# Opposition Brief — Law Practice of J. B. Grossman, P. A. v. Securities & Exchange Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0725%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 519 U.S. 809

## Text

—— RE —

JUL 1 1996
No. 95-1766

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1998

LAW PRACTICE OF J.B. GROSSM. N, P. A., PETITIONER
*.

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE SECURITIES AND
EXCHANGE COMMISSION IN OPPOSITION

WALTER DELLINGER
Acting Solicitor General
Department of Justice
RICHARD mie Ba Washington, D.C. 20530

PAUL GONSON (202) 514-2217
Solicitor
RICHARD M. HUMES
Associate General Counsel
LAURA S. PRUITT
Senior Counsel
Securities and Exchange
Commission
Washington, D.C. 20549

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the district court correctly held pe-
titioner in civil contempt for violating a temporary
restraining order (TRO) that was extended a few days
past the 20-day time limitation of Federal Rule of
Civil Procedure 65(b), where the district court con-
ducted a preliminary injunction hearing within the
20-day period and informed the parties at the close of
the hearing that it was extending the TRO until it
ruled on the preliminary injunction.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
. — e 1
—T—7——
— 2
rene eue seesessssee 68 6
a ³˙ ̃ 12
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Clements Wire & Mfg. Co. v. NLRB, 589 F.2d
I. 4.9 9
Fernandez- Roque v. Smith, 671 F.2d 426 (11th Cir.
6 — ——— 2 — 9

Granny Goose Foods, Inc. v. Brotherhood of

Teamsters Local No. 70, 415 U.S. 423

„„ 5, 6, 7, 8
Pan American World Airways, Inc. v. Flight

Engineers’ Int'l Ass'n, 306 F. 2d 840 (2d Cir. 1962) . 9
SEC v. Unifund SAL, 910 F.2d 1028 (2d Cir.

L — 9
Sampson v. Murray, 415 U.S. 61 (1974) 6, 9, 10, 11
W.R. Grace & Co. v. Local 759, Int'l Union of the

United Rubber Workers, 461 U.S. 757 (1983) ......... 11
Statutes and rules:
Z 11
e .. ˙— ee 0
Fed. R. Civ. P.:
OIE A AR Ore: 10, 11
D A Ie eee a 6,8
D ne eee 5, 7, 9, 12

(IIT)

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1

No. 95-1766

LAW PRACTICE OF J.B. GROSSMAN, P. A., PETITIONER
.

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE SECURITIES AND
EXCHANGE COMMISSION IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1-18)
is reported at 70 F.3d 1191. The opinion of the district
court (Pet. App. 23-36) is reported at 887 F. Supp.
1521.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
| December 1, 1995. A petition for rehearing was denied
| on February 15, 1996. Pet. App. 19-22. The petition
for a writ of certiorari was filed on April 30, 1996.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

2

STATEMENT

Petitioner seeks review of the judgment of the
Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit affirming
the order of the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Florida finding petitioner in
civil contempt of a temporary restraining order
entered in an enforcement action brought by the
Securities and Exchange Commission.

1. On May 5, 1994, the Commission brought an
enforcement action against Comcoa, Ltd., a/k/a
Comcoa, Ltd., Inc., and its president, Thomas W.
Berger (collectively, “defendants”), alleging that they
violated antifraud and registration provisions of the
federal securities laws in obtaining from investors
nearly $13.5 million by selling purported FCC
licenses and falsely guaranteeing future profits from
the investment. See Pet. App. 2; Complaint at 3-4. As
relief, the Commission sought, among other things, a
temporary restraining order, a freeze of Comcoa’s
assets, the appointment of a receiver for Comcoa,
preliminary and permanent injunctions, and an
accounting and disgorgement of ill-gotten gains,
together with prejudgment interest and civil
penalties. Petitioner was counsel for the defendants.

On May 6, 1994, the district court entered a
temporary restraining order freezing the defendants’
assets “pending determination of the Commission’s
Motion for a Preliminary Injunction.” C.A. R.E., Tab
10, at 4. The court’s order also appointed a temporary
receiver for Comcoa’s assets. At the time of entry of
the May 6 Order, petitioner, as counsel for the
defendants, held $105,100.00 of Comcoa’s funds in a
firm trust account pursuant to a retainer agreement.
The funds were placed in the account to pay for the

3

anticipated legal fees to be incurred in defending the
Commission’s enforcement action. Pet. App. 24.

On May 16-17, 1994, the district court held a hear-
ing on the Commission’s motion for a preliminary in-
junction. At the conclusion of the hearing, the dis-
trict court informed the parties that the May 6 Order,
and specifically the asset freeze, would remain in
effect until the court ruled on all of the various
pending motions, including the Commission’s motion
for a preliminary injunction.' The district court then
asked if either party had anything further or any
questions, to which petitioner replied, “No, sir.” Pet.
App. 3.

On June 3, 1994, the district court denied all of the
defendants’ pending motions, including their motions
to dismiss and vacate the TRO. See Pet. 3. As part of
that order, the district court also denied the defen-
dants’ motion to use the assets in the frozen Comcoa
trust account maintained by petitioner to pay
attorneys’ fees and expert witness fees. C.A. R.E.,
Tab 54, at 11. Several days later, on June 7, 1994, the
court entered a preliminary injunction nunc pro tunc
as of June 3, 1994, enjoining the defendants from
violating antifraud and registration provisions of the
federal securities laws and continuing a freeze on the
defendants’ assets.

In the meantime, on June 6, 1994, petitioner,
asserting that the May 6 Order had expired, demanded
that the receiver return all of Comcoa’s assets to
Comcoa. When the receiver refused, petitioner filed a

The motions at issue included those filed by defendants
to dismiss for lack of subject matter jurisdiction, to vacate the
TRO, and for the release of funds to pay attorneys’ fees and
expert witnesses. Pet. App. 3; C.A. R.E., Tab 54, at 11.

4

motion in the district court requesting an order
directing the receiver to return all of Comcoa’s
assets. Petitioner, however, did not wait for the
district court to rule on its motion. Instead, pur-
portedly acting at the direction of Comcoa, petitioner
on June 6 transferred $91,500.00 out of the Comcoa
trust account and into an operating account held by
petitioner. The transfer was for the purpose of satis-
fying legal fees and expenses that the defendants
owed petitioner for representing them in connection
with the preliminary injunction proceedings. Pet.
App. 3-4 & n.5, 25. Petitioner refused the receiver's
subsequent demand for the return of the funds. C.A.
R.E., Tab 73, Exh. D.

2. On August 11, 1994, the Commission moved the
district court for an order to show cause why
petitioner should not be held in contempt of the May 6
Order. In response, petitioner argued, inter alia,
that it did not violate the May 6 Order by transferring
the funds on June 6, 1994, because the order had
expired by that date. A show cause hearing was held

2 Petitioner also argued that once the Commission filed its
suit against Comcoa, title to the funds held in the trust account
passed from the defendants to petitioner, pursuant to peti-
tioner’s retainer agreement with Comcoa. That agreement
provided that funds in the trust account “become a minimum
fee retainer upon an asset freezing action or order of civil
penalty(ies) by any government, regulatory agency, and public
or private party” and that the funds in the trust account will
be “non-refundable.” Deposition of Thomas Berger, Exh. 15, at
3. Therefore, petitioner claimed, those funds were never
subject to the asset freeze. The district court rejected that
argument. The court found that the retainer agreement
between petitioner and Comcoa was against public policy and
therefore void and unenforceable. Pet. App. 28-30. Petitioner
did not seek review of that issue in the court of appeals.

5

on February 27, 1995, to determine whether petitioner
should be held in contempt.

On March 13, 1995, the district court found
petitioner in civil contempt. Pet. App. 22-36. The
district court first concluded that the funds in the
trust account that petitioner had transferred were
subject to the May 6 Order freezing Comcos's assets.
Id. at 28-29. The district court further found that
petitioner had consented to an extension of the May 6
Order until the district court rendered a decision on
the Commission’s motion for a preliminary injunc-
tion. Id. at 31-32. The court based its finding of con-
sent on the fact that petitioner had not objected to the
extension of the TRO until the court ruled on the
pending motion, either at the conclusion of the
preliminary injunction hearing or at any time
thereafter. Ibid. Petitioner was ordered to remit the
transferred funds, plus interest from the date of the
demand by the receiver. /d. at 36.

3. On appeal, petitioner argued that under this
Court's decision in Granny Goose Foods, Inc. v.
Brotherhood of Teamsters Local No. 70, 415 U.S. 423
(1974), it was entitled to treat the TRO as having
expired. Petitioner contended that, under Granny
Goose, a temporary restraining order expires after
the 20-day time limit imposed by Fed. R. Civ. P. 65(b)
unless a preliminary injunction containing findings of
fact and conclusions of law is issued by the district
court within that period. Petitioner also challenged
the district court’s finding that petitioner had agreed
to an extension of the TRO.

The court of appeals affirmed the district court’s
order of contempt. Pet. App. 1-18. The court of ap-
peals did not address whether the district court’s
finding that petitioner had consented to the extension

6

of the TRO was clearly erroneous. See id. at 5.
Instead, it addressed the effect of an extension of a
TRO, without consent, beyond the time allowed by
Fed. R. Civ. P. 65. The court concluded that when the
TRO was continued beyond the time permissible
under Rule 65 it was to be treated as a preliminary
injunction. Pet. App. 5-6 (citing Sampson v. Murray,
415 U.S. 61, 87 (1974). The court reasoned that such
treatment is “especially appropriate where, as in this
case, there has been notice to the parties, a full
hearing on a preliminary injunction, and then a stated
and clear decision from the bench to extend the terms
of the restraining order indefinitely, that is, until the
court notified the parties otherwise.” Pet. App. 5-6.
The court of appeals distinguished this Court’s
decision in Granny Goose, explaining that Granny
Goose addressed the distinct situation where no

notice to the parties has been given and no hearing on

the motion for a preliminary injunction had been held.
Pet. App. 6 nn.7-8. Thus, the court of appeals
concluded, “the proper course of conduct for
[petitioner] was to treat the TRO as an erroneously
granted preliminary injunction and to appeal.” Id. at
6.

ARGUMENT

Petitioner violated the May 6, 1994, order when it
transferred the funds in the Comcoa trust account to
its own account despite the district court’s express
continuation of the May 6 order until it decided the
Commission’s motion for a preliminary injunction.
Petitioner’s subjective belief that it was entitled to
ignore the district court’s order based on its mis-
taken reading of Granny Goose does not insulate it
from the consequences of that contemptuous conduct.

7

The decision below affirming the district court’s
finding of contempt is correct and does not conflict
with any decision by this Court or any other court of
appeals. Further review of this case is therefore
unwarranted.

1. Petitioner contends that the court of appeals
mistakenly refused to follow this Court’s decision in
Granny Goose. In petitioner’s view, Granny Goose
holds that “under Rule 65(b), where the restrained
party has not consented to an extension of the TRO
and no written preliminary injunction order has been
issued by the district court, a party may ‘reasonably
assume’ that no valid order exists and act
accordingly.” Pet. 8. Petitioner further claims that
the court of appeals’ conclusion that the TRO became
an enforceable preliminary injunction “contradicts
the plain language of Rule 65(b) and ‘overrules’ the
holding of this Court in Granny Goose.” Pet. 9.
Petitioner’s interpretation of Granny Goose and its
characterization of the decision below are both
mistaken.

a. Granny Goose does not support petitioner’s
argument that it cannot be held in contempt because
it was entitled to treat the asset freeze order as
having expired. Pet. 16. In Granny Goose, a tempo-
rary restraining order was entered by a state court
enjoining strike activity, and the court issued an
order to show cause why a preliminary injunction
should not issue during the pendency of the suit. 415
U.S. at 428. Prior to the hearing date for the order to
show cause, the defendants removed the action to
federal court. Ibid. No preliminary injunction hear-
ing was ever held in the federal court and the labor
unrest apparently dissipated. Id. at 428-429. Several
months later, the sirike activity began again and the

8

union defendants, despite their argument that the
TRO had long since expired, were found in contempt
of the TRO by the district court. Id. at 429-430.

This Court held that, because the TRO was no
longer in existence at the time of the alleged
contempt, the district court’s contempt ruling could
not stand. The Court first noted that the TRO had
expired by its own terms months before the date of
the alleged contempt. 415 U.S. at 431-433. See also
id. at 434-440 (rejecting argument that 28 U.S.C. 1450
had the effect of extending the time of the TRO
indefinitely). The Court also held that the TRO could
not be treated as a preliminary injunction. 415 U.S.
at 440-444. The Court emphasized that there had been
no hearing on whether to issue a preliminary
injunction, id. at 442, and that the parties had not
received “fair and precisely drawn notice of” the

extension of the TRO, id. at 444. Accordingly, the.

Court concluded that there was no injunction in effect
at the time of the allegedly contemptuous conduct.

As the court of appeals recognized, Granny Goose
applies to situations, unlike here, in which there has
been no notice to the parties and no hearing on a
preliminary injunction. Pet. App. 6 nn.7-8. In those
circumstances, a party has “no reason to believe,”
415 U.S. at 423, that the restraint on its conduct has
been extended, and the party therefore “may
reasonably assume that the order has expired within
the time limits imposed by Rule 65(b).” Id. at 445. In
this case, however, the hearing on the Commission’s
motion for a preliminary injunction was held within
the 20-day period for a TRO under Fed. R. Civ. P. 65,
and all parties had notice that the district court was
extending the status quo at that time. Accordingly,
the court of appeals correctly held (Pet. App. 5-6) that

9

the TRO freezing Comcoa’s assets did not merely
expire at the end of the 20-day period, but instead
became, in effect, a preliminary injunction. That
ruling does not conflict with this Court’s decision in
Granny Goose.“

b. As this Court held in Sampson, where a
temporary restraining order is extended beyond the
periods permitted under Rule 65(b), it is immediately
appealable as a preliminary injunction. 415 U.S. at 86-
88.“ Thus, even if petitioner did not consent to the

Judge Hill's concurrence (Pet. App. 8-18) does not
support petitioner’s argument. Judge Hill did not agree with
the majority’s view that “[flor [petitioner] just to disregard the
district court’s order based on his personal belief that it was
invalid, is conduct that warrants a determination of contempt.”
Id. at 12. He nevertheless noted that this case was controlled
by this Court’s decision in Sampson v. Murray “that the
indefinite extension of a TRO not only transforms the TRO
into a preliminary injunction for purposes of appeal, but also
into a valid injunction.” Id. at 17.

See also SEC v. Unifund SAL, 910 F.2d 1028, 1035 (2d
Cir. 1990) (invalidity of extension of TRO caused it to
“technically qualifſy] as a preliminary injunction,” which
would entitle the enjoined party to appeal that order);
Fernandez-Roque v. Smith, 671 F.2d 426, 429 (11th Cir. 1982)
(“a temporary restraining order continued without consent of
the parties beyond the twenty day maximum may be treated as
a preliminary injunction”); Clements Wire & Mfg. Co., v.
NLRB, 589 F.2d 894, 896 (5th Cir. 1979) (where district court
had entered a temporary restraining order that had no date of
expiration, the district court had issued a preliminary in-
junction that was an appealable order); Pan American World
Airways, Inc. v. Flight Engineers’ Int'l Ass’n, 306 F.2d 840, 843
(2d Cir. 1962) ([The continuation of the temporary restrain-
ing order beyond the period of statutory authorization having,
as it does, the same practical effect as the issuance of a prelimi-
nary injunction, is appealable within the meaning and intent of
28 U.S.C. 1292(a)(1).”). 7

10

extension of the May 6 Order—and even if petitioner
believed that extension to be inappropriate—peti-
tioner’s proper course was to challenge the district
court’s action on appeal, not simply to defy the court’s
order.

Petitioner claims that even if an extended TRO is
appealable, the court of appeals should review the
order only for the purpose of holding it invalid per se
because it does not contain the requisite findings to
support a preliminary injunction under Fed. R. Civ.
P. 52(a). Pet. 12-13 (citing Sampson v. Murray, 415
U.S. at 99 (Marshall, J., dissenting)). In petitioner’s
view, because the injunction would have been held
invalid had it been appealed, petitioner cannot be held
in contempt for violating it.

This Court in Sampson squarely rejected that
argument. The Sampson Court specifically noted
that, even though the district court did not comply
with Rule 52(a) in entering the preliminary
injunction in that case, “we do not think that we are
thereby foreclosed from examining the record to de-
termine if sufficient allegations or sufficient evidence
supports the issuance of injunctive relief.” 415 U.S.

5Petitioner’s suggestion (Pet. 13) that the court of appeals
would have vacated the TRO pursuant to Rule 52(a) is mere
speculation. A preliminary injunction hearing had been held,
the defendants testified, and the district court had denied all of
the defendants’ motions (including their motions to dismiss and
for use of frozen funds for attorneys’ fees) prior to the date by
which petitioner claims the TRO had expired. Review of the
district court record by the court of appeals would have
demonstrated the Commission’s entitlement to a preliminary
injunction. In any event, petitioner has not argued that the
injunction was improper, only that it expired before petitioner
transferred the frozen funds.

11

at 87 n. 58. The Court went on to determine whether
the injunetion was justifiable on its merits, and con-
eluded that it was not. Id. at 88-91. As the court be-
low recognized, In jo good reason exists to limit [the
Sampson] rule to one of appellate jurisdiction only: a
preliminary injunction is a preliminary injunction.”
Pet. App. 6 n.8.

When petitioner transferred the funds from the
trust account to its operating account, it had available
a choice of adequate non-contemptuous remedies,
such as pursuing appellate review under 28 U.S.C.
1292(a)(1), or seeking clarification or instructions
from the district court as to the status of the May 6
Order. Petitioner could not, however, merely disobey
the district court’s order, which the court had quite
clearly extended. As this Court has often recognized,
Ait is beyond question that obedience to judicial
orders is an important public policy. An injunction
issued by a court acting within its jurisdiction must
be obeyed until the injunction is vacated or
withdrawn.” W.R. Grace & Co. v. Local 759, Int'l
Union of the United Rubber Workers, 461 U.S. 757,
766 (1983). As the court below observed (Pet. App. 7):

We believe the instances when lawyers can be told
by the district court in no uncertain terms not to
do X“ and, yet, the lawyer can go on to do “X”
with impunity are (and ought to be) few and far
between, especially where the appellate courts—
as in this case—are open to the lawyer to settle
the matter in an orderly way, but the lawyer
pursues no appeal. In these circumstances, for
[petitioner] just to disregard the district court’s
clear order, based on his personal belief that it was
invalid, was not merely bold; it was bad. We

12

conclude his conduct warrants a determination of
contempt. The district court was within its dis-
cretion to hold [petitioner] in contempt of court for
violating the order.

2. Finally, petitioner’s claim must also be rejected
because, as the district court found (Pet. App. 31-32),
petitioner consented to the extension of the TRO past
the 20-day limit. Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
65(b) provides that a TRO may be extended for longer
than a 20-day period if the restrained party consents.
The district court’s finding that petitioner consented
is thus sufficient by itself to establish that a valid
TRO remained in effect at the time petitioner trans-
ferred the funds out of the trust account. It therefore
is also sufficient to support the district court’s order
holding petitioner in contempt for taking that action.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted.

WALTER DELLINGER
Acting Solicitor General

RICHARD H. WALKER
General Counsel
PAUL GONSON
Solicitor
RICHARD M. HUMES
Associate General Counsel
LAURA S. PRUITT
Senior Counsel
Securities and Exchange
Commission

JULY 1996

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0725%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
