# Amicus Curiae Brief — Lewis v. Brunswick Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0114%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 523 U.S. 1113

## Text

‘
” .
is
*)

No. 97-288

IN THE
Supreme Court of The United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1997

VICKY LEWIS, et ai.,
Petitioners,
V.

BRUNSWICK CORP..,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE TRIAL LAWYERS FOR
PUBLIC JUSTICE, P.C., IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

Leslie A. Brueckner, Esq.

(Counsel of Record)

Arthur H. Bryant, Esq.

Trial Lawyers for Public Justice, P.C.
1717 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.

Suite 800

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 797-8600

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

December 29, 1997

SSS ===

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

A. The Coast Guard’s Decision Net To Regulate
Propeller Guards

ARGUMENT:

THE COAST GUARD’S DECISION NOT TO
REGULATE PROPELLER GUARDS DOES NOT
PREEMPT PETITIONERS’ COMMON-LAW

Under Myrick, The Coast Guard’s Decision Not To
Regulate Propeller Guards Leaves The States Free
To Act As They Wish

Even If The Coast Guard’s Decision Not To
Regulate Propeller Guards Preempts State
Regulation, It Does Not Expressly Or Impliedly
Preempt Petitioners’ Common-Law Claims

A. Petitioners’ Claims Are Not Expressly
Preempted Because Congress
Expressly Preserved Them

1. The Boat Safety Act's
Preemption Provision Does Not
Encompass Common-Law
0 ee Pee ee

2. The Boat Safety Act’s Savings
Clause Expressly Preserves

C. Even Assuming That Implied
Preemption Analysis Can Be Reached
Here, Petitioners’ Claims Are Not
Preempted Because They Do Not
Conflict With Federal Law ............

CONCLUSION ..cccccccesossseceeen eum

**

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page:
American Tobacco Co. v. Patterson, 456 U.S. 63

i eh oe bie bleSelesccceccees 19
Arkansas Elec. Co-Op v. Arkansas Pub. Serv. Comm'n,

EO CCL” eee 1!
Boyle v. United Technologies Corp., 487 U.S. 500

TR IGS ole oe ce boc donb bees 14
California Fed. Sav. and Loan Ass'n v. Guerra, 479

I EEE OOS OTE E 9
Carstensen v. Brunswick Corp. , 49 F.2d 430 (8th

Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 182 (1995) ..... 23
Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 50S U.S. 504

EE ee ee ee 1, 23, 24, 26

Estate of Cowart v. Nicklos Drilling Co., 505 U.S.
Se 18
Td. 9

Florida Lime & Avocado Growers v. Paul, 373 U.S.
LEE EE 13, 14

Freightliner Corp. v. Myrick, \15 S. Ct. 1483
ce wee ce< passim

Goodyear Atomic Corp. v. Miller, 486 U.S. 174

(Pee ae ae Ae eee 23
Hillsborough County, Fla. v. Auto Med. Labs., 471

tS | Ber eerery ys irra eee 14, 15, 27
Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52 (1941) .......... 14
Medtronic v. Lohr, 116 S. Ct. 2240 (1996) ...... passim

Moore v. Brunswick Bowling & Billiards Corp., 889
S.W.2d 246 (Tex.), cert. denied, 115 U.S. 664
Pe See ee ee ee 18, 29-30

Morrison-Knudsen Const. v. Director, Office of
Workers Comp. Programs, 461 U.S. 624 (1983)... .. 18

Mowery v. Mercury Marine, 773 F. Supp. 1012 (N.D.
OD Pe ee a et eae ee ee 23

Paccar, Inc. v. NHTSA, 573 F.2d 632 (9th Cir.),
cert. denied, 439 U.S. 862 (1978) ............. 10

Puerto Rico Dep't of Consumer Affairs v. Isla
Petroleum Corp., 485 U.S. 496 (1988) .......... 11

Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp. , 337 U.S. 218
CR oc hemes cde deneeeneeeans 8, 13, 14

Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85 (1983) .... 14
Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. 238 (1984) ... 9

United States v. James, 478 U.S. 597 (1986) ........ 21

iV

Statutes and Regulations:
wens 5
National Traffic and Motor Vehicle Safety Act of

1966, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1381 ef seg. (1982).......... 10
Federal Boat Safety Act of 1971, 46 U.S.C.

$§ 4301 ef seq. (1988 & Supp. V. 1993) ...... passim
46 U.S.C. § 4302%(aX1) ...........-. so. RBM
ee SP eee 18
Ce a eee ree 3
SEES OE Ee 18
a passim
NR 256 bee 6s Ss vou 00 18
ie 6 5 Be es 6 58 HO SE es 18
Ce passim
49 C.F.R. § 571.121(S3) (1993) ................ 10
Legislative History:
S. Rep. No. 248, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. (1971),

reprinted in 1971 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1333... . 15-16, 22, 29

Vv

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE'

Trial Lawyers for Public Justice ("TLPJ") is a national public
interest law firm dedicated to pursuing justice for the victims of
corporate and governmental abuses. Through involvement in
precedent-setting and socially significant litigation, TLPJ seeks
to ensure that tort law fully serves its dual purposes --
compensating those injured by wrongful conduct and deterring
similar conduct in the future. TLPJ is gravely concerned that,
if the tort system is closed to innocent victims of unguarded
boat propellers through improper application of the preemption
doctrine in this case, neither of these purposes will be served.

This case, moreover, has implications far beyond the narrow
issue of preemption under the Federal Boat Safety Act of 1971.
If the decision below is permitted to stand, it could massively
broaden the scope of federal preemption far beyond what
Congress ever intended. Under the Eleventh Circuit's
reasoning, any federal decision not to regulate could be deemed
to have preemptive force, regardless of the reason for federal
inaction and regardless of the extent to which Congress made
Clear its intent nor to intrude on the States’ regulatory powers
and/or strip individuals of their common-law remedies. This
approach turns the “strong presumption against pre-emption,”
Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 50S U.S. 504, 523 (1993), on
its head and creates, in its place, a powerful presumption in
favor of federal preemption that arises simply by virtue of
agency inaction. Not only would this constitute a grievous blow
against the traditional rights of victims to seek redress for

' Letters of consent to the filing of this brief have been filed with the
Clerk. No counsel for either party authored the brief in whole or in part, and
nO person or entity other than amicus curiae made any monetary contribution
to ts preparation or submission.

injuries caused by dangerous products, but it would strip States
of their historic power to protect the health and welfare of their
citizens. Reversal is appropriate to prevent this deep
encroachment on the rights of States to protect their citizens and
the rights of citizens to use the common law to protect
themselves -- rights that neither Congress nor the Coast Guard
ever expressed any intention to restrict.

STATEMENT

This case presents the question of whether a claim that a boat
engine was defective because it lacks a propeller guard is
preempted by the Federal Boat Safety Act of 1971, 46 U.S.C.
§§ 4301 er seq. (1988 & Supp. V. 1993) ("Boat Safety Act" or
"Act"), and by a decision by the United States Coast Guard nor
to issue regulations requiring propeller guards on all motor
boats. The Eleventh Circuit held that such claims are impliedly
preempted by the Act, even though: (1) there is no federal
regulation or standard relating to propeller guards; (2) the Boat
Safety Act’s preemption provision only applies where there has
been "a [federal] regulation prescribed under section 4302 of
{the Act]," 46 U.S.C. § 4306; and (3) the Act’s savings clause
provides that compliance with any such regulations issued
thereunder “does not relieve a person from liability at common
law or under State law." 46 U.S.C. § 4311(g). That decision
is in direct conflict with Freightliner Corp. v. Myrick, 115 S.
Ct. 1483 (1995), and cannot be reconciled with the plain
language of the Boat Safety Act, which expressly preserves all
common-law claims.

A. The Coast Guard’s Decision Not To Regulate
Propeller Guards.

In recent years, public attention has become increasingly
focused on motor-boat propellers "as instruments of devastation
that are injuring and killing large numbers of people." Joint

2

Appendix ("J.A.") 174. Propeller-related injuries “are often
characterized by massive trauma, including significant blood
loss or death.” J.A. 170. Between 1976 and 1990, the Coast
Guard officially reported 175 fatalities and 1,438 non-fatal
injuries in its Boating Statistics category “struck by boat or
propeller" -- an average of approximately 100 per year. /d.

The injuries associated with unguarded boat propellers have
given rise to numerous lawsuits against marine engine
manufacturers since the 1970s. J.A. 239. However, despite
this litigation, as of 1992, no major marine engine manufacturer
had equipped any of its boats with any type of propeller guard
to protect people in the water. /d.

The growing public controversy over the use of propeller
guards led the Coast Guard to consider whether to begin the
process of developing a federal regulation mandating their use
on passenger boats. Under the Boat Safety Act, the Coast
Guard has the authority to "prescribe regulations establishing
minimum safety standards" for recreational boats. 46 U.S.C.
§ 4302(a)(1). The National Boating Safety Advisory Council
(the “Advisory Council") is charged with assisting the Coast
Guard in evaluating the need for safety regulations. See id. §
4302(c)(4). In 1988, at the Coast Guard's request, a
subcommittee of the Advisory Council (the "Subcommittee")
was formed to investigate the feasibility of requiring guards to
prevent underwater propeller accidents. See J.A. 46.

In November 1989, the Subcommittee recommended that the
agency take no regulatory action regarding propeller guards.

Although it recognized the hazards presented by unguarded boat
propellers, it found that

{njo simple universal design suitable for all boats and
motors in existence has been described or demonstrated to
be technologically or economically feasible. To retrofit the

3

some 10 to 15,000,000 existing boats would thus require a
vast number of guard models at prohibitive cost.

J.A. 71. See also J.A. 73 ("there are no indications that there
is a generic or universal solution currently available or
foreseeable in the future.") Thus, the Subcommittee concluded
that "[t}he U.S. Coast Guard should take no regulatory action

to require propeller guards." /d.?

The Advisory Council subsequently adopted the
Subcommittee’s recommendation that the Coast Guard not issue
regulations requiring propeller guards on all recreational boats.
J.A. 138. However, in response to a presentation by a
propeller strike victim that the search for new technology should
continue, the Advisory Council’s Chair “assured the Council
and guests that this is not a dead issue. If new pertinent
information becomes available, a subcommittee will be
reconvened." J.A. 139.

On February |, 1990, the Coast Guard adopted the Advisory
Council’s recommendation that it "take no regulatory action to
require propeller guards." J.A. 163. In a letter memorializing
its decision (the “Coast Guard Letter"), a Coast Guard official
reiterated the concern that there was no universal solution
currently available to solve the propeller guard problem:

? In its report, the Subcommittee also discussed that “{a] number of
lawsuits have been filed by victims of alleged propeller strikes to recover
damages from the operator of the striking vessel and also against the
manufacturer of the propulsion unit and/or boat." J.A. 50-51. The
Subcommittee went on to note that, if the Coast Guard were w adopt a
regulation mandating propeller guards, “[sjuch mandate would . . . establish

prima facie manufacturer liability in having failed to provide them.” J.A. 51.

It said nothing about what effect, if any, a decision no? to issue a regulation

would have on those lawsuits.

The regulatory process is very structured and stringent
regarding justification. Available propeller guard accident
data do not support imposition of a regulation requiring
propeller guards on motorboats. Regulatory action is also
limited by the many questions about whether a universally
acceptable propeller guard is available or technically
feasible in all modes of boat operation. Additionally, the
question of retrofitting millions of boats would certainly be
a major economic consideration.

Id. The Coast Guard Letter added, however, that the agency
would "continue to collect and analyze accident data for changes
and trends . . . [and] review and retain any information made
available regarding development and testing of new propeller
guarding devices ..." Jd. At no point did the Coast Guard
Letter -- or anything else issued by the Coast Guard -- indicate
that the agency intended to ban state regulation with respect to
propeller guards, or to preempt common-law claims relating to
a manufacturer’s failure to install propeller guards in its boats.

The Coast Guard’s decision not to regulate propeller guards
was not the product of any formal rulemaking proceeding and
did not result in any regulatory action. The Coast Guard Letter
describing the agency's decision not to regulate was not exposed
to public notice and comment and it was never published in the
Federal Register. Thus, there was no attempt to conform to the
notice-and-comment rulemaking requirements of the
Administrative Procedure Act. See 5 U.S.C. § 553 (1994).
To date, there is still no federal regulation with respect to
propeller guards, and their use is neither mandated nor
prohibited by federal law.

B. The Proceedings Below.

On June 6, 1993, petitioners’ daughter, Kathryn Lewis, was
thrown from a passenger boat and killed by the unguarded

5

propeller of an engine manufactured by respondent Brunswick
Corporation. Her parents sued respondent for common law
negligence, product liability, and fraudulent misrepresentation,
alleging primarily that the engine should have had a propeller
guard. The district court granted respondent’ motion for
summary judgment on the ground that petitioners’ common-law
claims are preempted by the Boat Safety Act. Petitioners’
Appendix ("P.A.") 26-32. The Eleventh Circuit affirmed,
holding that, although the Act does not expressly preempt
common-law claims, petitioners’ claims are impliedly preempted
because, if permitted to go forward, they would conflict with
the Coast Guard’s decision nof to issue a regulation requiring
propeller guards on all passenger boats. P.A. 3, 24-25.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In determining whether a state cause of action is preempted
by federal law, a court's sole task is to ascertain the intent of
Congress. This determination of Congressional intent is not
made in a vacuum; rather, it is informed by a strong
presumption against preemption that can be overcome only by
a clear manifestation of Congressional intent to the contrary.

Seen in this light, the lower court clearly erred in finding
petitioners’ common-law claims preempted by the Boat Safety
Act. First, as a threshold matter, there can be no finding of
preemption here because the Coast Guard has not issued any
regulation regarding propeller guards. Instead, after an internal
review that never reached the rulemaking stage, the agency
decided that regulatory action was not warranted at that time.
Finding preemption under this circumstances is squarely at odds
with Freightliner Corp. v. Myrick, 115 S. Ct. 1483 (1995),
where this Court held that federal regulatory inaction does not
preempt the States’ power to act.

Even assuming, however, that the Coast Guard's decision not

6

to regulate propeller guards could preempt the States’ power to
regulate, it still would not preempt petitioners’ common-law
claims. The reason is simple: the Boat Safety Act makes clear
that Congress did not intend to preempt any common-law
claims. The language of the preemption provision shows that
Congress merely intended to preempt state /egislative or
administrative safety standards that are not identical to federal
safety standards, and not to preempt common-law tort actions.
See 46 U.S.C. § 4306. The Act's savings clause, moreover,
States in sweeping terms that “compliance with standards,
regulations, or orders prescribed under this chapter does not
relieve a person from liability at common law or under State
law.” 46 U.S.C. § 4311(g). Both the plain language of this
“anti-preemption” provision and its legislative history make
plain that petitioners’ claims are expressly preserved, not

preempted.

That being so, the Eleventh Circuit erred in even considering
whether petitioners’ claims are impliedly preempted by the Act.
This Court has made clear that, where Congress has spoken
directly and clearly on the issue of preemption -- as it did in the
Boat Safety Act -- there can be no finding of implied
preemption. Because the Act contains both an express
preemption provision and an express “anti-preemption"
provision manifesting a Congressional intent nof to preempt,
any inquiry into implied conflict preemption is precluded.

In any event, there is no implied conflict preemption here
since petitioners’ claims do not conflict with the Coast Guard’s
decision not to regulate propeller guards. Implied preemption
only lies where it is impossible for a private party to comply
with both state and federal requirements or where state law
would frustrate the full purposes and objectives of Congress.
"Impossibility" is not an issue here, because federal law
imposes no requirements whatsoever regarding propeller

guards. Thus, respondent can do whatever is necessary to
comply with Georgia law -- including compensating petitioners
for their injuries -- without running afoul of federal law.
Similarly, petitioners’ claims would not "frustrate" Congress’
purposes, since a federal decision nof to regulate propeller
guards in no way conflicts with a common-law claim that a
specific engine design was defective because it lacked a
propeller guard. Moreover, a claim that a specific boat engine
is unsafe because it lacks a propeller guard is entirely consistent
with the central goal underlying the Act: improving boat safety.
Thus, there can be no holding of express or implied preemption
in this case.

ARGUMENT

THE COAST GUARD’S DECISION NOT TO
REGULATE PROPELLER GUARDS DOES NOT
PREEMPT PETITIONERS’ COMMON-LAW CLAIMS.

This case is governed by two bedrock legal principles
regarding federal preemption. First, as this Court recently
reaffirmed in Medtronic v. Lohr, 116 S. Ct. 2240, 2250 (1996),
a party arguing that federal law preempts state law bears a
heavy burden of overcoming the long-standing “presum(ption]
that Congress does not cavalierly pre-empt state-law causes of
action." This presumption against preemption is even stronger
where, as in this case, preemption would displace the historic
power of the States to protect the health and safety of their
citizens. See Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 337 U.S. 218,
230 (1947). Moreover, where preemption of common-law
claims would leave injured individuals without any state or
federal remedy, which is the result sought by respondent, a
court may find preemption only in the most compelling
circumstances. See English v. General Electric Corp., 496
U.S. 72, 87-90 (1990); Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464

U.S. 238, 251 (1984).

Second, in determining whether a state cause of action is
preempted by federal law, the Court's “sole task is to ascertain
the intent of Congress." California Fed. Sav. and Loan Ass'n
v. Guerra, 479 U.S. 272 (1987) (plurality opinion). See also
Medtronic, 116 S. Ct. at 2250 ("‘[t}he purpose of Congress is
the ultimate touchstone’ in' every preemption case.") (quoting
Retail Clerks v. Schermerhorn, 375 U.S. 96, 103 (1963)). In
Medtronic, this Court explained that “Congress’ intent, of
course, primarily is discerned from the language of the pre-
emption statute and the ‘statutory framework’ surrounding it."
116 S. Ct. at 2250-51. Medtronic added, however, that a court
must also give close consideration to the "structure and purpose
of the statute as a whole,’ .. . as revealed not only in the text,
but through the reviewing court’s reasoned understanding of the
way in which Congress intended the statute and its surrounding
regulatory scheme to affect business, consumers, and the law."
Id. at 2251 (quoting Gade v. National Solid Wastes Management
Assn., 505 U.S. 88, 98 (1992)).

Applying these standards here, only one conclusion can be
reached: there is no preemption of petitioners’ claims under the
Boat Safety Act.

I. Under Myrick, The Coast Guard’s Decision Not
To Regulate Propeller Guards Leaves The States
Free To Act As They Wish.

Respondent would have this Court believe that the core
question in this case is whether the Boat Safety Act expressly
or impliedly preempts common-law damages claims. But a key
threshold question is whether the Coast Guard has taken
sufficient regulatory action with respect to propeller guards to
even reach that question. Under Freightliner Corp. v. Myrick,

115 S. Ct. 1483 (1995), the answer is plainly "no."

Myrick considered whether a claim that a manufacturer was
negligent for failing to install antilock brakes in tractor-trailer
trucks was preempted by the National Traffic and Motor
Vehicle Safety Act of 1966, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1381 et seq. (1982)
(the "Motor Vehicle Safety Act"), and by a federal motor
vehicle safety regulation governing airbrake systems in buses,
trucks, and trailers. 49 C.F.R. § 571.121 (S3) (1993)
("Standard 121").

As originally promulgated in 1974, Standard 121 required
that all truck manufacturers install antilock brakes. This
requirement was invalidated in Paccar, Inc. v. NHTSA, 573
F.2d 632, 640 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 862 (1978),
which held that, although the braking performance of some
trucks was improved by antilock brakes, “critical problems
began with mass production of vehicles designed to meet the
Standard." /d. at 641. Due to the unforeseen manufacturing
difficulties encountered during mass production of antilock
systems, the Ninth Circuit ordered NHTSA to suspend the
antilock requirements of Standard 121. /d. at 643. In
response, NHTSA added language to the regulation stating that
the antilock brake provisions invalidated by Paccar “are not
applicable to trucks and trailers." 49 C.F.R. § 571.121(S3).

In Myrick, the truck manufacturers argued that Standard 121
preempted common-law claims that their trucks were defective
because they lacked antilock brakes. This Court disagreed,
holding that there could be no preemption because "([t)here is no
express federal standard addressing [antilock brakes] for trucks
or trailers." 115 S. Ct. at 1487. In so holding, Myrick
explicitly rejected the truck manufacturers’ claim “that the
absence of regulation itself constitutes regulation.” /d. Mere
regulatory inaction, said the Court, carries no preemptive force

10

whatsoever, especially where “there is no evidence that [the
federal agency] decided that [the product) should be free from
all state regulation. . .." /d.

Myrick mandates reversal of the decision below. In finding
federal preemption of petitioners’ common-law claims, the
Eleventh Circuit embraced the very proposition that was
rejected in Myrick: that “the absence of regulation itself
constitutes regulation.” /d. This ruling has the perverse effect
of transforming a federal decision nof to require propeller
guards on all motor boats into an affirmative decision to ban
any state regulation requiring a propeller guard on any motor
boat, as well as any state common-law claim simply requiring
a manufacturer to pay damages for failing to include a specific
propeller guard on a specific boat. This result is contrary to
Myrick and it flies in the face of numerous prior decisions of
this Court holding that mere federal regulatory inaction, without
more, does not imply an authoritative federal determination that
the area is best left unregulated. See Puerto Rico Dep't of
Consumer Affairs v. Isla Petroleum Corp. , 485 U.S. 496, 503-
04 (1988) (federal inaction alone does not have preemptive
effect); Arkansas Elec. Co-Op v. Arkansas Pub. Serv. Comm'n,
461 U.S. 375, 384 (1983) (regulatory inaction only has
preemptive force where Congress has made clear that its
intention is “to fill a regulatory gap, not to perpetuate one.")
(footnote omitted).

In addition, here, as in Myrick, “there is no evidence that [the
federal agency] decided that [the product at issue] should be
free from all state regulation. . .." 115 S. Ct. at 1487. As
explained above, the Coast Guard's decision not to even begin
drafting a federal regulation requiring propeller guards stemmed
from its “many questions about whether a universally acceptable
propeller guard is available or technically feasible in all modes
of boat operation.” J.A. 163. The agency never even

ll

considered whether some or all state regulations (much less
some or all common-law claims) were desirable. The Coast
Guard also never considered, much less decided, whether there
some technology appropriate for use in some boats. Rather, the
agency merely found that there was no technology appropriate
for a national, across-the-board regulation applicable to all
types of boats. This determination is entirely consistent with --
and leaves the States free to adopt -- state regulations mandating
propeller guards on specific boats or on boats used for a
particular purpose. It is also, of course, entirely consistent with
a finding that respondent acted negligently under Georgia
common law by failing to install a propeller guard on the boat
engine that killed Kathryn Lewis.

The Eleventh Circuit nonetheless distinguished Myrick on the
theory that, in contrast to the Motor Vehicle Safety Act, the
Boat Safety Act gives the Coast Guard exclusive authority to
issue safety standards:

While an absence of regulation under the [Motor] Vehicle
Safety Act does not prevent states from regulating motor
vehicle safety standards, an absence of federal regulation
under the [Boat Safety Act] means that no regulation, state
or federal, is appropriate. [Myrick] is distinguishable for
that reason.

P.A. 20. Based on its view that the Boat Safety Act only
permits state regulations that are identical to federal standards,
the Eleventh Circuit held that the Coast Guard's decision not to
issue a regulation requiring propeller guards was more than just
regulatory inaction, but rather demonstrated an intention to
"mandate[ } an absence of both federal and state propeller guard
requirements." /d. (citations omitted).

This argument rests on the radical -- and wholly unsupported

12

. =r

-- notion that the Boat Safety Act essentially preempts the entire
fieid of boat safety regulation. It is well established that courts
may not infer Congressional authority to supercede the "historic
police powers of the States . . . unless that was the clear and
manifest purpose of Congress." Rice, 337 U.S. at 230.
“Federal occupation of a field of commerce may not be deemed
preemptive of state regulatory power in the absence of
persuasive reasons -- either that the nature of the regulated
subject matter permits no other conclusion or that Congress has
unmistakenly so ordained." Florida Lime & Avocado Growers
v. Paul, 373 U.S. 132, 142 (1963).

Here, there is no plausible argument that Congress has
“unmistakenly ordained” its intent to preempt the entire field of
State regulatory power with respect to boat safety. To begin
with, the Boat Safety Act’s express preemption clause contains
no language barring States from regulating in the absence of
federal action. Rather, it simply provides that “a State... .
may not establish . . . a [boat] safety standard . . . that is not
identical to a regulation prescribed under section 4302." 46
U.S.C. § 4306. This language merely limits what a State can
do in the event the Coast Guard Aas prescribed a regulation
(i.e., the State is limited to prescribing an identical standard);
it says nothing about what a State can or cannot do where -- as
here -- the Coast Guard has decided nof to take any regulatory
action. At the same time, another provision of the Boat Safety
Act limits the Coast Guard’s authority to prescribing “minimum
safety standards” (46 U.S.C. § 4302(a)(1)) -- language that this
Court has previously construed as not evidencing Congressional
intent to preempt all safety regulation in a particular field. See
Florida Lime, 373 U.S. at 147-48.

Of course, language accomplishing total preemption of the
regulatory field would have been easy to fashion had Congress

so intended. See, e.g., Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S.

13

85, 96-101 (1983) (field preemption where federal law
expressly preempted “any and all state laws insofar as they may
now or hereafter relate to any employee benefit pian" covered
by ERISA); Rice, 337 U.S. at 233-35 (field preemption where
federal law expressly states that "the power, jurisdiction, and
authority conferred upon [the agency] under this Act shall be
exclusive with respect to all persons securing a license
hereunder so long as said language remains in effect"). The
absence of any such language in the Boat Safety Act
demonstrates that Congress did not expressly preempt the entire
field of state regulation in the boat safety area.

Nor could there be any claim that “the nature of the regulated
subject matter" -- boat safety -- “permits no other conclusion”
than that Congress intended to bar all state regulation in the
area. Florida Lime, 373 U.S. at 142. Even the lower court
recognized that the Boat Safety Act regulates an area (safety)
that “historically has been regulated by the states through their
police powers ...." P.A. 14. This is therefore not a case
where Congressional intent to preempt state law may be
inferred from a “dominant federal interest" in the field.
Compare Hillsborough County, Fla. v. Auto Med. Labs., 47\
U.S. 707, 718 (1985) (no dominant federal interest in regulating
health and safety sufficient to support implied preemption of
entire field of state regulation), with Boyle v. United
Technologies Corp., 487 U.S. 500, 505-06 (1988) (implying
intent to preempt field from uniquely federal interest in liability
of independent contractors performing work for federal
government), and Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 62 (1941)
(implying intent to preempt field from dominance of federal
interest in foreign affairs).

Nor is this a case where the “scheme of federal regulation is
sufficiently comprehensive to make reasonable the inference that
Congress ‘left no room’ for supplementary state regulation.”

14

-
me

Hillsborough, 471 U.S. at 713 (quoting Rice, 331 U.S. at 230).
The Act itself does not require the Coast Guard to prescribe any
regulations governing boat safety; instead, it merely states that
"[t}he Secretary may prescribe regulations . . . establishing
minimum safety standards for recreational vessels . ji. 65
U.S.C. § 4302(a) (emphasis added). The fact that the agency
has issued some regulations in the area of boat safety (although
not with regard to propeller guards!) is hardly sufficient to infer
Congressional intent to preempt the entire field of boat safety.
See Hillsborough, 471 U.S. at 718 ("[wje are even more
reluctant to infer preemption from the comprehensiveness of
regulations than from the comprehensiveness of statutes").

Under the rubric of its “implied conflict preemption" analysis,
however, the lower court held that Congress must have intended
to preempt all state regulation because any other result would
undermine “the need for uniformity applicable to vessels
moving in interstate commerce.” P.A. 19 (quoting S. Rep. No.
92-248, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. (1971), reprinted in 1971
U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1341). This conclusion fails in light of the
overriding purpose of the Boat Safety Act: to stem the
“alarming” loss of life from boat accidents by requiring
compliance with minimum safety standards. See S. Rep. No.
92-248, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. (1971), reprinted in 1971
U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1334. Given this goal, it would have made
no sense for Congress to have wiped out all existing state
regulation of boat safety in one fell swoop, leaving no standards
in effect unless and until the Coast Guard saw fit to promulgate

minimum safety regulations.

* We note that it was error for the lower court to reach the question

of implied field preemption in light of Congress’ clearly expressed intention
not to preempt all state regulation in the boat safety field. As explained below
at 11.B., a finding of implied preemption is prohibited where Congress’ express
language provides a “reliable imdicium” of its intent with respect to
preemption.

15

In short, by relying on one sentence in the Boat Safety Act’s
legislative history regarding a need for uniformity in boat safety
standards, the Eleventh Circuit read the word “Safety” out of
the Boat Safety Act. In light of Congress’ overriding focus on
actually improving boat safety -- and given the especially strong
presumption against preemption of an entire field of state
regulation -- that interpretation cannot stand. Thus, the lower
court’s attempt to distinguish Myrick on the theory that the Boat
Safety Act -- unlike the Motor Vehicle Safety Act -- preempts
the entire regulatory field is unavailing.

At bottom, the Coast Guard’s decision not to regulate
propeller guards is markedly similar to the fate of antilock
brake regulation described in Myrick. In both cases, the
absence of regulation was due to a determination that the
current state of technology did not warrant a_ universal
regulatory solution to a safety problem. In Myrick, that
decision was made by the Ninth Circuit and then memorialized
in the amendment to Standard 121 eliminating the antilock brake
requirement for trucks and trailers; in this case, the decision not
to regulate was made by the agency in the first instance. But
the result in both instances was the same: an absence of any
federal regulation mandating or prohibiting the use of the
technology in question. Myrick makes clear that federal
preemption simply does not exist under these circumstances.
As a result, this Court need not reach the question of whether
federal regulations actually issued under the Boat Safety Act
would preempt state common-law claims.

16

Il. Even If The Coast Guard’s Decision Not To

Regulate Propeller Guards Preempts State
Regulation, It Does Not Expressly Or Impliedly
Preempt Petitioners’ Common-Law Claims.

A. Petitioners’ Claims Are Not
Expressly Preempted Because

Congress Expressly Preserved Them.

Even assuming that the Coast Guard’s decision not to regulate
could have preemptive force under the Boat Safety Act (which
it cannot), the Eleventh Circuit's finding that Congress impliedly
preempted petitioners’ common-law claims is in error for a
simple reason: the Act makes crystal clear that Congress did not
intend to preempt any common-law damages claims. Indeed,
the two provisions of the Boat Safety Act that set forth
Congress’ intent with respect to preemption -- the preemption
provision (46 U.S.C. § 4306) and the savings clause (46 U.S.C.
§ 4311(g)) -- reveal that common-law claims are expressly
preserved, not preempted. That being so, the lower court erred
in even considering whether -- much less finding that -- such
claims are impliedly preempted.

1. The Boat Safety Act’s Preemption
Provision Does Not Encompass
Common-Law Claims.

To begin with, the Act’s express preemption clause does not
encompass common-law claims. It provides that, subject to
certain exceptions, "a State or political subdivision of a State
may not establish, continue in effect, or enforce a law or
regulation establishing a recreational vessel or associated
equipment performance or other safety standard or imposing a
requirement for associated equipment . . . that is not identical
to a regulation prescribed under section 4302 of this title." 46

17

U.S.C. § 4306 (emphasis added). As the Texas Supreme Court
held in Moore v. Brunswick Bowling & Billiards Corp., 889
S.W.2d 246 (Tex.), cert. denied, 115 U.S. 664 (1994), there
are numerous reasons why the phrase “law or regulation" in this
section, standing alone, should not be read to include common-
law claims at all. See id. at 249-50. Even the broadest reading
of that phrase ultimately breaks down, however, in light of
other aspects of the preemption provision that make clear that
Congress never intended to preempt tort suits against boat
manufacturers.

First, the preemption provision merely prohibits a State from
imposing a nonidentical “law or regulation establishing . . . a
performance or other safety standard or imposing a requirement
for associated equipment .. .." 46 U.S.C. § 4306 (emphasis
added). “Safety standard” is a term used at various places in
the Act to refer to the administrative standards the Coast Guard
is authorized to adopt pursuant to Section 4302. See, e.g., id.
at § 4302(a)(1); § 4302(aX(2); § 4304; § 4311(f(1); §
4311(f)(2). The use of the same term to refer to the state
norms that may be displaced by a Federal “safety standard" is,
under normal rules of statutory construction, indicative that the
term is meant to have the same meaning. See Estate of Cowart
v. Nicklos Drilling Co., 50S U.S. 469, 479 (1992) (it is a “basic
canon of statutory construction that identical terms within an
Act bear the same meaning") (citing cases); Morrison-Knudsen
Const. v. Director, Office of Workers Comp. Programs, 461
U.S. 624, 633 (1983) ("a word is presumed to have the same
meaning in all subsections of the same statute"). See also
Medtronic, 116 S. Ct. at 2252 (plurality opinion) (citing other
uses of the term “requirements” throughout statute to
demonstrate that Congress merely intended to preempt
“enactments of positive law by legislative or administrative
bodies, not the application of general rules of common law by
judges and juries"). Thus, the only sensible reading of the

18

Act's preemption provision is that a “safety standard"
promulgated under the Act (or a requirement for equipment
associated with such a standard) will only preempt a state
legislative or administrative “safety standard" that is not
identical to the federal standard.

Second, if Congress intended the preemption provision to
apply to common-law claims, it would likely have chosen words
that more clearly did so - particularly since it referred
specifically to common-law liability in the Boat Safety Act's
savings clause. The term “safety standard” is hardly a clear
reference to common-law claims. See Medtronic, 116 S. Ct. at
2251 (plurality opinion) ("if Congress intended to preclude all
common-law causes of action, it chose a singularly odd word
[‘requirement’] with which to do it. The statute would have
achieved an identical result, for instance, if it had precluded any
‘remedy’ under state law relating to medical devices.").

Third, the preemption provision only applies to a safety
standard “establish[ed], continue[d] in effect, or enforce[d]" by
a “State or a political subdivision of a State." Construing an
award of damages to a tort plaintiff as “establishing, continuing
in effect, or enforcing” a boat safety standard is at odds with
this Court's oft-stated "assum[ption] ‘that the legislative purpose
is expressed oy the ordinary meaning of the words used.’"
American Tobacco Co. v. Patterson, 456 U.S. 63, 68 (1982)
(quoting Richards v. United States, 369 U.S. 1, 9 (1962)). The
duties relied on by tort claimants are general duties under the
common law that have evolved over hundreds of years. While
a jury award of damages would represent confirmation of a pre-
existing common-law duty -- for instance, the duty to act non-
negligently -- only an inept grammarian would describe an
award of damages in a tort suit as “establishing, continuing in
effect, or enforcing” a boat safety standard or other regulation.
On the other hand, it is common parlance to say that «
previously “established” statute or regulation “continues in

19

effect" or is “enforced.”

Fourth, it makes no sense to construe the term "State or a
political subdivision of a State" as encompassing a jury (or
judge) in a tort case. Political subdivisions of states, such as
counties and towns, often enact health and safety laws. Thus,
it was logical for Congress to include “political subdivisions” in
the coverage of Section 4306, lest there be some ambiguity as
to the breadth of the term “State.” At the same time, no one
would ordinarily describe an award of damages by a jury or
judge as being issued by a “State or political subdivision of a
State." And it is impossible to say that a federal jury or judge
is in any sense a “State or political subdivision thereof." Thus,
the Boat Safety Act's express preemption provision cannot
reasonably be read to encompass common-law claims.

2. The Boat Safety Act’s Savings
Clause Expressly Preserves
Common-Law Claims.

If any doubt remained as to the inapplicability of the Boat
Safety Act’s express preemption provision to common-law
claims, it would be dispelled by the Act’s express anti-
preemption provision -- the savings clause -- which plainly and
unambiguously preserves all common-law claims. It states in
simple and straightforward terms: “Compliance with this
chapter or standards, regulations, or orders prescribed under
this chapter does not relieve a person from liability at common
law or under State law." 46 U.S.C. § 4311(g).

On its face, the savings provision is sweeping and
unambiguous. “Compliance with standards, regulations, or
orders prescribed under this chapter" is a phrase that does not
admit of qualification. It cannot be read to mean only
compliance with certain federal safety standards, or to except
from its scope safety standards that deal with the particular

20

question of design or performance at issue in a given common-
law action. Similarly, the phrase “does not relieve a person
from liability at common law or under State law" does not on
its face admit of qualification. “[L]iability at common law or
under State law" is all-inclusive. That phrase cannot fairly be
read to mean that the Boat Safety Act provides any basis for
exempting any defendant from any common-law liability. See
United States v. James, 478 U.S. 597, 604 (1986) (the federal
Statute “outlines immunity in sweeping terms: ‘No liability of
any kind shall attach to or rest upon the United States for any
damage from or by floods or flood waters at any place.’ It is
difficult to imagine broader language.") (emphasis in original).

Respondent nonetheless argues that the savings clause was
merely intended to show “Congress’ intent not to occupy the
entire field of boat safety, so that common-law claims could
continue to be brought in areas not covered by a federal safety
standard." See Brief for Respondent in Opposition to Petition
for Writ of Certiorari at 13. This argument fails for two
reasons. First, as explained above, other provisions of the Boat
Safety Act make crystal clear that Congress did not intend to
preempt the field hy prohibiting States from regulating in the
absence of any federal safety standard. That being the case,
there would have been no reason for Congress to carve out a
ye exception from field preemption for common-law
claims.

Second, respondent’s argument conflicts with the language of
the savings Clause itself, which broadly states that "[c]ompliance
with . . . standards, regulations, or orders prescribed under this
chapter does not relieve a person from liability at common law
or under State law." 46 U.S.C. § 4311(g). Under respondent's
theory, this provision is merely designed to show that common-
law damages claims survive field preemption in cases where the
Coast Guard has not taken any regulatory action. But the

21

savings clause is worded much more broadly, and specifically
applies in cases where the agency Aas issued a “standard[ },
regulation{ ], or order[ ]." In fact, it specifically provides that
common-law claims may be brought despite a manufacturer's
compliance with federal standards. Respondent's contrary
interpretation simply makes no sense in light of the words
chosen by Congress.

The Boat Safety Act's legislative history confirms that
Congress enacted the savings clause to make crystal clear that
common-law claims are not preempted under any
circumstances. According to the Senate Report, the savings
clause was

intended to clarify that compliance with the Act or
standards, regulations, or orders promulgated thereunder,
does not relieve any person from liability at common law
or under State law. The purpose of the section is to assure
that in a product liability suit mere compliance with the
minimum standards promulgated under the Act will not be
a complete defense to liability. Of course, depending on
the rules of evidence of the particular judicial forum, such
compliance may or may not be admissible for its
evidentiary value.

1971 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1352 (emphasis added). This
explanation hammers home what the language of the savings
clause already reveals: that Congress did not intend to immunize
boat manufacturers from any “product liability suits" when it
passed the Boat Safety Act. To the contrary, Congress plainly
intended to permit such suits to go forward even in cases where
a manufacturer could demonstrate compliance with a minimum
federal standard.

In short, the Boat Safety Act expressly and unequivocally
preserves all common-law claims. Some courts have

22

nonetheless rejected this result on the theory that Congress
could not logically have intended to permit common-law claims
to proceed, despite their “regulatory effect,” when state
regulations addressing the same matters would be preempted.
See, e.g., Carstensen v. Brunswick Corp., 49 F.2d 430, 432
(8th Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 182 (1995); Mowery
v. Mercury Marine, 773 F. Supp. 1012, 1016 (N.D. Ohio
1991). Congress, however, has repeatedly preserved common-
law claims, despite their arguably regulatory effect, while
preempting direct state regulation -- and this Court has
repeatedly recognized the reasonableness of this approach. For
example, in Goodyear Atomic Corp. v. Miller, 486 U.S. 174
(1988), this Court held:

The effects of direct regulation on the operation of federal
projects are significantly more intrusive than the incidental
regulatory effects of such an additional award provision.
Appellant may choose to disregard Ohio safety regulations
and simply pay an additional workers’ compensation award
if an employee’s injury is caused by a safety violation. We
believe Congress may reasonably determine that incidental
regulatory pressure is acceptable, whereas direct regulatory
authority is not. Cf. Silkwood v. Kerr McGee Corp., 464
U.S. at 256 (Congress was willing to accept regulatory
consequences of application of state tort law to radiation
hazards even though direct state regulation of safety aspects
of nuclear energy was pre-empted).

Id. at 185-86 (footnote omitted). See also Cipollone, 505 U.S.
at 518 ("there is no general, inherent conflict between federal
pre-emption of state warning requirements and the continued
vitality of state common-law [damages] actions.")

This approach, moreover, makes good sense. As respondent
well knows, and Congress certainly understood when it passed

23

the Boat Safety Act, regulatory agencies are notoriously subject
to capture by those they are intended to regulate and, even in
the best circumstances, move laboriously and cautiously. Given
the purpose of the Boat Safety Act, it was unquestionably
reasonable for Congress to preempt state legislative and
administrative standards that are different than federal
regulations, but continue to allow the common-law tort system
to play its traditional role of prompting the federal government
and boat manufacturers to set higher standards for safety
features. That is precisely the approach reflected in the Act,
which explicitly preserves all common-law claims.

B. The Question Of Implied Preemption
Cannot Be Reached Because

Congress Unambiguously Preserved
Common-Law Claims.

Despite Congress’ clear language expressly preserving
common-law claims, the Eleventh Circuit went on to find that
petitioners’ claims are impliedly preempted by the Coast
Guard's decision not to require propeller guards on all
passenger boats. See P.A. 24-25. This approach violates this
Court's teaching in Cipollone that, where Congress has spoken
directly and clearly on the preemption issue at stake -- as it did
in the Boat Safety Act -- a court is prohibited from considering
any doctrine of implied preemption. The seven-member
majority stated:

When Congress has considered the issue of pre-emption
and has included in the enacted legislation a provision
explicitly addressing that issue, and when that provision
provides a ‘reliable indicium of congressional intent with
respect to state authority,’ there is no need to infer
congressional intent to preempt state laws from the
substantive provisions of the legislation.

24

505 U.S. at 517 (quotations deleted). This approach, the Court
said “is a variant of the familiar principle of expressio unius est
exclusio alterius: Congress’ enactment of a provision defining
the pre-emptive reach of a statute implies that matters beyond
that reach are not preempted." /d.

In Myrick, this Court again affirmed this principle, but
clarified that an express preemption clause, standing alone, does
not automatically preclude implied preemption; it only does so
when it provides a “reliable indicium of congressional intent"
with respect to preemption. The Court explained:

The fact that an express definition of the pre-emptive reach
of a statute “implies” -- i.e. supports a reasonable inference
-- that Congress did not intend to pre-empt other matters
does not mean that the express clause entirely forecloses
any possibility of implied pre-emption . . . At best,
Cipolione supports an inference that an express pre-emption
clause forecloses implied pre-emption; it does not establish
a rule.

115 S. Ct. at 1488.

As if these teachings were not clear enough, Medtronic
reiterated that there can be no resort to implied preemption in
cases wheve -- as here -- Congress has expressly spoken on the
issue of preemption:

As in Cipollone, we are presented with the task of
interpreting a statutory provision that expressly pre-empts
state law. While the pre-emptive language of [the statute]
means that we need not go beyond that language to
determine whether Congress intended the MDA to pre-empt
at least some state law, we must nonetheless identify the
domain expressly pre-empted by that language.

25

116 S. Ct. 2250 (citations and quotations omitted). While the
members of the Court disagreed vehemently on the meaning of
Congress’ words, they all agreed that, since Congress had
expressly stated its intent with respect to preemption, only
express preemption analysis could +e pursued.

Given these teachings, and Congress’ unequivocal
preservation of all common-law claims in the Boat Safety Act,
the result is clear: implied preemption arguments cannot even
be considered in this case. The Eleventh Circuit's holding that
the Act impliedly preempts petitioners’ claims was plain error
on this ground alone, and should be reversed.

Respondent will undoubtedly defend the lower court's
decision to reach implied preemption on the ground that the
Boat Safety Act's express preemption provision is not a
“reliable indicium of Congressional intent.” Cipollone, 505
U.S. at 517. Even assuming that the Act's express preemption
provision, standing alone, does not meet the Cipollone test,
Section 4306 does nor stand alone. Rather, as explained above,
the Act's savings clause provides a reliable -- indeed, a
conclusive -- indicum of Congress’ intent to preserve all
common-law claims. Accordingly, there is no basis for
considering any implied preemption arguments here. The
express preemption inquiry should be the beginning and the end
of the analysis.

C. Even Assuming That Implied
Preemption Analysis Can Be
Reached Here, Petitioners’ Claims
Are Not Preempted Because They Do
Not Conflict With Federal Law.

Even assuming, however, that implied preemption analysis is
proper in this case, there is no preemption here since
petitioners’ claims do not conflict with the Boat Safety Act or

26

with the Coast Guard's decision not to regulate propeller
guards.‘ As Myrick explained, implied conflict preemption only
arises when there is an “actual conflict” between federal and
State law -- either because it would be “impossible for a private
party to comply” with both or because the state law “stands as
an obstacle to the accomplishment and execution of the full
purposes of Congress." 115 S. Ct. at 1487.

Regarding the former, as in Myrick, “it is not impossible for
{the manufacturer} to comply with both federal and state law
because there is simply no federal standard for a private party
to comply with." Id. at 1488. Once again, the bottom line in

installing propeller guards on its boat engines. (Of course, jury
verdicts finding it liable in this and other cases would not
compel it to do any such thing, since respondent could always
opt to compensate the plaintiffs for their injuries rather than
avoid such suits altogether by installing propeller guards.) In
any event, given the absence of any federal regulation regarding
propeller guards, there can be no claim of impossibility here.

The Eleventh Circuit's contrary conclusion is once again

* As a threshold matter, the Eleventh Circuit compounded its initial
error (considering implied preemption in the first place) by refusing to apply
any presumption against implied conflict preemption. See P.A. 15. This
holding is flatly wrong. To cite but one of myriad potential examples, in
Hillsborough, 47\ U.S. at 715, this Court rejected an implied preemption
argument relying heavily on the presumption against preemption. This makes
sense since, if the presumption against preemption is to be employed when
interpreting Congress’ express language, it follows logically that a court should
be even more cautious in finding preemptive intent by implication from far less
reliable indicators.

27

rooted in its erroneous “field preemption” theory. The lower
court reasoned as follows: (1) the Boat Safety Act bars States
from enacting amy regulations except ones identical to federal
standards; (2) the Coast Guard considered, but declined to
issue, a federal standard requiring propeller guards on al! boats;
(3) given that the Act preempts the field of state regulation
absent federal action, the Coast Guard must have intended for
its regulatory imaction to bar any state regulation governing
propeller guards; and, therefore (4) it would be “impossible”
for respondent to comply with both state and federal law. See
generally P.A. 18-21. See also P.A. 24 ("because Congress
has made the Coast Guard the exclusive authority in the area of
boat and equipment safety standards, its position rejecting a
propeller guard requirement takes on the character of a ruling
that no such requirement may be imposed.”").

This theory fails for the simple reason that Congress
manifestly did not intend to preempt the field of boat safety
when it passed the Act into law. See supra at 12-16. That
being so, the Coast Guard had no basis for assuming or
intending that its decision not to regulate propeller guards would
affect the States’ ability to regulate propeller guards.
Moreover, as explained above, there is no evidence that the
Coast Guard thought that propeller guards should be banned. To
the contrary, all the agency decided was that, due to the lack of
“universally acceptable" propeller guard technology suitable for
all engines, it was premature to issue a nationwide standard
requiring propeller guards on every passenger boat in the
country. See J.A. 163. The absence of a universally
appropriate propeller guard does not mean, however, that no
propeller guard should be required on any boat. In any event,
there is no hint in the record that the Coast Guard ever decided
to immunize all boat manufacturers from liability for failing to
install propeller guards on specific boats. Thus, there can be no
claim that it would be impossible for respondent to comply with

28

both the Coast Guard’s regulatory scheme and a jury verdict
finding it liable in this case.

Nor can there be any serious claim that permitting lawsuits
like petitioners would “stand{ }] as an obstacle to the
accomplishment and execution of the full purposes of
Congress." Myrick, 115 S. Ct. at 1487. To again use the
words of Myrick, “[a] finding of liability against petitioners
would undermine no federal objectives or purposes with respect
to [propeller guards], since none exist." /d. at 1488. Here,
too, the absence of any federal standard regarding propeller
guards is the end of the matter.

The Eleventh Circuit nonetheless held that petitioners’ claims
are “preempted by implication” because they would “conflict
with [the Boat Safety Act's] grant of exclusive regulatory
authority to the Coast Guard." J.A. 163. This “conflict,”
however, is based on the lower court’s misunderstanding of the
Act: as explained above, Congress never granted “exclusive
regulatory authority” to the Coast Guard. Nor would permitting
purpose of the [Act]." Myrick, 115 S. Ct. at 1138. In reality,
the Act has no such stated goal. And, although the legislative
history references uniformity as one of Congress’ goals, the
Senate Report reveals that the main purpose behind the Boat
Safety Act was -- as the name implies -- boat safety. See 1971
U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1333-35. A jury verdict in petitioners’ favor
would be perfectly consistent with -- and substantially further --
that overriding goal. Moreover, even if there was a federal
regulation in place preempting state regulation of propeller
guards, state common-law claims still would not be preempted.
In any event, as the Texas Supreme Court held in Moore, "the
savings clause reflects that Congress was willing to tolerate
some tension between the concept that uniform safety
regulations should be established at the federal level and the

29

concept that a state may nevertheless award tort damages for
unsafe products. Cf. Silkwood, 464 U.S. at 256." 889 S.W.2d
at 252. Thus, any claim that an alleged interest in regulatory
uniformity is sufficient to trigger implied preemption of
common-law claims should be rejected.

In sum, given the strong presumption against federal
preemption of common-law claims, Congress’ explicit
preservation of common-law claims in the Boat Safety Act, and
the Coast Guard's decision not to promulgate any federal
regulation regarding propeller guards, the decision below cannot
stand. Petitioners’ common-law claims are not preempted.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the decision below should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

Leslie A. Brueckner

(Counsel of Record)

Arthur H. Bryant

Trial Lawyers for Public Justice, P.C.
1717 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.

Suite 800

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 797-8600

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
Trial Lawyers for Public Justice, P.C.

December 29, 1997

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0114%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
