# Amicus Curiae Brief — United States v. United States Shoe Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0118%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 523 U.S. 360

## Text

Jn the Supreme Court
of the Guited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Petitioner,
v.

UNITED STATES SHOE CORPORATION,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the
Federal Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
STATE OF OREGON

HARDY MYERS
Attorney General of Oregon
DAVID SCHUMAN
Deputy Attorney General
*MICHAEL D. REYNOLDS
Solicitor General
ROBERT M. ATKINSON
Assistant Attorney General
400 Justice Building
Salem, Oregon 97310
Phone: (503) 378-4402
Counsel for Amicus Curiae

*Counsel of Record
ULE EEEEEE aE EEIERE REE EEEEREREEIEEneG

mae

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether application of the Harbor Maintenance Tax (26
U.S.C. 4461(a)) to goods loaded at ports of the United States for
export shipment violates the Export Clause of the Constitution.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

sa oe oe ee ee ee ee ee ee oe oe oe oe oe ee ae oe a oe a

ee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Cases Cited
Capitol Greyhound Lines v. Brice, 339 U.S. 542

nn Seuee hae eee twee eeee su eeces 5
Edye v. Robinson, 112 U.S. 580 (1884) ....... 5, 6, 10
Evansville-Vanderburgh Airport Authority District v.

Delta Airlines, 405 U.S. 707 (1972) ........ 4-6
Massachusetts v. United States, 435 U.S. 444 (1978) .. 3-6
Pace v. Burgess, 92 U.S. 372 (1876) .............. 3
United States Shoe Corp. v. United States, 114 F.3d

ee es I co ok bee bec ees 4, 6, 10

Constitutional Provisions
es Ge, A a Se weeeccccceceeees 3
Statutory Provisions
PD GAD hiieees ees eeeccéebences i
Pub. L. No. 102-240, 105 Stat. 1914 .............. 8
Other Authorities
Hayes, Anxious Shippers Divert Containers, THE

OREGONIAN, November 4, 1997 ............ 9
Lynch, Railroad Crisis a Boon for Port, THE

OREGONIAN, November 1, 1997 .......... 7-9

MARITIME ADMINISTRATION OFFICE OF PORTS AND
DOMESTIC SHIPPING, UNITED STATES
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, A REPORT
TO CONGRESS ON THE STATUS OF THE PUBLIC
PORTS OF THE UNITED STATES 1994 - 1995
NS hk ae i re ee ee ee. won 7

Mongelluzzo, Big Jams Cause Cargo Diversion at Los
Angeles, JOURNAL OF COMMERCE, Oct. 29,

TRADE STATS NORTHWEST, OREGON’S EXPORT TRADE
WITH THE WORLD (1997) ..............

TRANSPORTATION RESEARCH BOARD, NATIONAL
RESEARCH COUNCIL, LANDSIDE ACCESS TO
See PINS 6 6c Gon 6 6 6 6b 045 60 oe
Turnquist and List, Charting a Course for Intermodal
Policy and Research, 47 TRANSPORTATION
ee os Wie Wile a a & ose

vi

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

In recent years, Oregon, like much of the rest of the nation,
has become deeply involved in what is now commonly referred
to as the “global economy.” In only five years, for example,
Oregon’s exports of high technology products increased over 190
percent.’ In the same period, exports of agricultural products
increased more than 70 percent.’ A large variety of other
products, ranging from leather goods and textiles to transporta-
tion equipment and “second hand goods,” all registered signifi-
cant export increases.’ Because of its proximity, the Port of
Portland on the Columbia River is the logical choice for most
Oregon exporters to get their products to foreign markets.
Others, however, find it more convenient, more economical! or
both to use ports in neighboring states. Similarly, exporters from
other states are regular customers of the Port of Portland.

This movement of goods contributes to the economic
development of the State of Oregon and to the prosperity of its
people. None of it, however, happens in isolation. Congress has
recognized that most freight is transported over an “intermodal”
national system. That is, freight moves to market by use of a
combination of transportation methods, perhaps leaving the
factory by truck, traveling cross country by rail and being
shipped overseas by water. The nation’s ports are the termini of
that national, intermedal freight transportation system. The
overwhelming majority of Oregon’s and the nation’s foreign
trade moves through those ports. Changing and developing
markets, movement of manufacturing operations, mergers and
other changes in various components of the freight transportation

"TRADE STATS NORTHWEST, OREGON’S EXPORT TRADE WITH THE WORLD
3 (1997) (reporting increase from 1991 through 1996).

Ibid.
Id. at 5.

2

system and even natural disasters can slowly or suddenly
transform the needs of exporters, making yesterday’s transport
solution today’s bottleneck. To ensure their ability to compete,
the nation’s exporters, including those in Oregon, depend on the
availability of a flexible network of road, rail, air and water
transportation and a “menu” of ports that allows them to select
the route that gets their products overseas in the most efficient
and economical manner and to change their transportation
strategy as needs and conditions change. The health of the ports,
an essential link in the national freight transportation system, is,
therefore, of vital importance to Oregon’s continued economic
development. Because the Harbor Maintenance Tax contributes
significantly to the federal government’s ability to maintain those
ports, its continuation is a matter of serious concern for the State
of Oregon.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Oregon adopts the Statement of the Case in the Petition for
Certiorari filed by the United States.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

It is beyond dispute that Congress may impose on exports a
fee to recover federal funds expended to maintain the nation’s
ports. The question presented here is whether the method
Congress chose to apportion that fee among those who use the
ports transforms the fee into a general revenue measure forbid-
den by the Export Clause. The court of appeals’ conclusion that
the chosen method makes the fee into a tax is based in part on
an atomistic view of the national freight transportation system in
which each load of freight exported may be required to pay fees
to maintain only the particular port from which it is in fact
shipped. Not only is that analysis based upon a misinterpretation
of this Court’s cases, it is also based upon a misunderstanding of

3

the nature and operation of the national freight transportation
system.

That a fee is collected at one facility and used to maintain
another facility of the same type has never been a valid objection
to that fee. Especially in the area of transportation, this Court
has recognized that the benefit that flows from the fee is not the
creation or maintenance of the specific facility at which it is
paid, but the availability of the system of which that individual
facility is a part. A majority of the nation’s foreign trade passes
through the nation’s ports. As the developing nature of the global
economy suggests and as the recent events illustrate, those who
use One port today may require the services of a different port
tomorrow. It is against the overall availability of the nation’s
ports that the benefits flowing from the port use charge must be
measured.

ARGUMENT

Even in those contexts in which Congress is forbidden to
impose taxes, it may require those who benefit from the use of
federally supported facilities to pay the costs the federal govern-
ment incurs in creating or maintaining those facilities. Massa-
chusetts v. United States, 435 U.S. 444 (1978). As a result, even
though Congress may not impose a tax or duty on exports, U.S.
Const. Art. I, § 9, Cl. 5, it may impose fees to recover costs it
incurs in creating or maintaining the facilities through which
those exports flow. Pace v. Burgess, 92 U.S. 372 (1876). Here,
the government incurs costs for the maintenance of the nation’s
harbors. That it may recover those costs, therefore, should not
be open to dispute. The question is from whom and by what
formula.

The distinction between a permissible fee and an impermissi-
ble tax is revealed by a three-part test. A permissible fee (1)

4

does not discriminate against constitutionally protected interests
or activities, (2) is based upon a fair approximation of use and
(3) is not excessive in relation to the costs incurred by the
government in providing the service in question. Massachusetts
v. United States, 435 U.S. at 464; Evansville-Vanderburgh
Airport Authority District v. Delta Airlines, 405 U.S. 707,
716-20 (1972). The Federal Circuit concluded that the port use
charge is not based upon a fair approximation of use. United
States Shoe Corp. v. United States, 114 F.3d 1564, 1574 (Fed.
Cir. 1997).

The court gave three reasons for that conclusion. First, the
court noted that the tax is imposed on the exporter, whom the
court described as an “indirect user,” rather than the ship owner,
whom the court characterized as “the direct user.” 114 F.3d at
1573. Second, because the charge is calculated based on the
value of the exported goods, the court determined that the benefit
received is not tied closely enough to the amount of the charge
paid. /d. at 1572-74. Finally, the court noted that exporters are
forced to pay for harbor maintenance “across the entire country,
even though they receive no benefit from maintained harbors at
any port other than the one they actually use.” /d. at 1574.
Although this brief is addressed primarily to the last of these
reasons, each is demonstrably flawed.

1. As the dissenting opinion explained, the majority’s first
reason is faulty as a matter of the practical economics of the
marketplace. 114 F.3d at 1581-82 (Mayer, J., dissenting). This
Court has implicitly recognized that, notwithstanding the entity
to which the law imposes the fee, it is likely that it will actually
be paid by the consumer of the transportation services. Thus, the
Court did not “think it particularly important whether the charge
is imposed on the passenger himself, to be collected by the
airline, or on the airline, to be passed on to the passenger if it

era t --

5

chooses.” Evansville- Vanderburgh, 405 U.S. at 714. In the Head
Money Cases (Edye v. Robinson), 112 U.S. 580 (1884), the fee
was collected from the ship operator rather than the passengers,
the “direct” beneficiaries of the fee. The Court nevertheless
found that Congress was not exercising the taxing power. /d. at
595-96.* Here, if the fee were imposed directly on the ship
owners, they would be free to pass it along to the exporters. It
is difficult to see the constitutional significance in the congressio-
nal choice to impose it directly on the exporters, a choice
consistent with this Court’s express pronouncement in Evansville-
Vanderburgh.

2. This Court has also rejected the second basis of the
majority’s reasoning, that the fee is faulty because it is not
calculated by a method that, in the court of appeals’ view,
closely enough approximates the benefits realized by those who
pay it. In Massachusetts v. United States, for example, the Court
considered a “registration tax” on all civil aircraft to recoup the
cost of federal aviation programs. 435 U.S. at 446. The Court
explained that Massachusetts’ argument that the tax in that case
was “not directly related to the degree of use of the airways,”
“has been confronted and rejected in analogous contexts.” 435
U.S. at 463 citing Capitol Greyhound Lines v. Brice, 339 U.S.
542 (1950). In Massachusetts v. United States itself, the Court
rejected an intergovernmental tax immunity challenge to the
application of the registration charge to a state-owned helicopter
even though “a probable deficiency in the formula arises because
not all aircraft make equal use of the federal navigational

“The Court, somewhat obliquely, acknowledged the ability of the ship owner
to pass the fee on to the passengers, noting that although the fee did not protect
the ship owner, “[hje is the man who reaps the profit from the transaction, who
has the means to protect himself and knows well how to do it[.]” 112 U.S. at
595.

6

facilities or the airports that have been planned or constructed
with federal assistance.” 435 U.S. at 468. In other words, the
fee did not fail the fair apportionment test even though the fee
was not directly calculated upon the specific benefit realized by
the aircraft’s owners and might result in some paying more and
others less, in relation to benefit received, than some other
method of calculating the charge. Basing the fees on the value of
the product exported is hardly “wholly irrational as a measure of
the relative use of the facilities for whose benefit they are
levied.” Evansville- Vanderburgh, 405 U.S. at 719.

3. It is on the third leg of the court of appeals’ reasoning,
however, that Oregon wishes to concentrate. The court com-
plained that the fees were used for the maintenance of all
harbors, not just the one from which the cargo in question was
actually shipped. United States Shoe Corp., 114 F.3d at 1574.
The court did not explain precisely why this aspect of the charge
was a defect in respect to the test this Court has applied. Nothing
in Massachusetts v. United States suggests that the Court had
concluded that fees collected at a particular airport could be used
to maintain only that airport. To the contrary, the Court ex-
plained that the availability of the services paid for by the fee
benefits a!! potential users. 435 U.S. at 468 and n. 23. Nor is
there any suggestion in the Head Money Cases that the charge
paid by an individual shipping line could be used only to provide
aid to the immigrants transported by that line. Here, as Judge
Mayer explained, all exporters have all ports available to them.
United States Shoe Corp., 114 F.3d at 1581 (Mayer, J.,
dissenting).

Even if the court of appeals’ focus were not too narrow
legally, it is too narrow factually. The requirement, implicit in
the court’s reasoning, that a fee collected at one port never be
used to maintain a different one takes no account of the benefits

7

provided by an interconnected system of freight transportation to
all exporters. As the national economy has become more
integrated into and dependent upon the worldwide marketplace,
imports and exports alike have increased dramatically. The total
value of the nation’s waterborne foreign trade increased by over
one hundred and sixty-one billion dollars between 1990 and
1995, a jump of over thirty-five percent. MARITIME ADMINIS-
TRATION OFFICE OF PORTS AND DOMESTIC SHIPPING, UNITED
STATES DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, A REPORT TO
CONGRESS ON THE STATUS OF THE PUBLIC PORTS OF THE
UNITED STATES 1994 - 1995 Table 8 (1996) (hereinafter PUBLIC
PoRTS). Exports accounted for almost seventy billion dollars of
that increase, representing growth of over forty-four percent.
Ibid. Considered in sheer volume, rather than value, exports
expanded by almost seventy million metric tons, over twenty
percent, between 1994 and 1995 alone. /bid. The overwhelming
bulk of that foreign trade, ninety-five percent by volume, moves
through the nation’s port system. /d. at 60. And, foreign trade
is expected to double in little more than a decade. /bid.

These rapid increases have exposed significant weaknesses in
the national freight transportation system. “[A]ccess to many
port terminals in terms of navigation channels, and road and rail
links has not kept pace” with the growth in the volume of freight
or with improvements in port terminal facilities. PUBLIC PORTS
62. The result is “bottlenecks in the landside transportation
system serving the ports.” TRANSPORTATION RESEARCH BOARD,
NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL, LANDSIDE ACCESS TO U.S.
PorTS 1 (1993) (hereinafter LANDSIDE ACCESS). “The transfer
of cargo between ports and inland transport is one of the
weakest, least efficient, and most costly links in the intermodal
transportation chain.” /d. at 143. Modern cargo vessels are

8

expensive to operate.’ Delays in loading or unloading are,
therefore, costly. LANDSIDE ACCESS at 41-42.

Congress has expressed its concern about weak linkage
between ports and land transportation and has called for a
national response. Acknowledging the need to improve the
nation’s ability to compete in “the global economy,” Congress
has declared the nation’s policy to develop a “National Inter-
modal Transportation System [that] shall provide improved
access to ports and airports, the Nation’s li** to world com-
merce.” Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of
1991, § 2, Pub. L. No. 102-240, 105 Stat. 1914 (hereinafter
ISTEA). That national intermodal transportation system includes
“all forms of transportation in a unified, interconnected man-
ner[.]” /bid.°

Infrastructure weakness is not the only source of delay and
consequent expense for exporters. Both long and short term
considerations may overtax existing facilities. Containerization
and economies of scale, among other factors, have tended to
concentrate cargo at fewer terminals. LANDSIDE ACCESS 42. In
the long term, those terminals may not have the capacity to meet
all the demands their success has created, making it necessary
for cargo to move to other facilities to find available port

‘Container ships can cost as much as $50,000 as day to operate. Bill
Mongelluzzo, Big Jams Cause Cargo Diversion at Los Angeles, JOURNAL OF
COMMERCE, Oct. 29, 1997, at 1A.

*Responding both to bottlenecks and the fluid needs of modern business in an
international economy, ISTEA envisions “an integrated, closely coordinated
system, providing ‘seamless’ multimodal service for both passengers and freight.”
Dr. Mark A. Turnquist and Dr. George F. List, Charting a Course for Intermodal
Policy and Research, 47 TRANSPORTATION QUARTERLY 257, 258 (1993). In that
“seamless” system, freight would move much like a letter or a telephone call,
choosing whichever means of transportation and route are most efficient and
economical at the moment the shipment is ready to move rather than moving over
a predetermined course. /d. at 267-69.

9

capacity. /bid. A short term example is provided by the exten-
sive delays in loading and unloading ships caused by the recent
shortages of labor and railcars at the Ports of Los Angeles and
Long Beach, which normally handle about twenty-five percent of
the nation’s ocean-going container traffic. Bill Mongelluzzo, Big
Jams Cause Cargo Diversion at Los Angeles, JOURNAL OF
COMMERCE, Oct. 29, 1997, at 1A (hereinafter Big Jams); Steve
Hayes, Anxious Shippers Divert Containers, THE OREGONIAN,
November 4, 1997, at D1 (hereinafter Anxious Shippers). Other
factors, such as market shifts or changes in commodity prices,
may make it more profitable to obtain supplies or suppliers from
new locations. See Dr. Mark A. Turnquist and Dr. George F.
List, Charting a Course for Intermodal Policy and Research, 47
TRANSPORTATION QUARTERLY 257, 266 (1993).

As one method of transportation achieves new efficiencies or
other competitive advantages, some ports may suffer. See
LANDSIDE ACCESS 43 (ports on the Gulf Coast and Great Lakes
have suffered as freight has moved to markets in adjacent areas
overtand; rather than by ship). Others may benefit. The recent
congestion at the Ports of Los Angeles and Long Beach, for
example, has caused some shippers to reroute ships, sending
goods through other ports. Jim Lynch, Railroad Crisis a Boon
for Port, THE OREGONIAN, November 1, 1997, at Bl (major
shipper moving business temporarily to Port of Portland); Big
Jams, supra (major retailer sending cargo by water to the East
Coast rather than through Los Angeles-Long Beach); Anxious
Shippers, supra (traffic being diverted to other ports on East and
West Coasts).

In a rapidly developing and changing worldwide market,
exporters must be able to adapt rapidly to altered circumstances.
If the exporter cannot get its product into the nearest port
because of weakness in rail or road links, or out of that port

10

because of congestion that delays unloading the vessels that will
carry its products overseas, it must be able to look elsewhere to
find the capacity to move its products or face the risk of losing
customers to those who can deliver more promptly. Just as the
availability of many airports benefits all air travelers, the
availability of many ports benefits even those exporters who may
use only one of them today. Just as those businesses whose
goods were primarily coming through the Ports of Los Angeles
and Long Beach yesterday have benefitted from the availability
of the other ports they are using today, so will other importers
and exporters benefit from the availability of those other ports as
their needs or external circumstances make it more expedient for
their products to move through different channels and other

ports.

A tax is, in general terms, an exaction that goes to the
general support of the government. Head Money Cases, 112
U.S. at 595-96. It is consistent neither with this Court’s cases
nor with reality to suggest that a charge that is demonstrably
used only for the purposes of maintaining harbors, see United
States Shoe Corp., 114 F.3d at 1579 (Mayer, J., dissenting), is
transformed into a general revenue measure merely because a
class of beneficiaries pays for a system of harbors that actually
or potentially benefits all members of that class. The Constitution
does not require Congress to blind itself to the realities of
economic life, and this Court has repeatedly rebuffed requests
that it do so. The court of appeals’ overly narrow view of who
benefits from the maintenance of a vibrant national freight
transportation system and how they do so is out of step with the
reality of modern intermodal freight transportation as well as
inconsistent with this Court’s practical fair apportionment
jurisprudence.

11
CONCLUSION

This court should reverse the judgment of the Federal
Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

HARDY MYERS
Attorney General of Oregon
DAVID SCHUMAN
Deputy Attorney General
MICHAEL D. REYNOLDS
Solicitor General
ROBERT M. ATKINSON
Assistant Attorney General
Counsel for Amicus Curiae

December 15, 1997

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0118%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
