# Amicus Curiae Brief — Bank of America Nat. Trust and Sav. Assn. v. 203 North LaSalle Street Partnership

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0167%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 526 U.S. 434

## Text

MOTION FILED
MAR 3 1 1998 No. 97-1418

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1997
+

BANK OF AMERICA NATIONAL TRUST AND
SAVINGS ASSOCIATION,
Successor by merger to Bank of America Illinois,

Petitioner,

203 NORTH LASALLE STREET PARTNERSHIP,
Respondent.

s

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Seventh Circuit
o

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE A BRIEF AS
AMICUS CURIAE AND BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN
COLLEGE OF REAL ESTATE LAWYERS AS AMICUS

CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER
¢

Of Counsel Counsel of Record
Cart J. Senexer, Il Pror. Rosert M. ZinMAN
President, American St. John’s University
College of Real School of Law
Estate Lawyers 8000 Utopia Parkway
Weenadin @° Gialeente Jamaica, New York 11439
4 (718) 990-6646

Co-Chair, Amicus Briefs
Committee, American College
of Real Estate Lawyers

CuristorpHer F. GrRaHAM
THACHER, Proreitr & Woop

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 442-2831

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE A
BRIEF AS AMICUS CURIAE

The American College of Real Estate Lawyers

(“ACREL”) by and through their undersigned attorney
hereby respectfully moves this Court for leave to file the
attached amicus curiae brief in support of the Petitioner
in the above captioned matter (the “Appeal”) and
respectfully represent as follows:

Consent of Parties

The consent of the attorney for the Petitioner has

been obtained. The consent of the attorney for the
Respondent was requested but refused.

Il.

Interest of the Amicus Curiae

ACREL is a non-profit corporation organized for the
purpose of gathering together lawyers to improve
and reform real estate law. ACREL’s membership
consists of over 800 attorneys from nearly every
state and the District of Columbia, all of whom have
concentrated their practice in real estate law for a
period of ten years or more, and law professors
specializing in the field of real estate law. The case at
bar involves a single asset debtor owning commer-
cial real estate.

ACREL believes that the decision of the Seventh
Circuit, if upheld, will have a serious adverse affect
on the availability of financing for the acquisition
and development of commercial real property in the
United States.

ACREL therefore has an interest in presenting to the
Court the view that in the broad context of public

policy and future economic development and
growth, the interpretation of the Bankruptcy Code
advanced by the Seventh Circuit is erroneous and
certiorari should be granted to review that inter-
pretation.

The Proposed Amicus Curiae Brief

IV. A copy of the proposed amicus curiae brief is sub-
mitted herewith. The proposed brief focuses on legal
and policy arguments not made in the brief of the
Petitioner.

Conclusion

Due to the Amicus’ substantial interest in the out-
come of the Appeal, due to the Amicus’ substantial
expertise in the real estate issues involved in the Appeal,
and due to the importance of the issues presented, the
Amicus hereby requests that its motion for leave to file
and amicus curiae brief in the Appeal be granted.

Dated: Jamaica, New York
March 31, 1998

Respectfully submitted,

Proressor Rosert M. ZINMAN
St. John’s University
School of Law
8000 Utopia Parkway
Jamaica, New York 11439
(718) 990-6646

Attorney for the American
College of Real Lstate Lawyers

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the “new value exception” to the “abso-
lute priority rule” survived the codification of a modified
absolute priority rule under § 1129(b)(2)(B)(ii) of the
Bankruptcy Code, which does not reflect such an excep-
tion.

2. Assuming, arguendo, the existence of a “new
value exception” as articulated by this Court in dicta in
Case v. Los Angeles Lumber Products Co., 308 U.S. 106
(1939), whether the Seventh Circuit properly applied the
exception.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRREGENTED ..ccccccccccccscvccsccess i
THe Ce PI 6 5 0 0 Fa cans ve bnes Shnsabees iv
STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE... 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT..............5.000008: 2
RTGS «vines chiunessscindddcavesacas cancel 3

THE SO-CALLED NEW VALUE EXCEPTION
OR NEW VALUE COROLLARY WAS NOT
INCORPORATED INTO THE BANKRUPTCY
Ce 6b cdccs un chbenchowetschsaehineGvadeees:

A. Confirmation of New Value Plans Prior to
the Adoption of the Bankruptcy Code Is an
ee ee ee ee

B. Congress Rejected the New Value Exception
When Adopting the Bankruptcy Code.....

THE NEW VALUE EXCEPTION AS ADOPTED
BY THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT DISTORTS THE
NEW VALUE COROLLARY AS ARTICULATED
IN DICTA BY THIS COURT AND ABROGATES
THE ABSOLUTE PRIORITY REQUIREMENTS
OF THE BANKRUPTCY CODE ...............

A. The Seventh Circuit Ignores the Creditor
Protection Prong of this Court's Articula-
tion of the New Value Requirements. .....

B. The Seventh Circuit Distorts the Prerequi-
sites to New Value Articulated by this Court
he PPro eee

7

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page
Se PERRIN kvcccedinvdeceveccdccccevaves 10
2. Reasonable Equivalence ............... 11

THE APPLICATION OF THE SEVENTH CIR-
CUIT’S VISION OF NEW VALUE TO SINGLE
ASSET REAL ESTATE REORGANIZATIONS
WOULD SERVE NO PUBLIC PURPOSE, ABRO-
GATE THE PROTECTION FOR MORTGAGEES
BUILT INTO THE BANKRUPTCY CODE, AND
HAVE A SEVERE AND NEGATIVE IMPACT
ON BORROWERS, LENDERS, AND THE REAL
SEE 6 ous Wan ccdedcdvesisccatess

FED PU CONGO oes cc cvcccceesscceecss
B. Abrogation of Mortgagee Protection.......
C. Negative lmpact on the Real Estate Industry

ee ee |

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Case v. Los Angeles Lumber Products Co., 308 U.S.

BOG COBO eo cede te ceccsoussbdesedadcesees 4,5, 7, 8,9
Dewsnup v. Timm, 502 U.S. 410 (1992) ....... 0.66000 6
In re 203 N. LaSalle St. Partnership, 126 F.3d 955

Le 8 , eer Tre re rreT rT rr. passim
In re 203 N. LaSalle St. Partnership, 190 B.R. 567

Gales. BEB. GE. CORED occ uwscessccens 6, 10, 12, 16, 17
In re Coltrex Loop Central Three Partners, L.P., No.

96-5140, slip op. 7-17 (2d Cir. Feb. 19, 1988) ....... 3
In re DRW Property Co. 82, 57 B.R. 987 (Bankr. N.D.

Te, BNL kn caleure dee nee weed uy eae dens ae eileniwe 15
In re Pine Gate Associates, Ltd., 2 Bankr. Ct. Dec.

(CRR) 1478 (Bankr. N.D. Ga. 1976)............. 14, 15
In re Snyder, 967 F.2d 1126 (7th Cir. 1992)............ )
In re Woodbrook Associates, 19 F.3d 312 (7th Cir.

BOE. cnbenesscsank* os oNndnd chbueudhasabasecutcant 10
Kansas City Terminal Ry. Co. v. Central Union Trust

TF Gat Sierras ae 8, 9
Northern Pacific Ry. v. Boyd, 228 U.S. 482 (1913) ..... 11
Norwest Bank Worthington v. Ahlers, 485 U.S. 197

GRPUED an dav cvacesndustigi ceseiieuneswusdaniatens 11, 12
STATUTES
Se Ges BS OUD bcc sdncccabaddsartbicceveuseuabace 16
CB. CRs 1 REED cusddccoccdankctis cabaupesvedsnai 15

85 USE. 6 CII. . oisicdcccidcneeR 16

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Sp es Oe I 046i edd nvescdeséeéceuced 6, 14
48 Stat. 912 (Bankruptcy Act of 1898 § 77B).......... 7
MISCELLANEOUS
John D. Ayer, Rethinking Absolute Priority After
Ahlers, 87 Mich. L. Rev. 963 (1989)................. 4
Bruce Markell, Owners, Auctions, and Absolute Pri-
ority in Bankruptcy Reorganizations, 44 Stan. L.
Eee IE 6 oo h.cbuewseelios seVasendesthbinbssoese 4
Hearings on S.2266 and H.R. 8200 before the Sub-
comm. on Improvements in the Judicial
Machinery of the Senate Comm. on the Judici-
ary, 95th Cong., 853 (1977) (statement of John J.
Creedon, American Council of Life Insurance) .... 14
5 Cover ON Bankruptcy J 506.03 [4}[e], at n.58
(Lawrence P. King et al. eds. 15th ed. rev. 1997) .... 16

Report of the Commission on the Bankruptcy
ws of the United States, H.R. Doc. No. 93-137,

Part I, 93d Cong. Ist Sess. (1973), at 256-57...... 4,5

Report of the Commission on the Bankruptc
ws of the United States, H.R. Doc. No. 93-137,
Part Il, 93d Cong. Ist Sess. (1973), at 242,

Th ERS RG cep EEN ic AEE Te RR I ag 4,5

S. Rep. No. 95-598, 95th Cong. 2d Sess. 65 (1978),

reprinted in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5787 ........6600055

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE!

The American College of Real Estate Lawyers
(“ACREL”) is a nonprofit corporation organized for the
purpose of, inter alia, gathering together lawyers “to
improve and reform real estate law and practice,”
(ACREL Articles of Incorporation at 2). ACREL’s mem-
bership consists of over 800 attorneys from nearly every
state and the District of Columbia who have concentrated
their practice in real estate law for a period of ten years
or more, and law school professors specializing in the
field of real estate law. In addition, members elected to
ACREL must have demonstrated a willingness to devote
time to improving real property law through writing,
teaching or participation in professional association activ-
ities. ACREL’s membership represents the entire spec-
trum of the real estate industry including borrowers,
lenders, investors and developers. The case at bar
involves a debtor whose single asset is an interest in
commercial real estate that has declined in value to a
point where the debtor's real estat + is worth less than the
amount of secured debt on the property. Whether the
property securing the debt may be retained by the
debtor’s partners under a new value plan without paying
the debt is an issue of significant concern to the real
cetate industry.

' Counsel for a party did not author this brief in whole or in
part. No person or entity, other than the Amicus Curiae, its
members, or its counsel made a monetary contribution to the
preparation and submission of this brief.

This brief supports the petition of the Petitioner in
this case. Due to the background of the Amicus, its expe-
rience as counsel to lenders and borrowers, and its famil-
iarity with the confusion, costs and consequences to the
real estate industry arising from the ambiguities created
by the issues before this Court, ACREL is in a unique
position to offer its expertise concerning the adverse con-
sequences that would result from the decision below on
the availability of financing for the acquisition and devel-
opment of commercial real property in the United States.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This brief urges that certiorari be granted for the
following reasons:

1. There is no new value exception or corollary to
the fair and equitable requirement of the Bankruptcy
Code. The new value principle as articulated in dicta
prior to the adoption of the Bankruptcy Code was
rejected by Congress in favor of a more flexible and
modified absolute priority rule that obviated the need for
a new value principle.

2. The new value exception applied by the Seventh
Circuit distorts the new value corollary articulated by this
Court in its Case v. Los Angeles Lumber dicta and represents
a post-Code invention that contravenes the parameters
set by Justice Douglas in Case and threatens the very
existence of the absolute priority rule.

3. The Seventh Circuit’s decision undermines the
protection for real estate mortgages built into the Bank-
ruptcy Code and threatens to have a severe negative
impact on the real estate industry and the availablity of
real estate mortgage financing.

¢

ARGUMENT

I. THE SO-CALLED NEW VALUE EXCEPTION OR
NEW VALUE COROLLARY WAS NOT INCORPO-
RATED INTO THE BANKRUPTCY CODE.

This brief supports the conclusions and reasoning of
the brief of the Petitioner, the dissent of Judge Kanne in
the Seventh Circuit’s opinion in In re 203 N. LaSalle St.
Partnership, 126 F.3d 955, 970 (7th Cir. 1997) and the
opinion of the Second Circuit in In re Coltex Loop Central
Three Partners, L.P--No. 96-5140, slip op. 7-17 (2d Cir. Feb.
19, 1998) that there is no hold-over new value exception
or corollary to the absolute priority rule of the Bank-
ruptcy Code.

A. Confirmation of New Value Plans Prior to the
Adoption of The Bankruptcy Code Is an Illu-
sion.

The Seventh Circuit stated that “the new value corol-
lary has long been ensconced in our bankruptcy prac-
tice,” In re 203 N. LaSalle St. Partnership, 126 F.3d 955, 965
(7th Cir. 1997), and that it has been “a major source of
new funding in reorganizations for the past fifty years.”

ld. at 966. From this predicate, the Seventh Circuit con-
cluded that “one would expect that Congress would
address deliberately such a significant issue of economic
policy if it had determined to abolish it.” Id. The problem
with this conclusion is that its predicate is incorrect.

From the decision of this Court in Case v. Los Angeles
Lumber Products Co., 308 U.S. 106 (1939), to the adoption
of the Bankruptcy Code in 1978, there appears to be no
published evidence that any “shareholder was ever able
to convince a court that she contributed sufficient value
to be able to retain an interest. Indeed, until the Code’s
adoption in 1978, no reported case seems to have adopted
Justice Douglas’ dicta as its holding.” Bruce A. Markell,
Owners, Auctions, and Absolute Priority in Bankruptcy Reor-
ganizations, 44 Stan. L. Rev. 69, 93 (1991); see also, John D.
Ayer, Rethinking Absolute Priority After Ahlers, 87 Mich. L.
Rev. 963, 1016 (1989) where Professor Ayer concludes,
“Justice Douglas’ supposed ‘exception,’ . . . is nowhere
present as a rule of decision in Chapter X cases. New
value under Chapter X, then, is an illusion.”

Thus there was no 50 year history of the new value
exception being part of bankruptcy “practice.” While the
new value theory, as expressed in dicta by this Court in
Case was known, that theory never became part of bank-
ruptcy practice until after the adoption of the Bankruptcy

Code.

B. Congress Rejected the New Value Exception
When Adopting the Bankruptcy Code.

In 1973, the Commission on the Bankruptcy Laws of
the United States in its Report, H.R. Doc. No. 93-137,

Parts | & Il, 93d Cong. Ist Sess. (1973), concluded that the
absolute priority rule had become a “strait jacket” (Part |
at 256-57) because, as applied, it did not permit old
equity to participate even with the agreement of all
classes of creditors. Its solution was to modify the abso-
lute priority rule by permitting juniors to participate on
the basis of a contribution “important to the operation of
the reorganized debtor . . . under the plan” on a basis
reasonably approximating the value of their contribution.
H.R. Doc. No. 93-137, Part I, 93d Cong., Ist Sess. (1973)
at 242, § 7-303(4). This proposal created a storm of criti-
cism and was rejected by Congress.

In its place, Congress modified the absolute priority
rule to limit its application only to dissenting impaired
classes of creditors, thus breaking the perceived strait-
jacket by freeing classes of creditors to admit junior inter-
ests by agreement. If this limited absolute priority had
been in effect under the Bankruptcy Act, the Case plan
would have been confirmed and the issue that gave rise
to the creation of the new value corollary would never
have arisen. Thus the Bankruptcy Code obviated the need
for a new value corollary. The dissent in LaSalle noted,
“the pre-Code rationale for the new value exception
makes little sense in today’s Chapter 11 environment.”
126 F.3d at 976.

Indeed Congress considered a provision that would
have incorporated new value into the Code (even includ-
ing, it would seem, alternative forms of contribution,
such as were proffered in Case), rejected it and enacted a
compromise that allowed for participation by agreement.
Although those arguing that the new value corollary
survived the adoption of the Bankruptcy Code do so on

the basis that “Congress . . . does not write ‘on a clean
slate.” Dewsnup v. Timm, 502 U.S. 410, 419 (1992), the
facts would seem to indicate either that there was nothing
on Congress's slate when the Bankruptcy Code was being
considered or, if the new value principle were on its slate,
Congress clearly erased it before it began to write.

The clear language of Bankruptcy Code § 1129(b)(2)(B)
prohibits juniors from retaining an interest on account of
their junior interest if dissenting creditors are unpaid.
Proponents of new value argue that the interest is not
being retained “on account of” the junior interest but
because the debtor has made a bid in the form of new
value. LaSalle, 126 F.3d at 964. It stretches credulity to
believe that the debtor, in control of all the information
about the property and with the exclusive right to present
a plan, is not retaining an interest on account of its junior
interest. Indeed in LaSalle the Bankruptcy Court argued
that the new value offered did not represent the intrinsic
value of the property but rather was based on the part-
ners’ need to retain the property to avoid tax consequences
arising out of their prior interest in the property, thus
acknowledging that the new value was offered, and the
property retained, on account of the prior junior interest.
See In re 203 N. LaSalle St. Partnership, 190 B.R. 567, 576
(Bankr. N.D.IIl. 1996); and infra note 6.

Il. THE NEW VALUE EXCEPTION AS ADOPTED BY
THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT DISTORTS THE NEW
VALUE COROLLARY AS ARTICULATED IN
DICTA BY THIS COURT AND ABROGATES THE
ABSOLUTE PRIORITY REQUIREMENTS OF THE
BANKRUPTCY CODE.

A. The Seventh Circuit Ignores the Creditor Pro-
tection Prong of this Court’s Articulation of the
New Value Requirements.

As discussed above, this brief argues that no new
value principle survived the adoption of the Bankruptcy
Code. Even if this Court should conclude that new value
is still viable, certiorari should be granted and the Sev-
enth Circuit should be reversed because the supposed
“new value corollary” applied is not the corollary to
absolute priority articulated by this Court in Case v. Los
Angeles Lumber Products Co., 308 U.S. 106 (1939).

In Case, this Court struck down a plan under which
old equity? attempted to circumvent the requirement that
a plan had to be “fair and equitable,” which term requires
that interests in the debtor be distributed on the basis of
“absolute priority.” 308 U.S. at 106. The Case plan,
approved by all classes of creditors, would have allowed
old equity to retain an interest in the debtor based on a
promised contribution of expertise even though creditors
were not fully compensated.’ In dicta, this Court noted

? The term “old equity” as used herein refers to the
stockholders, partners or principals of the debtor.

* Case was decided under § 77B of the Bankruptcy Act of
1898 (48 Stat. 912). Had the Bankruptcy Code been in effect at
the time, the Case plan would have been confirmed. Under the

that it had previously stated that creditors could be pro-
tected “through other arrangements which distinctly recog-
nize their equitable right to be preferred to stockholders against
the full value of all property belonging to the debtor.” 308 U.S.
at 117 (quoting Kansas City Terminal Ry Co. v. Central
Union Trust Co., 271 U.S. 445, 454 (1926)) (emphasis
added). Justice Douglas stated that where the necessity for
tunds exists and old equity makes a fresh contribution
“and receive[s] in return a participation reasonably equiva-
lent to their contribution,” the creditors cannot object on
the ground that they were not accorded their “full right
of priority against the corporate assets.” Id.

The dicta in Case permitted old equity to obtain an
interest in the debtor only if creditors were accorded their
“tull right of priority” against the debtor’s assets. Old
equity could not participate “at the expense of the prior
rights .. . of creditors.” 308 U.S. at 116. It is this creditor
protection prong of the Case dicta that the Seventh Circuit
and cases adhering to its view, ignore. In LaSalle, old
equity was allowed to retain valuable property at the
expense of the unpaid mortgagee, which received only
16% on its deficiency claim. This would hardly seem to
accord the creditor its “full right of priority.”*

Bankruptcy Code, the fair and equitable requirement applies
only to dissenting impaired classes of creditors. Thus there was
no longer a need for a “new value corollary” to permit
uncompensated seniors to admit juniors, which was the issue in
Case.

* How the standards of the Case dicta can be achieved has
been the source of much controversy. This difficulty may be the
basis for the apparent lack of any reported cases under which a
court confirmed a new value plan over the objection of a

LS —

Thus, by not affording the creditor its full right of
priority, the LaSalle debtor's plan did not meet the
requirements of the new value corollary to the absolute
priority rule, was not fair and equitable, and should not
have been confirmed over the objection of an impaired
class of creditors. Although the Seventh Circuit refers to
new value as a “corollary” to the absolute priority rule,
its decision converts the Case corollary to a wide excep-
tion to the rule that threatens to consume the rule itself.
We respectfully urge that certiorari be granted to resolve
the extent of protection afforded by the absolute priority
rule of the Bankruptcy Code under a new value plan.

B. The Seventh Circuit Distorts the Prerequisites
to New Value Articulated by this Court in Case.

Under the dicta in Case, a plan in which old equity
retains an interest might be confirmed upon a contribu-
tion of new value in the form of money or money's worth
only if the full priority rights of creditors are preserved; if
the new value is necessary or “ ‘essential to the success of
the undertaking,” 308 US at 121 (quoting Kansas City
Terminal Ry., 271 U.S. at 454) (emphasis added); and if the
retained interest is reasonably equivalent to old equity's
contribution.®

creditor prior to the adoption of the Bankruptcy Code. This
difficulty may also explain the abrogation by some courts
(presumably unwittingly) of the creditor protection prong of
this Court's articulation of the new value principle.

5 The courts have engrafted to the Case requirements, a
further prerequisite of substantiality as either a corollary to the
requirement of necessity (/n re Snyder, 967 F.2d 1126, 1131 (7th

10

In LaSalle, the requirements of necessity and reason-
able equivalence have been so ignored and distorted that
in reality they no longer are prerequisites to confirmation
of a new value plan.

(1) Necessity. When Justice Douglas referred to the
“necessity, at times, of seeking new money ‘essential to
the success of the undertaking,’ ” id., he obviously was
referring to the necessity for funds to continue the opera-
tion of the enterprise, the production of its product, the
provision of its services, and the employment of its
workers. In single asset real estate cases, it_is normally
difficult to find this necessity. There is no business to be
continued, no product to be produced, and no service to
be performed that will not be continued, produced or
performed by the new owner of the real estate.

Cir. 1992)) or as a substitute for all other factors. The substitute
theory can be seen in the bankruptcy court decision in LaSalle,
where the court sees an implication in In re Woodbrook Associates,
19 F.3d 312, 320 (7th Cir. 1994) that “substantiality serves as
something of a summary of the other factors” (In re 203 N.
LaSalle Street Ltd. Partnership, 190 B.R. 567, 586 (Bankr. N.D. III.
1995)). All courts seem to agree that there is no mathematical
formula for determination of substantiality and that the
determination should be based on “common sense.” This was
the view of the Seventh Circuit in LaSalle. 126 F.3d at 967. While
the addition of another prerequisite on its face causes no harm,
given the enormous flexibility that some courts have allowed
themselves in determining whether this requirement has been
met, and their apparent conclusion that if this requirement is
met there is no need to consider the other prerequisites, it
appears that “substantiality” is but another shorthanded way to
circumvent this Court's stated conditions for confirmation of
new value plans.

= A ee -

11

Confronted with the fact that funds were not essen-
tial to the success of the undertaking in LaSalle, the Sev-
enth Circuit distorted the necessity requirement to mean
essential for confirmation of the debtor’s “plan” (“The
infusion of new capital was necessary for the successful
implementation of the plan.” 126 F.3d at 967). Since new
value is always proposed by the debtor to enable old
equity to keep the property, this switch in the meaning of
“necessary” would result in virtually every new value
plan meeting this requirement over dissenting unpaid
creditors’ objection. The approach taken by the Seventh
Circuit effectively reads necessity out of the prerequisites
for new value plan confirmation. We urge that certiorari
be granted to resolve the meaning of “necessary” or
“essential.”

2. Reasonable Equivalence. Under this prerequisite,
old equity may not receive more than the reasonable
equivalence of its contribution. In single asset cases, the
debtor usually has no equity in the property (the prop-
erty value is lower than the mortgages encumbering it, as
was the case in LaSalle). In the past, debtors have argued
that retention of the property by old equity does not
deprive the creditor of its “full right of priority” because
what the debtor-proposes to retain is worthless. This
Court has clearly rejected this “no-value” argument. In
Northern Pacific Ry. v. Boyd, 228 U.S. 482, 508 (1913), this
Court stated that “control” itself was an asset that consti-
tuted value and that such value belonged to the creditors,
not old equity. This Court again in 1988 reaffirmed that
determination in Norwest Bank Worthington v. Ahlers, 485
U.S. 197 (1988), stating that “we join in the consensus of

ES ———eeoooeere

12

authority which has rejected this ‘no value’ theory.” Id. at
207-08.

Notwithstanding these decisions, the LaSalle court
employed the no-value theory as the basis for determin-
ing whether the contribution met the reasonable equiva-
lence standard. The Bankruptcy Court stated that “the
contribution is easily the equivalent of the interests
retained by the debtor's partners. Indeed, on the market,
those interests are worthless.” 190 B.R. at 588. The Sev-
enth Circuit acknowledged that the Bankruptcy Court
had determined that the contribution was “reasonably
equivalent to the interest retained” but failed to discuss
whether the requirement had been met, apparently agree-
ing with the Bankruptcy Court’s determination. 126 F.3d
at 967.

While legislative suggestions have been made for
dealing with new value, none appear to have addressed
solutions to the fundamental issues involving compliance
with the holdings of this Court discussed in this part of
the brief. It is respectfully urged that if we are to remain
subject to the rule of law, certiorari should be granted to
undo what appears to be an obvious attempt to evade
decisions of this Court.

et

13

Ill. THE APPLICATION OF THE SEVENTH CIR-
CUIT’S VISION OF NEW VALUE TO SINGLE
ASSET REAL ESTATE REORGANIZATIONS
WOULD SERVE NO PUBLIC PURPOSE, ABRO-
GATE THE PROTECTION FOR MORTGAGEES
BUILT INTO THE BANKRUPTCY CODE, AND
HAVE A SEVERE AND NEGATIVE IMPACT ON
BORROWERS, LENDERS, AND THE REAL
ESTATE INDUSTRY.

A. No Public Purpose.

The confirmation of new value plans is often urged
as a matter of public policy on the ground that the funds
are needed to keep the debtor in business, preserve the
going concern value, keep people employed, and pre-
serve the performance or production of needed services
or products. Whether or not such arguments make sense
in the case of a manufacturer or service provider, these
laudable objectives are wholly inapplicable to single asset
real estate cases. In the single asset real estate transaction
the operation of the real estate will continue no matter
who is the owner of the property. It is a non-sequitur to
say that the “reorganization will fail” if there is no infu-
sion of new value. The only thing that may fail is the
attempt by old equity to keep the debtor’s property with-
out paying its just debts.

If the debtor’s plan cannot be confirmed and the
property goes to foreclosure, the mortgagee or other pur-
chaser at the sale will operate the property. The question
is not whether the business will continue. The question is
only who will own the property - the debtor’s old equity
who have not paid the debtor’s obligations to creditors,
or the creditors who have not been paid. The decision

14

below opts for the former with old equity given the
property and 84% of the creditors deficiency claim wiped
out. No public purpose can be served by such a result.

B. Abrogation of Mortgagee Protection.

Section 1129(b)(2)(B) of the Bankruptcy Code pro-
hibits confirmation of a plan over the objection of an
impaired class of unsecured creditors if old equity is
permitted to retain an interest in the property on account
of its junior interest. A major reason for this provision
was to overcome the so-called Pine Gate line of cases that
treated nonrecourse mortgagees as the Seventh Circuit
now treats all mortgagees. In In re Pine Gate Associates,
Ltd., 2 Bankr. Ct. Dec. (CRR) 1478 (Bankr. N.D. Ga. 1976),
and its progeny, decided under chapter XII of the former
Bankruptcy Act, the bankruptcy courts allowed debtors
to retain the mortgaged property upon payment to the
non-recourse mortgagee of the depressed (due to the
mid-70’s recession) value of the collateral. In direct
response to the perceived inequity of the Pine Gate line of
cases, Congress was asked to restore absolute priority to
real estate arrangements under the new chapter 11 of the
Bankruptcy Code. See, e.g., Hearings on $.2266 and H.R.
8200 before the Subcomm. on Improvements in the Judi-
cial Machinery of the Senate Comm. on the Judiciary, 95th
Cong., 853, 855-56, 864-76 (1977) (statement of John J.
Creedon, American Council of Life Insurance).

Congress enacted a package of protection insuring
that the mortgagee may have an unsecured claim for the
deficiency and providing absolute priority for each dis-
senting impaired class of creditors, including the

a

15

unsecured class. It was this absolute priority for the
unsecured class, including the mortgagee’s deficiency
claim, that provided the protection afforded by Congress.
If the unsecured class rejected the plan (and normally in
single asset cases the mortgagee’s deficiency claim is the
only major unsecured claim) the debtor would not be able
to retain the property without paying the creditors. The
plan could not be confirmed.

New value as applied in LaSalle and many post enact-
ment Bankruptcy Code cases would abrogate this protec-
tion by restoring the Pine Gate rule - in a much more
sinister form. In both situations the debtor would keep
the property. The difference is that in Pine Gate, the
mortgagee would receive an immediate payment of cash
equal to the court determined value of the collateral
whereas in the new value cases after the enactment of the

. Bankruptcy Code, the mortgagee would receive only a

mor ,age with a face amount equal to the court deter-
mined value of the collateral. This retention of the prop-
erty by old equity when portions of, or all of the
mortgagee’s deficiency claim is wiped out is clearly the
opposite of what Congress intended. See S. Rep. No.
95-598, at 65 (1978), reprinted in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5787,
5851 (stating that a precursor of present § 1111(b), which
affords a deficiency claim to nonrecourse mortgagees,
“answers the nonrecourse loan problem and gives the
creditor an unsecured claim for the difference between
the value of the collateral and the debt in response to the
decision in” Pine Gate); see also In re DRW Property Co. 82,
57 B.R. 987, 990 (Bankr. N.D. Tex. 1986) (stating Congress
enacted section 1111(b) “to alleviate the Pine Gate
problem and to attempt to restore the benefit of the
bargain to nonrecourse secured creditors”).

16

Indeed the statutory language prevents the debtor in
single asset cases from ever retaining the property when
the mortgagee’s deficiency claim is unpaid. Section 506(a)
provides that a claim is secured only to the extent of the
value of the collateral. Section 1129(b)(2) requires that the
secured claim be equal in amount and value to the collat-
eral value as of the effective date of the plan. Any new
value offered represents a bid by old equity for the single
property in an amount in excess of the amount of the
mortgage. Such a bid represents the value of the property
and, under § 1129(b)(2), requires that the secured claim
be increased to that value. As a result no plan under
which the property will be acquired for less than the full
amount of the mortgage balance before bifurcation into
secured and unsecured portions can be confirmed over
the objection of the secured creditor class.°

© In LaSalle, the Bankruptcy Court attempted to deflect this
argument by finding that the bid was not based on the
“intrinsic” value of the real estate “but because of the tax
consequences that flow from their loss.” 190 B.R. at 588.
However the price paid for property is normally considered
determinative of value without an examination of the
motivations of the purchaser. “[I]f the collateral is actually sold
during the course of the bankruptcy proceedings or pursuant to
a confirmed plan, the consideration received from the sale will
almost always resolve the question of value.” 5 Coitirr ON
Bankruptcy J 506.03[4][a] at n.58 (Lawrence P. King et al. eds.
15th ed. rev. 1997). Indeed, in LaSalle the bankruptcy court itself,
in referring to what would be paid on the deficiency claim,
stated that the creditor will receive “50% of the net value of the
property either as realized in a sale, or as appraised at the time of
any refinancing.” (emphasis added). The price paid indicates
value. The motivation of the purchaser is irrelevant.

i ne

ee eee

17

It should be apparent that new value as interpreted
by the Seventh Circuit would undo the absolute priority
protection afforded by Congress to mortgagees. This
would represent a major change in the treatment of credi-
tors in bankruptcy. We respectfully request that certiorari
be granted to resolve this issue.

C. Negative Impact on the Real Estate Industry.

The decision below will have a severe adverse impact
on the real estate industry. Literally billions of dollars
have been loaned to real estate developers by institutions,
including insurance companies and pension plans that
insure and protect millions of ordinary citizens, on the
strength of real property collateral and the protection for
realization on that collateral built into the Bankruptcy
Code.

The decision below will result in the reduction of the
availabilty of funds for real estate development, as
lenders, faced with the uncertainties of the decision
below, channel funds away from real estate investments
to other forms of lending. For those funds that are avail-
able for real estate investment, the decision below will
result in tighter credit standards and higher interest rates
to reflect the greater risk involved. The failure to resolve
the issues raised by LaSalle will mean the continuation of
the present uncertainty and extensive future litigation in
real estate bankruptcies. Thus LaSalle not only threatens
existing mortgage debt held by lenders, but also
threatens the future of the real estate industry, which
relies so heavily on mortgage financing.

>

18

The Bankruptcy Code was carefully drafted by Con-
gress to balance the interests of debtors and creditors and
provide for the efficient administration of bankruptcy
cases in the United States. If Courts are permitted by
judicial legislation to undermine the foundations of the
protection afforded to real estate mortgagees, the real
estate industry and the national economy will be severely
and adversely affected.

CONCLUSION

For all the reasons set forth herein, the American
College of Real Estate Lawyers respectfully urges this
Court to grant certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

~~ Of Counsel Counsel of Record
Car J. Senexer, II Pror. Rosert M. ZINMAN
President, American St. John’s University
College of Real School of Law
Estate Lawyers 8000 Utopia Parkway
Jamaica, New York 11439

THomas C. HoOmMBURGER

Co-Chair, Amicus Briefs
Committee, American College
of Real Estate Lawyers

(718) 990-6646

CHrRIsToOPHER F. GRAHAM
THACHER, Prorritt & Woop

—o >see enti

_

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0167%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
