# Amicus Curiae Brief — Cedar Rapids Community School Dist. v. Garret F.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0074%3A04

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 526 U.S. 66

## Text

a i . ⁰— . i

In the Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1997

CEDAR RAPIDS COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT,
PETITIONER

2.
GARRET F., A MINOR BY HIS MOTHER AND
NEXT FRIEND, CHARLENE F.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
BILL LANN LEE
Acting Assistant Attorney
General
BARBARA D. UNDERWOOD
Deputy Solicitor General
BETHS. BRINKMANN
Assistant to the Solicitor
General
DAVID K. FLYNN
SETH M. GALANTER
Attorneys
Department of Justice *
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

LORS

4 7 * ö
a ea 22 tReet BO ere
“ik ile SEDO aus n

QUESTION PRESENTED

The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA),
20 U.S.C. 1400 et seq., requires States receiving federal spe-
cial education funds to provide special education and “related
services” to students with disabilities. “Related services”
are defined to include supportive services that are required
to assist a child with a disability to benefit from special edu-
cation, but exclude “medical services” unless they are for
diagnosis or evaluation. 20 U.S.C. 1401(a)(17).

The question presented is:

Whether the Secretary of Education’s “related services”
regulation, 34 C.F.R. 300.16, reasonably interprets the
“medical services” exclusion to exclude only services pro-
vided by a physician, and not health services provided by a
qualified school nurse or other qualified non-physician.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Interest of the United States
Statement
Summary of argument
Argument:
The Secretary of Education's regulation correctly
interprets the “medical services” excluded from
coverage under IDEA to be services that must be
provided by a physician
A. The plain language of IDEA shows that ex-
cluded “medical services” are services pro-
vided by a physician and not health services
provided by non-physicians
B. The Secretary of Education’s interpretation
of the “medical services” exclusion is reason-
able, longstanding, and entitled to deference ..........
C. Congress has ratified the Secretary's interpre-
tation of “related services” and the “medi-
cal services” exclusion in IDEA
D. Petitioner’s cost-based arguments to expand
IDEA’s “medical services” exclusion are not
supported by the statutory structure and are
inconsistent with the intent of Congress.
Conclusion
Appendix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
American Hosp. Ass'n v. NLRB, 899 F.2d 651
(7th Cir. 1990), aff'd, 499 U.S. 606 (1991)
American Surety Co. v. Marotta, 287 U.S. 513

(1933)
Atkins v. Rivera, 477 U.S. 154 (1986)

(ID

pies

15

21

21

10
16

IV
Cases—Continued: Page

Auer v. Robbins, 117 S. Ct. 905 (1997) .. 16
Bennett v. Kentucky Dep't of Educ., 470 U.S. 656

(1985) 15
Bennett v. Spear, 117 S. Ct. 1154 (1997) 12
Board of Educ. of Hendrick Hudson Cent. Sch.

Dist. v. Rowley, 458 U.S. 176 (1982) 1, 4. 9, 15
Chevron U.S.A. Inc. „ Natural Resources Defense

Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984) 16
City of Edmonds v. Oxford House, Inc., 514US.

725 (1995) 15
Commodity Futures Trading Comm'n v. Schor,

478 U.S. 833 (1986) .. 24

Detsel v. Board of Educ. of Auburn, 637 F. Supp.
1022 N. D. N. v. 1986), aff d. 820 F.2d 587 (2d
Cir.), cert. denied, 484 U.S, 981 (1987) 20

Detsel v. Sullivan, 895 F.2d 58 (2d Cir. 1990) 26

FCC v. WNCN Listeners Guild, 450 U.S. 582

(1981) 21
Florence County Sch. Dist. Four v. Carter, 510

U.S. 7 (1992) ... 13
Gebser v. Lago Vista Indep. Sch. Diat., IIS S. Ct.

1989 (1998) — 14
Good Samaritan Hosp. v. Shalala, 508 U.S. 402

(1993) 15
Herb Welding Ine. v. Gray, 470 U.S. 414 (1985) ............ 10
Honig v. Doe, 484 U.S. 305 (1988) .. 4, 16
Irving Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Tatro, 468 U.S. 883

(1984) . passim
John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Harris Trust

& Sav. Bank, 510 U.S. 86 (1998) ... 15
Lee v. Andrews, 545 8.W 2d 298 (Tex. Civ. App.

1976) 14

Morton Community Unit Sch. Dist. No. 709 v.
J.M., No. 97-3962, 1998 WL 420393 (7th Cir. July
27, 1998) 18

V
Cases Continued: — Page
Mourning v. Family Publications Serv., Inc., 411

U.S. 356 (1973) 21
Pennhurst State Sch. & Hosp. v. Halderman,

451 U.S. 1 (1981) 14
Regions Hosp. v. Shalala, 118 S. Ct. 909 (1998) 00... 15
Rust v. Sullivan, 500 U.S. 178 (1991) 15
School Bd. of Nassau County v. Arline, 480 US.

273 (1987) 15

Schweiker v. Gray Panthers, 453 U.S. 34 (1981) — 21
Shook v. Gaston County Bd. of Educ., 882 F.2d

119 (4th Cir. 1989) 27
Skubel v. Fuoroli, 113 F.3d B30 (2d Cir. 1997) 26
Smith v. Robinson, 468 U.S. 992 (1984) 15

United Food and Commercial Workers Union Local
751 v. Brown Group, Inc., 517 U.S. 544 (1996) — 12
Walters v. Metropolitan Educ. Enters.,

Inc., 117 S. Ct. 660 (1997) 11
Weinberger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749 (1975) 21
Zenith Radio Corp. v. United States, 487 U.S. 483

(1978) 16

Constitution, statutes and regulations:
US. Const.
Art. I, § 8, Cl. 1 (Spending Clause) 14, 15
Amend. XIV, § 5 — 15

Balanced Budget Act of 1997, Pub. L. No. 105-33,
Tit. IV, 111 Stat. 251 (to be codified at 42 U.S.C.

1397 et seq.) 29
Education of the Handicapped Act, Pub. L. No.
91-230,84 Stat. 175 (1970) x

Education of the Handicapped Act Amendments of

1983, Pub. L. No. 98-199, § 6, 97 Stat. 1357 — 7.21.23, 24
Education of the Handicapped Act Amendments of

1986, Pub. L. No. 99-457, § 208, 100 Stat. | 25, 26

VI

Statutes and regulations—Continued: Page
Education of the Handicapped Act Amendments
of 1990, Pub. L. No. 101-476, 104 Stat. 110g:
§ 101(c), 104 Stat. 1108 10
§ 901(a)\(1), 104 Stat. 1141 s
§ 901(a)(3), 104 Stat. 1142 —
Education for All Handicapped Children Act of 1975,
Pub. L. No. 94-142, 89 Stat. 773 8, 12, 13, 24
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C.
1400 et seq. 3, 7, 8
20 U.S.C. 1400) 3,8
20 U.S.C. 1400(b)(9) 15
20 U.S.C. 1401(a)(16) 9
20 U.S. C. 1401(a)(17) 3, 5, 7, 10, 11, 12, 13
20 U.S. C. 1401(a)(18) 4,9
20 U.S.C. 1401(a)(20) 4
20 U.S.C. 1407(b) 7, 28
20 U.S.C. 1412(1) 90
20 U.S.C, 1412(5\(B) 4,9
20 U.S.C. 1412(6) 25
20 U.S.C. 1413(a)(13) 25
20 U.S.C. 141800 15
20 U.S.C. 1413(e) 26
20 U.S.C. 1414(a)(5) 4
20 U.S.C. 1414(e)(4) 6
20 U.S.C, 1416(a) 15
20 U.S.C. 1417(b) 16, 20
20 U.S.C, 1420 15
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act Amend-
ments of 1997, Pub. L. No. 105-17, 111 Stat. 37 8-9
§ 101, 111 Stat. 45 10
§ 612(a)(12)(A), 111 Stat. 64 28
§ 612(a)(12 Ai), 111 Stat. 65 28
§ 612(a)(12)\( Bil), 111 Stat. 66 28
§ 612(a\(12\(C), 111 Stat. 66 28

VII

Statutes and regulations Continued:

Medicare Catastrophic Coverage Act of 1988, Pub.
L. No. 100-360, § 411(k)(13), 102 Stat. 688 (codified

at 42 U.S.C.1396b(c))
Social Security Act:

42 U.S.C. 701 et seq. (Maternal and Child Health

Services Block Grant)

42 U.S.C. 1396 et seq. (Medicaid)

42 U.S. C. 1896d(a)
42 US.C. 1396d(r)

Supplemental Appropriations Act, 1982, Pub. L.
No. 97-257, 96 Stat. 818

28 U.S.C, 1367

2

„ NN

Iowa Code Ann. (West 1997):
$§ 148.1-148.18

§§ 152.1-152.12

34 C. F. R.:
Section 300.13(b)(4) (1983)

Section 300.15

Section 300.16

Section 300.16(a)

Section 300.16(b)(4)

Section 300.16(b)(11)

45 C.F.R. 121a.13 (1978)

Miscellaneous:

S. Chaikind et al., What Do We Know About
the Costs of Special Education? A Selected Review,
26 J. Spec. Educ. 344 (1993)

121 Cong. Rec. 23,707 (1975)
128 Cong. Rec. (1982):
p. 20,620

p. 21,793

129 Cong. Ree. 33,316 (1983)

143 Cong. Rec. $4300 (daily ed. May 12, 1997)

148 Cong. Rec. $4373 (daily ed. May 13, 1997)
143 Cong. Rec. 84407 (daily ed. May 14, 1997)

VIII

Miscellaneous Continued:

Education for All Handicapped Children, 1973-1974:
Hearings on S.6 Before the Subcomm. on the
Handicapped of the Senate Comm. on Labor &

Public Welfare, 93d Cong., Ist Sess., Pt. 1 (1973)

Federation of State Medical Boards of the
United States, A Guide to the Essentials of a

Modern Medical Practice Act (1985) reprinted in
Medical Malpractice: Hearings Before the
Subcomm. on Health & the Eu of the House
Comm. on Energy & Commerce, 99th Cong.,
2d Sess. (1986)

42 Fed. Reg. 42,479 (1977)

45 Fed. Reg. 86,390 (1980)

47 Fed. Reg. (1982):

pp. 49,871-49,872
Financial Assistance for Improved Educational Ser-
vices for Handicapped Children: Hearings Before
the Select Subcomm. on Educ. of the House
Comm. on Educ. & Labor, 98d Cong., 2d Sess.
(1974)
Health Care Financing Admin., U.S. Dep’t of Health
& Human Servs., Medical and School Health
School Health: A Technical Assistance Guide (Aug.
1997)
H.R. Rep. No. 332, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. (1975)
H.R. Rep. No. 906, 97th Cong., 2d Sess. (1982)
H.R. Rep. No. 410, 98th Cong., Ist Sess. (1983)
H.R. Rep. No. 860, 99th Cong., 2d Sess. (1986)
H.R. Rep. No. 661, 100th Cong., 2d Sess. (1988)
H.R. Rep. No. 95, 105th Cong., Ist Sess. (1997)
A. Katsiyannis, Provision of Related Services: State
Practices and the Issue of Eligibility Criteria, 24
J. Spec. Educ. 246 (1990)
Letter to Anderson, 24 Ind. Disab. Educ. L. Rep. 180
(Feb. 22, 1996)

iS

Misvellaneous—Continued: Page

Letter to Anonymous, 25 Ind. Disab. Educ. L. Rep.

531 (Nov. 18, 1996) 19, 20

Letter to Del Polito, Educ. Handicap. L. Rep. 211:392
(June 24, 1986)
Letter to Greer, 19 Ind. Disab. Educ. L. Rep. 348
(July 14, 1992)
Letter to Jacobs, Educ. Handicap. L. Rep. 211:54
(Aug. 14, 1978)
Letter to Janda, Educ. Handicap. L. Rep. 211:205
(Jan. 25, 1979)
Letter to Johnson, 20 Ind. Disab. Educ. L. Rep. 174
(Apr. 20, 1993)
Letter to Millman, Educ. Handicap. L. Rep. 211:104
(June 5, 1979)

Letter to Minsky, Educ. Handicap. L. Rep. 211:19

(Apr. 27, 1978) 17-18

D. L. Montgomery, Am. Insts. for Research,
State Analysis Series, A Profile of Special
Education Finance Reform in Vermont
(Mar. 1995)

Nat'l Inst. on Disability and Rehabilitation
Research, Disability Statistics Reports: Medical
Expenditures for People with Disabilities in the
United States, 1987 (1996) 26,

Office of Technology Asssessment, U.S. Congress,
Technology-Dependent Children: Hospitai v. Home
Care: A Technical Memorandum (1987)

Oversight Hearings on Proposed Changes in Regula-
tions for the Education for All Handicapped Child-
ren Act: Before the Subcomm. on Select Educ.
of the House Comm. on Educ. & Labor, 97th
Cong., 2d Sess. (1982)

T. B. Parrish et. al, Center for Spec. Educ. Fin.,
State Special Education Finance Systems, 1994-95
(June 1997)

S. Rep. No. 168, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. (1975) 13,

S. Rep. No. 17, 105th Cong., Ist Sess. (1997)

x In the Supreme Court of the United States

Miscellaneous—Continued: Page BER TERM, 1907
1 Task Force on Technology-Dependent Children, No. 96-1793
U.S. Dep’t of Health & Human Servs., Fostering
Home and Community-Based Care for Technology- CEDAR RAPIDS 1 HOOL DISTRICT,
Dependent Children (1988) 27
U.S. Gen. Accounting Office, Special Education: V.
Financing Health and Educational Services for GARRET F., A MINOR BY HIS MOTHER AND
Handicapped Children (July 1986) 26 NEXT FRIEND, CHARLENE F.
Webster's Third International Dictionary (1986) . 11
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT
BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

The United States Department of Education has respon-
sibility for the administration and enforcement of the Indi-
viduals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). 20 U.S.C.
1413(c), 1416(a), 1417(b), 1420. In response to the Court’s
invitation, the United States filed a brief as amicus curiae at
the petition stage in this case.

STATEMENT

1. a. Respondent is a student in the petitioner school dis-
trict. He was severely injured in an accident in 1987, when
he was four years old. Pet. App. 9a, 19a.’ The accident left
him paralyzed from the neck down. Respondent has com-

Our factual statement includes facts set forth in the decision of the
lowa state administrative law judge (ALJ), as well as the record before
the ALJ. Neither party introduced any additional evidence before the
district court. The ALJ’s factual findings are treated as correct in peti-
tioner’s submissions to this Court and are entitled to due weight. See
Board of Educ. of Hendrick Hudson Cent. Sch. Dist. v. Rowley, 458 U.S.
176, 206 (1982).

(1)

2

plete head movement, has normal mental capacity, is able to
speak, is able to operate his motorized wheelchair through
use of a puff and suck straw, and is able to control his com-
puter through the use of a device attuned to his head move-
ments. Id. at 9a, 19a; Tr. 29, 84-85, 291-292. Respondent is
“academically successful in school” and, at the time of the
administrative hearing, his most recent report card included
several A’s, one B-plus, and one C. Pet. App. 19a. Respon-
dent is knowledgeable about his health care and is able orally
to instruct others about his needs. Jd. at 20a; Tr. 79-80, 85,
463.
Respondent’s respiratory muscles are paralyzed, so that
he needs external aids to breathe, usually an electric ventila-
tor. Pet. App. 19a, Tr. 41. The ventilator is connected to a
tube inserted into an incision in his trachea (a tracheotomy
tube). Tr. 332. From time to time, it is necessary to suction
respondent’s lungs through the tube to remove secretions
that would normally be discharged by swallowing or cough-
ing; the ventilator signals when that is necessary. Tr. 37.
During the suctioning process, and during any other period
when the ventilator is not functioning, air must be pumped in
manually through an air bag attached to the tracheotomy
tube. Pet. App. 19a, 24a. That suctioning and bagging are
simple processes regularly performed by respondent’s
friends and family. Pet. App. 21a; Tr. 32, 176-177.

When respondent is not at school, his health care is pro-
vided during the day and on weekends by family members
and friends who are familiar with his needs. Pet. App. 21a.
On week nights, a health care provider is in respondent’s
home during the sleeping hours to attend to his needs, in-
cluding turning him in his sleep every two hours. Jbid. That
health care provider is a licensed practical nurse (L.P.N.)
who is supervised by a registered nurse (R.N.) who is not on
site. Ibid.

b. In the fall of 1988, respondent began attending school
in the petitioner school district. Pet. App. 19a, 23a. Re-

3

spondent needs special assistance with his education pro-
gram and with health matters in order to benefit from that
education program. Pursuant to the Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), 20 U.S.C. 1400 et se.,
Iowa receives federal special education funds and is, there-
fore, required to provide “special education and related
services” to respondent and other students with disabilities.
20 U.S.C. 1400(c). “[Rjelated services” are defined by
statute to include supportive services that are required to
assist a student with a disability to benefit from special
education, but exclude “medical services” unless they are for
diagnosis or evaluation. 20 U.S.C. 1401(a)(17).

Petitioner provides respondent special education and cer-
tain related services, including special assistance through a
one-on-one teacher associate who continuously helps with
respondent’s needs such as page turning, note taking,
computer set up, transporting of books, and maneuvering
about the school building; special transportation services;
and occupational therapy. Pet. App. 27a, 58a; Tr. 29-30. And
petitioner provides devices, such as a computer, special soft-
ware, and other instructional materials, that serve respon-
dent’s unique educational needs. Pet. App. 27a; Pet. 3.
Petitioner does not dispute its statutory responsibility to
provide the foregoing services.

In 1993, when respondent was about to start fifth grade,
his family requested that the petitioner school district,
pursuant to its obligations under IDEA and Iowa special
education law, provide respondent certain health services
that he needs in order to assist him to benefit from special
education. Respondent requested that petitioner make

2 In earlier years, respondent’s parents apparently had made similar
requests that had been denied, Pet. App. 23a, Tr. 94-95, 637-638, and the
family had managed to pay for the health services through a combination
of a settlement fund from respondent’s accident and insurance policies (of
which one ceased payment because the coverage limit was reached and an-

4

available someone to be in the vicinity of respondent: to
assist with the ventilator management as described above; to
assist with urinary bladder catheterization once a day; to
suction respondent’s tracheotomy tube as needed (or once
every six hours); to get respondent into a reclining position
for five minutes of each hour; and to be available for
emergency procedures in the unlikely event respondent
experiences autonomic hyperreflexia. Pet. App. 20a. Re-
spondent has never needed emergency care at school. Id. at
23a; Tr. 392.

Petitioner refused to pay for the requested health serv-
ices. Although an individualized education program (IEP)
was developed for respondent as required by IDEA, school
district staff members declined to include the requested
services as part of that IEP, based “on advice from legal
counsel” that the services were excluded “medical services”
rather than “related services.” Pet. App. 25a; Tr. 512, 524,
568-569; Exh. 93 at 390.

2. Respondent pursued an administrative appeal and, af-
ter a three-day evidentiary hearing, an Iowa state adminis-
trative law judge (ALJ) ruled in his favor. Pet. App. 17a-
63a. The Iowa ALJ held that the health care services re-
quired by respondent are “related services” which must be

other has an annual coverage limit that is normally exceeded by mid-year),
Pet. App. 20a-21a.

3 The ALJ found that autonomic hyperreflexia is an adverse reaction
to anxiety or a full bladder that affects blood pressure and heart rate;
respondent has experienced autonomic hyperreflexia rarely, and never at
school, and it has usually been alleviated by catheterization. Pet. App.
20a.

4 In States receiving IDEA funds (which as of August 1998 includes all
States), each child with a disability must receive an “individualized educa-
tional program” (IEP) each year designed by a team that includes school
representatives and parents. The team determines what services a child
requires to receive a “free appropriate public education” in a regular edu-
cation environment “to the maximum extent appropriate.” 20 U.S.C.
1401(a\(18) and (20), 141265 B), 1414(aX5); Honig v. Doe, 484 U.S. 305, 311
(1988); Rowley, 458 U.S. at 181-182, 202.

5

provided by the district and not “medical services” excluded
from that requirement by IDEA under 20 U.S.C. 1401(a)(17).
Pet. App. 52a. The ALJ relied on Irving Independent School
District v. Tatro, 468 U.S. 883 (1984), in which “the Court
affirmed a Congressional and administrative distinction be-
tween nursing services and medical treatment as a related
service” under IDEA. Pet. App. 43a. Tatro applied the
Secretary’s regulation providing that “the services of a
school nurse could be required as a related service, and
treatment by a ‘licensed physician’ could be excluded” under
IDEA as a “medical service,” finding that the regulation was
a reasonable interpretation of the statute. Jd. at 42a, 44a.
The ALJ noted that Tatro did not treat expense, or the
extent of the services required, as a factor for courts to
consider. Id. at 42a. The ALJ ruled that a service is an ex-
cluded “medical service” if “the service ‘must be performed
by a physician.’” Id. at 51a (quoting Tatro, 468 U.S. at 894).
Applying that standard, the ALJ determined that the health
care services required by respondent at school can be
“provided by a ‘qualified school nurse or other qualified
person’ and are thus ‘school health services’ required by
IDEA as a related service.” Pet. App. 52a.

Furthermore, the ALJ ruled that, even under the multi-
factor test applied by some courts that weighs expense, bur-
den, extent and nature of the services, the health care serv-
ices required by respondent are “related services” under
IDEA. Pet. App. 52a.° The ALJ noted that the services

5 The cost of the required services depends primarily on the licensure
of the person providing them, i.e., a registered nurse (R. N.) is more ex-
pensive than a licensed practical nurse (L.P.N.) or a nonlicensed trained
care provider. See Pet. App. 34a-36a. The parties agree that the services
at issue need not be provided by a physician, but disagree regarding
whether an R. N., an L. P. N., or a trained care provider is required. Id. at
20a. Petitioner contended below that an R.N. was required, but the lowa
Board of Nursing ruling on which petitioner relied was changed at peti-
tioner’s request following its loss below. See U.S. Amicus Br. on Pet. 9-10.

6

needed by respondent are similar to services already pro-
vided to other students in petitioner’s school district—
petitioner provides other students urinary catheterization,
help with food and drink, oxygen supplement positioning,
tracheostomy suctioning and bagging. The only service
needed by respondent and not already provided by the
school to other students is the monitoring of his ventilator.
Id. at 53a. Finally, the ALJ held that “even if federal law did
not require school health care services for [respondent],
state law does.” Jd. at 58a; see also id. at 54a-55a. Thus it
ordered petitioner to reimburse respondent for health-care
costs incurred for the 1993-1994 school year. Jd. at 63a.

3. Petitioner filed suit in federal district court pursuant
to 20 U.S.C. 1415(e)(4) and 28 U.S.C. 1367, challenging the
ALJ’s decision on both state and federal grounds. Pet. App.
ga. On cross-motions for summary judgment, the district
court affirmed the ALJ’s determination, Jin accordance
with the appropriate standards, in light of Tatro, and for the
reasons set forth in the ALJ’s thorough decision.” Jd. at 15a.
The court ruled that the needed services were not excluded
“medical services” under IDEA, but instead required “re-
lated services.” Id. at 1la-15a. The court did not address the
state law issues. Id. at l5a.

4. The court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. la-7a. After
finding that the services respondent requires “qualify as
supportive services necessary to enable him to enjoy the
benefit of special education” and that such services need not
be provided by a physician, it held that they are “related
services” which petitioner is reovtired to provide. Id. at 6a.
It explained that Tatro “established a bright-line test: the
services of a physician (other than for diagnostic and evalua-
tion purposes) are subject to the medical services exclusion,
but services that can be provided in the school setting by a
nurse or qualified layperson are not.” Jbid. While acknowl-
edging that its reading of Tatro conflicts with that of other
circuits, it deelineſd] to seize dicta in Tatro to go beyond the

7

physician/non-physician test which the Supreme Court sets
forth therein.” Id. at Ta.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA),
20 U.S.C. 1400 et seq., requires that States receiving federal
special education funds provide special education and “re-
lated services” to students with disabilities. “(RJelated
services” are defined to include supportive services that are
required to assist a child with a disability to benefit from
special education, but exclude “medical services” unless they
are for diagnosis or evaluation. 20 U.S.C. 1401(a)(17). The
Secretary of Education properly interprets the term
“medical services” in this context to mean only services
provided by a physician, and not school health services that
can be provided by a non-physician. That interpretation is
supported by the plain language of the statute.

The Secretary of Education is authorized by Congress to
issue regulations as necessary to carry out the requirements
of IDEA, and his interpretation of the statutory term is enti-
tled to administrative deference for that reason. Moreover,
that interpretation is additionally entitled to respect because
Congress ratified it when, in 1982, Congress opposed the
then-Secretary’s attempt to expand the medical services ex-
clusion and to restrict the related services provision. And, in
1983, Congress enacted Section 6 of the Education of the
Handicapped Act Amendments of 1983, Pub. L. No. 98-199,
97 Stat. 1357, 1359 (codified as amended, 20 U.S.C. 1407(b)),
which prohibits the Secretary from implementing any regu-
lation that would lessen the protections afforded children
with disabilities under IDEA, as embodied in the Secretary’s
regulations then in effect, unless such new regulation re-
flects the clear and unequivocal intent of Congress in legisla-
tion. Thus, petitioner's attempt to construe the “medical
services” exclusion to depend on factors such as cost is, in

8

essence, an effort to obtain through the courts what Con-
gress rejected.

Petitioner’s arguments concerning the financial burden it
claims would be imposed by affirmance of the court of ap-
peals’ judgment ignore the steps Congress has taken to en-
sure that other federal and state sources assist local school
districts to pay the costs of related services for many stu-
dents.

ARGUMENT

THE SECRETARY OF EDUCATION’S REGULATION
CORRECTLY INTERPRETS THE “MEDICAL SERV-
ICES” EXCLUDED FROM COVERAGE UNDER IDEA
TO BE SERVICES THAT MUST BE PROVIDED BY A
PHYSICIAN
A. The Plain Language Of IDEA Shows That Excluded
“Medical Services” Are Services Provided By A Physi-
cian And Not Health Services Provided By Non-Physi-
cians
1. The central purpose of the Individuals with Disabili-
ties Education Act (IDEA), 20 U.S.C. 1400 et seq., is to en-
sure that children with disabilities have available to them a
“free appropriate public education” (FAPE) which includes
“special education and related services designed to meet
their unique needs.” 20 U.S.C. 1400(c).° In order to qualify

The statute originally was entitled the Education of the Handi-
capped Act (EHA), Pub. L. No. 91-230, 84 Stat. 175 (1970), and has since
been amended on numerous occasions, including when Congress enacted
the Education for All Handicapped Children Act of 1975 (EAHCA) to
amend the EHA in significant respects, and to define, for the first time,
the terms “special education” and “related services.” Pub. L. No. 94-142,
89 Stat. 773, 775. In 1990, Congress changed the title of the statute to the
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). Education of the
Handicapped Act Amendments of 1990, Pub. L. No. 101-476, § 901(a)(1)
and (3), 104 Stat. 1108, 1141, 1142 (1990 Amendments). Most recently,
Congress reauthorized and amended IDEA on June 4, 1997. See Individu-
als with Disabilities Education Act -_— of 1997, Pub. L. No. 105-

for assistance under IDEA, a State must demonstrate to the
Secretary of Education (Secretary), inter alia, that it has in
effect “a policy that assures all children with disabilities the
right to a free appropriate public education,” 20 U.S.C.
1412(1), and “procedures to assure that, to the maximum ex-
tent appropriate, children with disabilities, * are
educated with children who are not disabled, and that special
classes, separate schooling, or other removal of children with
disabilities from the regular educational environment occurs
only when the nature or severity of the disability is such that
education in regular classes with the use of supplementary
aids and services cannot be achieved satisfactorily,” 20
U.S.C. 1412(5)(B).

Congress defined FAPE to mean “special education and
related services” that meet certain standards and are
“provided at public expense, under public supervision and
direction, and without charge.” 20 U.S.C. 1401(a)(18).
“{S}pecial education” is defined as “specially designed in-
struction, at no cost to parents or guardians, to meet the
unique needs of a child with a disability,” including in-
struction in classrooms, the home, hospitals and other
settings. 20 U.S.C. 1401(a)(16). Related services” are:

transportation, and such developmental, corrective, and
other supportive services (including speech pathology
and audiology, psychological services, physical and
occupational therapy, recreation, including therapeutic
recreation, social work services, counseling services,
including rehabilitation counseling, and medical ser-
vices, except that such medical services shall be for
diagnostic and evaluation purposes only) as may be
required to assist a child with a disability to benefit
from special education, and includes the early identi-

17, 111 Stat. 37 (1997 Amendments). For a more detailed history of the
statute’s early evolution, see Rowley, 458 U.S. at 179-180.

10

fication and assessment of disabling conditions in chil-
dren.

20 U.S.C. 1401(aX(17).’

The term “related services” is not limited to the services
enumerated in the statute as “other supportive services,” as
is plain from the fact that Congress introduced that list by
use of the term “including.” See Herb’s Welding, Inc. v.
Gray, 470 U.S. 414, 423 n.9 (1985); American Surety Co. v.
Marotta, 287 U.S. 513, 517 (1933). On its face, the statute
requires States to provide as “related services” all services
“as may be required to assist a child with a disability to
benefit from special education,” with the single exception of
nondiagnostic and nonevaluative medical services. 20 U.S.C.
1401(aX(17).

It is undisputed that the services at issue in this case are
required to assist respondent to benefit from his special
education program. The services “fall squarely within the
definition of a ‘supportive service’” for the same reason that
catheterization did in Irving Independent School District v.
Tatro, 468 U.S. 883 (1984): because without the services
respondent “cannot attend school and thereby ‘benefit from
special education. 468 U.S. at 890; Pet. App. 59a (“If the
District refuses to provide health care and the family can’t
provide it,” the “only apparent alternative is a homebound
program.“); Tr. 87, 637-638, 661. As the Tatro Court
explained, “[sjervices * that permit a child to remain at

Tue statutory provisions at issue in this case have been altered only
slightly during the course of the various statutory amendments described
in note 6, supra. See, g., 1990 Amendments, § 101(c), 104 Stat. 1103
(adding “therapeutic recreation,” “social work services,” and “rehabilita-
tion counseling” as examples of supportive services that are included
under the “related services” definition) 1997 Amendments, § 101, 111
Stat. 45 (adding “orientation and mobility” to the listed examples of
supportive services). Unless otherwise noted, we cite to the 1994 codified
version of IDEA in effect before the 1997 amendments and during the
year for which respondent sought payment from petitioner for the
challenged services.

11

school during the day are no less related to the effort to
educate than are services that enable the child to reach,
enter, or exit the school,” all of which are required by IDEA.
468 U.S. at 891.

2. Petitioner contends that the services respondent re-
quires are not “related services” under IDEA because they
fall within the exception carved out by Congress for “medical
services.” In defining “related services” Congress listed, as
an example, “medical services, except that such medical
services shall be for diagnostic and evaluation purposes
only.” 20 U.S.C. 1401(a)(17). It is undisputed that the ser-
vices at issue here are not for diagnosis or evaluation.
Therefore, if they are “medical services,” they are not “re-
lated services” under IDEA.

Congress did not define the term “medical services” in
IDEA. Thus, we start with the “‘ordinary, contemporary,
common meaning.” Walters v. Metropolitan Educ. Enters.,
Inc., 117 S. Ct. 660, 664 (1997). The adjective “medical” is
commonly understood to mean “of, relating to, or concerned
with physicians or with the practice of medicine often as dis-
tinguished from surgery.” Webster’s Third International
Dictionary 1402 (1986). For example, a person who goes to
“medical school” is understood to be training to be a physi-
cian. In most States, the “Medical Practice Act” regulates
physicians and generally bars anyone but physicians from
“practicing medicine.” See generally Federation of State
Medical Boards of the United States, A Guide to the Essen-
tials of a Modern Medical Practice Act (1985), reprinted in
Medical Malpractice: Hearings Before the Subcomm. on
Health & the Ent of the House Comm. on Energy & Com-
merce, 99th Cong., 2d Sess. 393-421 (1986). lowa, for exam-
ple, has a “Board of Medical Examiners” to license and
regulate physicians, and a “Board of Nursing” to license and
regulate nurses. See Iowa Code Ann. 148.1-148.13, 152.1-
152.12 (West 1997).

12

Petitioner suggests (Br. 14-15, 34) that the statutory lan-
guage should be interpreted not according to its plain mean-
ing but instead according to a five-factor test; in determining
whether services are “medical,” courts should consider
whether they are complex, continuous, outside the capabili-
ties of existing school health personnel, expensive, or likely
to have serious repercussions when improperly performed.
That five-factor test finds no support in the statutory
language. Moreover, each of the factors is contradicted by
the examples of “related services” contained in the statute,
or otherwise indisputably included among the services that
schools must provide.

Many of the “related services” expressly listed in the
statute, including “psychological services” and “physical and
occupational therapy,” may vary widely in complexity de-
pending on the needs of the student receiving the services.
20 U.S.C. 1401(aX(17). Yet the statute is correctly inter-
preted to require provision of those services regardless of
complexity otherwise the “cardinal principle of statutory
construction” would be violated by not giving effect to every
word of the statute. Bennett v. Spear, 117 S. Ct. 1154, 1166
(1997); United Food and Commercial Workers Union Local
751 v. Brown Group, Inc., 517 U.S. 544, 550 (1996).

So too, numerous continuous services are indisputably re-
quired by IDEA. Congress heard testimony about the pro-
vision of continuous services to children with various dis-
abilities during the legislative proceedings surrounding en-
actment of the Education for All Handicapped Children Act
of 1975, Pub. L. No. 94-142, 89 Stat. 773 (EAHCA), which de-
fined “related services” for the first time.“ Indeed, peti-

See 121 Cong. Ree. 23,707 (1975) (statement of Rep. Quie) (readers
for blind children); Financial Assistance for Improved Educational
Services for Handicapped Children: Hearings Before the Select Subcomm.
on Educ. of the House Comm. on Educ. & Labor, 98d Cong., 2d Sess. 261
(1974) (ratio of one-to-one may be required for most severely handi-
capped); Education for All Handicapped Children, 1973-1974: Hearings

13

tioner does not contest (Br. 5, 6-7, 19) that IDEA requires it
to provide a full-time one-on-one associate to help respon-
dent move about the building, turn pages, and manipulate
other materials. Exh. 91 at 364; Pet. App. 27a; see also Tr.
546.
Persons other than existing school health personnel are
often needed to provide many of the related services ex-
pressly listed in the statute including “speech pathology and
audiology, psychological services, [and] physical and
occupational therapy.” 20 U.S.C, 1401(a)(17). As this Court
recognized in Tatro, “Congress plainly required schools to
hire various specially trained personnel to help handicapped
children, such as ‘trained gecupational therapists, speech
therapists, psychologists, s6cial workers and other appropri-
ately trained pers 468 U.S. at 893, quoting S. Rep.
No. 168, 94th Cong. Ist Sess. 33 (1975).

Congress recognized that providing a free appropriate
public education under IDEA would be costly. “There is no
doubt that Congress has imposed a significant financial bur-
den on States and school districts that participated in
IDEA.” Florence County Sch. Dist. Four v. Carter, 510 U.S.
7, 15 (1993). In enacting the EAHCA in 1975, Congress
understood that, on average, special education and related
services for a child with a disability cost two to three times
more than a regular education. H.R. Rep. No. 382, 94th
Cong., Ist Sess. 12 (1975). That ratio has remained constant
over the ensuing 20 years. See S. Chaikind et al., What Do
We Know About the Costs of Special Education? A Selected
Review, 26 J. Spec. Educ. 344, 344-345 (1993).” The text and

on S. 6 Before the Subcomm. on the Handicapped of the Senate Comm. on
Labor & Public Welfare, 98d Cong., Ist Sess., Pt. 1 at 1467 (1973) (one to
one relationship required in some instances).

® The costs of IDEA services should be viewed comparatively. If a
child with a disability cannot receive the free appropriate public education
he requires at school, then the school district will have to provide it in a
home or an institutional setting. It thus could be necessary for school

14

history of the statute show that Congress addressed cost
concerns through other provisions of IDEA, and not by ex-
cluding related services on the basis of cost. See pp. 24-30,
infra.

Finally, services that can have catastrophic consequences
when improperly performed are indisputably included
among the related services required by IDEA. The statute
expressly lists psychological services, which can, in the case
of a suicidal child, have extremely serious consequences.
And catheterization—the service held to be a non-medical
related service in Tatro—can lead to death if improperly
performed. See Lee v. Andrews, 545 S.W.2d 238 (Tex. Civ.
App. 1976).

Thus, none of petitioner’s “factors” was intended or un-
derstood by Congress to be a basis for excluding services
from IDEA’s “related services” requirement. Neither alone
nor in combination can those factors transform a nonmedical
“related service” into an excluded “medical service.”

3. Petitioner attempts (Br. 20-21) to find in this Court’s
precedents a general principle that statutes enacted pur-
suant to Congress’s power under the Spending Clause, U.S.
Const., Art. I, § 8, Cl. 1, should be construed to minimize the
costs imposed on States, citing, inter alia, Pennhurst State
School & Hospital v. Halderman, 451 U.S. 1 (1981), and
Gebser v. Lago Vista Indep. Sch.Dist., 118 S.Ct. 1989 (1998),
but it is mistaken. There is nothing in those cases to suggest
that, when it is clear that Congress intended to impose pri-
vately enforceable obligations on recipients of federal funds
to provide special education and related services, the scope
of those obligations should be determined by anything other
than normal rules of statutory construction. Tatro, 468 U.S.

districts to pay for a one-on-one teacher to teach the child in his home. In
lowa, such services are paid for by an area education agency rather than
by the school district, Tr. 284, which may explain why petitioner does not
discuss them.

15

at 891 n.8; Bennett v. Kentucky Dep't of Educ., 470 U.S. 656,
665-666 (1985); School Bd. of Nassau County v. Arline, 480
U.S. 273, 286 n.15 (1987). In any event, IDEA was enacted
not only pursuant to Congress’s authority under the Spend-
ing Clause, but also pursuant to Section 5 of the Fourteenth
Amendment. See 20 U.S.C. 1400(b\(9) (Congress declaring
intent in enacting EAHCA to “assist State and local efforts
to provide programs to meet the educational needs of
children with disabilities in order to assure equal protection
of the law”); Smith v. Robinson, 468 U.S. 992, 1013 (1984)
(holding that IDEA precludes claim based on Equal Pro-
tection Clause because Congress intended IDEA to be the
exclusive “vehicle for protecting the constitutional right of a
handicapped child to a public education”); Rowley, 458 U.S.
at 180 n.2., 192-200.

Moreover, two principles of statutory construction point
in the opposite direction from petitioner’s proposed ap-
proach: first, the canon that exceptions should be narrowly
construed, see City of Edmonds v. Oxford House, Inc., 514
U.S. 725, 731-732 (1995); John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co. v.
Harris Trust & Sav. Bank, 510 U.S. 86, 96 (1993); and
second, the principle that statutes, including those creating
federal programs under the Spending Clause, are to be
construed with deference to the regulations of the admin-
istering agency, see, e. g., Regions Hosp. v. Shalala, 118 8.
Ct. 909, 915 (1998); Good Samaritan Hosp. v. Shalala, 508
U.S. 402, 414-420 (1993); Rust v. Sullivan, 500 U.S. 173, 184-
190 (1991).

B. The Secretary Of Education’s Interpretation Of The
“Medical Services” Exclusion Is Reasonable, Long-
standing, And Entitled To Deference

1. Congress delegated substantial authority to the Secre-
tary under IDEA, including the power to review state plans,
20 U.S.C. 141 (0), to disburse federal funds, 20 U.S.C. 1420,
and to withhold federal funds if there is a failure to comply
with statutory requirements, 20 U.S.C. 1416(a). Congress

16

also entrusted the Secretary with the authority to issue
“such rules and regulations as may be necessary,” to carry
out the requirements of "DEA. 20 U.S.C. 1417(b). The
Secretary's regulations are “entitled to ‘legislative effect,’
and [are] controlling ‘unless [they are] arbitrary, capricious,
or manifestly contrary to the statute.’” Atkins v. Rivera,
477 U.S. 154, 162 (1986) (citations omitted); see Tatro, 468
U.S. at 891-892 (deferring to Secretary’s IDEA regulations);
Honig v. Doe, 484 U.S. 305, 325 n.8 (1988) (same); Chevron
U.S.A. Ine. v. Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467
U.S. 837, 842 (1984). Deference to the Secretary’s interpre-
tation of his own regulation is particularly appropriate here
because of the longstanding nature of his interpretation. See
Zenith Radio Corp. v. United States, 473 U.S. 433, 450
(1978); see also Auer v. Robbins, 117 S. Ct. 905, 911 (1997);
Honig, 484 U.S. at 325 n.8 (deferring to Department of
Education policy letter).

2. The “related services” regulation at issue here was ini-
tially promulgated in its current form in 1977, 42 Fed. Reg.
42,479 (1977) (codified at 45 C. F. R. 121a. 13 (1978)), and is
currently faund at 34 C.F.R. 300.16. Throughout the in-
tervening 20 years, the regulation has specified that “related
services” include, inter alia, “school health services,” which
it defines as “services provided by a qualified school nurse or
other qualified person.” 34 C.F.R. 300.16(a) and (b)(11).”
The regulation also has provided that “related services” in-
clude “medical services for diagnostic or evaluation pur-

% A “qualified” person is “a person [who] has met [state educational
agency] approved or recognized certification, licensing, registration, or
other comparable requirements that apply to the area in which he or she is
providing special education or related services.” 34 C.F.R. 300.15. The
licensing requirements for performance of various tasks by non-physicians
may vary from State to State but, as petitioner concedes (Pet. Br. 36),
these requirements do not affect a student’s entitlement to provision of
related services under IDEA. See also Br. of Amici Curiae National Ass’n
of Protection and Advocacy Systems et al. 23, n.14.

\

17

poses,” and that “medical services,” as used in the related
services regulation, are those “services provided by a li-
censed physician to determine a child’s medically related dis-
ability that results in the child’s need for special education
and related services.” 34 C. F. R. 300.16(a) and (b)(4). Read
together, those definitions establish that services provided
by physicians, known as “medical services,” are to be treated
differently from all other health-related services that are
necessary to assist a child with a disability to benefit from
special education. Services provided by physicians are ex-
cluded unless they are diagnostic or evaluative, while ser-
vices that can be provided by other qualified health person-
nel are “related services” so long as they are necessary to as-
sist a child with a disability to benefit from special education.

In Tatro, this Court so construed the Secretary’s regula-
tion (then codified at 34 C. F. R. 300.13(b)(4)(1983)). The
Court concluded that, because the regulation defines the
“medical services” that are owed under IDEA as services
provided by licensed physicians for purposes of diagnosis or
evaluation, I plresumably this means that ‘medical services’
not owed under the statute are those ‘services by a licensed
physician’ that serve other purposes.” 468 U.S. at 892 n.10.
That presumption derives from the common-sense principle
that a single term—“medical services”—normally has a sin-
gle meaning in determining both what is included and what
is excluded under a single statutory provision.

3. The Secretary has consistently read his regulations in
that manner. Following initial promulgation of thé regula-
tion (and before Tatro), the Secretary’s representatives ex-
pressly repeated, in policy letters responding to inquiries
about the provision of psychotherapy, the principle that cov-
erage under the statute depends on whether a service is
provided by a physician. The Secretary explained that if
psychotherapy is interpreted in your State as a medical
service (i.e. administered by a licensed physician), this serv-
ice would not be required.” Letter to Minsky, Educ. Handi-

18

cap. L. Rep. 211:19, 20 (Apr. 7, 1978); accord Letter to Janda,
Educ. Handicap. L. Rep. 211:205, 206 (Jan. 25, 1979). On the
other hand, “in some States (and with certain professional
disciplines) ‘psychotherapy’ might be provided by someone
other than a psychiatrist (eg., a psychiatrie social worker,
ete.). In such cases, the provision of psychotherapy by some-
one other than a psychiatrist could be considered to be an
appropriate related service under the regulations—if the
service is needed to assist a handicapped child to benefit
from special education.” Letter to Millman, Educ. Handicap.
L. Rep. 211:104, 105 (June 5, 1979).

Petitioner errs in contending (Br. 25-27) that the above-
cited letters and other policy letters by the Secretary’s dele-
gates do not apply a bright-line distinction between services
provided by a physician and services provided by non-
physicians. Petitioner (Br. 25-27) and its amicus (Br. of
Amici Curiae National Ass’n of Protection and Advocacy
Systems et al. 14 (NSBA Br.) specifically focus on a
February 22, 1996, policy letter (Letter to Anderson, 24 Ind.
Disab. Educ. L. Rep. 180, reprinted at Pet. App. 64a-67a), to
contend that the Secretary “renounced” the bright-line test.
See also Morton Community Unit Sch. Dist. No. 709 v. J.M.,
No. 97-3962, 1998 WL 420393 (7th Cir. July 27, 1998) (criticiz-
ing letter as evasive and noncommittal).

The February 22, 1996, letter was a response to a general
inquiry whether the Secretary considers “one-to-one nursing
services necessary for a student with disabilities to attend a
public school setting” to be “a required related service or a
medical service as determined by several recent court deci-

1! See also Letter to Jacobs, Educ. Handicap. L. Rep. 211:54 (Aug. 14,
1978) (explaining that an optometrist, i.e., a non-physician, may provide
“diagnostic services” with IDEA funds, just as an audiologist may, but
specifying that he is not qualified to provide “medical diagnostic services,
because (among other things) they do not meet the definition of ‘medical
services’ * * * (i.e. ‘medical services’ means services provided by a
licensed physician”).

19

sions?” 24 Ind. Disab. Educ. L. Rep. at 180. Because the
question specifically referenced court decisions, the letter
cited the various court decisions and acknowledged that
courts have reached differing conclusions, and have based
their analysis on various factors. Ibid. The letter clearly
attributes that analysis to courts and does not, contrary to
petitioner’s claim (Br. 27), endorse it as the policy of the
Department of Education. See also Letter to Anonymous, 25
Ind. Disab. Educ. L. Rep. 531, 582 (Nov. 13, 1996)(cited at
Pet. Br. 27) (discussing distinction as one made by courts,
not by the Department of Education).

The February 22, 1996, letter further notes that the
question posed “could arise in a variety of factual contexts,”
and that the Secretary cannot “express a view as to whether
or not ‘one-to-one nursing’ services are a required related
service for an individual disabled student,” because “the
determination as to whether these services are required
related services for an individual disabled student must be
made on a case-by-case basis * * by the participants on
the student’s IEP team.” 24 Ind. Disab. Educ. L. Rep. at
180. The letter then unequivocally states that, Ailf the
student’s IEP team determines that nursing services are a
required related service for a particular student, those
services must be provided at no cost to the parents.” bid.
Thus, that letter reaffirmed the Secretary’s longstanding
interpretation of IDEA that services provided by a nurse
are not excluded medical services.

The case-by-case analysis required by the Secretary’s
policy letters is not, as petitioner contends (Br. 27), a rejec-
tion of the bright-line physician/non-physician rule. Rather,
it is the three-prong test that the Secretary derived from

20

Tatro to be applied on a case-by-case basis to determine

whether a health service must be provided:
First, in order to be entitled to receive the service, the
child must be handicapped * * * Second, the service
must be necessary to aid a handicapped child to benefit
from special education. If the treatment or medication
could be given during non-school hours, then the school
district is not required to provide the service, even if
the burden would be minimal. Third, the service need
only be provided if it can be provided by a nurse or
other qualified person, not a physician.

Letter to Del Polito, Educ. Handicap. L. Rep. 211:392, 398
(June 24, 1986); Letter to Greer, 19 Ind. Disab. Educ. L. Rep.
348, 349 (July 14, 1992) (same); Letter to Johnson, 20 Ind.
Disab. Educ. L. Rep. 174, 175 (Apr. 20, 1993) (same); 25 Ind.
Disab. Educ. L. Rep. at 532 (same).

4. The courts that have adopted some type of balancing
test based on the nature of the service and the economic
burden it would place on a school district apparently view
the Secretary’s regulation to be an imperfect measure of the
policies underlying the statutory “medical services” exclu-
sion. See, e.g., Detsel v. Board of Educ. of Auburn, 637 F.
Supp. 1022 (N. D. N. V. 1986), aff’d, 820 F. 2d 587 (2d Cir.) (per
curiam), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 981 (1987). Such an approach
misconceives the proper relationship between the courts and
the Secretary’s delegated authority to issue regulations
necessary to carry out the requirements of IDEA. 20 U.S.C.
1417(b). The Court explained in Tatro that the Secretary
could have reasonably selected his definition of “medical
services” in an attempt to spare school districts from unduly
expensive services, reasoning that services provided by phy-
sicians were, on average, more expensive than other health
services. See 468 U.S. at 892-893.

The Secretary’s regulation reflects a reasonable determi-
nation that a bright-line rule regarding the meaning of

—

21

“medical services” will serve the policies of the statute bet-
ter than a multi-factored test requiring individualized deter-
minations in each case. See FCC v. WNCN Listeners Guild,
450 U.S. 582, 600-601 (1981); Schweiker v. Gray Panthers,
453 U.S. 34, 48-50 (1981); Mourning v. Family Publications
Serv., Ine., 411 U.S. 356, 371-374 (1973). The regulation
eliminates the costs and confusion that would result from a
multi-factored test that would require adjudication of varied
factual circumstances through the extensive appellate
processes provided under the Act. See Gray Panthers, 453
U.S. at 48; Weinberger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749, 782-785 (1975);
American Hosp. Ass'n v. NLRB, 899 F.2d 651, 659 (7th Cir.
1990) (Posner, J.) (“A rule makes one or a few of a mass of
particulars legally decisive, ignoring the rest. The result is a
gain in certainty, predictability, celerity, and economy, and a
loss in individualized justice. Often the tradeoff is worth-
while; at least the prevalence of rules in our legal system So-
suggests.”), aff'd, 499 U.S. 606 (1991).

C. Congress Has Ratified The Secretary's Interpretation
Of “Related Services” And The “Medical Services” Ex-
clusion In IDEA

After the statute had been interpreted to require States
to provide school health services as “related services,” and to
exclude only physician-provided services as “medical serv-
ices,” Congress ratified that interpretation in the Education
of the Handicapped Act Amendments of 1983, § 6, Pub. L.
No. 98-199, 97 Stat. 1357, 1359.

On August 4, 1982, the then-Secretary of Education had
issued proposed regulations that would have changed vari-
ous regulations governing assistance to States for the educa-
tion of handicapped children. 47 Fed. Reg. 33,836-33,860
(1982). One of his proposals was to narrow the “related ser-
vices” regulation. The proposal was motivated by concerns
about cost. The Secretary stated, in language similar to that
of petitioner’s amicus (NSBA Br. 24-28), that “[s]chools face

increasing costs in providing related services as health
agencies and insurers which formerly paid them shift this
responsibility * * * Many school officials have expressed
their belief that some limitations must be placed on their
responsibility for providing related services in light of their
agencies’ limited funds.” 47 Fed. Reg. at 33,837-33,838.

The proposed regulations would have eliminated “school
health services” from the definition of “related services”;
they would have changed the meaning of excluded “medical
services” from “services provided by a licensed physician” to
“services relating to the practice of medicine”; and they
would have allowed school districts to place “reasonable limi-
tations” on provision of related services, based inter alia on
the “level, frequency, location, and duration of the services”
and the qualifications of the service providers. 47 Fed. Reg.
at 33,888. Illustrations of services that were meant to be ex-
cluded by the changes included Iife-sustaining procedures
that * * [mJust be administered by specially trained, li-
censed health care professionals; or * * * [e)ntail a signifi-
cant risk of illness or more than minimal injury to the child.”
Id. at 33,846.

In the course of explaining the proposed changes, the
Secretary unequivocally confirmed the Department of Edu-
cation’s longstanding interpretation of the current statute
and regulation to rest on a bright-line distinction between
services provided by a physician and those provided by non-
physicians: “(t]he statute defines related services to exclude
medical services except where they are for diagnostic or
evaluation purposes. The existing regulations define medical
services as services provided by a licensed physician.” 47
Fed. Reg. at 33,838.

Members of Congress criticized the proposed regulations,
and specifically targeted a few of the proposed changes, in-
cluding the amendment to the “related services” regulation.
See 128 Cong. Rec. 20,620 (1982) (statement of Rep. Biaggi);
id. at 21,793 (statement of Rep. Bonker); see also H.R. Rep.

No. 906, 97th Cong., 2d Sess. 4-5 (1982). On September 8,
1982, Congress enacted Section 305(b) of the Supplemental
Appropriations Act, 1982, Pub. L. No. 97-257, 96 Stat. 818,
874, expressing the sense of Congress that the proposed
regulations should not become effective and should not be
transmitted to Congress while it was not in session.

On November 3, 1982, the Secretary withdrew six of the
most controversial changes, including the proposal to narrow
the “related services” regulation. See 47 Fed. Reg. 49,871-
49,872 (1982); Oversight Hearings on Proposed Changes in
Regulations for the Education for All Handicapped Chil-
dren Act: Before the Subcomm. on Select Educ. of the House
Comm. on Educ. & Labor, 97th Cong., 2d Sess. 122, 126-127,
175 (1982).

The following year, Congress added a new Section 608 to
the Education of the Handicapped Act, which states that the
Secretary

may not implement * * * any regulation prescribed
pursuant to this chapter which would procedurally or
substantively lessen the protections provided to handi-
capped children under this chapter, as embodied in
regulations in effect on July 20, 1983 (particularly as
such protections relate to* * * related services * * *),
except to the extent that such regulation reflects the

2 and unequivocal intent of the Congress in legisla-

Education of the Handicapped Act Amendments of 1983,
Pub. L. No. 98-199, § 6, 97 Stat. 1357, 1359 (codified as
amended, 20 U.S.C. 1407(b)). That provision was enacted in
direct response to the proposed, then withdrawn, 1982
regulatory changes. See 129 Cong. Rec. 33,316 (1983)
(statement of Rep. Biaggi) (explaining that provision was
reaction to Secretary’s 1982 proposals); see also H.R. Rep.
No. 410, 98th Cong., Ist Sess. 21 (1983).

24

Thus, Section 608 constitutes a ratification of the Secre-
tary's “related services” regulation, which includes school
health services and excludes as medical services only
services provided by a physician. It also reflects congres-
sional disapproval of a multi-factor determination of “medical
services” that would expand the exclusion to take into
account the extent or nature of the services by excluding
services provided by any “specially trained, licensed health
care professionals” or services that involve “a significant risk
of illness or more than minimal injury to the child.” 47 Fed.
Reg. at 33,846. “Where, as here, ‘Congress has not just kept
its silence by refusing to overturn the administrative
construction, but has ratified it with positive legislation,’ we
cannot but deem that construction virtually conclusive.”
Commodity Futures Trading Comm'n v. Schor, 478 U.S.
833, 846 (1986). Hence, in asking this Court to construe the
“medical services” exclusion to depend on factors such as
cost, petitioner is, in essence, attempting to obtain through
the courts what Congress rejected.

D. Petitioner's Cost-Based Arguments To Expand IDEA's

“Medical Services” Exclusion Are Not Supported By
The Statutory Structure And Are Inconsistent With
The Intent Of Congress.

Petitioner and its amicus devote significant portions of
their briefs to describing the fiscal burden they claim they
would be required to shoulder should the court of appeals’
judgment be affirmed. In doing so, they ignore steps Con-
gress has taken to ensure that costs of “related services” for
many disabled students are borne by other agencies.

Congress has provided States with tools to ensure that lo-
cal educational districts are not unfairly burdened with
health care costs. In 1975, when the predecessor to IDEA
was enacted, the Senate Committee Report on EAHCA ex-
plained that, while Congress “has provided that the State
education agency is to be the final responsible authority for

25

assuring that all handicapped children have available to
them free appropriate public education, it does not intend
that State and local educational agencies must be the sole
providers of such services.” S. Rep. No. 168, 94th Cong., Ist.
Sess. 22 (1975).

In 1986, Congress took steps to facilitate the payment of
expenses by sources other than educational agencies. Sec-
tion 203 of the Education of the Handicapped Act Amend-
ments of 1986, Pub. I. No. 99-457, 100 Stat. 1145, 1158-1159,
entitled “Sharing of Costs of Free Appropriate Public
Education,” declared that, although the statute provides that
state educational agencies bear the responsibility for ensur-
ing that IDEA’s requirements are carried out, that provision
“shall not be construed to limit the responsibility of agencies
other than educational agencies in a State from providing or
paying for some or all of the costs of a free appropriate pub-
lic education to be provided handicapped children in the
State.” §203, 100 Stat. 1159 (codified as amended, 20 U.S.C.
1412(6)). Section 203 also required that States

set forth policies and procedures for developing and im-
plementing interagency agreements between the State
educational agency and other appropriate State and
local agencies to—(A) define the financial responsibility
of each agency for providing handicapped children and
youth with free appropriate public education, and (B)
resolve interagency disputes, including procedures
under which local educational agencies may initiate
proceedings under the agreement in order to secure
reimbursement from other agencies or otherwise
implement the provisions of the agreement.
203, 100 Stat. 1159 (codified as amended, 20 U.S.C.
1413(a)(13)). In particular, Congress contemplated that child
welfare funds and Medicaid would absorb part of the costs.
Section 203 specified that the statute “shall not be construed
to permit a State to reduce medical and other assistance

26

available or to alter eligibility under titles V [Maternal and
Child Health Services Block Grant] and XIX [Medicaid) of
the Social Security Act [42 U.S.C, 701 et seq., 1396 et seq.|
with respect to the provision of a free appropriate public
education.” § 203, 100 Stat. 1159 (codified at 20 U.S.C.
1413(e)).”

Section 203 was enacted in response to the General
Accounting Office’s (GAO) report in 1986 that some States
had suecessfully established interagency agreements that
recovered for school districts the costs of related services
required by IDEA from Medicaid” and private insurers."
See H.R. Rep. No. 860, 99th Cong., 2d Sess. 21 (1986).

12 Medicaid is a jointly funded federal-state program that provides
health insurance to people, inter alia, who receive Aid to Families with
Dependent Children or are disabled for purposes of the federal Supple-
mental Security Income program. See 42 U.S.C. 1396-1396v. Approxi-
mately 27% of all children with disabilities ages 1 to 17 receive Medicaid,
and a significant additional number are eligible but unserved. See Nat'l
Inst. on Disability and Rehabilitation Research, Disability Statistics Re-
ports: Medical Expenditures for People with Disabilities in the United
States, 1987 33, 34 (1996). Under Medicaid, each State is required to pro-
vide Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT)
services for children under 21, which include any services covered by the
federal Medicaid program, mandatory or optional, that are necessary to
treat conditions identified through screening. Such services could include
home health care, private duty nursing, or personal care services, see 42
U.S.C. 1396d(r) (incorporating services in 1396d(a)), all of which can
include school health services. See Skubel v. Fuoroli, 113 F.3d 330 (2d
Cir. 1997); Detsel v. Sullivan, 895 F.2d 58 (2d Cir. 1990). See generally
Health Care Financing Admin., U.S. Dep't of Health & Human Servs.,
Medicaid and School Health: A Technical Assistance Guide (Aug. 1997).

Respondent apparently is not currently income-eligible for Medicaid
because the monetary fund established as a settlement of liability for his
injury has not yet been exhausted. Tr. 598.

18 The GAO report noted that Connecticut had estimated that the
State’s school districts could recover approximately $5-6 million per year
from Medicaid alone. U.S. Gen. Accounting Office, Special Education:
Financing Health and Educational Services for Handicapped Children
12 (July 1986).

4 While the scope of coverage varies considerably, many employers
offer insurance plans that cover nursing and health aide services (although

27

In 1988, Congress took further action to facilitate the use
of Medicaid funds for payment of services included in a stu-
dent’s IEP under IDEA. Section 411(k)(13) of the Medicare
Catastrophic Coverage Act of 1988, Pub. L. No. 360, 102
Stat. 683, 798, specified that nothing in the Medicaid statute
should “be construed as prohibiting or restricting,” pay-
ments “for medical assistance for covered services furnished
to a child with a disability because such services are included
in the child’s” IEP under IDEA. 102 Stat. 798 (codified at
42 U.S.C. 1396b(c)). Contrary to petitioner’s contention (Pet.
Br. 17), Congress did not thereby indicate that the medical
assistance paid for by Medicaid would be for services not
covered by IDEA. The assumption underlying that legisla-
tion was that some services qualify both as related services
in IEPs and as services covered by Medicaid, and not that
those categories are mutually exclusive as petitioner sug-
gests. The legislative history explained:

Federal Medicaid matching funds are available for the
cost of health services, covered under a State’s Medicaid
plan, that are furnished to a handicapped chile *,
even though such services are included in the child’s in-
dividualized education program * * While the State
education agencies are financially responsible for educa-
tional services, in the case of Medicaid-eligible handi-
capped child, State Medicaid agencies remain responsi-
ble for the ‘related services’ indentified [sie] in the
child’s IEP if they are covered under the State’s
Medicaid plan.

H.R. Rep. No. 661, 100th Cong., 2d Sess. 268-269 (1988).

with co-payments and other limitations) for their employees’ dependents.
See 1 Task Force on Technology-Dependent Children, U.S. Dep't of
Health & Human Servs., Fostering Home and Community-Based Care
for Technology-Dependent Children, 136, 143-144 (Apr. 7, 1988). School
districts may recover costs from the child’s insurance, so long as there is
no “financial loss” to the child or his family. See 45 Fed. Reg. 86,390
(1980); Shook v. Gaston County Bd. of Educ., 882 F.2d 119 (4th Cir. 1989).

28

Despite those legislative amendments, by 1990 over half
the States were still not using interagency agreements. See
A. Katsiyannis, Provision of Related Services: State Prac-
tices and the Issue of Eligibility Criteria, 24 J. Spec. Educ.
246, 249 (1990). A more recent report, based on results of a
national survey of state special education finance systems,
noted that, as of 1994-1995, “all but one of 42 reporting states
used Medicaid as another source of special education reve-
nue,” and over a quarter of the states reported that they
used state mental health funds” or “private medical insur-
ance” as sources of special education revenue. See T. B.
Parrish et al., Center for Spec. Educ. Fin., State Special
Education Finance Systems, 1994-95, at 29 (June 1997).
Nonetheless, the report found that Iflunding sources like
Medicaid clearly have the potential to offset a greater share
of special education costs,” but are still being underutilized
or underreported. Id. at 32.

In 1997, Congress strengthened the coordination provi-
sions in IDEA to provide that the State shall ensure that an
interagency agreement or other mechanism for interagency
coordination is in effect” and that the agreements must be in
writing. 1997 Amendments, § 612(a)(12)(A) and (C), 111
Stat. 64-65, 66. Such agreements must provide that the
“financial responsibility of each public agency * * * , in-
cluding the State Medicaid agency and other public insurers
of children with disabilities, shall precede the financial re-
sponsibility of the local educational agency.” Id. at
§ 612(a)(12)(A)(i) and (B)ii), 111 Stat. 65, 66 (emphasis
added). That subsection was “to reinforce two important
principles: (1) that the State agency or [local educational
agency] responsible for developing a child’s IEP can look to
non-educational agencies, such as Medicaid, to pay for or
provide those services they (the non-educational agencies)
are otherwise responsible for; and (2) that the State agency
or [local educational agency] remains responsible for
ensuring that children receive all the services described in

29

their IEPs in a timely fashion, regardless of whether another
agency will ultimately pay for the services.” H.R. Rep. No.
95, 105th Cong., Ist Sess. 92 (1997); S. Rep. No. 17, 105th
Cong., Ist Sess. 12 (1997)."

In addition to Medicaid, other federal and state programs
are also available to pay for related services required by
children with disabilities to benefit from special education in
the regular classroom. For example, the Maternal and Child
Health Block Grant program, 42 U.S.C. 701 et se., provides
States with funds to provide direct services to children with
special heath care needs. See Office of Technology Assess-
ment, U.S. Congress, Technology-Dependent Children: Hos-
pital v. Home Care: A Technical Memorandum 70-71 (May
1987). The Balanced Budget Act of 1997 created the State
Children’s Héalth Insurance Program (CHIP), which will
provide $48 billion over the next ten years for States to pro-
vide health services to low-income children who do not have
health insurance and are not eligible for Medicaid. See Pub.
L. No. 105-33, Tit. IV, 111 Stat. 251, 552 (to be codified at 42
U.S.C. 1397 et seq.); see also Nat'l Inst. on Disability and Re-
habilitation Research, Disability Statistics Reports: Medical
Expenditures for People with Disabilities in the United
States, 1987, at 32, 34 (1996) (7% of children with disabilities
had no insurance and were not covered by Medicaid or any
other government program).

Moreover, the size of the financial burden that is placed on
petitioner and other local school districts depends in large

15 See also 143 Cong. Rec. S400 (daily ed. May 12, 1997) (statement of
Sen. Harkin) (“[I}n States that have voluntarily provided interagency
supports, cost savings to [local education agencies] have been significant.
For instance, the Chicago public schools receive[] $40 million in support
for medically related services for students with disabilities, which has
enabled the district to contain costs for related services and increased the
access of poor children with disabilities to comprehensive health care
services.”); id. at S4373 (daily ed. May 13, 1997) (statement of Sen.
Murray); id. at S4407 (daily ed. May 14, 1997) (statement of Sen.
Grassley).

30

part on their State’s choice of a special education financing
system. IDEA places the ultimate responsibility on state
educational agencies to ensure that IDEA’s requirements
are carried out, and IDEA does not dictate how States struc-
ture their funding of special education and related services.
Different States have adopted a variety of financing systems
that spread the costs in different ways. See Parrish, supra.
Of particular significance here, States are increasingly mak-
ing special provisions for exceptionally high-cost students in
their financing systems. Jd. at 52. For example, under
Vermont’s special education funding program, if a local
district spends in excess of three times the base amount per
pupil on a single student with a disability, the State provides
an “extraordinary services reimbursement” that reimburses
the district for 90% of the excess expenditures. Vermont
also provides “intensive services reimbursment,” based on a
district’s ability to pay, for expenditures not covered by
federal funds, the state and locally funded block grant, and
the extraordinary cost allocation. Id. at 90; see also D. L.
Montgomery, Am. Insts. for Research, State Analysis
Series, A Profile of Special Education Finance Reform in
Vermont (Mar. 1995). Thus, States have the flexibility to
alter their financing systems to control the size of the
financial burden placed on any particular local educational
agency by the provision of related services.

CONCLUSION
The judgment of the court of appeals should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted.

AUGUST 1998

31

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General

BILL LANN LEE
Acting Assistant Attorney
General
BARBARA D. UNDERWOOD
Deputy Solicitor General
BETH S. BRINKMANN
Assistant to the Solicitor
General
DAVID K. FLYNN
SETH M. GALANTER
Attorneys

APPENDIX

1. The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, as
codified in 1994 at 20 U.S.C. 1400 et geg., provided in relevant

part:
§ 1400. Congressional statements and declarations

(c) Purpose

It is the purpose of this chapter to assure that all children
with disabilities have available to them, within the time
periods specified in section 1412(2)(B) of this title, a free
appropriate public education which emphasizes special
er ication and related services designed to meet their unique
needs, to assure that the rights of children with disabilities
and their parents or s are protected, to assist States
and localities to provide for the education of all children with
disabilities, and to assess and assure the effectiveness of
efforts to educate children with disabilities.

(la)

§ 1401. Definitions

(a) As used in this chapter

(16) The term “special education” means specially
designed instruction, at no cost to parents or guardians, to
meet the unique needs of a child with a disability,
including—

(A) instruction conducted in the classroom, in the
home, in hospitals and institutions, and in other settings;
and

(B) instruction in physical education.

(17) The term “related services” means transportation,
and such developmental, corrective, and other supportive
services (including speech pathology and audiology,
psychological services, physical and occupational therapy,
recreation, including therapeutic recreation, social work
services, counseling services, including rehabilitation
counseling, and medical services, except that such medical
services shall be for diagnostic and evaluation purposes only)
as may be required to assist a child with a disability to
benefit from special education, and includes the early identi-
fication and assessment of disabling conditions in children.

(18) The term “free appropriate public education” means
special education and related services that—

(A) have been provided at public expense, under
public supervision and direction, and without charge,

(B) meet the standards of the State educational
agency,

3a

(C) include an appropriate preschool, elementary, or
secondary school education in the State involved, and

(D) are provided in conformity with the indivi-
dualized education program required under section
1414(a)(5) of this title.

* * * * *

(20) The term “individualized education program” means
a written statement for each child with a disability
developed in any meeting by a representative of the local
educational agency or an intermediate educational unit who
shall be qualified to provide, or supervise the provision of,
specially designed instruction to meet the unique needs of
children with disabilities, the teacher, the parents or
guardian of such child, and, whenever appropriate, such
child, which statement shall include—

(A) a statement of the prevent levels of educational
performance of such child,

(B) a statement of annual goals, including short-term
instructional objectives,

(C) a statement of the specific educational services
to be provided to such child, and the extent to which
such child will be able to participate in regular
educational programs,

(D) astatement of the needed transition services for
students beginning no later than age 16 and annually
thereafter (and, when determined appropriate for the
individual, beginning at age 14 or younger), including,
when appropriate, a statement of the interagency
reponsibilities [sic] or linkages (or both) before the
student leaves the school setting,

Aan

(E) the projected date for initiation and anticipated
duration of such services, and

(F) appropriate objective criteria and evaluation
procedures and schedules for determining, on at least an
annual basis, whether instructional objectives are being
achieved.

In the case where a participating agency, other than the
educational agency, fails to provide agreed upon services,
the educational agency shall reconvene the IEP team to
identify alternative strategies to meet the transition
objectives.

(b) Lessening of procedural or substantive protec-
tions as in effect on July 20, 1983, prohibited

The Secretary may not implement, or publish in final
form, any regulation prescribed pursuant to this chapter
which would procedurally or substantively lessen the
protections provided to children with disabilities under this
chapter, as embodied in regulations in effect on July 20, 1983
(particularly as such protections relate to parental consent to
initial evaluation or initial placement in special education,
least restrictive environment, related services, timelines
sie], attendance of evaluation personnel at individualized
education program meetings, or qualifications of personnel),
except to the extent that such regulation reflects the clear
and unequivocal intent of the Congress in legislation.

*

1412. Eligibility requirements

In order to qualify for assistance under this
subchapter in any fiscal year, a State shall demonstrate to
the Secretary that the following conditions are met:

(1) The State has in effect a policy that assures all
children with disabilities the right to a free appropriate
public education.

* * * * *

(5) The State has established (A) procedural safeguards
as required by section 1415 of this title, (B) procedures to
assure that, to the maximum extent appropriate, children
with disabilities, including children in public or private
institutions or other care facilities, are educated with
children who are not disabled, and that special classes,
separate schooling, or other removal of children with
disabilities from the regular educational environment occurs
only when the nature or severity of the disability is such that
education in regular classes with the use of supplementary
aids and services cannot be achieved satisfactorily,* * *.

(6) The State educational agency shall be responsible for
assuring that the requirements of this subchapter are
carried out and that all educational programs for children
with disabilities within the State, including all such
programs administered by any other State or local agency,
will be under the general supervision of the persons
responsible for educational programs for children with
disabilities in the State educational agency and shall meet

6a

education standards of the State educational agency. This
paragraph shall not be construed to limit the responsibility
of agencies other than educational agencies in a State from
providing or paying for some or all of the costs of a free
appropriate public education to be provided children with
disabilities in the State.

§ 1413. State plans

(a) Requisite features

Any State meeting the eligibility requirements set forth
in section 1412 of this title and desiring to participate in the
program under this subchapter shall submit to the
Secretary, through its State educational agency, a State plan
at such time, in such manner, and containing or accompanied
by such information, as the Secretary deems necessary.
Each such plan shall—

a. ~~ - = 8 Ue ’@

(13) set forth policies and procedures for developing and
implementing interagency agreements between the State
educational agency and other appropriate State and local
agencies to—

(A) define the financial responsibility of each agency
for providing children and youth with disabilities with
free appropriate public education, and

(B) resolve interagency disputes, including pro-
cedures under which local educational agencies may
initiate proceedings under the agreement in order to

Ta

secure reimbursement from other agencies or otherwise
implement the provisions of the agreement,

~ * * a *
(e) Prohibition on reduction of assistance
This chapter shall not be construed to permit a State to

reduce medical and other assistance available or to alter
eligibility under titles V and XIX of the Social Security Act

42 U.S.C. 701 et seq., 1396 et seq.] with respect to the

provision of a free appropriate public education for children
with disabilities within the State

§ 1417. Administration

(b) Rules and regulations

In carrying out the provisions of this subchapter, the
Secretary shall issue, not later than January 1, 1977, amend,
and revoke such rules and regulations as may be necessary.
No other less formal method of implementing such
provisions is authorized.

8a

2. 34 C. F. R. 300.16 provides in relevant part:
§ 300.16 Related services.

(a) As used in this part, the term “related services”
means transportation and such developmental, corrective,
and other supportive services as are required to assist a
child with a disability to benefit from special education, and
includes speech pathology and audiology, psychological
services, physical and occupational therapy, recreation,
including therapeutic recreation, early identification and
assessment of disabilities in children, counseling services,
including rehabilitation counseling, and medical services for
diagnostic or evaluation purposes. The term also includes
school health services, social work services in schools, and
parent counseling and training.

(b) The terms used in this definition are defined as
follows:

(4) “Medical services” means services provided by a
licensed physician to determine a child’s medically related
disability that results in the child’s need for special education
and related services.

(11) “School health services” means services provided
by a qualified school nurse or other qualified person.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0074%3A04. Public record. Not legal advice.
