# Amicus Curiae Brief — Suitum v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0011%3A19

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 520 U.S. 725

## Text

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

BERNADINE SUITUM, PETITIONER
Vv.

TAHOE REGIONAL PLANNING AGENCY, RESPONDENT

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF THE
AMERICAN FARM BUREAU FEDERATION AND
THE NEVADA FARM BUREAU FEDERATION IN

SUPPORT OF PETITIONER
JOHN J. RADEMACHER Timothy S. BISHOP
General Counsel Counsel of Record
RICHARD L. KRAUSE MICHAEL F. ROSENBLUM
MICHAEL J. STIENTJES JEFFREY W. SARLES
Assistant Counsel MARC R. LISKER
American Farm Bureau Mayer, Brown & Platt
Federation 190 South LaSalle Street
225 Touhy Avenue ‘ Chicago, Illinois 60603
Park Ridge, Illinois 60068 (312) 782-0600
(847) 685-8600
Counsel for Amici Curiae

4\ vv

QUESTION PRESENTED
Amici address the following question:

Whether the first prong of Williamson County’s ripeness
test, properly interpreted, deprives a landowner of a federal
forum for her Fifth Amendment takings claim, where the
challenged regulation destroys all normal beneficial uses of
her property but grants transferable intangible rights, the
value of which may readily be determined.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED ................. i
INTERESTS OF THE AMICI ............... 1
ABUFIMMEE wc cece evevet see sae ee 3

I. TOO RIGID APPLICATIONS OF WILLIAM-
SON COUNTY'S RIPENESS REQUIREMENTS
UNDERMINE THE GOALS OF THE JUST
COMPENSATION CLAUSE .......... 5

A. Current Ripeness Rules Unjustifiably Weak-
en Landowners’ Fifth Amendment Rights 6

B. This Court Should Establish More Flexible
And Pragmatic Tests For Finality In Tak-
fe Perrreren 10

II. UNDER A PROPERLY PRAGMATIC AP-
PROACH TO THE FUTILITY DOCTRINE,
PETITIONER’S TAKINGS CLAIM IS RIPE 16

III. BECAUSE IT IS IMMEDIATELY DETERMI-
NABLE THAT TRPA’S REGULATIONS DE-
PRIVED PETITIONER’S LAND OF MUCH
OF ITS VALUE, HER TAKINGS CLAIM IS
, Pewee for 19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: Page
Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136
As ars 5 Se 66 9 \0-0:%.¢ 6 6 0 « 6, 7, 14
Acierno v. Mitchell, 6 F.3d 970 (3d Cir. 1993) .... 11
Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40 (1960) .... 23
Beure-Co. vy. United States, 16 Ci. Ct. 42 (1988) ... 17

Corn v. City of Lauderdale Lakes, 95 F.3d 1066
EE )

Dolan v. City of Tigard, 114 S. Ct. 2309
PR eee 5, 8, 16

Duke Power Co. v. Carolina Environmental Study
Group, 438 U.S. 59 (1978) .............. 15

Eastern Minerals Int'l, Inc. vy. United States, 36
EE 17, 18

Florida Rock Indus., Inc. v. United States, 18 F.3d
1560 (Fed. Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct.
ELD ESL 21
Franklin v. Massachusetts, 505 U.S. 788 (1992) .... 12

Gilbert v. City of Cambridge, 932 F.2d 51 (ist
Cir.), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 866 (1991) ...... 18

iv

Page
Herrington v. City of Pearl, 908 F. Supp. 418 (S.D.
A AE err eS ee eae eh 11
Kinzli v. City of Santa Cruz, 818 F.2d 1449 (9th
Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1043
PS ree Peery en sor ok ge 11
Landmark Land Co. v. Buchanan, 874 F.2d 717
CG GE vtec ep evencieeeuncs Vee% 10
Loveladies Harbor, Inc. vy. United States, 28 F.3d
op k &- BS a aoe 21
Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S.
SGD 6-8 ce vs oot bb red 60 passim
MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. County of Yolo,
A) & | re 7, 8, 16, 17
New Orleans Public Service, Inc. v. New Orleans,
Gb as EE 6 a we cca wh demas ees 15
Penn Central Transp. Co. v. City of New York, 438
ih Ss <6 ad pine ve eee eres 22
Shelter Creek Dev. Corp. v. City of Oxnard, 838
F.2d 375 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 851
ere ore ore re a ae ee 11
Southern Pac. Transp. Co. v. City of Los Angeles,
922 F.2d 498 (9th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 502
5 se ea be he ea tie 17

v
Page
Traweek v. City & County of San Francisco, 920
F.2d 589, 594 (9th Cir. 1990) ............ 17
Unity Ventures v. Lake County, 841 F.2d 770 (7th
Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 891 (1988) .... 11, 17
Villas of Lake Jackson, Ltd. vy. Leon County, 796 F.
Supp. 1477 (N.D. Fla. 1992)............ 8,9
Williamson County Regional Planning Commission
v. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985) .. . . passim
Miscellaneous:
Blaesser, Closing the Federal Courthouse Door on
Property Owners, 2 Hofstra Prop. L.J. 73
i, Bd ee ed bee wae 66-4 0's 7
Charles Dickens, Bleak House (Alfred A. Knopf ed.,
iis ote aiid cclece wkiaems 6ed0 9 ¢ 15
Fee, Comment, Unearthing the Denominator in
Regulatory Taking Claims, 61 U. Chi. L. Rev.
Dt ais 6 chs de ) week's 6 ou 6 660 21
Kassouni, The Ripeness Doctrine and the Judicial
Relegation of Constitutionally Protected Property
Rights, 29 Cal. Western L. Rev. 1 (1992) ...... i)
Lisker, Regulatory Takings and the Denominator
Problem, 27 Rutgers L.J. 663 (1996) ........ 21

vi

Mixon, Compensation Claims Against Local Govern-
ments for Excessive Land-Use Regulations, 20
Urb. Law. 675 (1988) .......---+-+--

Roberts, Ripeness and Forum Selection in Land-Use
Litigation, in Takings: Land-Development Con-
ditions and Regulatory Takings after Dolan and
Lucas 46 (D. Callies ed., 1996) .........

Stein, Regulatory Takings and Ripeness in the Feder-
al Courts, 48 Vand. L. Rev. 1 (1995) .....

INTERESTS OF THE AMICI

The American Farm Bureau Federation (“AFBF”) is a
voluntary general farm organization established in 1920
under the General Not-For-Profit Corporation Act of the
State of Illinois. AFBF was founded to protect, promote, and
represent the business, economic, social, and educational
interests of American farmers and ranchers. AFBF has
member organizations in all 50 states and Puerto Rico,
representing more than 4.4 million member families. AFBF
has participated as an amicus in this Court in support of
property rights in cases such as Lucas v. South Carolina
Coastal Council, Dolan v. City of Tigard, Babbitt v. Sweet
Home Chapter of Communities for a Great Oregon, and
Bennett v. Spear. Amicus Nevada Farm Bureau Federation
is a constituent member of AFBF, representing the interests
of farmers and ranchers in the State of Nevada, where the
property at issue in this case is located.

The AFBF and Nevada Farm Bureau Federation have a
direct stake in the outcome of this case. Their farmer and
rancher members own or lease significant amounts of land,
on which they depend for their livelihoods and upon which
all Americans rely for food and other basic necessities. That
land is subject to increasingly onerous regulation by federal,
state, and local authorities. Amici are, therefore, vitally
interested in the procedural rules governing litigation under
the Just Compensation Clause, which requires compensation
for takings when such regulation goes “too far.”

In particular, amici believe it essential that the complex
and difficult-to-understand procedural rules that lower courts
have derived from Williamson County and its progeny—rules
that plant a minefield around the courthouse door for even
the best represented landowner—should be simplified and

The consents of the parties to the filing of this amicus brief
are on file with the Clerk.

2

made fairer. These rules evidence a ripeness doctrine spun
out of control. Before they may bring a claim for com-
pensation in federal court, landowners not permitted to make
the most productive use of their land must endure

@ applications and multiple reapplications for permis-
sion to engage in ever more restricted and less economi-
cally viable uses of their private property, in order to
obtain a “final” agency decision;

@ whole new bureaucratic avenues for “relief,” created
by regulatory agencies more with a view to avoiding a
takings judgment than to permitting reasonable uses of
land;

@ multiple levels of costly state court litigation to
determine if state law provides compensation for the
land-use restriction; and

@ the esoteric question whether to make an England
reservation of federal rights in state court proceedings,
which—in the unlikely event that res judicata, collateral
estoppel, or the sheer expense of a second round of
litigation do not prevent it—may conceivably allow the
landowner to bring a takings claim in federal court years
in the future, after all the steps just listed have been
completed.

The Ninth Circuit’s unduly rigid application of the “final
decision” prong of the ripeness rules and its pinched inter-
pretation of the “futility“ exception to ripeness requirements
have the practical effect not simply of delaying a landowner’s
federal takings claim but of barring access to a federal forum
altogether. Many farmers, ranchers, and other landowners,
even when they are able to untangle the rules to understand
exactly what must be done to ripen a Fifth Amendment
claim, cannot afford the substantial resources of time and
money fequired to endure the multiple applications to

3

government agencies (still less the lengthy state judicial
proceedings) that are currently the predicate for a federal
takings suit.

Amici are particularly concerned that, if this Court
endorses the Ninth Circuit's approach to ripeness, the
government delaying tactics currently rife in the development
field will spread to areas of primary concern to farmers and
ranchers. These include decisionmaking on Clean Water Act
Section 401 and 404 wetlands permits, grazing permits, and
Endangered Species Act incidental take permits.

The severe procedural limitations on landowner suits
constructed by the lower courts would be wholly unrecog-
nizable to the Framers of the simple and direct mandate of
the Just Compensation Clause. Amici have a strong interest
in seeing this Court rein in the excesses of the ripeness
doctrine to accord America’s farmers and ranchers a fair
opportunity to vindicate their federal rights to just compensa-
tion in a federal forum.

ARGUMENT

Amici fully agree with petitioner that, correctly analyzed,
this case presents a clear example of a “categorical” taking
under Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S.
1003 (1992), because the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency
(“TRPA”) has “denie[d] all economically beneficial or
productive use of [petitioner's] land.” Lucas at 1015.
TRPA’s creation of an abstract and inchoate set of transfer-
able development rights (“TDRs”) leaves Mrs. Suitum with
no economically meaningful use of her land at all. Just as in
Lucas, she has been told that her parcel must “be left
substantially in its natural state” —a restriction that this Court
said “typically” leaves an “owner of land without economi-
cally beneficial or productive options for its use.” 505 U.S.
at 1018. Lucas’s per se rule cannot be evaded by TRPA’s
invention of rights that, although they conceivably may have

4

some economic value, in no sense constitute a “use” of the
parcel to which they attach. Since petitioner's TDRs have no
impact on her ability to make productive use of her land—use
of which she has now been entirely deprived—she need not,
following Lucas, pursue any administrative procedures
associated with those TDRs to ripen her claim.

Petitioner’s arguments on this score are persuasive; amici
will not repeat them here. Rather, amici focus on how the
Court should approach this case if it concludes that the
takings analysis properly proceeds in terms not of “use” but
of “value.” There are three distinct and independent reasons
why, even if Mrs. Suitum’s TDRs provided her with some
value, and value is the correct locus of takings analysis, the
Ninth Circuit erred in refusing to address the merits of her
Fifth Amendment claim.

First, the ripeness doctrine established in Williamson
County Regional Planning Commission v. Hamilton Bank,
473 U.S. 172 (1985), now stands as a substantial obsta-
cle—often the most substantial obstacle—to a landowner’s
ability to obtain just compensation for Fifth Amendment
takings. Amici demonstrate in Part I that lower courts
interpret this doctrine in an unreasonably stringent manner.
Amici urge this Court to make clear that ripeness rules are
to be applied not rigidly but pragmatically and with due
regard to all the particular circumstances, including the harm
that the plaintiff landowner will suffer if consideration of her
takings claim is delayed.

Second, amici show in Part II that, even within the
existing Williamson County framework, the Ninth Circuit
reached the wrong result because it construed the “futility”
exception to the final-decision rule far too narrowly.

Finally, in Part III, amici demonstrate that the Ninth
Circuit’s erroneous refusal to recognize that “partial takings
are compensable led it to a mistaken belief that petitioner's

5

claim turns on whether her land has any remaining value.
This caused the court to attach undue importance to the
question whether transfer of Mrs. Suitum’s TDRs might be
permitted, thereby allowing her to recover a small part of her
investment. In fact, the transferability of Mrs. Suitum’s
TDRs impacts, at most, the amount of just compensation she
is entitled to and should have no effect on the ripeness of her
claims.

The value of Mrs. Suitum’s rights in her land is subject
to proof in the normal way. Both the minimum and maxi-
mum diminutions in value resulting from TRPA’s regulation
are readily determinable and certainly substantial. Since Mrs.
Suitum already incurred the minimum loss of value that could
result from TRPA’s regulatory scheme when TRPA deter-
mined that she could not make economic use of her land but
could only seek to sell her TDRs, and since the amount of
that loss is ascertainable without reference to any TRPA
decision about transfer of TDRs, petitioner should be able to
pursue her compensation claim immediately. Moreover, in
these circumstances we see no good reason why petitioner
should not also be able to obtain a declaratory judgment as
to the Fifth Amendment consequences if TRPA should deny
her the right to transfer her TDRs in the future.

I. TOO RIGID APPLICATIONS OF WILLIAMSON
COUNTY'S RIPENESS REQUIREMENTS UNDER-
MINE THE GOALS OF THE JUST COMPENSA-
TION CLAUSE

This Court has rejected the notion that “the Takings
Clause of the Fifth Amendment, as much a part of the Bill
of Rights as the First Amendment or Fourth Amendment,
should be relegated to the status of a poor relation.” Dolan
v. City of Tigard, 114 S. Ct. 2309, 2320 (1994). Yet the
imposition of uniquely burdensome ripeness rules on takings
claims has precisely that result. As a practical matter, takings

6

plaintiffs—unlike plaintiffs alleging violations of First or
Fourth Amendment rights—simply cannot get into court,
even when they clearly have suffered serious harm. If
property rights are to be afforded the same degree of
protection as other fundamental constitutional rights, the
ripeness limitations on takings suits must be applied in a
more commonsense and flexible manner. See Mixon,
Compensation Claims Against Local Governments for
Excessive Land-Use Regulations, 20 Urb. Law. 675, 687
(1988) (“One need not take sides in the dispute between city
hall and over-regulated landowners to recognize that the
delay inherent in obtaining review of land-use regulations is
as much a part of the costly problem as the substant:ve issue
~ sf-liability”).

A. Current Ripeness Rules Unjustifiably Weaken

Landowners’ Fifth Amendment Rights

Article III requires that a federal court claimant suffer
“injury in fact” and present a genuine “case or controversy.”
Beyond that basic minimum, however, procedural require-
ments designed to ensure that a case is “ripe” for judicial
review are “prudential” in nature. Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1012-
1013. The “basic rationale” of the ripeness doctrine “is to
prevent the courts, through avoidance of premature adjudica-
tion, from entangling themselves in abstract disagreements
over administrative policies, and also to protect the agencies
from judicial interference until an administrative decision has
been formalized and its effects felt in a concrete way by the
challenging parties.” Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, 387
U.S. 136, 148-149 (1967). To that end, this Court has said,
outside the takings context, that the ripeness “problem is best
seen in a twofold aspect, requiring us to evaluate both the
fitness of the issues for judicial decision and the hardship to
the parties of withholding court consideration.” Jd. at 149.

7

Abbott Laboratories teaches that the goals of the ripeness
inquiry are ill served by using a set of rigid and invariable
rules and demand instead that courts take a “flexible view of
finality” and other ripeness considerations. 387 U.S. at 150.
Whether a dispute is ready for judicial determination often
depends on the specific facts and history of the case—on
details that cannot adequately be captured in a fixed ripeness
rule of general application.

Too often, the lower courts, including the Ninth Circuit
in this case, have lost sight of this need for flexibility when
applying the Williamson County ripeness guidelines for
takings cases. The Williamson County rule for determining
whether a federal takings claim is ripe for federal court
adjudication has two prongs. The first prong, on which
petitioner became impaled, requires that a would-be takings
Claimant obtain “a final, definitive [decision from the
government agency] regarding how it will apply the regula-
tions at issue to the particular land in question.” 473 U.S. at
191. The second requires the claimant to exhaust state court
possibilities of obtaining just compensation before filing a
takings claim in federal court. In applying these guidelines,
many lower courts have disregarded the Abbott Laboratories
admonition that they also take into account “the hardship to
the parties” when evaluating ripeness. Moreover, they have
failed to pay heed to this Court’s caution in MacDonald,
Sommer & Frates v. County of Yolo, 477 U.S. 340, 350 n.7
(1986), a decision on the ripeness of a takings claim subse-
quent to Williamson County, that the ripeness doctrine does
not require a property owner to resort to “unfair procedures”
in order to bring a takings claim to federal court. As a result,
all but a small fraction of federal constitutional land use
claims have been found unripe and thus not justiciable in
federal court. See Blaesser, Closing the Federal Courthouse
Door on Property Owners, 2 Hofstra Prop. L.J. 73, 91

8

(1988) (only 5.6% of land use cases were found to be ripe in
the period from 1983 to 1988).

The reasoning behind the “final decision” requirement is
that a takings claim depends on showing that a regulation
“goes too far,” and that “a final and authoritative determina-
tion of the type and intensity of development legally permit-
ted” on the property is therefore “essential,” because “[a]
court cannot determine whether a regulation has gone ‘too
far’ unless it knows how far the regulation goes.” MacDon-
ald, 477 U.S. at 348. TRPA’s requirement that a property
owner like Mrs. Suitum, who has been deprived of all
possible use of her property, sell TDRs and seek agency
approval of another property owner’s right to use them does
not serve that purpose. A court can determine “how far the
regulation goes” without that additional, surplus, and
ridiculously burdensome step. The fact is, as the district
court found, that Mrs. Suitum “may not develop or build on
the parcel of land she owns.” Pet. App. D3. That is enough
for a court to determine “how far the regulation goes.” And
even if the locus of the inquiry into whether regulation has
gone “too far” is the value of Mrs. Suitum’s TDRs, the
maximum value of those rights is determinable in the usual
way, so that there is no need to delay litigation of Mrs.
Suitum’s takings claim. See Part III, infra.

Ripeness rules that are too rigid invite government
agencies to concoct insurmountable and interminable condi-
tions to finality. This Court’s Takings Clause decisions
repudiate such “gimmickry.” Dolan v. City of Tigard, 114
S. Ct. 2309, 2317 (1994). TRPA’s intricate and unwieldy
TDR scheme certainly appears crafted as just such a tactical
ploy, and the decision of the court below can only encourage
the proliferation of similar devices. Other examples abound.
In Villas of Lake Jackson, Ltd. v. Leon County, 796 F. Supp.
1477 (N.D. Fla. 1992), for example, developers expended a
great deal of time, money, and resources building infrastruc-

9

ture for a multi-family home project, relying on the county’s
permission to do so. But when they applied for the permits
necessary to complete the project, and despite their having
satisfied existing requirements for such permits, the county
passed an ordinance changing the requirements. In a
Kafkaesque scenario lasting some seventeen years, the
developers would meet the new requirements and apply for
the necessary permits, only to have the county pass yet more
stringent ordinances and deny their applications. Finally, the
county abolished the existing multi-family designation,
changing it to single-family and leaving the developers high
and dry. The court, in a vivid display of inflexible adjudica-
tion, denied the developers’ takings claim as unripe because
they had not “requested approval of single family develop-
ment.” 796 F. Supp. at 1481.

Such game-playing by government agencies, seeking to
fend off takings claims, commonly extends the resolution of
land use disputes for years or even decades. See, e.g., Corn
v. City of Lauderdale Lakes, 95 F.3d 1066, 1067 (11th Cir.
1996) (addressing “for the fourth time a 20-year-old dispute”
over whether denial of zoning approval to build a mini-
warehouse constituted a taking). These lengthy delays—just
to obtain a “final decision” and thereby open the courthouse
door to a claim for just compensation—commonly result in
irreparable harm to property owners. After all, most land-
owners depend on financing arrangements that are highly
sensitive to delays in the permitting process. The stretching
of the ripeness time-frame, resulting from an unyieldingly
rigid ripeness doctrine, effectively creates a means test for
entry into federal court: only those with huge financial
resources and the stamina to outlast government bureaucra-
cies can hope to satisfy this test of endurance. See Kassouni,
The Ripeness Doctrine and the Judicial Relegation of
Constitutionally Protected Property Rights, 29 Cal. Western
L. Rev. 1, 11 (1992) (“The time and money required to

10

comply with myriad ripeness requirements will prevent most
middle-class property owners from pursuing their constitu-
tional right to just compensation [and] make substantive
review virtually impossible”). Long delays are now frequent-
ly and unthinkingly treated as the norm. E.g., Landmark
Land Co. v. Buchanan, 874 F.2d 717, 721-722 (10th Cir.
1989) (calling eight-month delay by agency “strikingly
short”).

In sum, the “final decision” requirement, as it was
applied to Mrs. Suitum and is being applied to many other
property owners like her, is no longer limited to its proper
justiciability function; rather, it is being wielded so as to
determine outcomes of land use disputes, always in favor of
the regulators. Many property owners have no choice but to
throw in the towel and relinquish rights supposedly guaran-
teed by the Constitution. See Stein, Regulatory Takings and
Ripeness in the Federal Courts, 48 Vand. L. Rev. 1, 43
(1995) (“Practically speaking, the universe of plaintiffs with
the financial ability to survive the lengthy ripening process
is small”). That is certainly not what this Court intended
when it developed the Williamson County ripeness test.
Otherwise, Mr. Lucas, who never sought a final agency
decision on whether he could build houses on his property,
could never have appeared before this Court. And it is
certainly not what the Framers intended when they inscribed
in the Nation’s founding charter an interdiction against the
taking of private property without just compensation.
Landowners’ experiences in the lower courts since this Court
decided Williamson County demonstrate an urgent need for

a more flexible approach to ripeness.
B. This Court Should Establish More Flexible And
Pragmatic Tests For Finality In Takings Cases

This Court should take the opportunity offered here to
remind the lower courts that, in takings cases no less than

ll

other suits, finality is to be given a flexible construction so
as to facilitate—not preclude—informed federal court review
of federal claims. At this point, neither litigants nor govern-
ment agencies have sufficient guidance as to what constitutes
a final decision for ripeness purposes in the land use area.
Thus, as one commentator notes, it is not “possible to
ascertain in advance exactly when a federal court will find a
given case to be ripe.” Stein, supra, 48 Vand. L. Rev. at
25.

' As further evidence of the mind-numbing complexities of current
ripeness doctrine, many very basic questions regarding the
meaning of the final decision requirement remain unresolved. For
example: From which decisionmaker must one obtain a final
decision? See Unity Ventures v. Lake County, 841 F.2d 770, 775
(7th Cir. 1988) (no final decision where denial of approval to
develop property came from state, rather than city, agency). What
is a “meaningful” application? Must a landowner seek a variance
even if none is available, for example, where a variance is barred
by ordinance? See Shelter Creek Dev. Corp. v. City of Oxnard,
838 F.2d 375, 379 (9th Cir. 1988) (requiring application for an
unavailable variance). How many reapplications and attempts to
obtain variances are necessary? See Unity Ventures, 841 F.2d at
775; Kinzli v. City of Santa Cruz, 818 F.2d 1449, 1452 (9th Cir.
1987). Does only the application that is denied /ast constitute the
final decision? If so, does a property owner waive his or her claim
for compensation for what he or she lost due to the earlier denials?
How is the final decision requirement distinct from exhaustion of
agency remedies? In Williamson County, this Court stated that
exhaustion, in the form of agency review, is not necessary (473
U.S. at 192), yet lower courts continue to rule takings claims
unripe where the claimant did not pursue agency appeals. E.¢..
Acierno v. Mitchell, 6 F.3d 970, 976, 977 (3d Cir. 1993). One
court went so far as to find no final decision under prong one
where the property owner had not sought administrative review by
a state court. Herrington v. City of Pearl, 908 F. Supp. 418, 424
(S.D. Miss. 1995). Uncertainty as to such fundamental issues

12

Under current doctrine, there is inevitably uncertairty
about whether there has been “a final decision regarding ‘:ow
[a property owner] will be allowed to develop its property,”
hence about what value has been taken by regulatory action
and what value remains in the property Williamson County,
473 U.S. at 190. Planning agencies do not advise owners
what they can do with their property, but limit themselves to
making decisions on particular applications. When an
application for a particular use is denied, the owner is rarely
any the wiser about what use would be permitted by the
agency. The owner is instead required to amend his or her
application and try again. A ripeness rule requiring that a
final decision be obtained precisely determining how the
property may be used is unreasonable, because it forces the
owner to reapply to the agency multiple times, each time
seeking more restrictive and less economically viable uses.
It allows the agency, on the other hand, simply to sit back
and withhold any statement of what use it would permit,
knowing full well that this will derail any takings inquiry into
the loss of value that the landowner has incurred.

We suggest that the Court tailor the final decision
requirement to its proper purpose of ensuring that a case is,
in a practical sense, ready for judicial review. See Roberts,
Ripeness and Forum Selection in Land-Use Litigation, in
Takings: Land-Development Conditions and Regulatory
Takings after Dolan and Lucas 46, 56 (D. Callies ed., 1996)
(“the rule ought not force the developer to make repeated,
increasingly meager requests to make a claim ripe”). First,
a more flexible formulation for what constitutes a final
decision should be adopted. The Court’s formulation in
Franklin v. Massachusetts, 505 U.S. 788, 797 (1992)—
“[t}he core question is whether the agency has completed its

makes takings litigation a crapshoot, and the sort of gamble that
most property owners simply cannot afford.

13

decisionmaking process, and whether the result of that
process is one that will directly affect the parties” —gets to
the heart of the matter without imposing the counterproduc-
tive rigidity that courts have read into Williamson County's
statement that there must be a final determination about how
the land can be used. There are cases in which an agency's
elimination of some planned uses may affect the property to
such an extent that a taking has occurred, even if some other
use might possibly be allowed.

Second, a claim should be deemed ripe upon a showing
by the property owner that he or she has sought a final
decision with reasonable diligence. Depending on all the
circumstances, this standard could well be met without an
owner having to make all the reapplications necessary to pin
the agency down on the issue of precisely how it would
allow the property to be used.

As an example of how these standards ought to work,
suppose that a municipality hears that a farmer is planning to
develop for single-family residential use land that is currently
zoned single-family but that has previously been used only
for raising crops. The municipality precipitously changes the
zoning of that property from single-family to agricultural use
or open space. The farmer then applies for and is denied
approval of a single-family development. In those circum-
stances, the farmer’s takings claim should be considered ripe:
it would be unreasonable to require application for a variance
or reapplication for some other use when the actions of the
municipality leave its intentions quite clear.

In addition to adopting these more practically-oriented
general rules of finality in takings cases, this Court should
also recognize equitable exceptions to the final decision

requirement. As we discuss in Part II, infra, as one aspect of
this improvement the futility exception should be fleshed out
so that useless applications are no longer required. But this

14

Court should also adopt two additional equitable exceptions
to the usual ripeness requirements.

The first exception, which we believe is required by
Abbott Laboratories, should be for cases where significant
harm to claimants is demonstrated. Under this hardship
exception, for example, if a landowner who has taken
reasonable steps to obtain a permit can demonstrate that he
or she lacks the means to pursue further applications, the last
decision by the agency is necessarily a final one and should
be subject to constitutional challenge. And even where a
landowner has the means to pursue additional applications,
at some point courts must recognize that the owner's expen-
ditures already made on planners, architects, soil analysts,
engineers, lawyers, and others are enough, and that no more
applications will be required.

Particularly relevant in this case, a second equitable
exception should be recognized where there is evidence of
strategic behavior by regulators. Courts should not accept at
face value odd and elaborate schemes like TRPA’s program
of TDRs, which operate as barriers to a takings suit but
serve no further purpose. When a scheme of newly-created
rights looks like a strategic way to keep a takings claim
unripe rather than a genuine effort to bring relief to landown-
ers, it makes a mockery of the Constitution to require strict
compliance with that scheme to ripen a Fifth Amendment
claim. Here, the essential oddity and impracticability of the
TDR scheme, combined with Mrs. Suitum’s expert evidence
that no owner had been able to make use of the TDR
program, showed that it was merely a ruse and a sham.’

2 The courts below wrongly held that the affidavit of Mrs.
Suitum’s expert, Paul Kaleta, should be excluded because he was
not a qualified appraiser. Pet. App. Al0-All. This misses the
point. As a former TRPA staff member, Mr. Kaleta was well

15

Finally, amici suggest in addition that this Court should
make clear that a property owner may seek a federal court
declaratory judgment that a regulation or its application
constitutes a taking, as opposed to a judgment for compensa-
tion, whether or not the claimant has applied for all possible
variances and reapplications. See Duke Power Co. v.
Carolina Environmental Study Group, 438 U.S. 59, 71 n.15
(1978); New Orleans Public Service, Inc. v. New Orleans,
491 U.S. 350, 372 (1989). As a practical matter, the
possibility of an early judicial look at the merits of a takings
claim would likely encourage more realistic and open
behavior on the part of the land use agency and make
delaying tactics less attractive. It should cause agencies to be
more forthcoming about what uses they would allow on the
property, and more helpful to landowners in suggesting ways
in which plans could be modified to meet approval.

By such measures, the Court would restore balance to
ripeness analysis and thereby head off a deviant doctrine,
epitomized by the decision below, “which gives to monied
might, the means abundantly of wearying out the right;
which so exhausts finances, patience, courage, hope” as to
leave property owners “perennially hopeless.” Charles
Dickens, Bleak House 3, 4 (Alfred A. Knopf ed., 1991).

qualified to testify as to whether the TDR program was a sham.
He testified that the chance of Mrs. Suitum receiving a building
allocation was “minuscule,” that each of the six allocations issued
in Washoe County in 1993 “were returned back to Washoe County
because there was no market for the transferable allocations and
they could not be sold,” and that “[nJo market exists” for devel-
opment rights and associated bonus units. Kaleta Aff., ¢4 4-6. This
evidence was highly relevant to the issues of whether the TDR
scheme was a sham and whether an application pursuant to that
scheme would have been futile, and it should not have been
excluded.

16

Property rights are too important to “be relegated to the
status of a poor relation.” Dolan, 114 S. Ct. at 2320. There
is no valid reason why ripeness requirements should permit
the vindication of constitutional property rights only in the
most extraordinary circumstances. A right lacking a practical
means of vindication is but an empty shell. This Court
should ensure that Mrs. Suitum—and all reasonably diligent
property owners with a plausible takings claim—are not
capriciously barred from federal court.

Il. UNDER A PROPERLY PRAGMATIC APPROACH
TO THE FUTILITY DOCTRINE, PETITIONER’S
TAKINGS CLAIM IS RIPE

Although this Court has never addressed in any detail the
futility exception to Williamson County's finality require-
ment, there can be little doubt that such an exception exists.
Writing for four members of the Court in dissent in Mac-
Donald, Justice White stated that while “a landowner must
pursue reasonably available avenues that might allow relief,
it need not * * * take patently fruitless measures.” “Nothing
in [this Court’s cases],” Justice White observed, “suggests
that the decisionmaker’s definitive position may be deter-
mined only from explicit denials of property-owner applica-
tions for development. Nor do these cases suggest that
repeated applications and denials are necessary to pinpoint
that position.” 477 U.S. at 359. Subsequently, in Lucas, a
majority held that Mr. Lucas’ failure to submit a plan for
development was not a bar to reaching the merits of his
takings claim, because “such a submission would have been
pointless.” 505 U.S. at 1012 n.3.

The question whether the pursuit of agency approval for
a land-use project would be “patently fruitless” because the
agency has already indicated its “definitive position” is, we
suggest, a factual one, properly dependent on all the circum-
stances. There is no conceivable warrant for restricting the

17

breadth of that inquiry through arbitrary formulas about what
procedures a landowner must follow before he or she may
make a futility argument. Although the lower federal courts
have generally acknowledged that there is some sort of
futility exception to finality, and have even, on occasion,
found pleas to regulators to be futile, e.g., Eastern Minerals
Int’l, Inc. v. United States, 36 Fed. Cl. 541, 547 (1996);
Beure-Co. v. United States, 16 Cl. Ct. 42 (1988), they have
limited the scope of the exception for no discernable reason
other than to restrict landowners’ access to the federal courts.
See, e.g., Traweek v. City & County of San Francisco, 920
F.2d 589, 594 (9th Cir. 1990).

For example, most courts that have addressed the issue
have concluded that the futility exception cannot apply until
the landowner has made at least one application and that
application has been denied. E.g., Eastern Minerals, 36 Fed.
Cl. at 548 (“Each plaintiff must satisfy the threshold require-
ment of a single meaningful application to maintain the
futility exception”); Southern Pac. Transp. Co. v. City of
Los Angeles, 922 F.2d 498 (9th Cir. 1990) (same); Unity
Ventures v. Lake County, 841 F.2d 770 (7th Cir. 1988)
(same). Under this rule, petitioner arguably could not have
availed herself of the futility exception, because she had not
yet had an application to transfer useable TDRs denied.

This “one unsuccessful application” gloss on the futility
rule is insupportable—as is any arbitrary rule limiting a
court’s duty to inquire into all the facts relevant to the
question whether the agency has definitively made up its
mind. Justice White’s observation that “[a] decisionmaker’s
definitive position may sometimes be determined by factors
other than its actual decision on the issue in question”
(MacDonald, 477 U.S. at 359) is assuredly true, and it
cannot be limited to situations where one application (or
some other arbitrary number) has been denied.

18

Eastern Minerals provides an example of the capricious
results that flow from unduly restricting the futility inquiry.
There, the government’s statements made clear that no
application to mine a particular seam of coal would be
approved. The Court of Claims held ripe the takings claim of
one owner, whose first permit had been denied, because the
evidence showed that further applications would likewise be
denied. But it held unripe the claims of a second owner who
declined to make an application because he knew’, from the
experience of the first owner, that any application he made
would be rejected. That ruling. amici submit, was in error.
The test for futility should be a purely factual one: do the
circumstances show that an application—even a first applica-
tion—would be futile. The denial of another owner’s applica-
tion for reasons that edmit of no exceptions and that apply
equally to the plaintiff is enough, amici believe, to establish
futility; and there are countless other ways in which futility
might be shown in a particular case though no application
had yet been denied.

A better, more flexible statement of the futility exception
to finality, amici suggest, is that of the First Circuit in
Gilbert v. City of Cambridge, 932 F.2d 51, 61 n.12 (ist Cir.
1991): the exception applies “where the degree of hardship
that would be imposed by waiting for the permit process to
run its course is so substantial and severe, and the prospects
of obtaining the permit so unlikely, that the property may be
found to be meaningfully burdened and the controversy
concrete enough to warrant immediate judicial intervention.”
An important “hardship” factc. in applying that standard is
the plaintiff's current inability to make any use of the land.
Ibid.

In Mrs. Suitum’s case, the excluded evidence of her
expert that the TDR scheme was a sham and that no market
for TDRs actually existed was certainly relevant to the
question of futility. See supra, note 2. If that evidence had

19

been accepted—and as a former TRPA official the witness
was surely well qualified—the court would have been forced
to conclude that any effort by petitioner to sell her TDRs was
futile. The futility exception should have applied in this case.
More important for the development of the law in this area,
this Court should disapprove the baseless constraints that
lower courts have imposed on the futility inquiry and make
clear that futility is a purely factual issue, subject to proof in
innumerable ways and without arbitrary preconditions.

Il. BECAUSE IT IS IMMEDIATELY DETERMI-
NABLE THAT TRPA’S REGULATIONS DE-
PRIVED PETITIONER’S LAND OF MUCH OF
ITS VALUE, HER TAKINGS CLAIM IS RIPE

The Ninth Circuit accepted TRPA’s valuation of Mrs.
Suitum’s TDRs and excluded her expert’s evidence that the
whole TDR scheme was a sham and the TDRs had no market
value. Though amici believe that this was error, even on that
basis the court should have recognized that petitioner had a
ripe takings claim. TRPA’s evidence fixed the maximum
value of the TDRs, and, comb.ned with evidence of the value
of Mrs. Suitum’s lot with her right to build a single-family
home, allowed calculation of the minimum loss that petition-
er suffered as a result of the TDR scheme. The only remain-
ing uncertainty was whether petitioner would in future suffer
a greater loss if she were denied approval for the transfer of
useable TDRs.

In those circumstances, where the minimum loss of value
of property is fixed and the only issue is whether a greater
loss will be incurred through future regulatory action, amici
believe that a claim for a partial taking is ripe. Any other
rule would be grossly unfair to landowners: government
could prevent a takings claim simply by retaining the power
to take more of the property in the future!

20

The Ninth Circuit did not even consider this ripeness
question, for it made the fundamental mistake of denying that
there is such a thing as a constitutionally cognizable partial
taking. It held, inexplicably, that “[t]he imposition of
regulatory ordinances that merely diminish the value of
property does not constitute a taking.” Pet. App. A12. It is
important that this Court take the opportunity to correct this
misinterpretation of the Fifth Amendment.

In Lucas, this Court held that a regulation that deprives
the owner of a parcel of “all economically beneficial or
productive use of [the] land” constitutes a taking and is
“compensable without case-specific inquiry into the public
interest advanced in support of the restraint.” 505 U.S. at
1015 (emphasis added). Contrary to the Ninth Circuit,
however, this sort of “categorical” taking is not the sole
form of taking governed by the Fifth Amendment. Lucas’s
categorical rule does not operate to the exclusion of the
principle that a substantial diminution in value can also be a
compensable partial taking.

In fact, the Court in Lucas refuted the dissent’s conten-
tion that the categorical rule was arbitrary because “[a]
landowner whose property is diminished in value 95%
recovers nothing, while an owner whose property is dimin-
ished 100% recovers the land’s full value.” Lucas, 505 U.S.
at 1064 (Stevens, J., dissenting). The Court observed that
“[t}his analysis errs in its assumption that the landowner
whose deprivation is one step short of complete is not
entitled to compensation.” Jd. at 1019 n.8. The Court noted
that “[s]uch an owner might not be able to claim the benefit
of our categorical formulation,” but that “‘[t}he economic
impact of the regulation on the claimant and * * * the extent
to which the regulation has interfered with distinct invest-
ment-backed expectations’ are keenly relevant to takings
analysis generally.” /bid.

21

Although this Court has not yet had occasion to flesh out
the partial takings inquiry outlined in Lucas, the Federal
Circuit has squarely addressed it and has concluded, contrary
to the Ninth Circuit, that a substantial diminution in value
may amount to a compensable partial taking. See Florida
Rock Indus., Inc. v. United States, 18 F.3d 1560 (Fed. Cir.
1994) (finding that a taking may have occurred when the
value of land was reduced by approximately sixty percent).°
The Federal Circuit correctly noted that “[njothing in the
language of the Fifth Amendment compels a court to find a
taking only when the Government divests the total ownership
of the property; the Fifth Amendment prohibits the uncom-
pensated taking of private property without reference to the
owner's remaining property interests.” Jd. at 1568.

The Ninth Circuit’s unreasoned rejection of partial
takings should not go uncorrected, since it appears to have
infected the court’s ruling on ripeness. The Ninth Circuit’s
failure to recognize that partial takings can be compensable
led it to conclude that petitioner’s takings claim turns on
whether her land has some remaining value. Therefore, the
court focused on whether petitioner would be permitted to

> Far from being no such thing as a partial taking, there are two
different situations in which, the Federal Circuit has recognized,
compensation for a partial taking may be constitutionally required.
The first is where there has been a substantial diminution in the
value of the parcel as a whole, as occurred in this case and in
Florida Rock. The second is where circumstances suggest that the
dimunition-in-value inquiry is properly directed not at the entire
parcel but at a discrete sub-unit of the parcel. That issue was
addressed by the Federal Circuit in Loveladies Harbor, Inc. v.
United States, 28 F.3d 1171 (Fed. Cir. 1994). See, e.g., Lisker,
Regulatory Takings and the Denominator Problem, 27 Rutgers L.J.
663 (1996); Fee, Comment, Unearthing the Denominator in
Regulatory Taking Claims, 61 U. Chi. L. Rev. 1535 (1994).

22

transfer useable development rights and whether this transfer
would result in a “mere” diminution in the value of petition-
er’s “bundle of rights” in the parcel, rather than in a
compensable “total” taking. But if a less-than-complete
diminution in value can be a compensable taking, there was
no need for petitioner to go through the TDR process before
stating a ripe takings claim. The value of Mrs. Suitum’s
land, both free from and subject to TRPA’s regulatory
scheme, was readily ascertainable. The minimum diminution
in value was calculable by taking TRPA’s own figures for
the value of the TDRs, and the case presented the ripe
question whether that diminution was substantial enough to
amount to a compensable partial taking.‘

Moreover, the maximum diminution in the value of
petitioner’s parcel is readily determinable as well, merely by

4 Mrs. Suitum and her late husband acquired the parcel at issue in
1972. On three sides of the parcel are lots with residences, and the
fourth borders on a paved street. When petitioner submitted to
TRPA in 1989 a plan to build a residence on the property, she was
told that the parcel was in a Stream Environmental Zone (“SEZ”),
and that no new land coverage was permitted there. The idea of an
SEZ was created by the 1987 TRPA Plan, which was drafted
pursuant to the 1980 Tahoe Regional Planning Compact. Pet. App.
A4-A6. Thus, as in Lucc> Mrs. Suitum owned the parcel at issue
prior to the imposition 0. che regulatory scheme that required her
to leave her land in its natural state. Under the ad hoc test of Penn
Central, it is important to consider both the “economic impact of
the regulation” on petitioner and “the extent to whict. the regula-
tion has interfered with [her] distinct investment-backed expec-
tations.” Penn Central Transp. Co. v. City of New York, 438 U.S.
104, 124 (1978). The economic impact of TRPA’s regulatory
scheme on petitioner appears to be substantial; and, given her
reasonable expectation, at the time of the purchase of the parcel,
that she would be able to build a residence, there also has been an

23

assuming that TRPA in the future denies approval of the
transfer of Mrs. Suitum’s TDRs. It would be extremely
wasteful of judicial and litigant resources if petitioner were
not allowed to proceed with a declaratory judgment action,
seeking a declaration that if TRPA were to disallow the
transfer of useable TDRs, a compensable taking would then
have occurred. Since petitioner’s minimum and maximum
losses are ascertainable now, it makes sense to allow a single
action to go forward claiming compensation for a partial
taking and a declaration that a complete taking will occur
upon denial of the right to transfer petitioner's TDRs. A
declaratory judgment will assist TRPA as well as petitioner,
by enabling the agency to make a decision on her application
to transfer TDRs with full information about the takings
consequences of denying her application.

This case perfectly illustrates the incredibly burdensome
procedural rules and substantive uncertainties that mar the
law of takings, making a day in federal court an unlikely
prospect for even the most overregulated landowner. Amici
urge this Court to infuse this area with a healthy dose of
reality, tying the rules of ripeness to the actual experience of
landowners once they enter the regulatory maze. Change is
essential to restore the promise of the Fifth Amendment that
government may not “forc{e] some people alone to bear
public burdens which, in all fairness and justice, should be
borne by the public as a whole.” Armstrong v. United States,
364 U.S. 40, 49 (1960).

24

CONCLUSION
The judgment of the court of appeals should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted.

JOHN J. RADEMACHER
General Counsel
RICHARD L. KRAUSE
MICHAEL J. STIENTJES
Assistant Counsel
American Farm Bureau
Federation
225 Touhy Avenue
Park Ridge, Illinois 60068
(847) 685-8600

NOVEMBER 1996

Timothy S. BISHOP
Counsel of Record

MICHAEL F. ROSENBLUM

JEFFREY W. SARLES

MARC R. LISKER
Mayer, Brown & Platt
190 South LaSalle Street
Chicago, Illinois 60603
(312) 782-0600

Counsel for Amici Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0011%3A19. Public record. Not legal advice.
