# Amicus Curiae Brief — Wright v. Universal Maritime Service Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0141%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 525 U.S. 70

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United

OCTOBER TERM,1997 —

CEASAR WRIGHT,

8 Petitioner,
UNIVERSAL MARITIME SERVICE CoRp.;
STEVENS SHIPPING & TERMINAL Co.;
STEVEDORING SERVICES OF AMERICA;

RYAN-WALSH, INC.;
STRACHAN SHIPPING Co.;
CERES MARINE TERMINALS, INC.; and
SOUTH CAROLINA STEVEDORES ASSOCIATION,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF THE
EQUAL EMPLOYMENT ADVISORY COUNCIL,
THE LABOR POLICY ASSOCIATION,
and THE EMPLOYERS GROUP
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

JEFFREY A. BERMAN ROBERT E. WILLIAMS *
SIDLEY & AUSTIN ANN ELIZABETH REESMAN
555 West Fifth Street DANIEL V. YAGER
Los Angeles, CA 90018-1010 McGUINESS & WILLIAMS
(213) 896-6000 1015 Fifteenth Street, N.W.
Attorney for Amicus Curiae Suite 1200

Employers Group Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 789-8600

Attorneys for Amici Curiae
Equal Employment
Advisory Council and
Labor Policy Association

* Counsel of Record

WILSON - Eres PRINTING Co. INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON. D.C. 20001

BEST AVAILABLE COPY =

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURA
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT f
ARGUMENT

I.

THE COURT BELOW PROPERLY HELD
THAT A COLLECTIVELY-BARGAINED
AGREEMENT TO ARBITRATE ALL DIS-
PUTES ARISING OUT OF AN EMPLOY-
MENT RELATIONSHIP IS ENFORCEABLE
WITH RESPECT TO STATUTORY CLAIMS
IN THE SAME MANNER AS THE INDI-
VIDUALLY-BARGAINED AGREEMENT IN
GILMER

A. Agreements to Arbitrate A Re-
lated Disputes Stand on the Same Footing
as Other Contracts and Are Enforceable
With Respect to Statutory Claims ............

. An Arbitration Agreement Negotiated and
Executed by a Duly-Selected Collective-
Bargaining Agent Is Binding on the Em-
ployees on Whose Behalf It Was Made

STRONG FEDERAL POLICIES FAVOR THE
ENFORCEMENT OF £COLLECTIVELY-
BARGAINED AGREEMENTS TO ARBI-
TRATE EMPLOYMENT-RELATED DIS-
PUTES, INCLUDING STATUTORY CLAIMS

A. Enforcement of Agreements to Submit Stat-
utory Claims to Arbitration Is Fully Con-
sistent With the EEO Laws’ Policy of Pro-
tecting Individuals Against Discrimination

. Federal Policies Favoring Enforcement of
Voluntary Agreements to Arbitrate Must
Prevail Over Outmoded Suspicion of Arbi-
tration

CONCLUSION .

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
Air Line Pilots Association, International v.
ONeill, 499 U.S. 65 (19919 —————————9 17-18
Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36
10 —T—T—ͤ—„—— — 18. 19
Austin v. Owens-Brockway Glass Container, 78
F.3d 875 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 432
1 3. 5
Barrentine v. Arkansas-Best Freight System, Inc.,
e.. 20
Fairhaven Properties, 314 N. L. R. B. 763 (1994) 14
Gilmer v. Interstate / Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S.
rn ptgtlinenenoneiogoasel passim
Great Western Mortgage Corp. v. Peacock, 110
F.3d 222 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 118 S. Ct. 299
r 3-4
Hughes Tool Co., 56 N. L. R. B. 981 „ enf'd
as modified, 147 F.2d 69 (5th Cir. 1945) 7
Humphrey v. Moore, 375 U.S. 335 (1964) 8.18
J. I. Case Co. v. NLRB, 321 U.S. 332 (1944) 12
Livadas v. Bradshaw, 512 U.S. 107 (1993) 4
McKennon v. Nashville Banner Publishing Co., 513
RET AIS aS eee 4
Medo Photo Supply Corp. v. NLRB, 321 U.S. 678 5
een
Metropolitan Edison Co. v. NLRB, 460 U.S. 693
. 8,17
NLRB v. Boss Manufacturing Co., 118 F. 2d 187
(7th Cir. 1941) 8 12
NLRB v. Katz, 369 US. 736 (1962) 6 12
NLRB v. Montgomery Ward & Co., 133 F.2d 676
RE ee SS 12
Republic Steel Corp. v. Maddor, 379 U. 8. 650
r a 11
Securities Industry Association v. Connolly, 883
F.2d 1114 (Ist Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 495 U.S.
D .... 8. 21
United Electrical, Radio & Machine Workers v.
NLRB, 409 F.2d 150 (D.C. Cir. 196997 12

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
United Steelworkers of America v. American Man-
ufacturing Co., 363 U.S. 564 (1960) 15
United Steelworkers of America v. Enterprise
Wheel & Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593 (1960) 15
United Steelworkers of America v. Warrior & Gulf
Navigation Co., 363 U.S. 574 (1960) 15
Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (1967) 8, 11,18
WJA Realty Ltd. Partnership, 308 N.L.R.B. 728
ER Re NEL © OO Ee 12
DOCKETED CASES
Albertson's Inc. v. United Food and Commercial
Workers Union, Civ. No. 97-35500 (9th Cir.) .... 4
STATUTES
Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA),
ee ts ᷑ê . 3,9
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), 42 U.S.C.
r 7... 3
e Ee a 15
Federal Arbitration Act (FAA), 9 U.S.C. 81
0 9
National Labor Relations Act (NLRA), 29 U.S.C.
fo ae ee 3
e oS ee 6,11
Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations
Act (RICO), 18 U.S.C. § 1961 et seg. . 17
Section 110 of the Civil Rights Act of 1991, Pub.
L. No. 102-166, 105 Stat. 1071, 10111 15
Section 301 of the Labor-Management Relations
r x 10, 15
Section 10 (b) of the Securities and Exchange Act
of 1934, 15 U.S.C. § 78 (b) a PE ELAR Paes 16-17
Section 12(2) of the Securities Act of 1933, 15
e EE nS 17
Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 17 — 16

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42
U.S.C. § 2000e et seq.

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

MISCELLANEOUS Page
The Developing Labor Law (Patrick Hardin ed.,

Le 12
Federal Courts Study Committee, Report of the

Federal Courts Study Commitee (1990) 19

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1997

No. 97-889

CEASAR WRIGHT,
V.

UNIVERSAL MARITIME SERVICE Cor., —

Petitioner,

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF THE
EQUAL EMPLOYMENT ADVISORY COUNCIL,
THE LABOR POLICY ASSOCIATION,
and THE EMPLOYERS GROUP
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

The Equal Employment Advisory Council (EEAC),
the Labor Policy Association (LPA), and the Em-
ployers Group respectfully submit this brief as amici
curiae. Letters of consent from all parties have been

1 Counsel for the amici authored the brief in its entirety.
No person or entity other than the amici or their counsel
made a monetary contribution to the preparation or submis-
sion of the brief.

2
filed with the Clerk of the Court. The brief urges
this Court to affirm the decision of the court below
and, thus, supports the position of the respondents,
Universal Maritime Service Corporation et al.

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

EEAC is an association of employers formed in
1976 to promote sound programs to end employment
discrimination. Its members include more than 300
of the nation’s largest private employers. Its directors
and officers include many of industry’s leading ex-
perts on equal employment opportunity and affirma-
tive action. Their combined experience gives EEAC
valuable insight into the practical, as well as legal
aspects of equal employment opportunity (EEO) pol-
icies and practices.

LPA is an organization of the senior human re-
sources officers of more than 250 of the nation’s largest
companies, collectively employing more than 12 mil-
lion Americans. Since its founding in 1939, LPA has
been concerned exclusively with the development and
implementation of laws and public policies affecting
human resources practices in the private sector.
LPA’s mission is to ensure that such laws and policies
are sound, practical, and responsive to the needs of
the modern workplace.

The Employers Group, headquartered in California,
is one of the nation’s oldest and largest human re-
sources management associations. It represents nearly
5,000 companies of all sizes in every industry, em-
ploying in the aggregate approximately 2.5 million
employees. Formerly known as the Merchants & Man-
ufacturers Association and the Federated Employers,
the Employers Group has been involved as amicus
curiae in many significant employment cases.

3

The amici’s members are employers subject to the
Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. § 12101
et seq.; Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42
U.S.C. § 2000e et seg.; the Age Discrimination in
Employment Act, 29 U.S.C. § 621 et seqg., and other
EEO laws, as well as to the National Labor Relations
Act, 29 U.S.C. § 151 et seg. Many of them have con-
tracts with their employees governing some or all
terms and conditions of employment. Some of these
contracts have been arrived at through collective bar-
gaining with employee representatives, while others
are products of direct dealings with unrepresented
employees. Many such contracts contain provisions

requiring arbitration of employment-related claims
and disputes.

The amici’s members have an ongoing interest in
preserving the enforceability of agreements calling for
arbitration of employment-related disputes, whether
arrived at through collective or individual bargaining.
Arbitration provides a fair, efficient, and effective
means of resolving discrimination claims and other
employment-related issues that otherwise would clog
the courts. Because of their interest in this subject,
the amici have filed friend-of-the-court briefs in nu-
merous cases supporting the enforceability of arbitra-
tion agreements, as well as many other important
issues of employment law.?

2 For example, EEAC filed briefs supporting mandatory
arbitration of statutory discrimination claims in Gilmer v.
Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20 (1991); Austin
v. Owens-Brockway Glass Container, Inc., 78 F.3d 875 (4th
Cir.), cert. denied, 117 U.S. 482 (1996); and Great Western
Mortgage Corp. v. Peacock, 110 F.3d (3d Cir.), cert.

4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Following a 1992 workplace injury, petitioner
Ceasar Wright claimed to be totally and permanently
disabled. After he received a quarter-million dollar
worker’s compensation settlement, however, Wright’s
condition improved unexpectedly, and he reported to
his union hiring hall saying he was ready to return
to work. Over the next few days, he worked for
several different stevedoring firms on referrals from
the union. The firms balked, however, when they
learned that Wright had received a large monetary
settlement for a total and permanent disability. Re-
lying on provisions of the applicable collective-bar-
gaining agreement, they informed the union that
they no longer would accept Wright for employment.

The union protested the stevedoring firms’ decision,
but neither it nor Wright pursued the matter through
the grievance-and-arbitration procedure of the collec-
tive-bargaining agreement. Instead, at the union’s
suggestion, Wright went to a lawyer, with whose
assistance he filed a charge of discrimination with the
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
(EEOC) alleging that the firms had discriminated
against him in violation of the Americans with Dis-
abilities Act. Upon receipt of a right-to-sue letter
from the EEOC, Wright sued in federal court on his
ADA claim.

denied, 118 S.Ct. 299 (1997). LPA filed a brief supporting
mandatory arbitration of Fair Labor Standards Act claims
in Albertson's Inc. v. United Food and Commercial Workers
Union, Civ. No. 97-85500 (9th Cir.) (decision pending). The
Employers Group has filed amicus briefs in M Kennon v.
Nashville Banner Publishing Co., 518 U.S. 852 (1995) and
Livadas v. Bradshaw, 512 U.S. 107 (1994).

5

The case was referred to a magistrate judge, who
recommended that it be dismissed because Wright
had failed to submit his claim to arbitration as re-
quired by the collective-bargaining agreement. The
magistrate judge concluded that the case was con-
trolled by the Fourth Circuit’s decision in Austin v.
Owens-Brockway Glass Container, 78 F.3d 875 (4th
Cir.), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 432 (1996), which holds
that a collectively-bargained agreement to arbitrate
employment-related claims bars a covered employee
from suing on statutory discrimination claims, at
least without first exhausting arbitration.

The district court agreed with the magistrate
judge and dismissed Wright’s lawsuit. On appeal,
the Fourth Circuit affirmed the dismissal. Relying
on Austin, the Fourth Circuit observed that “collec-
tive bargaining agreements to arbitrate employment
disputes are binding upon individual employees even
when the dispute involves a federal cause of action,“
and that [where such an agreement exists, a failure
to process a claim under the agreement precludes a
court from exercising jurisdiction.” (Pet. App. at
4a). This Court granted certiorari on March 2, 1998.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

It is now settled that when an individual agrees, as
a condition of employment, to submit all employment-
related disputes to arbitration, that agreement stands
“on the same footing as other contracts” and is en-
forceable with respect to statutory discrimination
claims as well as other disputes. Gilmer v. Interstate /
Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20 (1991). The central
question in this case is whether the same holds true
when a union makes such an agreement on behalf of

6

employees it represents. The court below properly
concluded that it does.

Under the National Labor Relations Act (NLRA),
a union duly selected by a majority of the employees
in a unit appropriate for collective bargaining is the
exclusive representative of all the employees in such
unit for the purposes of negotiating and entering
into contracts with their employer governing their
“rates of pay, wages, hours of employment, or other
conditions of employment.” 29 U.S.C. §159(a).
Thus, when employees choose a union as their agent,
they authorize it to bind them—both collectively and
individually—to agreements covering the whole gamut
of “terms and conditions of employment.”

It is well settled that a procedure for resolving
employment-related claims and disputes is a “term
or condition of employment”—and thus a mandatory
subject of collective bargaining—within the meaning
of the NLRA. Accordingly, an agreement to adopt
such a procedure lies well within the ambit of sub-
jects on which a union can bind the employeees for
whom it speaks.

This Court has recognized that it is perfectly appro-
priate—and, indeed, consistent with important federal
policies—for an employer and an employee to agree
in advance, as a condition of employment, to “trade[ ]
the procedures and opportunities for review of the
courtroom for the simplicity, informality, and expedi-
tion of arbitration” as the means of resolving any
disputes that may arise out of their employment rela-
tionship, including statutory claims. Gilmer, 500 U.S.
at 31, quoting Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler
Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 628 (1985).

ee

7

In a unionized setting, however, the only way such
an agreement ordinarily can come into being is
through collective bargaining, for the NLRA bars
employers from dealing directly with union-repre-
sented employees over dispute-resolution procedures.
See, e.g., Hughes Tool Co., 56 N.L.R.B. 981 (1943),
enf’d as modified, 147 F.2d 69 (5th Cir. 1945). Yet,
under the rule the petitioner seeks in this case, a
collectively-bargained agreement to arbitrate statu-
tory claims would be unenforceable against employees
who assert such claims, and hence would be of little or
no value to the employer.

Thus, the rule petitioner seeks would create an
anomaly in employment law. It would make it vir-
tually impossible for union-represented employees and
their employers to exercise the same, basic right that
the unrepresented employee in Gilmer and his em-
ployer exercised with this Court’s approval—i.e., the
right to trade the procedures of the courtroom for the
more efficient, less expensive procedures of arbitration
with respect to statutory claims.

The petitioner and his amici argue that the EEO
laws’ central policy of protecting individuals against
discrimination trumps the NLRA’s central policies of
majority rule and exclusive representation. But there
is no need to decide in this case which of these statu-
tory policies takes precedence, because individuals’
substantive rights under the EEO laws can be pro-
tected as effectively through arbitration as through
judicial processes. As this Court has recognized, an
agreement to arbitrate statutory claims does not
waive any substantive rights afforded by the EEO
laws; it merely submits to their resolution in a differ-
ent forum. Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 26. This is equally

true whether the agreement to arbitrate such claims
was negotiated individually or collectively.

The union’s duty of fair representation under fed-
eral labor law stands as a bulwark against any danger
that individuals’ rights might suffer as a result of
their subordination to collective interests under the
NLRA. See Metropolitan Edison Co. v. NLRB, 460
U.S. 693, 705 (1983); Humphrey v. Moore, 375 U.S.
335, 342 (1964); Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 177-78
(1967). Thus, majoritarian control over the selection
of the forum for resolving employees’ job-related com-
plaints and charges is fully compatible with effective
protection of their individual, substantive rights under
the EEO laws.

At bottom, most of the arguments supporting the
petitioner’s position in this case rests on the out-
moded “suspicion of arbitration” that this Court de-
nounced in Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 30. Those arguments
run counter to strong federal policies favoring arbi-
tration. The importance of those policies is amplified
in the employment context by the explosive growth of
employment-law litigation in the federal courts. Con-
gress and the judiciary have long recognized that
arbitration can, as one court put it, “serve as therapy
for the ailment of the crowded docket.” Securities
Indus. Ass’n v. Connolly, 883 F.2d 1114, 1116 (1st
Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 495 U.S. 1054 (1990). Given
the current, overwhelming federal caseload, such

“therapy” has never been more appropriate and
necessary.

9
ARGUMENT

I. THE COURT BELOW PROPERLY HELD THAT A
COLLECTIVELY-BARGAINED AGREEMENT TO
ARBITRATE ALL DISPUTES ARISING OUT OF
AN EMPLOYMENT RELATIONSHIP IS ENFORCE-
ABLE WITH RESPECT TO STATUTORY CLAIMS
IN THE SAME MANNER AS THE INDIVIDUALLY-
BARGAINED AGREEMENT IN G/LMER

A. Agreements to Arbitrate Employment-Related Dis-
putes Stand on the Same Footing as Other Con-
tracts and Are Enforceable With Respect to Statu-
tory Claims

In Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500
U.S. 20 (1991), this Court held that an arbitration
agreement that an individual signed “[a]s a condi-
tion of his employment,” id. at 23, in which he
pledged to submit to arbitration any dispute that
might arise out of his employment or the termination
thereof, was enforceable under the Federal Arbitra-
tion Act (FAA), 9 U.S.C. § 1 et seg., so as to require
him to arbitrate his subsequent claim that his em-
ployer violated his rights under the Age Discrimina-
tion in Employment Act (ADEA), 29 U.S.C. § 621
et seq. In so holding, the Court emphasized that the
federal policy underlying the FAA places arbitration
agreements “on the same footing as other contracts,”
500 U.S. at 24, 33, and makes them enforceable with
respect to statutory claims, the same as with respect
to other types of claims. Id. at 26.9

3 An exception is made where it is shown that Congress
intended to preclude waivers of judicial remedies under a
particular statute. Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 26. However, after a
careful analysis of the text, history, structure and purpose
of the ADEA, this Court found no evidence of intent to

10

The present case involves an arbitration agreement
that is generally similar to the one in Gilmer.* The
only significant difference is that, while Gilmer him-
self signed the document containing his agreement
to arbitrate, petitioner Wright was represented by a
labor union, which negotiated and executed the arbi-
tration agreement in this case as part of a broader
collective-bargaining contract covering Wright and
his cohorts. That distinction, however, should not
affect the enforceability of the agreement. For, as
we show below, an arbitration agreement entered into
on behalf of employees by their duly chosen collective-
bargaining agent is binding on the individuals the
union represents, just as if they had signed the agree-
ment themselves.

Gilmer was an action to enforce an arbitration
agreement under the FAA, but collectively-bargained
arbitration agreements also are enforceable under
Section 301 of the Labor-Management Relations Act,
29 U.S.C. § 185. In Section 301 cases, this Court has
long held that union-represented employees may not
sue in court on claims raising issues covered by a

preclude waivers of judicial remdies under that statute. Id.
at 26-36. As discussed infra p. 13, a similar analysis of the
Americans with Disabilities Act—the statute on which peti-
tioner Wright bases his claim in this case—not only shows it
to be devoid of any evidence of congressional intent to pre-
clude such waivers, but in fact contains an express congres-
sional endorsement of arbitration.

4 As the court below noted, the agreement in this case re-
quired arbitration of “all matters affecting wages, hours, and
other terms and conditions of employment.” (Pet. App. at
4a). In similarly broad language, the agreement in Gilmer
required arbitration of “any dispute, claim or controversy”
arising out of Gilmer’s employment. 500 U.S. at 23.

11

collective-bargaining agreement that contains a griev-
ance and arbitration procedure, at least without ex-
hausting that procedure first. See Republic Steel
Corp. v. Maddox, 379 U.S. 650, 652 (1965); Vaca
v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 184 (1967). Thus, the deci-
sion of the court below holding that Wright’s failure
to pursue his claim through the contractual griev-
ance procedure barred his suit in court is consistent
with well-established labor law principles.

B. An Arbitration Agreement Negotiated and Exe-
cuted by a Duly-Selected Collective-Bargaining
Agent Is Binding on the Employees on Whose
Behalf It Was Made

Section 9(a) of the National Labor Relations Act
(NLHA), 29 U.S.C. § 159(a), provides that “[r]epre-
sentatives designated or selected for the purposes of
collective bargaining by the majority of the employees
in a unit appropriate for such purposes, shall be the
exclusive representatives of all the employees in such
unit for the purposes of collective bargaining in re-
spect to rates of pay, wages, hours of employment,
or other conditions of employment. That sec-
tion embodies two of the NLRA’s most important, cen-
tral concepts. First, it establishes the principle of
exclusive representation—i.e., that a union chosen

5 A proviso to this section states that “any individual em-
ployee or group of employees shall have the right at any time
to present grievances to their employer and to have such
grievances adjusted, without the intervention of the bargain-
ing representative, as long as the adjustment is not incon-
sistent with the terms of a collective-bargaining contract or
agreement then in effect.” A further proviso requires that the
bargaining representative be given an opportunity to be pres-
ent at such adjustment.” 29 U.S.C. § 159 (a).

12

by the majority of the employees in an appropriate
unit is the sole bargaining agent for all the employees
in the unit. Second, it defines the scope of such an
agent’s authority broadly to encompass all matters
relating to “terms or conditions of employment.”
Within that broad ambit, the union can enter into
agreements that are binding not only on itself and the
employer, but on all the employees in the unit it rep-
resents. See J. I. Case Co. v. NLRB, 321 U.S. 332,
338-39 (1944). With respect to such matters, the
employer is prohibited from dealing directly with
employees, or with any other agent on their behalf.
See NLRB v. Katz, 369 U.S. 736, 743 (1962).

It has long been recognized that a procedure for
resolving employment-related complaints or disputes
is a matter falling squarely within the ambit of
“terms or conditions of employment.” See United
Electrical, Radio & Machine Workers v. NLRB, 409
F.2d 150, 156 (D.C. Cir. 1969). See also NLRB v.
Montgomery Ward & Co., 133 F.2d 676 (9th Cir.
1943); NLRB v. Boss Mfg. Co., 118 F.2d 187 (7th
Cir. 1941); WJA Realty Ltd. Partnership, 308
N.L.R.B. 728 (1992). Indeed, a leading labor law
treatise includes grievance and arbitration procedures
in a list of topics that “are now so clearly recognized
to be mandatory subjects of bargaining that no dis-
cussion is required.” The Developing Labor Law 885,
885 n. 192 (Patrick Hardin ed., 3d ed. 1992). Con-
sequently, application of long-settled NLRA princi-
ples dictates the conclusion that the choice of the
forum for resolving any employment-related claims

petitioner Wright or his unit colleagues might raise
was an issue on which their union, as their exclusive

bargaining agent, could make a binding, enforceable
contractual commitment on their behalf.

13

To rule otherwise would destroy the mutuality of
obligations on which collective bargaining depends.
In labor contracts, a provision for arbitration of dis-
putes typically is a quid pro quo for a no-strike/no-
lockout clause. Together these provisions are the keys
to industrial peace. As such, they are among the most
important forms of consideration the parties exchange
in entering into such agreements. If an employer
cannot enforce a collectively-bargained agreement
that all employment-related claims and disputes will
be submitted to arbitration, the empoyer plainly will
have been denied the benefit of its bargain.

Wright and his amici, however, urge this Court, in
effect, to carve out an exception to these bedrock
NLRA principles. They ask the Court to rule that
even if a union is an employee’s duly-chosen, exclu-
sive bargaining agent, the union cannot consent on
the employee’s behalf to an agreement requiring the
employee to submit statutory claims to arbitration.
Such a rule would create an anomaly in employment
law. It effectively would deny union-represented em-
ployees and their employers any practical way to do
what the unrepresented employee in Gilmer and his
employer did with this Court’s subsequent approval—
that is, to trade [] the procedures and opportunities
for review of the courtroom for the simplicity, infor-
mality, and expedition of arbitration” as the means
of resolving statutory claims. Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 31,
quoting Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-
Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 628 (1985).

Gilmer recognizes that such agreements are entirely
legitimate and enforceable when entered into between
an individual and employer. In a unionized setting,
however, individual employees ordinarily cannot enter

14

into such agreements with their employer on their
own behalf, because the employer cannot by-pass the
union and deal directly with employees on a manda-
tory subject of collective bargaining without violating
the NLRA. See Medo Photo Supply Corp. v. NLRB,
321 U.S. 678 (1944); Fairhaven Properties, 314
N.L.R.B. 763 (1994). Consequently, collective bar-
gaining is the only way in which union-represented
employees ordinarily can trade the procedures of the
courtroom for the more efficient, less costly processes
of arbitration.

Under the rule petitioner seeks in this case, how-
ever, employers would have little or no incentive to
agree to collectively-bargained arbitration procedures
covering statutory claims, because the petitioner’s
rule would make such agreements unenforceable
against individuals who assert such claims. This
Court should reject such an anomalous rule and hold
instead, in keeping with long-established NLRA prin-
ciples, that an arbitration agreement executed by an
employee’s duly-chosen, exclusive bargaining repre-
sentative is binding on the employee and enforceable
like any other contract, just as if the individual
signed it personally.

Il. STRONG FEDERAL POLICIES FAVOR THE EN-
FORCEMENT OF COLLECTIVELY-BARGAINED
AGREEMENTS TO ARBITRATE EMPLOYMENT-
RELATED DISPUTES, INCLUDING STATUTORY
CLAIMS

A. Enforcement of Agreements to Submit Statutory
Claims to Arbitration Is Fully Consistent with the
EEO Laws’ Policy of Protecting Individuals Against
Discrimination

As this Court recognized in Gilmer, strong federal
policies support the enforcement of private agree-

agreemen
Id. at 24, 33. In the context of collective bargaining,
additional strong policy support for enforcement of

Furthermore, the statute under which petitioner
Wright asserted his claim in this case—the Ameri-
cans with Disabilities Act—expressly declares that:

Where appropriate and to the extent authorized
by law, the use of alternative means of dispute
resolution, including . . . arbitration, is encour-
aged to resolve disputes arising under this
chapter.

42 U.S.C. § 12212. Thus, Congress not only has not
expressed an intent to preclude enforcement of agree-
ments to arbitrate claims arising under the ADA,
but has expressed affirmative support for arbitration
as a means of resolving such disputes. Significantly,
Congress enacted the legislation adding this language
to the ADA after this Court handed down its deci-
sion in Gilmer."

United Steelworkers of America v. American Mfg. Co.,
363 U.S. 564 (1960); United Steelworkers of America v.
Warrior & Gulf Navigation Co., 363 U.S. 574 (1960) ; United
Steelworkers of America v. Enterprise Wheel & Car Corp.,
363 U.S. 593 (1960).

7 The above-quoted language of 42 U.S.C. § 12212 was
added to the ADA as Section 110 of the Civil Rights Act of
1991, Pub. L. No. 102-166, 105 Stat. 1071, 1081, which Con-

16

Petitioner and his amici would have this Court
treat these strong federal policies favoring enforce-
ment of arbitration agreements—as well as the inter-
reiated NLRA policies of majority rule and exclusive
representation—as all being secondary in importance
to the EEO laws’ policy of protecting individuals
against discrimination. But their argument poses a
false dichotomy. There is no need to decide in this
case which of these federal policies is the more im-
portant—or to subordinate one statute’s policies to
another’s—because there is no inherent conflict be-
tween them. For the individual rights guaranteed
under the EEO laws can be effectuated just as suc-
cessfully by enforcing agreements to arbitrate as by
allowing individuals direct access to the courts.

As this Court has recognized, an agreement to ar-
bitrate statutory claims does not amount to a waiver
of any of the substantive rights guaranteed to in-
dividuals under the EEO laws. It merely submits
to a different forum for their resolution. Gilmer,
500 U.S. at 26. An arbitrator can enforce substan-
tive statutory rights as effectively as a judge or jury,
and in most cases more quickly and efficiently. This
is equally true whether the agreement to arbitrate
was made directly by the individual, or by a union
on behalf of a group of employees that selected it as
their bargaining agent.“

gress passed on October 30, 1991, and President Bush signed
into law on November 21, 1991. Thus, Gilmer had been the
law of the land for over five months when Congress’ endorsed
arbitration as a means of resolving ADA disputes [where
appropriate and to the extent authorized by law.”

It also is equally true whether the statutory rights in-
volved arise from the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1-7; Section
10(b) of the Securities and Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C.

17

Furthermore, even if, contrary to this Court’s ob-
servation in Gilmer, a union’s agreement to substitute
arbitration for courtroom adjudication of statutory
claims could properly be characterized as a waiver
of individuals’ substantive statutory rights, that
would not provide a valid ground for denying en-
forcement of such agreements. For this Court has
held that, when employees select a union to represent
them, they invest the union with power to waive
their statutory rights through the collective bargain-
ing process. See Metropolitan Edison Co. v. NLRB,
460 U.S. 693, 705 (1983). Indeed, in that case the
Court made clear that this authority includes the
power to waive not only statutory rights that are col-
lective in nature, such as the right to strike and the
right to refuse to cross picket lines, but also to waive
protected rights that are individual in nature. Id.
at 706-07.

As this Court recognized in Metropolitan Edison,
federal labor law contains a built-in safeguard
against any danger that a union’s exercise of the
authority to waive the rights of those it represents
might somehow diminish the substantive protection
afforded them by statutes. That protection lies in
the duty of fair representation which the law im-
poses on a union serving as a bargaining agent. Id.
at 706 n.11 (“[T]he National Labor Relations Act
contemplates that individual rights may be waived

by the union so long as the union does not breach its
duty of good-faith representation.”). See also Air

§ 78j (b); the civil provisions of the Racketeer Influenced and
Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO), 18 U.S.C. § 1961 et seq.;
or Section 12(2) of the Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C.
§ 771(2) ; or the federal equal employment opportunity laws.
See Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 26, and cases there cited.

18

Line Pilots Ass’n, Int'l v. O'Neill, 499 U.S. 65
(1991); Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (1967);
Humphrey v. Moore, 375 U.S. 335 (1964). Thus,
there is no inconsistency between the EEO laws’ goal
of protecting individuals against discrimination in
employment and the labor laws’ policy of allowing a
majority-selected bargaining agent to select the pro-
cedural forum in which disputes over such rights will
be resolved.

B. Federal Policies Favoring Enforcement of Volun-
tary Agreements to Arbitrate Must Prevail Over
Outmoded Suspicion of Arbitration

Petitioner and his amic: argue that this Court’s
decision in Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415
U.S. 36 (1974), requires reversal of the Fourth Cir-
cuit’s decision in this case. Contrary to their conten-
tions, however, Alexander does not preclude enforce-
ment of a collectively-bargained agreement requiring
submission of statutory discrimination claims to ar-
bitration. Alexander simply does not address that
issue. It merely holds that when an arbitrator has
rendered a decision based on wholly contractual
claims, that decision does not bar a subsequent Title
VII suit to enforce statutory claims. The Court in
Alexander observed that contractual rights and statu-
tory rights “have legally independent origins and are
equally available to the aggrieved employee.” 415
U.S. at 52. It stressed that the arbitrator in that
ease was “confined to the interpretation of the col-
lective bargaining agreement.” Id. at 53.

Thus, Alexander turned on a distinction between
contractual claims, which were covered by the appli-
cable arbitration agreement in that case, and statu-
tory claims, which were not. Id. at 52-53. It did not

19

address situations like the one in this case, in which
an arbitration agreement plainly covers statutory as
well as contractual discrimination claims. As the
Fourth Circuit noted in Austin, this fact alone dis-
tinguishes Alexander, 78 F.3d at 883 n.2.

Furthermore, as this Court expressly recognized
in Gilmer, Alexander’s marked distrust of labor arbi-
tration as an adequate forum for resolving statutory
discrimination claims is out of step with the Court’s
recent holdings. 500 U.S. at 34 n.5. In light of to-
day’s realities, courts simply cannot afford to fore-
close the alternative of arbitration. Since 1974, when
Alexander was decided, cases filed in the federal
courts have increased by over 150 percent.’ Statistics
with respect to employment cases are even more glar-
ing. Between 1969 and 1990, employment claims filed
in federal court increased by over two thousand per-
cent. Federal Courts Study Committee, Report of
the Federal Courts Study Committee 61 (1990).
Since 1990, the number of such claims has tripled.”
To compound matters, increases in the total number
of federal judgeships have not kept pace with court
filings. In 1974, the number of cases filed per district

court judgeship was 358. By 1997, that figure had

risen to 480."

Even these dramatic numbers do not tell the full
story, however. As Chief Justice Warren Burger rec-

Source: Statistics Division, Administrative Office of U.S.
Courts.

10 Source: Statistics Division, Administrative Office of U.S.
Courts.

11 Source: Statistics Division, Administrative Office of U.S.
Courts.

20

ognized some 17 years ago, people's patience with
the judicial system is wearing thin.” Barrentine v.
Arkansas-Best Freight System, Inc., 450 U.S. 728,
752 (1981 ) (dissenting opinion). Thus, as Chief Jus-
tice Burger put it, a holding that limits enforceability
of a voluntary agreement to arbitrate statutory claims
“runs counter to every study and every exhortation
of the Judiciary, the Executive, and the Congress
urging the establishing of reasonable mechanisms to
keep matters of this kind out of the courts.” Id.

Arbitration provides an extrajudicial means by
which disputes that typically arise in the employment
setting can be resolved in a more efficient and less
expensive manner, without further burdening our
overcrowed court system.

The reasons favoring arbitration are as wise as
they are obvious: litigation is costly and time
consuming, and more importantly to the point in
this case, judges are less adapted to the nuances
of the disputes that typically arise in shops and
factories than shop stewards, business agents, and
managerial supervisors .... By bringing to-
gether persons actually involved in the work-
place, often assisted by a neutral arbitrator ex-
perienced in such matters, disputes are resolved
swiftly and cheaply. This mechanism promotes
industrial harmony and avoids strikes and con-
flicts, it provides a swift, fai and inexpensive
remedy.

Id. at 747-48.

“Congress passed the Federal Arbitration Act
to help legitimate arbitration and make it more read-
ily useful to disputants. The hope has long been that
the Act could serve as therapy for the ailment of the

21

crowded docket.” Securities Indus. Ass’n v. Connolly,
883 F.2d 1114, 1116 (Ist Cir. 1989). Viewing the
strong endorsements of arbitration by Congress and
this Court against the ominous backdrop of the cur-
rent, overwhelming federal caseload, such “therapy”
is more appropriate and necessary now than ever.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons discussed above, the amici curiae
respectfully submit that the court of appeals’ decision
dismissing petitioner Wright’s Americans with Dis-
abilities Act lawsuit because of his failure to submit
his claims to arbitration as required by the collective-
bargaining agreement should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,
JEFFREY A. BERMAN ROBERT E. WILLIAMS *
SIDLEY & AUSTIN ANN ELIZABETH REESMAN
555 West Fifth Street DANIEL V. YAGER
Los Angeles, CA 90018-1010 McGUINEsS & WILLIAMS
(213) 896-6000 1015 Fifteenth Street, N.W.
Attorney for Amicus Curiae Suite 1200
Employers Group Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 789-8600
Attorneys for Amici Curiae
Equal Employment
Advisory Council and

Labor Policy Association
* Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0141%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
