# Amicus Curiae Brief — Arkansas Ed. Television Comm'n v. Forbes

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0034%3A20

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 523 U.S. 666

## Text

>
4
>
=
-
ys
'
¥,
ll

ae

“ SuPnene Sikes OF THE UNITED Starzs

October Term 1996

a

THE ARKANSAS EDUCATIONAL TELEVISION COMMISSION,

Petitioner,
v.
RALPH P. FORBES,
Respondent.

On writ of Certiorari to the
ae eee eee
for the Eighth Circ

Brief of Amicus Curiae, Greens / Green Party
USA
(Filed on consent)

JOHN C. KLOTZ
Counsel of Record
885 THIRD AVENUE, SUITE 2900
NEW YORK, NY 10022
(212) 230-2162
Counsel for Amicus
Greens / Green Party USA

a &
a

~ BEST AVAILABLECOPY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTERESTS OF AMICUS GREEN PARTY 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 2

FACTS OF THE CASE 2

1. ESSENTIAL TO CONSTITUTIONAL GOVERNMENT AND
INHERENT IN THE DEFINITION OF FREEDOM PROTECTED
IN THE CONSTITUTION IS THE RIGHT OF THE PUBLIC TO.
FREE AND FAIR ELECTIONS. 3

2. THE STATE OF ARKANSAS HAVING DETERMINED THAT
RESPONDENT FORBES HAD DEMONSTRATED A SUFFICIENT
MODICUM OF SUPPORT TO MERIT BALLOT ACCESS, OTHER
STATE ACTORS . OR INDIVIDUALS WITH GOVERNMENT
CREATED OR REGULATED POWER . OUGHT NOT BE
ALLOWED TO RENDER THAT DETERMINATION MOOT..........7

3. THE PUBLIC'S RIGHT TO FREE AND FAIR ELECTIONS
REQUIRES THE INCLUSION IN TELEVISED ELECTION
DEBATES OF ALL CANDIDATES WHO HAVE OBTAINED
BALLOT STATUS...... 8

CONCLUSION 15

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES
Anderson v. Celebrezze, 460 U.S. 780; (1983)..... re 7
Anderson v. United States, 417 U.S. 211 (1974). ....cccccccseceeeees 3
Board of Educ. Island Trees Union Free School Dist. No. 26 v.
Plow, S37 US. SSS CIGGAE, cromnsissnrssinsiniesveaieiiaiilipigneiin 5
CBS, Inc. v. F.C. C., 453 U.S. 367 (1981) ..cccccccsssessssereceseeeeees 12
Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc. v. Democratic Nat.
Committee, 412 U.S. 94, 115 (1973)....c.cce000 13
Eu v. San Francisco County Democratic Central Committee,
SED ULB, 2E4 CRBGD). necucsccecrconsccecccsinscniinsiisinediaiasiemaiaaiatiiiss 9
Forbes v. Arkansas Educ. Comm'n, 93 F.3d 497, 504-505 (8th
CO, Feiiiticecdibinstiniiianctsnicnetckibiaiientad 8
Jenness v. Fortson, 403 U.S. 431, 442 (1971)... 7
Noble State Bank v. Haskell, 219 U.S. 104; 110 (1911) biiicheea 14
U. S. Term Limits, Inc. v. Thornton, 514 U.S. 779, 115 Sup.
CR: FER COD eersenvccevinsctnnssesesvsstintisiebiahabaiaaianhaiaigiaimaataads 3
United States v. Classic, 313 U.S. 299 (1941) ...cccccrccccecserssereres 3
Whitney v. California, 274 U.S. 357, 375 (1927) ..ccccecessesseseeees 5
Williams v. Rhodes , 393 U.S. 23 (1968). ....cccccsesessessssseeseeeereees 7
STATUTES
Section 135 of the Federal Communications Act,
G7 UB As, BBB BI cicccsecsnsstssrerensintennnsaibinniaaidaiiieiatas 11

Interests of Amicus Greens / Green Party

Greens / Green Party USA (the "Green Party”) was
incorporated in the State of Missouri in 1993 as a national
political party under section 527 of the Internal Revenue Code.
Green Party candidates have been running for local, state and
national office since 1985, and have elected more than a
The Green Party candidate for U.S. Senate in Alaska in 1996,
Ted Whittaker, polled more than 12% of the vote, finishing
ahead of the Democratic nominee. The 1995 Green nominee
for Governor in New Mexico polled more than 10% of the
vote. The Greens won at least ten elections in 1996, including
a majority of the City Council in Arcata, California. The Green
Party is committed to the principles of ecology, social justice,
grassroots democracy, nonviolence, decentralization,
community economics, feminism, respect for diversity,
personal and global responsibility and future focus. '

The Green Party candidate for President in 1996, Ralph
Nader,
fourth

on the ballot in 22 states and received the
total nationwide of votes cast for President with
nearly 700,000. Mr. Nader however, despite repeated public
opinion polls finding that he is the most trusted public
individual in the United States, was excluded from the 1996
Presidential debates. The Green Party motion to intervene in
the Natural Law Party and Perot lawsuits challenging the
exclusion of .third party. candidates to participate in the
Presidential debates was denied.

Other Green Party candidates have routinely been
excluded from televised debates. For instance, Mark Dunlea,
the 1995 Green Party nominee for Rensselaer County
Executive (NY) was not allowed to participate in a debate
organized and televised by the local ABC affiliate, even
though he was an incumbent elected Town Board member and

' Green / Green Party USA paid for this brief to be printed. Rachel
Treichler, Esq and Mark Duniea, Esq. Assisted in preparattion.

had polled 37% of the vote (21,000) in his previous election
for State Assembly as the Green and Democratic nominee. Mr.
Dunlea polled 11% of the vote for County Executive, a total
larger than the margin of difference between the Republican
and Democratic nominee.

Statement of the Case

The issue to be decided by the Court is whether the
decision of the petitioner Arkansas Educational Television
Commission to exclude the petitioner from a television debate
violated not only the free speech rights of petitioner Ralph P.
Forbes, a candidate for Congress, but also the free election
rights of local voters.

Facts of the Case

A publicly owned broadcasting station, Arkansas
Cducational Television Commission ("AETC”"), excluded
Ralph P. Forbes, an independent candidate for Congress in the
Third District of Arkansas, from a television debate in October
of 1992. Even though Mr. Forbes had obtained sufficient
signatures to appear on the ballot for the election, AETC
excluded Mr. Forbes from the debate because AETC
subjectively determined that he did not have sufficient
“political viability”. The trial court determined that the
television debate was a non-public forum, and that Forbes’
First Amendment protections had not been violated by the
decision to exclude him.

The U.S. Court of Appeals for the 8th Circuit reversed the
lower court's determination, finding that the television debate
was a limited-purpose public forum “without reservation” and
ruled that the Arkansas Educational Television Commission
("“AETC”) had violated Forbes’ First Amendment rights when
they excluded him from the debate. Since the 8th Circuit
deemed the television debate a limited-purpose public forum,
the court stated that AETC had to show a compelling

government interest to restrict Forbes’ political speech. They

2

-
——— ee FL ee oe

Lay. sa tees » wal _

failed to do so. The court concluded that “the reason given for
excluding Mr. Forbes (and we accept at face value the
defendants’ proffered reason) was not legally sufficient under
the First Amendment.”

Reasons for affirming the right of Candidate Petitioner to
Participate in Debate

1. Essential to constitutional government and inherent
in the definition of freedom protected in the
constitution is the right of the public to free and fair
elections.

This Court has held that free and fair elections are a
constitutional right. United States v. Classic, 313 U.S. 299,
315 (1941) and Anderson v. United States, 417 U.S. 211
(1974). The right to participate in the electoral process lies at
Go i ee eee in its

decision striking down state attempts to limit the terms of
members of Congress, the Supreme Court had occasion to
comment on the central nature of the right to vote in our
Constitutional system. U. S. Term Limits, Inc. v. Thornton, 514
U.S. 779, 115 Sup. Ct. 1842 (1995).

"*** sovereignty confers on the people the right to
choose freely their representatives to the National
Government. For example, we noted that “Robert
*** endorsed this same fundamental
principle: ‘The people are the best judges who ought
to represent them. To dictate and control them, to tell
them whom they shall not elect, is to abridge their
natural rights.'" 395 U.S., at 541, n. 76, 89 S.Ct, at
1974, n. 76, quoting 2 Elliot's Debates 292-293.
Similarly, we observed that “[bJefore the New York
convention ***, Hamilton emphasized: ‘The true

3

principle of a republic is, that the people should
choose whom they please to govern them.
Representation is imperfect in proportion as the
current of popular favor is checked. This great
source of free government, popular election, should
be perfectly pure, and the most unbounded liberty
allowed.’ " 395 U.S., at 540-541, 89 S.Ct., at 1974,
quoting 2 Elliot's Debates 257. Quoting from the
Statement made in 1807 by the Chairman of the
House Committee on Elections, we noted that
“restrictions upon the people to choose their own
representatives must be limited to those ‘absolutely
necessary for the safety of the society.'" 395 U.S., at
543, 89 S.Ct., at 1975, quoting 17 Annals of Cong.
874 (1807). Thus, in Powell, we agreed with the
sentiment expressed on behalf of Wilkes’ admission
to Parliament: “ ‘That the right of the electors to be
represented by men of their own choice, was so
essential for the preservation of all their other rights,
that it ought to be considered as one of the most
sacred parts of our constitution.'" 395 U.S., at 534,
n. 65, 89 S.Ct., at 1971, n. 65, quoting 16
Parl.Hist.Eng. 589-590 (1769).

"Powell thus establishes two important propositions:
first, that the “relevant historical materials" compel
the conclusion that, at least with respect to
qualifications imposed by Congress, the Framers
intended the qualifications listed in the Constitution
to be exclusive; and second, that that conclusion is
equally compelled by an understanding of the
“fundamental principle of our representative
democracy *** ‘that the people should choose whom
they please to govern them.'" 395 US., at 547, 89

S.Ct., at 1977. (emphasis supplied) 115 Sup. Ct. at
1851

Harte-Hanks Communications, Inc. v. Connaughton, 49 |
U.S. 657 (1989) quotes founding father James Madison:

“Let it be recollected, lastly, that the right of electing
the members of the government constitutes more
particularly the essence of a free and responsible
government. The value and efficacy of this right
depends on the knowledge of the comparative merits
and demerits of the candidates for public trust, and on
the equal freedom, consequently, of examining and
discussing these merits and demerits of the
candidates respectively." 4 J. Elliot, Debates on the
Federal Constitution 575 (1861)."

We deny voters access to the information necessary for an
informed electoral decision at our peril. Said Madison, as
quoted in Board of Educ. Island Trees Union Free School
Dist. No. 26 v. Pico, 457 U.S. 853 (1982):

"A popular Government, without popular

information, or the means of acquiring it, is but a

Prologue to a Farce or a Tragedy; or, perhaps both.

Knowledge will forever govern ignorance: And a

people who mean to be their own Governors, must

arm themselves with the power which knowledge

gives."

Similarly, Mr. Justice Brandeis in Whitney v. California,
274 US. 357, 375 (1927):

"Those who won our independence believed * * *
that public discussion is a political duty; and that this
should be a fundamental principle of the American
government. They recognized the risks to which all
human institutions are subject. But they knew that
order cannot be secured merely through fear of
punishment for its infraction; that it is hazardous to

breeds repression; that repression breeds hate; that

hate menaces stable government, that the path of

safety lies in the opportunity to discuss freely

supposed grievances and proposed remedies; and

that the fitting remedy for evil counsels is good ones.

Believing in the power of reason as applied through

public discussion, they eschewed silence coerced by

law--the argument of force in its worst form.

Recognizing the occasional tyrannies of governing

majorities, they amended the Constitution so that free

speech and assembly should be guaranteed."

(Emphasis supplied)

Although we urge this court to affirm the decision of the
the fundamental legal issue presented by the case before you is
not whether AETC's decision to exclude Forbes from the
debate was legally sufficient under the First Amendment right
to free speech but rather under the constitutional right to a free
election. The issue is whether AETC's actions impinged on the
right of the citizens of the state of Arkansas to a free election
by curtailing their right to receive essential information about
one of the candidates on the ballot.

It submitted that this right to free and fair elections is an

intrinsic part of the .freedom. protected by the Fifth and
Fourteenth Amendments of the Constitution

"Free elections" are right of each citizen of the Republic,
a right needed to make our Constitution work. It is the need for
the for the .truth. which is produced and discerned through the
process of public debate. This deliberative process of debate
that enables the electorate to hear and discern the truth is the

campaign
contributions that are received. It is certainly not something to
be solely determined, even under the guise of "objective

standards" by those who own or control the media or
organize public forums.

2. The State of Arkansas having determined that
respondent Forbes had demonstrated a sufficient modicum
of support to merit ballot access, other state actors — or
individuals with government created or regulated power -
ought not be allowed to render that determination moot.

There is an undeniable interest of states and the federal
government in limiting ballot access to those who have
demonstrated an objectively determined measure of support.
In Jenness v. Fortson, 403 U.S. 431, 442 (1971), the Court
said:

"There is surely an important state interest in
requiring some preliminary showing of a significant
modicum of support before printing the name of a
political organization's candidate on the ballot — the
interest, if no other, in avoiding confusion, deception,
and even frustration of the democratic process at the
general election."

On the other hand, that right to control ballot access is
subject to strictest scrutiny particularly where it discriminates
among competing candidates and parties. Anderson v.
Celebrezze, 460 U.S. 780; (1983); Williams v. Rhodes , 393
U.S. 23 (1968).

"The broadcaster should not have any right to make
a decision as to who can participate in the debate,
regardless of the criteria utilized. AETC's opinion on
such a debatable matter as the political viability of a
candidate for Congress more than two months in
advance of the election can not be a sufficient basis

for narrowing the channels of public discourse. They
are inherently subjective."

As the Court of Appeals itself noted in its decision
upholding Mr. Forbes’ right to participate in the debate:

"The real issue, we think, is the legal sufficiency of the
reason given for the exclusion. If AETC had considered
Mr. Forbes a viable candidate, it would, by its own
account, have included him in the debate. There is nothing
about being a Democrat or a Republican, a priori, that is
relevant here. Rather, AETC's point is that Mr. Forbes, in
the opinion of the network, had no chance to win. It
therefore decided that its viewers should not hear Mr.
Forbes's opinions as part of the debate involving the other
candidates qualified to appear on the ballot.”

"In a sense, the State of Arkansas had already, by statute,
defined political viability. Mr. Forbes had gathered enough
signatures to appear on the ballot. So far as the law was
concemed, he had equal status with the Republican and
Democratic nominees. Whether he was viable was,
ultimately, a judgment to be made by the people of the
Third Congressional District, not by officials of the
government in charge of channels of communication."
Forbes v. Arkansas Educ. Comm'n, 93 F.3d 497, 504-505
(8th Cir. 1996).

3. The public's right to free and fair elections requires
the inclusion in televised election debates of all
candidates who have obtained ballot status.

The exclusion of independent and minor party candidates
from televised election debates improperly abridges the rights
of the public to free and fair elections. The election process
guaranteed by our constitution mandates that the public be
given full access to direct communication with all candidates

who have obtained ballot status. Access by all candidates to
the “market of ideas" represented by election debates is critical
to the public's ability to make meaningful and informed
balloting decisions for public officials.

In 1988 and 1992, exit polls showed that in the
decision on the debates than on any other single factor. In
1992 the television audience for the third and final presidential
debate was 97 million viewers. In the words of the
Commission on Presidential Debates: "These events have
, | eiaition 3 hich Ameri cupett,
watch, and value.”

A candidate’ S right to participate in televised debate is a
necessary concomitant and consequence of the right of the
electorate to effectively and intelligently cast their ballot and
the need of the nation as a whole for deliberative consideration
of public policy choices. Without the inclusion of all
candidates in election debates, voters enter polling booths and
find names of candidates they know nothing about on the
ballot. In such a situation it is impossible to make an informed
choice. That is not a free election. It is not an election.

Restrictions on the participation of candidates in election
debates should therefore be subject to the strictest scrutiny.
See e.g., Eu v. San Francisco County Democratic Central
Noor ch dhe th aha held that a California
an on by party committees abridged the parties
right to free speech. In Eu, the Court said:

"A State's claim that it is enhancing the ability of its
citizenry to make wise decisions by restricting the
flow of information to them must be viewed with
some skepticism.'" Tashjian, supra, 479 U.S., at
221, 107 S.Ct., at 552 (quoting Anderson v.
Celebrezze, supra, 460 U.S., at 798, 103 S.Ct., at
1575). While a State may regulate the [489 U.S. 229]
flow of information between political associations

9

and their members when necessary to prevent fraud
and corruption, see Buckley v. Valeo, 424 US., at 26-
27, 96 S.Ct., at 638-639; Jenness v. Fortson, supra,
403 US., at 442, 91 S.Ct., at 1976. Tthere is no
evidence that California's ban on party primary
endorsements serves that purpose.” 489 U.S. at 228,
229.

In our day and age, the need to communicate over the
public airwaves is an inseparable part of the electoral process.
At the time the constitution was drafted, in 1787, voting was
by meetings with speeches followed by voting.

The election process guaranteed by our constitution
mandates that the public be given full access to direct
communication with all candidates in order to allow the public
to make informed decisions as whether or not to vote, and for
which candidates. Given the monopoly control of information
by the media, to permit broadcasters to select the candidates
processes.

The act of exclusion of a candidate from a debate is a fatal
blow to the candidate's chances on election day. Exclusion
implies that the ideas of the excluded candidate are too
extreme, too radical, or too uninformed. It implies that the
candidate does not have significant popular support and that a
vote for him/her, rather than one of the included candidates,
will be a wasted vote.

Because of the enormous cost of purchasing television air
time, it is not an answer to remit candidates to purchase time as
a substitute for free debate time. Free elections are the core
provision of our constitution. To require candidates to buy a
piece of the public airwaves at enormous sums in order to
communicate their ideas is a travesty of the constitutional right
to a free and fair election.

10

‘

Neither is the limited obligations of the broadcasters to
provide public access to the airwaves under the fairness
doctrine contained in Section 135 of the Federal
Communications Act, 47 U.S.C. Sec. 315 (the .fairness
doctrine.) a sufficient to meet the constitutional requi
broadcasters to deny access to those whom in their subjective
judgment (or calculated self-interest) are not "news" or
“newsworthy”. This ability under the fairness doctrine of
broadcasters to select the candidates the public learns about
nullifies the entire election processes and is completely
contrary to our entire system of government.

"No right is more precious in a free country than that of
having a choice in the election of those who make the laws
under which, as good citizens, they must live. Other rights,
even the most basic, are illusory in the right to vote is
undermined." Burson v. Freeman, 504 U.S. 191, 112 S.Ct.
1846 (U.S.Tenn. 1992) 119 L.Ed.2d 5, 60 USLW 4393,
20 Media L. Rep. 11 37 Decided May 26, 1992 citing
Wesberry v. Sanders, 376 U.S. 1, 17, 84 S.Ct. 526, 535, 11
L.Ed.2d 481 (1964).

The legislature is the body under our constitution that has
the right to determine the requirements to be a candidate in an
election. A candidate who meets the legislature's requirement
for ballot access — generally the gathering of large numbers of
signatures from registered voters signifying their interest in the
=.

or to ic wi i
exorbitant access fee to the media. ” a

A system which effectively requires a candidate to
edvertiaing time if his or her views ore to receive any publ
airing leads to a perception of corruption in the electoral
process when the amount of money required for such
purchases is far beyond the reach of individuals not allied with

Baw see —— a. <—_ eb es

This Court recognized in Buckley vs. Valeo,. 424 US. 1,
46 96 S.Ct. 612, L.Ed.2d 659, 76-1 USTCP 9189, that “(t)he
electorate's increasing dependence on television, radio, and
other mass media for news and information has made these
expensive modes of communication indispensable instruments

of effective political speech."

Surely the Court would not hold that the right of effective
political speech is a right only of the wealthy. Madison in
Federalist Papers #57 said it well:

“Who are to be the objects of popular choice? Every
citizen whose merit may recommend him to the
esteem and confidence of the country. No
qualification of wealth, of birth, of religious faith, or
of civil profession is permitted to fetter the judgment
or disappoint the inclination of the people.”

The First Amendment does not give broadcasters a license
to exclude candidates from communicating with the public.
Should the public's constitutional right to free and fair
elections conflict with the first amendment rights of
broadcasters, the rights of the public to free elections are
paramount. CBS, Inc. v. F.C. C., 453 U.S. 367 (1981):

"It is the right of the viewers and listeners, not the right
of the broadcasters which is paramount. It is the
purpose of the First Amendment to preserve an
uninhibited marketplace of ideas in which truth will
ultimately prevail, rather than to countenance
monopolization of that market ***. It is the right of
tho pabe tp connive setae some fo aie Se
esthetic, moral, and other ideas and experience which

is crucial here." Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC,
395 U.S., at 390, 89 S.Ct., at 1806.

“The First Amendment interests of candidates and
voters, as well as broadcasters, are implicated by Sec.

12

choosing among them on election day." Buckley v.
Valeo, Par ane ua 96 S.Ct. 612, 651, 46
L.Ed.2d Indeed, “speech concerning
public affairs is *** the essence of self-government,"
Garrison v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 64, 74-75, 85 S.Ct.
209, 215-216, 13 L.Ed.2d 125 (1964). The First
Amendment “has its fullest and most urgent
application precisely to the conduct of campaigns for
political office.” Monitor Patriot Co. v. Roy, 401 U.S.
265, 272, 91 S.Ct. 621, 625, 28 L.Ed.2d 35 (1971).

Constitutional principles to " logical extremes." Noble
State Bank v. Haskell, 219 U.S. 104; (1911) This is

true when competing interests are at stake that
need to be harmonized, not lobotomized.. Colliding in the
matter at bar are claims of free speech by those to control the
forum, access to means of speech by candidates in the
electoral process and the increasingly undisputed dominance
of the political process by monied interests who seek to equate
money with speech. The Green Party submits that when
balancing these competing interests that another — even more
fundamental — right must not only be harmonized in, but
predominate, the result. That is the interests of the public in a
free and meaningful election process.

By upholding the fairness doctrine, this Court has already ©
demonstrated that the broadcasters who are the beneficiaries of

regulatory largess, have a reciprocal obligation to the public

13

weal. That obligation is to foster the market place of ideas .
not auction it off to the highest bidder.

Conclusion

It is respectfully submitted that the judgment below be
affirmed insofar as the respondent's right to be included in

the campaign debate is concerned.

Dated: New York, New York
June 27, 1998

Respectfully Submitted,

JOHN C. KLOTZ

Counsel of Record

885 Third Avenue, Suite 2900

New York, NY 10022

(212) 230-2162

Counsel for Amicus Green Party USA

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0034%3A20. Public record. Not legal advice.
