# Amicus Curiae Brief — Ohio Adult Parole Authority v. Woodard

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0073%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 523 U.S. 272

## Text

aoe ee

; Supreme Court, U.S. |
Si
'

FILED
No. 96-1769
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OFFICE OF THE cir

OCTOBER TERM, 1996 Se

ic s
/

OHIO ADULT PAROLE AUTHORITY, et al.,
Petitioner,
v.
EUGENE WOODARD,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
STATES OF CALIFORNIA, ALABAMA, ARIZONA, ARKANSAS,
COLORADO, CONNECTICUT, DELAWARE, FLORIDA,
GEORGIA, HAWAII, IDAHO, ILLINOIS, KENTUCKY,
LOUISIANA, MAINE, MISSISSIPPI, MISSOURI, MONTANA,
NEBRASKA, NEW JERSEY, NORTH CAROLINA, NORTH
DAKOTA, PENNSYLVANIA, SOUTH CAROLINA, SOUTH
DAKOTA, TENNESSEE, TEXAS, WASHINGTON AND
WYOMING IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

DANIEL E. LUNGREN
Attorney General
GEORGE WILLIAMSON
Chief Assistant Attorney General
ROBERT R. ANDERSON
Senior Assistant Attorney General
WARD A. CAMPBELL
Deputy Attorney General
WILLIAM G. PRAHL *
Deputy Attorney General
Counsel of Record
1300 I St., Suite 125
P.O. Box 944255
Sacramento, CA 94244-2550
Telephone: (916) 324-5262
Fax: (916) 324-2960
* Counsel for Amici Curiae

[Additional Counsel Listed on Inside Page]

~

BILL PRYOR
Attorney General
State of Alabama

GRANT WOODS
Attorney General
State of Arizona

WINSTON BRYANT
Attorney General
State of Arkansas

GALE A. NORTON
Attorney General
State of Colorado

JOHN M. BAILEY
Attorney General
State of Connecticut

M. JANE BRADY
Attorney General
State of Delaware

ROBERT A. BUTTERWORTH
Attorney General
State of Florida

THURBERT E. BAKER
Attorney General
State of Georgia

MARGARET S. BRONSTER
Attorney General
State of Hawaii

ALAN G. LANCE
Attorney General
State of Idaho

JAMES E. RYAN
Attorney General
State of Illinois

ALBERT B. CHANDLER, Il!

Attorney General

Commonwealth of
Kentucky

RICHARD P. IEYOUB
Attorney General
State of Louisiana

ANDREW KETTERER
Attorney General
State of Maine

MIKE MOORE
Attorney General
State of Mississippi

JEREMIAH W. (JAY) NIXON
Attorney General
State of Missouri

JOSEPH P. MAZUREK
Attorney General
State of Montana

DON STENBERG
Attorney General
State of Nebraska

PETER VERNIERO
Attorney General
State of New Jersey

MICHAEL F. BEASLEY
Attorney General
State of North Carolina

HEIDI HEITKAMP
Attorney General
State of North Dakota

D. MICHAEL FISHER

Attorney General

Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania

CHARLES M. CONDON
Attorney General
South Carolina

MARK BARNETT
Attorney General
State of South Dakota

CHARLES W. BURSON
Attorney General
State of Tennessee

DAN MORALES
Attorney General
State of Texas

CHRISTINE O. GREGOIRE

Attorney General
State of Washington

WILLIAM U. HILL
Attorney General
State of Wyoming

(CAPITAL CASE)
QUESTION PRESENTED

1. Whether state clemency procedures may be
reviewed under the due process limitations on a state’s
overall scheme of adjudication of crimes and punishment
established by Evitts v. Lucey, 469 U.S. 387 (1985), or
whether Connecticut Board of Pardons v. Dumschat, 452
U.S. 458 (1981) contains the sole due process limitations
on those procedures.

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE STATES
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
ARGUMENT

A. Woodard’s Application Of The

Due Process Clause To

Clemency Is Constitutionally

Inappropriate Since it Offends

The Constitutional Plan for

Federal-State Relations and the

Historic Separation Of Powers

Between The Judicia] And

Executive Branches Of

Government 5

Woodard’s Recognition And Use

Of A New, So-Called "Second

Strand" Due Process Analysis Is
Constitutionally Inappropriate 1]

CONCLUSION 15

Cases

Andrews v. Gardiner,
121 N.E. 341 (N.Y.App. 1919)

Amold v. Board of Pardons & Paroles,
805 P.2d 388 (Ariz. App. 1990)

Banks v. Arizona State Board of Pardons,
629 P.2d 1035 (Ariz. App. 1981)

Bean v. Nevada,
410 F.Supp. 963 (D.Nev. 1974)

Bean v. Nevada,
535 F.2d 542 (9th Cir. 1976)

Biddle v. Percovich,
274 U.S. 480 (1927)

Binion v. United States Department of Justice,

695 F.2d 1189 (9th Cir.1983)

Blystone v. Pennsylvania,
494 US. 299 (1990)

Bundy v. Dugger,
850 F.2d 1402 (11th Cir. 1988)

Bundy v. State,
497 S.2d 1209 (Fla. 1986)

7, 10

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES, CONT’D

Burdick v. United States,

236 U.S. 79 (1915) 8
Clemons v. Mississippi,

494 U.S. 738 (1990) 9
Coleman v. Thompson,

501 U.S. 722 (1991) 9, 10, 14
Collins v. State,

550 S.W.2D 643 (Tenn. 1977) 7,8
Colvin v. Bowen,

399 N.E.2d 835 (Ind.App. 1980) 7
Connecticut Board of Pardons v. Dumschat,

452 US. 458 (1981) 2-4, 6, 9, 11-14
Eacret v. Holmes,

333 P.2d 741 (Ore. 1958) 7
Evitts v. Lucey,

469 U.S. 387 (1985) 2, 5, 8, 9, 11-14
Ex parte Garland,

4 Wall. (71 U.S.) 333 (1866) 6
Ex parte Wells,

59 U.S. 307 (1855) 8
Green v. Teets,

244 F.2d 401 (9th Cir. 1957) 7

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES, CONTD

Greenholtz v. Nebraska Penal Inmates,

442 US. 1 (1979) 9, 10, 12-14
Gregg v. Georgia,

428 U.S. 153 (1976) 10
Griffin v. Illinois,

351 U.S. 12 (1955) 13
Hatch v. State of Oklahoma,

92 F.3d 1072 (10th Cir. 1996) 7
Hennessey v. Pennsylvania Board of Pardons,

655 A.2d 218 (Pa. 1995) 7
Herrera v. Collins,

506 U.S. 390 (1993) 1, 5, 8-10
Holder v. State,

488 P.2d 600 (Okla. App. 1971) 7
LN.S. v. Yang,

__ US. __ (1995) 6
Jenkins v. Knight,

293 P.2d 6 (Cal. 1956) 7
Mallory v. State,

435 P.2d 254 (Id. 1967) 7
Medina v. California,

505 U.S. 437 (1992) 3, 5, 10, 11, 14

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES, CONT'D

Milone v. Camp,
22 F.3d 693 (7th Cir. 1994)

Misenheimer v. State,
374 N.E.2d 523 (Ind. 1978)

Monssey v. Brewer,
408 U.S. 471 (1972)

Murphy v. Ford,
390 F.Supp. 1372 (W.D.Mich. 1975)

Olim v. Wakinekona,
461 U.S. 238 (1983).

Otey v. State,
485 N.W.2d 153 (Neb. 1992)

Peck v. Battey,
721 F.2d 1157 (8th Cir. 1983)

Penn v. State,
670 S.W.2d 426 (Ark. 1984)

People ex rel. Dunbar v. District Court,
§02 P.2d 420 (Colo. 1972)

People ex rel. Symonds v. Gualano,
260 N.E.2d 284 (Ill.App. 1970)

People v. Bradney,
652 N.E.2d 428 (Ill.App. 1995)

9, 12, 13

13

~ —

Vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES, CONT’D

People v. Herrera,

516 P.2d 626 (1973) 7

People v. Warren,

224 Cal.Rptr. 746 (Cal.App.1986) 7

Puerto Rico v. Branstad,

483 U.S. 219 (1987) 9

RRE. v. Glenn, :

884 S.W.2d 189 (Tex.App. 1994) 7

Rosenberg v. United States,

346 U.S. 322 (1953) 8

Ross v. Moffitt,

417 U.S. 600 (1974) 9, 10, 14

Sandin v. Connor,

_ US __ (1995). 3, 10, 12

Schick v. Reed,

419 U.S. 256 (1974) 6, 8

Ex Parte United States,

242 U.S. 27 (1916) 6

Solem v. Helm,

463 U.S. 277 (1983) 7

Solesbee v. Balckom,
339 US. 9 (1950) 7

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES, CONTD
Spinkellink v. Wainwright,
578 F.2d 582 (Sth Cir. 1978)

State ex rel. Maurer v. Sheward,
644 N.E.2d 369 (Ohio 1994)

State v. Adams,
115 S.E.2d 158 (W.V. App. 1960)

State v. Hunter,
477 A.2d 797 (Me. 1982)

State v. Robinson,
356 A.2d 449 (N.J. 1976)

Sullivan v. Askew,
348 S.2d 312 (Fla. 1977)

United States ex rel. Kaloudis v. Shaughnessy,
180 F.2d 489 (2nd Cir. 1950)

United States v. Klein,
13 Wall. (80 U.S.) 128 (1871)

United States v. Patti,
291 F.2d 745 (3rd Cir. 1961)

United States v. Wilson,
7 Pet. (32 U.S.) 150 (1833)

Wainwright v. Brownlee,
103 F.3d 708 (8th Cir. 1997)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES, CONT’D

Whitaker v. State,
451 S.W.2d 11 (Mo. 1970)

Whittington v. Stevens,
73 S.2d 137 (Miss. 1954)

Williams v. State,
898 S.W.2d 38 (Ark. 1995)

Constitutional Provisions

United States Constitution
Fifth Amendment
Eighth Amendment

Other Authorities

Brown, The Quality of Mercy,
40 U.C.L.A. Law. Rev. 327 (1992)

The Federalist No. 74,
pp. 500-501
(J. Cooke ed. 1961)

wn

11

~

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE STATES

Amici curiae are the legal representatives of their states’
executives and of the People in their states’ postconviction
Titigation. The states have a weighty interest in the finality and
enforcement of their state criminal judgments. This interest
embraces concerns about the proliferation of postconviction claims
and levels of federal judicial review.

Amici have a significant interest in this particular case
since the Woodard court's opinion initiates an intrusive new level
of federal judicial review into an area that has historically and
exclusively been the domain of the state executive, clemency.
Furthermore, the opinion applies a heretofore unknown due
process analysis to a state’s post conviction procedures.

Every state has vested virtually unfettered clemency
powers in their executive branches. See, e.g. Herrera v. Collins, 506
U.S. 390, 414 fn. 14 (1993). The historic role of clemency as a
non-judicial executive function for extending mercy to deserving
claimants is threatened by the imposition of inadvisable and
unspecified proceduralism with inevitable judicial review. Amici
are concerned that the Woodard opinion will have a burdensome
nationwide impact on the states’ ability to enforce their criminal
judgments, especially those in capital cases, and on the historic
power of executives to exercise discretion in favor of mercy.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The petition for certiorari should be granted since the
Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals in Woodard, in an unprecedented
action, applied the Due Process Clause to the purely executive
function of clemency. Since all states provide for executive
clemency, Woodard has a potential national impact.”

Historically and constitutionally, clemency has been the
exclusive province of the almost completely unfettered discretion
of the executive and has been immune from judicial review under
traditional applications of the Due Process Clause. Connecticut
Board of Pardons v. Dumschat, 452 U.S. 460 (1981). Woodard
miscategorizes clemency as an integral part of the states’ criminal
adjudicative system and then goes on to misread Evitts v. Lucey,
469 U.S. 387 (1985) to create a second level of due process
analysis. The Woodard opinion applies this new so-called "second
strand" due process analysis to hold that clemency claimants are
entitled to unidentified yet “barely perceptible" due process
protections. This holding is not supported by either history or
precedent and is barred by the doctrine of separation of powers
between the executive and the judicial branches of government.
It is certainly foreclosed by this Court’s opinion in Dumschat.

Woodard’s most fundamental error is to mischaracterize
executive clemency as an integral part of the states’ adjudication
process for determining guilt or innocence under the states’
criminal laws. Historically, clemency is the antithesis of the states’
criminal adjudicatory process and instead is a non-judicial executive
function that is based on extra-judicial concerns such as mercy and
leniency. The decision is based on any information deemed
pertinent to the decisionmaker without the constraints of
procedure or precedent. Among the states, there is little or no

1. Petitioner is also presenting a second question to the Court
relating to the application of the Fifth Amendment to clemency
procedures. Although this brief concentrates only on the first
question presented, amici curiae believe this Court should grant the
petition as to both questions.

- executive branch.

uniformity in the constitutional or statutory methods conferred on
the executives in each state to dispense clemency. The one
constant is the investment of virtually unfettered discretion in the
The injection of due process procedural
requirements used by the judicial branch into this non-judicial
process is contrary to the entire history and purpose of clemency
and violates the separation of powers between these co-equal
branches of government.

The Woodard opinion also introduces unprecedented
levels of judicial review into a purely executive process which will
further frustrate the states’ interest in enforcing its judgments and
interfere with the executives’ clemency discretion. Ironically, just as
this Court and the Congress have acted to revise and consolidate
post-conviction review, Woodard further reopens issues already
settled by this Court about state post-appellate review. Woodard
improperly invites unprecedented and unnecessary federal judicial
review of the states’ judicial review systems as well as the
executives’ discretionary exercise of clemency. Compare Sandin v.
Connor, _US__, 115 S.Ct. 2293 (1995).

ARGUMENT

"[T]he expansion of . . . constitutional guarantees under
the open-ended rubric of the Due Process Clause invites undue
interference with both considered legislative judgments and the
careful balance that the Constitution strikes between liberty and
order." Medina v. California, 505 U.S. 437, 443 (1993). In
Connecticut Board of Pardons v. Dumschat, 452 U.S. at 464, this
Court held that inmates have no constitutional or inherent right to
clemency. In Blystone v. Pennsylvania, 494 U.S. 299, 309 (1990)
this Court held that states which have otherwise complied with the
Constitution’s Eighth Amendment requirements, “enjoy their
traditional latitude to prescribe the method by which those who
commit murder shall be punished.”

The States have organized their criminal justice systems
in reliance on these holdings and the practices they represent.

Now, the Sixth Circuit’s Woodard opinion potentially upsets the
states’ expectations based on these prior cases. For the first time,
a federal court has held that state clemency claimants are entitled
to unspecified “barely perceptible" due process protections
traditionally only applied to review the state criminal adjudication
process. Petn. at A-14. This holding is not supported by either
history or case law. Unless review is granted, the opinion will
surely add a new layer of delay and litigation in state and federal
postconvictions cases, both capital and non-capital.

_ Woodard acknowledges that this Court in Dumschat held
that clemency claimants do not have a liberty interest in the
clemency proceedings themselves. However, Woodard then
purports to discover a heretofore unknown "second strand" due
process protection based on the majority’s "belief" that clemency
is an integral part of the states’ criminal prosecution system for the
adjudication of guilt or innocence. Petn. at A-1]1. Just as
troubling, the Woodard opinion fails to even identify or describe
these "barely perceptible" protections. The implication of the
opinion is that clemency claimants may suddenly have unspecified,
constitutionally guaranteed due process interests in the timing,
notice, opportunity to be heard, discovery of information, and
reasons for a clemency decision. Petn. at A-16.

Both of the premises of Woodard are wrong. Historically
and constitutionally, clemency is not an integral part of the
adjudication process and clemency claimants are not entitled to
any due process procedural protections. Just as significantly, there
is no “second strand" of due process protection within the
Constitution. Both of these constitutional misconceptions in
Woodard should be reviewed to preclude protracted and
unnecessarily complex and costly litigation.

Woodard held that “barely perceptible" due process
protections applied to Ohio’s clemency process because the
majority believed that clemency is an integral party of that state’s
adjudicative process for determining guilt and innocence. The
Woodard majority analogized to this Court’s holding in Evitts v.
Lucey, 469 U.S. at 387 that defendants who appeal their criminal
convictions were entitled to effective assistance of counsel since
first appeals are an integral part of the states’ adjudicative process.

However, Woodard’s characterization of clemency as an
integral part of Ohio’s criminal justice system is fundamentally
wrong. If the Woodard court had applied the appropriate due
process analysis mandated by this Court in Medina v. California, at
437 and actually applied to clemency in Herrera v. Collins, 506 U.S.
at 407-415 the majority would have concluded that clemency
decisions in the states do not constitute adjudications and that
determinations of guilt or innocence are not their primary
objective.

In Medina, this Court reaffirmed that the states have the
power to regulate their criminal justice systems. A state’s decision
does not violate the Due Process Clause unless it "offends some
principle of justice so rooted in the traditions and conscience of
our people as to be ranked as fundamental." Medina v. California,
at 445. Conspicuous by its absence in Woodard is the historical
analysis of clemency necessary under Medina. This analysis
confirms that clemency is not a judicial or even quasi judicial
function and instead is the exclusive responsibility of a separate
and independent branch of government.

The clemency power in England traces back to the eighth
century. Herrera v. Collins, at 412. Chief Justice Marshall relied
on the historic clemency power in England when he explained in

United States v. Wilson, 7 Pet. (32 U.S.) 150, 160-161 (1833), that
“from time immemorial" the executive power of pardon has been
a private, but official act of the executive. Clemency is not
intended to be “communicated officially to the court” and is to be
distinguished from a judicial act. The pardon power exists as an
unlimited power of the executive which is to be exercised totally
independent of any judicial proceeding. Ex parte Garland, 4 Wall.
(71 U.S.) 333, 380 (1866). This Court reiterated in Dumschat that
state clemency “decisions have not traditionally been the business
of courts . . . ." Connecticut Board of Pardons v. Dumschat, 452
US. at 464.

The pardon power as defined in the United States
Constitution is designed to be an executive "prerogative" that was
not to be “fettered or embarrassed." Schick v. Reed, 419 U.S. 256,
263 (1974). “To the executive alone is intrusted the power of
pardon; and it is granted without limit." United States v. Klein, 13
Wall. (80 U.S.) 128, 147 (1871). As Judge Learned Hand
explained, "It [the President’s power to pardon] is a matter of
grace, over which courts have no review. . . . It is by no means true
that ‘due process of law’ inevitably involves an eventual resort to
courts, no matter what may be the interest at stake; not every
government action is subject to review by judges." United States ex
rel. Kaloudis v. Shaughnessy, 180 F.2d 489, 491 (2nd Cir. 1950)
cited with approval in .N.S. v. Yang, _- ~U.S. ___, 117 S.Ct. 350,
353 (1996); see also Ex Parte United States, 242 U.S. 27, 42 (1916).

Justice Cardozo explained the clemency power in Andrews

v. Gardiner, 121 N.E. 341, 343 (N.Y.App. 1919) as follows:

Such an application [for clemency] is not a
proceeding in court, nor one before an officer having
“attributes similar" to a court’s. [Citation omitted.] It is
a petition for mere grace and mercy . . . It grows out of
the action of the courts, but it seeks to reverse their
action by an appeal to motives and arguments which are
not those of jurisprudence. There are no clearly defined
issues. There is often a most informal hearing.
Sometimes there is argument of counsel.... At such a
time anything is pertinent that may move the mind to

ee ee ee

doubt or the heart to charity. It is not necessary that
ong convinced; it is enough that compassion be
stirr

2. Until Woodard, both federal and state courts have had the
restraint repeatedly to hold that clemency decisions are not judicial
functions and that the executive has unlimited discretion. It is
exclusively executive and not reviewable by the judiciary, even under
the Due Process Clause. Solem v. Helm, 463 U.S. 277, 301 (1983);
Solesbee v. Balckom, 339 U.S. 9, 12 (1950); United States v. Patti, 291
F.2d 745, 746 (3rd Cir. 1961); Spinkellink v. Wainwright, 578 F.2d 582,
—— (Sth Cir. 1978); Wainwright v. Brownlee, 103 F.3d 708, 709 (8th
Cir. 1997); Peck v. Battey, 721 F.2d 1157, 1159 (8th Cir. 1983); Binion
v. United States Department of Justice, 695 F.2d 1189, 1190 (9th Cir.
1983); Green v. Teets, 244 F.2d 401, 403 (9th Cir. 1957); Hatch v.
State of Oklahoma, 92 F.34 1072, 1076 (10th Cir. 1996); Bundy v.
Dugger, 850 F.2d 1402, 1423-1424 (11th Cir. 1988); Eacret v. Holmes,
333 P.2d 741, 744 (Ore. 1958) and cases cited therein; Banks v.
Arzona State Board of Pardons, 629 P.24 1035, 1037-1038 (Ariz. App.
1981); Arnold v. Board of Pardons & Paroles, 805 P.2d 388, 391 (Ariz.
App. 1990); Williams v. State, 898 S.W.2d 38, 39 (Ark. 1995); Penn v.
State, 670 S.W.2d 426, 430 (Ark. 1984); People v. Warren, 224
Cal.Rptr. 746, 755 (Cal. App. 1986); Jenkins v. Knight, 293 P.2d 6 (Cal.
1956); People v. Herrera, 516 P.26 626, 629 (1973) and cases cited
therein (Colo. 1973); People ex rel. Dunbar v. District Court, 502 P.2d
420, 422 (Colo. 1972); Sullivan v. Askew, 348 $.2d 312, 319 (Fla.
1977); Bundy v. State, 497 $.2d 1209, 1211 (Fla. 1986); People v.
Bradney, 652 N.E.2d 428, 431 (Ill.App. 1995); People ex rel. Symonds
v. Gualano, 260 N.E.2d 284, 290 (Ill_App. 1970); Misenheimer v. State,
374 N.E.2d4 523, 532 (Ind. 1978); Colvin v. Bowen, 399 N.E.2d 835,
838-840 (Ind. App. 1980); Whitington v. Stevens, 73 S.2d 137, 139-140
(Miss. 1954); State v. Hunter, 477 A2d 797, 802-803 (Me. 1982);
Whitaker v. State, 451 S.W.2d 11, 15 (Mo. 1970); Otey v. State, 485
N.W.2d 153, 163-165 (Neb. 1992); State v. Robinson, 356 A2d 449,
455 (N.J. 1976), Holder v. State, 488 P.2d 600, 602 (Okla. App. 1971);
Hennessey v. Pennsylvania Board of Pardons, 655 A.2d 218, 220 & fn.2
(Pa. 1995); State ex rel. Maurer v. Sheward, 644 N.E.2d 369, 373 (Ohio
1994); Collins v. State, 550 S.W.2D 643, 650 (Tenn. 1977); RRE. v.
Glenn, 884 S.W.2d 189, 192 (Tex.App. 1994); State v. Adams, 115
S.E.2d 158, 163 (W.V. App. 1960); see also Mallory v. Suate, 435 P.2d
254, 255 (Id. 1967); Milone v. Camp, 22 F.3d 693, 705 (7th Cir. 1994)

While this Court’s recent opinion in Herrera v. Collins,
highlighted the opportunity for clemency in cases involving actual
innocence, such determinations were not the primary historic
function of clemency. Rather, the act of "pardon" was one of
"forgiveness, release, remission." Ex parte Wells, 59 US. 307, 309
(1855). The pardoning power was intended to be an exception to
the criminal code for cases of “unfortunate guilt" requiring
"mitigation of the rigor of the law." Schick v. Reed, at 263 fn. 6
quoting The Federalist No. 74, pp. 500-501 (J. Cooke ed. 1961).
Clemency is a decision based largely on the public interest and is
not a mechanism for reviewing the defendant’s guilt or innocence.
See Biddle v. Percovich, 274 U.S. 480, 486 (1927). Indeed, grants
of clemency often have carried and still do carry consequences of
great disgrace, rather than exoneration. Burdick v. United States,
236 U.S. 79, 90-91 (1915) ("[T]he grace of pardon, though good in
its intention, may be only in pretense or seeming. . . .") (Holmes,
J.); Murphy v. Ford, 390 F.Supp. 1372, 1375 (W.D.Mich. 1975)
(dismissing challenge to pardon of former President Nixon) (a
pardon "does not wash out the moral stain . . . it involves
forgiveness and not forgetfulness.”)

Thus, on its own terms, Woodard is wrong. If the Sixth
Circuit has truly spliced off a heretofore unseen "second strand” of
due process, that mutant strand runs out long before the post
conviction process reaches the executive clemency proceedings.
Clemency is not part of the states’ criminal justice systems for
adjudicating guilt or innocence. The Woodard majority’s principal
authority, Evitts itself, characterized the first appeal as the “final
step in the adjudication of guilt or innocence of the individual. . .
" Evitts v. Lucey, 469 U.S. at 404 [emphasis added]. This Court
has refused to extend a due process analysis to the succeeding

(no constitutional right to a clemency hearing), Bean v. Nevada, 410
F.Supp. 963 (D.Nev. 1974) aff'd Bean v. Nevada, 535 F.2d 542, 543
(Mh Cir. 1976); Rosenberg v. United States, 346 U.S. 322 (1953)
(Frankfurter, J. conc.) (“It is not for this Court even remotely to enter
into the domain of clemency reserved by the Constitution exclusively
to the President.")

~ a a

:

nee wes

stages of judicial post conviction review which normally occur well
before the exercise of the executive clemency power. Coleman v.
om 501 U.S. 722, 752 (1991); Ross v. Moffitt, 417 U.S. 600
. For example, this Court has characterized parole as an
integral part of the penological system and specifically found it not
to be a part of the criminal prosecution process. Morrissey v.
Brewer, 408 US. 471, 480 (1972). This Court’s subsequent
analogizing of parole to clemency in Dumschat indicates that the
clemency process is not part of the criminal prosecution system
that contained the appellate system at issue in Evitts. Connecticut
Board of Pardons v. Dumschat, 452 U.S. at 464. This Court also
went on in Dumschat to explain that clemency is also to be
distinguished from parole decisions since clemency decisions are
historically standardless.

! As the Woodard dissent further points out, the Dumschat
dissent raised the same arguments that were adopted by the
Woodard majority. Petn. at A-35. Therefore, this Court already
implicitly Tejected those arguments in Dumschat. Clemons v.
Mississippi, 494 U.S. 738, 747-748 fn. 3 (1990). Although Justice
Brennan authored Evitts, he actually concurred in the majority
opinion in Dumschat because the clemency decision was based on
the historically unfettered discretion of the executive.

This Court has also recognized the inevitable problems
and conflicts that occur when federal courts engage in reviewing
“essentially discretionary elements of state governance. ..." Cf,
Puerto Rico v. Branstad, 483 U.S. 219, 228 (1987). "Decisions of
the Executive Branch, however serious their impact, do not
automatically invoke due process protections. . . .". Greenholtz v.
Nebraska Penal Inmates, 442 U.S. 1, 7 (1979). Intervention in this
area raises "sensitive" and "troubling" issues relating to federal-state
relations. Herrera v. Collins, 506 U.S. at 421 (C’Connor, J. conc. ).
Woodard’s cryptic recognition of some sort of "barely perceptible"
due process requirements for dispensing clemency smacks of the
same kind of case-by-case approach to penal regulations this Court
recently rejected in Sandin v. Conner, supra, at 2299-2300 and
against which this Court has also drawn the line in post-conviction

10

procedures. Coleman v. Thompson, at 752; Ross v. Moffit, at 611-
612. In light of Woodard, however, the pressure of new litigation
to discover, explore, and enlarge these allegedly minimal,
microscopic rights will be irresistible. Petn. at A-37. ("But once

oe ee ae nar

the camel’s nose is under the tent . . . it may prove difficult to —

keep the rest of the animal out.")

Recognition of a heretofore unknown cause of action
under section 1983 to judicially review an exercise of clemency will
open the doors of the executive branch to the specter of intrusive
federal civil discovery into what has always been considered
confidential information. Binion v. United States Department of
Justice, 695 F.2d at 1191. If such a possibility becomes reality in
this case, it will be a further unwarranted byproduct of this
invasion into what historically has been a purely executive function.

Based on history and precedent, the States have chosen

a variety of ways to administer the executive clemency power. —

Herrera v. Collins, at 414. Surely, it cannot be said that the

unfettered discretion of executive clemency violates the traditions ©

and conscience of our People. Medina v. California, at 445.
"Our system of federalism encourages . . .

state

experimentation.” Greenholiz v. Nebraska Penal Inmates, at 13. —
The imposition of burdensome or unwarranted procedures, —
coupled with federal court review, may lead to a curtailing of the ©
clemency power altogether. Jbid. The development of increased ©

proceduralism in both capital and non-capital cases actually | Evitts v. Lucey, 469 U.S. at 401

increases the need for an equally unfettered clemency process.

This Court endorsed the history of clemency under the Due ~
Process Clause in Herrera. In doing so, this Court implicitly noted —

that the executive may consider evidence and arguments outside
the purview of the judicial process. Herrera v. Collins, 506 U.S. at
417-419. As the plurality noted in Gregg v. Georgia, any
prohibitions on discretion in the clemency process in capital cases
would be totally alien to our notions of criminal justice and would
be unconstitutional. Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 199-200, fn. 50
(1976).

Amici submit that the "clemency process is-and should be-
distinct from the judicial process. Mercy cannot be quantified or

ee ee a ee ow

1]

instituti It is properly left to the conscience of the
executive to consider pleas and should not be bound by
court meant to do justice ... a frank, engaged
painstaking process of authentic decision-making seems infinitely
preferable to the dubious protections of proceduralism." Brown,
The Quality of Mercy, 40 U.C.L.A. Law. Rev. 327, 328 (1992).

ane

Inappropriate

Just as significantly, the "second strand" due process
analysis Woodard applies to clemency is mere gossamer. The
Woodard majority ignores the Medina analysis because it
misapprehends Evitts. Petn. at A-12. In Evitts, this Court held that
indigent criminal defendants who appeal their convictions are
entitled to the effective assistance of counsel for their first appeal
when the state has permitted such an appeal as a matter of right.
Evitts categorized the first appeal as an integral part of the state’s
adjudicative process for determining guilt and innocence. This
Court acknowledged that the states were not required to provide
an appeal in all criminal cases, but explained that when the state
chooses to act in an area where its action has “significant
discretionary elements,” it must act in accord with due process.

However, Evitts did not purport to create or to recognize
any new "second strand” due process analysis. Ironically, Evitts
itself is no more than an application of rule previously articulated
by this Court in Dumschat: "A state-created right can, in some
circumstances, beget yet other rights to procedures essential to the
realization of the parent right." Connecticut Board of Pardons v.
Dumschat, 452 U.S. at 463. Consistent with Dumschat, Evitts
focussed on the “nature” of the right rather than its relative
“weight.”

The state-created right in Evitts was a first appeal as a
matter of right for criminal defendants. Evitts held that this state-
created right “beget” a right to effective assistance of counsel on

|

12

appeal. This augmenting right was necessary because the State
had acted to establish an appellate review process involving
complex, intricate rules and procedures leading to a final judicial
determination of guilt or innocence. Evitts, 469 U.S. at 394-395 fn.
6, 396, 402. This Court equated the denial of the effective
assistance of counsel with the actual withdrawal of the right to
appeal. Jd., at 400.

Evitts analogized its holding to Morrissey v. Brewer, supra.
Evitts v. Lucey, 469 U.S. at 401. As previously noted, Morrissey is
the lead case in a line of decisions including Dumschat and, most
recently, Sandin v. Connor. Morrissey held that the state’s creation
of a parole system "beget" certain due process protections for
parole revocation. Similar to the appellate right at issue in Evitts,
parole revocation dealt with mixed issues of fact and law.
Significantly, however, Morrissey also held that parole revocation is
not part of the system for adjudicating guilt or innocence.
Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. at 480. Moreover, in Morrissey, the
Court distinguished between parole and the "ad hoc exercise of
clemency. ..." Jd. at 477.

Monrssey led to this Court’s decision in Greenholiz v.
Nebraska Penal Inmates, supra. In Greenholtz, this Court
recognized that the States had no duty to offer parole and that the
mere availability of parole did not "beget" any due process
protections. However, the mandatory nature of Nebraska’s unique
state parole release statute which limited the state’s discretion in
denying parole did entitle inmates to "some measure of
constitutional protection." 442 U.S. at 12.

In Dumschat, this Court specifically rejected the argument
that a state’s practice in the wholly and expressly discretionary area
of clemency created a constitutional entitlement. Connecticut
Board of Pardons v. Dumschat, 452 U.S. at 465. Moreover, absent
any state law defining the obligations of the clemency authority,

"the mere existence of a power to commute . . . create(s] no right
or ‘entitlement’." Jd. at 467. "[T]he decisionmaker can deny the
requested relief for any constitutionally permissible reason or for
no reason at all." Jbid. (Brennan, J. conc.). Furthermore, as long
as the ultimate decision was at the discretion of the decisionmaker,

|
)
|
|

13

state-created procedures for arriving at that decision do not create

a liberty interest. Compare Olim v. Wakinekona, 461 U.S. 238, 248-

- 251 (1983).

Thus, contrary to Woodard, Evitts is actually part of the
same circle of cases that includes Dumschat, Morrissey, and

_ Greenholez. Evitts does no more than apply a rule that was earlier
_ articulated in Dumschat.” Except for Dumschat, all of these cases

"beget" degrees of due process protection to the possible

_ termination or withdrawal or denial of state-created rights pursuant

to various rules or standards. Dumschat did not apply due process
protections to the executive clemency power because if clemency

_ is to be effective it cannot be based on any particular rules,

RE eos

standards, procedures, grounds, criteria, or reasons. As Dumschat
recognized, any other result would have been paradoxical.
Connecticut Board of Pardons v. Dumschat, 452 U.S. at 466.
Woodard ignores this paradox.

In Evitts, it was the right to a judicial appeal as part of
State’s adjudicative process for determining guilt or innocence

which was found to have due process implications. However, Evitts
_ did not purport to establish a separate due process analysis based
_ on the "integral" role of the procedure in the state’s process. If this

~ —-—-

Court had based its holding on that premise, then Evitts would
have been inconsistent with this Court’s jurisprudence which holds
that due process protections are determined by the "nature" of the
right at issue, not its "weight." Greenholtz v. Nebraska Penal
Inmates, 442 US. at 7. It was for this reason that this Court held
in Dumschat that clemency does not "beget" due process
protections because there is no right at issue — only an
expectation or unilateral hope. Woodard makes the mistake of
focussing on what it perceives to be the "weight" of the "right" at
issue, rather than its "nature." Woodard ignored the real common
meaning of both Dumschat and Evitts.

3. Evitts’s description of the "integral role" of appeals also does
no more than repeat language first used by this Court in Griffin v.
Illinois, 351 U.S. 12, 18 (1955).

14

The Woodard opinion’s recognition and use of a
heretofore unknown "second strand" of due process is rife for
mischief. Until Woodard, the integral role of a particular
procedure in a state’s criminal adjudication system was not
determinative of due process protections. This Court’s other
decisions which held that traditional procedural due process
protections did not apply to discretionary appeals and state
collateral review were consistent with that approach. See, e.g.
Coleman v. Thompson, supra; Ross v. Moffitt, supra. Woodard’s
discovery of a "barely perceptible" microscopic "second strand" due
process right ignores the line and logic of these other cases. Just
as ominously, in the same way that Woodard has now reopened the
clemency issue decided in Dumschat, it reopens the issues in those
other cases as well.

Amici submit that Woodard’s splicing of a "second strand"
of due process amounts to nothing more than result-oriented
hairsplitting. It is inconsistent with this Court’s due process cases
as exemplified by Dumschat, Medina and Evitts. This Court should
grant the petition for writ of certiorari to stabilize the due process
jurisprudence potentially disrupted by Woodard.

The decision to grant or deny clemency and the means
used by the executive branch to make this decision are not
compatible with judicial review. In fact, judicial review of this
ancient executive prerogative would itself involve an
unconstitutional violation of the separation of powers doctrine.

— = Se a al ll

15

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, as well as those set forth in the
petition for writ of certiorari, amici curiae request that the petition
be granted.

Dated: June 4, 1997.

Respectfully submitted,

DANIEL E. LUNGREN
Attorney General

GEORGE WILLIAMSON

Chief Assistant Attorney General
ROBERT R. ANDERSON
Senior Assistant Attorney General
WARD A. CAMPBELL

Deputy Attorney General

WILLIAM G. PRAHL
Deputy Attorney General
Counsel of Record

Counsel for Amici Curiae

WAC:msd

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0073%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
