# Opposition Brief — Bank of America Nat. Trust and Sav. Assn. v. 203 North LaSalle Street Partnership

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0167%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 526 U.S. 434

## Text

Supreme Court, US.
+ FILED

No. 97-1418 | MAR $1 1998

GFFICE OF THE CLERK
IN THE =

——

a J

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1997

BANK OF AMERICA NATIONAL TRUST AND
SAVINGS ASSOCIATION,
Successor by merger to Bank of America Illinois,

> Petitioner,

203 NORTH LASALLE STREET PARTNERSHIP,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

RESPONSE IN OPPOSITION TO THE
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

RICHARD M. BENDIX, JR.
Counsel of Record

MALCOLM M. GAYNOR

PAUL J. GAYNOR

SCHWARTZ, COOPER, GREENBERGER
& KRAUSS, CHARTERED

180 North LaSalle Street

Suite 2700

Chicago, Illinois 60601 -

(312) 346-1300

Attorneys for Respondent

Midwest Law Printing Co., Chicago 60610, (312) 321-0220

RULE 14.1(b) AND 29.6 STATEMENT

The Respondent, 203 North LaSalle Street Partner-
ship, is an Illinois Limited Partnership. The Respondent
has no parent corporation, subsidiaries or affiliates, and
no stock in the Respondent is publicly traded.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
RULE 14.1(b) AND 29.6 STATEMENT .......... i
TABLE OF CONTENTS ........ccccccscccecs ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ............:.... iv
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ................ 1
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ......... 7

1. THIS CASE IS NOT AN APPROPRIATE

VEHICLE FOR CONSIDERING SURVIV-
AL OF THE NEW VALUE COROLLARY .... 9

A. Reversing the lower courts would

make this the first case in which an

unstayed order confirming a substan-

tially consummated plan of reorgani-
zation was overturned .............. 9

B. By failing to appeal the bankruptcy

court’s order denying the Bank’s

motion to terminate the Debtor’s

exclusive right to file a plan, the

Bank waived its right to raise exclu-
Pe ae 15

C. The Plan does not violate the abso-
bute priestiy TUES . «oso o'ssecuenueen 17

D. Even if the absolute priority rule
applies, this case does not present
any of the hypothetical dangers upon
which critics rely to question the
survival of the new value corollary ... 20

Il. THERE IS NO SPLIT IN THE CIRCUITS
REGARDING THE EXISTENCE OF THE
NEW VALUE COROLLARY ............ 25

Ill. THE STATUS OF THE NEW VALUE
COROLLARY IS NO LONGER SUFFI-
CIENTLY IMPORTANT TO REQUIRE
DECISION BY THIS COURT ........... 27

DE (CabGUGRSGoseeseecoeesooces 30

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES PAGE(S)
Alsberg v. Robinson,
GSB F.36 SIS (the Cie. 1606)... ccc cc cece: 25

In re Bonner Mall Partnership,
2 F.3d 899 (9th Cir. 1993) .. 8, 12, 13, 25, 29, 30

In re Bryson Properties XVIII,
961 F.2d 496 (4th Cir. 1991) . 8, 19, 22, 25, 26, 27

In re Burton Securities, S.A..,

202 B.R. 411 (S.D. Tex. 1996) ............. 13
In re Cambridge Biotech Corp..,

214 B.R. 429 (D. Mass. 1997) ............. 13
Case v. Los Angeles Lumber Products Co.,

Bee Ge OGRE acter wnacscteces 18, 19

Central States, Southeast and Southwest Areas
Pension Funds v. Central Transport, Inc.,

841 F.2d 92 (4th Cir. 1988) ............ 13, 14
Church of Scientology v. United States,
i ee ase s at i)

Coltex Loop Central Three Partners,
L.P. v. BT/SAP Pool C Associates,
No. 96-5140, slip op. (2d Cir. Feb. 19,
PS ree 8, 19, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27

In re Continental Airlines,
91 F.3d 553 (3d Cir. 1996) (en banc)
cert. denied 117 S. Ct. 686, 136 L.Ed.

Sees iksccacaba ce eueeweniuawds 12, 13
Dewsnup v. Timm, 502 U.S. 410 (1992) ........ 25
In re Freeman, 956 F.2d 252 (11th Cir. 1992) .... 16

v

In re Greystone III Joint Venture,

995 F.2d 1274 (5th Cir. 1991) ............. 25
Group of Institutional Investors v. Chicago,

M.StP.&Pac.R.R. 318 U.S. 523 (1943) ....... 18
Kansas City Terminal R. Co. v. Central Union

Trust Co., 271 U.S. 445 (1926) ......... 18, 22

Kham & Nate’s Shoes No. 2, Inc. v. First
Bank of Whiting, 908 F.2d 1351

Ss ED os FE RbCs Pe hed Geb b% ows ce 24
Matter of Manges, 29 F.3d 1034 (5th Cir.

1994), cert. denied 513 U.S. 1152 (1995) ..... 13
Mills v. Green, 159 U.S. 651 (1895) ............ y
NLRB v. Bildisco and Bildisco,

RL ES. ee ee oe 15
Northern P. Ry. Co. v. Boyd,

Es bs kG des obudebe s 19, 20
Norwest Bank Worthington v. Ahlers,

SR 28, 29
In re Pine Mountain Ltd.,

80 B.R. 171 (9th Cir. BAP 1987) ........ 16, 17

In re Public Service Company of New Hampshire,
963 F.2d 469 (ist Cir. 1992), cert. denied

ED dks wi haar bueds aeee x 13
Randall v. Loftsgaarden, 478 U.S. 647 (1986) .... 19
Matter of Snyder, 967 F.2d 1126

dad co wae kkk ek > om 17, 24
In re Texaco, 92 B.R. 38 (S.D.N.Y. 1988) ....... 13

Matter of 203 North LaSalle Street Partnership,
190 B.R. 595 (N.D. Ill. 1995) .............. 14

vi

In re UNR Industries, Inc., 20 F.3d 766
(7th Cir. 1994), cert. denied 513 U.S.

Se 4 a6kanbdekcétsetikbeuwesbans 9, 11, 12
U.S. Bancorp Mortgage Co. v. Bonner Mall
Partnership, 513 U.S. 18 (1994) ........... 12

In re Wabash Valley Power Association,
72 F.3d 1305 (7th Cir. 1995), cert. denied

Se es ED ob heh oda be) 60-08 60s 08 18
Matter of Woodbrook Associates,

19 F.3d 312 (7th Cir. 1994)............. 3, 24
STATUTES
11 U.S.C. § 221 (1938) (repealed 1978) ......... 19
BS We ED 8 ody vacebst onsvcuen beds 12
ER Ge ND. 6 hd 6 n4sdcovesarsdaccanes 2
GD We PE oo O44 cb ic ke cckwdeneeee 11
BE Dae | ERSSND ccc rctncecceceess 2, 23
RD WS ee SED pcaveevciuveces oeetess 2
ihe 0 Pee 5, 16
DG We EE 6 6 6.0.6.0684 6 ekncerentaou 16
Be ee OE: on 5 2 ce ews 66635000 406 eae 25
OD We SE face t's oa ta deb ctheseved cease 26
BE Dae ERED wesc cevivedrecoseere whe 16
OR Wee ee 3G % oc sc ovvccusvcsetes 18, 19
11 U.S.C. § 1129(DM2KAMI) .. 2. ee ee ee eee 2,3

11 U.S.C. § 1129(bX2KBXMGi) .......-.... 2, 15, 16

vii
Ee CU PEED Cdeetereceuddscedecen
SR UE hevicécrbeteensentvobeste
PEPE condudcohecisccenesctbece
26 U.S.C. §§ 1001, 7701(g) ...............

Section 77B of the Bankruptcy Act of
1898 June 7, 1934, 48 Stat. at L. 912,
Chap. 424 (repealed).................

OTHER AUTHORITIES

8 Collier on Bankruptcy, 41200.01[b]
i CD 66babihbenwcndese

Baird, The Elements of Bankruptcy
Se Er ere

National Bankruptcy Review Commission

Final Report, October 20, 1997 ..........

Warren, A Theory of Absolute Priority,
1991 Annual Survey of American Law ...

1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The plan of reorganization (the “Plan”), which has
been in effect since December 6, 1995, gives the Bank
all cash flow and all future appreciation from the re-
organized debtor’s (“Reorganized LaSalle”) Class A office
building (the “Property”) until the Bank has received
payment in full of its secured and unsecured claims,
aggregating $93 million.’ The Bank’s opportunity to
benefit from that future appreciation, which the Bank
agrees will occur, is facilitated by a $6.125 million new
capital contribution from certain of the former Debtor's
partners (“Investors”). The Plan provides that the In-
vestors can receive no return whatsoever on or of their
investment until the Bank has been paid in full. The
Investors made that new capital contribution to defer
the tax liability they would have incurred if the Bank
had foreclosed on its mortgage.’ App. at 112a-113a.

The Bank’s note was nonrecourse requiring the Bank,
under nonbankruptcy law, to look only to the Property
for payment. Therefore, in a foreclosure, the Bank would
have received only the depressed value of the Property
at the time of the foreclosure sale.’ In a Chapter 7 liqui-
dation, the Bank’s deficiency claim would have been
disallowed as unenforceable under applicable nonbank-

~

' The Plan es the Bank’s deficiency claim in its en-
tirety until that claim has been paid in full.

* The Plan eliminated the interests of non-contributing part-
ners. Partners who did contribute new capital received equity
interests in Reorganized LaSalle proportionate to their con-
tributions.

* Federal banking law requires banks to dispose of saleable
foreclosed properties within five years. 12 U.S.C. § 29

2

ruptcy law. App. at 128a. However, in this Chapter 11
case, pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 1111(b)(1)(A), the Bank
was entitled to be treated as if it had recourse against
the Debtor. The Bank had a right, under 11 U.S.C.
§ 1111(b)(2), to retain a lien upon the Property for its
full $93 million claim. But the Bank did not exercise
that right. Accordingly, under 11 U.S.C. § 506(a), the
Bank’s claim was split into two claims: (a) a secured
claim equal in amount to the value of the Property and
(b) an artificially created unsecured claim for the bal-
ance of the Bank’s debt. In order to determine the
amount of the Bank’s secured claim, the bankruptcy
court was required to value the Property.

The Bank’s $54.5 million secured claim was based on
the bankruptcy court’s valuation of the Property at
$55.8 million, less the disposition costs which the Bank
would have incurred if it had sold the Property after
foreclosing on its mortgage. App. at 115a. There was no
material difference between the Bank’s and the bank-
ruptcy court’s valuation of the Property. The bankruptcy
court’s value for the Property was a mere 2.8% less than
the value proposed by the Bank’s appraiser. App. 108a,
llla.

General Electric Capital Corporation (“GE Capital”), in
a letter of intent for refinancing the Property, offered to
lend Reorganized LaSalle $54.5 million to pay the Bank’s
secured claim in cash, in full. App. at 125a-126a. The
Bank refused to accept that cash payment, or any plan
which would have permitted the Debtor to retain owner-
ship of the Property. App. at 126a. Therefore, in order to
confirm its Plan, the Debtor was required to “cram down”
the Bank’s claims by satisfying the requirements of 11
U.S.C. §§ 1129(b)2AXi) and 1129(b)(2)(B)(ai).

3

The Plan treated the Bank’s secured claim more favor-
ably than the treatment required by the marketplace as
evidenced by GE Capital’s letter of intent. Thus, al-
though the Bank voted its secured claim to reject the
Plan, the bankruptcy court found that the Plan’s treat-
ment of that claim satisfied the requirements of Section
1129(b 2) Ai). App. at 172a.

As required by the Seventh Circuit’s decision in Jn the
Matter of Woodbrook Associates, 19 F.3d 312, 319 (7th
Cir. 1994), the Plan placed the Bank’s artificial defi-
ciency claim in a class by itself, separate and apart from
creditors holding recourse unsecured claims. Under the
Plan, this artificial deficiency claim receives all proceeds
from a sale or refinancing of the Property remaining
after payment of the Bank’s secured claim until that de-
ficiency claim is paid in full. App. at 132a-133a. The
bankruptcy court projected that a sale or refinancing of
the Property on the tenth anniversary of plan confirma-
tion would produce a $19 million distribution to the
Bank on account of its deficiency claim, representing a
16% dividend on a present value basis. App. at 133a. If
the Property is refinanced rather than sold on or before
the tenth anniversary of confirmation of the Plan, the
potential exists for the Bank to receive an even greater
dividend when the Property is refinanced again or sold
after the tenth anniversary of Plan confirmation.‘

The Bank was not the only creditor in this case. The
general partner of the Debtor and an affiliate held al-

* The Plan does not discharge the Bank’s deficiency claim.
Thus, if the first mortgage is paid through successive refi-
nancings, the deficiency will continue to exist and the poten-
tial exists for the Bank to benefit from those refinancings until
its deficiency claim is paid in full.

4

lowed unsecured claims totaling $7.7 million; the gen-
eral partner held another claim based upon a $11.3
million second mortgage. App. 103a, 129a. Under the
Plan, insiders waived all of these claims, even though
the $7.7 million of unsecured claims held by the general
partner and its affiliate would have received a distribu-
tion of approximately $3 million in a Chapter 7. App. at
129a-130a. Under the Plan, that money was reinvested
in the Property. In addition, general unsecured trade
debt of about $160,000 was paid in full pursuant to the
Plan. App. at 103a, 132a.

Of the $6.125 million new capital contribution, $3 mil-
lion was paid in cash on the day after confirmation; the
balance was payable in installments of $625,000 on the
first five anniversaries of plan confirmation. Jd. The first
two deferred payments totaling $1,250,000 have already
been made. The remaining payments are partially se-
cured by a letter of credit which, in turn, has been
guaranteed by an affiliate of the general partner. App.
at 123a. The amount and terms of the new capital con-
tribution were more favorable to the Bank than the
amount and terms required by the marketplace in the
form of the GE Capital letter of intent. App. at 125a-
126a, 127a n4. Unlike that letter of intent, which
permitted a 9% annual return on (and a return of) new
capital before any payment to the deficiency claim, the
Plan fully subordinated the new capital contribution to
the Bank’s artificial deficiency claim. Jd., 135a. Indeed,
the bankruptcy court found that the equity interests in
Reorganized LaSalle have no value “on the market”.
App. 139a.

The Bank filed a motion in the bankruptcy court seek-
ing to terminate the Debtor’s exclusive right to file a

5

plan, a right conferred by 11 U.S.C. § 1121(b). The Bank
also sought leave to file its own plan that called for
liquidation of the Property, and made no provision
either for contribution of new capital or for any payment
to the $7.7 million of allowed unsecured claims held by
insiders. The bankruptcy court denied the Bank’s mo-
tion. The Bank did not appeal that denial or raise
that denial as an issue on appeal when the Debt-
or’s Plan was confirmed.

Following confirmation of the Plan, the Bank moved
both in the bankruptcy court and in the district court for
a stay pending appeal. The Bank refused to post a
supersedeas bond. As a result, its motions for stay pend-
ing appeal were denied. Thereafter, Reorganized LaSalle
implemented the Plan.

Specifically, as set forth in Debtor's Supplemental
Status Report on Plan of Reorganization filed on De-
cember 27, 1995 (the “SSR”), see Appellee’s Memo-
randum In Support Of Motion To Dismiss, filed in the
Seventh Circuit February 5, 1996 at Ex. F, (a) certain
partners in the Debtor contributed $3 million of cash
and $3,125,000 of notes payable in five annual install-
ments of $625,000 to Reorganized LaSalle as new equity
capital Ud. at Ex. D at Wilkow Aff. 4 3) (two of the five
annual installment payments have already been made);
(b) the cash component of Reorganized LaSalle’s new
equity capital, together with $3.1 million of cash which
the Debtor held before the Chapter 11 filing, was used
to pay (i) $2,277,257.39 of delinquent real estate taxes,
(ii) $1,149,500 to the Bank on account of its restructured
first mortgage loan, (iii) a $266,975 commitment fee to
the Bank, (iv) a $1,850,000 payment to Rudnick &
Wolfe, a major tenant of the Property, in connection

6

with the seven-year extension of Rudnick & Wolfe’s
lease with Reorganized LaSalle, which lease extension
was effective only if and when the Plan was confirmed,
(v) a $400,000 commission to Equis, Rudnick & Wolfe’s
leasing broker, (vi) a $181,000 commtftssion to M & J
Wilkow Brokerage Services Corporation, the landlord’s
leasing broker, and (vii) $88,377.87, representing pay-
ment in full, to all 41 of the Debtor’s non-insider unse-
cured trade creditors.

Pursuant to the Plan, Reorganized LaSalle has also:
(a) delivered to the Bank all of the documents reflecting
the restructuring of the Bank’s first mortgage loan ef-
fected by the Plan, (b) rejected all of the Debtor’s pre-
petition contracts with providers of goods and services
to Reorganized LaSalle; (c) hired new on-site property
management personnel; and (d) entered into new service
agreements. Jd. at Ex. F SSR; Jd. at Ex. D Wilkow Aff.
at 94. The partnership interests of those partners who
did not contribute new equity capital to the Reorganized
Debtor have been eliminated (Jd. at Ex. A Plan §5.2 at
17) and resulting income tax consequences have been
realized.

Relying upon the Confirmation Order and the result-
ing deferral of tax liability, several Investors chose not
to structure the sale of other real estate owned by them
as a tax free exchange.

7

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

The Bank’s petition for a writ of certiorari (the “Peti-
tion”) should be denied for the following reasons:

1. This case is not an appropriate vehicle for deciding
whether the new value corollary to the absolute priority
rule survived enactment of the Bankruptcy Code in 1978
because:

a) This case is equitably moot. The Bank
failed to obtain a stay pending appeal following
entry of the confirmation order. As a result, the
Plan has been consummated. In reliance on the
final order confirming the Plan, investors have
contributed millions of dollars to the reorganized
enterprise. Any attempt to unwind transactions
that occurred nearly two and a half years after
confirmation, would seriously jeopardize future
Chapter 11 reorganizations by undermining in-
vestors’ confidence in their ability to invest in
reorganized companies in reliance on final un-
stayed bankruptcy court orders.

b) The Bank’s primary criticism of the Plan is
that it purportedly gave the Debtor’s equity
holders the “exclusive opportunity” to retain in-
terests in the reorganized debtor. However, the
Bank waived the issue of exclusivity by failing to
raise it on appeal below.

c) The Plan does not violate the absolute
priority rule. Investors did not receive any prop-
erty which would have been available to satisfy
creditors’ claims.

d) The Plan does not involve any of the al-
leged dangers which have caused critics of the
new value corollary to question its continued
existence. Not only was the bankruptcy court’s

8

valuation of the Property consistent with the
value attributed to the Property by the Bank’s
appraiser, but the new capital contribution ex-
ceeded the requirements of an independent lend-
er in the marketplace. Significantly, the Bank
does not claim that the Plan causes any of the
putative harms which the Bank ascribes to the
new value corollary.

2. There is no split in the Circuits regarding the
existence of the new value corollary. The Seventh
Circuit in this case and the Ninth Circuit in Jn re
Bonner Mall Partnership, 2 F.3d 899 (9th Cir. 1993)
have both held that the new value corollary survived
enactment of the Bankruptcy Code in 1978. No circuit
court has held to the contrary. Both the Second Circuit
in Coltex Loop Central Three Partners, L.P. v. BT/SAP
Pool C Associates, No. 96-5140, slip op. (2d Cir. Feb. 19,
1998) and the Fourth Circuit in Jn re Bryson Properties
XVIII, 961 F.2d 496 (4th Cir. 1991) suggest that a
debtor’s equity holders may retain their interest in the
reorganized debtor under certain circumstances. Such
circumstances are present in this case. Neither Coltex
nor Bryson Properties held that the new value corollary
ceased to exist after enactment of the Bankruptcy Code.

3. The question of the new value corollary’s survival
is no longer sufficiently important to justify consider-
ation by this Court. The issue has arisen primarily in
single asset real estate and family farm Chapter 11
cases, which constituted a mere fraction of all Chapter
11 filings.

4. The Seventh Circuit’s decision in this case was
correct both as a matter of law and as a matter of bank-

ruptcy policy.

THIS CASE IS NOT AN APPROPRIATE VEHICLE FOR
CONSIDERING SURVIVAL OF THE NEW VALUE COR-
OLLARY.

A. Reversing the lower courts would make this the
first case in which an unstayed order confirming
a substantially consummated plan of reorganiza-
tion was overturned.

The Petition should be denied as equitably moot, even
if the question presented merits this Court’s attention.*
This case should never have spawned any appellate
decisions on the new value corollary, because the Bank’s
appeals from the unstayed Confirmation Order should
have been dismissed as equitably moot. The district and
circuit courts in this case improperly refused to dismiss
the Bank’s appeals to them as equitably moot. Affirming
the bankruptcy court’s entry of the Confirmation Order
on the merits, the district and circuit courts theorized
that, had they reversed the Confirmation Order, the
bankruptcy court could have fashioned some form of
relief which would not unduly burden innocent third
parties. App. at lla, 60a. Clearly, modification of the
Plan would upset the legitimate expectations of the
Investors, who were not parties to the appeal. Neverthe-
less, the Seventh Circuit brushed that fact aside because

* The doctrine of equitable mootness is separate and distinct
from mootness under Article III of the Constitution. The latter
doctrine requires dismissal of an appeal when circumstances
make it impossible for a court to fashion any form of meaning-
ful relief. Church of Scientology v. United States, 506 U.S. 9
(1992); Mills v. Green, 159 U.S. 651 (1895). When an appellant
invokes equitable mootness, the reviewing court must consider
whether it is “prudent” to upset a plan of reorganization long
after confirmation. In re UNR Industries, Inc., 20 F.3d 766,
769 (7th Cir. 1994), cert. denied 513 U.S. 999.

10

the Bank had consented to repay the investments plus
reasonable interest. Repayment to the Investors is not
what they legitimately expected when they made their
investments in reliance upon the unstayed Confirmation
Order. They purchased deferral of tax liabilities for an
extended period.

The Seventh Circuit ignored the universal unwilling-
ness of appellate courts to reverse unstayed confirma-
tion orders. This Court should not compound the dam-
age already done to the equitable mootness doctrine by
the lower courts in this case by considering the merits,
and should deny the Petition. If this Court wishes to
examine the new value corollary, it should wait for a
case arising from a confirmation that has been stayed,
a case not burdened with the equitable mootness issue.

In order to protect legitimate reliance interests of
participants in the Chapter 11 process, it is important
that the Court deny this Petition seeking review of an
unstayed confirmation order. The very consideration of
this case on its merits will cast doubt on the finality of
confirmation orders, even if this Court should ultimately
affirm. No appellate court has ever found a reason in
the facts of any reported case powerful enough to re-
verse an unstayed confirmation order. In this case, the
Bank offered no reason whatsoever, and omitted any
reference to the absence of a stay in its Statement of the
Case. Any benefit to be obtained from considering this
case on its merits, would be far outweighed by the harm
which would flow from disregarding equitable mootness.

The Bank did not obtain a stay pending appeal, be-
cause it was unwilling to furnish a supersedeas bond
and assume the attendant liability on such a bond in
the event the bankruptcy court’s confirmation order was

11

affirmed. Nevertheless, the Bank seeks to dismantle the
plan of reorganization confirmed and consummated
more than two years ago.° Reversal of the Confirmation
Order at this late stage would completely repudiate the
well-settled doctrine of equitable mootness and would
undermine the confidence of investors, lenders and pur-
chasers in the finality and reliability of confirmed reor-
ganization plans.

iene tie tks chia dt ccnainieih tes on
appeal, but the mere pendency of an appeal itself, dis-
courages business people from making substantial in-
vestments in reorganized debtors. The appellate process
itself is expensive and sophisticated entrepreneurs will
deduct the cost of appeals from the amount they are
willing to pay for interests in reorganized debtors. Po-
tential investors in a reorganized debtor will hold back
their best offer unless they are certain that, absent a
stay, the reorganized enterprise will operate free of ju-
dicial interference following confirmation of a reorga-
nization plan.

Only if investors can confidently rely upon the finality
of such orders will the substantial social and private

value of reorganizations, referred to by the Seventh
Circuit In the Matter of UNR Industries, Inc., 20 F.3d

* 11 U.S.C. § 1101(2) defines substantial consummation as:

(A) transfer of all or substantially all of the property pro-
posed by the plan to be transferred;

(B) assumption by the debtor or by the successor to the
debtor under the Avon of the business or of the manage-
ment of all or substantially all of the property dealt with
by the plan; and

(C) commencement of distribution under the plan.

12

766, 771 (7th Cir. 1994), cert. denied 513 U.S. 999 be
fully realized.

In support of his conclusion that an appeal from an
unstayed confirmation order in that case should be dis-
missed, Judge Easterbrook trenchantly’ observed that:

Every incremental risk of revision on appeal
puts a cloud over the plan of reorganization and
derivatively over the assets of the reorganized
firm. People pay less for assets that may be
snatched back or otherwise affected by subse-
quent events.

By protecting the interest of persons who ac-
quire assets in reliance on a plan of reorganiza-
tion, a court increases the price the estate can
realize ex ante and thus produces benefits for
creditors in the aggregate.

Id. at 770.

The Bank notes that this Court granted certiorari to
consider the existence of the new value corollary to the
absolute priority rule in U.S. Bancorp Mortgage Co. v.
Bonner Mall Partnership, 513 U.S. 18 (1994). However,
that case did not involve an appeal from an unstayed
order confirming a substantially consi mmated reorgani-
zation plan. Rather, that case involved an appeal from
an order reversing a lower court order granting a se-
cured creditor’s motion for relief from the automatic stay
under 11 U.S.C. § 362(d)(2). In re Bonner Mall Partner-
ship, 2 F.3d 899 (9th Cir. 1993). Consequently, the equi-

" In re Continental Airlines, 91 F.3d 553, 559 (3d Cir. 1996)
(en banc) cert. denied 117 S. Ct. 686, 136 L.Ed. 2d 610 (1997)
where the Third Circuit characterized Judge Easterbrook’s
opinion as “trenchant.”

13

table mootness doctrine was not implicated by this
Court’s grant of certiorari in Bonner Mall.

Under the equitable mootness doctrine, courts decline
to consider the merits of appeals from confirmation
orders when, as a result of substantial consummation of
a reorganization plan, it is no longer prudent to grant
relief. Matter of Manges, 29 F.3d 1034, 1039 (5th Cir.
1994), cert. denied 513 U.S. 1152 (1995). The equitable
mootness doctrine promotes the “important public policy
favoring orderly reorganization and settlement of the
debtor’s estate by ‘affording finality to the judgments of
the bankruptcy courts’.”; In re Public Service Company
of New Hampshire, 963 F.2d 469, 471-472 (1st Cir.
1992), cert. denied 506 U.S. 908 (1992), quoting In re
Texaco, 92 B.R. 38, 45 (S.D.N.Y. 1988). See also In re
Continental Airlines, supra at 560; Central States,
Southeast and Southwest Areas Pension Funds v. Cen-
tral Transport, Inc., 841 F.2d 92, 95 (4th Cir. 1988); In
re Cambridge Biotech Corp., 214 B.R. 429, 431-432 (D.
Mass. 1997) (under Section 1127(b) of the Code, court’s
power to modify a plan of reorganization extends only
from confirmation to substantial consummation); Jn re
Burton Securities, S.A., 202 B.R. 411, 417 (S.D. Tex.
1996).

In Central States, supra, a dissident creditor who
failed to post a st ssedeas bond sought complete re-
versal of a confir ed reorganization plan after new
equity had been invested and used to pay claims. In dis-
missing the appeal as moot, the court stated as follows:

We can understand a reluctance to put up a
supersedeas bond of $7 million but if the [appel-
lant] Pension Fund seriously sought an outright
reversal of the order of confirmation, as it con-
tends, it should have posted the bond or sought

14

a substantial reduction in its amount; it should

not have sat idly by while this case drifted along

a routine, unexpedited course.
841 F.2d at 95. Just like the appellant in Central
States, the Bank refused to post a supersedeas bond
that would have stayed implementation of the Plan, and
would have prevented investors from relying on the
Confirmation Order to make their substantial infusion
of new equity nearly two and one-half years ago.* Such
a bond would also have preserved the status quo for
appellate courts and prevented the comprehensive
change in circumstances that has now occurred as a
result of substantial consummation of the Plan. See
Matter of 203 North LaSalle Street Partnership, 190
B.R. 595 (N.D. Ill. 1995). Having failed to preserve the
status quo and having permitted a comprehensive
change in circumstances to occur, the Bank must bear
the consequences of its refusal to post a bond—denial of
its Petition.

Granting certiorari and reversing the unstayed Con-
firmation Order years after substantial consummation
would eliminate the compelling and well-settled doctrine
of equitable mootness from bankruptcy jurisprudence,
thereby causing the significant economic harm described

* In making these capital contributions, many of the Investors
have foregone significant alternative investment opportunities.
See Appellee’s Memorandum In Support Of Motion To Dis-
miss, February 5, 1996 at Ex. B. These opportunities cannot
be recreated if the Confirmation Order is reversed. For ex-
ample, some Investors have irretrievably lost the opportunity
to engage in a tax free exchange regarding a completed sale of
other property Those Investors will suffer irreparable harm
if the Confirmation Order is now reversed, because they have
used up losses which could have been used to offset the gain
resulting from foreclosure on the Property.

ed

15

by Judge Easterbrook in UNR, and drastically curtailing
rehabilitation under Chapter 11. See NLRB v. Bildisco
and Bildisco, 465 U.S. 513, 527-529 (1984) (policy of
Chapter 11 is to permit successful rehabilitation of
debtors and to avoid liquidation with attendant loss of
jobs and possible misuse of economic resources). If this
Court wishes to consider the continued survival of the
new value corollary, it should await a case where the
petitioner has preserved the status quo. This is not such
a case. Certiorari should, therefore, be denied.

B. By failing to appeal the bankruptcy court’s order
denying the Bank’s motion to terminate the
Debtor’s exclusive right to file a plan, the Bank
waived its right to raise exclusivity.

An essential element of the Petition is the contention
that the Debtor’s statutory exclusive right to file a plan
during the first 120 days of the Chapter 11 case consti-
tuted “property” which the Debtor’s limited partners
retained “on account of” their prior equity interests
within the meaning of 11 U.S.C. § 1129(b)(2)(B\ii). For
example, in the “Question Presented” Section of the
Petition, the Bank asks,

[w]hether the Bankruptcy Code authorizes a
judge to conf"m a Chapter 11 plan of reorgani-
zation that gr .nts pre-bankruptcy equity owners
of a debtor an exclusive opportunity to retain or
purchase an ownership interest in the reorga-
nized debtor...
Petition at i (emphasis added). Thereafter, the Bank
argues that, “the exclusive right to retain an equity
interest in a business enterprise is ‘property’ within the
meaning of 11 U.S.C. § 1129(b)(2BXii) . . .” Petition at
9. The Bank has waived its right to complain of exclu-

16

sivity. Consequently, this is not an appropriate case for
considering the issue posed by the Bank’s Petition.

A Chapter 11 debtor’s exclusive right to file a plan is
conferred by 11 U.S.C. § 1121(b) of the Code. That right
is not perpetual; it exists only for the first 120 days of
a Chapter 11 case and, even during that period, is
subject to reduction upon request by a creditor such as
the Bank. 11 U.S.C. §§ 1121(b), 1121(d). The obvious
remedy for the wrong perceived by the Bank—inability
to solicit bids for Reorganized LaSalle’s equity through
a competing plan of reorganization—was to request ter-
mination of the Debtor’s exclusive period.

The Bank did move in the bankruptcy court for an
order terminating the Debtor’s exclusivity period. Simul-
taneously, the Bank sought authority to file its own
plan. The Bank’s plan was a plan of liquidation, which
(a) was less favorable to unsecured creditors than the
Debtor’s Plan, (b) violated 11 U.S.C. §1129(a)(7) by fail-
ing to pay $7.7 million of allowed unsecured claims held
by the Debtor’s general partner and an affiliate, and (c)
provided no infusion of new capital. The bankruptcy
court entered an order denying the Bank’s motion. BAI
R. 104. The Bank did not (a) appeal the bankruptcy
court’s order, (b) raise the denial of its motion as
an issue on appeal or (c) designate its motion to
terminate the Debtor’s exclusive period as part of
the record on appeal below. By failing to do so, the
Bank waived any right to now argue that the Debtor’s
exclusive right to file a plan permitting its partners to
contribute new capital constitutes “property” retained
“on account of” their prior equity interests within the
meaning of 11 U.S.C. § 1129(b)(2)(B\ii). In re Freeman,
956 F.2d 252, 255 (11th Cir. 1992); In re Pine Mountain

Ne te Le

te me

17

Ltd., 80 B.R. 171, 173 (9th Cir. BAP 1987). As a result
of that waiver, the question presented by the Bank’s
Petition is not properly before this Court.

C. The Plan does not violate the absolute priority
rule.

By acquiring worthless “equity” in Reorganized
LaSalle in exchange for contributing new value, Inves-
tors received no “property” which would have been
available to satisfy creditors’ claims. In return for
$6.125 million of new value, Investors received only the
ability to defer a $20 million tax liability that would
have been triggered by the Bank’s foreclosure of its
mortgage on the Property. That ability is not “property”
to which creditors could look for payment under the
absolute priority rule, which rule requires that creditors
be paid in full from a debtor’s property before any
interest in that property may be received or retained by
equity holders. On the contrary by contributing new
value, the Investors conferred a substantial windfall on
the Bank, because of their desire to defer tax liability.
The Plan simply does not cause the harm to the Bank’s
deficiency claim which the absolute priority rule was
intended to prevent.

The absolute priority rule was a judicial creation
which had its origins in the law of fraudulent transfers
and equity receiverships, and was designed to ensure
that reorganizations were “fair and equitable”. Jn the
Matter of Snyder, 967 F.2d 1126, 1128 n.1 (7th Cir.
1992). As the Seventh Circuit recently observed:

the absolute priority rule was a judicial inven-
tion designed to preclude the practice in railroad
reorganizations of ‘squeezing out’ intermediate

18

unsecured creditors through collusion between
secured creditors and stockholders (who were
often the same people). Northern P. Ry. Co. v.
Boyd, 228 U.S. 482, 57 L.Ed. 931, 33 S.Ct. 554
(1913). See also e.g. John D. Ayer, Rethinking
Absolute Priority After Ahlers, 87 Mich.L.Rev.
963, 969-73 (1989) discussing the history of the
absolute priority rule. This rule was thus de-
vised primarily to deal with the situation of
overlapping ownership and creditor interests.

In re Wabash Valley Power Association, 72 F.3d 1305,

1314 (7th Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 117 S.Ct. 389 (1996).

As used in subsection (f) of the first corporate reorga-
nization statute (Section 77B of the Bankruptcy Act of
1898 June 7, 1934, 48 Stat. at L. 912, Chap. 424 (re-
pealed)), the words “fair and equitable” were “words of
art which, prior to the advent of § 77B had acquired a
fixed meaning through judicial interpretation in the
field of equity receivership reorganizations.” Case v. Los
Angeles Lumber Products Co., 308 U.S. 108, 115 (1939).
That meaning was clear and simple: “to the extent of
their debts, creditors are entitled to priority over stock-
holders against all property of an insolvent corporation.”
Id. (quoting Kansas City Terminal R. Co. v. Central
Union Trust Co., 271 U.S. 445, 455 (1926) (emphasis
added); see also, Group of Institutional Investors v.
Chicago, M.StP.&Pac.R.R. 318 U.S. 523, 565 (1943).
(absolute priority rule is satisfied if “each security hold-
er in the order of his priority receives from that which
is available for satisfaction of his claim, the equitable
equivalent of the right surrendered.”) (emphasis added).

The words “fair and equitable” which appear in 11
U.S.C. § 1129(b) are identical to the words which ap-
peared in its predecessors, Section 77B and Chapter X.

ee a a a ee a ee

6 Ow pete eis

oN er et

19

11 U.S.C. § 221 (1938) (repealed 1978). The meaning of
those words in 11 U.S.C. § 1129(b) is identical to the
meaning ascribed to them by Justice Douglas in Case.
In interpreting the words “fair and equitable”, in Section
77B, Justice Douglas employed the same well-settled
rule of statutory construction that this Court should
employ in interpreting those same words in Section
1129(b): “where words are employed in an act which at
the time had a well known meaning in the law, they are
used in that sense unless the context requires the con-
trary.” Case at 115.

The Investors retain their valueless partnership in-
terests in Reorganized LaSalle in exchange for contrib-
uting new value. Clearly, therefore, the Plan does not
involve the type of harm to creditors which the absolute
priority rule was designed to prevent. Unlike parties in
Northern P. Ry. Co. v. Boyd, 228 U.S. 482 (1913), the
Bank and the Investors are adversaries. The Plan is not
the product of collusion between them. Unlike the plans
in Coltex and Bryson, the Plan preserves the Bank’s
artificial deficiency in its entirety until that claim has
been paid in full. Therefore, the Plan does not divert to
the Investors any property of the Debtor in which the
Bank had a legal or equitable claim as an unsecured
creditor. Indeed, it is undisputed that the equity inter-
ests in Reorganized LaSalle are worthless in a balance
sheet sense, even after Reorganized LaSalle has received
all of the Investors’ new capital. The “benefit” which the
Investors receive is continued deferral of a tax liability
which only they will suffer in the event of a foreclosure.
The Bank has no legal or equitable claim to that benefit.
See Randall v. Loftsgaarden, 478 U.S. 647, 665-66
(1986) (tax losses have no value apart from investors’
status as partners and are not freely transferable).

20

Given the facts of this case, the Court in Boyd would
have found no violation of the absolute priority rule.

D. Even if the absolute priority rule applies, this
case does not present any of the hypothetical
dangers upon which critics rely to question the
survival of the new value corollary.

Assuming that the absolute priority rule applies to
this case, and relying exclusively on secondary material,
dissents and dicta, the Bank’s Petition proffers two
reasons why the question of the new value corollary’s
continued existence purportedly has sufficient practical
import to warrant consideration by this Court: (1)
absence of the corollary will make debtors more willing
to negotiate consensual plans with creditors [Petition at
16-17]; and (2) in applying the corollary, bankruptcy
judges might undervalue estate assets, thereby decreas-
ing “the amount paid to creditors, while at the same
time permitting the debtor’s pre-bankruptcy equity
holders to retain an ownership interest in the post-
bankruptcy business at a bargain price.” Petition at 16-
18. Those concerns are chimerical. Neither of the fore-
going circumstances exist in this case. Consequently,
this case is not an appropriate one for considering the
new value corollary’s continued existence. Certiorari
should, therefore, be denied.

The Bank does not claim that the bankruptcy court’s
recognition of the new value corollary made the Debtor
unwilling to negotiate with the Bank over the terms of
a reorganization plan. Nor does the Bank claim that the
Debtor refused a request by the Bank either for a
greater dividend or for more capital. In fact, the Bank’s
attempts to (a) lift the automatic stay, (b) have the case

21

dismissed or converted to a Chapter 7 liquidation and
(c) to file a liquidating plan giving the Bank title to the
Property and providing no new capital, demonstrate
that the Bank’s sole object throughout this case has
been to foreclose its mortgage on the Property. As a
result, it was the Bank, not the Debtor, which refused
to negotiate on the terms of any consensual reorganiza-
tion plan. The Bank does not even suggest that the
Debtor used the new value corollary to impose on any of
the creditors a worse deal than creditors would have
received without that corollary. On the contrary, in con-
junction with equity holders’ desire to defer a substan-
tial tax liability, the new value corollary produced a
windfall for the Bank by forcing equity holders to make
a substantial new capital contribution in exchange for
an equity interest which had no value to creditors.”

Similarly, the record in this case provides no basis for
the Bank’s fear that bankruptcy judges will undervalue
a debtor’s property, thereby enabling equity holders to
obtain a bargain at creditors’ expense. On the contrary,
the $55.8 million value which the bankruptcy court
placed on the Property is within 2.8% of the $57.4 mil-
lion value proposed by the Bank’s appraiser. In addition,
since the Plan preserves the Bank’s unsecured claim in

® Unlike the academic critics cited in the Bank’s Petition,
Harvard Law School’s Professor Elizabeth R. Warren pre-
sciently anticipated that factors extraneous to a debtor’s as-
sets, such as limited partners’ desire to defer a potential tax
liability that would accrue through a secured creditor’s fore-
closure of its mortgage, could force those limited partners to
confer a windfall on creditors by overpaying for equity in a
reorganize.i debtor. Warren, A Theory of Absolute Priority,
1991 Annual Survey of American Law at 21. This is precisely
what happened in this case.

22

its entirety, and since the Investors (unlike the equity
holders in Coltex and Bryson) can receive nothing until
the Bank’s unsecured claim is paid in full, the bank-
ruptcy court’s valuation of the Property has no impact
on the Bank’s ability to recover the full amount of its
unsecured claim.

The Bank does not even suggest that the Investors
received their equity in Reorganized LaSalle at a bar-
gain price. On the contrary, the amount of new capital
contributed by the Investors met and surpassed the re-
quirements of the marketplace as evidenced by the GE
Capital letter of intent. This independent corroboration
from the market regarding the sufficiency and fairness
of the Investor’s new capital contribution satisfies the
desire for market validation of new capital contributions
expressed by Judge Restani in the Coltex and Bryson
Properties cases. Furthermore, because the Plan permits
no return whatsoever to Investors on account of their
$6.125 million capital contribution until the Bank’s se-
cured claim and unsecured artificial deficiency claims
have been paid in full, the equity in Reorganized
LaSalle has no value vis a vis the proceeds that will be
realized from a future sale or refinancing of the Prop-
erty. App. at 135a, 139a. By retaining worthless inter-
ests in Reorganized LaSalle in exchange for their sub-
stantial contribution of new value, the Investors re-
ceived no property of Reorganized LaSalle. Instead,
Investors received only the ability to defer a $20 million
tax liability that would have been triggered by a fore-
closure. That deferral is not “property” vf the Debtor to
which the Bank could look to satisfy its artificial de-
ficiency claim. Kansas City Terminal R. Co. v. Central
Union Trust Co., 271 U.S. 445, 453-454 (1926) (under
absolute priority rule unsecured creditors are preferred

23

over stockholders against property belonging to debtor
corporation). Consequently, it bears repeating that
under the Plan, the Debtor’s equity holders have re-
ceived no benefit at creditors’ expense. Rather, they
have conferred a substantial windfall on the Bank solely
because of their desire to defer a potential tax liability.'®

It is noteworthy that neither the Bank nor any of its
academic supporters has cited a single case involving a
confirmed plan of reorganization, affirmed on appeal,
where the new value corollary was used to inflict on
creditors the harm which the Bank speculates may flow
from that corollary. On the contrary, in cases such as
Coltex, where it appears that equity holders did attempt
to undervalue the bank’s collateral and obtain a bargain
at the expense of a bank’s artificial deficiency claim, the

"© Nowhere in its Petition has the Bank identified any eco-
nomic harm which it suffered under the Plan. Nor has the
Bank articulated a rational economic reason for opposing the
Plan. On the contrary, as the holder of an artificial deficiency
claim created solely by the operation of 11 U.S.C. § 1111(b)
(1A), the Bank’s opposition to the Plan is antithetical to the
Bank’s economic interest as an unsecured creditor. But for the
new value corollary, the Bank’s decision to vote its artificial
deficiency claim against the Debtor’s Plan would lead to con-
version of the Debtor's case to a Chapter 7 liquidation, or to
dismissal of the case. In either event, Bank would foreclose
on its non-recourse mortgage and have no deficiency claim.
Thus, in a foreclosure, the Bank would forfeit the $19 million
dividend which it is projected to receive under the Plan on ac-
count of its artificial $38.5 million unsecured deficiency claim.
No rational unsecured creditor would vote to defeat a plan
paying it a $19 million dividend so that it could receive noth-
ing in a Chapter 7 liquidation. Consequently, the Bank’s argu-
ment against the new value corollary can only be seen as a
transparent back door attack upon the bankruptcy court's
finding that the Plan’s treatment of the Bank’s secured claim
is “fair and equitable.”

24

confirmation order was reversed.'' Similarly, in the vast
majority of reported decisions discussing the new value
corollary, courts decline to even reach the question of
the corollary’s survival because they find that the plan
in question would not have satisfied the corollary in any
event. See e.g. Matter of Woodbrook Associates, 19 F.3d
312 (7th Cir. 1994); Matter of Snyder, 967 F.2d 1126
(7th Cir. 1992). In other words, all of the empirical
evidence demonstrates that courts have interpreted the
new value corollary strictly, and have been vigilant in
protecting the rights of creditors from the potential
harms hypothesized by the Bank and by the corollary’s
academic critics. The Bank’s fears that bankruptcy
courts will fail to do so are fanciful, and there is no need
for this Court’s involvement.

In short, the Plan in this case simply does not present
the hypothetical problem which caused critics of the new
value corollary such as Judge Easterbrook in Kham &
Nate’s Shoes No. 2, Inc. v. First Bank of Whiting, 908
F.2d 1351 (7th Cir. 1990), and Professor Baird in The
Elements of Bankruptcy (rev. ed. 1993) at 263, to spec-
ulate that equity holders will invoke the new value
corollary only when they are gaining at creditors’ ex-
pense. See Absolute Priority at 21 (investors in tax
driven partnership may be willing to make new value
contributions far exceeding those of a third party), and
44-45. Consequently, this case is not an appropriate
vehicle for addressing the continued existence of the
new value corollary.

“' The confirmation order in Coltex was stayed pending ap-
peal. Thus, the creditor's appeal in that case was not equitably
moot.

25>
Il.

THERE IS NO SPLIT IN THE CIRCUITS REGARDING
THE EXISTENCE OF THE NEW VALUE COROLLARY.

In addition to the Seventh Circuit in this case, the
Ninth Circuit in Jn re Bonner Mall Partnership, 2 F.3d
899 (9th Cir. 1993) has explicitly held that the new
value corollary survived enactment of the Bankruptcy
Code. No Circuit Court of Appeals has held otherwise."
Citing the Coltex and Bryson Properties decisions from
the Second and Fourth Circuits, the Bank asserts that
the opinion of the panel majority in this case conflicts
with the decisions of two other circuits. Petition at 11.
There is no such conflict. Neither Coltex nor Bryson
Properties denies the existence of the new value corol-
lary. On the contrary, as the Bank candidly acknow}-
edges, each of those decisions recognizes that there may
be circumstances under which a debtor’s equity holders
may retain their interest in a reorganized entity in ex-
change for an infusion of new capital. Those circum-
stances are present in this case.

In In re Bryson Properties, XVIII, 961 F.2d 496 (4th
Cir. 1991), Judge Restani of the United States Court of
International Trade, sitting by designation, held that
the debtor’s plan could not be confirmed because the
plan placed the undersecured creditor’s deficiency claim
in a separate class in violation of 11 U.S.C. § 1122.

“ The portion of the Fifth Circuit's opinion in Jn re Greystone
Ill Joint Venture, 995 F.2d 1274 (sth Cir. 1991) denying the
existence of the new value corollary was withdrawn in light of
this Court’s decision in Dewsnup v. Timm, 502 U.S. 410
(1992). See Greystone III at 1284. An opinion which has been
withdrawn has no precedential value. Alsberg v. Robinson, 68
F.3d 312, 315 (9th Cir. 1995).

26

Therefore, the court’s subsequent discussion of the new
value corollary is dictum. Even in that discussion, how-
ever, the court did not absolutely deny the continued
existence of the new value corollary. Rather, the court
observed that “even if some limited new value exception
were viable under the bankruptcy code, it would not be
so expansive as to apply under the facts of this case.” Id.
at 505 (emphasis added). Those facts were plan provi-
sions allowing the debtor’s equity holders the right (1)
to return of their new capital before the undersecured
creditor's recovery on it deficiency claim; (2) to “buy” the
debtor’s property without exposing it to the market or
otherwise allowing any other party, including the ob-
jecting undersecured creditor, the opportunity to bid;
and (3) to pay a 3.5 percent dividend in full satisfaction
of the undersecured creditor's $3,329,288 deficiency
while simultaneously paying unsecured trade claims in
full. Id. at 499, 504-505.

In Coltex Loop Central Three Partners, L.P. v.
BT/SAP Pool C Associates, No. 96-5140, slip op. (2d Cir.
Feb. 19, 1998) Judge Restani, this time writing for a
panel of the Second Circuit, again concluded that a
debtor may be able to confirm a new value cramdown
plan under certain circumstances:

{[wljhere no other party seeks to file a plan or
where the market for the property is adequately
tested, old equity may be able to demonstrate
that it can meet the requirements of 11 U.S.C.
§ 1129 and that, in essence, it receives nothing
on account of its prior position.
Although the discussion leading up to this conclusion
includes a lengthy quotation from Judge Kanne’s dissent
in this case, Judge Restani stops short of denying the
existence of the new value corollary.

27

Notably, the facts of this case are materially different
from the facts present in both Bryson Properties and
Coltex. In each of those cases, the court was properly
concerned that the proposed contributions of new capital
had not been tested by the marketplace to determine
whether those contributions were reasonably equivalent
to the value of the interests to be retained by the old
equity holders. The courts’ concerns arose because each
plan proposed to eliminate the undersecured creditor's
deficiency claim in exchange for a small up front cash
payment, thereby allowing equity holders to capture
future appreciation in the reorganized debtor's asset
that would otherwise been available to satisfy the elim-
inated deficiency claim. In this case, the Bank’s defi-
ciency claim is preserved, and the bankruptcy court had
ample, objective evidence to support its finding that the
interests which equity holders retained in Reorganized
LaSalle were not purchased at a bargain price. Under
the circumstances of this case, even Judge Restani
would have confirmed the Debtor’s Plan.

THE STATUS OF THE NEW VALUE COROLLARY IS
NO LONGER SUFFICIENTLY IMPORTANT TO RE-
QUIRE DECISION BY THIS COURT.

The issue of the new value corollary’s continued
existence has arisen primarily in Chapter 11 cases filed
by partnerships which own a single commercial real
estate project.” By filing Chapter 11, such partnerships

Prior to passage of the Bankruptcy Judges, United States
Trustees and Family Farmer Bankruptcy Act of 1986, family
farmers also filed r 11 cases in order to save their

28

attempt to prevent a foreclosure sale of the partner-
ship’s property and elimination of equity interests,
because those events trigger recapture of partnership
losses which have been passed through to partners
during prior tax years. 26 U.S.C. §§ 1001, 7701(g), 702.
The partners are required to treat those recaptured
losses as taxable income. Typically, the partners are left
without funds from the partnership with which to pay
the often sizeable tax on the resulting “phantom in-
come”.

In the 1986 Tax Reform Act, Congress amended the
Internal Revenue Code to eliminate the ability of
passive investors in single asset real estate partnerships
to offset losses which they received as limited partners
against wages and portfolio income. See Tax Reform Act
of 1986, P.L. 99-514, Section 501; 26 U.S.C. § 469. As a
result, partnerships, such as the former Debtor in this
case, have now largely lost their utility as a method for
passive investors to own commercial real estate. Conse-
quently, real estate investment trusts, whose shares are
publicly traded, have now largely supplanted limited
partnerships as the principal vehicle for passive inves-
tors to own interests in commercial real estate, and
sound economics, and not tax benefits, are now the
primary motivations for investing in commercial real
estate. Therefore, single asset real estate cases filed to
defer tax liabilities are approaching extinction.

Congressional amendments to the Bankruptcy Code
have also reduced the practical importance of the issue
of the new value corollary’s survival. As exemplified by
cases such as Norwest Bank Worthington v. Ahlers, 485
U.S. 197 (1988) the new value corollary often arose in
Chapter 11 cases filed to prevent lenders from foreclos-

29

ing on family farms. Congress responded to the plight of
family farmers with legislation. 8 Collier on Bankruptcy,
41200.01[b] at 1200-2 (15th ed. rev. 1997). In 1986, Con-
gress enacted the Bankruptcy Judges, United States
Trustees and Family farmer Bankruptcy Act of 1986
which added Chapter 12 to the Bankruptcy Code. Pub.
L. 99-554. Unlike Chapter 11, the cramdown provision
of Chapter 12, 11 U.S.C. 1225(b) does not require that
a plan be “fair and equitable” in order to be confirmed
over the objection of an unsecured creditor.

Thus, under a Chapter 12 plan, a family farmer may
use future earnings to retair its property over the
objection of an unsecured creditor which has not been
paid in full. 8 Collier on Bankruptcy, 41200.01(2)] at
1200-4 (15th ed. rev. 1997). As a result of Chapter 12,
family farmers no longer need to file Chapter 11 cases
in order to save their farms. Therefore, a case such as
Ahlers is now unlikely to recur.

Because of the foregoing legislative changes, the issue
which was important in 1994 when this Court granted
certiorari in the Bonner Mall case has ceased to be so
today." In effect, the foregoing legislative changes which
have occurred especially since the Ahlers decision, and
even since Bonner Mall, have transformed cases such as
this one into mere historical curiosities which no longer
require this Court’s attention.

‘* The continued existence of the new value corollary has cer-
tainly stimulated a steady stream of secondary literature. In
light of the legislative and economic changes which have di-
minished the likelihood of future litigation over the existence
of the new value corollary, this body of literature is now es-
sentially obsolete.

-

30

The Bank’s Petition attempts to paint a picture of
heated controversy in district and bankruptcy courts
over the continued existence of the new value corollary.
Petition at 12-13. Even if such a picture was accurate
five years ago at the time of the Bonner Mall decision,
the picture is dramatically different today. In the words
of the Bankruptcy Review Commission, which has rec-
ommended that Congress codify the new value corollary,
“{a] recent trend among bankruptcy and district courts
is an almost uniform recognition of the new value excep-
tion.” Commission Report at 561. Based on the settled
state of the law as it exists today, the Bank’s Petition
should be denied.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, the Bank’s Petition
should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD M. BENDIX, JR.
Counsel of Record

MALCOLM M. GAYNOR

PAUL J. GAYNOR

SCHWARTZ, COOPER, GREENBERGER
& KRAUSS, CHARTERED

180 North LaSalle Street

Suite 2700

Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 346-1300

Attorneys for Respondent
March 1998

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0167%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
