# Amicus Curiae Brief — Cass County v. Leech Lake Band of Chippewa Indians

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0111%3A20

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 524 U.S. 103

## Text

or
7

ey id

a a

Prt ee se

In the
Supreme Court of the Bnited States
October Term, 1997

CASS COUNTY, MINNESOTA, et al,
Petitioners,
“
es LEECH LAKE BAND OF CHIPPEWA INDIANS,

Respondent.

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eighth Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE TRIBES OF |
FOREST COUNTY POTAWATOMI
COMMUNITY, EASTERN BAND OF CHEROKEES, and
TURTLE MOUNTAIN BAND OF
CHIPPEWA INDIANS |
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

CAROL BROWN BIERMEIER
Counsel of Record
Brown & LaCounte, LLP
2916 MarketPlace Drive
Suite 104
Madison, WI 53719
By, Attorneys for Amici Curiae

Py
hid

BEST AVAILABLE COPY eee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED. ...00..cccccccscssscsesssescssesesscoessoes i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIEBG................cc.cccsssesssssssssseeees ili
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE ..00.........ccccccceeseeeeees l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .............cccccccccsssssseesseecenees 3
ARGUMENT:
1. THE LEECH LAKE BAND OF CHIPPEWAS

HAS NOT RELINQUISHED IN ANY TREATY

ITS INHERENT SOVEREIGN POWER TO

REACQUIRE AND RETURN LAND WITHIN

ITS TERRITORY TO ITS PUBLIC DOMAIN...... 6

Il. THE EXERCISE BY TRIBES OF THE POWER
TO ACQUIRE PRIVATE PROPERTY AND
RETURN IT TO THE TRIBE’S PUBLIC DOMAIN
IS NOT INCONSISTENT WITH THEIR

a. Lands Acquired by the Tribe Pursuant to Section
465 of the IRA are exempt from State
OR ENE TI ceciireibttedBentnemetccnstncvecsccccee 9

QUESTION PRESENTED

AMICI CURIAE TRIBES WOULD STATE THE ISSUE AS
FOLLOWS:

WHETHER INDIVIDUAL PARCELS OF PROPERTY, OVER
WHICH A TRIBE EXERCISES TERRITORIAL DOMINION, CAN
BE SUBJECTED TO THE TAXING JURISDICTION OF THE
STATE ABSENT A CLEAR ABROGATION BY CONGRESS, OR
A CESSION BY THE TRIBE, OF ITS SOVEREIGNTY.

CONGRESS HAS NEVER ABROGATED THE
INHERENT POWERS OF THE TRIBE TO
REACQUIRE PRIVATE PROPERTY AND
RETURN IT TO THE TRIBE’S PUBLIC

PEE SEL Se a 5 ae 10

a. The General Allotment Act of 1887 Did Not on
its Face Authorize State Taxation of
i 11

THE GENERAL ALLOTMENT ACT AND
SUBSEQUENT LEGISLATION HAS NOT
WAIVED TRIBES’ COMMON LAW IMMUNITY
PUREE TUNE ‘visénivininininisltscisinisiabeininasectvedecsnsocceeseres 13

CO-EXISTENT STATUTES MUST BE INTER-
PRETED IN LIGHT OF INTERVENING
LEGISLATIVE ENACTMENTS ...........c.ccesseseeseees 20

a The Yakima Court misapplied the “per se”
rule regarding State taxation in Indian

b. Federal Preemption is the Correct
Standard to apply to the Question of
Whether States Have the Taxation
Authority over Indian Tribes and Their
feo eleld Ad + SES CE 21

RS RRO Mind SS SUS 25

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Brendale v. Confederated Tribes and Bands
of the Yakima Indian Nation, 492 U.S. 408

COGEED cn icdkdeds ov dé nhvnsetteensonnnel 4, 8, 16,
18-20, 23, 26
Buster v. Wright, 135 F. 947 (CA8 (1905)) .. 15
California v. Cabazon Band of Mission
Indians, 480 U.S. 202 (1987) .............. 12-13

Cotton Petroleum Corp. v. New Mexico,
490 U.S. 163,176 (1989) .... 0.66. eee eeee 23

County of Yakima v. Confederated Tribes &
Bands of the Yakima Indian Nation, 502 U.S.

258 DEE <2. \ caabiinhadaeiaaiiaiit nin 20
English v. General Electric Co., 496 U.S. 72

ag Milere ss acu eat Ge 24
Felder v. Casey, 487 U.S. 131, 138 (1988) ... 21
Goudy v. Meath, 201 U.S. 146 (1906) . . 6, 11-12
Hagen v. Utah, 510 U.S. 399 (1994) ........ 17

In re Heff, 197 U.S. 488 (1905) ............
Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52 (1941) ....
Iselin v. United States, 270 U.S. 245, 250-251

GRR doch bed eccccccccectidttaktitidc.

fo RRS eS ee ee

FR Ol ee ren See

GPUEE w stb ds iddcccewrecedlcedeibiscas

a rs toe oe ee

National Farmers Union v. Crow Tribe, 471 U.S.
GD. dincccccccecesbdechbecddl Si.

Oklahoma Tax Commission v. Citizen Band

Potawatomi Indian Tribe of Oklahoma, 498 U.S.
ee re Ferree

Oliphant v. Suquamish Indian Tribe, 435 U.S.
RMUIIAES Noss cases. Sous feciccuts..

Perez v. Campbell, 402 U.S. 637 (1971) .....

Pimailco, Inc. v. Maricopa County, 937 P.2d 1198,
yp a ee

22, 24

9-11

Ramah Navajo School Bd., Inc. v. Bureau of
Revenue of New Mexico, 458 U.S. 832, 838
Ss 60 odcc 6d tidins dane setadeseees
Rice v. Rehner, 463 U.S. 713,719 (1983) ...

Santa Clara Pueblo v. Martinez, 436 U.S. 49
GERTED cnc cele cece cseses openconewosase

Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463 (1984) ......
Talton v. Mayes, 163 U.S. 376 (1896) ......

United States v. Celestine, 215 U.S. 278,
SEO Snscdecccccecctabenesseseces

United States v. Mazurie, 419 U.S. 544
GSU cc ctosoveccocssescdbedegnesecee.
GI bc wctcccccccescaseasecsavsecees

Washington v. Confederated Tribes of the Colville
Indian Res., 447 U.S. 34, 154 (1980) ........

West Virginia University Hospitals, Inc. v. Casey,
Gas SED bcc cdhotbancnsécceses

Worcester v. Georgia, 31 U.S. at 582 ........

17

5, 15, 17

22-25

Statutes

lela ee ag
25 U.S.C. §450 et. seq. ... 00... eee eeeeeeee
25 U.S.C. §461-479 (1988) ............05.
a i ea
25 U.S.C. §§1301-1303 ..............000.
25 U.S.C. §1451 et. seq. ....... 0. eee eeeee
25 U.S.C. §§1901-1963 (1988) ............
25 U.S.C. §§2201-2211 (1988) ............
25 U.S.C. §§2701-2721 (1988) ............
25 U.S.C. §§2901-2906 (Supp. II 1990)......
25 U.S.C. 3701-3745 (1994) ..........0 00.

yb Re ft t, RR PCUE eee
24 Stat. 390, Yakima, at 689-93 ............
96 Stat. 2607 (codified in scattered sections

of 26 U.S.C.) Pub. L. No. 97-473 ...........

Other Authorities

7 Op. Att’y. Gen. 174 (1855) ..............
17 Op. Att’y. Gen. 134 (1881) .............
23 Op. Att’y. Gen. 214 (1900) .............
55 (Katherine Woods trans., (1943) .........
Cohen’s Handbook of Federal Indian Law,

147 (Rennard Strickland et al. eds., 1982) ....
“The Forgotten American:” The President’s
Message to the Congress on Goals and Programs
for the American Indians, PUB. PAPERS 335
(CIS S Fi PETE UCI PRIS...

H.R. Rep. No. 1804, 73d Cong.,2d Sess.,6

25

I fn 6. 0 drs wien d ohio ahaa bi diet id oc
Indian Land Consolidation Act, 25 U.S.C.
ee ae
Institute for Gov’t Research, The Problem of
Indian Administration 3-51 (1928) ..........
TN ee ee errr

Linde, First Things First: Rediscovering the States’

Bills of Rights, 9 U. Balt. L. Rev. 370, 380
GREE 06 obdbeee0 cs nemeeetnacessdneded
Memorandum of Law by Solicitor of the U.S.
Department of the Interior, John D. Leshy, dated
PENSE SUb BOOS 600 cccncccdbtidel Guedes
Powers of Indian Tribes, 55 1.D. 14, 46

COUN hike Hides 00s o padonsdousestanncca<
Prucha, Francis P., The Great Father, (abridged
OE BD c oWbcccccccccscecececssditens
Special Message to the Congress on Indian Affairs,
PUB. PAPERS 564 (1970) ................
Wheeler-Howard Act, H.R. 7902 and S. 2755,
Wee lo HNO 6c be vévaccdedbibnbeess

7,18

25

10

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE'

This case presents the question of whether the States and their
political subdivisions may impose ad valorem taxes on fee patented
lands located within the territory of an Indian Tribe irrespective of
whether those lands are acquired arid subsequently regulated by the
governing Indian Tribe or owned individually by its members.

While the issues in this case involve lands within a Tribe’s
territorial boundaries in the State of Minnesota, the decision of this
Court will have far reaching impacts on almost every Indian Tribe in
the United States. The policy of allotment has had continuing
adverse effects on the sovereignty of Tribes since its first legislative
enactment notwithstanding the policy’s repudiation by subsequent
legislation. The resultant effects place Tribes in an increasingly
precarious position exposing its future as a sovereign government to
uncertain and significant risk. Because sovereignty is inextricably
tied to territory, this vulnerability of such sovereignty through land
foreclosure actions on certain parcels by States and their political
subdivisions results in the systematic erosion of what remains of
tribal sovereignty, an impact clearly unintended by Congress as
evidenced by its intervening legislation since the Dawes Allotment
Act.

More particularly, each of the Tribes represented in this brief
will be directly affected by the decision of the Court in this case due
to either the present existence of a scattering of fee-patented lands
located within their Reservation boundaries or the recent acquisition

'The parties have consented to the filing of this brief. Counsel for a
party did not author this brief in whole or in part. No person or
entity, other than the Amicus Curiae, its members, or its counsel
made a monetary constribution to the preparation and submission of
this brief.

of lands immediately adjacent to, or located within, their present land
base. This impact will be measured not only in terms of the future
status of their land holdings. Rather, and more significantly, the
consequences will impact the effectiveness on Tribes’ ability to
exercise complete dominion over their own territory pursuant to their
own Constitutions and pursuant to post-allotment legislation which
reflects the federal government’s Indian policy of self-determination,
sovereignty, and control over Indian country.

The reduction in the local tax base is of minimal consequence
when measured against the broader, more far-reaching effects
suffered by Tribe governments as a result of the ability of States to
further dismantle their land base through taxation. Moreover,
requiring Tribes to pay, through ad valorem taxes, for local services,
typically not always commensurate with the taxes paid as evidenced
by the expansion of Tribal services, places Tribes in a “catch-22”
situation. One of the essential tools to self-government, the power of
taxation, will be judicially foreclosed in the face of existing federal
statutes encouraging Tribes’ efforts to sustain their sovereignty and

Whenever a government decides to exercise its taxation
authority, it must be able to do so without excessive interference
from other governments. If another governmental entity can defeat
its taxing power on illogical and unprecedented legal grounds, the
Tribes’ taxation power is rendered useless. Thus, contrary to the
Yakima Court’s opinion that the mere power to assess and collect a
tax on real estate is not disruptive of tribal self-government, in
actuality, Tribes, at the very least, will lose much needed income
from revenue-raising tools normally relied upon by other
governments to maintain their sovereignty, which will result in a
systematic collapse of their government and vitality. Their cultural
patrimony will be lost. Their democratic political processes and
go unexercised. Economic development will be stifled. From

2

intestate death to intestate death, child by child, acre by acre, blood
degree by blood degree, by furthering the legacy of allotment, the
current Indian law jurisprudence will ensure that Tribes, their
members, and their sovereignty spiral toward a slow but certain
demise.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

“You own the stars?”

“But I have seen a King who ....”

“Kings do not own, they reign over; it is a very different matter.”
Antoine de Saint Exupery, The Little Prince, 55 (Katherine Woods
trans., 1943).

The Tenth Amendment to the United States Constitution
represents the guiding principles and logic of the American federalist
the source of the Union’s powers, granting certain powers to the
Union and reserving all inherent, residual powers. The Tenth
Amendment’s logic is based upon two tenets of American
federalism. First, the original thirteen States pre-existed the Union
and, second, republican democracy requires that the power to govern
derives from people. Invoking both tenets of American federalism,
one American jurist wrote: “State bills of rights are first in two
senses: first in time and first in logic.”

The Supreme Court has explained that the United States of
America recognizes the inherent sovereignty of the Tribes for the
same two reasons. First, Tribes pre-existed the United States and the
original thirteen States and thus they derive their sovereignty from

. Linde, First Things First: Rediscovering the States’ Bills of
Rights, 9 U. Balt. L. Rev. 370, 380 (1980).

3-

outside the U.S. political sphere. Santa Clara Pueblo vy. Martinez,
436 U.S. 49, 56 (1978). Second, the United States invokes American
notions of republican democracy, that Tribes derive their sovereignty
from the governed within a politically recognized territory. Talton v.
Mayes, 163 U.S. 376 (1896) National Farmer’s Union v. Crow
Tribe, 471 U.S. 845 (1985) Brendale v. Confederated Tribes and
Bands of Yakima Indian Nation, et al., 492 U.S. 408 (1989). In this
regard, the foundational relationship between the Tribes and the
United States is similar to the foundational relationship between the
States and the Union.

The States formed their relationship with the Union and each
other through the Constitution, while the Tribes generally formed
their relationship with the Union and the States through treaties.
Nevertheless, in language remarkably similar to the Tenth
Amendment the Supreme Court has imputed its wording and logic
into the treaty-based relationship between the U.S. and the Tribes.
The Court wrote “In other words, the treaty was not a grant of rights
to the Indians, but a grant rights from them -- a reservation of those
not granted.” United States v. Winans, 198 U.S. 371, 381 (1905). In
other words, the Tribes pre-existed the Union and the States and, in
light of republican democracy, represented the source of America’s
powers over the Tribes and the reservoir of the Tribes’ inherent
powers not granted to the United States in treaties.

’ In Johnson v. M’Intosh, 21 U.S. (8 Wheat) 543 (1823) the Chief
Justice wrote, “The person who purchases lands from the Indians,
within their territory, incorporates himself with them, so far as
protection, and subject to their laws.” Jd. at 593. This statement in
Johnson recognizes that Tribes inherently possessed the inherent
sovereign power to govern territory, maintain a public domain, issue

4.

title, regulate that title, and rescind that title. Jd.’

However, Court opinions have declared with increasing
frequency that Tribes are no longer possessed of the full sovereignty
that they once maintained. According to Court opinions, Tribes
possess inherent sovereignty that has not been voluntarily
relinquished in treaties or agreements,‘ abrogated by Congress’, or
deemed inconsistent with their status. Oliphant v. Suquamish
Indian Tribe, et al., 435 U.S. 191 (1978). As an added measure of
Tribes’ governance, Congress may delegate certain governmental
powers to Tribes. U.S. v. Mazurie, 419 U.S. 544 (1975). Therefore,
the inquiry should be: 1) whether, in treaties, the Leech Lake Band of
Chippewa has relinquished its inherent sovereign power to reacquire
and return property within its territory to its public domain; 2)
whether Congress has ever abrogated such powers; 3) whether the
exercise of such powers by Tribes is inconsistent with their status; or
4) whether Congress has ever delegated that authority to Tribes. The
answer is, indisputably and undeniably, that 1) Tribes have never
2) Congress has never abrogated that authority; 3) the exercise of
such powers are completely consistent with the Tribes’ status; and 4)
such delegation is unnecessary because Tribes still possess such

Johnson’s holding was that “the courts of this country” could
not sustain such a title granted by an unrecognized Tribe, particularly
when that same Tribe subsequently ceded the territory accompanying
the property at issue to the United States.

‘ This normally was accomplished by treaty or other
agreement, generally with the consent of theTribe.

: Treaty provisions obligate the United States to protect the
Tribes, externally and internally, thus providing a measure of

‘ The Court also preserved a place for judicial activism in this
arena.

-5-

powers.

I. THE LEECH ILAKE BAND OF CHIPPEWAS HAS NOT
RELINQUISHED IN ANY TREATY ITS INHERENT
SOVEREIGN POWER TO REACQUIRE AND
RETURN LAND WITHIN ITS TERRITORY TO ITS
PUBLIC DOMAIN.

The Court has invoked American political thought
specifically regarding treaties dealing with Tribes’ land. The Court
once explained, “To contend that the word ‘allotted,’ in reference to

The Tribe possesses the inherent power to authorize the
United States and the State of Minnesota to impose ad valorem
property taxes on allotments within the Tribe’s territory. For
example, the Court decided in Goudy v. Meath, 201 U.S. 146 (1906),
that the State of Washington could impose an ad valorem property
tax upon allotted land. However, in Goudy the Court relied upon
specific treaty provisions in which the Puyallup Tribe authorized
Congress to allot the reservation and to allow the State to impose
such property taxes. Goudy v. Meath, 201 at 149. The treaty with the
Leech Lake Band of Chippewa contains no provision authorizing
either allotment or State taxation. Therefore, at the very least Goudy
supports the contention that the Leech Lake Band of Chippewa did
not authorize State taxation. Indeed, the absence of any authorizing
language such as that relied upon in Goudy, that case suggests that

6-

the General Allotment Act and the Burke Act’s amendments were, in
their entirety, unconstitutionally applied to the Leech Lake Band of
Chippewa. The Leech Lake Band of Chippewa did not relinquish in
any treaty the power to govern their territory, including the power to _
acquire private property within its territory for return to the Tribe’s
public domain.

Il. |THE EXERCISE BY TRIBES OF THE POWER TO
ACQUIRE PRIVATE PROPERTY AND RETURN IT
TO THE TRIBE’S PUBLIC DOMAIN IS NOT
INCONSISTENT WITH THEIR STATUS.

Tribes’ reacquisition of land within their territory for public
domain purposes is not “inconsistent with their status.” For
example, many reservations were not subjected to allotment.
Moreover, most reservations that were zubjected to allotment were
not allotted in their entirety. As a result, unallotted or partially
allotted reservations continue to contain tribal public domain lands
entirely consistently with the Tribe’s status. Moreover, in the Indian
Civil Rights Act of 1968, Congress expressly acknowledged that
Tribes maintain their own public domain, including exercising
eminent domain.’ Furthermore, in the Indian Land Consolidation
Act, Congress specifically encouraged a policy of returning certain
individually-held property interests to the Tribe’s domain. 25 U.S.C.
§2201. Therefore, the reacquisition and return of fee lands to the
Tribe’s public domain is entirely consistent with the Tribe’s status.

Indeed, it would be inconsistent with their status to treat the
Tribe as just another private landowner due to the Court’s increasing
concern with basic republican democracy, due process, and political

, “No Indian Tribe in exercising powers of self-government
shall: (5) take any private property for a public use without just
compensation” Indian Civil Rights Act of 1968, 25 U.S.C., § 1302.

-7-

participation in the relationship between the States and the Tribes
and their respective citizenries. In Oliphant v. Suquamish Tribe,435
U.S. 191 (1978), Duro v. Reina, 495 U.S. 676 (1990); Brendale v.
Confederated Tribe of Yakima, 492 U.S. 408 (1989), the Court ruled
against the Tribe’s exercise of governing power over non-Members
because their limited ability to participate in Tribe government. Yet
the Tribe’s ability to participate in the county’s government is non-
existent. Indeed, the Tribe’s members’ ability to participate in the
county’s government is impractical and antithetical to notions of
republican democracy. |

Congress has never made clear that the Tribe’s members are
citizens of the States and their subdivisions. The Constitution and
the Fourteenth Amendment exclude “Indians not taxed,” in reference
to member Indians who live on their Tribe’s reservation. The Indian
Citizenship Act of 1924 and the various allotment acts extended
national citizenship to Indians, including “Indian not taxed”, but
these acts did not extend State citizenship to such Indians. 8 U.S.C.,
w§ 1401(b). The reasoning behind these provisions comports with
basic notions of republican democracy: those who did not bear the
civic responsibilities of citizenship and government (taxation) should
not benefit from the rights and privileges of citizenship and
government, i.e. voting and holding office. Tribes and their resident
members neither bear the responsibilities of State citizenship nor
enjoy the rights of State citizenship.

____ Tribes and their members could enjoy the benefits of State
citizenship only to the derogation of the basic axiom that
government is by the governed. If resident members of the Leech
Lake Band could fully participate in county processes, they could
vote against any property taxes whatsoever or they could vote to
increase them dramatically. Since most of them live on individually
held trust property, they would not be affected either way.
Meanwhile, the county’s property taxes fund its public schools. Yet,
the Tribe’s members do not attend the county’s public schools.

8-

Indeed, a member of the Tribe who resides on trust land without
property taxes could run for and win public office in the county. She
would then be in the position of making laws by which she could not
be forced to live.

Therefore, the county should not be able to tax the Tribe’s
land because the Tribe cannot participate in the county government.
Indeed, the county should not be allowed to tax the property of the
Tribe’s members.

a. Lands Acquired by the Tribe Pursuant to Section 465 of
the IRA Are Exempt From State and Local Taxation.

The Indian Reorganization Act of 1934 provided for restoring
unallotted surplus Indian lands to tribal ownership. 48 Stat. 984, 25
U.S.C. § 463. In addition, the IRA authorized “reacquisition of
allotted lands in trust.” Furthermore, this reacquisition could be
“within or without existing reservations.” See § 465. The land at
issue was reacquired by the Tribe pursuant to its IRA constitution
and § 465.

In Mescalero Apache Tribe v. Jones, 411 U.S. 145 (1973),
the Court decided that the Tribe must pay State income taxes derived
from land acquired under § 465; however, the Court also decided
that the Tribe need not pay personal property taxes on improvements
attached to the land acquired under §465. In Mescalero the Court's
latter holding rested squarely on an underlying presumption that
tribally-held property was not subject to State taxation.

In Mescalero Apache Tribe v. Jones, 411 U.S. 145 (1973),
the Court based its affirmation of the State’s ability to tax the gross
receipts on revenues earned from an off-reservation Tribal enterprise
but not on personalty that had been installed as a permanent
improvement at the resort on the IRA. Section 465 exempts land
acquired by a Tribe from local taxation. As previously stated, the

9.

permanently attached to the realty. Mescalero, 411 U.S. at 154. The

reservation lands of their historic immunity from state and local

paneer ond - Nothing in this Act shall be construed as i
any indi ia .:quieneen 7

State or subdivision thereof...’ id, (quoting from the —

bills to the Wheeler-Howard H.R. 7902 and S. 2755, Tit. l, s 11.

against the backdrop of treaties and the ensuing relationship between
the United States and Tribes. In that light, the Court has required
that such congressional statements be “unmistakably clear”.

Assuming, arguendo, that Yakima stands for the proposition
that the GAA and the Burke Act authorized State taxation of
property held by the Tribe, Congress has never acted to abrogate the
sovereign power of the Leech Lake Band of Chippewa to place such
property back into the Tribe’s public domain. Indeed, while the
GAA has effectuated a private property system within the Tribe's
boundaries, the acts did not abrogate the Tribes’ inherent sovereign
powers to govern that private property system or to regulate those
allotments. As the Solicitor of the Department of the Interior, the
federal administrative entity with primary responsibility over U.S.
relations with Indian Tribes, wrote: “A tribe has the sovereign power
to, among other things, regulate and perhaps proscribe use of
reservation resources, including allottee resources.”* Therefore,
Congress has never abrogated the Tribe’s inherent sovereign power
to acquire private property within its territory and to return that
property to the Tribe’s public domain.

a. § The General Allotment Act Of 1887 Did Not On Its Face
Authorize State Taxation Of Allotments

Although the Court has held the Dawes Act’s allotment
. - 9 the _ invoked by Cass County have
never been upheld without treaty authorization. Cass County’s
reliance upon Goudy supports this contention. Goudy arose out of an
1854 treaty which expressly contemplated an action by Congress to
allot the reservation and to authorize State taxation. Goudy, at 149.

: Memorandum of Law by Solicitor of the U.S. Department of
the Interior, John D. Leshy, dated March 30, 1995.
* Inve Hef, 197 U.S. 488 (1905).

The treaty in Goudy provided for allotment, adding that such
allotments “shall be exempt from levy, sale, or forfeiture, which
conditions shall continue in force until the State constitution ... and
the legislature of the State shall remove the restrictions.” Id. The
treaty between the United States and the Leech Lake Band of

Chippewa contains no such authorizing provision.

Furthermore, the 1854 treaty in Goudy provided that “No
without the consent of Congress.” Jd. Thus, the 1854 treaty, which
was negotiated by the Executive Branch and ratified by the
Legislative, reveals the mutual understanding that before the U.S.
could infringe upon Tribes’ sovereignty, the infringement must first
have been authorized or consented to. To suggest that the allotment
acts obtain the same results without such prior treaty authorization is
to render the 1854 treaty fortuitous. Therefore, the Goudy analysis
suggests that the General Allotment Act was an unconstitutional
exercise of congressional power, both in its allotment and taxation
provisions. Such a conclusion would comport with republican
democracy’s fundamental tenets of authorization and consent.

Nonetheless, even assuming that the GAA is generally
constitutional, its provisions must be construed in light of the
treaties, general rules of statutory construction, and federal policy.
For example, the term “State law” in the GAA does not necessarily
mean State jurisdiction. For example, in the Major Crimes Act, 25
U.S.C. § 1153, Congress wrote: “As used in this section, the offenses
of burglary and incest shall be defined and punished in accordance
with the laws of the State.” Yet, neither the Executive nor the Court
have ever interpreted this application of State law as also extending
State jurisdiction. For another example, the Court in California v.
Cabazon Band of Mission Indians, 480 U.S. 202 (1987), recognized
that the Organized Crime Control Act “makes certain violations of
State and local gambling laws violations of federal law.” However,

the Court then added, “[tJhere is nothing in the OCCA indicating that

-12-

the States are to have any part in enforcing [the OCCA].” California
v. Cabazon Band of Mission Indians, 480 U.S. at 212. Moreover,
where Congress has intended to extend State jurisdiction it has done
so unambiguously. In Public Law 83-280 Congress expressed its
intent to apply State law and extend State jurisdiction, providing:
“The consent of the United States is hereby given to any State not
having jurisdiction over criminal offenses in Indian Country to
cena enitenteadaenattdtatiatndaieb Guiiatea tied
State shall have the same force and effect as elsewhere in the State.”
Therefore, the GAA is not unmistakably clear and it applies only
State law, not State taxation, and certainly not State jurisdiction.

IV. THE GENERAL ALLOTMENT ACT AND
SUBSEQUENT LEGISLATION HAS NOT WAIVED
TRIBES COMMON LAW IMMUNITY FROM SUIT.

Assuming again arguendo that the GAA allowed a
permeation of the Tribe’s sovereign sphere by allowing States to
foreclose tax-delinquent land held in fee by individual allottees or
their successors, a position to which Amici Tribes do not concede,
that is an immeasurable distance from holding that the GAA
abrogated the immunity of the Tribe itself, once the Tribe reacquires
fee parcels or places its own parcels in fee.

“Indian Tribes have long been recognized as possessing the
common-law immunity from suit traditionally enjoyed by sovereign
powers.” Santa Clara Pueblo v. Martinez, 435 U.S. 49, 58 (1978).
“Although Congress has occasionally authorized limited classes of
suits against Indian Tribes, it has never authorized suits to enforce
tax assessments.” Oklahoma Tax Commission v. Citizens Band
Potawatomi, 498 U.S. 505, 510 (1991). The result reached in
Otiahome Tax Commstteston sesiee sxsanety onthe Sostine of Sls
sovereign immunity and the Court refused to narrowly construe
doctrine and to even abandon it in its entirety. Id at 510. Moreover,
the Court has recognized Congress’ continuing approval of the

-13-

immunity doctrine. /d at 510 (citing the Indian Financing Act of
1974, 88 Stat. 77, 25 U.S.C. §1451 et. seq., and the Indian Self-
Determination and Education Assistance Act, 88 Stat. 2203, 25
U.S.C. §450 et seq. Against the backdrop of inherent Tribal
governmental powers, this Court has utilized the rules for employing
a waiver of tribal immunity identical to the rules applied for
employing a waiver of state or federal immunity “because no
principled reason requires a different treatment.” Merrion v.
Jicarilla Apache Tribe, 455 U.S. 130, 148 ( 1982).

) Nothing in either the GAA or the Burke Act or the legislative
history, confers upon states the authority to impose any of its laws on
a Tribe government. i ing the Acts’ purpose to
and distinguished the existence and continuing vitality of the
sovereignty of Tribes’ over their territory with individual Indians,
who had the choice of maintaining their political alliance with their
Tribe or severing those ties entirely. [cite to Section 6 of the GAA].
Moreover, Section 5 specifically reflects this acknowledgment by
explicitly reserving the Tribes’ rights to release any surplus lands it
may choose to sell within its territory for homesteading purposes.

with the enactment of the IRA, Executive branch officials have
consistently recognized that Indian tribes possess all the attributes of
a sovereign necessary to control economic activity within its
jurisdiction and to effectively manage its territory, 17 Op. Atty. Gen.
134 (1881); 7 Op. Atty. Gen. 174 1855), including the jurisdiction to
agama Gen. 214 (1900); Powers of Indian Tribes, 55 LD.

“Chief among the powers of sovereignty i
as pertaining to an Indian Tribe is the power of
taxation. Except where Congress has provided
otherwise, this power may be exercised over members

-14-

of the tribe and over non-members as far as such
nonmembers may accept privileges of trade,
residence, etc., to which taxes may be attached as
conditions.” Jbid.

Further, this Court has recognized that “Indian Tribes within
Indian Country are a good deal more than ‘private, voluntary
organizations.’”” United States v. Mazurie, 419 U.S. 544, 557 (1975).
This distinction between Tribes as governments and Indian people as
individuals is crucial to the finding that Congress did not confer any
state authority over Indian Tribes. What the Petitioners beg the
Court to imply in the GAA is a congressional diminishment of a
Tribe from its governmental status to a status equivalent to a taxable
subdivision of the State simply by the Tribe’s mere existence within
the State’s boundaries. This logic flies in the face of long-standing
enhancing the Tribes’ governmental status and encouraging exercise
of its governmental sovereign powers. See supra note 1] 1. This
acknowledgment of the territorial imperative to tribal sovereignty is
reflected in the Indian Civil Rights Act of 1968, 25 U.S.C. §§1301-
1303, which affirmed the Tribes’ right to take land into their public
domain. Section 1302(5) specifically requires a Tribe to provide just
compensation for any private property over which it may exercise
eminent domain.

Notwithstanding the Petitioner’s unsupportable position, the
resultant impact would divest the Tribes of the ability to create
programs and initiate governmental action within their territory to
implement the legislative provisions and other objectives inherent in
the self-determination policy. In Buster v. Wright, 135 F. 947 (CA8
(1905), the Court concluded that “{nJeither the United States, nor a
state, nor any other sovereignty loses the power to govern the people
within its borders by the existence of towns and cities therein
endowed with the usual powers of municipalities, nor by the
ownership nor occupancy of the land within its territorial

-15-

jurisdiction by citizens or foreigners.” 135 F., at 952. (emphasis
added). This notion reflects the integral role of territory and
collective rights in sovereign governments, and the continuing
vitality of Tribe governments is dependent upon the Courts
recognition of this principle. This, when measured against the
protectable collective right of the Tribes in the present case,
identifies two independent but related barriers to the exercise of state
authority within the territory of an Indian Tribe, state’s authority may
be preempted by federal law, or it may interfere with the Tribe’s
ability to exercise its sovereign functions. Bracker, 448 U.S. at 152,
(citing U. S. CONSTITUTION. art. I, §8, cl.3). Moreover, the Court
has set forth well-established principles prohibiting individual states
from levying taxes on Indian or tribally-owned property. Pimalco,
Inc. v. Maricopa County, 937 P.2d 1198,1203 (1997)(citing
McClanahan, 411 U.S. 164, 170-71 (1973), Oklahoma Tax
Commission, at 366-67; Confederated Tribes of Colville, at 152,
Moe, at 480-81, Industrial Uranium Co. v. State Tax Comm'n of
Arizona, 95 Ariz. 130, 134, 387 P.2d 1013, 1015-16 (1963).

By focusing on the narrow inquiry of who owns the title to a
particular parcel, the Yakima Court wholly ignored the quintessential
power inherent in territory. This departure from generally accepted
powers to regulate derives from a perspective that does not view
territory as a constitutive element of group identity. The Tribes’
rights are not derived solely from membership based principles, but
from the fact that territory is politically contingent and a vital
component of self-governance. Territory is imperative to tribal
sovereignty.

The Court’s long line of precedent invoking the Canons of
Construction, federal preemption doctrine, and the “unmistakably
clear intent” rule, and Congress’ policy of Tribal self-determination
all would be unilaterally reversed were States allowed to
systematically foreclose against every parcel owned by the Tribe or
its members and thereby reduce the Tribe’s tax base. Taxation of a

-16-

Tribe is tantamount to diminishment, and the Court has set forth
specific prerequisites to diminishment, not the least of which is just
compensation. Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463 (1984) Hagen v.
Utah, 510 U.S. 399 (1994). Notwithstanding, the first governing
principle is that “[o]nly Congress can divest a reservation of its land.
Id. at 470. Moreover, once land has been set aside for an Indian
Reservation, irrespective of the title of individual plots within the
Tribe’s territory, “the entire block retains its reservation status until
Congress explicitly indicates otherwise.” See United States v.
Celestine, 215 U.S. 278, 285 (1909). The statutory definition of
Indian country as all lands within the limits of Indian reservations
reflects the principle that “Indian country” is not a concept simply
relegated to property, but territory. Thus, by looking at Indian
sovereignty by determining who owns individual parcels of the soil,
rather than viewing it in terms of the territorial bounds of the
sovereign, reduces Tribes to little more than “private, voluntary
organizations.” U.S. v. Mazurie, 419 U.S. at 557.

As the twenty-first century approaches, Tribes across the
continent have, as a matter of practicality and necessity, continued to
utilize that sovereign power within their territories. Tribes utilize
their territorial governance as any other government does, to .
encourage productivity, to regulate land use, to site housing projects,
landfiils, hospitals, and lagoons, and to preserve the public domain.

sovereign possesses the prerogative to acquire fee land
toda If a Tribe acquires fee land outside
its reservation, that land continues to be held in fee by the Tribe and
is subject to taxation by the jurisdiction in which it sits. However, if
a Tribe acquires fee land inside the reservation, the legal outcome 1s
not so clear. A Tribe’s fee ownership of on-reservation lands raises
issues of jurisdiction, taxation, and sovereign immunity.

Thus, if a Tribe acquires non-Member owned, on-reservation
fee land which has been legally determined to be subject to State

At

taxation and continues to hold that land in fee status, then that land
may be subject to continued taxation. This, at least, represents the
facts presented by Yakima.

However, if a Tribe acquires land within the reservation and
chooses not to continue to hold the land in fee, but to return the land
to its public domain, that too is its sovereign prerogative. After all,
land within a Tribe’s reservation that acquires fee status does not
necessarily fall outside the Tribes’ domain. The Court’s decisions in
Montana and Brendale illustrate that land may be held in fee, even by
non-members of the Tribe, and still be subject to the Tribe’s
governance. Indeed, the Court’s opinion in Yakima, which limited
the State’s taxation to the land itself and disallowed the excise tax,
further shows that the Tribe continues to hold some measure of
territorial governance over these parcels of individually held private
property.

Therefore, one attribute of the Tribes’ governance must be to
acquire land in fee and return it to the Tribe’s public domain, as any
other sovereign might do. Unlike the Tribe in Yakima, the Leech
Lake Band returned the reacquired parcels back into its public
domain. In fact, Cass County acquiesced to this arrangement and did
not pursue taxation on the parcels until the Yakima decision.

If the Court imposes a fee ownership upon the Tribe, as
opposed to holding the land as part of the Tribe’s public domain and
trust, then the Tribe will be forced, as a Tribe, to act collectively in
carrying out the primary purposes for which the ILCA was enacted --
to return the land to economic productivity. Rather than as a
government, redistributing the land into private hands to be held
individually, to foster individual entrepreneurship. If the Court
insists that Tribes hold land as a private owner rather than as a
governing sovereign, the Court will have stifled the ability of the
Tribe to re-issue title to land to truly private parties in order to make
it economically productive. In short, the Court will have imposed

-18-

communism upon the Tribes.

Part of the confusion evolves from the misuse of the term
“trust” in many case involving Tribes. The territories which
constituted the Tribes’ public domain are not in “trust” in the same
sense that individually held allotments are held in trust. The General
Allotment Act applied the legal term “trust” only to the individually-
held allotments established by that Act. However, the term “trust”
has also, mostly in the scholarship, been analogically applied to lands
within the tribes’ territory which were not allotted -- that is, lands
held either collectively or privately under the Tribes’ governance
prior to the GAA -- simply because such lands contained some
characteristics of trust allotments contained, i.e., could not be
acquired by anyone but the United States. While this use of the term
“trust” presents a convenient analogy, it is also an misapplication of
the term.

Historically, this right to acquire the Tribes’ territory
belonged to the discovering European nation. Prior to the American
revolution England, France, and Spain fought wars over this
discovery right. However, upon declaring and winning their
independence, the colonies succeeded to the rights of discovery
formerly held by the European governments. Subsequently, upon
forming the United States, they in turn granted that discovery power
to the Union in the Commerce Clause. Finally, to codify matters, the
Federal government promptly enacted the Trade and Intercourse Act
which restricted to itself all acquisition of Tribe territories.

Therefore, it is because of the Discovery doctrine and its
progeny -- delegation to the Union by the States in the Commerce
Clause and codified in the Trade and Intercourse Acts -- that the
territories or lands held collectively by the Tribe are not subject to '
acquisition by foreign states, the several States of the Union, or their
individual citizens. The General Allotment Act did not restrict the
acquisition of such lands. Thus, such lands are not subsumed into

-19-

that property concept of “trust” in the sense that the word is applied
to individually held allotments.

If, in the commerce clause, the States can have authorized
Congress to unilaterally acquire Tribes’ territory and grant it to a
State, then certainly those same States can have authorized Congress
to also acquire lands within a State and return it to a Tribe.
Otherwise, what principle of republican democracy would recognize
in Congress more power over those who do not authorize that power
than over those who do authorize that power? Further,

Congressional authorization must be read to authorize the acquisition

and consolidation of lands as Tribes hold lands.
This background is necessary for three reason:
1) restriction on acquisition versus restraint on alienation
2) Tribes govern territories and hold lands in a public domain
and trust

Vv. CO-EXISTENT STATUTES MUST BE INTERPRETED IN
LIGHT OF INTERVENING LEGISLATIVE ENACTMENTS.

a. The Yakima court misapplied the “per se” rule
regarding State taxation in Indian Country and
therefore must be overturned.

First, the Court in County of Yakima v. Yakima Indian Nation,
502, Us. 251 (1992), examined the General Allotment Act, ch. 1 19,
24 Stat. 388 (1887)(hereinafter “GAA”) and held that state taxation
authority was conferred with respect to fee-patented Indian lands by
Section 6 of the Act which provided that “each and every member of
the respective bands or tribes of Indians to whom allotments have
been made shall have the benefit of and be subject to the laws, both
civil and criminal, of the State or Territory in which they may
reside.” 24 Stat. 390, Yakima, at 689-93. Second, it held that such
authority was not terminated by the subsequently enacted Indian
Reorganization Act of 1934, 25 U.S.C. secs. 461-

-20-

479(1988)(hereinafter “IRA”) because Congress chose not to return
allotted lands to their pre-allotted status. /d. Irrespective of the
Amici Tribes’ position that the transfer of taxation laws of the State
does not automatically confer the State’s jurisdiction, the Court’s
long-standing reliance upon federal preemption was ignored in
Yakima.

b. Federal Pre-emption Analysis is the Correct Standard
to Apply to the question of whether the States have the
taxation authority over Indian Tribes and their members.

Under the Supremacy Clause, from which the preemption
doctrine is derived, “any state law, however clearly within a State’s
acknowledged power, which interferes with or is contrary to federal
law, must yield.” Felder v. Casey, 487 U.S. 131, 138 (1988)
(quoting Free v. Bland, 369 U.S. 663, 666 (1962). Clearly, the
state’s taxation authority must derive from enacted law. Such
taxation authority flowing from such law is in direct conflict with
subsequent legislation specifically enacted to counter the devastating
effects of the allotment policy. Congress has enacted numerous
statutes intended to counter the destructive effects felt by the
allotment era. '°

‘Notwithstanding the most stark example of repudiation of the
allotment policy and its effects in IRA, see e.g. The American Indian
Agricultural Resource Management Act, 25 U.S.C. 3701-3745
(1994)(requiring agricultural practices in Indian Country to be more
responsive to the political processes of the Tribes); Indian Child
Welfare Act of 1978, 25 U.S.C. §§ 1901-1963 (1988)(providing for
the maximization of tribal jurisdiction over state jurisdiction in
adoption and child custody proceedings involving tribal members or
those eligible for tribal membership); Indian Gaming Regulatory Act,
25 U.S.C. §§ 2701-2721 (1988) (providing for a comprehensive
regulatory scheme over bingo and other gambling operations in
Indian Country, specifically to promote tribal economic

-21-

Further, the Court has consistently held in a long line of
Supremacy Clause cases that any state legislation which frustrates
the full effectiveness of federal law is rendered invalid by the
Supremacy Clause. See Perez v. Campbell, 402 U.S. 637 (1971);
Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 62 (1941). The Court’s refusal in
Yakima to impart any weight to the numerous, complex, intervening
statutes that unequivocally reflect an undisputed transition in federal
Indian policy contravenes the very principal upon which the
Supremacy Clause and statutory interpretation cases are premised.

In the case of West Virginia University Hospital, Inc. v. Casey,
499 U.S. 83 (1991), the issue was whether the term “attorney’s fee”
in sec. 1988 provided explicit statutory authority for reimbursement
of expert witness fees. In finding that no authority existed, the Court
based its reasoning on congressional intent embodied in previously
and subsequently enacted law.'' The Court viewed its role ¢s making

development, tribal self-sufficiency, and strong tribal government);
Indian Tribal Government Tax Status Act of 1982, Pub. L. No. 97-
473, 96 Stat. 2607 (codified in scattered sections of 26
U.S.C.)(granting to Tribes a favorable tax status similar to local and
state governments, intended to enhance tribal economic
development); Indian Land Consolidation Act, 25 U.S.C., §§ 2201-
2211 (1988)(establishing a scheme for Tribes to expand and
consolidate their land holdings); Native American Languages Act,
25 U.S.C. §§ 2901-2906 (Supp. II 1990)(acknowledging the special
status of Native Americans, which recognizes “distinct cultural and
political rights, including the right to continue separate identities.”’).
''This portion of the amicus argument relies on the reasoning used in
the West Virginia opinion, not the specific holding in this case.
Congress passed the Civil Rights Act of 1991, 25 U.S.C. sec. 1301-
1341, specifically to prospectively produce an outcome opposite to
the holding in West Virginia. While Congressional acts can change
future results, they do not technically reverse the holding or

-22-

“sense rather than nonsense out of the corpus juris”, it not being their
“function to eliminate clearly expressed inconsistency of policy and
to treat alike subjects that different Congresses have chosen to treat
differently. /d at 101. Rather than making sense out of the
contradictions embodied in the allotment policy and the
congressional attempts to mitigate the damage'’, the Yakima Court
based its opinion on its own intuition that “it would be * strange’ for
land to be alienable and encumberable yet not taxable.” Yakima, at
690-691. While Congress may have acted strange, it is equally
strange for the Court to infer congressional intent on their own
second sight while maintaining an unmistakably clear intent
standard. This reasoning flies in the face of previously held cases -
which rejected judicial enlargement ot a statute. This Court has
stated that to “to supply omissions transcends the judicial function.”
Id. (citing Iselin v. United States, 270 U.S. 245, 250-251 (1926).

The implications of state taxes imposed on transactions and
activities occurring on Indian reservations was analyzed in
Washington v. Confederated Tribes of the Colville Indian
Reservation, 447 U.S. 134 (1979). The Court reached the conclusion
that the state’s taxes are applicable to purchases made by
nonmembers against the backdrop of the overriding federal interest,

reasoning of a case already decided in its absence. Crumley v.
Delaware State College, 797 F Supp. 341, 344 n.2 (D.Delaware —
1992). Thus, it is appropriate to rely on the same reasoning used in
the West Virginia decision without regard to the effect of the
subsequent federal act.

"See generally Institute for Gov't Research, The Problem of Indian
Administration 3-51 (1928), making numerous findings on the
failure of the assimilationist policy and concluding that the

Indian self-sufficiency, and accordingly, recommended immediate
resolution of this deficiency. /d at 21-22.

-23-

stating that “tribal sovereignty is dependent on, and subordinate to,
only the Federal government, not the States.” /d ar 54.

This Court has consistently relied upon a flexible
analysis “sensitive to the particular facts and legislation involved.
Cotton Petroleum Corp. v. New Mexico, 490 US. 163, 176 (1989).
Moreover, the determination of whether federal legislation has
preempted state taxation, “primarily an exercise in examining
congressional intent, the history of tribal sovereignty serves as a
necessary “backdrop” to that process.” Cf Rice v. Rehner. 463 US.,
713, 719 (1983)(quoting McClanahan, 411 U.S. at 172). It logically
follows that each case “requires a particularized examination of the
relevant state, federal, and tribal interests.” Ramah Navajo School
Ba, Inc. v. Bureau of Revenue of New Mexico, 458 U.S. 832, 838
(1982). In examining the various interests, however, the Court has
held that “although state interests must be given weight and courts
should be careful not to make legislative decisions in the absence of
congressional action, ambiguities in federal law are, as a rule,
resolved in favor of tribal independence.” /d.

Thus, the Court’s accurate analysis to the question of whether
a State may encroach upon Tribe's sovereignty by taxing its land
requires recognition of, and consideration for, the long standing
federal policies adopted to correct the devastating effects of the
allotment era and sanction the integrity of the Nation’s Indian Tribes.

Finally, part of the preemption analysis includes not only the
specific law in question but the state law’s actual effect, English v.
General Electric Co., 496 U.S. 72 (1990) (citing Pacific Gas & Elec
Co. v. State Energy Resources Conservation and Development
Comm'n, 461 US. 190 (1983) and where state law “stands as an
obstacle to the accomplishment and execution of the full
and objectives of Congress, Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52
(1941). In English, the Court held that a state tort claim was not
pre-empted by a federal whistle-blower provision because the state

-24-

law did not have a “direct and substantial effect” on the federal
scheme. English, 496 U.S. at 85.

____ With the IRA, Congress officially halted the allotment actions
and formally repudiated the assimilation policy. While it is
undisputed that Congress did not restore fee-patented or FS
homesteaded lands to tribal ownership, it is understandable in light
aL wade
Father, (abridged ed. 1986), and Congress’ refusal

snaseil bauiaideadanenannietestedomme Thus,
halting the allotment process can best be viewed as a choice by
Congress to effectuate a less daunting task to reversing the
irreparable damage caused by allotment and not as an implied
continuance of State taxation authority upon Tribes. Through the
IRA, Congress established a new federal Indian policy,
supplemented by subsequent legislation, which promotes tribal
autonomy and self-determination. “The Forgotten American” The
President's Message to the Congress on Goals and Programs for the
American Indians, PUB. PAPERS 335 (1968-69).

Our precedents leave no doubt that state and local laws
enacted for the purpose of diminishing Tribes’ land bases have a
“direct and substantial effect on the federal scheme to “promote
tribal self-determination, economic development and cultural
plurality.” °° The taxation by states and local governments of land
governed by an Indian Tribe or owned by its members defeat the
congressional purpose and must not be allowed. The conception of
Tribe sovereignty that this Court has consistently reaffirmed permits
no other conclusion.

CONCLUSION

"See Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian Law, 147 (Rennard
Strickland et al. eds., 1982)(describing congressional reasoning
behind the IRA).

-25-

In recent years, the Court has given little or no heed to
congressional goals of Tribe self-determination in analyzing Tribes’
eroding any meaningful execise of self-government. It has
inconsistently applied the canons of construction. It has
inconsistently applied or wholly ignored the well-established
and choosing when it is applied and when it is not, as evidenced by
the long line of non-Indian law cases, which are consistent in their
reliance on such precedent. It has resurrected the long repudiated
allotment era to deprive tribes of lands set aside by Congress and
reserved in the Treaties as tribal territories. More significantly, it has
ignored the plenary power in Congress and residual tribal
sovereignty in the tribes. By holding that the States may not
encroach upon a Tribe’s sovereignty and diminish its land base
analytical flaws set forth in Yakima adhering to the well-established
interpretive rules, precedent, and federal policy.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0111%3A20. Public record. Not legal advice.
