# Amicus Curiae Brief — Kalina v. Fletcher

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0035%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 522 U.S. 118

## Text

Supreme Court, U

FILED
(1 APR 23 1997
No. 96-792 CLERK
S97 >5-—oOolelooo eee
In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1996
>

LYNNE KALINA,

Petitioner,

RODNEY FLETCHER,

Respondent.
>

On Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit
¢

BRIEF OF THE THIRTY-NINE COUNTIES
OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON* AS AMICI
CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER
¢

Russet. D. Hauce
Kitsap County Prosecuting
Attorney

PaMetA BetH LocInsky
Counsel of Record

Senior Deputy Prosecuting
Attorney

Kitsap County Courthouse
614 Division Street, MS-35
Port Orchard, WA 98366
(360) 876-7174

"Counties listed on inside cover

Davip SANDHAUS
Adams County
Prosecuting Attorney

Ray Lutes
Asotin County
Prosecuting Attorney

ANpREW K. MILLER
Benton County
Prosecuting Attorney

Gary RiesEN
Chelan County
Prosecuting Attorney

Davip BRUNEAU
Clallam County
Prosecuting Attorney

ARTHUR CuRTIS
Clark County
Prosecuting Attorney

Terry NEALEY
Columbia County
Prosecuting Attorney

James STONIER
Cowlitz County
Prosecuting Attorney

Steven M. Ciem
Douglas County
Prosecuting Attorney

ALLEN C. NIELSON
Ferry County
Prosecuting Attorney

Steve M. Lowe
Franklin County
Prosecuting Attorney

JoHN Henry
Garfield County
Prosecuting Attorney

JOHN KNODELL
Grant County
Prosecuting Attorney

H. STEWARD MENEFEE
Grays Harbor County
Prosecuting Attorney

WituraM H. Hawkins
Island County
Prosecuting Attorney

Davip SKEEN
Jefferson County
Prosecuting Attorney

Norm MALENG

King County
Prosecuting Attorney
Russet. D. Hauce
Kitsap County
Prosecuting Attorney

Grec ZEMPEL

Kittitas County
Prosecuting Attorney
Knute RIFE

Klickitat County
Prosecuting Attorney

Mason County
Prosecuting Attorney

Rick Weser

Okanogan County
Prosecuting Attorney

MicHaet SMITH
Pacific County
Prosecuting Attorney

Tuomas A. Merzcer
Pend Oreille County
Prosecuting Attorney

JouHN LADENBURG
Pierce County
Prosecuting Attorney

RANDALL K. GayLorp
San Juan County
Prosecuting Attorney

Gari Lonc

Skagit County
Prosecuting Attorney

BrapDLey ANDERSON
Skamania County
Prosecuting Attorney

Prosecuting Attorney

Joun G. Werte
Stevens County
Prosecuting Attorney

BERNARDEAN BROADOUS
Thurston County
Prosecuting Attorney

Frep A. JOHNSON
Wahkiakum County
Prosecuting Attorney

James L. NacLe
Walla Walla County
Prosecuting Attorney

Davip S. McEAcHRaANn
Whatcom County
Prosecuting Attorney

James KAUrMAN
Whitman County
Prosecuting Attorney

Jerrrey C. SULLIVAN
Yakima County
Prosecuting Attorney

i
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE .................+5- 1
PEE wen ceWe sv ecteccccccvoscoctuvescccccecs 7
GPG F800 cede cecdsc cds cecsveworsccccccces 13

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Feperat Cases:
Beck v. Washington, 369 U.S. 541 (1962)...........++-. 1

Buckley v. Fitzsimmons, 20 F.3d 789 (7th Cir. 1994),
cert. denied, __ U.S. __, 115 S. Ct. 740 (1995) .... 13

Ehrlich v. Giuliani, 910 F.2d 1220 (4th Cir. 1990) ...... 8

Fletcher v. Kalina, 93 F.3d 653 (9th Cir. 1996), cert.

granted, __ U.S. __, 117 S. Ct. 1079 (1997)
nonsesestenenudedstoukecdsasseseneaeds 7, 8, 11, 12, 13

Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103 (1975) ........--.eeeees 5
Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800 (1982)............. 10
Hill v. City of New York, 45 F.3d 653 (2nd Cir. 1995) .... 13
Imbler v. Pachtman, 424 U.S. 409 (1976)...... 7, 9, 10, 11
Joseph v. Patterson, 795 F.2d 549 (6th Cir. 1986), cert.

denied, 481 U.S. 1023 (1987)...........-0eeeeeeeeeee 8
Lerwill v. Joslin, 712 F.2d 435 (10th Cir. 1983)...... 8, 10
Myers v. Morris, 810 F.2d 1437 (8th Cir. 1987) ........ 8
Pena v. Mattox, 84 F.3d 894 (7th Cir. 1996)............ 8
Pinaud v. Suffolk, 52 F.3d 1139 (2d Cir. 1995) ......... 8
Roberts v. Kling, 104 F.3d 316 (10th Cir. 1997)...... 8, 10
Schrob v. Catterson, 948 F.2d 1402 (3rd Cir. 1991)...... 8

WASHINGTON CASEs:

In re Special Inquiry Judge, 899 P.2d 800 (Wash.
App. 1995) .......ccccccccccccccccseccccsccecsseees 1

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
State v. Arnold, 914 P.2d 762 (Wash. App.), review
denied, 925 P.2d 989 (Wash. 1996) .................. 6
State v. Autrey, 794 P.2d 81 (Wash. App.), review
denied, 802 P.2d 127 (Wash. 1990) . <4 eS ae 6
State v. Bazan, 904 P.2d 1167 (Wash. App. 1995),
review denied, 919 P.2d 600 (Wash. 1996)............ 5
State v. Becker, 801 P.2d 1015 (Wash. App. 1990)...... 6
State v. Bryant, 828 P.2d 1121 (Wash. App.), review
denied, P.2d 1389 (Wash. 1992) ................. 5
State v. Cooper, 816 P.2d 734 (Wash. App. 1991)....... 6
State v. Garcia, 829 P.2d 241 (Wash. App.), review
denied, 838 P.2d 1143 (Wash. 1992)................. 5
State v. Greenwood, 845 P.2d 971 (Wash. 1993)......... 4
State v. Hammond, 854 P.2d 637 (Wash. 1993) ........ 10
State v. Herzog, 771 P.2d 739 (Wash. 1989)............ 6
State v. Jackson, 878 P.2d 453 (Wash. 1994)........... 10
State v. Kjorsvik, 812 P.2d 86 (Wash. 1991)....... noone
State v. Marler, 911 P.2d 420 (Wash. App.), review
denied, 919 P.2d 601 (Wash. 1996) .................. 5

State v. Overvold, 825 P.2d 729 (Wash. App. 1992) ..... 6

State v. Reece, 757 P.2d 947 (Wash. 1988), cert.
nk ewes 7

State v. Saas, 820 P.2d 505 (Wash. 1991) .............. 6
State v. Schroeder, 834 P.2d 105 (Wash. App. 1992)..... 6
State v. Stewart, 922 P.2d 1356 (Wash. 1996) .......... 4

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
State v. Striker, 557 P.2d 847 (Wash. 1976) ............ 4
State v. Thornton, 835 P.2d 216 (Wash. 1992).......... 6
State v. Tindal, 748 P.2d 695 (Wash. App. 1988)....... 6
OTHER JURISDICTIONS:
Pearson v. Reed, 44 P.2d 592 (Cal. App. 1935)......... 7
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS:
Cie, Gems, GOR. G, BH Bi ccc ccccccceccessccsccesceses 1
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:
GB BE, B Fives decccccnccescccvctocccscccesees 7, 13
Chapter BO.27 GW... cccccsscsccccccccccesevevcccece 1
Ceemee GEE BW oc cc ccccccccccccccvcccccvccecccce 1
King County LCrR 2.2........ 0. cece cece cece ee eeeeees 2
SE CEE oc vd vcovcccnveucdesccecesssecceouncsens 2
MER heocccwcesctccoccoccesncscesesenaeeses 2
ED 0 noc cdvedccccessncdbecessd dinvcases 13
_. ff < ss FPPOTIT TIT rt re ree 4,14
= f * PPT tiit 12
PR ekScedcccccovescecncscesecccessécnens 12
Thurston County LCrR 2.2........ 6c ccc cece eee eens 3

Wash. Crim. Rule for Courts of Limited Jurisdic-
Be Be 6 vc cccbediddetichScs take e Deb iie nds 12

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Washington Criminal Rule 2.1.................6.000005 2
Washington Criminal Rule 2.2(a)..................06. 5
Washingtco». Criminal Rule 3.2(a)..................... 5
Washington Evidence Rule 609...................005. 6
Washington Juvenile Court Rule 7.5(b)............... 5
Washington Laws 1909, c. 87..........66. cece ee eeees 1
OrHER AUTHORITIES:
Office of the Administrator for the Courts, Case-
loads of the Courts of Washington 1995 (1996)........ 2
Washington Senate Staff Memorandum, Grand
Si i cn ccnuekdcadeecshvessceccvces 13

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE?!

The State of Washington abandoned its mandatory
grand jury practice some 80 years ago.? While grand
juries are still convened on rare occasions in Washing-
ton’, the vast majority of Washington prosecutions are
instituted on information filed by the prosecutor. On
many occasions the information is filed without a prior
judicial determination of “probable cause”. Washington's
charging procedure, which is specifically authorized by
the Washington Constitution‘, received this Court's
approval in Beck v. Washington, 369 U.S. 541, 545 (1962).

1 Counsel for both petitioner and respondent have
consented to the filing of this brief. Their consents are on file
with the Clerk.

2 Washington Laws 1909, c. 87.

3 Grand juries in Washington are convened only on special
occasions and for specific purposes. Between 1917 and 1957, the
most populous county in Washington, King County, had
summoned a total of eight grand juries. Beck v. Washington, 369
U.S. 541, 545 (1962). These grand juries were utilized primarily
to investigate corruption. The statute under which these eight
grand juries were convened, Chapter 10.28 RCW, was repealed
in 1971.

The new grand jury statute, Chapter 10.27 RCW, created a
“special inquiry judge”. The “special inquiry judge” performs
many of the investigative functions of a grand jury. See generally
In re Special Inquiry Judge, 899 P.2d 800 (Wash. App. 1995). Grand
juries, therefore, have been used even less frequently in
Washington than when this Court rendered its opinion in Beck v.

Washington, supra.
* Wash. Const. art. 1, § 25 provides that:

Offenses heretofore required to be prosecuted by
indictment may be prosecuted by information, or by
indictment, as shall be prescribed by law.

Thousands of criminal cases each year are initiated
by information in the State of Washington by Prosecuting
Attorneys and their deputies.5 While a statute provides
that the only document needed to initiate a criminal
charge is an information®, local court rules in two coun-
ties, including King County where the petitioner, Lynne
Kalina, is employed, require the prosecutor to file an
additional document.” This additional document is

5 Both juvenile offender cases and criminal cases filed in
the Washington superior courts are initiated by information.
Washington Criminal Rule 2.1; RCW 13.40.070. In 1993, 29,765
criminal cases and 24,360 juvenile offender cases were filed in
the superior courts of Washington. In 1994, 30,395 criminal cases
and 25,883 juvenile offender cases were filed in the superior
courts of Washington. In 1995, 33,965 criminal cases and 27,716
juvenile offender cases were filed in the superior courts of
Washington. See Office of the Administrator for the Courts,
Caseloads of the Courts of Washington 1995, at 38 (1996).

6 RCW 10.37.010 provides that:

No pleading other than an indictment, information or
complaint shall be required on the part of the state in
any criminal proceedings in any court of the state,
and when such pleading is in the manner and form as
provided by law the defendant shall be required to
plead thereto as prescribed by law without any
further action or proceedings of any kind on the part
of the state.

7 King County LCrR 2.2 provides as follows:
Warrant Upon Indictment Or Information
(b) Issuance of Summons in Lieu of Warrant.

(1) When Summons Must Issue. Absent a
showing of cause for issuance of a warrant, a
summons shall issue for a person who has been
released by a magistrate on the preliminary
appearance calendar. The person shall be directed to

generally referred to in Washington practice as a “certifi-
cate of probable cause”.

appear on the arraignment calendar one week after
the date of his/her release.

(g) Information to Be Supplied to the Court.
When a charge is filed in Superior Court and a warrant is
requested, the Court shall be provided with the following
information about the person charged: /

(1) The pretrial release interview form,
completed by either a bail interviewer or by the
defense counsel.

(2) By the prosecuting attorney, insofar as possible.
(A) A brief summary of the alleged facts of the
charge;
(B) Information concerning other known
pending or potential charges;
(C) A summary of any known criminal record;
(D) Any other facts deemed material to the
issue of pretrial release.
(3) Any ruling of a magistrate at a preliminary
appearance.
[Emphasis added.]
Thurston County LCrR 2.2, provides as follows:
Warrant Upon Indictment Or Information
Information to be Supplied to the Court.
When a charge is filed in the Superior Court and an order
for a warrant or a summons is requested, the court shall be
provided with the following information about the person
charged:
(1) The pretrial release interview form, if one
has been completed by the Pretrial Services Unit.

The filing of the information, under Washington law,
can trigger the start of Washington’s court rule speedy
trial period. A failure to secure the presence of the
defendant in court within 104 days of the filing of the
information may result in the dismissal of charges with
prejudice.? Both the Washington courts and the Washing-
ton legislature have placed the burden of securing the
presence of the defendant in court upon the prosecutor.'°

(2) By the prosecuting attorney, insofar as possible:

(A) A brief summary of the alleged facts of the
charge;

(B) Information concerning other known
pending or potential charges;

(C) A summary of any known criminal record;

(D) Any other facts deemed material to the
issue of pretrial release.

(3) Any ruling of the court at a preliminary
hearing or appearance.

[Emphasis added.]

Many Washington prosecuting attorneys in other counties
file certifications of probable cause that contain the information
required by the Thurston County and King County local rules
because of the myriad uses courts make of the certifications of
probable cause throughout the pre-trial, trial; and appeal
portions of a criminal case. See infra at 5-7.

8 State v. Greenwood, 845 P.2d 971 (Wash. 1993); State v.
Striker, 557 P.2d 847 (Wash. 1976).

9 See generally, State v. Stewart, 922 P.2d 1356, 1360 (Wash.
1996); Greenwood, 845 P.2d at 974; Striker, 557 P.2d at 852.

10 RCW 36.27.020(6); State v. Anderson, 855 P.2d 671 (Wash.
1993); State v. Greenwood, supra.

In order to timely secure the defendant’s presence for
trial, the prosecuting attorney will often request a war-
rant of arrest.1! Consistent with this Court’s opinion in
Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103 (1975), such a request must
be accompanied by a certificate or statement of probable
cause to support the charge. Under Washington law, the
certificate of probable cause can consist solely of a sum-
mary of the contents of the police reports.'2

The certificate of probable cause is utilized by the
court and the prosecution for purposes other than obtain-
ing a warrant of arrest. The facts contained in the certifi-
cate of probable cause are considered in determining the
amount of bail or other conditions of pretrial release.'%
Facts contained in the certificate of probable cause are
considered in determining whether a defendant had
notice of all of the elements of an offense.’

1! Prosecutors’ attempts to satisfy the Washington speedy
trial court rule by mailing letters to the defendants that advise
them of the pending charges have had mixed success in the
Washington courts. See, e.g., State v. Marler, 911 P.2d 420 (Wash.
App.), review denied, 919 P.2d 601 (Wash. 1996); State v. Bazan,
904 P.2d 1167 (Wash. App. 1995), review denied, 919 P.2d 600
(Wash. 1996).

12 Washington Criminal Rule 2.2(a); Washington Juvenile
Court Rule 7.5(b).

13 Washington Criminal Rule 3.2(a).

14 State v. Kjorsvik, 812 P.2d 86 (Wash. 1991); State v. Garcia,
829 P.2d 241 (Wash. App.), review denied, 838 P.2d 1143 (Wash.
1992); State v. Bryant, P.2d 1121 (Wash. App.), review denied,
833 P.2d 1389 (Wash. 1992).

The information contained in the certificate of proba-
ble cause can form the factual basis for a guilty plea.’
The facts contained in the certificate of probable cause
may be considered in deciding whether a defendant is
entitled to a judgment of acquittal by reason of insanity.’©

The facts in the certificate of probable cause are
relied upon to establish whether a spouse is competent to
testify against a defendant without the defendant's per-
mission.'7 Information in a certificate of probable cause
can establish whether a prior conviction is admissible for
impeachment purposes under Washington Evidence Rule
609.18 The material in a certificate of probable cause can
be utilized by the court in determining a proper sen-
tence.!9

Facts contained in a certificate of probable cause can
provide the background facts for Washington’s appellate
courts.?° Information in a certificate of probable cause has

15 See, e.g., State v. Saas, 820 P.2d 505 (Wash. 1991); State v.
Arnold, 914 P.2d 762, 765 (Wash. App.) (“The judge stated
positively that he always reads and considers those certificates,
and that he did so this time [when accepting a guilty plea]”),
review denied, 925 P.2d 989 (Wash. 1996).

16 State v. Autrey, 794 P.2d 81 (Wash. App.), review denied,
802 P.2d 127 (Wash. 1990).

‘7 State v. Thornton, 835 P.2d 216 (Wash. 1992).

18 See, e.g., State v. Schroeder, 834 P.2d 105 (Wash. App.
1992).

19 State v. Overvold, 825 P.2d 729 (Wash. App. 1992); State v.
Cooper, 816 P.2d 734 (Wash. App. 1991); State v. Tindal, 748 P.2d
695 (Wash. App. 1988).

20 See, e.g., State v. Herzog, 771 P.2d 739 (Wash. 1989); State v.
Becker, 801 P.2d 1015 (Wash. App. 1990).

been utilized by the Washington Supreme Court to deter-
mine which portion of an obscenity statute applied to a
particular case.?!

The Ninth Circuit's opinion in Fletcher v. Kalina, 93 F.3d
653 (9th Cir. 1996), cert. granted, U.S. __, 117 S. Ct. 1079
(1997), has stripped prosecutors of their absolute immu-
nity for engaging in routine procedures under Washing-
ton law for initiating and pursuing criminal prosecutions.
The Ninth Circuit’s opinion, if left intact, will severely
impact prosecutors’ ability to vigorously and fearlessly
perform their duty. The Ninth Circuit’s ruling diverts
scarce prosecutorial resources from the enforcement of
criminal laws to the defense of civil lawsuits.

«

ARGUMENT

Public prosecutors must administer their offices with
courage and independence. Both of these qualities are
impeded when the prosecutor is made subject to suit by
those whom s/he accuses and fails to convict. Imbler v.
Pachtman, 424 U.S. 409, 423-24 (1976), quoting Pearson v.
Reed, 44 P.2d 592, 597 (Cal. App. 1935). Accordingly, this
Court has provided prosecutors with absolute immunity
under § 1983 law suits for actions intimately associated
with the judicial phase of the criminal process. Imbler, 424
U.S. at 430.

The Ninth Circuit ignores the teachings of Imbler in
its decision in Fletcher v. Kalina, supra. The Ninth Circuit,

s

21 State v. Reece, 757 P.2d 947 (Wash. 1988), cert. denied, 493
U.S. 812 (1989).

focusing on the issuance of the arrest warrant, instead of
the purpose for the warrant and the warrant’s relation-
ship to the charging function, determined that prosecu-
tors are only entitled to qualified immunity for any errors
contained in the certificate of probable cause.7? Other
Circuits, which have focused on the purpose of a post-
charging arrest warrant, have had little difficulty in find-
ing that absolute immunity should be extended to prose-
cutors who request arrest warrants.”°

The Ninth Circuit decision in Fletcher v. Kalina,
assumes the sole purpose of the certificate of probable
cause is to secure a warrant of arrest. Such is not the case.
In Washington, the certificate of probable cause is inti-
mately associated with the judicial process in other ways,
as well.

Generally, the certificate of probable cause is the only
document in the court file that outlines in detail the facts
in every criminal prosecution. The certificate of probable
cause is utilized by the courts during the entire judicial
process, beginning with the filing of an information,

_ 2 Fletcher v. Kalina, 93 F.3d at 655.

23 See Roberts v. Kling, 104 F.3d 316 (10th Cir. 1997); Lerwill v.
Joslin, 712 F.2d 435 (10th Cir. 1983); Pena v. Mattox, 84 F.3d 894,
896 (7th Cir. 1996); Pinaud v. Suffolk, 52 F.3d 1139, 1150 (2d Cir.
1995); Myers v. Morris, 810 F.2d 1437, 1446 (8th Cir. 1987); Joseph
v. Patterson, 795 F.2d 549 (6th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 481 U.S.
1023 (1987); cf. Schrob v. Catterson, 948 F.2d 1402 (3rd Cir. 1991)
(prosecuting attorney entitled to absolute immunity for a
seizure warrant in a civil case); Erlich > **"icac, 910 F.2d 1220
(4th Cir. 1990) (prosecuting attorney entitled to absolute
immunity for a seizure warrant in a civil case).

through sentencing and appeal. As such, the certificate of
probable cause is prepared by the prosecutor in his or her
role as an advocate and is within the continuum of initiat-
ing and presenting a criminal case. Prosecutors must
enjoy absolute immunity for drafting, signing, and filing
the certificates. By likening a warrant secured by a police
officer to a prosecutor’s certificate of probable cause, the
Ninth Circuit erred.

The act of obtaining an arrest warrant after or in
conjunction with the filing of the information is not an
investigative function. The prosecutor, by filing the
motion for warrant of arrest, is not seeking to obtain
more information before deciding that the case should be
prosecuted. Rather, the act of preparing a certificate of
probable cause and the act of obtaining an arrest warrant
in conjunction with the filing of a criminal information is
functionally part of the initiation of a criminal proceed-
ing. As the Tenth Circuit has stated:

[W]e think that a prosecutor’s seeking an arrest
warrant is too integral a part of his decision to
file charges to fall outside the scope of Imbler.
The purpose of an arrest warrant is to
ensure that the defendant is available for trial
and, if found guilty, for punishment. Without
the presence of the accused, the initiation of a

10

prosecution would be futile.[*] Thus, a prosecu-
tor’s seeking a warrant for the arrest of a defen-

dant against whom he has filed charges is part
of his “initiation of a prosecution” under Imbler.

Roberts v. Kling, 104 F.3d 316, 320 (10th Cir. 1997), citing
Lerwill v. Joslin, 712 F.2d 435 (10th Cir. 1983).

While absolute immunity defeats a suit at the outset,
so long as the official’s actions were within the scope of
the immunity, the fate of prosecutors with qualified
immunity depends upon whether the government offi-
cials performing the discretionary function violated a
clearly established statutory or constitutional right of
which a reasonable person would have known.” A pros-
ecutor who merely enjoys qualified immunity must
answer in court each time a person charges him or her
with wrongdoing. This diverts the prosecutor’s energy
and attention from the pressing duty of enforcing the
criminal laws.26 Moreover, as this Court noted in Imbler,
suits that survive the pleadings would pose substantial
danger of liability even to the honest prosecutor:

It is fair to say, we think, that the honest pros-

ecutor would face greater difficulty in meeting
the standards of qualified immunity than other

casas of chueainalive ii. Frequently
acting under serious constraints of time and

4 This t is particularly true in Washington as the
vedieatn eemee Court has inter~reted the Washington

Rules as absolutely prohibiting a trial from
clean he dofendaos to pecsemt. State ©. jailane, 878 P.2d 453
(Wash. 1994); State v. Hammond, 854 P.2d 637 (Wash. 1993).

25 See Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818 (1982).
26 Imbler, 424 U.S. at 424.

11

even information, a prosecutor inevitably makes
many decisions that could engender colorable
claims of constitutional deprivation. Defending
these decisions, often years after they were
made, could impose unique and intolerable bur-
dens upon a prosecutor responsible annually for
hundreds of indictments and trials.

Imbler, 424 U.S. at 425-26.

The Ninth Circuit’s opinion has created great uncer-
tainty about how prosecutors can balance their potential
civil liability with strict and fair law enforcement. Wash-
ington prosecutors generally lack the resources for con-
ducting their own investigations. They determine
whether to file charges on the basis of investigations
conducted by law enforcement agencies. The Ninth Cir-
cuit’s opinion casts the legitimacy of this procedure into
doubt. It suggests that prosecutors will be liable if they
should have known that the facts reported by police are
false. This requires them to conduct investigations of
some indeterminate scope.

The Ninth Circuit’s opinion has created great uncer-
tainty about how prosecutors can balance their potential
civil liability with their obligations to provide the court
with summaries of the alleged facts of the charges under
various local court rules or in connection with requests
for conditions of release or arrest warrants. Following the
Ninth Circuit opinion in Fletcher v. Kalina, prosecutors
wonder if they must now submit every police report and
witness statement to the court in support of the charge in
order to avoid a later lawsuit for the omission of an
alleged material fact. Such a practice would have a dra-
matic impact upon courts, as judges must pore over

12

copious documents to seek out those facts that might
support the filed charges. This practice could also impede
the investigation and prosecution of related crimes or co-
participants by prematurely releasing facts to the commu-
nity at large. The alternative of having investigative
police officers personally sign affidavits or declarations
once a prosecutor determines that probable cause exists
would only delay the initiation of charges and would
interfere with the investigation of other crimes by unnec-
essarily removing officers from the streets.?”

Following the Ninth Circuit opinion in Fletcher v.
Kalina, prosecutors now wonder if a decision to rely upon
police officers’ reports in preparation of certificates of
probable cause instead of personally re-interviewing wit-
nesses will engender liability for failure to investigate.
Prosecutors wonder if a decision to rely upon prosecutor
prepared affidavits that summarize the evidence in sup-
port of a request for a post-charging warrant of arrest
instead of requiring the complainant and other witnesses
to appear personally before the judge for questioning will
engender liability for omitting a fact that might later

prove exculpatory.

27 Washington law requires a police report to be sworn
DM cap may open “pyc medin peut. ge tga
ired driver’s refusal to submit to a breath or blood test to
determine the alcohol content of the impaired driver’s breath or
blood, see RCW 46.20.308(6), or when the police report are
into a criminal citation or notice of civil traffic
infraction, see Wash. Crim. Rule for Courts of Limited
Jurisdiction 2.1(b)(5); RCW 46.63.090. None of these documents

are used in the prosecution of felony charges.

13

Finally, prosecutors wonder whether resurrection of
the grand jury system is the only way to avoid suits for
damages from a defendant who resents being arrested to
answer a charged crime.”* Resurrection of the grand jury
would, as noted by a recent legislative study, carry sub-
stantial cost?? and would dramatically slow the process-
ing of felony cases.

+

CONCLUSION

This Court should reverse the Ninth Circuit’s deci-
sion in Fletcher v. Kalina, and provide Washington's prose-
cutors with the absolute immunity necessary for them to
“[pjrosecute all criminal . . . actions in which the state-

. may be a party .. . “* and to “[ijnstitute and
prosecute proceedings before magistrates for the arrest of

28 The Federal Courts appear to agree that prosecutors are
immune from § 1983 liability for their conduct before a
jury. See, e.g., Hill v. City of New York, 45 F.3d 653, 661 (2nd Cir.
1995); Buckley v. Fitzsimmons, 20 F.3d 789 (7th Cir. 1994), cert
denied, __ U.S. __, 115 S. Ct. 740 (1995).

29 See Washington Senate Staff Memorandum, Grand Juries
(May 15, 1996). A copy of the memorandum, minus
attachments, is contained in appendix A.

3° RCW 36.27.020(4).

14

persons charged with or reasonably suspected of felo-
nies”! without apprehe.:sion of personal consequences.

Respectfully submitted this 23rd day of April, 1997.
Respectfully submitted,

Russet D. Hauce

Prosecuting Attorney

PaMELA BetH LOcINsKy

Senior Deputy Prosecuting Attorney
Counsel for Amicus Curiae

31 RCW 36.27.020(6).

APPENDIX 1
(LOGO)
219 John A. Cherberg Building
P.O. Box 40475
Olympia, WA 98504-0475 Senator Adam Smith
(360) 786-7462 Chair

Washington State Senate
Law and Justice Committee
MEMORANDUM

Date: May 15, 1996
From: Cynthia Runger, staff counsel

To: Senator Roach
Subject: Grand Juries

You requested the following information on grand
juries:

1) Are grand juries established by the constitution in
this state? 2) How often have they been summoned? 3)
How assessable are grand juries to the general public? 4)
How much do grand juries cost? 5) How have grand
juries been used in this state? and 6) How do grand juries
work in other states. Below are responses to your

inquiries.
ARE GRAND JURIES ESTABLISHED BY THE CON-

STITUTION IN THIS STATE?

Yes. The Constitution of the State of Washington
authorizes offenses to be prosecuted either by grand jury

App. 2

indictment or by information (see Washington State Con-
stitution Article 1 § 25 and Article 1 § 26 (copies
attached)).

HOW OFTEN HAVE GRAND JURIES BEEN USED IN
THIS STATE?

I have inquired at several county prosecutors offices,
the Office of the Administrators for the Courts, and other
legal organizations. I have not been able to obtain a
specific quantitative response, however, I have been told
that grand juries have not been used often in this state. It
appears that the general consensus among prosecutors is
that: 1) grand juries are time consuming, costly, and
require additional personnel that many offices do not
have; 2) they add an unnecessary layer to the already
bogged-down court system; and 3) finding jurors for
grand juries would be an unduly burdensome task since
counties already have difficulty getting jurors to respond
to short jury terms.

HOW ASSESSABLE ARE GRAND JURIES TO THE
GENERAL PUBLIC IN THIS STATE?

The statutory provision governing grand juries is set
forth in RCW 10.27.030. In Washington grand juries may
be summoned by a majority of a county’s superior court
judges if the public interest so demands. The court may
summon a grand jury on it’s own if there is sufficient
evidence of criminal activity or corruption or upon a
petition to the court by a public attorney. There is no
mechanism for direct public access to the court for sum-

moning a grand jury. Conceivably, a citizen could provide

App. 3

a court with sufficient evidence of criminal activity or
corruption, thereby convincing a court that the public
interest so demands that a grand jury be summoned, but
there is no explicit statutory authority for this type of
action. Nebraska and Oklahoma are two states that allow
qualified electors to petition the court for a grand jury
(see attached chart entitled, “A Comparison Chart of
Grand Juries in 10 States”). _

HOW MUCH DO GRAND JURIES COST?

This answer is difficult to ascertain in definitive
quantitative terms because costs of grand juries vary with
each case. Numerous factors must be considered in deter-
mining the cost of a grand jury. By statute a grand jury
consists of twelve persons who are authorized to sit a
term of no more than 60 days. A more complex case may
have a considerable cost because of factors such as
lengthier investigations, court costs and attorneys fees.

HOW HAVE GRAND JURIES BEEN USED IN THIS
STATE?

Below are examples of grand jury cases in this state.

State v. Ingeles (1940). A grand jury was summoned to
investigate accounting matters for funds contributed
toward the political campaign of a gubernatorial candi-
date in 1936.

State v. Bell (1962). A grand jury was impaneled August
25, 1958, and proceeded to investigate certain alleged
criminal activities arising in connection with the con-
struction of the Priest Rapids Dam on the Columbia River

=_

App. 4

by Public Utility District No. 2 of Grant County (PUD).
There had been rumors of substantial gratuities and pay-
ments of money made by the prime contractor to officers
of the PUD.

State v. Twitchell (1963). In January 1960, a grand jury
convened in Snohomish County to investigate a
Snohomish County Sheriff who allegedly wilfully
neglected his duty in that he knowingly, without making
a complaint and without making an arrest, permitted the
keeping of a house of prostitution and the practice of
prostitution within the county.

State v. Robinson (1973). A King County grand jury was
convened to investigate a Seattle police officer for
allegedly soliciting and receiving bribes.

State v. Carroll (1973). In 1971 a grand jury was convened
in King County for the purpose of investigating possible
bribery and corruption among police and public officials.

State v. Sponburgh (1974). In 1971, a King County grand
jury was convene to investigate members of the Washing-
ton State Liquor Control Board in connection with liquor
administered by the liquor board.

State v. Torgenson (1978). A grand jury was convened to
investigate whether a county commissioner engaged in
conspiring with a supervisor of a county road district and
his assistant to use county labor and materials for his
own benefit and failing to investigate and act to protect
government assets even after receiving a report that the
same road supervisor and his assistant had stolen county
property.

App. 5

HOW DO GRAND JURIES WORK IN OTHER STATES?

Please see attached chart entitled, “A Comparison
Chart of Grand Juries in 10 States.”

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0035%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
