# Amicus Curiae Brief — Blessing v. Freestone

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0700%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 517 U.S. 1186

## Text

| rupees court Ws
} ai LlsBo
No. 95-1481 L 28 ol

IN THE Quek
Supreme Court of the Billed States

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

LINDA J. BLESSING, Director, Arizona Department
of Economic Security, in her official capacity,
r Petitioner,
CATHY FREESTONE, SUSAN HARRINGTON, SONYA MADRID,
JUDITH ROGERS and ESPERANZA LAUSTAUNAU,
individually, on behalf of their minor children and on behalf
of all persons similarly situated,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
THE STATES OF ILLINOIS, ALABAMA, ALASKA, CALIFORNIA,
COLORADO, CONNECTICUT, DELAWARE, FLORIDA,
GEORGIA, HAWAII, IDAHO, INDIANA, IOWA, KANSAS,
LOUISIANA, MAINE, MARYLAND, MASSACHUSETTS,
MICHIGAN, MISSISSIPPI, MONTANA, NEBRASKA, NEVADA,
NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW JERSEY, NEW YORK, NORTH
CAROLINA, NORTH DAKOTA, OHIO, OKLAHOMA, OREGON,
PENNSYLVANIA, RHODE ISLAND, SOUTH CAROLINA,
SOUTH DAKOTA, TENNESSEE, TEXAS, UTAH, VERMONT,
VIRGINIA, WASHINGTON, WYOMING, AND THE DISTRICT
OF COLUMBIA, AMERICAN SAMOA, GUAM, AND
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

JAMES E. RYAN JAMES C. 0’CONNELL*
Attorney General of Illinois BARBARA L. GREENSPAN
BARBARA A. PREINER JAMES C. STEVENS

we es Special Assistant Attorneys General
Solicitor General of Illinois 169 N, LaSalle Street, Suite N-1000
Chicago, Illinois 60601
(312) 793-2380
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae,
* Counsel of Record State of Illinois

(Additional Attorneys General Listed on Following Page)

Printed by Authority of the State of Illinois (P.O. 36607—60—7-26-96)

i
mA

at

”

be fete Eta eee ti nf =o me
, a la tee

OO ee

Additional Attorneys Genera.

JEFF SESSIONS

Attorney General of Alabama
11 South Union Street
Montgomery, Alabama 36130
(334) 242-7300

BRUCE M. BOTELHO
Attorney General of Alaska
Post Office Box 110300
Dimond Courthouse
Juneau, Alaska 99811-0300
(907) 465-3600

DANIEL E. LUNGREN
Attorney General of California
1300 I Street

Sacramento, California 95814
(916) 324-5437

GALE A. NORTON

Attorney General of Colorado
1525 Sherman Street, 5th Floor
Denver, Colorado 80203

(303) 866-3052

RICHARD BLUMENTHAL
Attorney General of Connecticut
55 Elm Street

Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0120
(860) 566-7279

M. JANE BRADY

Attorney General of Delaware
820 N. French Street
Wilmington, Delaware 19801
(302) 577-2500

ROBERT A. BUTTERWORTH
Attorney General of Florida
The Capitol

Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1050
(904) 488-9935

MICHAEL J. BOWERS
Attorney General of Georgia
40 Capitol Square, S.W.
Atlanta, Georgia 30334-1300
(404) 635-7174

MARGERY S. BRONSTER
Attorney General of Hawaii
Haie Auhau

425 Queen Street
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813
(808) 586-1500

ALAN G. LANCE
Attorney General of Idaho
Post Office Box 83720
Boise, Idaho 83720-0010
(208) 334-2400

PAMELA S. CARTER
Attorney General of Indiana
Office of the Attorney General
402 W. Washington Street
5th Floor

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
(317) 232-6316

THOMAS J. MILLER
Attorney General of lowa
Hoover State Office Building
Des Moines, Iowa 50319
(515) 281-5164

Additional Attorneys General

CARLA J. STOVALL
Attorney General of Kansas
301 S.W. 10th Avenue
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1597
(913) 296-2215

RICHARD P. IEYOUB

Attorney General of Louisiana
Office of the Attorney General
Department of Justice

Post Office Box 94095

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9005
(504) 342-7013

ANDREW KETTERER
Attorney General of Maine
Office of the Attorney General
State House Station #6
Augusta, Maine 04333-0006
(207) 626-8800

J. JOSEPH CURRAN, JR.
Attorney General of Maryland
Office of the Attorney General
200 Saint Paul Place

Baltimore, Maryland 21202-2021
(410) 576-6955

SCOTT HARSHBARGER

Attorney General of Massachusetts
Office of the Attorney General

One Ashburton Place

Boston, Massachusetts 02108

(617) 727-2200

FRANK J. KELLEY

Attorney General of Michigan
Post Office Box 30212
Lansing, Michigan 48909-0212
(517) 373-1110

MIKE MOORE

Attorney General of Mississippi
Post Office Box 220

Jackson, Mississippi 39205
(601) 359-3680

JOSEPH P. MAZUREK
Attorney General of Montana
Justice Building

Post Office Box 201401
Helena, Montana 59620-1401
(406) 444-2026

DON STENBERG

Attorney General of Nebraska
Department of Justice

2115 State Capitol

Lincoln, Nebraska 68509
(402) 471-2682

FRANKIE SUE DEL PAPA
Attorney General of Iowa
198 South Carson Street
Carson City, Nevada 89710
(702) 687-4170

JEFFREY R. HOWARD

Attorney General of New Hampshire
33 Capitol Street

Concord, New Hampshire 03301
(603) 271-3658

PETER VERNIERO

Attorney General of New Jersey
25 Market Street, CN 080
Trenton, New Jersey 08625
(609) 984-9664

- a

Additional Attorneys General
DENNIS C. VACCO THOMAS W. CORBETT, JR.
Attorney General of New York Attorney General of Pennsylvania
The Capitol Office of the Attorney General
Albany, New York 12224 Strawberry Square
(518) 474-8101 Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120
(717) 787-3391

MICHAEL F. EASLEY

Attorney General of North Carolina
Post Office Box 629

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602-0629
(919) 571-4114

HEIDI HEITKAMP

Attorney General of North Dakota
600 E. Boulevard

Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-0040
(701) 328-2210

BETTY D. MONTGOMERY
Attorney General of Ohio
30 E. Broad Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215
(614) 466-3376

W.A. DREW EDMONDSON
Attorney General of Oklahoma
2300 N. Lincoln Boulevard

Suite 112

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105
(405) 521-3921

THEODORE R. KULONGOSKI
Attorney General of Oregon
100 Justice Building

Salem, Oregon 97310

(503) 378-4402

JEFFREY B. PINE

Attorney General of Rhode Island
150 South Main Street
Providence, Rhode Island 02903
(401) 274-4400

CHARLES MOLONY CONDON
Attorney General of South Carolina
Rembert C. Dennis Building

Post Office Box 11549

Columbia, South Carolina 29211
(803) 734-3970

MARK BARNETT

Attorney General of South Dakota
500 East Capitol Avenue

Pierre, South Dakota 57501-5070
(605) 773-3215

CHARLES W. BURSON
Attorney General & Reporter
State of Tennessee

500 Charlotte Avenue

Nashville, Tennessee 37243-0497
(615) 741-6474

DAN MORALES

Attorney General of Texas
Post Office Box 12548
Austin, Texas 78711-2548
(512) 463-2100

Additional Attorneys General

JAN GRAHAM

Attorney General of Utah
236 State Capitol

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114
(801) 538-9600

JEFFREY L. AMESTOY
Attorney General of Vermont
Office of the Attorney General
109 State Street

Montpelier, Vermont 05609-1001
(802) 828-3171

JAMES S. GILMORE, III
Attorney General of Virginia
900 East Main Street
Richmond, Virginia 23219
(804) 786-2071

CHRISTINE O. GREGOIRE
Attorney General of Washington

7th Floor Highways-Licenses Bldg.

Post Office Box 40100

Olympia, Washington 98504-0100
(360) 753-6245

WILLIAM U. HILL

Attorney General of Wyoming
123 State Capitol

Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002
(307) 777-7841

CHARLES F.C. RUFF
Corporation Counsel
District of Columbia
441 Fourth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20001
(202) 727-6252

MALAETASI M. TOGAFAU
Attorney General of

American Samoa

Office of the Attorney General
Department of Legal Affairs
American Samoa Government
Post Office Box 7

Pago Pago, American Samoa 96799
(684) 633-4163

CALVIN E. HOLLOWAY, SR.
Attorney General of Guam
Office of the Attorney General
Suite 2-200E

Judicial Center Building

120 West O’Brien Drive
Agana, Guam 96910

JULIO A. BRADY

Attorney General of the
Virgin Islands

Office of the Attorney General
Department of Justice

G.E.R.S. Complex
48B-50C Kronprinsdens Gade

St. Thomas, Virgin Islands 08802
(809) 774-5666

a a ee a EN CL ON Oe Oe ee ES

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .................
STATEMENT OF INTEREST ...............
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ................

CONGRESS NEVER INTENDED TITLE IV-D
OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT TO CRE-
ATE ENFORCEABLE RIGHTS TO CHILD
SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT SERVICES ....

A. Standard Of Review And Legislative In-

tent

The History Of Federal Child Support

Enforcement

Demonstrates

That Title IV-D Does Not Create En-
forceable Rights .............sesee08:

1.

Title IV-D was enacted to reduce the
costs of welfare to society and not

12

Il.

THE COMPREHENSIVE INTERNAL EN.-
FORCEMENT SCHEME OF TITLE IV-D ES-
TABLISHES A LEGISLATIVE INTENT TO
FORECLOSE PRIVATE ACTIONS UNDER 42
WBS. GERD oc ccccccccccccccsccccccceseses

CORTE ASS cccccccccccccssccceccccesssese

iii
TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Cases PaGE(s)
Albiston v. Maine Commissioner of Human Ser-

vices, 7 F.3d 258 (Ist Cir. 1993)........... l
Behunin v. Jefferson County Department of Social

Services, 744 F. Supp. 255 (D. Colo. 1990) .... l
Carelli v. Howser, 923 F.2d 1208 (6th Cir. 1991) . 24
Cort v. Ash, 422 U.S. 66 (1975) ............. 5, 19, 20
Davis v. McClaran, 909 S.W.2d 412 (Tenn. 1995) . l
Edwards v. District of Columbia, 821 F.2d 651

Ds i Pi cispiccadbuseoesssedsbouseée 5
Freestone v. Cowan, 68 F.3d 1141 (9th Cir. 1995) . 1
Golden State Transit Corp. v. Los Angeles, 493

& | Fey re eee a 4
Howe v. Ellenbecker, 8 F.3d 1258 (8th Cir. 1983) . 1

King v. Bradley, 829 F. Supp. 989 (N.D. Ill. 1993). 1,17
Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555 (1992) . 19
Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137 (1803) . 19
Merrell Dow Pharmaceutical, Inc. v. Thompson,

GED D> GS GED cc cccccccccccccccseses 5, 19, 20
Monzon v. Martinez, 833 F. Supp. 479 (E.D. Pa.

SED ced nddedecsbeseussckscaducueiencesece 1
Pennhurst State School & Hospital v. Halderman,

Se We OE GEE cbddbccdecbecvovescecséese 3, 4,5
State of Ohio, DHS v. Sullivan, 789 F. Supp. 1395

Se GE SE cdsucoccecesonsdbsncssdcee 16
Sullivan v. Stroop, 496 U.S. 478 (1990) ........ 6

Suter v. Artist M., 503 U.S. 347 (1992)..... 3, 4, 5, 17

iv

Thompson v. Thompson, 484 U.S. 174 (1988) .. 5
Victorian v. Miller, 813 F.2d 718 (5th Cir. 1987) .. 21
Wehunt v. Ledbetter, 875 F.2d 1558 (11th Cir.

BD encccsocssdcntsedascbassddeunueuniny 6, 7, 24
Wilder v. Virginia Hospital Association, 496 U.S.

GD GERD occ cccusccccudecocscéscocééecese 4,6
Wright v. Roanoke Redevelopment and Housing

Authority, 479 U.S. 418 (1987) ............ passim
Constitution
ES) FO rn ee eee 7
Statutes
DF Os EEE ngs cecccntcoscosueesences 8
42 U.S.C. § 9D4 (1986) 2... cece ccc cc cececeeces 23, 24
42 U.S.C. § 508 (b) (1996) . 0... cece ee ees 23, 24
42 U.S.C. §§ 601-617 (1935) (amended 1975) ....... 6
42 U.S.C. § G02 (a) (1996) .. 0... cece eee eee 8
42 U.S.C. § 602 (a) (26) (1996) ... 2... cece ees )
42 U.S.C. § 603 (h) (1996) .... 2... eee eee, 9, 20, 21, 22
42 U.S.C. § 608 (h) (1984) . 0... cee eee 11, 13
42 U.S.C. § 604 (a) (1996) 0... cece eens 23, 24
42 U.S.C. § 651 (1975) (amended 1984) ........... 6, 11
42 U.S.C. §§ 651-669 (1975) . 0... eee ee 6
BUBC. CGBGIUD .....cccccccccvccccccsess 9
Gp Gee SEED cScbcccvccscccdbeseceecees 13

42 U.S.C. § 652 (1988) ....... cc ccc cece wee eens 15, 24

42 U.S.C. § 652 (1996) .... 6... eee eee eens 16, 19, 23, 24
42 U.S.C. § 654 (1975) 2... ccc cece eee eee ees 9
42 U.S.C. § 654 (6) (1975) (amended 1981) ........ 10
42 U.S.C. $ 964 (c) (2) (1996) ... 6... cece e eee ees ll
42 U.S.C. § 655 (a) (1) (C) (1988) .... 2.6... eee eee 24
42 U.S.C. § 666 (b) 1984) (amended 1988) ......... 12
42 U.S.C. § 681 (1988) ....... cece cece eee eens 14
42 U.S.C. § 682 (h) (1988) .... 6... cece ees 15
42 U.S.C. § 1204 (1996) ....... cece eee e eens 23, 24
42 U.S.C. § 1316 (1996) ....... cece cece eee ees 23
GBs © EE coc esvccceccccccccescccccccss passim
Regulations

45 C.F.R. § 308.72 (a) (1994)... 6.6 c cee cece ees ll
46 C.P.R., Part B06 20... cccccccccccccvccsccces 15
45 C.F.R. § 305.11 (1994) 2.0... 6 cece eee ees 20, 21
45 C.F.R. § 305.20 (1985)... 0.0... e eee ee 13
45 C.F.R. § 305.20 (a) (2) (1985) ..... 6... ee eee e ee 14
45 C.F.R. § 305.20 (a) (4) (1994) ....... 66. c eee ees 16
45 C.F.R. § 305.21 (d) (1994) .... 6.6... cece e eee 18
45 C.F.R. § 305.98 (1985)... 0... e ees 13
45 C.F.R. § 305.99 (1994) .. 0.6... 22
45 C.F.R. § 305.99 (c) (1994) 2.2... 6c e ee eee 20, 21
45 C.F.R. § 305.99 (d) (1994) ... 0.6... cee ee eens 23

Legislative Materials
Pub. L. No. 88-525, §2, 78 Stat. 703 (1964)...

Social Services Amendments of 1974, Pub. L. No.
93-647, § 451, 1974 U.S.C.C.A.N. (88 Stat.)
TE éncnssdcetesbucchssesadussisaeenben

Family Support Act of 1988, Pub. L. No. 100-485,
§ 401, 1983 U.S.C.C.A.N. (102 Stat.) 2343 ....

S. Rep. No. 93-1356, 98d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974),
reprinted in 1974 U.S.C.C.A.N. 8133 .......

S. Rep. No. 98-387, 98th Cong., 2d Sess (1984),

reprinted in 1984 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2397..... 5, 20, 21

Staff of Senate Comm. on Finance, 94th Cong., Ist
Sess., Child Support Data and Materials
CE. HUD Bee ccc vcvéncccdoccacadscss

Child Support Enforcement Program: Hearings
Before the Subcomm. on Public Assistance and
Unemployment Compensation of the House
Comm. on Weys and Means, 100th Cong., 2d
es GED 0-00 cencecdacecbesesbbctckéedens

Welfare: Reform or Replacement? Hearing Before
the Subcomm. on Social Security and Family
Policy of the Senate Comm. on Finance 100th
CO, BR TR, Gee cc ccckevccccecsscce

15

14

Miscellaneous

Child Support Enforcement Nineteenth Annual
Report to Congress (1994), U.S. Department of
Health and Human Services, Administration for
Children and Families, Office of Child Support
PEED o6unbddgheocbunewesedocesecacee

Child Support Enforcement Program: Paternity
Establishment and Revision of Child Support
Enforcement Program and Audit Regulations,

59 Fed. Reg. 66204 (1994).............. 15, 16, 17

Estimates of Cost Avoidance Attributable to Child
Support Enforcement, Advanced Sciences, Inc.
and SRA Technologies, Arlington, VA. 1987, for
the Office of Child Support Enforcement, Family
Support Administration, U.S. Department of
Health and Human Services ...............

Garfinkel & McLanahan, Single Mothers and Their
Children: A New American Dilemma, Urban
Institute Press, Washington, D.C. (1986) ....

ll

7

se)

we

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

The amici curiae States of Illinois, Alabama, Alaska,
California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida,
Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, lowa, Kansas, Louisi-
ana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missis-
sippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire,
New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota,
Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island,
South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah,
Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and Wyoming, the Dis-
trict of Columbia, American Samoa, Guam, and the Vir-
gin Islands, submit this brief pursuant to Supreme Court
Rule 37 in support of the Petitioner, Linda J. Blessing,
Director, Arizona Department of Economic Security, re-
questing reversal of the decision rendered by the United
States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in Free-
stone v. Cowan, 68 F.3d 1141 (9th Cir. 1995).

The Freestone decision, and the other cases which are
in accord,’ substantially broaden the scope of State liabil-
ity under 42 U.S.C. §1983 by allowing courts to find that
federal regulations create enforceable rights to sue State
actors in federal court. The Ninth Circuit decision, if
affirmed, will dramatically alter the States’ responsibil-
ities for child support enforcement. There will also be an
increased burden on the federal courts, since any individ-
ual who claims not to have received some child support

' Albiston v. Maine Commissioner of Human Services, 7 F.3d

258 (1st Cir. 1993); Davis v. McClaran, 909 S.W.2d 412 (Tenn.

1995); Howe v. Ellenbecker, 8 F.3d 1258 (8th Cir. 1993); King

v. Bradley, 829 F. Supp. 989 (N.D. Ill. 1993); Monzon v. Mar-

tinez, 833 F. Supp. 479 (E.D. Pa. 1993); Behunin v. Jefferson

County Department of School Services, 744 F. Supp. 255 (D.
. 1990).

7)

ante

enforcement service will have the ability to bring an
action in federal court. The State IV-D agencies, and the
State courts, would be subject to varying orders from
State and federal courts to “hurry up” or to engage in a
court-created process in each of these individual cases.
There would be a concomitant increase in each State’s
cost of providing child support enforcement services. Ulti-
mately, this would divert fiscal resources from the actual
collection of child support and impose enormous financial
and programmatic burdens on State IV-D programs. This
ruling would open the door for multitudinous suits to
determine individual rights created by federal regulation.

Everyone agrees child support enforcement programs
are a necessity in today’s society. Collecting child support
to remove families from welfare and prevent other fam-
ilies from entering the welfare system is sound public
policy. Since the original legislation in 1975, this country
has moved steadily toward establishing effectively run
child support enforcement programs at both the State
and federal levels. New and innovative methods of col-
lecting child support from errant responsible relatives
are being tested on an ongoing basis. Some methods have
proven to work better than others. The most effective
methods of collecting child support are being put into
place.

It must be acknowledged, however, that child support
enforcement programs are not yet perfect. In fact, it is
questionable whether they will ever become perfect.
Reality dictates otherwise. Congress has never expected
or required the States to run perfect [V-D programs. For
this Court to allow litigants to sue to require more from
the States is contrary to Congress’ intent and sound pub-

lic policy.

- =

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

At issue before this Court is the ruling of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit holding
that Title IV-D of the Social Security Act creates enforce-
able rights in the plaintiff class and that the statute does
not contain an enforcement scheme sufficiently compre-
hensive to preclude a §1983 action. The enforceable
rights analysis of the Ninth Circuit reflects a disregard
of the governing principles expressed by this Court in
Pennhurst State School & Hospital v. Halderman, 451
U.S. 1 (1981) (*Pennhurst I”), and Suter v. Artist M., 503
U.S. 347 (1992). Congress did not intend to create a new
federal entitlement to child support enforcement services
by enacting Title [V-D in 1975, or by any of the subse-
quent additions and amendments. Or, if Title IV-D was
intended to create new federal property rights, Congress
certainly did not intend for the federal courts to oversee
the provision of State court family law services by State
officials through private §1983 enforcement actions.

Title IV-D contains a complex and comprehensive in-
ternal regulatory enforcement mechanism. Congress
created an entirely new and separate administrative
agency in the Office of Child Support Enforcement (here-
inafter “OCSE”), within the Department of Health and
Human Services (hereinafter “HHS”), to implement,
assess, and enforce Title IV-D. Considerable technical ex-
pertise is necessary to understand what is required for
each State to develop an efficient and effective child sup-
port enforcement program which works efficiently and
effectively with the other States and Territories. Con-
gress committed this task to the OCSE and not to the
federal judiciary, except by the normal process of judicial
review of administrative agency action.

_

ARGUMENT
L

CONGRESS NEVER INTENDED TITLE IV-D OF THE
SOCIAL SECURITY ACT TO CREATE ENFORCEABLE
RIGHTS TO CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT SER-
VICES.

A. Standard Of Review And Legislative Intent.

This Court has held that there are two distinct ques-
tions of law which control whether a federal cause of
action results from the interaction of a federal statute
and 42 U.S.C. §1983. A court must first decide whether
Congress intended the statute to create rights sufficient-
ly definite and certain for enforcement by the §1983 rem-
edy. Suter v. Artist M., 503 U.S. 347, 357 (1992); Wilder
v. Virginia Hospital Association, 496 U.S. 498, 508
(1990); Wright v. Roanoke Redevelopment and Housing
Authority, 479 U.S. 418, 423 (1987); Pennhurst State
School & Hospital v. Halderman (Pennhurst I), 451 U.S.
1, 18-28 (1981). If the statute was intended to benefit the
putative plaintiff, “the provision creates an enforceable
right unless it reflects merely a ‘congressional preference’
for a certain kind of conduct rather than a binding obli-
gation on the governmental unit, .. . or unless the in-
terest the plaintiff asserts is ‘too vague and amorphous’
such that it is ‘beyond the competence of the judiciary to
enforce.’ ” Wilder, 496 U.S. at 509 (citing Golden State
Transit Corp. v. Los Angeles, 493 U.S. 103, 106 (1989),
quoting Wright v. Roanoke, 479 U.S. at 431-32). Finally,
if a statute does create enforceable rights within the
meaning of §1983, a court must then decide whether
Congress has foreclosed enforcement of the statute in the
enactment itself. Jd. at 508.

adie:

The first inquiry is to determine the intent of federal
legislation. Congressional intent may be discerned from
legislative history, the language of the statutes them-
selves, and the structure of the statutory scheme as a
whole. Suter, 503 U.S. at 357. Courts have focused pri-
marily on whether the statutory language is literally
mandatory, and its degree of specificity. Pennhurst I, 451
U.S. at 19; see, e.g., Edwards v. District of Columbia, 821
F.2d 651, 654-656 (D.C. Cir. 1987).

This Court has previously identified four factors which
are present when a federal statute does not create en-
forceable rights:

(1) the plaintiffs are not part of the class for whose
especial benefit the statute was passed; (2) the indi-
cia of legislative intent reveals no congressional pur-
pose to provide a private cause of action; (3) a federal
cause of action would not further the underlying pur-
poses of the legislative scheme; and (4) the respon-
dents’ cause of action is a subject traditionally rele-
gated to state law.’

Cort v. Ash, 422 U.S. 66, 78-79 (1975); see also Merrell
Dow Pharmaceutical, Inc. v. Thompson, 478 U.S. 804,
810-12 (1986). Although these four factors were used to
determine whether a statute creates an implied right of
action in favor of a particular plaintiff, there is a signifi-
cant area of overlap remaining between that determina-

* This case involves child Tete 2 a enfeoment and establish-

ment of ——. that the basic re-
sponsibility for nt of paternity
Todt aye , 2d Sess.
6-7 (1984), reprinted in 1 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2397, 2402-2403.

Moreover, . there has been a long-standing tradition of reserv-
ing domestic relations matters to the States. Thompson v.
Thompson, 484 U.S. 174, 186 n.4 (1988).

enffies

tion and the determination of whether a federal statute
confers substantive rights on a § 1983 plaintiff. See Wild-
er, 496 U.S. at 525-26 (Rehnquist, C.J., dissenting).

B. The History Of Federal Child Support Enforcement
Legislation Demonstrates That Title IV-D Does Not
Create Enforceable Rights.

1. Title IV-D was enacted to reduce the costs of wel-
fare to society and not for the especial benefit of
custodial parents and their children.

Title [V-D, “Child Support and Establishment of Pater-
nity,” was added to the Social Security Act in 1975. 42
U.S.C. §§651-669 (1975). Title [IV-D has always been
inextricably intertwined with Title [V-A, Aid to Families
with Dependent Children (“AFDC”). 42 U.S.C. §§601-617
(1935) (amended 1975); Sullivan v. Stroop, 496 U.S. 478,
483 (1990). Both Title [V-A and Title [IV-D operate
through federal grants-in-aid contracts with participating
States; States receive federal matching funds for State
expenditures for programs which must meet federal leg-
islative and contractual requirements.

The legislative history, the structural connections be-
tween Title [V-D and Title [V-A statutes, and certain
features of the statutes themselves, show that Congress
intended IV-D to produce general benefits to society as
a whole, the most immediate and direct being welfare
cost avoidance by reducing poverty in the rapidly grow-
ing class of children of absent parents and their custodi-
ans. See Wehunt v. Ledbetter, 875 F.2d 1558, 1565 (11th
Cir. 1989). The purpose of federal child support legisla-
tion has always been to mitigate the social costs which
flow from the sharp and continuing proportional increase

—_ =

of impoverished single parents and children.’ Congress
hoped to realize several national welfare benefits by im-
proving the socio-economic status of a distinct group bur-
dened with a particular set of disadvantages. Congress
never intended the legislation making federal funds
available for State child support enforcement programs
to confer a new federal “entitlement” on millions of indi-
viduals who must or may receive IV-D services.

AFDC, which was constitutionally grounded on the fed-
eral spending powers, originated during the 1930's.‘ Title
IV-A has always been a joint federal and State welfare
program, administered by the States in accordance with
federal requirements, delivering financial assistance to
poor families with children who are economically de-
prived of support from two parents due to absence, inca-
pacity, or death of one parent.°

* This trend is not limited to the United States; it is global,
and generally attributed by scholars and researchers to the
effect of modern industrial and economic systems
on family and social structures. See nkel & McLanahan,
Single Mothers and Their Children: A New American Dilem-
ma, Urban Institute Press, Washington, D.C. (1986), pp. 12.
46, 55-85, 173.

* Article I, § 8, cl. 1, of the U.S. Constitution contains the

spending power, which provides, shall have Power
TP sax ide for the . general Welfare of the United
epee tle IV-D was also enacted by Congress t to

a oe att sani Social Services Amendments of 1974, Pub.
L No. 93-64 1 et seq., 1974 U.S.C.C.A.N. (88 Stat.) 2716,
2732. See also Wehone v. Ledbetter, 875 F.2d at 1563.

* In 1961, States were given the option of extending AFDC
——— to two parent families where ~ & a
is underemployed, or unem
ene wey tom ow tee pemity Satpere Ast
(continued...)

==

The original! federal child support enforcement provi-
sions were exclusively directed at collecting support to
decrease the costs of AFDC and other welfare programs.°
Any support collected was paid to the family, and was
counted as income to the recipients for purposes of AFDC
eligibility. In 1975, Congress decided to: separate the
State child support enforcement activities organizational-
ly from IV-A financial assistance activities; overrule judi-
cial decisions which had prevented garnishment of fed-
eral payments to child support obligators; impose federal
requirements designed to achieve both improved State
family law enforcement mechanisms and national con-
sistency in certain aspects of family law; include non-
AFDC recipients; provide increased incentives to States
to actively pursue child support enforcement; and in-
crease federal assistance to and oversight of State pro-
grams. Social Services Amendments of 1974, Pub. L. 93-
647, §451 et seq., 1974 U.S.C.C.A.N. (88 Stat.) 2716, 2732
(codified at 42 U.S.C. §602 (a)).

> (..continued)

of 1988 made AFDC-UP mandatory for all [V-A programs for
a trial period to end in 1998. Family Support Act of 1988, Pub.
Ay 100-485, §401, 1988 U.S.C.C.A.N. (102 Stat.) 2343,

° AFDC recipients are automatically eligible for food stamps,
and housing ts, due to the relative eligibility standards.
7 U.S.C. §2014 et seg. (1996). Food stamps began in 1964. Pub.
L. No. 88-525, §2, 78 Stat. 703 (1964). Benefits between all
three are coordinated, as the monetary value of a
family’s monthly food stamps allotment and housing subsidies
may be counted as income for purposes of AFDC benefits. Cost
avoidance in non-AFDC welfare programs has always been a
goal of federal child support legislation.

collins

Title [V-A required participation in a separate child
support enforcement program under Title IV-D as a con-
dition of IV-A participation. Jd., 1974 U.S.C.C.A.N. (88
Stat.) 2716, 2742. The sanction for failing to operate a
State IV-D program in compliance with federal require-
ments was, and still is, reduction in federal IV-A pay-
ments. There has never, however, been a noncompliance
sanction on federal IV-D payments. 42 U.S.C. §603 (h)
(1996).

The federal child support enforcement program estab-
lished in Title [V-D remains adjunct to [V-A; States must
participate in both to participate in either. Applicants
and recipients are required to: 1) assign to the granting
State all rights to support from any third party which
have accrued at the time of assignment; and 2) cooperate
in establishing paternity and support obligations and in
enforcing assigned obligations, unless the State IV-A
agency finds good cause for failure to cooperate, based on
federal standards considering the child’s best interests.
42 U.S.C. §602 (a) (26) (1996).

Congress created a separate organizational unit within
HHS to administer Title IV-D, the OCSE. 42 U.S.C. §652
(1975). Congress delegated to OSCE the discretionary
authority to define an “efficient and effective” State child
support program, to decide whether States were comply-
ing with federal [IV-D requirements based on annual pro-
gram audits. Jd. The original [IV-D services included lo-
cating absent parents, establishing paternity and support
obligations, and enforcing support obligations assigned to
the State under U.S.C. §602 (a) (26). 42 U.S.C. §654
(1975).

Congress also decided that non-AFDC families should
receive IV-D enforcement services which again shows the

=

legislative focus on cost avoidance, rather than creation
of a new entitlement. 42 U.S.C. §654 (6) (1975) (amended
1981). Extending IV-D services to non-AFDC families
produced significant cost avoidance.

(T}he problem of non-support is broader than the
AFDC rolls and .. . many families might be able to
avoid the necessity of applying for welfare in the first
place if they had adequate assistance in obtaining
the support due from absent parents.
S. Rep. No. 93-1356, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974), reprinted
in 1974 U.S.C.C.A.N. 8133, 8158. The staff materials
prepared for the Senate Committee on Finance regarding
the Title [V-A and IV-D legislation of 1975 can leave
little doubt that economic and spending issues were of
paramount importance to the legislators. Staff of Senate
Comm. on Finance, 94th Cong., 1st Sess., Child Support
Data and Materials, pp. 1-5, and Appendixes, pp. 123-
139 (Comm. Print 1975).

In 1984, Congress took steps to insure that State IV-D
programs would obtain the welfare cost avoidance bene-
fits from both non-AFDC support collections and recovery
of AFDC costs. While many of the savings in social and
governmental costs realized by redistributing income
from absent parents to the custodial family are intangi-
ble or so indirect that measurement is difficult or im-
possible, research demonstrates some significant success
in achieving welfare cost avoidance from non-AFDC sup-
port collections. A study commissioned by OCSE found
that during 1983 and 1984, every $5.00 in non-AFDC
child support collected represented $1.00 in welfare cost
savings because collections either prevented non-AFDC
families from participating in AFDC, Medicaid, and/or

aufiies

food stamps, or reduced the amount of assistance pay-
ments.’

In 1980, the 75% federal financial participation for
non-AFDC IV-D services was made permanent, but this
incentive had not prompted all States to pursue non-
AFDC cases. Therefore in 1984, Congress changed the
purpose statement for IV-D to specifically state the pro-
gram was intended to establish and enforce parental
duties of support to all children who need assistance, re-
gardless of whether they receive AFDC. 42 U.S.C. §651
(1975) (amended 1984). Congress wanted AFDC reim-
bursement as well as achieving other kinds of welfare
cost avoidance flowing from non-AFDC collections.

Despite the legislative directive to provide IV-D ser-
vices to non-AFDC families, certain distinctions remain
between these AFDC and non-AFDC participants. For
example, while the I.R.S. intercept of federal income tax
returns is available in AFDC cases for past due support
after the child is 18, the child must still be under 18 for
L.R.S. intercepts in non-AFDC cases. 42 U.S.C. §664 (c)
(2) (1996); 45 C.F.R §303.72 (a) (1994).

Another result of the 1984 amendments was the adop-
tion of an internal regulatory scheme significantly dif-
ferent from the original audit and penalty provisions,
which were functionally identical to those which still
apply to virtually all welfare entitlement programs. 42
U.S.C. §603 (h) (1984). The new focus was on effective-

’ Estimates of Cost Avoidance Attributable to Child Support
Enforcement, Advance Sciences, Inc. and SRA Technologies,
Arlington, Va. 1987, for the Office of Child Support Enforce-
ment, Family Support Administration, U.S. Dept. of Health
and Human Services.

aniithan

ness and efficiency, rather than technical compliance
with mandatory process and procedures defined by the
State plan requirements.

In both the 1984 and 1988 amendments to IV-D, Con-
gress decided to compel the States to enact wage with-
holding statutes, thereby requiring the assistance of
private employers for child support enforcement in order
to achieve general social benefits. 42 U.S.C. §666 (b)
(1984) (amended 1988). There is no clearer indication
that the legislative purpose of IV-D was to secure overall
benefits to large groups of citizens than the mandate in
IV-D to enlist private resources to improve the economic
status of children with absent parents. Federal en-
titlements involve providing money, money equivalents
(food stamps), or subsistence needs (housing, medical
care, and medicines) to a beneficiary class, from public
funds. Title IV-D is not intended to deliver any particu-
lar benefits to any particular individuals or family; fur-
ther, any economic benefits to individuals or families
which do result are paid by private, not public funds.

2. Legislative intent reveals no congressional pur-
pose to provide enforcement rights to Title IV-D
services.

The foregoing discussion demonstrates that the legisla-
tive purpose behind Title IV-D is cost avoidance. In addi-
tion, the statutory scheme of Title IV-D establishes that
Congress never intended to create enforceable rights to

child support enforcement services. Instead, Congress in-.,

tended to monitor and evaluate State programs, give
technical assistance to the States, and, in certain in-
stances, require the States to run more effective child
support enforcement programs.

= =

Congress by statute delegated authority to the Secre-
tary of HHS to define what level of performance was re-
quired to substantially comply with the federal mandate
to operate an effective and efficient IV-D program.* 42
U.S.C. §652 (1984). In response, OCSE by regulation
added new program performance indicators to the IV-D
internal enforcement scheme. The new indicators were
designed to compel States to achieve both AFDC cost
recovery and welfare cost avoidance by non-AFDC col-
lections, and to set minimum cost-effectiveness standards
for State IV-D operations. 45 C.F.R. §§305.20 and 305.98
(1985). At the same time, the Secretary of HHS, through
OSCE, developed new program compliance and audit cri-
teria to define “substantial” compliance, as required by
the statutory amendment. 42 U.S.C. §603 (h) (1) (1984).
The 1985 OSCE regulations provided that for the fiscal
year 1984 audit period certain listed audit criteria re-
lated primarily to administrative or fiscal matters “must
be met” and that the procedures required by nine audit
criteria related to basic services provided under a Title
IV-D plan “must be used in 75 percent of the cases

* Prior to 1984, under §403 (h) of the Act a State was subject
to a 5% reduction of its AFDC funds if an audit found that the
State was not in full compliance with statutory and regulatory
requirements. OCSE began performing compliance audits after
December 21, 1976, but Congress enacted a moratorium on the
5% penalty and extended the moratorium several times.
Therefore, no State actually had its AFDC funding reduced.
On August 16, 1984, Congress changed the standard of com-
pliance from full compliance to substantial compliance and
provided for gradual reductions starting with a reduction of
not less than 1%, nor more than 2% and increasing to a maxi-
mum of 5% with each consecutive finding that a State is not
complying substantially with Title [IV-D requirements. 42
U.S.C. $603 (h) (1) (1984).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0700%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
