# Amicus Curiae Brief — Chicago v. Morales

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0150%3A25

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 527 U.S. 41

## Text

>

'
In The :

Supreme Court of the Hnite States
a

October Term, 1997

CITY OF CHICAGO,

IESUS MORALES, ef a

On Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of Illinois
eee
BRIEF OF CHICAGO ALLIANCE FOR NEIGHBORHOOD
SAFETY, U.S. REPRESENTATIVE JESSE JACKSON, JR..,
COMMUNITY RENEWAL SOCIETY, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION
FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF COLORED PEOPLE, NATIONAL
COUNCIL OF LA RAZA, MEXICAN-AMERICAN LEGAL
DEFENSE FUND, CHICAGO COUNCIL OF LAWYERS, COOK
COUNTY BAR ASSOCIATION, PUERTO RICAN BAR
ASSOCIATION OF ILLINOIS, THE BLACK LEADERSHIP
FORUM. INC.. CHICAGO CONFERENCE OF BLACK LAWYERS

AND CHICAGO COMMUNITY ORGANIZATIONS
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS
RANDALL L. KENNEDY STEPHEN J. SCHULHOFER
1563 Massachusetts Avenue Counsel of Record
Cambridge, MA 02138 RANDOLPH N. STONE

1111 East 60th Street

Chicago. IL 60637

(773) 702

=

9611

vs for Amici Curiae

eS -

: “BEST AVAILAE

2

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

(1) Whether ordinance against loitering “with no apparent
purpose” is impermissibly vague on its face, when state supreme
court has determined that City Council’s legislative intent
precludes a judicial construction narrowing or clarifying the
law’s terms.

(2) Whether ordinance requiring citizens to comply with
a police officer’s order to “disperse and remove themselves
from the area” is impermissibly vague on its face, when neither
the ordinance nor any implementing guidelines indicate the
extent of the “area” that the citizen must leave or how long the
citizen must remain away in order to avoid arrest.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I. The Ordinance’s Definition Of Loitering Is
Impermissibly Vague On Its Face. ..........

Il. The Indeterminacy Of The Term “Loitering” Is
Not Cured By The Requirement That Police Have
A Reasonable Belief That One Person In The
Group Is A Gang Member. ................

III. The Vagueness Of The Ordinance Is Not Cured
By The Requirement That Police Give Group

Members An Opportunity To Disperse. ......

IV. The Papachristou-Kolender Standard Should Not
Be Diluted Or Discarded. ..................

RS ENS RRS A eR SR dO aR are

18

20

25

29

iti

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases:
Boos v. Barry, 485 U.S. 312 rE cbbiin eee skckeane 24
California v. LaRue, 409 U.S. 109 RR ee 13
City cf Richmond v. J.A. Croson Co., 488 U.S. 469 (1989)

00 be 000d 06s o6es odHi Ses UNS ee bia decd ce 0Ow 9, 25
Coates v. City of Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611(1971) ... 12,16
Colten v. Kentucky, 407 U.S. 104 RT etapa 24
Connally v. General Constr. Co., 269 U.S. 385 (1926)

bd hd adhide sLLis il Perit Tee ee 25
Cox v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 536 SEED olvbseweeus 16, 19, 23
Della Grotta v. Rhode Island, 781 F.2d 343 (1st Cir. 1986)

VET be CC OCU Sd bOUES de Us bad vee ee eels HOLS Se 18
Farber v. Rochford, 407 F. Supp. 529 (N.D. Ill. 1975)

Lpichedletiaceothihil Pe Ce See ee 12
Gentile v. State Bar of Nevada, 501 U.S. 1030 (1991)

FOV EW EN SUC EUS SLES bo eVewcsweceocvbcewcn 22
Grayned v. City of Rockford, 40 U.S. 104 (1972) .... 24

Iilinois Cent. R. Co. v. Village of South Pekin, 374 Il.
431, 29 N.E. 2d 590 (1940)

iv

Table of Cited Authorities
Page

Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352 (1983) ......- 66-0000

whe éebcdbcbscusoseeuaet 8, 9, 10, 12, 18, 21, 24, 25, 26
Lanzetta v. New Jersey, 306 U.S. 451 (1939) ........ 25
McCray v. Illinois, 386 U.S. 300 (1967) ............ 11
Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville, 405 U.S. 156 (1972)

sigengh bhdnkaocene sete sath 8, 9, 10, 13, 16, 18, 25, 26
Shuttlesworth v. City of Birmingham, 382 U.S. 87 (1965) ys
State v. Richard, 836 P.2d 622 (Nev. 1992) ......... 12
United States v. Cardiff, 344 U.S. 174 (1952) ....... 18
United States v. Reese, 92 U.S. 214 (1875) ......... 13
Winters v. New York, 333 U.S. 507 (1948) .......... 14
Statutes:
Wil. Gant, oh. TAOS SIIS-GA 2 2 coc cvcnceccvcccseses 14
§ FF & ft ! ) rrr reer 10
Til. Sent. ch. 720 § STO/4O0S.2 ... 2... ce cncccccceee 10
United States Constitution:
FO QE cco vicdcccecidecdecieseeustsier 17

Table of Cited Authorities

Berg, “The Troubled Constitutionality of Antigang
Loitering Laws,” 69 Chi. Kent L. Rev. 461 (1993)

William Bratton, Turnaround 312 (1998) ...........

Chicago Community Policing Evaluation Consortium,
Wesley Skogan, et al., eds., Community Policing in
Chicago, Year Three, Nov. 1996, p.32 ..........

Davis, “New Police Arrest Power Lights City Council
Fuse,” Chicago Tribune, June 18, 1992, pp. 1 .....

Davis & Recktenwald, “Angry aldermen target gangs,”
Chicago Tribune, October 24, 1991, p. 1,14 ......

Editorial, “Anti-Gang Law Isn’t the Answer,” Chicago
Tribune, May 20, 1992, p.16 ..................

Editorial, “Put Permanent Hold on Anti-Loitering Law,”
Chicago Sun-Times, May 20, 1992, p.37.........

25

28

vi

Table of Cited Authorities

Page
Editorial, “Supreme Court Should Squash Anti-Gang
Ordinance,” Chicago Defender, April 23, 1998, p. 11
cegececceeecoetecen stab celina eenaeeeees 4
Gillis & Spielman, “City’s Loitering Law Ruled

Unconstitutional,” Chicago Sun-Times, Dec. 19, 1995,

i errr rrr rent rrrrri errr 22
H. Goldstein, Problem-Oriented Policing (1990) ..... 10
Hill & Downey, “Taxis Still Can Be Rare Despite Law,”

Chicago Tribune, May 24, 1998, p.1 .....----++- 8
Johnson, “2 out of 3 Young Black Men in Denver Listed

by Police as Suspected Gangsters,” NY Times, Dec.

11, 1993, p. AB ... 2... cccc cece eee eccceeesences 19, 20

Y. Kamisar, et al., Modern Criminal Procedure 196 (7th
~S. QPrrerrrrrrirr rrr ttt ti 11

G. Kelling & C. Coles, Fixing Broken Windows (1996)
Livingston, “Police Discretion and the Quality of Life in
Public Places,” 97 Colum. L. Rev. 551 (1997) .. 25, 26, 27

D. Massey & N. Denton, American Apartheid 76 (1993)

eeoeann ses ses eseeoae eee eCoa Sees eseeoevurocerovueeer 64

23

Oe he ae geeus ah aie tReet 10

vii
Table of Cited Authorities

sere 3 Journal, City of Chicago, p. 18293 (June 17,

Poulos, “Chicago’s Ban on Gang Loitering,” 83 Cal. L.
Rev. 379 (1995S). ........ ace nah Cadena’ ate

Regini, “Combating Gangs: The Need for Innovation,”
FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, February 1998, p. 27

W. Skogan, Disorder and Decline 111 (1990) .......

J. Skolnick & D. Bayley, The New Blue Line 199 (1986)

Spielman, “Anti-Gang Law Won't Be Abused, City
Says,” Chicago Sun-Times, June 19, 1992 ........

Spielman, “Loitering Ban Passes,” Chicago Sun-Times,
June 18, 1992, p. 16 (remarks of Ald. John Steele) .

Stolberg, “150,000 Are in Gangs, Report by D.A. Says
Half of Young Blacks Are Members,” Los Angeles
Pe a LAD: © Suinccekcs voces Neeser

Hubert Williams & Patrick V. Murphy, The Evolving
Strategy of Police: A Minority View, in Perspectives
on Policing, No. 13 (U.S. Dept. of Justice, Nat’!
Institute of Justice, Jan. 1990)

i ee ee ee ee ee ee |

James Q. Wilson, “The Closing of the American City,”
The New Republic, May 11, 1998, pp. 30,38 .....

Page

5, 10

19

28

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE'

Amici are grass-roots membership groups, and other Chicago and
national organizations dedicated to serving the needs of inner-city
residents. Amici’s members live with the reality of gang violence and
understand the need for thoughtful police initiatives, as well as the
dangers to public safety and civil liberties that can result from
insufficiently careful responses to public frustration, impatience and
understandable demands for law and order.

The Chicago Alliance for Neighborhood Safety (CANS) has been
one of the leading community organizations working to implement
community policing at the grass-roots level, in direct partnership with
the Chicago Police Department (CPD). CANS “worked for years to
encourage the adoption of community policing in Chicago,” and has
played a major role in community policing initiatives, often under
contract with the City and the U.S. Department of Justice.’ CANS
does not lightly disagree publicly with the City and the CPD, but
CANS believes it essential to advise this Court of its view that the
gang loitering ordinance is unconstitutional, divisive of communities
along racial and generational lines, destructive of genuine community
policing and ultimately likely to make Chicago neighborhoods less
safe.*

1. Pursuant to this Court's Rule 37.2(a), letters of consent from all parties
to the filing of this brief have been filed with the Clerk. Pursuant to this Court's
Rule 37.6, amici state that this brief was not authored in whole or in part by
counsel for any party, and that no person or entity other than amici, their
members or their counsel made a monetary contribution to the preparation or
submission of this brief.

2. Chicago Community Policing Evaluation Consortium, Wesley Skogan,
et al., eds., Community Policing in Chicago, Year Three, Nov. 1996, p. 32.

3. CANS proposals in the gang area have included the 6th District Anti-
Gang Initiative, “an intensive problem-solving partnership between the CPD
and the Chicago Alliance for Neighborhood Safety, funded by the US
Department of Justice.” /d., Year Four, Nov. 1997, p. 145.

4. CANS’ board of directors includes representatives from Chicago's
major neighborhood-safety organizations. All but one of these representatives
(Cont'd)

2

Rep. Jesse Jackson, Jr. is a Member of the U.S. House of
Representatives, representing Illinois’ 2nd District.

Community Renewal Society, founded in 1883, is a metropolitan
Chicago faith-based organization, affiliated with the United Church
of Christ, that works with churches and other community organizations
to achieve economic and racial justice through programs that rebuild
communities from within.

The National Association for the Advancement of Co'ored People,
Inc. is the oldest and largest civil rights organization in the United
States with a membership of over 500,000 and a network of more
than 2,200 branches covering all 50 states and the District of
Columbia. In addition to the national office, the NAACP’s Illinois
State Conference, the State umbrella organization of local chapters,
and the Chicago Southside, the Chicago Westside and the Evanston/
Northshore branches support the Responsents as amicus curiae. The
Black Leadership Forum, Inc. is a confederation of national civil rights
and service organizations designed to promote creative leadership on
civil rights and major public policy issues of significance to African-
Americans. The National Council of La Raza represents more than
200 community-based organizations dedicated to reducing poverty
and discrimination for Americans of Hispanic descent; its afiiliates
provide social services for more than two million persons throughout
the United States each year. The Mexican-American Legal Defense
Fund is a national nonprofit organization whose mission is to protect
the civil rights of the more than 28 million Latinos living in the United
States.

The Chicago Council of Lawyers is a public interest bar
association, composed of approximately 1,200 lawyers, that has long
been concerned with the fair and equal administration of justice. The
Cook County Bar Association, the oldest bar association of lawyers
of African-American heritage in the United States, has been delivering
legal services to the black community since 1919. The Puerto Rican
Bar Association of Illinois consists primarily of attorneys of Puerto
Rican and Hispanic descent, committed to serving the legal needs of
(Cont'd)
voted to join respondents in opposing the loitering ordinance in this Court;
the Northwest Neighborhood Federation dissented.

3

the Hispanic community. The Chicago Conference of Black Lawyers
works directly with community organizers dedicated to protecting
the rights of black people in the Chicago area.

The groups listed in the margin, identified collectively as the
Chicago Community Organizations, are likewise engaged directly in
the effort to afford Chicago residents equal justice and safety from
gangs and violence. They share in the conviction that the anti-loitering
ordinance is an ill-considered, counterproductive and unconstitutional
response to Chicago’s serious problems of gang activity and violence.°

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Chicago’s citizens are united in their determination to combat
gangs. Yet the means at issue in this case, the city’s anti-loitering
ordinance, has evoked substantial community opposition. The
ordinance applies to any group of two or more individuals who gather
“with no apparent purpose” in any public place, including streets,
parks, restaurants, and any other location open to the public. Pet.
App. 63a. The ordinance mandates that if a police officer reasonably
believes any of the individuals to be a gang member, he shall order
all of the individuals, including those not suspected of gang
membership, to “disperse and remove themselves from the area”; the
officer may then arrest any individual he believes to be disobeying
the order. Pet. App. 61a.

City Council consideration of the ordinance was marked by
intense disagreement. The Chicago Tribune described the proceedings
as “one of the most heated and emotional council debates in recent
memory.”® Concern focused on the fact that the ordinance permits
the arrest of those not suspected of gang involvement; that it could be

5. The groups are Centro Sin Fronteras and the Sin Fronteras Law
Program of Chicago’s West Town Neighborhood, the Chicago Coalition for
the Homeless, Citizens Alert (police accountability organization), the
Community Action Group of North Lawndale, the First Unitarian Society of
Chicago, Illinois Caucus for Adolescent Health, PACT- Positive Anit-Crime
Thrust, Inc., and the Prison Action Committee.

6. Davis, “New Police Arrest Power Lights City Council Fuse,” Chicago
Tribune, June 18, 1992, pp. 1, 14.

4

read to require minority youth to leave any neighborhood where police
think they do not belong; that it limits gatherings not jus\ on street
corners but in a wide range of public and privately owned locations;
that it restricts groups as small as two or three people; and that it
applies regardless of whether any of the individuals is engaged in
loud, intimidating or obstructive behavior.

The ordinance drew both support and opposition from Chicago
citizens of all backgrounds. The Chicago chapter of the NAACP
denounced the proposal,’ as did the editorial page of Chicago’s leading
African-American newspaper, the Chicago Defender.* The city’s
largest newspapers likewise condemned the proposal. The Chicago
Tribune noted that the ordinance would “invite police abuses,” and
concluded, “if [residents] expect that this new ordinance will make
their streets safe, they are bound to be disappointed.”” The Chicago
Sun-Times compared supporters of the ordinance to “the likes of
George III and the tyrants of Beijing” and concluded that “[t}he
proposed city ordinance to ban loitering by ‘known gang members’
is too vague, too unworkable and, above all, too unconstitutional.”"°

Opposition to the ordinance was especially intense in the African-
American community. African-American aldermen opposed to the
ordinance said it was “‘drafted to protect the downtown area and the
white community’ at the expense of innocent blacks,”"' and that under

7. Davis & Recktenwald, “Angry aldermen target gangs,” Chicago
Tribune, October 24, 1991, p. 1.

8. Editorial, “Supreme Court Should Squash Anti-Gang Ordinance,”
Chicago Defender, April 23, 1998, p. 11 (condemning the ordinance and noting
the paper’s earlier editorial stands against it). The Chicago Defender is a general
circulation daily newspaper; it has no affiliation with the Cook County Public
Defender, counsel to several respondents in this case.

9. Editorial, “Anti-Gang Law Isn't the Answer,” Chicago Tribune, May
20, 1992, p. 16.

10. Editorial, “Put Permanent Hold on Anti-Loitering Law,” Chicago
Sun-Times, May 20, 1992, p. 37.

11. Spielman, “Loitering Ban Passes,” Chicago Sun-Times, June 18, 1992,
p. 16 (remarks of Ald. John Steele).

5

the ordinance “you're guilty until proven innocent.”"? One African-
American alderman denounced the law as “anti-American and anti-
African American” and argued that the ordinance would “restrict the
movement of young blacks in a manner similar to the pass laws of
South Africa.”"’ In the final vote, the ordinance passed with support
from most of the city’s white aldermen but only six of the city’s
eighteen African-American aldermen."

The City Council hearings established community concern about
gangs but also cast doubt on the need for a new ordinance to respond
to them. Numerous residents had described the ability of gang
members to control street corners and intimidate residents. But Deputy

Superintendent Cooper, the CPD representative at the hearings,
testified:

there are already enough laws on the books at this
point. . . . [I}n the examples that people have been giving,
.. + 90 percent of those instances are actually criminal
offenses where people, in fact, can be arrested.

Supp. R. II 181-82 (emphasis added).

Cooper’s testimony supporting the ordinance was so tepid that
one alderman finally asked him, “Bottomline, what is the CPD’s
position on this ordinance? Do you folks want it or would you just
prefer that it not be on the books?” Supp. R. II 185. Although the
CPD, as part of the City administration, was officially committed to
the proposal, Cooper replied:

Under the appropriate circumstances, the ordinance can
12. Id. at. 1 (remarks of Ald. Dorothy Tillman).

13. Id. at 1, 16 (remarks of Ald. Dorothy Tillman). Reflecting the highly
emotional character of the debate, one African-American alderman even

objected, “What did Hitler do to the Jews? The same thing.” Id. at 1 (remarks
of Ald. Allan Streeter). shecetgs

14. Official Journal, City of Chicago, p. 18293 (June 17, 1992). Eight
African-American aldermen voted no, and four did not vote. The racial identity
of the opponents is noted in Spielman, “Anti-Gang Law Won't Be Abused
City Says,” Chicago Sun-Times, June 19, 1992.

6

be a viable tool for the police. What I am suggesting,
however, is that there is much more that can be done rather
than an additional law on the books, and I would prefer
that the — or I would rather suggest or request the City
Council, in its infinite wisdom, begin to look at the totality
of the problem as opposed to looking at it from a one-
dimensional point of view. .

Supp. R. II 185-86 (emphasis added)."°

2. In a series of court proceedings, thirteen trial judges passed
on the ordinance. Ten trial judges held the ordinance unconstitutionally
vague on its face, and one held it unconstitutional as applied; only
two of the trial judges upheld the ordinance.'® On appeal, the Illinois
court of appeals unanimously held the ordinance unconstitutionally
vague on its face, in violation of both the Illinois and federal!

constitutions.

The Illinois Supreme Court unanimously affirmed. The Court
noted that the ordinance, as written, would apply to many innocent
activities that the City Council could not have intended to restrict,
e.g. waiting to hail a taxi. Pet. App. 10a. The Court accordingly
assumed that the ordinance’s definition of “loitering” was not intended
to restrain all activity falling literally within its terms. Rather, the
Court held that “[{tJ}he definition of loitering . .. provides absolute
discretion to police officers to decide what activities constitute
loitering.” Pet. App. 15a. The Court further found that because the
City Council’s intent was to “craft[] an exceptionally broad ordinance
which could be used to sweep these intolerable and objectionable
gang members from the city streets,” the ordinance was not susceptible
to a limiting construction. Pet. App. 16a. The Court concluded that
the ordinance was “impermissibly vague in all of its applications”
(Pet. App. 7a) in violation of the due process requirements of both
the Illinois (Pet. App. 6a) and federal constitutions.

15. In light of Cooper’s testimony, petitioner errs in asserting that “this
record contains no evidence . . . that there were [other] means available to the
City to address the problems engendered by gang loitering.” Br. 27.

16. Poulos, “Chicago’s Ban on Gang Loitering,” 83 Cal. L. Rev. 379,
384 n. 26 (1995).

7

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. The Illinois Supreme Court ascertained the legislative purpose
of City Council and determined that the ordinance was intentionally
cast in “exceptionally broad” terms, Pet. App. 16a, so that police
officers would have the power to disperse and, if necessary, arrest
citizens whose behavior they consider objectionable. The Court then
held that the ordinance, so construed, violates federal due process
requirements. This Court has never overturned a state supreme court's

judgment finding its own law impermissibly vague under these
circumstances.

There is no reason to believe that the Illinois trial and appellate
judges who ruled in this case are insensitive to the dangers of gang
violence or unaware of practical problems that arise in prosecuting
gang members under already-existing laws. Nor is there any reason
to believe that these state judges felt constrained by federal precedent
to invalidate an ordinance that they preferred to uphold. On the
contrary, both Illinois appellate courts ruled unanimously that the
ordinance violates the Illinois constitution as well.

Faced with a poorly drafted and largely incoherent legislative
pronouncement, the Illinois Supreme Court made a reasonable effort
to give it an intelligible meaning. The ordinance applies only to those
who gather with “no apparent purpose.” But if an intent to get fresh
air or to observe the passing scene is a “purpose” within the meaning
of the ordinance — if no interpretative gloss restricts the kinds of
purposes that can qualify — then, as the Solicitor General concedes,
“the ordinance would prohibit nothing at all.” Br. U.S. 13. To avoid
this result, petitioner suggests that an individual’s “apparent purpose”
must be “immediately discernible to a police officer.” Br. 38. Yet, if
given this gloss, the ordinance would constrain many varieties of
constitutionally protected religious activity, political organizing, and
other acts (e.g., waiting for the chance to hail a taxi) that the City
Council could not have intended to restrict.” And even with this gloss,

17. Contrary to the claim of the Solicitor General (Br. U.S. 13 n.6), the
Illinois Supreme Court was not ill-informed about the realities of hailing a
cab in the city where it sits. On Chicago streets, many minutes can go by

(Cont'd)

the ordinance would remain unavailable against its principal targets
— known gang members who congregate to assert control over turf
or to recruit new members — because these individuals have a readily
discernible purpose. With or without petitioner's suggested gloss, the
“no apparent purpose” language simultaneously prohibits much more
and much less than the City Council could have intended. The Illinois
Supreme Court accordingly concluded the “no apparent purpose”
language simply served to cast a wide net, so that police officers
would have discretion to decide on the spot which activities constitute
the restricted kind of “loitering.”

This was the correct interpretation of the ordinance and certainly
not an unreasonable one. But even if this Court believes that the
ordinance should have been given a narrower or more specific
interpretation, that question is not one of federal law. Ascertaining
legislative intent and making the prudential judgment whether to
impose a narrowing construction on poorly drafted state legislation
are quintessential matters of state law, on which the decision of a
state supreme court is final.

The only federal question presented is whether the ordinance, so
construed, is unconstitutional. Unless this Court is prepared to
abandon the familiar Papachristou-Kolender standard,"* there can be
no doubt that a law is impermissibly vague when its terms leave police
officers with substantive discretion to determine, without legislative
or administrative guidance, which kinds of public behavior the law
restricts.

2. Petitioner argues that vagueness problems are cured because

(Cont'd)

without a taxi passing. See Hill & Downey, “Taxis Still Can Be Rare Despite
Law,” Chicago Tribune, May 24, 1998, p.i. Persons waiting to hail a cab do
not constantly wave their arms in a way that would make their purpose apparent.
Other amici make the same error, dismissing the Illinois Supreme Court's
example as “nonsensical.” Br. Nat’! Dist. Attorneys Ass'n 16. There is nothing
nonsensical about waiting until a taxi is within sight before attempting to hail
it.

18. Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville, 405 U.S. 156 (1972); Kolender
v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352 (1983).

9

an arrest under the ordinance must be preceded by a police order to
disperse. But the unique terms of this ordinance’s dispersal
requirement aggravate vagueness problems. Contrary to petitioner's
repeated assertions (Br. 11, 29, 30), it is simply not true that citizens
can comply with the dispersal order merely by separating and moving
on. The ordinance requires individuals to disperse and “remove
themselves from the area.” Pet. App. 6la. Even when individuals
disperse and move on, they have no way to know how far they must
go or how long they must remain away to avoid arrest. We have found
no other law granting — and no judicial decision ever sustaining —
any comparable police power to exercise spatial control over
movement within a city.

3. At no time in the past twenty-six years has this Court or any
state supreme court ever countenanced a law granting police the degree
of untrammeled discretion that results from petitioner's concededly
“novel” (Br. U.S. 28 n.19) ordinance. Implicitly recognizing the
unprecedented nature of their claims, petitioner and several of its
amici urge this Court to modify or abandon the Papachristou-Kolender
standard. They argue that new conceptions of community policing
and alleged improvements in the voting power of minorities render
obsolete the traditional due process limits on police discretion to set
substantive standards of behavior. Br. 15; Br. CNO 6, 9-14.

These radical arguments lack both legal and factual foundation.
Due process cannot mean one thing when a minority group opposes
loitering laws and a different thing when such a group allegedly favors
them. Cf. City of Richmond v. J.A. Croson Co., 488 U.S. 469, 494
(1989) (“the standard of review .. . is not dependent on the race of
those burdened or benefited”). In any event, most of Chicago’s
African-American aldermen did not support the ordinance.'’ And the

19. One group of petitioner's amici claims that Chicago's “minority
communities” supported the ordinance and that it was enacted “at the behest
of those very citizens.” Br. Chicago Neighborhood Organizations [hereafter
CNO] pp. 5, 14. Though the identity of supporters and opponents of legislation
is not relevant to the validity of a constitutional challenge, these claims are in
any event incorrect. The Northwest Neighborhood Federation (a diverse group
based in a predominantly white section of the city) initiated the proposal, see

(Cont'd)

10

leading proponents of community policing, including those cited and
selectively quoted by petitioner itself, all stress the continuing
importance of restraints on police discretion, including in particular
the need to restrict police “sweeps” under broad anti-loitering laws.
See Part IV, infra. Petitioner and its amici offer no justification for
abandoning traditional due process principles, and make no showing
that courts could manage the complex inquiries into minority-group
preferences that would be necessary under the sliding-scale
constitutional test that petitioner’s amici propose, Br. CNO 13, as a
replacement for the Papachristou-Kolender standard.

4. The undersigned amici fully share petitioner's objective of
limits, cities have a wide range of workable options, including
traditional law enforcement (stops on founded suspicion and arrests
onieitene reemnerar we ivity, intimidati ,
the public way, and other existing public-order offenses)” as well as
the kind of cooperative neighborhood problem-solving efforts that
constitute genuine community policing.”

Petitioner’s claim that traditional due process limits must be

(Cont'd)
Supp. R. Il 30-32; it was “drawn up by several white aldermen and
enthusiastically endorsed by Mayor Richard Daley.” Davis, supra n. 6.

To demonstrate an alleged preference for the ordinance in the African-
American community, petitioner's amici refer to a recent City Council
resolution that passed with support from aldermen representing eight
predominantly African-American wards. Br. CNO 15. But in the formal vote
enacting the ordinance, the African-American aldermen split 8-6 against it,
and the recent resolution of support was adopted under a suspension of City
Council rules, apparently without notice or debate, with eleven African-
American aldermen opposed, absent or not voting. City of Chicago, Official
Journal, May 20, 1998, pp. 70134-35. The record is clear that support for the
the support of a majority of the city’s African-American aldermen.

20. E.g., Il. Stat. ch. 720 § 5/12-6.2 (intimidation for the purpose of
furthering gang activities); § 570/405.2 (criminal street gang drug conspiracy).

21. See H. Goldstein, Problem-Oriented Policing (1990); G. Kelling &
C. Coles, Fixing Broken Windows (1996).

suspended because neighborhood residents are too intimidated to
testify in court about actual misbehavior, Br. 3, deserves little
comment. In addition to standard police methods of surveillance and
undercover observation, a citizen-witness’s 911 call, stating that he
has observed criminal behavior and describing the perpetrator,
unquestionably is sufficient by itself to establish probable cause for
arrest;” a fortiori, an officer can give a suspect the choice of moving
on or facing arrest for the offense reported, without any need to
consider whether the suspect was “loitering.” And police can assure
citizens of the complete confidentiality of such reports, even when
the issue of probable cause must later be litigated. McCray v. Illinois,
386 U.S. 300 (1967). Nothing in the record or in the legislative
findings of City Council offers support for petitioner’s claim that
police must have unchanneled discretionary authority to disperse and,
if necessary, arrest individuals who have given no grounds for
suspicion of any misbehavior whatever.”

. The legitimate desire to combat gangs and to encourage effective
policing strategy creates no need to suspend settled principles of due
process, and it affords no justification for condemning the Illinois
appellate judges who unanimously concluded that due process was
violated by the unique terms of this Chicago ordinance.

22. Y. Kamisar, et al., Modern Criminal Procedure 196 (7*h ed., 1990).

23. The argument that innocent citizens must be dispersed to protect
them from being caught in gang cross fire (Br. 37, Br. U.S. 29-30 n.20) likewise
deserves little comment. Once police have ordered the suspected gang member
to move on, the other individuals in the group are no safer (and might be less
safe) if they disperse with him than if they simply remain where they are
while he leaves. Neither petitioner nor the City Council has asserted that the
risk of getting caught in gang cross fire creates any need to disperse groups
not containing a suspected gang member.

12

ARGUMENT
I.

THE ORDINANCE’S DEFINITION OF LOITERING IS
IMPERMISSIBLY VAGUE ON ITS FACE.

“The void-for vagueness doctrine requires that a penal statute
define the criminal offense with sufficient definiteness that ordinary
people can understand what conduct is prohibited.” Kolender v.
Lawson, 461 U.S. 352, 357 (1983). In addition, the vagueness doctrine
requires that the offense be defined “in a manner that does not
encourage arbitrary and discriminatory enforcement.” Jd. The Chicago
ordinance is impermissibly vague on both grounds. In none of its
conceivable applications does it provide fair notice to citizens or
sufficient guidance to prevent arbitrary enforcement.

Petitioner insists that the term “loiter” has a readily understood
meaning. Br. 30. Yet courts uniformly hold that when statutes prohibit
loitering, without requiring proof of other elements, they are void for
vagueness.” The reason is that the concept of “loitering” is either too
subjective or too broad to identify prohibited conduct with reasonable
definiteness.

The ordinary meaning of loitering is inherently subjective.
“Loitering” is a pejorative term, signaling disapproval of the activity
or the actor. When two senior citizens spend an evening chatting on a
park bench, their neighbors would not speak of them as “loitering.”
But those neighbors would readily apply that label to teenagers from
outside the neighborhood or other “undesirables” engaging in
precisely the same conduct. A statute is void for vagueness if it
proscribes conduct “annoying” to others (Coates v. City of Cincinnati,
402 U.S. 611 (1971)), even though the word “annoying” has a well
understood meaning. For the same reason, the term loitering, as used
in everyday conversation, is unacceptably vague for penal law
purposes, even if observers of similar age and social background
would agree about which activities deserve that label. The meaning
of the word is determined by the personal sensibilities of the observer.

24. E.g., State v. Richard, $36 P.2d 622 (Nev. 1992); Farber v. Rochford,
407 F. Supp. 529 (N.D. Ill. 1975).

13

Statutes that define loitering as standing or strolling “with no
apparent purpose” seek to eliminate the overtly subjective element,
but they then cover so many innocuous activities that they do not
identify prohibited conduct at all. Courts uniformly and properly
hold such statutes unconstitutional. As a recent FBI publication notes,
“courts routinely have held th: broadly worded vagrancy and loitering
Statutes that do not ‘.:.ct other unlawful conduct are
unconstitutional.”*> Without some additional element or narrowing
construction, loitering — so defined — is inherently overbroad, not
only in the sense that it can apply to constitutionally protected conduct,
but also in the sense that, taken literally, it reaches activity that the
legislature clearly had no desire to condemn. Such breadth of apparent
coverage renders the statute vague, because the statutory terms afford
no basis for distinguishing between conduct that remains permissible
and conduct that the law is intended to proscribe.

Papachristou makes this point clear. This Court expressly hel¢
that “[t}he qualification ‘without any lawful purpose or object’ may
be a trap for innocent acts.” 405 U.S. at 164. Similarly, referring to
another provision of the Jacksonville ordinance, this Court said that
persons “‘habitually . . . frequenting . . . places where alcoholic
beverages are sold or served’ would literally embrace many members
of golf clubs and city clubs.” /d. Unconstitutional vagueness resulted
not from lack of meaning in the words themselves but from the
implausible breadth of their coverage. This Court did not hold that a
legislature could not make this conduct a crime;” it simply recognized
that Jacksonville obviously did not. In such cases, the legislature has
impermissibly “set a net large enough to catch all possible offenders.”
United States v. Reese, 92 U.S. 214, 221 (1875). In effect:

Definiteness is designedly avoided so as to allow the net
to be cast at large, to enable men to be caught who are
vaguely undesirable in the eyes of police and prosecution,
although not chargeable with any particular offense. In

25. Regini, “Combating Gangs: The Need for Innovation,” FBI Law
Enforcement Bulletin, February 1998, p. 27.

26. Legislatures have unquestioned power to regulate bars and to prohibit
the consummation of alcohol. E.g., California v. LaRue, 409 U.S. 109 (1972).

14

short, these ‘vagrancy statutes’ and laws against ‘gangs’
are not fenced in by the text of the statute or by the subject
matter so as to give notice of conduct to be avoided.

Winters v. New York, 333 U.S. 507, 540 (1948) (Frankfurter, J.,
dissenting).

The Chicago ordinance suffers from the same flaws; its definition
of loitering offers no basis for distinguishing between conduct that
the City Council intended to restrict and conduct that it intended to
leave unfettered. Indeed, though petitioner and its amici insist that
loitering has a perfectly clear meaning, they are unable to offer a
single internally consistent explanation of what the ordinance covers.
If, as petitioner insists, members of a religious group who gather at a
street corner and wait for a chance to recruit new members cannot be
dispersed, because they have an “apparent purpose” (Br. 20), then
the ordinance is likewise inapplicable to gang members who gather
at a street corner and wait for an opportunity to recruit new members.
A group’s purposes are just as likely to be apparent in one case as in
the other. And neither the state nor the City has made it unlawful for
gang members to noncoercively recruit new associates.’

As written, therefore, the ordinance affords no basis for
distinguishing between the organizational activities of various groups.
Either it requires officers to disperse Jehovah's Witnesses, Jews for
Jesus, and Neighborhood Crime Watch members who gather on street
corners to recruit (when any participant is a suspected gang member),
or it does not permit officers to disperse Gangster ) Disciples who gather
on street corners to recruit. Neither interpretatic. makes much sense
or accords even roughly with the City Council's evident intentions.
Compare Pet. App. 60a-61a.

27. Compare Ill. Stat. ch. 720 § 5/12-6.1, prohibiting the use of unlawful
means to compel a person to join any organization. The behavior that most
concerned the City Council — the “visibly lawless” behavior that petitioner
repeatedly invokes (Br. 9-10, 12, 14, 16, 27, 44) — is left unrestricted by the
ordinance as written, because the purpose of such behavior is apparent. When
gang members obstruct the sidewalk or intimidate residents their conduct is
addressed by other laws, but the loitering ordinance appears inapplicable and
offers no additional tool for prosecuting such cases.

15

These anomalies could be avoided by assuming that the ordinance
contempiates a selective determination of which “apparent purpose(s]”
count. Yet neither the ordinance nor the implementing General Order
offers any standard for making selective judgments about different
“apparent purpose[s].” In fact, petitioner takes flatly contradictory
positions on the question whether the “apparent purpose” inquiry can
be selective. At one point petitioner suggests that persons “‘vho are
merely sitting on a park bench [or]} chatting on a sidewalk” are subject
to the ordinance (Br. 38); apparently, a readily apparent purpose to
sit, chat, or engage in “mere casual social interaction” (Br. 10) does
not count. At another point, however, petitioner appears to insist that
any apparent purpose can qualify, a position that drives it to the
astonishing conclusion that “(uJnder the ordinance, gang members
remain free to . . . solicit contributions for their gangs” because this
conduct “has an ‘apparent purpose.’” Br. 27. Petitioner's view —
that gang members are free to gather at street corners and politely
ask each passing citizen to give five dollars to their gang — would
surely surprise City Council supporters of the law. Indeed petitioner's
interpretation, if sound, renders the ordinance virtually unenforceable
— that interpretation apparently permits gang members congregating
on a street corner to avoid arrest simply by wearing lapel buttons
saying, “This is our turf,” or “Give generously to the Gangster
Disciples.”™

Some of petitioner's examples suggest a different rule of
interpretation: that productive purposes qualify, but that purposes to
remain idle or to talk informally for reasons of rest or recreation do
not.” That interpretation likewise creates untenable anomalies. It

28. No doubt there are cases in which teenagers approached by the police
say they were “doing nothing.” They presumably mean they were doing nothing
wrong, few would realize that this response puts them in jeopardy under the
ordinance. If a teenager's “doing nothing” statement constitutes an admission
of “loitering,” the ordinance sets an especially effective trap for the unwary.

29. See Br. 10, stating that “mere casual social interaction” cannot count
as a qualifying purpose. Partly contradicting this approach, petitioner declares
that not all social purposes will be treated equally; a purpose to play basketball
allegedly qualifies as an “apparent purpose” but a purpose to chat with a friend
does not. Br. 38. One can readily imagine borderline cases — merely watching

(Cont'd)

16

means that the ordinance would not reach conduct that the City
Council surely hoped to cover (e.g., gang efforts to control territory
and recruit new members, see Supp.R.II at 32). At the same time, the
ordinance would cover much conduct that the City Council presumably
did not intend to reach. If casual purposes cannot count, then there is
“loitering” when two sweethearts stand holding hands at a street corner
after school, when three boys stand outside a movie theater discussing
which show to see, when four teenagers stand across the street from
their school waiting until the end of lunch hour, or when two senior
citizens sit on a park bench chatting with their teenaged grandson.
The ordinance, as written, would require a police officer to order
these citizens to separate from one another and leave “the area”
whenever one of them is reasonably believed to belong to a gang.

In observing that such activities are “innocent” (Pet. App. 9a),
the Illinois Supreme Court never suggested that such activities are
immune from regulation. Here, as in Papachristou, the problem is
not that a legislature could not condemn such activities but simply
that it did not — that the legislature could not have intended to restrict
such activities and that the language enacted “fails to distinguish
between innocent conduct and conduct calculated to cause harm.”
Pet. App. 9a (emphasis added).

As a result, the Chicago ordinance simply casts a wide net without
identifying which activities the legislative body intended to reach.
Such an ordinance “does not provide for government by clearly
defined laws, but rather for government by the moment-to-moment
opinions of a policeman on his beat.” Cox v. Louisiana, 379 U.S.
536, 579 (1965) (opinion of Black, J.). By authorizing police action
against whichever kinds of idle behavior police view with disapproval,
the Chicago ordinance is for practical purposes identical to the
ordinance condemned in Coates, providing an “obvious invitation to
discriminatory enforcement against those whose association together
is ‘annoying.’ ” 402 U.S. at 616.

(Cont'd)

the basketball game might not qualify as a permissible purpose, or perhaps
watching the game would qualify but merely talking about basketball would
not. But the fundamental problem is more basic: even in core situations, the
application of the ordinance is inevitably debatable.

.
|

——

nd 0 Muted

17

The ordinance also threatens core First Amendment interests. If
casual social interaction cannot count as an “apparent purpose,” the
ordinance then applies to the politician or would-be politician who
chats casually with neighborhood residents, in periods between formal
campaigns, with the unstated goal of building rapport with potential
voters. Yet if the ordinance does not apply in this situation, it provides
no standard for determining which casual social conversations
constitute loitering and which do not.” And these difficulties of
interpretation do not arise only at the margins. In every imaginable
example, the ordinance requires police to make substantive policy
judgments in order to avoid the odd results that would follow from
applying its terms literally. The Illinois Supreme Court clearly was
correct in holding that the ordinance sets no intelligible standard and
in effect simply delegates “absolute discretion to police officers to
decide what activities constitute loitering.” Pet. App. 15a.

The Illinois Supreme Court also considered narrowing the reach
of the ordinance, but determined that a limiting or clarifying
interpretation would be inconsistent with the legislative purpose
because:

city council’s intent ... is clear and unambiguous. The
city has declared gang members a public menace... .
Accordingly, the city council crafted an exceptionally
broad ordinance which could be used to sweep these
intolerable and objectionable gang members from the city
streets.

Pet. App. 16a.
The court therefore concluded that the ordinance’s broad,
unspecified conception of loitering was “not reasonably susceptible

to a limiting construction.” /d.

Faced with similar situations, this Court has frequently refused

30. In the case of a known politician, police might decide that a casual
social interaction with constituents qualifies as an “apparent purpose,” but
they would be much less likely to reach that conclusion in the case of someone
they do not recognize as a political contender. Discrimination against political
novices and outsiders is inherent in the “apparent purpose” inquiry.

18

to narrow a federal statute by making policy choices that Congress
has ducked. E.g., United States v. Cardiff, 344 U.S. 174 (1952). The
Iilinois Supreme Court chose the same path here, concluding that the
legislative intent precluded judicial efforts to limit the ordinance’s
broad and uncertain reach.*'

Lacking any such limiting construction, the ordinance is clearly
void on its face, because in every situation it requires police to exercise
unguided discretion to determine whether the conduct in question
constitutes loitering. And, as the Illinois Supreme Court recognized,
the General Order promulgated by the CPD does nothing to cure this
problem, because the General Order makes no attempt to clarify what
is meant by “loitering.” See Pet.App. 64a-73a.

THE INDETERMINACY OF THE TERM “LOITERING” IS
NOT CURED BY THE REQUIREMENT THAT POLICE HAVE
A REASONABLE BELIEF THAT ONE PERSON IN THE
GROUP IS A GANG MEMBER.

In the context of Chicago’s ordinance, the gang membership
element does nothing to meet the Papachristou-Kolender requirement
of adequate limits on law enforcement discretion. As we have
discussed, the ordinance and the General Order provide police officers
untrammeled discretion to determine which activities constitute
loitering. And even when limited to groups that include a suspected
gang member, the ordinance requires the exercise of unguided
discretion to determine its scope. It provides no standard for
determining when a probable gang member may stand with others
watching a ball game in a park or wait with his sister for a chance to

31. The Solicitor General dismisses as “incorrect” the Illinois Supreme
Court’s understanding of the City Council's legislative purpose. Br. U.S. 26.
This argument is simply not open for consideration in this Court. “[L]egislative
intent is a matter of state law, on which the highest court of a state speaks with
finality.” Della Grotta v. Rhode Island, 781 F.2d 343, 347 (1st Cir. 1986). The
same error is fatal to another amicus’s claim, in dismissing the Illinois court's
view of the ordinance’s purpose, that “[t}he evident purpose of the Chicago
ordinance may be gleaned from its plain language.” Br. Los Angeles County
14.

19

hail a taxi. It provides no standard for determining whether an aspiring
politician may chat casually with a group in which the probable gang
member is standing, or whether the gang member’s own mother may
sit with him on a park bench or stand outside with him on a hot night.
Plainly, as the Illinois Supreme Court held, the ordinance contemplates
the need for police discretion to determine on the spot which activities
constitute the restricted kind of loitering.

It is true that this discretion can be deployed only in certain areas
(undisclosed areas) of the city, and only against some of the
population — those who come in contact with suspected gang
members. Pctitioner in effect argues that discretion to determine
allowable forms of public behavior is sufficiently limited if it can be
deployed only in certain neighborhoods or only against certain classes
of innocent people, people who are not themselves suspected of gang
membership or any misbehavior. Yet this Court has never before
suggested that it would uphold an ordinance that “does not provide
for government by clearly defined laws, but rather for government
by the moment-to-moment opinions of a policeman on his beat,” Cox,
379 U.S. at 579 (opinion of Black, J.), on condition that this form of
government be placed in effect only in designated but undisclosed
sections of a city.** The Illinois Supreme Court should not be faulted

32. Letter dated July 8, 1998, from Counsel for Petitioner to Counsel
for Respondents, indicating that areas designated for enforcement of the
ordinance are not publicly available and will be disclosed, if at all, only in
response to a party’s discovery demand in litigation. The Solicitor General
appears to be misinformed on this point. The Solicitor General asserts that
citizens “may stand wherever they wish in areas of the city not designated by
the general order.” Br. U.S. 24. The designation procedure affords no such
opportunity, because the location of the designated areas remains a closely
guarded secret.

33. It is not amiss to mention the implications of this view for the
minority youth of our nation. In cities where police lists of probable gang
members have been analyzed, substantial portions of the city’s African-
American youth appear on such lists. In Los Angeles, 47% of the city’s African-
American youth, and in Denver 67% have been placed on police lists of
probable gang members. Stolberg, “150,000 Are in Gangs, Report by D.A.
Says Half of Young Blacks Are Members,” Los Angeles Times, May 22, 1992,
p. 1; Johnson, “2 out of 3 Young Black Men in Denver Listed by Police as

(Cont'd)

20

for concluding that all segments of Chicago's law-abiding population
have the same right to be governed by ascertainable law.

THE VAGUENESS OF THE ORDINANCE IS NOT CURED BY
THE REQUIREMENT THAT POLICE GIVE GROUP
MEMBERS AN OPPORTUNITY TO DISPERSE.

Petitioner argues that vagueness problems are cured because an
arrest under the ordinance must be preceded by an order to disperse.
But a dispersal order does nothing to address the danger of arbitrary
enforcement; indeed petitioner concedes as much: “if police officers
are afforded standardless discretion to order individuals to move on,
the mere fact that a police order is given does not serve to sustain the
order.” Br. 32.

Standardless discretion is precisely what the ordinance gives
Chicago’s police, as we have shown. But even if the preconditions
for issuing a dispersal order were precise, the ordinance would still
be vague, because the terms of the dispersal requirement are fatally
ambiguous.

Petitioner asserts repeatedly that under the ordinance “people
are told precisely what they must do to avoid arrest,” and that “no
one could fail to understand what is required of him,” because the
ordinance merely requires individuals to obey a police order to
“disperse” or to “move on.” Br. 11, 29, 30. This characterization of
the ordinance is incorrect. Both the ordinance and the General Order
require an arrest unless the members of the group promptly disperse
and “remove themselves from the area.” Pet. App. 61a, 72a.

(Cont'd) ?
Suspected Gangsters,” NY Times, Dec. 11, 1993, p. A8. As a result, virtually
any group of inner-city minority youth is likely to contain at least one person
whom police consider a gang member. For these youth, the right to stand on
the street will therefore exist “only at the whim of any police officer of the
city,” Shuttlesworth v. City of Birmingham, 382 U.S. 87, 90 (1965) (or
technically, any officer designated to enforce the ordinance), provided only
that the group is considered to be “loitering.”

21

Far from curing the vagueness of the other sections of the
ordinance, the obligation to leave “the area” introduces additional
vagueness. As the Illinois court of appeals noted, “[t]he ordinance
and general order are also completely silent as to exactly how fast
and how far the persons have to disperse in order to avoid arrest.”
Pet. App. 32a-33a. Yet petitioner’s brief offers no defense of the
ordinance’s leave-the-area requirement.™

Kolender v. Lawson, supra, makes clear that a police order to
leave “the area” is fatally vague. Kolender involved a California statute
providing penalties for any person who “loiters or wanders . . . without
apparent reason . . . and refuses to identify himself . . . when requested
to do so... .” 461 U.S. at 353 n.1. In Kolender the California courts
had narrowed the loitering provision by holding that an officer could
request identification only when he had “reasonable suspicion of
criminal activity sufficient to justify a Terry detention.” /d., 356. The
state courts had also ruled that the identification provided by the
suspect had to be “credible and reliable.” This Court assumed that
the Terry suspicion standard adequately guided the officer's discretion
whether to request identification but nonetheless ruled the California
law void on its face, because it “contains no standard for determining
what a suspect has to do in order to satisfy the [identification]
requirement.” Jd. 358.

The same vagueness problem arises in more acute form here.
The Chicago ordinance applies to innocent citizens not suspected of
illegal conduct or gang membership; as we have shown, it contains
no standards for determining when a dispersal order can be issued;
and it contains no standard for determining how far an individual
must go or how long he must remain away in order to comply with
the order. Nor is any such standard to be found elsewhere in Illinois
law. To the contrary, Illinois precedent warns that “[s]tanding alone
the word ‘area’ [in a statute] implies nothing as to size. It may be of
large or small extent.” /llinois Cent. R. Co. v. Village of South Pekin,

34. That requirement is nowhere mentioned in petitioner's brief, except
where the brief sets out the full text of the ordinance. Br. 4. The vagueness of
the leave-the-area requirement was a ground of decision in the Illinois court
of appeals, and respondents expressly argued the issue in the Illinois Supreme
Court, Br. Resp. Ill. S. Ct. 46-47. As one group of petitioner's amici recognizes,

the issue is properly before this Court. Br. Nat'l Dist. Attorneys Ass’n., et al.
24.

22

374 Ill. 431, 435, 29 N.E. 2d 590, 593 (1940). The leave-the-area
requirement thus adds uncertainty for citizens seeking to comply with
the law and provides a layer of added discretion for officers who are
authorized to decide with no guidance whether an individual has left
“the area.” Even when a group has dispersed and begun to move away,
each individual remains subject to arrest if he fails to move far enough,
or returns to “the area” too soon.

The puzzling arrest statistics reported by the CPD seem less
surprising in this light. From 1992 until 1995, police issued 85,197
orders to disperse, and in 49% of these cases, police decided that
individuals were disobeying their orders; 41,740 individuals were
2 vested.** If the order to disperse is as clear and easy to satisfy as
petitioner claims, such a high rate of noncompliance is inexplicable.
It is not likely that so many young gang members were defiantly
defending their “turf” against armed officers, or that they welcomed
the chance to spend time in Cook County Jail. Commen sense suggests
that many of these young persons wanted to avoid arrest but failed in
their efforts to comply. The obligation to leave an unspecified “area”
is so ambiguous that it “creates a trap for the wary as well as the
unwary.” Gentile v. State Bar of Nevada, 501 U.S. 1030, 1051 (1991)
(opinion of Kennedy, J.).

Chicago's leave-the-area requirement appears to be unique. The
great majority of relevant state laws authorize only a police order to
disperse or move on.” A few state laws authorize orders with some
spatial component, such as orders to “depart” or “leave.” But in all
the examples we have found, such orders to leave can be issued only
under narrowly defined circumstances such as riot or accident.’ Such

35. Gillis & Spielman, “City’s Loitering Law Ruled Unconstitutional,”
Chicago Sun-Times, Dec. 19, 1995, p. 3.

36. Among the forty-one “State Dispersal Laws” cited by amici Ohio, et
al. (Br. Ohio A-4 to A-8), thirty-caree authorize only an order to “disperse,”
“move” or “move on”; the only cited laws with a spatial component (“depart,”
“leave” or “withdraw”) are those of Georgia, Illinois, Massachusetts, Michigan,
Minnesota, New Hampshire and Wisconsin, while Ohio's statute requires
obedience to any “lawful order.” See id., and statutes there cited.

37. The Ohio statute, for example, applies only in cases of “fire, ee
on

>.

23

orders automatically acquire content by reference to the emergency
itself; a law-abiding person can readily understand the expectation
that he move out of sight and earshot.

Here, in contrast, there is no indication that moving out of sight
of a particular street corner would constitute leaving “the area.” If
the “area” concept has any content, in the present context, it might
mean leaving “the neighborhood,” a locale that is not only vague but
also, in Chicago, closely tied to race and ethnicity. A law authorizing
police to order strangers back to their own neighborhood would make
all-too-real the concerns of Chicago aldermen who compared this
ordinance to South Africa's pass laws.” In the Chicago setting, such
a law could not easily survive equal protection scrutiny, and petitioner
does not suggest that the “area” concept should be so understood. Yet
if an “area” cannot be equated with a neighborhood, it remains totally
unclear what its limits are or what criteria might be used determine
them.

No decision of this Court, or of any state court we have
discovered, has ever permitted any comparable police power to
exercise spatial control over movement within a city. Cox v. Louisiana,
379 U.S. 559 (1965), where this Court reversed a conviction for
demonstrating “near” a courthouse, offers an instructive contrast. The
Court assumed that the term near “may not [be] unconstitutionally
vague, at least as applied to a demonstration within the sight and
hearing of those in the courthouse.” In reaching that conclusion, the
Court stressed that the statute permitted “a degree of on-the-spot
administrative interpretation” and held that “[{t}his administrative
discretion to construe the term ‘near’ concerns a limited control of
the streets and other areas in the immediate vicinity of the courthouse

(Cont'd)

disaster, riot or emergency.” /d. A-7. Each of the other state statutes authorizing

an order to depart or leave is similarly limited. See id. A-5 to A-8 and statutes
there cited.

38. See D. Massey & N. Denton, American Apartheid 76 (1993) (noting

that by most measures Chicago is the most or second-most highly segregated
city in America).

39. See supra note 13 and accompanying text.

24

and is the type of narrow discretion which this Court has recognized
as .. . proper.” /d. 568-69.“ No comparable measuring rod is implicit
in the Chicago ordinance. It applies at numerous undisclosed locations,
is not limited to the immediate vicinity of any point, and does not
conter.it e any on-the-spot guidance to indicate what the citizen
must dc % comply.

Such an ordinance is void on its face because it is vague in all its
applications. It is true that a citizen who stands his ground cannot
plausibly claim to have left the area. But Kolender presented the same
question. As Justice White argued there in dissent (461 U.S. at 472),
the Kolender statute was clear as applied to the defiant citizen who
refused to provide any identification. This Court considered Justice
White's example irrelevant to a facial challenge. As Kolender holds,
due process requires that laws, however ambiguous at their edges,
offer some safe harbor for the law-abiding citizen who seeks to
comply. In the Kolender setting there were no objective standards the
officer could apply, once identification was offered, to determine
whether it was “credible.”

The Chicago ordinance poses the same problem, in more acute
form. Short of fleeing the jurisdiction, the person who tries to comply
has no way to know how far he must go or how long he must remain
away in order to avoid arrest.*' Independent of every other vagueness
problem, the leave-the-area requirement violates Kolender’s principle

40. All of this Court's decisions emphasize comparable limitations.
Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104 (1972), held that a law prohibiting
noise in any area “adjacent” to a school was not vague because “there must be
demonstrated interference with school activities.” /d. at 114. Colten v. Kentucky,
407 U.S. 104 (1972), held that a police order was not vague where it required
Colton to leave a place where police were investigating a traffic violation and
where conviction required “the intent of causing inconvenience, annoyance,
or alarm.” /d. at 110. Boos v. Barry, 485 U.S. 312 (1988), upheld a law
prohibiting demonstrations within 500 feet of an cmbassy. In all such cases
the spatial scope of the legal requirement is readily ascertainable.

41. One option would be for him to go home, but if his home is his only
safe harbor, then the ordinance in effect permits the police to impose house
arrest without trial, for an indeterminate period, on any citizen found in public
with a person reasonably believed to be a gang member. Petitioner has not
attempted to defend the ordinance on this basis.

25

that a police officer's order must have ascertainable content and afford
the citizen a reasonable opportunity to comply.

IV.

THE PAPACHRISTOU-KOLENDER STANDARD SHOULD NOT
BE DILUTED OR DISCARDED.

Te date, judicial and scholarly opinion has been virtually
unanimous in concluding that the Chicago ordinance is
unconstitutional under existing precedent.“ Accordingly, one group
of petitioner's amici seek to win reversal by convincing this Court to
“reserve” the Papachristou-Kolender standard for cases in which a
court finds a law’s impact to be “concentrated on a politically
disempowered minority.” Br. CNO 6. In other cases, they argue, this
Court should replace existing principles with a sliding scale of review
that would depend on how widely the burden of that law is likely to
be felt” (id. 9), taking into account such factors as “the relationship
between the supporters of the law and those to whom it is being
applied.” Jd. 13.

This approach is unsound both in theory and practice. The due
process right to be governed by comprehensible law is a privilege of
all citizens, regardless of race; standards of constitutional review
are “not dependent on the race of those burdened or benefited.” City
of Richmond v. J.A. Croson Co., 488 U.S. at 494. And these amici do
not indicate how courts could manage the elaborate factual and
political inquiries that their sliding-scale approach would require.“

42. Berg, “The Troubled Constitutionality of Antigang Loitering Laws,”
69 Chi. Kent L. Rev. 461, 485 (1993); Poulos, supra n.16, at 409; Livingston,
“Police Discretion and the Quality of Life in Public Places,” 97 Colum. L.
Rev. 551, 622 (1997).

43. Connally v. General Constr. Co., 269 U.S. 385 (1926); Lanzetta v.
New Jersey, 306 U.S. 451 (1939).

“4. These amici also fail to explain why their own test would not require
especially strict scrutiny in the present case, given the level of opposition to
the ordinance among Chicago's African-American aldermen. See supra notes
13-15 and accompanying text.

26

Petitioner is less specific in describing the new constitutional
test it seeks, but it nonetheless urges this Court to relax the
Papachristou-Kolender standard on the ground that “commentators
have repeatedly called for courts to provide greater leeway for state
and local governments to address signs of chronic disorder on the
streets.” Br. 15.

Petitioner misapprehends the thrust of this academic literature;
the critique of state caselaw that these commentators voice is important
but narrow. These commentators condemn broad laws against loitering
and reserve their criticism for judicial decisions that sometimes
misapply Papachristou-Kolender by requiring overly strict proof of
criminal intent or other elements that modern laws use to ensure clarity
in laws against loitering.** Far from questioning the Papachristou-
Kolender standard, the leading proponents of community policing all
emphasize the importance of continuing to limit police discretion to
set substantive standards of acceptable public behavior.

Professors Kelling and Coles make this point emphatically. They
note that their “broken windows” thesis was often misinterpreted as
an invitation to sweep unwanted persons from the streets:

In fact, the ideas presented in ‘Broken Windows’ were
antithetical to the use of ‘streetsweeping’ tactics targeted
on ‘undesirables’; rather, they advocated close
collaboration between police and citizens, including street
people, in the development of neighborhood standards. . . .
[Yet] the distinction between order maintenance and
‘streetsweeping’ was not always apparent to police ....
One attempt at implementing an order-maintenance
approach conducted in Chicago in 1982 used police
officers brought in on overtime assignments to sweep
through troubled areas and arrest youths congregating on
streets. While these sweeps may have been directed against
disorder, they did not constitute order maintenance of the
ilk Wilson and Kelling had in mind in ‘Broken Windows’
.... Clearly, all police actions involved in order
maintenance would have to be grounded in law and subject

45. See Livingston, supra n.42, at 612-13, 621-26.

27

to clear constitutional constraints against infringement of
individual liberties.”

The other proponents of community policing cited by petitioner
Stress similar concerns. Wesley Skogen specifically criticizes a
Newark police operation in which:

groups of four or more persons ‘congregating to create a
public hazard’ (in the words of the state statute) were first
warned by officers . . . that they were required to disperse.
A few minutes later, vans and squad cars descended on
the area to search and arrest those who failed to heed the
warning.”

Though Newark’s law was notably narrower than Chicago's (requiring
proof of a purpose “to create a public hazard”), Skogan nonetheless
concludes that Newark’s sweeps were “of doubtful legality” and
stresses that “[nJo lawyer committed to traditional constitutional
0 V+ — amt tae ccaecarinaaes eae

This continuing consensus against broad anti-loitering laws
reflects, among other concerns, an awareness that tension in
relationships between police and segments of minority communities

46. Kelling & Coles, supra n.21, at 22-23.

47. W. Skogan, Disorder and Decline 111 (1990).

48. Id.

49. P. 165, quoting J. Skolnick & D. Bayley, The New Blue Line 199
(1986). Livingston likewise condemns loitering laws that “devolve{ ] law-
making authority on the police” (Livingston, supra n.42, at 628), and argues
only that courts should uphold laws that regulate “loitering without legitimate
purpose about certain narrowly specified and especially vulnerable places of
generally restricted access (like schools .. .)” Jd. at 639. She insists that
loitering laws must not be “aimed at excluding outsiders from full participation
in the community” (id. at 647), and must provide for continuous monitoring
of the ae impact yes disfavored groups. /d. at 653-67. Even under her
approach, Chicago's ordinance must fall, as Livin appears
acknowledge. /d. at 622, 667-68. yocopnengs “

28

remains acute. James Q. Wilson, who with Kelling originated the
“broken windows” thesis, cautions:

We are at mid-stream in our efforts to produce a society
in which whites and blacks can live together decently well.
Such a transformation is still decades away, and in this
time there will be more riots, more suspicion, and more
political manipulation. The vast gains that African
Americans have made . .. coexist with a deep layer of
anger, distrust, and confusion.”

Similarly, police experts Hubert Williams and Patrick Murphy note:

[A]}ithough the police are better prepared to deal with the
residents of the inner city than they were twenty years
ago, they are far from having totally bridged the chasm
that had separated them from minorities — especially
blacks — for over 200 years. There are still too few black
officers, at all levels. Racism still persists.”

Progress in race relations, though undeniable, is simply not relevant
to the allowable vagueness of statutory language, nor in any case is it
sufficient to support the radical change in constitutional doctrine that
petitioner and its amici seek.

* * * *

Like all Chicago residents, the undersigned amici and their
members live with crime on a daily basis and want effective protection
from gang intimidation and violence. But all citizens have the right

50. James Q. Wilson, “The Closing of the American City,” The New
Republic, May 11, 1998, pp. 30, 38.

51. Hubert Williams & Patrick V. Murphy, The Evolving Strategy of
Police: A Minority View, in Perspectives on Policing, No. 13 (U.S. Dept. of
Justice, Nat'l Institute of Justice, Jan. 1990). Similarly, former New York City
Police Commissioner William Bratton warns: “As police leadership has
accepted responsibility for reducing crime and fear, so too must it accept
responsibility for dealing with racism, brutality, and inappropriate attitudes
in the ranks. The first step is to admit there is a problem.” William Bratton,
Turnaround 312 (1998).

29

to be governed by understandable laws that include reasonable
standards to prevent arbitrary enforcement. Petitioner has made no
showing that its laudible goals cannot be achieved by a number of
straightforward expedients — including enforcing existing laws, as
Deputy Superintendent Cooper urged from the outset, or, if need be,
authorizing police officers to order individuals to move on, regardless
of whether they are “loitering,” whenever there is probable cause to
believe that they are obstructing sidewalks, intimidating others, or
conspiring to advance criminal activities. Petitioner has offered no
convincing reason why its police must be permitted broad discretion
to control the “casual social interaction” (Br. 10) of law-abiding
citizens, including those not remotely suspected of gang involvement.
Petitioner has established no need to suspend the settled due process
principles which clearly render its vague regulation of “loitering”
unconstitutional.

CONCLUSION
The judgment of the Illinois Supreme Court should be affirmed.
Respectfully submitted,

STEPHEN J. SCHULHOFER
Counsel of Record
RANDOLPH N. STONE
1111 East 60th Street
Chicago, IL 60637

(773) 702-9611

RANDALL L. KENNEDY
1563 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02138

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0150%3A25. Public record. Not legal advice.
