# Amicus Curiae Brief — Arkansas Ed. Television Comm'n v. Forbes

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0034%3A21

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 523 U.S. 666

## Text

a

“A

7 BEST AVAILABLE

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

ARKANSAS EDUCATIONAL TELEVISION COMMISSION,
Petitioner,

Vv.

RALPH P. FORBES,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE BRENNAN CENTER FOR
JUSTICE AT NEW YORK UNIVERSITY SCHOOL
OF LAW AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT
OF RESPONDENT

PHILIP ALLEN LACOVARA
Counsel of Record
Mayer, Brown & Platt
1675 Broadway
New York, New York 10019
(212) 506-2585

a Se ER a ER

—~y ER . ‘ . . > pee
OP} og’ tbe)’ Ga
m4 i pa Ade on : sf ¢

'

hae F

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Pages

Cases
Anderson v. Celebrezze, 460 U.S. 780 (1983) ....... 13
Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976) .......... 2, 4, 21
CBS, Inc. v. FCC, 453 U.S. 367 (1981) ........... 9
ous 750 (1988) ee oe 15
Coates v. City of Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611 (1971).... 15
SUS BOS 15
Freedman v. Maryland, 380 U.S. 51 (1965) ........ 15

FW/PBS, Inc. v. City of Dallas, 493 U.S. 215 (1990) . 15

Illinois State Bd. of Elections v.
Socialist Workers Party, 440 U.S. 173 (1979) .... 13

International $h¢ Krishna Consciousness, Inc.

v. Lee, 505 ERG du dibs 350 Or5 Ons 10
Lee v. International Soc Krishna

Consciousness, ine 308 US 830 (1992) ........ 10
Reno v. ACLU, US. No. 96-511

(June 26, 1997) ...772 he Culaia Seka 10, 15

v. Rectors and Visitors of the

Univ. of Va., 515 U.S. 819,

EID BR Bema cvs cece cbc awe Guin 8, 9, 12
Smith v. Goguen, 415 U.S. 566 (1974) ........... 15

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
Pages
, Cities Area New
Timmons 9 Win NF GL SCA ISN) 13, 14
Tamer Pret i Inc. v. FCC,

512 U.S. 622 opp fe FEE 4
Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263 (1981) .......---- 9
Williams v. Rhodes, 393 U.S. 23 (1968) ......--->- 3
Statutes
11 CFR. $110.13 2... 2. cece eee eee eee eens 16

Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-3-101, 6-3-102, 25-16-804(b)(1) .. 8

Miscellaneous
LAURENCE H., AMERICAN CONSTITUTIONAL -
LAW (2d ed. 1988) ..... 1. eee eee eee eees

He |
RT
TATE

=

* Supreme Court Rule 37.6 Statement: No counsel for a party
authored this brief in whole or in part, and no person or entity
other than the amicus curiae or its counsel, ma<> a monetary

contribution to the preparation or submission of this briet.

presented with the request by candidate Forbes to participate

happen to satisfy the bare minimum qualifications for access
to the ballot. The First Amendment does permit a government
agency to fashion legitimate, viewpoint-neutral, and objective
criteria to make the allocation decisions that may be necessary

- - - >|
a ee eee ee ee

_

to a place on the ballot. Williams v.
1968).

television station acts both as a First Amendment speaker
itself and as the creator of an important public forum for the
speech of others. If the public broadcast station is viewed
solely as a First Amendment speaker, the broadcaster would
be entitled to exercise virtually unlimited discretion to
determine which candidates are invited to participate in a
debate. If, on the other hand, the public broadcaster is viewed
solely as a conduit for the speech of the candidates, the
broadcaster would become subject to “public forum” doctrine
requiring government to provide equal access to all
candidate/speakers, even when such equal access would

The Brennan Center submits that the level of choice open
to a public broadcaster in such a setting should reflect both its
role as a First Amendment speaker and its public forum role
as a neutral “gatekeeper” for the speech of others. See
generally Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. v. FCC, 512 U.S.
622 (1994).

At a minimum, such a government speaker/gatekeeper
must operate pursuant to preexisting, objective rules setting
forth criteria for participating in such a debate. Resort to

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

correctly rejected the Network’ ;
S$ arguments asserting virtually

6

2. The Network’s reliance on an essentially subjective
and ad hoc approach to distinguishing among candidates —
their relative “newsworthiness” — fails to pass constitutional
muster. The First Amendment requires more careful and more
verifiable standards for making that decision. Those standards
must be clear, viewpoint-neutral, objective, and pre-
established.

Since the Network here had failed to adopt
permissible, objective criteria when it decided to sponsor
debates, it was compelled to rely on ad hoc and subjective
evaluations once candidate Forbes sought to participate. The
court of appeals ruled properly that the Network’s resort to
standard.

In this case, the Network excluded Mr. Forbes under a
purely subjective, ad hoc standard that impermissibly favored
Democrats and Republicans over all other candidates. The
Network automatically afforded major party candidates access
to the debates, regardless of their level of support in the
community. J.A. 133-37. Thus, the Network apparently
invited a Republican candidate to a debate, despite his having
raised less money and demonstrated less public support than
Mr. Forbes. J.A. 133-34, 175. Moreover, the Network
disregarded Mr. Forbes, despite his having received 46 percent
of the vote in a statewide three-candidate Republican Primary
race for the Lieutenant Governor in the 1990 election cycle.
J.A. 149-54. The Network’s failure to operate pursuant to
pre-existing objective standards, and its bias in favor of the
major parties, rendered its gatekeeping decisions
a Se es ae
should be

3. Nevertheless, the Eighth Circuit went too far in
appearing to impose an unadorned ballot-certification standard
as the sole measure for inclusion in a government-sponsored
candidate debate. The Eighth Circuit’s blanket rule fails to

I. THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT CORRECTLY REJECTED

for the chosen candidates to speak to the television audience,
the Network hoped to increase voter interest in the election,
and to make the views of those candidates more widely known
and understood. There is nothing nefarious about those goals
— indeed, they are praiseworthy. Make no mistake, though:

this was no mere news show.

This dispute challenges a government body’s decision to
play a significant role in the electoral process, and to favor
some candidates over others in doing so. It should be judged
by constitutional standards that must guide government action,
not by inapplicable concepts of “newsworthiness” and editorial
autonomy.

2. The Network in effect seeks an exemption from the
normal constitutional standards applicable to government
bodies, simply because it has undertaken to perform functions
so easily blink away the undeniable and
crucial fact that it is a state actor and thus is subject to
constitutional constraints that do not bind editors and

publishers working in the private sector.

The Network concedes that it “is an agency of the State
of Arkansas” and that its operations are under the control of
a board of directors all of whose members are appointed by
the Governor of Arkansas with the advice and consent of the
State Senate. See Pet. Br. at 6, citing Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-3-
101, 6-3-102, 25-16-804(b)(1). Thus, it is apt to recall here
what the Court observed in applying the First Amendment to
the resource allocations structured by the University of
Virginia in Rosenberger v. Rectors and Visitors of the Univ.
of Va., 515 U.S. 819, __, 115 S.Ct. 2510, 2513 (1995): As
“an instrumentality of the” State, the Network is “thus bound
by the First and Fourteenth Amendments.”

Moreover, the Network also blurs important constitutional
distinctions in claiming the same right to editorial autonomy
enjoyed by private broadcasters — or even by “public”

9

stations operated by non-governmental not-for-profit
corporations. The crucial distinction is between the State as
speaker and the State as regulator of the opportunities of
others to speak.

The Court carefully drew this distinction in ;
Pointing to such cases as Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263
(1981), the Court explained that, “when the State is the
speaker, it may make content-based choices” and may
“regulate the content of what is or is not expressed when it is
the speaker or when it enlists private entities to convey its
own message.” 115 S. Ct. at 2518 (emphasis added). The
Court then warned unambiguously, however, that it “does not
follow” that a state agency has the same autonomy when the
government “instead expends funds to encourage a diversity
of views from private speakers.” Id. at 2519.

The Network obscures the point by asserting, in reliance
on a decision involving a privately owned broadcast system,
that the “property here is a broadcast station, whose

share the opportunity that the Network was extending to other
speakers, the competing candidates, to face the voters directly
in trying to persuade them to support a particular candidate’ s
election.

Thus, there is no need to determine more broadly whether
a state-operated television station is generally a public forum

agency elected to open up its facilities to some speakers

the undeniable purpose of allowing them, in a debate format,
to address the viewing public. Under any of the approaches
expressed in various opinions in cases such as International
Soc'y for Krishna Consciousness, Inc. v. Lee, 505 U.S. 672
(1992), and Lee v. International Soc'y for Krishna
Consciousness, Inc., 505 U.S. 830 (1992), that decision by
state employees opened up a forum for candidates to address

1]

The Network’s argument is unprecedented — and
unjustified — even in the limited terms in which it is couched.
But larger democratic values are also at stake here. This is a
case about elections as much as it is about broadcasters. The
Court should not lose sight of the importance of candidate
debates in the eyes of voters. When those debates are created
and disseminated with the imprimatur of the State, they take
on even more significance. These facts enhance the need for
careful constitutional scrutiny.

4. The Eighth Circuit, therefore, was correct in rejecting

the Network’s arguments seeking to avoid any constitutional
scrutiny or to apply only the most deferential review. When
the government decides to create a forum for debate within an

12

This is not to suggest, as the Network claims, that
genuine editorial decisions should be open to second-guessing
by the courts. It does not mean that public broadcasters can
be haled into court to defend every programming decision
they make. See Pet. Br. at 46. As we have explained, this is
not a case of an editorial decision to run one news story (or
educational program) instead of another. Rather, this is a case
about direct governmental involvement in elections —
favoring some candidates over others — and that
governmental initiative goes to the core of our consiitutional
democracy. More careful constitutional scrutiny is warranted
under these circumstances.

speaker’s political philosophy. This restriction applies even
when the government agency contends that it has scarce
resources — including the claim of limited air time advanced

Hi

t
rT

2
3
-

|

i

14

primarily to elect candidates, not as fora for political
expression.” Jd. at 1372.

Here, by contrast, we are talking about a state agency’s
decision to exclude a minor party’s competing candidate from
access to the “forum for political expression” created by an
organ of the State of Arkansas. The burden must rest on the
shoulders of the Network, therefore, to establish that both the
substance of its decision and the process by which it reached
that decision satisfied the prohibitions of the First

Thus, for example, in Forsyth County v. Nationalist
Movement, 505 U.S. 123, 131-33 (1992), the Court struck

down a parade permit ordinance that allowed administrative
officials too much discretion to vary the permit fee. The fatal
vice was that the ordinance itself “did not prescribe adequate
standards for the administrator to apply when he sets a permit
fee”; as a consequence, nothing in the governing law “or in its
application prevents the official from encouraging some views

and
fees.” See also

oot
Beeais
Hil

S

ne y fastg3
li rit

=i

H

fH fut
emit
Hy tl

Hi

Ht
ni

r 8

the candidates or political parties. Most important, however,
the City insists that the “[p]otential sponsors must set forth
objective, non-partisan, and non-discriminatory criteria that
they intend to use to identify leading contenders” to be invited
to participate. City of New York Am. Br. at 3.

If private actors can and do develop objective, pre-
decision standards to constrain their selection of candidates to

invite to their debates, it is only reasonable to insist that state
actors should abide by the same principles. After all, their
influence on elections is subject to constitutional scrutiny, and
it is especially vital to assure that state officials’ intervention
in the electoral process is even-handed. This constitutional
requirement would prevent the perception, as well as the real
possibility, of discrimination against independent candidates

standards for distinguishing among candidates. For example,
another amicus appearing to support the Network, New
Jersey’s state-owned television station, currently admits
participants to televised debates based on their eligibility for
public funding. “As such, neither a candidate’s political party
affiliation, political philosophy [nJor electoral viability are
relevant considerations. This scheme is constitutionally valid,”
the State emphasizes, “because it is based upon an objective
criterion.” State of New Jersey Am. Br. at 1-2.

3. The specific, pre-established criteria that several of
the amici have developed are a far cry from the kind of
standardiess, subjective, ad hoc test that the Network used in
deciding to exclude Forbes from its debate. As the Network
describes the inquiry, its managers turned Forbes aside

because of the “feeling among both the professional staff at
AETN” and the local Associated Press bureau chief that time

19

had to be allocated to just two candidates, and the Network’s
executive director then concluded that, in her “professional
editorial judgment,” Forbes “was not newsworthy enough to
be invited to the debate.” See Pet. Br. at 14, 17, 3.

At trial, the Network officials testified to a series of
factors that they considered in reaching that conclusion. See
Pet. Br. at 15-16. Some of those factors may be legitimate;
others may be too subjective. There is no doubt, though, thes
the decision was an ad hoc one that favored the major party
candidates over a well-known third party candidate.

As, we have shown, the Network’s own amici have
oe ne: cee Samar Stmrese ier Mephenenting
this important undertaking and to avoid the dangers of relying
solely on ad hoc, subjective considerations. The Network, by
contrast, never bothered to prescribe and then to apply
legitimate, objective criteria that would guide its exercise of
discretion in an area of core First Amendment concern.
Despite ample-_notice in Buckley and elsewhere of the need to
identify permissible objective criteria for measuring a
candidate’s political viability and corresponding entitlement to
electoral benefits, the Network insisted on applying a
subjective, ad hoc approach. That approach conflicted with
the Network’s obligations under the First Amendment and, as
the court of appeals held, entitles Forbes to at least nominal

damages.

20

lil. THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT’S UNNECESSARILY
BROAD HOLDING SHOULD BE RECONCILED
WITH THIS COURT’S DECISION IN THE
CONTEXT OF PUBLIC FUNDING OF CAMPAIGNS
THAT THE GOVERNMENT MAY DISTINGUISH
AMONG CANDIDATES IF IT APPLIES PRE-
EXISTING, NEUTRAL, LEGITIMATE, AND
OBJECTIVE CRITERIA.

1. While the Eighth Circuit was right in ruling against
the Network, the standard it imposed for including candidates
is inappropriately — and unnecessarily — broad. By
requiring state-(wned television stations to grant air time to all
ballot-certified\candidates whenever a station sponsors a
campaign debate, the Eighth Circuit’s holding improperly
conflates the three sets of government decisions concerning
participation in a political campaign. The government may,
and should, apply different criteria to its decisions regulating
access to the ballot, access to publicly funded debates, and
access to public financing.

Thus, the Eighth Circuit’s broad holding, if extended to
challenges to public funding of campaign finance, could be
construed to require that benefits such as public funds be
made available to all candidates authorized to appear on the
ballot, irrespective of their demonstrated level of public
support or realistic viability as candidates with a reasonable
prospect of achieving victory. A blanket rule such as the
Eighth Circuit’s implies that no government agency has a right
to deny public funding, or other public benefits, to candidates
once they have been legally certified to appear on the ballot.
Such a rule could inhibit the development of public funding
on objective criteria of viability, such as those upheld in
Buckley.

In Buckley the Court decided that ballot-access thresholds
should not necessarily be equated with eligibility to receive

21

other celection-related benefits. The Court explicitly
recognized a “significant distinction” between the two
scenarios. Buckley, 424 U.S. at 101. Under

seeking federal funding must show that they secured at least
5% of the popular vote in the prior election. Challengers of

See id. at 103. The Court rejected the comparison,
differentiating the standard for obtaining ballot access from
the right to public funding.

Ballot access, the Court explained, is “a step in any
campaign that, with rare exceptions, is essential to successful
effort * * * funding is, however, not as necessary as being on
the ballot.” Jd., at 101. Ballot access regulations are

By requiring state-owned television stations to grant air
time access to any candidate who meets a fairly liberal
threshold of ballot certification, the court of appeals failed to
recognize that different public interests are at stake when the
government structures other election-related programs,
Circuit should have limited its rationale to rely solely on the
Network’s failure to have formulated pre-established,
legitimate, and objective criteria that would have channeled
the officials’ exercise of discretion and minimized the risk of
independent candidates.

2. The case before the Court should lead the Court to
reject a rigid rule requiring participation by all candidates.

As broad touchstones for this exercise, it is sufficient to
observe that such criteria may not properly turn solely on
party affiliation or even on the “likelihood” of ultimate
electoral success. Rather, a publicly sponsored debate should
include all candidates who have demonstrated sufficient
support in the community that their participation in the debate
will serve to enhance the voters’ understanding of the issues.
As history reminds us, a candidate does not need to win an
election to be an important participant in the political debates
that are the essence of our democratic form of government.

CONCLUSION

PHILIP ALLEN LACOVARA
Counsel of Record

Mayer, Brown & Platt

1675

New York, New York 10019

(212) 506-2585

JULY 1997

l

Appendix A
Federal Election Commission Regulation
11 C.F.R. § 110.13. Candidate debates.

(a) Staging organizations. (1) Nonprofit organizations
described in 26 U.S.C. 501 (c)(3) or (c)(4) and which do not
endorse, support, or oppose political candidates or political
parties may stage candidate debates in accordance with this
section and 11 C.F.R. 114.4(f).

(2) Broadcasters, bona fide newspapers, magazines and
other periodical publications may stage candidate debates in
accordance with this section and 11 C.F.R. 114.4(f).

(b) Debate structure. The structure of debates staged in
accordance with this section and 11 C.F.R. 114.4(f) is left to

the discretion of the staging organization(s), provided that:
(1) Such debates include at least two candidates; and

(2) The staging organization(s) does not structure the
debates to promote or advance one candidate over another.

(c) Criteria for candidate selection. For all debates,
staging organization(s) must use pre-established objective
criteria to determine which candidates may participate in a
debate. For general election debates, staging organization(s)
shall not use nomination by a particular political party as the
sole objective criterion to determine whether to include a
candidate in a debate. For debates held prior to a primary
election, caucus or convention, staging organizations may
restrict candidate participation to candidates seeking the nom-
ination of one party, and need not stage a debate for
candidates seeking the nomination of any other political party
or independent candidates.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0034%3A21. Public record. Not legal advice.
