# Amicus Curiae Brief — Metro-North Commuter R. Co. v. Buckley

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0017%3A23

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 521 U.S. 424

## Text

In THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

METRO-NORTH COMMUTER RAILROAD COMPANY,
Petitioner,
Vv.

MICHAEL BUCKLEY,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
OWENS-ILLINOIS, INC.
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

Of Counsel: W. DONALD MCSWEENEY *
PHILIP MCWEENY RoBeERT H. RILEY
OWENS-ILLINOIS, INC. SCHIFF HARDIN & WAITE
One Sea Gate 7200 Sears Tower

Toledo, OH 43666 Chicago, IL 60606

(419) 247-1004 (312) 876-1000

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Owens-Illinois, Inc.

December 16, 1996 * Counsel of Record

WILSON - Eres Printine Co., Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE..
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .....0

ARGUMENT. FE EEE EEE EERE SETHE EEE EEE EEE EEE OEE H EEE RHEE EEE EEE EEE EEE EEE HEH

I. THE ASBESTOS LITIGATION IS UNMAN-
AGEABLE ONLY WHEN PERSONS WHO
ARE NOT PHYSICALLY IMPAIRED ARE
NONETHELESS ALLOWED TO MAINTAIN
ePID serrentecqneypnoniirnenmetanetinliparegecaiainanignizens

MR. BUCKLEY’S EXPOSURE TO ASBESTOS
WILL NOT AUTOMATICALLY—OR EVEN

A. Mr. Buckley Is Not Presently Impaired........

B. Exposure Does Not Equal Disease ...

ONLY PERSONS WHO ARE PHYSICALLY
IMPAIRED HAVE A COMPENSABLE TORT
SE caniceppmcregremcncrnaitiineeatinenepeniateecieninnlatin

A. Unimpaired Plaintiffs Have No Compen-

B. The Line For Compensable Tort Injury
Should Be Drawn At Physical Impairment...

THE COSTS OF MEDICAL MONITORING
SHOULD BE LIMITED TO PERSONS WITH

Vv. MEDICAL MONITORING IS NOT JUSTI-
FIED ON THIS RECORD ..............

CONCLUSION .............20..:00-0-0000-

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Ayers v. Township of Jackson, 525 A.2d 287 (N.J.
GD, ccisntectsunitiitiietahinie, Hikermnintavinidhiiepeincncptiaaininatinane
Ball v. Joy Technologies, Inc., 958 F.2d 36 (4th
Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 503 U.S. 1033 (1992)... 21
Burns v. Celotezx Corp., 587 N.E.2d 1092 (Ill.
App.), appeal denied, 596 N.E.2d 626 (Ill.
I crctrccocctiideucsercdenscsonvacensanetaniinhasancannstatianamaigiadioe 8
Burns v. Jaquays Mining Corp., 752 P.2d 28 (Ariz.
1987), review dismissed, 781 P.2d 1373 (1989) 8, 18, 20
Catasauqua Area “chool Dist. v. Eagle-Picher
Indus., Inc., No. 85-8748, 1988 WL 102689 (E.D.

SS | SR ee 21
Caterinicchio v. Pittsburgh Corning Corp., 605
A.2d 1092 (N.J. 1992)... n---.c-cceccccccccccccseeneeeeenes 7,18

Dafler v. Raymark Indus. Inc., 611 A.2d 136 (N.J.
Super. 1992), aff’d, 622 A.2d 1305 (N.J. 1993). 24
Hagerty v. L & L Marine Services, Inc., 788 F.2d

Ff SEE 21
Hansen v. Mountain Fuel Supply Co., 858 P.2d

es 21
Hayes v. AC&S, Inc., No. 95-CH-1835 (Cook

County, Ill. Oct. 30, 1996) aE IRB: 1 Oph Rlns Ta 22
Herber v. Johns-Manville Corp., 785 F.2d 79 (3d

De hiicecencpbleibbhsisedeittddirccdiadeicinagarctsimaenes 18
In re Asbestos Cases (Mulligan), 586 N.E.2d 521

Ci SN TIED siisitiaiesiesscntinehipesecrnsnenetecunguenaatngagnapecee x
In re Asbestos II Consol. Pretrial, 142 F. R. D. 152

(N.D. Ill. 1991) .. 8,17

In re Asbestos Litig. “(Mancari and ‘Gajeweki),

No. 347, 1995 Del. LEXIS 323 (Del. Sept. 5,

REET Pa ES APs Sy ae ay Se 7
In re Asbestos Products Liab. Litig. (No. V1),

No. MDL 875, 1996 WL 239863 (E.D. Pa. May

OD * I ib iii bine iccnatidemneasiniorigaemimimaanatittetanseeee 3,9
In re Asbestos Products Liab. Litig. (No. V1),

No. MDL 875, 1996 WL 589589 (E.D. Pa.

Sept. 16, 1996) . 6-7
In re Hawaii Federal Asbestos Cases, 134 F. ‘Supp.
1563 (D. Hawaii 1990) 2.222.222.2202. 7, 8,17

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
J.H. France Refractories Co. v. Allstate Ins. Co.,
gilli et I SE as 16
Marinari v. Asbestos Corp., 6.2 A.2d 1021 (Pa.
Super. 1992) .. 19
Mauro v. Raymark Industries, ‘Ine., 561 A2d 257
cenit ee ee 21
Meganthaler v. Asbestos Corp., 480 A.2d 647
MAIR Se SRE SS CE ke IS 22
Meyerhoff v. Turner Const. Co., 584 N.W.2d 204
(Mich. App. 1995), appeal denied, 550 N.W. 2d
REISER Os A emits 20-21
Owens-Illinois, Inc. v. Armstrong, 591 A.2d 544
(Md. App.), rev’d on other grounds, 604 A.2d
47 (Md. 1991), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 871
Ee A a EE al ie cS th a telli al 17
Pollock v. Johns-Manville Sales Corp., 686 F. Supp.
ga iri lie el taeda 19
Potter v. Firestone Tire and Rubber Co., 862 P.2d
RR eT cet Le cil lh 21
Purjet v. Hess Oil Virgin Islands Corp., No. 1985/
284, 1986 WL 1200 (D.V.I1. Jan. 8, 1986)... ss—s«o221-22
Redland Soccer Club v. United States Dep’t of
the Army, 55 F.3d 827 (3d Cir. 1995), cert.
denied, 116 S. Ct. 772 (1996) 21
Schweitzer v. Consolidated Rail Corp., 758 F.2d
936 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 864
A ee lcm NC, ci art ls tA ects Sil 8, 18
Simmons v. Pacor, Inc., 674 A.2d 232 (Pa. 1996) 1,7, 8,
18, 21
Thomas v. FAG Bearings Corp., Inc., 846 F. Supp.
ne Ce 21
Werlein v. United States, 746 F. Supp. 887 (D.
I etek ee 21
Wright v. Eagle-Picher Indus., 565 A.2d 377 (Md.
REET Ed li Te A, de ID 8
PUBLICATIONS

K. Brown, Asbestos-Related Disease and the “One

Fibre” Theory, Occupational Health Review
(Oct./Nov. 1987)

ttt hh. LeeLee LL ee

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Centers for Disease Control, Public Health Conse-
quences of Smoking—25 Years of Progress. A
Report of the Surgeon General, 1989 DHHS
Publ. No. (CDC) 89-8411 (1989) —....................
D. Dail and S. Hammar, Pulmonary Pathology (2d
0 Se ey eee ee
R. Doll & J. Peto, Effects on Health of Exposure
to Asbestos (1985) —............-----

D. Eddy, Common Screening Tests (Am. College
of Physicians 1991) ..

S. Martin & J. Martin, Tort Actions for Medical
Monitoring: Warranted or Wasteful?, 20
Colum. J. Envtl. L. 121 (1995) —.......................
B. Mossman, J. Bignon, M. Corn, A. Seaton, J.
Gee, Asbestos: Scientific Developments and
Implications for Public Policy, Science, Jan.
CO EEE

eS SE a ee

5 er ee
Report of the Judicial Conference Ad Hoc Com-
mittee on Asbestos Litigation (March 1991)...
Restatement (Second) of Torts (1965) —..............
V. Roggli, Human Disease Consequences of Fiber
Exposures: A Review of Human Lung Pathol-
ogy and Fiber Burden Data, 83 Envtl. Health
| §.
D. Shopland, H. Eyre, T. Pechacek, Smoking At-
tributable Mortality in 1991: Is Lung Cancer
Now the Leading Cause of Death Among Smok-
ers in the United States?, J. of the Nat'l Cancer
I ( Ry—E—E—R——————EEE EE
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. Guide to
Clinical Preventive Services (2d ed. Williams
a ee re 2
E. Wiechmann, Curse of the Unsick: Update on
Latent Injury Claims in Toxic Tort Cases, 25
Brief 10 (Summer 1996) ......................................

Page

11

~

In THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1996

No. 96-320

METRO-NorRTH COMMUTER RAILROAD COMPANY,
¢. Petitioner,

MICHAEL BUCKLEY,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
OWENS-ILLINOIS, INC.
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Owens-Illinois, Inc. (“Owens-Illinois”) seeks to assist
the Court in its analysis of the medical and scientific issues
that serve as the purported foundation for the right of
recovery announced by the Second Circuit in this case.
Owens-Illinois has substantial experience with those med-
ical and scientific issues. Respondent’s medical expert wit-
nesses often testify against Owens-Illinois in trials of
asbestos-related personal injury cases. Owens-Illinois also
was one of the parties in Simmons v. Pacor,
Inc., 674 A.2d 232 (Pa. 1996), in which the Pennsyl-
vania Supreme Court held that the mere presence of a
physical sign or “marker” of exposure to asbestos that is
detectable by x-ray, but causes no impairment, does not

2
constitute a compensable tort injury. Owens-Illinois’ ex-

case
be helpful to the Court because the Court has only
one-half of a trial record before it. This matter was

Owens-Illinois manufactured asbestos-containing thermal
insulation products for a limited period of time ending
in early 1958. More than two decades after it ceased
manufacturing and selling such products, Owens-Illinois
began receiving literally tens of thousands of personal
injury claims arising from alleged exposure to the asbestos
contained in those products. To date, Owens-Illinois has
resolved more than two hundred thousand such claims.
It nonetheless remains a defendant in more than fifteen
thousand asbestos-related personal injury cases.

One reason Owens-Illinois continues to be plagued by
thousands of asbestos-related claims almost four decades
after it last sold the product giving rise to those claims
is the wave of new filings by individuals who have x-ray
changes consistent with asbestos exposure, but who suffer
no current impairment of any kind. These non-impairment
claims represent a serious challenge to the ability of the
courts of this country to manage asbestos-related litiga-
tion. In many jurisdictions, however, affirmative steps
have been taken to ensure that such claims are dismissed
or placed on administrative dockets so that judicial and
party resources are directed toward the claims of indi-
viduals alleging actual impairment or death due to
asbestos-related diseases.

The decision of the Second Circuit in this matter
threatens to create a new category of claims by permitting
suit by individuals who are not presently impaired and
have no detectable physical signs of asbestos-related dis-

ease. There is virtually no limit to the number of
“exposure only” plaintiffs who would have causes of

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. PB anes yh, cicg Ayes peng nee tralbayemae
whether who are not sick may nonetheless recover
tort damages simply because they were occupationally
exposed to a potentially harmful substance— in this case,
asbestos.

gue Pines egg Bisey wey aly ay

new to the asbestos litigation. Until now,
however, such claims have generally been limited to plain-
tiffs who have suffered a clinically detectable physical
change caused by asbestos exposure. Most courts that
have confronted the issue have held that asymptomatic

plaintiffs have not suffered a compensable tort injury and

(Indeed, Judge Weiner has overseen the resolution of
more than 40,000 asbestos cases.) In re Asbestos Prod.
Liab. Litig., No. MDL 875, 1996 WL 239863, *1 (E.D.
Pa. May 2, 1996). The courts have held that physical
impairment is the hallmark of compensable tort injury
and that the limited resources of the judiciary and parties
involved in this mass tort problem should be directed at
those claims that involve actual impairment or death.

Il. The Respondent, Mr. Buckley, presents the most
extreme form of non-impairment claim, for he admittedly
has no clinically detectable changes whatsoever from his
alleged asbestos exposure. His is an “exposure only”

4

claim. His “injury” is limited to theoretical health risks
and the fears spawned thereby.

Mere exposure to a substance that may cause harm
decades later has never been thought sufficient to support
a tort claim, and for good reason. There is no tangible,
discernible injury to moor the proceedings. The plaintiff
does not even suggest that it is more probable than not
that he will someday become functionally impaired, so
the trial devolves into a debate about what is theoretically
possible.

The judicial system is required to guess which of the
“exposure only” plaintiffs that come before it will be the
one in twenty (or one hundred, or ten thousand) who
will someday realize the injury the risk of which all pur-
portedly share—a guess that will, by definition, often
turn out to be wrong. The alternative is to pretend that
all plaintiffs will suffer the threatened fate, a decision that
will overcompensate all but a tiny statistical minority.
All the while, thousands of truly impaired plaintiffs will
be required to wait their turn in the litigation queue.

Ill. The trial court record in this case is a testament to
the futility of litigating risk-as-injury. No one knows what
level of asbestos exposure Mr. Buckley actually had (no
breathing zone measurements were conducted during his
alleged exposure), so his experts made “estimates” based
upon dubious extrapolations from different workers in
different trades in different workplaces at different times.
Even those experts, however, admit that Mr. Buckley’s
exposure is unlikely to lead to any asbestos-related disease.

The rule articulated by the Second Circuit—that people
with “massive” exposure to a potentially harmful sub-
stance have suffered compensable tort injury even in the
absence of physical impairment—is unlimited in scope,
unsupported by the trial court record and virtually unprece-
dented. The better rule of law, and the rule this Court
should reaffirm, is that the tort law has limits; that the

5

judicial system cannot remedy every risk or fear attendant
to living and working in a potentially hazardous world;
that a tort plaintiff must suffer present physical impair-
ment for there to be a compensable injury.

IV. Medical monitoring should be an item of damages
available only to those persons who have a compensable
tort injury. The better reasoned decisions in this area
are based on the principle that only in the context of a
discernible physical impairment can a court deal mean-
ingfully with the concept of future medical expenses.
Medical monitoring is very expensive and, if made avail-
able to people who are not impaired, would divert re-
sources away from compensating those plaintiffs who are
impaired.

V. The record in this case does not support Mr. Buckley’s
claim for the cost of medical monitoring. The theory of
relative risk underlying the claim—that any exposure to
asbestos, no matter how slight, creates “significant” risk
of disease—is both scientifically and logically flawed. Mr.
Buckley’s smoking habit and other occupational exposures
and disease risks were virtually ignored by Respondent's
experts pursuant to the theory that a distinct medical
monitoring program for asbestos disease could be fash-
ioned independent of the complex array of health care
services a person would otherwise require throughout his
or her life. There was no proof offered to support that
theory, or to establish that such monitoring would provide
reliable results or would somehow change the course of
admittedly untreatable diseases.

Moreover, the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force
found that a “routine chest x-day to screen for lung can-
cer”——the exact relief Mr. Buckley seeks—is “ineffective.”
Even Mr. Buckley’s expert at trial admitted that no study
shows that routine x-rays have any benefit for individuals
who, like Mr. Buckley, have both asbestos exposure and
a history of smoking cigarettes. Medical monitoring, if

6

ever appropriate, should be an item of damages only
where the monitoring is shown to be medically appropriate
and beneficial.

ARGUMENT

I. THE ASBESTOS LITIGATION IS UNMANAGE-
ABLE ONLY WHEN PERSONS WHO ARE NOT
PHYSICALLY IMPAIRED ARE NONETHELESS
ALLOWED TO MAINTAIN LAWSUITS

As this Court enters for the first time the thicket of
asbestos-related personal injury litigation, it must be pre-
pared to separate the facis 1rom the hyperbole surrounding
this area of law. Perhaps the most persistent misunder-
standing involves the notion that all asbestos-related claims
are alike and that the judicial machinery of this nation
is grinding to a halt because of the claims of people who
are dead or dying as a result of asbestos exposure. While
it is true that a tragic number of people have contracted
fatal or disabling asbestos-related diseases, their claims
represent a relatively small and shrinking proportion of
pending claims nationwide.

Asbestos litigation dockets are increasingly dominated
by the claims of people, like Mr. Buckley, who are not
sick. Until now, asymptomatic plaintiffs would at least
point to the presence of non-dysfunctional “pleural
plaques” as the basis for their claim. Pleural plaques,
also known as pleural thickening, pleural scarring and
pleural fibrosis, are the most common of the bodily
changes at issue in unimpaired cases. The pleural mem-
brane is a thin tissue covering the lungs and lining the
thorax that separates the lungs from the rib cage and
diaphragm. This membrane secretes a moistening liquid
that allows the lungs to expand during respiration without
rubbing against the chest wall. Pleural plaques are a
benign change to the pleurae and are generally not in
any way disabling or symptomatic. See In re Asbestos
Products Liab. Litig. (No. V1), No. MDL 875, 1996 WL

7

539589, *2 n.8 (E.D. Pa. Sept. 16, 1996); In re Asbestos
Litig. (Mancari and Gajewski), No. 347, 1995 Del. LEXIS
323, *1 (Del. Sept. 5, 1995); Caterinicchio v. Pittsburgh
Corning Corp., 605 A.2d 1092, 1095 (N.J. 1992) (citing
R. Doll & J. Peto, Effects on Health of Exposure to
Asbestos 2 (1985) ).

When pleural thickening is asymptomatic (“benign”),
“individuals are able to lead active, normal lives, with no
pain or suffering, no loss of an organ function, and no
disfigurement due to scarring.” Simmons, 674 A.2d 232,
236 (Pa. 1996) (citing In re Hawaii Federal Asbestos
Cases, 734 F. Supp. 1563, 1567 (D. Hawaii 1990) ).
Indeed, individuals with asymptomatic pleural thickening
cannot feel it; they do not know that they have it; and
it is undetectable without the use of an X-ray.

Even with the long latency periods associated with
asbestos disease, the claims of death or serious illness
arising from occupational exposures from the 1930's
through the 1960's have largely been brought and resolved
over the last decade. They have now been replaced by
even larger numbers of “pleural plaque” claims. It is
widely feit that the sheer volume of claims involving
this non-impairing condition created a “crisis” in docket
control that led to the establishment of MDL 875.
See Report of the Judicial Conference Ad Hoc Committee
on Asbestos Litigation 22, 26-27 (March 1991).

fectively transferred to plaintiffs’ counsel, the only con-
venient hedge that the lawyers have against the risk
non-recovery is volume. A large award of “risk” or “fear”
damages in a single non-impairment case would subsidi
the cost of seeking such awards in all such cases, so the
low probability of winning the lottery can be offset by
playing often.

Experience in a growing number of jurisdictions has
shown, however, that the huge flood of claims by plaintiffs
who are unimpaired can effectively be stemmed through
a variety of means. As will be discussed more fully below
(see-pp. 17-20, infra), most courts that have confronted
the issue have concluded—as Owens-Illinois submits this
Court should—that claims by plaintiffs who are not ‘Il must
be dismissed. See, e.g., Simmons, 674 A.2d at 23 | In re
Hawaii Federal Asbestos Cases, 734 F. Supp. at 1567-
69; Burns v. Jaquays Mining Corp., 752 P.2d 28, 31
(Ariz. 1987), review dismissed, 781 P.2d 1373 (1989);
Wright v. Eagle-Picher Indus., 565 A.2d 377, 380-81
(Md. App. 1989); Schweitzer v. Consolidated Rail Corp.,
758 F.2d 936, 942 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 864
(1985). Other courts have placed such unimpaired claims
on inactive dockets until such time (if ever) that an
asbestos-related illness develops. See, e.g., In re Asbestos
Il Consol. Pretrial, 142 F.R.D. 152 (N.D. Ill. 1991);
In re Asbestos Cases (Mulligan), 586 N.E.2d 521, 523
n.4 (Ill. App. 1991) (noting existence of such inactive
dockets in numerous other jurisdictions); Burns v. Celotex
Corp., 587 N.E.2d 1092 (Ill. App.), appeal denied, 596
N.E.2d 626 (Ill. 1992).

Perhaps the most innovative, fair and practical responses
to the challenges of asbestos-related litigation have come
from Judge Charles Weiner in the context of MDL 875, the
multidistrict litigation that has, since 1991, encompassed
all asbestos-related claims pending in the federal courts.
Judge Weiner has overseen resolution of more than
40,000 of the almost 59,000 asbestos-related cases that

2,

9

have been brought before him. In re Asbestos Products
Liab. Litig. (No. VI), No. MDL 875, 1996 WL 239863,
*1 (E.D. Pa. May 2, 1996). When faced with more
than 18,000 maritime cases from claimants who, accord-
ing to the materials produced by the plaintiffs’ counsel,

~ were not ill, Judge Weiner “administratively dismissed”

those cases without prejudice and with all statutes of lim-
itation tolled. Jd. at *4. Judge Weiner’s answer to the
problem of unimpaired claims, which explicitly preserves
the right of the plaintiffs to “msintain an action should
their circumstances warrant the furtherance of their case,”
id., is precisely the type of resolution calibrated to retain
fairness and balance in the asbestos-related litigation.

Mr. Buckley’s case, of course, represents a new and even
more extreme version of the non-impairment claim: as
discussed below, he does not even have pleural plaques.
Mr. Buckley’s only purported tort injury is the mere fact
of exposure to a potentially harmful substance.

This case therefore squarely presents the question
whether asbestos-related personal injury litigation should
be restricted to plaintiffs who at least claim to be pres-
ently impaired, or whether it should be thrown open to
plaintiffs who admittedly are functionally normal. Many
lower courts have taken responsible steps to restrict the
litigation to those who can show present physical impair-
ment, and that answer to the problem is equally appli-
cable here. This Court should be careful not to undue
the work of Judge Weiner and his colleagues in the federal
and state judiciaries who have found ways to avert a real
asbestos crisis.

Il. MR. BUCKLEY’S EXPOSURE TO ASBESTOS WILL
NOT AUTOMATICALLY—OR EVEN PROBABLY-—
LEAD TO ILLNESS

A. Mr. Buckley Is Not Presently Impaired

It is undisputed that Mr. Buckley is not sick or in any
way impaired by his exposure to asbestos. His Amended

Se TE ee eG TT ee a

10

Complaint admits that fact: “[TJhe plaintiff is not bring-
ing a cause of action or claiming damages for the actual
clinically diagnosed condition of asbestosis, lung cancer,
or other asbestos-related disease or illness.” (J.A. 17)
(emphasis added).

His own expert witness, Dr. Markowitz, testified that
Mr. Buckley’s breathing and chest x-rays are both “nor-
inal” (J.A. 73-74) and that Mr. Buckley exhibits “ab-
solutely no [evidence of] asbestos-related disease.” (J.A.
118). Indeed, Mr. Buckley is able to walk fifteen to
twenty miles per week and can climb seven flights of stairs
“with no difficulty.” (J.A. 173).

B. Exposure Does Not Equal Disease

Mr. Buckley’s good health is hardly surprising, common
misconceptions about asbestos-related disease notwith-
standing. Asbestos exposure is ubiquitous in this country:
“Everyone in any urban environment has some asbestos
exposure.” (J.A. 108). Even if one considers only oc-
cupational exposures, the plaintiff's proof was that, in just
seven industries, more than 16 million individuals have
asbestos exposure. (J.A. 280-81).

Asbestos exposure, however, simply is not the equiva-
lent of asbestos disease. The body has extensive, multi-
faceted defense mechanisms that protect us from inhaled
substances, including asbestos. (J.A. 109). Standard
texts in the field conclude that these mechanisms clear
from the lungs the overwhelming majority of inhaled
asbestos fit»: +:

Many inhaled asbestos fibers, as with dust in general,
are also effectively entrapped and cleared. A study
by Evans, et al. in an animal model suggested that
two-thirds of the inhaled fibers were trapped in the
larger airways, thus greatly limiting the potential
peripheral burden. By the end of the first month,
it was further observed that clearance had eliminated

three-fourths of the particles that reached the distal
airways.

11

D. Dail and S. Hammer, Pulmonary Pathology 919 (2d
ed. 1994 )(footnote omitted).' Those fibers that remain
are then attacked at the cellular level by scavenger cells

called macrophages. (J.A. 79).

Even Mr. Buckley’s expert witnesses admit that the in-
cidence of asbestos-related disease is dose-related. (J.A.
110). Beyond that factor lie questions of individual sus-
ceptibility, for it is undisputed that people with virtually
identical exposure histories experience dramatically differ-
ent results for reasons medical science cannot explain.

What medical science can and does explain, however, is
that asbestos-related disease does not occur, except at cer-
tain discernible levels of exposure. See, e.g., B. Mossman,
J. Bignon, M. Corn, A. Seaton, J. Gee, Asbestos: Scien-
tific Developments and Implications for Public Policy,
Science, Jan. 1990, at 198. A standard text on occupa-
tional lung disorders states, “The threshold of exposure
below which clinical evidence of asbestos would not ap-
pear has been put conservatively at 25 fibres/ml years.”
Epidemiological evidence suggests a slightly higher ex-
posure threshold for increased lung cancer risk.” W.
Parkes, Occupational Lung Disorders 482 (3d ed. 1994)
(citations omitted). That same text also states, “The low-
est estimated cumulative exposure on record resulting in
a mesothelioma appears to be of the order of 5 fibres/ml
year....” Id. at 474.

While the plaintiff’s experts did not contest much of the
foregoing (e.g., “[L]ower levels of exposure are needed for

1One of the authors of that text, Dr. Hammar, is commonly
called by the plaintiffs to testify in asbestos-related personal injury
trials.

2 Exposure levels are customarily expressed in terms of the num-
ber of asbestos fibers per milliliter of air. The cumulative exposure
of any individual is customarily expressed as the average exposure
level experienced by the individual over the course of his/her work-
ing life, multiplied by the years of exposure. For example, an
average exposure of 5 fibers/ml for 5 years would result in a
cumulative exposure of 25 fibers/m! years.

12

mesothelioma than to produce asbestosis” (J.A. 66)),
im that a hypothetical risk of disease—as op-

posed to actual incidence of disease—occurs at any level
of exposure, no matter how slight. According to Dr.
is no established safe level . . . [I}f

there is any exposure, there is some level of risk.” (J.A.
58). Dr. Nicholson went even further, claiming that ex-
posure to barely measurable levels of asbestos in the am-

one of us in the United States” at risk of developing an
asbestos-related disease. (J.A. 310-11). The level at
which risk begins, according to Dr. Nicholson, is “any
exposure to asbestos whatsoever.” (J.A. 336).

There are, in the eyes of the medical and scientific
community, many difficulties with Dr. Nicholson’s “one
fiber” theory of asbestos risk. See generally K. Brown,
Asbestos-Related Disease and the “One Fibre” Theory,
Occupational Health Review (Oct./Nov. 1987). For pres-
ent purposes, the most telling shortfall is one admitted by
Dr. Nicholson himself:

Q. You don’t have any hard data to support this
do you?
A. Other than the linearity of data at higher

exposures, . . . a specific experiment to validate
effect, to identify effects for low exposure, is not
feasible.

x # * * *

Q. you would agree that there is [sic] no data
currently available that actually reports the incidence
of asbestos-related cancers beyond that expected at
exposure below .025 fibres per milliliter?

A. Icompletely agree with that.

(J.A. 336, 352).

The most that can be said, then, about the evidence
before the trial court is that the plaintiff did not even
suggest, much less prove, that exposure to asbestos in-
evitably, or even likely, results in disease. Rather, if the

13

plaintiff's experts are to be believed (despite an admitted
lack of supporting data), Mr. Buckley—like virtually
every other American—has a theoretical possibility of de-
veloping an asbestos-related disease. That risk, argues
the plaintiff, should be held to constitute a compensable
injury.

Ill. ONLY PERSONS WHO ARE PHYSICALLY IM-
PAIRED HAVE A COMPENSABLE TORT INJURY

A. Unimpaired Plaintiffs Have No Compensable
li jury

This case centers on the question, when, if ever, does
an asbestos-exposed individual suffer a compensable tort
injury? Does every person who has been exposed to
asbestos have a compensable tort injury for emotional
distress or fear of disease, simply because we know, to a
reasonable degree of scientific certainty, that exposure to
asbestos causes some kind of change to their bodies at
the cellular level? If not, what sensible line can be drawn
to distinguish those asbestos-exposed persons who have
compensable tort injuries from those who have no such
injury?

Owens-Illinois submits that the line must be drawn at
physical impairment—plaintiffs who do not claim to be
sick should not be allowed to recover damages. Mr. Buck-
ley, and other unimpaired plaintiffs, would draw the line
much differently, but their notions of compensable injury
are so broad as to be wholly unworkable.

In this case, Mr. Buckley faced the quandary of show-
ing that he had suffered a “physical impact” from his
asbestos exposure without the benefit of any “verifiable
clinical signs” of that exposure. (J.A. 641). Indeed, as
demonstrated in Section II supra, Mr. Buckley could offer
no proof of bodily change—much less physical impair-
ment—as a result of his exposure to asbestos.

In the absence of illness or even a detectable bodily
change, the Second Circuit drew the compensable injury

Ht
Hi
a
i
RE
THISTLE

were, i ,
was entitled to recover because his asbestos exposure
“massive, lengthy and tangible.” (J.A. 645). sae eumst

record to draw a distinction between “massive” exposure
versus “moderate” or “limited” exposure. a oe

181). It was, he opined, “roughly equivalent to the kind
of . exposure that :
(J.A. 189).

15
(J.A. 236-38, 255). Dr. Nicholson admitted that these

lent to eight hours of insulators’ asbestos application work.
(J.A. 236-38). He then made an adjustment based upon
the supposed “fact” that all insulators worked for twenty-

Dr. Nicholson was sot yet finished. He opined that

by asbestos, for he extrapolated Mr. Buckley's asbestos-
related cancer risk to be 3/2S5ths (the supposed exposure
ratio of Mr. Buckley to all insulators) of 30%, or 2.3%.
(J.A. 243-44). Admitting some “uncertainty” in his
calculation, he expanded the range of increased cancer
risk to “1 percent to 5 percent.” (J.A. 244).

No legal standard based upon this form of statistical
sleight-of-hand can bear rational scrutiny or be applied
fairly in the myriad factual circumstances of the thousands
of “exposure only” claims that are sure to Dr.
Nicholson's exposure “estimate” flies in the face of the
dust counts actually taken in Grand Central Station during
the relevant period (albeit not specifically during Mr.
Buckley's alleged exposure)—all of which or
below .01 fibres/ml (less than 1/10,000th of
son’s high-end estimates for removal work). (J.A. 334).
Dr. Nicholson’s own published exposure levels for in-
sulators were only 3 fibres/ml, a fraction of the level he
assumed in his “estimate.” (J.A. 324-25).

The Second Circuit’s resort to mere adjectives to estab-
lish the line between compensable tort injury and no cause
of acti A ton eet Gnd ible” ;
understandable in the face of Dr. Nicholson’s “estimate.”
It remains, however, no standard at all.

no

If functional impairment is to be abandoned as the
essence of tort injury, why draw the line at “massive
exposure"? Why exclude “moderate” exposure? The
honest answer is that, once the requirement of functional

substances) almost immediately. See, e.g., J.H. France
(Pa. 1993). These advances, while stretching our scien-

17

by fear of an impairing asbestos-related illness that he or
does not have. The asbestos litigation “lottery” would
be expanded, and the transactions costs of litigating
the speculative claims of non-impaired plaintiffs would be

As a growing number of jurisdictions have come to

tion testing. See, e.g., In re Asbestos I] Consol. Pretrial,
142 F.R.D. at 156-57.

Among the most influential decisions in this area is
In re Hawaii Federal Asbestos Cases. That court found:

Plaintiffs must show a compensable harm by adducing
testimony of a functional impairment due to asbestos

exposure. A claimant’s subjective testimony as to
shortness of breath and fatigue without more is not

sufficient. In other words, the mere presence of as-
bestos fibers, pleural thickening or pleural plaques
in the lung unaccompanied by an objectively verifi-
able functional impairment is not enough.

734 F. Supp. at 1567 (emphasis in the original).

The Maryland Court of Special Appeals also found
that asymptomatic pleural thickening is not a legally
compensable injury. Owens-Illinois, Inc. v. Armstrong,
591 A.2d 544, 561 (Md. App.), rev'd on other grounds,
604 A.2d 47 (Md. 1991), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 871
(1992). That court pointed to Section 7 of the Restate-
ment (Second) of Torts (1965), noting that it identifies
“harm” as a necessary element in a cause of action for
negligence and strict liability. Comment b to Section 7
further explains that: “‘[hjarm’ implies a loss or detri-
oe 2 ee ee a ae ee ae
in some physical person ... In so far as physical changes

18

have a detrimental effect on a person, that person suffers
harm.’” Id. Moreover, as other courts and commenators
have noted, “ ‘[t}he threat of future harm, not yet realized,
is not enough.”” Jaquays, 752 P.2d at 30 (quoting
Prosser and Keeton on the Law of Torts § 30 at 165
(Sth ed. 1984)).

Another major decision on this subject was the Pennsyl-
vania Supreme Court’s recent ruling i: Simmons v. Pacor,
Inc. That court denied recovery for asymptomatic pleural
thickening, holding that illness is required for recovery
in asbestos-related litigation, including claims for emo-
tional distress damages. 674 A.2d 237-38. The Third
Circuit issued a landmark statement on this issue in
Schweitzer:

It is true that the possible existence of subclinical
asbestos-related injury prior to manifestation may
be of interest to a histologist. [citations omitted]
Likewise, the existence of such injury may be of

as a necessary element of an asbestos-related tort
action . . . best serves the underlying purpose of tort
law: the compensation of victims who have suffered.

Schweitzer, 758 F.2d at 942 (emphasis added); see also
Caterinicchio, 605 A.2d at 1096 (finding no reported
decision holding that pleural thickening constitutes a com-
pensable injury); Herber v. Johns-Manville Corp., 785
F.2d 79, 89 (3d Cir. 1986) (district court properly ex-
cluded evidence of increased risk of future cancer where
plaintiff had pleural thickening but could not establish
that he would be more likely than not to experience can-
cer in the future); Jaguays, 752 P.2d at 31 (finding “no
reason to depart from traditional tort concepts and allow
recovery for injuries before any disease becomes mani-

19

fest”); Pollock v. Johns-Manville Sales Corp., 686 F.
Supp. 489, 491-92 (D.N.J. 1988) (plaintiff with pleural
thickening could not litigate the issue of increased risk
of cancer because he could not show the risk was more
probable than not).

recognized that asbestos litigation transaction costs are

As courts have noted, to rule otherwise would inevita-
bly result in a gross misallocation of compensatory dam-
ages. See, e.g., Marinari v. Asbestos Corp., 612 A.2d
1021, 1026-27 (Pa. Super. 1992). Those who never actu-

20

Will reversing the Second Circuit’s decision serve as a
panacea for the asbestos litigation problem confronting
the nation’s courts? No, there is no simple, comprehensive
answer that any court or party has yet devised to this
seemingly intractable problem.

A strong statement from this Court rejecting claims by
unimpaired plaintiffs will, however, make a bad situation
materially better. Such a statement will help ensure
that lower courts and the parties will be able to concen-
trate scarce resources on claims of actual illness and
that progress in reducing the backlog of such claims
will not simply be erased by the next wave of unimpaired
claims.

IV. THE COSTS OF MEDICAL MONITORING SHOULD
BE LIMITED TO PERSONS WITH A COMPEN-
SABLE TORT INJURY

If this Court finds that plaintiffs who are not ill from
exposure to asbestos have no compensable tort injury, it
should also find that such claimants cannot recover for
the costs of a lifetime of medical monitoring. The Second
Circuit’s decision to allow Mr. Buckley to recover on his
claim for medical monitoring is a departure from the
traditional and sound legal principle that there can be no
cause of action for damages in tort without the presence
of actual physical injury at the time of the suit.

Although the lower courts are divided as to whether
unimpaired plaintiffs can recover for medical monitoring,’

*Some courts, including the Second Circuit below, have held
that proof of mere exposure to a harmful substance is sufficient
to recover medical monitoring costs. (J.A. 649) (allowing recovery
for medical monitoring “despite the fact that [Buckley]! has yet
to suffer an asbestos-related disease”); see also Jaquays, 752 P.2d
at 33-34 (allowing recovery for medical monitoring despite reject-
ing other compensatory damages claims); Meyerhoff v. Turner
Const. Co., 584 N.W.2d 204, 206 (Mich. App. 1995) (allowing
medical monitoring costs for exposure to asbestos absent present

21

the better-reasoned decisions have barred such claims based
on a compensable injury requirement. For example, the
Fourth Circuit, in rejecting medical monitoring damages in
a toxic exposure case, found that “{a] claim for medical
surveillance costs is simply a claim for future damages .. .
such relief only is available where a plaintiff has sustained
a physical injury that was proximately caused by the
defendant.” Ball v. Joy Technologies, Inc., 958 F.2d 36,
39 (4th Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 503 U.S. 1033 (1992).
See also Thomas v. FAG Bearings Corp., Inc., 846 F.
Supp. 1400, 1410 (W.D. Mo. 1994) (“fe]Jntitlement to
the costs of future medical monitoring requires plaintiff
to prove actual present injury and an increased risk of
future harm”); Werlein v. United States, 746 F. Supp.
887, 904 (D. Minn. 1990) (permitting medical monitor-
ing only where “a given plaintiff can prove that he has
present injuries”); Catasauqua Area School Dist. v. Eagle-
Picher Indus., Inc., No. 85-3743, 1988 WL 102689 at *1
(E.D. Pa. Sept. 28, 1988) (mere exposure to asbestos
is not an injury that supports medical monitoring); Purjet

injury), appeal denied, 550 N.W.2d 535 (Mich. 1996); Redland
Soccer Club v. United States Dep't of the Army, 55 F.3d 827, 845-
48 (3d Cir. 1995) (allowing recovery for medical monitoring
claim despite lack of present injury where plaintiff can prove
“significant exposure”), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 772 (1996) ; Hansen
v. Mountain Fuel Supply Co., 8568 P.2d 970, 980 (Utah 1993)
(allowing recovery for medical monitoring despite lack of injury
where plaintiff can show that a reasonable physician would
prescribe a different monitoring regime than if not exposed). The
Pennsylvania Supreme Court in Simmons suggested that medical
monitoring should be available to individuals with occupational
exposure to asbestos and non-dysfunctional pleural plaques. 674
A.2d at 289.

Other courts have required the plaintiff to prove that an injury
is “reasonably certain to occur” as a result of toxic exposure or
that there is a “reasonable medical probability” of it occurring.
E.g., Hagerty v. L & L Marine Services, Inc., 788 F.2d 315, 319
(5th Cir. 1986) ; Mauro v. Raymark Industries, Inc., 561 A.2d 257,
266 (N.J. 1989); Potter v. Firestone Tire and Rubber Co., 863
P.2d 795, 821-23 (Cal. 1998).

22

v. Hess Oil Virgin Islands Corp., No. 1985/284, 1986
WL 1200, at *4 (D.V.I. Jan. 8, 1986) (medical monitor-
ing only appropriate where there is an actual injury);
Meganthaler v. Asbestos Corp., 480 A.2d 647, 651 (Del.
1984) (summary judgment in favor of defendant where
plaintiff alleged no present injury); Hayes v. AC&S, Inc.,
No. 95-CH-1835, at 13-14 (Cook County, Ill. Oct. 30,
1996) (rejecting claim for medical monitoring for ex-
posure without manifest symptoms).

These decisions flow from the principle that only in
the context of a discernible physical impairment can the
courts deal meaningfully with the concept of future medical
expenses. The physical impairment requirement moors the
inquiry to a specific condition and course of treatment.
While consideration of future medical expenses is perhaps
inherently speculative, the courts have properly reasoned
that the present impairment requirement provides the
necessary boundaries to ensure rational results.

The Second Circuit ignored those boundaries, choosing
instead to link medical monitoring to subjective character-
izations of exposure provided by the plaintiff himself,
augmented by an “estimate” of exposure (and consequent
risk) worthy of Rube Goldberg. That rule has no mean-
ingful limiting principles and should be rejected by this
Court.

There is an inaccurate perception that medical mon-
itoring is a relatively inexpensive means for providing
compensation to individuals who have been exposed to a
toxic substance; in fact, the costs for medical monitoring
in toxic tort cases can be “staggering.” E. Wiechmann,
Curse of the Unsick: Update on Latent Injury Claims in
Toxic Tort Cases, 25 Brief 10, *44 (Summer 1996). In
the seminal medical monitoring decision by the New
Jersey Supreme Court, the total compensatory damages
awarded at the trial level were $24,058,892, with more
than one-third ($8,204,500) attributable to medical mon-

23

itoring costs. Ayers v. Township of Jackson, 525 A.2d
287, 291 (N.J. 1987).

Permitting damages for medical monitoring where there
is no evidence of an actual asbestos-related illness could
divert untold millions of dollars away from compensation
to the injured and toward costly medical tests—or straight
cash awards—for the uninjured. The result would be a
windfall for healthy plaintiffs who never manifest injury
and insufficient compensation for those who are sick now
or become sick later.

Perhaps the most significant question raised by Mr.
Buckley’s bid for medical monitoring damages is where
this type of compensation would stop. If Mr. Buckley
is able to recover money for his future medical care based
solely on his exposure to asbestos, could he then recover
further medical surveillance costs for his alleged exposure
to other toxic substances?

The Amended Complaint alleged that Mr. Buckley “has
and will in the future incur medical expenses for the
testing and monitoring of his medical condition related
to his exposure to harmful amounts of hazardous mate-
rials, including but not limited to asbestos.” (J.A. 17)
(emphasis added). As one set of commentators has
pointed out, with an estimated thirty-eight percent of all
cancers attributable to occupational exposure to toxic
chemicals and 50,000 hazardous waste sites in the United
States, “in the very near future we may all have reason-
able grounds to allege that some negligent business ex-
posed us to hazardous substances and to get medical
experts to testify that the exposure Significantly increased
our risk of disease .. . .” §. Martin & J. Martin, Tort
Actions for Medical Monitoring: Warranted or Wasteful?,
20 Colum. J. Envtl. L. 121, 130 (1995). To follow the
Second Circuit’s view of when medical monitoring costs
should be awarded would be to fill the courts with cases
of dubious merit and to allow an ever-increasing per-

24

centage of damages awards to go to litigation expenses
instead of for truly compensatory purposes.

Vv. MEDICAL MONITORING IS NOT JUSTIFIED ON
THIS RECORD

Bad factual records make bad law, as this case threatens
to prove. The plaintiff's proof was not that “massive,
lengthy and tangible” exposure to asbestos creates the
type of disease risk that justifies medical monitoring.
Rather, it was that virtually any exposure to asbestos—
even exposure below the OSHA standard of .1 fiber/ml—
creates “a significant risk” of disease. (J.A. 356).

It mattered not to the plaintiff's experts, for example,
that the absolute risk of lung cancer from asbestos expo-
sure among a population of insulators (not pipefitters)
is, according to their selected authorities, only 55 per
100,000 of population per year—a risk of approximately
1/20th of 1%. Dafler v. Raymark Indus. Inc., 611 A.2d
136, 140 (N.J. Super. 1992), aff'd, 622 A.2d 1305
(N.J. 1993). It was enough that asbestos exposure pur-
portedly increases the relative risk of lung cancer five
times over background. (J.A. 62).*

It also mattered not to the plaintiff's experts that Mr.
Buckley smoked approximately a pack of cigarettes per
day for twenty years, because he had recently cut back
to one cigarette per day. According to Dr. Markowitz,
Mr. Buckley had only “some risk” of smoking-related
cancer, a risk that supposedly was less than three to five
times that of a non-smoker. (J.A. 163). According to
Dr. Nicholson, eighty to ninety percent of that excess

4 Even this five-fold relative increase is based on a single study
published seventeen years ago and premises the increased risk on
four lung cancer deaths in insulation workers. (J.A. 150-57).
Moreover, these were insulation workers who, although they may
have smoked cigarettes, in the estimation of the researchers they
“never smoked regularly.” (J.A. 156).

25

smoking risk would disappear within ten years of quitting
the smoking habit. (J.A. 250-51).

Even a cursory review of the Surgeon General’s most
recent data on smoking-related cancer risks shows that the
Second Circuit was palpably misled. Current male smok-
ers who smoke 1 to 20 cigarettes per day have 18.8 times
the lung cancer risk of non-smokers. D. Shopland, H.
Eyre, T. Pechacek, Smoking Attributable Mortality in
1991: Is Lung Cancer Now the Leading Cause of Death
Among Smokers in the United States?, J. of the Nat'l
Cancer Inst. 83, 1143 (Aug 21, 1991) (quoting data
from Centers for Disease Control, Public Health Conse-
quences of Smoking—25 Years of Progress. A Report of
the Surgeon General, 1989, DHHS Publ. No. (CDC)
89-8411 (1989)).

During the first year of quitting smoking, that lung can-
cer risk actually goes up to 26.7 times background. /d.
Ten years after quitting, the risk is still 8.7 times back-
ground. /d.

The point here is that Mr. Buckley has a dramatically
increased risk of lung cancer due solely to his smoking
habit. As one author has noted, of the hundreds of thou-
sands of lung cancers occurring in this country annually,
“85 to 90% .. . are attributable to cigarette smoking,
whereas as few as 2% of cases may be related to asbestos
exposure.” V. Roggli, Human Disease Consequences of
Fiber Exposures: A Review of Human Lung Pathology
and Fiber Burden Data, 84 Envtl. Health Perspective 301
(1990) (citation omitted).

It is one thing to suggest that asbestos defendants pro-
vide the functional equivalent of HMO services to individ-
uals with diagnosed, impairing asbestos-related diseases.
In the face of such confounding hazardous exposure, to
suggest that they do so where no such present injury from
asbestos exposure exists is uprecedeted and unfair.

The problems with Mr. Buckley’s medical monitoring
claim, and the Second Circuit’s opinion concerning same,

26

do not end there. The purpose of medical monitoring is
supposed to be to improve the plaintiff's prognosis through
early detection of disease. The record here, however, is
that monitoring will confer no meaningful benefit because
the asbestos-related diseases about which Mr. Buckley
claims to be concerned are untreatable: “Lung cancer is
still largely an incurrable disease.” (J.A. 60). As for
mesothelioma, “There is no successful treatment in the
sense of a cure.” (J.A. 56). Unfortunately, the same is
also true for asbestosis: “[T]Jhere is nothing we can do
about it.” (J.A. 65).

The Second Circuit took no account of the fact that,
when medical monitoring is viewed not as a litigation con-
struct, but rather as a scientific discipline, important gov-
erning principles emerge. According to the U.S. Preven-
tive Services Task Force, monitoring procedures can only
be justified where they have proven effectiveness, they pro-
duce neither false positives nor false negatives at unac-
ceptable levels, they “avoid[] harm to asymptomatic
patients,” and they have been shown that “they improve
clinical outcome.” U.S. Preventive Services Task Force.
Guide to Clinical Preventive Services xxxi (2d ed. Wil-
liams & Wilkins 1996).

Applying these principles, the Task Force specifically
found that a “routine chest x-ray to screen for lung can-
cer”—the very relief sought here—is “ineffective.” /d.
The Task Force is not alone in reaching this conclusion:

Because of the available evidence, virtually all or-
ganizations concur that screening for lung cancer is
not justified. For example, the American Cancer
Society, the American College of Radiology, the
National Cancer Institute, the U.S. Preventive Serv-
ices Task Force, and the Canadian Task Force on
the Periodic Health Examination all decline to recom-
mend lung screening with any test at any frequency.

D. Eddy, Common Screening Tests 322 (Am. College of
Physicians 1991) (citations omitted). Even Dr. Marko-

27

witz admits that no study has been conducted to support
the alleged utility of chest x-rays for indivduals with a
combination of asbestos exposure and a history of ciga-
rette smoking. (J.A. 164).°

Owens-Illinois respectfully submits that recharting the
course of asbestos-related litigation to encompass medical
monitoring for all asbestos-exposed individuals who can
find an expert witness to declare their “estimated” ex-
posure to be “significant” is both unwise and unnecessary.
No scientific principles articulated in this record justify
such a step. No material benefit to plaintiffs has been
shown. The transactions costs of litigating the medical
monitoring rights of all exeosed persons would threaten
to overwhelm both the judicial resources of the civil jus-
tice system and the financial resources of that subset of
asbestos defendants who have thus far avoided bankruptcy.

CONCLUSION
The judgment below should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,
Of Counsel: W. DONALD MCSWEENEY *
PHILIP MCWEENY ROBERT H. RILEY
OWENS-ILLINOIS, INC. SCHIFF HARDIN & WAITE
One Sea Gate 7200 Sears Tower
Toledo, OH 43666 Chicago, IL 60606
(419) 247-1004 (312) 876-1000

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Owens-Illinois, Inc.

December 16, 1996 * Counsel of Record

* As noted supra, Dr. Nicholson takes the extreme position that
any exposure to a carcinogen will produce cancer: he also believes
that this “no safe level” analysis applies equally to radiation.
(J.A. 261). The logical implication of those views is that annua!
chest x-rays as part of a medical monitoring regime would actually
generate cancers.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0017%3A23. Public record. Not legal advice.
