# Suggestion of mootness — Ogbomon v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0002%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Suggestion of mootness
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 518 U.S. 1056

## Text

No. 95-8736

In the Supreme Court of the Gunited

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

LARRY OSA OGBOMON, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

SUGGESTION OF MOOTNESS

WALTER DELLINGER
Acting Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

2 eae or ere

ii ee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Broughton v. North Carolina, 717 F.2d 147 (4th
Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 466 U.S. 940 (1984)

Carafas v. LaVallee, 391 U.S. 234 (1968)

Chukwura v. United States, cert. denied, 115 S. Ct.
102 (1994) (No. 93-8962)

Evitts v. Lucey, 469 U.S. 387 (1985)

Globe Newspaper Co. v. Superior Court, 457 U.S.
596 (1982)

Honig v. Doe, 484 U.S. 305 (1988)

Lane v. Williams, 455 U.S. 624 (1982)

Liner v. Jafco, Inc., 375 U.S. 301 (1964)

Minnesota v. Dickerson, 508 U.S. 366 (1993)

Murphy v. Hunt, 455 U.S. 478 (1982)

Nebraska Press Ass'n v. Stuart, 427 U.S. 539
(1976)

North Carolina v. Rice, 404 U.S. 244 (1971)

Preiser v. Newkirk, 422 U.S. 395 (1975)

Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973)

Rosario v. Rockefeller, 410 U.S. 752 (1973)

Sibron v. New York, 392 U.S. 40 (1968)

Stone v. INS, 1158S. Ct. 1537 (1995)

United States v. Munsingwear, Inc., 340 U.S. 36
(1950)

United States v. Tatum, 998 F.2d 893 (11th Cir.

U.S. Bancorp. Mortgage Co. v. Bonner Mall Part-
nership, 115 S. Ct. 386 (1994)

Vandenberg v. Roberts, 801 F.2d 877 (10th Cir.
1986)

I

Constitution, statutes and rules: Page

Ct Came, Bat. GE accssscnsanssecsniccstennisasimsimiiiaiiniias 2,4
Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Respon-
sibility Act of 1996, Pub. L. No. 104-208, Div. C,
110 Stat. 3009 (reproduced at 138 Cong Rec.
H11,798 (daily ed. Sept. 28, 1996)):
§ 304(a)(3) (to be codified at 8 U.S.C. 1230(a)

GERD .cccccocevescccssesesscenensnapesehoensiaimienmbenninamenaniall 8-9, 10
Immigration and Nationality Act, 8 U.S.C. 1101

6B BOG. .ccccoceccccccsccccnccensoonoconscosoosonsseesannonssseanapoososasoote 1, 6

§ 106(a)(3), 8 U.S.C. 1105a(a)(3) (1994) ........ eee 7,8

§ 212(a)(6)(B)(i), 8 U.S.C. 1182(a)(6)(B)(i) (1994). 13

§ 238(c) (to be codified at 8 U.S.C. 1228(c)).......... 9

§ 241(a)(1)(A), 8 U.S.C. 1251(a)(1)(A) (1994) ...... 13

§ S76, BS UBC. BERS (IBD O ccccccssssnscnstccnscssinconsestons 12

BB TRG, GED cccccccsococesccnscistesnctatscsnennimaaain 1, 3, 5, 6, 9

3B USEC. GEER) ccoccrccsoscscescenscessessiinistesincbesseatnaaiaan 4

Fed. BR. Age. FP. 4G) cccocccccssssssssssssenssosensenmmsannenneainn 7

Bap. Ob. FE: BE ..ccccccssssssccsscasssensesosesenssansensmnaiuaaanni 1

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

No. 95-8736

LARRY OSA OGBOMON, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

SUGGESTION OF MOOTNESS

Pursuant to Rule 21 of the Rules of this Court, the
Acting Solicitor General, on behalf of the United
States, suggests that the Court dismiss this case as
moot.

The question presented in this case is whether 18
U.S.C. 3583(d) authorizes a district court to order a
criminal defendant deported, as a condition of super-
vised release, without recourse to the standards and
procedures for determining deportability and relief
from deportation under the Immigration and Nation-
ality Act (INA), 8 U.S.C. 1101 et seq., and implement-
ing regulations. That question is based on peti-
tioner’s challenge to a condition of supervised release
imposed by the district court at his original sentenc-
ing. The court of appeals affirmed that condition in
a judgment entered on May 5, 1995. Petitioner’s

(1)

2

petition for rehearing was denied on January 22, 1996.
Since the denial of rehearing, however, on April 10,
1996, the district court has entered an order revoking
petitioner’s supervised release and ordering his
imprisonment, without imposing any new term of
supervised release. See U.S. Br. 6-7. Petitioner’s
sentence in this case thus no longer includes a term
of supervised release. Nor does his sentence include
the deportation condition formerly imposed on that
revoked term of supervised release. The revocation of
petitioner’s supervised release by the district court
thus renders the case moot.

1. This Court’s “lack of jurisdiction to review
moot cases derives from the requirement of Article
III of the Constitution under which the exercise of
judicial power depends upon the existence of a case or
controversy.” Liner v. Jafco, Inc., 375 U.S. 301, 306
n.3 (1964). As the Court has recognized, “federal
courts are without power to decide questions that
cannot affect the rights of litigants in the case before
them.” North Carolina v. Rice, 404 U.S. 244, 246
(1971) (per curiam).

Petitioner’s challenge to the condition of his
supervised release that he be deported cannot “affect
the rights of litigants in the case before” this Court,
404 U.S. at 246, because the challenged order of
deportation was imposed as a condition on a super-
vised release term that has been revoked. None of the
conditions of that revoked term of supervised release
are in force at this time, including the condition that
petitioner be deported. Petitioner has thus obtained
the key relief that he seeks in this case—vacation of
the condition of his supervised release term that
required his deportation and precluded him from
appealing or resisting any order of deportation by the

Immigration and Naturalization Service. Petitioner
did not appeal from the order revoking his supervised
release, and, accordingly, that term cannot be
reinstated.

In our brief on the merits, we noted that it was
unclear whether the district court had contemplated
that petitioner would be deported under the original
sentence upon completion of the term of imprison-
ment imposed on revocation. We also noted that the
Eleventh Circuit had not, apparently, determined
whether an order of judicial deportation, under its
interpretation of Section 3583(d), may be carried out
after the revocation of supervised release and the
completion of the term of reimprisonment, when no
new term of supervised release was imposed. U.S. Br.
6. We now believe that neither the district court nor
the court of appeals could give any operative effect to
the deportation condition that was part of the revoked
term of supervised release in this case.

The Eleventh Circuit has expressly stated that a
revoked term of supervised release “no longer
exists.” United States v. Tatum, 998 F.2d 893, 895
(1993). Thus, when the sentencing court in this case
revoked petitioner’s supervised release, that term of
supervised release, and its conditions, ceased to
exist.' To our knowledge, no court has suggested

! In Tatum, the court held that, under former law, the
sentencing court was without statutory authority to reimpose a
new term of supervised release to follow imprisonment ordered
upon revocation of supervised release. We do not agree with
the holding of Tatum on that issue; in our view, a court
operating under former law did have the power to reimpose a
new term of supervised release to follow a term of

imprisonment ordered upon revocation of supervised release.
We agree with Tatum, however, that upon revocation, the

4

that a revoked term of supervised release automati-
cally carries forward to be served later. Rather, if a
supervised-release violator is required to serve a
term of imprisonment as a result of his violation, any
further supervised release must be expressly ordered
by the sentencing court at the time of revocation.
That did not occur here.

Absent any continuing existence of the condition
that petitioner challenges, no live controversy re-
mains, and the case is nonjusticiable under Article III
of the Constitution. Nebraska Press Ass'n v. Stuart,
427 U.S. 539, 546 (1976); Preiser v. Newkirk, 422 U.S.
395, 401 (1975). An actual controversy must exist at
all stages of appellate review, including in this Court.
U.S. Baneorp Mortgage Co. v. Bonner Mall Partner-
ship, 115 S. Ct. 386, 389 (1994); United States v.
Munsingwear, Inc., 340 U.S. 36 (1950). Because a live
controversy no longer exists in this case, the case
has become moot.”

2. This Court has recognized that an exception to
usual mootness principles may be applied in cases
that are capable of repetition, yet evading review.

original term of supervised release “no longer exists.” Since
Tatum, Congress has clarified, in 18 U.S.C. 3583(h), that, when
a court revokes supervised release, it may order a defendant to
be placed on a new term of supervised release to begin after the
completion of imprisonment. The sentencing court in this case
did not invoke Section 3583(h) when it revoked petitioner's
supervised release and ordered him imprisoned.

2 Indeed, because petitioner's supervised release was
revoked on April 10, 1996, the case became moot before the
petition for a writ of certiorari was filed in this Court on April
19, 1996. This Office did not become aware of the revocation of
petitioner’s supervised release until after the Court granted
certiorari on October 1, 1996.

5

The Court has also reviewed challenges involving
criminal sentences even after completion of the sen-
tence if the challenged provision has coilateral legal
consequences. Neither basis for finding an exception
to the mootness doctrine exists in this case.

a. In the brief filed by the amicus curiae invited by
this Court to defend the judgment of the court of
appeals, amicus suggests that, because a similar
deportation condition is included as a term of super-
vised release to which petitioner has been sentenced
in another criminal case in another federal district
court, this case falls within the mootness exception
for controversies that are capable of repetition, yet
evading review. See Br. of Court-invited Amicus
Curiae 5 n.4. To come within that exception, two
showings are necessary: “(1) the challenged action
was in its duration too short to be fully litigated prior
to its cessation, and (2) there was a reasonable
expectation that the same complaining party would be
subjected to the same action again.” Weinstein v.
Bradford, 423 U.S. 147, 149 (1975) (per curiam).
Neither condition is met in this case.

On March 18, 1996, petitioner was charged in the
United States District Court for the Northern
District of Alabama with commission of bank fraud.
Petitioner ultimately was indicted on that and other
federal charges, entered a guilty plea to the indict-
ment, and was sentenced by that court to 24 months’
imprisonment, to be followed by five years’ supervised
release. U.S. Br. 7n.5. The court ordered, inter alia,
as a condition of supervised release, that petitioner be
deported immediately upon completion of his term of
imprisonment, in accordance with Section 3583(d), and
that petitioner be delivered to an authorized INS offi-
cial for execution of the deportation order. /bid.

6

The Alabama district court order does not demon-
strate that petitioner, “the complaining party” in this
case, is likely to be subject again to the same action
that he challenges here. Weinstein v. Bradford, 423
U.S. at 149. The legal issues raised by the Alabama
judgment are not identical to the legal issues raised
in this case. By the time of the sentencing by the
Alabama district court, an immigration judge had
entered an order of deportation against petitioner
under the INA, 8 U.S.C. 1101 et seg., and had issued a
warrant directing the INS to arrest and deport
petitioner. See U.S. Br. 6 n4. Petitioner did not
appeal the immigration judge’s order and was thus
under a final order of deportation under the INA, see
Stone v. INS, 115 S. Ct. 1537 (1995); an immigration
judge had also denied his motion to reopen his
deportation proceedings. See U.S. Br.6n.4. When an
alien defendant is under a final deportation order
pursuant to the INA and an immigration judge has
ordered him to be arrested and deported, the Attorney
General already has made her final determination,
under the standards and procedures of the INA, that
the alien is subject to deportation under the INA. See
id. at 30 (indicating that an alien subject to deporta-
tion for purposes of Section 3583(d) is “an alien who
has been or will be ordered deported by the Attorney
General under the INA”) (emphasis added). An order
of judicial deportation under Section 3583(d) entered
after a final administrative order of deportation raises
different legal issues from those raised by the instant
case. Cf. Murphy v. Hunt, 455 U.S. 478, 481 n.5 (1982)
(per curiam) (defendant’s challenge to limitation on
pretrial bail was moot after his conviction; even if the
defendant had challenged limitations on bail pending

=

7

appeal, that claim involved different legal considera-
tions).

Nor does a challenge to the validity of a judicial
deportation order involve a condition that is “too
short” in duration to permit complete review in the
federal judicial system before its expiration. Wein-
stein v. Bradford, 423 U.S. at 149. Petitioner is
entitled to appeal a sentence, and he could have
appealed the sentence imposed by the Alabama dis-
trict court, including the judicial order of deportation
imposed as a condition of supervised release.’ If a
defendant (such as petitioner) anticipates that he will
complete his term of imprisonment and then face
deportation under a term of supervised release before
completion of the entire appellate process (including
any review by this Court), the defendant may seek to
protect his ability to obtain relief by requesting a
stay of the judicial deportation order. Any failure on
a defendant’s part to take advantage of the available
means to protect an appeal of his sentence would not
justify application of the mootness exception for
controversies that evade judicial review, because any
loss of direct appeal rights could be avoided.’ Indeed,
at least one petition raising the legal issue presented
here did reach this Court without becoming moot.

’ To our knowledge, petitioner had not filed a notice of
appeal from his sentence in the Alabama district court within
the time allowed by Fed. R. App. P. 4(b). The finality of that
sentence thus makes it doubtful that any favorable resolution of
the underlying legal issue in this case would help petitioner in
that case.

4 Petitioner, of course, is under an independent final order
of deportation issued under the INA. Petitioner did not seek
review of that order or invoke procedures that would operate
to stay it. See 8 U.S.C. 1105a(a)(3) (1994).

8

See Chukwura v. United States, cert. denied, 115 S.
Ct. 102 (1994) (No. 93-8962); see 93-8962 U.S. Br. 5-6, 8
(petitioner had sought stay of court of appeals’ man-
date pending his petition for certiorari, and his
petition for judicial review of his administrative order
of deportation under the INA was pending in the court
of appeals, thus automatically staying deportation
under 8 U.S.C. 1105a(a)(3) (1994)).

It would not be appropriate to apply the capable-of-
repetition-yet-evading-review exception here based on
speculation that the Alabama district court’s deporta-
tion order could become moot in the same manner as
in the instant case. That would require petitioner to
violate his supervised release conditions—an occur-
rence that petitioner can avoid, and is compelled by
law to avoid. Exemption of a controversy from moot-
ness because it will otherwise continue to evade
review is generally justified only when the evasion of
review results from circumstances that cannot be
avoided. See, e.g., Honig v. Doe, 484 U.S. 305, 317-323
(1988) (aging); Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113, 125 (1973)
(progression of pregnancy); Rosario v. Rockefeller,
410 U.S. 752, 756 n.5 (1973) (public elections); Globe
Newspaper Co. v. Superior Court, 457 U.S. 596, 602-
603 (1982) (completion of criminal trials from which
press and public are excluded).

Finally, application of the mootness exception for
recurring controversies that evade review would be
particularly inappropriate in this case, because the
prospect of “repetition” of the specific legal contro-
versy raised by petitioner will be eliminated after
April 1, 1997, the effective date of Section 304(a)(3) of
the Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant
Responsibility Act of 1996 (IIRAIRA), Pub. L. No.
104-208, Div. C, 110 Stat. 3009 (reproduced at 138

- .

9

Cong. Rec. H11,798 (daily ed. Sept. 28, 1996)) (to be
codified at 8 U.S.C. 1230(a)(3)). Section 304(a)(3) adds
to the INA a new Section 240 that states that,

{uJnless otherwise specified in [the INA], a pro-
ceeding under this section shall be the sole and
exclusive procedure for determining whether an
alien may be admitted to the United States or, if
the alien has been so admitted, removed from the
United States.

The INA does “otherwise specifly]” that judicial or-
ders of deportation are authorized in proceedings
under the recently enacted, and even more recently
amended and renumbered, Section 238(c) of the INA
(to be codified at 8 U.S.C. 1228(c)) (see U.S. Br. 33-38).
That Section, unlike 18 U.S.C. 3583(d), includes de-
tailed procedures requiring, inter alia, a recommen-
dation from the INS regarding the alien’s eligibility
for relief from deportation. The INA, however, does
not “otherwise specifly]” that the determination of
the admission or removal of an alien is authorized in
proceedings under Section 3583(d) of Title 18.

Thus, the new provision of IIRAIRA overrides the
holding of the court of appeals in this case.’ It follows
that the legal issue presented in this case, 7.e., the
authority of the sentencing court under Section
3583(d) to enter a judicial order of deportation, will
not recur in the same form after April 1987. See Br.
of Court-invited Amicus Curiae 23 n.9 (suggesting
that, in light of IIRAIRA, controversy presented by
instant case may lack any continuing importance, and

5 The Court granted certiorari in the instant case on
October 1, 1996. ITRAIRA had just been enacted the preceding
day and had not been discussed in the parties’ briefs at the
petition stage, which were filed before that enactment.

10

dismissal of the writ of certiorari as improvidently
granted may be warranted). That circumstance de-
prives the particular controversy here of prospective
likelihood of repetition.°

It is, of course, true that judgments entered before
IIRAIRA’s effective date may present the same legal
issue raised by petitioner. Other petitions presenting
that issue are in fact pending before this Court. The
Court-invited amicus curiae suggests that the Court
might be able to avoid the consequences of mootness
in this case by granting review in one or more of
those cases. Br. of Court-invited Amicus Curiae 6
n.4." The United States is currently preparing re-
sponses to the petitions in those cases. The diminish-
ing importance of the controversy in light of
IIRAIRA, however, weighs against the Court grant-
ing review in those cases simply to preserve the legal
issue for review despite the mootness of this case.

b. Challenges to criminal convictions are not moot
even after defendants have completed service of their
sentences if the conviction carries collateral legal
consequences. See Carafas v. LaVallee, 391 U.S. 234
(1968) (civil and employment disabilities imposed by

6 Petitioner will remain in prison, under the Alabama
district court’s sentence, beyond the April 1, 1997, effective
date of Section 304(a)(3) of the ITIRAIRA.

7 See Oboh v. United States, petition for cert. pending,
No. 96-6653; Bowen v. United States, petition for cert.
pending, No. 96-6658. In addition to those two cases, petitions
raising the issue have been filed in two more cases. See
Akamiokhor v. United States, petition for cert. pending, No.
96-6898; Valdez-Mejia v. United States, petition for cert.
pending, No. 96-7063. In at least some of those cases, however,
the petitioner has already been deported. Those cases thus
may be moot as well.

11

law); Sibron v. New York, 392 U.S. 40, 57 (1968) (a
criminal case is moot “only if it is shown that there is
no possibility that any collateral legal consequences
will be imposed on the basis of the challenged con-
viction”); Evitts v. Lucey, 469 U.S. 387, 391 n.4 (1985)
(possibility of impeachment and future criminal en-
hancement); Minnesota v. Dickerson, 508 U.S. 366,
371 n.2 (1993) (future determination of criminal his-
tory).

Challenges to criminal convictions or sentencing
orders are, however, rendered moot by completion of
the sentence if the particular conviction or order does
not carry such collateral consequences. See Lane v.
Williams, 455 U.S. 624 (1982) (dismissing as moot a
challenge to a revocation of parole when, before the
case could be decided by the Court, the defendants had
been released); see also Broughton v. North Carolina,
717 F.2d 147 (4th Cir. 1983) (challenge to misdemeanor
contempt conviction became moot upon expiration of
sentence because conviction had no effect on defen-
dants’ civil rights and did not present a possibility of
enhancement of sentence in future criminal proceed-
ing, and because defendant’s continued reputational
interests were not sufficient to avoid mootness), cert.
denied, 466 U.S. 940 (1984); Vandenberg v. Rodgers,
801 F.2d 377, 378 (10th Cir. 1986) (per curiam) (chal-
lenge to delay in release on parole rendered moot by
release on parole because no collateral consequences
remained from delay; possibility that defendant may
be subjected to future adverse consequences because
of underlying incident report was too speculative).

The revoked condition of supervised release that
petitioner be deported does not have any continuing
collateral legal consequences for petitioner. No civil
liabilities result from a revoked deportation condition

12

of supervised release. Nor does a revoked deportation
condition of supervised release have consequences for
impeachment, future criminal sentence enhancement,
or employment prospects. Petitioner does not chal-
lenge the conviction underlying his sentence (or the
findings of supervised release violations underlying
the revocation order), which might have such conse-
quences. Rather, he challenges only a condition of
supervised release that was never executed and that
no longer exists. Cf. North Carolina v. Rice, 404
U.S. 244, 246-248 (1971) (“Nullification of a conviction
may have important benefits for a defendant * * *
but urging in a habeas corpus proceeding the cor-
rection of a sentence already served is another mat-
ter.”).°

Nor does the district court’s determination to
impose a deportation condition, in the now-revoked
term of supervised release, have any collateral legal
consequences. The district court’s determination,
standing alone, would not affect any future criminal
or immigration proceeding against petitioner. Peti-
tioner was convicted of violating 8 U.S.C. 1326 (1994),
which requires proof that he is an alien who re-
entered the United States illegally following a prior

8 Contrary to the suggestion of an amicus curiae, the
order of the district court revoking petitioner’s supervised
release does not appear to have been based in any respect on
petitioner’s violation of the deportation condition of supervised
release. See Br. of Amicus Curiae WLF 10 n.3. As we ex-
plained in our brief, the order itself does not recite the grounds
for revocation, but the probation officer’s petition for revoca-
tion, which serves to notify the defendant of the grounds on
which revocation is being sought, cited four grounds, none of
which was the fact that petitioner had not been deported. See
US. Br. 6.

ae? ee

13

deportation. Moreover, the INS has, since the
imposition of the criminal sentence in this case,
independently found him to be deportable and ordered
his deportation under the provisions of the INA.’ In
the face of those determinations establishing
petitioner’s status as a deportable alien, there is no
basis for any speculation that the unexecuted
condition of supervised release requiring deportation
of petitioner would have any collateral effect on him
in any future proceeding.
x* * * * *

In sum, any decision by this Court that invalidated
the now-revoked deportation order that was imposed
as a condition of supervised release would have no

® The immigration judge's order that petitioner be
deported under the INA is not based on the supervised-release
deportation condition. Rather, the INS order to show cause
why petitioner should not be deported was based on a charge
under Section 241(a)(1)(A) of the INA, 8 U.S.C. 1251(a)(1)(A)
(1994), that, at the time of his entry, he was excludable because
he had been previously arrested and deported and had not ob-
tained consent of the Attorney General to reenter as requir
ed under Section 212(a)(6)(B)(i) of the INA, 8 U.S.C.
1182(a)(6)(B)(i) (1994). The May 12, 1995, decision and order
of the immigration judge cited that order to show cause, found
that the INS had established alienage and deportability, and
ruled that petitioner had waived any relief from deportation.
Similarly, the June 5, 1995, warrant of deportation cites
Section 241(a)(1)(A) as the basis for petitioner’s deportation.
Finally, the February 1, 1996, order of the immigration judge
denying petitioner's motion to reopen proceedings simply
rejected petitioner’s claims of insufficient notice and asylum.

14

effect on the judgment in this case. Because the con-
dition of supervised release that petitioner challenges
has been revoked, the case is now moot and should be
dismissed.

Respectfully submitted.

WALTER DELLINGER
Acting Solicitor General

DECEMBER 1996

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385014_0002%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
