# Amicus Curiae Brief — Wright v. Universal Maritime Service Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0141%3A18

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 525 U.S. 70

## Text

No. 97-889

In The
Supreme Court of the United States—--——-~

October Term, 1997
°

CEASAR WRIGHT,

Petitioner,

UNIVERSAL MARITIME SERVICE CORP., et al.,

Respondents.
>

On Writ Of Certiorari :
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fourth Circuit
¢

BRIEF FOR
CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING RESPONDENTS

>

Of Counsel:
STEPHEN A. BoxatT Steven B. Berwin
Rosin S. Conrap ' Counsel of record
SussSAN MAHALLATI KYSELA Mark A. pe BERNARDO
NATIONAL CHAMBER Garry G. MATHIASON

LimiGaTION CentER, INC. Josep P. Harkins
1615 H Street, N.W. LittLER MENDELSON

Washington, D.C. 20062 A Professional Corporation
Telephone: 202-463-5337 1225 I Street, N.W.,
Suite 1000
Washington, D.C. 20005
Telephone: 202-842-3400

Attorneys for Amicus
Curiae Chamber of
Commerce of the United
States

-~ +--+
—

——— =
COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

BEST AVAILABLE COPY”

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
INTEREST AND CONCERN OF THE AMICUS..... 1
DEPRES GE COMED 56 cis dewtcsdbeddvcsesdasces 2
SIE PTR nbc cces voncveseebebectadedates 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT..................0005. 3
RETO 6 5 Xp 6 any Vatbekokgrcédeercahentssenbsec 5

Il. THE COURT SHOULD ADOPT GILMER AS
THE BRIGHT-LINE RULE FOR THE ARBI-
TRATION OF STATUTORY DISCRIMINATION
CLAIMS OF EMPLOYEES IN COLLECTIVE
DARAZATPGRIWGS GOPUEED 2s cccvcccdcnveticeatoes 5

A. Congress Has Liberally Extended The Pol-
icy Favoring Arbitration To Include Statu-
tory Discrimination Claims .............. 6

1) The Civil Rights Act of 1991 ........ 6
2) The Federal Arbitration Act (“FAA”)... 9

3) National labor policy strongly sup-
OCU. GUMUITIGE <6 6 cc ccdcnsevisece 12

B. Unions’ Majoritarian Interests Provide No
Basis To Deprive Bargaining Unit
Employees Of The Option To Arbitrate
Statutory Discrimination Claims.......... 13

1) The employment laws rely on unions
to perform representative functions
and provide remedies for unions’ dis-
crimination or failures to represent
CN vencncsutcvncnases caubadesb esas 13

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

2) Labor unions have the need and incen-
tives to address their members’ claims
of employment discrimination, and are
appropriate representatives on such
EG een bi euch a con we cl cusiwes 15

3) Driving workers to the EEOC and pri-
vate attorneys does not and will not
decrease employment discrimination
or better protect workers’ rights ..... 17

C. Parties To Collective Bargaining Agree-
ments Can And Do Agree To Arbitrate
Statutory Discrimination Claims ......... 25

Il. IF GARDNER-DENVER HAS CONTINUED
VITALITY, THE POLICY FAVORING ARBI-
TRATION REQUIRES THAT UNION
EMPLOYEES ARBITRATE STATUTORY DIS-
CRIMINATION CLAIMS IN APPROPRIATE
TT 624 ch neh dios 4's 0:0.4 086 $e066 ceeetcees 26

RE 29

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Cases
Alexander v. Gardner-Denver, 415 U.S. 36 (1974)... .passim

Asplundh Tree Expert Co. v. Bates, 71 F.3d 592
Se GN Pec dnicccccgavéccscssvesivsechessenss 10

AT&T Technologies v. Communications Workers
of America, 475 U.S. 643 (1986)............. > >

Austin v. Owens-Brockway Glass Container, Inc.,
78 F.3d 875 (4th Cir. 1996) cert. denied 117 S.Ct.

GEE SBME s oe vee ewscecccccqueccacsswescsdecdee passim
Barrentine v. Arkansas-Best Freight System, Inc.,

GD Dk ae Gee bd a aie Sh co Secs ctsbisieeessesii. 28
Bercovitch v. Baldwin School, Inc., 133 F.3d 141

fe | PRCT TTL TLS T TTT ESET LETT 6
Brisentine v. Stone & Webster Engineering Corp.,

BEF RES SOD CABG Coe BT pec. cc ccsvsvccesecsees. 27
Brown v. Trans World Airlines, 127 F.3d 337 (4th

Ge GR bhi cb dei cbcedsctkdwacesccccsdbantesctcces 27
—ole v. Burns Int'l Security Services, 105 F.3d 1465

es GE DN a ovcsweccbeccvagcusetessdbdccecnees 9
Covington v. District of Columbia, 57 F.3d 1101

Gee SE GIES 5 cuaivncene sacecesceceteatipscassense 23
Del Costello v. Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151 (1983)....... 14

Dickstein v. duPont, 443 F.2d 783 (ist Cir. 1971)..... 11

Duffield v. Robertson Stephens & Co., 1998 U.S.
App. LEXIS 9284 (9th Cir, May 9, 1998)........... 7

EEOC v. Frank’s Nursery & Crafts, Inc., 966
F.Supp. 500 (E.D. Mich. 1997).... 2.2.6.6... ccc eeeee 6

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
EEOC v. Local 638, 532 F.2d 821 (2d Cir. 1976)...... 16
EEOC v. Local 638, 565 F.2d 31 (2d Cir. 1977)....... 16

EEOC v. Local 638, 753 F.2d 1172 (2d Cir. 1985)..... 16
EEOC v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 1992 U.S.Dist.

LEXIS 20046 at °7 (N.D. Ill. 1992)................. 21
EEOC v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 839 F.2d 302 (7th

GER GRD c cnccaisinwtdvasevastusducessausl 20, 21, 25
EEOC v. Shopmen’s Local 832, 1997 U.S. App.

Sy Se Ne SA PE nancccencesavewsacetocce 14
Emporium Capwell Co. v. Western Addition Com-

munity Organization, 420 U.S. 50 (1975) .......... 29
Erving v. Virginia Squires Basketball Club, 468

ee SD Se GE. CONE bebdbnndhccsunctavcsccens 11
Farrar v. Hobby, 506 U.S. 103 (1992) ................ 22
First Options of Chicago, Inc. v. Kaplan, 514 U.S.

GED GeO ccs cd cvenseiwescconcusibanpancentianest 25

Ford Motor Co. v. Huffman, 345 U.S. 330 (1953)..... 13
Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S.

BD CUDUED 6 00s cncccdcccasecced ceatedeuvesaeddes passim
Goodyear Atomic Corp. v. Miller, 486 U.S. 174

CREED 0.0 cvitintsnthb cccnpe bls ctadédecds 54ctdbdeciees 7
Harrison v. Eddy Potash, Inc., 112 F.3d 1437 (10th

CO. GEOR ont ceevendsecsabehauvecntunsaneeaeset 27, 28
Hubbard v. United States, 115 S.Ct. 1754 (1995) ...... 7

Johnson v. Hubbard Broadcasting, Inc., 940
PS. BOG CORR. BGG) ons ccccccccccvcccccidecs 6

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Jurgens v. EEOC, 660 F.Supp. 1097 (N.D. Tex.
DT De bald Rich dedanatikd vbddgeddbuGibecddveccivss 21
Local 28 of Sheet Metal Workers, 753 F.2d 1172 (2d
Cir. 1985) aff’d, 478 U.S. 421 (1986)............... 16
Metropolitan Edison Co. v. N.L.R.B., 460 U.S. 693
PD chai S oncees vwkndsctaveducvassasetcegsoect 13, 27
Miller v. Public Storage Management, Inc., 121
Se ee Ey Dns pct sevdvidscevsideoececes 6
O’Connor v. Consolidated Coin Caterers Corp.,
Br eer Be EE nk caer nnns Uae Rckesisiivccsccons 1
Oncale v. Sundowner Offshore Services, Inc., 523
SR. ieee Pe > SOD CURED ccc ccecccccccccuces 7, 23
Patterson v. McLean Credit Union, 491 U.S. 164
(1989) overruled on other grounds................. 8
Pennsylvania v. Delaware Valley Citizens’ Coun-
DD eT Teer eee 22
Penny v. United Parcel Service, 128 F.3d 408 (6th
I ek a al ee ee le on igs 28
Pritzker v. Merrill, Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith,
ee: § OF Be re 11
Pryner v. Tractor Supply Co., 109 F.3d 354 (7th Cir.
1997) (Posner, J.) cert. denied, 118 S.Ct. 295
Gs ck Weatediecucucccesccccetscencenseve 3, 9, 10, 28
Rojas v. TK Communications, Inc., 87 F.3d 745 (5th
BN PE phd eddie cudldedd vatbbedeveccduredcsescur 10
Romer v. Evans, 517 U.S. 620 (1996) ................ 23
Seus v. John Nuveen Co., 1997 U.S.Dist.LEXIS
Be Ge TE Se occcscesccccccsccvcsncccss 6

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ~— Continued

Page
Signal-Stat Corp. v. Local 475, 235 F.2d 298 (2d Cir.
1956) cert. denied, 354 U.S. 911 and reh’g
GEA Gee Was Gen GE on cnndsScdcoundseceeete 10
Tenney Engineering, Inc. v. United Elec., Radio &
Machine Workers, Local 437, 207 F.2d 450 (2d
Rae FER be cuccsndcdsus atpecndadsbaveenseienteane 10
Textile Workers v. Lincoln Mills, 353 U.S. 448
RU anes cp ccasdepscncdstgudddavemscntie dubectea 12
Thompson v. Thompson, 484 U.S. 174 (1988)
GOO, Pe GUID oo o's conde cuccecdstevctsccec 8
Tran v. Tran, 54 F.3d 115 (2d Cir. 1995) ............. 28
United Paperworkers Intern. Union v. Misco, Inc.,
GEO Eb A G6: nroncascnosabe suchiodancsdinds 12
United States v. Local Union 212, 472 F.2d 634 (6th
GMM GEUSe 0 cesuexionssctpsananbehsdsseasbanedeesi’ 16
United Steelworkers of America v. American Mfg.
Cin FED TB Bae QUIN 00 raswenccevccsres shbsesds 12
United Steelworkers of America v. Enterprise
Wheel & Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593 (1960) .......... 12
United Steelworkers v. Warrior & Gulf Navigation
Cig Ge Be OD CUED acc ccseveccnccsesscennnns 12
Varner v. National Super Markets, Inc., 94 F.3d
1209 (8th Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 117 S.Ct. 946
GROUP obs icdbednccdsed bedded cbaes Kens cedacedeaveds 29
Walters v. Metropolitan Educ. Centers, Inc., 117
Sar GHP QOMNOD dns Ce sveuctondecctsiderkeedtsvcncen 1

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Wards Cove Packing Co., Inc. v. Atonio, 490 U.S.
GE Sn 6a bn cavern dann sascha dacaneckic cadesecss 8
Weeks v. Baker & McKenzie, 74 Cal. Rptr. 2d 510
TOM. CE AMD. BOGE) ono cov ccccccccccccscccvcccscens 23
STATUTES
D UGK. GEE G0 COB c cece ccccccnsccccccccscccescvss 5,9
DP UB , Ciiiccedtaccnaseecedvevevdesccivssscsadeneees 9
BD Wes BID bianco ccccpincc ence desccsnavscnyess 29
BD oes ccccpccendvcccensbacacssasars 12, 14
BD UB, Be GE GUE, oo bee bereiscscsescsccscceces 28
TD Ke. CD hic viieie tint dvncs es cesecccvsistesecds 14
Ge BE, Os dees cevescisiesecansceccvecconnceteas 6
Ge TR, Be von ech cocncaed cvcnceveconcesecssees 22
42 U.S.C. §§1988(b), 2000e-5(k)........ eee eee eee 22
GE UBL. CRIBB. 600 ccccccccsnsccccvcvccvcccsecs 14
42 USC. GEIZIGL, GF COG... orc cccccccccvcccsceccsecs 2
GR ERD, GUS EIED cc ccccrccseessncccccccsesnscsose 14
GD WGK Bs obs eos hb ec cede vsisceccocavieerevests 6
Cal. Gov’t Code §68600..............ccceeeeceeeeeee 25
or and Harbor Workers’ Compensation .

Civil Rights Act of 1991, Pub.L. 102-166, 105 Stat.
NS ee a a lal 6, 8

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued
Page

OTHER AUTHORITIES

1983 Litigation Plan published as Resolution Mod-
ifying Rapid Charge Processing System (Dec.
12, 1983) reprinted in 239 Daily Lab. Rep.
Geeeeen Gree.. Bay DOWUe 6006000x6hbdnecsscencceess se 19

BNA, Union Membership and Earnings Data
Book, 1997 (1996 figures as cited in AFL-CIO
website (http://www.aflcio.org/union-
difference /uniondiff12.htm).)...............000000- 15

BLS Handbook of Labor Statistics: 1997, Table 137 .... 15

EEOC, 1982 Annual Report, at 59 (April 19, 1983),
reprinted in 212 Lab. L. Rep.: Employment Prac-
tices (CCH) Issue No. 1323 (Jan. 25, 1984) ... 16, 18, 19

EEOC, 1994 Annual Report ................2000- 16, 20
EEOC, 1995 Annual Report .................2+65. 20, 22

EEOC, 1996 National Enforcement Plan reprinted
in EEOC Compliance Manual (BNA), No. 209,
PERSE GUD. ©, DOG vce ccccvesccevvece sev 16, 19, 20

EEOC, Budget and Staffing, posted at EEOC web-
site (http:/ /www.eeoc.gov/budget.html.).......... 18

EEOC, Charge Processing Procedures Adopted
reprinted in EEOC Compliance Manual (BNA)
No. 199, N:3067 at 115 (Apr. 19, 1995)............ 18

EEOC, Enforcement Activities (“Enforcement
Activities”) posted at EEOC website (http://
www.eeoc.gov/enforce.html) ............666.e2eee. 18

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page

EEOC, Summary of Enforcement Data and Budget
and Staffing Information for the EEOC: FY 1991
through FY 1997, prepared by EEOC Office of
Communications and Legislative Affairs (Dec.
Dp A SORE sams ereeOban ed 42h bhdoeungedec $e ce 18, 20

SOUP bh besdvessebededcodntecdsescdbedeviondcecece 14

Kilburn, Peter T., Backlog of Cases Is Overwhelm-
ing Job-Bias Agency N.Y. Times Abstracts, Nov.
Se Ee SG. 6s hao tevdseverrnss cud necsveccessees 18

Lewis, Diane E., Women’s Membership in Unions
Up to 39.4% The Boston Globe (Mar. 20, 1998) .... 15

Miller, Richard E. & Austin Sarat, Grievances,
Claims and Disputes, 15 Law & Sec’y Rev. 525
SE as VuctataGds uetub veWb dbs beSbdwees diotecess 23

O’Connell, Lenahan Investigations Are Work:
How Bureaucratic and Legal Constraints Influ-
ence the Enforcement of Discrimination Law, 51
Pub. Admin. Rev. 123 (March/April 1991)......... 20

Schafran, Lynn Hecht, Is the Law Male?: Let Me
Count the Ways, 69 Chi.-Kent L. Rev. 397 (1993) .... 24

Scheiber, Harry N., Innovation, Resistance And
Change: A History of Judicial Reform and the
California Courts, 1960-1990, 66 Cal. L. Rev.

BOE GU BOGE ob vv cvccccccrcdtcvcccccvccevcccece 25

Schnapper, Eric, Advocates Deterred by Fee
Issues, Nat’] Law J., March 28, 1994.............. 23

Selmi, Michael, The Value of the EEOC, 57 Ohio
nh ee ee se ha ddesbekbohteesecass 19, 20, 23

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Silver, Charles, Incoherence and Irrationality in
the Law of Attorneys’ Fees, 12 Rev. Litig. 301
Gerling, TORE). oo ic vetecccnveretveiceresevveese

U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census
Statistical Abstract of the United States 1997
table 691, at 332 (117th ed. Washington, D.C.
PO Piaccoctsdiddotacccckegvevtytedtancedaceeree

U.S. Dep’t of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics
(“BLS”) Employment and Earnings, Vol. 44, No.
1, at 211-214 (1/97), January 1998..............

Page

1
INTEREST AND CONCERN OF THE AMICUS!

The Chamber of Commerce of the United States (“the
Chamber”) is the world’s largest business federation.
With substantial membership in each of the 50 States, it
represents more than 3,000,000 businesses and profes-
sional organizations of every size and in every sector of
the economy. The Chamber thus serves as the principal
voice for American employers.

Among its activities, the Chamber represents the
interests of its members on important matters pending
before the courts and the other branches of government.
The Chamber has participated as an amicus curiae in
numerous cases before the U.S. Supreme Court (“the
Court”), frequently on issues involving employment dis-
crimination.?

Many of the Chamber’s members have employees in
collective bargaining units, and the resolution of this case
will affect the manner in which these members will
resolve statutory employment discrimination claims.
Depending on its scope, the Court’s decision could affect
virtually all of the Chamber’s members.

' Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.6, Amicus states that
no counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part,
and no person or entity other than the Chamber of Commerce of
the United States, its members, or its counsel has made a
monetary contribution to the preparation or submission of this
brief. Letters of consent are filed with this brief.

2 See, e.g., Walters v. Metropolitan Educ. Centers, Inc., 117
S.Ct. 660 (1997); O'Connor v. Consolidated Coin Caterers Corp., 517
U.S. 308 (1996); Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnsons Lane Corp., 500 U.S.
20 (1991); AT&T Technologies, Inc. v. Communications Workers of
America, 475 U.S. 643 (1986).

2
STATEMENT OF FACTS

This is an action brought under the Americans with
Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. §§12101, et seq. (“ADA”). Peti-
tioner is a former union longshoreman in the Port of
Charleston, S.C. In February 1992, he fell at work and
fractured his heel. He brought a claim under the Long-
shore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, and
asserted that he was permanently disabled. Petitioner's
doctor and a three-physician panel confirmed that the
disability was permanent. The workers’ compensation
claim was settled for $250,000, and the U.S. Department
of Labor approved the settlement in June 1994.

Seven months later, Petitioner appeared at the hiring
hall, presented a doctor’s release to return to work, and
began working for four stevedoring contractors. When
the companies discovered that Petitioner was working,
they and their multi-employer collective bargaining rep-
resentative notified Petitioner’s union that Petitioner
would no longer be accepted for employment referrals
because it had been determined that his disability was
permanent. The union advised Petitioner to get counsel.

Petitioner then exhausted his administrative
remedies with the EEOC and filed this action. On
Respondents’ motion, the district court granted summary
judgment to the employers, holding that Petitioner was
required to arbitrate his statutory ADA claim under the
collective bargaining agreement. The Fourth Circuit
affirmed in a unanimous, unpublished decision. When
Petitioner turned to arbitration, his disability discrimina-
tion claim was foreclosed there as stale. This Court then
granted certiorari.

ISSUES PRESENTED

1. Should the Court overrule Alexander v. Gardner-
Denver, 415 U.S. 36 (1974), and adopt a bright-line

3

rule, by which employees and employers may collec-
tively bargain for enforceable arbitration provisions
that extend to statutory discrimination claims?

2. Absent a bright-line rule, should employees and
employers be permitted to bargain collectively for
enforceable arbitration provisions extending to statu-
tory discrimination claims, where the arbitration pro-
visions explicitly include such claims, full statutory
remedies are available, and appropriate steps are pre-
sent to safeguard against unions that improperly fail
to pursue such claims on their members’ behalf?

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

It is time for the Court to overrule Alexander v. Gard-
ner-Denver, 415 U.S. 36 (1974). Petitioner argues that Gard-
ner-Denver establishes a bright-line rule. Whatever it
stood for at the time it was decided, after years of juris-
prudence increasingly favoring arbitration, Gardner-
Denver has left litigants uncertain and the lower courts in
conflict. Some lower courts have observed that Gardner-
Denver might have no remaining currency. See, e.g., Pryner
v. Tractor Supply Co., 109 F.3d 354, 365 (7th Cir. 1997)
(Posner, J.), cert. denied, 118 S. Ct. 295 (1997). The present
case is an example of how confusion about Gardner-
Denver ultimately resulted in an employer burdened with
litigation and a grievant with no forum.

In the 24 years since Gardner-Denver, Congress and
the Court have increasingly favored the arbitration of
statutory claims, including employment discrimination
claims. What is needed is an up-to-date, bright-line rule,
extending to such claims for union employees the same
rule as for all other employees, as stated in Gilmer v.
Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20 (1991).

In Gilmer, the Court departed from many of Gardner-
Denver's underpinnings:

4

The Court in Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co.
also expressed the view that arbitration was
inferior to the judicial process for resolving stat-
utory claims. That “mistrust of the arbitral pro-
cess,” however, has been undermined by our
recent arbitration decisions. “[W]e are well past
the time when judicial suspicion of the desir-
ability of arbitration and of the competence of
arbitral tribunals inhibited the development of
arbitration as an alternative means of dispute
resolution.”

500 U.S. at 34 n.5 (citations omitted). The Court also
rejected a variety of other arguments that questioned
arbitration as a forum. See id. at 30-33.

Nevertheless, in Gilmer, the Court chose to distin-
guish Gardner-Denver, rather than overrule it. As the
Court stated:

There are several important distinctions
between the Gardner-Denver line or cases and
the case before us. First, those cases did not
involve the issue of the enforceability of an
agreement to arbitrate statutory claims. . . .
Since the employees there had not agreed to
arbitrate their statutory claims, and the labor
arbitrators were not authorized to resolve such
claims, the arbitration in those cases under-
standably was held not to preclude subsequent
statutory actions. Second, because the arbitra-
tion in those cases occurred in the context of a
collective-bargaining agreement, the claimants
there were represented by their unions in the
arbitration proceedings. An important concern
therefore was the tension between collective
representation and individual statutory rights, a
concern not applicable to the present case.
Finally, those cases were not decided under the
FAA [the Federal Arbitration Act], which, as

5

discussed above, reflects a “liberal federal pol-
icy favoring arbitration agreements.”

Id. at 35 (citation omitted).

Changed circumstances now address these distinc-
tions and permit the Court to extend to unionized work-
places the choice of arbitration as a forum for resolving
statutory discrimination claims. The Court should there-
fore extend Gilmer to collective bargaining unit
employees. At the least, on a case-by-case basis, the Court
should enforce collectively bargained agreements to arbi-
trate such claims, when the facts meet Gilmer’s concerns.

ARGUMENT

I. THE COURT SHOULD ADOPT GILMER AS THE
BRIGHT-LINE RULE FOR THE ARBITRATION OF
STATUTORY DISCRIMINATION CLAIMS OF
EMPLOYEES IN COLLECTIVE BARGAINING
UNITS.

Taking in reverse order Gilmer’s concerns with arbi-
tration for collective bargaining unit employees, each of
those concerns now has been addressed. First, Congress
has gone beyond the Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C.
§§1, et seq., to state in subsequent legislation its support
for the arbitration of statutory discrimination claims. Sec-
ond, the skepticism about collective representation does
not take into account significant protections afforded
employees, changes in union demographics since Gard-
ner-Denver, and the increasing delays and inadequacies of
traditional litigation. Third, it has always been up to the
courts to determine the scope of a given arbitration
agreement: courts need require the arbitration of statu-
tory claims only where the parties have agreed to it.
Thus, the concerns stated in Gilmer have been addressed,
and the Court should extend Gilmer as a bright-line rule
for union workers.

6

A. Congress Has Liberally Extended The Policy
Favoring Arbitration To Include Statutory Dis-
crimination Claims.

1) The Civil Rights Act of 1991.

In the Civil Rights Act of 1991 (“CRA”), enacted only
five months after the Court decided Gilmer, Congress
endorsed the arbitration of Title VII cases. Pub.L. 102-166,
105 Stat. 1071 (1991). Section 118 of the CRA provides
that “where appropriate and to the extent authorized by
law, the use of alternate dispute resolution, including .. .
arbitration, is encouraged to resolve disputes arising
under [Title VII].” 105 Stat. at 1081, reprinted in notes to 42
U.S.C. §1981. Not long before, Congress had adopted
virtually identical language in the ADA, 42 U.S.C. §12212.

As the majority of lower courts have recognized, the
plain language of these provisions endorses alternative
dispute resolution methods such as arbitration.* Indeed,

3 See Bercovitch v. Baldwin School, Inc., 133 F.3d 141, 150 (1st Cir.
1998) (“In light of the language in the ADA text itself, this legislative
history is not sufficient to rebut the presumption in favor of
arbitration . . . [W]e do not find any ‘inherent conflict’ between
mandatory arbitration of ADA claims and the policies behind the
ADA”); Miller v. Public Storage Management, Inc., 121 F.3d 215, 218
(Sth Cir. 1997) (given the express language encouraging arbitration,
court rejects argument that the legislative history of the alternate
dispute resolution provision in the ADA takes that statute out of the
FAA's arbitration requirements); Seus v. John Nuveen Co., 1997
U.S.Dist.LEXIS 8209 at *16 (E.D.Pa.1997) (despite legislative history
of section 118, that section encourages arbitration based on a U-4
form, and therefore arbitration is compelled); EEOC v. Frank's
Nursery & Crafts, Inc., 966 F.Supp. 500, 503-04 (E.D. Mich. 1997)
(applying Gilmer to require arbitration, finding support in the plain
language of section 118); Johnson v. Hubbard Broadcasting, Inc., 940
F.Supp. 1447, 1457-58 (D. Minn.1996) (legislative history of section
118 does not affect its express language, which encourages
arbitration).

7

the Fourth Circuit relied on this language to support its
extension of Gilmer to a union setting. See Austin v.
Owens-Brockway Glass Container, Inc., 78 F.3d 875, 881 (4th
Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 117 S.Ct. 432 (1996) (legislative
history of section 118 supports arbitration under a collec-
tive bargaining agreement). A minority view relies on a
misreading of the legislative history to defeat the stat-
ute’s plain language.*

* See Duffield v. Robertson Stephens & Co., 1998 U.S. App.
LEXIS 9284 (9th Cir, May 9, 1998). In Duffield, the Ninth
Circuit turns section 118 on its head. The court seizes on the
words, “where appropriate and to the extent authorized by
law,” analyzes portions of the legislative history written prior
to Gilmer, and holds that Congress impliedly overruled Gilmer
and adopted Gardner-Denver. Duffield therefore declines to
apply Gilmer on facts indistinguishable from that case.

The plain language of section 118, when endorsing arbitra-
tion “to the extent authorized by law,” could only be endorsing
Gilmer. See Hubbard v. United States, 115 S.Ct. 1754 (1995) (“In
the ordinary case, absent any ‘indication that doing so would
frustrate Congress's clear intention or yield patent absurdity,
our obligation is to apply the statute as Congress wrote it’ ”);
Oncale v. Sundowner Offshore Services, Inc., 523 U.S. __, 118
S.Ct. 998, 1002 (1998) (“[I]}t is ultimately the provisions of our
laws rather than the principal concerns of our legislators by
which we are governed.”).

The Court announced Gilmer on May 13, 1991; the Senate
passed the CRA more than five months later, on October 30,
1991; the House passed it on November 7, 1991; and the
President signed it into law on November 21, 1991. Congress is
presumed to know existing law pertinent to legislation that it
enacts. Goodyear Atomic Corp. v. Miller, 486 U.S. 174, 184-85
(1988). Moreover, on the floor in each house, Members
expressly referred to Gilmer. See, e.g., 137 Cong. Rec. $15472,
15478 (Oct. 30, 1991); 137 Cong. Rec. H9505, 9548 (Nov. 7,
1991). Thus, the words, “to the extent authorized by law,”
endorsed Gilmer.

Searching for an implied enactment overruling Gilmer, as in
looking for any legislation by implication, neglects that it
is at best dangerous to assume that all the necessary
participants in the law-enactment process are acting
upon the same unexpressed assumptions. And like-
wise dangerous to assume that, even with the utmost
self-discipline, judges can prevent the implications
they see from mirroring the policies they favor.
Thompson v. Thompson, 484 U.S. 174, 192 (1988) (Scalia, J.,
concurring).

The Ninth Circuit reached its result by relying on two
committee reports that regarded Gardner-Denver as the law that
would control arbitration. The reports were issued respectively
on April 24, and May 17, 1991. H.R.Rep. No. 40 (I), 102d Cong.,
Ist Sess. 15-16 (1991), reprinted in 1991 U.S.C.C.A.N. 549;
H.R.Rep. No. 40(I1), 102d Cong., Ist Sess. 78 (1991), reprinted in
1991 U.S.C.C.A.N. 694. Given that one report was published
before Gilmer and the other just four days after, it is not surpris-
ing that both assume that Gardner-Denver states the law - after
all, Gardner-Denver did state the law at the time the reports
were written. What this neglects is that over the next several
months, and well before the CRA’s enactment, the Court
decided Gilmer and Congress referred to it expressly in debate
on the CRA. By the time of enactment, Gilmer also stated the
law.

Finally, Congress knows how to overrule the Court's deci-
sions; indeed, it did so in other respects in the CRA itself. The
statute expressly overrules Wards Cove Packing Co., Inc. v.
Atonio, 490 U.S. 642 (1989), and states as one of its purposes “to
respond to [other] recent decisions of the Supreme Court... . ”
CRA, §3(2), Pub. L. No. 102-166, 1991 U.S.C.C.A.N. (195 Stat.)
1071, at 1071. The House Committee on the Judiciary report
specified the other cases being addressed. If Congress wanted
to overrule Gilmer, it would have amended the CRA prior to
passage or in subsequent legislation. See Patterson v. McLean
Credit Union, 491 U.S. 164, 172-73 (1989), overruled on other
grounds in the CRA (in cases of statutory interpretation, stare

9
2) The Federal Arbitration Act (“FAA”).

Congress’ strong policy in the FAA, favoring arbitra-
tion, applies to the vast majority of union employees, and
therefore any bright-line rule applying to all union
employees must reflect that policy. “The arbitration act
covers almost the whole field of arbitrable disputes, only
a subset of which (and a small one in 1925) grows out of
collective bargaining agreements.” Pryner, supra, 109 F.3d
at 359. The Act extends to any “contract evidencing a
transaction involving commerce to settle by arbitration a
controversy thereafter arising out of such contract or
transaction. ...” 9 U.S.C. §2.

However, the statute contains the following exclu-
sion: “but nothing herein contained shall apply to con-
tracts of employment of seamen, railroad employees, or
any other class of workers engaged in foreign or inter-
state commerce.” 9 U.S.C. §1. The Court declined to inter-
pret this language in Gilmer and has not done so since.
500 U.S. at 25 n.2. The prevailing view has been that this
exclusion applies narrowly to seamen, railroad
employees, and other transport workers who are directly
engaged in moving passengers or goods in foreign or
interstate commerce. An alternative view — clearly in the
minority — has developed that reads this language to
exclude from the FAA virtually all employment contracts.

The majority rule is correct. The District of Columbia
Circuit recently wrote a cogent opinion typical of this
view, based on traditional principles of statutory con-
struction. See Cole v. Burns Int'l Security Services, 105 F.3d
1465, 1470-71 (D.C. Cir. 1997) (“every circuit to consider

decisis has special force, for “unlike in the context of constitu-
tional interpretation, the legislative power is implicated, and
Congress remains free to alter what [the Court] has done”).
Congress did not do so with respect to Gilmer.

10

this issue squarely has found that section 1 of the FAA
exempts only the employment contracts of workers actu-
ally engaged in the movement of goods in interstate
commerce”).

The Seventh Circuit adopted the narrow reading of
the exclusion last year. See Pryner, 109 F.3d at 356-58. It
held that contrary decisions misapply a modern reading
of the words, “in commerce,” to an Act drafted in 1925,
when those words did not carry such a broad meaning.
Writing for the court, Judge Posner observed that even
commentators who prefer a broad reading of the section 1
exclusion concede that the “prevailing view” is the nar-
row view, limiting it to cases where the workers them-
selves are personally engaged in interstate commerce. See
id. at 358.

The Second Circuit reached the same conclusion,
again focusing on the meaning of the language at the time
of enactment. See Tenney Engineering, Inc. v. United Elec.,
Radio & Machine Workers, Local 437, 207 F.2d 450, 452-53
(2d Cir. 1953) (fms. omitted) (section 1 exclusion applies
only to workers “who are actually engaged in the move-
ment of interstate or foreign commerce or in work so
closely related thereto as to be in practical effect part of
it.”).

Most other circuits have reached the same conclu-
sion.> The minority view is in the Third and Fourth

> See, e.g., Rojas v. TK Communications, Inc., 87 F.3d 745, 748
(5th Cir. 1996) (majority of circuits have determined that the
exclusionary clause is to be narrowly construed to exempt only
contracts of employment of workers engaged in the movement
of goods in commerce); Asplundh Tree Expert Co. v. Bates, 71 F.3d
592, 600-01 (6th Cir. 1995) (section 1 “should be narrowly

11

Circuits, but these courts view the exclusion alternatively
as irrelevant to the present issue (Fourth Circuit) or reach
their conclusion without explanation (Third Circuit).°

The facts of the case now before the Court might not
require resolution of this issue because Petitioner's par-
ticular job as a stevedore might bring him within even the
narrow reading of the exclusion. However, because the
FAA's exclusion applies only to a small fraction of union
employees,’ any bright-line rule must reflect the status of
most union employees as falling within the FAA and its
pro-arbitration policies.

construed to apply to employment contracts of seamen, railroad
workers, and any other class of workers actually engaged in the
movement of goods in interstate commerce.”); Erving v. Virginia
Squires Basketball Club, 468 F.2d 1064, 1069 (2d Cir. 1972) (section
1 exclusion applies “only to those actually in the transportation
industry”); Dickstein v. duPont, 443 F.2d 783, 785 (1st Cir. 1971)
(courts have generally limited the section 1 exclusion to
employees “involved in, or closely related to, the actual
movement of goods in interstate commerce”); Signal-Stat Corp.
v. Local 475, 235 F.2d 298, 302-303 (2d Cir. 1956), cert. denied, 354
U.S. 911, and reh’g denied 355 U.S. 852 (1957) (same).

© See Austin, supra, 78 F.3d at 879 (applying exclusion
broadly but holding that arbitration is required anyway in view
of the long-standing and important role that arbitration has
played in labor disputes); Pritzker v. Merrill, Lynch, Pierce, Fenner
& Smith, Inc., 7 F.3d 1110, 1120 (3d Cir. 1993) (stating its
conclusion with little analysis).

? For example, in 1996, the total work force was nearly 112
million. Of those, 18 million were in collective bargaining units,
but only 1.1 million of these were transport workers. U.S. Der’t
or Lasor, Bureau or Lasor Stanistics (“BLS”), Employment and
Earnings, Vol. 44, No. 1, at 211-214 (1/97).

12

3) National labor policy strongly supports
arbitration.

Arbitration has long served as the central means for
resolving disputes arising in the collective bargaining
setting. See United Steelworkers v. Warrior & Gulf Naviga-
tion Co., 363 U.S. 574, 581 (1960). Earlier doubts as to
whether agreements to arbitrate labor contract disputes
were enforceable were dispelled by Textile Workers v. Lin-
coln Mills, 353 U.S. 448 (1957), and the Steelworkers Trilogy.
These cases cemented the Court's policy of reliance on
and deference to labor arbitration.®

The Court has repeatedly reaffirmed the principles
first established in the Steelworkers Trilogy. See, e.g., AT&T
Technologies v. Communications Workers of America, 475 U.S.
643 (1986) (reaffirming presumption of arbitrability);
United Paperworkers Intern. Union v. Misco, Inc., 484 U.S. 29
(1987) (reaffirming narrow scope of judicial review on the
merits).

Thus, in fashioning a bright-line rule, the extension
of Gilmer would correctly reflect Congressional policy
favoring arbitration in the collective bargaining setting.

8 United Steelworkers of America v. American Mfg. Co., 363
U.S. 564 (1960); United Steelworkers of America v. Warrior & Gulf
Navigation Co., supra, and United Steelworkers of America v.
Enterprise Wheel & Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593 (1960). Lincoln Mills
held that the courts had jurisdiction to enforce arbitration
provisions in collective bargaining agreements under section
301 of the Labor-Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. §185(a).
Lincoln Mills, supra, 353 U.S. at 450-51. In American Mfg., supra,
the role of the courts was limited to determining arbitrability.
363 U.S. at 568. In Warrior & Gulf, supra, the Court stated that
“doubts [regarding arbitrability] should be resolved in favor of
coverage.” 363 U.S. at 583. Finally, ‘n Enterprise Wheel, supra, the
Court held that an arbitrator's award drawing its essence from
the collective bargaining agreement must be enforced, even if
the court would differ on the merits. See 363 U.S. at 597-599.

13

As the Fourth Circuit observed, even absent the FAA, this
is a sufficient legal and policy basis upon which to favor
the arbitration of statutory discrimination claims. See
Austin, supra, 78 F.3d at 882-83.

Thus, Congress has now made certain its policy favoring
the arbitration of statutory discrimination claims.

B. Unions’ Majoritarian Interests Provide No
Basis To Deprive Bargaining Unit Employees
Of The Option To Arbitrate Statutory Discrimi-
nation Claims.

The Gilmer Court also distinguished Gardner-Denver
by focusing on the tension between collective representa-
tion in the union setting and individual statutory rights.
When analyzed, this is not a reason to preclude, with a
bright-line rule, the arbitration of statutory discrimina-
tion claims for collective bargaining unit employees.

1) The employment laws rely on unions to
perform representative functions and pro-
vide remedies for unions’ discrimination or
failures to represent fairly.

This Court long has recognized that a union
may waive a member's statutorily protected
rights. . . . Such waivers are valid because they
“rest on ‘the premise of fair representation’ and
presuppose that the selection of the bargaining
representative ‘remains free.’ ”
Metropolitan Edison Co. v. N.L.R.B., 460 U.S. 693, 705 (1983)
(citations omitted); see also, Ford Motor Co. v. Huffman, 345
U.S. 330, 336-39 (1953) (describing the representative
nature of collective bargaining). The Fourth Circuit has
applied this principle to a union’s agreement to arbitrate
statutory discrimination claims, and held that it
addressed Gilmer’s concerns about the representative
nature of unions. See Austin, supra, 78 F.3d at 885 (cita-
tions omitted).

14

Individual union members also have legal protection.
Labor unions fall within the anti-discrimination dictates
of Title VII and the other anti-discrimination statutes.’
Thus, a union’s discriminatory decision not to pursue a
worker's claim exposes the union to a Title VII claim. See,
e.g., EEOC v. Shopmen’s Local 832, 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS
9570 (2d Cir. 1997) (affirming award in excess of $100,000
to worker whose union would not pursue her discrimina-
tion claim). Similarly, when a union fails in its duty to
represent workers fairly, the workers may pursue a civil
action for breach of the collective bargaining agreement.
See 29 U.S.C. §185; Del Costello v. Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151,
164 (1983). When the collective bargaining agreement
incorporates full rights under the discrimination statutes,
and the union breaches its duty, the civil action would
offer the employee full statutory remedies as damages
under section 301.

These two remedial avenues (Title VII and section
301) increase the likelihood that unions will pursue at
least strong claims: the more meritorious the employee's
discrimination claim, the more obvious will be the unfair-
ness or discriminatory purpose of any decision by the
union not to pursue it.

Finally, when a union fails to pursue a meritorious
case, public policy may yet be vindicated. The EEOC is of
the view that it may bring cases irrespective of a private
arbitration. See 1997 EEOC Policy Statement, No. 915.002
(July 10, 1997) at n. 20, (citing General Tel., 446 U.S. 318,
328 (1990), and 118 Cong. Rec. 4041 (1972)). Collective
bargaining unit employees could file a charge with the
EEOC, which could pursue a civil action of its own.

9 See 42 U.S.C. §12111(2) (ADA); 42 U.S.C. §2000e-2(c) (Title
VII); 29 U.S.C. §623(c) (ADEA).

15

Indeed, this could be an excellent use of the Commis-
sion’s limited resources to develop the law under the
statutes for which it is responsible.

2) Labor unions have the need and incentives
to address their members’ claims of
employment discrimination, and are appro-
priate representatives on such matters.

Organized labor has increasing and much greater
diversity in its membership since the Gardner-Denver
decision in 1974. This, along with vigorous law enforce-
ment, has led to unions’ improved records on discrimina-
tion.

Specifically, unions have experienced a significant
change in demographics since Gardner-Denver. At the
time of Gardner-Denver, 21 percent of American workers
who were members of collective bargaining units were
women. BLS Hanpsook or Lasor Statistics: 1977, Table
137 at 102. By 1996, the proportion of women in bargain-
ing units had risen to 40 percent. See.U.S. Dept. or Com-
MERCE, BUREAU OF THE CENsus, STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE
Unitep States 1997, table 691, at 332 (117th ed. Washing-
ton, D.C. 1997); Diane E. Lewis, Women’s Membership in
Unions Up to 39.4%, THe Boston Grose, at E7 (Mar. 20,
1998). The proportion of Hispanic members in unions has
increased by 20 percent between 1983 and 1997. BLS,
Employment and Earnings, January 1998; BNA, Union Mem-
bership and Earnings Data Book, 1997 (1996 figures as cited
in AFL-CIO website (http:/Aoww.aflcio.org/uniondifference/
uniondiff12.htm.).

The doubling of the proportion of women and the
considerable increase in minority membership necessarily
requires unions to take into account the needs of suck
workers in ways not present at the time of Gardner-
Denver. The time has passed when unions could afford to

16

ignore or under-represent the interests of minority mem-
bers; 1998 is not 1974.

The reality of today’s union representation obliga-
tions is reflected in a sharp decrease in discrimination
claims brought against unions. In the 1970’s and early
1980's, unions repeatedly were found liable for patterns
of discrimination, and often were targeted by the EEOC.'°
More recently, however, these pattern and practice cases
and class action suits against unions have become scarce.
See EEOC, 1982 Annual Report, at 59 (in 1982, unions were
named as respondents in 3,146 charges, which was over 5
percent of all charges filed); cf, EEOC, 1994 Annual Report,
at 36 (in 1994, only 590 charges — or 0.6 percent — were
against unions). In its recent policy statements on areas of
enforcement emphasis, the EEOC makes no reference to
unions. See EEOC, 1996 National Enforcement Plan,
reprinted in EEOC Compuance Manuat (BNA), No. 209,
N:2061 (Feb. 8, 1996). The inference is that unions’ com-
pliance with the discrimination laws has improved. For
those union officials who do discriminate or act unfairly,
bargaining unit workers have statutory remedies, and the
EEOC also may bring enforcement actions. In perspec-
tive, union representation of members’ interests in the
resolution of employment discrimination claims is suffi-
cient to adopt Gilmer for this setting, and such progress
should be recognized and encouraged.

10 See, e.g., EEOC v. Local 638 . . . Local 28 of Sheet Metal
Workers, 753 F.2d 1172 (2d Cir. 1985) (and cases cited therein),
aff'd, 478 U.S. 421 (1986); EEOC v. Local 638, 565 F.2d 31 (2d Cir.
1977); EEOC v. Local 638, 532 F.2d 821 (2d Cir. 1976); United
States v. Local Union 212, 472 F.2d 634 (6th Cir. 1973).

17

3) Driving workers to the EEOC and private
attorneys does not and will not decrease
employment discrimination or better pro-
tect workers’ rights.

In their criticism of unions as “gatekeepers” for stat-
utory discrimination claims, Petitioner and his amici
neglect that the alternatives of representation through the
EEOC or the private bar contain pitfalls as deep as
workers would find in union representation, but without
the recourse that workers have against their unions.

There is no question that the EEOC and the private
bar, working with the civil courts, have made great
strides in the implementation of the Congressional policy
against employment discrimination. However, the Court
should also implement Congress’ policy favoring arbitra-
tion, including the arbitration of discrimination claims. In
doing so, the Court should not focus on the negatives of
union representation, and compare them to some ideal-
ized view of civil litigation as it currently is practiced.
Although union representation will fail in certain cases,
only an outdated, idealized view of the civil litigation
system permits the inference that it offers workers a more
accessible, more certain avenue. And, unlike unions,
whose failure to support workers may result in civil
liability, the EEOC and the plaintiffs’ bar work without
such checks and balances.

The EEOC as Gatekeeper. The Equal Employment
Opportunity Commission testifies annually to Congress
that it is not adequately funded to do its assigned tasks.
With recent legislative increases in the EEOC’s respon-
sibilities and a dramatic increase in charges of discrimina-
tion in the 1990’s, but with little increase in funding, the
EEOC has developed a record-breaking backlog of pend-
ing charges, and had to reduce sharply the scope of its
activities.

18

Over the past 17 years, the Commission’s staff fell
from 3,390 in 1980 to 2,680 in 1997. See EEOC, Budget and
Staffing, posted at EEOC website (http://Auww.eeoc.gov/bud-
get.html.) This decline came at the same time that the
agency’s obligations expanded, e.g., ADA-charge han-
dling, which now comprises one-fourth of all charges. See
id. The average caseload per investigator has more than
doubled from 55.3 cases in 1990 to 122.0 in 1994. See
EEOC, Summary of Enforcement Data and Budget and Staff-
ing Information for the EEOC: FY 1991 through FY 1997,
prepared by EEOC Office of Communications and Legis-
lative Affairs (Dec. 8, 1997). In fiscal 1997, the average
time to process a charge of discrimination was 358 days.
See id. Lengthy as this is, it is down from the average of 18
months that charges were pending in 1994. See Peter T.
Kilburn, Backlog of Cases Is Overwhelming Job-Bias Agency,
N.Y. Times Asstracts, Nov. 26, 1994 at A6; 1994 WL
2757055.

By 1995, the backlog of pending charges had reached
an all-time record of 111,345. See EEOC, Enforcement
Activities (“Enforcement Activities”), posted at EEOC
website (http://www.eeoc.gov/enforce.html). Overwhelmed,
the Commission adopted a triage system. See EEOC,
Charge Processing Procedures Adopted, reprinted in EEOC
ComputiANce MANuAL (BNA), No. 199, N:3067 at 115 (Apr.
19, 1995). Applying the system, the Commission reduced
the backlog in one year by 30 percent. See EEOC, Enforce-
ment Activities, supra. This massive, rapid reduction in
pending charges, without any additional staff, could only
mean that cases were closed with far less attention than
what the Commission has traditionally viewed as appro-

priate.'!

11 This was not the first such implementation of drastic
measures to reduce a huge backlog. See EEOC, 1982 Annual

19

These constraints on resources have also limited the
Commission's litigation efforts. The Commission’s 1983
Litigation Plan had envisioned the full investigation of all
charges and the litigation of all cases where the Commis-
sion found a probable violation and yet conciliation had
failed. See 1983 Litigation Plan, published as Resolution
Modifying Rapid Charge Processing System (Dec. 12, 1983),
reprinted in 239 Dany Las. Rep. (BNA) (Dec. 12, 1983) at
D-1. However, in the 1996 National Enforcement Plan, the
EEOC abandoned this goal. See EEOC, 1996 National
Enforcement Plan, cited in Ea. Emp. Compt. Man. (BNA),
No. 209, supra, at 1, 13. Instead, the EEOC decided that it
had to forego some good cases to devote resources to
others. 1996 National Enforcement Plan, at 1, 14.

The Commission therefore focused on certain priori-
ties.'2 1996 National Enforcement Plan, Part III at 12. But
the priorities do not include, for example, sexual harass-
ment cases, race discrimination cases, or most ADA cases.
See Michael Selmi, The Value of the EEOC, 57 Onto Sr. L. J.
1, 14, 21 (1996) (race cases are the largest category of
charges filed with the EEOC but “result in the fewest
lawsuits” initiated by the EEOC, which seems to “deem-
phasize race cases”). Even among meritorious cases fal-
ling within its new priority limits, the Commission has

Report (April 19, 1983), reprinted in 212 Las. L. Rer.: EmpLtoyment
Practices (CCH) Issue No. 1323 (Jan. 25, 1984).

'2 The priorities are: (1) repeated, egregious, outrageous
cases, pattern and practice cases, and cases involving facially
discriminatory policies; (2) national origin claims involving
language, religious accommodation cases, ADA
accommodation cases, cases involving the obligation to
arbitrate, cases involving the intersection of two or more

protected classes; and (3) cases going to the integrity of the
EEOC’s process.

20

acknowledged that it still will be unable to litigate some
that fail conciliation. 1996 National Enforcement Plan at 13.

The statistics show how the EEOC’s limited resources
have affected its litigation efforts. For example, of the
nearly 179,000 charges filed at the EEOC in 1994-95, the
EEOC only filed 685 lawsuits. EEOC, 1994 Annual Report,
at 6; EEOC, 1995 Annual Report, at 3. Currently, even
where it finds cause to believe there has been a violation
and conciliation fails, the Commission litigates only
about one-in-ten such cases.'? Moreover, even when the
Commission files litigation, there is no guarantee that it
will have adequate resources to pursue it.'*

13 These statistics are drawn from EEOC Summary of EEOC
Data, Budget and Staffing, supra. In 1997, the EEOC received
80,680 charges, of which the vast majority resulted in no cause
findings. See Selmi, The Value of the EEOC, supra, at 5, 9-14
(concluding that 94.7% of the Commission s charge
determinations in 1994 resulted in a no-cause finding). Of these,
there were only 3,000 cases, where the Commission found cause
but did not conciliate the matter. Still, of these 3,000 remaining
cases, the EEOC filed litigation in only 295. EEOC, Summary of
EEOC Data, Budget and Staffing, supra.

Some commentators have observed that the EEOC finds “no
cause” in many cases, not based on merit, but in part from
bureaucratic constraints. See, e.g., Lenahan O'Connell,
Investigations Are Work: How Bureaucratic and Legal Constraints
Influence the Enforcement of Discrimination Law, 51 Pus. Apmin.
Rev. 123 (March/April 1991).

14 The Commission’s 1996 National Enforcement Plan
acknowledges that, as a result of its new priorities, it will have
to cut resources even on some cases that are already pending.
EEOC, 1996 National Enforcement Plan, supra, reprinted in Eq.
Emp. Compt. Man. (BNA), No. 209, N:2061 at 14.

i i EEOC's

Among the most disturbing examples of the
litigation practices is EEOC v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 839 F.2d 302
(7th Cir. 1988). There, six years after initiating a Commissioner s
charge of discrimination, the EEOC filed suit. Seven additional

21

As with unions, the EEOC has “majoritarian” con-
cerns, only its concerns are political. The Commission is
administered by Presidential appointees, who respond to
the Administration and to Congressional oversight, and
the Commission has a constituency of interest groups that
lobby for certain priorities and policies.

As with unions, the Commission too has occasionally
been found to discriminate, such as against its own
employees. For example, it was held liable for race dis-
crimination in a class action brought by its white
employees. Jurgens v. EEOC, 660 F.Supp. 1097 (N.D. Tex.
1987) (awarding attorneys’ fees).

years later, it tried the case for 10 months - 185 trial days. The
district court ruled for Sears and against the EEOC on all claims.
839 F.2d at 307. After 13 years of preparation, the EEOC could
not identify which policy it was challenging on its adverse
impact case, at 308 n.5; on disparate treatment, the EEOC did
not present even one witness who claimed to have been a victim
of discrimination, at 310, 339; it offered no direct or anecdotal
evidence of discrimination, at 311; it instead relied almost
exclusively on statistical evidence that was “misleading as well
as imprecise,” developed with an inadequately small sampling,
presented by witnesses with no knowledge of Sears or the
industry, offered with nothing to support its analytical design,

and was misconceived geographically. Id. at 316-17, 321, 324,
326-27, 350.

The Seventh Circuit affirmed the judgment for Sears in its
entirety. It found that this result followed on the misconduct of
the EEOC, whose lawyer was more committed to a particular
political advocacy group of his personal liking than to his duties
at the EEOC and who had demanded a pre-determination
settlement from Sears of $600 million on this meritless case to
satisfy “outside interest groups,” at 357-58. An astonishing 20
years after the Commissioner's charge was opened, the district
court finally closed the case with an award of nearly $600,000 in
fees against the Commission. EEOC v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 1992
U.S. Dist. LEXIS 20046 at *7 (N.D. Ill. 1992).

22

Given the Commission’s constraints, various Admin-
istrations have had difficulty bringing people into leader-
ship positions there. For example, between June 1993 and
July 1995, no General Counsel was confirmed. See EEOC,
1995 Annual Report, Appendix B (also indicating large
gaps in appointments for an interim acting General Coun-
sel during this time).

All in all, workers looking for adequate representa-
tion face very real constraints at the EEOC, and there is
no reason to expect that, as a general proposition, unions
would provide them with less.

The Private Bar as Gatekeeper. The private bar also is an
imperfect vehicle for vindicating civil rights. To attract
the plaintiffs’ bar, cases must offer substantial attorneys’
fees. In an ordinary case, statutory fee-shifting offers no
more than the possibility of collecting regular, hourly
rates, contingent on the plaintiff's prevailing.'° Non-stat-
utory contingent fee arrangements offer little more
inducement than statutory fees.'’° This leaves lawyers

plaintiff can bring related (typically, state law) claims, where

18 42 U.S.C. §§1988(b), 2000e-5(k) (shifting fees for
prevailing parties). See Farrar v. Hobby, 506 U.S. 103 (1992) (civil
rights plaintiff who recovers only nominal damages is not
entitled to recover fees); Charles Silver, Imcoherence and
Irrationality in the Law of Attorneys’ Fees, 12 Rev. Linc. 301 1.55
(Spring 1993) (“There is evidence that lawyers in private
practice tend to reject cases offering less than an 80% chance of
some recovery by trial or settlement”) (citations omitted);
Pennsylvania v. Delaware Valley Citizens’ Council, 483 U.S. 711
(1987) (multiplier proper only on specific evidentiary finding of
exceptional case).

16 Damages in discrimination cases involving intentional
misconduct are capped at $300,000 for even the largest
employers, and damages are unavailable in adverse impact
cases. 42 U.S.C. §198la. With the caps, contingent fee
arrangements do not offer much incentive to the bar unless the

23

reluctant to take any case other than a clear-cut case. See,
e.g., Eric Schnapper, Advocates Deterred by Fee Issues, Nat't
Law J., March 28, 1994, at Cl (lawyers reluctant to take
discrimination cases on contingent fee, and many
workers cannot afford a retainer).

Because unsuccessful plaintiffs’ counsel receive no
fees, attorneys cannot ignore a claimant's likely popu-
larity with jurors.'” For this reason, disfavored minorities
are likely to be those against whom discrimination occurs
at work and, at the same time, those least attractive to the
private bar. For example, how many lawyers would have
taken the case of an Iranian-American shortly after the
hostage-taking in Teheran? What of a gay worker bring-
ing a same-sex sex harassment case in Colorado imme-
diately after the enactment of Proposition 2? See Romer v.
Evans, 517 U.S. 620 (1996) (describing Proposition 2);
Oncale v. Sundowner Offshore Services, 523 U.S. __, 118
S.Ct. 998 (1998) (certain same sex harassment held action-
able). What of a manager who was told he was fired for
sex harassment, but contends that the real reason for the

larger damages might be available.

Partner-level employment lawyers commonly charge
hourly rates of $260-$300 or more. See e.g., Covington v. District of
Columbia, 57 F.3d 1101 (D.C. Cir. 1995) (approving $260 for
partner-level work); Weeks v. Baker & McKenzie, 74 Cal. Rptr. 2d
510 (Cal. Ct. App. 1998) (approving $300). With a damages cap
of $300,000, and assuming a contingent fee agreement of '/s, a
lawyer will receive greater than hourly rates only if she
prevails, obtains the maximum verdict and completes all work
through trial in fewer than 350 hours, an unlikely scenario.

© See Selmi, The Value of the EEOC, supra, at 36-37
(attorneys reject “low lost wages cases that stem from isolated
practices that a jury deems unworthy of significant damages”);
Richard E. Miller & Austin Sarat, Grievances, Claims and
Disputes, 15 Law & Soc’y Rev. 525, 535 n.7 (1981) (cases of less
than $10,000 systematically screened out).

24

termination was his race? Finally, the private bar is sub-
ject to its own biases. Lynn Hecht Schafran, Is the Law
Male?: Let Me Count the Ways, 69 Cru.-Kent L. Rev. 397,
404-05 (1993) (male attorney wrongly interpreted female
client’s distress at outrageous treatment as evidence of
hysteria).

The result is that discrimination plaintiffs often
appear pro se. See Report of the Working Committees To The
Second Circuit Task Force on Gender, Racial, and Ethnic
Fairness in the Courts, (“Second Circuit Report”), Appen-
dix A to the Report of the Second Circuit Task Force on
Gender, Racial, and Ethnic Fairness in the Courts, at 279
(Nov. 1997). This draws heavily on the judiciary’s
resources, especially with a 2,166 percent increase in dis-
crimination cases from 1970 to 1989, compared to a 125
percent increase in the overall civil case load. See id. at
280.

Thus, the private bar is not an ideal alternative to
union representation at arbitration. Rather, it yields to
financial pressure and popular concerns and often leaves
without representation those who most need it.

Limitations of civil forums. Even those workers who
find their way into the civil system are not guaranteed an
ideal forum. Task forces in the Second, Eighth and Ninth
Circuits have observed that some district judges display
increasing impatience with discrimination cases.'? Back-
logs of civil litigation have become enormous.'* And,

17 See Second Circuit Report, supra, at 277, 279-80, 282, 285,
289-90 (Nov. 1997); see also, Gender Fairness Task Force Report for
the United States Courts of the Eighth Circuit, Ch. 2, IV.A, at 11
(Sept. 1997), published at (http://www.wast.edu/8th.cir/gender/
gftfl.htm); Ninth Circuit Task Force on Racial, Religious and Ethnic
Fairness: Final Report, at 9 (Aug. 1997).

18 See, e.g., Rer. or THE Proceepincs or THE JuD. CONF. OF THE
U.S. (March 12, 1991 and September 23-24, 1991) and 1991

25

civil trials lack the finality of arbitration, with post-trial
motions, appeals and new trials sometimes adding years
to the process. See, e.g., EEOC v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 839
F.2d 302 (20 years of investigation and litigation in a
meritless case).

In short, absent an overly idealized view of civil
litigation today, the imperfections of union representation
do not prevent the extension of Gilmer to the collective
bargaining setting; arbitration with union representation
is as useful for this purpose as its civil litigation alterna-
tives.

C. Parties To Collective Bargaining Agreements
Can And Do Agree To Arbitrate Statutory Dis-
crimination Claims.

Finally, the Gilmer Court distinguished Gardner-
Denver because the arbitration provision there did not
extend to statutory claims and offered no statutory
remedies. It has long been the role of the courts to deter-
mine whether a particular dispute falls within the scope
of the parties’ agreement to arbitrate. See First Options of
Chicago, Inc. v. Kaplan, 514 U.S. 938, 943-945 (1995) (the
courts, and not arbitrators, decide whether an issue is
subject to arbitration, unless the parties specified other-
wise in the contract); AT & T Technologies, supra, 475 U.S.

ANNUAL Report Or tHe Director Or THe ApMinistrative Orrice or
Tre Unrrep States Courts, Appendix I to 1991 ANNuaL Report or
tHe Director (Detailed Statistical Tables), Table C 6, AT 212
(1992) (reporting that, in 1992, more than 28,421 cases across the
country were still awaiting trial more than three years after they
were filed). See also, California Trial Delay Reduction Act, Ca.
Gov't Cope §§68600, et seq., Leg. H. 1990 Ch. 1232 §3;
(necessitated by frequent five-year delays in civil trials); Harry
N. Scheiber, Innovation, Resistance And Change: A History of
Judicial Reform and the California Courts, 1960-1990, 66 S. Cat. L.
Rev. 2049 (July 1993).

26

at 649 (same). In adopting Gilmer as the bright-line rule
for collective bargaining unit workers, there is no reason
to disturb this fundamental rule. If the parties do not
agree to arbitrate statutory discrimination claims, the trial
court will not require arbitration.

Thus, to permit union officials, employers, workers,
and the lower courts ease and certainty of administration,
the Court should adopt Gilmer as a bright-line rule for the
arbitration of statutory discrimination claims in the col-
lective bargaining setting. Under this rule, if the parties
choose to provide in the collective bargaining agreement
for the arbitration of statutory discrimination claims,
their choice will be enforced.

Il. IF GARDNER-DENVER HAS CONTINUED
VITALITY, THE POLICY FAVORING ARBITRA-
TION REQUIRES THAT UNION EMPLOYEES
ARBITRATE STATUTORY DISCRIMINATION
CLAIMS IN APPROPRIATE SETTINGS.

If the Court prefers a case-by-case, fact-based anal-
ysis, the criteria on which the analysis should turn are
those that the Court identified in Gilmer, when distin-
guishing Gardner-Denver. Where the collective bargaining
agreement addresses such issues as the parties’ agree-
ment to arbitrate statutory claims, the availability of full
statutory remedies in arbitration, the union’s majoritarian
concerns, and if necessary, perhaps also the applicability
of the FAA,’® the arbitration provision should be enforced
as was the provision in Gilmer. Where the provision fails

1° As discussed above, the pro-arbitration language in the
subsequently enacted CRA and ADA supplies greater policy
support for arbitration of these specific statutory claims than
would the more general provisions of the FAA.

27

adequately to address those concerns, it would fall within
Gardner-Denver, and arbitration would not be required.

Irrespective of the rationales that they offer, most of
the lower courts reach results that turn on these consider-
ations. For example, the Eleventh Circuit focused on
Gilmer’s concerns and held that the arbitration agreement
at bar was unenforceable because it was like the one in
Gardner-Denver: the arbitrator was not given the power
to decide statutory claims, and the union had demon-
strated that it was “at least unenthusiastic, and perhaps
unwilling, to pursue Brisentine’s claim to arbitration.”
Brisentine v. Stone & Webster Engineering Corp., 117 F.3d
519, 523-25 (11th Cir. 1997).

Reaching the opposite result on different facts, the
Fourth Circuit applied a similar analysis in Austin, supra,
78 F.3d at 881. There, the collective bargaining agreement
expressly required the company to comply with the anti-
discrimination laws, and the court held that unions may
waive rights as part of collective bargaining and that such
waivers are “ ‘valid because they rest on the premise of
fair representation.’ ” Id. at 879-80, 885 (citing Metropolitan
Edison Co., supra, 460 U.S. at 706). The court held that an
agreement to arbitrate statutory discrimination claims is
but an example of such a waiver. Id.

Significantly, on opposite facts, the same Circuit
reached the opposite result. See Brown v. Trans World
Airlines, 127 F.3d 337 (4th Cir. 1997). In Brown, the court
denied the enforcement of arbitration after finding that
the collective bargaining agreement contained a provision
prohibiting discrimination, but nothing to indicate that it
went beyond contract rights. Id. at 341.

In Harrison v. Eddy Potash, Inc., 112 F.3d 1437 (10th
Cir. 1997), petition for cert. filed (Aug. 6, 1997), the parties’
agreement to arbitrate apparently was silent as to statu-
tory claims, again bringing the fact pattern - and the

28

result — within Gardner-Denver.2° The Court also shared
Gilmer's concern that there might be “ ‘inherent conflicts
between group goals and individual rights that exist in
the give-and-take of the collective bargaining process.’ ”

Id. at 1453-54 (citation omitted).

Denying arbitration in Pryner, supra, the Seventh Cir-
cuit again focused on the failure to meet Gilmer’s con-
cerns: the employees’ rights under the collective
bargaining agreement were narrower than their statutory
rights, and the majoritarian obligations of the union
could lead it to disregard the interests of disfavored
minorities, such as those who bring discrimination
claims. 109 F.3d at 361-63.

Other Circuits have addressed the issue, but their
decisions are less instructive.?!

20 The record did not contain the collective bargaining
agreement. See Harrison, 112 F.2d at 1451-52, 1454 nn.1, 2. Given
the employer's silence on the language of the collective
bargaining agreement and its failure to put the collective
bargaining agreement on the record, the Court inferred that
there was no reason to expect any mention in the collective
bargaining agreement of arbitrating statutory rights. See id. at
1454 n.2.

21 Penny v. United Parcel Service, 128 F.3d 408, 412 (6th Cir.
1997), rejects Austin on the oversim lified rationale that Gilmer
“did not overrule Gardner-Denve but distinguished it... . ”
This point was not lost on the Fourth Circuit, which
subsequently applied Gardner-Denver in Brown, supra, 127 F.3d
337. The Second Circuit read Gilmer narrowly but in the
distinguishable context of a wage and hour case. See Tran v. Tran,
54 F.3d 115, 117 (2d Cir. 1995). The relevant statute (the Fair
Labor Standards Act, 29 U.S.C. §§201, et seq.) does not
encourage arbitration as does Title VII (§118 of the 1991
amendment). ...” In any event, FLSA cases differ because of the
requirement that there be government involvement to resolve
them. See Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 33; Barrentine v. Arkansas-Best

29

Responding favorably to Gilmer, some unions and
employers have adopted in collective bargaining agree-
ments arbitration provisions that expressly extend to stat-
utory discrimination claims, empower arbitrators to
award any remedy permitted by statute, and allow the
individual employee either to compel arbitration individ-
ually (irrespective of his union’s wishes) or to have his
personal lawyer participate in the arbitration process.
However, bargaining unit employees cannot negotiate
individual employment agreements. See 29 U.S.C. §159(a);
Emporium Capwell Co. v. Western Addition Community
Organization, 420 U.S. 50, 62-63 (1975). Thus, if unions
cannot act on their behalf to agree to arbitration — even
under facts as reassuring as these, then collective bar-
gaining unit employees and their employers will be
excluded from prospective agreements to arbitrate. This
would defeat the parties’ preferences and the policies of
Congress and the Court, which strongly favor the arbitra-
tion of statutory discrimination claims.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Chamber of Commerce
of the United States respectfully urges the Court to over-
rule Gardner-Denver and to adopt Gilmer as a bright-line
rule, applying to all employees. In the alternative, and at
the least, the Court should reject Gardner-Denver as a
bright-line and permit collective bargaining unit

Freight System, Inc., 450 U.S. 728 (1981). The Eighth Circuit's
decision in Varner v. National Super Markets, Inc., 94 F.3d 1209
(8th Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 117 S.Ct. 946 (1997), holds only that
the exhaustion of contractual grievance remedies is not a
prerequisite to the filing of a civil claim. The court does not
consider Gilmier or changes in the law; it simply cites Gardner-
Denver without more. See 94 F.3d at 1213.

30

employees, acting through their unions, to bargain for the

arbitration of statutory discrimination claims in appropri-

ate circumstances
Dated: June 26, 1998
Respectfully submitted,
Of Counsel

STEPHEN A. BOKAT Steven B. Berwin

Rosin S. ConraAl! Counsel of record

SUSSAN MAHALLATI KyseLa Mark A. pe BERNA

NATIONAL CHAMBER GARRY G. MATHIASON

LITIGATION CENTER, IN losePH P. Harkin:

1615 H Street, N.W. LiITTLER MENDELSO

Washington, D.C. 2001 A Professional Corporation

lelephone: 202- 533; 1225 I Street, N.W.,

Suite 1000

Washington, D.C. 20005
lelephone: 202-842-3400

Attorneys for Amicus
Curtae Chamber of
Commerce of the United

toto
State >

AMICUS CURIAE
BRIEF

No. 97-889

Caen nn nn iEnnan sn EEIEEESnEeenn

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

CEASAR WRIGHT,
Petitioner,
Vv.

UNIVERSAL MARITIME SERVICE CORP.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE ON BEHALF OF THE
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
WATERFRONT EMPLOYERS

IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

CHARLES T. CARROLL, JR. *

F. EDWIN FROELICH

WILCOX, CARROLL & FROELICH,
P.L.L.C.

2011 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW

Suite 301

Washington, DC 20006

(202) 296-3005

* Counsel of Record

WILSON - Eres PRINTING Co.. Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON. D.C. 20001

__BEST AVAILABLE COPY) amen

Ji

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

ARGUMENT

I.

THIS CASE IS NOT CONTROLLED BY THE
COURT'S DECISION IN GARDNER-DENVER
BECAUSE GARDNER DENVER ONLY AP-
PLIES WHEN THE COLLECTIVE BARGAIN-
ING AGREEMENT DOES NOT REQUIRE
ARBITRATION OF STATUTORY CLAIMS

A. Gilmer Provided The Court With Its First
Opportunity To Consider Whether Pre-
Dispute Employment Agreements To Arbi-
trate Statutory Employment Claims Are
Binding On The Parties

. The Collective Bargaining Agreement At
Issue In This Case Contemplates Arbitra-
tion Of Statutory Employment Claims

THE PETITIONER HAS NOT MET HIS
BURDEN OF SHOWING THAT CONGRESS
INTENDED TO PROHIBIT ENFORCEMENT
OF A COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREE-
MENT BASED ARBITRATION OF STATU-
TORY EMPLOYMENT CLAIMS

A. The ADA Cannot Be Read As Barring Arbi-
tration Of ADA Claims Under Collective
Bargaining Agreements

B. Nothing In The Legislative Histories Of The
ADA Or The CRA Supports Petitioner’s
Construction Of The Text ........

ii iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued Cases: Page
Page

. Alexander v. Gardner-Denver, 415 U.S. 36 (1974) ..passim

III. NO STATUTORY BASIS EXISTS TO DIS- Barrentine v. Arkansas-Best Freight System, Inc.,
TINGUISH ARBITRATION SANCTIONED a Oi 4

BY GILMER FROM CBA BASED ARBITRA- Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S.
TION ......------cossesseeceeoeesssnsteennensnnesessennnnesennnnnassennnnten 14 LO LLL IT GES SE passim
Griggs v. Duke Power, 401 U. S. 424 (1971) ....... 12

STINET cvcicninbsehiniinhicecinmmapneagense acucpecesceuunnmasanscseugenanes 18 McDonald v. City of West Branch, 466 U.S. 284
ES fae ee eee Se EEN ES 4

Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Solar Chrysler-
Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614 (1985) .. alee 6

Paladino v. Avnet Computer Technologies, Inc.,
F.3d f. | aa 17

Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American Ex-
press, Inc., 490 U.S. 477 (1989) . ae 6

Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. ~ MeMahon,
| |b FS __a 6

Wards Cove Packing Co. v. Atonio, 490 U. S. 642
> \_ 12

Wright v. Universal Maritime Service Corp., 121
Ck. £€ > 7

Statutes, regulations:

Americans with Disability Act of 1990, P.L. 101-
336, 42 U.S.C. § 12101 et seq........... eden ital 7,8
§ 618, 42 U.S.C. § 12212 ....................................... Passtm
Civil Rights Act of 1991, P.L. 102-166 ................. 9
§ 118, 42 U.S.C. § 1981 note ................................ passim
Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. § 1 —.... a Le a 14

Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation
Bah, SB UBL. GB GGE C6 COG. cnerecccersencccersesecsesssven 16

National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 141 et
— ' 14
tA Rb of Ol 15
29 C.F.R. § 1918.98 (a) (2) ......... a dailentetedicetecetieeaeiialiiaeabte 15

Legislative History :
Cong. Record

October 25, 1991, p. 15276 _...................... = iad 13

October 30, 1991, p. 29040... cnbenaivimninminnpapetictin 13

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
October 30, 1991, p. 29045 _..........----.---.----------- 13
November 7, 1991, p. 30683 _........ 13
SF 8 4k eee 11,138
0 8 ee eee 11

Original Transcript of Proceedings of the House

Judiciary Committee during Mark-up of H.R.
tt a er 11

ee et wee

In THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

No. 97-889

CEASAR WRIGHT,
7 Petitioner,

UNIVERSAL MARITIME SERVICE CORP..,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE ON BEHALF OF THE
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
WATERFRONT EMPLOYERS

IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The National Association of Waterfront Employers
(“NAWE”)! is a not for profit tax-exempt trade associa-
tion organized under the laws of the District of Columbia.
NAWE’s 35 members, private sector stevedores and

1 Pursuant to Rule 37.3, letters of consent on behalf of both Peti-
tioner and Respondents have been filed with the Clerk of the Court.
Pursuant to Rule 37.6, no part of this brief has been authored by
counsel for either party; rather it has been authored in its entirety
by counsel for NAWE. No monetary contribution for the prepara-
tion of this brief was solicited or received from any Respondent or
any other entity. This brief was funded solely through NAWE’s
annual membership dues.

‘

marine terminal operators, operate in over 100 ports in
the United States on all three coasts, the Great Lakes, and
in the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. With the exception
of Stevens Shipping & Terminal Co. and Strachan Shipping
Co., all of the other individual companies named Respond-
ents are NAWE members. These NAWE members also
work at numerous other ports throughout the U.S.

Aside from a handful of exceptions, every terminal facil-
ity operated by a NAWE member is subject to, and op-
erated under, one or more collective bargaining agree-
ment(s) (“CBA”) with one or more local union(s) which
supply longshore labor. Unlike most other industries, bar-
gaining in this industry is normally conducted on a multi-
employer basis and the hiring hall concept is utilized
wherever possible.

Due to the fact that an individual employee may work
for numerous signatory employers over the course of a
week, month, or year, it becomes imperative—from the
standpoint of both the signatory employers and the em-
ployees represented by the bargaining agent—that the dis-
pute mechanism provided in a collective bargaining agree-
ment resolve every possible employee claim as quickly as
possible, so that each employer fully understands his obli-
gations to the affected employee, and the employees to
each employer.

Hence, industry bargaining in several port regions is
further characterized by a reliance on arbitration as a
quick, efficient and fair system of resolving disputes, in-
cluding disputes that involve statutory employment claims.
Consequently, every NAWE member has a direct interest
in affirming the decision of the Circuit Court.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Amicus submits that Alexander v. Gardner-Denver, 415
U.S. 36 (1974), presents no bar to affirming the Circuit
Court’s decision because this early Title VII opinion
applies only to CBA agreements that neither provide for

3

the arbitration of statutory claims nor authorize the arbi-
trator to resolve such claims. Gilmer v. Interstate/John-
son Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20 (1991), the Court’s subse-
quent seminal opinion finding employment agreement
based arbitration suitable to resolve statutory employment
claims, resolved any lingering confusion surrounding
Gardner-Denver.

Gilmer’s rationale must now be extended to CBA based
agreements to arbitrate statutory claims, particularly in
view of Congress’ subsequent action, placing language in
both the texts of the Americans with Disabilities Act and
the Civil Rights Act, expressly encouraging the use of
arbitration to resolve claims arising under these two stat-
utes. Despite obfuscatory legislative history, supporters of
using arbitration as an alternative to legal action prevailed.
The Congressional intent behind the two complimentary
provisions is absolutely clear, as the Circuit Court noted.

Nothing in the ADA or the CRA, or any other federal
law, bars the use of CBA based arbitration as a tool to
resolve statutory claims. Such arbitration is in fact war-
ranted by today’s workplace environment. Frequently, an
employee’s CBA claim is so entwined with a statutory
claim that CBA-based compulsory arbitration will pro-
duce a more equitable result than that sought by Peti-
tioner.

ARGUMENT

I. THIS CASE IS NOT CONTROLLED BY THE
COURT'S DECISION IN GARDNER-DENVER BE-
CAUSE GARDNER-DENVER ONLY APPLIES
WHEN THE COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREE-
MENT DOES NOT REQUIRE ARBITRATION OF
STATUTORY CLAIMS.

The arguments of the Petitioner and his amici rest on
their misreading of the Court’s decision in Alexander v.
Gardner-Denver, 415 U.S. 36 (174) (“Gardner-Denver” ).

4

Gardner-Denver and its progeny” stand for the proposi-
tion that an arbitrator may not decide issues that are out-
side the scope of the authority granted to the arbitrator in
the contract. Gardner-Denver involved a collective bar-
gaining agreement (“CBA”) that gave the arbitrator the
authority to decide only contractual claims and not statu-
tory claims. The CBA in Gardner-Denver expressly lim-
ited the authority of the arbitrator to the consideration of
contractual issues:

(T)he arbitrator shall not amend, take away, add to,
or change any of the provisions of this Agreement,
and the arbitrator's decision must be based solely
upon an interpretation of the provisions of this Agree-
ment. Gardner-Denver, 415 U.S. at 42 (emphasis
added ).

Therefore, in Gardner-Denver, it was the contract that
barred binding arbitration of the statutory claims and not
federal law. The employee in Gardner-Denver raised ‘is
statutory claims during the latter part of the arbitration;
however, the arbitrator did not address the employee’s
Statutory claims:

On December 30, 1969, the arbitrator ruled that peti-
tioner had been ‘discharged for just cause.’ He made
no reference to petitioner’s claim of racial discrimina-
tion. Gardner-Denver, 415 U.S. at 42.

Because the arbitrator in Gardner-Denver had not and
could not, under the terms of the CBA, address the em-
ployees statutory claims, the employee was free to pursue
his statutory claims in federal court independent of the
arbitration on the related contractual issues.

Amicus concedes that at one time Gardner-Denver may
have been subject to other interpretations. Today,
Gardner-Denver must be viewed through the prospective
of the Court's holding in Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson

2 See McDonald v. City of West Branch, 466 U.S. 284 (1984);
Barrentine v. Arkansas-Best Freight System, Inc., 450 U.S. 728
(1981).

5

Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20 (1991) (“Gilmer”). Gilmer
resolved any confusion about the reach of Gardner-Denver
and its progeny:

There are several important distinctions between the
Gardner-Denver line of cases and the case before us.
First, those cases did not involve the issue of the
enforceability of an agreement to arbitrate statutory
claims. Rather, they involved the quite different issue
whether arbitration of contract-based claims pre-
cluded subsequent judicial resolution of statutory
claims. Since the employees there had not agreed to
arbitrate their statutory claims, and the labor arbi-
trators were not authorized to resolve such claims, the
arbitration in those cases understandably was held
not to preclude subsequent statutory actions. Gilmer,
500 U.S. at 35 (emphasis added).

Thus, Gilmer could not have been clearer. Gardner-
Denver did not present the Court with a case where the
parties had reached a pre-dispute agreement to arbitrate
Statutory claims. Instead, the parties had reached the ex-
act opposite agreement, i.e, not to arbitrate statutory
claims.

As such, Gardner-Denver never addressed the question
of whether a pre-dispute agreement to resolve both con-
tractual and statutory claims through binding arbitration
was enforceable. Although not dispositive of the issue
presently before the Court, Gardner-Denver recognized the
vital role that arbitration plays in resolving statutory dis-
criminatory claims within the context of a CBA:

[T]he grievance-arbitration machinery of the collec-
tive-bargaining agreement remains a relatively in-
expensive and expeditious means for resoiving a wide
range of disputes, including claims of discriminatory
employment practices. Where the collective-bargain-
ing agreement contains a nondiscrimination clause
similar to Title VII, and where arbitral procedures
are fair and regular, arbitration may well produce a
settlement satisfactory to both employer and em-

6

ployee. Gardner-Denver, 415 U.S. at 55 (emphasis
added).

For these reasons, the Court’s holding in Gardner-
Denver does not resolve the case now before the Court.

A. Gilmer Provided The Court With Its First Oppor-
tunity To Consider Whether Pre-Dispute Employ-
ment Agreements To Arbitrate Statutory Employ-
ment Claims Are Binding On The Parties.

The case in Gilmer presented the Court for the first time
with the question of whether an industry wide pre-dispute
employment agreement requiring arbitration of statutory
claims was enforceable. The Gilmer Court concluded
that such statutory claims were in fact arbitrable: “It is
by now clear that statutory claims may be the subject of
an arbitration agreement, enforceable pursuant to the
FAA.” Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 26. The legal foundation for
Gilmer was the Court’s then relatively recent decisions
upholding pre-dispute agreeticits to arbitrate statutory
claims arising out of commercial contract disputes.*

Notwithstanding Gilmer, the question of whether a pre-
dispute CBA requiring arbitration of statutory employ-
ment claims is binding and enforceable still remains. As
a result, this question is presently before the Court for the
first time.*

3 Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Solar Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473
U.S. 614 (1985); Shearson/American Express Inc. v. McMahon,
482 U.S. 220 (1987); Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American
Express, Inc., 490 U.S. 477 (1989).

*The actual wording of the question presented in the petition
for writ of certiorari is: “Was the court below correct in holding
. . . that a general arbitration clause in a collective bargaining
contract bars an employee covered by the contract from filing his
own lawsuit under federal anti-discrimination statute?”

7

B. The Collective Bargaining Agreement At Issue In
This Case Contemplates Arbitration Of Statutory
Employment Claims.

Some of Petitioner’s amici have suggested to the Court
that it consider whether the CBA at issue in this case did
in fact contemplate binding arbitration of claims under
the Americans with Disability Act, 42 U.S.C. 12101 et
seq. (“ADA”).5 See e.g., Brief for the United States and
EEOC at 20-21. Amicus concedes that if the parties did
not agree in the CBA to submit ADA claims to binding
arbitration, then and only then, would this case fall
squarely within Gardner-Denver’s holding.

Amicus agrees with the holding of the Circuit Court
that the arbitration clause in this case was “particularly
broad” and was not required to specifically mention ADA
claims to bring arbitration of ADA claims within its
scope. Wright v. Universal Maritime Service Corp., 121
F.3d 702, 702 (4th Cir. 1997). The Circuit Court cor-
rectly compared the CBA language in this case (“Union
agrees that this Agreement is intended to cover all matters
affecting wages, hours, and other terms and conditions
of employment.”) with the language of the agreement in
Gilmer (“any dispute, claim or controversy”) and con-
cluded that the CBA language was equally as broad. /d.
at 702 (citing Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 23).

The CBA language in the present case can also be con-
trasted with the CBA language in Gardner-Denver. While
the arbitrator in Gardner-Denver was limited “solely {to]
an interpretation of the provisions of this Agreement,”
Gardner-Denver, 415 U.S. at 42, an arbitrator interpreting
the CBA now before the Court would have the broad
authority to decide “all matters affecting . . . terms and
conditions of employment.”

Amicus suggests that, should the Court conclude that
the CBA before it now did not, as a contractual matter,

5 It is not clear to amicus that this question falls within the scope
of the question presented for certiorari.

contemplate binding arbitration of ADA claims, the Court
would have no need to reach the issue of whether a CBA
that does contemplate biding arbitration of ADA claims
is enforceable.

Il. THE PETITIONER HAS NOT MET HIS BURDEN
OF SHOWING THAT CONGRESS INTENDED TO
PROHIBIT ENFORCEMENT OF A COLLECTIVE
BARGAINING AGREEMENT BASED ARBITRA-
TION OF STATUTORY EMPLOYMENT CLAIMS.

Under Gilmer, in order to prevail in this case, the Peti-
tioner has the burden of showing that when the ADA
was enacted, Congress intended to preclude binding arbi-
tration of ADA claims under a pre-dispute CBA requiring
such binding arbitration.® Petitioner has not made and
cannot make such a showing.

A. The ADA Cannot Be Read As Barring Arbitration
Of ADA Claims Under Collective Bargaining
Agreements.

Even if the ADA were silent on the issue of arbitra-
tion, the Petitioner could not make the showing required
by Gilmer. The ADA, however, is not silent. The plain
language of the ADA indicates that Congress enthusiasti-
cally endorsed the use of arbitration:

Where appropriate and to the extent authorized by
law, the use of alternative means of dispute resolu-
tion, including settlement negotiations, conciliation,
facilitation, mediation, factfinding, minitrials, and ar-
bitration, is encouraged to resolve disputes arising
under this Act.

ADA, 42 U.S.C. § 12212 (“ADR clause”).”

6 See Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 35. (“We conclude that Gilmer has not
met his burden of showing that Congress, in enacting the ADEA,
intended to preclude arbitration of claims under that Act.”).

7 Section 513 of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990,
P.L. 101-336. Section 513 of the ADA is codified at 42 U.S.C.

9

Several facts are apparent from the plain language of
the ADA’s ADR clause. First, Congress took the rare
step of including its purpose within the text of the statu-
tory clause itself—to encourage the use of alternative
means of dispute resolution. Therefore, any interpreta-
tion of the remaining language of the clause must be
made in light of, and must be consistent with, this Con-
gressionally stated purpose.

Second, Congress intended to encourage a broad range
of alternative methods of resolving ADA disputes. Con-
gress expressly endorsed settlement negotiations, concilia-
tion, facilitation, mediation, factfinding, minitrials, and
arbitration. This broad list of endorsed alternative dis-
pute resolution methods is a further indication that Con-
gress intended for this clause to be read broadly.

Third, there is no statutory basis for concluding that
Congress intended to encourage non-binding alternative
dispute resolution, but to discourage binding alternative
dispute resolution. There is no reason, based on the text,
for concluding that arbitration of ADA claims should be
non-binding than there is for concluding that “settlement
negotiations” of ADA claims should be non-binding.

Finally, and perhaps most important to this case, there
is no textual basis for distinguishing between the use of
alternative dispute resolution within the context of a
CBA, versus outside the context of a CBA.

The arguments advanced by Petitioner and his amici
essentially ask the Court to interpret this clause, inserted
into the statute for the express purpose of encouraging
the use of alternative dispute resolution, in such a fashion
as to thwart this express Congressional purpose. The

§ 12212. Virtually identical language was later included in § 118
of the Civil Rights Act of 1991 (“CRA”), P.L. 102-166, which
made the provision applicable to claims filed under fitle VII and
other laws governed by the amended CRA, including the ADA.
Section 118 of the CRA is codified at 42 U.S.C. 1981 note.

10

Petitioner asks the Court to support this position in the
absence of any textual support. And, while the Petitioner
and his amici have advanced a number of interesting
policy arguments in support of their position, policy argu-
ments are not a substitute for the plain language within
a statute. Furthermore, such policy arguments are mis-
directed, since the most appropriate forum for their re-
view is Congress.

B. Nothing In The Legislative Histories Of The ADA
Or The CRA Supports Petitioner’s Construction Of
The Text.

Petitioner urges the Court to view the plain language
of Section 513 of the ADA and Section 118 of the CRA
encouraging the use of arbitration, in light of the legis-
lative histories of these two provisions, and to exclude
CBA based agreements to arbitrate statutory employment
claims from their reach. Amicus submits that the legisla-
tive histories of the two provisions simply do not support
this view.

Section 513 of the ADA originated in the House of
Representatives, where it was first considered and accepted
on May 1, 1990 during House Judiciary Committee
markup of H.R. 2273, the bill that eventually was enacted
as P.L. 101-336. Congressman Glickman offered the
amendment and it was quickly accepted without dissent
by voice vote.

While it subsequently became clear that there was some
disagreement within the House Judiciary Committee as to
the use of alternative dispute resolution in the context of
resolving ADA claims, the opponents were unwilling to
challenge the amendment directly at the mark-up, presum-
ably because they did not have the votes. At no time
during the Committee deliberations on the ADA did either
the sponsor of the ADA arbitration clause, or any other
member of the Committee express any intent to restrict

11

the scope of the amendment to non-CBA based arbitra-
tion agreements. See Original Transcript of the Proceed-
ings of the House Judiciary Committee during mark up of
H. Rept. 2273, May 1, 1990, pp. 82-83.* By all indica-
tions, the members of the Committee thought they had
just approved a provision “encouraging” the use of arbi-
tration and other non-judicial alternatives to resolve ADA
claims, with the sole qualification being “where appro-
priate and to the extent permitted by law.”

Fifteen days later, without any further Committee action,
an explanation of the Glickman amendment was offered
in the House Judiciary Committee Report on the ADA.
This explanation provided several qualifications to the clear
text of the amendment. See H. Rept. 101-485, Pt. III,
p. 76. The inconsistencies between the plain language of
the amendment and the Committee Report itself can only
be read as an attempt to frustrate the amendment'’s clearly
stated purpose. The drafters of the Report attempted—
without vote or debate—to limit the broad scope of the
Glickman amendment in several ways.

First, the authors of the Report argued that the pur-
pose of the amendment was to “supplement, not sup-
plant” the remedies provided by the Act. Amicus believes
that this concept is inconsistent with the language of the
amendment. “Supplement(ing)” the judicial resolution of
ADA claims is not an “alternative” to judicial resolu-
tion of ADA claims. An ADA amendment turning the
use of alternative dispute resolution into a supplement
to litigation would not “encourage” the use of such an
alternative, rather it would discourage its use. It is clear
that under this interpretation, both parties would waste

8 Under the House Judiciary Committee’s practice, executive ses-
sion documents such as this are available at the Committee’s main
office (2138 Rayburn House Office Building) for reading only.

®The Conference Report notes that the joint conferees also ac-
cepted this point of view. H. Rept. 101-596 of July 12, 1990 at p. 89.

12

time submitting to the alternative forms of dispute reso-
lution if the losing party were free to seek a subsequent
de novo hearing in a federal district court.

The authors of the Committee Report also attempted to
limit the unambiguous scope of the Glickman amendment.
According to the Committee Report, the amendment does
not encompass disputes that arise either in the “context
of a collective bargaining agreement or an employment
contract.” In other words, the amendment does not apply
to Title I of the ADA. Thus, the Committee Report
contradicts the very language of the amendment, which
states that alternative dispute resolution “is encouraged to
resolve disputes arising under this Act.” Moreover, there
was no discussion by the House Judiciary Committee
during its consideration of the amendment in terms of
limiting the scope of the alternative dispute resolution
clause. Clearly, as indicated by the language of the
amendment, the amendment’s sponsor and its supporters
intended no such limitation.

Finally, the authors of the Committee Report (as op-
posed to the authors and supporters of the amendment)
attempted to codify the Gardner-Denver opinion. As dis-
cussed above, even assuming arguendo that the purpose of
the amendment was to codify Gardner-Denver, such a
codification would not resolve the issue presently before
the Court. More fundamentally, it is simply not plausible
that an amendment intended to encourage the use of alter-
native dispute resolution would do so by codifying a deci-
sion that rejected its very use. Furthermore, as Congress
demonstrated in the Civil Rights Act of 1991, when it
wants to codify or reject a Supreme Court decision, it
knows how to do so without taking such a subcutaneous
route.'?

10 CRA §3 explicitly codifies one opinion of the Court, Griggs v.
Duke Power, 401 U.S. 424 (1971) while overruling another, Wards
Cove Packing Co. v. Atonio, 490 U.S. 642 (1989).

13

Ten months after the passage of the ADA, the Court
handed down the seminal opinion in Gilmer, in which it
held for the first time, that a pre-dispute employment
agreement to settle statutory claims through binding arbi-
tration is enforceable. Six months later, Congress enacted
the CRA with an alternative dispute resolution clause
that was virtually identical to that found in the ADA.

The CRA legislation that ultimately became law was
a floor substitute introduced by Senator Danforth that
included the alternative dispute resolution clause. This
alternative dispute language ultimately became Section
118 of P.L. 102-166. Neither of the two interpretive
memorandums placed into the Congressional Record by
Senator Danforth indicated his thoughts concerning the
proper interpretation of the alternative dispute resolution
clause. See Cong. Rec. of Oct. 25, 1991 at p. 15276
and Cong. Rec. of Oct. 30, 1991 at p. 29045. Senator
Dole—on behalf of himself, several Senators and the ad-
ministration—did piace a memorandum into the record
that cited Gilmer with favor:

[I}n light of the litigation crisis facing this country
and the increasing sophistication and reliability of
alternatives to litigation, there is no reason to dis-
favor the use of such forums. See Gilmer v. Inter-
state/Johnson Lane Corp., 111 S. Ct. 1647 (1991).
See Cong. Rec. of October 30, 1991 at pp. 29034,
29040).

During the House debate on the Danforth substitute,
Congressman Edwards included an explanation of Section
118 into the Congressional Record. This explanation
mirrored the explanation found originally in the House
Report on the ADA (H. Rept. 101-485(III), p. 75).
Cong. Rec. of Nov. 7, 1991, at p.30665. Congressman
Hyde, on the other hand, included in the record an ex-
planation that was consistent with the interpretation of the
Dole memorandum. Cong. Record, Nov. 7, 1991, p.
30683.

14

While much in the legislative histories of the respective
ADR clauses conflict with the plain language of the Glick-
man amendment and thus is of little value in devining
Congressional intent, it is clear that Congress was divided
into two distinct camps on the use of alternative dispute
resolution in resolving statutory employment claims. Some
in Congress vigorously opposed, while others strongly
supported, ADR. But the bottom line is that those
who supported the use of alternative dispute resolution
prevailed when it came to enacting the plain language
of the statutes.

Ill. NO STATUTORY BASIS EXISTS TO DISTINGUISH
ARBITRATION SANCTIONED BY GILMER FROM
CBA BASED ARBITRATION.

As noted above, Gilmer has already held that a pre-
dispute employment based agreement to arbitrate statu-
tory employment claims is enforceable. Thus, the threshold
issue—the enforceability of employment based arbitration
—has already been favorably addressed and decided by
the Court.

Amicus believes that there is no statutory basis upon
which to distinguish Gilmer governed arbitration from
traditional Labor Management Relations Act governed
arbitration." Amicus further suggests that finding CBA
based arbitration of statutory employment claims enforce-

11 See Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 141 et seq.
Amicus’ position is also supported by the Court’s extensive hody of
CBA-based jurisprudence decided prior to the passage of the prin-
cipal federal employment protection statutes. See Textile Workers
Union v. Lincoln Mills, 353 U.S. 448 (1957); “Steelworkers Trilogy”
(United Steelworkers of America v. American Mfg. Co., 363 U.S.
564 (1960); United Steelworkers of America v. Warrior & Gulf
Navigation Co., 363 U.S. 574 (1960); United Steelworkers of
America v. Enterprise Wheel & Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593 (1960)).
While it is true that LMRA based arbitration is seldom governed
by the Federal Arbitration Act, LMRA based arbitration is subject
to equally rigorous review standards under case law.

15

able is in the best long term interest of labor-management
relations for several reasons.

First, in the modern workplace governed by CBAs, it
is almost impossible to resolve contractual employment
issues independent of statutory employment issues. Today,
given the presence of numerous statutory employment pro-
tections, it is likely that when an employer attempts to
discipline an employee, that employee will typically raise
both contractual and statutory challenges to the employer’s
action at some point during the CBA governed grievance/
arbitration proceedings. These dual challenges frequently
turn on the same set of facts, and independently resolu-
tion frequently results in inconsistency. The deciding issue
ordinarily is a question of fact the motive of the employer.
Consequently, the rule of law sought by Petitioner—tre-
icting the enforcement of the arbitrator’s authority to
decide CBA based contract questions only, while allowing
ey ona prosecution of a statutory claim—makes
sense.

As an example of just how intertwined contract and
statutory claims have become, one need look no further
than this case.* The CBA below calls for the arbitration

12 Petitioner’s CBA claim is intertwined with several federal
statutes beyond the ADA. E.g., The Occupational Safety and
Health Administration recently revised its vertical safety standards
for the Longshoring and Marine Terminals industry, 29 C.F.R.
$$ 1917, 1918 respectively. The following language regarding em-
ployee medical conditions, as they concern safe cargo handling
operations on marine terminals, was incorporated into each of
these two safety standards. “No employee known to have defective
uncorrected eyesight or hearing, or to be suffering from heart
disease, epilepsy, or similar ailments that may suddenly incapacitate
the employee, shall be permitted to operate a crane, winch or other
power-operated cargo handling apparatus or a power-operated
vehicle.” Jd. 1917.27(a)(2); 1918.98(a)(2) (Federal Register, Vol.
62, No. 143, p. 40142 (July 25, 1997)). Under ADA § 501(b) and
the EEOC’s implementing regulations, 29 C.F.R. 1630.15(e), these
two OSHA safety standards effectively preempt ADA rights and
remedies in those cases where an employee is affected with any of

16

of all matters which cannot be promptly resolved. Pre-
sumably this would include disputed work assignments,
including Petitioner’s initial attempt to be deemed suitable
for a work assignment after recovering from a “permanent-
total” disability claim under the Longshore and Harbor
Workers’ Compensation Act, 33 U.S.C. § 901 et seq. The
ADA requires that disabled employees receive job assign-
ments based on the concept of “reasonable accommoda-
tion,” however, it also allows employers to set job qualifi-
cations based on safety and health considerations in cer-
tain circumstances. ADA § 103(b). Ultimately, this stat-
utory consideration may prove to be a factor in resolving
the contract based question concerning Petitioner’s suit-
ability to return to work.

If the Petitioner’s position prevails, it is doubtful that
the Respondents will be able to resolve these conflicting
interests. What should employers do if an arbitrator first
orders one resolution based on a CBA claim, while inde-
pendently, a federal court reaches a different conclusion
based solely on an interpretation of the ADA, and orders
the employers to do another thing? ** Under the Petition-
er’s view, there will never be a way to bring these two
conflicting claims before a single finder of fact and law
for final resolution. As noted above, there is absolutely

the described conditions. A strict reading of ADA § 501(b) indi-
cates that employer action to comply with the OSHA standards,
thus avoiding an OSHA citation, would not trigger ADA liability.
Amicus further notes that federal district courts do not have sub-
ject matter jurisdiction over either the LHWCA or OSH Act, and
consequently are without expertise in these areas of the law.

13 This scenario can also involve the competing interests of two
employees which further complicates the employer’s predicament.
E.g., an employee who receives a new job assignment due to the
employer’s efforts at providing reasonable accommodation, and in
the process bumps another employee with greater job seniority,
may cause the second employee to file a statutory discrimination
claim. The arbitrator’s order may well wind up in conflict with the
court’s resolution.

17

no evidence that Congress intended to leave employers in
this type of Catch-22 predicament.

Moreover, as previously noted, providing an employee
covered by a CBA with two independent challenges to an
employer’s decision may result in mutually inconsistent
decisions. If an arbitrator makes a finding of fact that an
employer’s action was motivated exclusively by employee
malfeasance and nothing else, why should that employee
be permitted to argue otherwise in a subsequent legal
action?

Finally, if the Petitioner’s position were to prevail, the
workplace may eventually wind up with two classes of
employees in the context of workplace dispute resolution.
In the wake of Gilmer, appellate courts have endorsed
employment based arbitration agreements on may fronts,
including agreements quite different than the industry wide
employment agreement at issue in Gilmer. See, e.g.,
Paladino v. Avnet Computer Technologies, Inc., ——

F.3rd (11th Cir. 1998) for a discussion of agree-
ments authorized by that Circuit.

Under Petitioners theory, some employees will get two
bites at the apple. First through binding arbitration and
second through litigation in federal court if the initial
arbitration produces an unsuccessful result. As amicus
has clearly pointed out above, no statutory basis exists to
support an argument that Congress intended for some
employees to have their employment claims treated in one
fashion, while others are to be treated in a different fash-
ion. Accordingly, Gilmer’s umbrella should be extended
to cover arbitration of statutory employment claims when
CBA based arbitration agreements so provide.

18

CONCLUSION

Amicus submits that the Fourth Circuit’s decision is
fully supportable and must be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES T. CARROLL, JR. *

F, EDWIN FROELICH

WILCOX, CARROLL & FROELICH,
P.L.L.C.

2011 Pennsylvania Avenue, WW

Suite 301

Washington, DC 20006

(202) 296-3005

* Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0141%3A18. Public record. Not legal advice.
