# Respondents Brief — Steel Co. v. Citizens for Better Environment

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0026%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 523 U.S. 83

## Text

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1996

+

THE STEEL COMPANY, a/k/a
CHICAGO STEEL AND PICKLING COMPANY,

Petitioner,
vs.

CITIZENS FOR A BETTER ENVIRONMENT,
Respondent.

S

On Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Seventh Circuit

+

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

S

SANFORD M. STEIN
Counsel of Record

Leo P. Domsrowski

WILDMAN, Harro.p, ALLEN & Dixon
225 West Wacker Drive

Chicago, IL 60606-1229

(312) 201-2000

Counsel for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW SRIEF PRINTING CO., 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402)

ot

i
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
BRD GE FT EUG oc c cet ccccceccecececess ii
SEE oe Pe eee ES ee re Pee 1

I. EPCRA’S “PLAIN LANGUAGE” DOES NOT
AUTHORIZE RESPONDENT’S SUIT FOR PAST
VS £4 60S Onur eWeebene sy Sceqcesecgsecece 1

II. BECAUSE CONGRESS CANNOT LEGISLATE
OUTSIDE THE BOUNDS OF THE CONSTITU-
TION, ARTICLE III BARS RESPONDENT’S SUIT
FOR PAST VIOLATIONS .. 2... .cccscscccccccees 8

A. Respondent Has No Article III Injury Because The
Steel Company Was in Compliance with EPCRA

~~

B. Respondent Cannot Satisfy the Requirement of
EEE, ba'sosae od cqvisemew ats cieceses 13

PPP rrr rrrrrrTT Ti rrr Trine 20

Oe ae ee a a ee ee a ee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737 (1984).............-005. 19
Ardestani v. Immigration and Naturalization Serv.,
. gt RL ) ees Pore ere. Pe eee re 3, 5
Atlantic States Legal Found., Inc. v. United Musical
Instruments, Inc., 61 F.3d 473 (6th Cir. 1995)........ 3
Bennett v. Spear, 117 S. Ct. 1154 (1997)............ 5, 19
Budinich v. Becton Dickinson & Co., 486 U.S. 196
COR 0:5 vid casdidie 04 cnctin deeds wade evinnedesss cccec 16
Deposit Guar. Nat'l Bank v. Roper, 445 U.S. 326
Ss cuduis bos caG debi hie en 2650400 Ens beens veees 12
Gutierrez de Martinez v. Lamagno, 115 S. Ct. 2227
Sckénntcadke one bones $00 6b0e6C0r0dseeernveveees 5
Gwaltney v. Chesapeake Bay Found., Inc., 484 U.S.
Ss ob 0s £66 00d ecb peseccessesceesinces passim

Havens Realty Corp. v. Coleman, 455 U.S. 363 (1982) .... 17
Immigration and Naturalization Serv. v. Chadha, 462

ey ss cube hskadeiad POUCES OSES SCCCS 19
Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555 (1992)

Ee TW RING eens he > oe eee Oa ee 8, 10, 11, 15, 17, 19
Marsh v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783 (1983)............... 9

People Organized for Welfare and Employment Rights
(P.O.W.E.R.) v. Thompson, 727 F.2d 167 (7th Cir.

As oh iss ead hk SANS hkd Abd Cbg Od 04 S64 bec cees 20
Public Citizen v. United States Dep't of Justice, 491
Che... deviev es dug lsruatssonecegoes 5

Raines v. Byrd, 65 U.S.L.W. 4705 (1997)........... 11, 14

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Regan v. Time, Inc., 468 U.S. 641 (1984)............... 5
Shaw v. Merchants Nat'l Bank, 101 U.S. 892 (1880)..... 5
Sierra Club v. Simkins Indus., Inc., 847 F.2d 1109
TS p7tc05e10468050604500604.0000000400 + 15
Simon v. Eastern Ky. Welfare Rights Org., 426 U.S. 26
anaes bbads babe deesd do bbs ce dbcdon coos cebor 19
Sosna v. lowa, 419 U.S. 393 (1974)............000055. 11
Sure-Tan, Inc. v. NLRB, 467 U.S. 883 (1984).......... 10
United States ex rel. Truong v. Northrop Corp., 728 F.
Ge Gs Be Gs BO oo hive cc cccbseccvccdcccse 9
Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans United
for Separation of Church and State, Inc., 454 U.S.
hs i. hho Anes 665 0h06060eesonne te 13, 20
Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490 (1975) ............0555. 10
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
ee I SO OO dns ne dace emcee cecucats 10
U.S. Constitution, Art. III, § 2, Cl. 1 ............. passim
STATUTES
Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1365.............. 2, 6, 16
Fair Housing Act, 42 U.S.C. § 3613 .................6. 16
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, 42 U.S.C.
heb) oGndaetc coeens cogs 6ocnseeeee eébeucee 4

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. § 7604(a)................

Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know

Act, 42 U.S.C. § 11046... 2.2... cece eee eeeees

Leorscative History
S. Rep. No. 101-228, 101st Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted

in 1990 U.S.C.C.A.N. 3385 2.2.66 cece eens

MISCELLANEOUS
Marshall J. Breger, Defending Defenders, 42 Duke L.

BD, TE CIRGED cv cccccccccccctesedcccoesesccosess

Brief of the United States as Amicus Curiae, Simkins

Indus, Inc. v. Sierra Club, 491 U.S. 904 (1989)...

Brief of the United States as Amicus Curiae Support-

ing Affirmance, Gwaltney, 484 U.S. 49 (1987)....

General Accounting Office, EPA's Toxic Release
Inventory Is Useful but Can Be Improved, (June
1991) GAO/RCED 91-121... ..... 6... cc cee ceeee

Memorandum to Attorney General Richard Thorn-
burgh from William P. Barr, July 18, 1989,
reprinted in Citizen Suits and Qui Tam Actions:
Private Enforcement of Public Policy, at 161-197
(National Legal Center for the Public Interest,

We have shown in our opening brief (Pet. Br. 14-34) that,
based on EPCRA’s language, EPCRA's place in federal environ-

! By claiming throughout its brief that The Stee] Company “ignored”
EPCRA, Br. 7-10, 19-20, 26, respondent attempts to cast petitioner as a
“bad actor” out to flout our nation’s environmental laws. Respondent has

Improved, at 51-52 (June 1991) GAO/RCED 91-121. The Steel Company,

a smal) manufacturing company, was unaware of EPCRA’s requirements
when it received respondent's notice of intent to sue.

2

The district court shall have jurisdiction in [citizen suits]

to enforce the requirement concerned and to impose any

civil penalty provided for violation of that requirement.

42 U.S.C. § 11046(c) (emphasis added). In Gwaltney v. Chesa-
peake Bay Found., Inc., 484 U.S. 49 (1987), found virtually
identical language in the CWA (“to enforce such an effluent
standard . . . and to apply any appropriate civil penalties,” 33
U.S.C. § 1365(a)(2)) compelling in holding that Congress did not
intend to authorize citizen suits for past CWA violations:

[CWA’s citizen suit provision] does not authorize civil

penalties separately from injunctive relief; rather, the

two forms of relief are referenced to in the same subsec-

tion, even in the same sentence. . . . A comparison of

[the relevant CWA sections] thus supports rather than

refutes our conclusion that citizens, unlike the Adminis-

trator, may seek civil penalties only in a suit to enjoin or
otherwise abate an ongoing violation.
Id. at 58-59 (emphasis added). By using the same provisions in
EPCRA and the CWA, Congress demonstrated it simply did not
intend to provide citizens with the same enforcement authority as
the government.

B.1. Respondent argues that because Congress used the
“alleged to be in violation” language when it enacted CERCLA’s
citizen suit provision, while using the “failure to” formulation in
EPCRA, this Court should infer a major sea change behind Con-
gress’s intentions for citizen enforcement. Br. 13, citing City of
Chicago v. Environmental Defense Fund, 511 U.S. 328, 338
(1994), for the proposition that CERCLA and EPCRA should be
read as a single statute. First, CERCLA and EPCRA are not
different sections of the same statute, but different statutes with
different goals and requirements. It is therefore not surprising that
Congress used different language in each and in neither used

Second, the Seventh Circuit’s and respondent’s idea that Con-
gress used “under” as a shorthand method to incorporate all the
substantive requirements of Sections 312 and 313 and subject them
to citizen enforcement on the same level as government enforce-
ment authority is highly doubtful. See Pet. App. All, Br. 10-12.

3

“The word ‘under’ has many dictionary definitions and must draw
its meaning from its context.” Ardestani v. Immigration and Natu-
ralization Serv., 502 U.S. 129, 135 (1991). One meaning of
“under” is “by reason of the authority of.” Jd. Another is “required
by.” Webster's Third New Int'l Dictionary 2487 (1993). Seen in this
light, especially in the context of Gwaltney and Congress's charac-
terization of citizen suits as injunctive measures, the proper infe.
ence is that Congress did not intend to authorize citizen
enforcement for all the substantive requirements of Sections 312
and 313, but rather intended citizens to sue for a failure to file
forms “under,” i.e., “required by,” those sections if the failure is
not cured by the time the citizen files suit. See also Atlantic States
Legal Found., Inc. v. United Musical Instruments, Inc., 61 F.3d
473, 475 (6th Cir. 1995).

Respondent attempts to counter this inference by arguing that
if the sections’ filing deadlines are not incorporated by the use of
the word “under,” then, under the same analysis, “filing blank
forms, or forms containing information that the owner knew to be
inaccurate” would likewise bar an EPCRA citizen suit. Br. 11-12.
The error of respondent’s argument was explained by this Court in
Gwaltney: the language and legislative history of citizen suit
provisions indicate that there must be an ongoing violation when
the citizen complaint is filed. Should a party file blank forms or

statute (and thereby also invite a government enforcement action),
the citizen can allege an ongoing violation and invoke federal court
jurisdiction. For example, if a party subject to the CWA filed either
blank or inaccurate Discharge Monitoring Reports after receiving a
citizen’s notice in an attempt to avoid a citizen suit, the citizen
could allege, if not cured before the notice period expired, an
ongoing violation. In enacting EPCRA, Congress made no excep-
tions to its model and thus did not intend to have EPCRA operate
differently from the CWA or other citizen suit provisions.

2. Even respondent acknowledges the harshness of allowing
citizens to exhume old and since corrected EPCRA violations and

file suit, and suggests the Court need not reach the question of
whether EPCRA allows such suits. Br. 16. Respondent distin-
guishes its action from any such “exhumation” by contrasting the
notice and venue provisions and discerns a bright line by which

4
Congress meant to permit EPCRA citizen suits if the violation is
continuing when notice is sent, but otherwise apparently intended
to bar a citizen suit if the violation was corrected prior to notice.

Had Congress tended to so carefully circumscribe citizen
enforcement, as respondent suggests, one would expect a clear
indication to support the demarcation respondent sees. Addi-
tionally, far from helping respondent, its bright-line approach
wholly undermines its principal argument, made here and below,
that a party who fails to file EPCRA reports by March | and July |
of each year is subject to citizen enforcement with no exceptions.
For, according to respondent, EPCRA’s “plain language” provides
that once the reporting deadlines are missed, a party remains
subject to citizen enforcement even if the failure to file is cured.
Respondent's main argument thus calls for interpreting EPCRA to
reach all past violations, no matter how small or remote, something
very different from Congress’s purpose in authorizing citizen
enforcement.

3. In our opening brief, we survey the evolution of environ-
mental citizen suits and show that Congress used the citizen suit
provision it created in 1970 as a model for all other environmental
citizen suits. We also point out that when Congress wants citizens
to be able to sue for violations existing at the time notice is sent or
for violations cured prior to notice, it does so unambiguously in
two ways: Congress either authorizes citizens 1) to sue imme-
diately upon providing notice, see, e.g., 42 U.S.C. § 6972(b)(1)(A)
(for hazardous waste violations); or 2) to sue for past violations
even if cured prior to notice, 42 U.S.C. § 7604(a)(1) (citizen may
sue a party “alleged to have violated” a requirement).? Pet. Br.
14-20. Respondent urges this Court to ignore these clear indica-
tions that Congress knows how to structure a citizen suit provision
so that the notice period does not operate as an opportunity to cure
and, instead, to read the ambiguous “failure to submit under” like
these clear formulations in other statutes, an unsupportable inter-
pretation. Respondent’s concern that reversal of the Seventh Circuit
will curtail EPCRA citizen suits thus is a matter to be addressed to

2 In our opening brief, we point out the constitutional problems with
the CAA formulation. Pet. Br. 41 n. 18.

5

Congress, for Congress, if it sees fit, can structure the notice period
so that it cannot bar a citizen suit.

Had Congress wanted EPCRA’s citizen suit provision to oper-
ate differeetly from its model, it no doubt would have so indicated
either in the statute or legislative history. The Court should not
assume that Congress meant to institute a substantive change
without explanation. See Ardestani, 502 U.S. at 136-37; see also
Shaw v. Merchants Nat'l Bank, 101 U.S. 892, 894 (1880) (“No
statute is to be construed as altering the common law further than
its words import.”)

Respondent also seeks support for its expansive reading in this
Court’s recent interpretation of the Endangered Species Act's citi-
zen suit provision. Br. 13-15, citing Bennett v. Spear, 117 S. Ct.
1154 (1997). Noting that the Court commented on the “remarkable
breadth” of the ESA’s “any person” formulation, respondent
stretches the Court’s holding to conclude that EPCRA’s “any
person” should somehow allow suits for past violations. Br. 15.
The Court was addressing, however, whether Congress’s use of
“any person” eliminated prudential standing barriers to suits by
ranchers and irrigation districts — non-traditional ESA plaintiffs -
an issue that lends no support to respondent's position.

Moreover, as explained below, interpreting EPCRA to allow
citizen suits for past violations would create serious constitutional
problems and thus violate this Court’s well-established rule that a
statute should be construed to avoid constitutional questions “when
it is fairly possible to do so.” Gutierrez de Martinez v. Lamagno,
115 S. Ct. 2227, 2237 (1995) (O’Connor, J., concurring). This
canon of statutory construction “reflects a judicial presumption
concerning the intent of the draftsmen of the language in question.”
Regan v. Time, Inc., 468 U.S. 641, 697- (1984) (Stevens, J.,
concurring in part and dissenting in part). Rather than presuming
that “Congress, which also has sworn to protect the Constitution,
would intend to err on the side of” legislating within the bounds of
the Constitution, id., respondent would have this Court find that
Congress intended to draft EPCRA to find citizen jurisdiction over
past violations and thereby repudiate Article III's standing require-
ments. See also Public Citizen v. United States Dep't of Justice,
491 U.S. 440, 466 (1989) (“[W]e are loath to conclude that
Congress intended to press ahead into dangerous constitutional

6

thickets in the absence of firm evidence that it courted those
perils.”)°

C.1. Respondent is mistaken that we argue the “only reason
for a notice requirement is to permit a violator to come into
compliance.” Br. 17. In fact, we devote seven pages to the principle
that the notice provision has two purposes: to prompt either volun-
tary compliance or government enforcement, thus obviating the
need for citizen suits. Pet. Br. 14-20.4 Respondent is thus correct
that in amending the CAA to permit suits for past violations, yet
provision “to have other purposes besides allowing potential defen-
dants to cease their violations.” Br. 17 (again acknowledging the
Court’s Gwaltney holding that the notice period operates as an
opportunity to cure). The other purpose is to allow EPA an
opportunity to decide if it wishes to exercise its enforcement

Respondent claims the notice period is also intended to serve
a third purpose: to allow for settlement discussions. Br. 18. Faced
with a suit to which there is no defense, however — diligent
bent on “punishment” — a party finds itself in something far
different from an arms’ length negotiation. Faced with potentially
ruinous penalties and a large attorney’s fee award, a business

3 Respondent refuses to acknowledge this principle and thus how
statutory construction is intertwined with constitutional standing: Congress
is simply presumed to legislate within constitutional bounds. With this
principle in mind, it is hardly surprising that, although EPCRA’s “any
person” formulation lacks the explicit Article III limitation Congress used
in defining “any citizen” under the CWA (a person “having an interest
which is or may be adversely affected,” 33 U.S.C. § 1365(g)), Congress
gave no indication it thought it may be departing from its customary citizen
suit model to test the limits of its constitutional authority.

+ Respondent itself concedes that one purpose of the notice provision
is to provide an opportunity to come into compliance. Br. 17 (notice period
has other purposes “besides enabling a violator to come into compliance.”
(emphasis added)). Legislative history cited by amici reinforces the notion
that Congress intended citizens “to provide a prod,” which is what
respondent's notice accomplished here. Br. of NRDC et al. 22.

7
invariably finds itself compelled to yield to the citizen group's
demands.

Respondent also suggests the notice period might allow a
prospective defendant to inform the would-be citizen plaintiff a suit
would be baseless, thus avoiding litigation. Br. 18. Such a scenario
begs the question of how the citizen could have sent such a notice
in good faith if a suit would be baseless, a notion Congress could
not have had in mind when it created the notice provision. Respon-
dent’s citation to the Federal Tort Claims Act, Br. 18, is also
unavailing as that Act involves claims for personal or property
injury — something far different from allegations of environmental
violations — where the government obviously could not come into
“compliance” after receiving notice of a claim.

2. And what should the main goal of a citizen suit be, and
thus of a citizen group, but to prompt compliance? Respondent,
however, asserts that if the Seventh Circuit is reversed, citizen
groups will “lose much of their incentive, and financial ability” to
seek EPCRA compliance. Br. 20. “Because nearly all defendants
will come into compliance once they receive notice,” respondent
laments, EPCRA litigation will be curtailed. /d.

Thus, on its face, respondent’s desire that businesses comply
with EPCRA so that information is available to the public appears
to be a poorly disguised plea to obtain attorneys’ fees. For if
EPCRA’s goals are so important to it, should respondent not be
satisfied when a party quickly comes into compliance upon receiv-
ing an EPCRA notice? And with its 30,000 members and over
180,000 contributors, J.A. 4, should respondent not gladly consider
its costs of investigation money well-spent, because its efforts
prompted compliance, reserving costly litigation as a last resort?>

5 Respondent states that citizens “seldom have complete access to
information” about a facility’s chemical use and emissions (Br. 18), and
implies the citizen's burden in identifying EPCRA violators is a heavy one.
But, as today's sources of information are numerous and extensive and
provide citizens with a wealth of data on industrial facilities, a citizen's
costs of investigation cannot be significant. A host of precise
environmental reporting requirements under numerous environmental
statutes other than EPCRA requires facilities to submit permit applications,

Far from being “of little or no use,” Br. 12, filed reports provide
valuable information to local emergency planning agencies and the
public, information that would not be available had the facility
remained unaware of EPCRA’s requirements.

Il. BECAUSE CONGRESS CANNOT LEGISLATE OUT-
SIDE THE BOUNDS OF THE CONSTITUTION,
ARTICLE III BARS RESPONDENT’S SUIT FOR
PAST VIOLATIONS

Respondent opens its standing section by stating The
Steel Company’s “argument on this point gives no hint of how
far-reaching its claim is,” asserting its suit is “authorized by
an Act of Congress, and it is extremely rare for this Court to
rule that Congress has exceeded the bounds of Article III.”
Br. 22. Despite respondent’s intimation that The Steel Com-
pany’s challenge to its standing is somehow remarkable, one
would think it settled that Congress cannot expand constitu-
tional standing. This Court applied that bedrock principle in
Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555 (1992), and,
while acknowledging that Congress may, of course, create
“legal rights, the invasion of which creates standing,” id. at
578, the Court simply objected to Congress’s eliminating the
Article III injury requirement.

Respondent does not suggest the Court abandon Article
III standing requirements altogether, but in arguing that this
Court should allow its suit for past violations to continue, it
asks this Court to engage in extraordinary judicial activism
and reject its well-established line of Article III standing
cases and apply mootness principles instead. It offers this
novel approach because it cannot escape Article III’s require-
ments that: 1) a citizen’s alleged injury be ongoing when suit

inventories, air emissions inventories, underground storage tank records,
and numerous other documents. All of this information is available through
Freedom of Information requests. Much of it is also available on computer
databases.

9

is filed; and 2) its requested relief redress the alleged injury
in some personal fashion.

A. Respondent Has No Article III Injury Because
The Steel Company Was in Compliance with
EPCRA When Respondent Filed Its Complaint

l.a. In an effort to give its standing argument historical
underpinnings, respondent suggests that this Court “has con-
sistently acknowledged the constitutionality of informer’s
actions, or qui tam actions. . . . This long-standing and
consistent endorsement of the qui tam action is especially
significant because” this Court has said Article III require-
ments “draw their content from tradition and common under-
standing[s].” Br. 29, citing Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737, 751
(1984). And since qui tam actions have been with us since the
First Congress, and before that for hundreds of years in
England, respondent contends that its “standing follows a
fortiori from the qui tam cases.” Br. 29-30.

In reality, this Court has never squarely addressed the
constitutionality of qui tam statutes. See, e.g., United States
ex rel. Truong v. Northrop Corp., 728 F. Supp. 615, 618 (C.D.
Cal. 1989). Additionally, that qui tam statutes have been in
existence since the founding of our country “is not indepen-
dent evidence of their constitutionality.” Jd. Many acts of the
early Congresses would be held unconstitutional if they came
before the Court today. See, e.g., Marsh v. Chambers, 463
U.S. 783, 814 n. 30 (1983) (Brennan, J., dissenting) (caution-
ing reliance on historical arguments and referring, among
others, to law of First Congress requiring public whipping of
persons convicted of certain crimes). While this Court may
one day use qui tam’s historical pedigree as a factor in finding
such actions constitutional, history cannot save respondent’s
action. Because the history of the qui tam and, especially, of
the environmental citizen suit, do not support its action,
respondent is left with no choice but to ask this Court to
rewrite its law of constitutional standing.

In addition to this Court never having addressed the
issue, respondent’s confidence in the constitutionality of the

10

qui tam action is far from universally shared. For example,
the Department of Justice’s Office of Legal Counsel has
argued the qui tam provisions of the False Claims Act are
unconstitutional. Memorandum to Attorney General Richard
Thornburgh from William P. Barr, July 18, 1989, reprinted in
Citizen Suits and Qui Tam Actions: Private Enforcement of
Public Policy, at 161-197 (National Legal Center for the
Public Interest, 1996). The OLC found little evidence of
historical acceptance of qui tam actions:
A fair reading of the history of qui tam in the
United States reveals it as a transitory and aberra-
tional device that never gained a secure foothold
within our constitutional structure because of its
fundamental incompatibility with that structure.
Id. at 167. Far from lending support to respondent’s standing
argument, qui tam’s “common understandings” indicate any-
thing but a solid line of tradition, and, as shown below,
respondent has a far inferior “warrant [for] invocation of
federal-court jurisdiction,” Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490, 498
(1975), than the constitutionally suspect qui tam plaintiff.

b. Respondent also contends its suit is far removed
from any effort “to transfer from the President to the courts
the Chief Executive’s most important Constitutional [sic]
duty, to ‘take Care that the Laws be faithfully executed,’ Art.
II, § 3.” Br. 23, citing Defenders, 504 U.S. at 577. The
blending of Article II, Article III and separation-of-powers
concerns are no less relevant here than in Defenders. See 504
U.S. at 576-78. By seeking penalties for alleged wholly past
violations, for which it has no Article III standing, respondent
is asking this Court to transfer to it the Executive’s discretion
to seek penalties for those violations. Respondent cannot,
therefore, be acting on its own behalf, but instead on behalf of
the government and the public at large. See Sure-Tan, Inc. v.
NLRB, 467 U.S. 883, 897 (1984) (private parties have no
judicially cognizable interest in procuring the enforcement of
law by an administrative agency).

In Gwaltney, the United States recognized this troubling
prospect:

—— —$ag eae ——

11

Indeed, if Congress were to give private citizens
untrammeled authority to seek penalties for wholly
past violations — oblivious to Article III’s require-
ment that a litigant have a personal stake in the
controversy — it would intrude upon the Executive's
responsibility to “take Care that the Laws be faith-
fully executed” (U.S. Const. Art. II, § 3) and the
prosecutorial discretion inherent therein.
Brief of the United States as Amicus Curiae Supporting Affir-
mance at 21 n. 34, Gwaltney, 484 U.S. 49 (1987).© Here,
respondent, with the United States’ support, asks that the
courts be authorized “with the permission of Congress, ‘to
assume a position of authority over the governmental acts of
another and co-equal department,’ and to become ‘virtually
continuing monitors of the wisdom and soundness of Execu-
tive action.’ ” Defenders, 504 U.S. at 577 (citations omitted).
The question of who exercises enforcement discretion would
be transferred from the executive branch to the federal courts.
2. Although respondent agrees that whether subject
matter jurisdiction exists “depends on the state of things at
the time of the action brought,” Gwaltney, 484 U.S. at 69
(Scalia, J., concurring) (quoting Mollan v. Torrance, 9 Wheat.
537, 539, 6 L. Ed. 154 (1824)), it initially questions whether
this is a constitutional principle or one of statutory construc-
tion. Br. 34. By so doing, respondent ignores this Court’s
holdings that the case or controversy requirement demands
that a plaintiff’s injury be continuing at the time suit is filed.
See Sosna v. lowa, 419 U.S. 393, 402 (1974).? Because
Congress cannot alter Articie III’s requirements, see, e.g.,
Raines v. Byrd, 65 U.S.L.W. 4705, 4708 n. 3 (1997) (“It is
settled that Congress cannot erase Article III’s standing
requirements by statutorily granting the right to sue to a

© Although the United States squarely addressed this issue ten years
ago, it is conspicuously silent on the issue here.

7 Later in the same paragraph, however, respondent acknowledges
“Article [II requires that a case be ‘an actual case or controversy’ at the
time of its decision, not just ‘when suit was filed.’ ” Br. 34, citing Honig v.
Doe, 484 U.S. 305, 317 (1988).

12

plaintiff who would not otherwise have standing.”), the “rele-
vant analogy” cannot be to “Congress’s power to prevent
efforts to circumvent jurisdictional requirements,” Br. 34, but
must be to Article III itself.

Respondent attempts to sidestep this Court’s jurispru-
dence on Article III injury by concluding “It is beyond
serious dispute” that The Steel Company’s alleged omissions
satisfy the “injury in fact” element of the standing test. Br.
23. Nonetheless, respondent conspicuously makes no attempt
to, and cannot, dispute that no injury existed at the time it
filed its complaint. Pet. Br. 36. Instead, respondent refers
solely to events that occurred prior to filing in an attempt to
establish an injury and is forced to admit that any alleged
injury was wholly past and noncontinuing: respondent
“alleg[ed] a wrong in the past,” The Steel Company allegedly
“inflicted injury on CBE.” Br. 23 (emphasis added).* Even
respondent concedes that EPCRA is best i to mean
that a violation ceases when a late report is filed. Bh, 14 & n.
9. Respondent simply cannot point to any alleged injury
existing at the time it filed its complaint, and it is thus clear
beyond dispute that when The Steel Company filed its forms
in May 1995, three months before respondent filed its com-
plaint, respondent lost any Article III foundation on which it
could base its suit. See also Deposit Guar. Nat'l Bank vy.
Roper, 445 U.S. 326, 346-47 (1980) (Powell, J., dissenting)

® Although irrelevant to its standing argument, respondent is
mistaken that it was unable to include The Steel Company's emissions in
its most recent Guide to Southeast Chicago's Major Polluting Industries.
Br. 26. Respondent received The Steel Company’s EPCRA forms both
during settlement discussions in May 1995 before CBE filed its complaint,
and again during the litigation in October 1995, well before it finalized its
Guide. (Although the Guide is not dated, the inside cover states the cover
photo was taken on April 26, 1996.) Besides, the very title implies that the
facilities included are guilty of some wrong. The Steel Company operates
pursuant to lawfully issued permits and regulations, and thus under legal
authority. If the other facilities in the Guide operate the same way, perhaps
it should be renamed Guide to Southeast Chicago's Major Environmentally
Compliant Industries.

13

(this Court has routinely held that “a tender of full relief
remedies a plaintiff's injury and eliminates his stake in the
outcome.”)®

Perhaps realizing the consequences of its not being able
to allege an ongoing injury, respondent concludes there must
be a “continuing live dispute on the merits” merely because
the parties disagree as to whether The Steel Company is liable
for civil penalties. Br. 30 n. 16. The requirements of Article
III are not satisfied, however, because a party asks a court to
declare its legal rights. Valley Forge Christian College v.
Americans United for Separation of Church and State, 454
U.S. 464, 471 (1982). Once The Steel Company filed its
forms, there ceased to be any continuing dispute between the
parties. Respondent cannot compel a court to decide a hypo-
thetical case (how much in penalties The Steel Company
should pay to the U.S. Treasury) just to secure its attorneys’
fees.

-—B. Respondent Cannot Satisfy the Requirement of
Redressability

l.a. Respondent's redressability argument is extraordin-
ary; it urges this Court to abandon its Article III standing
doctrine and replace it with one of mootness. Respondent
finds support for its argument in this Court’s holdings that “a
defendant's voluntary cessation of a challenged practice does
not deprive a federal court of its power to determine the
legality of the practice.” Br. 32, citing Northeastern Florida
Chapter, Associated Gen. Contractors v. Jacksonville, 508

% Respondent even claims that it still would have been injured had
The Steel Company filed its forms prior to May 1995. Br. 37 (respondent
had to conduct “a more expensive” investigation because of the non-
filings). Respondent claims further injury because any alleged non-
compliance resulted in exposure to “additional toxic chemicals.” Br. 27.
Here respondent attempts to convert a reporting statute into one like
RCRA, CAA, or CWA, which are intended to protect the public from
actual harm.

14

U.S. 656, 662 (1993). Respondent does first admit the volun-
tary cessation principle involves litigation that has already
begun and acknowledges it does not follow that there should
be a judge-made “voluntary cessation” principle to permit
standing. Br. 32-33. But it then offers the novel argument that
since standing and mootness are both Article III doctrines,
“by the same token, Article III should not be construed to bar
Congress from applying a ‘voluntary cessation’ principle to
permit standing.” Br. 33.

Respondent's argument is entirely without precedent. Of
necessity, respondent chooses to ignore that it must first cross
the Article III threshold by showing standing before it can
ever argue that The Steel Company cannot establish moot-
ness. By reversing the constitutional order, respondent sug-
gests there is an opportunity for Congress to circumvent
Article III's standing requirements, because, according to
respondent, Article III doctrines — standing, mootness, and
ripeness — merge into one since they all “must, of necessity,
be consistent with Article III.” Br. 33. But it is beyond
dispute that mootness addresses whether the discontinuation
of a violation after suit is filed requires a dismissal, and has
nothing to do with pre-complaint actions or omissions. See,
e.g., Gwaltney, 484 U.S. at 66-67. It is also beyond dispute
that Congress cannot alter Article III's requirements. Raines,
65 U.S.L.W. at 4708 n. 3.

Application of the voluntary cessation doctrine might
make some sense in the traditional mootness context (if
respondent had standing) if there was a danger The Steel
Company would not file its future EPCRA forms once the
litigation was dismissed. But there is no such danger. The
Steel Company did not file earlier because it was unaware of
EPCRA, not because it chose to “ignore” EPCRA, as respon-
dent would have this Court believe. According to respon-
dent’s analysis, if it is “reasonable to expect” that a facility
which comes into compliance with the CWA by investing in
new equipment will not resume violating the Act “once the
threat of a citizen suit abates,” Br. 21, then why is it also not
reasonable to expect that a company, once it becomes aware
of EPCRA and invests the time and money needed to comply

15

with EPCRA’s complex requirements, will continue to comply
with EPCRA once a citizen suit is dismissed? Moreover, if it
is “relatively easy to come into compliance with EPCRA on
short notice,” Br. 19, why does respondent repeatedly assert
that The Steel Company pay penalties so that it will be
deterred from “future wrongful conduct?” Br. 9, 35-36.'°
Indeed, respondent’s main purpose behind its action for past
violations appears to be its desire that The Steel Company be
“punished,” Br. 23, 34-35, compliance having been relegated
to a distant purpose.

b. Another of respondent's main contentions is that
Congress determined Article III's redressability requirement
would be satisfied by the imposition of penalties for past
EPCRA violations. Br. 35-36. While Congress may have “the
power to define injuries and articulate chains of causation that
will give rise to a case or controversy where none existed
before,” Defenders, 504 U.S. at 580 (Kennedy, J., concur-
ring), Congress was silent as to any possible deterrent effect
of imposing penalties for past EPCRA violations. Respondent
admits as much as it cites no such congressional articulation
regarding EPCRA, and, instead, cites CAA legislative history.
Br. 36.'' While penalties assessed for a violation continuing
after a citizen suit is filed may satisfy Article III's
redressability requirement in a mootness context, see Sierra
Club v. Simkins Indus., Inc., 847 F.2d 1109 (4th Cir. 1988),

'© Respondent also misreads EPA's estimate regarding Section 313
reporting burdens by failing to include the estimated hours required for
“rule familiarization” and “compliance determination,” two essential tasks
in filing EPCRA forms. Br. 20 n. 10. The correct estimate is therefore not
74 hours per report in the first year as claimed by respondent, but 124.5
hours as shown in our opening brief. Pet. Br. 42.

'! The history stems from Congress’s amendment providing for
penalties in CAA citizen suits to conform the CAA to RCRA, CWA and
other environmental statutes. Contrary to respondent's suggestion,
however, Congress did not discuss whether penalties for past violations
would satisfy Article III's redressability requirement. S. Rep. No. 101-228,
101st Cong., 2d Sess. 373, reprinted in 1990 U.S.C.C_A.N. 3385, 3756.

16

they cannot redress a plaintiff's injuries where there is no

c. Respondent also attempts to create an injury and
redressability for itself by arguing that, as in qui tam actions,
Congress provided an appropriate “incentive” to sue in the
form of “costs of litigation.” Br. 30-31.'? But an EPCRA case
is no different from any other; a plaintiff simply will incur
some costs in determining whether it has a valid claim.
Nothing in EPCRA or this Court’s jurisprudence indicates
that incurring pre-filing investigation costs and fees estab-
lishes an Article III injury where the plaintiff otherwise has
no Article III case.

This Court has routinely held that a claim for costs and
fees “is not part of the merits of the action” because it “does
not remedy the injury giving rise to the action.” See Budinich
v. Becton Dickinson & Co., 486 U.S. 196, 200 (1988).
Respondent's attempts to distinguish this Court's cases on the
issue are unavailing, Br. 30 n. 16, 37, because, under its
analysis, an award of litigation costs and fees is never
“wholly unrelated to the subject matter of the litigation.” In
essence, by claiming the first dollar of costs or fees it
incurred established its injury, respondent wishes to eliminate
the first prong of the Article III standing test. Under any fee-
shifting statute, “any person,” as respondent would have it,
need establish only causation and redressability, having been
relieved of the constitutional injury requirement.

For example, the Fair Housing Act, in part an informa-
tional statute like EPCRA, authorizes “any aggrieved person”
to sue and also recover attorney's fees and costs. 42 U.S.C.
§ 3613(a)(1)(A), (c)(2). Under respondent’s analysis, even if
an injury had been fully remedied, a would-be plaintiff could

12 Respondent also attempts to accord EPCRA some special
significance in that, under EPCRA, an award of litigation costs “is made to
the plaintiff, not to the attorney.” Br. 30. This makes EPCRA no different
from any other fee-shifting statute, including all environmental citizen suit

which award fees to the prevailing “party,” see, ¢.g., 33 U.S.C.
§ 1365(d), 42 U.S.C. § 3613(c)X2), yet another example of how Congress
used its model in enacting EPCRA.

17

still establish an injury because he had incurred pre-filing

investigation costs, which, according to respondent, are
related to the subject matter of the litigation for purposes of
Article III. Br. 37. It makes no difference to respondent if the
injury sued on was wholly in the past, respondent’s “revised”
Article III no longer requiring the traditional injury. But see
Havens Realty Corp. v. Coleman, 455 U.S. 363, 381 (1982)
(plaintiffs alleged a “continuing pattern” of unlawful racial
steering and were able to establish standing).

Perhaps realizing that, since it could not allege an ongo-
ing injury, it in turn has no Article III case, respondent pleads
“[iJt would be pointless to conclude that Section 326 is
unconstitutional as written, but would become constitutional
if Congress provided” a bounty. Br. 31-32. While not address-
ing whether the qui tam is constitutional, this Court recently
acknowledged the differences in establishing Article III
standing in environmental citizen suits and qui tam actions.
Defenders, 504 U.S. at 572-73 (an environmental citizen suit
“is not the unusual case in which Congress has created a
concrete private interest in the outcome of a suit against a
private party for the government's benefit, by providing a
cash bounty for the victorious plaintiff.”)'? Respondent is not
a qui tam plaintiff, and has no Article III injury.

2. Only ten years ago, the United States argued an
environmental citizen suit plaintiff who alleges past viola-
tions cannot establish standing:

A citizen plaintiff who alleges that he is adversely

affected by a company’s ongoing violation of its

discharge permit and requests an injunction requir-

ing compliance can satisfactorily demonstrate, at

least at the pleading stage, both personal injury and

redressability. However, a citizen who brings suit
simply to obtain a judicial assessment of civil pen-
alties for nonrecurring past violations would fail to

13 Apperentiy, pleiatifis in Defenders did act consider respondent's
argument worth mentioning and did not attempt to establish injury via
ESA's fee-shifting provision.

18

meet Article III's requirements; the mere assess-

ment of civil penalties, which are payable only to

the Treasury, would not redress in any meaningful

sense the citizen’s alleged injuries.

Brief of the United States as Amicus Curiae at 21 n. 34,
Gwaltney, 484 U.S. 49. In this case, the United States retreats
from that position and now argues that even if a citizen
plaintiff does not allege an ongoing violation, this Court
should find the speculative possibility of future injury suffi-
cient to support Article III standing. U.S. Br. 26-30 & n. 10.

The United States disputes that its position on Article III
has changed. U.S. Br. 26 n. 10. In attempting to show consis-
tency of its arguments, the United States cites a case, shortly
after Gwaltney was decided, in which it was asked by this
Court to address whether, in a CWA citizen suit, a court's
imposing penalties for violations that continued after a com-
plaint was filed abridged Article III’s redressability require-
ment. Brief of the United States as Amicus Curiae at 7-14,
Simkins Indus., Inc. v. Sierra Club, 491 U.S. 904 (1989). In
Simkins, the plaintiff “alleged in good faith and proved a
continuing violation within the meaning of Gwaltney.” Id. at
7. Discussing redressability in a mootness context, the United
States argued an imposition of penalties for violations exis-
ting when the complaint was filed, although cured prior to
entry of judgment, did not violate Article III. More important
to this case, despite how it now portrays its views on stand-
ing, the United States reiterated its Gwaltney position that
Article II] requires a citizen plaintiff to allege an ongoing
violation; if there is no continuing violation, obtaining a
judicial assessment of penalties cannot redress a citizen's
alleged injuries. Jd. at 13 n. 14.

In this case, however, the United States reverses course
and asks the Court to erase the line that traditionally has
separated pre- and post-complaint injuries and instead find
that Article III’s redressability requirement would be satisfied
by a judicial assessment of penalties for wholly past viola-
tions. It essentially argues the mootness principles it asserted
in Simkins are no different from the standing criteria it
defended in Gwaltney. But the two are not the same, and the

19

United States’ unprecedented position would require the
Court to equate standing and mootness, two very different
Article III doctrines.

The weakness of its argument is seen in its sole ground
for distinguishing Gwaltney from this case: “the violation at
issue cannot be said to be a nonrecurring one.” U.S. Br. 26 n.
10. But its argument is disingenuous: one, respondent did not
allege an ongoing violation as the Gwaltney plaintiff would.
Two, as the United States uses the word here, Gwaltney would
involve “recurring” violations because the plaintiff there
alleged years of non-compliance with the CWA, and not a
single instance, as the United States suggests. Gwaltney, 484
U.S. at 53 (between 1981 and 1984, defendant violated its
permit over 150 times).'* Mootness simply does not apply
here, and respondent's and the United States’ arguments have
no constitutional grounding.

3. Finally, while a scarcity of government resources
may be a legitimate justification for authorizing citizen suits
for past violations as a policy matter, Br. 3, U.S. Br. 21, it is
insufficient to confer Article III standing on respondent. This
Court has emphasized this point on numerous occasions. In

'4 In asking this Court to affirm the Seventh Circuit, and, in effect,
eliminate the injury and redressability requirements in the standing context,
the United States also invites the unwelcome consequences of undermining
the doctrines of ripeness and mootness. If there is no injury requirement, a
case is always ripe and never moot. See Marshall J. Breger, Defending
Defenders, 42 Duke L. J. 1202, 1208 (1993). Nothing would prevent courts
from entertaining collusive suits and issuing advisory opinions. /d.
Congress could also enact statutes authorizing “any person” to sue and
thereby overrule this Court’s decisions regarding taxpayer standing and
First Amendment challenges. /d. at 1208-09. The United States’ position
on standing here is a radical departure from its arguments in Simon v.
Eastern Ky. Welfare Rights Org., 426 U.S. 26 (1976), Allen, Defenders and
others in which it argued against expanding Article III standing. It is also
passing strange that the United States argued that the plaintiffs in Spear did
not have Article III standing where there clearly was a continuing harm,
but have no difficulty finding standing here where the alleged harm is
wholly past.

20

Immigration and Naturalization Serv. v. Chadha, 462 U.S.
919, 945 (1983), this Court explained that “policy arguments
supporting even useful ‘political inventions’ are subject to the
demands of the Constitution which defines powers and, with
respect to this subject, sets out just how those powers are to
be exercised.” See also Valley Forge, 454 U.S. at 484 (“To the
extent the Court of Appeals relied on a view of standing under
which the Art. III burdens diminish as the ‘importance’ of the
claim on the merits increases, we reject that notion.”). Indeed,
“If passionate commitment plus money for litigating were all
that were necessary to open the doors of the federal courts,
those courts, already overburdened with litigation of every
description, might be overwhelmed.” People Organized for
Welfare and Employment Rights (P.O.W.E.R.) v. Thompson,
727 F.2d 167, 172 (7th Cir. 1984).

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above and in our opening brief, the
judgment of the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals should be
reversed, and the District Court's dismissal of CBE’s com-
plaint should be reinstated and affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

Sanrorp M. Stem
Counsel of Record

Leo P. Domsrowski
Witpman, Harroip, Aten & Dixon
225 West Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL 60606-1229
(312) 201-2000
Counsel for Petitioner
July 25, 1997

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0026%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
