# Amicus Curiae Brief — New Jersey v. New York

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0101%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 523 U.S. 767

## Text

No. 120, Original

In the CLERK

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1996

STATE OF NEW JERSEY.
Plaintiff,

STATE OF NEW YORK,
Defendant.

BRIEF FOR THE CITY OF NEW YORK, AS AMICUS
CURIAE, IN SUPPORT OF THE STATE OF NEW
YORK’S EXCEPTIONS TO THE REPORT OF THE
SPECIAL MASTER

PAUL A. CROTTY,
Corporation Counsel of the
City of New York,

Attorney for the Amicus
Curiae City of New York,

100 Church Street,

New York, N.Y. 10007.

(212) 788-1072

LEONARD J. KOERNER, *

STANLEY BUCHSBAUM,

KRISTIN M. HELMERS,
of Counsel.

* Attorney of Record

July 30, 1997.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ARGUMENT

PROPERLY INTERPRETED BOTH IN
LIGHT OF THE CONTEMPORANEOUS
LEGAL CLIMATE, AND IN LIGHT OF
THE NATURE OF THE DEBATE
BETWEEN THE TWO _ STATES
REFLECTED IN THE 1807 AND 1827
CORRESPONDENCE OF THE
COMMISSIONERS, THE LANGUAGE OF
THE 1834 COMPACT COMPELS THE
CONCLUSION THAT NEW YORK,
RATHER THAN NEW JERSEY,
ULTIMATELY POSSESSES SOVEREIGN
POWERS OVER THOSE PORTIONS OF
ELLIS ISLAND CREATED BY FILL IN
THE POST-RATIFICATION YEARS .....

CN ok ca vihusw sas tae

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Alabama v. Georgia,

64 U.S. (23 How.) 505

hls iS Seen ee 7, 10
Armold vy. Mundy,

ERE a ee 16

23 N.J.L. 624 (1852) ......... 14, 15, 16, 26
Boise Cascade vy. U.S.E.P.A.,

942 F.2d 1427 (9th Cir.

OR Ec a ere eae 21
Central R.R. Co. v. Jersey City,

i an 27
Collins v. Promark Products,

763 F. Supp. 1204 (S.D.N.Y.
1991), affd, 956 F.2d 383

i atG cloned die wed ale 28
Corfield v. Coryell, 6 Fed. Cases

546 (4 Wash. C.C. 371) (1823) ...... 3, n.2; 17
ecetin » Sut Contin

ee es ED: clea ealeala' id Yee 24

U.S. , 115 S. Ct.

oy rd ec aweseaka tel 20
Us. (5 Wheat.) 374 (1820) ........ 11, 16
US. _. era 350603 Saree 26
ek eee Sie Son ia ee 27
Es she) 367 (1842) .........00- 16
ta PPane earl e ) 10, 13
Ma a ae eee re een 26
ETO OTER.....< oss cee i”

42 N.Y. 283 (1870), dismd,
79 U.S. (12 Wall.) 455 (1872) ........ 21, 28

37 U.S. (12 Pet.) 657 (1838) ......... 10, 13

Cases Page

Ross v. Mayor,

180 A. 866 (N.J. Sup. Ct., 1935) ......... 25
State v. Babcock,

30 N.J.L. (1 Vroom)

a ees 15, 16, 17, 19, 23
State v. Davis,

1 Dutcher 386 (N.J. Sup. Ct., 1856) 3, n.2; 11; 17
Stryker v. Mayor,

I 25
Udall v. Trustees of Brooklyn,

OS a ee ae ee 24
United S California.

I cs oF AS ie 25

482 U.S. 193 (1987) ................. 26
Statutes
Administrative Code of the City

of New York, § 2-202(1) (1996) .......... 5
Colonial Laws of N.Y., Ch. 17 (1691) ......... 3
eT aS ape eee ere 4
ce WG I i 4
a Se i De) TE 4
SF NY 8 Se ee 4

-jv-

S 8098 Gh BOS OLY.) . 2... ccc cen ccsceess 4
= SY i sree 4
S s00® Gh GEOGLY.).. 0c ccc ccccwecens 5
B e088 Ch SIOGLY.).. 0. cnc ccccccten: 5
L 1001. Ch. 466 (.Y.) 0... eee eee ees 5
Treatises
Vattel, The Law of Nations
(J. Chitty, ed.) (7th Am. Ed., 1849) ..... 11, 12
and passim
-Vy-

No. 120, Original

In the
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1996

STATE OF NEW JERSEY,
Plaintiff,

STATE OF NEW YORK,
Defendant.

= =

BRIEF FOR THE CITY OF NEW YORK, AS AMICUS
CURIAE, IN SUPPORT OF THE STATE OF NEW
YORK’S EXCEPTIONS TO THE REPORT OF THE
SPECIAL MASTER

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

As authorized by Rule 37.4, the City of New York
(the “City”) submits this brief in support of the defendant
State of New York, urging that the Special Master's
resolution of this case in favor of the State of New Jersey
be rejected by this Court as contrary to law and without
support in the record.

ae

New York City’s compelling interest in this
litigation was recognized by the Special Master. Although
denying the City’s motion seeking formal intervenor status,
he nevertheless invited it to participate as an “active
amicus.” See, Docket Item No. 70. The concerns
prompting the City to participate in the defense of this case,
to the extent permitted, are rooted in the historical record,
which clearly reveals that, until the Special Master
undertook to recommend its division, Ellis Island, as an
entity, was always considered within the physical
boundaries and under the local governmental jurisdiction of
the City of New York.

The Special Master’s decision effectively reverses a
situation dating back to the March 12, 1664 grant to the
Duke of York from his brother, King Charles II of
England, of the territory which now comprises, inter alia,
the states of New York and New Jersey. The Duke, in
turn, almost immediately devised a tract, called “New
Caesarea” or “New Jersey,” to Lord Berkeley and Sir
George Carteret (PE 280 at 12).' By 1676, Berkeley and
Carteret had partitioned their holdings into West Jersey and
East Jersey, respectively. Id. Two years later, Carteret
devised East Jersey to certain trustees, who in turn parceled
the holding to twelve proprietors. On November 23, 1683,
confirming the rights of these East Jersey proprietors,
Charles I] described the eastern riparian limits of the
territory, in pertinent part, in the same language as the
original 1664 grant, ie., as “extending eastward and

' Parenthetical references prefaced by “PE” refer to numbered items
on plaintiff's evidence list, followed by specific page references within
those items; “DE” denotes items on defendant's evidence list; and “R”
indicates a citation to the Special Master’s Final Report.

2.

northward all along the sea coast and Hudson’s river,”
within specified northern and southern limits (id.) (emphasis
added).

The province of New York, meanwhile, was not
similarly limited to the eastern shore of the Hudson by the
terms of any devise; it retained the river within its
territorial boundaries because of the Hudson’s inclusion, as
an entity, within the original royal grant to the Duke (PE
280 at 11). Accordingly, as early as 1691, Chapter 17 of
the Colonial Laws of New York for that year located the
three Oyster Islands, one of which later became known as
Ellis Island, in the City and County of New York. By the
time a new Charter for the City was issued on January 15,
1730, by John Montgomerie, then governor of both New
York and New Jersey, the City’s limits were not only
defined as including the Oyster Islands, but as extending to
at least low-water mark on the opposite, or East Jersey
shore (DE 824 at 137, 146-147). There is no evidence that
during this pre-Revolutionary period the proprietors of East
Jersey, or any other governmental authority within that
territory, attempted to counter-assert jurisdiction over the
Hudson River or Bay and any island, like Ellis Island, west
of center.’

* In 1721, the West Jersey proprietors, on the other hand, had sought
to settle their boundary and assert rights to at least the midpoint of the
Delaware by consulting with Crown counsel (PE 271 at 55) -- only to
be told that (unlike the grant of the Hudson to the Duke of York) the
royal grants on both sides of the Delaware ran only to the river.
Hence, at that time, the Delaware River itself, and any islands in it,
“remained in the crown” and were within the territorial boundaries of
neither New Jersey nor Pennsylvania. Corfield vy. Coryell, 6 Fed.
Cases 546, 554 (4 Wash. C.C. 371) (1823); State v. Davis, 1 Dutcher
386, 387 (N.J. Sup. Ct., 1856).

-3-

After New York’s emergence as a state at the
conclusion of the Revolution, Ellis Island remained
identified as part of the State and City of New York. In
Chapter 63 of the Laws of 1788, setting up the counties of
the State, New York County, which embraced New York
City, still included Ellis Island. Three years later,
legislation establishing wards within the City placed Ellis
Island in the First Ward (L. 1791, ch. 18). By 1794, Ellis
and Bedloe’s Islands had been transferred by the City of
New York to the State of New York, together with the soil
between high-water and low-water mark surrounding Ellis
Island (DE 740; 938 at 23). The grants were subject to a
reverter whenever “the Premises shall no longer be used for
the purposes of fortification.” Id.

The 1794 cession, as well as a further cession by the
State of New York to the federal government in '800 and,
finally, the State’s conveyance of full title in 1808, had no
effect on the status of Ellis Island as part of New York
City. Even as legislation was passed in 1803, 1817, and
1825 to accommodate the need for new wards within the
City, Ellis Island continued to be deemed part of the First
Ward (L. 1803, ch. 29; L. 1817, ch. 285; L. 1825, ch.
195). Furthermore, Chapter 2, Title 1, sec. 2, par. 5 of the
New York Revised Statutes (1829) described the County of
New York as including Ellis Island, and Chapter 2, Title 5,
sec. 1 described the City of New York as all of that part of
the State within the bounds of the County of New York,
placing Ellis Island in the City of New York.

Nor did ratification of the 1834 Compact change the
situation: the description of Ellis Island in the 1829 statutes
appears, unchanged, in the 1836, post-Compact version.
See, Chapter 2, Title 1, § 5 and Title 5, § 1, N.Y. Rev.

-4-

Stat. (1836). Likewise, after New York State, in 1880,
relinquished title and jurisdiction over the subaqueous lands
surrounding Ellis Island to the United States (with the
reservation that the cession of jurisdiction would continue
only as long as the United States owned the Island and the
adjacent subaqueous lands), Ellis Island continued to be
legally part of the City of New York. See, e.g., New York
Consolidation Act of 1882 (L. 1882, Ch. 410, § 1); the
Greater New York [City] Charter (L. 1897, Ch. 378; L.
1901, Ch. 466, § 1). Again, that status continued despite
New Jersey’s 1904 transfer of subaqueous lands (without
retention of any reversionary interest), even as the Island’s
size was increased by the filling operations undertaken by
the federal government after 1890, and it remains in effect
today. See, Administrative Code of the City of New York,
§ 2-202(1).°

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

As the State of New York has emphasized in its
Exceptions to the Special Master’s Report, Article Second’s
provision that Ellis Island, as an entity, would remain under
the sovereign jurisdiction of New York effectively disposes
of New Jersey’s current claims to the landfilled areas based
on Articles First and Third. The Report reaches the
contrary conclusion, inter alia, because it ignores the
contemporary meaning of the language chosen by the
drafters, language which is based on concepts of
sovereignty and jurisdiction current in the late 18th and

* We note, in passing, that the only post-1834 attempt by a political
subdivision of the State of New Jersey to claim Ellis Island for its own
was the 1924 decision of a single Hudson County administrator to add
both Ellis and Bedloe’s Islands to the county’s tax rolls as exempt
property. See, State of New York’s Exceptions at pp. 33, 38.

-5-

early 19th centuries. Instead of looking for guidance in
construing the Compact to how the nature and legal viability
of the claims which gave rise to the underlying dispute
might have dictated their resolution, or to how the drafters
were influenced by leading commentetors, such as Vattel,
whose theories are referenced in the 1807 and 1827 formal
correspondence of the Commissioners, the Report begins
with an abstract construct and then disregards any internal
or external evidence that might not fit within this model.

When the proper analysis is undertaken, it becomes
clear that the Compact incorporates Vattel’s discussion of
how, in sovereign states, rights of property may be
separated from sovereign, or jurisdictional, powers. The
rights of property which can be so separated are of the type
which belong to an individual in the state, as distinct from
the “high domain,” which can never be separated.
However, a state cannot possess the “high domain” -- or
sovereign rights of property -- without also possessing the
power of command, or jurisdiction. In Article Third, the
drafters of the Compact gave exclusive rights of property
with respect to the underwater lands west of the
to New Jersey, but granted to New York the crucial power
of command, or “exclusive jurisdiction,” over the same
territory. In so doing, the drafters would have understood
that they were establishing a situation in which New York
held sovereign powers over the underwater lands up to the
low-water mark on the Jersey shore. This is confirmed by
the fact that the Compact grants New Jersey similar
sovereign control, or “exclusive jurisdiction,” over any
improvements “to be made” on its shore, a grant which

y%

Under the scheme set out in the Compact, New
York also possesses sovereign rights with respect to the
landfilled portions of Ellis Island, which were constructed
on the very same underwater lands, and in the very same
waters, over which the Compact gives that state “exclusive
jurisdiction” or control. However, assuming, arguendo, that
New York’s power were less than sovereign in nature, i.e.,
assuming that it is properly characterized as the “police
power” suggested by the Report, the Report still does not
explain why that power should suddenly be negated by the
fact that the underwater lands have been reclaimed.
Moreover, even under a theory of New Jersey as sovereign,
not much is left of the general sovereign power after
subtracting the sweeping “police power” specifically
granted to New York over the underwater lands, whether
filled or in their original state.

Article First presents no obstacle to these
conclusions. Far from establishing an “invariable”
boundary, and hence allegedly investing New Jersey with
absolute sovereign rights over the territory indicated, the
Compact itself contains an “exception” clause indicating -
that variances will follow. The Report simply ignores this
fact.

In short, interpreting the Compact in the context of
the applicable principles of law as they were understood at
the time of its drafting, and turning to contemporary
commentators for guidance, as this Court has indicated is
proper, Alabama v. Georgia, 64 U.S. (23 How.) 505, 513
(1859), compels the conclusion that the Special Master’s
resolution of t.3 case in favor of New Jersey cannot stand.

ARGUMENT

PROPERLY INTERPRETED BOTH IN
LIGHT OF THE CONTEMPORANEOUS
LEGAL CLIMATE, AND IN LIGHT OF
THE NATURE OF THE DEBATE
BETWEEN THE TWO STATES
REFLECTED IN THE 1807 AND 1827
CORRESPONDENCE OF THE
COMMISSIONERS, THE LANGUAGE
OF THE 1834 COMPACT COMPELS
THE CONCLUSION THAT NEW
YORK, RATHER THAN NEW JERSEY,
ULTIMATELY POSSESSES
SOVEREIGN POWERS OVER THOSE
PORTIONS OF ELLIS ISLAND
CREATED BY FILL IN THE POST-
RATIFICATION YEARS.

(1)

As the City of New York reads the Special Master’s
Final Report (the “Report”), it upholds New Jersey’s claims
to sovereignty over Ellis Island on the ground that the
territorial boundary set by Article First of the 1834
Compact, a boundary which is described in the Report as
“unambiguous” (R31) and “unvarying” (R55), ipso facto
endows New Jersey with an equally “unambiguous” and
“unvarying” sovereignty over everything to the west of that
line. Such an interpretation must, of course, completely
ignore the qualifying phrase used by Article First with
respect to the establishment of this “unambiguous”
boundary: the boundary is stated to be the midpoint of the
Hudson River and New York Bay, “except as hereinafter
otherwise particularly mentioned.” If, as the Report

-8-

maintains, sovereignty is both defined by and flows
inexorably from boundary, those qualifying words can only
mean that the Compact explicitly provides for situaucas in
which, because other Articles effect a boundary change,
sovereignty is similarly affected.

The Report implicitly admits that this is the case
with respect to Article Second’s proviso that New York
“shall retain its present jurisdiction of and over” Ellis and
Bedloe’s Islands, as well as its “exclusive jurisdiction” over
the other islands west of Article First’s boundary “now
under the jurisdiction of that state.” This, the Report
concedes, means that, under the Compact, sovereignty, i.e.,
what is termed in Article Second “exclusive jurisdiction,”
over lands geographically located within New Jersey’s
territorial limits was vested in New York (R60). Despite
being characterized as “unvarying,” the Article First
boundary was thus obviously changed to that extent.

The “exclusive jurisdiction” which signifies
sovereignty in Article Second reappears in Article Third,
where it is granted to New York with respect to the waters
and the land under water west of Article First’s midpoint
boundary, up to the low-water mark on the Jersey shore;
and to New Jersey over the piers, wharves, and
improvements annexed to its fast lands and projecting out
into the same waters. In this context, however, the Report
insists that the adjective “exclusive” somehow loses its
primary meaning, becoming a qualifier denoting a power
less than sovereign (R89). No reason is provided for this
alleged change in meaning, other than the assertion that it
must be so if the Article First boundary is indeed absolute
and unvarying (R89). In fact, the Report recognizes that
“[thhe plain and ordinary import of jurisdiction without

-9.

exception is the authority of a sovereign” (R60) (emphasis
added); agrees that the “exclusive jurisdiction’ referred to
in the opening paragraph of Article Third “should be
interpreted to convey a similar meaning in Article Second”
(R60); concedes that what is referred to by the term in
Article Second is sovereignty (R60); but states that
“exclusive” is used as a qualifier (R89), and therefore, in
Article Third, cannot indicate sovereignty (R60).

Given the primacy of the terms “boundary,”
“jurisdiction,” “sovereignty,” and “rights of property” in
the Report’s analysis of the Compact, the City of New
York, in its role of amicus curiae, has chosen to concentrate
its efforts in this brief on elucidating how the drafters of the
Compact would have understood these concepts. as this can
be determined from an analysis of the nature of the dispute
the Compact was intended to resolve and the
contemporaneous legal climate. This approach is dictated
by almost two centuries of decisions by this Court
indicating that where an agreement involves an interstate
dispute regarding a river, the agreement “must be
interpreted by the words of it, according to their received
meaning and use in the language in which it is written, as
that can be collected from judicial opinions concerning the
rights of private persons upon rivers, and the writings of
publicists [commentators] in reference to the settlement of
controversies between nations and states aS to their
ownership and jurisdiction on the soil of rivers....”

Alabama v. Georgia, 64 U.S. (23 How.) 505, 513 (1859).
Cf., Rhode Island v. Massachusetts

, 37 U.S. (12 Pet.) 657,

722 (1838); Massachusetts v. New York, 271 U.S. 65, 87

(1926). In other words, although we agree with the State
of New York’s persuasive argument that the doctrine of
laches, as well as priaciples of prescription and

-10-

acquiescence, demand rejection of the Special Master’s
conclusions, it is our position that these issues need not be
reached if the Compact is properly interpreted as a matter
of law.

(2)

In discussing the 1834 Compact in context, it is
important to note that during the immediate post-
Revolutionary period, many former colonies, now States,
were attempting to settle border disputes by means of
compacts or treaties. In 1783, New Jersey itself entered
into just such an agreement with Pennsylvania concerning
the Delaware. Because, as noted in footnote 2, gupra, the
Delaware river and bay, unlike the Hudson, had remained
in the Crown, “ungranted to any of the colonies,” these
bodies of water “became vested in the adjoining states at the
declaration of independence, so that the boundary of each
extended to the middle.” State v. Davis, supra, 386
Dutcher at 387. By the 1783 compact, the two states
agreed, inter alia, to the exercise of “concurrent
jurisdiction” over the water itself, but not over the lands
under water on their respective sides of the boundary. Id.
Since boundary was not an issue, retention by each state of
exclusive jurisdiction over its underwater lands must here
have been the operative indicia of sovereignty -- and this
exclusive jurisdiction, of course, is what New York retained
over the underwater lands specified in Article Third.

This point is underlined by reference to Vattel’s The
Law of Nations, a contemporary legal treatise cited by the
Commissioners from New Jersey at various points during
both the 1807 and the 1827 negotiations, see, ¢.g., PE 271
at 20, 44, and relied upon by this Court at least as early as

1820. See, ¢.g., Handley’s Lessee v. Anthony, 18 U.S. (5

-11-

Wheat.) 374, 379-80 (1820). Vattel defines sovereignty as
political authority , Se ee
body. Law of Nations, Bk. I, c.1, §§ 2, 5 GJ. Chitty,
ed.)(7th Am. Ed., 1849). Sovereignty also encompasses
“empire,” or the right of “command” and regulation in all
places of the country belonging to the nation. Id. at c.20,
§ 245. “Empire,” in turn, is synonymous with the term
“jurisdiction,” and each nation “naturally possesses it over
the whole or part of which it possesses the ‘domain.’” Id.
at c.22, § 278.

According to Vattel, “the empire and the domain or
property, are not inseparable in their own nature, even in a
sovereign state.” Id. at 295 (emphasis in original). In
language immediately following this statement which
equates sovereignty with empire and jurisdiction, Vattel
writes: “As a nation may possess the domain or property of
a tract of land or sea, without having the sovereignty of it,
so it may likewise happen that she shall possess the
sovereignty of a place, of which the property, or the
domain, with respect to use, belongs to some other nation.”
Id. at § 295 (emphasis added). Later in the treatise, he
expands on this observation by pointing out that a state
“cannot have full and absolute domain of a place where she
has not the command” -- or, put differently, where the state
does not possess the “empire” or jurisdiction. Id. at Book
Il, c.7 § 83. Thus, Vattel makes a distinction between
“high domain,” which is “nothing but the domain of the
body of the nation,” and which is “everywhere considered
inseparable from sovereignty,” and “useful domain,” which
can be severed. “Useful domain” is confined to “the rights
that may belong to an individual in the state,” and “nothing
prevents the possibility of its belonging to a nation in places
that are not under her jurisdiction.” Id. at § 83.

82.

These concepts are directly reflected not just in the
1783 compact between New Jersey and Pennsylvania
discussed above, but in other treaties of the same era --
notably, the Hartford Con act, considered by this Court in
Massachusetts v. New Yoru, 271 U.S. 65 (1926), in which
it was held that New York ceded to Massachusetts private
ownership of, but not sovereignty or jurisdiction over, the
western half of territory claimed by both states; and in the
1782 Decree of Trenton, which, although it stated that
“Connecticut had not the jurisdiction over the disputed
territory,” did not prevent that state from claiming “the
right of soil” for another eighteen years. Rhode Island v.
Massachusetts, 37 U.S. 657, 724 (1838). While the
separability of sovereign power and property interests is
certainly, we submit, reflected in the 1834 Compact, Vattel
is perhaps even more useful in his explicit equation of
sovereignty and jurisdiction -- an equation which appears
not only in the extant records of the 1807 and 1827
negotiations, but in the language of the Compact itself.

(3)

As reflected in the official correspondence of the
Commissioners appointed in 1807, New York took the
position that the respective rights of each state “must in
some measure serve as the grounds of any proposed
compact” (PE 222 at 1, 4). According to New York,
“coeval with the commencement of the colonial
governments of the two states,” it had actually and
constantly exercised and possessed “jurisdiction” over the
Hudson River and New York Bay as part of its rightful
territory. Id. By the right of jurisdiction, New York
specifically stated that it meant the sovereign right of
government, as distinct from an estate or property interest

-13-

IBEST AVAILABIF COPY

in territory (PE 222 at 19, 31). According to New York,
New Jersey was entitled to “jurisdiction” only to the extent
she was entitled to property, and the territorial grant from
the Duke of York to Berkeley and Carteret was bounded by
the western shores of the Hudson and New York Bay (PE
222 at 4).

It was New Jersey’s basic position that, by virtue of
the Revolution, it had become vested with authority to
“exercise jurisdiction” over the Hudson “in such manner as
belongs to a sovereign” (PE 222 at 3). Looking to the
model of her Delaware River boundary, New Jersey argued
that if New York was correct, New Jersey would also be
deprived of all “jurisdiction” on her shores adjacent to that
river, which was patently not the case (PE 222 at 38).
Furthermore. according to New Jersey, when King Charles
made his original grant to the Duke of York, it included the
grant of the river, which thereby became the private
property of a subject, permitting future grantees to hold to
the center (PE 222 at 11). See, Bell vy. Gough, 23 N_J.L.
624, 662 (1852). When the Duke in turn became king, the
river reverted to the Crown, which, at the Revolution,
impliedly yielded all “jurisdiction” over the river to the
colonies (PE 222 at 20 et seg., propositions 6 & 7).

Alternatively, New Jersey argued (1) that the early
confirmatory deeds to Berkeley and Carteret, which stated
that they should have “free use” of all bays, inlets, shores,
etc. within the granted territories, included the Hudson

-14-

34); and, interestingly, (3) citing Vattel, New Jersey
suggested that, given the separability of the “empire” of a
country and its right of property in the soil, it did not
necessarily follow that “jurisdiction” over New Jersey’s
shores and harbors belonged to New York, even if the
property belonged to that state (PE 222 at 20).

As the negotiations deteriorated, New Jersey asked
for an “accommodation line” (PE 222 at 40). New York
responded that it preferred to retain the high-water mark on
Jersey’s shores (PE 222 at 40). New Jersey then suggested
that a line be run down the middle of the river and bay, but
leaving the Oyster islands within the “jurisdiction” of New
York (PE 222 at 41). New York would not agree to the
mid-line of the Hudson as the “line dividing the
jurisdiction,” but announced that it would consider an
accommodation with respect to the “benefit and use” to
accrue to New Jersey’s citizens. Id. On October 7, 1807,
the negotiations broke off with New Jersey's announcement
that it was unwilling to “ask and receive” benefits from
New York.

What is interesting and important about this
exchange is (1) the paucity of use of the words “ sovereign”
or “sovereignty,” terms which do not appear at all in the
1834 Compact, the word “jurisdiction” being used instead
to discuss that concept; (2) the references to Vattel, who in
fact frequently used “sovereignty” and “jurisdiction”
synonymously and who also discussed the separability of
jurisdiction and property in sovereign states; and (3) New
Jersey's clear concern for control of the wharves, piers, and
other developments on its own shores. See, State v.
Babcock, 30 N.J.L. (1 Vroom) 29, 32-33 (1862) (control of
these improvements identified as that state’s motivating

-15-

concern in pressing its claims).
(4)

A number of important decisions affecting the legal
viability of New Jersey’s position were issued between
1807, when the first Commissioners were appointed, and
1827, when each state again designated representatives to
attempt a resolution of the issues. In Handley’s Lessee v.
Anthony, 18 U.S. (5 Wheat.) 374 (1820), this Court, citing
Vattel, stated that, “[wJhen a great river is the boundary
between two nations or states, if the original property is in
neither, and there be no convention respecting it, each holds
to the middle of the stream. But when ... one State is the
original proprietor, and grants the territory on one side

newly-created State extends to the river only. The river is
its boundary.” Id. at 379 (emphasis added). The Court
also pointed out that a country bounded by a river extends
to the low-water mark. Id. at 383. Cf. State v. Babcock,
supra, 30 N.J.L. at 33.

The following year, one of New Jersey’s own courts
rejected the validity of the state’s claim, through the
proprietors, to rights over the river and bay, holding that,
under the grant from the king to the Duke of York, the
Hudson did not become a private river, with the subjects on
each side holding to the middle. Arnold v. Mundy, 6
N.J.L. 1 (1821). This Court later adopted a similar
position in Martin v. Waddell, 41 U.S. (16 Pet.) 367
(1842). Cf. Bell v. Gough, supra, 23 N.J.L. at 662.

Finally, in 1823, a federal appellate court held that
the claims of the proprietors of West Jersey to the Delaware

-16-

|

River and Bay were limited by the terms of the original
grant from the Duke of York, which, on its face, extended
only to the lands on the eastern side of the river. Corfield
v. Coryell, 6 Fed. Cases 546, 553-554 (4 Wash. C.C. 371)
(1823), citing Handley’s Lessee, supra. Cf., State v.
Davis, supra, 1 Dutcher at 387 (Elmer, J., describing and
approving the decision). The Court also rejected the idea
that language describing a grant of “all rivers” could
enlarge the limits of the state, holding that these were
confined to rivers within the boundaries of the original
grant, not border rivers. Id. The Court further stated that,
although the right of the Crown to the Delaware had been
extinguished by the Revolution, New Jersey would hold to
the middle only if there was no better title existing in some
other state. Id.‘
(S)

When the new set of Commissioners began
communicating with each other in June 1827, both states
were aware of the decisions in Arnold vy. Mundy, Corfield,
and Handley’s Lessee (PE 280 at 13; PE 271 at 42, 57).
Cf. State v. Babcock, supra, 30 N.J.L. at 33. New York
acknowledged that Handley’s Lessee would make New
Jersey’s border the low-water mark on the western shore of
the Hudson (PE 280 at 14), but included in its First Set of
Propositions only the proposal that New Jersey “shall enjoy
and exercise exclusive jurisdiction on all the wharves and
land now made, or which may hereafter be made ... to the
actual line of low water” (PE 280 at 2), plus limited service
of process. Id. New Jersey countered with a demand that

* Such better title to a portion of the Delaware River was in fact later

found in the State of Delaware. See, New Jersey v. Delaware, 291
U.S. 361 (1934).

:

-17-

the “waters of the Hudson River,” within a geographically
delimited area, “be the boundary between the two states and
a common highway,” with concurrent jurisdiction. It
“to low water mark of the same, be held to be and remain
within the exclusive jurisdiction of the State of New York”
(PE 280 at 3).

In the Second Set of Propositions, New York
continued to state that New Jersey could have “exclusive
jurisdiction” to low-water mark on her own shores, and that
New Jersey’s inhabitants could enjoy the right of the
fisheries on the west side of the river “in common with the
inhabitants of the State of New York;” provided for limited
service of criminal and civil process; and stated that the
right to exercise all “jurisdiction, power, and authority over
the said waters, other than such as are herein secured to the
state of New Jersey,” would lie with New York (PE 280 at
3-4). New Jersey’s response was to propose, inter alia, that
the “waters” of the Hudson (no longer geographically
deliminated) be the “boundary,” with “exclusive
jurisdiction” over them reserved to New York, except that
New Jersey would have “exclusive jurisdiction” over the
docks and wharves on its own shores (with no mention of
a limitation to low-water mark) (PE 220 at 4). Ellis Island
is not mentioned -- presumably because New York’s
“exclusive jurisdiction” over the waters would include any
such lands.

When the Third Set of Propositions was tendered,
New York’s position had not changed much, except that,
again without mentioning a boundary, it proposed exclusive
jurisdiction of New Jersey not only in the “wharves and
land now made, or which may be hereafter made,” on its

-18-

Be EAP ee ce me ee test <

own shores, but also “to low water mark along the whole
of the said shore” (PE 220 at 5). It also proposed that New
Jersey have the right to regulate the fisheries on her shore.
Id. As pertinent here, New Jersey’s proposal again
suggested that the “waters” of the Hudson be the boundary;
relinquished all claims to Staten Island and the other
islands; and provided for concurrent jurisdiction in the
service of process (PE 220 at 6).

The Fourth (and last) Set of Propositions differed
only in minor details from the Third. After they had been
exchanged, and apparently out of patience, New Jersey
informed New York that, based on the “true construction of
the original grants” and the rights acquired after the
Revolution, it claimed: (1) a “right of territory and
jurisdiction” to the middle of the Hudson; Rago go
and the three Oyster Islands (including Ellis Island),
allegedly included within its territory by the same nang
and (3) the waters between Staten Island and the mainland
(PE 220 at 8). According to New Jersey, New York was
only willing to accord to New Jersey certain favors and
privileges she already enjoyed (id.). New York admitted as
much, and negotiations broke down with suggestions by
New Jersey that the matter be referred to an impartial
tribunal (id. at 9).

As in the case of the 1807 discussions, what is
interesting here is the approach to the problem in terms of
“jurisdiction” rather than “sovereignty.” And what is
particularly striking is that the term “exclusive jurisdiction”
is used by both states in reference to New Jersey’s rights
over her wharves and other improvements to low-water
mark -- or, after Handley’s Lessee, to what would have
been considered that state’s sovereign boundary.

-19-

“Exclusive jurisdiction,” therefore, is again used here as
synonymous with sovereignty, and reappears, we submit, in
the same guise in the 1834 Compact itself.

(6)

In turning to the Compact, we note that it must be
construed not only against the conceptual backdrop of the
contemporary legal and political debates which led to its
genesis, but according to accepted principles of statutory
interpretation. The Compact must, in other words, be
interpreted as a whole, Vv
__ US. __, 115 S. Ct. 1061, 1067 (1995), with any given
term construed consistently throughout. Id. Indeed, this
Court has recently emphasized that it is a “normal” rule of
Statutory construction that “identical words used in different
parts of the same act are intended to have the same
meaning.” Id.

Before discussing the application of these principles,
it may be wise to review again the Compact’s main
provisions. Article First states that the “boundary line”
between the two states “shall be the middle of the said
[Hudson] river, of the bay of New York, of the waters
between Staten Island and New Jersey, and of Raritan Bay,
to the main sea; except as hereinafter otherwise particularly
mentioned.” Contrary to the position taken in the Report,
this language clearly fixes a part of the boundary as the
middle of the river and of various other waters, but it
leaves the other parts of the boundary to be defined as
“otherwise particularly mentioned.” That the boundary is
not limited to the specific provisions of Article First, but is
determined by that article and by whatever exceptions are

“particularly mentioned,” is plain from the language of
Article First itself. Any other meaning would make the

-20-

article absurd. If the boundary were confined to the middle
of the river, etc., the exception provision would be
meaningless. It simply could not apply to anything in the
rest of the agreement. Contrary to the principle that no
provision in a statute should be treated as meaningless, see,
e.g., Boise Cascade v. U.S.E.P.A., 942 F.2d 1427, 1432
(9th Cir. 1991), the Report’s approach effects precisely this
result.

The exception clause in Article First clearly relates
to Article Second, which provides that New York shall
“retain its present jurisdiction of and over Bedloe’s and
Ellis’s Islands” and shall also retain exclusive jurisdiction
over the other islands lying in the waters mentioned in
Article First and “now under the jurisdiction of that state.”
The Report correctly concludes that this language refers to
and confirms New York’s sovereignty over the enumerated
islands, although it still will not concede that Article Second
constitutes the change in boundary recognized in Article
First.°

Portions of Article Third also clearly come within
the exception in Article First. This article provides that
New York shall have and enjoy “exclusive jurisdiction” of
and over the waters of the bay of New York and all the
waters of the Hudson River lying west of Manhattan Island
and to the south of the mouth of Spuytenduvel creek, and

> New York's highest court held otherwise in v.
Railroad Co., 42 N.Y. 283 (1870), dism’d, 79 U.S. (12 Wall.) 455
(1872), where it pointed out that the exception in Article First “limits
and restricts the boundary line,” followed by the observation that the
Commissioners established the boundary line between the two states “as
fixed and defined in said first and second articles of sai treaty.” Id. at
294 (emphasis added).

-21-

“of and over the lands covered by said waters to the low
water-mark on the westerly or New Jersey side thereof.”
This provision is made subject to specific rights of property
and jurisdiction of New Jersey. The first gives New Jersey
an exclusive right of property in “the land under water
lying west of the middle of the bay of New York and west
of the middle of that part of the Hudson river which lies
between Manhattan Island and New Jersey.” The second
deals with wharves, docks and improvements made or to be
made on the shore of New Jersey and to vessels aground on
that shore or fastened to any such dock, placing them under
the “exclusive jurisdiction” of New Jersey. The third gives
New Jersey the exclusive right of regulating fisheries on the
westerly side of the middle of the waters involved, provided
that navigation not be obstructed or hindered.

Interestingly, these latter two rights are taken
directly from the Third and Fourth Sets of Propositions
submitted by New York in 1827, which New Jersey
objected to on the ground that (1) they were made on the
assumption that New York had full sovereign rights of
territory and jurisdiction to the low-water mark on the
Jersey shore; and (2) they did not grant New Jersey
anything other than she already had -- Le. “exclusive,” and —
therefore “sovereign,” jurisdiction down to low-water mark
on those same shores (PE 220 at 8-9). The identical
analysis is applicable here. If, as the Report maintains,
New Jersey obtained “sovereignty” over everything to the
west of the boundary line by virtue of Article First, there
would be no need to provide her with “exclusive
jurisdiction” over the improvements on her own shores
extending out into waters over which she already possessed
sovereign powers.

i, ee ee ere. Pee oe ee

Accordingly, far from being a sovereign or
jurisdictional boundary, the boundary of Article First
obviously serves, inter alia, as the demarcation point for the
limits of the property rights in the lands under water
elsewhere granted to New Jersey. See, State v. Babcock,
supra, 30 N.J.L. at 31-32 (Elmer, J., commenting that the
midpoint of the Hudson is New Jersey’s boundary only “for
some purposes,” one of these being to indicate the limits of
her ownership of Article Third’s underwater lands). Under
the Compact, New Jersey gained rights of property it did
not otherwise possess, as well as rights of sovereign, or
“exclusive,” jurisdiction over the improvements which,
after many years of wharfing out, had changed the natural
coastal boundary existing at the time of the Duke of York’s
grant, extending that boundary further into the Hudson
River and New York Bay. New Jersey could not have
gained full sovereign rights over the underwater lands
indicated in Article Third because “exclusive jurisdiction”
over the same property was granted to New York. As
Vattel put it, and as the drafters of the Compact would have
understood, a state cannot have the “high domain,” or
sovereign rights of property, where another state or nation
possesses the jurisdiction or “command.” What New Jersey
received under the Compact was the “useful domain,” the
property rights possessed by an individual citizen. Only
these rights, according to Vattel, are separable, and clearly,
under the Compact, property rights in the underwater lands
have been separated from the rights of jurisdiction.

(7)

The Report articulates a variety of reasons for
rejecting the conclusion that the “exclusive jurisdiction”
over the underwater lands vested in New York in Article
Third is sovereign jurisdiction, which by definition would
give New York ultimate control over the same underwater

-23-

lands held by New Jersey in a proprietary capacity. We
address these, and certain other relevant issues, seriatim.

First, the Report rejects any such interpretation on
the ground that if New York’s sovereign jurisdiction, and
hence its boundary, extended to the low-water mark on the
Jersey shore (the limit of New York’s exclusive jurisdiction
stated in Article Third), the boundary would be subject to
change, shifting as New Jersey reclaimed and filled in the
lands along her shoreline. The Report finds such a result
abhorrent, quoting this Court’s observation in Georgia v.
South Carolina, 497 U.S. 376, 396 (1990), that “a regime
of continually shifting jurisdiction” does not “comport{ } ...
with the respect for settled expectations that .-
attends the drawing of interstate boundaries” (R67).
the settled expectations in Georgia v. South Carolina, io
the boundary was defined in relation to islands existing in
1787, would certainly have been disturbed by the
appearance of new islands years later, the same is not true
of the Compact: Article Third specifically envisions such
shifts by providing that New Jersey possesses exclusive
jurisdiction not only over the improvements on its borders
existing in 1834, but over those “to be made.”

Furthermore, the idea that jurisdictional boundaries
may be affected by reclamation of subaqueous lands was not
particularly shocking in the legal climate of 1834. As early
as 1821, New York’s highest court had ruled that, as
between New York County and Kings County, the latter
included all “made land” on the East River, even though
this would change New York County’s boundary, which,
like New York’s boundary here, extended to low-water
mark on the opposite shore.

19 Johns. 175, 178 (1821). The Court was even more

-24-

principle has been applied to the sovereign boundaries
between the United States and individual states on the
coastal waters of this country. In United States v.

U.S. 139 (1965), this Court ruled that,
when a state extends its land domain by reclaiming
subaqueous lands on its seacoast, the fact that this would
permit the state to unilaterally effect changes in the
boundary between federal and state submerged lands was of
no moment. Id. at 176-177.

In a second attempt to discount the idea that the
“exclusive jurisdiction” which refers to sovereignty in

several meanings, “not all of which imply sovereignty”
(R58, note 20). We have no problem with this as a general

influence of his thinking on the drafters. Nor does it
advance the argument when the issue is the meaning, not of
“jurisdiction” in general, but of “exclusive jurisdiction.”
We have difficulty perceiving how the term “jurisdiction,”
when modified by the adjective “exclusive,” can be
considered anything but unqualified -- particularly since,
when the Compact in fact wishes to indicate that it is
referring to a limited exercise of power, as in Article
Fourth’s restriction of New York’s power there to

-25-

quarantine laws, etc., it has no trouble doing so.

The problem, as we see it, is that the Report
implicitly assumes that that possession of property or title
is the controlling indicia of sovereignty. While it is often
said that “ownership of land under navigable waters is an
incident of sovereignty,” Montana v. United States, 450
U.S. 554, 551, citing Martin v. Waddell, 41 U.S. (16 Pet.)
367 (1842), possession of title in this context is considered
an essential attribute of sovereignty only because it is
“important to the sovereign’s ability to control navigation,
fishing and other commercial activity on rivers and lakes.”
Utah Division of State Lands v, United States, 482 U.S.
193 (1987). Accord, Montana v. U.S., supra, 450 U.S. at
552. See also, Idaho v. Coeur d’Alene Tribe of Idaho,
_U.S._, 1997 WL 338603 (U.S.) at 16 (concurring
opinion); Bell vy. Gough, 23 N.J.L. 624, 684 (1852) (right
of the sovereign to underwater property, while commonly
termed a title, “is more properly a power over it, to. . .
protect such lands for the common welfare . . .”).

Under the Compact, the dispositive control was
granted to New York, a fact which argues persuasively for
the conclusion that sovereignty was vested in that state and
that what New Jersey received was Vattel’s non-sovereign
rights of property. In any event, the power to regulate the
underwater lands surrounding Ellis Island, whether in their
filled or natural state, and whether that power is
denominated “sovereign” or not, is surely in New York
under Article Third -- with no indication there, or
elsewhere in the Compact, that the dominant control so
vested could in any way be interfered with by New Jersey.
Indeed, if New Jersey possessed sovereign powers, they
would be sufficient to override what was intended to be the

-26-

permanent and exclusive jurisdiction of New York over the
waters and underwater lands west of the boundary,
including those surrounding Ellis Island. Compare. Illinois
Central Railroad v. Illinois, 146 U.S. 387, 453 (1892)
(while a state, as sovereign, may abdicate its police powers
by delegation to another governmental body, these can
always be revoked and the navigable waters made subject to
direct control).

All these objections to the approach taken by the
Report are, of course, objections to the reasoning in Central
R.R. Co. v. Jersey City, 209 U.S. 473 (1908) (Holmes, J.),
which the Report recognizes has no stare decisis effect but
whose rationale it obviously finds persuasive. We agree
with the result reached in Central Railroad, which is fully
supportable under the exclusive (“sovereign”) jurisdiction
over improvements on its shores, “made and to be made,”
granted to New Jersey in Article Third. As indicated
above, however, we obviously have problems with the
sweeping announcement that “boundary means sovereignty,
since in modern times sovereignty is mainly territorial,
unless a different meaning clearly appears,” id. at 478-479,
where that “different meaning” permeates the Compact;
where other decisions of this Court establish that title is an
incident of sovereignty only insofar as it supports the power
of the state to exercise control, not vice versa; and where
Central Railroad treats the phrase “except as hereinafter
otherwise particularly mentioned” in Article First, which
clearly provides for exceptions from the boundary and,
hence, from the sovereignty allegedly established thereby,
as though it did not exist. Application of Central Railroad's
rationale to the issue of whether New Jersey possessed
taxing authority over underwater lots connected to its own
shores produced a sound result. Application of the same

-27-

To support its reasoning, in the face of a vigorous dissent,
the majority was forced to admit that Article Third was, in
its view, “unnecessary.” Id. at 299. When it nevertheless
addressed that provision, the majority then managed to
misread it badly, stating that “under the concessions of
jurisdiction over the waters of said river and bay,” Article
Third carefully provided that “no right should exist or be
exercised [by New York] . . . over the bed of the river,”
id., despite the language explicitly vesting “exclusive
jurisdiction” in New York over the underwater lands to
low-water mark on the Jersey shore. No such elimination
or rewriting of Article Third is necessary if, as we believe
we have demonstrated, the drafters of the Compact
envisioned that the low-water mark which indicated the
limits of New York’s exclusive jurisdiction would change
as the improvements “to be made,” and subject to New
Jersey's own grant of exclusive jurisdiction, were in fact
realized. Cf., Collins v. Promark Products, 763 F. Supp.

-28-

1204, 1206 (S.D.N.Y. 1991), aff'd, 956 F.2d 383 (2d Cir.
1992).

One final issue remains to be discussed. The State
of New York’s brief exhaustively demonstrates the error in
the Special Master’s refusal to make a factual finding that
the practice of “wharfing out,” i.¢., reclaiming submerged
lands, was taken for granted at the time of the Compact
(R92, note 39). This error is compounded by the Report’s
further insistence that the Compact itself “does not address
expansion by landfill” (R92). To the contrary, Article
Third’s grant to New Jersey of exclusive jurisdiction over
the improvements “made or to be made” on its shores
establishes that the drafters not only were aware of the
operations would be undertaken. New Jersey itself
Compact does not specifically mention the possibility of
future improvements of this sort involving the underwater
lands surrounding Ellis Island, New York’s jurisdiction over
the fast land could not be presumed to extend to any
landfill (N.J. Pretrial Mem. at 6-7).

This proposition simply miscomprehends the
structure of the Compact. At issue in Article Third was
jurisdiction over improvements abutting sovereign land in
New Jersey and extending into waters over which New
York had exclusive jurisdiction. In light of the potential for
conflict between the two states’ claims of jurisdiction in this
area, the Compact’s drafters saw a need to articulate the
scope of New Jersey’s rights of improvement in detail.
(Parallel provisions are contained in Article Fifth, which
addresses improvements upon the shore of Staten Island).
However, future improvements upon Ellis Island -- which

-29-

was New York’s territory, and which was surrounded by
waters over which New York alone had exclusive
jurisdiction -- would create no comparable conflict of

OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK.
Respectfully submitted,

PAUL A. CROTTY

Corporation Counsel of the
City of New York

Attorney for the City of New
York as Amicus Curiae

LEONARD KOERNER, *

STANLEY BUCHSBAUM,

KRISTIN M. HELMERS,
of Counsel.

*Attorney of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0101%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
