# Amicus Curiae Brief — Clinton v. Jones

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0767%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 520 U.S. 681

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

>_>
WILLIAM JEFFERSON CLINTON,
Petitioner,
—
PAULA CORBIN JONES.
Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF LAW PROFESSORS
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

(Counsel continued on inside front cover)

Ronald D. Rotunda

Counsel of Record
Albert E. Jenner, Jr.
Professor of Law
University of Illinois

College of Law
Champaign, IL 61820
(217) 333-3459

BEST AVAILABLE COPY!

Nn, ee ——OOOOOOEOEOeEOEOEOEeEEEE—eeeee

Stephen B. Burbank
David Berger Professor
for the Administration of Justice
University of Pennsylvania
Law School
3400 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104

William Cohen

C. Wendell and Edith M. Carl«mith
Professor of Law

Stanford University

Palo Alto, CA

Geoffrey P. Miller
Professor of Law
New York University
Law School
40 Washington Square South
New York, NY 10012

Robert F. Nagel

Ira Rothgerber Professor
of Constitutional Law

University of Colorado
Law School

P.O. Box 409

Boulder, CO 80309

Richard Parker
Professor of Law
Harvard Law School
Cambridge, MA 02138

L. A. Scot Powe, Jr.

Anne Green Regent
Professor of Law

University of Texas Law
School

727 E. 26th Street

Austin, TX 78705

Stephen B. Presser

Raoul Berger Professor
of Legal History

Northwestern University
School of Law

375 E. Chicago Avenue

Chicago, IL 60611

William Van Alstyne
William R. and
Thomas C. Perkins
Professor of '.aw
Duke University
School of Law
Durham, NC 27708

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTEREST OF AMICI.............. isaainas eninekes I

EEE EEE I
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ......................... 2
ST re cnedbeesbebebbcnsdcececccocccceces< 5

I.

If.

Il.

THE BROAD IMMUNITY FOR WHICH

THE PRESIDENT AND HIS AMICI CON-

TEND WOULD BAR MANY CASES

WHERE NO PRESIDENTIAL OR OTHER
PUBLIC INTEREST WOULD BE HARMED

BY SUBJECTING THE PRESIDENT TO

ES EE cccccccccccccccccceesceocs: 5

NIXON v. FITZGERALD BARS ONLY
DAMAGE SUITS RELATED TO A PRESI-
DENT’S OFFICIAL ACTS, AND IT DOES
SO ONLY BECAUSE THE PROSPECT OF
PERSONAL LIABILITY FOR OFFICIAL
CONDUCT WOULD PREVENT THE PRESI-
DENT’S OBJECTIVE ASSESSMENT OF
THE FACTS HE SHOULD CONSIDER IN
CARRYING OUT HIS DUTIES—NOT
BECAUSE THE PRESIDENT IS TOO BUSY
TO ATTEND TO PRIVATE LAWSUITS ... 7

SEPARATION OF POWERS PRINCIPLES
REQUIRE THAT THE PRESIDENT BE
SHIELDED ONLY FROM SPECIFIC

DEMANDS ON HIS TIME THAT WOULD
ACTUALLY INTERFERE WITH HIS
enh decsceeceecscecceses pion 14

PAGE

A. Under General Separation Of Powers
Principles, Immunity From Suit
Regarding Private Conduct Can Be Just-
ified Only If President Clinton Can Show
That His Amenability To Suit Would
Actually Interfere With The Fulfillment
Of the Duties Of His Office ............ 16

B. Cases Dealing With The President's
Amenability To Process Also Require
The President To Make A Specific
Showing Of Conflict With His Duties
In Order To Escape Any Particular
Se kdnsvcinccdsétnednndeantecces 18

IV. A WIDE VARIETY OF TOOLS IS AVAIL-
ABLE TO THE COURT TO PREVENT THE
USE OF LITIGATION AS A TOOL OF
EEEDES 00 svanccctccnncacesdensscntone 20

V. THE TEMPORAL IMMUNITY PRESIDENT
CLINTON SEEKS IS FUNDAMENTALLY
INCONSISTENT WITH THE CONSTITU-
TION’S EFFORT TO ENSURE THAT ALL
OF THE POWERS IT CONFERS ARE
CHECKED AND BALANCED .............. 24

SS Pe cctcvcccccccenscsscudunssenssusqsoteseces 25

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: PAGE
Atlee v. Nixon, 336 F. Supp. 790 (E.D. Pa. 1972)...... 12
Arnold v. Jones, 891 F.2d 1370 (8th Cir. 1989)........ 21
Bowsher v. Synar, 478 U.S. 714 (1986) ............... 24, 26
Burns v. Reed, 500 U.S. 478 (1991) ................... i)
Butz v. Economou, 438 U.S. 478 (1978) ............... 8,9
Commodities Futures Trading Commission v. Schor,

Fe ee hididieninhthastiatersesenedsehes 26
Davis v. Passman, 442 U.S. 228 (1979) ............... 25
Degan v. United States, 116 S.Ct. 1777 (1996)........ 23
Dennis v. Sparks, 449 U.S. 24 (1980).................. 4
Ferri v. Ackerman, 444 U.S. 193 (1979)............... 9
Franklin v. Massachusetts, 505 U.S. 788 (1992) ...... 12
Goldwater v. Carter, 444 U.S. 996 (1979)............. 13
Imbler v. Pachtman, 424 U.S. 409 (1976) ............. 9
Immigration and Naturalization Service v. Chadha,

SP es CIEE caccdnctadeccseecdenetsanssane 16
Komasinski v. Internal Revenue Service, 588 F. Supp

Ch Mi socvensesssoknesckeacioetcain 20
Kleindienst v. Mandel, 408 U.S. 753 (1972)........... 19

Leatherman v. Tarran County Narcotics Intelligence
and Coordination Unit, 113 S. Ct. 1160 (1993) .. 21

Marbury v. Madison, | Cranch (5 U.S.) 137 (1803)...13, 15

iv

Martin v. Malhoyt, 830 F.2d 237 (D.C. Cir. 1987)..... 21

Minnesota Chippewa Tribe v. Carlucci, 358 F. Supp.
973 (D.D.C. 1973) ........cccccsccccccccececcccees 12

Mississippi v. Johnson, 71 U.S. (« Wall.) 475 (1868) . 11
Mistretta v. United States, 488 U.S. 361 (1989)...16. 18, 25
National Treasury Employees Union v. Nixon, 492 F.2d

$87 (D.C. Cir. 1974) .......ccccccccccccccccecccees 12
Nixon v. Administrator of General Services, 433 U.S.

42S, 443 CIDTT) ..cccccccccccccccccccccesecsess 16, 17, 18
Nixon v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 731 (1982)........----- passim
Pierson v. Ray, 386 U.S. 547 (1967)........-.-002e00s x
Romer v. Carlucci and Western Solidarity v. Reagan,

847 F.2d 445 (8th Cir. 1988)............. 00 eee ees 12
Saltany v. Reagan, 886 F.2d 438 (D.C. Cir. 1989)..... 20
Scheuer v. Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232 (1974).............-. XS
Tenney v. Brandhove, 341 U.S. 367 | | ae i)

United States v. Burr, 25 F. Cas. 30 (CC Va. 1807) ...15, 18
United States v. Burr, 25 F. Cas. 187 (CC Va. 1807) .. 22
United States v. Fromme, 405 F. Supp. 578

(E.D. Cal. 1975) ........ccccccccrccccencceneceeces 22
United States v. Mitchell, 385 F. Supp. 1190

(D.D.C. 1974)......ccccccccccccccccccevccccecceces 22
United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683 (1974) ......... passim

United States v. North, 713 F. Supp. 1448
(D.D.C. 1989)... ...cccccccccccccccccecccecccseces 22

Vv
PAGE
United States v. Poindexter, 732 F.S
. q . Supp. |
Se eee sil ” 22
United States v. Poindexter 732F.S
. \ . Supp. 14
eee si vi 2 18
United States v. Poindexter 732F.8
. . . Supp. |
ER aR ie 23
Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. y. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579
ER Me RON wT aT pees ni 12,19
Constitutions, Statutes and Rules:
U.S. Const. Amend. XIV..............._ 25
Ethics in Government Act, 28 U.S.C. § 591 et seg. ... 19
Soldier’s and Sailor’s Civil Relief Act of 1940,
50 U.S.C. app. §§ 501-91... 19
Pe ie ID vincccdeccncdcecescec...o.'. 20
Be Wis UE wei vindcccccucceesceace..... 19
SBR ck a ee 21, 25
Miscellaneous:
3 Max Farrand, The Records of the F
‘ ed
of 1787 (1966) mice iaarcennas steered 25
The Writings of Thomas Jefferson (Ford ed.) ....... 15
Ronald = Rotunda and John E. Nowak, Treatise
on Constitutional Law: Substance and P
(West Pub. 2ded. 1992)... nog 14

Ray, From Prerogative to Accountability: The

Amenability of the President to Suit. &
, 80 Ky. L.
739 (1992) votes

vi

L. Tribe, American Constitutional Law (2d ed.
19BB) ....cecccccccscccccccccccsccccesececccoesenes
Memorandum Amicus Curiae of Law Professors in
Dellums v. Bush, reprinted at 27 Stanford J.
Int’] L. 257 (1991) ..... 0.0 cece cence cece ee eeeees

PAGE

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1995

No. 95-1853
>
WILLIAM JEFFERSON CLINTON,
Petitioner,
—V -—
PAULA CORBIN JONES,
Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

>

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF LAW PROFESSORS
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

INTEREST OF AMICI

This case presents a grave question regarding the degree of
personal power conferred upon the President of the United
States by virtue of his office. Amici curiae, the law professors
submitting this brief, have published and lectured widely on
the subjects of constitutional law in general or on the sepa-
ration of powers. This brief sets forth their considered views
on the issues raised in this case. Amici sign this memorandum
on their own behalf and not as representatives of their respec-
tive schools.

Counsel for both parties have consented to the filing of this
brief. Their stipulation to that effect has been lodged with the
Court.

2

STATEMENT

The last several decades have seen a number of sharp con-
flicts over the relative powers of the President and the
government's other branches. Until now, the Executive's argu-
ments have been limited to the assertion of an exclusive right
on the part of the President or his subordinates to exercise
some official governmental power that might otherwise—and
perhaps more properly—be shared by two branches, or be
within the sole domain of the legislature or the courts.

The immunity claim in this case is of a new and deeply
troubling kind: for the first time, a purely personal privilege
is said to attend the office of the presidency. Though the
immunity now claimed is characterized as a mere temporal!
restriction, we believe the argument advanced to support it
ignores one of the Constitution’s overwhelmingly important
goals: to control power. For that reason, the personal immu-
nity claimed cannot be made to fit within the law governing
the immunity of federal officials from personal liability for
official conduct, or within a coherent view of the relationship
between the President's powers and those of the other

branches.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The arguments submitted in support of President Clinton’s
claim of immunity from suit start with the proposition that the
burden is upon the plaintiff to demonstrate that subjecting the
President to a suit for purely private conduct’ will not impose

The bulk of the private conduct at issue here is remote from the
President's official functions, because it allegedly occurred before Pres-
ident Clinton entered office. These allegations must be distinguished
from the potentially more difficult situation where the acts at issue were
committed while the defendant was in office, but were private in the
sense that they were unrelated to his performance of presidential duties.

We understand that one count of plaintiff's complaint, for defamation,
does relate to actions taken by or on behalf of President Clinton while he

an excessive burden upon the office of the presidency, or pre-
vent the fulfillment of the President’s duties. We submit that
this is incorrect, and indeed that the burden is exactly
reversed: we believe that this Court’s separation of powers
jurisprudence allows the President to escape the courts’ juris-
diction in a civil action dealing with non-official conduct only
if he can demonstrate that the assertion of such jurisdiction
will interfere with the fulfillment of the duties of his office.
We submit further that he has not made such a showing.

The President and his amici suggest that this burden rests
on the plaintiff because she challenges only private conduct—
so that there is, so it is said, no public interest in the plain-
tiff*s enforcement of her rights. But we believe strongly that
this stands the law, and indeed the entire concept of the rule
of law, on its head: there is a compelling public interest in
assuring that the law—particularly the Civil Rights Statutes,
which enable the people to make real use of essential Con-
stitutional liberties—is enforced uniformly, and that the pres-
idency (or any other public office) is not used as a shield
behind which an individual can hide to evade equal justice
under the law. To ensure that public office is not so used,
every public official seeking exemption from the ordinary
course of judicial proceedings has the burden of demon-
Strating that the particular exemption he or she seeks is nec-
essary to the execution of his or her public duties.

In contrast, President Clinton asserts immunity here not on
the basis of any particularized conflict with his executive
responsibilities. Rather, he says he is immune from this entire
case, and from most other entire cases, merely as an incident
of holding office, and for as long as he remains in office.
Consideration of other cases that might be filed against a
President, all well within the very general rule urged upon
this Court by the President, the Solicitor General, and the

was in office. We express no view on the extent to which the actions at
issue in this Count are within the outer perimeter of his official duties.
as that concept is defined by Nixon v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 731 (1982).

4

President’s academic amici, makes clear that the claimed
immunity is far too broad. Instead, the courts are empowered
to, and should, protect the President from any specific action,
such as a discovery or trial demand, that will actually inter-
fere with the performance of his job.

Secondly, the President’s personal lawyers—although not,
as we discuss below, the Solicitor General—have approached
this case as if it were the law that Presidents are immune from
suits related to their conduct in office. Passages in the brief of
the President’s academic amici also lend some support to this
proposition. Both the President and his amici, however, move
from this premise to what they portray as the next question,
namely whether the President is similarly immune from suit
related to his private conduct.

The premise, however, is wrong, as the President’s amici
elsewhere essentially concede. Nixon v. F.izgerald does not
hold that the President cannot be sued for his official acts.
And in fact, since the Watergate era, a consensus has devel-
oped among the lower courts that the President can be sued,
while in office, over his official conduct. This amenability to
suit even for acts regarding his official duties is a profoundly
important mechanism for helping to ensure that the President
remains under the law, which defines the scope of his official
powers. In allowing this private action to go forward, this
Court need not address the question whether the President is
amenable to suit, for relief other than damages, for his official
conduct. There is certainly no need for this Court to adopt the
President’s broad characterization of the immunity of his
office. We urge this Court not to do so.

Rather than barring suits over the President’s acts, Nixon v.
Fitzgerald simply forecloses one potential remedy—an award
of damages against the individual—in such proceedings. It
does so for one reason: because the existence of that remedy
might distort the President’s judgment, preventing him from
objectively assessing the factors he must consider as he goes

about his duties.

5

Once it is apparent that Fitzgerald is about a particular
remedy—personal payment of damages—for allegedly
improper official action, we believe it clear that the case sim-
ply does not speak to the question now before this Court
Rather, a correct assessment of President Clinton’s immunity
claim must be derived from the separation of powers doctrine
and specifically from the cases governing the President's
amenability to judicial process. Those authorities, we submit
make no room for the President's claim that he is too busy
while in office to be held accountable for his personal actions
whether taken while in office or previously. If any immunity
is to be created beyond that provided for by existing law (and

we perceive the need for none), it is for Congress to d
and respond to that need. ; —

ARGUMENT

I. THE BROAD IMMUNITY FOR WHICH
THE PRES-
IDENT AND HIS AMICI CONTEND WOULD BAR
MANY CASES WHERE NO PRESIDENTIAL OR
OTHER PUBLIC INTEREST WOULD BE HARMED

BY SUBJECTING THE PRESIDENT T
PROCESS hone

| Because the President attempts to block this entire case, the
immunity claim as nresented to this Court is quite categorical
The President’s argument is essentially that virtually no cases
can go forward that relate to his private conduct or his con-
duct prior to taking office. In support of this result, he claims
that the burden is upon the plaintiff to show irreparable prej-
udice if consideration of his or her claim were suspended for
as long as the President remained in office.

The President's argument would require that he be exempt
during his term of office from numerous obligations to which
everyone else in the Nation is held, even though there is no
compelling reason for such an exemption. If the President

6

were to default on an ordinary mortgage, for example, we can
see no reason why the mortgage holder should be barred from
enforcing its rights. They are only financial rights, it is true—
and therefore significantly less pressing than the interests at
issue in this case. The claim at issue here is also more sig-
nificant than the situation that would be presented, for exam-
ple, if a President were to fail to abate a nuisance on real
property, with respect to which his neighbors would otherwise
be entitled to injunctive relief. Yet the President's argument
would bar such an action, as it would also prevent a Presi-
dent’s spouse from seeking a divorce and child custody. As
discussed below, the separation of powers cases impose upon
the President the burden to show that calling him to account
on any such matter would actually interfere with the conduct
of his office. He does not explain how such a burden would
be created by requiring him to defend actions of this kind,
though the rule he contends for would bar each such case.

Certainly it would not be an excessive burden for the Pres-
ident’s lawyers to file a motion to dismiss, for example, in
any of these hypothetical cases, if the complaint were legally
deficient. Such a motion would involve only purely legal
issues, with respect to which the President’s counsel would be
able to act without any significant assistance from the defen-
dant himself. If the motion were denied, an Answer—at least
to a short complaint like the one filed in this case—would
also be no great burden to prepare. Surely fulfillment of this
duty cannot reasonably be expected to create an actual imped-
iment to the President's execution of the duties of his office.

As we show in greater detail below, the President may very
well be entitled to relief from a particular discovery demand
at a particular time, or from a particular demand regarding the
conduct or scheduling of a trial. But the law imposes upon the
President the burden of demonstrating that he is entitled to
any relief from the obligations imposed on any other citizen.
This is true, this Court has explained, of the President’s obli-
gation to give evidence. United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683,

7

709 (1974) (“the public * * * has a right to every man’s evi-

dence” even when that evidence is a confidential official pub-
lic paper).

The President and his academic amici also suggest that the
claim at issue here is less important than other claims might
be, (see, e.g., Brief Amicus Curiae of Law Professors at 16)
and that requiring the plaintiff to wait up to six more years
even to prosecute this claim is not a significant burden. We
are surprised by this argument as much as we are convinced
that itis wrong. Sexual harassment of the kind alleged here—
a willful sexual degradation—affects the emotional well-
being of anyone touched by it. There is clearly a strong public
interest in enforcing the laws providing redress against such
conduct by public officials, as Mr. Clinton was when the acts
here at issue allegedly took place. Further, the interests at
stake are not only highly important: they are deeply com-
promised by delay. That the plaintiff chose to remain silent
about what she has alleged to have happened to her at the
time is no basis for watering down the rights she has left

when her anonymity is taken from her by actors totally out-
side her control.?

Il. NIXON v. FITZGERALD BARS ONLY DAMAGE
SUITS RELATED TO A PRESIDENT’S OFFICIAL
ACTS, AND IT DOES SO ONLY BECAUSE THE
PROSPECT OF PERSONAL LIABILITY FOR OFFI-
CIAL CONDUCT WOULD PREVENT THE PRESI-
DENT’S OBJECTIVE ASSESSMENT OF THE
FACTS HE SHOULD CONSIDER IN CARRYING
OUT HIS DUTIES—NOT BECAUSE THE PRESI-

DENT IS TOO BUSY TO ATTEND TO P
LAWSUITS yee

In addition to attempting to shift the burden on this issue
from the President to the plaintiff, Mr. Clinton’s personal

5
-

In making the above arguments, we of co iti
ing , urse take no position
on whether the incidents described by the complaint actually me place.

8

lawyers have argued as if this Court’s holding in Nixon v.
Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 731 (1982), requires that courts cate-
gorically avoid subjecting Presidents to liability for the per-
formance of official duties. This is incorrect. It is essential
that Fitzgerald be recognized for the narrow decision it is. It
bars only a particular remedy. Its analysis is entirely consis-
tent with the other cases discussing the lack of that particular
remedy—and the existence of others—in cases charging offi-
cial misconduct by other, less exalted, officials.

An official’s liability to pay damages personally for mis-
conduct while in office is one of the tools that can, under cer-
tain circumstances, help ensure that the “official may not with
impunity ignore the limitations which the controlling law has
placed on his powers.” Butz v. Economou, 438 U.S. 478, 489
(1978). “In situations of abuse, an action for damages against
the responsible official can be an important means of vindi-
cating constitutional guarantees.” Jd. at 506.

Whether such an action is permissible against any particular
official, this Court has repeatedly made clear, turns on the
nature of his or her duties. Thus the Court has adopted what
it has called a “functional” approach to the immunity of fed-
eral officials for their official misconduct, Fitzgerald, 457
U.S. at 746, under which an immunity of “varying scope” is
granted to federal officials depending upon “the scope of dis-
cretion and responsibilities of the office and all the circum-
stances as they reasonably appeared at the time of the action
on which liability is sought to be based.” Scheuer v. Rhodes,

416 U.S. 232, 247 (1974).

In the application of these principles this Court has rec-
ognized the danger that the execution of certain public offices
might be disrupted if the prospect existed that the office-
holder might have to pay damages personally for his or her
official actions. Such liability, the cases say, could prevent the
officer from acting “with independence and without fear of
consequences.” Pierson v. Ray, 386 U.S. 547, 554 (1967),

9

quoting Bradley v. Fisher, 13 Wall. 335, at 349 note (1872)
See also Ferri v. Ackerman, 444 U.S. 193, 204-205 (1979)
(“[t}he point of immunity for [officials entirely shielded from
personal liability) is to forestall an atmosphere of intimidation
that would conflict with their resolve to perform their des-
ignated functions in a principled fashion”).

For this reason both state and federal judges have exactly
the same kind of immunity as the President of the United
States: they can never be held personally liable to pay dam-
ages for any officia: action taken within the scope of their
duties. Dennis v. Sparks, 449 U.S. 24 (1980). So do prose-
cutors, Burns v. Reed, 500 U.S. 478 (1991): Imbler v. Pacht-
man, 424 U.S. 409 (1976); grand jurors, Imbler, supra, 424
U.S. at 422-423; and other officers, both state and federal.
See, e.g., Tenney v. Brandhove, 341 U.S. 367 (1951) (state
legislators); Butz v. Economou, 438 U.S. at 513 (administra-
tive hearing officers); id. at 515 (government lawyers wield-
ing powers analogous to those of a prosecutor).

None of the other officers who possess this immunity from
personal damage suits for official acts has any protection,
however, temporary or permanent, from suits related to his or
her private conduct while holding office. This is so because
the considei ations barring personal liability for official acts
have no bearing on the individual's amenability to suit for pri-
vate conduct.

The brief submitted on the President's behalf nonetheless
contends that Fitzgerald barred personal liability for official
acts in part because the mere obligation to defend lawsuits—
any lawsuits—would be an improper drain on the President's
time. Similarly, the President's academic amici say Fitzger-
ald rested on several pillars, one of which was the drain on
presidential time caused by private litigation.

The Solicitor General, by contrast, explicitly acknow-
ledges that this argument is wrong: his brief admits that
Fitzgerald “did not implicate—and the Court accordingly did

10

not discuss—the potential conflicts between a sitting Presi-
dent's performance of his constitutional responsibilities and
the demands placed upon the defendant in a civil lawsuit.”
Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae at 17.

The President’s characterization of Fitzgerald is further
undermined by the fact that no other immunity case is
founded on the rationale Mr. Clinton advances—and neither,
as the Solicitor General admits, is Nixon v. Fitzgerald: the
case simply does not say that an immunity from damages
actions should be created, even in part, because the mere fact
of being sued would distract the President from his execution
of his office. We submit that adoption of this argument would
be tantamount to an assertion that, while performing his
duties, the President is too busy to obey the law.

The Fitzgerald Court did indeed say that, “[bJecause of the
singular importance of the President's duties, diversion of his
energies by concern with private lawsuits would raise unique
risks to the effective functioning of government.” Petitioner's
Br. at 20; Brief for the United States at 15; Brief Amicus
Curiae of Law Professors at 10, each quoting 457 U.S. at 751.
But the “diversion” of which the Court spoke is the diversion
of his attention a President would suffer if, in evaluating pos-
sible official actions, he had to worry that one option or
another might result in litigation in which he could be held
personally liable. The Fitzgerald Court barred only those
“private lawsuits” seeking to make the President pay out of
his own pocket damages allegedly caused by his official con-
duct. And the Court did so not because the President was too
busy to attend to the cases in which such a claim might be
made, so that he could not think about such cases and still
have time to perform his duties, but because the prospect of
the personal obligation to pay damages would distort his judg-
ment as he did his job:

As is the case with prosecutors and judges—for whom
absolute immunity is now established,—a President must

concern himself with matters likely to ‘arouse the most
intense feelings.’ Pierson v. Ray, 386 U.S., at 554. Yet,
as our decisions have recognized, it is in precisely such
cases that there exists the greatest public interest in pro-
viding an official ‘the maximum ability to deal fearlessly
and impartially with’ the duties of his office. Ferri vy.
Ackerman, 444 U.S. 193, 203 (1979). * * * Cognizance
of this personal vulnerability could distract a President
from his public duties, to the detriment of not only the
President and his office but also the Nation that the Pres-
idency was designed to serve.

451 U.S. 751 (emphasis added). The arguments on behalf of
President Clinton misapprehend this proposition, and attempt
to transform it into the far different assertion—which this Court
simply did not make—that private damages actions would force
the President to think about such cases instead of thinking
about his job. Neither Fitzgerald nor any other case of which
we are aware so holds. Rather, the language in these cases
about the burden of being a defendant reflects this Court’s con-
cern about the impact of litigation regarding official acts.’ Any
effort to make the cases say that the problem is litigation per se
must begin by taking the relevant language out of context.

3 :
The one difference between the other immunity cases and Nixon

v. Fitzgerald is that the possible harm from interference with the Presi -
dent's exercise of his discretion, caused by the imposition of personal lia-
bility for a faulty exercise of that discretion, is greater than it is from
such interference in the exercise of discretion by other office holders.
The concern about the unique scope of the President's duties, and of judi-
cial interference therein, is shared by the other cases dealing with judi-
cial review of discretionary official choices by the President himself, see
e.g., Mississippi v. Johnson, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 475 (1868), and manifests
the courts’ traditional reluctance to review the substance of the Presi-
dent's official decision making unless it is absolutely necessary. The
short discussion in Part IV.B of this Court's Fitzgerald decision deals
with this principle, and the result in that case is, in part, based on this
consideration. See 457 U.S. at 754-755. But such reluctance has no place
in this case, which does not relate to the President's official actions.

12

It also ignores the Court's admonition in Fitzgerald that “the
sphere of protected action must be related closely to the immu-
nity’s justifying purpose.” 457 U.S. at 755.*

Since Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S.
$79 (1952), through United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683
(1974), and extending beyond Nixon v. Fitzgerald, the lower
courts have come to agreement on the principle that the Pres-
ident is amenable to suit, even in his official capacity, when
his presence as a defendant is absolutely necessary. There is
now “no room for any difference [of opinion) as to the Pres-
ident’s amenability to legal process.” National Treasury
Employees Union v. Nixon, 492 F.2d 587, 612 (D.C. Cir.
1974). If a plaintiff is entitled to relief and relief can only
come from the President, the courts will require the President
to afford relief. See, e.g., id.; Romer v. Carlucci and Western
Solidarity v. Reagan, 847 F.2d 445 (8th Cir. 1988); Minnesota
Chippewa Tribe v. Carlucci, 358 F. Supp. 973 (D.D.C. 1973);
Atlee v. Nixon, 336 F. Supp. 790 (E.D. Pa. 1972).°

The President’s academic amici point out, correctly, that
such judicial second-guessing of official presidential actions
is to be avoided when possible; and indeed, both before and
after Fitzgerald, the courts have used a variety of other tech-

. The President's academic amici cite a concurrence by Justice
Scalia, in Franklin v. Massachusetts, 50S U.S. 788, 827 (1992), in sup-
port of their broad reading of presidential immunity. But Justice Scalia
argued only against the issuance of injunctive relief against the President
related to the execution of his duties, on the ground that “[i)t is incom-
patible with his constitutional position that he be compelled personally
to defend his executive actions before a court.”) /d. at 827 (emphasis
added). The considerations animating this position are identical to those
alluded to above, see n. 3 supra. As we explained there, those consid-
erations are irrelevant in this case because no official action Is at issue

here.
. A thorough and useful analysis of the relevant precedents, of

i j Account-
which there are many, is set forth in Ray, From Prerogative to
ability: The Amenability of the President to Suit, 80 Ky. L.J. 739 (1992).

12

~~

niques, including standing, ripeness, and the political question
doctrine, to avoid reaching the merits of cases against the
President.® Even the President's amici do not Say courts can
never assert jurisdiction over the President in a case about his
official duties.’ And to our knowledge no case holds that the
mere fact that he is President makes the Chief Executive
immune from a suit challenging his official acts. See also L.
Tribe, American Constitutional Law 278 (2d ed. 1988)
(rejecting the view “that the President [is] beyond the pale of
judicial direction”).

We urge this Court not to reach a conclusion, or to embrace
reasoning, inconsistent with this law. “In Marbury v. Madison,
1 Cranch (5 U.S.) 137, Mr. Chief Justice Marshall commented
(5 U.S. (1 Cranch) at 162-63) upon the impertance of pro-
viding an individual with a remedy when he is injured by a
violation of law and noted the availability of the King himself
in Great Britain as a defendant in such a situation.” National
Treasury Employees Union, supra, 492 F.2d at 609.* A deci-

6

A relatively complete collection of these arguments appears in
the various opinions in Goldwater v. Carter, 444 U.S. 996 (1979). None
of those opinions suggests that President Carter was immune from the
suit, which concerned his official action of terminating the United
States's treaty with Taiwan. Insofar as immunity is a threshold doctrine.
one would have expected to see it raised if the government thought it
applied.

7 On the contrary, Professor Tribe joined a group of other aca-

demics who signed the Memorandum Amicus Curiae of Law Professors
submitted in support of the plaintiff in Dellums v. Bush, 752 F. Supp.
1141 (D.D.C. 1990). The brief is reprinted at 27 Stanford J. Int’! L. 257
(1991). This submission argued that relief should be afforded directly
against the President of the United States, relating to the execution of his
warmaking responsibilities as Commander-in-Chief. Surely if the Pres-
ident is amenable to suit in his official capacity over such weighty issues,
there is no constitwsional bar to his being a defendant in this case. in
which relief will not relate in any way to the execution of his official
duties.

* A number of other precedents, both in and out of court, show

that Presidents have been directed to provide testimony. These authori-

14

sion that the President is not amenable to judicial process
would make achievement of this important goal impossible.’

Ill. SEPARATION OF POWERS PRINCIPLES REQUIRE
THAT THE PRESIDENT BE SHIELDED ONLY
FROM SPECIFIC DEMANDS ON HIS TIME THAT
WOULD ACTUALLY INTERFERE WITH HIS

DUTIES

Because we believe that Fitzgerald does not speak to the
question before this Court, we submit that the appropriate res-
olution of the President’s immunity claim should be guided by
other separation of powers cases, dealing with the President's
amenability to process and with the standards governing sep-
aration of powers disputes. Those standards, we submit, make
clear that this case should be permitted to go forward now.

Although the burdens of the presidency are great, there is
simply no longer room for the argument advanced in the col-
lection of quotations offered by the Solicitor General from

ties are directly relevant to the pending immunity claim, because they
speak to the question whether the President's duties prevent his com-
pliance with the orders of a court. The conclusion in each of these
instances was that his duties were no basis for excusing him from such
compliance. See generally I Ronald D. Rotunda and John E. Nowak,
Treatise on Constitutional Law: Substance and Procedure (West Pub.
2d ed. 1992) § 7.3. At § 7.1, the same Treatise lists voluntary and invol-
untary presidential appearances going back 200 years. See id. at 571-583.

9 — Significantly for present purposes, the government's response to
this development has been neither public protest nor explicit agreement,
but silent acquiescence. In the clearest and most elaborate appellate hold-
ing of which we are aware that the President can be named as a defendant
when necessary, the government obeyed a court of appeals decision
requiring the President to afford relief, and did not petition for certiorari.
National Treasury Employees Union, supra. This is consistent with the
fact that, before this Court as in the court below, the Solicitor General has
not joined in the constitutional argument advanced by the President's per-
sonal counsel. Inasmuch as one of the Solicitor General's most important
functions is to defend the Constitutional powers and prerogatives of the
presidency, his refusal to make this argument is quite telling.

15

scholars and the memoirs of presidents:'° as Chi
Marshall observed when he upheld the subpoena Far
Jefferson, the office’s “demand is not unremitting.” United
States v. Burr, 25 F. Cas. 30, 34 (CC Va. 1807)."' This Court's
cases dealing with the separation of powers, like lower fed-
eral court cases focused specifically on the President's
amenability to judicial process, make clear that the appro-
priate inquiry in evaluating a claim of presidential immunity
is whether the specific presidential conduct sought will actu-
ally interfere with the President's execution of the duties of
his office. A generalized assertion like the one offered here
that whole categories of cases pose too great a burden because
the President is too busy to attend to them, is not enough to

justify the suspension of personal responsibility for which the
President asks.

10 ;
See Brief of the United States as Amicus Curiae at 10-12.

President Jefferson is one of the authorities commonly cited

(see, e.g., Brief of Petitioner at 16; Amicus Brief of Law Professors at
13) for the proposition that Presidents are not amenable to judicial pro-
cess. Jefferson insisted no subpoena should have issued in Burr, and he
said his subsequent release of the documents there demanded was “vol-
untary.” See generally 9 The Writings of Thomas Jefferson (Ford ed.)
63-64. Chief Justice Marshall, however, disagreed with Jefferson; held
him amenable to process; and ordered him to produce the documents

Because “it is emphatically the province and duty of the judicial depart-

ment to say what the law is,” Marbury v. Madison, | Cranch (5 U.S.) 137

177 (1803), Chief Justice Marshall has prevailed in this disagreement,

which is why this Court followed his view, and n a .
, ’ ot Jefferson's,
States v. Nixon. See id., 418 U.S. at, e.g., 713. n's, in United

16

A. Under General Separation Of Powers Principles,
Immunity From Suit Regarding Private Conduct
Can Be Justified Only If President Clinton Can
Show That His Amenability To Suit Would Actu-
ally Interfere With The Fulfillment Of the Duties

Of His Office

As Justice Powell explained in his concurrence in /mmi-
gration and Naturalization Service v. Chadha, 462 U.S. 919,
963 (1983), “the [separation of powers] doctrine may be vio-
lated in two ways. One branch may interfere impermissibly
with the other’s performance of its constitutionally assigned
function. See Nixon v. Administrator of General Services, 433
U.S. 425, 443 (1977); United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683
(1974). Alternatively, the doctrine may be violated when one
branch assumes a function that more properly is entrusted to
another.” The first of these two inquiries is the relevant one
here: President Clinton argues that subjecting him to suit
while in office would interfere unduly with the performance
of his official functions.

In Nixon v. GSA, the Court articulated this standard, and
applied it to resolve whether a challenged action “interfere[s]
impermissibly with [another branch’s] performance of its con-
stitutionally assigned function:”

in determining whether [a challenged act] disrupts the
proper balance between the coordinate branches, the
proper inquiry focuses on the extent to which it prevents
the Executive branch from accomplishing its constitu-
tionally assigned functions. United States v. Nixon, 418
U.S., at 71-712. Only where the potential for disruption
is present must we then determine whether that impact is
justified by an overriding need to promote objectives
within the constitutional authority of Congress.

433 U.S. at 443. See also Mistretta v. United States, 488 US.
361, 383 (1989) (question is “the extent to which [a provision
of law] prevents the Executive Branch from accomplishing its

17

constitutionally assigned functions”) (quoting Nixon v. GSA,
433 U.S. at 443).

In Nixon v. GSA the Court upheld a statute stripping former
President Nixon of control over his presidential papers,
because he could not show that the challenged provisions
would disrupt the conduct of duty by the Executive Branch.
Similarly, in United States v. Nixon, the Court required the
President to provide subpoenaed documents, in large part
because no specific claim had been made of a “need to protect
military, diplomatic or sensitive national security secrets.”
Rather, the claimed privilege was said to “depend[ } solely
upon the broad, undifferentiated claim of public interest in the
confidentiality of [presidential] conversations.” 418 U.S. at
706. This generalized assertion of privilege, this Court held,
had to yield to the prosecutor’s demand for information in
connection with a simple criminal trial.'2

Because no specific burden on President Clinton is yet at
issue in this case, these precedents require the Court to attach
significantly less weight to the President’s claim of immunity.
To demonstrate the need for protection from suit while in
office at this threshold stage of the case, the President must

12

Ignoring all of the above law, the President’s academic amici
assert that the burden is on the plaintiff to justify the assertion of judicial
power over the Mr. Clinton, and they quote a line from United States v.
Nixon in which the Court explained that it had ordered Mr. Nixon to pro-
duce evidence because there had been a “demonstrated, specific need for
evidence.” Brief Amicus Curiae of Law Professors at 13. Amicis’ use of
this short quote ignores the central fact that this Court in that case had
required such a showing only after it had satisfied itself. by reviewing a
number of directly applicable precedents, that a presidential privilege
existed (in the confidentiality of official papers). Once such a privilege
is found to exist, a party seeking to overcome it must indeed explain why
the privilege has to yield. Here, however, the issue is the antecedent
question whether the immunity claimed exists in the first place. The law,
as we discuss above, is that, to prove the existence of this or any other
privilege, the party asserting it must show why it is necessary to enable
him to carry out his official duties. The assertion to the contrary by the
President's amici is thus incorrect.

18

offer more than a hypothetical assertion of interference with
his ability to perform his constitutionally assigned functions.
If this litigation proceeds and the President complains of
undue burden, the district court has ample discretion to adjust
the proceedings for good cause, to consider motions to limit
discovery, and otherwise to protect the presidency.

B. Cases Dealing With The President’s Amenability
To Process Also Require The President To Make
A Specific Showing Of Conflict With His Duties
In Order To Escape Any Particular Court Order

When Chief Justice Marshall upheld the subpoena to Pres-
ident Jefferson, he noted that a court can protect the President
from being harassed by vexatious and unnecessary subpoenas
by its conduct after rather than before issuance. United States
v. Burr, 25 F. Cas. 30, 34 (CC Va. 1807). See also United
States v. Poindexter, 732 F. Supp. 142, 146 (D.D.C. 1990)
(while “it is settled that a President, whether former or incum-
bent, may be subpoenaed to be a witness in judicial pre-
ceedings in an appropriate case,” courts have attempted to
exercise this power in a way that would be least damaging to
the Presidency or onerous to the particular individual occu-
pying the Office, to the extent that this was possible and con-
sistent with the rights of the litigant who was in need of such
testimony”). This approach “balances the accountability of
the President with the practical demands of his office; it gives
the courts the discretion to evaluate a President's claim of
hardship in the context of particular demands and to adjust his
ordinary obligations to the legal system in light of those hard-
ships.” Ray, supra, 80 Ky L.J. at 812.

This approach fits with the way this Court has analyzed
other, analogous separation of powers problems, see Nixon v.
GSA, supra; Mistretta v. United States, supra, and we there-
fore submit that this is in fact the appropriate inquiry: to
avoid a particular kind of judicial process President Clinton
must point to a specific form of interference in the conduct of

19

his duties that would be caused if such process issued.'* A
mere general assertion that he will be forced to spend all of

his time attending to private legal obligations is not suffi-
cient.'*

13 Once he identifies a specific action required of him, however,

and a specific reason why he cannot perform it, the proof he need offer
to justify adjustment of the burden need not be overwhelming. In United
States v. Nixon the Court emphasized that it would show “the utmost def.
erence” when national interests are asserted as a reason for the courts to
lift a litigation burden from the President. 418 U.S. at 710. Similarly, a
district court should alter the timing or scope of discovery sought from
the President on the basis of his assertion of “a facially legitimate and
bona fide reason” for such a change. See, e.g., Kleindienst v. Mandel. 408
U.S. 753, 770 (1972). Consistently with this standard, the courts have
quite properly been deferential to a President's assertion that a particu-
lar presidential action cannot be performed as, or when. requested. See
infra Part IV.

" It is within Congress's power under the Necessary and Proper

clause of Article I to authorize other protection for the President if the
legislature were to deem it necessary, such as indemnifying the President
from the costs of a civil suit if he prevails. (A similar protection is
afforded by the Ethics in Government Act, 28 U.S.C. § 593(f).) The leg-
islature exercised this very power when it enacted the Soldier’s and
Sailor's Civil Relief Act of 1940, 50 U.S.C. app. §§ 501-91. That act—
which does not protect the President or other civilians who govern the
military, such as the Secretary of Defense—represents the sort of immu-
nity for which the President asks.

Congress's decision not to insulate the President in this way should be
respected. As Justice Jackson explained in his concurrence in Youngstown
Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579, 637 (1952) (emphasis added),
the President's powers are at their lowest level when he claims prerog-
atives “incompatible with the expressed or implied will of Congress.” We
submit that the legislature's decision not to protect the President from
civil suit, even temporarily during a period of national emergency, rep-
resents a judgment that should not be second-guessed by this Court.

Finally, we note that Congress is also the appropriate source of any
protection necessary from the possibility that the action of a state court
might threaten the office of the presidency or the fulfillment of presi-
dential duties. The current removal provision, 28 U.S.C. § 1442, autho-
rizes the removal of certain actions against federal officials. The doctrine
of protective jurisdiction may well go further than this statute. as the

20

IV. A WIDE VARIETY OF TOOLS IS AVAILABLE TO
THE COURT TO PREVENT THE USE OF LITIGA-
TION AS A TOOL OF HARASSMENT

There is probably no federal court in which baseless cases
have not been filed against public officials for improper
motives, including even the plaintiffs’ opposition to the
defendants’ substantive policies. See, e.g., Saltany v. Reagan,
886 F.2d 438 (D.C. Cir. 1989) (damages action against, inter
alia, President Reagan and British Prime Minister John Major
for their order that certain targets in Libya be bombed). Many
such cases can be dismissed for failure to state a claim. See
id.. Komasinski v. Internal Revenue Service, 588 F. Supp. 974
(N.D. Ind. 1984) (dismissing suit for failure to state a claim
and for bad faith in using a complaint to advance a political,
rather than a legal claim).'* In addition, if appropriate, sanc-
tions may be imposed on the litigants and/or their counsel.
See Saltany, 886 F.2d at 440; Komasinski, 588 F. Supp. at 979
(requiring individual plaintiff to pay attorney's fees to gov-
ernment defendants because action was brought “for philo-
sophical reasons rather than because of a sincere belief that a
right had been violated”).’*

Solicitor General acknowledges. See Brief of the United States at 29, n.
20. Even if neither of these tools were sufficient to protect any presi-
dential interest actually endangered by a state court suit, Congress is
clearly empowered to extend federal removal jurisdiction to include such

cases.

9 See also 28 U.S.C. § 1915(d) (authorizing dismissal of in forma
pauperis cases when the court is satisfied that the action is frivolous or

malicious).

'6 President Clinton argues that the mere act of opening the court-
house door to private actions will cause an avalanche of such cases, and
that people who are substantively opposed to a particular President's plat-
form will use the courts to attempt to embarrass the President politically
and to frustrate his efforts to implement the platform on which he was
elected. The President implies that this case is indeed such an effort.

We note, however, that there has been no such deluge until now. We
perceive no basis for predicting one in the future. Moreover, we have no

21

The standard rules governing the subjection of the Presi-
dent to legal process are also capable of dealing with cases
alleging conduct witnessed only by the plaintiff and defen-
dant, and which may therefore be more difficult to dispose of
on a threshold motion. Indeed, Section 1983 claims are often
brought for actions witnessed only by the plaintiff and defen-
dant—an archetypical example is the charge of police bru-
tality. The courts have responded to this problem not by
barring such cases but by imposing heightened pleading
requirements and by an increased willingness to dispose of
such cases on summary judgment. See, e.g., Arnold v. Jones,
891 F.2d 1370 (8th Cir. 1989); Martin v. Malhoyt, 830 F.2d
237, 254 (D.C. Cir. 1987).'’ There is no reason why analogous
requirements could not be imposed here. Similarly, discovery
from the President might only be permitted if a plaintiff can
offer corroboration of some kind that his or her claims have
a factual basis.

way of knowing what the plaintiff's reasons are for prosecuting this case.
We believe strongly, however, that they are irrelevant to the question now
before this Court. If it is meritorious, this case should go forward, and the
plaintiff should prevail, on the same time schedule she would face if she
were suing anyone else, subject to the adjustments that are demonstrably
necessary to accommodate the President's duties—adjustments, we wish
to emphasize, that courts can and should make. If the case is meritless.
and instead a political vendetta of some kind, the courts have many estab-
lished tools for dealing with it, which are used often and successfully
against baseless cases brought for improper motives against public offi-
cials. Use of these tools is vastly better than the law the President asks
this Court to make: that he is unaccountable for his private actions pre-
cisely when his power is at its zenith.

oY While a heightened pleading requirement was rejected in

Leatherman v. Tarran County Narcotics Intelligence and Coordination
Unit, 507 U.S. 163 , 166 (1993) for municipalities, this Court noted that
“unlike various government officials, municipalities do not enjoy immu-
nity from suit—either absolute or qualified—under § 1983.” See, e.¢.,
Schultea v. Wood, 47 F.3d 1427 (Sth Cir. 1995) (suggesting that a plain-
tiff against whom qualified immunity has been invoked can be required
to file a reply, pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 7, explaining why the immunity
does not apply on the facts at issue).

22

In the same vein, it has long been the law that discovery
from the President may only be had if no other source is
available for the same material. See, e.g., United States v.
North, 713 F. Supp. 1448, 1449 (D.D.C. 1989); United States
v. Mitchell, 385 F. Supp. 1190 (D.D.C. 1974), aff'd sub nom.
United States v. Haldeman, 559 F.2d 31 (D.C. Cir. 1976) (per
curiam), cert. denied, 431 U.S. 933 (1977); cf. United States
v. Burr, 25 F. Cas. 187, 192 (CC Va. 1807) (the party seeking
documentary discovery from the President must clearly estab-
lish its materiality). Indeed, changes made to Federal Rules of
Civil Procedure 26-37 by the 1983 and 1993 amendments
empower—and indeed oblige—the district courts to prevent
harassing discovery against any party, even one less exalted
than Mr. Clinton.

Similarly, the President’s personal attendance at a trial has,
to our knowledge, never been required; now that videotape
depositions are available there is little reason to expect that
such attendance would ever be necessary in any but the most
singular circumstances. See United States v. Fromme, 405 P.
Supp. 578 (E.D. Cal. 1975).'* Documents subpoenaed from
the President are routinely scrutinized in camera for rele-
vance, as required by United States v. Nixon, and nonre-
sponsive material is not turned over to the discovering party.
United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. at 715-716; United States v.
Poindexter, 732 F. Supp. 135 (D.D.C. 1990). In Poindexter,
President Reagan was also given the unusual right to have his

\8 The President's personal counsel argue that, as a practical mat-
ter, the accusations in this case are so important that he will have to
attend the trial, and devote substantial personal time to preparation, even
though he will not be legally obliged to do so. As this argument acknow!l-
edges, however, this is a function of the importance of the allegations Ms.
Jones has made: if the allegations had been made in some other forum,
such as a book or magazine article, their rebuttal would presumably also
require the President's attention. Clearly the President cannot be shielded
from most such demands on his time. The fact that these allegations hap-
pen to take the form of litigation does not, we believe, make them any

different.

23

counsel review the defendant's ex parte submissions to the
court setting out his discovery plan and defense strategy. 732
F. Supp. 163, 164 (D.D.C. 1990)."

Similarly, in Degan v. United States, 116 S.Ct. 1777 (1996)
this Court noted that “the District Court has its usual author-
ity to manage discovery in a civil suit, including the power to
enter protective orders limiting discovery as the interests
of justice require. Fed.Rule Civ. Proc. 26(c).” Jd. at 1782. In
language directly applicable to this case, in which immunity
has been claimed at the very outset of the proceeding and on
an entirely empty record, the Court observed that “the details
of these [protective] steps are committed to the discretion of
the district court; it would be premature to consider now the
precise measures the court should adopt as the case pro-
ceeds.” /bid.

The president argues that even allowing a district court to
use these discretionary tools will provoke a constitutional
confrontation between the executive and judicial branches:
his proposed solution is to avoid the confrontation by having
the courts yield entirely for as long as he occupies the White
House. The argument is wrong-headed for two reasons. First.

19 ; ane
The availability of these unique protections shows that analogy

to the criminal context, which both the President and the Solicitor Gen-
eral offer as a tool for analysis, is inappropriate. Criminal prosecution of
a sitting President is problematic because imprisonment would quite
clearly prevent the President from doing his job. A flexible order that, at
some time convenient to the President, he sit for his deposition, is sim-
ply not the same thing. This President and others have in fact been ques-
tioned in legal proceedings without any untoward consequences. And it
is Important to observe that no other Order normally issued in a civil trial
would compel the personal attendance of any individual party (including,
of course, the President) at any hearing or other event. There is thus lit-
tle danger that the trial court would ever have any need to make an
extended or burdensome demand on the President's time. And yet only
such 4 demand could give rise to the kind of problem that the President
and his amici say make this case an impermissible threat to the execution
of his official duties.

24

no constitutional confrontation will arise between the two
branches, so long as the trial court before which the action is
pending is appropriately deferential of the President s
duties—and if the trial court were to mistakenly fail to pro-
vide such deference, a mandamus petition would clearly be
the appropriate recourse. Such procedure, we believe, is
vastly superior than the blanket rule that those people injured
by someone who later becomes President are stripped of the
right even to gather the evidence they will need to prove their
claim for as long as the person who injured them remains in

office.

The President’s argument is also misguided because it
ignores this Court’s consistent warning of the danger of
allowing a single branch to determine unilaterally the scope
of its own inherent powers. “The extent of [inherent] powers
must be delimited with care, for there is a danger of over-
reaching when one branch of the Government, without benefit
of cooperation or correction from the others, undertakes to
define its own authority.” Degen, 116 S.Ct. at 1780. A
[branch’s] inherent power is limited by the necessity giving
rise to its exercise.” If there is “no necessity to justify the
exercise of inherent power at issue, then it is not permissible.

Id. at 1783.

MPORAL IMMUNITY PRESIDENT CLIN-

se be ‘SaEks IS FUNDAMENTALLY INCONSIS-

TENT WITH THE CONSTITUTION’S EFFORT TO

ENSURE THAT ALL OF THE POWERS IT CON-
FERS ARE CHECKED AND BALANCED

Perhaps the most important theme of the Constitution's sep-
aration of powers is that every grant of power must be coun-
terbalanced by an effective, contemporaneous, corresponding
restraint: the doctrine pervades the architecture of the Con-
stitution in order “to provide avenues for the operation of
checks on the exercise of governmental power. Bowsher v.
Synar, 478 U.S. 714, 722 (1986). One profoundly important

25

restraint binding the President, who participates in the cre-
ation of federal law and superintends its execution, is that he
is bound by that law equally while he wields those great pow-
ers as when he does not. The provisions invoked in the
complaint in this case—42 U.S.C. § 1983, and the Equal Pro-
tection and Due Process clauses of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment—are part of this law. For precisely this reason “[n]o
man in this country is so high that he is above the law. No
officer of the law may set that law at defiance with impunity.
All the officers of the Government, from the highest to the
lowest, are creatures of the law, and are bound to obey it.”
Davis v. Passman, 442 U.S. 228, 246 (1979), quoting United
States v. Lee, 106 U.S. 196, 220 (1882).

Obedience is enforced by the courts, often at the behest of
the people the law was designed to protect, rather than by the
government acting on their behalf. The President's obedience
is no less necessary—and no less important to the Nation—
because compelled in this way. As Senator Pinckney
explained from the well of the Senate many years ago, com-
menting on his own and his colleagues’ work at the Federal

Convention with respect to the question of the immunity
accorded federal officials:

[The Federal Convention] never meant that the body who
ought to be the purest, and the least in want of shelter
from the operation of laws equally affecting all their fel-
low citizens, should be able to avoid them: they therefore
not only intended, but did confine their privileges within
the narrow limits mentioned in the Constitution.

3 M. Farrand, The Records of the Federal Convention of 1787
at 385 (1966).

CONCLUSION

Although the separation of powers doctrine exists as our
“greatest security against tyranny,” Mistretta v. United States,

26

488 U.S. at 381, many disputes about the doctrine are far
removed from any real threat of the exercise of unconstrained
power. See, e.g., Bowsher v. Synar, supra; Commodities
Futures Trading Commission v. Schor, 478 U.S. 833 (1986).
The temporal immunity President Clinton claims here, how-
ever, would eliminate the only mechanism that now formally
enforces his obedience to the law he is empowered to execute
for the entire time he holds that great power in his hands. The
important laws at issue in this case are among those he is
charged with enforcing, and there is no reason why he should
be able to shield himself now from accountability.

This Court’s cases clearly place upon the President the bur-
den to explain why the license he seeks is necessary. We
believe he has not borne that burden. Rather than issuing one
broad-brush ruling, liberating this President and every suc-
cessor from the obligation to respond in court like everyone
else, we submit that this Court should require the President to
explain how any particular demand of him in this case would
interfere with his ongoing obligations. Instead of categorically
consigning this plaintiff to legal limbo for years, the trial
court can then use its discretion to prevent any disruption of
the presidency from this plaintiff's efforts to enforce her
rights.

Respectfully submitted,

Ronald D. Rotunda

Counsel of Record
Albert E. Jenner, Jr.
Professor of Law
University of Illinois

College of Law
Champaign, IL 61820
(217) 333-3459

Stephen B. Burbank

David Berger Professor
for the Administration of
Justice

University of Pennsylvania
Law School

3400 Chestnut Street

Philadelphia, PA 19104

William Cohen
C. Wendell and
Edith M. Carlsmith
Professor of Law
Stanford University
Palo Alto, CA

Geoffrey P. Miller
Professor of Law
New York University
Law School
40 Washington Square South
New York, NY 10012

Robert F. Nagel

Ira Rothgerber Professor
of Constitutional Law

University of Colorado
Law School

P.O. Box 409

Boulder, CO 80309

Richard Parker
Professor of Law
Harvard Law School
Cambridge, MA 02138

L. A. Scot Powe, Jr.

Anne Green Regent
Professor of Law

University of Texas
Law School

727 E. 26th Street

Austin, TX 78705

Stephen B. Presser

Raoul Berger Professor
of Legal History

Northwestern University
School of Law

375 E. Chicago Avenue

Chicago, IL 60611

William Van Alstyne
William R. and
Thomas C. Perkins
Professor of Law
Duke University
School of Law
Durham, NC 27708

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0767%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
