# Amicus Curiae Brief — Lewis v. Brunswick Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0114%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 523 U.S. 1113

## Text

No. 97.288

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1997

Vicky LEwis and Gary Lewis, Individually, As
Parents, as Next Friends, and as Administrators
of the Estate of Kathryn C. Lewis,

4 Petitioners,

BRUNSWICK CORPORATION,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL CONFERENCE
OF STATE LEGISLATURES,

COUNCIL OF STATE GOVERNMENTS,
INTERNATIONAL CITY/COUNTY
MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION,
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES,
NATIONAL LEAGUE OF CITIES,

AND U.S. CONFERENCE OF MAYORS
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

D. BRUCE LA PIERRE RICHARD RUDA *
WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY Chief Counsel
SCHOOL oF LAW JAMEs I. CROWLEY
One Brookings Drive STATE AND LOCAL LEGAL CENTER
St. Louis, Missouri 63130 444 North Capitol Street, N.W.
(314) 985-6477 Washington, D.C. 20001
(202) 484-4850
* Counsel of Record for the
Amici Curiae

—ũ—ñ
WiILson - Eres dr Co.. Inc. - 789-0096 - WasHINGTON. D.C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED

Amici will address the following question :

Whether an agency position set forth in a letter
and not promulgated pursuant to the notice and com-
ment procedures of APA §553 has the force and
effect of law so as to preempt state law.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED ................22..-2-.2.--cceceoeoeeeeos
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..................----.-..-..00.00--=--.
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURA

I —————

A. The Federal Boat Safety Act and Promulgation
of Federal Boat Safety Regulations ....................

B. The Coast Guard’s Decision To Accept the Rec-
ommendation of the National Boating Safety
Advisory Council To “Take No Regulatory Ac-
tion To Require Propeller Guards”

THE COAST GUARD’S “POSITION” ON
PROPELLER GUARDS DOES NOT HAVE
THE FORCE AND EFFECT OF LAW AND
CANNOT PREEMPT STATE LANKA

A. Federal Regulations That Are “Properly
Adopted in Accordance With Statutory Au-
thorization” Have the Force and Effect of
Law and Can Preempt State Law Under the
ESE —

B. The Coast Guard Did Not Intend for Its
Letter To Have the Force and Effect of Law
Because It Did Not Comply With the Proce-

cedural Requirements Imposed by Congress
e

1. Legislative Rules That Have the Force
and Effect of Law Must Be Promulgated
Through Notice and Comment Proce-

Page

10

10

11

14

14

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

2. A Decision Not To Regulate, Like a Deci-
sion To Regulate, Requires the Use of
Legislative Rulemaking Procedures If It
Is To Have the Force and Effect of Law..

C. The Coast Guard Did Not Comply With the
Rulemaking Procedures Imposed by Con-
gress in the Federal Boat Safety Act for
Prescribing Regulations That Preempt State
OO EEE AE IEEE EL

D. The Coast Guard Letter Adopting the Na-
tional Boating Safety Advisory Council's
Recommendation Does Not Preempt State
Law Because It Does Not Have the Binding
Force and Effect of LW —

ee —.———————————

Page

17

21

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Arkansas Elec. Coop. Corp. v. Arkansas Pub.

Serv. Comm'n, 461 U.S. 375 (19833) 19
Batterton v. Francis, 432 U.S. 416 (1977) 14
Batterton v. Marshall, 648 F.2d 694 (D.C. Cir.

1 15, 16
Barclays Bank PLC v. Franchise Taz Board of

California, 512 U.S. 298 (1994) 0. 23
Bethlehem Steel Co. v. New York State Labor Re-

lations Bd., 330 U.S. 767 (1947) 20
Chrysler Corp. v. Brown, 441 U.S. 281 (19799 passim
Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 505 U.S. 504

Ee eee See eee 10
City of New York v. FCC, 486 U.S. 57 (1988) 12, 13

Consumer Federation v. Consumer Product Safety
Commission, 990 F.2d 1298 (D.C. Cir. 1998)... 18-19
Fidelity Federal Savings and Loan Association v.
De la Cuesta, 458 U.S. 141 (1982) 12
Gibbons v. Ogden, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 1 (1824) 12
Hillsborough County, Fla. v. Automated Med.

Labs, Inc., 471 U.S. 707 (1989 2, 12
Lincoln v. Vigil, 508 U.S. 182 (1993) 9, 14, 15
Louisiana Pub. Serv. Comm'n v. FCC, 476 U.S.

r 7 , scl Se 22
Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc. v. SEC,

606 F.2d 1081 (D.C. Cir. 1979) Il 19
Morton v. Ruiz, 415 U.S. 199 (1974) 1
NLRB v. Wyman-Gordon Co., 394 ‘US. 759

117 AAA ˙⁰¹ 13

New York State Conf. of Blue Cross & Blue Shield
Plans v. Travelers Ins. Co., 514 U.S. 645
T.. 10, 11, 24
Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. State Energy Re-
sources Conserv. & Development Comm'n, 461

1 — ea REESE 12
Puerto Rico Dept. of Consumer Affairs v. Isla

Petroleum Corp., 485 U.S. 495 (198) 19
Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218

EE NAR lal Is i A ll ER Ris 24

Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. 238
(1984) 12

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
State of Alaska v. U.S. Dept. of Transp., 868 F.2d
ee RR RE os 17
Thomas v. New York, 802 F.2d 1443 (D.C. Cir.
1 23
Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp. v. State Oil
& Gas Board, 474 U.S. 409 (1989) 20
United Constr. Workers v. Laburnam Constr.
Corp., 347 U.S. 666 (19840) 12
Wabash Valley Power Ass’n, Inc. v. Rural Elec-
trification Admin., 903 F.2d 445 (7th Cir.
RR Ee SRE ES Se 23
Constitutional Provisions
r T ERD ATE 11-12
Statutes and Regulations
Ei CT oe 6
, . 5, 10, 18
Z 5
49 C. F. R. § 1.46 (n) () 1 5
Pub. L. No. 92-75, 85 Stat. 213 n 3
Pub. L. No. 98-89, 97 Stat. 500 (1983) 3
JJ „ 5
Z.. passim
5 U.S.C. § 553(b) _............. EA eR IO 14
K TALE 8 5
. 18, 22
1 —— 18, 22
r.... 6
r. — 3-4

0 EE 4
Pe eR EL ee ne 6

9999888. 1

Other Authorities

H.R. Rep. No. 338, 98th Cong., Ist Sess. (1983),
reprinted in 1983 U.S. C. C. AN. 924 .................. 3

vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

S. Rep. No. 248, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. (1971), re-
printed in 1971 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1333 1 passim
45 Fed. Reg. 18987 (19800); 5, 22
46 Fed. Reg. 3515 (1981) 5, 22

Robert A. Anthony, Interpretive Rules, ‘Policy
Statements, Guidances, Manuals, And The Like
—Should Federal Agencies Use Them To Bind
The Public?, 41 Duke L. J. 1311 (1992) 14, 15, 16, 21

Kenneth C. Davis & Richard J. Pierce, Jr., Admin-
istrative Law Treatise (3d ed. 1994)... passim

Ronald M. Levin, Understanding Unreviewability
In Administrative Law, 74 Minn. L. Rev. 689
e è Tn X 19

Bernard Schwartz, Administrative Lau (1991) 21

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1997

No. 97-288

Vicky Lewis and Gary LEWIS, Individually, As
Parents, as Next Friends, and as Administrators
of the Estate of Kathryn C. Lewis,

* Petitioners,

BRINSWICK CORPORATION,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL CONFERENCE
OF STATE LEGISLATURES,

COUNCIL OF STATE GOVERNMENTS,
INTERNATIONAL CITY/COUNTY
MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION,
NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES,
NATIONAL LEAGUE OF CITIES,

AND U.S. CONFERENCE OF MAYORS
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE®
Amici, organizations whose members include state,
county, and municipal governments and officials

1The parties have consented to the filing of this brief
amicus curiae. Letters indicating their consent have been

2

throughout the United States, have a compelling in-
terest in legal issues that affect state and local gov-
ernments. This case involves an issue at the core of
amici’s interests: whether federal agency positions
arrived at by means falling short of notice and com-
ment rulemaking under § 553 of the Administrative
Procedure Act have the force and effect of law so as
to preempt state law.

The protection of their citizens’ health, safety and
welfare is one of the principal exercises by the States
of their historic police powers. See Hillsborough
County, Fla. v. Automated Med. Laboratories, Inc.,
471 U.S. 707, 719 (1985). While the Supremacy
Clause unquestionably mandates the preemption of
state law in certain circumstances, the Supremacy
Clause does not contemplate that federal agency posi-
tions not arrived at through the notice and comment
procedures of the APA—with their guarantees of
public participation, political accountability, and judi-
cial review—be given state law displacing weight by
the courts. For this reason, the court of appeals erred
in holding that the Coast Guard’s position on pro-
peller guards, set forth in a letter that was not pro-
mulgated through APA § 553 procedures, has the force
and effect of law sufficient to preempt state tort law.

Because of the importance of this issue to amici
and their members, amici submit this brief to assist
the Court in its resolution of this case.

filed with the Clerk of the Court. Pursuant to Rule 37.3 of
the Rules of this Court, amici state that no counsel for a
party has authored this brief in whole or in part, and that
no person or entity, other than the amici, their members, or
their counsel, has made a monetary contribution to the prepa-
ration or submission of this brief.

3

STATEMENT

A. The Federal Boat Safety Act and Promulgation of
Federal Boat Safety Regulations

Congress enacted the Federal Boat Safety Act
(FBSA) of 1971, Pub. L. No. 92-75, 85 Stat. 213
(1971), to establish “a coordinated national boating
safety program involving both the Federal Govern-
ment and the States.” S. Rep. No. 248, 92d Cong.,
lst Sess. (1971), reprinted in 1971 U.S.C.C.A.N.
1333 (“Senate Report”). Congress intended, among
other goals, “to improve boating safety by requiring
manufacturers to provide safer boats and boating
equipment to the public through compliance with
safety standards to be promulgated by the Secretary
of the Department in which the Coast Guard is op-
erating.” Id. at 1333.

Congress revised and recodified the FBSA in 1983
as part of a comprehensive revision and recodification
of the maritime laws. Pub. L. No. 98-89, 97 Stat. 500,
(1983); see H.R. Rep. No. 338, 98th Cong., Ist Sess.
(1983), reprinted in 1983 U.S.C.C.A.N. 924 (“House
Report”). It restated the provisions of the FBSA
that apply to “the establishment of national construc-
tion and performance standards for recreational ves-
sels and their assoriated equipment” in Chapter 43
of Title 46 of the United States Code. House Report
at 158, 1983 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 970. Although Congress
made some substantive changes when it revised the
maritime laws, it did not significantly alter the pro-
visions of the FBSA at issue in this case. See House
Report at 117, 120, 158-62, 1983 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 929,
932, 970-74.

The FBSA authorizes the Secretary of Transporta-
tion to “prescribe regulations . . . establishing mini-

4

mum safety standards for recreational vessels and
associated equipment.” 46 U.S.C. § 4302 (a) (1). The
FBSA also provides that “[iJn prescribing regula-
tions the Secretary shall, among other things .
consult with the National Boating Safety Advisory
Council [NBSAC]” about three specific regulatory
considerations.» Id. § 4302 (e) (4); see id. § 4302
(e) (1)-(3).

Congress intended that the regulations pre-
scribed by the Secretary would establish uniform na-
tional safety standards. See Senate Report, 1971
U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1335. Congress also intended that
the Secretary would employ the notice and comment
rulemaking procedures of the Administrative Proce-
dure Act (APA) to promulgate regulations establish-
ing national standards, that these regulations would
be subject to judicial review as provided in the APA,
and that consultation with the National Boating
Safety Advisory Council would be an addition to, and
not an alternative to, compliance with the APA.

The Senate Report on the FBSA expressly notes
that:

In addition to the specific procedural require-
ments outlined in the bill, the Secretary, in pro-
mulgating standards, is required to comply with
the informal rulemaking procedures of the Ad-
ministrative Procedure Act (5 U.S.C. 553).

Senate Report, 1971 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1340. Congress
further intended that “[a]ny person who believes

2 As currently organized, the NBSAC has twenty-one mem-
bers, including seven state officials, seven representatives of
boating manufacturers, and seven representatives of national
recreational boating associations and the general public. See
46 U.S.C. § 18110.

5

himself to be adversely affected by the promulgation
of a standard may obtain judicial review in accord-
ance with the Administrative Procedure Act.” Id.
Congress also noted some specific responsibilities of
the Secretary in adopting regulations under the in-
formal notice and comment procedures of the APA:

The Secretary is expected to maintain in public
files the wx tn and comments received or
relied upon in carrying out the consideration and
consultation [with the National Boating Safety
Advisory Council] required by section 6 [now 46
U.S.C. § 4302] and in complying with the rule-
making provisions of the Administrative Proce-
dure Act. The information in these files is to
serve as the basis for the required findings as to
reasonableness, meeting the need for boating
safety and, where applicable, of the necessity for
an early effective date, or the necessity for the
alteration of existing vessels.
Id.

The Secretary of Transportation has delegated his
rulemaking power under the FBSA to the Command-
ant of the Coast Guard, 49 C.F.R. § 1.46(n) (1), and
the Coast Guard has prescribed extensive safety reg-
ulations governing recreational boats and associated
equipment. 33 C.F.R. Pt. 183 (1997). The Coast
Guard, as Congress intended, adopted these regula-
tions pursuant to the notice and comment rulemaking
procedures of the APA, 5 U.S.C. § 553. See 33 C. F. R.
§ 183.701 et seg. (Subpart L—Start-In Gear Protec-
tion) (1997); 46 Fed. Reg. 3515 (1981) (Final
Rule); 45 Fed. Reg. 18987 (1980) (Notice of Pro-
posed Rulemaking). The Coast Guard published
these regulations in the Federal Register as required
by the APA, 5 U.S.C. 5 552 (a) (1) (D), § 553 (d),
and it codified them in the Code of Federal Regula-

6

tions, which “contain[s] each Federal regulation of
general applicability and legal effect.” 1 C.F.R.
§ 8.1(a) (1997) ; see also 44 U.S.C. § 1510.

The FBSA expressly preempts a state law or regu-
lation that is not identical to a “regulation pre-
scribed” thereunder. Congress provided that:

[A] State . may not establish, continue in
effect, or enforce a law or regulation establishing
a recreational vessel or associated equipment per-
formance or other safety standard or imposing a
requirement for associated equipment . . . that
is not identical to a regulation prescribed under
section 4302
46 U.S.C. § 4306. Congress also enacted a savings
clause in the FBSA and provided that:
Compliance with [the FBSA] or standards, reg-
ulations, or orders prescribed under [the FBSA]

does not relieve a person from liability at com-
mon law or under State law.

46 U.S. C. § 4311(g).

B. The Coast Guard’s Decision To Accept the Recom-
mendation of the National Boating Safety Advisory
Council To “Take No Regulatory Action To Require
Propeller Guards”

The Coast Guard did not initiate a notice and
comment rulemaking under the APA to “consider,
review and assess available data concerning the na-
ture and incidence of recreational boating accidents
in which persons in the water are struck by propel-
lers“ and to examine the If Jeasibility of some form
of mechanical guard or other action to prevent such
contact.” See National Boating Safety Advisory
Council, Report of the Propeller Guard Subcommittee,
J.A. at 46. Instead, the Coast Guard assigned this
responsibility to the NBSAC, which in turn appointed

7

a five-person subcommittee to address these issues.
Id. The subcommittee recommended that “[t]he U.S.
Coast Guard should take no regulatory action to re-
quire propeller guards.” Jd. at 73. Subsequently,
the NBSAC voted unanimously “to accept the report
[and to] adopt the recommendations of the subcom-
mittee.” Minutes of the 44th Meeting of the National
Boating Safety Advisory Council, J.A. at 138.

On February 1, 1990, the Chief of the Coast
Guard’s Office of Navigation Safety and Waterway
Services, Rear Admiral Robert T. Nelson, wrote a
letter to A. Newell Garden, Chairman of the NBSAC.
Admiral Nelson reported that [wle have completed
our review of the ‘Report of the Propeller Guard
Subcommittee’ ”’ and that “[a]ll of the report’s rec-
ommendations are accepted.” J.A. at 163. Admiral
Nelson specifically accepted the subcommittee’s rec-
ommendation as approved by the NBSAC that “[t]he
U.S. Coast Guard should take no regulatory action to
require propeller guards.” Id. He set forth as fol-
lows the Coast Guard position on this recommendation :

Available propeller guard accident data do not
support imposition of a regulation requiring
propeller guards on motorboats. Regulatory ac-
tion is also limited by the many questions about
whether a universally acceptable propeller guard
is available or technically feasible in all modes of
boat operation. Additionally, the question of
retrofitting millions of boats would certainly be
a major economic consideration.

Id. Admiral Nelson stated, however, that “the Coast
Guard will continue to collect and analyze data for
changes and trends” and “review and retain any
information made available regarding development

and testing of new propeller guard devices or other
information on the state of the art.” Id. The Coast
Guard did not publish Admiral Nelson’s letter in the
Federal Register.

The district court granted Brunswick’s motion for
summary judgment. The court of appeals affirmed,
holding that common law claims based on Brunswick’s
failure to equip an engine with a propeller guard are
impliedly preempted because those claims “conflict
with the Coast Guard’s position that propeller guards
should not be required.” Pet. App. 23a. The court
of appeals held that the Coast Guard’s “position re-
jecting a propeller guard requirement takes on the
character of a ruling that no such requirement may
be imposed,” and “[t]hat position impliedly preempts
state law requirements of propeller guards, even in
the form of common law claims.” Id. at 24a.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Brunswick’s claim that the Coast Guard’s position
on propeller guards preempts state tort law founders
on the shoals of a fatal defect: the Coast Guard did
not employ the notice and comment rulemaking pro-
cedures required by Congress in the Administrative
Procedure Act and the Federal Boat Safety Act that

are necessary to give its position the force and effect
of law.

The court of appeals’ holding—that an agency’s posi-
tion in a letter adopting the recommendations of an
advisory committee preempts state law—is inconsistent
with this Court’s recognition that only “properly pro-
mulgated, substantive agency regulations have the
‘force and effect of law’” necessary “to pre-empt
state law under the Supremacy Clause.” Chrysler

9

Corp. v. Brown, 441 U.S. 281, 295-96 (1979) (cita-
tions omitted). As applied by the court of appeals to
preempt the Lewises’ tort claims against Brunswick,
the Coast Guard’s “position” on propeller guards is in
effect a “substantive rule or ‘legislative-type rule“
because it affect [s] individual rights and obliga-
tions.“ Jd. at 302 (citations omitted). A “substan-
tive rule,” however, “must conform with any procedu-
ral requirements imposed by Congress” in order to
have the force and effect of law. Id. at 303. Congress
requires agencies to develop “legislative rules”—rules
that have the same binding effect as statutes—through
the public notice and comment procedures of the Ad-
ministrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. § 553. Chrysler
v. Brown, 441 U.S. at 312-16.

The Coast Guard did not comply with the APA’s
rulemaking procedures: it did not publish notice of
a proposed rulemaking in the Federal Register, afford
interested persons an opportunity to comment on the
letter, or publish a final rule incorporating “ ‘a con-
cise general statement’ of the rule’s “ ‘basis and pur-
pose. See Lincoln v. Vigil, 508 U.S. 182, 195-96
(1993) (quoting 5 U.S.C. § 553). The Coast Guard’s
failure to comply strictly with the APA “precludes
courts from affording [the letter] the force and effect
of law.” Chrysler v. Brown, 441 U.S. at 312. Because
the Coast Guard letter plainly does not have the force
and effect of law, it cannot preempt state law. Re-
spect for the role of the States in the federal system
and for the principle of politically accountable agency
decisionmaking are further reasons to reaffirm the
fundamental requirement that an agency cannot pro-
mulgate a rule with the force and effect of law neces-
sary to preempt state law unless it complies with the

10

notice and comment rulemaking procedures of the
APA.

ARGUMENT

THE COAST GUARD'S “POSITION” ON PROPEL-
LER GUARDS DOES NOT HAV" THE FORCE AND
EFFECT OF LAW AND CANNOT PREEMPT
STATE LAW

The determination whether federal law preempts
state law is a question of congressional purpose. See,
e.g., New York State Conf. of Blue Cross & Blue
Shield Plans v. Travelers Ins. Co., 514 U.S. 645, 655
(1995) ; Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 505 U.S. 504,
516 (1992). The FBSA, by its terms, preempts only
a state “law or regulation establishing a recreational
vessel or associated equipment performance or other
safety standard or imposing a requirement for asso-
ciated equipment . . that is not identical to a regu-
lation prescribed under section 4302 [of the Act].”
46 U.S.C. § 4306.

In this case, there is no regulation prescribed under
section 4302 that has the force and effect of law
necessary to trigger preemption. Unlike the numer-
ous instances in which the Coast Guard intended
to preempt state law, see 33 C.F.R. Part 183, in
this case the Coast Guard did not comply with the
procedural requirements imposed by Congress in APA
§ 553. It did not observe the notice and comment pro-
cedures mandated by the APA and by the FBSA and
its letter was not judicially reviewable. Consequently,
the Coast Guard letter cannot be given preemptive
effect.”

Brunswick suggests that preemption under the express
preemption clause of the FBSA, section 4306, does not turn

11

A. Federal Regulations That Are “Properly Adopted
in Accordance With Statutory Authorization” Have
the Force and Effect of Law and Can Preempt
State Law Under the Supremacy Clause

The Supremacy Clause of the Constitution provides
for preemption of state law by stating that “the

on a “regulation prescribed under section 4302,” and that,
instead, section 4306 should be “read literally,” and appar-
ently without any regard to congressional intent, to provide
that “state law is preempted unless it is ‘identical to a regula-
tion prescribed by the Coast Guard.’” Opp. 21 n.15. As
Brunswick parses the text of section 4306, all state law, in-
cluding tort law, is preempted by section 4306, and state law
is restored only if (1) the Coast Guard prescribes a regula-
tion under section 4302 and (2) state law is then identical
to the newly minted federal regulation.

This construction of section 4306 ignores this Court’s
recent unanimous restatement of the framework for analysis
of express preemption provisions. Travelers Ins. Co., 514
U.S. at 654-55. If a statute, like the FBSA, contains an
express preemption provision, resolution of preemption issues
“begin[s] . .. with the text of the provision in question.” Id.
at 655. Nonetheless, because “pre-emption claims turn on
Congress’s intent,” the Court “move[s] on, as need be, to the
structure and purpose of the Act.” Id. Moreover, this Court
addresses an express preemption provision, like other claims
of preemption, “with the starting presumption that Congress
does not intend to supplant state law.” Id. at 654.

Brunswick’s construction of section 4306 is inconsistent
with these principles. Congress enacted the FBSA to improve
boating safety. Senate Report, 1971 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1333.
Under Brunswick’s reading of section 4306, Congress pre-
empted all state law with respect to recreational vessels and
completely freed manufacturers of their duties of care under
state tort law even in the absence of any applicable federal
safety standard. Brunswick would read the FBSA to create
a common law and regulatory void with respect to manu-
facturing safe recreational vessels and boating equipment
until such time, if ever, that the Coast Guard, with limited

12

Laws of the United States which shall be made in
Pursuance” of the Constitution “shall be the supreme
Law of the Land.” U.S. Const., art. VI, cl. 2; see
Gibbons v. Ogden, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 1, 209 (1824) ;
City of New York v. FCC, 486 U.S. 57, 63 (1988).
Federal regulations, as well as federal statutes, can
preempt state law. See, ¢.g., Hillsborough County,
Fla. v. Automated Med. Labs, Inc., 471 U.S. 707,
713 (1985); Fidelity Federal Savings & Loan Asso-
ciation v. De la Cuesta, 458 U.S. 141, 153 (1982).

resources and numerous responsibilities, decides to prescribe
a federal safety standard. This void would obviously be
inconsistent with Congress’ purpose of improving boating
safety.

Brunswick’s analysis of the preemptive effect of section
4306 would also be inconsistent with two well-settled rules:
in the absence of a federal regulation, federal statutes should
not be construed to create a regulatory void by preempting
state regulation, see Pacific Gas & Elec. Co. v. State Energy
Resources Conserv. & Development Comm'n, 461 U.S. 190,
207-08 (1983), and state common law remedies are not pre-
empted where federal law provides no comparable or alterna-
tive remedy, see Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S.
238, 251 (1984) ; United Constr. Workers v. Laburnam Con-
str. Corp., 347 U.S. 656, 663-64 (1954).

Ironically, and somewhat perversely, under Brunswick's
reading of section 4306, the States cannot enforce traditional
common law duties of care where there is no federal safety
standard to protect consumers; the States can only act to
protect consumers after the Coast Guard has acted to protect
them by prescribing a federal safety standard. Brunswick
in effect reads the express preemption clause of the FBSA
as if it is a prospective savings clause: all state law is pre-
empted, subject to reinstatement if the Coast Guard issues a
regulation and if it is identical to the federal regulation. Of
course, the FBSA contains a savings clause, section 431108).
and Brunswick’s construction of the express preemption clause
would, contrary to settled principles of statutory construction,
reduce the savings clause to mere surplusage.

13

If they are to have the same preemptive effect as
federal statutes, federal regulations must be “properly
adopted in accordance with statutory authorization.”
City of New York v. FCC, 486 U.S. at 63 (the Su-
premacy Clause embraces “both federal statutes
themselves and federal regulations that are properly
adopted in accordance with statutory authorization’’).
Such federal regulations can preempt state law be-
cause, like federal statutes, they have the “force and
effect of law.” Chrysler v. Brown, 441 U.S. at 295.
See id. at 295-96.

In order “to have the ‘force and effect of law,’” a
federal regulation “must have certain substantive
characteristics and be the product of certain pro-
cedural requisites.” Jd. at 301 (citation omitted).
As a substantive matter, a regulation does not have
the “force and effect of law” unless the agency has
acted within its statutory authority: “[t]he legisla-
tive power of the United States is vested in the Con-
gress, and the exercise of quasi-legislative authority
by governmental departments and agencies must be
rooted in a grant of such power by the Congress and
subject to limitations which that body imposes.” /d.
at 302. As a procedural matter, a regulation does not
have the “force and effect of law” unless it “con-
form[s] with any procedural requirements imposed
by Congress.” Id. at 303. “[A]gency discretion is
limited not only by substantive, statutory grants of
authority, but also by the procedural requirements
which ‘assure fairness and mature consideration of
rules of general application.’” Jd. (quoting NLRB
v. Wyman-Gordon Co., 394 U.S. 759, 764 (1969) ).

The Coast Guard letter adopting the recommenda-
tion of the National Boating Safety Advisory Council

14

is not a legislative rule because it did not conform
with the procedural requirements imposed by Con-
gress in the APA and the FBSA. Consequently,
the Coast Guard letter does not have the force and
effect of law and cannot preempt state law under the
Supremacy Clause.

B. The Coast Guard Did Not Intend for Its Letter To
Have the Force and Effect of Law Because It Did
Not Comply With the Procedural Requirements
Imposed by Congress in the APA

1. Legislative Rules That Have the Force and
Effect of Law Must Be Promulgated Through
Notice and Comment Procedures

The Administrative Procedure Act distinguishes
two types of substantive rules: (1) legislative rules,
also referred to as “substantive” rules, and (2) in-
terpretive rules (sometimes called “non-legislative”
rules) or general statements of policy. See Lincoln v.
Vigil, 508 U.S. 182, 196 (1993) (distinguishing
(1) “so-called ‘legislative’ or ‘substantive’ rules” and
(2) “ ‘interpretative rules, general statements of
policy, or rules of agency organization, procedure, or
practice?) (quoting 5 U.S.C. § 553 (b)); Chrysler v.
Brown, 441 U.S. at 301-02 & n. 31 (distinguishing
(1) “a substantive rule—or a ‘legislative-type rule“
from (2) “interpretive rules” and “general state-
ments of policy”); Batterton v. Francis, 432 U.S.
416, 425 n. 9 (1977) (distinguishing (1) “legisla-
tive, or substantive regulations” and (2) “interpre-
tative regulation [s]“).

See generally Robert A. Anthony, Interpretive Rules,
Policy Statements, Guidances, Manuals, And The Like—
Should Federal Agencies Use Them To Bind The Public?,
41 Duke L.J. 1311, 1319-27 (1992); Kenneth C. Davis &

15

A “legislative” or “substantive” rule is one that
“ ‘affect[s] individual rights and obligations.“ Chrys-
ler v. Brown, 441 U.S. at 302 (quoting Morton v.
Ruiz, 415 U.S. 199, 232, 236 (1974)); Batterton v.
Marshall, 648 F.2d 694, 701-02 (D.C. Cir. 1980).
Legislative or substantive rules, unlike interpretive
rules or general statements of policy, may have the
same force and effect of law as statutes. Chrysler v.
Brown, 441 U.S. at 302 & n. 31; see Kenneth C.
Davis & Richard J. Pierce, Jr., Administrative Law
Treatise § 6.2, at 228 (3d ed. 1994) (“a valid legisla-
tive rule has the same binding effect as a statute; a
general statement of policy has no binding effect on
members of the public or on courts’).

In order to have the binding effect of a statute,
a legislative rule must be promulgated under the
notice and comment procedures of the APA. See
Chrysler v. Brown, 441 U.S. at 312-14 (APA’s notice
and comment procedures apply “in the context of
‘legislative’ or ‘substantive’ rulemaking,” but inter-
pretive rules and general statements of policy “are
exempt from these requirements”); see also Lincoln
v. Vigil, 508 U.S. at 196 (APA’s notice and comment
procedures apply to “legislative” or “substantive”
rules). As one leading authority has observed:

Richard J. Pierce, Jr., Administrative Law Treatise § 6.2, at
228 (3d ed. 1994) (discussing “three main differences be-
tween a legislative rule and a general statement of policy“);
id. § 6.3, at 233 (discussing “four main differences between
legislative rules and interpretative rules”).

See also Anthony, 41 Duke L.J. at 1355 (defining a legis-
lative rule as one that changes substantive law or policy) ;
id. at 1355 n. 269 (collecting cases identifying various classes
of substantive changes subject to legislative rulemaking
requirements).

16

The most important category of rules—legislative
rules—have the same binding effect as statutes.
With specified exceptions, “rules” of this type can
be promulgated only through use of procedures
set forth in APA § 553—>public notice of the pro-
posed rule, receipt and consideration of comments
on the proposed rule, and issuance of the final
rule incorporating a statement of basis and
purpose.
Davis & Pierce § 6.1, at 225. “The essential purpose
of according § 553 notice and comment opportunities
is to reintroduce public participation and fairness to
affected parties after government authority has been
delegated to unrepresentative agencies.” Batterton v.
Marshall, 648 F. 2d at 703.

The court of appeals erred in holding that the
Coast Guard’s “position” that it “should take no regu-
latory action to require propeller guards,” Pet. App.
8a-9a, preempts state law. The Coast Guard’s posi-
tion was not adopted under the APA’s notice and
comment procedures, and it is not a valid legislative
rule. The Coast Guard’s position is at most a gen-
eral statement of policy.“ It does not have the
force and effect of law because it was not promulgated
under legislative rulemaking procedures and was not
subject to judicial review. The Coast Guard’s position

* This Court has defined “general statements of policy” as
“ ‘statements issued by an agency to advise the public pro-
spectively of the manner in which the agency proposes to
exercise a discretionary power.“ Chrysler v. Brown, 441
U.S. at 302 n.31 (quoting Attorney General’s Manual on
the Administrative Procedure Act 30 n.3 (1947)); see
Anthony, 41 Duke L.J. at 1321-27 (distinguishing and defin-
ing legislative rules, interpretive rules, and general statements
of policy).

17

thus does not have the force and effect of law neces-
sary to preempt state law. See State of Alaska v.
U.S. Dept. of Transp., 868 F.2d 441, 445 (D.C. Cir.
1989) (agency’s legislative rules held invalid and of
no preemptive effect because agency failed to employ
APA notice and comment procedures).

2. A Decision Not To Regulate, Like a Decision To

Regulate, Requires the Use of Legislative Rule-
making Procedures If It Is To Have the Force
and Effect of Law

The Coast Guard’s position that it should take
no regulatory action to require propeller guards is
not excused from compliance with the APA’s notice
and comment legislative rulemaking procedures on
the ground, suggested by Brunswick, that the agency
made a negative decision not to regulate” as opposed
to an affirmative decision to regulate propeller guards.
Opp. 16. Any agency decision concerning propeller
guards—whether to require them or to prohibit
them— must, if it is to preempt state law creating
“individual rights and obligations,” Chrysler v.
Brown, 441 U.S. at 302 (quoting Morton v. Ruiz,
415 U.S. at 232), be made under the notice and com-
ment, legislative rulemaking procedures of the APA,
5 U.S.C. § 553. The Coast Guard did not follow these
procedures. Its letter is therefore not a “legislative”
or “substantive” rule having the force and effect of
law necessary to preempt state law under the Su-
premacy Clause.

An affirmative decision by the Coast Guard to regu-
late propeller guards would undoubtedly have to be
made under the APA’s notice and comment rulemak-
ing procedures in order to preempt state law. The
Coast Guard apparently recognizes as much, and has

18

followed the APA’s notice and comment rulemaking
procedures in prescribing numerous regulations under
section 4302 of the FBSA. See 33 C. F. R. Pt. 183
(1997). The Coast Guard, for example, would have
to follow the APA’s notice and comment rulemaking
procedures to prescribe a regulation requiring a par-
ticular type of propeller guard or setting performance
criteria for propeller guards. Such a regulation
would affect individual rights and obligations of boat
users like Kathryn Lewis and engine manufacturers
like Brunswick. It could prevent States from enacting
laws or regulations requiring propeller guards that
were not identical to the types of guards required by
federal law and, under the court of appeals’ reading
of the FBSA, it could also preclude liability under
state tort law. The court of appeals erred in giving
similar preemptive effect to the Coast Guard’s posi-
tion that it should take no regulatory action to re-
quire propeller guards, because the agency did not
follow the procedures required by the APA.

There is, in short, no difference between affirmative
and negative regulatory decisions intended by the
agency to affect individual rights and obligations.
Both must comply with the APA. If the Coast Guard
intended its position that it should take no regulatory
action to require propeller guards to have the force
and effect of law and preempt state law, then it
should have conducted a rulemaking proceeding and
issued a final rule, subject to judicial review, to that
effect. See 5 U.S.C. §§ 704, 706; see also Senate Re-
port, 1971 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1340. Agencies fre-
quently conduct rulemaking proceedings, examine
a regulatory problem on the merits, and then decide
for substantive reasons not to promulgate a regula-
tion. See, e.g., Consumer Federation v. Consumer
Product Safety Comm’n, 990 F.2d 1298, 1304-08

19

(D.C. Cir. 1993) (reviewing an agency decision not
to regulate and to terminate a rulemaking proceed-
ing) ; Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc. v. SEC,
606 F.2d 1031, 1047 (D.C. Cir. 1979) (reviewing an
agency’s failure to issue a rule after conducting a
rulemaking proceeding) ; see also Ronald M. Levin,
Understanding Unreviewability In Administrative
Law, 74 Minn. L. Rev. 689, 769-70 & n. 405 (1990)
(noting that this Court has recognized for fifty years
2 — — negative orders“ decisions not
regulate made after conducting a rulemaking pro-
ceeding). This, however, did not occur here.
Brunswick has offered no authority to support its
position that affirmative and negative regulatory
decisions that have substantial effects on individual
rights and obligations should be subject to different
procedural requirements under the APA. See Opp.
16. Moreover, the distinction proposed by Brunswick,
between decisions not to regulate’ and decisions to

* Brunswick also characterizes the Coast Guard’s decision
not to regulate as a type of “inaction” that “preempts state
law.” Opp. 19. It is true, as Brunswick notes, that this Court
has stated that “a federal decision to forgo regulation in a
given area may imply an authoritative federal determination
that the area is best left unregulated, and in that event would
have as much pre-emptive force as a decision to regulate.”
Arkansas Elec. Coop. Corp. v. Arkansas Pub. Serv. Comm'n,
461 U.S. 375, 384 (1983); see Puerto Rico Dep’t of Con-
sumer Affairs v. Isla Petroleum Corp., 485 U.S. 495, 503
(1988). This principle, however, has only rarely found appli-
cation. Indeed, this Court refused to find preemption of state
law in the two principal “inaction” cases discussed by Bruns-
wick. See Opp. 19-20 (citing Arkansas Elec. Coop. Corp.,
461 U.S. at 384-85, and Isla Petroleum Corp., 485 U.S.
at 503-04).

These inaction cases, and others, are best understood as
according preemptive effect to a federal decision not to regu-

20

regulate, would negate public participation in the rule-
making process and preclude judicial review. Con-
gress, however, intended that regulations prescribed

late some matter (X) where most other matters from A to Z
are subject to federal regulation. See Transcontinental Gas
Pipe Line Corp. v. State Oil & Gas Board, 474 U.S. 409, 422
(1986) (preemption of state regulation of sale of natural gas
to an interstate pipeline in context of comprehensive federal
statutory regulation of natural gas). “Inaction” may con-
stitute an act of preemption if there is a comprehensive
federal regulatory scheme and a federal agency intentionally
leaves a gap in the regulated field.

In this case, there is no gap in the Coast Guard’s regula-
tion of propeller guards from which a preemptive inference
can be drawn. Brunswick’s inaction argument would have
force if, for example, the Coast Guard announced in a
notice of proposed rulemaking its intention to require pro-
peller guards on motor boats ten to thirty feet long and
then published a final rule requiring propeller guards on
motor boats ten to twenty-five feet long. A preemptive infer-
ence could be drawn from the agency’s inaction with respect
to motor boats twenty-five to thirty feet in length. The
inaction cases noted above would support the inference
that the Coast Guard did not intend to require propeller
guards on this limited group of large motor boats and that
state laws and regulations requiring propeller guards on
motor boats twenty-five to thirty feet in length were pre-
empted. Nonetheless, as Justice Frankfurter cautioned, courts
she ld be reluctant to draw an inference of preemption from
unexercised federal power: “Since Congress can, if it chooses,
entirely displace the States to the full extent of the far-
reaching Commerce Clause, Congress needs no help from
generous judicial implications to achieve the supersession of
State authority.” Bethlehem Steel Co. v. New York State
Labor Relations Bd., 330 U.S. 767, 780 (1947) (Frankfurter,

J., dissenting) .

21

under section 4302 of the FBSA be subject to judi-
cial review. See Senate Report, 1971 U.S. C. C. A. N.
at 1340. If, as Brunswick contends, a decision not
to regulate is not subject to the APA’s notice and
comment procedures, then it would likewise not be
subject to judicial review, in contravention of Con-
2 intent. See Anthony, 41 Duke L. J. at 1317-18

The Coast Guard can, of course, have a policy of
“tak[ing] no regulatory action to require acest
guards” without observing the APA’s notice and
comment procedures. If, however, the Coast Guard
intends that its position have the binding force and
effect of law 80 as to preempt the rights and obliga-
tions of individuals created by state law, then the
agency must comply with the legislative rulemaking
procedures prescribed by Congress.

C. The Coast Guard Did Not Comp!

y With the Rule-
making Procedures Imposed by Congress in the
Federal Boat Safety Act for Prescribing Regula-
tions That Preempt State Law

Congress specifically intended that the
observe the notice and comment — — *
APA in prescribing regulations under the FBSA. See
Senate Report, 1971 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 1340. Congress
also imposed an additional procedural requirement
on the Coast Guard: consultation with the National
Boating Safety Advisory Council (NBSAC).* The
Coast Guard, in promulgating regulations, has recog-

* Congress can add procedural requirements to the noti
and comment procedures prescribed in the APA, and —
statutes impose the additional requirement of consultation
with an advisory council. Davis & Pierce § 7.7; Bernard
Schwartz, Administrative Law § 4.10, at 189-90 (1991).

22

nized that consultation with the NBSAC is an addi-
tion to, and not an alternative to, compliance with
the APA. For example, when the Coast Guard pro-
posed a rule on start-in gear protection devices, it
published in the Federal Register a notice of proposed
rulemaking. 45 Fed. Reg. 18987 (1980). This notice
reported that the Coast Guard had consulted with
the NBSAC and that both the transcript of the
NBSAC’s discussion of the proposed rule and the
minutes of the NBSAC meeting were available for
examination. Jd. The Coast Guard, in compliance
with the APA, invited “[i]nterested persons . to
participate in this proposed rulemaking.” Jd. More-
over, in promulgating its final rule, the Coast Guard
responded to significant comments, see 46 Fed. Reg.
at 3515 (1981), and its final rule was subject to judi-
cial review. See 5 U.S.C. $§ 704, 706.

In adopting its position on propeller guards, the
Coast Guard did not use the procedures that are
necessary to give its position the force and effect
of law. The agency did not initiate notice and com-
ment rulemaking under the APA, and its letter was
not subject to judicial review. The Coast Guard’s
position is obviously not the equivalent of a “regu-
lation prescribed under section 4302” of the FBSA.
It thus does not preempt state law because the agency
did not “conform with [the] procedural requirements
imposed by Congress.” Chrysler v. Brown, 441 U.S.
at 303; see also Louisiana Pub. Serv. Comm'n v.
FCC, 476 U.S. 355, 374 (1986) (“a federal agency
may pre-empt state law only when and if it is acting
within the scope of its congressionally delegated au-
thority“).

23

D. The Coast Guard Letter Adopting the National
Boating Safety Advisory Council’s Recommendation
Does Not Preempt State Law Because It Does Not
Have the Binding Force and Effect of Law

The Coast Guard did not comply with the notice and
comment procedures imposed by Congress in the APA
and in the FBSA: its position on propeller guards
is not a valid rule under the APA, and it is not a
“regulation prescribed under section 4302” of the
FBSA. In consequence, the Coast Guard letter adopt-
ing the recommendation of the NBSAC does not have
the “force and effect of law” because it does not con-
form with [the] procedural requirements imposed by
Congress.” Chrysler v. Brown, 441 U.S. at 302-03.

Unlike other courts of appeals, the court below
failed to recognize that the Coast Guard letter cannot
preempt state law because it does not have the force
and effect of law. See Wabash Valley Power Ass’n,
Inc. v. Rural Electrification Admin., 903 F.2d 445,
453-54 (7th Cir. 1990) (an agency official’s letter
does not have the force and effect of law because it
was not adopted after notice and comment). See also
Thomas v. New York, 802 F.2d 1443, 1446-48 (D.C.
Cir. 1986) (Scalia, J.) (an administrator’s letter is
not binding because it was not issued after notice and
comment and was not published in the Federal Reg-
ister), cert. denied, 482 U.S. 919 (1987). Cf. Bar-
clays Bank PLC v. Franchise Tax Board of Cali-
fornia, 512 U.S. 298, 329-80 (1994) (“Executive
Branch communications that express federal policy
but lach. the force of law” cannot preempt state law).
Judge Easterbrook observed in 1990 that no “case
hold Is] that a federal agency may preempt state law
without either rulemaking or adjudication.” Wabash
Valley Power, 903 F.2d at 454.

24

Brunswick suggests that the “extensive fact-finding
activities” of the Propeller Guard Subcommittee and
the decisions of the NBSAC and the Coast Guard to
accept the subcommittee’s recommendations are the
equivalent of rulemaking under the APA. Opp. 4-7,
16. Consultation with the advisory council, however,
is an additional procedural requirement for rulemak-
ing imposed by Congress in the FBSA; it is not a
substitute for the APA’s notice and comment proce-
dures. More important, this Court has already re-

statutory procedural minimum found in that Act.”
Chrysler v. Brown, 441 U.S. at 313. Courts cannot
excuse the “lack of strict compliance with the APA,”
id. at 312, because this Act “is a formula upon which
opposing social and political forces have come to rest.”
Id. at 313. The courts “are charged with maintaining
[that] balance [by] ensuring that agencies comply
with the ‘outline of minimum essential rights and
procedures’ set out in the APA.” Id. (citations
omitted).

This Court has repeatedly held that the historic
police powers of the States are not preempted “unless
that was the clear and manifest purpose of Congress.”
See, e.g., Travelers, 514 U.S. at 645 (quoting Rice v.
Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230 (1947) ).
Where Congress has granted federal agencies the
weighty power to preempt state law, it is essential that
agencies be required to exercise this power in a polit-
ically accountable manner. See Davis & Pierce § 6.7,
at 262 (notice and comment rulemaking enables public
to express concerns to President and members of Con-

25

gress, who, in turn, can “express to the agency their
views concerning the proposed policy decision and,
through the process of Executive and congressional
oversight, . . . affect agency resolutions of policy dis-
putes”). The Court should reaffirm the fundamental
rule of law that a federal agency cannot preempt state
law unless it complies with the notice and comment
rulemaking procedures of the APA.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be
reversed.

Respectfully submitted,
D. BRUCE LA PIERRE RICHARD RUDA *
WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY Chief Counsel

SCHOOL oF LAW JAMEs I. CROWLEY

One Brookings Drive STATE AND LOCAL LEGAL CENTER
St. Louis, Missouri 63130 444 North Capitol Street, N.W.
(314) 935-6477 Washington, D.C. 20001

(202) 434-4850

* Counsel of Record for the
December 24, 1997 Amici Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0114%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
