# Amicus Curiae Brief — Washington v. Glucksberg

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0007%3A33

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 521 U.S. 702

## Text

No. 96-110

i

In THE
Supreme Court of the United

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

STATE OF WASHINGTON, CHRISTINE O. GREGOIRE,
Attorney General of Washington,

. Petitioners,

HAROLD GLUCKSBERG, M.D..,
/\BIGAIL HALPERIN, M.D., THOMAS A. PRESTON, M.D.,
and PETER SHALIT, M.D., Ph.D.,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN MEDICAL ASSOCIATION,
THE AMERICAN NURSES ASSOCIATION, AND THE
AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC ASSOCIATION, ET AL.
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

KIRK B. JOHNSON CARTER G. PHILLIPS

MICHAEL L. ILE MARK E. HAppap *

BRUCE D. BLEHART PAUL E. KALB

AMERICAN MEDICAL KATHERINE L. ADAMS
ASSOCIATION CHRISTOPHER D. MOORE

515 North State Street SIDLEY & AUSTIN

Chicago, IL 60610 1722 Eye Street, N.W.

(312) 464-5000 Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 736-8000

NEWTON N. MINOW
JACK R. BIERIG
SIDLEY & AUSTIN
One First National Plaza
Chicago, IL 60603
(312) 853-7000

Attorneys for Amici Curiae
November 12, 1996 * Counsel of Record

WILSON - Eres Printinc Co., Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTRODUCTION AND INTEREST OF AMICI...

HEALTH CARE BACKGROUND ....... ree inl aly mantle
A. Commitment To Patient Autonomy...

B.

D.

Physician-Assisted Suicide 0... smaiaicaniae

The Inherent Difficulty In Regulating Physician-
BAIL a Al RS Hat SLE Speen

I eeterntnitmtemiceteestetice et )

THIS COURT’S DUE PROCESS JURISPRU-
DENCE DOES NOT PROVIDE A BASIS FOR
FINDING A CONSTITUTIONAL LIBERTY IN-
TEREST IN OBTAINING A PHYSICIAN’S AS-
SISTANCE TO COMMIT SUICIDE...

A.

The Individual’s Fourteenth Amendment Liberty
Interest In Refusing Medical Treatment Does
Not Encompass The Right To Physician Assist-
ance In Committing Suicide... Font Pe
Physician-Assisted Suicide Lies Outside The
Continuum Of Liberty Interests That This Court
Has Previously Recognized As Constitutionally
RE ee ee

. States Have Strong Interests In Prohibiting

Physicians And Nurses From Assisting In
REE Ore eR ee Cee Cee

A Al AS EE A Ee LS

10

17

18

18

18

21

26

30

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Bowen Vv. American Hosp. Ass'n, 476 U.S. 610
(1986) .. at 28
Breithaupt v. Abram, 352 U.S. 482 (1957) ........... ” 21
Cruzan V. Director, Missouri Dep’t of Health, 497
U.S. 261 (1990) -. bi ...passim
Employment Div. v. Smith, 494 U.S. 872 (1990)... 21
Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965)........ 24
Jacobson Vv. Massachusetts, 197 U.S. 11 (1905)... 21
Loving Vv. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967) ......0000000000.. 24
Moore v. City of East Cleveland, 481 U.S. 494
ae 22
New State Ice Co. v. Liebmann, 285 U.S. 262
| ES ia an
New York State Ophthalmological Soc’y v. Bowen,
854 F.2d 1379 (D.C. Cir. 1988), cert. denied,
ok BS ae ee a
Ohralik v. Ohio State Bar Ass’n, 486 U.S. 447
CISD cccccscersnsennsemnnicniapiaiiaaiiiees
Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 488 (1928)...
Palko v. Connecticut, 302 U.S. 319 (1987) ............... 22,
Planned Parenthood vy. Casey, 505 U.S. 8833
CEEIBED cncesswenenmeennatinsiiitinninitedaale 22, 23
Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497 (1961) 000000.
Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 118 (1978) 20.
Romer v. Evans, 116 S. Ct. 1620 (1996) 0000000.
Schloendorff v. Society of New York Hosp., 105
N.E. 92 (N.Y. 1914) ......... sciclilasiiliiadanldaa
Schmerber v. California, 384 U.S. 757 (1966) ........
Semler v. Oregon State Bd. of Dental Examiners
294 U.S. 608 (1935) ond
Shapero v. Kentucky Bar Ass’n, 486 U.S 466
(1988) ......... imainemaiaaes
United States v. Rutherford, 442 U.S. 54« (1979).
Washington Vv. Harper, 494 U.S. 210 “990} .....
Winters v. Miller, 446 F.2d 65 d Cir.), cert.
denied, 404 U.S. 985 (197)) —............ aha

_
@

Fe SERY

—
—

OTHER AUTHORITIES

AMA Bd. of Trustees. Huthanasia/Physician-
Assisted Suicide: Leeons in the Dutch Experi-
ence, 10 Issues in lL. & Med. 81 (1994)... «1, 12

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
AMA Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs,

Physician-Assisted Suicide, 10 Issues in L. &
Med. 91 (1994)... a 5

ment of Acute Pain and Cancer Pain, 274 JAMA
ITS a FR eiahieedlitin 15

ES a ee oo a haliendliis 7,8
4 Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of Eng-
Blendon et al., Should Physicians Aid Their Pa-

tients in Dying?, 267 JAMA 2658 (1992) ... 14

ed., forthcoming May 1997) 15

Assisted Suicide: Creating a Regulatory
Potemkin Village, 30 U. Rich. L. Rev. 1 (1996). 11, 12,
17

Chochinov et al., Desire for Death in the Termi-
nally Ill, 152 Am. J. Psych. 1185 I i)

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page

Connors et al., A Controlled Trial to Improve Care
for Seriously Ill Hospitalized Patients, 274
a 7
Conwell & Caine, Rational Suicide and the Right to
Die: Reality and Myth, 325 New Eng. J. Med.

1100 (1991) 9, 10
“Countdown to a Suicide,” The New York Times,
SE OEE ee ee 15

Cundiff, Euthanasia Is Not the Answer (1992)... 9
Emanuel, “Advance Directives,” in Principles and
Practice of Supportive Oncology —— (Berger,

et al. eds., forthcoming 1996) wanttedinitnsiiitatian 15
Emanuel, Cost Savings at the End of Life: What
Do the Data Show?, 275 JAMA 1907 (1996). 14

Emanuel et al., Euthanasia and Physician-Assisted
Suicide: Attitudes and Experiences of Oncology
Patients, Oncologists, and the Public, 347 Lancet
SD GED cieresnntepitittintiliieynitceniattiiiceisis tala tii ti 7, 8,9

Foley, The Relationship of Pain and Symptom
Management to Patient Requests for Physician-
Assisted Suicide, 6 J. Pain & Symp. Mgmt. 289
ey ES ad 6, 8,14

Hospitalized Elderly, 263 JAMA 1097 (1990) _. 13
Hendin, Seduced by Death: Doctors, Patients, and
the Dutch Cure, 10 Issues in L. & Med. 128

> ctnciienseniapnapaincoemmbenmmemaninbiateataiaietaceniitinns 13, 16
Hendin, Selling Death and Dignity, 25 Hast. Ctr.
—< [ae ar a 16

Hendin, Suicide and the Request for Swicide:
Meaning and Motivation, 35 Duq. L. Rev. 285
Se es. a ee - 9

Hendin, Suicide, Assisted Suicide, and Euthanasia:
Lessons from the Dutch Experience, Summary
of Testimony Presented to House Subcommittee
on the Constitution (1996) 0... 8

Kamisar, Against Assisted Suicide -—Even a Very
Limited Form, 72 U. Det. Merey L. Rev. 735
SD cthinncntntininennnniliatiticmiaiitielp tllinsidaaitid mannan bi ati kk 12, 25

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page

Kass & Lund, Physician-Assisted Suicide, Medical

Ethics and the Future of the Medical Profession,

35 Dug. L. Rev. 395 (1996) 11, 16, 17, 30
Keeton et al., Prosser and Keeton on the Law of

Torts (5th ed. 1984) . ‘ ~ 19
Keown, “Some Reflections on Euthanasia in the

Netherlands,” in Euthanasia, Clinical Practice

and the Law 193 (Gormally ed. 1994) 13
Koenig et al., Attitudes of Elderly Patients and

Their Families toward Physician-Assisted Sui-

cide, 156 Arch. Int. Med. 2240 (1996)... 15
Levy, Pharmacologic Treatment of Cancer Pain,

335 New Eng. J. Med. 1124 (1996) si 6
Lynn et al., Defining the “Terminally Ill”: Insights

from SUPPORT, 35 Dug. L. Rev. 311 (1996). 12
Marzen et al., Suicide: A Constitutional Right?,

J) SS 4). ee 22

2 Meisel, The Right to Die (2d ed. 1995) 22, 29
Miles, Physicians and Their Patients’ Suicides, 271
JAMA 1786 (1994)... Cs 16

N.Y. State Task Force, When Death Is Sought:
Assisted Suicide and Euthanasia in the Medical
Context (1994) 0... ee passim

Portenoy et al., Determinants of the Willingness to
Endorse Assisted Suicide: A Survey of Physi-
cians, Nurses, and Social Workers, —— Psycho-
somatics ——- (forthcoming April 1997) _.._ 14

Preston & Mero, Observations Concerning Termi-
nally I Patients Who Choose Suicide, 4 J.
Pharm. Care & Pain Symp. Control 183 (1996) .. 7

Quill, Death and Dignity: A Case of Individualized
Decision Making, 324 New Eng. J. Med. 691
On eee 5

Van der Maas et al., Euthanasia and Other Medical
Decisions Concerning the End of Life, 338 Lancet

EES TS SE aa ee 7,11
Wolf, Physician-Assisted Suicide in the Context of
Managed Care, 35 Duq. L. Rev. 455 (1996)... 14

INTRODUCTION AND INTEREST OF AMICI

The right to control one’s medical treatment is among
the most important rights that the law affords each person.
The associations of health care professionals that are
submitting this brief strongly support the recognition and
enforcement of that right. Health care professionals are
committed to their ethical and legal obligations to honor
patient requests to withhold or withdraw unwanted life-
prolonging treatment and to provide patients with all
medication necessary to alleviate physical pain, even in
circumstances where such medication might hasten death.
Through these means, patients can avoid entrapment in a
prolonged, painful, or overly medicalized dying process.

The decision below, however, takes the unprecedented
step of announcing a constitutional right to control the tim-
ing and manner of one’s death through the use of physician-
assisted suicide. The court of appeals would confer upon
health care professionals the awesome responsibility of
deciding who, among the many patients who would request
physician-assisted suicide, are eligible to obtain the assist-
ance of a physician in killing themselves. The power to
assist in intentionally taking the life of a patient is an-
tithetical to the central mission of healing that guides
both medicine and nursing. It is a power that most health
care professionals do not want and could not control.
Once established, the right to physician-assisted suicide
would create profound danger for many ill persons with
undiagnosed depression and inadequately treated pain,
for whom physician-assisted suicide rather than good pal-
liative care could become the norm. At greatest risk
would be those with the least access to palliative care—
the poor, the elderly, and members of minority groups.

The American Medical Association (“AMA”), the
American Nurses Association (“ANA”), the American
Psychiatric Association (“APA”), and 43 other national
specialty and state medical societies that are submitting

2

this brief ' represent hundreds of thousands of health care
professionals who care each day for millions of Americans.
Our members have deep compassion for those who are
suffering the pain and torment of chronic or terminal ill-
ness. We have learned much in recent years about pallia-
tive care. Our experience is that a desire for physician-
assisted suicide does not persist in patients who receive
good palliative care.

Amici acknowledge that many patients today do not
receive proper treatment for their pain, depression, or
Psychological distress. Nevertheless, physician-assisted sui-
cide is not the right answer to the problem of inade-
quate care. Although for some patients it might appear
compassionate intentionally to cause death, institutional-
izing physician-assisted suicide as a medical treatment
would put many more patients at serious risk for unwanted
and unnecessary death. Rather than recognize a right
to physician-assisted suicide, our society instead should
recognize the urgent necessity of extending to all patients
the palliative care they need and redouble our efforts to
provide such care to all.

To explain more fully the bases for amici’s position,
we begin with a discussion of important aspects of caring
for seriously ill patients who request physician-assisted
suicide that were misapprehended by the court below.

HEALTH CARE BACKGROUND

The core of the Ninth Circuit's opinion is its view
that each individual has a fundamental liberty interest
“in choosing the timing and manner of one’s death.”
Pet. App. A-21. While the phrase is superficially appeal-
ing, it belies the sad reality that none of ws has the er
completely to control the circumstances of our death, Ii.
ness, itself only one potential cause of death, comes

* Pursuant to Rule 99.8 of the Rules of this Court, the parties
have consented to the filing of this brief. The parties’ letters of
consent have been filed with the Court. A brief description of each
amicus appears in Appendix A to this brief.

3

unbidden and with unpredictable effect. The Ninth Cir-
cuit’s argument thus rests, at bottom, on an unrealistic
assumption about our ability to control death.

At the same time, the Ninth Circuit overlooked the
degree to which—without resorting to physician-assisted
suicide—patients already can control aspects of the dying
Process. By recognizing patients’ rights to refuse un-
wanted medical treatment or to have such treatment with-
drawn, and by providing adequate pain relief, the health
Care professions have the Capacity to prevent a prolonged
and painful dying process. While much more remains
to be done to ensure that all patients have access to good
Palliative care and effective advance care planning, see
page 15, infra, experience to date shows that properly
trained health care professionals can effectively meet their
patients’ needs for compassionate end-of-life care without
acceding to requests for suicide.

A. Commitment To Patient Autonomy

The health care professions’ ethical commitment to the
principle of patient autonomy plays a vital role in provid-
ing patients with the ability to control their course of
treatment. This commitment is expressed, for example,
in Opinion 2.20 of the AMA Code of Medical Ethics.
Opinion 2.20 provides, in part, that “[tjhe principle of
patient autonomy requires that physicians respect the deci-
sion to forgo life-sustaining treatment of a patient who

~ possesses decisionmaking capacity.” AMA Council on

Ethical and Judicial Affairs, Code of Medical Ethics:
Currene Opinions § 2.20 (App. lla-12a); see also ANA,
Cede for Nurses with Interpretive Statements § 1.1 (App.
19a) (patients “have the moral right to determine what
will be done with their own person” and “to accept, refuse.
or terminate treatment without coercion”).

Opinion 2.20 has great significance for patients near
the end of life. To those who fear unwanted medical in-
fervention in the dying process, the message of Opinion
2.20 is that a patient need not accept, and physicians must

4

not impose, a medical treatment that the patient does not
want. As a practical matter, this means that a patient can
refuse not only mechanical interventions such as respira-
tors, feeding tubes, or dialysis, but also chemotherapy,
antibiotics, or any other treatment that would have the
effect of prolonging the patient's life. App. 12a. Through
such means, persons suffering from chronic diseases (such
as multiple sclerosis or amyotrophic lateral sclerosis) as
well as terminal diseases can plan with their physicians
which life-sustaining treatment to accept.

Opinion 2.20 unequivocally establishes that “[{p]hysi-
cians have an obligation to relieve pain and suffering and
to promote the dignity and autonomy of dying patients in
their care” and, significantly, that this obligation “includes
providing palliative treatment even though it may fore-
seeably hasten death.” App. 13a; see also App. 19a-20a
(ANA Position Statement on Promotion of Comfort and
Relief of Pain in Dying Patients). Although criticized by
the Ninth Circuit as illogical, the recognition that physi-
cians should provide patients pain medication sufficient to
ease their pain, even where that may serve to hasten death,
is vital to ensuring that no patierc suffer from physical
pain.

The principle of patient autonomy, however, has never
been understood to give patients the right to every pro-
cedure or treatment they might demand. For example,
physicians need not provide futile treatment—that is,
treatment that has no reasonable chance of helping the
patient. Code of Medical Ethics § 2.035 (App. 15a).
Similarly, physicians should not provide patients with
treatments that are known to be ineffective or harmful.
Such limitations are important. If a patient may demand
and receive anything from a health care professional,
individuals who practice the healing arts will cease being
professionals.

B. Physician-Assisted Suicide

Long viewed as outside the realm of legitimate health
care, physician-assisted suicide occurs “when a physician

5

facilitates a patient’s death by providing the necessary
means and/or information to enable the patient to per-
form the life-ending act.” Code of Medical Ethics § 2.211
(App. Ila); AMA Council on Ethical and Judicial
Affairs, Physician-Assisted Suicide, 10 Issues in L. &
Med. 91, 92 (1994). The practice involves physicians
intentionally providing patients with the means for suicide,
such as prescribing barbiturates in an amount certain to
cause death and for the purpose of causing death. See,
e.g., Quill, Death and Dignity: A Case of Individualized
Decision Making, 324 New Eng. J. Med. 691 (1991).

The ethical prohibition against physician-assisted suicide
is a cornerstone of medical ethics. Its roots are as ancient
as the Hippocratic Oath that a physician “will neither
give a deadly drug to anybody if asked for it, nor...
make a suggestion to this effect,” and the merits of the
ban have been debated repeatedly in this nation since
the late nineteenth century. Most recently, the AMA has
reexamined and reaffirmed the ethical prohibition against
physician-assis'*d suicide in 1977, 1988, 1991, 1993,
and 1996.* Physician-assisted suicide remains “funda-
mentally incompatible with the physician’s role as healer,
would be difficult or impossible to control, and would pose
serious societal risks.” Code of Medical Ethics § 2.211
(App. lla). Other health care professions have similar
tenets. See, e.g., App. 19a (ANA Position Statement on
Assisted Suicide). Physicians and nurses have the ability
to respond sensitively to the concerns of seriously ill and
dying patients and can meet their patients’ needs without
acceding to requests for suicide.

C. Requests for Physician-Assisted Suicide

The Ninth Circuit’s decision rests in substantial part on
the assumption that there are a “growing number of termi-

* AMA Council! on Scientific Affairs, Good Care of the Dying
Patient, 275 SAMA 474, 477 (1996) Most recently, in the after-
math of the decision below, the AMA’s House of Delegates in June
1996 overwhelmingly endorsed a recommendation to affirm the ban
on physician-assisted suicide.

6

nally ill patients who die protracted and painful deaths,”
Pet. App. A-53, and who, absent physician-assisted suicide,
are condemned to face “unmitigated torture” before they
die. Pet. App. A-106. Implicit in the court’s holding are
the views that those who request suicide do so to avoid
excruciating pain, and that health care professionals can
do nothing compassionate in response other than to assist
in suicide. The court cited no evidence to support these
views. In fact, available information demonstrates that
these views are misguided.

1. There is no evidence that increasing numbers of
patients are dying in severe pain. To the contrary, “{t}he
potential for management of pain has recently improved,
both through the development of better techniques and
through enhanced care delivery through hospice and pal-
liative care efforts.” AMA Council on Scientific Affairs,
Good Care of the Dying Patient, 275 JAMA 474, 475
(1996). The pain of most terminally ill patients can be
controlled throughout the dying process without heavy se-
dation or anesthesia. /d.; see, e.g., Byock, Consciously
Walking the Fine Line: Thoughts on a Hospice Response
to Assisted Suicide and Euthanasia, 9 J. Pall. Care 25,
26 (1993); Foley, The Relationship of Pain and Symptom
Management to Patient Requests for Physician-Assisted
Suicide, 6 J. Pain & Symp. Mgmt. 289 (1991); Levy,
Pharmacologic Treatment of Cancer Pain, 335 New Eng.
J. Med. 1124 (1996). For a very few patients, how-
ever, sedation to a sleep-like state may be necessary in
the last days or weeks of life to prevent the patient
from experiencing severe pain. N.Y. State Task Force,
When Death Is Sought: Assisted Suicide and Euthanasia
in the Medical Context 40 & n.21 (1994). Notably, when
pain medication is properly administered, for most patients
the risk of respiratory depression that hastens death is
minimal. N.Y. State Task Force at 162.

Given the increasing ability to control pain, it is not
surprising that, contrary to the Ninth Circuit’s assumption,
the demand for physician-assisted suicide does not come
principally from those seeking relief from physical pain.

7

A recent study of such requests in Washington State found
that “neither severe pain nor dyspnea was a common pa-
tient concern, suggesting that intolerable physical symptoms
are not the reason most patients request physician-assisted
suicide or euthanasia.” Back et al., Physician-Assisted
Suicide and Euthanasia in Washington State, 275 JAMA
919, 924 (1996). This finding is consistent with a report
from Compassion-in-Dying, see Preston & Mero, Observa-
tions Concerning Terminally Ill Patients Who Choose Sui-
cide, 4 J. Pharm. Care & Pain Symp. Control 183, 187
(1996) (“[iJn no patient was pain the primary reason for
suicide”); with other studies of patients and physicians,
see Emanuel et al., Euthanasia and Physician-Assisted Sui-
cide: Attitudes and Experiences of Oncology Patients, On-
cologists, and the Public, 347 Lancet 1805, 1809 & nn.6,
12 (1996) (“[p]atients experiencing pain were not in-
clined to euthanasia or physician-assisted suicide”); as
well as with studies of Holland’s experience, see Van der
Maas et al., Euthanasia and Other Medical Decisions Con-
cerning the End of Life, 338 Lancet 669, 672 (1991)
(relief from pain was mentioned as a factor in fewer than
half of cases, and was the sole factor in only five percent
of cases).

This is not to say that all patients have access to and
actually receive adequate pain relief and good palliative
care. They do not. The delivery of such care is “grossly
inadequate” today, and efforts to make such care univers-
ally available have not yet succeeded. N.Y. State Task
Force at 43-47; Connors et al., A Controlled Trial to
Improve Care for Seriously Ill Hospitalized Patients, 274
JAMA 1591 (1995). There are many obstacles to the
delivery of adequate pain management. These include a
lack of professional training and knowledge, misconcep-
tions about the risks of addiction and respiratory depression
associated with pain medication, inadequate communica-
tion (reflecting both inadequate attention frum health care
professionals and undue reluctance of patients and their
families to use pain relief medication), and concern over
criminal or licensure actions against the prescribing physi-
cians. N.Y. State Task Force at 44-47; AMA Council,

8

275 JAMA at 476. Of further concern, individuals
treated at centers that serve predominantly minority pa-
tients are more likely than others to receive inadequate
pain treatment; the same is true for elderly and female
patients. N.Y. State Task Force at 44 & n.37. Yet for
“many patients, pain and suffering could be alleviated
using medications and techniques that have been widely
publicized and require only modest resources.” Jd. at 35.
There is, in short, compelling evidence of the need to
ensure that all patients have access to quality palliative
care, but not of any need for physician-assisted suicide in
order to control pain.

2. Most patients that request suicide do so out of con-
cerns that, in the future, their pain may become intoler-
able, they may suffer a loss of dignity and become de-
pendent upon others, or they will excessively burden
their families. Back et al., 275 JAMA at 921; Eman-
uel et al., 347 Lancet at 1807. The suffering that
such concerns may cause is real. But if the anticipatory
and existential nature of that suffering is recognized and
addressed, it can often effectively be alleviated. Foley, 6
J. Pain & Symp. Mgmt. at 289-90; N.Y. State Task Force
at x, 181.

Concerns about future loss of control, loss of dignity, or
pain frequently can be met by reassuring the patient of a
continuing commitment to attentive comfort care and by
assisting the patient to confront an underlying and un-
spoken fear of death. “Many patients and physicians dis-
place anxieties about death onto the circumstances of dy-
ing: pain, dependence, loss of dignity, and the unpleasant
side effects of medical treatments. Focusing on or becom-
ing enraged at the process distracts from the fear of death
itself.” Hendin, Suicide, Assisted Suicide, and Euthanasia:
Lessons from the Dutch Experience, Summary of Testi-
mony Presented to House Subcommittee on the Constitu-
tion | (1996). A full approach to palliative care ad-
dresses spiritual and existential feelings as well as personal
and social burdens, using a team approach that draws on
social workers and pastors as well as physicians and

9
nurses. Clinicians with experience assisting dying pa-
tients to confront such concerns report that the desire for
death passes, and that patients say they have found un-
expected meaning in their lives that makes their final days
worth living. E.¢., Cundiff, Euthanasia Is Not the Answer
29-39 (1992).

The anxieties that can accompany serious illness are
often complicated, however, by the onset of depression.
Depression is the single factor found to be a significant
predictor of the desire for death. Emanuel et al., 347
Lancet at 1809; Chochinov ef al., Desire for Death in the
Terminally Ill, 152 Am. J. Psych. 1185, 1190 (1995).
In one study of 44 terminally ill patients, all but one of the
eleven patients with “clinical depressive illness” expressed
some wish for death, while none of the remaining 33
expressed such a wish. Brown ef al., Is it Normal for
Terminally Ill Patients to Desire Death?, 143 Am. J. Psych.
208, 210 (1986); see also Conwell & Caine, Rational
Suicide and the Right to Die: Reality and Myth, 325
New Eng. J. Med. 1100, 1101 (1991) (“of 44 patients
in the later stages of cancer, only 3 had considered sui-
cide, and each of them had a severe clinical depression”);
AMA Council, 275 JAMA at 475; Chochinov et al., 152
Am. J. Psych. 1185. In this regard, those with terminal
or chronic illness are no different than others who express
suicidal wishes. Most who commit suicide suffer from
depression or some other diagnosable psychiatric illness,
which generally is treatable. Hendin, Suicide and the
Request for Suicide: Meaning and Motivation, 35 Dua.

L. Rev. 285, 285 (1996); N.Y. State Task Force at 13.
180.

It is clear that “a substantial proportion of terminally
ill patients who express a desire to die could potentially
benefit from a trial of treatment for depression.” Cho-
chinov et al., 152 Am. J. Psych. at 1190. For example,
“[tJhe elderly appear to be more prone than younger
victims to take their lives during the type of acute depres-
sive episode that responds most effectively to available.
modern treatments.” Conwell & Caine, 325 New Eng. J.
Med. at 1101. Nevertheless, most physicians fail to recog-

10

nize depression, thereby precluding the opportunity for
effective treatment. Jd. at 1101-02.

3. The demand for physician-assisted suicide among
the terminally ill is thus best understood not as a neces-
sary response to untreatable pain uniquely felt by the
dying, but in the broader context of requests for suicide
generally. “Among all suicides, only two percent to four
percent are terminally ill.” N.Y. State Task Force at 12.
Moreover, while severe chronic or terminal illness is a risk
factor for suicide, “only a small percentage of terminally
ill or severely ill patients attempt or commit suicide.” Id.
at 9, 13. And those patients are similar to physically
healthy individuals who contemplate suicide—they “are
usually suffering from a treatable mental illness, most
commonly depression.” /d.

Thus, contrary to the Ninth Circuit’s most basic prem-
ise, terminal illness does not present a special case for
physician-assisted suicide. Patients with chronic or ter-
minal illness who seek physician-assisted suicide are typic-
ally depressed or anticipating extreme suffering. Their
needs and concerns are ones that health care professionals
can meet with compassionate care. There may be, even
in a system that provides optimal palliative care to all
patients, individuals whose pain may not be treatable
absent sedation and whose wish for physician-assisted
suicide to avoid sedation is sincere. But the number
of such individuals is likely to be very small, and
the social cost of accommodating their preference for
physician-assisted suicide over sedation and withdrawal
of treatment is likely to be high. For reasons that follow,
even if physician-assisted suicide were thought appropriate
for such patients, no one can predict with any confidence
that physician-assisted suicide, if authorized by the state,
could reliably be limited to them.

D. The Inherent Difficulty In Regulating Physician-
Assisted Suicide

Proponents of physician-assisted suicide agree that lines
must be drawn between categories of individuals for

able or unacceptable. The Ninth Circuit permitted
physician-assisted suicide for those with a “terminal ill-
ness.” Pet. App. A-113 to A-114. In Vacco v. Quill,
No. 95-1858, the Second Circuit purported to restrict
physician-assisted suicide narrowly to those who were “in
the final stages of terminal illness.” Pet. App., No. 95-
1858, at 4a. Both courts expressly limited their holdings
to the provision of physician-assisted suicide (Pet. App.,

assisted suicide and voluniary euthanasia. Pet. App.
A-100. The “critical line,” the Ninth Circuit Stated, was
between the “voluntary and involuntary termination of
an individual's life.” /d.

The Ninth Circuit declared that “while there is always
room for error in any human endeavor, we believe that
sufficient protections can and will be developed by the var-
tous states.” Pet. App. A-103 to A-104. As two com-
menters note, however: “Where? Which state has done
so? In its 153-page opinion, not once does the Ninth Cir-
cuit attempt to show how this might be accomplished.”
Callahan & White, The Legalization of Physician-Assisted
Suicide: Creating a Regulatory Potemkin Village, 30 U.
Rich. L. Rev. I, #3 (1996). Existing rules limiting
physician-assisted suicide are not being followed today.
AMA Bd. of Trustees, Euthanasia / Physician-Assisted Sui-
cide: Lessons in the Dutch Experience, 10 Issues in L. &
Med. 81 (1994). For example, the study of euthanasia
and physician-assisted suicide commissioned by the Dutch
government showed that approximately one in four cases
of euthanasia did not qualify as voluntary under the guide-
lines. Van der Maas et al, 338 Lancet at 671; Kass &
Lund, Physician-A ssisted Suicide, Medical Ethics and the
Future of the Medical Profession, 35 Dug. L. Rev. 395
412-13 & nn.29-30 (1996). Different social circumstances
in the United States make effective regulation even less
likely here than in Holland. See AMA Bad. of Trustees. 10

12

Issues in L. & Med. at 88-89. Difficulties inherent in the
regulation of physician-assisted suicide suggest that even
strenuous efforts to regulate such a practice will not
succeed.

1. One proposed restriction is to limit physician-
assisted suicide to those in the last stages of a terminal

illness. An initial difficulty arises, however, in identifying
the eligible class. Available evidence suggests “that phy-
sicians’ predictions of expected remaining life are generally
inaccurate.” Callahan & White, 30 U. Rich. L. Rev. at 46
& n.202. For example, while admission to hospice is con-
tingent on a diagnosis of six or fewer months to live, a
recent study showed that 15 percent of hospice pa-
tients survived longer than six months and eight percent
survived longer than one year. Christakis & Escarce,
Survival of Medicare Patients after Enrollment in Hos-
pice Programs, 335 New Eng. J. Med. 172 (1996); see
Lynn et al., Defining the “Terminally III’: Insights from
SUPPORT, 35 Dugq. L. Rev. 311 (1996). Life expect-
ancy is thus inherently problematic as a criterion for
establishing eligibility to exercise a constitutional right.
The lack of cleevent Hees Setnees Gane whe aoe Se
minally ill and those who are in the last stages of a
nal illness suggests that any attempt to limit the avail.
ability of physician-assisted suicide to the latter would be
arbitrary. But the same is true for the line between the
terminally ill and the chronically ill. No one can confi-
dently say that the degree of pain or suffering experienced

ill. Moreover, if the pain or suffering is thought to be
irremediable, then the longer the patient’s life expectancy,
logically the more pain and suffering awaits the patient.
Kamisar. Against Assisted Suicide—Even a Very Limited
Form, 72 U. Det. Mercy L. Rev. 735, 737, 740-41
(1995). There would thus be little to prevent expansion
of physician-assisted suicide beyond the confines of the
last stages of terminal illness.

on Euthanasia in the Netherlands,” in Euthanasia, Clinical
one recent, much-discussed case, a physician, who assisted

ance of depressed suicidal petionts os eligible for assisted
suicide or euthanasia,” Hendin, Seduced by Death: Doc-
tors, Patients, and the Dutch Cure, 10 Issues in L. & Med.

JAMA 1097 (1990). Moreover, poor and minority indi-

problem. Even if, as one would expect, health care insur-

14

ilies need. Wolf, Physician-Assisted Suicide in the Context
of Managed Care, 35 Dug. L. Rev. 455 (1996). These
limitations on the availability of proper care clearly can
place pressure on patients to express a wish for suicide
that they might not otherwise feel. As the Chief of the
Pain Service at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
reports, “[w]e comoaly see [requests for physician-assisted
suicide] dissolve with adequate control of pain and other
symptoms.” Foley, 6 J. Pain & Symp. Mgmt. at 290.

Providers willing to comply with requests for suicide
may be among those least sensitive to the impact of these
pressures and least familiar with alternative responses to
their patients’ needs. A recent study shows that support for
physician-assisted suicide was highest among those health
care professionals least knowledgeable about pain symptom
management and least capable (due to emotional exhaus-
tion) of empathizing with the patient. Portenoy et ai.,
Determinants of the Willingness to Endorse Assisted Sui-
cide: A Survey of Physicians, Nurses, and Social Work-
ers, Psychosomatics ———- (forthcoming April 1997) ;
see also Bachman et al., Attitudes of Michigan Physicians
and the Public toward Legalizing Physician-Assisted Suicide
and Voluntary Euthanasia, 334 New Eng. J. Med. 303, 308
(1996) (“doctors who had the least contact with termi-
nally ill patients were the most likely to support the legal-
ization of assisted suicide”). There is thus added reason
to doubt that patients seeking physician-assisted suicide
would receive adequate palliative care before such a re-
quest is granted.

Second, separating the wishes of the patient from those
of the family is extremely problematic. One of the most
common reasons why patients request suicide is to spare
their families and loved ones the burder.s and expense of
caring for them. See, e.g., Blendon et al., Should Physi-
cians Aid their Patients in Dying?, 267 JAMA 2658.
2660-61 (1992); Emanuel, Cost Savings at the End of
Life: What Do the Data Show?, 275 JAMA 1907
(1996). But to what extent are these feelings the result
of the family’s expectations? In one recent study, families
of elderly, terminally ill patients were significantly more

compromised his or her dignity. Byock, “Physician-
Assisted Suicide Is Not an Acceptable Practice for Physi-
cians,” in Physician-Assisted Suicide: Ethical Positions,
Medical Practices, and Public Policy Options —— (Weir
ed., forthcoming May 1997).

Third, experience to date provides little basis for con-
fidence that health care professionals can reliably deter-
mine whether patients have provided truly informed con-
sent for assisted suicide. Frank, sensitive, and extended
conversations between physicians and patients are pre-
sumptively antecedents to such a determination. Such
conversations would be infinitely more complex than any
that regularly occur today. For example, ineffective com-
munication remains a major obstacle to achieving pain
management, American Pain Society Quality of Care Com-
mittee, Quality Improvement Guidelines for the Treatment
of Acute Pain and Cancer Pain, 274 JAMA 1874, 1874
(1995), even though pain relief is plainly a goal shared
by both health care professionals and patients. And
despite their importance, discussions about advance care
planning are rare and poorly handled, which hampers ef-
fective and responsive end-of-life care. Emanuel, “Ad-
vance Directives,” in Principles and Practice of Supportive
Oncology (Berger et al. eds., forthcoming 1996).

The well-established phenomena of transference and
countertransference further complicate the problem of

16

relyi physicians and nurses to identify voluntary
oupame.” Sete Physicians and Their Patients’ Suicides,
271 JAMA 1786 (1994). Particularly when caring for
chronically ill, dying, or suicidal patients, caregivers often
have “difficulty tolerating such patients’ dependency.” /d. at
1786 (footnote omitted). Their “feelings of frustration
and inadequacy occasioned by irreversible medical prob-
lems” sometimes lead them “to withdraw from such patients
or see them as hopelessly or rationally suicidal” when in
fact they are not, which “in turn may precipitate suicides.”
Id. As one physician with extensive experience caring
for dying patients has observed, “[o]nly because I knew
that I could not and would not kill my patients was I
able to enter most fully and intimately into caring for
them as they lay dying.” Miles, quoted in Kass & Lund,
35 Dug. L. Rev. at 418.

Health care professionals also experience great frustra-
tion at not being able to offer the patient a cure. For
some, the ability to offer the patient the “treatment” of
assisted suicide may provide a sense of “mastery over the
disease and the accompanying feelings of helplessness.”
Hendin, Seduced by Death, 10 Issues in L. & Med. at 129.
This may cause health care professionals or a patient's
family to endorse and reinforce requests for suicide more
readily than the patient’s own ambivalent feelings would
warrant. Miles, 271 JAMA at 1786. Published accounts
of physician-assisted suicide reveal that even those physi-
cians who consciously seek only to implement a paticat’s
voluntary request overlook ways in which theirs recommen-
dation and support of physician-assisted suicide reinforced
the patient’s decision for death and left unexamined indi-
cations that the patient really did not want to die. Hendin,
Selling Death and Dignity, 25 Hast. Ctr. Rep. 19 (1995);
Hendin, Seduced by Death, 10 Issues in L. & Med. at
125-29.

3. The obstacles to identifying and _ restricting
physician-assisted suicide to those patients who meet criteria
of terminality and voluntariness are not likely to be over-
come simply by devoting more resources to oversight of

17

treatment decisions. Indeed, the unprecedented intrusion
into the physician-patient relationship needed independ-
ently to regulate such treatment decisions would be funda-
mentally inconsistent with the private nature of health
care treatment, and all too likely to undermine what
progress has been made in decisions to withdraw or with-
hold life-sustaining treatment and to use effective pain
control. Callahan & White, 30 U. Rich. L. Rev. at 67, 80.
Transforming physician-assisted suicide into a medical
procedure would create momentum in favor of its use that
regulation could not reverse. Were physician-assisted sui-
cide to become a legitimate medical option, then a decision
not to select that option would make many patients feel re-
sponsible for their own suffering and for the burden they
impose on others. Once a patient can choose physician-
assisted suicide, it is but a short step to ask a patient why
he or she has not done so. Indeed, it seems likely the pa-
tient would feel pressure to revisit the question repeatedly,
perhaps every day. Many patients thus will “experience—
and be helped [by their families or physicians] to experi-
ence—their right to choose physician-assisted death as a
duty to do so.” Kass & Lund, 35 Dug. L. Rev. at 407.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In announcing that the Due Process Clause affords
every individual “a liberty interest in choosing the timing
and manner of one’s death” (Pet. App. A-21), the Ninth
Court was moved by the condition of the individual pa-
tients seeking judicial relief. The court of appeals failed,
however, to examine the broader context in which these
patients acted and the circumstances of many other pa-
tients who will be affected by its judgment. It also failed to
articulate a persuasive constitutional or moral basis for
invalidating these longstanding laws. The ancient prohibi-
tion on physician-assisted suicide reflects a deeply rooted
antipathy to the intentional taking of human life, even
when described as “mercy killing.” None of the decisions
of this Court cited below establishes a basis in the Con-
stitution for invalidating state laws that maintain this
prohibition.

18

Moreover, even if a liberty interest in committing sui-
cide were recognized, the interests of states in adhering
to the prohibition against physician assistance have grown,
if anything, stronger in recent years. Advances in pallia-
tive care make it possible to control most patients’ pain
without resort to heavy sedation, and further improve-
ments in the provision of appropriate pain relief and com-
passionate end-of-life care will happen. In acting precipi-
tously to declare a constitutional right to physician-assisted
suicide, the Ninth Circuit’s judgment may slow the momen-
tum of such efforts. This Court should refrain from a
constitutional ruling that “may be fraught with serious
consequences to the nation.” New State Ice Co. v. Lieb-
mann, 285 U.S. 262, 311 (1932) (Brandeis, J., dissent-
ing).

ARGUMENT

THIS COURTS DUE PROCESS JURISPRUDENCE
DOES NOT PROVIDE A BASIS FOR FINDING A CON-
STITUTIONAL LIBERTY INTEREST IN OBTAINING
A PHYSICIAN’S ASSISTANCE TO COMMIT SUICIDE.

As a constitutional matter, neither this Court’s juris-
prudence nor any other legal principle supports the infer-
ence of a novel and potentially harmful right to physician-
assisted suicide. The prohibition against physician-assisted
suicide serves a vital social function that, once lost, will
result in incalculable and severe damage to patients and
to the health care profession.

A. The Individual’s Fourteenth Amendment Liberty In-
terest In Refusing Medical Treatment Does Not Encom-
pass The Right To Physician Assistance In Committing
Suicide.

In finding a liberty interest in controlling the timing
and manner of one’s death, the Ninth Circuit relied init-
ially upon this Court’s decision in Cruzan v. Director,
Missouri Department of Health, 497 U.S. 261 (1990).
Pet. App. A-61. The Cruzan case concerned the plight
of Nancy Cruzan, who, at the age of 25, suffered an auto-
mobile accident that left her permanently unconscious,

19

existing in what is termed a persistent vegetative state.
She was kept alive by means of a surgically implanted
feeding tube for six years after the accident, during which
time she never regained consciousness. 497 U.S. at 266.
When it became clear that Nancy’s condition woulu never
improve, her parents, seeking to implement the treatment
decision they believed she would have made, sought to
discontinue life support functions. Jd. at 268.

Cruzan thus presented the Court with the profoundly
difficult question of whether and in what manner a state
could refuse to honor the request of an incompetent
patient’s surrogate that life support functions be dis-
continued. In a careful and narrowly drawn opinion, the
Court suggested that “the forced administration of life-
sustaining medical treatment, and even of artificially-
delivered food and water essential to life, would implicate
a competent person’s liberty interest,” but that “the dra-
matic consequences involved in refusal of such treatment
would inform the inquiry as to whether the deprivation
of that interest is constitutionally permissible.” Jd. at 279.
The Court then upheld the State of Missouri’s require-
ment that an incompetent patient’s wish to cease treatment
be proved by clear and convincing evidence. Id. at 280-82.

The liberty interest discussed in Cruzan is grounded in
the common law protection afforded to every person to
refuse unwanted medical treatment. Jd. at 269-70. Med-
ical treatment performed without the patient's consent his-
torically has been treated as a battery, excusable only
in emergency circumstances. Id. at 270; Keeton et al.
Prosser and Keeton on the Law of Torts 39-42,
190 (Sth ed. 1984); Winters v. Miller, 446 F.2d 65,
68 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 985 (1971). The
right to refuse treatment is the “‘>zical corollary” of the
prohibition against medical treatmest without the patient’s
informed consent. Cruzan, 497 U.S. at 270. These prin-
ciples constitute fundamental tenets of the health care
professions and are readily embraced by amici as a matter
of both common law and constitutional right.

20

Physician-assisted suicide does not involve the imposi-
tion of treatment against the patient’s will. It involves
instead the furnishing of assistance that is (at least in
theory) desired by the patient. Thus, the rationale that
unwanted medical treatment can be refused because it
amounts to a common law assault and battery provides
no legal or logical basis for finding a right to physician-
assisted suicide.

In other contexts, courts, including this one, have been
reluctant to find a right to obtain medical treatment.
See New York State Opthalmological Soc’y v. Bowen,
854 F.2d 1379, 1389-92 (D.C. Cir. 1988), cert. denied,
490 U.S. 1098 (1989); cf. United States v. Rutherford,
442 U.S. 544 (1979) (terminally ill cancer patients not
entitled to a drug that has not been approved by the
Food and Drug Administration). Amici believe there
should be constitutional protection for the “freedom to de-
termine the course of [one’s] own treatment.” Cruzan,
497 U.S. at 289 (O'Connor, J., concurring). The as-
sistance sought in this case, however, is to a procedure
that neither state law nor the medical profession has ever
considered to be a legitimate medical treatment. It would
be particularly ironic, therefore, if the first “treatment” to
which patients were held to have a constitutional right
were physician-assisted suicide.

The Ninth Circuit also relied upon broader linguistic
formulations of the sources of the right to refuse treat-
ment, such as the “right to be let alone,” Olmstead v.
United States, 277 U.S. 438, 478 (1928) (Brandeis, J.,
dissenting), or the right of every adult “to determine what
shall be done with his own body,” Schloendorff v. Society
of New York Hosp., 105 N.E. 92, 93 (N.Y. 1914) (Car-
dozo, J.). These formulations are rightly looked to as indi-
cative of the importance and centrality of the autonomy
principle. But the paradox of invoking autonomy as jus-
tification for killing oneself has long been noted.* And

® Whether the principle of autonomy can support a right to take
one’s life is an issue on which eminent philosophers disagree. See,

21

in practice, the principle has never been interpreted as
sweepingly as the Ninth Circuit proposes. Cruzan itself
alluded to the limits of the autonomy principle, noting
that the consequences of a particular procedure “would
inform the inquiry” as to whether treatment can be re-
fused. 497 U.S. at 279. This Court has repeatedly recog-
nized other limits as well. For example, laws prohibiting
prostitution or use of illicit drugs, or mandating vaccina-
tions or blood tests, have never been considered con-
stitutionally infirm. See, e.g., Washington v. Harper,
494 US. 210, 221-22 (1990) (state may administer
antipsychotic medicine to mentally ill prisoner over
his objection); Jacobson v. Massachusetts, 197 USS.
11, 24-30 (1905) (state may require vaccinations be-
cause Fourteenth Amendment “does not import an abso-
lute right” to be “wholly freed from rest:aint”); Schmer-
ber v. California, 384 U.S. 757 (1966) (police may per-
form alcohol-blood test of suspect over his objection);
Breithaupt v. Abram, 352 U.S. 432, 439 (1957) (same);
cf. Employment Div. v. Smith, 494 U.S. 872, 878 (1990)
(state may prohibit use of peyote even as part of religious
ritual). Accordingly, the principle of bodily integrity,
while of central and vital importance, does not in itself
justify a constitutional right to physician-assisted suicide.

B. Physician-Assisted Suicide Lies Outside The Continuum
Of Liberty Interests That This Court Has Previously
Recognized As Constitutionally Protected.

1. The Ninth Circuit also relied more broadly on the
balance of this Court’s due process jurisprudence. Height-
ened judicial protection is provided for some rights that
have no textual support in the Constitution if they are
“implicit in the concept of ordered liberty,” such that

e.g., N.Y. State Task Force at 81 (contrasting Kant’s view that
“taking one’s own life was inconsistent with the notion of
autonomy” with Hume’s view that “when life is most plagued by
suffering, suicide is most acceptable”). Surely, given a choice
between Kant and Hume, the Constitution allows state legislatures,
and not federal courts, to make the decision.

22

“neither liberty nor justice would exist if they were sacri-
ficed.” Palko v. Connecticut, 302 U.S. 319, 325-26
(1937). These liberties, which are “deeply rooted in this
Nation’s history and tradition,” Moore v. City of East
Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494, 503 (1977) (footnote omitted),
may be located on a “rational continuum which, broadly
speaking, includes a freedom from all substantial arbitrary
impositions and purposeless restraints ....” Poe v. Ull-
man, 367 U.S. 497, 543 (1961) (Harlan, J., dissenting) ;
see Pet. App., No. 95-1858, at 17a-18a (identifying pre-
viously recognized rights ).

Asserted rights that are absent from both the text of the
Constitution and the traditions of our nation lie at the
furthest edge of the continuum. Moore, 431 U.S. at 503.
And the constitutional stature of conduct that has long
been prohibited by state law is even more tenuous.
Physician-assisted suicide is not a right that our society
historically has protected against state interference. Both
suicide and attempted suicide were unlawful under the
Common Law of England and the laws of the colonies.
See 4 Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of England
89 (1978); Marzen et al., Suicide: A Constitutional
Right?, 24 Dug. L. Rev. 1, 56-57 (1985). Although all
States have chosen to decriminalize both suicide and at-
tempted suicide, 35 states continue to proscribe assisting
in another’s suicide, and eight other states prohibit it as
a common law crime. 2 Meisel, The Right to Die § 18.17,
at 478 Table 18-1 (2d ed. 1995). This long-standing
governmental and societal antipathy to aiding in a suicide,
while perhaps not conclusive, counsels strongly against
finding the liberty interest urged by respondents here.*

2. Nevertheless, the Ninth Circuit identified a right to
physician-assisted suicide by relying heavily upon Planned

* Although the Ninth Circuit relied on survey data to suggest a
change in popular views, Pet. App. A-48 to A-49, it cited no reason
why popular preferences could not be vindicated through changes
in state law by the political branches.

23

Parenthood v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833 (1992). In Casey,
the Court reaffirmed that women have a constitutionally
protected liberty interest in obtaining an abortion that
states may not unduly burden. 505 U.S. at 869. In so
holding, the Court stated that abortion was akin to “per-
sonal decisions relating to marriage, . . . child rearing, and
education,” which involve “the most intimate and personal
choices a person may make in a lifetime, choices central
to personal dignity and autonomy,” and which are “central
to the liberty protected by the Fourteenth Amendment.”
Id. at 851. The Court further stated that “[a]t the heart of
liberty is the right to define one’s own concept of existence,
of meaning, of the universe, and of the mystery of human
life.” Jd. From this, the Ninth Circuit concluded that
a right to physician-assisted suicide falls within the ambit
of personal liberty protected by the Fourteenth Amendment.

Casey and this Court’s other substantive due process
decisions should not be read so broadly. First, whatever
interpretation the quoted language may bear in the ab- ©
stract, its meaning ought not be understood apart from
its context. Casey narrowly reaffirmed an existing liberty
interest principally on grounds of stare decisis. And while
the more sweeping argument that the Due Process Clause
creates a broad realm of autonomy in making personal
choices has been made to the Court on a number of
occasions, the Court has never embraced this principle in
this open-ended form. See, e.g., Cruzan, 497 U.S. at 279
n.7. Presumably this is because, read broadly, the quoted
language would encompass not simply the decisions of the
terminally ill, but a broad range of decisions, including
any person’s choice to terminate his or her life at any
time. See Pet. App. A-28 to A-29. Thus, for example, a
depressed 25-year-old, who has not received appropriate
psychiatric treatment, would have a liberty interest in
obtaining assistance in committing suicide. As discussed
above, such a right has never been recognized by this
Court, by any courts at common law, or indeed, by
respondents.

24

Second, as a factual matter, a woman's right to choose
to have an abortion differs materially from a patient's
right to physician-assisted suicide. In the physician-
assisted suicide context, the procedure at issue has no life-
or health-promoting benefits whatsoever; its sole function
is to achieve the death of the patient. In the abortion
context, however, the procedure itself is medical and
cannot be performed by an unqualified person without
extreme risk of permanently injuring or killing the woman.
It is instructive in this regard to recall the Court’s rec-
ognition in Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113, 163-64 (1973),
that the state has a compelling interest in preserving the
fetus once the fetus is viable. Neither Roe nor Casey
authorizes any person to assist in killing an independent
human life.

Third, Casey rests in substantial measure on the recog-
nition that undue obstacles to obtaining an abortion, by
restricting a woman’s “ability to control [her] repro-
ductive li[fe],” compromise her “ability to participate
equally in the economic and social life of the Nation.”
Casey, 505 U.S. at 856. Preserving the right of choice
prevents the state from imposing “its own vision of
women’s role” in society. Jd. at 852. The Court’s explicit
recognition of this dimension of the right to choice makes
clear that the Roe and Casey decisions must be under-
stood as grounded in part on the need to afford women
liberty to participate in society equal to that of men.
Others of this Court’s privacy decisions have also served
to invail date similar discriminatory legislation. No com-
parable rationale applies to physician-assisted suicide.

° Thus, the Court’s decision in Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1
(1967), struck down a ban on interracial marriage that not only
invaded the right to marital privacy but perpetuated discrimination
against black Americans. Similarly, the decision in Griswold v.
Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965), removed the heavy burden that
lack of access to birth control placed on women’s social, economic,
and political opportunities. Cf. Romer v. Evans, 116 8. Ct. 1620,
1625 (1996). Terminal illness and death, by contrast, do not dis-

\

25

Finally, in contrast to other liberty interests previously
recognized by this Court, the liberty interest asserted
here is unique in that the state concededly has compelling
reasons to prohibit its exercise by most who would seek
to invoke it. To begin with, the right to control the timing
and manner of one’s death is not limited to “physician-
assisted suicide” for “terminally ill competent adults who
wish to hasten their deaths with medication prescribed by
their physicians.” Pet. App. A-113 to A-114. The Ninth
Circuit acknowledged that this formulation of the right
was only a starting point, and that the right was likely
to be broadened over time. Without resolving the issue,
the Ninth Circuit signalled that it was likely in the future
to invalidate any proposed distinction between physician-

who could not carry out a suicide themselves. Pet. App.
A-100 to A-101. And, while the Ninth Circuit did not
directly acknowledge the problematic nature of restricting
the right only to the terminally ill, the court did admit

in its view, the critical dividing line was between
voluntary and involuntary termination of life. Jd. at A-100
& n.120. This admission reflects the fact that profound
suffering that can prompt a request for suicide arises not
simply in the terminally ill but in the chronically ill and
physically healthy as well. E.g., Kamisar, 72 U. Det.
Mercy L. Rev. at 739.

At the same time, the Ninth Circuit recognized that
physician-assisted suicide was unjustifiable for many peo-
ple, and proposed to rely on states and the medical pro-
fession to develop procedural safeguards to prevent indi-
viduals that did not meet criteria from receiving assistance
in committing suicide. Admission of the need for extensive
regulation and safeguards to prevent most who would

criminate, and laws prohibiting physician-assisted suicide have no
disproportionate impact upon any particular class of historically
disadvantaged individuals. To the contrary, the risk that physician-
assisted suicide will occur more frequently among disadvantaged
patients should counsel restraint in constitutionalizing the issue.

26

C. States Have Strong Interests In Prohibiting Physicians
And Nurses From Assisting In Suicides.

Because all agree that the states have strong interests in
regulating life-and-death decisionmaking, the salient ques-
tion is where the Constitution permits the state to draw
the line. Amici urge the Court to permit states to pro-
hibit physician-assisted suicide outright. This approach
is supported by at least three strong state interests.

1. First, states have an overwhelming interest in avoid-
ing preventable suicides. For many reasons, a state could
reasonably conclude that, once physician-assisted suicide
is permitted for any class of patients, the number of
patients committing suicide with the assistance of a physi-
cian will substantially increase no matter how narrowly
the initial restrictions are drawn, and will involve patients
in circumstances far removed from those surrounding the
respondents.

To begin with, states could justifiably conclude that
relatively few, if any, patients would ever legitimately
meet the kind of strict criteria that a state might seek to
impose in lieu of banning physician-assisted suicide out-
right. Most terminally ill patients do not raise the issue
of physician-assisted suicide and, given advances in pallia-
tive care, it is unlikely that the needs of those who do
raise the issue cannot be met through other means.

may, entirely unconsciously but nevertheless powerf

find such an outcome acutely burdensome ant therefor.
subtly encourage the ient to accept death
promote the patient's interest in suicide. The physici

life, which are antithetical to the privacy Seas
patient relationship, there is little likelihood that an in-
appropriate exercise of physician-assisted suicide will ever

28

come to light. Cf. Bowen v. American Hosp. Ass'n, 476
U.S. 610 (1986).

States also have a strong interest in drawing a defensi-
ble line. The one they now rely upon is well established
in the common law and medical ethics. For example,
although the provision of medication in doses strong

double effect, the doctrine’s reliance upon intent is solidly
grounded in principles of law and morality. Pet. App.
A-163 (Kleinfeld, J., dissenting). The Ninth Circuit
proposed no better alternative, and tacitly admitted that
its own line was flawed. Pet. App. A-100 to A-101. Once
physician-assisted suicide is recognized, how can the
right to voluntary euthanasia be denied to those who
lack the physical ability to administer the life-ending
drug to themselves? And once such a right is recog-
nized for those who are terminally ill, how can it be
denied to those who, chronically ill or irremediably de-
pressed, claim to be suffering comparably unendurable
pain? Even the ultimate stopping point proposed by
the Ninth Circuit—between voluntary and involuntary

the determination of physician intent. Thus, not only
does the Ninth Circuit’s line lack any basis in the common
law, it is as vulnerable to the Ninth Circuit’s own analysis
as is the line states draw today.

2. Second, states can argue strongly that abandoning
the prohibition on physician-assisted suicide will under-

29

mine efforts to expand the provision of palliative care to all
patients. Although such efforts would not end if physician-
assisted suicide were permitted, the prohibition on
physician-assisted suicide provides health care profes-
sionals with a tremendous incentive to improve and ex-
pand the availability of palliative care. Permitting
physician-assisted suicide would also jeopardize the hard-
won advances firmly to establish for all patients a right
not only to have unwanted medical treatment withheld
or withdrawn but also to receive pain medication suffi-
cient to case pain, even if that would hasten the patient's
death. The widespread acceptance of these rights by
health care professionals, courts, legislatures, and the
public depended upon the recognition and acceptance of
the distinction between these rights and physician-assisted
suicide. See generally 2 Meisel § 18.18, at 479-85. If
that important boundary is lost, much support for with-
holding and withdrawing treatment or providing ample
pain medication may be lost as well.

3. Finally, states have a strong interest in avoiding the
damage to the health care professions and their ability to
serve patients that would flow from an abandonment of
the prohibition against physician-assisted suicide. E.g.,
Semler v. Oregon State Bd. of Dental Examiners, 294 US.
608, 612-13 (1935) (state’s strong interest in “mainte-
nance of professional standards” permits it to enforce
a general rule even though in particular instances there
might be no actual” harm); Ohralik v. Ohio State Bar
Ass'n, 436 U.S. 447, 460 (1978) (state interest in “main-
taining Standards among members of the licensed pro-
fessions” is “particularly strong”); Shapero v. Kentucky
Bar Ass'n, 486 U.S. 466, 485 (1988) (O'Connor, J.,
dissenting) (state “should have considerable latitude to
ban conduct that “undermines the substantial govern-
ment interest in promoting the high ethical standards” of
a profession). Health care professionals have long under-
stood that with the right to practice comes enormous

30

responsibility. Patients come to physicans and nurses at
times of greatest need and vulnerability, depending on
them to respond to their needs capably and faithfully.
Many patients may understandably wonder, finding them-
selves badly injured and in the care of a physician they
do not know but whose license permits him or her to
assist in taking the lives of patients, whether that physi-
cian will truly act only to preserve their lives. Will they
be confident, as they watch a physician draw a dose of
morphine, that the physician is committed only to easing
their pain and not to taking their lives? See Kass &
Lund, 35 Dug. L. Rev. at 408. The ban on physician-
assisted suicide helps ensure that patients will never lose
the trust that must exist for the relationships between
health care professionals and patients to flourish.

CONCLUSION
For the reasons stated above, the judgment of the court
of appeals should be reversed.
Respectfully submitted,
Kirk B. JOHNSON CARTER G. PHILLIPS
MICHAEL L. ILE MARK E. Happap *
BRUCE D. BLEHART PAUL E. KALB
AMERICAN MEDICAL KATHERINE L. ADAMS
ASSOCIATION CHRISTOPHER D. Moore
515 North State Street SIDLEY & AUSTIN
Chicago, IL 60610 1722 Eye Street, N.W.
(312) 464-5000 Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 736-8000
NEWTON N. MINOW
JACK R. BIERIG
SIDLEY & AUSTIN
One First National Plaza
Chicago, IL 60603
(312) 853-7000
Attorneys for Amici Curiae

November 12, 1996 * Counsel of Record

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

AMICI CURIAE

The American Medical Association (AMA) is a private,
voluntary, non-profit organization of physicians. The
AMA was founded in 1847 to promote the science and
art of medicine and to improve the public health. The
290,000 members of the AMA practice in all states and
in all fields of medical specialization. Among other ef-
forts, the AMA is working with the Robert Wood Johnson
Foundation in the developmzat of an education program
on advance care planning and palliative medicine designed
to reach every physician and to improve the quality of
patient care for individuals at the end of life.

The American Nurses Association (ANA) is an association
of registered nurses that is dedicated to the advancement
of the goals and interests of registered nurses and of the
nursing profession generally. It was founded in 1897 to
promote the professional and educational advancement of
nurses and to establish and maintain a code of ethics for
the nursing profession. The ANA has 180,000 members
and represents registered nurses in the United States and
its territories through its 53 constituent member organiza-
tions. The ANA establishes professional standards for
nursing practice, nursing education, nursing services and
a code of ethical conduct for nurses, and the Association
is dedicated to meeting the needs of nurses as well as the
needs of patients and families.

The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses
(AACN) is the world’s largest specialty nursing organiza-
tion with more than 76,000 members. Founded in 1969,
the Association now has more than 270 chapters world-
wide and is working toward a healthcare system driven
by patient’s needs where critical care professionals make
their optimal contribution.

The Hospice Nurses Association (aNA) was founded in
1986 and is a non-profit professional association. The

2a

HNA is an international professional association with a
mission of promoting excellence in hospice nursing. The
HNA is the nation’s largest hospice nursing association
and it is governed by an all nurse board of directors.

The Oncology Nurses Society (ONS), incorporated in
1975, is a national organization of more than 25,000
registered nurses specializing in cancer and dedicated to
excellence in patient care, teaching, research and educa-
tion in the field of oncology. The ONS has 185 local
chapters that provide community networks for education
and peer support. Oncology nurses are at the forefront
of promoting quality of life as an essential component
of cancer care.

The American Osteopathic Association (AOA), celebrat-
ing its centennial in 1997, represents the nation’s 40,000
osteopathic (D.O.s). The AOA is organized to advance
the philosophy and practice of osteopathic medicine by
promoting excellence in education, research, and the de-
livery of quality and cost-effective health care in a distinct,
unified profession.

The American Psychiatric Association (APA), with ap-
proximately 42,000 members, is the nation’s leading
organization of physicians specializing in psychiatry. The
APA follows the ethics standards of the American Med-
ical Association. Physician-assisted suicide inevitably
presents issues concerning the assessment of patient com-
petence, the determination of voluntariness, and the diag-
nosis and treatment of depression or other mental illness
afflicting patients who may request assistance for suicide.
As doctors who would be called upon to play a critical
role in such matters, the APA’s members have a strong
interest in this case.

The American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medi-
cine (AAHPM), originally organized as the Academy of
Hospice Physicians in 1988, was established to bring
together physicians interested and/or involved in the

3a

hospice/palliative care approach to patient care and com-
mitted to improvement of care for the dying. The
AAHPM is the only such organization in the United
States that offers support to physicians dedicated to the
advancement of hospice/palliative medicine, its practice,
research and education. Its 1,500 member physicians
represent nearly all medical specialties.

The American Academy of Pain Management was incor-
porated in 1988 as a voluntary, not-for-profit organization
for the purpose of credentialing multidisciplinary pain
practitioners, and to further the practice of pain manage-
ment through the development of standards, education,
and advocacy in the field of pain management. The
Academy's Board of Advisors are prominent individuals
in their respective disciplines and all are interested in
furthering our knowledge and management of pain com-
plaints. The intent of the Academy is to be inclusionary,
not restrictive to any specialty, and the goal of the Acad-
emy is to bring together the many professionals who work
with patients in pain and to assist in the creation of
quality services for those individuals.

The American Academy of Pain Medicine is a medical
specialty society of 900 physicians who specialize in the
prevention, evaluation, diagnosis, treatment and rehabili-
tation of painful disorders. The pain physician serves
as a consultant to other physicians but is often the prin-
cipal treating physician and may provide care at various
levels, such as direct treatment, prescribing medication
prescribing rehabilitative services, performing pain re-
lieving procedures, counseling of patients and families
direction of a multidisciplinary team, coordination of care
with other health care providers and consultative services
to public and private agencies pursuant to optimal health

care delivery to the patient suffering from i
disorder. os oe

The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons is a not-

for-profit organization that represents over 17.000 mem-

4a

bers. The Academy provides educational programs for
orthopaedic surgeons, allied health professionals, and the
public. The Academy is an advocate for improved patient

care.

The American Academy of Physical Medicine and Reha-
bilitation is a national medical specialty society represent-
ing more than 5,000 physicians who specialize in physical
medicine and rehabilitation (physiatry), the branch of
medicine emphasizing the prevention, diagnosis and treat-
ment of disorders that may produce temporary or per-
manent impairment. Physiatry provides integrated carc
in the treatment of all neurologic and musculoskeletal
disabilities from traumatic brain injury to lower back
pain. The specialty focuses on the restoration of function
to people with problems ranging from simple physical
mobility issues to those with complex cognitive involve-
ment.

The Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) is the

premier professional international organization devoted °

exclusively to the advancement of multidisciplinary crit-
ical care through excellence in patient care, education,
research and advocacy. The nearly 9,000 members of
SCCM—the intensivists, nurses and allied health profes-
sionals involved in the care of the critically ill and injured
—blend their knowledge, skill, and expertise into a coordi-
nated effort to achieve the best possible outcome for the
patient.

The American Academy of Neurology is a non-profit or-
ganization of approximately 14,000 neurologists who prac-
tice throughout the United States and beyond. The Acad-
emy strives to serve the broad educational needs of its
members; to encourage the highest standards of clinical
care, education, and research in the field of neurology;
and to advance the specialty of neurology and the well-
being of those served by it. The Academy has taken a
leadership role in developing substantive and procedural

Sa

guidelines for patient care and decision-making in such
circumstances as persistent vegetative state, advanced
dementia, profound and irreversible paralysis (“locked-
in syndrome”), and anencephaly.

The American Neurological Association was founded in
1875 and today represents over 1,100 academic
neurologists.

The American Society of Anesthesiologists was founded in
1905 in New York and currently has more than 34,000
members. It is a scientific and educational association of
anesthesiologists that was organized to advance the prac-
tice of anesthesiology and to improve the quality of care
of the anesthetized patient. It is the largest organization
of anesthesiologists in the world.

The American Society of Clinical Pathologists (ASCP) is
a non-profit medical specialty society organized for educa-
tional and scientific purposes. The 75,000 members of the
ASCP include board certified pathologists, other physi-
cians, clinical scientists, and certified technologists and
technicians. These professionals recognize the Society as
the principal source of continuing education in pathology
and as the leading organization for the certification of
laboratory personnel. ASCP’s certifying board registers
more than 150,000 laboratory professionals annually.

The College of American Pathologists (CAP) is a medical
society serving more than 15,000 physician members and
the laboratory community throughout the world. Incorp-
orated in 1947, the College is a not-for-profit organiza-
tion. CAP is the world’s largest association composed ex-
clusively of pathologists and is widely considered to be the
leader in laboratory quality assurance. The CAP is an ad-
vocate for high quality and cost-effective patient care. The
mission of the College is to represent the interests of pa-
tients, the public and pathologists by fostering excellence in
the practice of pathology worldwide.

6a

The American Society of Abdominal Surgeons (ASAS),
founded in 1959, is a private, voluntary, non-profit organi-
zation of physicians. Its mission is to develop a strong
continuing surgical education program for the unique spe-
cialty of abdominal surgery. The 4,000 members of the
ASAS practice in all states, Canada, and Mexico.

The American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists
(AACE) is an international medical association devoted
to the field of clinical endocrinology. Its more than 2,500
members are physicians with special education, training
and interest in the practice of endocrinology. AACE mem-
bers are clinicians and educators in areas such as diabetes,
thyroid illnesses, lipid profiles, reproductive disorders,
obesity, and nutrition.

The California Medical Association (CMA) is a non-
profit, incorporated professional association of approxi-
mately 33,000 physicians practicing in the State of Cali-
fornia. The CMA is the largest state medical association
in the country, and the membership includes most Cali-
fornia physicians engaged in the private practice of medi-
cine, in all specialties. CMA’s primary purposes are“...
to promote the science and art of medicine, the care and
well-being of patients, the protection of public health, and
the betterment of the medical profession.” CMA and its
members share the objective of promoting high quality,
cost-effective health care for the people of California.

The Medical Society of the State of New York was or-
ganized in 1807 and is incorporated and operated under
the state’s Not-for-Profit Corporation Law. The Society
has approximately 27,000 member physicians, represent-
ing physicians in all specialties. The purposes of the Medi-
cal Society include: “To enhance the delivery of medical
care of high quality to all people in the most economical
manner, and to act to promote and maintain high stand-
ards in medical education and in the practice of medicine
in an effort to ensure that quality medical care is available
to the public.”

7a

The Medical Association of the State of Alabama is a
non-profit i association of licensed physicians
representing 5,600 members in the State. The Association
was founded in 1873 and it is the premiere medical pro-
fessional association in the State of Alabama.

The Arkansas Medical Society organized in 1875, is a

non-profit, professional organization representing 3,857
licensed physicians in the State of Arkansas.

The Medical Association of Georgia, formed in 1849, is
a non-profit professional association of approximately
7,500 licensed physicians who provide patient care in all
aspects of medical practice in the State of Georgia.
The Mlinois State Medical Society is a non-profit profes-
sional association of licensed physicians, residents and
medical students, founded in 1840, and representing more
than 18,000 members in the State of Lllinois.

The Indiana State Medical Association is a non-profit,
professional association of licensed physicians founded in
1849, and representing 7,200 physicians in all areas of
medical practice in the State.

The Towa Medical Society is a non-profit, professional
association of licensed physicians founded in 1860, and
representing 4,000 physicians in all areas of medical prac-
tice in the State.

The Louisaina State Medical Society, founded in 1878
and representing 6,340 physicians and medical students in
Louisiana, is a non-profit, tax-exempt professional associa-
tion. The Louisiana State Medical Society provides leader-
ship for the advancement of the health of the people of
Louisiana and is the premier advocate in Louisiana for
patients and physicians.

The Massachusetts Medical Society is the oldest, continu-
ous non-profit, professional medical association in the
United States. Founded in 1781, it represents approxi-
mately 16,000 members in the State.

The Mississippi State Medical Association is a private,
voluntary, non-profit organization, which was founded in
1856 to promote the extension of medical knowledge, the
advancement of medical science, the elevation of the stand-
ard of medical education, the -ractment of just medical
laws and the improvement of pw lic health. The Associ-
ation’s membership consists of approximately 3,000 phy-
sicians licensed to practice medicine in the State of
Mississippi.

The Missouri State Medical Association is a non-profit
professional association of physicians licensed to practice
medicine in Missouri and students training in the state’s
accredited medical schools. The Missouri State Medical
Association was founded in 1850 and currently represents
and serves approximately 6,300 members.

The Montana Medical Association is a non-profit organi-
zation comprised of physician members. The Association
was chartered in 1878 and represents 960 licensed phy-
sicians in the State of Montana.

The Nebraska Medical Association is a non-profit, pro-
fessional association of licensed physicians founded in
1868, and representing 1,952 members in the State.

The Medical Society of New Jersey is the nation’s first
medical society, founded in 1766. With more than 9,500
physician members, the Society is the State’s leading voice
in the health care field. The Society’s mission is to promote
the quality of New Jersey health care and health services
for all of the citizens of the state through leadership and
assistance to its physician members.

The New Mexico Medical Society is a non-profit, profes-
sional association of licensed physicians founded over 100
years ago, and representing 2,800 members in the State.

The North Carolina Medical Society is a non-profit, pro-
fessional association which represents physicians in North
Carolina and has approximately 9,000 members. The So-

9a

ciety was incorporated by an Act of the North Carolina
General Assembly in 1858.

The Ohio State Medical Association (OSMA) is a non-
profit professional association of approximately 16,000
physicians, medical residents and medical students.
OSMA’s membership includes physicians in all specialties
engaged in the private practice of medicine in the State of
Ohio. OSMA’s purposes are to: improve public health
through education, encourage interchange of ideas among
oa OF ode en Ge
tice requiring members to adhere to the

pon / concepts of

medical students and medical residents seeking licensure.
The Texas Medical Association is a private, voluntary,
non-profit organization of physicians founded in 1853 to
serve the people of Texas in matters of medical care, pre-
vention and cure of disease, and the improvement of public
health. It has aproximately 34,000 members represent-
ing 84% of all licensed physicians practicing in Texas.

The Medical Society of the State of Virginia is a not-for-
profit Professional association of over 6,500 member
physicians representing every medical specialty and pro-

doctor-patient relationship; promote better health a
health care for all Virginians; support the discovery and
dissemination of new knowledge of human death and dis-
ease; and in all these things to articulate the position of
organized medicine, consistent with the highest standards
of the medical profession.

10a

7
The West Virginia Medical Association, founded in 1867,
is a non-profit professional Association of licensed phy-
sicians and represents 2,100 members in the State.

Forces
The Society of Medical Consultants to the Armed
was formed in 1946. The goals of the society include: as-
sisting in the development and maintenance of the highest
standards of medical practice in the Armed Forces; and
providing advice and assistance to the Surgeons General
on problems of professional importance in the Armed
Forces.

The American Institute of Life-Threatening Iliness and
Loss, a division of the Foundation of Thanatology which
was incorporated in 1967 in the State of New York, is
dedicated to promoting vastly improved psychosocial and
medical care for patients critically ill or dying from
(among multiple diseases) cancer, heart disease, AIDS,
stroke, end stage renal disease, and emphysema. A major
emphasis of the Foundation is on medical education and
quality of life studies. Over the past 25 years, the Founda-
tion has held over 115 national symposia and published
over 115 related books.

The National Hispanic Council on Aging is a private or-
ganization that works to promote the well-being of older
Hispanics. It was founded in 1980, and there are approxi-
mately 5,000 members throughout the United States,
Puerto Rico, and Mexico.

lla
APPENDIX B

OPINIONS OF THE COUNCIL ON ETHICAL
AND JUDICIAL AFFAIRS
AMERICAN MEDICAL ASSOCIATION

Opinion 2.211—Physician Assisted Suicide. Physician-
assisted suicide occurs when a physician facilitates a
patient's death by providing the necessary means and/or
information to enable the patient to perform the life-
ending act (e.g., the physician provides sleeping pills
and information about the lethal dose, while aware thc
the patient may commit suicide ).

It is understandable, though tragic, that some patients in
extreme duress, such as those suffering from a terminal,
painful, debilitating illness, may come to decide that
death is preferable to life. However, allowing physicians
to participate in assisted suicide would cause more harm
than good. Physician assisted suic\Jc is fundamentally
incompatible with the physician's role as healer, would be
difficult or impossible to control, and would pose serious
societal risks.

Instead of participating in assisted suicide, physicians
must aggressively respond to the needs of patients at the
end of life. Patients should not be abandoned once it
is determined that cure is impossible. Multidisciplinary
interventions should be sought including specialty con-
sultation, hospice care, pastoral support, family counsel-
ing, and other modalities. Patients near the end of life
must continue to receive emotional support, comfort care,
adequate pain control, respect for patient autonomy, and
good communication. Issued June 1994 based on the
reports “Decisions Near the End of Life,” issued June
1991, and “Physician-Assisted Suicide,” issued December
1993; Updated June 1996. (I, IV)

Opinion 2.20—Withholding or Withdrawing Life-Sustain-
ing Medical Treatment. The social commitment of the

12a

physician is to sustain life and relieve suffering. Where
the performance of one duty conflicts with the other, the
preferences of the patient should prevail. The principle
of patient autonomy requires that physicians respect the
decision to forgo life-sustaining treatment of a patient
who possesses decisionmaking capacity. Life-sustaining
treatment is any treatment that serves to prolong life
without reversing the underlying medical condition. Life-
sustaining treatment may include, but is not limited to,
mechanical ventilation, renal dialysis, chemotherapy, anti-
biotics, and artificial nutrition and hydration.

There is no ethical distinction between withdrawing and
withholding life-sustaining treatment.

A competent, adult patient may, in advance, formulate
and provide a valid consent to the withholding or with-
drawal of life-support systems in the event that injury
or illness renders that individual incompetent to make such
a decision. A patient may also appoint a surrogate
decisionmaker in accordance with state law.

If the patient receiving life-sustaining treatment is incom-
petent, a surrogate decisionmaker should be identified.
Without an advance directive that designates a proxy,
the patient’s family should become the surrogate decision-
maker. Family includes persons with whom the patient
is closely associated. In the case when there is no person
closely associated with the patient, but there are persons
who both care about the patient and have sufficient rele-
vant knowledge of the patient, such persons may be appro-
priate surrogates. Physicians should provide all relevant
medical information and explain to surrogate decision-
makers that decisions regarding withholding or withdraw-
ing life-sustaining treatment should be based on substi-
tuted judgment (what the patient would have decided)
when there is evidence of the patient’s preferences and
values. In making a substituted judgment, decisionmakers
may consider the patient’s advance directive (if any);

l3a

the patient’s values about life and the way it should be
lived; and the patient's attitudes towards sickness, suffer-
ing, medical procedures, and death. If there is not ade-
quate evidence of the incompetent patient’s preferences
and values, the decision should be based on the best inter-
ests of the patient (what outcome would most likely
promote the patient’s well-being).

Though the surrogate’s decision for the incompetent pa-
tient should always be accepted by the physician, Avs
are four situations that may require either institutional
or judicial review and/or intervention in the decision-
making process: (a) there is no available family member
willing to be the patient’s surrogate decisionmaker, (b)
there is a dispute amung family members and there is no
decisionmaker designated in an advance directive, (c)
a health provider believes that the family’s decision is
clearly not what the patient would have decided if com-
petent, and (d) a health care provider believes that the
decision is not a decision that could reasonably be judged
to be in the patient’s best interests. When there are dis-
putes among family members or between family health
care providers, the use of ethics committees specifically
designed to facilitate sound decisionmaking is recom-
mended before resorting to the courts.

When a permanently unconscious patient was never com-
petent or had not left any evidence of previous prefer-
ences or values, since there is no objective way to ascer-
tain the best interests of the patient, the surrogate’s deci-
sion should not be chalienged as long as the decision
is based on the decisionmaker’s true concern for what
would be best for the patient.

Physicians have an obligation to relieve pai

ion pain and suffer-
ing and to promote the dignity and autonomy of dying
patients in their care. This includes providing palliative
treatment even though it may foreseeably hasten death.

l4a

Even if the patient is not terminally ill or permanently
unconscious, it is not unethical to discontinue all means
of life-sustaining medical treatment in accordance with a
proper substituted judgment or best interests analysis.
Issued March 1981 (Opinion 2.11: Terminal Illness)
and December 1984 (Opinion 2.19: Withholding or
Withdrawing Life-Prolonging Medical Treatment: Patient's
Preferences). Updated June 1994 based on the reports
“Decisions Near the End of Life” and “Decisions to Forgo
Life-Sustaining Treatment for Incompetent Patient,” both
issued June 1991; and Updated June 1996. (1, III,
IV, V)

Opinion 2.22—Do-Not-Resuscitate Orders. Efforts should
be made to resuscitate patients who suffer cardiac or
respiratory arrest except when circumstances indicate that
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) would be inappro-
priate or not in accord with the desires or best interests

of the patient.

Patients at risk of cardiac or respiratory failure should
be encouraged to express in advance their preferences
regarding the use of CPR and this should be documented
in the patient’s medical record. These discussions should
include a description of the procedures encompassed by
CPR and, when possible, should occur in an outpatient
setting when general treatment preferences are discussed,
or as early as possible during hospitalization. The phy-
sician has an ethical obligation to honor the resuscitation
preferences expressed by the patient. Physicians should
not permit their personal value judgments about quality
of life to obstruct the implementation of a patient's pref-
erences regarding the use of CPR.

If a patient is incapable of rendering a decision regarding
the use of CPR, a decision may be made by a surrogate
decisionmaker, based upon the previously expressed pref-
erences of the patient or, if such preferences are unknown,
in accordance with the patient’s best interests.

15a

If, in the judgment of the attending physician, it would
be inappropriate to pursue CPR, the attending physician
may enter a do-not-resuscitate (DNR) order into the
patient's record. Resuscitative efforts should be consid-
ered inappropriate by the attending physician only if
they cannot be expected either to restore cardiac or respi-
ratory function to the patient or to meet established
ethical criteria, as defined in the Principles of Medical
Ethics and Opinions 2.03 and 2.095. When there is ade-
quate time to do so, the physician must first inform the
patient, or the incompetent patient's surrogate, of the
content of the DNR order, as well as the basis for its
implementation. The physician also should be prepared
to discuss. appropriate alternatives, such as obtaining a
second opinion (e.g., consulting a bioethics committee)
or arranging for transfer of care to another physician.

DNR orders, as well as the basis for their implementation,

should be entered by the attending physician i
tient’s medical record. Peaerer me ee

DNR orders only preclude resuscitative efforts in the event
of cardiopulmonary arrest and should not influence other
therapeutic interventions that may be appropriate for the
patient. Issued March 1992 based on the report “Guide-
lines for the Appropriate Use of Do-Not-Resuscitate

a: issued December 1990. Updated June 1994. (I,

Opinion 2.035—Futile Care. Physicians are not ethically
obligated to deliver care that, in their best professional
judgment, will not have a reasonable chance of benefiting
their patients. Patients should not be given treatments
simply because they demand them. Denial of treatment
should be justified by reliance on openly stated ethical
principles and acceptable standards of care, as defined in
opinions 2.03 and 2.095, not on the concept of “futility,”

pg cannot be meaningfully defined. Issued June 1994
1, IV) ,

16a

Opinion 2.21—Euthanasia. Euthanasia is the administra-
tion of a lethal agent by another person to a patient for
the purpose of relieving the patient’s intolerable and in-
curable suffering.

It is understandable, though tragic, that some patients
in extreme duress—such as those suffering from a ter-
minal, painful, debilitating illness—may come to decide
that death is preferable to life. However, permitting phy-
sicians to engage in euthanasia would ultimately cause
more harm than good. Euthanasia is fundamentally in-
compatible with the physician’s role as healer, would be
difficult or impossible to control, and would pose serious
societal risks.

The involvement of physicians in euthanasia heightens
the significance of its ethical prohibition. The physician
who performs euthanasia assumes unique responsibility for
the act of ending the patient’s life. Euthanasia could also
readily be extended to incompetent patients and other
vulnerable populations.

Instead of engaging in euthanasia, physicians must aggres-
sively respond to the needs of patients at the end of life.
Patients should not be abandoned once it is determined
that cure is impossible. Patients near the end of life must
continue to receive emotional support, comfort care, ade-
quate pain control, respect for patient autonomy, and
good communication. Issued June 1994 based on the
report “Decisions Near the End of Life,” issued June
1991; Updated June 1996. (I, IV)

Opinion 2.06—Capital Punishment. An _ individual's
opinion on capital punishment is the personal moral deci-
sion of the individual. A physician, as a member of a
profession dedicated to preserving life when there is hope
of doing so, should not be a participant in a legally
authorized execution. Physician participation in execu-
tion is defined generally as actions which would fall into

17a

one or more of the following categories: (1) an action
which would directly cause the death of the condemned;
(2) an action which would assist, supervise, or contribute
to the ability of another individual to directly cause the
death of the condemned; (3) an action which could auto-

matically cause an execution to be carried out on a con-

demned prisoner.

Physician participation in an execution includes, but is
pe to, mo tite. actions: prescribing or ad-
ministering tranquilizers and other c ic

and medications that are part of the Se oe
monitoring vital signs on site or remotely (including
monitoring electrocardiograms); attending or observing
an execution as a physician; and rendering of technical
advice regarding execution.

In the case where the method of execution is lethal injec-
tion, the following actions by the physician would also
constitute physician participation in execution: selecting
injection ‘Sites; Starting intravenous lines as a port for a
lethal injection device; prescribing, preparing, adminis-
tering, or supervising injection drugs or their doses or
types; inspecting, testing, or maintaining lethal injection
devices; and consulting with or supervising lethal injection
personnel.

The following actions do not constitute physician Partici-
pation in execution: (1) testifying as to medical diag-
noses as they relate to competence to stand trial, testifying
as to relevant medical evidence during trial, testifying as
to medical aspects of aggravating or mitigating circum-
stances during the penalty phase of a Capital case, or
testifying to the medical diagnoses as they relate to the
legal assessment of competence for execution; (2) certify-
ing death, provided that the condemned has been declared
dead by another person; (3) witnessing an execution in
a totally nonprofessional capacity; (4) witnessing an ex-
ecution at the specific voluntary request of the condemned

18a

person, provided that the physician observes the execu-
tion in a nonprofessional capacity; and (5) relieving the
acute suffering of a condemned person while awaiting
execution, including providing tranquilizers at the spe-
cific voluntary request of the condemned person to help
relieve pain or anxiety in anticipation of the execution.

When a condemned prisoner has been declared incom-
petent to be executed, physicians should not treat the
prisoner to restore competence unless a commutation
order is issued. However, if the incompetent prisoner is
undergoing extreme suffering as a result of psychosis or
any other illness, medical intervention intended to miti-
gate the level of suffering is ethically permissible. Pro-
vision of medical testimony in the reevaluation of the
prisoner's legal competence to be executed should be pro-
vided by an independent physician examiner. A physi-
cian cannot be compelled to provide medical testimony
as it relates to legal competence for execution if it is con-
trary to the physician’s personal beliefs.

Organ donation by condemned prisoners is permissible
only if (1) the decision to donate was made before the
prisoner’s conviction, (2) the donated tissue is harvested
after the prisoner has been pronounced dead and the body
removed from the death chamber, and (3) physicians do
not provide advice on modifying the method of execution
for any individual to facilitate donation. Issued July
1980. Updated June 1994 based on the report “Physi-
cian Participation in Capital Punishment,” issued Decem-
ber 1992 (JAMA. 1993; 270: 365-368), and updated
June 1996 based on the report “Physician Participation in
Capital Punishment: Evaluations of Prisoner Competence
to be Executed; Treatment to Restore Competence to be
Executed,” issued in June 1995. (1)

19a
APPENDIX C

AMERICAN NURSES ASSOCIATION

CODE FOR NURSES WITH INTERPRETIVE
STATEMENTS

1.1 Respect for Human Dignity

* * * Clients have the moral right to determine what
will be done with their own person; to be given accurate
information, and all the information necessary for making
informed judgments; to be assisted with weighing the
benefits and burdens of options in their treatment; to
accept, refuse, or terminate treatment without coercion;
and to be given necessary emotional support.

* * * *

POSITION STATEMENT ON ASSISTED SUICIDE

SUMMARY: The American Nurses Association (ANA)
believes that the nurse should not participate in assisted
suicide. Such an act is in violation of the Code for
Nurses with Interpretive Statements (Code for Nurses)
and the ethical traditions of the profession. Nurses, indi-
vidually and collectively, have an obligation to provide
comprehensive and compassionate end-of-life care which
imcludes the promotion of comfort and the relief of pain,
and at times, foregoing life-sustaining treatments.

* * * *

POSITION STATEMENT ON
PROMOTION OF COMFORT AND RELIEF OF
PAIN IN DYING PATIENTS

Summary: The American Nurses Association (ANA) be-
lieves that the promotion of comfort and aggressive efforts
to relieve pain and other symptoms in dying patients are

20a

obligations of the nurse. Nurses should not hesitate to use
full and effective doses of pain medication for the proper
management of pain in the dying patient. The increasing
titration of medication to achieve adequate symptom con-
trol, even at the expense of life, thus hastening death
secondarily, is ethically justified.

* * * *

POSITION STATEMENT ON
ACTIVE EUTHANASIA

SUMMARY: The American Nurses Association (ANA)
believes that the nurse should not participate in active
euthanasia because such an act is in direct violation of
the Code for Nurses with Interpretive Statements (Code
for Nurses), the ethical traditions and goals of the pro-
fession, and its covenant with society. Nurses have an
obligation to provide timely, humane, comprehensive and
compassionate end-of-life care.

* * * *

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0007%3A33. Public record. Not legal advice.
