposed to value, of its claims or inter-
ests.”).

23

be permissible, because the value the junior interests re-
ceive would arguably be “on account of” an independent
decision of the senior creditors. The “on account of” lan-
guage, however, should not be construed to admit through
the back door schemes circumventing the absolute prior-
ity rule—whether new value or give-up plans—that Con-
gress specifically considered and rejected during the leg-
islative process.

C. Rejection Of A New Value Exception Is Consistent
With Pre-Code Practice

This Court is “reluctant to accept arguments that
would interpret the [Bankruptcy] Code * * * to effect a
major change in pre-Code practice that is not the subject
of at least some discussion in the legislative history.”
Dewsnup v. Timm, 502 U.S. 410, 419 (1992). The court of
appeals concluded that the new value exception was “en-
sconced” in pre-Code bankruptcy practice and thus that
Congress “‘must have enacted the Code with a full under-
standing’ of the absolute priority rule and its new value
corollary.” Pet. App. 20a (quoting Dewsnup, 502 U.S. at
419). There are several significant flaws in that rea-
soning.

1. Resort to pre-Code practice is appropriate only
when the statutory language is ambiguous. Ron Pair, 489
U.S. at 241; ef. Dewsnup, 502 U.S. at 417 (noting ambigu-
ity in text at issue), 419-420. Congress spoke with such
straightforward language in enacting the absolute prior-
ity rule that resort to extra-statutory tools of interpre-
tation is both unnecessary and inappropriate.

“4 Los Angeles Lumber relied heavily on Kansas City Terminal,
supra, to undergird its new value dicta. 308 U.S. at 121-122. Kansas
City Terminal, however, involved a give-up plan, not a new value
plan. 271 U.S. at 453-456. The fact that the absolute priority rule pro-
hibits give-up plans further counsels against a construction of the rule
that would implicitly authorize new value plans while barring the
give-up plans that provided the foundation for the new value dicta.

24

2. The ability of a court to perceive references to a
bankruptcy procedure in a few cases prior to 1978 is an
insufficient basis for engrafting an unwritten exception
onto the Bankruptcy Code. The pre-Code practice must
have been “clearly established.” Dewsnup, 502 U.S. at
418; see also Kelly v. Robinson, 479 U.S. 36, 45 n.6, 46
(1986) (rule that criminal restitution obligations are non-
dischargeable was “widely accepted” and “established” by
1978; only one court had ruled otherwise). The new value
exception was not. To the contrary, it lived only in
occasional dicta: this Court has never confirmed a new
value plan, and neither (to our knowledge) did any other
court before 1978.

a. In Los Angeles Lumber, the Court first intimated in
dicta that a new value exception might be available. 308
U.S. at 121-122.” The Los Angeles Lumber dicta appeared
again in Marine Harbor Properties v. Manufacturer's
Trust Co., 317 U.S. 78 (1942), but the issue decided was
whether the petition was properly dismissed because it
was not filed in good faith. /d. at 81. The new value dicta
arose only in a hypothetical discussion of potential
reorganization options. /d. at 85-86; see also Consolidated
Rock Prods. Co. v. Du Bois, 312 U.S. 510, 529 n.27 (1941).
The dicta made their final pre-Code appearance in Mason
v. Paradise Irrigation Dist., 326 U.S. 536, 541-543 (1946),

* A brief filed by the United States as amicus curiae in Los Ange-
les Lumber recognized the potential application of a narrow new value
exception to the judicially created absolute priority rule. See U.S.
Amic. Br. at 14, 40-42, Case v. Los Angeles Lumber Prods. Co., supra,
(Nos. 23 & 24). Our subsequent research has shown that suggestion not
to be a correct reflection of the law at that time. In any event, what-
ever the state of the law in 1939, we have consistently taken the posi-
tion in subsequent filings in this Court, as we do here, that no new
value exception was clearly established at the time of the Bankruptcy
Reform Act of 1978, and that Chapter 11 of the 1978 Code does not con-
tain a new value exception. See U.S. Amic. Br., Ahlers, supra, and
Bonner Mall Partnership, supra.

more than 30 years before enactment of the Code. That
case involved the provision of new value by a creditor (not
an equity holder) and concerned only whether the differen-
tial treatment of creditors within a class precluded con-
firmation of the plan. /d. at 538-542.

Accordingly, the fact that this Court never has ad-
dressed the new value issue except in dicta “or relied upon
this limitation * * * counsels against concluding that
the limitation was well recognized.” Ron Pair, 489 U.S.
at 247.

b. The new value dicta also had no independent exis-
tence in the decisions of lower courts. In fact, we are
aware of no reported case under the old Chapter X (or its
predecessor Section 77(b)) adopting the new value dicta as
the basis for confirmation of a plan in the years before
1978.6 In any event, even if the lower courts had occasion-
ally relied on this Court’s dicta, that would not render the
practice “well recognized” for purposes of incorporation
into the Code. Ron Pair, 489 U.S. at 247; see also United
Savings Ass'n v. Timbers of Inwood Forest Assoc., 484
U.S. 365, 381 (1988).

*® See Pet. App. 42a n.5 (“Under Chapter X, no shareholder ever
convinced a court that it contributed sufficient value to retain an
interest under the new value concept, and no reported case expressly
adopted Case’s new value dicta as its holding until the Code’s
enactment in 1978.”"); Coltex, 138 F.3d at 44; Greystone, 995 F.2d at 1282
(“There is no there there.”); 7 Collier, supra, 4 1129.04{4)[c], at 1129-106
to 1129-108 & n.164 (15th ed. rev. 1998); B. Markell, Owners, Auctions,
and Absolute Priority in Bankruptcy Reorganizations, 44 Stan. L.
Rev. 69, 92 (1991); Ayer, supra, 87 Mich. L. Rev. at 1016 (new value “is
nowhere present as a rule of decision in Chapter X cases. New value
under Chapter X, then, is an illusion.”). Because Chapter XI, under
which most other reorganizations were filed prior to 1978, did not
contain the absolute priority rule, no cases under that provision
addressed the new value dicta either. Coltex, 138 F.3d at 44; 7 Collier,
supra, J 1129.04[4)[c}, at 1129-106 to 1129-107.

26

c. In sum, rather than “ensconced in our bankruptcy
practice” (Pet. App. 20a), the new value exception was
“seemingly moribund” by 1978. 7 Collier, supra, 4
1129.04[4}[c], at 1129-108. The new value exception’s brief
flicker in bankruptcy practice is an insufficient basis for
importing it into the Code, especially in the face of
Congress’s- plain language and the adverse legislative
history. See Ron Pair, 489 U.S. at 246 (practice of deny-
ing post-petition interest was “recognized by only a few
courts and often dependent on particular circumstances”);
see also Timbers, 484 U.S. at 381.

3. Creation of a new value exception would be inappro-
priate, as well, because the confirmation scheme crafted by
Congress in Section 1129 already occupies the territory
covered by the new value dicta. Wolas, 502 U.S. at 159.
The comments in Los Angeles Lumber addressed a con-
cern under the prior Chapter X that a single, minority
creditor could employ the absolute priority rule to block
new value plans that promote the economic interests of the
vast majority of creditors in a reorganization proceeding.
In Los Angeles Lumber, for example, although more than
ninety percent of the creditors and stockholders had
approved the reorganization plan, 308 U.S. at 111-112, the
objection of a single bondholder who was owed $18,500 was
sufficient to bar the plan. See also Mason, 326 U.S. at 545-
546 & n.14.

In Chapter 11 of the 1978 Bankruptcy Code, Congress
created a scheme of structured creditor democracy. Ap
proval of plans and invocation of the absolute priority rule
are left to classes of creditors, who act by class vote. A
majority of the creditors and two-thirds of the total dollar
amount of the claims within a class are required for
assent. 11 U.S.C. 1126(c), 112%a)(8). Also unlike pre-Code
practice, if a plan is adopted by consent under 11 U.S.C.
112%a), the court cannot independently veto it through
application of the fair and equitable standard. Only cram-
down plans trigger such judicial superintendence. 11

27

U.S.C. 1129(b)(1). When considered in conjunction with
the absolute priority rule, the class democracy principles
embodied in Chapter 11 reflect a deliberate choice by
Congress of how best to remedy the gadfly creditor prob-
lem. By selecting class-based elections, Congress trusted
the creditors—who have firsthand experience with the
insolvent enterprise and who can best gauge the local busi-
ness climate—to act in their own economic self interest.
When a plan truly maximizes the prospects of recovery
and compensation, the requisite majority of creditors can
be expected to approve it.’ Where creditor consent is not
obtained, the absolute priority rule prevents the debtor
and courts from second-guessing that business judgment.
As this Court noted in Ahlers, even if a court believes that
unsecured creditors “would be better off if respondents’
reorganization plan was confirmed * * * [,] that
determination is for the creditors to make in the manner
specified by the Code * * * and courts applying the Code
must effectuate their decision.” 485 U.S. at 207.

The new value exception, by contrast, vests “power in
the judge to ‘sell’ stock to the managers even when the
creditors believe that this transaction will not augment
the value of the firm.” Kham & Nate’s Shoes, 908 F.2d at
1360. Because Congress already enacted particular provi-
sions to fix the problem that gave rise to the new value
dicta, it would be illogical to assume that Congress in-
tended simultaneously to incorporate such a dramatically

2“ Studies confirm this. See, e.g., L. LoPucki & W. Whitford,
Bargaining over Equity’s Share in the Bankruptcy Reorganization of
Large, Publicly Held Companies, 139 U. Pa. L. Rev. 125 (1990), J.
Franks & W. Torous, An Empirical Investigation of U.S. Firms im
Reorganization, 44 J. Fin. 747 (1989).

2 See also H R. Rep. No. 595, supra, at 224 ( “The premise of the
bill's financial standard for confirmation” is that the parties “should
make their own decision on the acceptability of the proposed plan of
reorganization”; “The parties are left to their own to negotiate a fair
settlement.”), 226.

28

different and unstated solution to the same problem.
Wolas, 502 U.S. at 158.” Rather, “the fact that Congress
carefully reexamined and entirely rewrote” the reorgani-
zation provision in 1978 “supports the conclusion that the
text of [Section 1129] as enacted reflects the deliberate
choice of Congress.” /d. at 160.

This is, moreover, not a case where the legislative his-
tory is silent. Cf. Dewsnup, 502 U.S. at 419. As noted
earlier, Congress considered for a number of years ver-
sions of bankruptcy reform legislation that authorized
new value plans. But in the final legislation, “Congress
moved in the other direction, enacting the [absolute
priority] rule in an uncompromising form” and choosing to
rely, instead, on class democracy to authorize those new
value plans that truly maximize the creditors’ and debtors’
welfare. Kham & Nate’s Shoes, 908 F.2d at 1362. The
court of appeals’ decision “is at war with this legislative
history.” Wolas, 502 U.S. at 160 n.15.

4. Finally, the new value dicta are ill-suited for bank-
ruptey practice under the modernized 1978 Code. Bank-
ruptey practice, especially in the reorganization arena,
“changed substantially in the * * * 40 years”
intervening between Los Angeles Lumber and the 1978
Bankruptcy Reform Act. H.R. Rep. No. 595, supra, at
233." Because the 1978 Code checked the disproportion-
ate power of minority creditors in other ways, new value
plans are now apt to be used by debtors and a single class
of minority creditors to frustrate the majority creditor
and to force it into substantial and ongoing financial
relationships with the debtor which it no longer desires.

” Even the court of appeals recognized that “(the new value excep-
tion's] necessity may not be as great today as it was in an earlier
period.” Pet. App. 22a.

* See also H.R. No. 595, supra, at 221 (“In 1938, the business re-
organization concept was not nearly as well developed as it is today,
and the [old statutory] chapters reflect a certain lack of sophistication
in handling the myriad problems of modern corporate finance.”).

See J.A. 102 (“[Wle do not want to be in a ten year
contractual relationship with the debtor.”). The fact that
a significant percentage of reorganizations ultimately fail
underscores the inequity of adopting a new value excep-
tion that forces major creditors to subsidize business
operations that, in the creditors’ judgment, simply post-
pone the inevitable.”

Furthermore, the prior Chapter X (and its predecessor
Section 77(b)), provided for the appointment of trustees to
supervise the reorganization process. See A.V.B./., 143
B.R. at 743. Old owners thus could “buy back into the
management of the company” only after a trustee “exam-
ined the books and operations and * * * unearthed any
dishonesty or mismanagement.” /bid. Under Chapter 11's
debtor-in-possession provision, however, a new value ex-
ception would permit uninterrupted control by the debtor's
owners. “Creditors often fear that such cases are run for
the private benefit of existing salaried management and
the equity holders, with the intent of unfairly squeezing
out the creditors.” Ibid.

Correspondingly, the 1978 Bankruptcy Code sharply
limited the power of courts to administer equity in a
manner untethered to the statutory language. Ahlers, 485
U.S. at 206 (“[WJhatever equitable powers remain in the
bankruptcy courts must and can only be exercised within
the confines of the Bankruptcy Code.”). Congress took it
upon itself to offer an elaborate definition of “fair and
equitable,” rather than leave the standard to judicial
development. In these circumstances, it is particularly
unlikely that Congress intended silently to import a new
value exception, with the attendant need for courts to

| See In re Kroh Bros. Development Co., 100 B.R. 487, 500 (Bankr.
W.D. Mo.) (“The Court notes that many, if not most, reorganizations
fail.”), appeal denied, 101 B.R. 1000 (W.D. Mo. 1989); B. Basil, The New
Value Exception to Absolute Priority in Bankruptcy, 101 Com. L. J.
290, 304 & n.90 (1996); S. Jensen-Conklin, Do Confirmed Chapter 11
Plans Consummate?, 97 Com. L. J. 297 (1992).

30

define the exception’s unwritten terms, such as “money
or money’s worth,” “necessity,” and “reasonable equiva-
lence.”

CONCLUSION
The judgment of the court of appeals should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted.

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General

FRANK W. HUNGER
Assistant Attorney General

LAWRENCE G. WALLACE _
Deputy Solicitor General

PATRICIA A. MILLETT
Assistant to the Solicitor

General
WILLIAM KANTER

BRUCE G. FORREST
Attorneys

JUNE 1998

APPENDIX
TITLE 11-BANKRUPTCY

§ 1129. Confirmation of plan

(a) The court shall confirm a-plan only if all of the
following requirements are met:

(1) The plan complies with the applicable pro-
visions of this title.

(2) The proponent of the plan complies with
the applicable provisions of this title.

(3) The plan has been proposed in good faith
and not by any means forbidden by law.

(4) Any payment made or to be made by the
proponent, by the debtor, or by a person issuing
securities or acquiring property under the plan,
for services or for costs and expenses in or in
connection with the case, or in connection with
the plan and incident to the case, has been
approved by, or is subject to the approval of, the
court as reasonable.

(5)(A\i) The proponent of the plan has dis-
closed the identity and affiliations of any individ-
ual proposed to serve, after confirmation of the
plan, as a director, officer, or voting trustee of the
debtor, an affiliate of the debtor participating in a
joint plan with the debtor, or a successor to the
debtor under the plan; and

(ii) the appointment to, or continuance in, such
office of such individual, is consistent with the
interests of creditors and equity security holders
and with public policy; and

(la)

2a

(B) the proponent of the plan has disclosed the
identity of any insider that will be employed or
retained by the reorganized debtor, and the nature
of any compensation for such insider.

(6) Any governmental regulatory commission
with jurisdiction, after confirmation of the plan,
over the rates of the debtor has approved any rate
change provided for in the plan, or such rate
change is expressly conditioned on such approval.

(7) With respect to each impaired class of
claims or interests—

(A) each holder of a claim or interest of such
class—

(i) has aecepted the plan; or

(ii) will receive or retain under the plan
on account of such claim or interest prop-
erty of a value, as of the effective date of the
plan, that is not less than the amount that
such holder would so receive or retain if the
debtor were liquidated under chapter 7 of
this title on such date; or

(B) if section 1111(b)(2) of this title applies
to the claims of such class, each holder of a
claim of such class will receive or retain under
the plan on account of such claim property of a
value, as of the effective date of the plan, that is
not less than the value of such holder’s interest
in the estate’s interest in the property that
secures such claims.

(8) With respect to each class of claims or
interests—

3a

(A) such class has accepted the plan; or

(B) such class is not impaired under the
plan.

(9) Except to the extent that the holder of a
particular claim has agreed to a different treat-
ment of such claim, the plan provides that—

(A) with respect to a claim of a kind specified
in section 507(a)(1) or 507(a)(2) of this title, on
the effective date of the plan, the holder of such
claim will receive on account of such claim cash
equal to the allowed amount of such claim;

(B) with respect to a class of claims of a kind
specified in section 507(a)(3), 507(a)(4), 507(a)(5),
507(a)(6), or 507(a)(7) of this title, each holder of a
claim of such class will reeeive—

(i) if such class has accepted the plan,
deferred cash payments of a value, as of the
effective date of the plan, equal to the
allowed amount of such claim; or

(ii) if such class has not accepted the
plan, cash on the effective date of the plan
equal to the allowed amount of such claim;
and

(C) with respect to a claim of a kind specified
in section 507(a)(8) of this title, the holder of
such claim will receive on account of such claim
deferred cash payments, over a period not ex-
ceeding six years after the date of assessment of
such claim, of a value, as of the effective date of
the plan, equal to the allowed amount of such
claim.

4a

(10) Ifaclass of claims is impaired under the
plan, at least one class of claims that is impaired
under the plan has accepted the plan, determined
without including any acceptance of the plan by
any insider.

(11) Confirmation of the plan is not likely to
be followed by the liquidation, or the need for
further financial reorganization, of the debtor or
any successor to the debtor under the plan, unless
such liquidation or reorganization is proposed in
the plan.

(12) All fees payable under section 1930 of
title 28, as determined by the court at the hearing
on confirmation of the plan, have been paid or the
plan provides for the payment of all such fees on
the effective date of the plan.

(13) The plan provides for the continuation
after its effective date of payment of all retiree
benefits, as that term is defined in section 1114 of
this title, at the level established pursuant to
subsection (e)(1)(B) or (g) of section 1114 of this
title, at any time prior to confirmation of the plan,
for the duration of the period the debtor has obli-
gated itself to provide such benefits.

(b\1) Notwithstanding section 510(a) of this title,
if all of the applicable requirements of subsection (a)
of this section other than paragraph (8) are met with
respect to a plan, the court, on request of the propo-
nent of the plan, shall confirm the plan notwithstand-
ing the requirements of such paragraph if the plan
does not discriminate unfairly, and is fair and equita-
ble, with respect to each class of claims or interests
that is impaired under, and has not accepted, the plan.

5a

(2) For the purpose of this subsection, the condi-
tion than a plan be fair and equitable with respect to a
class includes the following requirements:

(A) With respect to a class of secured claims, the
plan provides—

(i(1) that the holders of such claims retain the
liens securing such claims, whether the property
subject to such liens is retained by the debtor or
transferred to another entity, to the extent of the
allowed amount of such claims; and

(Il) that each holder of a claim of such class
receive on account of such claim deferred cash
payments totaling at least the allowed amount of
such claim, of a value, as of the effective date of
the plan, of at least the value of such holder’s
interest in the estate’s interest in such property;

(ii) for the sale, subject to section 363(k) of
this title, of any property that is subject to the
liens securing such claims, free and clear of such
liens, with such liens to attach to the proceeds of
such sale, and the treatment of such liens on pro-
ceeds under clause (i) or (iii) of this subparagraph;
or

(iii) for the realization by such holders of the
indubitable equivalent of such claims.

(B) With respect to a class of unsecured claims—

(i) the plan provides that each holder of a
claim of such class receive or retain on account of
such claim property of a value, as of the effective
date of the plan, equal to the allowed amount of
such claim; or

6a

(ii) the holder of any claim or interest that is
junior to the claims of such class will not receive
or retain under the plan on account of such junior
claim or interest any property.

(C) With respect to a class of interests—

(i) the plan provides that each holder of an
interest of such class receive or retain on account
of such interest property of a value, as of the
effective date of the plan, equal to the greatest of
the allowed amount of any fixed liquidation prefer-
ence to which such holder is entitled, any fixed
redemption price to which such holder is entitled,
or the value of such interest; or

(ii) the holder of any interest that is junior to
the interests of such class will not receive or
retain under the plan on account of such junior
interest any property.

(c) Notwithstanding subsections (a) and () of this

section and except as provided in section 1127(b) of_

this title, the court may confirm only one plan, unless
the order of confirmation in the case has beer revoked
under section 1144 of this title. If the requirements
of subsections (a) and (b) of this section are met with
respect to more than one plan, the court shall con-
sider the preferences of creditors and equity security
holders in determining which plan to confirm.

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of this
section, on request of a party in interest that is a
governmental unit, the court may not confirm a plan
if the principal purpose of the plan is the avoidance of
taxes or the avoidance of the application of section 5 of
the Securities Act of 1933. In any hearing under this

7a

subsection, the governmental unit has the burden of
proof on the issue of avoidance.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0167%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
