# Respondents Brief — Kalina v. Fletcher

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0035%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 522 U.S. 118

## Text

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a prosecutor who acts as the complaining
witness whose oath supports issuance of an arrest war-
rant is entitled to absolute, rather than qualified, immu-
nity from suit under 42 U.S.C. §1983?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .................csceeees iv
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED...... 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE...................005 1
1. The Respondent’s Claim ..................... 2
2. The Petitioner’s Defense ..................... 3

3. The Decisions Below.....................005. 5
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT....................... 5
RESTS 8 6b cheb citibank s die sccvbicedicove 9

I. THERE IS A PRESUMPTION IN FAVOR OF
QUALIFIED IMMUNITY AND AGAINST
ABSOLUTE IMMUNITY FOR OFFICIALS
WHO VIOLATE CIVIL RIGHTS ............. 9

Il. PETITIONER WAS SUED FOR MAKING
FALSE STATEMENTS AS A COMPLAINING
WITNESS ON AN ARREST WARRANT AFFI-

ECUTORIAL FUNCTION ...,.......000.000: 11

OD FUN soo dap sdpunecddecccctedeccces 14

B. Swearing Out Arrest Warrant Affidavits is
not a Prosecutorial Function ............ 19

FALSE STATEMENTS IN ARREST WARRANT
AFFIDAVITS HAVE NEVER BEEN GIVEN
ABSOLUTE IMMUNITY...................5. 21

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

C. The Decisions of Lower Federal Courts. ...

IV. THERE IS NO GOOD REASON TO EXTEND
ABSOLUTE IMMUNITY TO PROSECUTORS
WHO ACT AS COMPLAINING WITNESSES ...

26

30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
FeperaL Cases
Albright v. Oliver, 510 U.S. 266 (1994) ............... 31
Antoine v. Byers & Anderson, Inc., 508 U.S. 429
SESE ccccccoccacesodeduadinedecddéndtusdss 10, 15, 21
— v. United States, 350 F.2d 1002 (D.C. Cir. -
Briscoe v. LaHue, 460 U.S. 325 (1983) ................ 25
Buckley v. Fitzsimmons, 509 U.S. 259 (1993) ...... passim
Burns v. Reed, 500 U.S. 478 (1991)............... passim
Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443 (1971)....... 18
County of Riverside v. McLaughlin, 500 U.S. 44
Gee esvcbeddccceccveduenbeneesebéoecectccccece: 17
Dinsman v. Wilkes, 53 U.S. 390 (1852)................ 22
Erlich v. Giuliani, 910 F.2d 1220 (4th Cir. 1990) ...... 27
Forrester v. White, 484 U.S. 219 (1988) ............... 14
Gatlin v. United States, 326 F.2d 666 (D.C. Cir. 1963) .... 17
Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103 (1975) ................ 18
Giordenello v. United States, 357 U.S. 480 (1958) ...... 12
Imbler v. Pachtman, 424 U.S. 409 (1996) .......... passim
Ireland v. Tunis, __ F.3d __, 1997 WESTLAW
250434 (6th Cir., May 15, 1997) ............ 28, 29, 32
Joseph v. Patterson, 795 F.2d 549 (6th Cir. 1986) ...... 27
Kendall v. Stokes, 44 U.S. 87 (1845) .................. 23
Kohl v. Casson, 5 F.3d 1141 (8th Cir. 1993)....... .28, 32

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Lerwill v. Joslin, 712 F.2d 435 (10th Cir. 1983)........ 27
Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. 335 (1986)............. passim
Mirales v. Waco, 502 U.S. 9 (1991) ................... 15
Mitchell v. Forsyth, 472 U.S. 511 (1985) .............. 15
Pefla v. Mattox, 84 F.3d 894 (7th Cir. 1996)........... 27
Pinaud v. County of Suffolk, 52 F.3d 1139 (2d Cir.

PRUE a Pnebesebdedebebbccenteedbadebocapececes 27
Roberts v. Kling, 104 F.3d 316 (10th Cir. 1997)..... 29, 32
Schrob v. Catterson, 948 F.2d 1402 (3rd Cir. 1991)..... 27
See ee ee -
aon Sparkman, 435 U.S. 349 (1978).............. 15
Wyatt v. Cole, 504 U.S. 158 (1992) ............... passim
Yaselli v. , 12 F.2d 396 (2d Cir. 1926), affirmed,

275 USS. sbeskeeatesnenaatadesdtetecocse 23
Stare Cases
Brady v. Yount, 42 Wn.2d 697, 258 P.2d 458 (1953) .... 20
Epstein v. Berkowsky, 64 Ill. App. 498 (1896) ......... 18
Griffith v. Slinkard, 44 N.E. 1001 (Ind. 1896) ......... 22
Leong Yau v. Carden, 23 Hawaii 362 (1916)........... 23
Randall v. Henry, 5 Stew. & P. 367 (Ala. 1834) ....... 22
Schneider v. Sheperd, 192 Mich. 82, 158 N.W. 182

PP accccsenccaséhosessebudbbhoubeddesesccccdves 23
Smith v. Parman, 165 Pac. 663 (Kan. 1917)........... 23

Se eC eT ns ee ee

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page
State ex rel. Carroll v. Junker, 79 Wn.2d 12, 482 P.2d
i Ge ecn) decesanetooamnnindinakhehediinubiinta 21

State v. Ellison, 77 Wn.2d 874, 467 P.2d 839 (1970) .... 17
State v. Klinker, 85 Wn.2d 509, 537 P.2d 268 (1975) 12, 18
Watts v. Gerking, 228 Pac. 135 (Ore. 1924) ........... 23

Statutes & Court Rutes

GD Fs Fs wk ve cdsiccctcccccccssvedesécoes passim

King County Local Rule 2.2...............000eeeeees 20

SE eacacouceecoscescogsncteseuceseoo$oneu 32

8 f RPr e 4

ST ED os co ccccccucccéctocacbossdebeedeceeses 17

Se ME cose nce ceeqecoscoceunanaceagbopecenen 21

Washington Criminal Rule 2.2(a).................... 20

Washington Criminal Rule 3.2B(a)(1) ................ 17
Criminal Rule for Courts of Limited

J iatnivtegudedsaeatshes bbancedcoce 17
Criminal Rule for Courts of Limited

Pe CSS Cee Esurvewwesicovovcccoscces 17

Washington Rule of Evidence 605................... 21

Washington Rule of Professional Conduct 3.3........ 32

Washington Rule of Professional Conduct 3.7........ 21

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
OrHer AUTHORITIES
ABA Standards for Criminal Justice, The Prosecu-
tion Function (3d ed. 1993)..................00.0.. 19
Washington Criminal Practice and Pro-
a aT 20
Blackstone Commentaries (1765) .................... 22
Misner, Recasting Prosecutorial Discretion, 86 J.
Ginn Law & Cenmenees 797 C800 iowa. 19
Seattle Police Department Manual of Policies and
EE eae ieee cade dke ace soece cs 33
“Citizen Review of the Police, 1994: A National
Survey,” Police Executive Research Forum, Jan-
Gy SNE cob ee ci bescccabecstscaccbcrcccccccccces 33

Feofanov, Pourncs AND Justice in Russia: Major Tri-
ALS OF THE Post Stauin Era (Barry Trans. 1996) ....

1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the Fourth Amendment to the
Constitution of the United States, which provides in part:

The right of the people to be secure in their
persons .. . against unreasonable . . . seizures,
shall not be violated, and no warrants shall

issue, but upon probable cause, supported by
oath or affirmation. .. .

This case also involves the Fourteenth Amendment to
the Constitution of the United States, which provides in

part:

No state shall make or enforce any law which
shall abridge the privileges or immunities of
citizens of the United States; nor shall any State
deprive any person of .. . liberty . . . without
due process of law.

7

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is a civil rights case brought under 42 U.S.C.

§1983 by Respondent Rodney Fletcher against Petitioner

Lynne Kalina. Mr. Fletcher’s claim is that, by making
false statements in an affidavit supporting a warrant for

his arrest, Ms. Kalina caused him to be deprived of rights
guaranteed by the Fourth and Fourteenth Amendments.

See Complaint $5.1, JA 6. Ms. Kalina claims that she is

absolutely immune from suit for such conduct by virtue

of her position as a Deputy Prosecuting Attorney.
Answer, JA 10. The courts below unanimously rejected

the claim of absolute immunity. See Order, JA 21; Fletcher

ae AN en NN ee ee

v. Kalina, 93 F.3d 653 (9th Cir. 1996), JA 23-4. Ms. Kalina
then petitioned this Court for certiorari.

1. The Respondent’s Claim.

Rodney Fletcher’s Complaint against Lynne Kalina
was specific. It focused exclusively on Ms. Kalina’s false
declaration in support of the warrant for Mr. Fletcher’s
arrest. Its factual allegations, which are uncontested for
purposes of this review, read as follows:

3.2 On or about December 14, 1992, Lynne
Kalina prepared and filed a Certification for
Determination of Probable Cause (“Certifica-
gs SP

3.3 In the Certification, defendant Lynne
Kalina made false statements about Rodney
Fletcher, with reckless disregard for the truth,
knowing that her certification would result in
Mr. Fletcher’s arrest and prosecution.

3.4 In the Certification, defendant Lynne
Kalina falsely accused Mr. Fletcher of breaking
into the Our Lady of Guadalupe School in King
County, Washington, and of committing certain
acts while within the school, including damag-
ing a vending machine and stealing property.

3.5 In the Certification, Ms. Kalina falsely
stated that Mr. Fletcher had never been associ-
ated with the school and did not have permis-
sion to enter the school. In fact, Mr. Fletcher had
been hired to install partitions and had per-
formed extensive work, at and for the school,
was known to the school personnel and was
authorized to enter onto the premises.

3.6 In the Certification, Ms. Kalina falsely
stated that Mr. Fletcher was identified from a

— —e

3

photo montage by an eye witness. In fact, two
eye witnesses failed to identify Mr. Fletcher
from the photo montage and no witness identi-
fied him. These failed photo identifications were
detailed specifically in the Seattle Police Depart-
ment reports and statements that were available
to Ms. Kalina at the time that she prepared the
Certification.

3.7 Pursuant to the recitations in the Certi-
fication, an arrest warrant was issued for

Rodney Fletcher and on September 24, 1993, Mr.
Fletcher was arrested on a charge of Burglary in

the Second Degree.

Complaint, JA 5-6. Mr. Fletcher’s legal contention was
that, by these actions, Ms. Kalina caused him to be denied
“the right to be free from unreasonable seizures and from
deprivation of liberty, without due process of the law,
guaranteed by the Fourth and Fourteenth Amendments
to the Constitution of the United States... .” JA 6.

2. The Petitioner’s Defense.

Petitioner Kalina’s answer denied the main factual
allegations in Mr. Fletcher’s complaint, and demanded a
jury trial on them. JA 8-9. In addition, as affirmative
defenses, Ms. Kalina alleged that she was “immune from
suit based on the doctrine of absolute prosecutorial
immunity” and, in the alternative, that she had “acted in
good faith in the performance of her duty and is therefore
qualified[ly] immune.” JA 10.

Shortly after her answer was filed, and before any
discovery was done, Ms. Kalina filed a motion for sum-
mary judgment on her claim of absolute immunity. The

motion was supported by an affidavit which did not
contest any of the factual allegations in Mr. Fletcher's
complaint, but described the sequence of events leading
to the issuance of the warrant for Mr. Fletcher’s arrest. JA
11-12. In this affidavit, Ms. Kalina acknowledged that she
had prepared and signed the certification on which the
warrant for Mr. Fletcher’s arrest was issued, before any
charges were actually filed against him. JA 12. She said
she later filed the certification, along with an Information
charging Mr. Fletcher with second degree burglary, and a
motion and proposed order to issue a warrant for his
arrest. JA 12-20.

Ms. Kalina “did not personally appear in court when
the warrant was issued”. Pet. Brief 24. However, she
claimed absolute prosecutorial immunity from Mr.
Fletcher’s claim because

the filing of the information and request for the
arrest warrant were done contemporaneously as
a part of the initiation of the prosecution against
Mr. Fletcher.

JA 12. She did not explain why she decided to act as the
affiant for the arrest warrant,’ or why she swore to the
falsehoods her affidavit contained.

1 Attached to Ms. Kalina’s affidavit was, among other
documents, a sworn police report which apparently was filed
along with the arrest warrant application. See JA 17. This police
report, the contents of which did not support probable cause,
was signed under penalty of perjury under RCW 9A.72.085, as
was Ms. Kalina’s probable cause certification (JA 20).

3. The Decisions Below.

The District Court denied Ms. Kalina’s motion, hold-
ing her actions were not covered by her absolute immu-
nity. JA 21. Ms. Kalina appealed interlocutorily, and the
Court of Appeals unanimously affirmed, holding she was
“not immune for her actions in filing a declaration for an
arrest warrant,” but “emphasiz[ing] that Kalina may be
able to avoid liability by showing at trial that her conduct
did not violate a clearly established right of which a
reasonable person would have known.” JA 28.

¢

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This Court’s decisions establish a presumption in
favor of granting state officials qualified immunity, rather
than absolute immunity, from suits for violations of civil
rights. Petitioner and her amici would have the Court
ignore that presumption and extend absolute immunity
to officials who act as complaining witnesses providing
the “oath or affirmation” supporting an arrest warrant -
but only when those officials are public prosecutors or
their investigators. To do that would be contrary to this
Court’s prior decisions, to the historical and common law
basis for allowing prosecutors immunity from civil rights
lawsuits, and to sound policy.

1. As the courts below held, this case is controlled
by Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. 335 (1986) and Buckley v.
Fitzsimmons, 509 U.S. 259 (1993).

Malley held that a police officer who did exactly what
Petitioner did - caused a person to be seized by submitting a

sworn statement in support of a complaint and request for
an arrest warrant — was entitled to qualified, rather than
absolute, immunity. In so holding, the Court applied a “func-
tional approach” which focuses on the nature of the function
that caused the alleged violation, rather than the status of the

person who performed it.

The function performed by the Petitioner in this case
(and in Malley) was an ancient one — the function of a
complaining witness providing the “oath or affirmation”
required by the Fourth Amendment for issuance of a
warrant of arrest. It was Petitioner’s oath that caused Mr.
Fletcher’s wrongful arrest. Without an oath, for all her
advocacy, she could cause no warrant to issue. At com-
mon law, in 1871 and long before, it was well established
that persons who provided such an oath could be sued
for doing so falsely or maliciously and without probable
cause.

The courts below properly held, in light of Malley
and this common law history, that a higher level of
immunity could not be accorded a defendant solely
because she is employed as a deputy prosecuting attor-
ney. They were fortified in that position by Buckley, which
denied a prosecutor absolute immunity for conduct that
also closely resembles that for which Petitioner was sued:
fabricating evidence to support yet unfiled charges. Their
decisions correctly applied these controlling precedents.

2. Petitioner seeks to avoid this conclusion by sub-
tly modifying this Court’s “functional approach” to abso-
lute immunity claims. That approach focuses on the
conduct for which the defendant has been sued, rather

than the role in which the defendant performed it. Peti-
tioner would have the Court change that approach to
focus on the “function of the function,” the purpose for
which the defendant took the challenged action.

This modification has already been rejected by this
Court. It would make the immunity issue turn on the
defendant's status, or her intentions, rather than the con-
duct by which she caused the alleged civil rights viola-
tion. To make the outcome turn on status would be to
discard the functional analysis. To make the issue turn on
the defendant’s intentions would run contrary to the
nature and purpose of absolute immunity. Moreover,
even if the issues were made to turn on the defendants’
intentions, it would make no difference here, for Peti-
tioner’s intentions were exactly the same as the defen-
dant in Malley v. Briggs: to get a warrant to seize and
bring to court a person she was accusing of a crime.

3. To the extent these circumstances present a con-
flict between two longstanding general principles - com-
plaining witnesses can be sued but prosecutors are
immune — the conflict is appropriately resolved in favor
of the former, older rule, which was the law in 1871 and
well before. In reality, however, there is no conflict.
Swearing on oath as a complaining witness on an arrest
warrant is not traditionally a prosecutor’s function. It is
not “advocacy” and it is not “judicial.” It is not part of a
prosecutor’s job in most jurisdictions, and is not even a
prosecutorial function under the law of the State of Wash-
ington. It does not resemble the discretionary functions
for which prosecutors are given special protection from
civil rights suits, and should not be included among

Te TT

them. The function of a witness is to tell the truth, not to
exercise discretion.

4. There is no compelling reason to expand the
scope of absolute immunity to cover prosecutors who
take on the role of complaining witnesses. Prosecutors
need not perform this function. If they choose to have
defendants arrested (rather than haled into court by sum-
mons, which implicates no constitutional right) they can
easily, and more accurately, support their requests for
arrest warrants with affidavits from police officers. If
they choose nonetheless to provide the required oath for
an arrest warrant themselves, they are adequately pro-
tected by the same qualified immunity that covers police
officers who do the same thing. Prosecutors who act
responsibly should rarely, if ever, face lawsuits for that
conduct; and those few suits that are brought can be
easily resolved, as the factual and legal issues they pre-
sent will be narrow. Concern about such lawsuits should
cause little distraction to prosecutors who elect to per-
form a function that (at least theoretically) exposes them
to professional discipline, and even prosecution, for will-
ful malfeasance.

Permitting prosecutors to cause arrests based on no
“oath or affirmation” but their own, and then cloaking
their abuses of that power with absolute immunity,
would leave innocent citizens like Rodney Fletcher with-
out any legal remedy, even for the most egregious official
misconduct. The law has never allowed that and should
not be changed to allow it now.

S

ARGUMENT

I. THERE IS A PRESUMPTION IN FAVOR OF QUAL-
IFIED IMMUNITY AND AGAINST ABSOLUTE
IMMUNITY FOR OFFICIALS WHO VIOLATE
CIVIL RIGHTS.

The precedential framework in which this case arises
was well described by the opinion of the Court in Buckley
v. Fitzsimmons, 509 U.S. 259, 267-69 (1993):

The principles applied to determine the scope of
immunity for state officials sued under Rev.Stat.
§1979, as emended, 42 U.S.C. §1983 are by now
familiar. Section 1983, on its face admits of no
defense of official immunity. It subjects to lia-
bility “[e]very person” who, acting under color
of state law, commits the prohibited acts. In
Tenney v. Brandhove, 341 U.S. 367, 376, 71 S.Ct.
783, 788, 95 L.Ed. 1019 (1951), however, we held
that Congress did not intend §1983 to abrogate
immunities “well grounded in history and rea-
son.” Certain immunities were so well estab-
lished in 1871, when §1983 was enacted, that
“we presume that Congress would have speci-
fically so provided had it wished to abolish”
them. Pierson v. Ray, 386 U.S. 547, 554-555, 87
S.Ct. 1213, 1217-1218, 18 L.Ed.2d 288 (1967). See
also Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. 247,
258, 101 S.Ct. 2748, 2755, 69 L.Ed.2d 616 (1981).
Although we have found immunities in §1983
that do not appear on the face of the statute,
“[w]e do not have a license to establish immu-
nities from §1983 actions in the interests of what
we judge to be sound public policy.” Tower v.
Glover, 467 U.S. 914, 922-923, 104 S.Ct. 2820,
2826, 81 L.Ed.2d 758 (1984). “[O]ur role is to
interpret the intent of Congress in enacting

10

§1983, not to make a freewheeling policy
choice.” Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. 335, 342, 106
S.Ct. 1092, 1096, 89 L.Ed.2d 271 (1986).

Since Tenney, we have recognized two kinds
of immunities under §1983. Most public officials
are entitled only to qualified immunity. Harlow
v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 807, 102 S.Ct. 2727,
2732, 73 L.Ed.2d 396 (1982); Butz v. Economou,
438 U.S. 478, 508, 98 S.Ct. 2894, 2911, 57 L.Ed.2d
895 (1978). Under this form of immunity, gov-
ernment officials are not subject to damages lia-
bility for the performance of their discretionary
functions when “their conduct does not violate
clearly established statutory or constitutional
rights of which a reasonable person would have
known.” Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S., at 818,
102 S.Ct., at 2738. In most cases, qualified immu-
nity is sufficient to “protect officials who are
required to exercise their discretion and the
related public interest in encouraging the vig-
orous exercise of official authority.” Butz v. Econ-
omou, 438 U.S., at 506, 98 S.Ct., at 2911.

We have recognized, however, that some
officials perform “special functions” which,
because of their similarity to functions that
would have been immune when Congress
enacted §1983, deserve absolute protection from
damages liability. Id., at 508, 98 S.Ct., at 2911.
“(T]he official seeking absolute immunity bears
the burden of showing that such immunity is
justified for the function in question.” Burns v.
Reed, 500 U.S., at 486, 111 S.Ct., at 1939; Antoine
v. Byers & Anderson, Inc., 508 U.S. 429, 432, and
n. 4, 113 S.Ct. 2167, __, and n. 4, 124 L.Ed.2d
391 (1993). Even when we can identify a com-
mon-law tradition of absolute immunity for a

11

given function, we have considered “whether
§1983’s history or purposes nonetheless counsel
against recognizing the same immunity in §1983
actions.” Tower v. Glover, 467 U.S., at 920, 104
S.Ct., at 2825. Not surprisingly, we have been

“quite sparing” in recognizing absolute immu-
nity for state actors in this context. Forrester v.
White, 484 U.S. 219, 224, 108 S.Ct. 538, 542, 98
L.Ed.2d 555 (1988).

See also Wyatt v. Cole, 504 U.S. 158, 163-64 (1992).

“The presumption is that qualified rather than abso-
lute immunity is sufficient to protect government officials

in the exercise of their duties.” Burns v. Reed, 500 U.S. at
486-87 (internal quotation marks and citations omitted).
That presumption can be overcome only by a showing by
ihe official defendant that the conduct for which he seeks
immunity would have been privileged at common law in
1871, and that a grant of immunity would be consistent
with the purposes of §1983. “Thus, if application of the
principle is unclear, the defendant simply loses.” Buckley
v. Fitzsimmons, 509 U.S. at 281 (concurring opinion of
Justice Scalia).

Petitioner has failed utterly to overcome this pre-
sumption.

Il. PETITIONER WAS SUED FOR MAKING FALSE
STATEMENTS AS A COMPLAINING WITNESS
ON AN ARREST WARRANT AFFIDAVIT, NOT
FOR PERFORMING A PROSECUTORIAL FUNC-
TION.

“In determining whether particular actions of gov-
ernment officials fit within a common-law tradition of

12

absolute immunity, or only the more general standard of
qualified immunity, we have applied a ‘functional
approach,’ see, e.g., Burns, 500 U.S., at 486, 111 S.Ct., at
1939, which looks to ‘the nature of the function per-
formed, not the identity of the actor who performed it,’
Forrester v. White, 484 U.S., at 229, 108 S.Ct., at 545.”
Buckley v. Fitzsimmons, 509 U.S. at 269.

Petitioner Kalina performed more than one function
with respect to Rodney Fletcher’s prosecution and
arrest.2 One of her functions was clearly prosecutorial:
preparing and signing the Information by which Mr.
Fletcher was charged. See Imbler v. Pachtman, 424 U.S. 409,
431 (1996). That was not the function for which Mr.
Fletcher sued her, however; his Complaint contains no
allegations of misconduct with respect to the filing of the
charges against him. See Complaint, JA 4-6. Petitioner
Kalina was “sued under §1983 for false arrest,” Malley v.
Briggs, 475 U.S. at 340, not for malicious prosecution.

Nor does Mr. Fletcher’s Complaint allege that Ms.
Kalina acted improperly in requesting a warrant for his
arrest. It was not the request for a warrant that caused
Mr. Fletcher’s arrest - for if that request had been made
without Ms. Kalina’s false sworn statements, it would
have been denied, for the court could not have found
probable cause. See Giordenello v. United States, 357 U.S.
480, 485 (1958); State v. Klinker, 85 Wn.2d 509, 517, 537
P.2d 268 (1975). Mr. Fletcher’s Complaint thus focuses on
this one aspect of Petitioner Kalina’s conduct — the fact

? A prosecutor may perform more than one function in a
single case, some covered by qualified immunity and others not.
Burns v. Reed, 500 U.S. 478, 492 (1991).

13

that she made false statements under oath to cause his
arrest, JA 5-6 — because that is what harmed him. It was
with regard to this function, and this function only, the
courts below rejected Ms. Kalina’s claim of absolute
immunity: “we hold that a prosecutor is not absolutely
immune when preparing a declaration in support of an
arrest warrant.”° It is with regard to this function, not the
varieties of true prosecutorial conduct to which the Briefs
of Petitioner and her amici repeatedly refer,* this case
should be decided.

3 JA 26; see also JA 27 (“Kalina’s actions in writing, signing
and filing the declaration for an arrest warrant are virtually
identical » the police officer’s actions in Malley.”); JA 23
(“whether a state prosecutor who allegedly made false
statements in an affidavit supporting an application for a search
warrant should be accorded absolute immunity”); JA 28
(“Kalina is not absolutely immune for her actions in filing a
declaration for an arrest warrant.”).

* Petitioner's formulation of the Question Presented, which
refers generically to “the prosecutor’s conduct in causing an
arrest warrant to issue” (Pet. Brief i), reflects her discomfort in
discussing the specific form of “conduct” to which this lawsuit
and the decisions below were limited. The formulations by most
of her amici similarly obscure the issue, see Brief of the National
District Attorneys Association at i (“conduct in the function of

an arrest warrant”), Brief of the National Association
of Counties, Etc., at i (“conduct in seeking an arrest warrant”),
or attempt to completely change the subject, see Brief of the
United States as Amicus Curiae at I (“requesting the issuance of
an arrest warrant”). Petitioner’s arguments similarly steer away
from the specific conduct involved here, and toward more
general, prosecutorial activities such as “Requesting an Arrest
Warrant in Conjunction with the Filing of an Information,”
“Initiat(ing] Criminal Charges and Seek[ing] an Arrest
Werrant,” and “ for an Arrest Warrant to Insure that
the Defendant is Available for Trial.” Pet. Brief iv.

14

A. A Functional Analysis Focuses on the Nature of
the Challenged Conduct, Not its Purpose.

Petitioner’s evasions regarding the function for
which she was sued reflect the central problem with her
position in this appeal: “Kalina’s actions in writing, sign-
ing and filing the declaration for an arrest warrant are
virtually identical to the police officer’s actions in Mal-
ley.” JA 27. Since “it is the nature of the function per-
formed, not the identity of the actor who perform{s] it,
that inform[s] [the Court’s] immunity analysis,” Burns v.
Reed, 500 U.S. at 506 (concurring and dissenting opinion
of Justice Scalia), quoting Forrester v. White, 484 U.S. 219,
229 (1988), Malley controls this case unless Ms. Kalina’s
function can somehow be distinguished from Officer Mal-
ley’s.

Petitioner attempts to do this by asking this Court to
add a step to its “functional analysis” of immunity issues,
a step that would focus on “the nature and function of a
particular act, not on the act itself.” Pet. Brief at 20.
Rather than looking to “the function” of the act, Peti-
tioner’s test would look to “the function each actor per-
forms in the criminal justice system.” Id. at 22 (emphasis
added).

This Court has previously rejected this argument.
Buckley v. Fitzsimmons, supra. It has consistently held that
the scope of absolute immunity under §1983 depends on
“the nature of the function performed, not the identity of
the actor who performed it.” Forrester v. White, 484 U.S.

15

219, 229 (1988).5 Its “functional approach” focuses on
“conduct,”¢ not position or intent. Shifting the focus from
the function itself to the “function of the function” would
eviscerate functional analysis.

Focusing not on the conduct but on the actor’s inten-
tions in engaging in it would undermine the very pur-
pose of absolute immunity - avoiding inquiry into the
actor’s subjective intentions. See Mirales v. Waco, 502 U.S.
at 11; Mitchell v. Forsyth, 472 U.S. 511, 526 (1985). If a
prosecutor is immune when she swears out an affidavit
for an arrest warrant “to aid the trial court’s exercise of
personal jurisdiction over a charged defendant” (Pet.
Brief 20), what if it is alleged that was not her purpose?
What if it is claimed that her purpose was to harass the

° See Burns v. Reed, 500 U.S. at 495 (denying absolute
immunity to prosecutor performing function for which police
officers receive only qualified immunity); Buckley v.
Fitzsimmons, 509 U.S. at 273 (“[T]he actions of a prosecutor are
not absolutely immune merely because they are performed by a
prosecutor. . . . When a prosecutor performs ihe investigative
functions normally performed by a detective or police officer, it
is neither appropriate nor justifiable that, for the same act,
immunity should protect the one and not the other.”).

© Buckley v. Fitzsimmons, 509 U.S. at 271, 272. See id. at 270
(discussing Imbler v. Pachtman, regarding “initiating a
prosecution and presenting the state’s case,” and Burns v. Reed
regarding “giving legal advice to the police”); id. at 271 (quoting
Burns regarding “appearing before a judge and presenting
evidence”); see also, e.g., Antoine v. Byers & Anderson, Inc., 508
U.S. 429, 434 (1993) (“producing a ‘verbatim’ transcript of each
session of the court”); Mirales v. Waco, 502 U.S. 9, 13 (1991)
(“directing police officers to bring counsel to court”); Stump v.
Sparkman, 435 U.S. 349, 362 (1978) (“approv[ing] petitions
relating to the affairs of minors”).

16

person arrested, or to penalize him for refusing to cooper-
ate with the government, or to squeeze a confession from
him, or to permit police to conduct a warrantless search
of his person, or to settle some private score with him?
Either the court must conclusively presume that, because
the act was done by a prosecutor (rather than a police
officer)? its purpose is always proper and “judicial”
(thereby making the issue turn on “the identity of the
actor”) or it must permit inquiry into actual subjective
motivation, making the immunity no longer absolute.

Conversely, what if the prosecutor alleges that her
purpose in engaging in conduct that is not protected by
absolute immunity - holding a postindictment press con-
ference, for example - was to aid in the defendant's
apprehension to bring him before the court, or to attract
the attention of potential witnesses, or to inform victims
of the crime about developments in the case? In Buckley v.
Fitzsimmons, this Court did not let such subjective argu-
ments overcome the fact that the act of making out-of-
court press statements is not inherently prosecutorial,
and was not protected at common law. 509 U.S. at 276-77.
It should not do so here. Converting the “functional
approach” into an inquiry into motive or purpose would
make it totally unworkable.

Moreover, a subjective inquiry would not aid Peti-
tioner’s case, for there is no difference between the func-
tion or purpose of Ms. Kalina’s warrant request and

7 Additionally, of course, making the test for immunity turn
on “purpose” would beg the converse question of why absolute
immunity would not extend to police officers, or others, if their
intent was “prosecutorial”. See page 17, below.

ge gy

17

Officer Malley’s. As the Court of Appeals observed, Ms.
Kalina filed her arrest warrant affidavit along with a
felony infoi.nation; Officer Malley filed his along with a
felony complaint. JA 27 n.2. The purpose of both actions
was to bring the arrested person under court jurisdiction.
See Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. at 337. Indeed, no other
purpose could be claimed: except in unusual circum-
stances not presented here, arrests are justified only in
order to bring a person believed to have committed a
crime before the court to face charges. “Arrests for inves-
tigation” are as illegal in Washington as they are else-
where.® All arrest warrants in Washington, whether
obtained by police or by prosecutors, “command the
defendant be arrested and brought forthwith before the
court issuing the warrant.” Washington CrR 2.2(c).? Thus,
even if the “purpose” or “function” of an arrest were
controlling, there is no difference between this case and
Malley.

Malley differs from this case only in that the affiant
whose oath supported the arrest warrant was a deputy

8 State v. Ellison, 77 Wn.2d 874, 877, 467 P.2d 839 (1970); see
Bowling v. United States, 350 F.2d 1002, 1003 (D.C. Cir. 1965);
Gatlin v. United States, 326 F.2d 666, 670-71 (D.C. Cir. 1963);
Simpson v. United States, 346 F.2d 291, 293 (10th Cir. 1965).

% Accord, Washington Crim. Rule for Courts of Limited
Jurisdiction 2.2(c). See also RCW 10.31.030 (requiring an officer
making an arrest under warrant to take the arrested “person
directly and without delay before a judge or before an officer
authorized to take the recognizance. . . . ”). Even persons
arrested without warrants must be taken to court as soon as
practicable. See Wash. CrR 3.2B(a)(1); Wash. CrRLJ 3.2.1; County
of Riverside v. McLaughlin, 500 U.S. 44 (1991).

18

prosecuting attorney rather than a police officer. JA 27.!°
Because that does not change the analysis, Petitioner’s
claim of absolute immunity must be rejected, just as was
Officer Malley’s.

10 Neither can Malley sensibly be distinguished from this
case on the ground that Malley involved conduct occurring prior
to the “judicial phase” of the case, as Petitioner and some of her
amici alternatively suggest. See Pet. Brief 18-19; Brief of
Maryland et al. at 4-5. For one thing, the idea that there is such a
conclusive demarcation was squarely rejected in Buckley, by the
Court’s unanimous denial of absolute immunity to
postindictment press statements. Buckley v. Fitzsimmons, 509
U.S. 278, 279, 282. Moreover, both this case and Malley sit right
on the line, not on one side of it or the other. Officer Malley, just
like Ms. Kalina, submitted an affidavit and other documents to a
judge, who signed the arrest warrant. Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S.
at 335. Officer Malley’s other documents included “felony
complaints”; Ms. Kalina’s included an Information. There may
(or may not) be a difference between those species of documents
with respect to the Sixth Amendment question of whether a
“criminal prosecution” had begun; but there is none which
affects the Fourth Amendment right to a warrant and probable
cause. Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103 (1975). Nor can it make a
difference that Ms. Kalina made a “prosecutorial”
determination of probable cause (as opposed to Officer Malley’s
police determination). See Pet. Br. 21-22. To so contend ignores
the Fourth Amendment's requirement of warrants issued by
neutral magistrates rather than prosecutors, Coolidge v. New
Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443 (1971); State v. Klinker, 84 Wn.2d 516-19.
It also runs contrary to the sensible common law rule that
immunities cannot be conferred on oneself by one’s own legal
advice. Epstein v. Berkowsky, 64 Ill. App. 498 (1896).

19

B. Swearing Out Arrest Warrant Affidavits is not a
Prosecutorial Function.

This Court has heretofore granted absolute immunity
only to purely prosecutorial functions such as “initiating
a prosecution and in presenting the State’s case,” Imbler v.
Pachtman, 424 U.S. at 431, or “appearing before a judge
and presenting evidence” from law enforcement officers
in a hearing on an application for a search warrant, Burns
v. Reed, 500 U.S. at 491. “Those actions clearly involve the
prosecutor’s role as advocate for the State... . ” Ibid.

Swearing to facts in an arrest warrant affidavit is neither
advocacy nor a traditional prosecutorial function. Even with
the greatly expanded power and prerogative most jurisdic-
tions give prosecutors in modern practice, prosecutors gener-
ally do not take on the role of complaining witnesses.
Washington prosecutors’ common, informal practice of tak-
ing this role appears to be a historical and professional
aberration. Providing oaths for warrants does not appear in
descriptions of the function of the office of public prosecu-
tor.'! As the Solicitor General’s Brief acknowledges, “federal
prosecutors typically do not personally attest to the facts
in . . . an affidavit filed in support of an application for an
arrest warrant. ...” Brief of the United States as Amicus
Curiae at 7. Neither do prosecutors in most other states, as
far as we can determine.!?

11 See, e.g., Misner, Recasting Prosecutorial Discretion, 86 J.
Crm. Law & Crimino.ocy 717, 728-763 (1996); ABA Standards for
Criminal Justice, The Prosecution Function (3d ed. 1993).

122 Our own informal (and admittedly incomplete) survey
has identified only one other state - Nebraska - where
prosecutors routinely take on this role. If there were many

20

This function is not even officially assigned to prose-
cutors by Washington law. Ms. Kalina’s “Certification”
was submitted pursuant to Washington Criminal Rule
2.2(a), which does not require, or even suggest, that the
“complainant” whose oath must support an arrest war-
rant should be a prosecutor.!> As the panel opinion noted,
under Washington law the certification could as easily
have been signed by “a police officer or complaining
witness”.!4 In fact, ironically, Ms. Kalina’s certification
was accompanied by a sworn police report (JA 17); but
that police report did not make out probable cause,
because, unlike Ms. Kalina’s certification, it did not mis-
state facts.

The law does not assign the role of complaining
witness to prosecutors because the role of a witness is to
tell the truth, not to advocate. Washington law is ‘consis-
tent with this: contrary to Petitioner’s characterization, it
does not consider sworn statements “pleadings”,!5 and

others, we assume that would have been mentioned in one of
the briefs of Petitioner’s many prosecutor/amici.

13 Even King County Local Rule 2.2, which Petitioner cites
(Pet. Brief 5) does not equate the prosecutor’s summary of the
facts with a warrant affidavit, or require that it be sworn. See
Pet. Brief 14a.

44 JA 27. The panel consisted of Senior Judge Eugene
Wright, who wrote the opinion, and Judges Robert Beezer and
Diarmuid O’Scannlain. Judges Wright and Beezer are from
Washington State; Judge Wright is a former Washington
Superior Court Judge. Accord, Ferguson, Washington Criminal
Practice and Procedure § 2745 at 39 (1984) (“[T]he person [must]
be legally qualified as a witness”).

15 See Pet. Brief 5-7; but see Brady v. Yount, 42 Wn.2d 697,
699, 258 P.2d 458 (1953) (“An affidavit is not a pleading... ”).

21

generally does not let lawyers testify and argue in the
same proceeding. Washington Rule of Professional Con-
duct 3.7. Nor can the role of a witness be characterized as
“quasi judicial”, or an occasion for the exercise of discre-
tion. Judges cannot testify in hearings over which they
preside,’ and a complaining witness has no discretion to
do other than tell the truth in the “oath or affirmation”
she provides. Where there is no discretion there is no
justification for absolute immunity. Antoine v. Byers &
Anderson, Inc., 508 U.S. at 436. There is no historical or
institutional reason to shield with absolute immunity
complaining witnesses who fail to do their legal duty to
tell the truth under oath, just because those witnesses
happen also to be deputy prosecutors.

Ill. COMPLAINING WITNESSES WHO MAKE
FALSE STATEMENTS IN ARREST WARRANT
AFFIDAVITS HAVE NEVER BEEN GIVEN ABSO-
LUTE IMMUNITY. P

Ever since the Fourth Amendment was enacted to
require an “oath or affirmation” supporting probable
cause to arrest, persons who supplied that oath falsely
and maliciously have been answerable in damages. Noth-
ing in this Court’s §1983 case law holds otherwise, as to
prosecutors or anyone else.

Washington law provides specifically that “[n]o pleading other
than an .. . information” is required to bring a felony charge.
RCW 10.37.010.

16 See State ex rel. Carroll v. Junker, 79 Wa.2d 12, 21, 482 P.2d
775 (1971); Washington Rule of Evidence 605.

22

A. The Common Law.

“[Cjomplaining witnesses were not absolutely
immune at common law. In 1871, the generally accepted
rule was that one who procured the issuance of an arrest
warrant by submitting a complaint could be held liable if
the complaint was made maliciously and without proba-
ble cause. Given malice and the lack of probable cause,
the complainant enjoyed no immunity.” Malley v. Briggs,
475 U.S. at 340-41 (footnote omitted).

There were no exceptions to this rule for public pros-
ecutors in 1871. “Indeed, as [the Court has] . . . previously
recognized, see Imbler v. Pachtman, 424 U.S. 409, 421, 96
S.Ct. 984, 990, 47 L.Ed.2d 128 (1976), the first case extend-
ing any form of prosecutorial immunity was decided
some 25 years after the enactment of §1983.” Burns v.
Reed, 500 U.S. at 499 (concurring and dissenting opinion
of Justice Scalia) (original emphasis).'”

That “first case,” Griffith v. Slinkard, 44 N.E.1001 (Ind.
1896), rested on the idea that a prosecutor is “a judicial
officer” who could not be held liable for “his own judg-
ment” or any “judicial determination, however erroneous
it may be, and however malicious the motive which pro-
duced it.” Id. at 1003. Cases that followed Griffith rested

17 Although the common law cases cited in Malley (id. at 341
n.3) did not involve public prosecutors (an office that hardly
existed at the time), they did involve private “prosecutors”, and
often referred to the defendants as such. See, e.g., Dinsman ov.
Wilkes, 53 U.S. 399, 402 (1852), quoting 3 W. Blackstone
Commentaries 126 (1765); Randall v. Henry, 5 Stew. & P. 367,
375-380 (Ala. 1834), and cases there cited.

23

on similar grounds.’* Only one of these early cases
involved a prosecutor who, like Petitioner, was sued for
allegedly making “false representations induced a judge
to issue a warrant of arrest.” Leong Yau v. Carden, 23
Hawaii 362, 364 (1916). While recognizing the general
rule that a public prosecutor “cannot be called upon to
respond in damages for the honest exercise of his judg-
ment within his jurisdiction,” the court in Leong Yau
refused to extend absolute “judicial” immunity to that
case. Id. at 364-5.'9

Thus, as Malley held, there was no settled “immunity
at common law that Congress intended to incorporate in
the Civil Rights Act,” Wyatt v. Cole, 504 U.S. 158, 164
(1992), for wrongful arrests caused by false oaths or affir-
mations. Nor were there other categories of common-law
immunity which would likely have extended to such

18 See Smith v. Parman, 165 Pac. 663 (Kan. 1917) (“The public
prosecutor, in deciding whether a particular prosecution shall
be instituted or followed up, performs much the same function
as a grand jury”); Watts v. Gerking, 228 Pac. 135, 139 (Ore. 1924)
(prosecuting attorneys “like grand jurors, . . . are vested with
some discretion and judgment,” and are therefore immune from
suit for filing criminal charges without probable cause); Yaselli v.
Goff, 12 F.2d 396, 404 (2d Cir. 1926), affirmed 275 U.S. 503 (1927)
(“the public prosecutor, in deciding whether a particular
prosecution shall be instituted or followed up, performs much
the same function as a grand jury”). See also Kendall v. Stokes, 44
U.S. 87, 98 (1845) (“a public officer is not liable to an action . . . in
relation to which it is his duty to exercise judgment and
discretion”).

? Cf. Schneider v. Sheperd, 192 Mich. 82, 158 N.W. 182, 184
(1916) (prosecutor “was not entitled to the immunity of a quasi-

judicial officer” for “instigating the arrest of the plaintiff”
without a warrant or probable cause).

24

conduct by a prosecutor, had the case arisen. See Burns v.
Reed, 500 U.S. at 499 (concurring and dissenting opinion
of Justice Scalia). Commor law “judicial immunity”
would not apply to such conduct (as it would to the
decision to prosecute itself) because it involves “no adju-
dication of rights.” Id. at 504. Nor would the absolute
immunity from defamation claims based on statements in
judicial proceedings - for the common law universally
allowed such suits for malicious prosecution or false
arrest against “complaining witnesses who . . . set the
wheels of government in motion by instigating a legal
action”, Wyat: v. Cole, 504 U.S. at 164-65, even though
those same witnesses could not be sued for defamation in
their testimony or arguments at trial. At best, such com-
plaining witnesses could claim “quasi-judicial” immu-
nities; but such immunities were qualified, not absolute.
See Burns v. Reed, 500 U.S. 500 (concurring and dissenting
opinion of Justice Scalia). That is what Malley extended to
police officers who take on that role; and that is what the
courts below granted Petitioner. She would have received
no more at common law.

B. This Court’s Cases.

This Court’s modern decisions regarding absolute
immunity from suit under §1983 have been consistent
with the common law in this respect. Although the Court
has granted public prosecutors broader immunity than
they were afforded by any decision prior to , it has
never granted absolute immunity from suit for rights
violations that would have been actionable/ then.

25

Imbler v. Pachtman “h{e}id only that in initiating a pros-
ecution and presenting the State’s case, the prosecutor is
immune from a civil suit for damages under §1983”, and
granted absolute immunity to a prosecutor’s “decision to
initiate a prosecution” and the exercise of “discretion in the
conduct of the trial and the presentation of evidence.” 424
US. at 431, 421, 426. In so doing, it drew on two well
established lines of common law immunity, judicial?° immu-
nity, and the immunity of lawyers from suits for defamation
for “courtroom statement(s]” and “briefs and pleadings.”?"
In Burns v. Reed, the Court applied the immunity established
in Imbler to the questioning of a police witness at a pretrial
hearing on a search warrant application - an action which,
like questioning witnesses at a trial, “clearly involve[d] the
prose *:tor’s role as an advocate for the State... . ” 500 US.
at 49;.

20 “(Aji three officials — judge, grand juror, and prosecutor
- exercise a discretionary judgment on the basis of evidence
presented to them.” 424 U.S. at 423 n.20. “A prosecutor is duty
bound to exercise his best judgment both in deciding which
suits to bring and in conducting them in court.” Id. at 424. “[A]
prosecutor inevitably makes many decisions that could
engender colorable claims of constitutional deprivation.” Id. at
425. “A prosecutor often must decide . . . whether to proceed to
trial where there is a sharp conflict in the evidence.” Id. at 426
n.24. “A prosecuting attorney is required, constantly . . . to make
decisions on a wide variety of sensitive issues.” Id. at 431 n.33.

21 Id. at 426 n.23. As the Court recognized in Imbler, the
common law defamation immunity extended to witnesses as
well as lawyers, see Briscoe v. LaHue, 460 U.S. 325 (1983), and to
private as well as public counsel. Yet the Court has not accorded
any immunity to private lawyers, or private individuals, who
instigate legal actions under color of state law. Wyatt v. Cole,
supra.

26

Neither of these decisions eliminated from the “spe-
cies of tort liability” created by Congress in §1983, Imbler
v. Pachtman, 424 U.S. at 417, a cause of action relating to
the violation of civil rights that was clearly recognized at
common law. In other cases, the Court has taken pains to
preserve those causes of action. Malley did so with regard
to suits for the false procurement of arrest warrants by
police officers, in recognition of their deep common law
roots. Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. at 340-343. Buckley v.
Fitzsimmons did so with regard to out-of-court defama-
tory statements and the pretrial fabrication of evidence,
functions it found lay outside a prosecutor’s traditionally
recognized “role as an advocate for the State.” 509 US. at
273.

In sum, the Court’s decisions in this area are true to
Congress’ language and presumed intent in enacting
§1983. With few if any exceptions, every person acting
under color of state law who causes another to be
deprived of constitutional rights, through conduct that
was civilly actionable in 1871, is subject to suit under this
federal law. Petitioner would have this Court change that.
There is no justification in history or precedent for doing

C. The Decisions of Lower Federal Courts.

Neither is it true, as Petitioner and her amici claim,
that the lower federal courts are in disagreement over the
issue presented here, and the decision below is aberra-
tional. In fact, all but one of the cases that have consid-
ered the specific conduct for which Petitioner was sued -
swearing an oath in support of an arrest warrant - have

27

reached the same conclusion as the courts below: that
such conduct is covered by qualified, rather than abso-
lute, immunity, whatever official engages in it.

Most of the lower court cases Petitioner cites
involved different kinds of conduct - truly prosecutorial,
advocative functions like those at issue in Imbler and
Burns. Typically, the claims in those cases involved chal-
lenges to decisions to file charges or seek warrants, or to
the presentation of the testimony of witnesses.22 Where,
as here, the claim is that the prosecutor himself acted as
the witness and swore falsely, most courts have found, as
did the court below, that the case is directly controlled by

22 See, e.g., Joseph v. Patterson, 795 F.2d 549, 555 (6th Cir.
1986) (absolute immunity for obtaining criminal complaints and
arrest warrants based on allegedly false statements from a
witness; “[t}he decision to file a criminal complaint and seek
issuance of an arrest warrant are quasi-judicial duties”); Lerwill
v. Joslin, 712 F.2d 435, 437-38 (10th Cir. 1983) (absolute immunity
for “acting as an advocate for the State,” “present[ing} . . .
arguments to a justice of the peace,” and “seeking a warrant
for . . . arrest”); Erlich v. Giuliani, 910 F.2d 1220, 1224 (4th Cir.
1990) (absolute immunity for preparing a seizure warrant);
Schrob v. Catterson, 948 F.2d 1402, 1413, 1417 (3rd Cir. 1991)
(absolute immunity for “the preparation of an application for
the search warrant” and for allegedly false statement in
colloquy during warrant application, citing “lawyers{’] . . .
absolute immunity at common law for making false and
defamatory statements in judicial proceedings”); Pefla v. Mattox,
84 F.3d 894, 896 (7th Cir. 1996) (absolute immunity for “drafting
or authorization of . . . criminal complaint [signed by the alleged
victim’s father] . . . procuring of the warrant” and requesting
bail increases and punishment conditions); Pinaud v. County of
Suffolk, 52 F.3d 1139, 1149 (2d Cir. 1995) (absolute immunity for
various alleged acts, including “misrepresentations,” but no
allegation of false swearing or procurement of an arrest).

28

Malley. In Kohl v. Casson, 5 F.3d 1141 (8th Cir. 1993), the
court agreed that a prosecutor is absolutely immune for
appearing before a judicial officer to present evidence or
argue the law in support of an arrest warrant, but none-
theless held:

[W]Jhere the prosecutor switches functions from
presenting the testimony of others to vouching,
of his own accord, for the truth of the affidavits
presented to the judicial officer, the prosecutor
loses the protection of absolute immunity and
enjoys only qualified immunity, just as the
police officer was held to have in Malley.

5 F.3d at 1146. Similarly, in Ireland v. Tunis, __ F.3d __
1997 WESTLAW 250434 (6th Cir., May 15, 1997), the court
gave absolute immunity to prosecutors’ decisign to seek
an arrest warrant, and their conduct in doing so - but
refused to extend that immunity to the swearing out of
warrant affidavits.

[W]hen a prosecutor or other official switches
from presenting “ oe peng rl se
vouching personall truth o con

of the document, oo believe the protection
afforded by absolute immunity must give way
to a qualified immunity inquiry. . . . Absolute
immunity at common law did not extend to
complaining witnesses who “set the wheels of
government in motion by instigating a legal
action.” Wyatt v. Cole, 504 U.S. 158, 164-65, 112
S.Ct. 1827, 118 L.Ed.2d 504 (1992)f see also Mal-
ley, 475 U.S. at 340-41, 342 (“We do not find a
comparable [common-law] tradition of absolute
immunity for one whose complaint causes a
warrant to issue”; “the generally accepted rule

29

was that one who procured the issuance of an
arrest warrant by submitting a complaint could
be held liable if the complaint was made mali-
ciously and without probable cause.” (footnote
omitted)). In Malley, the Supreme Court
observed that the action of an “officer applying
for a warrant . . . while a vital part of the
administration of criminal justice, is further
removed from the judicial phase of criminal pro-
ceedings than the act of a prosecutor in seeking
an indictment.” Malley, 475 U.S. at 342-43. For
these reasons, we believe that the only level of
protection from suit that is potentially available
when an official vouches for the truth of the
contents of a criminal complaint is qualified
immunity.

Id. at *12 (footnote and citations omitted).

The only contrary Circuit decision is the one that
brought this case here, Roberts v. Kling, 104 F.3d 316 (10th
Cir. 1997). Ironically, Roberts (like Ireland) involved not a
prosecutor but “an investigator for the district attorney's
office”. 104 F.3d at 318. The Court in Roberts nonetheless
found the case distinguishable from Malley, saying “the
policy decisions underlying a grant of immunity focus on
the function or role an individual fulfills in performing
certain acts, not on the acts alone” (104 F.3d at 321),
without ever identifying any respect in which the defen-
dant investigator’s actions, or their function, differed
from those of the defendant police officer in Malley. It is
Roberts, not this case, that is confused and inconsistent
with this Court’s precedents.

30

IV. THERE IS NO GOOD REASON TO EXTEND
ABSOLUTE IMMUNITY TO PROSECUTORS
WHO ACT AS COMPLAINING WITNESSES.

This Court has repeatedly said that the scope of
absolute immunity from civil rights suits is not subject to
“freewheeling policy choice[s].” Buckley v. Fitzsimmons,
509 U.S. at 268; quoting Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. at 342.
See Wyatt v. Cole, 504 U.S. at 170 (concurring opinion of
Justice Kennedy). Despite that, Petitioner and her fellow
prosecutor/amici repeatedly raise the specter of crippled
law enforcement in the hope of persuading the Court to
expand their power to incarcerate citizens without fear of
legal recourse.* At best, their arguments appear to be
based in a misunderstanding, or a distrust, of the narrow
scope of the decisions below. At worst, they are seriously
exaggerated. There are many answers to their purported
concerns.

1. The most obvious reason the decision below
poses no threat to prosecutors is that there is no need for
prosecutors to act as complaining witnesses, and few do.
As the Solicitor General acknowledges, “federal prosecu-
tors typically do not personally attest to the facts set forth
in a complaint . . . or in an affidavit filed in support of an
application for an arrest warrant... .” Brief for the
United States as Amicus Curiae at 7. Neither do prosecu-
tors in most jurisdictions, as far as we can ascertain. See
note 12, above. Even Washington law does not require

23 See Petitioner's Brief at 25-29; Brief for the United States
as Amicus Curiae at 21-24); Brief of the Washington Counties at
10-13; Brief of National District Attorneys Association at 9-10;
Brief of National Association of Counties, et al., at 20-27.

31

this function to be performed by a prosecutor. See page
20-21, above; JA 27.

There is no legal reason that prosecutors cannot leave
this function to the police, who have traditionally per-
formed it. It would not even constitute a serious adminis-
trative inconvenience for them to do so: As the record
here demonstrates (see note 1, above), sworn police
reports are routinely available to prosecutors, and can
themselves be easily submitted to the court for its inde-
pendent review. Utilizing police reports thus carries little
if any cost, preserves intact the prosecutor’s absolute
immunity, and has the beneficial effect of reducing the
chance of error through miscommunication and provid-
ing the innocent citizen with legal recourse in the event of
knowing falsehood. That is a far cry from the doomsday
scenario portrayed by Petitioner and some of her amici.

2. Prosecutors who for some reason don’t wish to
rely on the police can still avoid liability by utilizing a
summons procedure such as that authorized by Wash.
CrR 2.2(b), rather than an arrest warrant, to obtain juris-
diction over a criminal defendant. Although the law on
this is not settled, it appears that allegations of abuse of
the summons process do not support a claim under
§1983. Albright v. Oliver, 510 U.S. 266 (1994).

3. Even if prosecutors choose to have defendants
arrested and to act as the complaining witnesses, their
amenability to lawsuits for abuses in that role should
cause little distraction from their duties. Unlike a lawsuit
which challenges a charging decision or the conduct of a
trial, a lawsuit alleging false statements in an arrest war-
rant affidavit is, by its nature, focused and specific; such

32

suits pose scant threat of becoming “a virtual retrial of
the criminal offense in a new forum. ... ” Imbler vo.
Pachtman, 424 U.S. at 425.

Nor are such lawsuits likely to be common, if prose-
cutors act responsibly. The experience in Washington
state, where prosecutors have prepared certificates of
probable cause for decades (see Brief of 39 Washington
Counties at 2-3), bears this out: this is the only such case
ever reported. Nationally, there is only one other reported
case (Kohl) involving a prosecuting attorney‘ sued feder-
ally for performing this function.

It is inconceivable that such an attenuated threat of a
lawsuit — a lawsuit in which they will enjoy the protection
of qualified immunity - will significantly impede or dis-
tract prosecutors who choose to expose themselves to that
threat by performing this function. That is particularly so
because the function at least theoretically carries with it
the potential penalty of perjury, and disciplinary action®
- in addition to the risk of losing a case and freeing a
guilty defendant - for knowing abuse. It is simply not
credible to argue that fear of lawsuits like this one justi-
fies an exception to the usual assumption that qualified
immunity provides ample protection for conscientious
officials. See Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. at 341.

24 The other two reported federal decisions addressing this
issue, Roberts and Ireland, involved prosecutors’ investigators.
See page 29, above.

25 See RCW 9A.72.040 (false swearing); Washington Rule of
Professional Conduct 3.3 (candor toward tribunals).

33

4. On the other hand, extending absolute immunity
to prosecutors who take on the role of witnesses, as well
as advocates, would set a truly dangerous precedent for
citizens. It would give innocent people who are wrong-
fully seized and jailed no realistic legal recourse,26 for
even flagrant abuses of power. In principle, it seems a
huge risk of freedom to give executive officials the power
both to state the facts as a witness and to argue the law as

7° The arguments of Petitioner’s amici regarding the
efficacy of other methods of control of prosecutorial abuses (e.¢.,
Brief of the United States at 23-4, Brief of the National
Association of Counties at 24) blink reality. The reality is
reflected in this case: although Ms. Kalina plainly made false
statements under oath in a document filed with the court, she
has been subjected to no discipline and the responsible
prosecuting attorney’s office (her own) is defending her, not
prosecuting her. That is hardly sugprising. We have not found a
single reported Washington case of bar discipline or criminal
prosecution for acts of prosecutorial misconduct.

Moreover, it is worth noting that the differences between
prosecutors, private lawyers, and police, with regard to
professional regulation, see Imbler v. Pachtgnan, 424 U.S. at 429
n.30, have narrowed in the decades since Imbler. Private lawyers
are no less subject to bar discipline, and court sanctions, than
are prosecutors, and are certainly more likely to be prosecuted
for criminal conduct in relation to their practices; but they are
afforded no immunity from Section 1983 liability at all. Wyatt v.
Cole, supra. In recent years police officers have commonly
become subject to administrative review and discipline as well.
See Seattle Police Department Manual of Policies and
Procedures § 1.09; “Citizen Review of the Police, 1994: A
National Survey,” Police Executive Research Forum, January,
1995. Yet, under Malley, they are entitled only to qualified
immunity for the conduct engaged in by Petitioner here.

34

an advocate for revocation of a citizen’s liberty,” and
exempt them from liability for any manner of abuse in so
doing. It surely does not counsel in favor of taking that
risk that, in fact, this unchecked power would be given to
some 2,350 prosecutors’ offices nationwide, staffed by
untold thousands of overworked and undersupervised
government lawyers. See Brief of National District Attor-

neys Association at 9-10.

Certainly, there is no reason to believe that was the
policy choice of the Congress of 1871. Its choice was to
provide citizens like Rodney Fletcher legal recourse
against “every person” who caused them to be denied
their constitutional rights under color of state law. Nei-
ther precedent nor policy justifies an exception to that
rule here.

27 See generally Y. Feofanov, Pourncs aNnp Justice In Russia:
Major TRIALS OF THE Post Stauiw Era (Barry Trans. 1996).

35

CONCLUSION
The decisions below should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

*Tovotny K. Forp

Rosert S. MAHLER

Dante, Hoyt Smrry
MacDonatp, Hoacue & BAyLess
705 2nd Avenue, Suite 1500
Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 622-1604

Brapy R. JOHNSON
123 N.W. 36th Street, Suite 240
Seattle, WA 98107

(206) 548-9050

Attorneys for Respondent
"Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0035%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
