# Reply Brief — Jackson v. Jones

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0778%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 515 U.S. 1189

## Text

EDITOR'S NOTE

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPY
AT THE TIME OF FILMING. IF AND WHEN A
BETTER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE
WILL BE ISSUED, pre rae

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
POR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

- y

LARRY GRANT LONCHAR,

Petitioner-"Appellee"
-Vs-
WALTER ZANT, Warden,

Georgia Diagnostic and
Classification Center,

Respondent~-"Appellant"

REPLY IN OPPOSITION TO
RESPONDENT~-"APPELLANT'S" CHALLENGE
TO STAY ENTERED BY JUDGE CAMP
Petitioner, Larry Grant Lonchar, by his undersigned counsel,
believing that his case has merit and raises substantial constitu-

tional questions, hereby opposes the application to vacate the stay

———

entered by Judge Camp that was entered at 9:48 P-m., on June 29,
1995.

I. WHILE THE WARDEN HAS FILED A "NOTICE OF
APPEAL” THE ISSUES BEFORE THE LOWER COURT ARE
The Warden, while he is referred to as "Appellant",/ is

askin ris Court to vacate the stay of execution entered by Judge

i The inverted commas are used since, although he has filed

a “Notice of Appeal," Warden Thomas may not legitimately bring an
appeal to this Court. The only jurisdictional basis for seeking
relief from the lower court ruling at this juncture is through a
motion to vacate the stay of execution.

Camp after the hearing held yesterday afternoon. It is clear that
“his Court dces not have jurisdiction te entertain an appeal, as
such, and that the Warden's application may only be entertained as
a motion to vacate the stay.

Jurisdicts

The District Court's Order denying the state's motion to
dismiss on abuse of writ grounds does not constitute an appealable
“final” order, and this Court cannot consider the Warden's notice
of appeal for lack of jurisdiction. See F.R.A.P. 3 & 5; 28 U.S.C.
$§ 1291 & 1292(b). Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291, only “final
decisions" of the district court may be appealed to the Court of
Appeals. "A ‘final decision' generally is one which ends the
litigation on the merits and leaves nothing for the court to do but
execute the judgment.” Catlin v. United States, 324 U.S. 229, 233
(1945). In this case, the District Court's order denying the
state's motion to dismiss begins the litigation of the merits of
this case in federal court.

Instead, the denial of the motion to dismiss on abuse of writ
grounds is an issue suitable only for interlocutory appeal, which
may not be granted in the absence of a statement from the District
Court under 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b). No such statement has been sought
by Respondent or conferred by the District Court, and the District
Court has effectively acknowledged that there is no "substantial
ground for difference of opinion," 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b), since
neither the Court nor counsel have found a case where abuse of writ

has been applied to a dismiss a first federal habeas petition.

z

II. THE ONLY ISSUE PROPERLY BEFORE THIS COURT Is
THE PATENT PROPRIETY OF JUDGE CAMP'S STAY
ORDER

The only question before this Court is whether a stay is
appropriate. Because of the obviously drastic results of the
denial of a stay, and the relatively insignificant prejudice to the
State when a stay is granted, the burden now rests upon the Warden
to “demonstrate that the issues {presented in the petition] are
{not}) debatable among jurists of reason," or that the issues
presented "are [not] ‘adequate to deserve encouragement to proceed
further.'" Barefoot yv. Estelle, 463 U.S. 880, 893 n.4 (1983)
(citations omitted).

The Warden has simply cited no case that comes close to
suggesting that Mr. Lonchar should be denied a stay. The "novel"
rule of habeas corpus litigation proposed by the Warden essentially
asks this Court to spontaneously and judicially create a bar to
habeas corpus relief that goes far beyond Rules 9(a) and 9(b) to
the Rules Governing Habeas Corpus Actions. This bar would be one
that has no precedent in the law, and that was never announced to
Larry Lonchar as a litigant to give him fair notice of the hidden
barrier reef that might sink his entirely legal ship.

The record indicates that Larry Lonchar has been told by State
Court Judge Connelly, by Federal District Judge Camp, by counsel

and--periodicelly--by vouusel Cur Lhe warden? that relier woulda be

2 counsel for the Warden seemed to shift another position
yesterday announcing that no such assurance had been made with
respect to federal court. However, in state court counsel
announced that there had been no "specific waiver on the record in
any particular proceeding." (6/23/95 Hrg. at 21) (emphasis
supplied) To the extent that counsel now argues that there was

available should he elect to proceed with his appeals. It would be
Su Jomertally inequitable to create a novel rule now in the heat of
the moment that would result in the execution of Larry Lonchar

within hours.

A. THERE HAS BEEN NWO DISCUSSION OF RULE 9(A),

There have been some shifting sands in the position taken by
the Warden, as it has become apparent that each argument is without
merit. It is true that all along the State has not relied on Rule
9(a) in arguing to vacate the stay.? Now, after recognizing that
Rule 9(b) is also facially inapplicable,* the warden has backed

off this argument also.

We are now reduced solely to a novel propositian that there

such a waiver in federal court, counsel apparently refers to the
prior federal proceedings where Judge Camp discussed the
possibility of Mr. Lonchar's "waiv[{ing]} any appeals on {his} behalf
in federal court or otherwise.” (11/14/91 Hrg. at 437) (emphasis
supplied) It would seem that this would, were it really a waiver,
operate in both state and federal court. However, it would seem
still clearer that there was no such waiver since Judge Camp went
on to advise Mr. Lonchar that "you can change you mind up until the
time, of course, sentence is executed, and bring a petition for
habeas corpus." Id. at 443.

> It is important to note that the State has not even
attempted to prove the requisite prejudice to meet the requirements
of Rule 9(a) and that issue is simply not before the Court at this
time. See State's Motion to Dismiss, at 24 (requesting a hearing on
prejudice if the question of Rule 9(a) is deemed to have any
merit). For reasons set out below, it is clear that no such
showing of prejudice could be made.

4 The pleadings from the District Court have been lodged with
this Court and Petitioner will not reiterate all of them. Suffice
it to say that reasonable jurists could not differ that under
current law Rule 9(b) has no application to this case.

Ly.

should be another judicial exception to the right to habeas corpus
relief, based on the Warden's amorphous “principies of equity." See
Warden's Motion, at 9. The Warden concedes "the unavailability of
a case directly on point." Jd. In fact, the Warden does not
suggest a case peripherally on point, but cites only to cases that
deal with Rule 9(b).

Not only have no jurists yet announced such a proposition, but
any such "rule, it has been suggested, would risk violating the
constitutional provision forbidding suspension of the writ except
in times of war or rebellion." Liebman, FEDERAL HABEAS CORPUS
PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE, at 702-03 (1994) (citing authorities); id.
at 181 n.66 (quoting Alexander Hamilton); Aiken v. Spalding, 684
F.2d 632, 633 (9th Cir. 1982) ("({ljiberal construction [of Rule
9(a)}) also avoids a confrontation with the Suspension Clause of
Art. I, § 9, of the United States Constitution).

Certainly, there is no authority to vacate a stay under
circumstances such as these.

Although he has now abandoned his Rule 9(b) arguments, the
Warden seems to be arguing that Larry Lonchar achieved some
"strategic or tactical advantage" by filing his federal habeas
petition within minutes of the denial of his state proceedings. If
this were true, Larry Lonchar would be an inadequate strategician,
or a bad tactician. |

Larry Lonchar's case was affirmed on direct appeal on July 13,

Ss

1988. See Lonchar v. State, 258 Ga. 447, 369 S.E.2d 749 (1988),
rt. 2.5323, 488 U.S. 1019 (1989). There are a tetal of sixteen
inmates on Georgia's Death Row whose death sentences were affirmed
prior to that date, and who are not in federal court. There are a
total of 36 inmates (one of whom has two death sentences from
separate trials) on Georgia's Death Row who have had their death
sentences affirmed on direct appeal since that date, and pone is in
federal court. It is clear, then, that Larry Lonchar's actions
have not only failed to prejudice the State by delaying his
litigation, but they have resulted in the most expeditious
consideration of any person currently in Warden Thomas’ custody.
It is very clear that Larry Lonchar has neither intended to
secure such an advantage, nor has he in fact done so.
C. WHILE LARRY LONCHAR'S MOTIVATION IN FILING
A PEDERAL PETITION IS NOT RELEVANT TO THIS
DECISION, IT IS CLEARLY NOT THE CASE THAT
HE ONLY INTENDS TO PURSUE THE CHANGE IN
METHOD OF EXECUTION
The unrebutted testimony in the lower court was that Larry
Lonchar had finally seen that his litigation could achieve broader
purposes than to save his own life, so he had agreed to litigate
all issues presented:
Q. Let me ask you this, Mr. Lonchar. You,
your attorneys, have filed a ition in court
that contains 59 pages, you signed the
verification that you have personal knowledge
of the allegations in the Petition for Writ of
Habeas Corpus, and that they are true and
correct, and that you seek the relief
requested in there. Did you sign that
verification, I assume?

A. Yes, Your Honor.

o * *

©

Q. Now, I understand your point with r

to the question of the manner of aumell os
that you can donate your organs, that's the
point you were making to me a moment ago; is
that correct?

A. That's correct.

Q. Now, a great deal of the petition goes far
beyond that, and alleging irregularities and
violations of your rights that would affect

both your sentence and conviction and your
sentence of execution in a ior state court

proceeding. It is your w to pursue those
Cclains Lerye 4 @ petition for Federal Habeas
Corpus Relie Do you understand my question.
A. Yes, Your Honor. Personally, I have to
agree that I have to pursue this position to
follow on what I would like to do, so I would
have to say to the Court that, yes, I do.
(F.H.T. at 18-19)

Judge Camp felt that Mr. Lonchar’s major motivation behind his
litigation was to use his case as a vehicle for systemic change, to
abolish the Electric Chair and provide inmates on Death Row with an
option to save other lives, if in fact their executions could not
be averted. Judge Camp explicitly did pot find, however, that this
vitiated the good faith with which the rest of the petition was to
be litigated.

While the Warden adverts to this in passing, it should be
emphasized that Larry Lonchar's motives in litigating all the
issues in his case are not relevant to what the outcome will
actually be. On the face of the petition, it would probably be
true to say that he has more chance of winning the challenge to his

conviction than to change the method of execution.®

5 That is not to say, of course, sam Samgiead 6 etviee what
pending litigation could precipitate political change would
false. However, clear precedent from this Court indicates that Mr.

3

It is true, but entirely irrelevant to the merits of the
cinime, thet Larry Lonchar filed his 1552 state habeas petition to
avoid his brother's suicide. (F.H.T. at 19) Now, one precipitant
for Mr. Lonchar going along with his appeals is that he sees some
chance that his litigation will help others, "all of these people's
lives involved. .. ." (F.H.T. at 21) In another case, it might be
that a petitioner believed that his mother would be happy at his
pursuing his appeals. In another case, his motivation might be his
desire to watch the N.B.A. finals for many years to come. These
motives are simply not relevant to whether there is merit to the
claims presented, and whether the claims may result in one type of
relief (changing the method of execution) or another (vacatur of
his convictions and sentences) is not relevant to the fact that
such relief is being sought.

IIit. PETITIONER SHOULD SURELY HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY

TO ADDRESS ANY NOVEL RULE BARRING RELIEF IN
THE LOWER COURT

When the issue of abuse of the writ came up in Court
yesterday, it had not been anticipated by Petitioner. After ail,
Rule 9(b) simply does not apply to the first petition filed in
federal court by a Petitioner, as counsel had correctly advised Mr.
Lonchar. It was not until counsel arrived in Court that counsel

received the state's pleading raising abuse of the writ. AS

Lonchar will also, or alternatively, receive a new trial since he
was not present for much of his first trial. This is a capital
case and under the authority of "Diaz and Ho - « « @ Capital
defendant's right to presence is nonwaivable."

Wainwright, 685 F.2d 1227, 1258 (1982), modified on rehearing, 706

F.2d 311 (11th Cir. 1983); accord Hall _v. Wainwright, 733 F.2d

766, 775 (1ith Cir. 1984).

%

counsel said in the District Court, counsel was "not prepared to
2a4ress it in depth." (F.H.T. at 24 However, counsel did claia
Petitioner's right to an evidentiary hearing:

But I would t that unity for an
evidentiary nearing as I th the one thing
the Potts case makes very clear ... if the
State has come forward with its burden of
production, there has to be an opportunity for
an evidentiary hearing if the record doesn't
make it categorically clear on the face that
there is not abuse.

(F.H.T. at 24) Counsel noted that he was "going to have to think

this through more carefully than I've had the chance to do... ."

(F.H.T. at 26)

It as hard enough to respond to Rule 9(b) in this fashion, but
the Court required counsel to present such evidence as was
available on the issue of abuse. With just twelve minutes to
prepare, counsel noted that, “as far as the available testimony
right here, I guess it's me." (F.H.T. at 43) This in fact took
place, and was the extent of the evidence available on such short
notice. ®

6 Counsel made it clear that a proper hearing on Rule 9(b)
should entail other evidence. Counsel stated that if they were
available he would present “some other lawyers who have deen
petit y BeBe nlp gad ute 27) thie ca coe

to pass. ..." (F.H.T. wou

that “there would be something fundamental(ly) inequitable. . . to
blame Larry Lonchar for the actions that were taken not only
without his consent, but against his will [in] a next friend
petition.” (F.H.T. at 27) This and other evidence would show that
Mr. Lonchar's “motivation hasn't been to abuse the writ to vex,
harass and delay. His motivations have been very sincere." (F.H.T.
at 29)

Counsel also noted that it would be important to explore the
question of Larry Lonchar's mental state. (F.H.T. 43 et seq.)

Counsel asked that “we be given the unity .. . to present

other evidence, I would think incl Dr. Herendeen and his

experiences consulting with Larry over the last year and a half.”
q

If it was difficult for Petitioner to respond to the novel
Fu° *(%) argument in the lower court, Petitioner had ng
opportunity to present evidence on the amorphous notions of
“equity” that the Warden seeks to advance in this Court today.
There is obviously a great deal of evidence that would he relevant
to this inquiry, including any prejudice to the Warden, whether the
shifting sands of the Warden's positions would deprive him of the
clean hands needed to assert this new rule, and so on and so forth.

The law is clear that Petitioner has the right to a reasonable
time to prepare his defense against abuse, and a right to be heard
on these matters. It is clear from Rule 9(b) itself that if the
question of abuse is raised, "it is inherent in this obligation
placed on petitioner [to respond to allegations of abuse) that he
must be given an opportunity to make his explanation. .. ."
Advisory Notes to Rule 9(b) (quoting Johnson v. Copinger, 420 F.2d
395, 399 (4th Cir. 1969)).

Indeed, since at least Vaughan v. Estelle, 671 F.2d 152 (5th
Cir. 1982), it has been clear in this Circuit that "[t]he applicant
is to be afforded a reasonable opportunity to traverse the sugges-
tion of abuse." Id. at 153. In Vaughan the petitioner had never
been given a hearing on abuse, but he had at least had time to pull

(F.H.T. at 47) This would include how Petitioner's illness of
manic depression has played into the alleged "manipulation" of the
system.

Counsel also stated that the conditions at the prison--in
particular the intolerable heat in summer--has been important to
Larry Lonchar's periodic desire to die. (F.H.T. at 45) This is
precisely the kind of evidence countenanced in Potts y. Zant, 638
F.2d 727, 749 (llth Cir. 1981). These and other factors would also
be relevant to the State's novel argument made today.

10

together evidence, and since he had litigated a prior § 2254 case,
n€ W2s on notice that abuse of the wri would be an issue.

In this case, it is clear that Petitioner had the right to
notice of the Warden's "novel" argument in time for the hearing
yesterday, and has the right to know what the argument really
entails before he can be required to respond to it with evidence.

Even were this a case of abuse of the writ--and Rule 9(b)
simply has no application--the Potts litigation is mighty precedent
for a finding that Petitioner should be allowed to proceed in this
case. On June 26, 1980, Judge O'Kelley dismissed the petition,
finding Potts' prior statements in the next friend petition to
“provide cumulative support for a finding that the writ of habeas
corpus has been abused." Potts v. Zant, Order at 8 (N.D. Ga. June
26, 1980). This Court reversed.

The Court also held that in arguing for the dismissal of
fundamental constitutional claims, "the State's position would be
particularly difficult where--as in the present case--a determina-
tion has not yet secured a determination on the merits of his
claims.” Potts v. Kemp, 764 F.2d 1369, 1371 (11th Cir. 1985). This
showing was not made in Potts where the "evidence... did not
establish that the petitioner acted with the intent to ‘vex, harass
and delay.'* Id, It is not clear quite what must be shown under
the amorphous argument made by the Warden in this case. However,
if Potts was allowed to proceed after dismissing his own prior
federal habeas petition (and various next friend applications) and
ultimately secure relief from this Court, so must Larry Lonchar.

V\

Conclusion
For the foregoing reasons, Pct.tioner respectfuily requests
that this Court deny the Warden's motion to lift the stay of his

execution.

This 29th day of June, 1995.

ORD SMITH
210 Baronne Street, Suite 1320
New Orleans, La 70112
504/558-9867

JOHN MATTESON

Georgia Bar No. 477137
230 Peachtree Street
Suite 900

Atlanta, GA 30303
(404) 584-0872

COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER

CERTIFICATE
I hereby certify that the foregoing pleading has been served
on counsel opposite this 29th day of 1995.

in ae

i
TOTAL P.13

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0778%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
